Read lincoln in the bardo: a novel'a=0 reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all lincoln in the bardo: a novel'a=0 reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    As I was reading this book I was amazed by the "Bardo" concept: of existence of the souls between life and death! It is brilliantly written sometimes witty sometimes sad and deep. I am not a prolific review writer so suffice to say, a lovely interesting book that i can highly recommend for a rainy Spring afternoon. Thank you, G. Saunders

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    The book is a very amazing read and hope Saunders tries more novel themes. The story is full of historical references from the Cival Battle period. There is a parade of characters I found interesting but a bit confusing. Most I would like to have known better.

    0  


    Add your opinion on lincoln in the bardo: a novel'a=0 or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    Before you crack begin George Saunders' fresh (first) novel, "Lincoln in the Bardo", you must empty your mind of what you expect an historical novel to be. Both the structure and the narrative are incredibly non-traditional, somewhat experimental, often disorienting, but ultimately fulfilling. Allow me assure you that if you begin your mind, you'll not only obtain used to it, you will have fun it at said, I think "Lincoln in the Bardo" would work even better as a scene play, somewhat reminiscent of "Our Town", and in this sense I think an audio recording of the novel, if done well, might be the best method to experience this do is a Tibetan word for the "in-between" or "transitional" state between lives (thank you, Wikipedia). The novel takes put in one night in a cemetery and the story is narrated by hundreds of voices: old and young, men, women, and children, white and black, salve and free. These denizens of Saunders' novel are in a put between life and death. We are told that people stay in this gray zone for varying periods of time and that kids usually stay there a very short time (this is where it also sounded a lot like Purgatory to me). Do these "beings" know that they are actually dead? They use words like "sick box" for coffin, and "sick-form" for body, "white stone home" for mausoleum, so they seem to be unclear as to their actual state. Through these voices Saunders creates as fascinating (and chilling) a ver of the after-life as Dante Alighieri gave us. (There is a particularly interesting and notable discussion among them about will in the latter part of the novel.)The primary plot is fictionalized history: Willie, Abraham Lincoln's young son, has died and he is now in the Bardo. Here we meet the a lot of fascinating - and funny! characters who present Willie around, who witness the unusual sight of Lincoln cradling the body of his young son, and who endeavor to support both father and son to search peace. That's as far as I will go with the "plot" of this of my favorite things about this special novel, was how Saunders presented conflicting "news reports". For example, when reporting on the White House gala reception the night Willie is dying, some "witnesses" said there was a full moon, some said there was no moon, some said it was green, some red, others said it was just a sliver. This serves to remind us that recorded history is just as unreliable as our current news reporting. What is the truth? Do we ever know? For the purpose of "Lincoln in the Bardo", we only need to know that the Lincolns did lose their beloved son Willie in early 1862, all else is brilliantly imagined and "reported" by Saunders.Ultimately "Lincoln in the Bardo" is a riveting exploration of death, grief, and love told in an utterly unique, almost poetic, fashion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    This was somewhat ghoulish, but very well written. I had not previously read any of George Saunders short stories. Now, I will!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    George Saunders' first novel lives up to his reputation for eccentric melding of genres and forms. Lincoln may be in the title (which Lincoln is meant is another matter), but the book is as much about its other, fictional narrators as it is about historical figures. What other narrators? Well. Abraham Lincoln's third son died of typhoid fever in early 1862, and for a time the president's concentration was broken while the Civil Battle raged. Newspapers reported that he returned to the crypt by night to keep his son's body. And in George Saunders' novel, those visits were observed. Not by the living, but by the e bulk of the book is their monologues and dialogues, as they explain their lives, their deaths, the reasons they didn't move on from the world. Their voices are lively, and at their best they capture that amazing postmodern subject, the mingled beauty and horror of the world, but I'm not sure the fractured approach has the impact it wants to achieve. The very sprawl of Saunders' imagination reduces a lot of characters to vignettes. There's a balance between scope and immediacy that I'm not sure is optimally achieved. And yet: the voices. Intellectual, pompous, profane, mournful. Having finished the novel, I wish them e plot, such as it is, involves Willie Lincoln's lingering spirit, and the danger it faces. Kid ghosts are soon warped by a mysterious metaphysics into monstrous creatures. The narrators wish to protect Willie from that, and to use his father's visit to convince him to move on. But their own afterlives may be fundamentally changed by that effort. The climactic sequence toward which all this builds is a thing of beauty, getting the balance between the huge and the small right in a method the rest of the novel may e thematic matter of the novel is, as I've suggested, the usual attempt to grapple with the senselessness of life. As ever, the problem with it is that there's no respond except "I can't go on, I'll go on." But Saunders is better than a lot of writers at avoiding platitudes and confronting readers with the darker side of life without creating the feeling that he just wants to create you wallow in it. He gets, for example, at the irony of Lincoln's grief: that a man should be distracted by his own mourning from a battle in which he will create hundreds of thousands of other parents into mourners. This is a striking case-in-point for the ways in which we navigate the ironies of our uncertain ratings are arbitrary, and in this case I'm torn between 4 and 5 stars. Yes, I can say 4.5, but it's not what will present up on the review. I like a novel with clean lines, and Lincoln in the Bardo is not that: its collision of ideas, and its brevity, is what you'd expect from a short story writer grappling with a form for which he may not be suited. I haven't even mentioned the chapters that mix true historical texts with fictional ones to make accounts that have the poetry of fiction and the authenticity of non-fiction. They're gorgeous, but they're also oddly integrated into the larger narrative structure. Should that matter? Some would say no, and intellectually I think they're right. Life is messy, why should art be different? But I'm a neat freak in every way, and I like symmetry. 4 stars, 5 stars, so what? The numbers are only there because Amazon requires them. This is a book you should read if you like Saunders, or other writers in his playful, off-kilter vein, names like Kelly Link, Aimee Bender, and Karen Russell. Readers of more straightforward books will think it's just willfully peculiar. You're not wrong, but you're missing out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    I might read it again, just to be sure. But I enjoyed it, the parts I understood. Which is enough for 4 stars. But I may increase to 5 stars. I bet I will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    I almost wish to break this review into two parts. One for those who know Saunders and one for those who’ll be experiencing him for the first time. What does it matter? Well, you’re about to hear and read a lot about this book, Lincoln in the Bardo, about Saunders himself (there was so much press with Tenth of December that I feel like he and I have hung out multiple times; that I know all his stories), and about his genius. Then, if you’ve never read him, and especially if you haven’t read much in the method of modern or post-modern literature, you’re going to pick up this book and place it down in about five minutes. That, dear readers, would be a grave (see what I did there?) error, a true tragedy. Why? Because Saunders’ much anticipated first novel really is as genius as the stories and interviews and blurbs are going to claim, but you have to do a small more of the work as a reader than you might be used ch anticipated is the phrase you’ll probably hear most. What that should tell you is that Saunders has a powerful fan base. He truly does, and full disclosure here, I’ve counted myself among them for a few years now. His mastery of the short story is well known, with the use of quirky