locomotion Reviews & Opinions


Submit locomotion review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    This book is a gem. The illustrations are gorgeous and the text is engaging. I've read this book for my kid at least 30 times as a library checkout and finally decided to purchase a e book follows the journey of a train across the transcontinental railway. My small one loves it, but this is also a amazing read for older kids learning about the railroad. The front and back of the book have extra info about tains and the transcontinental railway.Even the cover under the book jacket has a attractive picture of e book is well constructed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    I can see why Locomotive won the Caldecott. This is such a attractive book and packed full of info too. I learned a lot reading this book with my 7-year-old. More than just facts, this book really gives you a feeling for what is what like in 1869 to either work on the railroad or to be a passenger. I think this book could easily be enjoyed by a middle grader studying American history. We visited a huge train museum on vacation latest summer and I want we had read this book first. Instead, we did have fun reminiscing about things we saw on that trip that tied into this story. Anyway, fun, beautiful, informative book to be enjoyed by a huge range of ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    I bought this book for my grandson who loves trains. While I didn't read it, my husband, a retired railroader, did and pronounced the book a attractive book. He and our grandson share their love of trains. The pictures are lovely and the text is well written according to my husband.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on locomotion or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch locomotion video reviews and related movies:

    See Kylie Minogue - The Loco-motion - Official Video on youtube.

     related image

    See Little Eva - The Locomotion on youtube.

     related image

    See Grand Funk Railroad - The Loco-Motion on youtube.

     related image

    See Little Eva - Loco-motion(1962) on youtube.

     related image

    See The Locomotion on youtube.

     related image

    See The Loco-Motion lyrics on youtube.

     related image

    See THE LOCOMOTION Line Dance (Beginner Level) on youtube.

     related image

    See [HD] THE LOCOMOTION (Live on Dancing With The Stars) - Kylie Minogue on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Love reading this book. The level of detail is fun for the children and adults reading. The train sounds are a true highlight for the children to read along with. And it wouldn't be a Brian Floca book without knowing how the potty works on a train. The rhythm and meter of the words makes this so enjoyable to read. Above and beyond the other Caldecott books we have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

     Locomotive is one of Julien's favorite books. There are so a lot of amazing reviews of this book that the video, and these comments, do not add too much. The illustrations obtain the most attention but the text really introduces all elements of the train, and life on the train, to the reader. Kids of all ages will be engaged and excited and will ask a lot of questions on each page. Truly a book that sparks interest and inspires learning. Check out more of Julien's reviews on his Youtube channel - julesandmetv

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Purchased for reading with my 4 year-old grandson whose dad runs freight trains. Was concerned it wouldn't keep his attention because there were a lot of words to read and the photos are past era. However, my grandson was enthralled with it. He learned some things that prompted conversation with his dad about the trains he engineers for work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    This is a unbelievable picture book for children who think they are too old for picture books. It is about the height of mid-nineteenth century technology, the steam locomotive. Two children and their mother taking the train from Omaha, Nebraska to San Francisco. As they travel, we see what they are seeing out the train windows, we learn about the building of the railroads and the functions of each part of the train. We learn about the jobs of the conductor, the engineer and the fireman and how they hold everything running smoothly. Every part of this book, even the endpapers will have children pouring over the details. It is part narrative, part geography and part technology. A worthy successor to the author's previous work, "Moonshot".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    If you are looking for a book to read to a little child, I would not recommend this one. The story is quite long and I can't see a kid under 6 sitting long enough to [email protected]#$%!. That said, the pictures are attractive and it is a nice, informative story. It is a amazing book for a kid who is interested in trains because of the pictures alone. An early reader would probably have problem reading the text, but they will probably have fun having it read to them. I can see this being a book that grows with the child, from looking at the pictures as a preschooler, to having it read to them as an early elementary student, to reading to themselves as their reading skills improve. I do absolutely recommend this book, but your purpose for ordering will determine the age it is appropriate for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    This books exudes quality. Myself being a amazing lover of train I got it for my 2.5 years old son. Though my son likes stories, he listened to this book with a unique admiration. I was able to explain him about how the engine eats water and coal and gives out steam and smoke, about tracks and stations etc. I used a model train to add to the describe the book itself. It is of a large size so it will be difficult for placement along with other books. The illustrations bring out that period setting quite well. The papers are thick and s cash worth spent. I am planning to obtain other books by the same author namely Moonshot and Lighship

