Read lonesome moonlight waltz reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all lonesome moonlight waltz reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ride Lonesome [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    In the past year or so, I've created a determined decision to obtain more accustomed to pre-1970's movies from around the world, particularly genres I've previously given short change to, such as musicals, battle movies and westerns. I have to admit it's greatly enhanced my appreciation of cinema in general. It's awesome how amazing some of these movies actually are. Since cinema is the greatest love of my life, I also collect books on film, trying to search out anything and everything I can. As the old Calvin Klein commercial goes, 'A man has a lot of loves, but only one Obsession'. An unexpectedly amazing and relatively inexpensive search was 'The Editors of American Cowboy's The Top 100 Westerns of All Time,' from 2011. Looming at #52 was this, and its write-up sounded intriguing, so I've always kept my eyes begin for it. Sure enough, latest month I saw a Randolph Scott Westerns 6-pack for a very low price, and I pulled the trigger (pardon the pun). This was exceptional and clearly deserves its lofty status. There is so much action, intrigue and beauty jam-packed in Burt Kennedy's script for this 72 minutes. Every shot is finely composed and exquisitely filmed. I dare you to search a better supporting cast. Sure, the four-hour epics by the Sir David Leans and Victor Flemings out there are great, but I'd rather see a easy story, brilliantly told than the gluttonous two-to-three-hour pieces of self-important crap you search these days. Allow that be my epitaph. I was so close to even giving this a excellent grade. It's honestly THAT good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    When I heard about Lord Huron after watching A Walk In The Woods,I wanted to learn more about them and I wasn't disappointed.Everything about this is simply e music,the sound,Everything is 's an album that has completely changed my 's a attractive album that you should listen to while you're on the street and it's so peaceful favorite song has to be Lonesome Dreams.I am not a melody critic but when I obtain into music, I really obtain into it. So I won't be able to tell you about info and go in depth about anything melody similar but I can tell you how this album created me feel. This is an album for the adventurer. Every time I listen to Time to Run or Ends of the Earth all I wish t do is package my bags and drive to Arizona. Songs like Brother and In the Wind are so thought provoking and meaningful that I have to listen to them over and over again. And don't obtain me started on the title track Lonesome Dreams,undoubtedly the best song on the whole album. This song has brought me to tears, laughter and created me feel so alive all at the same time. If you're not a hipster the opening of these songs can really throw you off. It is a weird sound at first. But if you take the time and listen to the lyrics and allow the melody take you, you'll search one of the best albums of this generation. The album artwork goes well with the music, showing adventurous landscapes filled with mystery.Lord Huron's sound is absolutely entrancing, and they deserve worldwide attention. I've lately found myself listening to selections from this album and its followup, Strange Trails, on a everyday basis. The imagery they conjure with their melody is beautifully captivating. Their sound is perfectly nestled between ambient, country, folk, and rock. I highly recommend this album, especially if you have a long street trip planned. I listened to Lonesome Dreams several times while driving through the Everglades and it perfectly captures the wide begin locations and the spirit of adventure I felt. It was the excellent soundtrack for this journey. My favorite song has to be Ghost on the Shore. It is not only one of the most deeply beautiful, melancholic songs on the album, but one the most expressively rich songs ever written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    Just discovered this band. What more can I say other than this Album is solid! Solid Instruments, melodies, and sound. I consider this album to be a rare search being that it is truly a pleasant, enlightening listen from begin to finish! Other reviews point out possible Paul Simon influence which I too have picked up on. However, by no means is this album a direct steal from anyone I have ever listened to. My listening roots are late 80's-90's Rock/Alternative. Age & maturity has helped me explore a dozens of various sounds, genre's etc and this album is one that I truly appreciate. Definitely a diamond among a lot of artists to choose from. It's interesting that most melody that I consider to be a break from the mold is found among Indie labels. Hopefully looking forward to more albums to come from Lord Huron...

