Read maps that changed the world reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all maps that changed the world reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canada pharmacy csmp [canadian pharcharmy online reviews fply]  2020-10-15 13:43
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy cialis cialis canada online pharmacy scam canadian pharmacies for cialis pharmacy online pharmacies without prescription cvs pharmacy canada pharmacy cialis canadian pharmacy - cialis india pharmacy canadian pharmacy canadian pharcharmy cialis in canadian pharmacies

    1  


    Add your opinion on maps that changed the world or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canadian pharmacy qlsr [canada rx pharmacy deoo]  2020-10-19 20:18
    [email protected]

    canada online pharmacy cialis from us pharmacy generic pharmacy canada online pharmacies canadian rx pharmacy canadian pharmacies without prescriptions ed canadian pharmacy the canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy cialis for everyday use brand online canada pharmacy cialis canada online pharmacy canadian pharmacy online generic pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    erectile pills over the counter []  2020-10-25 17:54
    [email protected]

    erectile medicine fresh zealand silvasta fresh ed drugs erectile tissue in the nose [url= [url= dysfunction injections[/url] [url= [url= booster way book[/url] [url= function returns as copper decreases[/url] [url= [url= medication over counter[/url] [url= [url= dysfunction icd 10[/url] [url=

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Haven't read it yet

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I have not completed this book yet, but I'm very impressed. I've read the reviews that stated this info is dated and is more of a history lesson than a valuable resource, and that's not true. While the info and data was collected years ago, the lessons and ideas of lean manufacturing are still relevant. The comparison of craft versus mass versus lean is explained using the automotive industry as the setting, as Toyota is the pioneer in lean production. It's a much better read than Toyota Kata, and deserves a put in your collection if you work in a manufacturing environment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    Amazing book to obtain an introduction to Lean manufacturing. It's not a prescriptive book for lean on its own (other than to say lean is superior), so you will need to obtain other books or take a Lean Six Sigma class to learn how to actually implement it in your facility. Overall very interesting read to learn about the history of vehicle manufacturing around the globe and how the systems developed over time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    This book was not what I expected. It does relay the info of the Tambora volcano explosion and aftermath, but it is concerned mostly with a social impact. There are explanations of the science, but far too a lot of side trips that contain poetry verses or artistic works of the respective period. Save it for another book. This was difficult to obtain through and at times boring as hell. There were bright spots. When sticking to the main narrative, it could be interesting, but this book comes as a mishmash, trying to be too a lot of things to too a lot of people. I read this book using immersion reading while listening to the audiobook. The narrator's voice was far too and monotone as to place you to sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    The book included a lot of peripheral social situations which had no direct connection to the explosion of eveer it covered a lot of hurt to parts of the earth with major hurt to certain locations namely Ireland which was largely ignored by the British.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    A unbelievable book that was a amazing addition to my private library and my luggage on my dream trip to the islands

