Read literary and musical london reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all literary and musical london reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literary London []  2020-6-11 19:27

    As author Anthony Trevelyan says of Literary London: “A pungent sense of the capital on every terary London is an incredibly beautiful book with a scraper board cover design, engraved with authors and literary highlights of London, all in stunning black and white, and touches of blue for the river, and ochre in the title (and we rather niftily pick up the ochre theme at the British Library in London for our photo!).The research for this book must have been staggering. It charts the early days of literature from Chaucer, through Shakespeare to the modern day, all with a twist of insight, quirkiness and humour. This is quite a seminal book of literary London. It is punctuated with drawings and small maps and at the end of each chapter there are key addresses and recommended reading so you can look up the locations and people mentioned, and read the books listed for e general starting point is Chaucer. The Tabard Inn, which no long exists on Borough High Street, was the assembly point for his Pilgrims setting out on their adventures. The Tabard was in its day close to the George Inn (now owned by the National Trust) which is highlighted because it is the one remaining galleried structure in London, typical of the 17th century, where one can still obtain a flavour of the the times of Shakespeare, who naturally gets a amazing mention in the book. The George Inn is still a working pub today, and justifiably it is a amazing lure for e narrative smoothly moves forward and it is quite striking how the Amazing Fire of London on 2nd September 1666 (which has just recently been marked in the capital) caused such devastation, described by different chroniclers of the time, how the not good fire was very much part of the fabric of literary London of the time. This is followed by chapters full of more amazing names right up to the modern arming nuggets of the lives of the amazing and amazing have been selected throughout to add a true human dimension to what is essentially a chronicle of writers in the city. There is Pepys showering a maid with amorous intent in St Dunstan’s Church, and culinary ruminations on a kickshaw (a dish so changed by the cookery that it can scarcely be known), JM Barry writing in Bayswater about the Barrys, whose house was actually in Bloomsbury. And so it continues: Raymond Chandler, Joe Orton, Byron, Shelley, Lenin, Agatha Christie, Dorian Grey, the list never really e book is divided into sections, so it simple to dip in and out and read at leisure, and just soak up a particular period or theme.Whilst in the capital myself I was struck by how a lot of locations were of note and having read this book, it created me look around the town in a slightly fresh and various way…..Walking down Marchmont Road I visualised the odd ménage a trois between Lytton Strachey, Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf of the Bloomsbury Group (who were generally very free with their amorous liaisons). As I walked through Gordon Square I thought of Virginia Woolf, cited as belittling her neighbour Katherine Mansfield whilst they lived on that square. However, that was nothing compared to George Bernard Shaw and H G Wells when they decided to lock horns. I was really struck by how undermining the culture of the literati at that time was, scoring points at the expense of others and royally sticking the verbal knife into competitors and friends, just to obtain the upper hand. But then I reflected, is it much various today in politics today? Prime Minister’s Questions? Clinton vs Trump? It’s not an beautiful method of being, and am baffled that people still do it. But I digress…“Drinking and literature in London have always gone together” and as such El Vino in Fleet Road is described as an institution enjoyed by G K Chesterton (whose Father Brown series is set around London); and Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese has been a draw for several centuries (however, no-one ever seems to mention that this esteemed institution was once a brothel as well, and the only reason I know about that is because I have read an academic paper on the unbelievable wall tiles that were discovered there demonstrating in relief (no pun intended) the different positions available to clients).Not of course forgetting Paddington Bear who trotted around London and longed to be an assistant in Fortnum and Mason’s Marmalade Department (unfortunately that department doesn’t exist in true life, although the “Home of the Hamper” on Piccadilly certainly does very much exist).Literary London is an interesting and eclectic read that beautifully brings together the rich heritage of London writing life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literary London []  2020-6-11 19:27

    Where do I start? This is just the excellent book for any literary lover –The chapters begin by telling you about the journey London has gone on from its humble beginnings to the metropolis of today. It was like stepping back in a time machine and finding your method with the authors in turn, the tutorials of the social, political, cultural and of course Literary London of its n you tell how much this book fascinated me? It’s even got key addresses and further reading lists after each simple to read and descriptive chapters. Such bold titles too ‘Beginners and Immortals” was the first – Chaucer, often I think we forget about the faded footsteps of those who have walked centuries before ttle grey boxes of additional information peppered the journey like those blue literary plaques on the walls…. You can literally walk in and out of this book as the mood suits and of course each chapter is a trail in itself – and a mountain of knowledge at the same e text is new and witty and then when I got to chapter four “Mystics and Magicians” like on a wayward Hogwarts broom, I was flung into the London ether – graveyards, angels and demons…. ghosts. I may not be brave enough to read in the dark but if you do I can only imagine sitting in some of these locations when the light starts to fade. Never mind the Jack the Ripper tours – this is a whole fresh London thrill!There’s so much to this book that one short review doesn’t even obtain close to the literary love affair I now have with London and this book. Gossips and Rivals was another favourite “London has nurtured a lot of fond literary friendships” it starts describing the method writers huddle in cafes….and where readers go to ‘meet’ them either for true or via their booksIt’s not just the literary leanings which are prominent but the landscape and the changes that the town has seen and experienced and even those it has been at the forefront of. A history lesson as well as a literary one but one that reads like a ride on that Hogwarts broom stick when your android game of Quidditch is polished and ready,A literary gem. On the Sam Jordison has a chat and really gets into the London sites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literary London []  2020-6-11 19:27

    I found the book full of interesting tidbits and atmospheric descriptions which created me wish to return to London to visit the locations mentioned where the old writers drank and argued, schemed and entertained, and most importantly, shared with others all that London has to offer.

