Read lonesome lover reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all lonesome lover reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ride Lonesome [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    In the past year or so, I've created a determined decision to obtain more accustomed to pre-1970's movies from around the world, particularly genres I've previously given short change to, such as musicals, battle movies and westerns. I have to admit it's greatly enhanced my appreciation of cinema in general. It's awesome how amazing some of these movies actually are. Since cinema is the greatest love of my life, I also collect books on film, trying to search out anything and everything I can. As the old Calvin Klein commercial goes, 'A man has a lot of loves, but only one Obsession'. An unexpectedly amazing and relatively inexpensive search was 'The Editors of American Cowboy's The Top 100 Westerns of All Time,' from 2011. Looming at #52 was this, and its write-up sounded intriguing, so I've always kept my eyes begin for it. Sure enough, latest month I saw a Randolph Scott Westerns 6-pack for a very low price, and I pulled the trigger (pardon the pun). This was exceptional and clearly deserves its lofty status. There is so much action, intrigue and beauty jam-packed in Burt Kennedy's script for this 72 minutes. Every shot is finely composed and exquisitely filmed. I dare you to search a better supporting cast. Sure, the four-hour epics by the Sir David Leans and Victor Flemings out there are great, but I'd rather see a easy story, brilliantly told than the gluttonous two-to-three-hour pieces of self-important crap you search these days. Allow that be my epitaph. I was so close to even giving this a excellent grade. It's honestly THAT good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    When I heard about Lord Huron after watching A Walk In The Woods,I wanted to learn more about them and I wasn't disappointed.Everything about this is simply e music,the sound,Everything is 's an album that has completely changed my 's a attractive album that you should listen to while you're on the street and it's so peaceful favorite song has to be Lonesome Dreams.I am not a melody critic but when I obtain into music, I really obtain into it. So I won't be able to tell you about info and go in depth about anything melody similar but I can tell you how this album created me feel. This is an album for the adventurer. Every time I listen to Time to Run or Ends of the Earth all I wish t do is package my bags and drive to Arizona. Songs like Brother and In the Wind are so thought provoking and meaningful that I have to listen to them over and over again. And don't obtain me started on the title track Lonesome Dreams,undoubtedly the best song on the whole album. This song has brought me to tears, laughter and created me feel so alive all at the same time. If you're not a hipster the opening of these songs can really throw you off. It is a weird sound at first. But if you take the time and listen to the lyrics and allow the melody take you, you'll search one of the best albums of this generation. The album artwork goes well with the music, showing adventurous landscapes filled with mystery.Lord Huron's sound is absolutely entrancing, and they deserve worldwide attention. I've lately found myself listening to selections from this album and its followup, Strange Trails, on a everyday basis. The imagery they conjure with their melody is beautifully captivating. Their sound is perfectly nestled between ambient, country, folk, and rock. I highly recommend this album, especially if you have a long street trip planned. I listened to Lonesome Dreams several times while driving through the Everglades and it perfectly captures the wide begin locations and the spirit of adventure I felt. It was the excellent soundtrack for this journey. My favorite song has to be Ghost on the Shore. It is not only one of the most deeply beautiful, melancholic songs on the album, but one the most expressively rich songs ever written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    Just discovered this band. What more can I say other than this Album is solid! Solid Instruments, melodies, and sound. I consider this album to be a rare search being that it is truly a pleasant, enlightening listen from begin to finish! Other reviews point out possible Paul Simon influence which I too have picked up on. However, by no means is this album a direct steal from anyone I have ever listened to. My listening roots are late 80's-90's Rock/Alternative. Age & maturity has helped me explore a dozens of various sounds, genre's etc and this album is one that I truly appreciate. Definitely a diamond among a lot of artists to choose from. It's interesting that most melody that I consider to be a break from the mold is found among Indie labels. Hopefully looking forward to more albums to come from Lord Huron...