characters, odd theme parks, and surreal science fiction-y, angst inducing situations known to take you to dark, uncomfortable locations but that still manage to search and nourish a spark of humanistic hope. Perhaps the most common feeling among his readers as they’ve enjoyed these works is “man, I want this guy would write a novel!” He has, and in real Saunders fashion, he’s ensured that very small about the experience is “normal”.I’m not going to regurgitate plot here, plenty of better reviews have already done you that favor. What I do wish to create sure to express is the feel of the structure and the experience, perhaps in terms of other things you’ve read and seen. The most common comparison I’ve read is Edgar Lee Masters’ “Spoon River Anthology”. The comparison is apt, there are similarities, mainly in that the dead speak to us of their pasts and especially of their mistakes. But Masters’ dead are much less playful and rarely attempt humor while Saunders’ cast of spirits deliver several laugh out loud moments as they tutorial readers through the tale. I thought often of Twain as I read.Another comparison that came to mind several times was Dante’s Inferno. Though instead of a proper hell, we are treated to a description of a Bardo, a purgatory where spirits have remained in between their death and their final destination. Each held up for reasons of their own private obsessions, several of which are brilliantly and humorously described throughout the novel. Others are devastatingly sad yet delivered equally as powerfully. The reader increasingly learns about the rules and behaviors of that Bardo through these snippets of is is probably a amazing time to talk about structure. It’s quite various and again, I’d expect no less from Saunders. Picture a Greek chorus, a paragraph or two of dialog (rarely more) with an attribution after each. It is startling at first and again, will be especially so to readers less familiar with modern and post-modern lit. And so it is this difference that will probably be the largest complaint as the reviews start to pile up here. My advice? Hang in there, it works and it works quite well. In fact, you’ll not only obtain used to it, you’ll learn to love re comparisons now. Lincoln, the titular and in some ways central (though in a lot of ways not) hero expresses the most strong dialog and I often thought of Shakespeare when Lincoln spoke. These are attractive and profound moments, by far the novel’s most strong as he reflects on the death of his son Willie. You don’t have to be a parent to feel the impact of his dialog, but it sure didn’t hurt, and I personally haven’t read such raw, sincere and painful cogitation on death and mourning since I read Twain’s “The Death of Jean”. Readers of Paul Hardings’ Enon have also tasted of related parental agony. In any case, it is through Lincoln’s hero that the deepest waters other comparative thought, especially if you’re hearing all the publicity and thinking of picking up this novel for grandma who loves to read. It’ll also bring to mind at different times Beavis and Butthead, or maybe Hank and Bobby Hill. I don’t mean that as a negative, I really don’t. But I do understand that this is something about Saunders that people either love or hate. At one moment Lincoln may wax eloquent on the spark of life and in the next, you may be reminded for the tenth time or more that one of the spirits has a heavy erection. These moments bring me joy and laughter, but I do comprehend that for some others they don’t carry the proper dignity of their normal read. If you are one such, Saunders may not be for st importantly, I’d implore all readers to hold an begin mind. If you’re a Saunders fan, you’re going to be strengthened in that fandom. If you’re fresh to Saunders, but have fun alternative structures and have a history of adventurous reading, I’m confident you’ll soon count yourself a soldier in his army. However, if you’re one whose reading tends toward the traditional, conservative in structure and clear in its identity, then Lincoln in the Bardo’s narrative structure and its moments of revelry may at first feel like nails on a chalkboard to you. Please, war through it. The novel's main points could yet become for you sweet susurrations of humanistic glory that leave you wet eyed and wondering where Mr. Saunders has been all your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    At times intriguing, at times aimless, it was a amazing read once I allow go of my preconceived notion of what the book should be about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    Quel plaisir à lire, ce texte plein d'imagination frôlant parfois le délire.L'utilisation de citations en "patchwork " est efficace et rci monsieur Saunders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    Lincoln in the Bardo is a poem about living and dying. It's astonishing. It took a while to wet my feet. The power of the "novel" grew and grew and now I must read it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cutting Edge (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    5 starsA vicious triple murder takes put in Fresh York Diamond District on a Saturday. Having just returned to Fresh York, Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are asked to help with the case. As Amelia examines the scene, Lincoln gathers the ere is evidence that a witness got away. This is young Vimal Lahori who is a diamond cutter. Wounded by the gunman, he flees. The man who had an appointment prior to the killings, Saul Weintraub, is also in danger for the reader has already learned the identity of the assassin who is named Vladimir Rostov and he is tracking down these two “witnesses.” He calls himself “The Promisor.”Another couple gets attacked and Lincoln and his squad learn more about the perpetrator from their story. Luckily, they survived the attack. The squad locates extra clues from both the crime stage and the stuff the assassin threw in a storm more assaults occur, the tension in the story ratchets up. The higher-ups demand action from Lincoln and his team. Vimal is in trouble, and he runs from here to there trying to elude the Promisor. There is an exciting and intense chase to the denouement to not only save Vimal, but other potential is is an extremely well l written and plotted novel, as are all of Jeffery Deaver’s novels. The writing is superb. The story has just the right amount of tension. I learned about diamond cutting and drilling for geo-thermal construction. These were very interesting asides. The research is impeccable. The descriptions are clear and concise. I truly have fun Mr. Deaver’s books; I always learn things as well as enjoying myself.I wish to thank NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing for forwarding to me a copy of this most unbelievable book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    Somebody is trying to slay Geneva, a black schoolgirl. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are trying to protect her and search out why she is in usual in these stories, nothing is what it seems and it's only in the latest pages that the truth is discovered. Geneva researches, with the support of Amelia, happenings that happened to one of her ancestors 140 years ago. The plot is thin and I found myself not caring one iota what happened to this ancestor and nor, for that matter, to Geneva herself. And why would a civilian forensic crime expert be allowed by the NYPD to lead an operation to protect a possible assassination victim? Come on, Mr. Deaver, this is laughably unrealistic. I do love the Lincoln Rhyme series, but this has to be the weakest one so far; not even close to The Bone Collector, The Skin Collector or the Vanished Man. 2 and a half stars, really.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    I like a book that has a amazing surprise twist, i really do. And I've loved the previous Lincoln Rhyme novels in this series. But this book has SO a lot of surprise twists, some of them coming after deliberate author deception and misdirection to send you to a various conclusion, that I got irritated at the blatant manipulation. I enjoyed the book, but this one gets dropped to four stars due to too a lot of manipulatively deceptive twists and turns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    There are novels you can read for an hour or two and place down. Come back to them in a few hoursor a few days. Then, there are other novels that you just can't place down. You have to know....absolutely have to know what happens next. Your mind is racing; you're trying to obtain aheadof the author. Trying not to miss a clue, a detail, that might give you an edge.Half the fun of reading Jeffrey Deaver is trying to figure out "who dun it". Some are easier than is one has so a lot of twists & turns, just when you think you know, something changes and anothercharacter becomes your prime suspect or, maybe, you search yourself wondering if it could be one ere are a few fresh characters in this Lincoln Rhyme novel. I love the interaction between ourfamiliar characters and Archer. I think she can add a whole fresh dimension to interpersonal relationships.I have to wonder if JD will take advantage of those relationships, exploiting them with their own twistsand turns, alongside those of our next (serial?) murderer.If you've never read Deaver, you're in for treat. Whichever hero you're following at the moment,you're right there with them. Anyone familiar with the Lincoln Rhyme series, probably feels as thoughthey've actually been in his parlor. I know I do. I can see that bottle of Scotch that's always sitting on theshelf and read the white boards without looking at the page.Engrossing and true life scary, I think I wish to live in a very dumb house and not be connected to anything.I suspect that’s what called an unintended consequence. Do yourself a favor, read this book. If nothing else,you’ll be thoroughly entertained and you just might learn something.