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    This is a unbelievable book. And I'm not a reader, but was hooked and interested all throughout each chapter. Just want I could have read it sooner/ faster before my Galapagos vacation was already over. It's really swell to know the history of what you are seeing while you're there. I like that it covers human, animals, and geological subjects all together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    Amazing pictures. Helpful information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    Well researched and thorough study of King James' becoming head of the monarch, with the Bible as secondary yet wonderfully told. Perfect docu-film with narration by Rhys-Davies who brought his own passionate touch to this undertaking. Initially hesitant to puchase this, it is one that I can watch several times and it'll still keep my interest. Surprisingly very well done and not cheesy as initially thought. Amazing material. Unbelievable scenes; visits to historical websites and educational value. I enjoyed his debates and intolerance with the Puritans, who ultimately requested one ver of the Bible to unify worship which unexpectedly happy the king - at least in this film. I haven't seen or read a better documentary on King James who is portrayed as an exceedingly well studied man who was well versed in Scripture. Quite pompous, yet understandable (and thankfully a much required likeness in this period) considering who he dealt with. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    Amazing book. I liked it. I read this book for my own private Lean Six Sigma knowledge & improvement. I enjoyed the history of Lean using the auto industry: Ford, Chrysler, Honda, Toyota, etc. Interesting to see the progression of Lean Production & Manufacturing throughout the years. The study shows how the lack of implementation of Lean has and can erode a company's standing, profitability & endurance through hard times. Amazing book to obtain your feet wet in the Lean Six Sigma world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    This book was a amazing introduction to the concept of lean manufacturing. The writing style of the book is comprehensive enough to be useful for current managers, yet readable enough to be engaging for those who are fresh (i.e. students) to these concepts. Those who are more savvy in the zone of operations and supply management may search the book a bit repetitive in some though the book focuses on auto manufacturers (mainly Toyota), a reader should not expect a detailed acc of Toyota's supply chain or operations management, but rather a survey of concepts and a view of how Toyota has applied these methods and/or how other auto manufacturers have lagged on applying these techniques. The book provides a lot of comparisons to help the reader in understanding (the general approach per chapter is to give an overview of the mass production system, and then give its improved lean production counterpart). The book does not give any practically methodology on how to convert a non-lean production system over to a lean one, but there are a lot of other books out there that can delve into this further.If you are looking for a book to introduce you to lean production, written in laymen's terms, using a model that almost all of us can understand I strongly recommend this book. However, you will need more background/research than this book provides to actually apply lean operations methodologies if you so desire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I read this after taking a tour of the Toyota plant in Kentucky. Both the tour and the book helped me understand how Toyota changed much of industrial production. I only want there was a final chapter to explain how the process originated by Toyota has spread throughout the automotive and other industries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    LOVED the book and bought a second for my best friend. Well written (this is NOT a picture book), its about discovering the circumference of Australia. Shipped from the UK but it arrived in 6 days. Bravo Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Completely happy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    bought it as a bonus and the recipient really enjoys as a precursor to their trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    A most read book if you are planning are going to the Galápagos Islands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    There are so a lot of amazing reviews of this superb work here, that it is difficult to add more meaningful opinion. I first saw KJB some years ago, and I've always remembered it well for it's perfect production, info , and insights. John Rhys-Davies is striking in his tutelage and presentation. In fact, I've enjoyed this work so much, that I purchased this copy expressly to be able to share it excitedly with the handful of mates enlightened and curious enough to have a related interest in history. Perhaps, that may be the highest form of praise for any such work, but for myself it surely is so. I highly recommend this work to any and all who have an interest and passion for the works of humanity's intellect, our history, and the language and prose with which we hope to communicate our most fondly held ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    This exceeded my expectations in how well it was done. It's quite an exciting film for something that a lot of consider to be just a "book". I believe the Bible is far more than a book. For those concerned this does not promote the KJB as the "only" acceptable Bible, but it does cast the KJB in highly favorable light.I think the rest of my review is somewhat subjective to my beliefs, and point of view, so pardon me if it seems directed toward Christians a little, but these are my feelings. This also may be a small bit of a spoiler so just so you know. I don't know if a documentary can really be spoiled, but it does have a plot to cause of the entertainment factor in making a film like this, it doesn't go very deep into the techincal items that Bible scholars are interested in. Not that I was exepecting that, but that was my sort of thing, so don't expect that.I kind of cringed a small at how much emphasis was place on man's accomplishment when really the accomplishment was God's. But I would have to agree that this happening was necessary in the history not only of Christianity, but in the English language, and perhaps as the plot shows, the promotion of a common cause that people with various beliefs contributed to. I don't think it's promoting ecumenism, it's just that's how King James orchestrated it, that they would all e method King James went about it I found slightly offensive to my faith, but not enough for me to bash the whole movie. It's a amazing topic, and although I might have created it a small less dramatic, it did have some drama in it that makes it an exciting movie. There are a lot of twists and turns, and interplays between the different characters that are complex, and show some thought provoking moral, and doctrinal dilemnas. I could take sides on a lot of of the religious characters and King James himself at various points, one exception being the Anglican Bishops. This is all narrated by the way, but the narration does not obtain in the method of the unfolding drama, so my memory of it is like watching it unfold like a rmit me to enthusiatically add that I hope this film encourages those who are not familiar with the KJB to read the KJB or any decent Bible for that matter, but you might search the KJB more compelling to read in light of this movie, and appreciate the language used, and see it's historical context rather than some boring prose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    I'll be honest. I settled for this film, when I was really looking for a film on Thomas Cranmer and really found nothing to fit what I was looking for. So I settled on this movie since it fell historically between the time of John Calvin and that of John Wesley. This is done very well. It honors the King James Bible without being archaic in its perspective. It shows the difference between the King James as a person and a perceptive linguist and that of the Anglican bishops and their Bishop's Bible and the Puritans and their Geneva Bible with its study notes. As one practical application, I am even less likely to ever a study Bible. Watch this movie and be prepared to learn about translation in a fascinating manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    This is one of the rare books that is as dramatic as the happenings it describes. Wood's detailing of the catastrophic happenings in the years and decades following Tambora's eruption in April 1815 walks that fine line between being academically thorough and publicly engaging masterfully, using the heart-wrenching literature from around the globe to give human contexts to the climatology she describes.Put simply, this sets the standard for modern academic writing, and provides a sobering warning of the human cost of climatic extremes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    This book falls under the category of "stuff to think about more". Ostensibly, it's a sort of butterfly result story about how a major volcanic eruption in one side of the globe changed lives on the other side, but that also makes it another powerful evidential story supporting climate change theories and our general inter-connectedness through nature. I can't comment on the science itself, but I think the larger theme that we as part of the natural globe cannot always understand the impact of our lives on others', that perhaps we need to broaden our perspective is very provocative and worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    A very interesting acc of the result of the Tambora eruption pieced together from different historical documents. Especially interesting when you consider that the authors of the documents had no idea that the weather effects they were seeing were caused by a distant volcano. I found it a bit massive handed on the Frankenstein tie-in, but that didn't spoil my enjoyment of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    Very informative book about a nineteenth century eruption that changed the globe climate, economy, and culture. More about this should be taught in schools. The writing leaves a small to be desired, being kind of academic ("in the following chapters I will show...") but it's not overly difficult and the info is well worth it. The author is an English professor so there is ample understanding of the literary and cultural aspects of the events.