    0  


    Add your opinion on lonesome lover or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    I have owned the 2 disc DVD set released by Genius Entertainment for a lot of years and wanted to make batter to a Blu-Ray copy. I first bought the 2 disc set released by Mill Creek Entertainment (ASIN: B013FDBH46). I found the picture quality is a slight step up from my DVD ver but fairly grainy in scenes. Other negatives are sound is only 2.0 Dolby and no subtitles. So I ordered the Genius Entertainment (2008) Blu-Ray version. Glad I did as it has a better picture than the Mill Creek Blu-Ray release and is a solid improvement from the DVD version. Has Dolby 5.1 sound, AND FINALLY offer closed captioning. This is the first ver to have closed captioning of the 4 sets I have bought - 2 dvd & 2 blu-ray. The Genius Entertainment Blu-Ray discs also offer more "bonus" material and each episode is divided up into more chapters. For example: Episode 1 is setup with 21 chapters versus the Mill Creek ver is only setup with 5!So I strongly suggest buying the Genius Entertainment 2008 ver (ASIN: B0018RWMNM) even it cost a small more $. Hope this helps you search what would work best for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    this product was advertised as CC. This is a symbol for Closed captioning. It requires that you turn on captions on your TV to work. This product is not closed captioned. It is a misuse of the CC symbol. It does not even have subtitles which is built into the DVD and can be activated through a menu option called "setup". Most DVD's have subtitles. I still hope to see lonesome dove in its entirety in my my life time. So far I have only seen parts that we closed captioned on one of our premium cable move channels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Jackie Gleason, was such aficionado of melody at any level! And,as to this album from the mid-50s, and my remembering of hearing it , being played, well into the early-mid 60s, by my parents and their' friends. And recently, "I Still Obtain A Thrill" comming in from satellite radio. WOW (!!), did I go looking for this, as fast as I could. May be its me, but, as much as a year ago, it took me alittle time to search the genuine and only album. I was looking, by referencing THAT THRILL song. AND Amazon should of been my first stop! Though not avaiible on mp3 download. then or now(?), I aquired my excellent condition USED CD for $11 aprx., with pleasant vigor. THIS album is esoteric, etheric, besides very relaxing. Having a sum more than its parts. I "see"/hear more or something fresh everytime. I will not list my favorites,or describe the tracks, and just say, what others have said :"Put It On..AND Allow It Play"!!! Take that Hip Trip. As this album was on the leading edge -of Listening Music- at that time-'55 !! With DALI's Cover art work...and words. This is para-intuitive,..for the in a dimension not of Rock'n Roll (which I like also, from this first deacade), and anyone with a mature-this doesn't mean old or..-music interest, should hear this album in it's enirety, at least once! And yes the mandolin and other-guitars,etc- picks' were dipped in water! Again, the above and beyond ! If your interested in any Gleason, you can begin here or not, BUT, own it as soon as you can. By the way, besides being a genius commedian/actor. jackie was / is still(?), a researcher, a study, of the paranormal. particulary UFOs. And had an extensive library, and group of mates to meet and discuss these subjects, with a drink or two. An Smart man, which shows this also in all his Music,"investment" .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    My husband is a huge fan and I was happy to purchase something that was enjoyed in the past and is still available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I am not a melody critic but when I obtain into music, I really obtain into it. So I won't be able to tell you about info and go in depth about anything melody similar but I can tell you how this album created me feel. This is an album for the adventurer. Every time I listen to Time to Run or Ends of the Earth all I wish t do is package my bags and drive to Wyoming. Songs like Brother and In the Wind are so thought provoking and meaningful that I have to listen to them over and over again. And don't obtain me started on Lonesome Dreams, the best song on the album. This song has brought me to tears, laughter and created me feel so alive all at the same time. If you're not a hipster the opening of these songs can really throw you off. It is a weird sound at first. But if you take the time and listen to the lyrics and allow the melody take you, you'll search one of the best albums of this generation. The album artwork goes well with the music, showing adventurous landscapes filled with e vinyl was well packaged and got here on time. On top of Amazon giving me a free MP3 ver of the album, the company I bought it from also threw in a download code for the album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    My son introduced me to this album. Sinilar to old western ballads with a contemporary sound. I love the lyrics and the melody fits. But the beat is a small repetitious in all the songs. The band needs to break up the beat a small more. But I have more of this group"s melody and I play it often. Lord Huron (Ben Schneider) takes his inspiration from his time living and camping by the lake. Some of the songs are haunting and reminiscent of a kid hood spent in adventuring in this setting. Amazing sound, but the beat is repetitious from song to song. Needs to vary this more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    Had the DVD, it was superb. I Don't buy blu-rays of films I already own on DVD unless it's something damned magnificent! This, 'Broken Trail' and 'Open Range' create up the magnificent 'trilogy' as Robert Duvall called the three movies. They are not similar (as in sequels), but they all have to do with dangerous, suspenseful and exciting cattle drives in the face of constant danger. I highly recommend all three, though 'Open Range' is unusually expensive on blu-ray. I have no idea if this has to do with whatever company created that movie, however, it's bound to be on sale sometime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    amazing I bought the record when it first came out in the 1950'sand have always lone the sound..the record has longed passedand when I found this again..JUMPED right on it againLOVE IT !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Interesting in light of Gleason's film "Skidoo". I'm sure there was much more to Gleason than a lot of knew, except maybe Salvador Dali.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I saw Lord Huron live in Seattle, WA and they left an indullible impression on me. The imagery they conjure with their melody is beautifully captivating. Their sound is perfectly nestled between ambient, country, folk, and rock. I highly recommend this album, especially if you have a long street trip planned. I listened to Lonesome Dreams several times while driving from Los Angeles, CA to Orlando, FL and it perfectly captures the wide begin locations and the spirit of adventure I felt. It was the excellent soundtrack for this journey. My favorite song has to be Ghost on the Shore. It is not only one of the most deeply beautiful, melancholic songs on the album, but one the most expressively rich songs ever written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I was first introduced to Lord Huron on KCRW in Santa Monica. They performed a live session for the studio. I loved their performance then and I actually won one of their autographed copies of this CD. Then several months later I happened to be at the Hollywood Bowl where they opened for another group and again I LOVED their performance. I told myself that I required to search that CD I had won. I did and started listening to it over and over again. I loved the melody so much that I decided that I would buy the digital ver to support demonstrate my help for this band. I now have it on my iPod, in my Amazon Cloud Player and on CD. And I listen to it ALL the time. I absolutely cannot obtain enough of it. I have even found some of their earlier works on the "other" melody shop and have it all in my players. And I continue to listen to it over and over again.I read one of the other reviews who mentioned the "sameness" of the songs. I can understand where he is coming from ... however I love the whole mood of the CD .. and all of their songs for that matter. Indeed I love how some of songs just flow into the next .. as if it is a work in total. My absolute favorite is "The Ghost On The Shore" followed by "She Lit A Fire" and "The Man Who Lives Forever". But there is not a poor song on the entire ere are a lot of repeating themes in the songs, such as searching, death, traveling and the lake ... wonder if that is where their name came from ... Lake Huron.I cannot wait to hear more from this band and cannot wait to see them in concert again.!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    There are 2 various versions of this movie/series on blu-ray. The one with the dark brown cover is the 2008 ver and the one with the tan cover is the 2015 release. I have both and spent a couple days comparing the two and these are my reactions. Someone else has a review on here comparing the two, but I'll go into more detail on the differences between the video and audio quality of the two.2008: Video - The 2008 release is slightly smoother than the 2015 release, with a little dip in fine detail. However, the colors are noticeably more vibrant and there is a wider range of colors. The black levels are a amazing deal blacker as well. Audio - The audio is much louder and more distinctive on the 2008 release. The sound effects are loud and clean, but the dialogue is sometimes barely audible. Once in a while the sound effects will be much louder than the people talking, but this only happens a handful of times.2015: Video - The 2015 ver is sharper than the 2008 release. Fine detail is more noticeable for sure. It is also a hair brighter than the 2008 release. However, the brightness does lead to the picture looking a bit washed-out. Blacks are more gray and the colors are slightly more muted. Audio - The audio is less distinctive than the 2008 release, but solid. The sound effects are much quieter, but the dialogue is a whole lot crisper and cleaner.Overall, the 2008 release's video is slightly smoother, but it is barely noticeable. The colors and contrast are more vibrant and realistic. The 2015 release's video is more detailed, but less realistic in color and contrast. The audio probably depends on your set up. If you have a 5.1 surround sound system, the 2008 ver will create amazing use of sound effects. If you don't have a huge surround sound system, the 2015 release would probably be better, because it doesn't have any of the dialogue problems of the 2008 release. If you're on the fence about the two versions, and can only obtain one, I would recommend the 2008 ver because it has a few additional unique e pictures present the 2008 ver on the left, 2015 on the right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    In my opinion, this goes down as possibly one of the greatest min-series every created. Sometimes everything just falls together, the writers, the producing, the acting. I'm not huge on the DVD, they ruined the presentation of the film by taking it away from it's original edit to fit older screens, but all of that can be ignored because once you watch this series, it will forever change your life. The book is worth a read as well, it won a Pulitzer Prize. And if I'm recalling correctly, this series was nominated for 18 awards. You can't search too a lot of films of this caliber anymore, and being set in a Western, which seems to be a dying genre, makes it that much more necessary to see it and obtain a copy, even if the copy isn't full screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    Removed one star because of no closed captioning or subtitles. Otherwise, very amazing quality video and audio. Perfect story and acting.About Closed Captioning: Closed captioning (unlike subtitles) is only viewable when a DVD player is connected to a TV with either a composite cable (yellow, white, red) or component cable (green, blue, orange, white, red) and the resolution output is set to 480i (i = interlaced). Closed captioning is not viewable when using a DVD player connected to a TV via an HDMI cable. Some Blu-ray players help closed captioning by extracting the important code from the video signal transmitted by the HDMI cable. When using a component cable, turn off progressive scan in the DVD player settings because progressive scan is 720p or higher. With either a composite or component cable, the video photo is more than amazing enough when viewing a DVD on any HDTV even though the resolution is only 480i. A composite or component connection does not change the original aspect ratio of the DVD program. An often noticed side benefit of using a composite or component cable instead of an HDMI cable connection is the audio has much more depth and range (especially 2 channel stereo or mono) because the audio signal sent to the TV (or external speakers) is uncompressed og not compressed digital.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    When I was a young man this was the best melody with only mandolins and guitars and the haunting sound of a obo Jackie Gleason was unbelievable with his orchestration this is the most calming melody I ever heard