    0  


    Add your opinion on literary and musical london or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Fragments: A Literary Expedition (Armchair Traveller) []  2020-9-21 19:24

    wasn't what i was expecting. i am glad i read it, but it was very different. you could definitely tell that it was written by a german, by the culturally various feel of it. There were a lot of a lot of references to german writers and writing with which i was completely unfamiliar. i enjoyed the times that he wrote about writers and works with which i was familiar. overall it just felt like a strange book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literary London: A Street by Street Exploration of the Capital's Literary Heritage []  2020-1-21 21:7

    Unbelievable book--I gave it to a young college student for her first trip to London. Buy the book if you're going to London and prepare to walk in the footsteps of your favorite poets, dramatists, and novelists. A fascinating read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    Jesus Jones has gone almost purely rock-and-roll on this album, but unfortunately have performed terribly. On past albums like "Perverse" and "Doubt," the offered us an artistic, melodic rock and roll sound also, but intertwined with cool sound effects and often danceability. This album just doesn't "rock" at all -- It sounds like weak pretty-boy rock. Previously, their work had an artistic appeal that created them special among the bands, but these songs don't compare. There best album is definitely "Perverse," so this album is not for those fresh to Jesus Jones. This album is not recommened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    The toddlers love the music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    Children love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    It has always amazed me how Jesus Jones dropped off the top of the album charts soon after the release of 'Real, Real, Real'. The newest cuts tend to fuel my amazement, but left me looking for the huge hit that would support to propel them back to the lofty heights where this band is cd is full of songs that please the listening palette, and by all means are much more engrossing to listen to than most other drivel currently dominating the charts. The first three tracks, 'Message', 'Stranger', and 'Rocket Ships of La Jolla', will have you thinking that they are at their best. Also, they seemed to stick the best tracks in a bookend style, because the latest 2 tracks ('Nowhere Slow' and 'In The Face of All This') are beautiful well done also.Speaking of the middle of the album however, there are a few songs ('A-Team', 'Half Up The Hill', and 'Getaway Car') that just seem like filler instead of real album tracks...more b-sides than amazing music.I would still recommend this album to anyone. Whether you are looking for a WELcome change from the ordinary or a refreshing fresh blast of songs from a amazing band, this is a ticket out of today's musical mediocrity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    I received the CD a very amazing CD, however I never received the scarves I was very ca

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    Son loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    Since it seems to be a 4-year wait between albums these days for Jesus Jones it can obtain tricky being a fan, but when I got this CD in the mail yesterday-- back to the old logo, old style liner notes with commentary from Mike Edwards, attractive graphic design-style art instead of that weird kiddy coloring of the latest album Already... what a iefly, this is an album that features Jesus Jones as a rock and roll band, first and foremost, which is not something you could really say about the usual one-man-band-and-a-producer style of old. The other major sound to the album comes from UK garage/ 2-step, which I suppose makes this the first 2-step/ rock crossover album. It's also kind of a dirty and grimy album, mostly about vehicles and bicycles and nights on the town. Here's a track run-down:1. Message-- Foo Warriors esque and non-dance-- very un-Jesus Jones-like, but tough and meaty.2. Stranger-- very fast, almost straight rock n' roll that reminds me a bit of oldie "Never Enough."3. Rocket Ships of La Jolla-- a favourite-- garage in the verse, rock in the chorus, apparently about seeing California as some kind of fantasy landscape.4. Asleep on the Motorway-- a re-worked [email protected]#$%!rack that has a lovely pop piano.5. Hello Neon-- another instant favourite, maximizing the rock / 2-step crossover. Goofy laughing samples abound.6. A-Team-- confusing, lo-fi deal that I haven't given a chance.7. Half Up the Hill-- Jesus Jones + nu metal? The concept sounds foreign but here we have it, and it redeems the whole genre.8. Princess of My Heart-- one sort of droning sound and a soft, high pitched acoustic guitar, lovely.9. Getaway Car-- the only nod to the Eastern sounds of previous Jesus Jones tracks, this doesn't have a lot of rock elements but a concise, goofy story to match the clipped, goofy vocoded voices. Like a humourous ver of Radiohead's "Packt Like Sardines..."10. To Obtain There-- almost standard sample-rock that is simply a amazing song about perseverance.11. Nowhere Slow-- more quick paced rock and roll the method everyone used to wish it, with more nods to 2-step.12. In the Face of All This-- strangely mentions a plane crash and Afghanistan, which may have or may not have been added to the final recording, as this record was released in late buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    Most of the reviews I write are for bands I've loved for a long time, like Jesus Jones, but the content of the CD is usually more of the same and the review is really preaching to the choir. This time that is not the case. In this album Jesus Jones has continued to expand stylistically but even more so than in their latest album. Mike Edwards still uses the same sampling and tech hooks that got him into melody in the first put but not nearly as much on this album as in albums past. The album sounds more like genuine rock 'n' roll than any other JJ album. The only non-positive thought I had about this as I listened to it is that some of thes songs vary from one style to another so much that unless you are very eclectic there will almost surely be at least one song on the album you won't like that. At the very least though that can be expected on almost every album. After listening to this album I realize that I found it worth the cash only because I'm such a long time fan. If you're a die hard fan of their earlier items you might not care for this one, if you hated their earlier items this might be the time to listen to them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    Perhaps I expect too much. I bought this hoping for detailed movements---of which my young students are capable---and now only use it sporadically to introduce scarves and other movement materials. The songs are very simple, the melody and vocal are simple, and the actions accompanying the melody are simple. My students didn't seem to understand some of the voice commands and were baffled by others. I would suggest this CD only for very, very young ones, perhaps no older than three. For my Nursery school class, the CD was not appropriate. Finally, one can't use any of the songs for programs because the instructions for movement are spoken over the melody and no performance tracks are included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    Amazing CD for activity

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    Fun dances for preschool Distance Learners

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    this is the third CD bought

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    No scarves come with this, and it is an audio... I thought it was a follow the leader style dvd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical Scarves and Activities []  2021-3-24 19:58