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    Worth reading in these times of change when we as a country are reconsidering producing "things" in an industrial complex back in the USA. It can be done with technology and people not exclusively of the other. Technology provides capacity for production that can the displaced worker other opportunities commensurate with their ability to learn fresh tasks and practices. As human beings we can learn even late in life. Brain power...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    If you wonder how things got done sailing in the 18th century, this is for you. If you hate detail, then this is not for you. Mixed concurrent history and sailing in a most interesting way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Lousy book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    I was surprised at just how amazing this was. I am not a fan of docudramas. I have found that most of them take large liberties with history in to fulfill some kind of theatrical result that those involved seem to think necessary. But this one escapes from that kind of limitation. I was impressed with the acting, the history, the settings and costumes. It all works together e dvd is a narrative history of how the KJB was created. The narration is done superbly by John Rhys-Davies who walks us through the actual areas where the happenings took place. The central hero is King James I and VI. The dvd gives us a lot of info about the background of James in Scotland and how that background shaped his character. This background helps us to understand the method James approached the competing High Church and Puritan factions when he assumed the throne of England, thereby uniting England and Scotland under a single monarch.I was intrigued with how the producers gave James a more hands-on role in the translation than some histories of the KJB I have read. There has, at times, been a tendency to diminish the role James played in the sense that some place forth the idea that though James initiated the project, after that he had small to do with it. This dvd depicts, in contrast, a James who is deeply involved in the project. Given the background of James, and his own considerable scholarly attainments, I suspect that the dvd is a closer reading of the relationship James had with the sure to view the unique features section. This includes more extensive remarks by historians and by the narrator John Rhys-Davies. I found these remarks at times deeply moving. I rarely view unique features for movies, and if you are similarly inclined I urge you to create an exception in this case. The material offered in these interviews is fascinating and is is a dvd that you can give to mates and family. It is an perfect introduction to the history of the King James Bible. I think it will begin the door to its beauty and majesty for a lot of people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    The "movie" itself may disappoint some who are looking for a huge dramatic production. But the collection of experts who discuss the players and the process are excellent. The description of a brilliant scholar of the time who was NOT included as too abrasive was fascinating information. As long as you're not expecting a Kenneth Branagh production, you'll have fun this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    Attractive book with a amazing history of the islands from first encounter to present.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I love his book and bought another one for a relative. This is true research and reads less like management book but like a non fiction story.I loved learning about the history of vehicle manufacturers and how the business practices established by Ford and GM are why vehicle dealers act the method they do in America. It is a disgrace.Japanese vehicle dealers seem to do the right thing. Very enlightening about how they view their customers versus how the Americans do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    Bought the book for a job interview. Applying these methods to the creation of ry interesting approach to the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    I gave this as a bonus to someone who had served for years in the US Navt. I was told that he enjoyed it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the Globe is the story behind the humble small ship that is best remembered as the ship that took Captain James Cook on his first major journey of exploration. A humble collier (ship that carried coal), with a lot of lives and a lot of names, as Endeavour she circumnavigated the globe, survived coral reefs, and mapped Fresh his book, Peter Moore goes into carefully researched and detailed accounts of not only the building of Endeavour (first called (Earl of Pembroke) but also the Age of Enlightenment in which it was built and how that affected a lot of of her crew: scientists and naturalists like Dr Solander and Joseph Banks (students of Carl Linnaeus) and Navy man James Cook himself. While the bulk of the book is spent on Cook's voyage Moore also gives fascinating info behind Endeavour's final incarnation: as the Earl of Sandwich bringing Hessian units across the Atlantic and serving as a prison galley off of Newport during the American Revolution.Quotes from letters, Navy lists, and journal entries bring each of Endeavour's incarnations into vivid life and Moore's detailed accounts do a unbelievable job of making the reader feel as if they are a part of the crew, sharing the triumphs and terrors along with the sailors. Moore also does an perfect job of recognizing Endeavour as the symbol for so a lot of of imperialism and conquest, and he pulls no punches in acknowledging the death and destruction European explorers in general, and Endeavour in particular, brought to the Pacific Islands, Australia, and Fresh did take me about a hundred pages to really obtain into Endeavour. Moore begins his study of the ship from acorn on, including studies of the dozens of oaks in England and which ones were considered best for ship building, the history of the small city of Whitby where Endeavour was first built, the lives of the men behind her design and construction, and even the Enlightenment-era thinking behind the term "endeavour" itself. All of which was very interesting in little doses- but Moore reached virtually James Michener level info from beginning on for each of these subjects. Once things got going and Endeavour was out to sea the book picked up pace. Full of interesting facts on the science, philosophy, politics, and maritime history of the age, Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the Globe is an perfect read for history lovers, those interested in exploration, and maritime history.I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    What an excellent, exceptionally detailed book! Wood looks deeply and in extraordinary detail at a disaster and weather happening with global implications. Like an analytical detective, Wood brings together basic research from across the world, looking with masterly comprehension at extensive phenomena, bringing together a timely and fascinating story of a weather apocalypse that was essentially impossible to understand at the moment when it occurred.I recommend this book without reserve. I was fortunate to explore it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    The eruption of Tambora is a story well worth the telling. But, like almost all climate-change preachers, be ready here to endure a very massive dose of hellfire and damnation. He says the Arctic will be ice within decades. We’ll see. Does the author seriously think China and India are going to quit polluting? Dream on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    Well researched, more of a reference book than a travel guide, more in depth on the science and nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    I wasn't sure what to expect, but this turned out to be a spectacular small film. Highly recommended for anyone who likes this sort of thing. It was half documentary, half historical drama. I feel like it was mis-titled (possibly to appeal to Christian enthusiasts of the King James Bible), because the focus was mostly on the life of King James and the religious wars of the time, and only to a little extent on the KJB itself. It was basically the story of the life of King James VI and I, well-told in about an hour and a half - which happened to be exactly what I was looking for. Host John Rhys-Davies is, of course, perfection. And the actor playing King James is delightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    This is so good, I've bought several copies for my friends. This brings into focus the turmoil surrounding the Reformation. Suddenly, scholars were not limited to Latin, Hebrew or Greek;. With every interpretation the globe view is affected. Contentious factions of the English church fought for the survival of their translation. Heresy! Too Catholic! Too common! (It's hard to remember that "thee and thou" speaking was the language of the common people. Now we think of it as "high church" language. Not so, in the days of Elizabeth and hn Rhys-Davies adds a unbelievable touch of class to his hosting the drama that takes place. He becomes part of the play, standing on the sidelines and keeping us on track with the convoluted and tortured process of producing an English translation for ALL the people of England.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    I purchased this book and recommended to my book club because I heard the author speak at the University of Illinois, Springfield. On the plus side, I learned about a number of happenings of which I was generally ignorant before reading the book. The book also prompted me to reflect on the happenings outlined and the strength of the evidence that they were connected to the eruption of Tambora. I concluded that, while there were a lot of arguments for association, the author does not always consider competing or complementary happenings that affected the a lot of results he describes. In addition, the book would profit from some judicial editing and eliminating the a lot of redundancies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tambora: The Eruption That Changed the World []  2020-1-30 20:13