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I like this group. Heard a couple of cuts on my alternative rock station and decided to create the purchase. I'm glad I did.I first heard "Wait By The River" off their Vide Noir release and was slack-jawed. The rest of the CD was very well done too. The purchase of this release would have been created without hearing any of the tracks based on their latest album. However, after hearing some of the tracks, it was a no-brainer to purchase favorites: Time To Run, The Ghost On the Shore, I Will Be Back One Day and The Man Who Lives Forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    If I could give this 100 stars I would!!! Shoot I'd give it a million stars because this album is absolutely amazing. When I listen to it I feel lile I'm lying in the desert looking up at the millions of stars and it just makes me feel peaceful and satisfied and I would highly recommend Lord Huron! Just obtain it you wont regret it :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    For some reason, a lot of scenes have been removed from the original. I know the story by heart and the missing scenes seen to have something to do with offending the modern sensibilities. There is violence in life. Women have babies in true life. Removing them from this production does not create them go away. I feel like I'm in the nineteen 's still a five star magnificent Pulitzer prize champion but would not have been if told in this way. Mediocrity does not victory . Unless you live in the modern world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    lost most of my hearing in Vietnam combat.Anyone know if there are other versions with subtitles?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Years ago few people knew the musical genius that Jackie Gleason was....then he became famous and, now again, a lot of years have past which makes Jackie Gleason virtually unknown to our younger generation. I search his melody to be exemplary...a quality that every generation could enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    My first "Lonesome Echo" was a 33 record. Lost long ago somewhere. Some of the best quiet time relaxing melody you'll ever hear. Finding it on a CD was like finding gold. ENJOY.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    Wide-open spaces. A cracked and weathered two-lane highway running through a barren desert. An endless sky filled with glittering stars. The sense of possibility, that anything can happen. The heart-punch of lost love combined with a restless spirit and a determined soul. These are the sights and feelings that this album evokes. As a resident of Phoenix, this feels like a desert album to me, and for this I am endeared to it all the for the sound itself, I can only say that this album is magnificent. It sounds a small bit like two of my favorite albums in particular -- the unbelievable drums call to mind, at times, the tribal drum sound on Paul Simon's Graceland, and the chiming guitar and big-sky feel is reminiscent of Edge's guitar work and Lanois and Eno's production style on U2's The Joshua Tree. This is a huge album filled with familiar ideas presented in a method that can create even the most steadfast soul begin to yearn for a street trip, destination: west. The vocals are high and charmingly rustic, placed behind and quieter than the instrumentation, and there's a hollow sound to the production that makes the songs feel simultaneously huge and airy, yet somehow intimate.I really do search this album hard to describe, but if you're a fan of mid-to-late-80's U2 (Unforgettable Fire through Rattle & Hum), Paul Simon's solo work (Graceland and The Rhythm of the Saints in particular), and/or Mumford & Sons, you will probably have fun Lord Huron, as this group has a small bit of each of these sounds running through this album, but yet doesn't sound like any one of them in for listening to the album on headphones, you will explore just how richly layered the sounds are and how a lot of small notes, tones, and additional rhythms are show that are otherwise slightly lost through speakers; the vocals are a bit better through headphones as well, as some of the hollowness is toned back and the vocals can shine through more clearly.Another reviewer wrote that after a while, all of the songs sound the same. While this isn't untrue, I don't view this as a negative. There's a theme running through the album, and the songs often flow into one other without any pause or break. The consistency of sound serves the fact that this is more or less a concept album, not a collection of singles, and thus should be played all the method through.I'm so glad I discovered this band, and can't wait for their next album, Strange Trails, due out on April 7th, 2015.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I first heard the song "Time to Run" on the radio and immediately was hooked. After reading some mixed reviews, I was a small skeptical to purchase the album at first. A common criticism of Lord Huron's sound is it's almost identical to Fleet Foxes'. Although the sound is similar, I search this album to be more accessible and enjoyable than Fleet Foxes' rically, all of the album's songs are nature/wilderness themed. Although there are some nice metaphors, the lyrics are not "deep" by any means. But amazing songs don't require deep lyrics, so who cares! This album is easy but is a amazing listen all the method through. The production value is fantastic; the layers of instruments really add to the nature theme. With every listen, I feel like I'm transported to a simpler time. It makes me wish to go live in a remote wilderness for a few 's refreshing to hear an album like this; for me, it's a nice escape from day to day stress. Fleet Foxes comparisons aside, this is an impressive debut from Lord Huron. I'm excited to see what's next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    This top charting /55 album is re-released by those amazing folks at Collector's Choice melody who seem to have as amazing a taste in melody as we do!This is certainly an album to cherish.Jackie's musical sensibilities were all well grounded in the amazing Amercian Songbook.Who could go wrong there?He would often obtain "unusual" ideas for his next such was the 25 flutes he added for the "Night Winds" albums(also available from Collector's Choice).Another was the addition of 40 mandolins for THIS l 16 tracks of the original album have those lush and vibrant instruments strumming away in a romantic mood only Gleason and his musical cohorts could conjure.Each players was told to dip their picks into water before playing to obtain a further e mandolins,like the flutes,came strictly from Gleasons' furtive imagination.He was always striving to give the public not only the expected but something unexpected,all set within his musical parameters.He succeeded even beyond his own dreams.He touched us then and these tracks still reverberate with us at has to tell you something of the man that was Jackie Gleason,musically and is CD also includes three gift tracks of unreleased material,and these are more in the vein of his lush strings sound he was so popular for;"After my Laughter came Tears","Can this be Love?" and "Down among the Sheltering Palms".Wonderful additions.And to create the pack complete Collector's Choice contains the original Salvador Dali artwork and liner e CD's sound had been transferred wonderfully and is excellent.What more could you ask for?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Jackie Gleason,is unbelievable with Music.What else can he do?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    Remember all those Blockbuster video stores back in the old days? I have to take some of the blame for them disappearing because surely the late fees I paid on "Lonesome Dove" seriously boosted their profits for at least three months. I simply could not bring it back and I know other people who still watch it on a regular basis even though it's almost 30 years old.If one is not too "format specific" and doesn't mind calling a 6 hour mini series a 'movie" Lonesome Dove is easily the best Western ever created and before the amazing HBO and AMC series' (The Wire, Deadwood, The Sopranos, Breaking Poor etc.) was the highest point tv ever reached. Other reviewers who have written on the high points of tv over the years before streaming video existed beautiful much rst of all, the chemistry between Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones (in by far their greatest performances ever) has to be seen to be believed. If friendship includes an element of love, then this is also one of the greatest love stories of all time, even though there is never the slightest tip of any kind of "romantic" attraction between the two (as in Brokeback Mountain for example). Just as often as not they seem irritated by one another, but I have seen a lot of love affairs between men and women in which that is how they present their love for one another. In any case it is a miracle of the craft of ere must have been some magic going on while this was being filmed because the same sort of chemistry among the supporting cast runs throughout the film as well. Frederick Forrest plays one of the most menacing villains of all time, Diane Lane is absolutely beautiful, tough and vulnerable as the city prostitute (although one wonders how such a lovely woman would wind up in such a situation), Danny Glover delivers his best performance of all time as the humble, kind-to-a fault "Deets" etc. The acting accolades are too numerous to totally recount. Only Robert Urich seems to be slightly miscast as Jake Spoon if you are looking for a portrayal of the hero that is more in line with Larry McMurty's amazing book. Who cares? Not me.Speaking of which: the film is fairly faithful to the book, but takes certain parts of the story and sequences them differently. For once this works out for the better especially when you reach the film's magnificent ending. It really could not possibly have been done better and is guaranteed to bring a lump to your throat and create your hair stand on end, whereas the ending of the book is somewhat anti climactic. As a matter of fact, as amazing of an author as Larry McMurtry is it is generally conceded among fans of "The Western" that the mini series is far better than the book, which is far more about things winding down (entropy) and becomes very flat in a lot of that such a long time has passed since its original broadcast I know there are a lot of people out there now who love the Western genre who have never seen Lonesome Dove or perhaps have never even heard of it. I don't wish to spoil it for them by describing the plot in any more detail. Suffice it to say that if you are into making "5 best lists" you are going to have to redo most of them after watching starts a small slow and takes its time unfolding but even though I consider myself to be a beautiful hard core Texan who wears cowboy boots and a cowboy hat most days I couldn't create it to work after having created the mistake of watching the fourth and final episode before I went to bed the first time I saw the series. You will know why when you watch it.And do watch it. It is still the greatest Western of all time and one of the most stunning "movies" ever created in any genre. Watch out though; the level of tragedy and real pathos rises to about as high a level as it can obtain during the 3rd and 4th episodes. If you miss work or school because they hit you too hard obtain in touch and I'll write a letter to your boss or teacher. My sister, for example, can't watch it because it hits her TOO hard.I should add that the audio and video quality of the Amazon streaming ver are absolutely superb and of far, far higher quality than the VHS ver of Lonesome Dove that got me addicted to this work of high, high art in the first place.I would give it 7 stars if I could because I doubt if anybody will ever be able to recreate the magic that Lonesome Dove contains.Absolutely magnificent! I don't plan on getting stranded on a desert island anytime soon, but if I was I would wish "Lonesome Dove," "The Wire" and "Breaking Bad"with me above anything else that has ever been filmed. That ought to give you some idea of the quality of this amazing American Masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    This heavily edited ver was a sorry disappointment. Whole sections of the original are chopped out. There is no Wilbarger, Deputy Roscoe losing his virginity is cut. Spoon's horse thieving companions cussing Deets as he settles the nooses around their necks. Stage after stage is missing. I wrote about this show, when it came out and had the original VCRs to work with. I bought this DVD as I don't have any method to play my tapes. What a allow down. Most the blood and violence are there. Lots of the charm and wit is gone. However, since it is Lonesome Dove, a Pulitzer Prize winning masterpiece of a novel and a brilliantly acted and produced TV event, this DVD is probably better than anything else you could watch on any given evening in any given year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lover [App]  2019-11-11 13:47

