Read marine botany reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all marine botany reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    I hate college

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    This is the best for college book rentals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    Amazing book for college, but at your own risk when the cover being filled with used stickers all over the put and it being dirty. Otherwise you save a lot purchasing here.

    0  


    Add your opinion on marine botany or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    I was worried that the book was going to come in poor conditions but it didn't! it was amazing all pages where there attractive cover as well! Used it for my marine biology class. I regretted not buying the book in the first place. Fell in love with the book keeping in mind my major is marine biology!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    Best marine biology book out there. Will teach you everything you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    Amazing info to study for my class and it is really sturdy so I didn't have to worry too much about it tearing or breaking in anyway. I guess it would tear if you intentionally tried to tear it, but um really bro? That's high quality knowledge right there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    Thoroughly covers marine biology! Highly recommend for Home Schooling!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    The review on this book said amazing but there are some pages that look like it’s about to come out. Don’t say the quality is amazing when it’s not, like I could of got it somewhere else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marine Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology and Evolution) []  2020-1-19 23:54

    It's a textbook

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    👏👏👏👏👏👏

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    Nice it's useful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    Amazing app, lots of relevant info but missing pictures to accompany and further explain the text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    Support me Download

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    It's include very amazing info about plant

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany - Botany App with Basic [App]  2018-5-18 13:8

    OK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Amazing reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    Not good quality paper. I thought that this book would be the same quality as my anatomy coloring book that I had years ago, but it is not. The paper is thin and of not good quality. You can actually read the print on the opposite page right through the paper. I would not recommend this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    I was looking forward to getting this as I was hoping to use it for middle to high school teaching aid in Botany. Other reviews that said the book was a bit advanced didn't bother me as I am very proficient with botany and horticulture with a BS and 20 years experience in the field. But the pictures are obscure and worst of all the labeling is horrible. Little small letters on the diagrams referring to the accompanying keys. Confusing, laborious and unattractive. I am returning and would not recommend for any use, adult or younger student.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    A story of four plants and four human motivations, Pollan draws them together with wit. I consumed this book in a short time, taking to work to read in my spare moments. I don't often obtain wrapped up so deeply in books, but this one grabbed me. There are source citations for a amazing a lot of of his assertions, which was also fantastic. If you are interested in evolution, plants, human nature, marijuana, flowers, industrial food, organic gardening; there will be something to carry you through this story and speak to your interest. The writing is engaging and flows with ease from one topic to the next. It refers back to previous chapters and thoughts expressed, without wandering aimlessly in thought.A amazing small read that will provoke thought and discussion. It will leave you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    I've been a fan of Michael Pollan since I read the Omnivore's Dilemma in college. He doesn't disappoint here. His exploration into the history of the apple, tulip, potato, and cannabis is fascinating and well-written. Of all the chapters, the apple and the potato were my favorite. The thought of a potato that creates its own pesticides is wonderful AND incredibly scary. It is a bit meandering at times, and as one of his earlier books, it's not as riveting as his later works. But it's still very good.I should add that I listened to the audiobook ver narrated by Scott Brick while reading. The narration was perfect and really added to the experience. If your reading time is limited, I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    Arrived on Time. Nice Size. Like the 3 wholes in it for a folder. Perfect. Haven't had the possibility to really look it over, but for the small I have seen, doesn't seem too simple to review. I may need to pull out my college books or google some things to understand everything. But I will need to take time to sit down and look it over. So love the protective covering. May decided to the entire series over time just as reference and to support work with the youth and others as I test to encourage more people to obtain involved with gardening and nature in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    Amazing begin for reverence