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Locomotive review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    This is more than a picture book. The art is noteworthy yes, but it's also packed with info historical and cultural. The depth of info about the people who worked on the railroad and the parts of the locomotive are unbelievable and reflect just how lasting the idioms of the railroad are in even today's English and certainly will support children's understanding when they search those references in novels of the e story that is woven throughout of a family that is traveling west by locomotive to reunite with their father/husband is well chosen. We see things through their eyes. It will elicit questions from kids about families of the past too. Well Done.I bought the Kindle edition for my Kindle Fire and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'll buy a hardcopy for a grandchild bonus too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic American Locomotives: The 1909 Classic on Steam Locomotive Technology review []  2020-1-7 18:51

    Written in 1899, this material was quite thorough for its day. The diagrams are, for the most part, clear and descriptive. The photographs are often not. To be critical - on the first page the author (McShane) gets Thomas Newcomen's name spelled wrong. Nor does he credit James Watt with how he improved on Newcomen's design. When mentioning Richard Trevithick's mobile rail engine, he misses why this engine ran off the tracks (the rails broke because they were cast iron, not because of anything wrong with the engine).McShane seems to have some connection with railroading, though I suspect it is as office executive. But, to give him credit, the book is very informative about early steam locomotive design and function. He explains the numerous and rapidly evolving firebox, smokebox, boiler, air, valves, drive systems, etc. All of his narrative comes from compiling manufacturers' literature and from correspondence with railroaders, insurance inspectors, and from Power Magazine articles, though his chapter on water chemistry leads us to think he is also a ere is an interesting section on troubleshooting and the methods to solve or correct problems, both on the street and in the yard.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic American Locomotives: The 1909 Classic on Steam Locomotive Technology review []  2020-1-7 18:51

    Did not see the book in person. Had it sent to my brother-in-law as a gift. He loves trains and collects model trains. He really likes this book, so on that basis, I am giving it five out of five stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic American Locomotives: The 1909 Classic on Steam Locomotive Technology review []  2020-1-7 18:51

    If your idea of classic locomotives is anything created before 1910 then this is the book for you. Of course that probably makes you 110. As I am a mere 66 I was rather hoping for engines of the 20th century. I am again guilty of not reading the fine print.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic American Locomotives: The 1909 Classic on Steam Locomotive Technology review []  2020-1-7 18:51

    I have never seen a book with so a lot of misspelled words. Very distracting. You would think a publisher would at least run a spell check.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic American Locomotives: The 1909 Classic on Steam Locomotive Technology review []  2020-1-7 18:51

    Its a amazing book...tells you more than you wish to know....unless you are a mechanical engineer needing to fix or restore one of these locomotives. Even then, its really a survey of the art...its somewhat technical (no advance formulas), just solid technical info...lots of line drawings of the different mechanisms, valves, govenors for a steam locomotive created in America. I would say it was written, after the peak of the technology, but not during the decline of it.. ..had a lot of years of experience, most of the innovations where beautiful much done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Nice over-view of Alco steam and Diesel locomotives. As a steam fan I would have preferred more on steam and less on Diesel, but no doubt part of the content was driven by available color photos, which clearly favor newer, that is Diesel, locomotives. Nicely done book with perfect images and some discussion of the currently operating Alco Diesels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    This is a amazing book for anyone who follows the ALCO manufacturing company. Tells of it being a real underdog but fighting for it's shop share. After some problem getting started they had almost pulled it off. Very amazing story. Brian place some work putting the story together. Pictures were very clear.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    I was hoping for more images and larger ones. Too much gab for my tastes and the Huge Boy seemed an afterthought and didn't keep enough attention. Perhaps reading it on my iPad wasn't putting it in it's best light. The images appear really little on the iPad screen. They need to be full page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Amazing book on Alco. As one of the a lot of who liked Alco with it's underdog status this book is a amazing one to have. If Alco would have been given the same leeway during WWII, I wonder if they would still be going.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    While not the definitive tome on Alco, this book is a must for anyone interested in their history, and the pictures are super. If you are interested in Alco locomotives, steam and diesel, you should obtain this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Very informative and amazing pictures. Tells how Alco went from a major supplier of quality steam locomotives, to struggling in the diesel market.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    the company which smartly combines a number of early, little locomotive builders into one of the countries biggest locomotive builders.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Amazing review of a amazing train building company. Plenty of info and pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    The spirit that built the railroads and their locomotives built America. An interesting history with carefully chosen photos. If machines interest you sowill this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alco Locomotives review []  2019-12-24 20:13