    0  


    Add your opinion on lonesome moonlight waltz or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    I have owned the 2 disc DVD set released by Genius Entertainment for a lot of years and wanted to make batter to a Blu-Ray copy. I first bought the 2 disc set released by Mill Creek Entertainment (ASIN: B013FDBH46). I found the picture quality is a slight step up from my DVD ver but fairly grainy in scenes. Other negatives are sound is only 2.0 Dolby and no subtitles. So I ordered the Genius Entertainment (2008) Blu-Ray version. Glad I did as it has a better picture than the Mill Creek Blu-Ray release and is a solid improvement from the DVD version. Has Dolby 5.1 sound, AND FINALLY closed captioning. This is the first ver to have closed captioning of the 4 sets I have bought - 2 dvd & 2 blu-ray. The Genius Entertainment Blu-Ray discs also more "bonus" material and each episode is divided up into more chapters. For example: Episode 1 is setup with 21 chapters versus the Mill Creek ver is only setup with 5!So I strongly suggest buying the Genius Entertainment 2008 ver (ASIN: B0018RWMNM) even it cost a small more $. Hope this helps you search what would work best for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    this product was advertised as CC. This is a symbol for Closed captioning. It requires that you turn on captions on your TV to work. This product is not closed captioned. It is a misuse of the CC symbol. It does not even have subtitles which is built into the DVD and can be activated through a menu option called "setup". Most DVD's have subtitles. I still hope to see lonesome dove in its entirety in my my life time. So far I have only seen parts that we closed captioned on one of our premium cable move channels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Jackie Gleason, was such aficionado of melody at any level! And,as to this album from the mid-50s, and my remembering of hearing it , being played, well into the early-mid 60s, by my parents and their' friends. And recently, "I Still Obtain A Thrill" comming in from satellite radio. WOW (!!), did I go looking for this, as fast as I could. May be its me, but, as much as a year ago, it took me alittle time to search the genuine and only album. I was looking, by referencing THAT THRILL song. AND Amazon should of been my first stop! Though not avaiible on mp3 download. then or now(?), I aquired my excellent condition USED CD for $11 aprx., with pleasant vigor. THIS album is esoteric, etheric, besides very relaxing. Having a sum more than its parts. I "see"/hear more or something fresh everytime. I will not list my favorites,or describe the tracks, and just say, what others have said :"Put It On..AND Allow It Play"!!! Take that Hip Trip. As this album was on the leading edge -of Listening Music- at that time-'55 !! With DALI's Cover art work...and words. This is para-intuitive,..for the in a dimension not of Rock'n Roll (which I like also, from this first deacade), and anyone with a mature-this doesn't mean old or..-music interest, should hear this album in it's enirety, at least once! And yes the mandolin and other-guitars,etc- picks' were dipped in water! Again, the above and beyond ! If your interested in any Gleason, you can begin here or not, BUT, own it as soon as you can. By the way, besides being a genius commedian/actor. jackie was / is still(?), a researcher, a study, of the paranormal. particulary UFOs. And had an extensive library, and group of mates to meet and discuss these subjects, with a drink or two. An Smart man, which shows this also in all his Music,"investment" .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    My husband is a huge fan and I was happy to something that was enjoyed in the past and is still available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I saw Lord Huron live in Seattle, WA and they left an indullible impression on me. The imagery they conjure with their melody is beautifully captivating. Their sound is perfectly nestled between ambient, country, folk, and rock. I highly recommend this album, especially if you have a long street trip planned. I listened to Lonesome Dreams several times while driving from Los Angeles, CA to Orlando, FL and it perfectly captures the wide begin locations and the spirit of adventure I felt. It was the excellent soundtrack for this journey. My favorite song has to be Ghost on the Shore. It is not only one of the most deeply beautiful, melancholic songs on the album, but one the most expressively rich songs ever written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I was first introduced to Lord Huron on KCRW in Santa Monica. They performed a live session for the studio. I loved their performance then and I actually won one of their autographed copies of this CD. Then several months later I happened to be at the Hollywood Bowl where they opened for another group and again I LOVED their performance. I told myself that I required to search that CD I had won. I did and started listening to it over and over again. I loved the melody so much that I decided that I would the digital ver to support demonstrate my help for this band. I now have it on my iPod, in my Amazon Cloud Player and on CD. And I listen to it ALL the time. I absolutely cannot obtain enough of it. I have even found some of their earlier works on the "other" melody shop and have it all in my players. And I continue to listen to it over and over again.I read one of the other reviews who mentioned the "sameness" of the songs. I can understand where he is coming from ... however I love the whole mood of the CD .. and all of their songs for that matter. Indeed I love how some of songs just flow into the next .. as if it is a work in total. My absolute favorite is "The Ghost On The Shore" followed by "She Lit A Fire" and "The Man Who Lives Forever". But there is not a poor song on the entire ere are a lot of repeating themes in the songs, such as searching, death, traveling and the lake ... wonder if that is where their name came from ... Lake Huron.I cannot wait to hear more from this band and cannot wait to see them in concert again.!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    There are 2 various versions of this movie/series on blu-ray. The one with the dark brown cover is the 2008 ver and the one with the tan cover is the 2015 release. I have both and spent a couple days comparing the two and these are my reactions. Someone else has a review on here comparing the two, but I'll go into more detail on the differences between the video and audio quality of the two.2008: Video - The 2008 release is slightly smoother than the 2015 release, with a little dip in fine detail. However, the colors are noticeably more vibrant and there is a wider range of colors. The black levels are a amazing blacker as well. Audio - The audio is much louder and more distinctive on the 2008 release. The sound effects are loud and clean, but the dialogue is sometimes barely audible. Once in a while the sound effects will be much louder than the people talking, but this only happens a handful of times.2015: Video - The 2015 ver is sharper than the 2008 release. Fine detail is more noticeable for sure. It is also a hair brighter than the 2008 release. However, the brightness does lead to the picture looking a bit washed-out. Blacks are more gray and the colors are slightly more muted. Audio - The audio is less distinctive than the 2008 release, but solid. The sound effects are much quieter, but the dialogue is a whole lot crisper and cleaner.Overall, the 2008 release's video is slightly smoother, but it is barely noticeable. The colors and contrast are more vibrant and realistic. The 2015 release's video is more detailed, but less realistic in color and contrast. The audio probably depends on your set up. If you have a 5.1 surround sound system, the 2008 ver will create amazing use of sound effects. If you don't have a huge surround sound system, the 2015 release would probably be better, because it doesn't have any of the dialogue problems of the 2008 release. If you're on the fence about the two versions, and can only obtain one, I would recommend the 2008 ver because it has a few additional unique e pictures present the 2008 ver on the left, 2015 on the right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    In my opinion, this goes down as possibly one of the greatest min-series every created. Sometimes everything just falls together, the writers, the producing, the acting. I'm not huge on the DVD, they ruined the presentation of the film by taking it away from it's original edit to fit older screens, but all of that can be ignored because once you watch this series, it will forever change your life. The book is worth a read as well, it won a Pulitzer Prize. And if I'm recalling correctly, this series was nominated for 18 awards. You can't search too a lot of films of this caliber anymore, and being set in a Western, which seems to be a dying genre, makes it that much more necessary to see it and obtain a copy, even if the copy isn't full screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    Removed one star because of no closed captioning or subtitles. Otherwise, very amazing quality video and audio. Perfect story and acting.About Closed Captioning: Closed captioning (unlike subtitles) is only viewable when a DVD player is connected to a TV with either a composite cable (yellow, white, red) or component cable (green, blue, orange, white, red) and the resolution output is set to 480i (i = interlaced). Closed captioning is not viewable when using a DVD player connected to a TV via an HDMI cable. Some Blu-ray players help closed captioning by extracting the important code from the video signal transmitted by the HDMI cable. When using a component cable, turn off progressive scan in the DVD player settings because progressive scan is 720p or higher. With either a composite or component cable, the video photo is more than amazing enough when viewing a DVD on any HDTV even though the resolution is only 480i. A composite or component connection does not change the original aspect ratio of the DVD program. An often noticed side benefit of using a composite or component cable instead of an HDMI cable connection is the audio has much more depth and range (especially 2 channel stereo or mono) because the audio signal sent to the TV (or external speakers) is uncompressed analog not compressed digital.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    When I was a young man this was the best melody with only mandolins and guitars and the haunting sound of a obo Jackie Gleason was unbelievable with his orchestration this is the most calming melody I ever heard

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Waltz []  2020-1-28 1:19

    Mauceri and his Hollywood Bowl Orchestra play this melody (most of which should be very familiar to them) with a amazing of flair. It's amazing to have the rare screen music, by some of the best Hollywood composers, created available apart from the film soundtracks. The Broadway waltzes are probably more familiar. Classical waltzes such as the haunting small waltz from 'Cinderella' (Prokofiev not Disney) and Ravel's 'La Valse' also fare well at the hands of these musicians. The only one who suffers, somewhat, is Strauss ... and that is mainly the fault of Tiomkin's 'arrangements' of these all too familiar waltzes which might be a bit jarring to anyone who knows and loves them. The sound is perfectly adequate to display this melody to its fullest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sinister Waltz []  2020-1-16 22:43

