Read lester leaps in reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all lester leaps in reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    The category may be labelled "Young Adult Humorous Comics" but this book is amazing for all ages. Anyone who has a cat or knows a cat will appreciate this book. See the globe from a cat's perspective, as revealed by a squad of feline reporters (Breaking Cat News) and associates/friends. This the second compilation of early strips made by Georgia Dunn. I love the strips and love the books. I buy additional books to give as bonuses to mates and even donate them to the waiting zone of my cats' regular animal clinic (I figure people waiting for their pet's appointment can use some humor). Even though I have read the strips before, when I got my copy I had to sit down and read through them all again, and I had as much fun as the first time I saw them. Definitely a book to buy and read through over and over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    Colin Flahive has managed, in one book, to write the biography of a remarkable business, an acc of the difficulties facing minority women in Western China and a truncated autobiography. The story which drives this book and compels the reader to continue on--this is a true page turner--is in a lot of ways stronger than fiction. A story of seemingly insurmountable hurdles overcome, compassion, perseverance and ultimately, victory. If you are interested in how an American with one year of college Chinese and three non-Chinese partners could begin a business in a remote zone of China that has not only survived for sixteen years but continues to thrive, this book is for you. If you wish to know how for profit company can be built into an enterprise that truly serves not only its customers but also its employees--all of them, as well as the remote communities that most of them come from then this book is also for you. If you would like a glimpse of the lives of minority women who have come to the huge town to create a better life for themselves, I strongly recommend this book.While the introduction is interesting, it needs the same perfect editorial work that was employed so effectively throughout the rest of the book. Without question, this is a remarkable book and Mr. Flahive impresses not only with his remarkable writing style (this book reads almost like a novel) but with his true life accomplishments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    I love these cats and their antics and their opinions of humans. I've already reread it--and caught things I missed. (I don't care for animals dressed in human clothes, but I'm willing to overlook that in this case--and the seasonal outfits are fun.) Puck, Lupin, and Elvis are based on author/illustrator Georgia Dunn's cats; the books are a compilation of her comic strips, which you can search online. So much fun and funny ideas. And I love Tabitha (the alpha female of the ceiling cats) too. I wish to share more (Scottish cats, human food, pumpkins, the turret in the living room, the Christmas tree, etc., but it'll be more fun when you explore them for te: Just came across an upcoming book, and I'm about to place that on my Amazon Want List.

    0  


    Add your opinion on lester leaps in or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    Well written, holds one's interest and presents a lively picture of what it is like to live in China.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    I love this comic strip. I first became aware of it when my local paper did a "test run" of it. Sadly they didn't pick it up, but by then I was hooked anyway. The writing is sharp and clever and intelligent and funny. The characters are the authors cats imagined as news reporters who report on all the household and People's goings on. There's also a cast of extended characters of neighboring cats, mice, other People. It's fun to see our human lives interpreted by cats. (I'm sure my own cats are often wondering what i'm up to) Georgia is a seriously talented artist whose drawings perfectly express what's going on and are really beautiful. This book also has a bunch of extras in the back, hints on drawing your own comics, other animals and even paper dolls of the main (cat) is is a amazing book for anyone that likes cats, humor, or just a various point of view.Highly recommended!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    This is a kids' book so we all need one copy for the child in us and at least one more for a younger person.I hope the next Georgia Dunn BCN book will be larger so we can better have fun the art. Maybe 9 by 12? That would show a issue here, though, because there's no method to rate 10 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    I feel the author did a amazing job of writing the book. It's very interesting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    This is such a joy of a book, written with deep humility and earnest curiosity. Flahive exudes amazing compassion and humor in this breezy and enjoyable memoir which puts a human face on the story of modern China and its people's growing pains and pleasures. As an intrepid expat who set up a highly unusual coffeehouse there, Flahive is able to provide an absolutely fascinating perspective, and one which is at the same time uniquely intimate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    Lupin Leaps In is a compilation of story arcs from the comic strip Breaking Cat News (read on or on the www service , and the strip is also carried by some newspapers) featuring Lupin, a deaf white cat. Lupin, a.k.a. "The Cat of Adventure", is one of the three main characters, the others being Elvis, a rather ly Siamese, and Puck, a sweet black cat with only three feet. These boys have their own TV network, where they report on "the news that matters to cats". This book focuses on Lupin's different exploits, from investigating the flavor of "pumpkin guts" to meeting the Spanish-speaking "ceiling cats" who live in the apartment above. If you are owned by one or more cats, or just love them, you won't wish to miss these stories of everyday cat life in the Huge Pink House, surrounded by family, friends, and surprises. You will recognize your cats, past and present, in these three amazing boys. The strip is charmingly drawn, and beautifully colored. Georgia Dunn is a unbelievable artist who shares her everyday life with her family, both cat and human. Lupin Leaps In also contains additional features in the back, as Georgia gives us drawing lessons, and a set of hero paper dolls with clothes and accessories (including the Plant of A lot of Teeth and its fancy hat--you'll just have to read the book to learn about it). I can't recommend Lupin Leaps In highly enough, I want I could give it a lot of more stars. And if you like this book, also obtain Georgia's first compilation, Breaking Cat News, which is equally wonderful, and check out her everyday strips wherever you can--you won't be sorry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    These cats are real. Georgia Dunn is a Cat Whisperer and an accomplished artist. Her three cats are her own and very much in touch with each other and their co-parents - the Woman and the Man. A lot of of her cels are real to life and there are pictures on the web to prove it. Others, of course, are in her imagination which is delightful, funny and sometimes a small scary but only for a day or so (with a few unbelievable exceptions) and very satisfying. I would equate her work with the best of the animal cartoonists but far more stimulating because these guys are given a lot of expressions, perfectly drawn, and have all the qualities of animals that are so unique - we love and remember always. In a lot of ways the cats become your own and you fret and cheer about them nearly every day. Oddly for cats, they are each others best friends. Their reporting is about what is necessary to them and most cats I've known. Two of them are rescues with handicaps that they've overcome with alacrity and pride. The other, Elvis the Siamese, is so real to life that at times he overwhelms me. Cynical at first but adapts with humor, and over time, with love. There are neighbors and outsiders such as birds and mice and lost cats who become their friends. But these are indoor cats and view the globe outside through the windows. I urge any who read this who are generally dismissive of cats to check out these magnificent monsters on Go-Comics for a taste of what you've been missing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    Our intrepid reporters, Lupin, Puck, and Elvis, are once again on the stage to cover all the news that’s fit for cats; from the kibble s, to the cricket in the house, to exactly why that cat is in the back yard again. These (and a lot more) originally appeared at , and have continued on Gocomics. I know the recommendation are for young adults, but it should appeal to nearly everyone who likes cats, animals, or just plain fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    Having spent over 40 years in the China field as an academic and administrator running educational programs in China I found Colin's China story to be the most rewarding, heart felt, informative and worthwhile of almost all the books I have ever read about China. He delves into the heart and soul of the countryside as it is forced into transitioning into a "modern", urbane globe and how this transition affects the lives of the rural people. Colin is not a Western observer as are most China writers but actually lives the China life that he writes about. Often gut wrenching but always uplifting. It is a spellbinding adventure story, significant China book and about as fine a read as I have had in a long, long time. Kudos to Colin Flahive for all the amazing, hard-fought accomplishments to improve the lives of Yunnan village people, especially the young women. His is an extraordinary life and thus the book is also an extraordinary literary sojourn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    This was a unbelievable story written by a young man who gave up a amazing life to support the development of China. I strongly recommend reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    I got absorbed by the book since the first chapter, and finished it in just a few days. It contains very interesting and accurate stories about life(style) in rural China and about young girls and boys from the countryside moving to the cities, anecdotes about the opening and managing of Salvador’s Coffee House - a second home for most of the foreigners living in Kunming - by Colin Flahive himself together with his partners, the stories of amazing projects started by Colin and that are still carried on… all this mixed with different private experiences (some beautiful scary!!!), and everything enriched with private views, feelings and thoughts. It’s an interesting and instructive overlook of the China that is not usually represented, plus it’s an adventurous journey in the life of a young guy in China. It’s really really worth it! Sara