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cutting Edge (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    I can always count on Jefferey Deaver to deliver a well-written crime novel where nothing is at it seems. If you have read Deavers previous books, then you know what I mean. That is why I suspected that not everything is what it seemed when everything seemed to go smoothly in the ly married Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are tasked with finding not only a crazed assassin that seemed to be targeting couples that are to be married but also a witness to the first crime. A triple murder in Manhattan's Diamond District. Of course, this is not simple tasks, the assassin is maiming and killing his method and looking for the young witness while the witness tries to obtain away from the town.And, this is just a little fraction of the story. And, the rest of it well spoilers! It's darn hard to review a book like this because there are so a lot of things going on that you just need to search out for yourself when you read the book. All I can say that Jeffrey Deaver has done it again! As usual! The book is thick, but never boring, filled with fabulous twist and an absolutely marvelous ending. Kind of cliffhanger-ish, but still a satisfying ending. I had a blast reading this book and it's a series that hold going powerful with each book deliver a satisfying story. I can't wait to read the next book!If you have never read a Jeffery Deaver book before, then I urge you to do so. Begin with the first book in the Lincoln Rhyme series, The Bone Collector!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    Jeffery Deaver and Lincoln Rhyme are real to form. In this novel he's added Juliette Archer, a quadriplegic working as an intern for Rhyme. Rhyme has returned to teaching; unhappy with his results in the latest case, he's decided to retire as a NYPD e story starts with Amelia Sachs tailing a suspect when an unexpected incident occurs in a mall. The main plot begins to revolve around the incident and the suspect she's lost when the unexpected incident occurs. The murder weapon the main suspect uses is novel and enthralling, as is his reasoning when he's usual, Sachs plays a vital role in the novel. The usual cast of characters is present. Taking a huge role in this novel is Amelia's ex-boyfriend Nick Carelli. Carelli's also an ex-cop and ex-con who is out to prove a wrongful conviction and imprisonment.Rhyme’s, at times, less than amiable personality is ever present; having more interest in hard evidence and science than most anything else. He in facts, not much ere is the subplot which carries the reason for Rhyme's leaving NYPD work. The plot, I found, has a tendency to lengthen the book. I'm not so sure it was required in its e book does contain more than one very amazing twist which is guaranteed to keep the reader's attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    Jeffery Deaver's The Steel Kiss is a long and convoluted Lincoln Rhyme thriller. I nearly abandoned the book a couple of times, but kept reading and when I reached nearly half way, the plot took off and the twists and turns ere are several stories going on at the same time in The Steel Kiss, and Amelia Sachs and Rhyme work together to solve a string of murders that involve a lot of technology. This assassin is elusive, intelligent and angry. At the same time someone from Amelia's past enters the story.I found the first half of the book to be slow and boring and wondered if the plot would ever move forward and turn into a true thriller. It did, but the book would have been more satisfying to me if it was a bit shorter and if the reader didn't have to wait so long for the suspense and chilling ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    In the recent Lincoln Rhyme novel the cranky criminalist is working on a civil case—a wrongful death suit versus an escalator manufacturer. Amelia Sachs is working on the standard-issue Deaver maniacal serial assassin affair (and in the end, curiously, not entirely an unsympathetic one), while family problems abound. Plots, subplots, and sub-subplots abound, and POVs shift constantly. Each chapter ends on a so, a fresh hero joins the Rhyme extended family, and all the regulars appear, although in some cases only in always there are surprises in the [email protected]#$%!&chcock-style suspense--i.e., you know what’s about to happen, at least you think you do, and the suspense is in who/what/when/where/why/ how it will. And, as is usual in the author’s books, there is a warning that “if this goes on” then society will be in trouble. Here, it’s how simple it would be for the poor guys to gain control of “internet of things” devices—things that can be controlled remotely via the cloud. Is your fancy fresh stove connected to the Internet? It is? always, for Deaver fans, and you know who you are, it’s chilly TES AND ASIDES: Murder, arson, escalators with jaws that bite and claws that catch, circular saws, malignant microwaves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    "The Twelfth Card" begins in an Afro-American museum-library. A skinny lass scrolls through a microfiche, absorbed in research for a high school term paper. Hidden in the bookshelves, a stalker creeps forward with dark intentions....The Lincoln Rhyme novels resemble a Sherlock Holmes story, or an episode of the TV series "CSI." The assassin eventually succumbs to rigorous examination of clues left ffrey Deaver's main characters stand out for two reasons: One is that the character is paralyzed in all four limbs, a quadriplegic. The other is his female sidekick. In her cherry-red Camaro, Amelia Sachs races at wonderful velocities to save the day, sharpshooting with her finger-sensitive automatic pistol; or in her white hazard suit, she walks the crime-scene grid and collects evidence. Audio-visual gimmicks let Lincoln Rhyme to accompany her at the grid. He collates the data in a wheelchair, connected to his computerized laboratory. And of course Rhyme makes brilliant ough this was my sixth reading of a Lincoln Rhyme suspense-mystery, Deaver still managed to make moments of genuine suspense as well as mystery. I did not, however, read the six books in succession. I advise versus that. Deaver uses a formatted recipe, and if you read the stories in succession you will be saying, "This is just the same old thing." Let a few months, if not a full year, between readings; read other authors; and understand that the goodness of these stories lies not in the sameness of their overall pattern, but in the dozens of their details. Deaver tries to set his happenings in colourful locales, and he always gives salient qualities and personalities to his characters. He also provides historical, political, and scientific background. Details, details, details.If you are happy by interesting characters, by fairly plausible action sequences, by prose that reads easily and progresses at a fairly quick pace, or by a story with multiple twists, this novel has something to offer. Just remember to intersperse your Lincoln Rhyme adventures with books by other authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cutting Edge (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    So, the other day, after a series of disappointing reads, I turned to Jeffery Deaver and Lincoln Rhyme for a sure re enough, in a few pages, I was deep in a complicated mystery, compelling characters, and learning more than I ever knew about diamonds and diamond cutting. I had no idea the topic was so fascinating!Now, I’ll admit that, for a while, I thought Deaver had created a misstep with his villain. At times, the villain seemed more silly than sinister. But, really, I needn’t have worried. Deaver had a small something up his sleeve.I think I would have liked if our basic characters – the ones we love to read – had been in more private jeopardy in the book. We basically know our victims for a page or two before they meet our villain, so it’s hard to feel anything deeply there.But this definitely was a amazing read!*ARC Provided via Net Galley