    Amazing book on a amazing locomotive manufacturer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    In clear text and diagrams it shows the complex job of controlling the fire and generation of steam needed to create these creatures go. This book teaches how to be a amazing fireman, but also makes the reader aware of the experience required to cope with all the complexities of achieving efficiency and safety. If I were to attempt to do this job after just reading the book I suspect we would either be stalled somewhere on the track or blown up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    I own a 1/8 scale live steam locomotive and I can’t wait to place these practices to use next spring. I haven’t read the entire book yet, but what I have read is both educational and fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This book covers all the facets of tfiring a steam loco. You'll learn about coal and fire and how complicated it is to correctly fire a steam engine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Very informative book on firing a Steam Engine. Want I had found this sooner!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Amazing book, goes into depth on running the steam locomotive

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    An informative historic addition to my collection. I have learned info about running one of these beasts that I would have not known without actually spending time in the cab...a highly unlikely scenario.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    If you have ever wondered what was involved in firing a "Modern" coal fired steam locomotive, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    It gave a very good, simple to understand, explanation of the fire management of a steam loco. Comprehensively done. Very worthwhile book, clearly highlighting the importance of the Fireman's duty as part of the Loco team. The book appears to be, in reality, a Fireman's Operating/Procedures Manual, and, as such, is very detailed in it's explanation. Worthwhile!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    If you like steam you will love this book. Firing a steam locomotive is an art. I own two 1 1/2 in steam locomotives and love to place these firing techniques to work. No matter whether one speaks of the prototype or immature the principles are the same. Enjoy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Firing the Steam Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Its a manual for operating a steam locomotive. If that is what you are looking for its worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LocoMotive Controller - for digital trains review [App]  2019-12-7 21:42

    Has to be the easiest multithrottle wireless controller to setup and use. Very neat and intuitive layout is a pleasure to use. Not bogged down with complicated features that may never be used by the average train hobbyist. Subjected to review and updating by creator, Bill Cuthbert. Highly recommend, worth every cent for the download. .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Lots of OUTSTANDING info on diesel locomotives. I'd give this book 5 stars except for one thing... My favorite railroad is/was Western Maryland. They forgot a whole section of Western Maryland's locomotives (GP7's and GP9's). The list started with the F3's numbered 51 & 52. They forgot numbers 20 through 45. I noticed because I know Western Maryland's history. It makes me wonder what else they missed on other railroads. Maybe it was just a sloppy edit, but disappointing just the same. Amazing info otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    A amazing primer on the history and operation of diesel locomotives in North America; basically this is an oversized ver of the old Diesel Spotters Guides. About half the book consists of locomotive rosters, and despite publisher's advertising that they are accurate "thru the 70's", the rosters for current railroads are "to the present", which is a plus.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Unbelievable book! I love the method it's organized by manufacturer and street names. I had an N scale diesel locomotive I required to ID and quickly did it using this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    I'm a hard core railfan and this book offered amazing support with current locomotives and former locomotives. I also enjoyed the current and former locomotive roster. And the images were great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Perfect review of North American Diesel locomotives Roasters.Extremely usefull for a European fan where our locomotives are totally different.When entering the book at the first moment, it may be a small difficult to understand how to use it.Each locomotive type / model could also have a synthesis of technical characteristics, much easier to read. Info should be presented in a table form for instance (Max speed, Overall rating, Overall 1 hour rating, Efforts available, Fuel capacity, Diesel Engine type, Motor type, Electrical technology, etc....)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Perfect reference source containing an awesome amount of information!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Perfect book, been looking for a amazing book to determine just what models I have! The history/descriptions behind each one makes for an interesting read...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Well written, with a lot of useful information. It provided amazing histories, and usefully formatted charts of dates in service. Best general diesel resource I have. I now have several amazing books that Jeff Wilson has authored, and look forward to more in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    a well set out book , simple referance by railroad divided between classic and current rosters for railroads still in exsistance