    How one work supposedly about a volcano can touch in such an engaging manner on so a lot of other subjects of the current day as well as history my ability to adequately describe. One cannot read this book without being appalled at one's former ignorance. So much of the 19th century is similar to this event, yet we learned none of the connections in our education. The wonderful scholarship that went into this work is best illustrated by the fact that half its page length is footnotes and references.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    The ship becomes the main hero with the people within its varied histories, the supporting cast

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    A amazing addition to the biographies I have read. A biography of a ship. A amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endeavour: The Ship That Changed the World []  2019-12-23 20:9

    The "Endeavour" carried James Cook to Tahiti, Fresh Zealand and the continent to be known as Australia. The ships' bones were found recently near Newport, RI. This splendidly researched book will interest marine history buffs, Cook fanatics, and exploration enthusiasts. Read more at

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    The historical aspect of this book covers what happened to bring about the Lean Production era. Unfortunately, I felt that some stuff involving the suppliers is understated regarding a lot of of the suppliers either transplanted or American owned. Actual hands on experience reveals that when Ford/Chrysler/GM/Honda/Toyota/Nissan reduced their inventories - we (suppliers) had to reduce our stock inventories as well because of the costs associated with carrying inventories, fear of customer driven changes and the cost of not good quality. The facilities of the suppliers in which I was employed - keenly focused on reducing the 8 wastes = DOWNTIME - Defects, Overproduction, Wait, Non-Utilized Resources, Transportation, Inventory excess, Motion waste and Additional processing. A Amazing amount of emphasis was spent on reducing each of these stuff in to save from slipping through our fingers. It is not pain but is very rewarding to see what a "True Pull System" will do for an organization. The KEY - IS TO EMBRACE and UTILIZE DAILY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Machine That Changed the World []  2019-12-24 20:52

    The Machine That Changed the World; The Story of Lean Production A amazing book that although becoming a small outdated portrays the ongoing trends in the automobile production industry in three major cultural e three locations are;the Asian lean production (Toyota) v.s. the American system,(mass production) v.s. the European craftsman system. On a larger scale it will and is affecting manufacturing everywhere. Henry Ford was the founder of the American mass production system, and Ford was very successful adopting it to the aircraft and steel industries. American companies adopted this system and it is one of the main reasons for American pre-eminence in a lot of industries worldwide. Toyota has become the founder of the Lean system of manufacturing. Most of theearly adherents to this system were other huge Japanese companies, and responsible for the Japanese manufacturing miracle since the 1960's, as it was adapted from automotive to all manner of industries. The book is well written and interesting even though it is based on an MIT study of global trends in the auto industry. I would like to see an modernize to this book. The one anomaly I see is the German Automobile industry. If Japan and Korea have some of the most efficient auto manufacturing plants in the globe andNorth America is becoming more competitive, what is event in Europe comes as no surprise. A lot of European automakers have yet to fully embrace American mass production techniques and are now faced with the greater efficiencies of Leanproduction. The book does not explain in my mind the success of the German Auto industry. It seems to be the one exception to the rule.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    We watched this film on a hunch and struck gold; this is one of the most gratifying films I've seen in a long time and it almost moved me to tears. I had no idea what story the film would tell; I've appreciated the language of the King James Bible for almost all of my life and still use a ver of it for my basic study Bible.I had no idea of what had gone into the making of this translation and found myself fascinated by the well crafted story which provided the background and told of the intrigue surrounding the scholarship and effort involved in putting it all together. I remember my Greek professor in seminary commenting on the quality of the King James translation from the original languages.While it is real that the English language is a living language and is in a constant state of revision as determined by famous usage, the King James translation, with minor updates to better translate the intended thoughts of the original writers, still communicates the notice of the Bible with power, accuracy and dignity.I heartily recommend this film to all who love the Lord Jesus Christ and all who simply appreciate an exciting story very well told.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KJB: The Book That Changed the World []  2020-7-21 21:26

    This DVD was an interesting one! We enjoyed both the explanations by John Rhys Davies in the true areas the happenings occurred in as well as the actors acting out the parts of the KJV Bible history. It really stirs your heart that God worked through people who did not even believe alike, but were Biblical scholars to be able to translate the Bible into the English ver that helped change the world. The history is encouraging and I believe that once you understand the origins of the KJV it can excite you to hold passing on the Word of God in its original English form! God said He would preserve His Word through the ages, and this is one spectacular example in history where it has been passed down even in our language. So a lot of of us owe our salvation to people that followed God and shared their faith using KJV verses. I believe it's even a amazing watch for the entire family!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    Required amazing reference for upcoming trip. This book served the purpose perfectly. History, habitat, birds, fish, mammals and geography (and geology) all succinctly reviewed. Illustrations and photography "on the money". Will take it with us for everyday reference. Highly recommend this book as a single source for "the huge picture" on the Galapagos Islands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    The photography was NatGeo quality. The historical text was very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galápagos: The Islands That Changed the World []  2020-7-6 19:43

    Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rome 1960: The Olympics That Changed the World []  2020-1-10 19:19

    Reading this book several years ago I still classify it as one of the best written and coverage of a topic matter I have read in a contemporary literature category. Recently I purchased a copy for my 99 year old uncle whose reading habits are insatiable. I await his feedback. I recall when I read the book that its telling evoked powerful emotions in me. I laughed, cried, became angry--you name it. Aside from my 99 year old uncle, I have given copies or recommended this book to a lot of others. David Maraniss, in my opinion, is perfect in his field. My 99 year old uncle received another bonus from me written by Maraniss--his most latest read on our current president--President Obama.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rome 1960: The Olympics That Changed the World []  2020-1-10 19:19

    This book outlined the political, social, and athletic state of affairs surrounding the 1960 Olympic Games. It was filled with anecdotes about the people and locations involved which, to me, is the tag of a amazing history. I enjoyed it very much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Course of History: Ten Meals That Changed the World []  2020-4-5 18:0

    So it's unclear what Struan Stevenson had in mind with "The Course of History," because as it turned out, the book is sort-of history and sort-of cooking, and like a food that doesn't mesh, is less than the sum of its e conceit is this: Stevenson would write an essay about a food that preceded a amazing happening in history -- the Yalta Conference, Archduke Franz-Ferdinand's assassination -- and then chef Tony Singh would give the modern recipes of the dishes served at that meal.Fair enough, but the issue is that Stevenson's brief essays don't really count as history, and Singh's recipes are designed for modern cooks, which means, I guess, that people are supposed to create the historical meals and then engage in lively chatter about Bonnie Prince Charlie's troops of Scotsmen getting slaughtered at the War of a lot of menu items, it sounds better than it works when it's in front of you, and though some of the essays are of interest, for the most part, there are too a lot of empty calories to create up a satisfying meal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Qur'an: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-4-2 18:38