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    Deaver really disappoints. What is happending to my favorite authors? Had I not read the Bone Collector and this was my first Deaver book I would never another. The plot is B-O-R-I-N-G. It wanders all over the put with too a lot of sub-plots and hard to believe meanderings. I guess when writers are successful their editors are afraid to tell them honestly when they have a piece of crap, and people will it anyway. The same hs happened with the psycho-babble of Patrician Cornwell, the thin plots of Stuart Woods, the mass produced garbage coming out of James Patterson (except for the Women's murder series that still seems credible), I no longer automatically their books and now wait for multiple reviews. I hope Michael Connelly and John Sandford don't follow the same downward spiral and hold their cutting- edge thrillers at their usual high quality. I can't imagine how Deaver's editors didn't have the nerve to tell him The Steel Kiss should have been kissed off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    This novel starts with a statement: "Sometimes you catch a break."Amelia Sachs had been driving her Ford Torino when she spotted the suspect."What're the odds?"The suspect disappears after Amelia shoots a round into the workings of an escalator to stop the mechanism in an unsuccessful attempt to stop the mechanism in an unsuccessful attempt to save a screaming man caught under the top of the escalator. The bloody, screaming man dies in her elia then initiates a find for the suspect, but to no avail. Amelia does not give up however, and tries, unsuccessfully, to get the aid of Lincoln Rhyme, who no longer works for the police, and spends his time teaching criminology at a local university, and writing novels. He is also consulting with a lawyer who is preparing a civil suit for the benefit of the wife and kids of the man who died on the previously mentioned escalator, and writing evidence charts on a blackboard with chalk. So, Amelia must continue to pursue the suspect (now named "unsub 40") without Rhyme's assistance.Certain issues occurred during this period that need to be mentioned here.During the analysis of clues to determine unsub40's whereabouts, language is too stilted, ie "Friction ridges. A hundred". "Footprints? Yes." and on and on.Evidence charts are too long, say nothing new, are boring, and require ere are also too a lot of extended descriptions of mundane happenings and activities that also require skimming before content is found.Were it not for these detrimental factors, this would have been an exciting novel to read. Even with them, though, it is well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    If you've read one Lincoln Rhyme book you've read all Lincoln Rhyme books but that is a complement and not a criticism. Deaver [email protected]#$%! on a set of characters and writing style that always works, is mostly credible, includes predictable & unpredictable twists, but always entertains; this formula works in each and every one of the installments in this long series. With a Rhyme book you always know they will obtain the poor guy due to a combination of dogged detective work combined with a hyper-focus on trace evidence. There will be an episode where one of the protagonists gets into a life or death scrape but of course survives. There are other scenes and story lines that push the line of credibility but somehow Deaver is able to do so in a method that doesn't come across as trite or distracting.If you like any of the Rhyme series, you will certainly have fun The Steel Kiss. But if these books have not interested you in the past, there is nothing in this edition that will change your sentiment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    I have always enjoyed the novels of Jeffrey Deaver, the author of The Bone Collector, the book upon which the film was based. His plots have been well-developed and unusual, his characters seemingly true people. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are my favorites. However, this book's convoluted plot contained one or more red herrings too many. In the beginning and through the middle of the book I was fascinated, but by the end, I was tired and ready to up the victims and have the poor guys escape into literary oblivion. Still, I would recommend this book to Deaver fans and those who have fun forensics and post Civil Battle history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    Although Jeffrey Deaver is one of my favorite authors, I feel he is stretching the story out to give too a lot of descriptive pages. I am interested in the story line, not the a lot of references to Lincoln's accomplishments in originating criminalist's procedures. We have learned about that in a lot of of the stories and that is ever, I still enjoyed the storyline and recommend it to others. Just skim the parts you are not interested in. I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cutting Edge (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Lincoln Rhymes and Amelia Sachs are working on a case in the diamond district of Fresh York. A diamond cutter was found tortured and murdered and an engaged couple who had stopped by to pick up their rings were also murdered. The culprit took uncut diamonds from the stage but left behind chop diamonds worth a lot of money. When more couples are targeted it seems the people are the target not the diamonds. The assassin aka the Promiser has left a witness at the first stage and he is determined to search and eliminate him. When chaos strikes the town Lincoln and Amelia have more on their plate. They need to figure out what’s going on before more lives are ere is a lot going on in this book, multiple plot lines that at first seem to have no connection. There are multiple twists that will create your head spin. This is part of the Lincoln Rhyme series but it could stand on its own. Thank you to net galley for an advanced readers copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    Deaver has a amazing plot and amazing characters, but is probably 20% too long. I think The Steel Kiss was rushed through the editing phase--who wants to chop an icon's work?--and it damage the product. The creative murder weapon kept me reading, but it got to be a slog as Deaver place to bed each part of the story after wrapping up the was also curious as some difficult plot twists were "solved" without telling the reader. Too convenient. A amazing editor could helped the author with this problem.A problematic book, but worth a read for its innovation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    In The Steel Kiss Lincoln and his squad have changed slightly. He is no longer working directly for the NYPD, a decision that does not sit well with Amelia. Moreover, he has taken on a fresh intern—Juliette Archer—who travels in a wheelchair and is about to have an operation that may well turn her into a quad. While the reader wonders whether or not Juliette will be romantic tournament for Amelia no one else in the squad seems to be worried about elia is investigating a case that involves hacking into industrial and home products that are accessible and adjustable via the internet. Instead of opening the right door, what if a murderer closed it instead? You may think that you have set the water temperature for your home at a comfortable level; what if someone who wished to do you hurt raised the level to ‘scalding’? Amelia is also conjuring with the appearance of a former boyfriend who has recently been released from prison. He claims he took the fall to save his brother; is he a amazing man or an evil man?The investigation takes Lincoln and Amelia through the usual processes of evaluating (and locating the origin of) trace evidence and introduces them to a very devious and ruthless killer. Just when the reader feels as if things are about to be resolved JD introduces his patented twists and turns. I counted about five, but it depends on how you classify a certifiable twist or tom line: a solid episode in the Rhyme/Sachs saga. It is a bit formulaic, but since a JD novel contains a succession of surprises, ‘formulaic’ can be a very amazing thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    I am a amazing fan of Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme novels, this is the best I have ever read.A Harlem high schooler, Geneva Settle is searching for anything she can search out about an ancestor, Charles Singleton who fought in the civil war. All she has are letters he wrote to his wife that an aunt gave the archives of an African American library she finds bits and pieces of his life in old periodicals. Thinking she is alone, she hears a man on his cell phone. Herein begins numerous attempts on her life. There are clues piling up that lead nowhere, suspects grow in multitude.If you have fun Lincoln Rhyme novels as much as I do, don't pass this one up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    The trick to all amazing writing (and especially to amazing genre writing) is to do old things in new ways. The tried and true, without novelty, is dull and predictable. The truly 'novel', lacking an anchor in nature and convention, is simply weird. No one understands this better than Deaver, who characteristically combines new material (usually forensic material, but sometimes historical material) with the key elements of thriller/suspense. In THE TWELFTH CARD he even adds one of the chestnuts of traditional fiction, the appearance of a mysterious stranger, who enjoys a unique relationship with one of the central characters. My only reservation is that he also, characteristically, contains at least two 'unexpected' twists and turns as the narrative moves to its conclusion. Since he does this consistently, the plot twists lose their impact, at least for his devotees (among whom I count myself), who come to expect them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    Jeffery Deaver's novels have more twists and turns than a roadway through the Alps and taking the ride can be just as thrilling. While this novel involving Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs does not have the level of malevolence and scariness of some of his previous efforts, there is still plenty there for those who have been hooked by the activities of these crime stage investigators. The primary story is simple. Someone is trying to slay Geneva Settle, a 16 year old black teenager who is doing some historical research. In fact, as the book moves along it seems that everyone is trying to slay her. The question is why. The respond is not easily arrived at although a lot of reasons come filtering through the attempts on her life. All you can do is what you always do with a Deaver novel. Sit back and allow the master lead you through the story to the end. It is a trip worth taking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cutting Edge (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Criminalist Lincoln Rhyme to Detective Amelia Sachs: “Didn’t we say this whole plot was complicated?”Thirteen books in the Lincoln Rhyme and I am still thrilled and eager to crack begin the recent in the series. And Book 14 in the series, The Cutting Edge, is an …” Oh, wow!” Actually I give this book five “Oh Wows!” on the Richter scale (which does have relevance to the story.)At this point, Lincoln and Amelia need no introduction other than to say that if there’s an impossible crime to be solved, they are on it with their keen minds and intense investigative procedures.I don’t wish to give away any spoilers, but I can tell you that you will learn about the brilliant side of diamonds- such as the story of the Cullinan Diamond. This stone was chop into the Amazing Star of Africa and the Lesser Star of Africa which are part of the British Crown will also read about the dark side of the diamond business- murder, sabotage, threats. I appreciated that each section of the book was named after a diamond creating mal is a young and passionate sculptor and apprentice diamond cutter. He witnesses a crime and we are off! Every page brings villains, such as The Promisor, and their horrific acts with Amelia roaring around in her Gran Torino and Lincoln with his intrepid mind also firing on all cylinders to solve the mystery in addition to the usual well-drawn main characters, this book is flavored with cameo hero appearances that add vibrancy to the story. There is Carmella Romero, who often said gravely, that she was a spy. She added so much to my enjoyment!This book seemed to focus less on the psychological aspects of Lincoln, Amelia and the evil-doers than earlier books, which I liked because the plot was enough to hold me engaged until the awesome and unexpected ending. Highly recommend.I would like to thank Netgalley for an advance copy of The Cutting Edge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Steel Kiss (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) []  2020-1-28 22:29