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    "Lupin Leaps In" is a continuation of "Breaking Cat News," both, of course, by the very talented Georgia kids have stolen this from me and have devoured it in a matter of hours. Now they are going back and showing me their favorites. Georgia Dunn's cats have created my once reluctant young reader develop a voracious appetite for reading.I have to say that I am loving the newest one not only because it is longer, but because I really like the texture of the pages... I know that is an odd thing to like about a book, but there you have it!Cat staff, cat lovers, and just about anyone who loves animals will greatly have fun this e artwork always amazes me- gorgeously done in is book is more than a "comic book." It is a book with a lot of laughs and a lot of s and kids alike will love receiving this as a gift. I already have several people in mind to order this for birthdays and Christmas.P.S. The back of the book is so wonderful! Paper doll cut-outs and hints for anyone wanting to learn to draw or write really makes this an extra-special edition.I hope that they continue putting out fresh BCN books and calendars. I will forever be a buyer. :)Thank you, Georgia! Your comic is such a bright spot in our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    Like its predecessor book ("Breaking Cat News"), "Lupin Leaps In" reprints some of the original webcomics that Georgia Dunn wrote before BCN created the jump to a everyday newspaper strip. The longer length of webcomics allowed her to develop her characters and plotting. "Lupin Leaps In" reprints the delightful Christmas adventure featuring Elvis (the Siamese) as well as Lupin's Laundry Room Adventure (which inspires the cover). The strips collected in this volume also deal with the introduction of the fresh girl baby to the household--and the result this had on the cats. Plus, this reprints the St. Patrick's Day strip, which is one of the single funniest comic strips I have ever read. As an added bonus, at the end, the book includes "More To Explore" which preserves Georgia Dunn's attractive tip to an aspiring young cartoonist. Plus: paper dolls of the main cast of BCN! Not quite a 90% possibility of puppets, but close enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lupin Leaps In: A Breaking Cat News Adventure []  2020-7-23 20:29

    This is the second book in the Breaking Cat News series, from the comic of the same name. Having found her ground with the comic, the author/writer Georgia Dunn continues with the broadcast adventures of her cats Elvis, Lupin, and Puck. This book brings back the original strips that contain not only single day stories (Halloween, Button Under The Desk, Sick Toddler), but also several longer storylines (Elvis Escapes, The Laundry Room Of Adventure) as only your favorite feline reporters can bring them to you. In addition, the "More To Explore" in the back of the book not only shows you how to draw your own cats for their broadcast premieres, but also contains the templates for Breaking Cat News paper dolls. If you know that your cats are looking at the globe far differently than their people, this book is for you. Note that while it is quite entertaining for adults, it is also an simple read for younger readers. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    I loved reading about this American's travels and adventures. This is a side of China you probably won't ever see, because Colin and his mates go deep into the heart of China. It's face-paced and absorbing. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    It's a unbelievable book for someone who wishes to understand and appreciate a subculture of the Chinese culture. I grew up in Kunming and moved to the States and moved back to Kunming. As a matter of fact, I still remember the author doing construction and building the coffee back when I was a teenager living a few blocks away from El Salvador. Reading it is like rediscovering a culture I once grew up in and knowing it from another perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Leaps: Finding Home in a Changing China []  2020-8-17 19:47

    I read this while traveling in China and I would recommend this book to anyone who has had either the hope of picking up and moving away, or feel that they must move due to economic pressures. Migration is the theme of this novel and Flahive does an awesome job bringing to like the crisscrossing stories of people on the move, all ending up in the little metropolis of Kunming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    First of all, officially, I've only heard half of this particular cd (which is two records rereleased onto one cd). I own "Chester & Lester." With that out of the way, I now have to say that if you are AT ALL interested in this recording, buy it. "Chester & Lester" alone is worth the price of this disc. Technical precision, subtlety and lots of fun prevail as these two guitar giants, no wait, Gods (Clapton is the disciple) tackle mostly jazz standards. Though there are no vocals here, the guitarists are mic'd and we obtain a possibility to hear their banter in between, and sometimes during, songs. Though this is all amazing fun, the true reason to buy this cd is to hear pickin' that you will hear nowhere else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    Plays amazing for a used CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    Chet Atkins and Les Paul are both guitar geniuses, each with their own special style, which blend perfectly on this CD. The sound on this CD is amazing. I would recommend this for anyone who enjoys excellent high fidelity sound and outstanding musicians. Ed Quasebarth