    This is a very easy attempt to explain the Qur'an. I personally don't think it should have been called a biography, for it isn't. However, the book is very well written and simple to read, and will introduce the reader, whether Muslim or not, to how Muslims have used and interpreted the Qur'an throughout the e first chapters are on Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), his followers, his wars, and on one of his youngest wives, A'isha. These chapters will introduce the reader to how and why the Qur'an descended to the people of the world. The rest of the chapters are about how Muslims have used and interpreted the Qur'an.I did have fun the chapter on the use of the Qur'an for healing. According to the author, Muslims have used the Qur'an to heal themselves from diseases such as cancer and AIDS. Qur'anic verses have also been used to adorn murals such as in the Mosque of the Dome and the Taj Mahal, and the author does a amazing job explaining their e author points out that not all Islamic scholars or Imams interpreted the Qur'an in the same way. This caused branches in Islam, among which are the Sunnis, @#$%!es, Sufis, Wahabis, Dancing Dervishes, and Nation of Islam, to name just a few. The author goes through some of these branches of Islam and he does a amazing job explaining their origins.I did also have fun the chapter on jihad, a topic captivating the minds of everyone after 9/11. Some Muslim scholars view Jihad as a means of fighting your opponents (e.g. Osama Binladen), while other scholars view Jihad as a spiritual struggle within e author talks about prominent Muslim figures from the United States, India, and Pakistan, and about their differing views on how one should approach the Qur'an. Those chapters were fascinating.Overall, this is an perfect book for both Muslims and non-Muslims alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Qur'an: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-4-2 18:38

    very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Qur'an: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-4-2 18:38

    This book was a rip. It had no insight, it was a puff piece to Islam. It seemed as if it were written in fear. Do not consider this book for any depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    I really have fun Kurlansky's books ! After reading the one on oysters end in October, the restaurant Legal Seafoods had their annual oyster festival and I could test various recipes for oysters. So fun ! This book on Cod had such a sad ending, we all know, about depletion of fish in our oceans, like destruction of the oyster industry, all because humans who could create a difference ignored the warning signs and those who warned them, and took action method too e mix of a focus on history of a meal item (sometimes not food) and globe history is wonderful. I had no idea one meal item can have such an impact on human history. I only want I had books like this when learning history method back when in school.I am now in the middle of Salt. And will Milk and other of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    I really enjoyed the book. The history of cod and how if effects man and how man ultimately impacted it.-Towns in England that produced salt ended in wich.-You can count the rings in the cod's otolith to see how old they are.-The Basque have there own language (euskera) like Estonian, Hungarian, Finnish, are not Indo-European.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bible: A Biography: Books That Changed the World []  2020-1-20 21:0

    This is a thorough discussion of Bible history that traces its roots from centuries before the birth of Christ. I can't verify the accuracy but the book is full of footnotes and other references. It's not simple reading, but it does a fine job of explaining the different theories and controversies surrounding the authorship and evolution of the Bible. Well worth reading as long as you don't approach the book with a religious bias and hold an begin mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bible: A Biography: Books That Changed the World []  2020-1-20 21:0

    The Bible: A Biography(Books That Changed The World),by Karen Armstrong, is the best book I've read in the latest five years. Now, I must start by saying that in 1991 I completed my undergraduate degree studying globe religions,as an historian, not a theologian. This revelation might have triggered the ejections seats from this review for some. If you're still here, this is a book for the person who accepts the Hebrew Torah and the Christian Old Testament as crucial books in globe history. The Bible is for that person who has plugged away at trying to cipher the meaning of their beliefs. Karen Armstrong has done a most admirable job of showing,in detail, how mere human beings, Jewish scholars and their pupils, over two thousand years created, revised,argued and revised every line of the Torah. The spinoff into the later Christian Old Testment is evident. The Bible is a book which is the one you'll from Amazon more than once. It is a must bonus for that unique person who has the courage to filter their opinions through excellent, historical research. In conclusion, this is a book which I was reading like the recent Ludlum thriller, until I had to ration myself to one chapter an evening. By the way, I will now have to a third copy since two unique mates are well The Bible: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) into reading my former copies of Armstrong's classic. Highly recommended. Ron

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bible: A Biography: Books That Changed the World []  2020-1-20 21:0

    A worthwhile read for any one seeking a better understanding of the Bible. The author carries the reader through an examination of how the Bible came to its show form and suggests a fresh approach of study to help in the reconciliation of modern religious and private conflict. This work was a real revelation to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Voyeur's Motel (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-9 18:0

    A voyeur who owns a motel contacts the author (Gay Talese) and wants to tell his story. The voyeur (with his wife's permission) spends years recording on legal size paper what he saw through a vent in the ceiling. He also writes his conclusions for each entry. So this book is mostly fact, with images of the true motel. Of all the stories, women create love the longest and have a lot of orgasms. Most married couples argue, and don't have sex. The men, in general, are insenstive trolls. When a guy screws his wife, it's mechanical and leaves her frustrated. (Just like true life???)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Voyeur's Motel (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-9 18:0

    A fast read, and one of my favorite reads about human behaviour. Gerald Foos isn’t a psychologist and has no sociology training, yet his observations are still insightful and thenticity is questioned as some dates and stories don’t line up, but the book becomes more of an exploration of Gerald the man and Gerald the Voyeur and all the dichotomy and irony that exists in that single person, rather than the Voyeur’s accounts.On a side note, though: Sometimes it feels like Gay Talese prefers writing about Gay Talese more than he must write about Gerald Foos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: The Years That Changed the World, 1914-1948 []  2020-1-26 21:49