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was interesting, exciting. complex and fun. I had not read any Lincoln Rhyme before and that was no issue. The characters were interesting and the plot took a couple of interesting turns. The premise of the plot was very current (you'll understand what I mean about halfway though).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    These series, each installment is method too long. Too a lot of repetitions from one book to another. Hate the lose method the author has with the geography of the City. His "on site" descriptions never look anything like they are in reality. Rhyme is irritating prick. And for such a "brilliant" criminalist that NYPD keeps babying with him and running to do his chores he makes method too a lot of errors. Amelia is making it to the top brass despite the fact she almost ended in jail for a felony murder. Do Harlem children really speak like that? Could a homeless orphan survive in the described situation undetected? Are NY police so incompetent that a single "unsub" can play them like a fiddle? UNBELIEVABLE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Twelfth Card: A Lincoln Rhyme Novel []  2020-5-18 18:0

    Mr. Deaver's "The Twelfth Card"--the title refers to the twelfth, the hanged man, card of a Tarot deck--is another of the author's Lincoln Rhyme novels and it's one of the best. Rhyme, the wheelchair bound criminalist, and his lover, Detective Amelia Sachs, must this time search out who wants to slay a (rather annoying) African American teen named Geneva Settle, who is trying to search out the fate of one of her ancestors, a freed slave who moved to Fresh York, and was accused of a gular readers of Mr. Deaver's novels know that in his books nothing and nobody is ever as it would seem--not even the meaning of the hanged man Tarot card--and newcomers quickly catch on. Scenes that start innocently end in action while what appears sinister sometimes turns out not to be.We learn quickly who the perp is--and he's one of the more interesting Deaver creations--and the suspense is all about when Rhyme's squad will identify him, locate him, and apprehend him. Deaver knows Fresh York Town and police procedure well. And he knows how to surprise (there's even a final kicker tucked into the author's note at the end), although he always plays fair. The clues are all there for you, and the loose ends all obtain tied tes and Asides: The publisher has chosen an unusual format for this edition. It's slightly longer (maybe an inch or so) than the standard-issue little size paperback, but no wider. (It'll stick a small farther out of the top of your coat pocket but will still rest easily inside it. The amazing news is that this format allows a slightly larger font size. The paper is thicker too. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    This book is a new/different method to study Abraham Lincoln,,,,through the scultpures of him. A hisotry teacher shares his vast knowledge and enthusiasm in educating his students, and we, the readers. This is a book to own. I bought one for my son, who is an AP history teacher in high school The book really encourages me to obtain up and out and follow the route of Mr. Percoco.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Gives a fine look at the different icons that have been developed for the grestest American who ever lived. The text describes and 'illustrates' the memorials created on Lincoln and how they have impacted upon our general conscience. A true MUST for all Lincoln fans as well as those who overall have fun learning about our nation and its historical connections via our common goals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Mr. Percoco unbelievable insights into Abraham Lincoln the President and the ordinary man in taking us around the country to see statues erected to honor his memory. Not only do we learn about the importance of these monuments in remembering Mr. Lincoln, we learn of the artists that made them, the process they used to arrive at the photo they made of him and the thoughts of the people during those periods in US history. The reader not only learns from Mr. Percoco, but learns from Mr. Percoco's students, past and show that shared this journey with him. A very enjoyable and informative book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Everywhere you look in the United States there seems to be a statue of Lincoln. From Washington, DC, to Fort Wayne, IN, from Cincinnati, OH, to Newark, NJ, our nation's parks, squares, and city halls are dotted with sculptures of the sixteenth president. Over the course of four summers, teacher and author James Percoco traveled to learn first-hand about our nation's mania to place up stone and metal remembrances of Lincoln. He discovered a Lincoln who in death has come to embody each generation's idealistic hopes for a leader; a kind of stand-in for "the better angels of our nature," to quote Lincoln himself. In some ways it is not Lincoln, the president, battle leader, or emancipator whom these sculptures commemorate but the Lincoln of our imaginations. A cross between "Blue Highways" by William Least Heat-Moon, and "Travels with Charley" by John Steinbeck, Percoco's "Summers with Lincoln" makes for thought-provoking reading about an necessary part of the American landscape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the MonumentsThis book is a "must have" for anyone who is interested casually or seriously in Abraham Lincoln. It looks at the most studied President of the United States and yet adds fresh value through the dimension of his a lot of memorials. It is both an insightful and novel approach. Percoco conceys Lincoln's hero through interpretations of the monuments by getting inside the minds of Lincoln's a lot of sculptors. It has relevance to modern experiences and the values of today's youthful scholars. It is based on a well-grounded, historical expertise and proceeds to rile up the reader's interest. It vibrantly captures the emotions and themes that were meant to be instilled by the creators of Lincoln's memorial scultures.William N. Strykerauthor and historian