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guide to North American Diesel Locomotives review []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Picked this up for my dad as a gift, as he has become quite the rail fan. From the sound of it, it has been an outstanding resource for identifying engines, and has most certainly enhanced the 'rail-fanning' experience for him in the southeast U.S.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    Steamer was an old steam locomotive known as #412 who worked on the Cotton Line. After Globe Battle II, steam locomotives were being rapidly replaced by diesel locomotives. Old #412 knew that his time to serve was limited. Much sooner than he expected #412 found himself retired in an old siding in the locomotive shop. But he received a reprieve when a stockholder from the Ozark railroad decided to purchase the locomotive. Old #412 became OMMR#1 and proudly took his put in building up the fresh rail line. When his owner unexpectedly gets seriously injured, the locomotive comes to his rescue. What will the future keep for the hard-working, determined steamer?This charming book provides a bit of railroad history, while at the same time, teaches young readers that everything in life has value and purpose, whether old or new. The author's love of trains oozes throughout the story. Kids who are fascinated with trains will have fun the story as well as the illustrations, reminiscent of The Thomas Train series. I would classify the book as an early chapter book, though it could also serve as a bedtime story, or homeschool read aloud focusing on railroad history. Any age reader will have fun it; the author's links to extra train history, coloring pages, and railroad museums are a nice bonus.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    Readers of all ages, and stages will have fun this unbelievable ain lovers and historians of course will LOVE it, but the story line is written so well that EVERYONE will be drawn into the e characters are wholesome, encouraging, and kind of heart; something that is very necessary to our e illustrations are attractive and support spark the imagination as you read e quality is outstanding and VERY professional. Our family looks forward to the continuation of the series and watching this gifted author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    As a fan of historical fiction I found this book to be enchanting. It blends historic fact with fantasy that all ages can relate to. I love the notice in the background that one is never too old to be useful and achieve success. The intelligence of the young writer appears in a lot of various shapes and forms. I would recommend the story to all regardless of gender or a deep interest in trains. I look forward to the next book release. Congratulations to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    All my grandchildren are fascinated with trains. This was a unbelievable story to read to all of them. They range in ages from 3 to 7 and were captivated just as I was to follow the journey of this treasured locomotive. Attractive illustrations with a story to match. I look forward to reading more from this Series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    What a amazing book! My wife and I both read this book and we loved it! Isaac ben Levi, you definitely know how to draw your audience in. We really did love it. When it came to the end, we both wanted more! Please, tell us ... is there going to be a sequel? Go #1!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    This is such a sweet story and kids of ALL ages can have fun the read & also the historical info included in the story line!! I live here where the story begins and know the locations it talks about - and met the author. His love of trains & knowledge about them makes the book even more interesting. I can hardly wait for Book 2!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    Though I believe it's intended more as a read-aloud for younger children, both my 12- year-old and 9-year-old daughters loved this book. The story is engaging and the language is not dumbed down in any way. We are eager to read the next installment of Andrew's adventures when it is released.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    A amazing story from the eyes of a locomotive. Couldn't place it down once started reading it. Amazing bonus for a child.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    Reminiscent of the Thomas the Tank Engine books and excellent for any train enthusiast! Looking forward to following the series and learning more about the history of trains and hopefully the Ozark region.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great Railroad Series: Our First Locomotive review []  2020-1-11 18:39

    This book will create you smile! :)Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives review []  2020-1-14 19:2

    This the reference book for assembling a model British railroad locomotive inventory for a model post battle British railroad layout

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives review []  2020-1-14 19:2

    An interesting book to learn about British middle sized steam locomotives. Lots of pictures, both old and recent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives review []  2020-1-14 19:2

    Very amazing and informative overview of the Latest of the Steam Engines designed and run by British Rail before the conversion to diesel and electric locomotives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bulleid Pacifics (Haynes Great Locomotives) review []  2020-1-16 6:38