    Good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lover [App]  2019-11-11 13:47

    Fake

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Awesome album from one of the greatest of all time. Album was in amazing condition with no scratches and the wear you would expect on the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    Amazing book. It’s a book of short stories with a lot of feminist metaphors. Interesting read. I’m glad I purchased and read it. Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    These are definitely not excellent stories, but they are stories I'm going to reread and I've been thinking about since I finished this. It was just the excellent amount of surrealism for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    The stories are at times bizarre, but in such a amazing way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    if you love "old time" melody this is it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    This group consists of highly skilled musicians. Their first CD, the eponymous "Old and in the Way," so impressed me, I was anxious to obtain my hands on what followed. While not quite as amazing as the first CD, it is still very good, and I recommend it to all bluegrass fans. I had never heard Jerry Garcia on banjo, and had no idea of how amazing he was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    I watched Lonesome Dove latest weekend during the 25th anniversary re-broadcast. It was, quite simply, the most awesome western I have ever seen. I rented Return to Lonesome Dove to see if it would respond a lot of begin questions such as what happened to Laurie, will Call ever tell Newt he is his father, will July and Clara obtain together etc. Well, it did respond all of those questions, but it left more than it answered. The largest issue I have with the series is how on earth did all these people know each other spread over such a large country? Oh well, that aside it was a pleasing sequel and the acting was top notch. I am not normally a Barbara Hershey fan and was disappointed she took over Angelica Houston's role but she quickly won me over. Oliver Reed stole this film in my opinion as best actor in the cast. Newt and the squad were all outstanding in their return performances but Rick Schroeder really shined! Reese Witherspoon was cute & charming but hardly believable in her role. The one I couldn't obtain past though, was Jon Voight as Call. Just didn't have that square set jaw, stubborn, deep in thought look that Tommy Lee Jones pulled off so well. He spent most of the film looking like if someone yelled "boo" he would burst into tears. The violence was toned down considerably in this ver as was the "poke" references though they did surface from time to time. I am looking forward to Roads of Laredo to see how on earth Pea Eye and Laurie end up together because that one really requires some mind-stretching but all-in-all I was happy with this sequel to the greatest western ever made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    Glancing back at John Mellencamp's unbelievable 1987 album, "The Lonesome Jubilee," may prompt the disturbing thought that not much really changed as the twentieth century rolled into the twenty-first. A few of the album's song titles reflect themes that still resonate in an increasingly volatile show day, such as "Down and Out in Paradise," "Empty Hands" and "Hard Times for an Honest Man." By the late 1980s, Mellencamp had not only undergone both photo and name transformations, but his musical stylings and lyrical approaches had evolved into a fierce powerhouse of pop/rock and biting social commentary. Folk melody and acoustic guitar had occasionally found their method into the more standard classic rock arrangements of his earlier albums, but "The Lonesome Jubilee" brilliantly melded folk and rock instrumentation into something startlingly fresh for 1980s pop. Not only acoustic guitar, but fiddles, banjos, mandolins, accordions, penny whistles and dobros flooded the mix, making for a kind of classic rock folk revivalist wallop that hits the senses from the very first nanoseconds of the album's opening track. In 1988, Mellencamp appeared on the Folkways compilation "A Vision Shared" performing "Do Re Mi" in this same folk/rock style. Likely more than coincidence, this may have provided a tip of Mellencamp's musical ambitions at the time, which apparently aligned with the protest song tradition of Lead Belly and Woody Guthrie. Guthrie's "Do Re Mi" could have actually fit well onto Mellencamp's own album with its satirical lashings at people naively hoping to migrate to a lavish California lifestyle. Mellencamp's fresh approach, possibly a risk at the time, ended up paying off with one of his most successful albums ever. Though it doesn't include anything as temporally ubiquitous as the earlier anthemic "Jack and Diane," songs such as "Check It Out," "Cherry Bomb" and "Rooty Toot Toot" still linger in the airwaves some thirty years later. That's something else that hasn't e album's blistering first song, "Paper and Fire," leaves an instantly indelible impression with its explosive chorus, chopped fiddles and muted banjo strums. Within the context of late 1980s pop radio, this song, also released as the album's first single, definitely stood out. By this time, Mellencamp had a solid reputation for producing immense commercial hits, so perhaps pop/rock stations happily risked playing the folksy and almost country tinged track. The song, not surprisingly, did very well. Its lyrics speak of wasted time, wasted effort and letting days "smolder" in a manner reminiscent to Talking Heads' timeless line "letting the days go by." A wall of mad accordion opens "Down and Out In Paradise," which offers an epistolary plea to "Mr. President," then Ronald Reagan, of people who found themselves unemployed or homeless and a fourth grader confused by his parents' behavior and the Cold Battle propaganda of the time. The final line of the chorus, "Looks like the milk and honey done run out on me," says it all. Rarely has the economically crushed working class received such a bleak, though utterly sympathetic and powerful, treatment in pop. Speaking of bleak, the extremely famous "Check It Out" paints a rather dire picture of life in so-called paradise. Portraits of people paying bills, buying houses on escrow, "sleepin' with your back to your loved one," older men talking about "girls," shafting the neighbors and other mundane things obtain framed with the sad but scathing lines "and this is all that we have learned about living." Some hope, though possibly not much, remains with "future generations," who the song hopes will "have a better understanding." This heavy hit song points an accosting finger at much of the meaninglessness that lingers within modern life. But what can we do? Apparently, wait and hope for others to understand life and happiness in a deeper and more satisfying way. "The True Life" tells more stories of broken lives lived with