Read live channels reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all live channels reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    The Application was working fine up until the latest Android device TV OS make batter to the NVidia Shield. Now the EPG data is not being shown and the Android device TV Home page says that the Live Channels channel is empty and no longer displayed. PLEX had related problems, but they released an modernize to fix the problem. Can we obtain a fix sometime soon please?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    TV Channels are incorrectly titled with the wrong present displaying in the program guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I like the interface of this application a lot, this is an simple to use app for my parents who use their Mi Box to watch TV, I could easily say it's the only application they use in their Mi Box. On the negative side I think the application logo (on the Launcher) should only be the TV icon and maybe some text that says "TV", also the name of the application (the text that appears below the icon) should change based on the language of the device, for example if it's in spanish instead of "Live Channels" it should say something like "Canales en directo" Also you should add native help for .m3u lists (I know they are used for piracy a lot, BUT there are also a lot of a lot of public channels that broadcast using that protocol). Should also have a list of public channels, for example Google could talk with some top channels in each country and have them listed as apps in the Play Store. Also PLEASE add some "shortcut", keyboard press or infrared command to the Android device TV OS that could begin directly this app, for example some Media key in a keyboard or something.

    0  


    Add your opinion on live channels or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Very necessary application that is much easier to navigate with than the clunky hdhomerun application (those particular developers seem to have no shame!). In the Live Channels application I place in a channel number and the program quickly jumps to that channel like any decent television viewing program should. I can actually be comfortable watching live television on my android device box. All that said, is there a reason why the Live Channels application must drop frames on some channels where even the clunky hdhomerun application does not? It is just not as smooth as it should be on some channels when compared to the hdhomerun app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Minimal functionality and not good user interface create this application difficult to use. No method to schedule recording of only fresh TV episodes. No method to delete reruns without watching them. No method to add time before/after scheduled program times for shows that frequently don't air at the scheduled time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Missing primary functionality such as Favorites, Latest Channel, Parental Controls... come on Google, obtain your act together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    i would love it if it integrated more sources.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Can't skip forward in recordings. You can only quick forward. It took me 30 seconds to successfully skip 10 mins of commercials. The interface is worse than Amazon Home Video which everyone knows is worse than Netflix. So ya, bad. This makes the DVR functionality slightly better than worthless. It provides a decent interface to live TV on your network. Setup is easy. You don't need to subscribe to a TV listings service. I just updated my year-old review, and most of the largest issues still exist. Too poor this application can't obtain any love, because the positive aspects, like TV listings, are really nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    This fresh ver is fixing the HDHomerun tunner release problem finally making it a usable app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    As other have reported I am getting an intermittent black screen with an erroneous weak signal error notice on a lot of stations. I know I have a powerful signal as indicated by my Sony TV and HD home run tuner signal strength meters which use an identical signal feed from the same antenna and amplifier. A google find shows a history of this problem. This is quite irritating and needs to be fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Same issue as others. I was pumped when I heard about the HDHomeRun being supported. Then I tried it and I obtain no audio. ShieldTV, HDHR Connect, and an 8 year old Panasonic plasma TV.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I'm using a HDhomerun Connect to obtain local OTA channels and my wife is not fond of the Silicon Dust tutorial so I set up Live Channels with the HDhomerun. Now she's so much happier with the tutorial but requests 2 things. It only pulls 4 hours from the SD Tutorial where as I'm paying for the 14 day tutorial through SD. Second, can I edit (move) the channel and numbers so Channel 2 shows up on number 2, channel 6 on number six, etc? And my request is for live channels to use the SD DVR feature. I'd also like to see streaming application integration for Playstation Vue, Sling TV, etc. And Fire TV support. Update: Silicon Dust says this is a error of Live Channels that it only sees 4 hours of the HDhomerun Guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    doesn't work with DVB-T USB tuners - pointless at the moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Application itself works great, now if they would stop removing every damn channel I like every other week, that'd be great. Obtain it together, Google!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    The concept of this application is genius but the execution is less than desirable. the application constantly re-sets saved channel line-up as well as the sound on streaming channels like Pluto randomly cuts out! It's super annoying...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    It doesn't actually work on the Nvidia Shield TV so not sure why it comes pre-installed, unless it is only suitable for NON UK users