    In this much-anticipated second part of the biography, Guha provides a balanced, well-researched and thorough narrative of one of modern worlds greatest leaders. The sheer clarity with which Guha pens this narrative makes this 1000+ page (including almost 100 pages of index and another 90 pages on notes) tome read like a fast-paced e book, however, is not a glorification - in fact, the balanced approach (clearly detailing the evolution of moral, religious and what now seems as completely strange beliefs) amplifies a reader's admiration of Gandhi's pursuit of self-improvement while simultaneously engaged in leading millions to rhaps the largest contribution of this biography is 2 chapters in the first third of the book that provides a more detailed look at the private evolution of Gandhi - particularly his views on religion and what one can glean from his own reactions to his serialized autobiography. The sections that discuss the environment leading to the independence, particularly the deepening sense of separatism and selfishness of leaders arguing for Pakistan will sadden anyone aware of the millions of lives lost and displaced in the partition. On a macro level, this is a book that is an perfect case study on political tactic - revolution v/s reactionary v/s incremental e factual narrative of each of the key happenings in each year, every key meeting, correspondence, fast, march, arrest, etc is in itself a fascinating and informative read. However, one also gets to appreciate the political genius of Gandhi (opportunism, perhaps in some cases and maybe even luck - such as Tilak's early death), organizational (Congress) machinations, and different strategies leaders adopt jostling for better positions in the party's platform. The genesis and crystallization of the Hindu-Muslim relation (or lack of it) that has defined much of the subcontinent's modern history is also clearly captured in this biography - albeit from the vantage point from Gandhi. Gandhi's attempts in forging (or forcing his view of amity) a Hindu-Muslim unity while challenging some of the then-systemic biases within Hinduism is also an informative read and provides a much richer context to appreciate and judge the current day politics. The range of reactions from different key leaders to Gandhi's efforts can still be seen in almost any discussion of the politics in the sub-continent.Just as in the first part of the biography, one gets to learn more about the private side of Gandhi - particularly his relationship with his sons and wife, a bizarre experiment involving his grand-niece , and views on sexuality (none of which are candidates to deify Gandhi as a role model in family life). It is this astounding dichotomy of fighting for freedom for the masses but keeping the ones devoted to him in strict "Law Giver" mode that will puzzle readers. A reader also learns about the key roles of some of Gandhi's assistants and a host of influential leaders from different backgrounds that unfortunately never created it through famous recounting of India's independence struggle).For the casual reader of Indian history, the wide cast of characters and their import, will be difficult to follow along - However, as a remarkable study of an individuals evolution (moral, philosophical, political) and as a narrative on the most formative years of India, this biography is a must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marco Polo: The Journey that Changed the World []  2020-1-26 23:10

    This was an perfect review of what's currently known about Marco Polo and his journey. The author has a direct writing style with sense of humor that I appreciated. Some nonfiction can be very dry and hard to follow, but not so with this book; I found myself devouring this book, as curious to know what would happen next as if I was reading fiction! The author clearly describes Marco Polo's journey and some of the conflicts in the research with his analysis - all in perfectly understandable language. I didn't know much at all about Marco Polo before I read this (only the android game and that he went to China!) but I feel I have a beautiful comprehensive knowledge about his journey now. I would highly recommend this book to anybody who has the least curiosity about history. I am not a history buff, by any means, but I found this book extremely interesting and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marco Polo: The Journey that Changed the World []  2020-1-26 23:10

    Very enjoyable. It is a pleasure to read a history of Marco Polo's Journey in the language of today instead of ancient times. John Man has created it so enjoyable and corresponds with other histories of the Silk Street with Peter Hopkirk's two books Foreign Devils on the Silk Street and Trespassers on the Roof of the Globe as well as describing China in that nis

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marco Polo: The Journey that Changed the World []  2020-1-26 23:10

    Very interesting and I learned a lot of facts I was unaware of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Nile (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-19 18:13

    This was a really interesting read, I learned so much about the locations along the Nile, the people, vegetation, animals, previous explorers and political issues still ongoing in a lot of the areas.Levison Wood, a former British soldier, a writer and explorer decides he wants to be the first to have walked the whole length of the Nile, a journey that would take him 4,250 miles and through a lot of diverse landscapes. When asked why he wanted to do this journey, his ultimate response was “The Nile was there and I wanted to walk it.”He had Tutorials that walked with him through various parts of the continent, needing to change as the languages did. Mates and reporters would occasionally walk little part with him. There was Tragedy, fear and amazement to witness throughout this journey. This is a journey well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Nile (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-19 18:13

    I found this book a very readable story of a modern day adventurer retracing the routes of multiple explorers who were in find of the Niles source . The author mixed the current human situation of the region with history and geology to support give the reader some fresh insights. I would have liked to have the author compare and contrast his experiences with those of Baker, Speke, Burton, etc. I am a fan of 19th Century Nile River explorers. This book will go with that collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rome 1960: The Olympics That Changed the World []  2020-1-10 19:19

    What an interesting story of the Olympics in Rome! There was so much going on in the globe socially at this time, and it is fascinating to read about. I love Rome, and always have fun the Olympics, so this was a no-brainer for me. Even if you are not a sports-nut, this is an simple read (I read it in a day), and is both informative and entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rome 1960: The Olympics That Changed the World []  2020-1-10 19:19

    As a fan of all sports, this was a amazing read. I was born a year after this took put but the stories include names from my childhood. I would highly recommend it because the problems it addresses are so much deeper than just sports.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bible: A Biography: Books That Changed the World []  2020-1-20 21:0

    I found this to be a amazing overview of current academic thinking of how the Bible came to be written, compiled and interpreted through the ages. I would have liked a bit more of the nuts and bolts - how the choices were created to contain certain gospels and epistles and not others, how the Catholic Bible differs; the impact of translations and printing, etc. There is some of this, but I expected more. Instead, the book focuses mostly on how people read and understood the text in various periods. This is of course the author's prerogative, and Ms. Armstrong delivers a very readable and informative book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bible: A Biography: Books That Changed the World []  2020-1-20 21:0

    This is an eye opener! It is written in a historical manner. The reading is a challenge because I am not familiar with ancient, Jewish or European history. However I have and am learning a lot about how interpretations of the Bible have changed over time. The first part with the old testament and ends with today and interpretation of the fresh testament. It does not advocate one religion over another as this is about the Bible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: The Years That Changed the World, 1914-1948 []  2020-1-26 21:49

    It was fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marco Polo: The Journey that Changed the World []  2020-1-26 23:10

    I loved that John Man created the effort to verify bits of the history by visiting the actual areas described in Marco Polo's narratives. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marco Polo: The Journey that Changed the World []  2020-1-26 23:10

    Well written, interesting history. I have known of Marco Polo since my childhood but had never read the full story of his experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    The title is self-explanatory, and accurate. This fascinating book describes how, over centuries, a single species of fish literally shaped the modern world, influencing politics, battle and economies, the rise and fall of entire civilizations and the discovery and settlement or North America, among other things. The author provides considerable detail on history, politics and the capture, processing and preparing of this species. The book even ends with what the author describes as six centuries worth of recipes. The only knock, if you obtain the Penguin paperback ver is the font size. It's little so anyone over the age of 40 will need some beautiful powerful reading glasses. But once you start reading you'll barely message it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    If cod is on the menu for dinner, then you need this book with hundreds of historical and classic recipes for serving cod, the fish that fed the world. If cod is on the menu in a local restaurant, you may wish to check its provenance as it's a fish in much shorter supply than once upon a time. If you'd like to learn more about the history of the globe through the lens of fishing for cod, then this book will give you fresh angles and insights.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    I found this book very informational and a bit scary as an explanation of some of the oceans issues caused by man. I like how he takes a topic and really digs in to explore its history, show day, and possible future. His books have created me think and have an awareness about things that I never thought of before or just took for granted. I look forward to reading more of his works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Qur'an: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-4-2 18:38

    Unbelievable unbiased review of Islam

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Course of History: Ten Meals That Changed the World []  2020-4-5 18:0

    Amazing condition and price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Course of History: Ten Meals That Changed the World []  2020-4-5 18:0

    I’m a history buff and foodie and absolutely enjoyed this book. The history leading to how each dinner came about is a amazing lead up to the menu and recipes. These are major historical meetings and happenings that are concisely summed up and will support even the non history buff understand some of the major happenings in history…and how they ate as ere are a few recipes I will definitely test from here, but quite a few I won’t. If only a few of the wine selections were available to go with the meals, it would be amazing. A girl can dream, but I’ll create some of my own wine selections and skip the aperitifs, which are not as huge a as they were back in older times.A amazing read for the history loving foodies out there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Voyeur's Motel (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-9 18:0

    Talese, by letting so much of the story be told in the Voyeur's own words, by going into such intimate detail of the Voyeur's life, asks the question of us, the readers, Wouldn't we, if we could have gotten away with it, done the same? Talese doesn't judge. While he clearly locations himself above the Voyeur culturally and intellectually, his words occasionally seething pretension, he lets the reader decide whether Gerald Foos is a reprehensible creep, or just another person who thinks nobody is watching, only following human e Fresh Yorker article, which I initially thought so unbelievable it had to be a fiction, is really sufficient to tell the bulk of the tale. The book follows up, affirming that this really did happen, and that the aftermath was nil. For that purpose, the Netflix documentary does the job, and if you've seen it, and read the original article, there's not much more in the book to create it worth reading. That's not entirely true. There are some stories, told in Foos' sometimes eloquent prose, which are so unbelievable as to almost certainly be fantasies. Others are written in a style much more consistent with fabrication than to contemporaneous recollection. By including these stories, without passing judgment on their veracity, Talese lets the reader's own intuition decide to what extent Foos is credible. Again, we the tables are turned, and we become the voyeurs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Voyeur's Motel (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-9 18:0

    This is obviously a minority opinion but I rather liked this book. The "voyeur" is a creepy guy and his attempt to create his observations sound like serious research are unconvincing. His interests are prurient. However, he often makes somewhat astute comments about the people he observes. That doesn't redeem him in any method but it does create for some interesting reading. There are some discrepancies in his story but it rings real on the whole.I also found no reason to be critical of Mr. Talese's conduct. His actions were appropriate for a journalist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Nile (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-19 18:13

    Lev, I feel like I know you personally after reading this book. I finished walking the nile today at 1245. I will go back to all my bookmarks and investigate further. I will also the hardback and hold it with my favorite books of all time. I am a globe traveler and have had the privilege of visiting South Africa, Tanzania and Kenya. I drove the coast of South Africa and the inland wine country and visited inner town schools and the amazing Rift Valley in Kenya. I traversed the amazing distances in the classes of color and privilege. i did it with your book too. I imagine your journey as an arrow. you are the arrowhead with your entourage directly behind the hint and the nile as the shaft. there were times in the book when I said, what the hell is he doing. there were times I wanted to cry and ALL the time that I read it I was sooo amazed and mystified. I love Africa with all my heart and will always dream of going back. your book helped me to achieve that reality. Thank you Lev. and I am sorry for your loss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking the Nile (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-5-19 18:13

    I was not familiar with Levison Wood before beginning this book and was a bit skeptical about the true peril involved in this trek in this era of satellite communication. Wood's cover image which makes him appear to be a youthful Robert Shaw did nothing to persuade me this might be nothing more than a prose ver of reality television. I was absolutely wrong. As the book progressed I became more and more impressed with the fortitude and persistence exhibited by Woods and his ability to weave a compelling tale of an arduous trip. Any final doubts vanished when I found out one of his companions tragically died during the journey. Wood also with such weighty subjects as ecological disasters, rampant HIV disease, religious fanaticism, and tribal genocide. However he is still able to portray the generosity he encounters from most of the country's impoverished people. This is an perfect book and I have already ordered his next one about Walking the Himalayas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    While I am still not quite ready to eat fish for dinner anytime soon - despite amazing recipes - I must say that this is a truly fascinating read - author Tag Kurlasnsky does awesome research and I while I do not generally consider myself a fan of nonfiction - I hereby declare I will read everything Kurlansky writes! And furthermore, I suggest you do the same - I now know more about fishing than I ever expected to, but I am truly interested in the whole story of the fish this volume celebrates! I've learned more history and refreshed my grasp of geographywithin the pages of this small book than I have in years! I feel I could probably keep a conversation with an old salt fisherman on the merits of the quality of cod caught off of the Grand Banks! I really enjoyed this book and I am now reading Kurlansky's book "Dancing in the Streets" and next in line is his book about the Basque people! Oh and I heartily reccomend KUrlansky's book "Salt" it is astounding!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    I can't recommend this book often enough. Kurlansky is a brilliant writer and does this sort-of "all the world's connected" kind of history extremely well. After reading, you think, "D'uh, I should've known that" when considering the centrality of meal acquisition and production to the political-economy of the modern era, but Kurlansky is so gifted a writer that each discovery -- the reader's and those historical figures who are doing the discovering -- is an absolute delight. The book is also a splendid demonstration of just why the basics -- meal and water -- are likely to be sources of conflict in coming decades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World []  2020-2-6 19:28

    Just awesome how cod had such a profound result on the globe and it’s populations - I especially like the part were the basques has discoved America a couple of hundred years before Columbus- but kept silent to protect the cod fishing grounds - his other book salt also reveals the tremendous impact that what we think of as minor thinks were so necessary to globe and trade I want he had more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Course of History: Ten Meals That Changed the World []  2020-4-5 18:0

    What a fun idea for a book! If you like meal and have fun history, what's not to like about this book? The author has chosen 10 various meals that have preceded an necessary happening in history. The book starts chronologically, beginning with the food that came before the War of Culloden. Each chapter gives the relevant history around meal, both what happened before and the aftermath of the happening itself. Each chapter ends with recipes for the pivotal meal. These may or may not have come from documentation of the actual dinner, but they all do reflect what would have comprised such a food at that point in time.I found the historical context of these meals to be a fascinating, and the author actually succeeded in making them a riveting read. As a history buff, I knew about a lot of of these events, some in amazing detail, but I learned much from each small snippet of history. For instance, I went to Scotland latest year and visited the awesome visitor center at Culloden Moor. While I learned much of the happenings that came before the war and the social milieu through the awesome exhibits there, this book showed me more about the disparity between the existence of Bonnie Prince Charlie and his Highlanders. I also liked how the second chapter pointed out the seeds of rebellion for the American Revolution, as the host of that food was the first to recommend to those back in England that the colonists should be only quibble with the book is I thought it should discover the aftermath of the historical happening in more detail. The author is unbelievable at the set up for the meal, but I felt something was lacking in the description of the actual reverberations of decisions created at these pivotal meals as they rippled out through history. For instance, in the Culloden chapter, we hear in some detail about what happened to Bonnie Prince Charlie after Culloden, but we don't hear a lot about how this changed the course of Scottish history forever and perhaps even laid the basis for the American Revolution because the Hanoverian Dynasty was in desperate need of money after fighting battles on several at said, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. If you have fun history or are a foodie, you might have fun this historical slice of life around pivotal happenings in the latest 300 years.I received a copy of the book, but that did not affect my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Course of History: Ten Meals That Changed the World []  2020-4-5 18:0

    This unbelievable book that includes some very necessary historical happenings and the VIPs that had a part in the decisions reached and of course the meals that were served and eaten, it is an awesome book. The recipes that are included are amazing as well. Who would have thought that a lot of of the invasions or war tactic was maybe decided because of the meal served or because the participants had eaten well. Thank you to the author of this book as it was a true pleasure to read and review it. I downloaded this book via Edelweiss and have given a voluntary review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Qur'an: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) []  2020-4-2 18:38

    I knew very small about Islam before taking a class in college. This book helped shed some light on a controversial (within the USA) religion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: The Years That Changed the World, 1914-1948 []  2020-1-26 21:49

    I can't compare this book to the multitude of other biographies written on Gandhi, as this is my first. At almost 900 pages of text and over 200 pages of ancillary material this is a monument for the ages. Ramachandra Guha is arguably one of the more necessary Indian historians of his generation in the estimation of many. He has combed through the heavy volumes of Gandhi's writings, endless archives and newly available papers. His goal was nothing less than to document all of Gandhi's public and personal life from his return to India in 1914 to his death in ndhi's four interconnecting principles were to gain Indian independence, promote Hindu-Muslim unity, end untouchability, and achieve economic self reliance. To meet these goals Gandhi staged highly effective forms of political protest such as his march to the sea (in defiance of the British salt tax) and famed fasts (to stop interfaith violence). In the end foreign rule was overcome, but he was unable to prevent mass killings and partition of the subcontinent. His assassination by Hindu nationalist Nathuram Godse would foretell of future ha is an unabashed admirer of Gandhi, if not entirely uncritical of all he did. He sees Gandhi as the foremost figure in modern Indian history, and a highly influential figure across the globe stage. This is not a difficult argument to make, and Guha does it with amazing conviction. The writing is fluid and unhindered by an overly academic style. The most obvious critique of his analysis is the representation of Gandhi as a liberal or even a radical. Gandhi was a reformer in a lot of areas, but in most cases he was guided by conservative values and religious ndhi's rejection of western industrialism and embrace of agrarian decentralization now seem quaint and rooted in the 19th century. He was greatly influenced by Tolstoy's faith based pacifism, anti-colonialism and opposition to personal land ownership. Homespun cloth and village councils were a challenge to British economic and political repression, but would not be the method of the future. In the debate with Ambedkar over the untouchables, Guha makes a various case than Arundhati Roy, who sees Gandhi as a reactionary on caste ha covers Gandhi's personal life also, although somewhat superficially. In terms of an interesting psychological topic Gandhi ranks near the top. Oddly, he appears two dimensional and conventional in this portrait. Guha doesn't shy away from controversial aspects of Gandhi's celibacy experiments, such as sleeping naked with teenage relatives to try his purity. As with an extramarital dalliance with feminist Saraladevi Chaudhurani, Guha concludes nothing untoward occurred. Gandhi, both man and milieu, seem distant and difficult to fathom.Ultimately this book could have benefited from a shorter format and a more incisive look at Gandhi the politician. Guha proposes Gandhi as an antidote to the fundamentalism and intolerance that has challenged India since the birth of the republic. In doing so he sacrifices a level of insight into the traditionalist worldview Gandhi used to mobilize the rural masses. Although Guha notes the urban and middle class makeup of other nationalist and revolutionary groups, he doesn't see this as a significant lens to examine the social context of Gandhi's movement.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386