    This is the first of three disks compiled by Receiver Records that pulls together previously available material plus a few gems. The versions you obtain here differ from the eventual songs which were included on Extricate in 1990 and Shiftwork in 1991. When a band like The Fall have so a lot of compilations, it gets confusing to their mostly devoted followers but Sinister Waltz is an interesting find.I especially liked the cocky "Couldn't Obtain Ahead" and the spooky mix of "Telephone Thing" which makes the common ver almost too slick. Tag E. Smith is spot on with his vocal delivery whether it is spoken word or almost melodic. Listen to "Wings" or "Chicago, Now!" and you can almost see him shouting down the curious from the ey even crank out a swinging ver of "Birthday" written by Jeff Lynne, sung by Lucy t every Fall compilation, whether studio tracks or live, will be as satisfying a as Sinister Waltz. There are a lot of to choose from and being a Fall fan, I've heard a lot of others that pale in comparison. If you are a Fall fanatic, you should have fun this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    I purchased this CD because I heard the song which has the same title as the CD, 'Appalachia Waltz'. I fell in love with the deep, vibrate tones of the Base and Cello and warm fluent music of the Violin. All the songs are very enjoyable to listen to!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    One of my favorite albums by far. You can't obtain much better than Ma, Meyer and O'Connor. You can search sheet melody for some of these songs at Tag O'Connor's website.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    Magnificent collection of music. I play it very often. I search it very peaceful especially #7 "Impressions".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I am not a melody critic but when I obtain into music, I really obtain into it. So I won't be able to tell you about info and go in depth about anything melody similar but I can tell you how this album created me feel. This is an album for the adventurer. Every time I listen to Time to Run or Ends of the Earth all I wish t do is package my bags and drive to Wyoming. Songs like Brother and In the Wind are so thought provoking and meaningful that I have to listen to them over and over again. And don't obtain me started on Lonesome Dreams, the best song on the album. This song has brought me to tears, laughter and created me feel so alive all at the same time. If you're not a hipster the opening of these songs can really throw you off. It is a weird sound at first. But if you take the time and listen to the lyrics and allow the melody take you, you'll search one of the best albums of this generation. The album artwork goes well with the music, showing adventurous landscapes filled with e vinyl was well packaged and got here on time. On top of Amazon giving me a MP3 ver of the album, the company I bought it from also threw in a code for the album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    My son introduced me to this album. Sinilar to old western ballads with a contemporary sound. I love the lyrics and the melody fits. But the beat is a small repetitious in all the songs. The band needs to break up the beat a small more. But I have more of this group"s melody and I play it often. Lord Huron (Ben Schneider) takes his inspiration from his time living and camping by the lake. Some of the songs are haunting and reminiscent of a kid hood spent in adventuring in this setting. Amazing sound, but the beat is repetitious from song to song. Needs to vary this more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    Had the DVD, it was superb. I Don't blu-rays of films I already own on DVD unless it's something damned magnificent! This, 'Broken Trail' and 'Open Range' create up the magnificent 'trilogy' as Robert Duvall called the three movies. They are not similar (as in sequels), but they all have to do with dangerous, suspenseful and exciting cattle drives in the face of constant danger. I highly recommend all three, though 'Open Range' is unusually expensive on blu-ray. I have no idea if this has to do with whatever company created that movie, however, it's bound to be on sometime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    amazing I bought the record when it first came out in the 1950'sand have always lone the sound..the record has longed passedand when I found this again..JUMPED right on it againLOVE IT !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Interesting in light of Gleason's film "Skidoo". I'm sure there was much more to Gleason than a lot of knew, except maybe Salvador Dali.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I like this group. Heard a couple of cuts on my alternative rock station and decided to create the purchase. I'm glad I did.I first heard "Wait By The River" off their Vide Noir release and was slack-jawed. The rest of the CD was very well done too. The of this release would have been created without hearing any of the tracks based on their latest album. However, after hearing some of the tracks, it was a no-brainer to favorites: Time To Run, The Ghost On the Shore, I Will Be Back One Day and The Man Who Lives Forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    If I could give this 100 stars I would!!! Shoot I'd give it a million stars because this album is absolutely amazing. When I listen to it I feel lile I'm lying in the desert looking up at the millions of stars and it just makes me feel peaceful and satisfied and I would highly recommend Lord Huron! Just obtain it you wont regret it :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    For some reason, a lot of scenes have been removed from the original. I know the story by heart and the missing scenes seen to have something to do with offending the modern sensibilities. There is violence in life. Women have babies in true life. Removing them from this production does not create them go away. I feel like I'm in the nineteen 's still a five star magnificent Pulitzer champion but would not have been if told in this way. Mediocrity does not victory prizes. Unless you live in the modern world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    lost most of my hearing in Vietnam combat.Anyone know if there are other versions with subtitles?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Years ago few people knew the musical genius that Jackie Gleason was....then he became famous and, now again, a lot of years have past which makes Jackie Gleason virtually unknown to our younger generation. I search his melody to be exemplary...a quality that every generation could enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    My first "Lonesome Echo" was a 33 record. Lost long ago somewhere. Some of the best quiet time relaxing melody you'll ever hear. Finding it on a CD was like finding gold. ENJOY.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    Wide-open spaces. A cracked and weathered two-lane highway running through a barren desert. An endless sky filled with glittering stars. The sense of possibility, that anything can happen. The heart-punch of lost love combined with a restless spirit and a determined soul. These are the sights and feelings that this album evokes. As a resident of Phoenix, this feels like a desert album to me, and for this I am endeared to it all the for the sound itself, I can only say that this album is magnificent. It sounds a small bit like two of my favorite albums in particular -- the unbelievable drums call to mind, at times, the tribal drum sound on Paul Simon's Graceland, and the chiming guitar and big-sky feel is reminiscent of Edge's guitar work and Lanois and Eno's production style on U2's The Joshua Tree. This is a huge album filled with familiar ideas presented in a method that can create even the most steadfast soul begin to yearn for a street trip, destination: west. The vocals are high and charmingly rustic, placed behind and quieter than the instrumentation, and there's a hollow sound to the production that makes the songs feel simultaneously huge and airy, yet somehow intimate.I really do search this album hard to describe, but if you're a fan of mid-to-late-80's U2 (Unforgettable Fire through Rattle & Hum), Paul Simon's solo work (Graceland and The Rhythm of the Saints in particular), and/or Mumford & Sons, you will probably have fun Lord Huron, as this group has a small bit of each of these sounds running through this album, but yet doesn't sound like any one of them in for listening to the album on headphones, you will explore just how richly layered the sounds are and how a lot of small notes, tones, and additional rhythms are show that are otherwise slightly lost through speakers; the vocals are a bit better through headphones as well, as some of the hollowness is toned back and the vocals can shine through more clearly.Another reviewer wrote that after a while, all of the songs sound the same. While this isn't untrue, I don't view this as a negative. There's a theme running through the album, and the songs often flow into one other without any pause or break. The consistency of sound serves the fact that this is more or less a concept album, not a collection of singles, and thus should be played all the method through.I'm so glad I discovered this band, and can't wait for their next album, Strange Trails, due out on April 7th, 2015.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dreams []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I first heard the song "Time to Run" on the radio and immediately was hooked. After reading some mixed reviews, I was a small skeptical to the album at first. A common criticism of Lord Huron's sound is it's almost identical to Fleet Foxes'. Although the sound is similar, I search this album to be more accessible and enjoyable than Fleet Foxes' rically, all of the album's songs are nature/wilderness themed. Although there are some nice metaphors, the lyrics are not "deep" by any means. But amazing songs don't require deep lyrics, so who cares! This album is easy but is a amazing listen all the method through. The production value is fantastic; the layers of instruments really add to the nature theme. With every listen, I feel like I'm transported to a simpler time. It makes me wish to go live in a remote wilderness for a few 's refreshing to hear an album like this; for me, it's a nice escape from day to day stress. Fleet Foxes comparisons aside, this is an impressive debut from Lord Huron. I'm excited to see what's next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    This top charting /55 album is re-released by those amazing folks at Collector's Choice melody who seem to have as amazing a taste in melody as we do!This is certainly an album to cherish.Jackie's musical sensibilities were all well grounded in the amazing Amercian Songbook.Who could go wrong there?He would often obtain "unusual" ideas for his next such was the 25 flutes he added for the "Night Winds" albums(also available from Collector's Choice).Another was the addition of 40 mandolins for THIS l 16 tracks of the original album have those lush and vibrant instruments strumming away in a romantic mood only Gleason and his musical cohorts could conjure.Each players was told to dip their picks into water before playing to obtain a further e mandolins,like the flutes,came strictly from Gleasons' furtive imagination.He was always striving to give the public not only the expected but something unexpected,all set within his musical parameters.He succeeded even beyond his own dreams.He touched us then and these tracks still reverberate with us at has to tell you something of the man that was Jackie Gleason,musically and is CD also includes three tracks of unreleased material,and these are more in the vein of his lush strings sound he was so popular for;"After my Laughter came Tears","Can this be Love?" and "Down among the Sheltering Palms".Wonderful additions.And to create the pack complete Collector's Choice contains the original Salvador Dali artwork and liner e CD's sound had been transferred wonderfully and is excellent.What more could you ask for?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Jackie Gleason,is unbelievable with Music.What else can he do?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Echo []  2020-7-20 19:43