    I would have liked the songs to be a small more up beat. The motions are a small abstract for my two year old kids and the tempo is too slow for my three and four year old children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    This album, released in August of 2001, is a much awaited upbeat shift in the lyrical pondering that Jesus Jones is known for. Rather than a totally grim evaluation of humanity's spiritual tendencies which seemed to color most of their previous album, 'Already', 'London' seems to be a sort of lightening up for them. Not like they are avoiding necessary issues, but rather, that they are ocassionally more OK with just putting out some good, solid, entertaining and fun dance tracks as well. Hopefully this a sign of even better things to come in future albums from digital rock Electronica pioneers Jesus Jones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    I am biased. I love this band and wait impatiently for thier records. That said, London is a non traditional album by Jesus Jones. The singer, Mike Edwards, is in real form but much of the techno wizardry has been srtipped away. Not to say that samples are all gone but the guitars peer through the mix much more clearly. The sounds of live drums also present the garage rock sound that jesus jones opposed durring thier early ninties success. LONDON IS A KEEPER. BUY THIS RECORD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    The latest JJ album 'Already' was unbelievable but sadly hardly anyone bought it ( I'm not even sure if it was released in the USA).'London' is equally amazing but also a small different.'Already' was a poppy commercial record by JJ standards, 'London' has had a lot of the electronic elements in the bands melody stripped away, they are still there but they have definitely gone for a rockier sound this time.Having said that, this is not a straight forward rock record, a couple of the tracks have rhythm tracks that are heavily influenced by the drum and bass/garage sound that has been going on in England over the latest couple of years. One thing that really stands out on 'London' as some other reviewers have mentioned, is Mike Edwards voice, his voice is in really amazing form .Please go buy a copy for everyone you know ( even your Gran ! ) and support to prove there is some justice in the globe !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Labour and the London Poor (Oxford World's Classics) []  2020-4-2 18:47

    ...first hand acc of what it was like in London for the not good in the mid eighteen hundreds...In depth descriptions and interviews of people with a lot of various occupations... Mostly non judgemental and not too much editorializing...Discovered from a citation in The Ghost Map..Might test some of Mayhew's other books... Very interesting time in the development of London....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Labour and the London Poor (Oxford World's Classics) []  2020-4-2 18:47

    The book itself is very interesting, but this kindle edition is missing, and lacks a lot of problems that appeared in the original books. Also, it is lacking even compared to "Mayhew's London", which is only a selection of the book, as some subjects appear in Mayhew's London, but not here (and did appear in the printed edition).Full chapters are missing. The original books had chapters about Jewish costers. About prostitutes. Interviews with costers and other people that are simply not there. I thought I bought the entire 4 volumes, and it turned out, that this, too, is a selection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Labour and the London Poor (Oxford World's Classics) []  2020-4-2 18:47

    There is no book like this one. Would to God others of Mayhew’s skill & perspicacity had done similarly for other amazing cities throughout history. We would know infinitely more about ourselves today!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Labour and the London Poor (Oxford World's Classics) []  2020-4-2 18:47

    The Discworld author Terry Pratchett recommended this book and he was correct: it is a amazing book if you wish to know more about the lives of working people during the Victorian Age. The book was compiled, for the most part, from newspaper essays and is an simple read. The explanatory notes at the back are invaluable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Labour and the London Poor (Oxford World's Classics) []  2020-4-2 18:47

    This book is a true eye opener: Mayhew is a historic gem for realizing that the social happenings of his time required to be recorded from the mouths of true people experiencing the reality of EXTREME poverty in 19th century England.Even if you are "broke" or living paycheck to paycheck, you will feel privileged after seeing how poor those unfortunates really had it. Well written and you feel for their plight but appreciate the resourcefulness and spirit that prevailed. It starts with the more "honorable" class of people --what and how they buy and sell what they can: Hawkers and costermongers, and works to the "Dishonest" layers of-thieves, swindlers, pickpockets, women for hire, animal betting -ratting & robbers. More ways to swindle than you can shake a stick at. From microscopes displays to clowns, sweepers, actors & Punch & Judy. A birds-eye -view map of old London and lots of localities described throughout the book. Apprx 10-11 Nice B&W illustrations from daguerreotypes & photos. Mayhew's descriptions are so keen-- right down to noticing the walnut stains on fingers, and he gives conversations that makes you feel like your are there in the noisy marketplace meeting the people that Mayhew met. It's not a story book so you can jump around or read it cover to cover. Satisfied to own it. Enjoyed the read and can appreciate more of what I took for granted in my own life because of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Labour and the London Poor (Oxford World's Classics) []  2020-4-2 18:47

    Old but excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Labour and the London Poor (Oxford World's Classics) []  2020-4-2 18:47

    Arrived before expected in amazing condition. A amazing read about 18th century England and how the common folk lived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:26

    won't allow me obtain into it will test again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:42

    it loads so slow cant play it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:25

    it loads so slow cant play it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:38

    won't load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:38

    it loads so slow cant play it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:38

    won't allow me obtain into it will test again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:26

    wont load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:42

    Doesnt load. wont even allow you play the game. uninstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:25

    Doesnt load. wont even allow you play the game. uninstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:26

    it loads so slow cant play it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:42

    wont load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:25

    wont load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:38

    Doesnt load. wont even allow you play the game. uninstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:38

    wont load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:25

    won't load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:25

    won't allow me obtain into it will test again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:26

    Doesnt load. wont even allow you play the game. uninstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:26

    would not load completely

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:42

    won't allow me obtain into it will test again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:26

    won't load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:42

    would not load completely

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 13:42

    won't load

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:25

    would not load completely

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Musical [App]  2019-7-21 21:38

    would not load completely

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Just a very well written book, very simple to read and enjoyable. I found it hard to place down once I started reading it. This is the kind of book one wishes had more pages!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Literary Witches Oracle: A 70-Card Deck and Guidebook []  2020-1-16 5:25