reference to what one "should" do rather than what one wants to do. Another memorable line juts out of the chorus: "just because I'm middle aged that don't mean I wish to sit around my house and watch tv." As long as one lives and breathes, it's never too late."Cherry Bomb" reminisces on the "good old days," on lessons learned and what to do when "seventeen has turned thirty-five." One of the album's most strong songs, "We Are The People," returns to social themes of struggle, homelessness, conquer and the loneliness of the fortunate. The song then promises defiance: "if you test to divide and conquer, we'll rise up versus you." With a future "written in the wind," anything can happen. "Empty Hands" returns to the downtrodden in a story that still rings real today: "they say people obtain what they deserve, but Lord, sometimes it's much worse than that" and "there's too a lot of people with empty hands." The theme continues with "Hard Times For an Honest Man" as men take their frustrations out on their families or on unknowing young people. The times have apparently not changed. "Hotdogs and Hamburgers" tells a moral tale of a man who meets "a beautiful small Indian girl" who quickly refutes his advances with the lines "you're tryin' to obtain something for nothing, like the Pilgrims in the olden days." They ride and he realizes "she was the saddest girl I ever knew." He hears "stories about the Indian nations and how the White man stole their lives away." He comes across an old Indian man, "for my kind he did not care, because to him I was the White man, the one who sold him something that he already owned." He drives to Los Angeles "the city of angels, the best this country can do" and begs for forgiveness: "I said, Lord, forgive us for we know not what we do." We're still in denial, as this strong song suggests. "Rooty Toot Toot," featuring probably the album's most straightforward rock arrangement, closes the album with a tongue in cheek homage to "good time songs." In this case, a police officer tells a satisfied lounging, sun tanning couple that they have violated personal property with their amazing ol' times. Sadly, in response to seeing news stories about people "out there... that are at the end of their rope" his companion suggests "sometimes, baby, you've got to lay low." They had it "made in the shade" for sure."The Lonesome Jubilee" includes a wealth of fabulous music, but it never puts its head in the sand about the state of the world, either. Arguably a protest album, a piece of mad social criticism about those that paradise leaves behind and an introspective look at what it means to roam through America, the album says a lot of uncomfortable and challenging things, yet it sold in the millions. Who bought it? The disaffected? Or did people like those depicted in "Rooty Toot Toot" buy it, kick back, take in the poingancy, have a amazing time, tap their feet, rock out, experience a few brief uncomfortable thoughts and then slip right back into what they were doing and their old habits? Possibly, because, apart from some changing musical trends and fashions in the mainstream, this album could have appeared yesterday beautiful much as-is. Not much has changed. These stories, now three decades old, still apply in the early twenty-first century to a lot of people. As amazing an album as this is, it also reminds those who heard it upon its release just how much has stayed the same in the here and now. The long forgotten idealism of "music changing the world" has faded for a reason. Arguably Mellencamp's masterpiece, or at least one of them, he at least used his fame, wealth and stardom to try. What more can one really ask? Maybe, as the album hopes, future generations will have a better understanding? We're apparently still waiting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    "The Lonesome Jubilee" is the third Mellencamp masterpiece in a row. And here it is, in an exquisitely remastered om the Stones-y squall of "Uh-Huh" to the Springsteen sweep of "Scarecrow", we now have an album that can only be 'qualified' as "Mellencamp."His artistic growth here reflects his absorbed influences and then expands them. There are fresh instruments, fresh textures, fresh tempos. His lyrics are more expressive, more vivid and more concise. There is a fearlessness to his recording...a confidence beyond his previously problematic simpler terms, this album rocks. It's ing with the thrilling guitar-lap steel-fiddle-accordion-God know what else "hook" from "Paper in Fire", Mellencamp sets the scene for the unexpected. When his beloved drummer Kenny Aronoff kicks in, a smile will spread across your face. You instinctively will recognize his "sound", but also realize he doing more with it than he ever has e angular "Down and Out in Paradise", with it's off-kilter push-pull rhythms, follows. This is one of those first person narratives with a terrific sense of immediacy...and "Check It Out" has a nice gentle, anthemic quality to it. I love the soaring fiddle-led hook, and so must have a lot of folks, as it's now one of his more-recognized songs."The True Life" is a bit weaker melodically, but the band sounds tight and amazing. Every piece in its' place. "Cherry Bomb" has a soothing, friendly tone with terrific duet-like backup vocals and again, that lilting fiddle dancing above the whole song. Plus that accordion hook...it was an instant classic, and deservedly so."We Are The People" is where he falters a bit...a small too heavy-handed compared to the rest of the album. The music, again, is outstanding...it's now "his" sound. "Empty Hands" is another not-so-wonderful moment...a small boring...It proves to be a momentary setback, as the album comes roaring back with three assassin tunes in a row. "Hard Times For An Honest Man" gets the mix right. He's very direct with his point, yet the music serves the lyrics, and the melody is irresistible. "Hotdogs and Hamburgers" gallops along at a brisk pace, another one of his classic "story songs" with intimate info and epic bridges."Rooty Toot Toot" may be my favorite. It's a excellent song. Assassin hooks, sweet instrumental breaks, a chorus you'll be singing before the song is over. Sure, it won't change the world, but for three mins and 33 seconds, it will create YOUR globe a lot better! Just a terrific method to end the album...The additional track isn't much...a less-than-two min snippet blues with multiple vocalists...the album was excellent as it ese remasters have been revelatory, and should urge other artists and record companies to reassess their catalogs. Bruce, U2, Prince...heck, the Beatles should be so lucky to have their albums treated with such care.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    One of my top five albums to be stuck on a desert island with. Whereas Springsteen seems to connect with blue collar East Coast I always felt like Mellencamp waved the flag for middle America, which always resonated more with me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-11-22 18:56