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    Remember all those Blockbuster video stores back in the old days? I have to take some of the blame for them disappearing because surely the late fees I on "Lonesome Dove" seriously boosted their profits for at least three months. I simply could not bring it back and I know other people who still watch it on a regular basis even though it's almost 30 years old.If one is not too "format specific" and doesn't mind calling a 6 hour mini series a 'movie" Lonesome Dove is easily the best Western ever created and before the amazing HBO and AMC series' (The Wire, Deadwood, The Sopranos, Breaking Poor etc.) was the highest point tv ever reached. Other reviewers who have written on the high points of tv over the years before streaming video existed beautiful much rst of all, the chemistry between Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones (in by far their greatest performances ever) has to be seen to be believed. If friendship includes an element of love, then this is also one of the greatest love stories of all time, even though there is never the slightest tip of any kind of "romantic" attraction between the two (as in Brokeback Mountain for example). Just as often as not they seem irritated by one another, but I have seen a lot of love affairs between men and women in which that is how they present their love for one another. In any case it is a miracle of the craft of ere must have been some magic going on while this was being filmed because the same sort of chemistry among the supporting cast runs throughout the film as well. Frederick Forrest plays one of the most menacing villains of all time, Diane Lane is absolutely beautiful, tough and vulnerable as the city prostitute (although one wonders how such a lovely woman would wind up in such a situation), Danny Glover delivers his best performance of all time as the humble, kind-to-a fault "Deets" etc. The acting accolades are too numerous to totally recount. Only Robert Urich seems to be slightly miscast as Jake Spoon if you are looking for a portrayal of the hero that is more in line with Larry McMurty's amazing book. Who cares? Not me.Speaking of which: the film is fairly faithful to the book, but takes certain parts of the story and sequences them differently. For once this works out for the better especially when you reach the film's magnificent ending. It really could not possibly have been done better and is guaranteed to bring a lump to your throat and create your hair stand on end, whereas the ending of the book is somewhat anti climactic. As a matter of fact, as amazing of an author as Larry McMurtry is it is generally conceded among fans of "The Western" that the mini series is far better than the book, which is far more about things winding down (entropy) and becomes very flat in a lot of that such a long time has passed since its original broadcast I know there are a lot of people out there now who love the Western genre who have never seen Lonesome Dove or perhaps have never even heard of it. I don't wish to spoil it for them by describing the plot in any more detail. Suffice it to say that if you are into making "5 best lists" you are going to have to redo most of them after watching starts a small slow and takes its time unfolding but even though I consider myself to be a beautiful hard core Texan who wears cowboy boots and a cowboy hat most days I couldn't create it to work after having created the mistake of watching the fourth and final episode before I went to bed the first time I saw the series. You will know why when you watch it.And do watch it. It is still the greatest Western of all time and one of the most stunning "movies" ever created in any genre. Watch out though; the level of tragedy and real pathos rises to about as high a level as it can obtain during the 3rd and 4th episodes. If you miss work or school because they hit you too hard obtain in touch and I'll write a letter to your boss or teacher. My sister, for example, can't watch it because it hits her TOO hard.I should add that the audio and video quality of the Amazon streaming ver are absolutely superb and of far, far higher quality than the VHS ver of Lonesome Dove that got me addicted to this work of high, high art in the first place.I would give it 7 stars if I could because I doubt if anybody will ever be able to recreate the magic that Lonesome Dove contains.Absolutely magnificent! I don't plan on getting stranded on a desert island anytime soon, but if I was I would wish "Lonesome Dove," "The Wire" and "Breaking Bad"with me above anything else that has ever been filmed. That ought to give you some idea of the quality of this amazing American Masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome Dove []  2020-7-14 19:56

    This heavily edited ver was a sorry disappointment. Whole sections of the original are chopped out. There is no Wilbarger, Deputy Roscoe losing his virginity is cut. Spoon's horse thieving companions cussing Deets as he settles the nooses around their necks. Stage after stage is missing. I wrote about this show, when it came out and had the original VCRs to work with. I bought this DVD as I don't have any method to play my tapes. What a allow down. Most the blood and violence are there. Lots of the charm and wit is gone. However, since it is Lonesome Dove, a Pulitzer Prize winning masterpiece of a novel and a brilliantly acted and produced TV event, this DVD is probably better than anything else you could watch on any given evening in any given year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    Those who like traditional music, and don't mind musicians using this as a basis for their fresh compositions will wish to jump on the CD - the creme de la creme of musicians trying out fresh - and delightful - territory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Waltz []  2020-1-28 1:19