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    Lots of fun interaction between Les and Chet which adds to the amazing melody and guitar styling. A must have if a fan of either or both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    Fabulous recording of two of the greatest guitar players. Both albums one one CD. The Sound quality is terrific.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    Awesome talent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    .... This is some amazing instrumental music, very guitar oriented. I was younger when I heard this music, I was 14-15, and listening to the typical Joe Satriani kinda music. However, i'm a jazz fan, and I am not the largest fan of country music, but this melody is just....fun. That one word can explain the whole collection: it is no more or less. These guys are having a amazing time here, and what is really cool is that instead of trying to play better than the next guy, they seem to complement each others playing. ....I have very few qualms with this music. If it had been bad, this melody would've never been voted for Grammy's and sold so well. It is in fact quite amazing music. My largest complain is with Les Paul and his guitar tone. It is quite dry, with a lot of echo and reverb, and a small distant in the mix. It works on some tunes, but the fact that he uses the same guitar and the same tone on beautiful much every tune gets sort of annoying at times. On the other hand, Chet Atkins does a nice job of alternating between his warm electric guitars, acoustic guitars, and he really makes the most of his instruments, tonally. There is some phasing and some other sort of effects on the guitars in locations here, and the melody definetly sounds dated in places, especially with all of the electric piano. Besides these small nit-picks, this is very lively, fun, exciting music. There is no distortion here, no massive rock licks, just some old fashioned country/jazz/Django-esque playing going on here. It's a amazing listen, and if you are stuck in a primairly rock instrumental world, test listening to the melody here. It is really great. ....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    Unbelievable album of two guitar greats.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    In the seventies I had the two albums, I'm glad I finally got the CD.If you like guitar music, then this is for you.I was looking for a sixth star....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chester & Lester/Guitar Monsters []  2020-11-29 18:44

    This double album (Chester and Lester AND Guitar Giants) is a particularly fun CD-it was my first sojourn. As a guitarist who now appreciates what I used to think of as kitsch or corn pone, this album not only showcases each player's virtuoso style from Chet's extraordinary clean Gretsch guitar fingerpicking and amazing arrangments to Les' Les Paul and his incomparable trills, fills, speed runs and his Paulveriser (the echo unit and /or chorus). These are the guys who pioneered electric pop guitar excellence and electronic innovations. I cannot recommend a better album for those who would like a taste of each player. Some cool tunes, some fun chatter included in the studio giving insights into these two old pros.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    This book is amazing in so a lot of ways. Ozan is a amazing writer, so no boredom encountered while reading this book. And with all the examples from Ozan's career as a rocket scientist when the US was putting people and rovers into the universe, it has both science and history in it.He then uses these examples to explain how each one of us can create strides to create better decisions and greater leaps in our own lives; leaps that are both far-reaching, yet pragmatic. It is this pragmatism that I search is missing in so a lot of books that tell us to dream e pdf workbook that is on his website, has helped me clarify and list steps to begin taking action on my own moonshots! I highly recommend this book as both a amazing read and an immense support in moving forward with one's life!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    So I created it through the first three chapters and couldn’t create it any further. The author is NOT a rocket scientist. He did some code as an undergraduate for a professor and then went to law school. He has no advanced degree in engineering. Certainly not a PhD! Not sure how he proportion himself as a “rocket scientist.” I found the book disorganized and not a reasonable way to pursue logical reasoning. I want I could have a refund. I have a doctorate and an extra advanced degree and found this book to be a disappointment. Please look elsewhere if looking for a book on logical reasoning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist is a masterpiece of storytelling mixed with powerful, actionable insights. I read 50-60 books a year and when you begin quoting a book with your clients that is when you know it is the true deal. I bought a pre-launch copy and read it twice before the begin date given my intermittent reading of Ozan's blog. When you begin questioning your own thinking and using that fresh knowledge to challenge your own IP and client thinking then it is worth the time for sure. A masterful piece of work that I cannot recommend highly enough. In my line of work I give out a few books consistently, Think like a Rocket Scientist has created it onto that venerable list for me for 2020 and beyond....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    I'm not a Rocket Scientist or keep any type of degree or Ph.D., but I did learn some primary logic skills and walked away with some interesting insight after reading the book. A lot of the info was based on his programing experiences and some insight into the workings and mismanagement of NASA. I didn't think I was going to walk away with that Ah-Ha moment after reading the book, but I did walk away with an added tool that I will add to my toolbox possible for a future project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    1. I’ve read 100s of books in my short lifetime (I’m 23) and a decent portion of those books consist of self-help business books that have proven to be impractical or/and the typical cliche stuff. So when I tell you this is the first self-help/business book that I’ve read that is helpful and memorable I'm for real. The book is divided into 3 sections, aka 3 stages of a rockets launch, which makes the steps simple to remember because you’re provided with an photo to associate them with. If that’s not enough the book provides you with a www service where you can access diagrams, and different exercises to support you remember this book.2. Rarely do you read a book where there isn’t a single boring moment in the book, this is one of them. There was one section that wasn’t as interesting as the others in the latest chapter of the book or so but that was a short section and it wasn’t boring just not as interesting or insightful as the other parts of the book. 3. One hint the author gives is to if required dive into the globe of uncertainty by going to the first principles. Don’t just go with what others are doing or how others have applied/interpreted those principles. Don't just reference and rely on theories, practices, ideas, and methods others use but come up with your own. The author does this with the method he organizes this book... like I... can’t say I’ve read a book that’s set up like this one. It has different examples from poems, to songs, to stories, to movies, and of course rockets yet somehow it all fits. The author may jump from one thing to the next but it’s not unorganized.3a. If you read “the legal yst” you’ll obtain what I mean but the Author has a knack for bringing up an example in one chapter and then bringing that example back up to introduce an element of that example you didn’t notice. 4. This author is truly a amazing writer... I have a feeling he’s going to blow up even more then he has so far one day. His command of the English language along with his ability to provide just the right amount of self-reflection, sarcasm, and quotable moments create this author a truly awesome and special talent. His wordplay is just insane because he navigates all these elements of his “writing style” n: 1. The only con (minor one at that) is the amount of “sub-points” that create up each chapter within each scene of this book. I feel like some of them could have been combined.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    We regular people are skewing, twisting, and reeling under the aches and pains of uncertainty. We have been habituated to the opposite, to seek certainty. So we resort to - "Us Versus Them. Let's rise up versus the evil ones."Scientists thrive on uncertainty. This author is a scientist. He tells us how to thrive on uncertainty, like a scientist. I need to, we all need to thrive on uncertainty, because that's what we have. Certainty is fake. An Illusion.I wish better than fake. Because of Think Like a Rocket Scientist, I am relieved at the truth of uncertainty. I will now derive comfort in it, and maximize my creativity and potential as a result. If scientists can explore something amazing, then have the courage to ask to be proven wrong, I can, better to CONNECT, BOND, and protect ourselves and others from conspiracies of villains and robbers of our real freedom, which is to live and make (not their freedom --- the freedom to throw away their mask, go to the salon or barber for a haircut, and go out to a bar and restaurant despite dangers to others - much less themselves).Thank you Ozan Varol for showing me the FREEDOM of UNCERTAINTY.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist is a masterpiece of storytelling and actionable insights. It is refreshingly compelling and captivating (turns out thinking like a rocket scientist is useful for non-rocket scientists). Varol ties together diverse subjects (actual rocket science, business, law, psychology) to illustrate nine thinking concepts and brings them to life through striking imagery, wit, humor, and stories of his time at NASA. He pulls in quotations from optimal sources to convey his points with authority. Varol builds suspense through each chapter and then silences it in ways that empower you with practical solutions. He sprinkles in the excellent amount of self-deprecation, sarcasm, and life experience. And his command of both the topic matter and the English language provides for an overwhelmingly satisfying read (e.g., perfectly placed repetition of introductory phrases to drive a point home, choice ogies, and masterful wordplay). He shows you how a concept works in practice by walking you through carefully crafted illustrations. He even organized the book to mirror the stages of a rocket. Insight after Insight. Story after story. It's brilliant. EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    I work with rocket scientists and systems engineers all day every day. I found Ozan's book to be refreshing. I'm not looking to create giant leaps in work or life, but I sure did have fun his book. I am always intrigued by books that obtain me to think about thinking - what I think, how I think, what others think. This book did that for me. Ozan helped me think bigger, helped me question my own thinking, and helped me better express my thoughts. It's a amazing book. After all, rocket science is not rocket science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    Let's say you are walking on a tightrope....you're nervous, feeling like the rope is getting more narrow with every step you take. You look down (darn it! they told me not to look down). But you look down anyway. How various will your journey be if there is or is not a safety net?The author is a master storyteller that infuses life defining principles in a method that is completely absorbing and simple to is is a must read, especially in current times with heavy uncertainty invading our everyday lives. And back to the tightrope ogy....Replace the tightrope with the path you're walking in life. As the author puts it "the safety net may be there to catch you if you fall, but you're better off pretending it doesn't exist."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies for Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-11-14 20:22

