Read lost music of fernando sor reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all lost music of fernando sor reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solfeggio Frequencies 432 Hz Music [Meditation, Science]  2020-5-24 18:10
    [email protected]

    Amazing day to all! An interesting topic, although not always obvious. I think to for the experiment several subjects from this website What do you think?

    0  


    Add your opinion on lost music of fernando sor or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spank!: The Art of Fernando Caretta []  2020-1-29 17:9

    Very sexy and humorous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spank!: The Art of Fernando Caretta []  2020-1-29 17:9

    Woah! These small vixens are so seductive. I immediately ordered more Caretta after looking this over (several times).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spank!: The Art of Fernando Caretta []  2020-1-29 17:9

    gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spank!: The Art of Fernando Caretta []  2020-1-29 17:9

    The cover provides a very amazing idea of what to expect inside - a lot of young vixens showing off what their artist gave them. The guys all look goofy and the girls look hot. I am not a fan of the strange blotchy shading on some faces or the short punk-cut hair some of the girls sport but those are minor quibbles. The artist has a fluid line quality that adds to the appeal of his sexy subjects. Worth checking out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spank!: The Art of Fernando Caretta []  2020-1-29 17:9

    A amazing collection of a amazing artist most photos in black and white but I didn’t mind

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    This is a fine performance of some attractive Old Globe Jewish melodies. As the very complete liner notes explain, most Eastern European musicians in the pre-Holocaust globe knew both Jewish and non-Jewish music, because they would play at all kinds of happenings for both communities. Sadly, the Jewish musicians who played this melody perished in the Holocaust, but the melody was remembered by non-Jewish musicians and later collected. Hence the reference to "lost" music. However, some of it is not really as "lost" as the notes imply. For example, "Ani Maamin" is well-known among Jews in the USA and is almost always sung at Holocaust Remembrance Day services. The words (not sung here -- the CD is instrumental) are from Maimonides (12th century) and the tune is attributed to the Breslover Hasidim, whose 18th-century Rebbe, Nachman of Breslov, taught them never to despair under any circumstances. Because of this theme, the tune later became famous in the concentration camps and among the resistance fighters. Hence the current association with the ere are other pieces on this CD that I've heard at Jewish weddings, long before this CD came out. In short, the melody may have been lost in Eastern Europe, but much of it had already crossed the Atlantic before the Holocaust. I found myself wondering if the ethnographers who collected this were familiar with the American Jewish community. Nevertheless, what makes this CD unique is the performance itself, which is based on the Hungarian/gypsy style, rather than the "Americanized" versions. It's definitely worth buying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    Both of the previous reviewers have said some real and some false garding what Cinkapanna said: Yes, the word "Maramaros" is Hungarian, but not the region which it designates, which is, and was inhabited by Romanians. Although under Hungarian military and political rule until WW1, Maramures (NW part of Transylvania), was inhabited by Romanians for the most part. Nowadays there are some 72% Romanians and 20% Hungarians in Maramures. The figures were largely related immediately after WW1, according to censuses of that ing said that, it is no wonder that there _are_ undeniable Romanian melody influences here.And no, the melody does not have Hungarian roots, it has of course Jewish roots, and Romanian influences. I can't tell, however, if it also includes some Hungarian elements.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    Small I can add the the perfect reviews already offered here below. One thing, There are two vocal performances. I have the lyrics to Rooster Is Crowing, but the other I do not. Although it is apparently in Hebrew, the pronunciation is so idiosyncratic I can't create out the words, nor can any of my Jewish friends, including one who is Israeli. The issue could be Ms. Sebestye'n but I doubt it. Her teacher is perhaps not Jewish, or else this is correctly pronounced but in a very distinctive and powerful Transylvanian accent. In any case I need help. If the text is taken from a prayer, you could simply refer me as I read Hebrew just fine. Otherwise I would appreciate any help. The performance is so unbelievable I really would like to know what she is singing. By the method I can certainly present my appreciation in like fashion. I have lyrics to all Muzsikas recordings in Hungarian and to most in English as well and would be glad to share.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    When you first hear the first notes of Maramaros, The Lost Jewish Melody of Transylvania, you are in for in for some treat. This is no ordinary klezmer music. The album features Hungarian Jewish melody once thought lost, but reconstructed here with the support of material collected in the 1940's, and from two Hungarian Gypsy musicians familiar with this h Gheorghe Covaci, lead violinist of Farkasrev, and Arpad Toni, a virtuoso cimbalom player, played for Jews before the War. They are featured on this album leading most of the songs accompanied by Muszicas on bass, guitar, and violin. The performances are perfect throughout the album. Most are instrumental pieces, with the exception of two, and Marta Sebestyen provides vocals on e liner notes for this CD were written by Judit Frigyesi, and are very informative containing history, private anecdotes, and a very technical section on Jewish melody theory. If you like Hungarian folk music, "old-time" klezmer, and/or are curious about an aspect of Hungarian/Romanian Jewish melody and culture that has disappeared since Globe Battle II and Communism, then this album comes highly recommended. rkchin. [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    I found this CD absolutely enchanting. It is not the usual 'commercial' Klezmer melody that can be heard everywhere, but a unbelievable fusion of traditional Jewish and Hungarian/Gipsy folk. The melodies are both attractive and subtle, and the voice of Marta Sebestyen on two tracks is unforgettable. The accompanying notes are a amazing plus. If this group comes to the UK, I'll be there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    If you like this sort of music, which I do, you will love this. I got a copy for myself from a second hand store, and liked it so much I ordered a fresh copy for a mate in TX. She loves it, too!! She has bought other albums, too, since receiving this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    I was disappointed because there is very small singing (only on two tracks), the rest is dance music, which - well, you know can obtain a small repetitive. Not something one would listen to while doing the housework. Probably very interesting for ethnomusicologists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    The tragic story behind this record is that the recordings are mostly by two gypsy performers who once performed for the Jewish community; the original Jewish instrumental musicians died in the Holocaust. But the selections are interesting, and also some Transylvanian melodies as well, plus a amazing number by Muzsikas itself. Very complete notes are a true asset. You're likely to like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    I refer mainly to the technique and musicality of the players. The atonality, the nuances, the striking of the bows stay with me.I feel a sense of put and close to the melody through this impeccable recording. I look forward to sending this CD to some of my mates . One little change I would have created though, I would have concluded it on a livelier note. Actually not... I agree, bitter sweet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maramaros: The Lost Jewish Music of Transylvania []  2020-2-2 20:48