    Not possible to not love Sparks, a tough as nails cop who moonlights as a professional wrestler who has taken on and beat two brothers. She rocks as the takes revenge on those who have wronged her and her people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-10-23 18:44

    Amazing hero development and enjoyable zombie series. No fresh twists so far, but engaging read has me staying with this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Lonesome Song []  2020-11-17 20:0

    I don't know a lot about Jamey Johnson but these songs are really good. To write about pain and loss the method he does, he must have lived it. These songs have soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    Amazing album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    Its this Rootsy, country, folk sound with other instruments in the mix.I'm not buying it........oops I did, I want I hadn't.I read the reviews and it sounded beautiful amazing but to my dismay it was far from ybe they required support mixing it in the studio?! the vocals stick out like a sore thumb, maybe thats what they were going for but it doesn't arently they're amazing live, I'd pay cover to see them but would not pay anymore on a CD.I do like the ability to use a clarinet, tuba, kazoo and a s there's the Broonzy and Charlie Patten covers but they're nothing stellar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    I don't know if the translation had anything to do with it, but the stories gradually turned dull and incomprehensible. I've read my fair share of magical realism, but these stories seemed underdeveloped and at times forced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    After watching this film,I truly believe that it's on a "par" with the first original "Lonesome Dove"! The acting was suberb,with unique stand-out's,Jon Voight,Barbara Hershey,Oliver Reed,Rick Shroeder and the gentleman who played "Pete" If any one noticed that each and every time Pete would be talking to a woman,he would take his hat off and "bow his head" out of repect! Attractive scenery(again),they also repeated the fact that in both "Lonesome Dove's" they had a black man play the "tracker",Danny Glover in "Lonesome Dove",and Lou Gossett,Jr,in "Return To Lonesome Dove".5 thumbs up for this one!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    It’s amazing and all, but Jon Voight is hugely miscast as Woodrow Call. The rest of the cast is good. Also, the story is a downgrade form the epic ness of the first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    I first bought this 'album' on 8-track and wore it out. Then I played it a wealth of times on vinyl at home and cassettes in the car. After listening to this CD in several times on a long trip; I am still blown away by just how amazing he was from his early days on. The title chop and 'You Can Have Her' are classics but the entire album highlights his ability to take other songwriter's songs and create them part of him. Not a weak track on the disc. I especially search this real in his renditions of 'Me and Bobby McGee' and 'Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues'. RIP Waylon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Amazing condition, and very amazing cd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    What more needs to be said with the cast of characters represented here. True tight bluegrass with a band that just happened. Sounds like they were playing forever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    Bought it for my husband as a gift. He enjoys this melody so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    Very Enjoyable CD fr the " Amazing Johnny C Mellencamp". My 6th or 7th time buying this CD. Always being " barrowed" n not returned. LG..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Lonesome Song []  2020-11-17 20:0

    Jamey Johnson's integrity and authenticity create him stand out in a sea of pretenders. his writing is as deep as his Alabama roots. His voice has the timber of a man beyond his age. when he covers another's song it sounds like he wrote it-true respect and amazing arranging. may he long continue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Lonesome Song []  2020-11-17 20:0

    Got this for a bonus only because Jamey Johnson us my favorite country melody artist. Hope the father-in- law likes it as much as me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-10-23 18:44

    A very perfect zombie book, hold you entertained and you invest you interest to this series. It a zombie series that you should read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-11-22 18:56