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    "Summers with Lincoln" explores Abraham Lincoln's life and put in American culture, using as a car the author's visits, with his students, to seven major Lincoln sculptures - Ball's "Emancipation Group" and the Lincoln Memorial in Washington DC; Manship's "Lincoln the Hoosier Youth" in Fort Wayne, Indiana; Bernard's Lincoln statue in Lytle Park, Cincinnati; Saint-Gauden's standing Lincoln in Lincoln Park, Chicago; Borglum's seated Lincoln in Newark, Fresh Jersey; and Fraser's seated Lincoln in Bay View Cemetery, Jersey City. The effect is an interesting and informative book on Lincoln that also imparts an impressive amount of American art history. It would be a useful tutorial for anyone visiting any of these monuments. The strongest chapter is the last, where Percoco presents the Lincoln Memorial as "the greatest collaboration in America between sculptor, architect and space."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    Just when you thought you knew everything about Abe Lincoln, along comes this beautifully illustrated book with creative poems. I chose to only read a few of the poems the first day and daily my students ask to read one more as part of our morning routine. They absolutely love the interesting facts and running home to tell their parents what they learned. As an added bonus, our indoor recess has become an art studio of students trying to draw Abe Lincoln as a wrestler, lumberjack, and farmer. This book is a must in every classroom. I also love the activities that come along with this book on Eileen Meyer's website.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    A clever and unbelievable poetry collection that will be a terrific addition to classrooms and households that learn about Abraham Lincoln. In an interesting dozens of poems, author Meyer presents kid-friendly facts about Lincoln. From whimsical (a poem from Lincoln’s hat) to moving (the Gettysburg Address). Illustrations by Dave Szalay are charming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    Some 15,000 books have been written about Abraham Lincoln, more than any person in history except Jesus Christ. With that much already in print, is it possible to come up with a special vision?Eileen Meyer has done just that with The Superlative A. Lincoln, a poetry collection for young readers that showcases the a lot of ways our sixteenth president was “Simply Superlative” (of the best or highest quality.)Whimsically illustrated by Dave Szalay, each of the nineteen poems in this collection reveals a facet of Lincoln’s superlative nature, ranging from “Biggest Dreamer” and “Best Yarn-Spinner” to “Strongest Conviction” and “Greatest Speech.” Charming, humorous, and fun, these poems take us on a delightful journey from the early days of Lincoln’s childhood to the most challenging moments of his yer’s meticulous research shows in the unearthing of little-known facts and perfect history notes on each poem. This superlative collection is sure to delight both old and fresh fans of our sixteenth president. A five-star rating from this reviewer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    What a clever method to show such fun facts about our “superlative” 16th president. This book introduces the reader to sides of Abraham Lincoln most of us have never known about. The author, Eileen Meyer, uses a dozens of poetic styles to show all sorts of trivia as well as the necessary historical happenings of his life and presidency. Each poem is on one page with the opposing page featuring illustrations by Dave Szalay which bring the poems to life. Additionally each page features a short paragraph providing well researched info about the topic. The subjects range from fun things such as his beard and how his kids ran rampant around the White House to the Emancipation Proclamation, his friendship with Frederick Douglass, and the Gettysburg Address. These poems are not at all repetitive. Each has its own distinctive style and meter, but all with a very lyrical style. The visual layout of the poems are each various as well. The artwork and the lyricism create this a excellent “picture” book to read aloud to younger children; these attributes as well as the fun historical trivia create this a excellent book for elementary school kids to fall in love with Abe (read the book to search out more about this nickname and why we refer to him as Abe rather than Abraham!).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    This such a fun, interesting, educational and eye-appealing book! I learned more about Abe Lincoln than I ever imagined. The poems and artwork draw the reader into the stage of being right there with Abe and learning the “inside” stories. The poems are creative and full of history. The book was obviously well-researched and the explanations below the poems provide extra historical info for the reader if desired. The poems start with Abe’s boyhood and move chronologically and there is a timeline of his life at the end which is also quite helpful. This book is amazing for people of all ages, from 3 years old thru grandparent! The author contains a page of applications to spur on the readers to think how THEY are superlative, as well as pages of recommended resources and extra books to read. There is something here for everyone! This book should be in every home, library, school, even nursing home. It’s a really fun method to learn and have fun history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    Just when you thought you knew everything about our 16th president, along comes a book like this full of surprises! THE SUPERLATIVE A. LINCOLN is a delightful look at some of Abraham Lincoln’s extraordinary qualities and accomplishments. Paired with Dave Szalay’s unbelievable folksy illustrations, Meyer’s entertaining poetry provides insight into how superlative this man truly was. Whether the reader is learning about Lincoln’s lesser known wrestling talent or engineering skills or whimsically hearing from his stovepipe hat, Meyer’s kid-friendly poetry illuminates how truly exceptional Lincoln was throughout his life. Supplementing each well-crafted poem is informative historical matter, demonstrating Meyer’s careful supporting research. Meyer’s book is one of the “freshest” and “most appealing” latest approaches to this biographical topic for kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    I can’t wait to read this book to my students about my history crush - Abraham Lincoln. It includes a collection of 19 ‘bite-sized’ poems that are based on small known facts about our 16th president. I love how each poem is framed by colourful pictures that include descriptive features that resemble animation stills. Illustrator David Szalay captured the essence of Lincoln and the time period Lincoln lived. One of my favorite poems is titled, “Best Advice: Why Not Whiskers?” Did you know that an eleven year old girl wrote to Lincoln and suggested he grow a beard in to possibly earn more votes? Meyer crafted an easy-to-read poem that summarizes this interesting fact about Lincoln that readers will enjoy. Another highlight of the book is reading the sidebars containing deeper info further delving into the subject of the poem. Students will wish to learn more about Lincoln, Frederick Douglass, the Civil War, and more after reading this supplemental info next to each poem. Finally, Meyer has developed educational activities that coordinate with the poems in her book that can be easily implemented in any classroom or library. This book is a superlative piece of literature!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    Meyer has done a fabulous job celebrating our 16th president! The poem stories in this book are amazing conversation starters - about school, amazing ways to communicate, the dreams we may have, and more. Reading and sharing these stories with my grandkids will be amazing fun and we'll begin our own conversations about what they think. And this book will be my gift-giving "go-to" for children. Artist Dave Szalay creates a new and fun look for Abraham Lincoln. Love the cover and the superman-like pose with his coat flapping behind him. Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    Living in Illinois and visiting his presidential museum, I already knew lot about our 16th President. However, I learned so a lot of cool info in a whimsical way! Kids will love the engaging poems and illustrations. I especially enjoyed a poem from the perspective of Abe’s stovepipe hat. I didn’t know he used the top of his hat to write notes. Author Eileen Meyer found interesting tidbits that will draw children in, reading this book over and over again. She makes history super fun! This book is excellent for families and e illustrations by Dave Szalay portray Mr. Lincoln as a superhero on the cover. The illustrations present a side of Lincoln beyond the ones we learned in school. I loved the drawing for the poem, Most Likely to Tinker. Did you know he was an inventor and had a patent?The at the end of the book is asking kids what makes them superlative. Most Studious. Friendliest. Most Likely to Travel the World. This book is full of history, but also fun and a possibility to allow children pause and think about their dreams and how amazing they are!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Superlative A. Lincoln: Poems About Our 16th President []  2020-2-7 19:51