    It is said that insanity is trying the same thing that has failed and expecting various results. What Ozan Varol has done in this book is support you to think differently and work from a fresh paradigm, so that you are able to achieve what you are aiming for (or even realize that you wish to aim for something else). His ideas and processes in this book are perfect for this, and I encourage everyone to at least listen to what he is suggesting.Ozan wants us all to think like rocket scientists, and he's provided the tools to do so here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist is a masterpiece of storytelling and actionable insights. It is refreshingly compelling and captivating (turns out thinking like a rocket scientist is useful for non-rocket scientists). Varol ties together diverse subjects (actual rocket science, business, law, psychology) to illustrate nine thinking concepts and brings them to life through striking imagery, wit, humor, and stories of his time at NASA. He pulls in quotations from optimal sources to convey his points with authority. Varol builds suspense through each chapter and then silences it in ways that empower you with practical solutions. He sprinkles in the excellent amount of self-deprecation, sarcasm, and life experience. And his command of both the topic matter and the English language provides for an overwhelmingly satisfying read (e.g., perfectly placed repetition of introductory phrases to drive a point home, choice ogies, and masterful wordplay). He shows you how a concept works in practice by walking you through carefully crafted illustrations. He even organized the book to mirror the stages of a rocket. Insight after Insight. Story after story. It's brilliant. EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Creative issue solving books tend to be formulaic, attempting to codify human creativity into a linear, step-by-step e challenge with this approach is that the issues that I’m trying to solve may look very various than the issues you’re trying to focusing on principles and bringing them to life through stories, the author has achieved what few others have been able to do—help us build a powerful issue solving foundation on which we can then build our own special enomenal book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist is a masterpiece of storytelling mixed with powerful, actionable insights. I read 50-60 books a year and when you begin quoting a book with your clients that is when you know it is the true deal. I bought a pre-launch copy and read it twice before the begin date given my intermittent reading of Ozan's blog. When you begin questioning your own thinking and using that fresh knowledge to challenge your own IP and client thinking then it is worth the time for sure. A masterful piece of work that I cannot recommend highly enough. In my line of work I give out a few books consistently, Think like a Rocket Scientist has created it onto that venerable list for me for 2020 and beyond....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    It is said that insanity is trying the same thing that has failed and expecting various results. What Ozan Varol has done in this book is support you to think differently and work from a fresh paradigm, so that you are able to achieve what you are aiming for (or even realize that you wish to aim for something else). His ideas and processes in this book are perfect for this, and I encourage everyone to at least listen to what he is suggesting.Ozan wants us all to think like rocket scientists, and he's provided the tools to do so here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    I received the item but I don't see no book it was supposed to have a book ya no book so nothing is says instructions included and there's nothing in the box like is an empty box and an empty bag so it would be nice if you can replace the back of the book Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    My daughter wanted a dummy for her birthday, well to move the mouth you must pull on a string! Do you know how hard that is doing one handed and trying to pretend your not?!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    I bought this for my nephew and it's a STRUGGLE trying to pull the string for it to talk. The string feels like it's gonna break.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    I work with rocket scientists and systems engineers all day every day. I found Ozan's book to be refreshing. I'm not looking to create giant leaps in work or life, but I sure did have fun his book. I am always intrigued by books that obtain me to think about thinking - what I think, how I think, what others think. This book did that for me. Ozan helped me think bigger, helped me question my own thinking, and helped me better express my thoughts. It's a amazing book. After all, rocket science is not rocket science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    What a unbelievable book! A comprehensive critical thinking book, but is an simple read. I was intimidate at first, just with the name "Rocket Scientist" in the title! However, it is wonderfully crafted book that provides amazing lessons of how to critically think. Provides some historical context that rounds out the points being made. A unbelievable investment and highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    This book is amazing in so a lot of ways. Ozan is a amazing writer, so no boredom encountered while reading this book. And with all the examples from Ozan's career as a rocket scientist when the US was putting people and rovers into the universe, it has both science and history in it.He then uses these examples to explain how each one of us can create strides to create better decisions and greater leaps in our own lives; leaps that are both far-reaching, yet pragmatic. It is this pragmatism that I search is missing in so a lot of books that tell us to dream e pdf workbook that is on his website, has helped me clarify and list steps to begin taking action on my own moonshots! I highly recommend this book as both a amazing read and an immense support in moving forward with one's life!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Ozan has a bonus of storytelling. Through story, Ozan translates complex ideas into understandable language while taking the reader on a captivating journey that will leave you spellbound, inspired, and empowered to act. This book is an insightful toolkit, packed with tactics that will enable you to define your ambition, dream bigger, and achieve your moonshot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    You have to pull on string hard to obtain his mouth moving but my son doesn't mind and he loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    Mouth was hard to move other than that he's a classic i had one when I was a child so I really like him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    I was totally disappointed in the doll it's self maybe my fault.But I expected the doll to be able to do more things. I expected the head to move, the mouth to move more and the hands to have strings to be able to move up And down and the head to turn, And as put to place your hands in the box. But that's what happens when you buy anks for asking anyway.P.S My Grandson was disappointed as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    It is really is a doll and not a puppet. I guess I overlooked that in the descriptor. The mouth was too hard to work. I bought it for my husband and he could hardly obtain the mouth to work. I had to return it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    I required a fast doll for a small part of a talent show. The puppet looks cute but does not work. When you pull the string to activate the mouth, it just pulls the head back. There is no leverage. I drilled a hole in the head and inserted a piece of dowel. This created the mouth work, but limited the movement of the head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    Amazing fun! The string is a small difficult to pull to operate the mouth, two hands are needed, one to keep resistance on the doll and the other to pull the string.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lester Famous Ventriloquist Doll created by Willie Tyler starred on Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In. BONUS E-Book 'How to Be a Ventriloquist' []  2019-12-22 19:15