    I love this deck, really beautiful. My only qualm is that they don’t really explain the cards and their meanings, which would be fine if it were based off a standard tarot deck. These are more like oracle cards, but nothing to support you divine then meanings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    Heaps of reviews so not much I can add here...but....Lucky me, I got to read it while visiting Guernsey!Was this book worth the Kindle Price? $8.63 USD. Yup, absolutely!Is it a page turner? Yes.Did I wish to be reading this book when I wasn't reading this book? Yes.Did I learn anything from this book?Yes, loved all the info so subtly provided about the German occupation. It's like a history book without the boring bits.Did I think about this book after I was finished s, it has stayed with me. It's been a month since I place it down but I still do think of it. Luckily, I was able to obtain a fridge magnet of the book cover while in only negative comment - now this may sound petty as I really did have fun all the books and all the characters! But I did message they all have the same voice. We don't all write letters in the same style and this was not reflected in the book. All the letters were written in the same particular witty style. Created for amazing fun reading but I did search that a bit strange as like I said, we do all write differently!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    4.5 Stars”We'll meet againDon't know whereDon't know whenBut I know we'll meet again some sunny dayKeep smiling throughJust like you always do'Till the blue skies drive the dark clouds far away”-- We’ll Meet Again,Vera Lynn / Frank Sinatra, Songwriters: Hughie Charles / Ross ParkerPublished posthumously in August of 2008, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society recalls the occupation of the Western European Channel Islands during WWII through letters and telegrams, which sounds very primary and to the point, and leaves out all the charm and emotions involved. Relaying the thoughts of a host of those who lived on these islands during the days of occupation, the struggles to survive, this is - at its heart - filled with a charm that borders on quirky, but with a charm that brings the 1940s era to life. And yes, the occupation creates much hardship, and life is not always charming, but it never veers so far or so long, but serves more as a shadow that fades in the light from these characters.”I can’t think of anything lonelier than spending the rest of my life with someone I can’t talk to, or worse, someone I can’t be silent with.”I loved the back and forth, the epistolary nature of this novel, with the slow revealing of secrets, the day in and day out of life on these islands, the nature of busybodies to inject themselves to create sure the “truth” is heard, all of the life stories, and the love of literature, is story more or less begins with a letter sent from Dawsey Adams, in Guernsey, to Juliet, in London. He has a book that once belonged to her, her name and address written on the inside cover, and is hoping she can support him locate a book in London that might have more by this author, Charles Lamb.”The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society came into being because of a roast pig we had to hold secret from the German soldiers, so I feel a kinship to Mr. Lamb.”In her response to him, she writes:”Perhaps there is some secret sort of homing instinct in books that brings them to their excellent readers. How delightful if that were true.”Which is exactly how I felt when I was reading this - it had found me at a excellent time.”That’s what I love about reading: one little thing will interest you in a book, and that little thing will lead you onto another book, and another bit there will lead you onto a third book. It’s geometrically progressive—all with no end in sight, and for no other reason than sheer enjoyment.”And that’s what this was for me. Sheer commended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures []  2020-3-30 18:52

    A beautifully constructed book, with an easy, readable history of cataloging and card catalogs, with interspersed photos of library cards from the Library of Congress and photos of the corresponding book. It is quite informative and interesting, if you like the history of books.I am just barely old enough to remember, in the late 1980s and early 1990s: being taught about the card catalogs by the ancient-looking, spinsterish librarians; the ponderous-looking drawers of wood with metal facings; thumbing through the topic cards, author cards, and title cards; the text on the differently colourful cards in any number of typewriting and handwriting styles; jotting down call numbers on slips of paper with short pencils; finding the book.If you're nostalgic for the old cards, you'll search this a perfectly fun book. An perfect look at a lost form of info cataloging, indexing, and presentation.4.5 of 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures []  2020-3-30 18:52

    I had to have this book since I worked at a public library. It is interesting seeing the old ways that they did things. It's much more interesting than the method it is done now with computers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    - Harold Bloom, the author, has such vast knowledge of what's what and who's who in literature that I was overwhelmed and am now so much more informed than I was before on the essence and importance of reading even more than I've been reading before - one lifetime just isn't enough - must Bloom info makes one think like this -

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    A deep dive into comparative literary genius.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Number Eight Crispy Chicken: A Hilarious and Powerful Literary Satire []  2020-2-8 18:44

    The writing in this book is quite good... the author has clear command of words and wields them well to deliver double-duty satire that both amuses and provokes. I found myself hoping for satisfied redemption but admitted at the end Peter didn’t deserve it. The author had me thoroughly disgusted with him. Karma’s a b*#¥€, folks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Number Eight Crispy Chicken: A Hilarious and Powerful Literary Satire []  2020-2-8 18:44

    An awesome novel full of hilarious twists and turns. The author is able to develop an awesome story while still making it relatable with a story you just can't place down.A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Okay, first of all I don't snore. My wife just claims I do and that it keeps her up at night. I think she just likes the guest room I bought this thing to placate my wife ... placebo effect, whatever. It's the top rated thing on Amazon in this category and it's really inexpensive, so fine. I'll test it for the sake of my marriage.I place it on the first night and I don't tighten it too much because it's like wearing a bondage device on your head. Actually, I guess it kind of is one. It's the opposite of y though. Anyway, I didn't really read the instructions so I guess it was too loose ... it's supposed to close your mouth. That is actually the secret to a amazing marriage ... your wife says something ... just close your mouth and listen. So really, this device is just training you to do that and that's why it works. Anyway, first night it didn't close my mouth all the method so I wake up at 4am and my wife is gone. She went to the guest room night I obtain more brave with the bondage after reading other people's reviews who all but swear by this thing ... it saved their marriage, the whole deal. So fine, I test it again tighter so I can't begin my mouth. Guess what? I wake up at 4am again, but there's my wife next to me! Amazing! I just had to clamp my mouth shut tighter, by day and by night, and there she is by my side!Thanks for saving my marriage. Now it's back to the gastroenterologist to create my marriage even better!The reason I gave it four stores instead of five is because my jaw is sore. I assume after a few nights I'll obtain used to this thing, but as of now apparently, I haven't learned to hold my shut even in sleep. I'm still trying to begin it and blurt out something that will obtain me in trouble, but this device is teaching me a lesson so my wife doesn't have to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    The story of Carlos Hath II is one of the most fascinating I've ever encountered. This is the tale of a real American Hero. He was not just one of the finest snipers ever to go to war; he was a truly selfless protector, and a supreme teacher; who left for his marines a legacy of knowledge that paved the method for generations of latter protector/warriors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    Bloom's work has always been a tutorial for me to obtain far more out of amazing literature than just one reading can give. I respect him for his genius and his creative and refreshing view of literature today and yesterday. I already have all his other books, so I ordered this one and have not finished it yet but I am absolutely delighted with it. Professor Bloom is in his 80s now and just as brilliant a teacher as ever. If you are beyond the casual reader category and really have fun going more deeply into amazing literature, Bloom is the man for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Literary Witches Oracle: A 70-Card Deck and Guidebook []  2020-1-16 5:25

    I have waiting on this to be released for about 2 months , And i live in Israel so it took about another 2.5 weeks for it to arrive since and it was soooo worth the price and the long wait. I'm a fan of literature and all witch similar things since i was a kid. I swear i have waited for someone to make something like these since i was 11 and my amazing aunt was showing me how to read in coffee. It's got rich 1700 to 1800 hundreds century mystery feel to it . I love the little booklet and the short and to the point ideas for inter for the cards. They are rich with imagery and you obtain all chances to interpret them according to your own mediumship psychic intuitive abilities and boy do they come out simple with photos like the ones painted here. The box is top quality very sturdy and large ! The cards are also kind of large - see in the pictures my palm is a bit huge and it's still huge for me and they are a bit on the massive side so it could be a bit of challenge for little palm people to side shuffle but it very fun and simple to shuffle poker style. Personally i'm total obsessed with them . Only wonder i have is as to the choice of bright peachy pink of the box as it seems to aim to a more feminist readers and perhaps the the choice of color is a bit too traditional gender roll type of color choice for me. I like it though ! The cards are very thick but bendy and have a oil paint like finish to them.Will enrich your traditional tarot readings for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Literary Witches Oracle: A 70-Card Deck and Guidebook []  2020-1-16 5:25

    Ahhhh! I just got this deck yesterday and have fallen in absolute LOVE with it! It’s very intuitive, with few messages prewritten so definitely not for everyone but I was completely sold when I saw Octavia Butler had her own card. Absolutely wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Literary Witches Oracle: A 70-Card Deck and Guidebook []  2020-1-16 5:25

    I preordered these cards before there were even any pictures up to look at besides the cover of the box. They arrived today and they're so perfect. The pictures are beautiful, the cards are huge and the paper is thick and sturdy. I love love love these.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Number Eight Crispy Chicken: A Hilarious and Powerful Literary Satire []  2020-2-8 18:44

    This is a amazing story, although more like English satire than some books I have read. You have to smile at the antics Peter [email protected]#$% gets into. He is headed to Pulcherrima Island, a remote put where Peter wants to run a quick meal type detention center. Nothing seems to go Peter's method and thus, the adventure begins. Although at times the difference in English spelling created reading a but more difficult, this is a fun read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    I really wanted to love this book, but it was just "ok" for me. I did not have fun the format of it, although a lot of would not really care about that aspect. It is written as correspondence between a lot of characters. I did really have fun the characters, though, and did not have any difficulty following the story. However, I really want there was a bit more discussion of Juliet and Dawsey's relationship. It just seemed to come out of the blue, with no true excitement leading up to it. I didn't obtain much satisfaction out of it, for that reason. It was a very cute book, though, and I love a book about books and reading. Very well-written. I will definitely watch the Netflix adaptation - I have a feeling this is going to be one of those instances where I like the film better than the book, and those times are rare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    I didn’t think I’d like this book, as there is no dialogue and nothing happens in true time. It is composed of letters and telegrams only. However, I decided to test it when it became a Kindle Everyday Deal and liked it much better than expected. It deals primarily with the lives of people living on Guernsey, a Channel Island during Globe Battle II beginning with the German occupation. It has romance, humor and sadness. Most of all it shows us the effects of the occupation on ordinary people and how they coped with the deprivations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures []  2020-3-30 18:52

    I discovered in college just what a treat using the library card catalog could be: Topics in the card catalog lead to other previously unconsidered subjects, which increased the depth and width of knowledge about and around the initial subject. This book rekindles that thrill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures []  2020-3-30 18:52

    What a fun book! I got this book for my bookworm husband and he loves it. Card catalogs have so much history- the librarians, the patrons who checked them out, and the time an older book was popular. It has a small more than just a coffee table book, but it does look attractive on the shelf too. I recommend this to all bookworm or someone who loves the printed word, they'll appreciate the history, not just the novelty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    I accidentally bought a "high school edition" which was incomplete and which was one of those poor print on demand things, 8-1/2 x 11 sheets, laser-printed, carelessly scanned, no proofreading, awkward line breaks -- it's a mess. I am replacing it with a true book. As to the book itself: it's wonderful. It's kind of horrifying and at times it's downright hilarious. How he could manage to hold a sense of humor living hand-to-mouth like that, I do not know. It makes me very grateful for the social programs that were place in put to support the needy. It was not so very long ago, if you were elderly and had no family to take you in, if your job was eliminated, if you were injured or had a chronic illness, if you were disabled, or if you had no one to support you when your luck ran out, you would literally starve. Your alternative was to tramp around from one put to another for grubby handouts and filthy beds. I'm grateful people like Orwell went to the problem to doent this shameful chapter in our past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    I was so enthralled with George Orwell's acc of his days in Paris as an impoverished restaurant "go-fer" that I could almost overlook the egregious editing of this edition. This book has been "bowdlerized" that is, the obscene words are totally deleted and replaced with dashes. Not even an initial to give you a clue on which word Orwell used. This is critical to one chapter in particular with a glossary of road argot. You can't read it. This should have been revised because who cares nowadays if every other word is the F-bomb? It doesn't raise eyebrows. I assume the Harcourt edition was initially to be used in school, where F-bombs are deleted lest there be student snickering in class (they all know the words, of course. But they create for a lot of immature giggling.)Leaving that aside, this memoir is a amazing insight into George Orwell's life, writing and philosophy. You'll message passages that create their method into chapter of "1984" (in particular, his vivid descriptions of squalid surroundings, bug-ridden, dirty and odoriferous.)I actually enjoyed the chapter on his life on the street as a tramp in London. He'd come back to England on the promise of a job, a not-very-good job caring for a mentally disabled person as a sort of caretaker-nurse but the job was delayed when he arrived in London. He had a month to live on his wits and no money. The description of charity public wards and workhouses, Salvation Troops and church lodgings, a diet of "a cup and 2 slices"--meaning tea and bread with margarine are a glimpse into a life rarely described. Like ens, Orwell is that rare breed of educated and smart man who has experienced real poverty and survived to write poignantly about it.Highly recommended, with the caveat about the poor editing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    Just as a sample, a few typographical errors on pages 143-144"Most of the things one imagines in hell are if there--heat, noise, confusion...""When you have finally got there--and getting there is a in itself...""They are feeding it on to a conveyor belt, a moving rubber, belt a couple of feet wide...""For they are not only shifting monstrous quantities of coal, they are also doing, it in a position that doubles or trebles the work.""It is only when you see miners down the mine and naked that you realize what splendid men, they are.""You have the usual momentary qualm in your belly and a bursting sensation in the cars..." [I presume latest word should be "ears"]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    Orwell offers an unflinching chronicle of day-to-day realities and hardships at society's lowest levels, written in his usual precise, unsentimental prose. At the baseline he performs an act of reportage---intended to expose and inform, to shake the reading public of the 1930s out of blithe assumptions about the origin and nature of poverty, of both working and destitute varieties. In this he succeeds. His accounts are visceral and direct. The impressions stay with the process---never quite explicitly but always by unmistakable implication---he also makes a case for democratic som, one of his well-known lifelong causes. From the vantage of the 21st century his assumptions now ring rather simplistic and one-dimensional. But these shortcomings are forgivable, viewed in the context of the time.Where the book really falls short, however, is in a deceit that Orwell never quite admits. Unlike the real-life characters he depicts, he is in the end a visitor to these milieus, even a voyeur, able at any time to return to his middle-class life in rural England. His pretension to the contrary, regrettably, carries tips of dishonesty, albeit on the margins, and detracts from the power that the book might otherwise have vertheless a worthwhile read and one not one easily forgotten.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    George Orwell is my second favorite author. As he has himself written: he has a facility with words, and a talent for facing unpleasant facts. These are things that both divert and enlighten the mind, and can appeal to any educated person, as well as educate them. One truly learns about the globe when one reads Orwell, and this is one of his most enjoyable pieces.I would recommend this book to anyone who can speak and read English, to anyone who has any sense of curiosity, and to anyone who simply enjoys reading. Like all his work, it opens the mind, and for this I rate it most highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    Obviously, Orwell is a amazing writer. I gave this book one star because of the not good editing. There were dozens of really simple to correct typos, like i's and n's blurring into m's. Come on, it's not like Orwell is a fresh indie author. You guys couldn't search a better edition? Ridiculous. Amazon should take this one out of circulation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    He showed that people who are extremely not good are often heartlessly blamed for making not good choices. He showed that not good choices are all that they really have. So that poverty is caused by being not good without helpful connections, i.e. by having no money. He showed the differences to be found in France where poverty is not looked upon as worthlessness and England where the not good are considered morally defective and to some extent to be punished for it. This evil attitude has been amplified in spades in the modern United ough an old and barely monetizable book and thus of small practical value in the US, it is very Necessary contribution. We all know that Orwell went on to become one of the most prescient thinkers in the 20th Century with Animal Farm, 1984, and a lot of other significant essays that are now largely forgotten.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    I have tried 12 or more chin straps from different companies. This product is well created and fits very nice on me. I am 6' 3" and 240 pounds. I have a larger head than most with a 12" measurement from chin to crown. It has been hard to search a CS that fits well. My head is too huge for a huge on some and an additional huge is too huge with others. Not the case with this one, it fits! The chop of the straps is various so the top sits in the middle of my head instead of in the back where my head is on the ow. The bottom straps are just below my ears instead of right on them in other ones i have tried. I have used it for a few weeks and i am vary satisfied with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    It is what one expects from Harold Bloom, a brilliant, insightful book, encyclopedic in its erudition. If you're serious about literary criticism, Bloom is as amazing as it gets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    A unbelievable work detailing Harold Blooms years of studying and teaching literature and poetry. His emphasis is on American genius. I especially admired his deep love of his subjects. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    I'm a huge fan of Harold Bloom and this book is everything I could have hoped and more. His words never fail to move and inspire me. Harold and the Daemon are my breakfast companions these days, a unbelievable method to begin each day...food for the body, meal for the soul, and, above all, meal for thought. His books are among those I always hold close at hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    My dear correspondent,I’ve always had to wonder when I read a novel comprised entirely of letters. I think, well, it’s either going to be very, very amazing or will peter out after the second chapter and become tedious, repetitive, and boring.I’m satisfied to say that “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer falls definitely into the former and not the latter category. It is very, very good, and (if I had to assess why) it’s because Shaffer tells a story and stays in command of the story to the very end. And the story itself is a dramatic one and based upon a latest historic happening – the occupation of the Channel Islands by the German troops during Globe Battle e Channel Islands lie just off the coast of France but have allegiance to Amazing Britain. Technically, they are not part of Amazing Britain, but their inhabitants sound (to an American ear) as British as any Briton. They were owned by Duke William of Normandy, who retained ownership after he invaded and won Britain in cause of the proximity to France, the British Troops and Navy couldn’t defend the islands, so they became as much German-occupied location as France and the rest of Europe. Their people were treated much the same as the rest of Europe. Which means very badly indeed.But it’s now 1946, and writer Juliet Ashton, new from a rather surprising success as the author of a collection of her funny wartime columns for the Spectator, is casting about for a fresh project. She’s previously written a biography of Anne Bronte, which wasn’t exactly a bestseller. So, the success of her collection of columns is welcome news indeed.Juliet receives a letter from a Guernsey resident named Dawsey Adams, a pig farmer interested in, of all things, the 19th century writer Charles Lamb. He has come to own a book of Lamb’s writings originally owned by Juliet (her name and former London address – bombed by a V2 rocket late in the battle – is written in the inside cover. She begins a correspondence with Mr. Adams, and soon finds herself writing to other members of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, a reading group formed rather hurriedly (as in, on the spot) when the Germans found a group of Guernsey residents out after London, Juliet finds herself being amorously and rather relentlessly pursued by a wealthy American, but she isn’t sure if she’s interested or not. So a trip to Guernsey is just the ticket to work on a book and escape the would-be lover. And it is on Guernsey that Juliet discovers but never meets the founder of the society, Catherine McKenna, whose story becomes a story of the war, how people survived the occupation, and how they affer, who worked as an editor and librarian and also in book, died in 2008. The novel was completed by her niece, Annie Barrows, the author of the “Ivy & Bean” and other children’s stories and the novel “The Truth According to Us” (2015). And while I wish to tell you that you always wish to see an author have fun a well-deserved success, there is something about all of this that fits the author’s story and the story she tells.“The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” will create you laugh and create you cry. You will be struck silent at times. You will see how people cope in horrible cirtances, and what they to do support (and hurt) each other. And you will learn the difference books can create (including being used for kindling, but that’s another story for another letter).Oh, before I forget, the book’s been created into a film of the same title, coming soon (I hope) to a theater near you! It stars Lily James (of Downton Abbey and Darkest Hour fame) as Juliet, and there are several other Downton Abbey stars in ncerely and with warm regards,Glynn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    At the risk of sounding like everyone else, I so badly wish to go to Guernsey!! I should actually say that I wish to go BACK to Guernsey because I feel like I've just returned home after a long visit there with all of my dear friends. And, in a strange way, I feel a small shell-shocked inside because of all that occurred while I "was there"."The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" is a book that took me by surprise. Being an epistolary novel, I wasn't expecting an abundance of detail or hero development. I suppose I was expecting a chatty and carefree book that just skimmed over the tops of things. It was chatty and it was carefree in parts, but oh, it was so much e characters didn't just write letters that barely touched on their experiences during the German Occupation (in Guernsey), what had happened during the battle in London or with what was going on in their current lives. They delved right in and gave a tremendous amount of details. Some stories created you laugh out loud, some created you furious or shocked and some even brought you to tears. I think what touched me the most is that these types of stories really DID occur during WW2. They aren't far-fetched situations that would never have happened - they DID happen. THAT'S what brought me to tears on more than one ere is just so much that I could say about this book. Lol I don't even know how to express properly how amazing I truly thought it was. It is a multi-faceted gem that I am thrilled that I FINALLY discovered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    I adored this book and have recommended it to others since the day I finished it. I don't write a review, per se, as much as a note about my feelings about a book. I want the book were longer, found the epistolary (letter format) simple to read, and could follow the characters with no problems. Sometimes I obtain a "did we read the same book?" feeling when I read reviews. Not every book is an simple read and this one does require paying attention to who is who (whom?). I cared about all the characters and couldn't wait for the film when I read about its release on Netflix. The film is an perfect companion to the book and Lily James is an admirable Juliet. I want I had the cash to travel to Guernsey (although the film was NOT filmed there!) I would like to visit the country side and see t for ere is an art to writing an epistolary book. When a book is concentrated with letters, as this one is, there is a amazing deal of back and forth between characters that is quite various from regular conversation or book dialogue. I think the writers did a very job of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Number Eight Crispy Chicken: A Hilarious and Powerful Literary Satire []  2020-2-8 18:44

    As far as I can see this is Sarah Neofield’s debut novel and what a method to start. Using her travel and blogging background she has produced Number Eight Crispy Chicken, an perfect political satire which covers migration and asylum which are two of the major concerns in today’s world. The countries in the book are fictional but Peter’s Furtivus could be either Noefield’s native Australia, the USA or the spite her inexperience as a novelist Neofield has been very brave. Although told in the third person we follow the story through Peter’s mind. For most of the book he is the sole character, his only interaction being with assorted officials who he sees as nothing more than officious obstacles. The second character, Jeremy, features briefly but of course we only view him through Peter’s eyes so are we viewing him objectively?It was not difficult to recognise the hero of Peter, most of us can remember politicians like him. Clearly he is an expert in diplomacy and political wheeler-dealing yet he is unworldly, showing a lack of a lot of primary skills. These shortcomings cause him to realise just how difficult life is for those migrants that his department has responsibility times Peter’s mishaps seem a small contrived and too slapstick but others are hilarious. Neofield also shows amazing writing skills, especially where she fills several engrossing pages describing a five min delay in getting service. And if you feel that mid-way the story is going a bit slow then bear with it; once you reach the final third it will fly forward at such a pace the book will be finished before you know it, with quite a few surprises along the does Peter’s nightmare change his views? Well, you can only search out by reading Number Eight Crispy Chicken for yourself. As I write this review the paperback is available and the ebook is due for release in two weeks’ time. If you should need any more encouragement to buy it then look at the short video on Sarah Neofield’s website.I don’t often fly but the next time I do Number Eight Crispy Chicken will be on my mind. For its thought provoking entertainment I have awarded a full five Reviewed on Whispering Stories Book Blog*I received a free copy of this book, which I voluntarily reviewed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures []  2020-3-30 18:52

    And maybe not just librarians, but I'm one and can't tell. Amazing text, interspersed with unbelievable card reproductions. Oh, those hand-written cards! They provide a flavor of literacy that will never return.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures []  2020-3-30 18:52

    I read through this delightful history of the library in one day. Even though I am a professional librarian and was a Docent at the Library of Congress I still learned a lot of things I didn't know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Literary Witches Oracle: A 70-Card Deck and Guidebook []  2020-1-16 5:25

    The Cards are quite beautiful. I love the artwork and the explanations. The issue with the deck for me is that they are quite huge and with little hands impossible to shuffle by dividing the deck. The only method is by holding in one hand and shuffling with the other. That would be ok except that the edges of the cards are very sharp all the method around and when I finished shuffling (which was painful to do), my hands were red and raw from the edges which seemed to have created little cuts all over my palms, esp. my right one which I was using to do the actual shuffling. I am going to test putting them on a hard surface in a pile and pushing them around. It's too poor that so much care and beauty was place into designing a deck only to have neglected softening the edges.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down and Out in Paris and London []  2020-1-25 18:11

    I am a fan of Orwell. There is nothing that I've read of his that I did not like, although I have only read a few things. So I was predisposed to like this book. This story is odd. The "plot" is very repetitive; it consists of Orwell's more or less everyday acc of his seeking work in Paris and London in the 1930s Amazing Depression, mostly unsuccessfully, and the seeking of work is woven through with his description on near starvation in the process. Even though the book is repetitive in its accounting of these experiences, the writing is clear, insightfully detailed, and down to earth, and it does not obtain tiresome to read; I read the book in about two days. It's a close look at the underbelly of these cities during the late 20s and perhaps early 30s of the 20th century. Furthermore, the narrative is punctuated with some unbelievable hero profiles of the (mostly) men that he buddies with along the way. It has significant amazing humor, despite the horrible conditions that Orwell experiences and describes; the characterizations of the handful of men he tramps with are especially humorous: Orwell was good, apparently, at picking out amazing friends in related cirtances, men he could count on in a pinch. The first half of the book, set in Paris, is a bit more upbeat in tone than the second half, set in London. In the Paris section, much of the reportage is about Orwell's working as a dishwasher/busboy/gopher in a fancy hotel restaurant, and I found this reportage to be very accurate to what I know of current-day restaurants, which I know are still operated in the same chaotic way. The dining room is a various globe from the kitchen. The second half of the book, the London section, is much more "down and out." I discovered from this book that during this time and probably in the Amazing Depression as well, England managed its tens of thousands of unemployed, homeless men (mostly men: 10:1 men to women) by providing them room and board, but the "tramps" could only stay one night, and were forced to march up to fifteen miles the next day to the next "accommodation"; these huge institutional shelters were called "spikes." The accommodations were vermin-infested and the meal was usually "tea and two slices": two pieces of bread with oil slathered on them and a cup of tea. To my mind, this book reminded me of a long Fresh Yorker-like article in which the writer goes undercover to expose the horrors of a situation. Apparently, however, Orwell was not undercover but instead an unknown unemployed writer who was truly forced into this degraded, dangerous, unhealthy lifestyle. I knew that Orwell died before he was fifty, and after reading the book I wondered if these harrowing experiences did not somehow contribute to his early physical decline. This book is touted as a minor masterpiece. I don't know if I agree with that but it is essential reading for one who is studying Orwell. It certainly must have drawn on his sot thinking, and he makes some astute recommendations for how England might better deal with the issue of heavy unemployment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Works but gets true loose over time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Works well. Stays on through the night and I'm a rolling sleeper

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. The formatting is amazing for a busy person to be able to read and drop it quickly. I love the history I learned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    I don't think one can really "review" this book. The mantra here is that when it comes to literary greatness "the Daemon knows how it is done." This makes sense. If you wish know how your art can ascend to the near-God layer of the atmosphere, it would be intelligent to ask one who resides there. Mr. Bloom sets out here to present what he believes is amazing evidence that some of our greatest (at least the 12 discussed) American writers who achieved the sublime, did so upon the foundation of those characteristics (self-reliance, individuality, freedom (especially from the handcuffs of history), etc that we folks generally consider to be among the hallmark attributes of an "American." While the political roots of the "American" were established in the 1700s, the American hero was not realized as a source of literary greatness until the 1800s and early e book is not a teaching vehicle. If you wish to understand more about Wallace Stevens and the others, read something else. This book is about the synthesis of evidence in the literature of an "American sublime." It is very tough going for the reader, even for the elite reader I suspect (not being one). I am not sure the hypothesis is persuasively shown in all 12 writers discussed. But the journey is worth y one of Mr. Bloom's stature and longevity could have attempted the argument or even thought of it. The language is glorious and the scholarship impeccable. The book is a close encounter with thoughts of one of our amazing literary ysts. Whatever you take from the book will exceed the effort it took you to read it, a amazing bargain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daemon Knows: Literary Greatness and the American Sublime []  2020-1-22 19:2

    Old Ironsides and Hiawatha were part of the lives of school kids, courtesy of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. “I shot an arrow into the air/ It fell to earth, I knew not where…” Some of those early rhyming arrows fell into the earth of Walt Whitman, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Emily inson and Robert Frost. Harold Bloom writes about them. This Yale professor, MacArthur Prize Fellow, former Harvard prof, has written more than 40 books. His newest is “The Daemon Knows,” more than 500 pages that seem personal, as though the reader is sitting in on a talk with Bloom. In this rewarding book he builds conversations between Emerson and inson, between Tag Twain and Frost. Chats, invented by a critic’s critic, bring the voices of Whitman and Herman Melville and other literary greats. I confess to a bias: I have fun nearly everything I’ve ever read by this fellow, and I’m a fan of his subjects. Read this book and dream.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society []  2020-3-29 20:3

    With Europe just coming out of WWII, Juliet Ashton is looking for something to write about. She receives a letter from someone on Guernsey who belonged to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society during the occupation. From there Juliet begins corresponding with several members of the society. Eventually she goes to Guernsey to meet the people that she has been corresponding with and not only falls in love with them, but also with Guernsey itself. Written in letter form, Juliet corresponds with several members of the society and with her editor about what happened on Guernsey during the occupation. When Juliet arrives on Guernsey she is at a loss as to how she wants to write her book, but eventually she finds her purpose and her goal and a fresh life for herself.Okay, how had I not heard about this book?! My sister told me about it and said I must watch the movie. Well, I don't obtain Netflix so that wasn't going to happen, so she told me to obtain the book. I did, just to appease her! I AM SO GLAD I DID!!!! I absolutely loved this book! I fell in love with Juliet, and I definitely fell in love with all of the characters in Guernsey. Most of the time I chuckled through their antics, but the book isn't all that light-hearted. There are a lot of stories that damage the heart about the German's occupation. I loved how accepting the characters were of Juliet and how much she became a part of their group. This book warmed my heart and the characters will stay with me for a long while. Definitely a top favorite of books I've read this year! Now to obtain my hands on someone's Netflix account!!!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386