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Desperately need to be able to add IPTV URL's (RTMP,RTSP,MMS) as channel sources and implement a PVR system that records to the flash memory or a NAS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    With latest modernize I am not able to begin it. test to uninstall updates and re install. even cant search it in apps list. old ver only has a one channel in clan list. Google Play Film & TV Trailers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Application does not have add channels feature on the channel scan. If you have your antenna turned north and scan for channels you obtain the channels from the north but now turn your antenna to the south to scan for the southern and the northern channels will be erased. This create the application only 50% effective. Needs a add for missing channel scan feature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    On ver 1.21, the voice find doesn't work and the time shift turn off by itself and need to be re-enabled. Had to downgrade to 1.19 to obtain those 2 options working again. Also, why the recordings don't work after downgrading or upgrading and where to leave feedback for this application other than leaving reviews. This application would be excellent if the find was better and the updates don't break it so often.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Device used: Sony Android device TV 3* and Nvidia Shield 5* Amazing app, that works perfectly on my Nvidia shield. On the android device TV, there is no program info once I scan for channels and no method to adjust or add that functionality within the app. Which is strange. So if I decide to use this application I can't see what's coming up next or currently on. I also wonder if having the tutorial set up would enable the use of recording to mass storage on the android device TV, kind of like a DVR run similarly to the Nvidia Shield. Meal for thought or an update? As of now I am stuck with the stock OnAir Sony TV app. Which isn't bad. But this is simple and adding that DVR function to a native android device TV would be sweet and should be doable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Previously I gave this application a positive review because there was finally a fix and I had tutorial info for about two weeks on my Streamplus. That is till a week ago. I barely obtain a DAY of tutorial information and some of it is wrong, again!. You had fixed it but it’s broken, again. What happened?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Use with Mi-Box S , 55" TCL Roku TV, HDHomerun Extend Dual for over 6 months. Considering the Mi-Box S is also a Cast device, the rest was nearly free. I do have to reset the Mi-Box periodically. I am about 50 Miles from Chicago with an roof mounted 8 bowtie antenna . My Tutorial is fine, but it sometimes is only for a few days. Using an SSD to record and it works great. Keep South Bend , Chicagp and Northern Indianna Stations. Will be looking for a Pie ver and faster chip as I assume the ATSC signal processing is the cause of the re-boot need. For the would be a 5 if did not need occaisonal re-boot. If I can drop OTA channels from You tube-tv and obtain a discount, would be even better :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    It appears the 2/19/18 modernize broke the ability to record shows from my HD Homerun. I would love to report this somehow but cannot search a help forum. It WAS working great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    This application crashes my Mi Box S. Then disappears from this list of apps when the Mi Box S restarts. Only method to obtain live channels back is to factory early the whole Mi Box S. Terrible. Google fix this thing PLEASE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    completely broken for any network tuners. Honestly disable this garbage if it's baked into your android device until Google finally puts developers back on it to create it useable again. Right now it constantly complains about "network tuner disconnected" when it's not and constantly wants you to rescan channels. It is unusable and create any android device TV unusable with it installed or enabled.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Amazing application ......when it works. Unfortunately getting the "Weak signal" error notice often. Nothing wrong with the signal. It is the application that is the problem. If I clear the app's cache it usually starts working again. I wonder if the author will fix this issue anytime soon?????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Was working for OTA TV via an HD Homerun Extend tuner and Pluto and Haystack until today. Now, none of the HD Homerun OTA channels have any audio and I obtain a notice to test another TV Seriously???? Pluto & Haystack play audio just like before albeit at a fairly low level requiring increasing the sound bar volume level. Seems the amazing people at Silicon Dust test as they might are still not ready for prime time. Too poor as they really test hard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Not excellent but getting there. Audio problems and there needs to be a better interface on finding what apps are compatible with the app. Would be nice to have a 1-click option to gain access to the program guide. Its a amazing working concept at this time, so I will give it 3 stars. *EDIT: Adding a star! Getting better! Hopefully more apps release more channels for this. EPG does not automatically roll over, so if you scroll all the method to the top or bottom, you have to go back through to obtain back to either side. Would be nice if they allowed for it to roll over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Application works amazing but is pointless without Cable TV and hdmi receivers integration. Something like Microsoft One Tutorial so it can REALLY join all content sources on the same app. Currently is pointless use my HDMI input to watch TV (ABC, HBO, etc), switch to netflix to watch movies, and use Live Channels for whatever 2 or 3 streaming sources I have... :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Since I converted to OTA from CATV, I no longer care about DCTP-IP functionality for DRM CCI-CO content, so my previous concern is no longer applicable to me. I love the functionality that does exist, and would like it even more if find results from the application showed at the top of the card like content from the Play store/ Plex/ Hulu does. Looking forward to addition of DVR type functionality that is supposedly coming under Android device N... If DTCP-IP is fixed, more power to the CATV crowd! Modified review 5/14/2016

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    It works properly for what it I need it for. I am able to view DRM channels without issue. The issue for me, as others have stated, is that the custom channel lineups no longer save. They used to save - for a lot of months I had it saved and perfected. Now? They constantly reset. I don't know if it was due to an modernize or what, but it's really, really annoying. I rate this 1 star until this is fixed. It's obnoxious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Largest missing feature is the ability to reorder sources or channels yourself. The channel for the Weather Network Application always winds up method at the bottom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    hdhomerun application = tutorial data displayed live channels = no tutorial data displayed. FIX ASAP

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Amazing App, but needs the ability to pause/rewind/forward and of course record. Please fix for assassin app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Can you please tell me what tvtuner models are supported on this and nVidia Shield TV? Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    No Dolby Digital.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Ver 1.21 had been working ok, until a week ago two major channels, on virtual 4 and 5 (actually, 48 and 39) changed their carriers. One of them is now on UHF 28 instead of 48. The tuner seems to search the fresh channels when scanning, and in the right place, but they do not appear in the tutorial after multiple re-scans and a full restart. Because of this, my Channel Master Stream+ no longer gets 4 and 5. Somehow, without any action on my part, my Tivo Roamio OTA (which uses a proprietary system instead of Live Channels) automatically updated itself and gets the channels fine. Hopefully, Google or Channel Master will fix this soon. Previously I was complaining that my Pluto channels were not integrated into the Guide. I struggled with that over a month ago, and no matter what I did, it didn't work. That seems to have been fixed, I'm not sure when. (10 mins later) It's working now. I noticed an icon "add fresh channels" appeared on the home page. I clicked on that and it did another scan. It still didn't search virtual 4 and 5. So then I went back and did yet another scan. This time it got 62 channels (the very first time it had been 72) but now, 4 and 5 work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Google Live Channels is wonderful... when it works. It is installed on my ChannelMaster DVR box. The first time I used it, I was ecstatic. I saw a guide, I could record shows, and I could play items back. Sadly, I am not the standard user who hooks up and runs forever. I am a digital nomad, living in a mobile home and travelling the country. My issues began when I left "home" and created my first move. I got to my fresh location, scanned for TV channels on the van antenna and was overjoyed to search 32 channels! Sadly, when I went to Live Channels and rescanned it also found 32 channels, but the tutorial utterly failed to populate. All I got was the Google Play channel. Nothing worked to obtain the tutorial to populate. Finally, I totally restart the box and it worked. "Harumph", i harumphed. Musta been a glitch. Things worked amazing for two days, then I moved again. Once again I rescanned for channels, and again nothing in the guide. My suspicion is that the box only REALLY scans the first time. I bet if I restart it would work again, but that is lame. I have not had much luck finding any support, which is the cause for my not good review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I did love this application, and some bugs with the HD Home Run have been addressed. However, it keeps asking me to do a 'Source Setup' even though all sources have been setup successfully. This happens randomly while using the TV in any application, so it is annoying. Uninstalling will check back in a few months to see if an modernize fixes it. Otherwise a amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I like it, when it works. Now I know why it doesn't work. I'm using it with a Silicon Dust HD Homerun, and my signal quality isn't perfect. However - Plex & HD's own application work fine (I'm guessing stream error correction is masking the non-perfect signal). Issue is that 90% of the time Live Channels simply refuses to present the channel and it throws an error (whilst everything else plays it with 'best effort'). It's the same IP stream from the same tuner, so problem must be with this app. My suggestion would be to just again give 'best effort display' - and maybe slap up a warning notice if the signal isn't excellent (or allow you toggle behaviour in settings)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Poor interface. I got this application because I purchased the fresh Channel Master Stream+ DVR. There is lag when changing channels that I didn't have with my old Channel Master DVR+ or when the antenna runs directly to the TV. I lost much of my DVR capability. There is no method to find for future programs - or if there is, I haven't been able to search it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Does work well with Sony Bravia 65XBR850E. A lot of users reported issue with this application in Sony Android device tv. It just shows channel list. No EPG/Program info where the stock On Air application present program tutorial just fine. But I like this UI than the stock app's though. Without program tutorial I am stuck with the stock app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Usually works great. with HDhomerun 2 tuner unit and Nvidia Shield TV and Live Channels DVR. Sometimes says signal too weak when recording another channel, but 2nd TV on the network displays the "weak" Channel fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    How do you set up VLC? allow us know

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    It would be better if Google could solve having more apps present their content here. Application developers need incentives to add their application to the guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    This application has an intuitive, cable-tv-esqe grid-based navigation menu, which is great. I wish to echo the complaints about the enduring problem of not releasing network tuners, which makes the application unusable. This problem has been widely reported in support forums on the shield, silicon dust, and Google support for going on 2 years. I am using Live Channels ver 1.17.3 with the HD Homerun Connect Quatro, recent firmware (may 2018), on the Nvidia Shield TV box updated to Oreo (Shield experience 7.0.1).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Application is not bad. I like the layout of menu and sourcing in different channel source and DVR functionality, I want I can use HAUPPAUGE WinTV-DualHD Dual USB 2.0 HD TV Tuner 1595 on ShieldTv as it's not recognized at all even though HAuPPAUGE website suggests it's supported. Please add help of this ASAP. Also, it would be amazing if other apps like ABC, NBC, FOX, CNN, HGTV, NatGeo, etc... to be able to add to source. That would be amazing and five star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    This is Android device TV's assassin app! I use it with my Nvidia Shield TV and HDHOMERUN Extend. Add the Pluto application and you obtain an extra 88 channels that integrates BEAUTIFULLY. The only hiccup I had was no audio on the HDHOMERUN channels. I resolved it by installing the HDHOMERUN beta app. It basically duplicated the channels from the tuner but with the audio working. I then went into Live Channels settings and removed the tuner's channels from view. I feel that I should not required to do this; the audio should have worked natively with the tuner but it wasn't a super huge deal. I only want they opened up Live Channels to more devices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Takes a long time to load shows. The application is also completely unintuitive. Cannot exit application properly, cannot properly exit the channel tutorial to continue watching current channel. If you forgot the channel you're currently watching on, too poor for you, you lost your place, gotta search it again or else you're stuck on the channel tutorial screen. Just not good not good UX.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Works fairly well on Xiaomi Mi Box 3 - but hold having to manually modernize tutorial from HDHomeRun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    My system contains an HDHomeRun Prime with cablecard and a Digital Switch Adapter, and Nvidia Shield. My cable company (Cox) marks nearly all channels with DRM. Those DRM channels are playable only with the HDHR (hdhomerun) View APP. Sadly, Live channels does not work for DRM channels at all and is therefore a waste of time for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Not nearly enough channels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Doesn't help DRM. All cable content at this point is DRM protected and Google must enable help for DTCP-IP

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    hi, is it possible to add iptv m3u list to this app, thx.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Very promising and high Potential, but as others mentioned, pause/play and replay functions are crucial for this to succeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I have a Nexus Player and ADT-1, connected to a HDHR4-2DT using both the HDHomeRun View and Live Channels apps, and I'm based in the UK. I can keep channels on both apps, but I only obtain video and not audio. I can only obtain audio if I turn off MPEG-2 HW Decoding in the settings of the View application (something I can't do in the Live Channels app) - but if I do this, I can't keep any HD channels. Can you please modernize the apps/firmware to sort this problem out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Not working in Europe. USB Tuner are detected but no channels found. Fix it!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Its says that it can playback while recording but this is only real if you are watching it at the time it comes on you cant go to the channel and rewind you cant play it from dvr you have to already have been on the channel or your out of luck till its done 4 stars if they obtain that fixed 5 if they can ever obtain it to stop crashing or having weird issues if left on to long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Needs to be fixed. Application closes instantly when I test to begin it and the tutorial will not load Pluto TV channels before that. Current ver is 1.21.1 (20190409.00_RC60.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Has become more stable over the years but there's still one thing egregiously wrong with it. When you use up and down to flip thru the channels, the channels ascend (in number) when you press up and descend when you press down. Great, this is how it should be. But for some odd reason when you bring up the channel tutorial and begin flipping thru the channels, the numbers DESCEND when you press up and ASCEND when you press down. This is just lazy coding, I'm on 1.18 the newest vers too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    The application is almost there guys. I gave it three stars and plan to increase it as you guys create the important changes I am about to list below. 1) The first menu that should pop up when I press OK/Enter on my remote should be the OSD (On Screen Display). Create it easier to Pause/Play/Fast Forward and Rewind. I shouldn't have to scroll up. Move Favorites to the filter that's on the left side along with "Sports, education, etc.. 2) Language option in Settings. Every now and then I tune to a channel that has both English 5.1 and Spanish Stereo it defaults to the Spanish track. Newsflash, I don't speak Spanish. 3) Multi-room DVR is long overdue. 4) Whole-Home DVR (Pause in one room, resume in another). You can achieve that by making the first Android device TV basic and any other boxes added to the home secondary using "Setup Key" like Windows Media Center did. You guys do that and this application will be the best application on Android device TV. 5) Let disable both the "Network Tuner Scan" annoying notification when network connection is lost and the other constant ask of if I wish to set a network tuner" 6) Encrypted channels flagged DRM - Google is a huge enough company to create this happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    It seems not to work on my device, I am stuck on the Set up your sources where the sources are Live Channels. After clicking on Live Channels, it rescans and when done says that it's saving the channels and returns to the same screen of "Set up your sources". I have enabled all permissions, restarted my box & re-installed it. Kindly help. My box is a Safaricom TV BOX Manufactured by KAON MEDIA. Device code name SFCSTB2LITE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I live in Italy and use the Live Channels into an nVidia Shield TV 2017 in combination with the Hauppauge WinTV-DualHD. The application recognize the Hauppauge hardware but when I begin the channels scan, the application present 0 channels found. Please, make batter the application to present channels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Another fail from Google

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    For a free, built-in application this is rather impressive. I use it with my Nvidia Shield TV along with an external USB tuner attached to an over-the-air antenna. The detection of the tuner and the set-up was ridiculously easy. The DVR functionality is amazing and simple to use. Time shifting can be disabled which I appreciate as I'm using an SSD for video storage. I have only two complaints: 1. Recordings cannot be exported to a standard MP4, etc. I would like the ability to save these recordings to my home Plex server. 2. I sometimes obtain odd "juddering" with horizontal movements on some of my recordings. I suspect that the (or possibly the tuner) is not properly handling interlaced video.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Since the modernize in Sept. 2017 ver 1.15.006 (on Shield TV), using "Network tuner (beta)" as source causes Live Channels not to release the tuners on HDHomeRuns. This has been reported multiple times to Google, including by Silicondust, and has yet to be fixed. This was not an problem in Live Channels ver 1.14.013 or below and was only introduced in later versions. The problem makes the "Network tuner" feature useless as the only method to create release the tuner is to force close the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    On my NVIDIA Shield TV, application does not release my network tuner (HD Homerun) when I'm done watching a channel. Been this method for a long time, please fix!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Since September, this has not worked with the HD Homerun on the Shield TV. There are posts about it on the Shield Forum and the HD Homerun forum. The Shield basically holds onto the HD Homerun channels and locks up the HD Homerun. Makes this application completely broken. It has been broken so long, it is a joke.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    No audio when linking network tuner. Using nvidia shield, hdhomerun, and samsung tv. Please fix.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    needs better tutorial data and aljazeera integration