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    It took me a very long time to obtain through this collection of short stories. I found myself reading and nodding my head and saying "Uh huh...ok...uh huh...right...huh...what?" The stories were ridiculous. There was no point to any of them with the possible exception of "An Exotic Marriage" which won the Akutagawa Prize for best Japanese literature in 2016. Must've been a slow year for Japanese literature. The only redeeming quality on that story is that for 90% of the narrative, the characters are actually relatable, with some direction and some hero development (it's also the longest story in the collection). I still had to stop and start re-reading it 3 times before I forced myself to [email protected]#$%!. The other stories are entirely forgettable. Reading them is like listening to someone describe a dream that makes literally no sense - it's boring and pointless. This collection can't keep a candle to those of other Japanese short story authors like Yoko Ogawa and Ryu Murakami and Sayaka Murata or even Banana Yoshimoto or Murakami. Very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    I’ve caught a bit of Motoya’s work in a few English-language literary journals and was thrilled to see she had an entire story collection place out by the venerable Soft Skull Press. These stories are like small else I’ve read and take you to strange locations with surprisingly realistic characters inhabiting the pages. I can’t recommend The Lonesome Bodybuilder enough. It’s one of the freshest takes in fiction I’ve come across in ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    The namesake story was quite good, but all the rest were obscure and allegorical. Maybe this would be a amazing book for a class in symbolism, but as interesting, entertaining short stories go, this was a waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    My husband really likes this album and cannot search it online anywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    I do not listen to T his kind of melody all the time but I loved the first album had it for years so when I found out about the other two I had to order them right I ordered #2 and it was just as amazing as the first one now I will order the third does not obtain much better than ese guys are umbs up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    Return to Lonesome Dove This DVD is simple to confuse with DVDs saying that they are the full film but are not. I had to order this title 3 times before I got the full 2-disc DVD of the original movie. Amazing action and a fine cast Peterson stands out and Jon does a decent job as Woodrow. Nia Peeples is a amazing addition to the cast and Louis Gossett Jr is always welcome in any genre of movie. You won't be disappointed with this one and I also suggest "Comanche Moon",,,,Gus and Woodrow when they were just starting out as Rangers and the questions about Maggie, Newt's mother are answered. Enjoy, I do again and again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    It's beautiful obvious early on that this ain't Larry McMurtry! The quality of the story line in this continuation of the "Lonesome Dove" saga just does not match the original. Plus it does not have a amazing hero to replace Augustus "Gus" McCrae...Gideon Walker is no Gus McCrae; and though William Peterson is a fine actor, he's no Robert Duvall. Tommy Lee Jones is also missed as Captain Woodrow Call; though Jon Voight's performance in the role is almost on a par w/Jones. Barbara Hershey is magnificent as Clara Allen and in my opinion stole the hero away from Angelica Houston, who I thought was miscast in the first place. It was also amazing to see Rick Schroder back as Newt; as well as Chris Cooper as July Johnson and Tim Scott as the quintessential cowboy, Pea Eye Parker. Lou Gossett is amazing in the Deets-like role of Isom Pickett; and Dennis Haysbert is phenomenal as the Blue Duck-like character, Cherokee Jack Jackson. The balance of the casting is also quite good, including a 17 year old Reese Witherspoon, the kid bride of villainous rancher Gregor Dunnigan (Oliver Reed) and love interest of Newt. While not an outstanding Western saga like, "Lonesome Dove", this TV miniseries is a fine Western, with stunning scenery and cinematography. As the plot develops, Captain Call has just buried Gus at Lonesome Dove and plans to head back to his ranch in Montana, where he has left Newt in charge. Looking at a herd of wild Mustangs, he decides to drive them north with the support of Isom Pickett and Gideon Walker. Call leaves the drive for Nebraska to meet with Clara Parker and runs into Cherokee Jack and a group of Indians, which almost costs him his life. That will set the stage...if you're a "Lonesome Dove" fan this is a must-see...if you're a fan of the Western genre, you'll wish to see it too...it's a amazing one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    a amazing loss and a amazing talent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    Purchased back in Nov. 2012, I've really enjoyed this music. A amazing blues / folk / ragtime band. A few of my favorite songs are - A long method from home, Shake it break it, Until my love comes home, Has my gal been here, Beer truck rag, Louisiana fairytale, So sweet and I'll be rested. Well, I could've at this point said the entire CD is simply great. Hope you have fun this melody as much as I have. Have a amazing day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    If Downbeat magazine had a category for best Washboard playing, it would be aced by Rick " Cooking " Sherry of Devil In a Woodpile. Although these guys need to write some more original material they generate a lot of amazing time melody and the playing is super fine . Tuba Player Gary Shepers and Tom Ray are a potent rhythm section behind fresh National guitarist Joel Paterson and quadruple threat Rick Sherry on vocals , washboard , harp and clarinet. This is the 3rd album and has a cool studio in the round sound that is lively . Nice cover image , don't you want they played in your city every Tuesday night ?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    John Cougar Mellencamp’s earlier work before Lonesome Jubilee wasn’t afraid to push the buttons of the Bible belt (‘Jack and Diane’, ‘Hurt so Good’), but the artist turns to a Bible verse for the inspiration of this 1987 album, which is placed inside the cover jacket of the record. What seemed an intriguing human-esque passage from the Bible, and a beautifully resonant cover of ordinary life, turns out to be more political on the album. The album is left-wing, but also accessibly contemporary with its vivid photos of true life (‘Cherry Bomb’, ‘Check It Out’), but most of it has the ring of an agenda. Musically unexceptional and bogged under, except for a few truly authentic moments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    This is one of the core classic albums by John Mellencamp. Along with Scarecrow and Huge Daddy, this album shows is an necessary step in his evolution as a writer. Lonesome Jubilee has a distinct sound which is differentiated by the accordion while still having the sociopolitical themes of Scarecrow and Huge Daddy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    The Vinyl is faulty has a lot of skips and I even returned the LP and got 2 replacement LPs still skips. Too poor Johns record company uses a poor pressing plant, the melody is perfect but NOT when the thing skips all the time! And I used two various turntables to play this! I’ll just stick with the CD for Lonesome Jubilee which sounds great! Bummer the Vinyl isn’t a amazing pressing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Lonesome Song []  2020-11-17 20:0

    You can never go wrong with Jamey Johnson! He’s got that amazing voice that is excellent for the songs he sings!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-10-23 18:44

    Not possible to not love Sparks, a tough as nails cop who moonlights as a professional wrestler who has taken on and beat two brothers. She rocks as the takes revenge on those who have wronged her and her people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-11-22 18:56

    Amazing hero development and enjoyable zombie series. No fresh twists so far, but engaging read has me staying with this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Period!Order will not be allow down!A treasure indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    GREAT ALBUM, A TRUE LANDMARK ACCOMPLISHMENT, IT'S HARD TO BELIEVE THAT 1973 WAS THAT LONG AGO. WONDERFUL WORK BY A GREAT ARTIST, WHAT A SHAME TO HAVE LOAT HIM AT SUCH A YOUNG AGE. THEN AGAIN IF HE WOULD HAVE KEPT HIS AEAT ON THAT PLANE!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    This is my favorite release from this band. This cd hits all the marks. It includes the band's renditions of all time amazing folk/ blues players (Big Bill Broonzy, Casey Bill Weldon, & Sonny Boy Williamson), but also includes an wonderful ver of Led Zeppelin's Bron-y-aur Stomp, and material of their own. They are a very talented group with a distinctive sound. This is a definite one to add to your library!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    I stumbled over Devil In A Woodpile in Chicago when these guys played before the Asylum Road Spankers latest November. The style of both groups has some similarity: Mostly accoustic instruments, no or very small use of demon electricity and a amazing sense of Your Lonesome City captures their live act very nicely. Sherry's unique style of singing is fun to listen to. He uses his organ with a rythm, almost as if he tries to imitate a drum set. The only thing I hoped would be more prominent is the tuba. The instrument was an essential part of the concert I attended. It is heard on the CD but somehow a bit burried in the mix. But this is only a minor drawback. I love to listen to this CD in the car. Upbeat and amazing to sing a long. Highly reccommended for anybody who likes Bar Blues and doesn't mind some Swing and Jug Band influence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    This group is very musical. Found this listening to Pandora via Leon Redbone. Very very good. Makes me happy. These guys slippin' slide'n creat'n. Glad i bought it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    What a band!Jerry Garcia on banjo /// and then Vassar (fiddle), Grisman (mandolin) and Rowan (guitar). A+ ere were two sessions recorded: Oct 1 (2 CDs) and Oct 7 (2 CDs) in 1973. The Oct 7 session is much better, those songs were culled into a CD known as "Old & In the Way." That was the best selling bluegrass CD of all time, until "Wherefore Art Thou oh Brother" came along (no Schiit). All four of those CDs are available in a pack that's called "Live at the Boarding House" by Old & In the is CD is only a compilation of a few songs ... that didn't create the first cut. FYI any case, the band sounds amazing (perhaps a bit stoned but hey, you know).Happy Listening,RCBinTN