    I was lucky enough to grow up in the UK during the latest days of Steam Traction on British Railways. I was an avid "Train Spotter" and on Saturdays would travel on a local train into Southampton Central Station to watch the "Bournemouth Belle" come in for a water stop. This all Pullman train was always pulled by a Bulled Pacific of the Merchant Navy, West Country, or War of Britain Class. As I am getting on a bit in years now I have a rekindled nostalgia for these unbelievable locomotives. I have recently bought quite a few books about the Bulleid Pacifics. This book although not the biggest volume about the Bulleids is an perfect read and covers the history of these locomotives in a well written way. Even the chapter on Oliver Bulleid himself is enjoyable to read. The best part of this book though has to be the perfect and numerous photographs a lot of of which have never been in a book before. The pictures are mostly black and white but that is how most of the images were is book only covers the "Un-Rebuilt" Bulleid Pacifics in their original and a lot of would say best version. Just think how awesome these locomotives with their "Air Smoothed" bodies must have looked to railway staff in the 1940 who were still used to locomotives from the early part of the century!If you are interested in any method in the Bulleid Pacific Locomotives this book has to be on your bookshelf!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Kalmbach usually does a amazing job, but here they shortchanged readers by failing to contain an index, making the book not good for learning and almost useless for reference. The table of contents lists all the amazing locomotives, but uses railroad numbers rather than any common descriptors. So, for example, though the book contains Raymond Loewy's amazing GG-1 Pennsylania Railroad electric locomotive, you cannot search it unless you know the engine number. You cannot easily seek out Baldwin, Lima, EMD, the GG-1, the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, or any other topic commonly of interest to railfans or the general punlic. Otherwise, a attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    The books nicely info a general history on North American trains. There is a two page spread for each engine with the left page of the spread providing a brief general 3-4 paragraph history of a specific engine with the right page of the spread having nice image or highly detail drawing of the actually engine. The some spreads also include a few other pictures or drawings of special aspects to the engine. The history starts with the first engines in America all the method to engines used in noted the is an beautiful book for general interest and casual paging through. This is not a detailed history on train engines. It is also not a comprehensive book on North American train engines or engine types. The descriptions provide limited technical info and there are only a few engine specs each description. Finally there are only a couple of photos of each engine. Therefore this not a book for someone looking for high levels of technical detail, a amazing deal of imagery or photography of engines, or extensive info on train at said my son loves trains and loves this book. He takes it with him everywhere and has almost memorized it cover-to-cover so I overall I consider it a amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    The photos are stunning, though fake looking. The publisher explains that they are, effectively, Photoshopped for visual clarity. There is also a lack of index and cohesion that might create this a reference beyond the artificially beautiful pictures; though there is something of a chronological progression. Finally, this seems as though it should have been available as a hardcover given the effective art book nature of the tome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    My boyfriend's dad really enjoyed this gift. He likes to collect model trains as a hobby and really enjoyed looking through this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    My train-loving dad (in his 80’s) couldn’t place it down and kept talking trains all through Christmas. Mildly annoying for the rest of us, but a fabulously successful bonus for a guy who knows & loves trains!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Brother in law seemed to like it. Looked informative with attractive color photos.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Amazing pictures and text.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Awesome book...quality is phenomenal

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Perfect book for the rail and model rail fan. Mostly steam and just what I wanted. The

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Historic North American Locomotives: An Illustrated Journey review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Comprehensive and detailed illustrated reference of Historic North American Locomotives. An excellent, detailed, photographic journey for those fresh to the unbelievable history of locomotives/trains, and an perfect reference source. Attractive photography!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Story of American Railroads: From the Iron Horse to the Diesel Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This is an extremely readable telling of the first hundred years of American Railroading. I have it in both Kindle, and Dead Tree versions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Story of American Railroads: From the Iron Horse to the Diesel Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    My dad loved this book. He is retired from the railroad and loves history

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Story of American Railroads: From the Iron Horse to the Diesel Locomotive review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roanoke Locomotive Shops and the Norfolk & Western Railroad (Images of Rail) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Heavy amount of info & historic photos. A great, fast read and a useful reference book I'm sure I'll refer back to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roanoke Locomotive Shops and the Norfolk & Western Railroad (Images of Rail) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Gave this to my father for Christmas as he is retired from the Railroad and worked in the Roanoke shops. He has enjoyed looking at the pictures and reading about the put that he worked for over 30 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roanoke Locomotive Shops and the Norfolk & Western Railroad (Images of Rail) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Very Informative book about the history of Roanoke and The N&W Railroad. Learned a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roanoke Locomotive Shops and the Norfolk & Western Railroad (Images of Rail) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    A bonus for my dad and he loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roanoke Locomotive Shops and the Norfolk & Western Railroad (Images of Rail) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Amazing job Wayne.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weathering for Railway Modellers: Volume 1 - Locomotives and Rolling Stock review []  2020-1-10 18:54