    John Mauceri has devoted his life to recording and preserving the American art forms of the Broadway musical and the Hollywood movie score. Coming out of Yale's melody department in the Sixties, he has conducted most of the worlds popular orchestras. He has also conducted at a lot of of the world's amazing opera houses including the Met and La Scala and was the only American to become melody director of an opera company in the United Kingdom and Italy. He was Leonard Bernstein's assistant for opera for eighteen years.He is also a noted musicologist and scholar and was Chancellor of the University of North Carolina School of the Arts as well as teaching at Yale. He has been a winner of researching and restoring historical performing practices before they are lost. He recorded the previously unrecorded complete Gershwin musicals Girl Crazy and Strike Up the Band as well as the Rodgers and Hart musical On Your Toes, in the latter case bringing in some of the people who had worked on the original 1936 show. He led a reassessment of Kurt Weill's American works and performed them in Fresh York and Berlin as well as making a series of Weill's melody with Ute 1991 the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association recreated the Hollywood Bowl Orchestra for him, which had not existed for forty years. He created it a amazing orchestra able to perform virtually any kind of music. This led to his Hollywood Bowl Orchestra series of recordings of movie and scene melody for Philips, of which this is an example. It's 75 mins of pure charm, excitement and pleasure, all in 3/4 time. Most are from Hollywood and Broadway but he also contains a suite of waltzes from Richard Strauss' Der Rosenkavalier, Prokofiev's ballet Cinderella and Ravel's La Valse, three works that greatly influenced the style, tonality and orchestration of the later ere's every kind of mood in these waltzes from the boisterous Murder on the Orient Express with its train-like opening, to the carousel style waltz from A Small Night Melody and the big, dark minor chords of Prokofiev's Cinderella waltz and the small cafe waltz from Hotel Berlin. The Johann Strauss waltzes are presented in their movie orchestrations instead of the original, making them sound less familiar. If you remember the movies you will easily picture the smashing of the windows at the end of the Madame Bovary ball sequence or Bette Davis in Jezebel waltzing in her scandalous red l in all an perfect disc whether you're interested in movies or not, and though the classical melody is frequently recorded you don't search the Broadway present waltzes outside of Cast albums and the movie melody here is very rare indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    I've always been a fan of Tag O'Connor and Yo-yo Ma, and when I first discovered this album, I couldn't wait to obtain it. Working with bassist Edgar Meyer, the men made a beautiful, lilting album that salutes the best of what instrumental folk melody can be--and elevating it beyond that "bluegrass jugband" stigma.A classical album that promises to be nothing more than a shining example of virtuoso playing by three wonderful musicians, "Appalachia Waltz" leaves very small to be desired--it is that good. My only want is for a few more selections like the title track--quiet and contemplative songs that evoke warm nights on front porches. The majorityh of the selections are upbeat "reel-like" stefully played, but with not quite enough moments to relax between the exciting parts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sinister Waltz []  2020-1-16 22:43

    First off, allow me say that this CD is really only for seasoned Fall fans, not as a first en allow me say that liner notes with dates and locations are painfully absent and are why I cannot rate this any at said, the melody contained here is really 5 star. Not every track, but as an odds and ends collection this ranks right up there. Perfect takes on 'Telephone Thing', 'Couldn't Obtain Ahead' and 'Chicago, Now!' more than create this important listening.If you love The Fall, this belongs in your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    If you think this is just another collection of roots music, remakes of folk standards, you would be wrong. This is innovative stuff. Meyer's bass playing is wonderful, stretching limits and crossing the boundaries between classical and folk. The three musicians make such textures and rhythms with their playing, you would swear there was a rhythm track behind them until you realize, it is just a bass, a cello, and a fiddle (for most songs). What's more, I personally have always felt that the traditional string quartet--2 violins, 1 viola, and 1 cello--is too massive on the treble side of the scale. The combo on this album is much more my style--more bass and deep, resonant tones. Beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    What can I say except -Yo Yo MA at his best or certainly one of his all time amazing efforts. It's not so much the difficulty of the melody but his every day, all the time amazing effort to excel and work with others to produce amazing music. Joy to listen to and all that items he probably gets tired of hearing. Maybe just a easy thank you from an average Joe and stay inspired!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    I love everything by Yo-Yo Ma. This is fun Appalachian music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Waltz []  2020-1-28 1:19

    Very amazing selection! Like particulary the fabulous and almost unknown Waxman's Valse Café!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    Although classical melody evolved from folk melody a lot of centuries ago, it is so far removed from its ancestor now that the idea of bringing the two together seems incredible. This album achieves that, blending folk melody (of the Celtic variety) with classical melody to produce something that traditionalists will be horrified at, but which those of us with broad minds can appreciate.Yo-Yo Ma (cello) and Edgar Meyer (double bass) were already established classical musicians when they teamed up with Tag O'Connor. Mark's background was very various from theirs - he grew up with an interest in Texas fiddle music, later becoming a top Nashville session musician. Mark's name could be found in the list of credits of hundreds of country melody albums released in the eighties. Such was his reputation that Tag could have spent the rest of his working life making a amazing living that way, but he wanted to create an impact with his own music. He certainly achieved that with this album, where he usually plays the fiddle but he plays the violin (same instrument with a various playing technique) on two tracks and the mandolin (different instrument) on is album is entirely instrumental (the sequel, Appalachian journey, which I've already reviewed, includes some vocals provided by guest singers) and the tunes are either traditional (usually of Irish origin) or composed by members of the e melody on this album and Appalachian journey is very various from anything else I've come across. Of the two, I slightly prefer Appalachian journey, but that may be because it has more of a country influence. Nevertheless, both of them are masterpieces that have a unique put in my CD collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appalachia Waltz []  2020-1-17 1:27

    I love this cd!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Great Waltz []  2020-1-28 1:19

    Do you wish a disc that will provide you with 73+ mins of hypnotic melody for romance, or background melody while reading a amazing frivolous book? Here's the Hollywood Bowl under John Mauceri bringing lovely, smart renderings of waltes from different corners of the realm. Sondheim's "Night Waltzes" from ":A Small Night Music" are so Fifth Avenue. Move on to Paris with waltzes from "Gigi", the to Moscow with the dark velvet "Waltz" from Cinderella by Prokofiev. "La Valse" by Ravel is a grand, sweeping evocative waltz that feels like a soak in the tub with lavendar and candles, and the "Waltz" from "Candide" also sparkles with Bernstein's Broadway. Other waltes in the mix are the sultry "Waltz" from "Murder on the Orient Express" by Richard Rodney Bennett, the plaintive "Waltz" from the score of "Madame Bovary" by Miklos Rozsa. Other waltzes are deliciously selected from "The Prince and the Pauper", "The Snows of Kilimanjaro" , "Jezebel", and several by the Strauss family, noted for their swirling melody in three-quarter is is a lovely collection of music, most of which hasn't hit Muzak, or the automated radio stations. It's marked with individuality and love. You may not immediately know these pieces, but you'll feel unbelievable under the spell of their overall expressions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Awesome album from one of the greatest of all time. Album was in amazing condition with no scratches and the wear you would expect on the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    Amazing book. It’s a book of short stories with a lot of feminist metaphors. Interesting read. I’m glad I purchased and read it. Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    These are definitely not excellent stories, but they are stories I'm going to reread and I've been thinking about since I finished this. It was just the excellent amount of surrealism for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    The stories are at times bizarre, but in such a amazing way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    if you love "old time" melody this is it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    This group consists of highly skilled musicians. Their first CD, the eponymous "Old and in the Way," so impressed me, I was anxious to obtain my hands on what followed. While not quite as amazing as the first CD, it is still very good, and I recommend it to all bluegrass fans. I had never heard Jerry Garcia on banjo, and had no idea of how amazing he was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    I watched Lonesome Dove latest weekend during the 25th anniversary re-broadcast. It was, quite simply, the most awesome western I have ever seen. I rented Return to Lonesome Dove to see if it would respond a lot of begin questions such as what happened to Laurie, will Call ever tell Newt he is his father, will July and Clara obtain together etc. Well, it did respond all of those questions, but it left more than it answered. The largest issue I have with the series is how on earth did all these people know each other spread over such a large country? Oh well, that aside it was a pleasing sequel and the acting was top notch. I am not normally a Barbara Hershey fan and was disappointed she took over Angelica Houston's role but she quickly won me over. Oliver Reed stole this film in my opinion as best actor in the cast. Newt and the squad were all outstanding in their return performances but Rick Schroeder really shined! Reese Witherspoon was cute & charming but hardly believable in her role. The one I couldn't obtain past though, was Jon Voight as Call. Just didn't have that square set jaw, stubborn, deep in thought look that Tommy Lee Jones pulled off so well. He spent most of the film looking like if someone yelled "boo" he would burst into tears. The violence was toned down considerably in this ver as was the "poke" references though they did surface from time to time. I am looking forward to Roads of Laredo to see how on earth Pea Eye and Laurie end up together because that one really requires some mind-stretching but all-in-all I was happy with this sequel to the greatest western ever made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    It took me a very long time to obtain through this collection of short stories. I found myself reading and nodding my head and saying "Uh huh...ok...uh huh...right...huh...what?" The stories were ridiculous. There was no point to any of them with the possible exception of "An Exotic Marriage" which won the Akutagawa Prize for best Japanese literature in 2016. Must've been a slow year for Japanese literature. The only redeeming quality on that story is that for 90% of the narrative, the characters are actually relatable, with some direction and some hero development (it's also the longest story in the collection). I still had to stop and start re-reading it 3 times before I forced myself to [email protected]#$%!. The other stories are entirely forgettable. Reading them is like listening to someone describe a dream that makes literally no sense - it's boring and pointless. This collection can't keep a candle to those of other Japanese short story authors like Yoko Ogawa and Ryu Murakami and Sayaka Murata or even Banana Yoshimoto or Murakami. Very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    I’ve caught a bit of Motoya’s work in a few English-language literary journals and was thrilled to see she had an entire story collection place out by the venerable Soft Skull Press. These stories are like small else I’ve read and take you to strange locations with surprisingly realistic characters inhabiting the pages. I can’t recommend The Lonesome Bodybuilder enough. It’s one of the freshest takes in fiction I’ve come across in ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    The namesake story was quite good, but all the rest were obscure and allegorical. Maybe this would be a amazing book for a class in symbolism, but as interesting, entertaining short stories go, this was a waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    My husband really likes this album and cannot search it online anywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    I do not listen to T his kind of melody all the time but I loved the first album had it for years so when I found out about the other two I had to them right I ordered #2 and it was just as amazing as the first one now I will the third does not obtain much better than ese guys are umbs up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    Return to Lonesome Dove This DVD is simple to confuse with DVDs saying that they are the full film but are not. I had to this title 3 times before I got the full 2-disc DVD of the original movie. Amazing action and a fine cast Peterson stands out and Jon does a decent job as Woodrow. Nia Peeples is a amazing addition to the cast and Louis Gossett Jr is always welcome in any genre of movie. You won't be disappointed with this one and I also suggest "Comanche Moon",,,,Gus and Woodrow when they were just starting out as Rangers and the questions about Maggie, Newt's mother are answered. Enjoy, I do again and again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    It's beautiful obvious early on that this ain't Larry McMurtry! The quality of the story line in this continuation of the "Lonesome Dove" saga just does not match the original. Plus it does not have a amazing hero to replace Augustus "Gus" McCrae...Gideon Walker is no Gus McCrae; and though William Peterson is a fine actor, he's no Robert Duvall. Tommy Lee Jones is also missed as Captain Woodrow Call; though Jon Voight's performance in the role is almost on a par w/Jones. Barbara Hershey is magnificent as Clara Allen and in my opinion stole the hero away from Angelica Houston, who I thought was miscast in the first place. It was also amazing to see Rick Schroder back as Newt; as well as Chris Cooper as July Johnson and Tim Scott as the quintessential cowboy, Pea Eye Parker. Lou Gossett is amazing in the Deets-like role of Isom Pickett; and Dennis Haysbert is phenomenal as the Blue Duck-like character, Cherokee Jack Jackson. The balance of the casting is also quite good, including a 17 year old Reese Witherspoon, the kid bride of villainous rancher Gregor Dunnigan (Oliver Reed) and love interest of Newt. While not an outstanding Western saga like, "Lonesome Dove", this TV miniseries is a fine Western, with stunning scenery and cinematography. As the plot develops, Captain Call has just buried Gus at Lonesome Dove and plans to head back to his ranch in Montana, where he has left Newt in charge. Looking at a herd of wild Mustangs, he decides to drive them north with the support of Isom Pickett and Gideon Walker. Call leaves the drive for Nebraska to meet with Clara Parker and runs into Cherokee Jack and a group of Indians, which almost costs him his life. That will set the stage...if you're a "Lonesome Dove" fan this is a must-see...if you're a fan of the Western genre, you'll wish to see it too...it's a amazing one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    a amazing loss and a amazing talent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    Purchased back in Nov. 2012, I've really enjoyed this music. A amazing blues / folk / ragtime band. A few of my favorite songs are - A long method from home, Shake it break it, Until my love comes home, Has my gal been here, Beer truck rag, Louisiana fairytale, So sweet and I'll be rested. Well, I could've at this point said the entire CD is simply great. Hope you have fun this melody as much as I have. Have a amazing day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    If Downbeat magazine had a category for best Washboard playing, it would be aced by Rick " Cooking " Sherry of Devil In a Woodpile. Although these guys need to write some more original material they generate a lot of amazing time melody and the playing is super fine . Tuba Player Gary Shepers and Tom Ray are a potent rhythm section behind fresh National guitarist Joel Paterson and quadruple threat Rick Sherry on vocals , washboard , harp and clarinet. This is the 3rd album and has a cool studio in the round sound that is lively . Nice cover image , don't you want they played in your city every Tuesday night ?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waltz in Time []  2020-1-30 23:6

    Very entertaining read. The synopsis has been done in other reviews, although I do not understand why one person said she didn't like the character - I liked him very much. Yes, he's indulgent with his children, but bear in mind this is a man who did not truly love his first wife, the mother of the children, so he feels guilt (and this can often be how it works out in true life), plus he loves the kids and their pranks are harmless enough and they act like true kids act. Clever twist with the heroine believing she's helping the governess/housekeeper/relative when, in fact, she's got it all wrong. And the minister's off-her-rocker mother provided some true laughs. Very imaginative to have a hero water the flowers on someone's hat. Cracked me up. Felt all the characters were well defined and differentiated, including the minor hero of the minister's mother, who was deftly drawn with small exposition but by her revelatory actions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waltz in Time []  2020-1-30 23:6

    Truly captivating love story. I have cried, laughed and enjoyed reading this book. Love everything about this book and was mesmerized reading every page until the end. Feel in love with Andre myself. Lol!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic of the Waltz []  2020-1-23 3:4

    Just Beautiful. I place this in the vehicle and it seems that I always obtain where I am going to quickly. This is the excellence of Rieu and his ability to take you to a ballroom and see yourself dancing across the floor (not in the vehicle of course).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic of the Waltz []  2020-1-23 3:4

    Love his music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    Amazing album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    Its this Rootsy, country, folk sound with other instruments in the mix.I'm not buying it........oops I did, I want I hadn't.I read the reviews and it sounded beautiful amazing but to my dismay it was far from ybe they required support mixing it in the studio?! the vocals stick out like a sore thumb, maybe thats what they were going for but it doesn't arently they're amazing live, I'd cover to see them but would not anymore on a CD.I do like the ability to use a clarinet, tuba, kazoo and a s there's the Broonzy and Charlie Patten covers but they're nothing stellar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    I don't know if the translation had anything to do with it, but the stories gradually turned dull and incomprehensible. I've read my fair share of magical realism, but these stories seemed underdeveloped and at times forced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    After watching this film,I truly believe that it's on a "par" with the first original "Lonesome Dove"! The acting was suberb,with unique stand-out's,Jon Voight,Barbara Hershey,Oliver Reed,Rick Shroeder and the gentleman who played "Pete" If any one noticed that each and every time Pete would be talking to a woman,he would take his hat off and "bow his head" out of repect! Attractive scenery(again),they also repeated the fact that in both "Lonesome Dove's" they had a black man play the "tracker",Danny Glover in "Lonesome Dove",and Lou Gossett,Jr,in "Return To Lonesome Dove".5 thumbs up for this one!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    It’s amazing and all, but Jon Voight is hugely miscast as Woodrow Call. The rest of the cast is good. Also, the story is a downgrade form the epic ness of the first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    I first bought this 'album' on 8-track and wore it out. Then I played it a wealth of times on vinyl at home and cassettes in the car. After listening to this CD in several times on a long trip; I am still blown away by just how amazing he was from his early days on. The title chop and 'You Can Have Her' are classics but the entire album highlights his ability to take other songwriter's songs and create them part of him. Not a weak track on the disc. I especially search this real in his renditions of 'Me and Bobby McGee' and 'Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues'. RIP Waylon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Amazing condition, and very amazing cd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    What more needs to be said with the cast of characters represented here. True tight bluegrass with a band that just happened. Sounds like they were playing forever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    Bought it for my husband as a gift. He enjoys this melody so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Moonlight []  2019-12-26 19:0

    I love Jenn Bennett’s stories. They are always so amazing and rich and have the best characters. All her characters have such personalities and back stories. None of them are excellent and they are all so unique. Serious Moonlight is just another amazing addition to her young adult contemporary romance books. I absolutely adored Birdie and Daniel. Birdie loves mysteries and when Daniel presents her one at her fresh job she can’t resist. The only problem? Daniel and her already met and she left things beautiful awkward between them. But, like Daniel says, “fate finds a way.” They take a leap of faith and pursue the mystery while they search themselves becoming mates and then falling in love. Their romance is sweet and awkward and adorable. But what I love about both of them most are their pasts and who they are. Neither are perfect. They have their secrets and fears and we obtain to see them lower their defenses and begin up to one another as they test to move forward. Really loved this book. If you loved her other books, then this one will not disappoint. Jenn Bennett’s writing is unbelievable and I always search myself picking the book up and not putting it back down until I’m finished.I received an ARC for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Moonlight []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Almost like a story in reverse, this is quirky, heartfelt and ends with much satisfaction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Moonlight []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Glad that the product was safe and delivered on time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Period!Order will not be allow down!A treasure indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonesome, On'ry and Mean []  2020-1-16 23:30

    GREAT ALBUM, A TRUE LANDMARK ACCOMPLISHMENT, IT'S HARD TO BELIEVE THAT 1973 WAS THAT LONG AGO. WONDERFUL WORK BY A GREAT ARTIST, WHAT A SHAME TO HAVE LOAT HIM AT SUCH A YOUNG AGE. THEN AGAIN IF HE WOULD HAVE KEPT HIS AEAT ON THAT PLANE!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    This is my favorite release from this band. This cd hits all the marks. It includes the band's renditions of all time amazing folk/ blues players (Big Bill Broonzy, Casey Bill Weldon, & Sonny Boy Williamson), but also includes an wonderful ver of Led Zeppelin's Bron-y-aur Stomp, and material of their own. They are a very talented group with a distinctive sound. This is a definite one to add to your library!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    I stumbled over Devil In A Woodpile in Chicago when these guys played before the Asylum Road Spankers latest November. The style of both groups has some similarity: Mostly accoustic instruments, no or very small use of demon electricity and a amazing sense of Your Lonesome City captures their live act very nicely. Sherry's unique style of singing is fun to listen to. He uses his organ with a rythm, almost as if he tries to imitate a drum set. The only thing I hoped would be more prominent is the tuba. The instrument was an essential part of the concert I attended. It is heard on the CD but somehow a bit burried in the mix. But this is only a minor drawback. I love to listen to this CD in the car. Upbeat and amazing to sing a long. Highly reccommended for anybody who likes Bar Blues and doesn't mind some Swing and Jug Band influence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Your Lonesome Town []  2020-1-17 5:12