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    I did not watch Lonesome Dove when it was on TV ages ago, but I kept hearing about it and got this. These DVDs are amazing quality and the present is a must-see for anyone who likes the classic old West, Westerns, history, realism, and amazing characters. It is full of grit, history, humor, sadness, you name it. The casting and stars are top notch and really create this present amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    The relationships that occur among the various cultures in the wilderness and among pioneers. Nia Peeples did one of her best acting in this movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    Unbelievable collection of surreal feminist stories. I definitely need to reread these. Motoya's stories discover marriage, gender and power, and domestic life, allowing the dreamy and nightmarish to unfold while maintaining a perfectly quotidian tone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    Amateur effort at best. Reads like the stories were written in an afternoon. Small in the method of art or substance. While dreamy for sure, comparing to Murakami is inappropriate. Even the title story, which starts off well, ends up flat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    I am very partial to this CD, I think from begin to [email protected]#$%!'s the best CD John Mellencamp has recorded to date. I didn't care that much for the added track at the end, I didn't think it added anything at all to the other songs. This is a amazing example of pure melody by a grass-roots artist like John Mellencamp is. Not much if any extra instrumentation or background melody was added, it sounds like the group simply went to a practice or recording location, plugged in, turned on the recording machine, and allow go. This is not only some of the best lyrics he has ever penned, the primary instrumentation fits it to a "T." I always eagerly await any fresh release and buy them, but my two favorites are Scarecrow, and this one. The added depth of the melody and clarity of the vocals are really nice. If you like John, and don't have this remastered copy, obtain it. Totally worthy of the 5 stars I gave it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Jubilee (Remastered) []  2020-9-6 19:4

    The album starts out powerful with "Paper in Fire" and continues with "Check It Out," "The True Life," and "Cherry Bomb," but it grinds on with John's tales of life and struggle in middle America until it gets to the upbeat "Rooty Toot Toot."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-10-23 18:44

    This book will hold you entertained till the end! Only gave it 4 stars because they did an extremely not good job of proofreading and comes with a lot of grammar mistakes. It gets annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-10-23 18:44

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-11-22 18:56

    This book will hold you entertained till the end! Only gave it 4 stars because they did an extremely not good job of proofreading and comes with a lot of grammar mistakes. It gets annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Texas: Lonesome Road []  2020-11-22 18:56

    A very perfect zombie book, hold you entertained and you invest you interest to this series. It a zombie series that you should read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Lonesome Song []  2020-11-17 20:0

    Hard to please me - nearly every song is gold. JJ is a cool drink of water in a sea of absolute trash that is the desert of modern day "country" music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Lonesome Song []  2020-11-17 20:0

    The Jamey Johnson That Lonesome Song album is one of his best! The songs, flow, & sound is just right! There's not a poor song on this album - but I have 5 favorites! 1. In Color, 2. High Cost of Living, 3. Stars In Alabama, 4. Women, & 5. Between Jennings & Jones! Listening to this album will teleport you back in time when country melody was real! In all this album includes 14 songs with a playing time of a small over 56 minutes! This album was released back in 2008!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Lonesome Song []  2020-11-17 20:0

    Amazing CD! I had heard only "In Color", but the rest of the songs are amazing as well. I'm very glad I bought this CD!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    As a huge fan of Grateful Dead and of Jerry Garcia's generally, I was given a amazing opportunity to explore these relatively unknown, but certainly brilliant Bluegrass releases.I had long been curious of Bluegrass, but required direction and given my Garcia-opened mind, I instantly felt at home with Breakdown: Original Live Recordings 1973 Vol. II which is really just a perfectly consistent continuation on the top of this, the first volume of precious live material from this profoundly charming ssar Clements' Violin work is so stimulating to the ear that it is simple to identify him as the star in this ensemble of stars. But clearly there is something wrong with that statement, because it is the work of an ensemble- and in the best sense of the word: everyone is adding more to the whole than their individual expression alone. So as has been said, it is rather related to the feel of amazing Jazz and of course the collective magic of Grateful Dead. Jerry Garcia's Banjo is very nice, but this grouping is definitely not dependent on his legacy alone; Peter Rowan's singing is smooth, passionate and humble, his high notes, along with the harmony from Garcia and Grisman, real to the roots of Bluegrass; John Kahn's stand-up Bass is a thing of amazing subtlety yet power; David Grisman's Mandolin is accomplished; Rowan's acoustic Guitar glues the sound together like Bob Weir in The Dead and Vassar's Violin work is phenomenal. I've just never been so happy by that instrument before.I think there is enough magic in these releases to hold my Bluegrass interests occupied for a lot of years. Awesome melody and beautifully recorded by the late Owsley Stanley.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    Amazing music! I was familiar with Peter Rowan, but I didn't know Jerry Garcia could play banjo! Wow! What a trip..., If you like bluegrass melody this group is really good! Give it a listen, I think you'll like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    Loved 'Return'. Maybe my only criticism is that it ended. I feel wondering about Newt, where he went, who he metand how he created out. Wondering too about the adventure PeaEye will go on getting Clara Allen back to Ogalalla.Will it have the turns of fortune the Cpt. Call encountered? Would we see PeaEye with a wife?!Wondering how that fresh horse Woodrow envisioned turned out. A commercial success? Will Captain Call arrangefor ten horses to be sent to the Indian chief who helped him out. Or at least to allow him know what happened to hissister A lot of 's a small odd that McMurtry would be place off by Return. Envy? It certainly includes his tendency to contain unexpectedtwists to the story. Kind of glad Gregor finally got what was coming to him, although I'm not quite sure who shot him, Newtor the ems like the critical Clara warmed up to Woodrow at the end. Was it just that they buried the hatchet or was there thebeginning of something ce that Augustina and July became pals. Just watch her temper July!Is it just me or is the ranch setting not quite as nice as the Lonesome Dove ranch?

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386