    This instructional tutorial to model railroad weathering, though directed towards British models, is very thorough and offers perfect tip for modelers in other countries and all scales.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weathering for Railway Modellers: Volume 1 - Locomotives and Rolling Stock review []  2020-1-10 18:54

    Super Book Deals.. don't waste time or cash on them...Book is unbelievable though !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weathering for Railway Modellers: Volume 1 - Locomotives and Rolling Stock review []  2020-1-10 18:54

    Lots of information!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    On an impulse when old-time (pre-Amtrak) railroads popped into my mind, I purchased this book. It has quickly become one of my all-time favorite impulse purchases. Beautifully illustrated with full-color side-views of several dozen classic American passenger trains, the book also features floor plans of selected railroad vehicles (sleepers, lounges, diners, domes, etc.), archival photos, period magazine advertisements, and reproductions of menus from some of the classic dining e book covers the period from about 1910 to 1970, when the government's consolidation of the surviving passenger lines into the Amtrak system ended the golden age of the American passenger train. Brief but informative text describes each train, its special design features, it's builder, it's dimensions, its typical configuration, and its purpose and is is a book that will appeal to the rabid railroad enthusiast, the middle-aged or elderly person who remembers riding the rails as a youth, and the younger person who wonders what it was like to travel via the railroads before the dominance of the high-speed jet airliner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    Color reproduction not good (e.g., blues are rendered purple, greens kind of olive); material covered is appropriate to a grade schooler, and is so general in nature as to be almost meaningless, and though there are a few useful passenger vehicle diagrams these are not utilized for all roads. Very limited endorsement: amazing if giving as a bonus to a 3rd or 4th grade student.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    This book gave a amazing summary of the unbelievable age of passenger rail travel when it was at its best. The illustrations and photographs are well done and add a important touch to the book. But as I have read several of these books, I have enjoyed the excitement of the early days of passenger rail, but then the feeling of sadness creeps in when it all dwindles away because of the airlines and the interstate highways. It's amazing that Amtrak is there to pick up some of the old routes, but there are so a lot of gaps in the train system today. The golden age of passenger rail travel is truly missed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    The author set out to produce a collection of carefully researched brief histories and accurately rendered illustrations. It's an admirable effort, but someone who knows about trains and about graphic presentation should have thoroughly reviewed the galley proofs. The book would have been greatly improved by: consistent scales and dimensioning, and readable-size labels; avoiding copy-and-paste errors; and most of all, accurate color matches for the reds and greens that turned out as shades of brown.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    What a bargain! The drawings by the author of locomotives and passenger vehicles of the mid-20th century highwater tag of American rail passenger service are priceless. If you love that era, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    I have bene a train nut my entire life and still I learned a lot of fresh facts about some trains I'd not heard of. This book is an perfect value with very high quality illustrations and paper stock. If you're a modeler, the color quality and detail will be quite valuable. And if you're a regular old train buff this will be a amazing addition to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    if you love the streamliners for their beauty, you will love this illustrated book! full pictorials of each vehicle inside and out, of a lot of of the top long distance and regional streamliners in their heydey. contains interior diagrams. book is so very well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    A unbelievable book with perfect artwork outside of a website

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    Very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Passenger Trains and Locomotives Illustrated (Great Passenger Trains) review []  2020-1-16 6:39