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    It would be amazing if it had more content and could pull live streams from apps like FX, ESPN and other apps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    This application has a lot of potential, however content producers seem to have 0 incentive to use this. I would love to see Showtime, NBC Live Extra, FX Network, etc all integrate their apps into this. But as of now there's like 3 sources for channels and they all kind of stink

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Same problem here. Program Tutorial no longer works for Homerun HD (it has for the past year).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    To the reviewer who said DRM is not supported, that is horribly incorrect. I'm using this application on my Nexus Player, and my HDHomerun Prime, with FiOS. Some FiOS channels are DRM (Copy Once) and I'm viewing one as I type this review. This tutorial has really matured. I'm getting tutorial data now as soon as I enter the app. GREAT APP! that makes Android device TV the top choice for a streaming device. Now all the that's missing is being able to pause/rewind and record.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Google, you are THIS close to striking gold. Application has SO MUCH potential, but is currently facing a lot of issues. I'll begin with the most necessary down. I am currently using it on a Nvidia shield paired with an HDHomeRun Prime. 1. This application DESPERATLEY needs the ability to pause/play/rewind/fastforward TV. Until then, it will not be able to fully replace a cable box. 2. Occasionally, the channel info may disappear. While this is a very necessary issue, it only happens sometimes. If you wish people to continue to take this service seriously, please fix this! 3. The ability to record channels would be super nice. As some of you may know, there is an application made by 3rd party developers for the 4th Generation Apple TV called "Channels". Not only does it display the tutorial properly without error at all times, but it gives viewers the ability to pause/play/rewind/fastforward live TV from an HDHomeRun device. So, before you tell me it's not possible, its been done, and done well. I love Google. I love Android. I eat this **** up. But Google PLEEEAAAASEEE don't forget this app. I wish it so badly to replace my Cablebox/DVR. It would save me and so a lot of others so much money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Simply doesn’t work. Downloaded it on my Philips Android device TV and despite me giving the application the correct permissions it refuses to recognise the 160+ antenna channels which are already set up on the TV. The only option is Google Play Films & TV, and the “Get more sources” option just takes me to a screen with “Live Channels” as an option, which when clicked just returns me to the previous screen again. I was really hoping to be able to replace the standard tuner application on the TV as it’s just awful, but it looks like I can’t.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I really have fun the Channel master. It work as expected. The only flaw is the Live Channel app. It is not very intuitive or accurate. While scanning through channels it will skip to a later date, or time, or both, very annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Greater Boston, MA zone channels have moved as of Aug 2, 2019. Live Channels has not caught up. EPG does not recognize fresh channel assignments, so it no longer allows tuning to them. This could all be avoided if Live Channels allowed users to tune to ANY channel using the remote and numeric entry, even if the channel is not in the EPG. At least this would work until EPG finally caught up. Though maybe this is a Channel Master Stream+ issue.... since they own the tuner hardware. Much finger pointing will follow....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Nice approach, nice interface but Live Channels doesn't help groups/categories, so for an example you have 2000 channels, instead of country groups, you have to scroll down every single channel. That makes this app beautiful much useless. TiviMate app has grouping and even more. One star rating until the developers integrate this functionality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I've tried and tried to use this on my Nvidia Shield. I really really wish it to to work in the UK but it doesn't. I love the tutorial and the live previews on the Shield home screen. I have a DVB HDHomerun Quatro. 1 or 2 channels play using the Network Tuner plugin (107 BBC News always works fine, BBC One HD 20% of the time) the rest display "weak signal". The HDHR has 100% across the board and works perfectly with the HDHR and Channels - Live TV on the same Shield. It is also excellent on other devices (XBO, Apple TV etc). The channels also play fine in Live Channels if you use the HDHR application as the source or setup another PC running TVheadend but then you cannot record from them. I also have a Hauppauge WinTV-DualHD DVB edition. I know this is not supported but it really should be. The tuner is detected since Shield modernize 7.2.2 added the kernel driver. It goes through the tuning process but finds no channels (177 channels are found by the XBO - no idea when MS added the Win10 driver to XBO but they have - and by Plex on the Shield itself). Please fix the "weak signal" problem with the DVB HDHR and/or help at least ONE DVB tuner for the 500million of us in the EU.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I like it. It has a amazing tutorial and it's simple to find for channels. I want local channels where available through the internet without a Hd tuner. This is a amazing solid app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I have been trying to use this application for months now still too buggy. Constant drm errors and video unexpectedly unavailable. Also the audio is still only stereo not 5.1 or higher. Keeps finding tuner. You can't remove sources...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Unable to set a Canadian Postal code into the channel search. Therefore no Channel Guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Have been waiting for so long for 14 day schedule. I think this APP must be method down on GOOGLE'S bucket list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    PLEASE FIX THE HDHOMERUN TUNER RELEASE ISSUE !!!!! Update: HDhomerun problem fixed. Update: TimeShift now disabled repeatably since ShieldTV 8.0.0

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I am so disappointed that ChannelMaster is using this application for their CM-7600 Stream+. I have lost a amazing of the DVR functionality I had with the CM-7500 as outlined on a lot of reviews. Please have developers obtain it to the level of the DVR+ on the CM-7500.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Updated review: The most latest modernize has addressed the HDHomerun tuner resolving issue, and so far it's working amazing for me! I now have acces to all the features of the Network Tuner, including the fresh Channels feature in Oreo. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    For 2 years now the network tuner option has been broken. Just got the oreo modernize on my shield television and was hoping it would fix it but nope. Basically it won't release tuners. change the channel twice and every channel aferwards will say "weak signal". Google has known about this bug but elected to be lazy and not fix it. Otherwise I love the app, but it's not getting more than one star until their lazy developers obtain out of the break room, obtain on their laptops, and fix this stupid bug!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Could be a amazing application if it worked. An modernize latest year broke things. No fix in latest weeks update. A fix doesn't feel any closer than latest year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I'm grateful for the addition of DVR for Network Tuners, I can't use this application after the update. Unlike the others, I have audio, but I can change the volume from the Shield TV remote. I dont have CEC for audio and was relying on the Android device TV to control the volume. With this update, Live Channels keeps switching to the default volume of the tv, not the varialble audio set by the Shield(like how other apps use it). It is unusable at it's current state for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I obtain an "invalid zip" error when inputting my zip code while trying to set up the network tuner channels. This means I can't obtain tutorial information. Please fix this to create it usable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Cannot play audio. Please test another TV error when not connect to a 5.1 sound system...please fix

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Tutorial data is unavailable (says no information) on my Sony Bravia AndroidTV. running Android device 6.0.1. Otherwise it works beautiful well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    I don't like that the UI when changing channels covers the whole screen unlike a normal channel guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Latest modernize fixed loss of customized channel issue. Love having the feel of live television without the cost

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    One of the few options for Cord Cutters to aggregate your channels into a single Program Tutorial format. Having a Program Tutorial that spanned multiple days vs. "what's currently playing" is surprisingly difficult when not subscribed to cable or SAT TV service.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Application sucks, the EPG no longer updates in live channels however the EGP works with the native hd homerun app. Please fix!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Would be awesome if DRM channels worked. Until then I'm stuck using the HDHomerun View Application as 80% of my channel lineup (Cablevision) is DRMed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live Channels [App]  2019-10-10 13:46

    Amazing APP! I would like to see some activity to create some improvements and help more IP based services and advertise when they are available. I'm using HDHomerun HDTC-2US for over the air and Pluto TV. The Tutorial shows the channel PSIP Data for over air however it isn't collecting the Pluto Tutorial data. Also, I have not yet found any other sources it supports

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386