    What a delight! From the illuminating and inspiring poetry to David Szalay’s timeless illustrations – this book is wonderful. We think we “know” Abe Lincoln, but Eileen Meyer creates a lovely globe that truly humanizes the man. The poems tell various stories in a fun and warm way. My favorite is “Most Surprising Friendship” about unlikely mates Abe & Frederick Douglass – 2 very various men who cared about the greater amazing - shines through in the deft composition of the poem's layout and each and every word.Ordered several copies for some amazing Christmas Bonuses for some of my favorite young people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    This book is a favorite among students of all ages. I first used it in my Children's Literature classes, and the college students often chose this photobiography as their favorite of the semester reads. Recently, I read with fourth graders, and it again appears to be the best. The text is written well, and the images are varied and rich. It is a win, victory for all who it and read the story of our American hero.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    Amazing small book - amazing for elementary age (if you believe in old fashioned education) or Jr High age (if you believe in the dumbed-down public education model we live with today. Quick, simple read, and no "revised" or "rewritten" History in it. Seller is amazing and would do business with them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    very nice book -- a lot of amazing pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    I bought this book for my son's 11th birthday. He's always been interested in President Lincoln because they have the same birthday (albeit various years!). This book was the latest show he opened - after the gameboy, the fresh game, and several other books. The gameboy went on the table and the book came out. He read for nearly an hour, occasionally stopping to fill me in on tidbits from the book. The book is very interesting reading, even for adults, and is written in such a method to capture the reader's interest from the beginning. I would highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    It does say Photobiography... :-\ but still [email protected]#$%! had more text content. Overal I would recommend the book and again as a bonus for another in the future or for younger kids 6 to older...if nothing else it has pictures. My son is using this book for another school project and enjoys the book very much. I have added a star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    Amazing book for young readers. Honestly, I usually dislike any type of biographies, but this was different. The images and drawings not only broke up the text and created the reading more inviting, but they were quite interesting in their own right. The a lot of facts, especially direct quotes, of Lincoln were intriguing and some funny. Slavery was a “monstrous injustice.” It was a “cancer” threatening to grow out of control “in a nation originally dedicated to the inalienable rights of man.” Lincoln agreed with others that he was rather homely referring once to his “poor, lean, lank face.” When a rival called him “two-faced” during a political debate, Lincoln replied: “I leave it to my audience If I had another face, do you think I’d wear this one?” Some of the letters included reveal a man of amazing penmanship and amazing words. What struck me most throughout the book was the ending. He seemed to be aware that he would die by assassination, and accepted such. “If I wore a shirt of mail, and kept myself surrounded by a bodyguard, it would be all the same. There are a thousand ways of getting at a man if it is desired that he should be killed.” And later he had a dream that he was wandering through the White House but no one was around until he reached the East Room, where a wake was held. When he asked “Who is dead in the White House?” the respond was “The President, he was killed by an assassin.” At that point he woke in his dream. In all, a fascinating look at an ordinary man who lived a more-than-ordinary life, devoting it to leading his loved country. “…I have no other so amazing (ambition) as that of being truly esteemed of my fellow men, by rendering myself worthy of their esteem.” This book reads more like an adventure than a biography, but includes everything one could hope to learn from a biography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    Amazing bonus to my wife.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    This book has amazing historical images through-out it. Also, a Newberry Award winner. You'll have fun this book if you're an Abraham Lincoln enthusiast!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    I'm sure that there are plenty of biographies out there on President Lincoln, but I have not seen any that give us as amazing a kid-friendly view on him until this one. The images add an unparalleled personality that draws in the reader, and they truly are beautiful. The book presents a amazing summary of Lincoln's life and-- most impressively-- even tackles some of the darker moments, as is approriate for the target elementary/middle school audience. It is informatve and an easy, educational read that should prove amazing for research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lincoln: A Photobiography []  2020-1-30 23:32

    Really nice book. Very interesting photos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Update: after using the application for some time, it is very slow to do things like begin the car. PLEASE add a home screen widget to begin or unblock the car! Would be 5 stars if i could begin my vehicle from long press of the application icon (when long press of an application gives you multiple famous options from the app) or a home screen widget that would have the same buttons as the keyfob. It's not too fast and convenient to begin the vehicle quickly using this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    overall works great. I do have a issue with the tire pressure readings. The readings display has the numbers overlapping so you can not read the pressures. After the latest Samsung update, the problem was eliminated. The tire pressures are readable. Amazing application !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Your Software Development Squad needs to obtain it in Gear. This APP completely sucks now. Crashes all the time. Had to obtain the Concierge Squad to set my Scheduled Starts for me because that makes the APP Crash. Just very disappointing...... UPDATE!!!!! I wish to praise the APP Developers for their Hard Work at making this APP so much better. Hold up the Amazing Work and soon you will obtain a 5th Star from me. No more Crashes and the APP is stable.. ..😁😁😁

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    It was slow but fairly okay, now just keeps crashing. please fix this, thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Appmakes transitioning from mobile to hands auto very smooth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Most things work as described. This application has been back and forth in its functionality since i first got my car. It now seems to work all the time for the most part, my oil life always says 0% but that's not a huge deal. I primarily use the application for remote start, and sometimes to lock or unblock the doors. Overall it does what i need it to, i like the addition of the scheduled remote begin as i would often forget to begin my vehicle ahead of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    ThAfter today's update, the application wont even start. At first it just wouldn't load my vehicle, I followed your tip and logged out. Now the application wont even start. I have even uninstalled and reinstalled the app. Please fix this. I doubt you will be able to, the same as the dealer cant figure out why my feet obtain wet every time I begin the driver door. Update, they fixed the app, now I hope someday they can fix the door. will the locate feature ever work again?????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:42

    It was amazing until the modernize at the end of Jan. Even though I uninstalled and reinstalled, it won't begin my car. I live in Michigan and it's February. If I can't begin my vehicle from my desk, what's the point of having a Lincoln? My husband has never had a issue with the application for his Dodge. Hmmm

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    doesn't modernize easily. zone service is 18 hours old and won't update. worthless! lincoln's response is inaccurate. discussed with "expert" at dealership. still doesn't modernize in a timely basis after following recommendations. if you like a delay of 12 to 24 hours on updating, this application is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    It's Okay but when I set up the unit of measurement to metric it defaults back to miles after I exit the app. The globe has moved on to metric. Fix this application please.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    I left the key in my 2018 MKC twice and got locked out. Really! The application to unblock vehicle just spins and closes. Also, the key pad on outside driver door wouldn't function. Also, the application closes when I test to arrange service appointment via "concierge".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    love it. works amazing for myself. feeling the luxury with this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    what about an access to obtain tip on on Operation w driving experiences ?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Application Crashing. I been trying for days to change the scheduled auto start. But everytime I go to do on it. The application keeps crashing. I hold sending feedback but nothing is being down. When is this problem going to be fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    This application fails to answer or allow me login to my account. Previous versions of this application worked perfectly, but something went wrong with latest updates. I uninstalled and reinstalled this app, thinking it would help, but the same nonresponsive behavior continues. As it currently stands, this application is worthless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    The application used to work fine but in the latest couple of months, the controls to remotely begin and lock/unlock the vehicle stopped working, as did the oil level indicator. I've uninstalled and reinstalled numerous times, as well as removed and re-added my vehicle into the application but it still doesn't work. Not sure what to do to obtain it fixed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    it doesn't work, signed up and when i test to sign in, always loading or lincoln doesn't respond. (response) After several times it worked. just a suggestion, after the system reset, because of fresh owner, it is better to block anyone requests a connection to the vehicle and not just denied access.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Haven't been able to use it since I bought my vehicle in October. Unable to activate or application isnt available test again later. Large disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Worked okay until the ver update. Now it keeps on crashing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    just keeps "spinning" won't obtain past "terms and conditions"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    My main gripe is the application locks you out of searching for POIs if the vehicle is in motion even if you have a perfectly capable passenger in the vehicle to do so. How about a warning screen you can through and still have application functionality? I like the "send to car" feature when searching maps in the application but the POI database is limited compared to Google Maps. Is there any method to let your vehicle to appear in the send to list within Google Maps like a lot of other apps?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    I as other on these reviews continue to have difficulty using the app. Mostly were the application crashes or locks up. The application will not function as advertised and is really a sore eye for the Ford/Lincoln brand. I have this loaded on an android device device and just does not function properly. Have tried to uninstall and reinstall with no avail. It is a shame for the amount of the Lincoln brand charges for their car to not have this work flawlessly with the app. Very Disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    will not work with my brand fresh Lincoln Navigator

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:42

    What has happened to this app? It won't even startup now without crashing! UPDATE: Well this application worked for a while but now when you test to access the remote begin timer it totally crashes. Lincoln help told me to use an iPhone! What is going on with the Android device version?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    I had been using this application for over a year and really liked it, but now it just closes out as soon as I begin it. I hold trying, but it keeps closing. This has been event for several weeks now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    It will be amazing if there's an long press begin engine, lock/unlock doors option rather then going into the application and performing the tasks. I owned a GM before and their application has that feature which is beautiful handy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Amazing app! Makes managing your acc fast and easy. And the options...amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Haven't been able to utilize the app. The application hasnt worked since I installed it. I uninstalled and installed again. The application has never worked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    amazing application but would be 5 stars if it had an watch application like it does for ios.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    used to work fine for the latest year and now it locks up when trying to begin on my Samsung Galaxy S5. Tried numerous times including rebooting the phone with no luck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    fairly useless. I attempt to schedule service and it never works. unable to set a begin time because it won't allow you change the "timezone" from Detroit. Shall I go on? Definitely not getting a Lincoln again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    A once slightly broken application now a fully broken application for the past month.. Update: Lincoln tech suport responded to an email and told me that my cars modem had stopped responding and to bring it to the dealer to be fixed. Instead i pulled the battery for 15 minutes. When i connected it back, the screen indicated a update. when that finished all worked as its supposed to. looks like they updated and a lot of us had it obtain stuck...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:42

    Worked great, then this morning the auto begin did not work. Currently, the application is not even displaying the start, unlock, or lock features. I use this to begin my vehicle during the winter, as it is outside all day. I am disappointed it is not working properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    times listed for dealerships are not correct. My not be a huge when your at home but when your in another state dealing with a family emergency it means alot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    since latest modernize application is useless. Cant begin vehicle and it doesn't modernize location, gas, or oil life at all. Has not updated since March but shows that it is refreshed. I have tried clearing the data, removing and reinstalling the app, and deleting the vehicle information and none of it has worked. My lease ends in a few months so between this and the battery problems the vehicle has developed I am ready to return it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Doesn't work well. Zone says 20 hours ago and is at my home. No method to refresh. Click the zone address and it opens map in Berlin Germany but I'm in MI. If you go around manually in map state and the bullseye icon that you would think locates it. Nothing happens. Have tried to begin vehicle with application and that also gave an error. It does say refreshed six mins ago. So why can't it search me? Also waze for Droid not supported in car? Really?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lincoln Way™: Lincoln Owner App [App]  2019-6-23 13:41

    Does not work the method the intended it to. Most of the time the application is inaccessible.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386