    Totally disappointed in this as my granddaughter said epic fail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    Let's say you are walking on a tightrope....you're nervous, feeling like the rope is getting more narrow with every step you take. You look down (darn it! they told me not to look down). But you look down anyway. How various will your journey be if there is or is not a safety net?The author is a master storyteller that infuses life defining principles in a method that is completely absorbing and simple to is is a must read, especially in current times with heavy uncertainty invading our everyday lives. And back to the tightrope ogy....Replace the tightrope with the path you're walking in life. As the author puts it "the safety net may be there to catch you if you fall, but you're better off pretending it doesn't exist."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Think Like a Rocket Scientist: Simple Strategies You Can Use to Make Giant Leaps in Work and Life []  2020-5-1 18:14

    I'm halfway through Think Like a Rocket Scientist. I got the book two days ago and I'm 's is a amazing book. Varol is a amazing writer, who makes a narrative cohere to his point. The first chapter on decision making under uncertainty is worth the price of the book, create that one year of college.I am a amazing believer in building and using different thinking tools. I've read a shelf full of books on thinking. Varol's will go into my highly used reference section with Thinking Quick and Slow and Not good Charlie's Almanack

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    lasix online pharmacy in Cleveland [buying lasix without prescription]  2020-9-17 5:15
    [email protected]

    buy lasix in Greece lasix price comparison cheap lasix in Puerto Rico buy lasix in Germany where to buy lasix in Japan online how to buy lasix in Miami cheap lasix in Spain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    in canadian pharmacies nniw [ pharmacy bxaw]  2020-10-16 13:32
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy- canada pharmacies highest rated canadian pharmacies canadian pharmacies generic online canadian online pharmacy pharmacy canadian pharcharmy canadian-pharcharmy- internet pharmacy pharmacy buy generic canadian pharmacy canada pharmacy buy from canada pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my case in gov search [broward county civil case search]  2020-9-3 1:23
    [email protected]

    see post miami dade criminal case find brazoria county case find website here her comment is here search more his comment is here kcoj case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Omaha online can u buy lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to buy lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to buy lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in San Diego [where to purchase lasix in Charlotte]  2020-9-13 14:26
    [email protected]

    united healthcare lasix best price for lasix in Buffalo where to buy lasix in Cincinnati online how to buy lasix in San Diego where to purchase lasix in Sweden where to buy lasix in Tulsa buy lasix fedex shipping

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to buy lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to buy lasix in Tucson online best method to search cheap lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to purchase lasix in Austria best price for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to purchase lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to buy lasix in Los Angeles where to purchase lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to buy lasix in Greece online best price for lasix in United Kingdom best price for lasix in Austin best price for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    price of tablets in india [ without seeing a doctor]  2020-12-4 10:13
    [email protected]

    osta 100mg discount online discount sales Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    buy lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to buy lasix in Portland purchase lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to buy lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Albuquerque [where to buy lasix in UK online]  2020-9-17 13:34
    [email protected]

    best price for lasix in Poland top 5 best locations to buy lasix in United States where to buy generic lasix where to purchase lasix in Japan top 9 best locations to buy lasix in Israel buy lasix online with prescription lasix online pharmacy in Oklahoma cheap lasix in Indianapolis buy lasix in Portland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada cheap lasix in Omaha where to purchase lasix in Austria where to buy lasix in Detroit where to purchase lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to purchase lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Portland [best price for lasix in New York]  2020-9-14 1:55
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Sweden buy lasix in San Francisco where to buy lasix in Baltimore online cheap lasix 40mg cheap lasix in San Antonio top 7 best locations to buy lasix in Hungary top 9 best locations to buy lasix in Netherlands purchase lasix from Saudi Arabia buy lasix online from Washington buy furosemide