    This is the closest we can obtain to musical archaeology. The Muzsikas Ensemble did a marvelous work, researching the remnants of a dead culture. But, even if you consider its musical quality only, this record still stands on highest ground. The music, rhythm, the voice of Marta Sebestyen... This is the kind of CD you'll like the first time you hear. I do highly recommend it.(And yes, the theme of 'The English Patient' is there also. It is an old Yiddish prayer).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    If you're not a theater-phile, you might not be aware of Bertolt Brecht's work; however, his musical muse, Kurt Weill, has inspired musicians from all locations of melody - the most latest example is the resurgence of cabaret melody led by the Dresden Dolls. This is an awesome compilation produced by the same man who latest year brought us the melody of pirate shanties called "Rogues Gallery". Sting (before he did his own scene ver of Three Penny Opera) singing Mack the Knife, Lou Reed singing September Song, Marianne Faithful, Chris Spedding, Aaron Neville- even Weill's beloved Lotte Lenya, they're all here. Its a amazing pop-y modernize of this timeless music. Sometimes difficult to obtain a keep of, I've gone through the cassette, album and now finally have the cd...enjoy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    I loved this when it was first issued. It is still good, but not great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    Nearly every track on this CD (which contains material left off the original 1985 release) is a gem -- even if some are slightly more precious than ing's take on "Moritat/Mack the Knife" is deliberately low-key and affectless, a lovely antidote (at the time, and even now) to the jokey, albeit entertaining big-band renderings of Louis Armstrong and Bobby Darin.Lou Reed's "September Song" is an utter delight, as the personification of late 20th-century underworld Fresh York does this set piece from *Knickerbocker Holiday*. Reed's instrumentation echoes John Lennon's latest recordings (like the ironically titled "Starting Over") and adds some Stax-Volt-style horns, while his wonderfully world-weary delivery of Maxwell Anderson's cynical *and* sentimental lyrics steals the show.Other amazing vocal performances are contributed by Stanard Ridgway from Wall of Voodoo, Richard Butler of the Psychedelic Furs (a splendid "Alabama Song/Whiskey Bar"), Marianne Faithful, Tom Waits, Aaron Neville, and a heart-breaking turn by Dagmar Krause on Weill's excellent subversion of the torch song, "Surabaya Johnny."Fine arrangements are supplied by members of the Armadillo String Quartet, who ably discover the minor-key sonorities of the "Youkali Tango"; by Van Dyke Parks, whose music-box renderings of selections from "Johnny Johnson" are both oddly fitting and oddly moving; by John Zorn, who applies his distinctive search-and-destroy, acid jazz approach to "The Small Lieutenant of the Loving God"; by Carla Bley, who lets Phil Woods blow incandescent alto sax on the title track; and by Sharon Freeman, who provides an admirable -- both witty and heartfelt -- showcase for Charlie Haden on lead bass for "Speak Low."I have to confess that Todd Rundgren's ver of Macheath's "Call from the Grave" (from *The Threepenny Opera*) disappointed me at first hearing and still does, nearly two decades later: he did this kind of hard rock translation much better with Gilbert and Sullivan's "The Lord Chancellor's Nightmare Song" on one of his own albums and recycles here a lot of of the same techniques and effects. It's still fun, but doesn't supply the punch one expects at this late scene of the proceedings.I don't know whether Weill would "approve" of all these interpretations, but I think his own eclectic sensibilities -- and his embrace of a wide range of famous and mass-market musical forms -- keep fitting tribute on this CD. One minor cavil: the liner notes could be a small more informative about these recordings. One major plaudit: it's magnificent to have these songs well-engineered in CD format; my 1980s-era cassette had been played to death.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    Believe in me, ear this cd, the musics and the words are superior! MUST HAVE!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    Totally worthwhile for a Weill fan, a fine treatment of most of the material by a amazing cast of musicians, assembled by the producer Hal Wilner. Which you like the most would depend, I suppose, on your level of commitment vis-a-vis Weill and the st of the pop performers, especially Sting and Lou Reed, are flat and dull on here, but Todd Rundgren's arrangement is great; imaginative, private and absolutely real to what the song is about. Other amazing pleasures contain the incomparable Dagmar Krause, John Zorn and "Oh Heavenly Salvation." They exemplify the strength of the record, which is the private and unexpected understanding of most of the musicians. Not all, but enough to create this a keeper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    Amazing interpretations by different artists including Marianne Faithfull, Sting and Lou Reid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    Long ago I nearly wore out the original LP release because I played it so much. It was my and a lot of of my friends' introduction to the melody of Kurt Weill. High points: the contributions of Lou Reed, Tom Waits, Marianne Faithfull, nd Dagmar Krause . . . but my absolute favorite is the Armadillo String Quartet's recording of "Youkali Tango" (which I later found out has lyrics! in French! -- test the Teresa Stratas album of songs by Weill to hear them).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    The exhibitor was describing that it is a "Like New".But I was surprised because the commodity this CD, there were a lot of detailed wounds, and a related fresh article was not at all the one that was able to be ere are several skips, too and I am a betrayed .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    If your idea of Weill is the Doors doing "Alabama Song," this is the excellent put to expand your knowledge. Sting's performance of that song is the weakest performance here. Marianne Faithfull's interpretation of 'Ballad Of The Soldier's Wife' is one of her best performances and really captures the pathos of the song, and Tom Waits is amazing on 'What Keeps Mankind Alive?' For me, a dream project would be a whole CD of the two of them doing Weill.Just to prove that Weill has a softer side, Lou Reed does the ballad 'September Song'That tells you what kind of disc this is! Lou Reed does the 'soft' beautiful cause this is a Hal Willner production, and because Willner doesn't wish to obtain too close to the mainstream, this album is more challenging and complex than the later, related disc from 1997. He produced that one, too, as a soundtrack for a movie on Weill's music. That soundtrack is called 'September Songs: The Melody of Kurt Weill' and as the title says, it features songs. In fact, a lot of of the same songs are found on both albums. 'Lost in the Stars' features more instrumentals and contains both jazz and classical performances. The effect is sometimes a small jarring, but that is very much in keeping with Weill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost in the Stars: The Music of Kurt Weill []  2020-1-28 1:12

    Apart from having to admit that I grew up with Kurt Weill and memorized the Three Penny Opera by the age of 5 (OK, I had unusual parents for the time!), this is really one of Hal Willner's (the producer) greatest concept albums ever. He is responsible for turning a lot of stars onto Kurt Weill's melody and lyrics-Marianne Faithful, Lou Reed (I think. . .), etc. Can't believe it's not on CD and glad I still have my vinyl and record player. Hal Wilner also produces awesome live shows, in LA I've seen a couple of Halloween Edgar Allan Poe happenings with amazing performers, turned me onto Anthony years ago. Follow Hal, study Weill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    A genius - more people in America should read him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    This translation of Pessoa's poems is the work of an expert translator, a person learned in the literature of modern Portuguese. It is a treasure to own such a collection, in which the major ‘heteronyms’ of Pessoa are well represented - Alberto Caeiro, Ricardo Reis and Álvaro de e second-hand copy was marked up which somewhat destroyed he pleasure of reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    One of my favorite books of poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    Pessoa, like all of us, had powerful emotions. What we would call moods--restlessness, sensuality, fearfulness, anger, expansiveness--he would call "heteronyms". His heteronyms were moods that had become embodied and endowed with a persona. This is unusual enough. He also invented complex biographies for each personality--they had names, histories, accomplishments, tastes, and definite capacities and limitations. Where this goes beyond unusual and enters into the extraordinary is where these personalities each reveal a remarkable bonus for poetry. That the poetry can reflect the individual nature of each heteronym, while retaining a universal appeal, is an unparalleled feat. There is really nothing else like this. Richard Zenith has written a very amazing 30 page introduction to the poems in an effort to prepare the reader for the depth and breadth of the work that follows. A biographical sketch is provided, the major heteronyms are identified and characterized, and a philosophic assessment of Pessoa, both his influences and his impact, is attempted. But nothing will prepare you for reading a poem like The Tobacco Shop. Written by the alter ego Alvaro de Compos, it is brutally honest, wistful, bleak, and redemptive by turns. Compos, whose mission was "to feel all things in all ways", has fulfilled his ambition in this poem. He takes a blunt look at the emotional wreckage of his existence--life slams up versus Fate, success slides into failure, genius leaks away into dream, fullness is revealed as emptiness and thus becomes fullness of an entirely various sort. It is this rare, magical, tentative, and all-inclusive human fullness that is Pessoa's gift. The bonus is given repeatedly in this volume, and not just through the extravagant Compos.Highly recommended for poets, students of human nature, and those readers who have a deep interest in international literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    Why is this not bilingual? How do you publish a translation of poetry without showing the original?? (Kindle version). Grossly disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    Fernando Pessoa, the most popular Portuguese poet, claimed to do nothing but “pretend and posture.” Does this remind us of Proust? They were contemporaries: Pessoa 1888- 1935; Proust 1871-1922. Pessoa was very likely and had a convoluted personality; multiple personalities, really, or at least he wrote as if he did. Three of Pessoa’s basic characters are distinguished by how they “feel:” one just “feels;” another adjusts his feelings to reality; a third modifies his feelings according to classical measures and rules. He made and abandoned styles, even being credited with a fresh type of symbolism called “Paulismo.” Pessoa gave each of his alternate egos physical descriptions, mannerisms and had them interact, converse, and write to each other, like a literary doll house. So in effect, his poems were written by “different people; thus the “and company” of the book’s title. So let’s see some samples of his (their?) stuff: Each cluster of lines is from a various be a poet is not my ambition,It’s my method of being aloneBut Spring isn’t even a thing:It’s a manner of is night. It’s very dark. In a house far awayA light is shining in the window.I see it and feel human from head to e Universe is not an idea of mine;My idea of the Universe is an idea of ght doesn’t fall before my eyes;My idea of night falls before my eyes.Where there are roses we plant st of the meaning we glean is our own, And forever not knowing, we lieve me, there’s no metaphysics on earth like chocolates,And all religions place together teach no more than the candy shop.I’m beginning to know myself. I don’t exist.I’m the gap between what I’d like to be and what others have created me,Or half of this gap, since there’s also life…And as for the mother who rocks a dead kid in her arms---We all rock a dead kid in our arms.I’m being watched, but where from?Which things that can’t see are looking at me?Who’s in everything, peering?From the mountain comes a songSaying that however muchThe soul may come to have,It will always be eat poems!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    A splendid selection, not greatly overlapping with other collections, nicely translated into unpretentious English greatly aiding comprehension. And all with a serious and useful introduction, easily the best I have read on Pessoa. Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    A unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    Some unbelievable poems mixed in with some that are not quite as successful. I would recommend it to anyone interested in the Symbolist literature movement in France/Portugal/Spain in the early 20th century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fernando Pessoa & Co.: Selected Poems []  2020-1-18 19:1

    Interesting Portuguese poet. He writes from the perspective of four various personas. Which will be your favorite?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Lost Souls [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    We are Devo! There's an island somewhere out there in the goddamn foggy laden deep blue sea. Here resides Dr. Moreau (Charles Laughton), he has a God complex and he is conducting experiments, turning animals into humans. Unsurprisingly and terrifyingly the results are not exactly a success! Tod Browning's Freaks was released this same year, and when watching Erle C. Kenton's Island of Lost Souls, it makes for the excellent companion piece. Full of haunting imagery, aided no end by cinematographer Karl Struss' stunning photography, it's a movie that stays with you long after the end credits have rolled. Berserker science marries up to human chaos to provoke and problem in equal measure. Laughton gives top villainy, whilst Waldemar Young and and Philip Wylie adapt from the H.G. Wells novel with a cheeky glint in their eyes. The 1930s had some amazing horror movies, this is up with the best of them. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Land Of The Lost []  2020-1-11 20:24

    This is just a tremendous album. Old school 70's-style accessible, funky jazz with tough, urban hip-hop beats. It doesn't sound old, but it doesn't sound so much fresh as it does different. You really don't need to like either jazz OR hip-hop to go for ky enough to place anyone's backfield in motion, while smart and musical enough to reward the mind as well. Some melody is a matter of taste, but I cannot imagine humans hearing this CD & not liking it, unless they suffer from serious neurological deficits. Absolutely essential.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    I currently am creating a Halloween 2015 Carnival 'Village' decoration. It has a Haunted Carousel, House of Wax, Mortis Theatre, Ghost-Walk Cemetary and Haunted Pumpkin Patch...plus a lot of more attractions. A lot of fellow-villagers are asking me to video-tape the Haunted Carnival. I required amazing background music. This CD MORE than fit-the-mood! It's creepy, and yet at the same time, enjoyable to listen I am doing my arts-n-crafts for the upcoming Halloween....I listen to this CD for inspiration. It's HORROR-ifically WONDERFUL. Thank you, Amazon!!!! VERY VERY PLEASED...and I've also recommended this CD to a lot of others!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    This album is definitely a must for those who love Halloween, haunt their homes, or own a haunted attraction. Several of these tracks give that eerie, haunted, amusement park feeling that so a lot of horror fans love. The opening track puts you instantly at the locale of a haunted carnival and does so magnificently. The rest take you through the haunted attractions that one might search at a traveling circus or carnival. Nox Arcana knocks it out of the park!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Land Of The Lost []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Well, I'm not QUITE as enraptured as the other three reviewers to date, but this is still a nice chunk of downtempo instrumental funk. My main issue with the album, ever since '95 when I first heard it, is the use of programmed beats instead of a live drummer. There's very small rhythmic or dynamic variation during each tune, whereas a live player would do some spontaneous (?) fills to break up the sameness and kick up the volume and energy in certain moments, not to mention the option for rhythmic byplay with the soloist. The effect is a slightly stillborn feel-- "soloist playing over a canned backing", rather than "playing WITH the other musicians"-- that makes this melody more suitable for the background than the front-ground (thanks, Bootsy). In the '70s they would have some rhythm guitars and keyboards and percussion to fill out the sound. Hearing stripped-down '90s records like this one makes me wonder, "Did they really intend for people to actively LISTEN to it, or is it more a demo to give producers and others in the melody business a taste of what these guys can do?"Still, the beats and riffs and grooves ARE tasty, and I suppose if I were enjoying a fat spliff in a chillout lounge it would probably feel like nothing were missing here. Oh yeah, and Karl Denson makes this a four-star release instead of three. On sax and flute he sho'nuff brings the goods. Cat can PLAY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Creepy carnival melody is just awesome. This is like being transported into a haunted midway. I love this Cd and the artwork is just breathtaking. I was really impressed with how intense the melody was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    I'm not going to lie or sugar coat it. The laughing kids creeped me out. Having said that, this is a amazing cd for mood melody or for having a dark party. Halloween is an obvious choice, but what about a summertime 'carnival?' Guests could have candy apples, popcorn, etc. and play android games in the living room while this played in the background. Who says children and (teenagers who usually don't even understand the goth lifestyle they are spouting anyway) obtain to have all the fun? I wouldn't android game to this, but it's excellent for entertainment and adds just the right amount of creepy to a night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Land Of The Lost []  2020-1-11 20:24

    This group here is out cold. This lp is a classic. If you like smooth jazz with some funky and various ways of putting hooks together I strongly advise to take a listen, you will be amazed!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Nox Arcana has really grown and matured since Joseph Vargo has left the Midnight Syndicate. Joseph and William Piotrowski have definitely got fabulous imaginations as they continue to make fresh dark themes for every fresh album that they do. The mystique of all forms of terror are addressed in at least 10 albums from Nox Arcana so far. Each with their own special story or 's funny how, though October is the most famous time to share our Nox Arcana themes with our other ghoulish mates and family, they have never really addressed the one theme that they would probably endorse with confidence as the prime host of our most darkest day of the year, Halloween.What's more, I can see them do something dark and sinister about an abandoned cathedral overrun by satanic presences, or even the dark, cruel horrors of some forgotten prison with evil guards and a sickly demented warden. Or even some dark asian black magic theme or some ancient alternative evil religion. Or maybe a tribute to Houdini (or the mystique of magician's in general), maybe a tribute to Alfred Hitchcock or other writers of horror. Or Dracula, or Frankenstein, or other sub-human monsters that have stories written about them as the legends that they are. I'm sure that Nox Arcana they could take us to so a lot of other episodes of psychological terror. Even the cold, dark, terror of outer zone or other planets and evil life forms can be explored and expressed with Joseph Vargo's dark x Arcana, you are the masters of the dark concepts that you create. You leave me screaming for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    A lot of of the perfect reviews here appear to be written by younger people who are affiliated with the Goth stage or other arcane artistic elements. I am, by method of contrast, a 50-year-old man who wears a suit five days a week and who is generally ensconced in a rather conservative profession and social network. Having discovered Nox Arcana (NA, hereafter) a few years ago when Amazon recommended them to me, and realizing immediately that this is profound, intense, totally unbelievable music, I feel obliged to chip in my two-cent's worth. My fear is that NA is, or could be, marginalized as melody for only those involved in Goth "studies" or other macabre interests, or that this melody could be unfairly sequestered as "Halloween music." Either limitation would be highly unfortunate. I believe this melody is nothing short of brilliant and would have broad appeal to most who hear ease note that this review does not apply specifically to just this album, Carnival of Lost Souls, but this is one of NA's best titles. This disc is life-altering. My private progression through NA began as follows: I first bought "Transylvania." After receiving it, and listening to it one time, I immediately bought every single NA album. None of them disappointed. They are all obviously of the same dark genre, and they are all superb. There may be a few that stand out as my favorites, but all of them are 10/10. Why did Amazon recommend NA to me? I'm not sure if it similar to my history of ambient music, or horror films, or both combined. I had invested quite a bit of time and pursuing both interests, and it was insightful for the Amazon program to realize that NA was right up my fact, the Amazon recommendation sated an ongoing and expensive frustration. The ambient melody I'd been spending a fortune on was not satisfying. The fascination with ambient melody began with Angelo Badalamenti's soundtrack melody for "Twin Peaks" in the early 90s. That album captivated me for a couple of years. I must have given 25 copies as gifts, and everyone had a resounding response. So, I tried to expand on that attraction, and had limited success. Too much ambient melody relies on minimalism. Brian Eno's material is haunting, but it doesn't always captivate me. My mind will wander. A lot of ambient merges into techno or electronic, which actually tended to ambient me into a full-blown migraine! And so, I had a box with about 75 ambient CDs, and maybe five of them really merited repeated playing.What I was looking for was melody that captures me and whisks me away into an alternative state of mind. As someone who has job with a lot of responsibility, and as a father, I can't drop LSD on my Tuesday nights. In fact, I have to hold it down to two drinks or less if I wish to be clear-headed the next morning. And, I don't have the time for yoga or meditation. Melody has always seemed to be the best route for efficient escapism. While my traditional musical affinity has always been of a hard rock orientation, as I "matured" I realized that in addition to Led Zeppelin and AC/DC there were other more mellow artists who did add richness and meaning to my life: Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass, for example, brought back amazing childhood memories, and Sinatra and Dino added some cocktail hour pizzazz, and a lot of others enhanced specific occasions or moods.But there was something in the sphere of ambient melody that I knew could be expanded upon. I hadn't realized it initially, but I realize now the musical "high" I was looking for was frequently delivered in the soundtracks of horror movies. The weird, pulsating, haunting melody that we experience in Carrie, Carnival of Souls, The Exorcist, Burnt Offerings, The Shining, and so a lot of others is exciting and tips at alternative "non-Euclidean" perspectives. So, I started buying soundtracks for horror films. I found some amazing melody this direction, but it was spotty. Some songs sounded simply like....generic soundtrack music. There was no particular continuity. My attention waxed and waned.Enter Nox Arcana. (And, I should mention, I have had a related positive experience with Midnight Syndicate, a group with a related orientation.) NA, I later learned, was made by a fellow named Joseph Vargo, who is also a talented painter (making me wonder if he created some with the devil; there's just too much talent in this one person to comport to the normal parameters of evolution). Amazon, and a lot of of the reviewers described NA melody as "Halloween music." That seemed like a fairly narrow niche to me, but as I mentioned I went ahead and gambled on "Transylvania."Wow. On that album and on all the others, here's what I've found:First, you obtain extremely attractive music. The melody is simply beautiful, there's nothing jarring, abrasive, or ugly to detract. If someone were to walk into your home for a few moments as you were listening to this, they'd probably just presume your were listening to some Baroque-era classical-type music. The level of sophistication is mesmerizing, and the array of elements are primal and organic: whispers, gongs, piano, organ, harpsichord, acoustic guitars, bells, melody boxes,laughter, violin--all orchestrated cond, this melody is haunting. By "haunting," I mean it really gets under your current subjective mood and yanks you into its own mystical realm. You are transported. I recently read the 1960's classic "The Natural Mind" by Dr. Andrew Weil wherein he discusses different alternatives to drug usage to satisfy the deeply entrenched human desire to achieve altered states of consciousness. I'm sure that if NA had been around at the time he wrote that book, he would have given NA a warm recommendation. This melody transports the listener. Every time I play an NA album I search myself taken from the suburbs of Los Angeles and deposited to some cold, dark castle or some windy, isolated hill, or any of a hundred other barren places. That "barrenness" somehow transforms my mood. It takes me out of my own myopic, stressed, subjectivity and reminds me that we live in a vast, cold, mystical cosmos, one which is attractive but full of unknowns and unknowables. I may not immediately see "the huge picture," but I am reminded that there is indeed a huge picture to be seen, or at least sought. This is "ambient music" of the highest order. Indeed, Wikipedia tells me that NA creates "Dark Ambient" music, and I search that this is probably the best description out there. I would add the adjective "rich," because this is not minimalist ambient music, it is filled with a thousand elements and forces. It is indeed: "Rich, Dark Ambient."Third: This melody is serious. Some naysayers may search the narratives which precede some of the songs to render this melody down onto a less-serious plane. Honestly, at first I didn't appreciate the whispery narratives (ex: "You are entering the dark and empty manor..."). However, let's remember that folklore and storytelling are necessary parts of our human cultural odyssey. And the introductions here are typically very short. After a few listens, I've found that they actually set the scene very nicely and add some nice context. They ultimately add to the "eldritch" (a Lovecraft word for you) moodiness. And the strong NA melodies immediately sweep away any residuum of campiness should you perceive it in that light. I assure you, I am not into campy melody at all, and NA is not campy. "Profound" is the main word that comes to my mind after exploring their entire cent NA albums have been, amazingly, as amazing as the earliest albums. There must be close to a dozen titles at this point. Can Nox Arcana continue to deliver the same high quality melody in the years to come? In my mind, that is the major question. This is a unbelievable universe Joseph Vargo, et al., has created, but it is almost certainly a finite universe. I hope they will know when it is time to give it up. I'd hate to see even a single watered-down album be is is almost religious-level melody here, and I hope it will stay ultra- orthodox until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    This is the only Nox Arcana CD that I have so far and it is a very pleasing program of creepy, atmospheric music. First of all, the cover art is very effective, particularly if, like me, you are fond of the macabre. The tracks are well-thought out and differ from each other nicely. For example, the Snake Charmer track has an Eastern feel and although not typically sinister is a amazing interlude. The sound effects are used effectively and not over-used, allowing the melody to set the mood. There is a amazing use of a chorus, as in tracks like Pandora's Melody Box, where the voices turn from singing to moaning. I agree with John Rossi on the enjoyment of the CD and his review is by far the most descriptive review is is a amazing CD for playing around Halloween but anytime you wish something sinister Carnival of Lost Souls is a amazing choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    First: They took you on a horrifying journey through the halls of a haunted Victorian mansion, home of the notorious Darklore clan, a sanctuary of shadows which few dare enter, and from which none return... Then, just when you thought the terror was over, they walked with you on a spine-tingling musical journey into the pages H.P. Lovecraft's terrifying literary world, opening the ancient tome known as the "Necronomicon" Later, a restful and refreshing respite was had, and a time of somber reflection, with a journey into Ebonshire Forest, and the surrounding village as the Knight Of Winter similar a tragic yet attractive cautionary tale.... And finally, the dark realm of the vampire was breached, with a visit to the rugged lovely land of "Transylvania", with a chilling, grandiose and spellbinding musical tribute to the king of Vampires, Vlad Dracula himself...For a while, or so it seemed, all was quiet....Until... NOW............ Travel anew if you dare, with Nox Arcana... masterful minstrels of the macabre as an all fresh musical nightmare is set to unfold. Step this way,ladies and gentlemen... and bring your tickets.... as you are about to cross onto the fairgrounds of the Circus Diabolique. Welcome, one and all... to the Carnival Of Lost Souls.... 1. Ghosts Of The Midway- Oh, how festively do we start our journey into theunknown. A undercurrent of choral "moaning" carries a blend of children's and grownups laughter and revelry, along with the sounds of what may be tricycle horns. Soon we are greeted by the Ringmaster, runner of these fiendishly fun attractions. A swirling and eerily playful keyboard music buoys a deep, charming, yet slightly sinister voice as we are invited to discover our wickedest dreams and most diabolical nightmares. The fun is just getting started...2. After Hours- We obtain more somber here. Though this is a very beautiful tune, more tension is building. Ringing bell-like tones... almost like a xylophone but not quite, resemble a heartbeat in their pacing, as they combine with moans, children's laughter, beautifully sad and mysterious choral passages, and tolling vespers to tell of the imminent falling of night. A whispered voice dares us onward to discover further the festive yet fearful fairgrounds, saying..."Follow me..... This way..." Do you dare to move on?3. Harlequin's Lament- Mournful piano and choral tones tell the story here, mixing with tolling bells.. `Tis the tale of one of the performers, a heart-stirring tale of one sentenced to forever entertain the patrons of a circus of fiends4. Calliope- A festive, playful musical opus, this, or so it seems uses a mix of keyboard, flute, very nice tolling bells, xylophone and choral notes. It depicts the innocence of children, enjoying a ride that might be more captivating, and risky than it appears. The sound of kids laughing on occasion really adds to this effect.5. Madame Endora- The dropping of tells of a daring soul indeed.. A attractive swirling harp tune blends with choir and pipe organ, as we are told by the soothsayer in a grating, witch-like voice, of bleak horizons and a path before us filled with darkness. Beware the coming storm. Tense, ominous, heavily atmospheric, and beautiful.6. Nightmare Parade- This is a heavily martial piece, rousing and adventurous. Pounding percussion, invigorating strings and choir do the honors. The snap of a cracking whip and the growls of animals create an appearance, along with tolling bells, xylophone-like sounds , pipe organ and amazing choral passages.7. Shadow's Fall- Percussion and somber piano are the stars here. They are accompanied by melancholy but attractive strings. This speaks of more dangers and horrors that lie on the path ahead. Beware!8. Hall Of Mirrors- This is a "fun" piece, but still creepy. The lead players in this part of the drama are keyboards and sinister laughter in varying pitches. It pays homage to the frightening yet fun mirror houses we all remember from our own visits to the circus as children.9. Spellbound- This is a piece of pure and lovely nostalgia. The sound of an old phonograph gives method to a sad but very beautiful violin tune over which the following is sung "The witching hour's drawing near. And my tragic fate is clear. I'll take your secret to my grave. For evermore I'll be you slave. Because I'm spellbound." The record whooshes to a stop, and the track ends with a choral moan of a sort.10. Cries In The Night-Oh, how to choose words that do this justice. These cries are not screams of terror. Nay, they are heartstring-tugging choral passages,. hinting at a deep and lonely sorrow and a heart-wrenching loveliness. Xylophone-like notes create a brief guest appearance alongside some of the most emotion-stirring choral voice work I have ever had the pleasure to listen to.11. Soul Stealer- Choir, massive percussion, pipe organ, and fast violin runs tell this tale. It is an invigorating `chase' as you are hounded through the fairgrounds by dark forces that seek to overtake you. Run for your life. Your very soul may depend on it12. - Haunted Carousel- I see this as a "companion piece" to Calliope, but that is not to disparage this piece. It is a attractive mix of keys, pipe organ, tolling bells and choir that depict a turn upon a ride we all remember fondly. It is a tune almost of seduction... promising fun if you indulge in partaking in a ride upon an amusement which, in this case youshouldn't touch, but the melody is so alluring. Won't you give in, just this once, and if you do, will you be able to resist doing it again?13. Theater Of Sorrows - Piano, choir, violin and tolling bells are the stars of this present once more. This is a amazing and very attractive piece, somber yet thrilling in a method that is all its own.14. Living Dolls - This begins with the sound of wind-up toys being cranked up. Bell-like tones blend with and alluring choir, lovely string work, and the laughter of a kid to depict our favorite toys.15. Lost In The Darkness- This may be among the most attractive pieces of melody I've heard. It uses noble, somber piano and pipe organ, blended with the soul stirring power of majestic strings, and some of the most attractive choral passages my ears have even ingested. Despite it's dark, bleak nature, depicting a lost and wandering soul, the piece seems to carry a current of hope... that maybe, just maybe the wanderer will search a method home. We root for them, whoever they are, even though we know they will search no escape. Truly an awe-inspring loveliness is to be found here.16. Snake Charmer- This is one of my favorite "attractions" in this show. Exotic percussion mixes with attractive flute, enchanting Middle Eastern instrumentation and alluring choral passages to take us on an amazing journey to a land far away, to a put only reachable in our dreams, as we watch one of amazing skill do musical `battle' to charm a deadly serpent.17. Freaks - This piece is heavily atmospheric It seems to use a `drone' result created of deep wordless male choir, mixing it with deep laughter, the growls of mythical beasts, and the rattling of chains. The feel of one is pure and inescapable tension.18. Circus Diabolique- Here we have a amazing martial musical opus, utilizing brooding but melodic strings, militaristic percussion and snare drums, horns, pipe organ and choir. It is a thrilling piece of music, with a steady mid-range tempo. We are invited by our kind Ringmaster to draw our attention to center stage, where we are told we will each "bear witness to terrifying sights that will haunt you till the day you die. " Behold the Circus Diabolique, and allow the nightmare begin!!!19. Pandora's Melody Box- This is a lovely tune filled, to me, with wonder and mystery, and tension It utilizes attractive bells, choir, strings, and pipe organ to suggest the temptation and allure of having within our reach something that can promise amazing power and present us wondrous things we've notseen before, but warns us that they will be a to if we give in to that temptation.20. The Devil's Daggers - This is the most INTENSE attraction of the show. The sinister swirling string melodies and thundering percussion are relentless, and they carry a current of attractive yet foreboding choir atop themselves. The chase is on, and you MUST run for your life if you want to hold it.21. Storm - Steady, brooding strings and choir do the honors here, dancing with inexorable percussion and briefly with sinister pipe organ It conveys the unstoppable power of nature's fury. The thunderclaps that appear within this piece of melody are the most amazing thunderclaps that I have ever heard utilized in any recording that I know thing you must be aware of. Even as the latest mighty thunderclap on "Storm" fades away, do not hit "Stop" on your CD player. There are some perfect tracks to which you will be treated, including a harp-tinged reading from the ghostly Madame Endora, a attractive music-box number, and an AWESOME rock/metal ver of Spellbound that is led into brilliantly by a purely lovely violin music on an old phonograph that 'skips' a few times before launching into blistering and brilliant massive metal guitar riffs. Here's the easy truth of the matter to me. Nox Arcana have outdone themselves with this CD. It is their best work to date. If you are a fan, you owe it to yourself to obtain this CD. If you are not a fan... one listen to this could create you a fan. Pick it up if you obtain the chance, and satisfied listening. :) Thank you for coming, ladies and gentlemen. I hope you've enjoyed your time among us here at the Circus Diabolique. Don't worry if one present isn't enough. You're welcome back at any time. We'll always be here... waiting to entertain you again. Do come back please, if you dare!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Land Of The Lost []  2020-1-11 20:24

    I came across Greyboy while finding melody along the lines of Quantic. Greyboy is very impressive. Mixes jazz with dope lofi beats.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    This was my first time to discover this "spooky" genre in music, as well as the first exposure to Nox Arcana--and, my, what a darkly seductive experience it was. I'm not quite sure what I expected. Something "Gothic" for sure--but would it be art?It WAS art, art-full, deeply mesmerizing & very entertaining.AND "Carnival" is technically of the things I missed when CDs replaced LPs was the creativity that went into the record jackets. Most pop CDs these days very small for the eye--but this is not the case in Carnival of Lost Souls. A attractive small booklet is enclosed loaded with unbelievable drawings & other illustrations, as well as a Goth libretto of sorts & a lot of other strange & curious & wonder-full things.Obviously Nox Arcana knows how to create the Dark Side fun.I definitely wish more...******************************Dagon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    I was so blown away by this story. Caring enough to stop, look and really feel a sense of "What wrong with Nate? Where's Nate now? How can I support him? Can Nate be helped? How do I walk away?" This story us full of documentation from family, Doctors, teachers, students, The Lamp and others. A heart-wrenching read with a positive note. So very glad it was written. May we all Truly love the Mentally Ill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    I picked up this book because I have a Nathaniel in my life, and I hope every day that I can be the kind of mate Steve Lopez was. An added delight were the references to Cleveland and L.A. I have lived in both locations so the familiarity with the locations was a bonus. I also have a mate who studied piano at Juilliard in the early 70s. The story is a attractive example of the pain of mental illness and the joy of all success in living as we are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    Wow! I read this book as part of a book club. I flew through the first 95 pages and was disappointed to have to place it down! I quickly finished the rest of the book the next day. This author beautifully tells the tale of the difficulties of dealing with mental illness--and the wonderful, strong possibilities that people possess. The author sheds light on a subject that a lot of people may not know about or would choose to ignore--and how the realities in the cutbacks in mental health care have made "skid row". I consider this a must read book for entertainment as well as for mental health specialists and politicians and anyone who is touched by mental illness.I also love the fact that this book is realistic. There isn't a "perfect solution" presented nor a rosy outcome. True life rarely has that. The author did a amazing job with describing how he struggled with the fact that there wasn't a "perfect solution" or rosy outcome and how he came to terms with meeting someone where they were and allowing that connection and friendship make a bridge to possibility. The author repeatedly struggled with wanting to search the "right" support and discovering that love and friendship was the "right" help. And while "the soloist" wouldn't be where he is today without professional mental health treatment and community resources, he would have never been able to access them if he didn't first have the love and friendship that the author is is a wonderfully inspiring story and one, that I hope, encourages people to become active in their own communities offering love and friendship to their neighbors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    Steve Lopez writes an eloquent, very private story of a homeless, mentally ill man with a brilliant, talented past. It is totally by possibility that Lopez meets Nathaniel Ayers along Skid Row in downtown LA. Captivated by the melody Nathaniel plays on a beat-up violin that is missing two essential strings, Lopez steps over the threshold into a globe very unlike his a reporter, Lopez's style is rich, tactile and complete. We follow Nathaniel's trail of breadcrumbs from humble beginnings in Cleveland to Julliard to the tunnel in LA where he sleeps.Lopez's visually evocative language creates a spell that shows us how the mentally ill are marginalized and along with him, we ride the magic carpet of amazing hopes for recovery and change and then plummet into the depths of Nathaniel's delusional brain chemical l the while, Lopez allows us to experience his private emotional struggle of managing a reporter's tettering job, a wife, a two year old daughter and his commitment to helping Nathaniel, once a musical prodigy, now brought down by schizophrenia.Poignant and touching, this book is a real story of people so real, you will wake from the page with melody in your ears and in your heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    When the worlds of L.A. columnist Steve Lopez and musician Nathaniel Ayers--who is both mentally ill and homeless--collide on a seemingly innocuous day in the city, the lives of both men will be changed forever. Lopez is struck by the beauty of the melody from the most unlikely of sources. Where would a homeless man clad in dirty clothing be exposed to such culture? Lopez is immediately intrigued, and wonders about the man's life. Who is he? What is he? How did he happen to start living on the street? Always looking for the next compelling column, Lopez feels certain that this curbside musician could be it. He soon becomes completely absorbed into the globe of his disturbed fresh friend; and develops a newfound respect and recognition of those unfortunates who dwell on our town streets. He discovers that Nathaniel does, indeed have a story, and develops a series of columns for the L.A. Times chronicling Nathaniel and his downfall; and as he becomes more emotionally attached to this man, Lopez receives an education about mental illness and the result that it has on not only one person, but all of their loved ones. Lopez also gets, as does the reader, an unsavory look into our country and the stigma that it attaches to mental illness. A fabulous, gut-wrenching peek into the underbelly of homelessness and the extenuating circumstances may lead to one living on the street. Readers explore how difficult it is to watch helpless as someone that you care for, who is ill, is left to fend for themselves. Regrettably also is the fact that as a country we have laws that defend an individual's right to be hungry, dirty, and live on the street, yet does nothing to protect their god-given right to human respect and decency. A tale beautifully told that will tug at your heart strings, and hopefully create you think differently about that gentleman or woman that sits on the steam grate. Absorbing.DYB

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    This is an unusual sort of biography. Actually, it is more memoir than biography, but there is a definite element of biography here, also, so I don't disagree with the e Soloist is about Lopez's experiences in befriending a mentally ill homeless man whom he had noticed to be a startlingly gifted musician. As it turned out, the man, Nathaniel Ayers, had been trained in classical melody at Juilliard. As an indication of Ayers' talent, note that he attended Juilliard on a full scholarship from 1970 - 1972, when black students were extremely rare - almost nonexistent - especially ones from lower-middle-class, single-parent families. He did extremely well in that ultra-competitive and stressful environment (straight A's in melody performance classes; and also in other classes until his schizophrenia kicked in and his grades began to fall) until the illness finally forced him out. Ayers had been living on the roads for 33 years and was in his mid-50's when Lopez met e book is as much about Lopez's efforts to support Ayers as it is about Ayers himself, which is why I'd consider it primarily a memoir. Finding financial support was the simple part. Lopez's famous columns in the biggest newspaper of Los Angeles inspired a barrage of donations and of e issue was, Ayers didn't wish help. He was content with his life as it was. But Lopez was frantic with worry about Ayers' safety on the worst Skid Row in America, where violent (and commonly random) beatings, stabbings, and deaths were a everyday occurrence.Lopez does a amazing job describing his agony and frustration with Ayers' refusal to accept the donated apartment and treatment; while at the same time recognizing Ayers' dignity and his right as an adult to create his own decisions. They are feelings I know well. I experienced the same thing once in taking care of an old mate who had become mentally unstable, homeless, and also terminally ill due to alcoholism. It was an poor time in my life, and Lopez's vivid acc brought it all back to thaniel Ayers, however, did not smoke, drink alcohol, or do drugs. In fact, he had a violent disgust towards anyone who did. It makes his situation all the more tragic - there is no method the reader can brush him off with the excuse, "He brought it on himself."One quote from the book really brought it home to me. We now know that most - and probably all - mental illness is caused by physiological dysfunctions that cannot be controlled by willpower or self-discipline. As Stella March, an activist who has a son with schizophrenia, said, "[Why is] it socially acceptable for them to sleep on filthy and risky streets? Would anyone tolerate an outdoor dumping ground for victims of cancer, ALS, and Parkinson's?"The Soloist is a moving, interesting, and very informative book which has accomplished a amazing in bringing these problems to the attention of the public as well as community leaders. But our economy has worsened considerable in the two years since its publication. I am afraid that the momentum it generated has been lost, and that budget cuts have created services for the homeless and mentally ill even scarcer. All the more reason why we should read this book e writing, although competent, isn't perfect. It is a small boring in locations when it goes into politics. And Lopez's hopes and fears combined with Ayers' lapses become sadly repetitive after a while (although that is an artifact of the situation rather than the writing, it does influence the reader's experience of the book.) Also, I was surprised by the author's occasional mistakes in language and grammar. Admittedly, they are infrequent and subtle, such as using a word that was okay but not quite right, when a better option was available. Such things surprised me in view of Lopez's more than three decades as a professional journalist for highly respected newspapers and magazines.And it would have been nice if some images had been included. You can see some online - including videos - if you google "Nathaniel Ayers," although it is difficult to differentiate the ones of the true Ayers from the film stills and promotional photos. Check out this video from CBS's "60 Minutes": [..]I'd especially liked to have seen images of Ayers' reunion with Yo-Yo Ma, who was a classmate at Juilliard - this was one of my favorite parts of the book.But these are little quibbles compared to the honesty of the writing, the highly interesting person that is Nathaniel Ayers, and the importance of the subject.I'm wondering what has become of Ayers since the book was published in 2008. The reader really comes to care about him. I hope that he is safe and well, that the two men's friendship has continued, and that Lopez will write a sequel.(273 pages)Quote from The Soloist:"The pendulum has swung too far to the side of leaving people like Nathaniel to fend for themselves."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    I was mesmerized by this book. As a conservatory-trained musician, I knew well the pressure that attending Juilliard Melody School can place on its students. That the book 's topic can't withstand the rigorous training at the aforementioned school and suffers a mental breakdown that renders him homeless and diagnosed as schizophrenic is presented with a keen understanding of mental illness and a narrative that captivates and brings the reader into a globe few of us will ever touch at such close distance. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Anyone who loves melody or has ever wondered what has led someone to homelessness must read the story of an awesome friendship forged between a journalist and a talented, schizophrenic, homeless man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    Author Steve Lopez’ lyrical acc of a friendship, unfulfilled dreams and social injustice is outstanding. He weaves all three themes masterfully into a heart-wrenching portrait of Nathan Anthony Ayers—a man he encountered living on the roads of Los Angeles. Paranoid schizophrenia robbed Ayers of his dreams, his genius and his livelihood. Lopez’ writing painted a picture of the plight of the mentally ill homeless that changed attitudes and implemented positive actions in both LA and around the nation. A thought-provoking read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    A movie ver of Steve Lopez's chronicle of his friendship with homeless man Nathaniel Ayers, a gifted musician who briefly attended the Juilliard School before falling prey to schizophrenia, is about to be released. One wishes for its success, since the story the author tells is so compelling it needs more than he can give is is not to denigrate the importance of Lopez' book. There is no doubt that he is a dedicated journalist and a man of more than usual sensitivity. While he tries to support Nathaniel, who despite his charm and talent is obviously a seriously ill man, he worries about compromising his journalistic integrity, of neglecting his family. The Soloist paints a disturbing portrait of the inadequacy of America's safety net for those who cannot cope with modern life due to mental illness, and vivid thumbnail sketches of some of the people at the front lines of the ill, in the end this reader was slightly disappointed, though loath to admit it. Though a few scenes have a heart-wrenching immediacy--a meeting between Nathaniel and famed cellist Yo-yo Ma, for example--too often Lopez' workmanlike prose falls short of truly bringing either the story or the frequently hellish milieu in which it is set to life. Nevertheless, enough of a sense of the unique, arduous but rewarding relationship that exists between these two people comes through that The Soloist is still well worth reading. I'm eager to see the movie ver too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music []  2020-1-18 20:48

    There is nothing about this book that isn't exquisite and compelling other than wishing it were a never-ending look at mental disturbances, genius, wealth disparaty and our health care system of injustices!BRAVO! Thank you, Mr Lopez, for your passion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Tools of Learning [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    Ms. Sayers explains why we need to provide a classical education to our children. Either that, or fit them for a central government costume and place them in the welfare line...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raiders of the Lost Ark [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    **Trailblazers of a Lost Art** Little wonder James Cameron and Joss Whelon films are the largest box-office earners. They are masters of cinematic rhetoric. The unfolding dramatic situations and controlled dialogue are meticulously contrived. Cameron could probably have potted more if it wasn't for his earnest, simplistic messages (rich bad; nature good). All three films (_Titanic_, _Avatar_, _Avengers_) plot along comfortably then suddenly spike spectacularly. But no one has ever laid on the cinematic charm and cajolery like Stephen Spielberg. He was by far the craftiest manipulator of action and melodrama there ever was. He was the progenitor of summer blockbusters and all-ages, all-nations spectacles. At his best he had a bonus for re-living and realizing that ethereal and irresistible childhood awe. If _Raiders of the Lost Ark_ (NOT the sequels... NO, not even the father- son one) was created today, exactly the same way, okay maybe in 3D with updated CGI, it would surely land at the top of the box-office heap. It is essentially the first comic book film that wasn't a comic book (bespectacled mild-mannered Archaeology prof by day and globe-trotting whip-wielding action character on sabbatical). _Raiders of the Lost Ark_ (the first and only) is arguably the greatest adventure film ever cooked up. And we, the abject audience, servile participants of the artifice, were licking its boots. We wanted Spielberg and his Indy to rope us in, reel us into the action, and completely have their method with us. We overlooked the emotional manipulation and contrived trappings because it was a pure freaking joy to watch, a Lucas produced godsend. Harrison Ford was born to play it just as Steven was born to direct it. It's really too poor they had to brand and knock off inferior sequels that, while making oodles of money, tarnished the shine of the unsurpassed prototype. Indiana Jones was the excellent reluctant action character on a selfless mission. A whip-snapping, truck-wrangling, swordster-gunning, Nazi- brawling adventurer who was matched only by his headstrong and sassy love interest, one pistol of a gal who could drink any man under the table. Not enough has been given to the amazing Lawrence Kasdan as the writer of this marvellous adventure. The script is as close to excellent as anybody could scribe. Even a dialogue-heavy expository stage (poisoned dates) was infused with a tense element of suspense. Yes, the story was hyper-fictional, completely contrived, shamelessly far-fetched... and altogether delightful. I wasn't expecting much when I went in to watch it back in 1981, but it had me wanting to do do back-flips on the method out. America's own Fab Four, Larry, Steve, Harrison and George, place on an action-adventure clinic. Possibly the only weak spot in the film is the climax which had our character and heroine tied to a stake while God, the almighty Mcguffin from the Old Testament, magically wrapped things up for them. "Don't look" Indy warns, with his patented crooked grin. Are you kidding? We can't possibly take out eyes off of this. With respect to lost Teddy Bears from zone and anti-Nazi machinators, Raiders is Spielbergs greatest achievement. It is one of the finest movies ever made, of its or any kind. It is, hands down, my desert island movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    This android game is fun, in fact its more than fun its addictive. Its not p2w if you do your research into what does what and join a amazing alliance. One thing I would love to see and long is Alexander The Amazing in the game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    its really a amazing android game but sadly the customer service is really unsatisfying. there has been a few times i approached them with bugs/quieries and they simply give no useful assistance. feels like i wasted the i spent on in android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    I have a problem. Today I rally a lot of barbarians forts but I didn't keep nothing after I win. It's not cool to create rally's and don't earn nothing.. Just heal troops. This issue never happen until today.. I was thinking that is a bug but I rally forts all the day and still didn't gain nothing from them. Please solve this problem. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    Couldn't even play. Downloaded the android game and it installed fine. Then when I went to play it, I am stuck on the initial loading screen after the android game stops loading because "The number of characters made by this IP address has reached the everyday limit". I am playing over mobile data, not local wifi...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    Rich video test and something very fresh to my taste of rts type android games Ive never liked android games like this before especially hated it due to how its more on p2w type and its cartoon graphics, low animation effort designs and power levels. Since its a fresh type of android game for me i was intrigued to test out this type of rts with its special design and animation. Looming forward for more content

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    Pay 2 win, if you dont you will be crushed. And if you you are not garanteed to keep what you for. And the help will then insult you for claiming what you for and dont wish to support you. You will not obtain any notifications when your attacked so you cant test to defend yourself, probably cause they wish you to for the recovery. Otherwise its a okey game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    Updated review, star rating would go down, but, it's already as low as it gets. After playing this android game for several months, here's what you need to know. #1 android game is P2W. #2 in android game help = bots with generic replys that dont support weather you are a paying player or not. #3 fb support = currently sitting at 22 days on 1 easy question. #4 latest updates have created android game extremely laggy, devs deny this and claim userend to over half the active players. theres more, but guess im out of zone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rise of Kingdoms: Lost Crusade [App]  2019-4-11 13:1

    I thoroughly have fun this game. I always seen it in ads and the such but never tried it. I decided to test it out. And it's a amazing time assassin when I do play it In my down time. I do a lot of pc gaming but mobile gaming will always have a place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Codex: Lost Words of Atlantis [App]  2019-2-10 13:42

    Very interesting! Just started a little, seems very user friendly & pleasing to the eye.yall need to advertise more to obtain more people to it, like the language museum in Texas or Smithsonian Institute website....national news, talk shows! It's beautiful good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Car Companies of Detroit []  2019-12-23 20:6

    Although there are a few evident errors or simplistic statements and the summaries are necessarily short, it's interesting to see the same people involved in so a lot of various companies. More images and more pages would be nice, and the is a small high, but this is still a distinctive book of info not easily found elsewhere. A lot of images are of original websites taken by the author. In some cases, areas other than Detroit are mentioned, because of the interconnections and relocations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Atlas of a Lost World []  2020-1-5 18:28

    A lyrical trek across the late Pleistocene/early Neocene landscape and the peopling of North America. I think school age kids would especially benefit from reading a book like this -- if only they can be pried away from their intelligent devices and computer games. The author has that rare talent among writers of being able to take the reader to a very distant and alien put and time -- as if you are seeing and experiencing those same sights and sensations with him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Atlas of a Lost World []  2020-1-5 18:28

    What a amazing small book. Lamentably it needs a serious rewrite as it is a bit confused and poorly organized though very well meaning book. I loved the book's premise but found it confusing and difficult to remain situated. Too BAD! Darn!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Ancient Technology Of Egypt []  2020-1-11 19:42

    I enjoyed some of the content, however the pictures are hard to see info of what the author was talking about. At times the author seemed to almost ramble on. The book does not have any page numbers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Ancient Technology Of Egypt []  2020-1-11 19:42

    Quite well written. Brien Foerster is very patient explaining some controversial subjects. He makes amazing strides in bringing Khemitology back into the limelight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LAND OF THE LOST [Vinyl] []  2020-1-18 22:55

    Well, I'm not QUITE as enraptured as the other three reviewers to date, but this is still a nice chunk of downtempo instrumental funk. My main issue with the album, ever since '95 when I first heard it, is the use of programmed beats instead of a live drummer. There's very small rhythmic or dynamic variation during each tune, whereas a live player would do some spontaneous (?) fills to break up the sameness and kick up the volume and energy in certain moments, not to mention the option for rhythmic byplay with the soloist. The effect is a slightly stillborn feel-- "soloist playing over a canned backing", rather than "playing WITH the other musicians"-- that makes this melody more suitable for the background than the front-ground (thanks, Bootsy). In the '70s they would have some rhythm guitars and keyboards and percussion to fill out the sound. Hearing stripped-down '90s records like this one makes me wonder, "Did they really intend for people to actively LISTEN to it, or is it more a demo to give producers and others in the melody business a taste of what these guys can do?"Still, the beats and riffs and grooves ARE tasty, and I suppose if I were enjoying a fat spliff in a chillout lounge it would probably feel like nothing were missing here. Oh yeah, and Karl Denson makes this a four-star release instead of three. On sax and flute he sho'nuff brings the goods. Cat can PLAY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Lost Fragrances []  2020-1-23 0:43

    This book was difficult to read in that it moved painfully slow most of the time, but when it moved fast, it was almost ridiculous. I did not care for the main characters. They were very one dimensional. We obtain snippets of scenarios and they should raise your flesh in horror. The method they were written gave me a feeling of "meh." There should have been more parallel with Jack and the lama, Xie. Instead, they collide for about 20 seconds and thats the end of Xie's story. I feel like the reader was cheated with how his story just abruptly stops. There isn't too much action in the story, but when there is, it moves at a breackneck speed like the author can't stand writing them, but knows her book is going to place people to sleep if something doesn't happen. Overall I probably won't read any of the other books in this series, unless I wish to be bored to death.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Lost Fragrances []  2020-1-23 0:43

    It is the anniversary of Jac L'Etoile's mother's death and she puts flowers in the vase in the mausoleum, her mother's favorites. She sees her mother's ghost but refuses to talk to her for fear her old psychotic episodes will drag her back down into the abyss where the line between hallucination and reality will claim her forever.Jac is surprised by her brother Robbie showing up. As much as Jac wanted Robbie there, she was certain he would not show. Robbie has brought flowers, but his main reason for coming was to obtain Jac to agree not to any of the L'Etoile house scents to cover the debts their father, in his growing dementia, ran up and ruin the company. He would rather have Jac's support deciphering the individual notes of a scent that is believed to be a memory tool, a tool that with one whiff can take a person back through previous incarnations, a scent that will save L'Etoile Parfumerie and their family's long legacy. Jac doesn't wish to be involved. She doesn't believe in reincarnation and she fears Robbie is chasing a myth that will ensure the company's downfall.Jac refuses Robbie, but soon finds herself in a race with time when Robbie disappears and she must search him and the reason he killed a man in their family e Book of Lost Fragrances by M. J. Rose is part of her Reincarnation series and is my second foray into the globe of history, denial, mystery, and madness. One thing I always search with Rose's work is complex characters with depth, warts and all. The story lines are always fascinating and include a amazing of information, but not so much that the story takes a second place. Rose seamlessly weaves history, myth, and magic into each book and The Book of Lost Fragrances is no exception.Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, Rose masterfully evokes both sides of the question and adds the spice and mystery of the past with a look into the fabled past with a deft hand. This time Cleopatra, perfume making, and the connections inherent with a family legacy is steeped in reality without sacrificing believability or the suspension of time. I was drawn into the story and into the intricacies of perfume making and the vast catacombs beneath Paris while being intrigued with the story of a young Chinese calligrapher venturing forth into the globe for the first time. The Book of Lost Fragrances is at its worst dark and forbidding and at its best simply mesmerizing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Art of Scripture []  2020-1-26 23:40

    This is a detailed history of the journey of humanities desire to become better and the a lot of attempts across the globe to arrive at a better put individually as well as a culture. In the journey of myth the myth is allowed to change to fit the changing and evolving culture. She expresses a desire for all of us to understand that we wish to be better human beings and that the myth is a an attempt to tutorial us in just that journey. Issues arise when we stop the evolution of the myth and ignore that we are impacted by the fact hat we are complex monster and all aspect of our brain support us create necessary changes of how we think and behave. She invites us to read the sacred texts in their intended reasons for existing. This brave approach can create a difference in our globe views and how we behave as individuals and nations without the need to destroy being religious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Ogden (Images of America) []  2020-2-1 5:2

    I bought it for a friend. We grew up in Ogden. Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Towns of Eastern Michigan []  2020-1-30 21:6

    Unbelievable addition to my family history library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Plantations of the South []  2020-1-17 22:53

    Prepare to be shocked, because this book purposefully blends delight and pain. The book and the lost houses it records are hauntingly beautiful. Reading the stories of these amazing estates that are no more is like reading the biography of a lost family member: The result of the presentation is both blissful and profoundly saddening.I usually avoid books like this because they upset me. I hate being shown what we could have had, with more care, more insight, more money, more intelligence. Ossian Hall, in Virginia, was intentionally torched as an exercise for the Fairfax County fire department. Seven Oaks, in Louisiana, was one of the grandest plantations on the River Road, which was purposefully bulldozed in 1977 to accommodate a railroad right-of-way. This book upsets me, but that's what it's intended to e quality of the work--the photography, graphics, writing, and binding--is top shelf. This is no haphazardly assembled set of archives: It's a beautifully rendered contemplation on the history and fate of stolen e book is intended for any interested reader, but its style is not casual. Neither a image essay nor a "coffee table" book, the author gives the work intentional academic gravity that could place off a casual reader, but will create architectural historians rejoice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Plantations of the South []  2020-1-17 22:53

    This book is a amazing read and is very informative and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    To say this book is historical fiction is like claiming that Alice in Wonderland is about the natural habitat of rabbits. This was one of the most unrealistic books I have ever read. I read a lot. The fact that it has a amazing review by Glamour magazine and the author wrote for a strictly romance publisher should give you a hint. A woman is being tortured to death and she is worried about the "disgusting" lice in her hair. A boxcar of prisoners dying of heat and thirst but the heroine wets a rag to wipe the "fevered brow" of a mate who has managed to search and hide a grenade from her German captors over weeks of captivity and torture? These are but very little incidents I highlighted to amuse myself toward the end of the book that I read or slogged through only because it was assigned by my Book Club. How this came to be a best seller is a sad commentary on the reading public.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Interesting, based on truth, but awkward writing style. Distracts from the narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Heart of Asia []  2020-1-19 21:16

    Enchanted by this author's trip along what he insists on describing as "The Silk Road" (a misnomer coined in the nineteenth century by German geographer Ferdinand von Richtofen, two thousand years after the trampling of the different northern Asian trade routes, this in turn a fact established long before silk was included among the panorama of merchandise), I was eager to continue with him in Central Asia. To my dismay I discovered a pitiable travel journal, superficial at best, often erroneous, unbearably naïve, written just after the Independence of what had been carved out of prior empires and khanates to constitute the five Inner Asian provinces of first Tsarist and then Soviet Russia. These wild and storm tossed lands had always been governed by a succession of tribes who ultimately found themselves caught up in the century of the Amazing Game, the sparring of Russia and Britain for control of the access routes into India. The subsequent disappointment, following the fall of the Soviet Unión, was magnified by climate change, the shifting of the desert sands, rivers moving in their course, government ineptitude, inflation and mismanagement, along with a crisis of both political and religious faith, neither of which had ever been clearly defined. And so progresses the book, to the same degree not really very clearly defined. It never takes shape, its convictions are vague and its judgements are vapid at best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Heart of Asia []  2020-1-19 21:16

    Most definitely not a 'page-turner', but endlessly fascinating. The book in a lot of ways reads just like the author's journey. A land of rich but almost forgotten history (a Canadian speaking), but populated by people of endless perseverance and adaptability; torn between the depth of their extraordinary history and the apparent bleakness of their present. Reading the book, one cannot but hope for their future to be better than the present, perhaps even an echo of their past glories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Heart of Asia []  2020-1-19 21:16

    Amazing synopsis of info for a traveler to Central Asia! Recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Keeper of the Lost Cities []  2020-1-19 21:47

    As a diligent reader of all of these books to date, I have absolutely loved them! Throughout each of the books, she consistently keeps you reading, something not all authors can do. As you dive into the first book, you’re presented with exciting mysteries, and themes that continue throughout the entire series, not a single detail is left unthought of. Besides, even if you weren’t interested in the storyline, the intense cliffhangers following each book will hold you reading, but will be resolved to a manageable status within the next book, that is, until she leaves you another one! These books aren’t just about adventure, or drama either, they have enticing themes of family, friendship, bravery, and even a small bit of love involved. I can’t instruct anyone on what books thay should read, but this series is incredible, and I would recommend it for adults and kids re specifically for the first book:The first book is one of my favorite within the series. As you are introduced to the characters, you form private bonds with them in a method that not a lot of authors can capture. As you follow their journey, you feel the pain, joy, and sadness as described within the book. A lot of first books consist of mostly introductions, which often becomes dull, but somehow Shannon Messenger has a method of making these introductions personal. I highly recommend this book, and the rest of the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Art of Putting []  2020-1-22 21:14

    Loved the book! have practiced the principles indoors can't wait for warmer weather so I can take it to the course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the Lost Satellite []  2020-3-30 20:55

    One of the best albums out there that is super underated n is a total gem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the Lost Satellite []  2020-3-30 20:55

    I don't write a lot of melody reviews so the fact that I'm writing this is telling in itself. Melody is very subjective and can be difficult to describe so this review is not very long but hopefully you search it n Andrews is an wonderful artist. I use the word "artist" because he is an wonderful writer, musician, and creator some wonderful music. Initially I was not sure because of some of the guitar sounds and riffs just didn't thrill me, however after only a couple of listens I was hooked. His vocals carry the melody with the guitar riffs sometimes adding a layer of complexity in the song. His melodies are catchy (they hook you when you least expect it) and his melody has an edge.+1 to what one of the other reviewers said: Ken is one of the most underrated musicians/artists. He's had numerous projects/bands and it seems like everything he touches turns into gold. Here are the projects/bands I'm aware of...there may be others that I have yet to find:Band: OnAlbum: Shifting SkinAlbum: Create BelieveBand: FailureAlbum: The Heart Is a Creature (**Great album)Album: GoldenAlbum: MagnifiedBand: Year of the RabbitAlbum: Hunted EP (**Nirvana-ish)Band: Ken AndrewsAlbum: Secrets of the Lost Satellite (**Great album)I like almost all of his items but here are some of my favorite songs:Counterfeit Sky (Failure)Secret Things (Ken Andrews)Hot Traveler (Failure)A.M. Amnesia (Failure)I Wanna Be Adored (Year of the Rabbit)Burn (Year of the Rabbit)Soluble WordsThe Focus (Failure)Up and Down (Ken Andrews)Undone (Failure)Pure Distraction (Make Believe)Vaporize (Year of the Rabbit)I highly recommend giving all of his work a listen, you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Gospel of Peter []  2020-2-4 16:25

    Interesting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Gospel of Peter []  2020-2-4 16:25

    This is the very short fragment, the only one known, that is the Gospel of Peter. It is worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Restaurants of Columbus, Ohio []  2020-2-9 18:44

    Unbelievable to travel back and remember locations we went to years ago

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386