    This group is very musical. Found this listening to Pandora via Leon Redbone. Very very good. Makes me happy. These guys slippin' slide'n creat'n. Glad i bought it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    What a band!Jerry Garcia on banjo /// and then Vassar (fiddle), Grisman (mandolin) and Rowan (guitar). A+ ere were two sessions recorded: Oct 1 (2 CDs) and Oct 7 (2 CDs) in 1973. The Oct 7 session is much better, those songs were culled into a CD known as "Old & In the Way." That was the best bluegrass CD of all time, until "Wherefore Art Thou oh Brother" came along (no Schiit). All four of those CDs are available in a pack that's called "Live at the Boarding House" by Old & In the is CD is only a compilation of a few songs ... that didn't create the first cut. FYI any case, the band sounds amazing (perhaps a bit stoned but hey, you know).Happy Listening,RCBinTN

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    I did not watch Lonesome Dove when it was on TV ages ago, but I kept hearing about it and got this. These DVDs are amazing quality and the present is a must-see for anyone who likes the classic old West, Westerns, history, realism, and amazing characters. It is full of grit, history, humor, sadness, you name it. The casting and stars are top notch and really create this present amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Lonesome Dove []  2020-1-25 21:44

    The relationships that occur among the various cultures in the wilderness and among pioneers. Nia Peeples did one of her best acting in this movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    Unbelievable collection of surreal feminist stories. I definitely need to reread these. Motoya's stories discover marriage, gender and power, and domestic life, allowing the dreamy and nightmarish to unfold while maintaining a perfectly quotidian tone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lonesome Bodybuilder: Stories []  2020-2-6 20:56

    Amateur effort at best. Reads like the stories were written in an afternoon. Small in the method of art or substance. While dreamy for sure, comparing to Murakami is inappropriate. Even the title story, which starts off well, ends up flat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Moonlight []  2019-12-26 19:0

    I just love Jenn Bennett's YA romances, and this recent one was just as unbelievable as the rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Moonlight []  2020-1-19 0:3

    This is a unbelievable recording. Discovered this a lot of years ago when a local band at a (closed) bar called Stockman's in Rockaway NJ covered it. Glad I found this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MoonLight Kwgt [App]  2020-7-31 21:38

    Attractive widgets to create your homescreen setup look awesome. All widgets beautifully designed. A must have package in your collection of widgets. Kudos to the developer. Hold up the amazing work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MoonLight Kwgt [App]  2020-7-31 21:38

    The best ever application for widgets. Widgets lovers must have it. Beautifully and differently designed widgets with individual focus on each. Loving it. Total worth of money. Kudos.🙏❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MoonLight Kwgt [App]  2020-7-31 21:38

    A nice, wide dozens of widgets.. Really loved the colourful widgets.. Amazing stuff.. 🙌🏻

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Moonlight []  2019-12-26 19:0

    In the words of my fourteen year old: "it isn't 'Alex, Approximately', but it was good!"The books were boxed for added protection -- which I love -- and arrived quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Moonlight []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Serious Moonlight is told through the POV of Birdie, who is an 18 year old girl who had an interesting rdie was raised by her mother (who was a teen mom) until she was 10. And then she was raised by her incredibly strict grandmother who homeschooled her and kept close tabs on her until she passed away. She's totally into solving mysteries and loves mystery books and lets her imagination run wild. So, here's where I'm having a hard time. Because Birdie is this basically reclusive teenager, and she ends up having a one night stand with a guy. I hold thinking, "Ok maybe these things can happen" but the more I learned about Birdie's cautious character, the harder time I had believing this scenario.And, of course, the boy in question is now Birdie's co-worker. The awkwardness was so tangible during the beginning scenes with the two of them trying to navigate conversations and how to handle suddenly being around each other.I did like Daniel a lot. He's a magician and I thought he was super nerdy cool. He's also awkward and trying to figure himself out as well.Daniel and Birdie end up working together to solve a mystery regarding a person in the hotel, and along the method they go on some whacky adventures (like venturing into this person's yard?). And when they finally solved the mystery, it was a twist I didn't see coming at first, so I definitely enjoyed at said, hands down my favorite hero in the story is Mona. Mona is wild and outrageous and I just absolutely loved her. She had very frank conversations with Birdie that I think are really necessary to have, and I loved the positivity. And speaking of positivity, I appreciated that this book touched on like it did. It was simultaneously awkward and realistic and I appreciated how it was portrayed. There's are other elements in this story that could be triggering, such as depression and suicide. And I thought these subjects were handled well in this story.Overall, I did have fun this read.I received this book for in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That High Lonesome Sound []  2020-1-31 9:46

    As a huge fan of Grateful Dead and of Jerry Garcia's generally, I was given a amazing opportunity to explore these relatively unknown, but certainly brilliant Bluegrass releases.I had long been curious of Bluegrass, but required direction and given my Garcia-opened mind, I instantly felt at home with Breakdown: Original Live Recordings 1973 Vol. II which is really just a perfectly consistent continuation on the top of this, the first volume of precious live material from this profoundly charming ssar Clements' Violin work is so stimulating to the ear that it is simple to identify him as the star in this ensemble of stars. But clearly there is something wrong with that statement, because it is the work of an ensemble- and in the best sense of the word: everyone is adding more to the whole than their individual expression alone. So as has been said, it is rather related to the feel of amazing Jazz and of course the collective magic of Grateful Dead. Jerry Garcia's Banjo is very nice, but this grouping is definitely not dependent on his legacy alone; Peter Rowan's singing is smooth, passionate and humble, his high notes, along with the harmony from Garcia and Grisman, real to the roots of Bluegrass; John Kahn's stand-up Bass is a thing of amazing subtlety yet power; David Grisman's Mandolin is accomplished; Rowan's acoustic Guitar glues the sound together like Bob Weir in The Dead and Vassar's Violin work is phenomenal. I've just never been so happy by that instrument before.I think there is enough magic in these releases to hold my Bluegrass interests occupied for a lot of years. Awesome melody and beautifully recorded by the late Owsley Stanley.Highly recommended.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386