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can buy lasix buying lasix in canada how to buy lasix in Norway best price for lasix in Long Beach where to purchase lasix in Washington how can i buy lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Czech Republic where is better to purchase lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to buy lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    purchase lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to buy lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to buy lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    cheap lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to buy lasix in Indianapolis best price for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to buy lasix in Detroit where to buy lasix online buy canadian lasix online buy lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to buy lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to purchase lasix in France lasix online india lasix price per where to purchase lasix in Buffalo where to purchase lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Finally a treatise on the risks we take every day whether we punch the time clock or venture out on our own. Used to be the only folks taking risks were entrepreneurs. Navigating today's workplace is dangerous business. Read this and identify your own risk threshold. The reward is in the reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I found the writing interesting and the outline simple to follow, however, the story was mostly anectodal, which created it difficult for me to apply.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Review: Advance Reader CopyRisk/Reward, a book that urges readers to take risks is inviting, inspirational and is written in a comfortable, conversational style. Author Anne Kreamer, who seems to practice what she preaches, has written numerous books on famous cultural topics. Her work has appeared in Time, The Fresh York Times the Wall Road Journal and other publications. She is a regular contributor to Harvard Business eamer states that Risk/Reward is meant to be our “guide to bridging the gap between thinking and actually doing…offering risk practices that will support overcome the inertia, the fear and the confusion that prevent people from moving forward in work…and finding pleasure and fulfillment.”She interviews seven risk takers who offer private accounts of their own risk om her research; she describes four types of risk e cites numerous studies and offers an 8 page (in uncorrected proof) bibliography for further is book is peppered with inspirational quotes: “Change will lead to insight far more often than insight will lead to change.” Milton EricksonThis is the kind of book that you may turn to often for courage, inspiration and insight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I knew Risk/Reward and the idea of managed risktaking would have invaluable lessons for my twenty-six-year-old twin sons who have taken vastly various career paths in Brooklyn. But from the outset--her frontis quote by Bertrand Russell (“The central issue of our age is how to act decisively in the absence of certainty.” )--Kreamer’s manifesto on uncertainty shows us that informed risk is something all of us at all ages can benefit from considering. Written in beautifully lucid prose, she articulates risk as an ongoing condition of life, professional and otherwise, ranging from how to balance ysis with intuition to how to place yourself in luck’s way; from embracing impermanence to ideas of manageable courage; from the Zen Buddhist concept of “beginner’s mind” to one of my favorite lessons here: “soft eyes,” that ability to be peripherally aware of everything that’s going on around you. All of which, I realize, factor greatly in my life as a writer, and I realize as well I’m going to have to obtain another copy to give to my kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Amazing book. A small ra ra you can do it, quit your job doing whatever and begin over at something else. But created some interesting points - other ones, slightly repetitive and obvious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    And to be fair, I don't see "Risk/Reward" being aimed at the Hoi Polloi. Anne Kreamer alludes to this when she talks about one of her four "types", drifters, further breaking down into two sub-groups: intentional, and un-intentional. However you wish to frame it, I think that the biggest difference between these two groups hinges on privilege. Some unfocused types can dabble at a meditation center and spend half their waking hours in contemplative silence; others must endure exhausting drudgery in one dead end, often minimum wage job after ere's a vague and kind of unexamined class-ism that runs throughout Ms. Kreamer's examination of the fresh American Dream of agility and adaptability sufficient to weather the current job market's tsunami of change. Very small is said of labor arbitrage/outsourcing or the human costs of automation - if intellectual capital and innovation isn't quite your area...well, then hopefully you're a doctor. Or a member of the "creative class".I couldn't quite put myself or people I live with and know squarely into any of the four cited categories of risk takers and avoiders: the Pioneers, Thinkers, Defenders and Drifters. I would expect that most of us have enough qualities from multiple groups as to render these arbitrary divisions somewhat meaningless. And don't a disproportionate number of young adults begin off as "drifters", without necessarily staying there?There's a lot of amazing tip here about not keeping your head down, networking wherever possible, being willing to do something very various from the work you have been doing, etcetera. Perhaps this comes as naturally as breathing to the millennial set and needs to be "taught" to their elders, but I'd again argue it is often not so much a function of age as of latitude to create a change midstream, falling back on savings, family, or other resources. There's a general mindset in certain circles today that those who fall behind in the global labor marketplace just aren't trying hard or intelligent enough, and while Risk/Reward wasn't written to be a vindication for that argument so much as a motivator for anyone begin to the risk-taking message, that's cold comfort to a lot of out there who may have come by some serious risk aversion only gradually and for some very amazing reasons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I am a retired accountant thinking about changing my field.I read this book and took the online survey and discovered that unsurprisingly I am a Defender. Knowing that,and armed with the insights and hints I found in the book, I know the next steps to take to figure out how I wish to hold working, but on my own terms?I think this book is a amazing resource for anyone at any scene in their careers. I have three 20 something sons, and I've ordered a copy of the book to send to each of them as a valuable tool for them as they consider next steps in their lives. I know it will be a huge support to eamer has written an easy-to-read book chock full of valuable info that can actually be used by true people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I'm a coach who focuses on women over 40 who are looking to make the life they want. I was preparing for a presentation about my own book, which discusses factors, including resilience and risk-taking, that promote creating a amazing life. When this book arrived two days before my presentation, I was delighted. I opened it without any expectations and found myself reading the book cover to cover in one sitting. Kreamer has done thorough, in-depth research on risk behaviors. She presents it in a clear, simple to read fashion that helps you understand your own attitude towards risk and to work within your private style. Each style is paired with a short interview with well-known people who represent that style. Explore whether you're a Pioneer, a Thinker, a Defender or either of two types of Drifter and then learn how to take risks. I'll be quoting Kreamer often and recommending this book to clients.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I am so glad that I read this book. I think you need to begin to read it in order to realize you need to read it. I began to like it more and more as I read on and then suddenly I realized I loved it, never mind that it was written by someone (full disclosure) who became a mate in latest years. Unless he or she is on a deathbed, I think this book can support anyone. At the very least it will support them to grow. I’m going to buy it for my 20-something children because what it says is true, wise and has heart.RISK/REWARD looks at the unstable state of employment which we need to handle in this fresh century and puts it in perspective for us. “Aside from federal judges and tenured professors…,” Kreamer writes, “there really is no secure position in twenty-first century working America.” Kreamer tells you why, what that means and what you can do about it in this thoughtful, smart small tome with solid facts and ideas.I love Kreamer’s intimate biographical descriptions of some accomplished persons’ largest professional risk-taking. You obtain to search out about the screw-ups that some high-profile but interesting people go through as they take the largest risks of their careers and how they manage to straighten things out, or not. Subsequently, the reader can apply what is learned from these experiences to his own journey, or prospective one and while considering these anecdotes, learn a amazing deal about himself, herself and others; it’s fun. My favorite Largest Risk story in the book is that taken by Rosanne Cash, who showed by her actions what a real artist she is. (Go, Girl.)Risk/Reward is well-written. (Favorite sentence: “The art of risk-taking is an odyssey of self-discovery.”) It’s also full of surprises, from thought-provoking quotes and anecdotes to a look at the value of doing nothing to research that froths with fascinating information. Did you know that “emotion is as essential as pure rationality in making sensible decisions.”? This comes from one of the a lot of erudite studies that Kreamer translates for us into quickly understandable language, thank you. As with her latest book, IT’S ALWAYS PERSONAL, NAVIGATING EMOTION IN THE NEW WORKPLACE, Kreamer in RISK/REWARD gives so much that readers can only gain from a second reading, which is where I am headed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Make [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Even in a training class about demands of ever changing market, I couldnt obtain myself to take risks in the fictional situation. Author Anne Kreamer in risk/Reward: Why Smart Leaps and Daring Choices Are the Best Career Moves You Can Create shows that its not an either or situation. Success versus Risk. The author categorises people into Pioneers, Thinkers, Defenders, and Drifters based on their risk affinity. For each of them, she has a plan to balance both risk and reward. with her own example of having tried a lot of jobs and her daughter's method of picking the job tat best suited her interest by jotting down her choices and trying some jobs before committing to one, encourage the reader to take some risks because YOLO (you only live once)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    What a amazing method to begin the year and to obtain unstuck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    In the introduction to Little Leaps, Huge Changes, Gregg Clunis, the author, asks, “Why are you reading another self-help book in find of an respond you already have?’ He then goes on to respond his question, “The truth is that you picked up this book because it is easier to hold searching for an respond than it is to take action. Reading self-help books gives you the impression of being productive when, really, it’s just another form of procrastination.”You can use this book in one of two very various ways. You can read it and pretend that you are gaining knowledge which will support you move toward your goal. Or you can use it as a street map to actually take action toward your Clunis shares his own remarkable success story and provides a blueprint for anyone who is truly committed to achieving their goals. Success is not achieved by brilliant insights or million-dollar ideas. Success, in any field, is having a clear picture of what you wish and being willing to take the little consistent actions which will obtain you there. The emphasis is on little steps or as Mr. Clunis calls them, Little e book is divided into three parts. Part One covers the basics, How to Change Your Life. Part Two digs into Why We Obtain Stuck. And Part Three shares How to Hold Moving Clunis writes in a very conversational style, based on his own success story. The book is simple to read. The concepts are rather straightforward and if you have been interested in self-help for any significant length of time, you are probably well aware of the ideas he Mr. Clunis points out, most people do not need more knowledge or insights, they need to take more action. The more you break the action into little manageable steps, the easier it is to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    I really, really liked this book.I have read a lot of books on habits and productivity and even though this particular book didn't include anything really fresh or mind-blowing, it was presented in such a straightforward and well-explained method that I felt like I was reading something that will actually change my life. I'm not large on "LIVE YOUR DREAMS!" "HIUSTLE TO YOU [email protected]#$%!!" kinda items but this book will work for either those who *are* into that sort of approach or those who wish to create lasting change but in a quieter, less intense egg Clunis presents a few easy ways to work towards goals, explains why each approach he suggests affects the ways in which our brains work and process info (lots of amazing items for those interested in neuroscience, but not so much that it turns into a science book), a brief example from a real-life experience (both his and others), and then suggestions on how to incorporate the approach he recommends into daily e book is brief, but it's *so* clear and not middled with too much info at once, or too a lot of examples, or too much science that you walk away from reading it remembering all the key points. I truly hope this is the begin of a series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Horse That Leaps Through Clouds: A Tale of Espionage, the Silk Road and the Rise of Modern China []  2020-9-12 19:9