    Hi-Gary here: I'm a train artist/painter, and I've found this book to be a amazing support for accuracy when producing a painting. As an example, I was able to refer to the color scheme depicted on a Southern Railway locomotive-difficult normally, as color images were just a bit rare in 1930!!Clear, concise views and well-researched color schemes on the engines and n't expect a lot of historical images of trains, although there are some amazing ones.Excellent illustrations, historical images and art, interesting facts and figures presented chronologically.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    British Diesel Locomotives of the 1950s and ‘60s (Shire Library Book 825) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This book is a amazing historical summary of the diesel classes on BR over the years in the 50's and 60's..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    ‘American Steam Locomotives- Design and Development’ isn’t the usual ‘glossy-paged’ coffee-table tome destined to gather dust on an out-sized bookshelf, or to carry the tattoos of countless moist drink glasses and spilled ere are dozens, if not hundreds of railroad books of varying quality, featuring over-published, glossy paged photographs of pre-diesel motive power. Most all are ‘authored/assembled’ by rail-buffs, not a poor thing in itself, but certainly lacking the perspective of this publication, written by someone who not only understood steam power (such as Samuel Vauclain), but one who was a successful author, steam curator, rail enthusiast, AND a Licensed Steam Locomotive ue, there are a few sections (no pun intended!) that tend to bog (again, no pun intended!) with incredibly detailed descriptions of metallurgy and valving systems, but these fade as the page turns.Above all, this work will become a reference point for anyone who, as I have, has marvelled at the trembling of the very ground felt as a heavy 2-6-6-4 thundered past, or at the sheer beauty of a Norfolk & Western J-Class easing an excursion along through the fall colors of the Piedmont. For in that, we recognise a human component, lacking in the coffee-table tomes mentioned earlier; a component that along with all the tables and comparisons, sets this offering to rail buffs and connoisseurs alike apart: William Withuhn’s enthusiasm for his experience and knowledge gained between the rails!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    I just got my copy, and it is amazing so far. As a train nerd and former electrical engineer by trade, I have enjoyed every detail of the engineering trade-offs, such as air brakes vs vacuum brakes, iron vs steel fireboxes, and passenger engine vs freight engine wheel size. For me, the only glaring omission is a image of the author, William L. Withuhn, who died in 2017 after completing the manuscript. I found it touching that his wife, Gail, and his editor, Peter Hansen pushed this amazing volume through to publication. Fortunately, images of Mr. Withuhn are available online, owing to his lifetime of accomplishments beyond this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This book has a wealth of info - sometimes a small too detailed. There are a few locations where it would be easier to understand if images or diagrams were used, but getting past that minor difficulty, I learned a amazing deal about steam locomotives and their limitations. I knew maintenance was a problem, but I had no idea how huge of a issue it was. And I was not aware that counterbalancing was so difficult. I only want they had today's computers in 1930-1940. The book takes the reader from early steam through the 1940's. This is a very intense book and I think it is a must for those seriously interested in how steam locomotives were designed and how they performed in service.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    this book has a lot of detail and is generally interesting. the author is very knowledgeable and there are a ton of details. However for me, reading about ten info of a coal grate, or how this grate is various from that one without an occasional illustration is not really what I wanted in this book. Perhaps I was looking for a bit less detail and a bit more illustrative explanation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Impressive book with lots of info, but it could use more diagrams to illustrate and explain things like the suspension systems of locomotives. And a lot of of the diagrams in the book could be larger and should have parts labelled to support understand what the text is explaining. I have numerous other books about steam locomotives so I can figure out some of these info by referring to other texts, but not everyone has this option. I had hoped that this book would be the longed-for complete reference on steam locomotives, but I don't feel it is quite complete enough. Still, I'm glad I got the book, just a small disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    Perfect and very detailed book about the later development of the American Steam Locomotive. Besides having a very thorough knowledge of the engineering work, thermodynamics, and economics involved in creating these machines, the author obviously did an enormous amount of research, and further is a very amazing wordsmith. Characteristics that are all too often missing among contemporary authors.An interesting and highly recommended book. Well worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    This book is the most comprehensive study of evolution of the "modern" American steam locomotive you will find. Mr. Withuhn, now gone, is one of a very few people who had the depth of understanding to write such a text. Although, as a mechanical engineer, I consider myself to be somewhat knowledgable about steam locomotive operation, my comprehension of the topic has been vastly expanded through reading this work. I see it is a valuable addition to my library and it would be an asset to anyone's collection who desires to learn about and understand steam locomotives and their operation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Steam Locomotives: Design and Development, 1880–1960 (Railroads Past and Present) review []  2019-12-24 20:12

    First thing that struck me was how well written this book is. A superb source of knowledge for historians, rail fans, and those interested in the history of technology. It is tragic that the author did not live to see it's publication But he will be in the Pantheon of historians for a long time.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter