Read mainframe assembler programming reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all mainframe assembler programming reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    I bought this book with the intention of accomplishing one thing...come up to speed on all the fresh instructions and changes similar to 64 bit. Well, this book is very poorly written did not support me much. Although it's a fairly fresh edition (2011 - reason why I bought it in the first place) compared to my old 1986 book, the writer has a hard time explaining even the basics of the language. His writing style is convoluted and unclear and the examples are poorly chosen. I did a find and this seems to be one of the only fresh editions of Assembly language for the mainframe. Any one out there with amazing knowledge of the language could create a lot of publishing a book covering this subject. After all, the mainframe business is still alive and well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Extremely useful! Highly job relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    There book has a amazing content but there are several errors in formatting , turning difficult for a novice to learn with this book.I recommend this book for someone with experience in Assembler for X86 or MIPS .Other problem, IBM architecture has some oddities and is not a amazing begin for any student.

    0  


    Add your opinion on mainframe assembler programming or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Delivered on time, perfect pack and price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Overall I'd give this book positive ratings -- at least so far as the general content is concerned. Very few mainstream books about IBM mainframe architecture and assembly language are being written these days . A lot of of the author's explanations in plain language, particularly of recently-added IBM hardware features, are no doubt not available anywhere else, except hidden in dark corners of arcane IBM technical publicationsBravo to the author for that!My basic gripes with this book concern 1) very not good proofreading/editing and 2) very not good physical construction.=> 1. Just as an example, but a glaring one, the copyright page tells us that "Windows if [ sic] a trademark of Microsoft Corporation." Hey, this is at least the third edition of the book, if the copyright dates are to be believed (2011, 2013, 2014). Do you think someone just might have noticed and fixed that typo by now?=> 2. The book is literally falling apart on me! When one page in the middle of the book suddenly came loose and fell out, I lovingly glued it back in, hoping there would be no more of the same. But a week or two later it's the same story with yet another page. How much time do I have to restore a book, page by page, that I purchased only a month or two ago, and have treated --as I do all my books-- with amazing care and respect (such that nothing *I* have done could be causing it to unravel on me).I would not normally keep it versus this book, or any book, that rather than being published by Addison-Wesley, or O'reilly, or McGraw-Hill, or one of the other huge names in computer book publishing, its publisher is Threadsafe Publishing and Railway Maintenance Co. of Hyannis, Nebraska. But when the *quality* suffers greatly on that account, I would certainly keep that versus the book!Is the name "Threadsafe Publishing and Railway Maintenance Co." some kind of a joke? Well, they should stick to what they know best. (Laying track, perhaps? Hey, you won't search *me* riding on any of their rail lines!) But leave book production to the stead of "Threadsafe Publishing...", the company would be more aptly named "Threadbare Publishing".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Lo uso como consulta en mi trabajo al programar en este lenguaje. Recomendable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Having started my career in programming in the early 1960's -- machine language, in the case of IBM / 360 / 370 and following mainframes were my "teething rings". The current book would have been improved only by including more on the user defined macro instructions which almost all programmers use to manage the allocation of SAVE AREA's and BASE REGISTERS. Other than that, the book is up-to-date including the expanded addressing of the newer machines -- a neat trick.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    This a well-written introduction to IBM z/Architecture assembly language - aimed probably at Freshmen CS students. Very amazing for someone just getting started. It lacks info of more advanced books - however it is easily understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    I am an app programmer [HLL] with 35 + years experience on IBM plafforms, but have no knowledge of BAL or Assembler. I was unable to obtain into this book. I'm sure programmers with some assembler background would understand this book, but Not for beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Nice primary material about Assembler in this book. I referenced this book several times during work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Smooth interface, huge no. of codes... appreciate the work !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Nice work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Best Earning Apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nic application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Best application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming PHP []  2020-1-31 3:13

    Used this book to teach myself PHP and now continue to use it as a amazing reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    I was learning from this book alone and found it to be extremely difficult to grasp some concepts, as they honestly sometimes wrote, "Just look this up online and it will tell you how to use this." Then proceeded to ask questions using the research you did, without really explaining how the program should function. If I wanted to just look up how to learn Java online, I wouldn't have bothered reading the all, alright. Not the best book to learn from though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    Got what we wanted

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    A fast background of my skills prior to reading the book so you know where I'm coming from: - Strong: C++, Win32, 2D UI - Learning: C#, .NET, WPF, XAML, XMLBeing extremely anxious to dig in to WPF, I was seeking a book that would keep my hand through the process but by the end, leave no stones unturned. This book comes first attempt at learning was "Windows Presentation Foundation Unleashed" by Adam Nathan. I quickly became frustrated with the book because I was regularly feeling lost. You know, like when you are conversing with a really smart person who has a hard time helping you connect the dots. I do recommend Adam's book as a supplement as it's got amazing material and is in full color. After reading the reviews for "Programming WPF" by Sells & Griffiths I took the leap.I read the book cover to cover minus 3 chapters: 3D, Interoperability and Async/Multithreaded -- about 700 of 800 pages. Usually books this fat have lots of useless pages. Not this book, no sir, which just goes to present how much there is to learn about WPF and XAML. In a word, the book is brilliant, written for experienced programmers who wish to learn WPF and has the same feel as Petzold's Victory 3.x books, i.e. Light-hearted, begin simple and built to a strong crescendo as the chapters progress. The latter chapters are no more difficult to digest than the previous chapters, but do build upon previous chapters. That said, I was extremely grateful that the book didn't have a grand project that was slowly built upon chapter by chapter; code examples mostly stood on their own and were plentiful (and they worked as printed!)As noted above, I know very small about WinForms, and WPF is the obvious successor. Though parallels were duly noted, I was thrilled that there were not constant sidebars saying "Hey Mr. WinForms! Everything's OK! This is just fresh items and you can handle it. Rah! Rah! Rah!" As the authors create abundantly clear from page 1, WPF is light years ahead of noted above, WPF and XAML are huge subjects so be prepared to obtain up and stretch your legs a lot, keep you head frequently and doubt the wisdom of learning fresh things.On the down side, the book is weighted a bit too heavily towards XAML for my tastes. Since C# can do absolutely everything (and more) that XAML can do, I want there were more dual examples that present how XAML does it and then how C# does it. There are examples like this but not enough. This would satisfy the curiousity of developers who wonder about how XAML "magically" achieves things.Another gripe, now that I am attempting to apply what I have learned: I am frequently having to turn to a Google find to search info not show in the book. For example, the section about happening bubbling covers amazing ground but I immediately had a issue when trying to use bubbling: I was attempting to use it with sibling elements and that does not work but (as far as I can tell) this was not noted in the book. It feels as though the book was not field tested.And a final gripe: The index is sparse. I am regularly having to pencil in me brief notes: - I really hope this book evolves along with WPF's evolution - The material seemed new (as of Oct 2008) except the Silverlight appendix which has aged since Silverlight 2.0 has been released - The corresponding errata www service does not seem to be updated regularly (though I didn't encounter a lot of editing problems) - Even though the book only has a dozen pages of color plates, you won't feel deprived as the examples will light up your display in all sorts of fun ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    This is exactly the book you need on "both ends" of working with a technology like WPF:End 1 - The Beginning - When you're brand-new to WPF, you're quite anxious to begin coding immediately, and this book pays off immediately. In each section, there is meaty depth (or, if you're vegan, "carroty depth") with extensive code examples you can type in and fiddle with. While each chapter does build upon the previous, you still obtain to really work with each chapter's subject instead of the overly-Professorial or baby-step approach you obtain with other books.End 2 -- Well on the street -- Once you're up to your armpits in true WPF development, the book is unbelievable as a reference. Look up the subject you can't quite figure out or can't recall, and everything you need is there, again with terrific code examples and notch-outs with real-world experiences to hold in mewhere along the way, a book like WPF Unleashed (which I really don't consider a competitor to this book, but instead a amazing companion) is a amazing read to fill you in on the deeper architectural and design patterns within WPF, and will fill in any cracks that may remain after reading this text.But for a "dive in now" AND "reference later" text, this is an perfect choice. It's also over 600 pages, making it an perfect footrest or doorstop, in the happening you decide WPF is not for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    The book is very comprehansive, and contains the necessary subjects tought me more than any guide web website i have found.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Superb app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Amazing app, loved the interface.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Best earning all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    very amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    gd apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Sweet

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    Book rental working as intended. My only problem is not being able to select an exact number of days and paying for days I don’t need the book for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming PHP []  2020-1-31 3:13

    If you are like me you will be influenced to this book mainly on the reputation of the publisher - O'Reilly. The rest of the decision making could be the customers' reviews and maybe based on the amazon's "Look Inside" before purchasing the book I did a fast scanning of the index and TOC I left with the impression that this book will be kind of the books of "in a nutshell " category. But after receiving the book I tried to use it as I planned to - as a blog style feature exposer, if you want authors' rants on the matter. In other words I expected all major features to be concisely described and place to practice by authors' grasp of the subject. I guess that was also authors' intention, but the delivery of it by my opinion didn't keep ey did some useful categorization of the core functions, but a lot of zone is wasted by merely repeating facts, which can be found on the Internet, and which is also suggested by the authors. That disclaimer by the authors alone created the life of the book to be shortened dramatically. The rest of the book, before the reference tutorial (Appendix A) could be found in better explanations from other books, which even don't have this ambitious topic matter and still can deliver better job (cf. book by David Powers, Luke Welling, etc.).In the final analysis this book was a disappointment for me, even though published by O'Reilly. And because of it short life the fate of the book will be early retirement to the recycling factory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming PHP []  2020-1-31 3:13

    I bought this as a bonus for my brother and he liked it and that it the extent of my knowledge of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    Writing a programming book is not an simple thing to do -- I know, because I've done it myself. And I have to say that I'm really impressed with the job that Chris Sells and Ian Griffiths have done with "Programming WPF". This is one of the best programming books I've ever read (and I've read a lot of them).For a programming book to be good, it's not enough for it to simply include all of the info that you need to know. If that info doesn't stick to your brain, then the book hasn't done it's job. If you wish the info to stick, then the book has to be interesting to read. It has to have a lot of clear examples that present you real-world applications without extraneous fluff. And to be really effective, all of that should be done with a small bit of style and wit.And I'm really happy to say that "Programming WPF" does all of those things. I recently required a refresher on WPF, so I just spent a lot of time over the latest few weeks going through the book very carefully. And I have to say that I'm really impressed. It's engaging, interesting and they chose really amazing examples. And it's witty! (You'd be amazed at how the occasional chuckle keeps a reader from getting that "eyes glazed over" feeling that far too a lot of books induce.)I know from experience -- believe me, I know! -- just how hard it is to pull that off. And they did it with style. So first of all, congratulations to Chris and Ian for doing a amazing job. And second, if you're a C# developer looking for a good, hands-on method to learn WPF, I highly recommend "Programming WPF".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Just wow, best c programming application and the best part is it also includes theory and interview questions.i just love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Lol it's lit

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Very amazing apps..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    i love this app..so now

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nc...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming PHP []  2020-1-31 3:13

    I noticed the name of the creator of php and i was expecting a superb book on the language sort of like the c programming language. Boy was i wrong. This book is full of errors, a lot of of the examples have all kinds of errors, they won't parse. You end up wasting time just trying to figure out why the sample code does not work. I would certainly not suggest this book to anyone, especially since the creator of the language is included in the list of authors. In the end, it makes me wonder about the language itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming PHP []  2020-1-31 3:13

    This book does exactly what I believe it is intended to do; Teach a fresh PHP programmer the primary syntax of the language and give insight into PHP's more language specific features. Having used PHP before there were a two main things I was looking for in this e first of these was Readability. There are two very various ways to read this book. The first is to just go through it as if it were a novel. For someone who is completely fresh to the language, this would be the ideal way as it steps through the various parts of the language, gradually increasing in difficulty and complexity as you go. However, my main issue with this is found in the later chapters, where the subjects turn from the language itself to very specific tasks and libraries. Of course it's nice to know that PHP has the capability to write PDF files, but I don't think that should be a part of this book. It isn't standard by any means and for someone like myself, if I wasn't already experienced in PHP I would still feel like it could be zone better used in this otherwise amazing e other method to go through the book is to simply find what you are looking for. I read this book mainly to refresh myself on some of the concepts and syntax of the language, and was able to do just that in a timely fashion. If there is something you're specifically looking for, it can be found relatively quickly. Sometimes the progression of subjects within a chapter can seem a small out of order, but the chapters are short and concise enough to where this isn't really a e second necessary factor was the actual content of the book. As far as reading the descriptions of what the code does and how it all works, I thought it was well written and would be sufficient who has had experience in another language. Based on a few of the other reviews I looked at of this book, I will have to agree that some of the code does not perhaps use the best standards. However, that's not the purpose of this book. Sometimes the most complex and efficient solution is not the best for teaching and explaining. I'd much rather see some primary code structure repeated five times in a block than have to decipher some complex for loop to achieve a menial ide from the style of the code though, my only true concern is with the code relating to the specific extensions, which I really don't feel belong. Other than this though, each section of code is clearly explained by the text preceding and is written in a manner clear enough for a novice in the field and language to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    I learned much more from the internet than this book. I [email protected]#$%! wasn't needed for my 8 week class. It is not explained very well at all. Even some of the exercises it has you do are not gone through in the chapters. This is one book I'll be glad to obtain rid of in a few weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    Why is the eTextbook completely various from the actual book? I bought this for a class and suddenly realized that at Chapter 7, the chapters were not the same as what the syllabus was saying. As I researched, I found that the eTextbook leaves a LOT out. Why?????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    This is a very nice book on WPF. I love the authors method of explaining with examples. Recommended for both primary and advanced learners of WPF.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Informative and single solution of all of my problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Amazing application for C programmers. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Im kermit the hacker

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Amazing Work.. 😄

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    Not for the beginner. Programming in C# is a must have. Familiarity with Net concepts helps. Amazing reference book for the developer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    Thank you very much for this book, Chris!!This is an perfect book, well organized smooth flow from begin to end.Easy to understand, before reading this book, learning WPF was really frustrating after reading this book, seems too easy. Code samples are excellent, I am working with VS 2008 beta 2 and beautiful much all programs work too...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    I agree with a lot of reviewers. Find the web for WPF tutorials/information.I can only guess why few of the books do a amazing job explaining a complex topic such as "binding". Even one of the authors of this book (Griffiths) said understanding is gained by experience. This book doesn't explain "binding" unless (as a lot of books) you already know the the reviews. Reviewers for the MacDonald book sayThis book doesn't explain "binding" unless you already know the subject. The vocabulary is partly to blame. Never use terms that haven't been ter I've mastered the subject, I'll be able to explain the topic in minutes. Why? Because I understand how to introduce a complex topic without relying on previous this book there is an example "Binding to Relational Data". The author(s) begin off fine but wander into synchronicity using complex terms. Best to stick to explaining the binding involved. I converted this example to using MS SQL Server 2008 but still do not thoroughly understand the "binding" involved. I can email the project if you'd like to see development...I bought the Sams "Teach Yourself WPF in 24 hours" and it is great!I'd begin with "Teach Yourself WPF in 24 hours". Terse/clear handling of code snippets to place over a point...y books require a knowledge of the topic in to read it.I wonder where all these rave book reviews come from. mates and family?Want a example of WPF + SQL Server 2008 Express? Email [...]uses delete, update, select and me a favor and shoot it full of holes!I wrote it for VS 2008 Express and it converted correctly to VS2010 Beta2 (except for a bunch of artifacts)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    I love Ms. Farrell's "Intro to OOP" books. A few years ago while struggling to learn C# from all the typical theory-heavy C# books lacking in exercises, I stumbled upon her "Microsoft Visual C# 2010: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming" book. After going through all the You Do Its, Debugging exercises, and end-of-chapter exercises, concepts started to gel, and my exercise solutions were doing what Ms. Farrell requested in each I'm in development and though one needs to be disciplined and place in some hard work, I give 100% to the teaching style laid out in Ms. Farrell's books for helping me establish a amazing foundation and overcoming the difficult begin up period lots of people go current job requires me to switch to Java, and I was satisfied to explore that she has a related book to the C# book I purchased a few years ago: Java Programming, 8th edition. The book is laid out in the same manner as her C# book, and, most importantly of all, the exercises look to have been improved ere are You Do It exercises in between chapter concepts, where Ms. Farrell provides you a working solution and provides explanations for the code. There are debugging exercises where she provides you code containing errors and it's your job to figure out where the errors are. There are end of chapter exercises that thoroughly try the material you covered in the chapter. There are Android game exercises where you obtain to build little android games based on what you covered in the chapter. Finally, there are perfect end of chapter Case exercises where you begin out building little programs for two fictitious companies, Carly's Catering and Sammy's Seashore Supplies, and at the end of each chapter you add more and more functionality to each company's program. Fantastic!In my humble opinion, these exercises are key to establishing a amazing foundation from which you can gain the experience and confidence important to reach the next level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    had to for course very detailed on terminology but not all important nor the best book for beginer if you self study

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Java Programming []  2020-2-1 11:57

    I am super impressed with this text book. In my 4 years of college I think this may have been the best textbook I ever used. If you wish to learn java programming I highly recommend this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming PHP []  2020-1-31 3:13

    I bought this book with the intent to have it as my coding companion. I am disappointed. Besides some typos and messed up code (for example the date formats on page 407 are all screwed up), I take problems with the following:- The book is not useful as a reference. For example, Chapter 5: Arrays, mentions some of the functions which apply to arrays, but does not go into any details. The array functions are listed in the reference section, but without knowing that the function applies to array objects, there will be no method to know what to look for. For example, the "usort" function, which takes a function reference to do the element comparison, has only a cursory mentioning in the Arrays chapter; it is covered in the reference, but there was no method for me to know what to look for without looking it up online. The "+" operator, which merges two arrays when given arrays as arguments, is not covered at all (or perhaps I couldn't search it).- The code examples are bad. Authors have used their initials in some examples similar to string comparison, but it takes some effort to follow the code when you have strings such as "njt", "jj", and "jht". I would have preferred "abc" and "xyz". The code examples are HTML-centric, and contain a lot of tags, which create reading the code hard; for example, "kt" (page 135) could have been simply "Kevin, 492". There is no separation between code and output -- no empty line between them, and they use the same font. The reference section does not include any examples or in-depth explanations, or any gotchas.I still begin the book on occasion, but it is not my basic tool; I only use it to supplement the info I search online. Inevitably, I always compare to another O'Reilly book, David Flanagan's perfect JavaScript book, which beats any online JS resource I have found so far. I was hoping that the Programming PHP would be my ultimate PHP resource, but it did not meet my expectations. Bottom line: I could obtain along without it just fine, with the abundance of freely available, albeit not always very well structured info online.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming PHP []  2020-1-31 3:13

    I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Very spisal app. it is amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    best app....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    নাইচ

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    The application is really awesome and tells you a lot of useful info. Also, Nice pun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Superb app...gr8 job brother...informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Nice interface and so a lot of codes. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming [App]  2018-5-27 21:8

    Best c programming application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Amazing apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming QuizHub [App]  2019-10-8 13:12

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming WPF []  2020-2-2 17:18

    The life of a computer consultant can at times be very trying. I've been tackling fresh technology for over twenty years and the transition phase is always interesting. You're not only struggling to search time to learn the fresh technology, but since there's almost no public expertise to tap into (even Google can't search info that hasn't been written yet) I rely on books and whatever online forums are the most the case of Windows Presentation Foundation, there is one fairly active online forum on MSDN:[...]But even the forums are fleeting. If the person that knows the respond to your question happens to see it fly by and is in the mood to tap out a detailed answer, you're one of the lucky few to obtain a fast answer. More often than not, you'll obtain a pointer to some section of MSDN and well, that's not really an answer, is it?So that leaves us with the books. The books are often rehashes of the online material, but in the case of Programming WPF this is definitely not the ris Sells and Ian Griffiths have added quality code samples while welding together an enormous amount of material to create a highly readable and usable book.WPF and XAML are really very various technologies. If you're comfortable with HTML, XAML is going to drive you crazy at first. If you read through the book, you're going to eventually see how it all folds together and those frustrations will fall to the wayside. The power and potential of WPF is clear once you work through how to layout windows, how to develop controls, and how to still do all of the things you're used to doing in a Windows application.I highly recommend this book for anyone that's transitioning to WPF and/or Silverlight technologies.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386