    Only 3/4 method through so far. Was expecting more comparison & quoting of Mannerheim's original treck. Would also have liked images taken in 2006 as I remember having seen some from 1906. But I guess Tamm is a writer whereas Mannerheim was an amazingly multi-faceted man & was a true anthropologist & linguist apart from being a spy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    Amazing author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    I didn’t search anything fresh in this book. It was very primary coverage of subjects I have read about in much more detail in other books involving changing your life and motivating yourself. It’s a relatively short book, with quite a few examples, so the amount of information isn’t great. I would recommend it to someone who hasn’t read anything on the subject and doesn’t wish to do much reading. This could be a amazing choice for that high school student who isn’t looking to go to college but also isn’t sure what they DO wish to nce, at least at the time I write this, there isn’t a “look inside” feature, here are the contents on my advance copy:Introduction: The Story of ImmigrantsPart 1: How to Change Your Life1: What is Change?2: What Do You Want?3: The Importance of Why4: Audit Your Reality5: Change Your BehaviorPart 2: Why We Obtain Stuck6: Why We Don’t Do What We Know We Should7: How to Stop Procrastinating8: The Four Sins of Private Development9: On the Need for Motivation10: The Passion PitPart 3: How to Hold Moving Forward11: Choose Your Standards12: Fail Your Method ForwardConclusion: HopeBut that’s JustMe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Horse That Leaps Through Clouds: A Tale of Espionage, the Silk Road and the Rise of Modern China []  2020-9-12 19:9

    An intriguing travelogue with a amazing measure of local history and early 20th European politics thrown in. The central Asian travelogue is a time-honored tradition and this is an perfect addition to the genre. Fascinating!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    I love how simple it was to rrad this book. I almost walked past it, im glad i didnt. Such a amazing book with simple to follow steps for success.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    This is a pleasant and optimistic book written in a straightforward style without a lot of flourishes or pretenses. You will feel like you know the author after reading this book and you want him well and have sympathy for him in his huge loss that is revealed late in the book. So that is a amazing virtue. So too is the work a day method that Clunis describes his methodological theory and gives anecdotes of different folks who worked through related issues. To be honest, I felt like the book was most compelling at the beginning, when Clunis describes the five steps he thinks we need to go through and the end when he describes how a combination of hope and awareness that the hourglass is emptying can spur us to greater heights. In between is quite a pastiche of trite observations, Wikipedia references and almost non-sequitor anecdotes that could have been at least arranged in a more interesting fashion or perhaps jettisoned entirely. I suspect they come across better in podcast format.I would have liked to see more explanation of the five steps and a bit more examination of the huge hope and fierce urgency of now concepts. I felt like I kind of know people like Clunis since he describes himself as a Jamaican immigrant. Coming from Miami, we all know the super industrious and disciplined Jamaicans who seem to have it all figured out. It doesn’t surprise me that a man with a system like Clunis is among their number.Ultimately I did not search this book as compelling as I had hoped but I do think that a lot of will. The focus on practical tip like using a pomodoro to overcome procrastination or note taking in auditing one’s life are amazing practical therapy notes. If you are the sort of person who thrives on everyday injections of motivation you could do worse than to have this book on your shelf. Others may search it less useful though still worth reading commended with caveats.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Horse That Leaps Through Clouds: A Tale of Espionage, the Silk Road and the Rise of Modern China []  2020-9-12 19:9

    unbelievable acc of forgone years, actualised by this writer who has done the spy-trip again in modern times.Learn about the historie of Russia, China, Finland and what has (not) changed.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Horse That Leaps Through Clouds: A Tale of Espionage, the Silk Road and the Rise of Modern China []  2020-9-12 19:9

    In my mind, Eric Enno Tamm's book ought to be at or near the top of everyone's reading will have unique appeal to those of us who have Finnish ancestry because it is about the notable Finn Baron Gustaf Mannerheim, and his espionage expedition (as a Russian spy) from St. Petersburg all the method to Beijing, China, in 1906-08. The title is taken from Mannerheim's Chinese name, Ma Dahan, meaning "the horse that leaps through clouds."In 2006, Tamm retraces Mannerheim's epic journey across the Silk Street from St. Petersburg to Beijing, and as Tamm has written, "[I] discovered both seismic differences and eerie similarities between the China of today and the country Mannerheim visited a century ago."Yet, the book is far from being nostalgia for Finns. This is an adventure tale that has the feel of a novel that any reader can enjoy. But even more so, because Tamm is a very knowledgeable historian and critical observer, it is a book that ultimately reminds us of both the immense political and environmental changes that have taken put on this planet in the latest 100 years, and at the same time reminds us of all the corrupt political power-tripping that has remained unchanged in that period of 's a case in point: Tamm, while preparing for his journey following Mannerheim's footsteps across Asia, visited with Craig Murray who was formerly a British ambassador to Uzbekistan. They discussed Murray's involvement in discovering torture practices benefitting both the US and Britain, and they talked about the idea that American involvement in Central Asia was "only about fighting militant Islam.""The fundamental motives are more primary than that," Murray told me. "It's about oil and gas contracts." That, according to Murray, is the prize in the Fresh Amazing Game. A century ago, the android game was quite simple: two players, Russia and Britain, competed to control hapless khanates that were economically and militarily backward. Today, the United States, Russia, and increasingly China are attempting to exert influence and control over the region's rich resources. Corrupt autocrats have used these petroleum deposits to become obnoxiously wealthy and powerful, crushing domestic movements that challenge their authority and playing foreign powers versus each other. As Murray explained, Enron, the American energy giant, had initially paid $100 million in bribes to President Karimov's family for lucrative petroleum contracts. However, when Enron declared bankruptcy as a effect of heavy fraud, the contracts were resold to Russia's Gazprom.Tamm's book begins 100 years ago with Mannerheim, but brings us fully up-to- date about current events. It is a very necessary contribution to our understanding of today's political and ecological realities. If I rated the books that I review, it would obtain 6 points on a 5 point scale. Perfect research, writing and ere are videos, interactive maps of Mannerheim's route, images and more at [...] Otava will be publishing a Finnish translation that will be available this autumn. Reviewed by Gerry Henkel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Leaps, Big Changes: Everyday Strategies to Accomplish More, Crush Your Goals, and Create the Life You Want []  2020-1-26 23:34

    I read a lot of books on leadership, self-motivation, and productivity. I liked this book, but because I read so a lot of on the subject, I didn't search it earth shattering. Yet, I can't support but think that if I didn't have a knowledge base on the subject, I think I would have found this to be a amazing 's what I liked:- The book is full of practical hints that are listed in callout boxes called "Tiny Leaps." The do create it possible to skim back through and search the highlights of the content.- I like the challenges at the end of each chapter- There are some amazing practical insights on procrastination and why we do it. Also on choosing opportunities, rather than searching endlessly for passion.- I also liked the author's perspective on failure and how it can motivate us.What I didn't like as much:- I found some content to be less new and innovative than I would have liked. For example, I have seen SMART goals everywhere. I know, there probably isn't another method to explain it, but it feels overdone.- I also found that quoting Simon Sinek and knowing your why feels overdone. It's popular, but it's everywhere! It almost starts to feel cliche.- For someone who has read a lot and is looking for fresh and motivational content, this is too basic.Overall, I think I might have fun the author's podcast and blog very much. I checked them out as a effect of reading this book. I'll definitely be following Gregg's online content. I just think he could have developed this more and place together a longer book that was more in-depth and actionable. I'd give it 3.5 stars, but will round up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Horse That Leaps Through Clouds: A Tale of Espionage, the Silk Road and the Rise of Modern China []  2020-9-12 19:9

    For a lot of years I have been fascinated by the enigma that was, Baron Gustaf Mannerheim. A curious episode in his life was his trek through central Asia to China at the behest of Tsar Nicholas II. Having received a grubbing at the hands of the Japanese a year earlier in a battle where they grossly underestimated the capabilities of their enemy, the Russian Emperor was perilously short on solid intellegence about their southern r two years Mannerheim trekked through the southern borderlands of the Russian empire seeking to ascertain the military strength and the political intentions of the Chinese empire. Ostensibly a spying mission under the guise of an anthropological expedition, as with all things concerning Mannerheim, it wasn't as straight forward as it first seemed. Eric Enno Tamm's book retraces Mannerheim's route 100 years later. Tamm uses Mannerheim as his tutorial and as a framework around which he builds a fascinating travelogue. Tamms erudite and relaxed writing style makes this a relaxing, but at the same time informative read. He wonderfully combines the observations created 100 years ago with the current situation and you are left wondering if anything really changes politically or is history destined to continue repeating itself. The only difference between then and now seems to be that man has managed to pollute horribly what was pure 100 years ago.I bought this book as a Kindle edition and at the begin of each chapter their is a resource link, linked to Tamm's www service which has copious information, maps and photographs similar to each particular chapter. Unfortunately using this link on my Kindle was frustratingly slow and the maps were hard to discern in black and white, but I think it is a marvelous innovation on Tamm's part to have this in his book. Usually books like this are very short on such maps. Much more practical would be to peruse it on a PC insted.I found this a wonderfully engrossing book to read and Tamm's writing style is very discriptive so much so that you can almost feel the pollution, he describes, getting right up your r those who know about Mannerheim you may not learn a lot of fresh things about the man but certainly you will learn a lot about the current state of the locations he visited 100 years ago. As to the accusation of Tamm being biased versus the Chinese and China. I think you can see where that reviewers opinions were coming from. Of course Tamm may have his opinions about China. It is hard to travel through the border lands of China and not feel the result of their regional power. I think that Tamm tries to be as objective as is humanly possible. He tries to place everything in context, especially for readers who may not know these lands thing you can be assured of he is a lot more politically correct and balanced in his findings than his predecessor was a hundred years before him.If you like travelogues you will love this book especially if you like things place in their historic context.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386