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    “Botany for Gardeners” by Brian Capon I happened to ask a professional Botanist if there was such a thing as a credible primer on Botany written for non-scientific nature-lovers. Hoped for was a book that wouldn’t sedate me with mounds of Botano-jargon and esoteric tangents into the globe of Bio-philosophy. He recommended this book highly. I thank him immensely. It’s logically organized, interesting, relevant, and written so actual people can grasp the topic matter. It’s helping me recognize and understand the plant cycles on my property and convert a few acres over to “natural area” for the benefit of birds and wildlife.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    This is a primary botany book and fills a niche of reasonable coverage (no coverage of green algae which are plants too; no coverage of bacteria and fungie which are NOT plants) at a primary level. It is "no frills" (no photos, no graphs, charts, or experiments) source of botanical information; it reminds me of textbooks of yesteryear when a college book might cost $20. This is NOT a botany book comparable to modern botany college textbooks. So you have primary info only, presented very simply in text. The illustrations are black and white cartoons (graphic arts). For the it is very amazing (hence 4 stars). I cannot give this the fifth star because of the very informal writing style (use of contractions which is a feature of conversational English) that sets a not good example before a student. As for any first edition, there are some minor annoying errors. But this is, overall, a solid value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Easily understandable review for those who have had some education in this realm, as well as the novice botanist!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    I demand a refund. The book was broken.I’m disappointed, I downloaded this book for a class and blocks of the text are whited out. I can select and copy those blocks of text, but I can’t directly read them. Not sure how to resolve this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    I thought this might be a dry read, but it certainly wasn't. The author has a amazing sense of the practical questions gardeners face as well as a deep understanding of botany and is able to communicate concepts without being too arcane or too famous (dumbed-down). He uses amazing examples that illustrate the concepts vividly, so the reader finds it simple to understand. However, the thing in my opinion that sets this book apart is the obvious delight Capon takes in botanical processes; to him, every aspect is a little miracle, and his sense of wonder at how it all works together is both sincere and contagious. I highly recommend this small tome for anyone, botanist or not, who wants to enter into the understanding without losing the mystery. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    I really liked this book. The author had some very interesting facts about plants that created me wish to learn more. The author also presented the info quite simply, so it was simple to read and learn. It refreshed my biology knowledge from high school, but at the same time gave me some fascinating facts that were place into bigger context. I really enjoyed it and bow wish to read the books recommended at the end of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    It gives me a challenge to remember what I have learned so I can color the right parts of the flower....but, that's not all. There is a lot of info about plants also, learned a lot more by getting this book....The author wrote it so it is simple to learn, amazing job! ..... the shipping was very quick, impressive. I always have such luck when I from Amazon!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    A decent reference, doesn't cover a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    no comment

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    Don’t obtain me wrong, I love Michael Pollan’s work. Especially his writing style, which takes full flight here: the method he interweaves stories, facts and speculation, all the while using only the most masterfully crafted sentences. And like his later masterpieces, you cannot come away from it without some fresh ideas about the plants we consume. What bothers me is that the central conceit underlying this work here. He uses the apple, tulip, marijuana and potato plants to illustrate his theory that they have coevolved with our desires for sweetness, beauty, intoxication and order, respectively. Problem is, this theory seems to be pulled out of thin air, perhaps in the haze from the marijuana he has gardened. He generously to remove our blinders of anthropocentrism to reveal how these wily plants have evolved to cultivate us as their caretakers. By ignoring the fact that their traits were all deliberately selected from nature by our preexisting desires, his concept of coevolution seems not just ironic, but ridiculous. While waxing philosophic on the beauty of tulips, he even goes to far as to suggest he has discovered the meaning of life. If that’s not breathless enough for you, his relentless fascination with metaphor gets to be a bit much. The word itself seems to appear on every second page. It’s as if he is honing his writing skills here, waiting for them to collide with the topic of nutrition that will create his career later. Have fun those books first, and unlike me, don’t go back to this one expecting more of the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    - this book is split into 4 parts, and each examines a unique relationship between a plant and the human race:- tulips and the pursuit of beauty, apples and the pursuit of sweetness, marijuana and the pursuit of intoxication, and potatoes and the pursuit of a staple crop- pollan moves from his experiences as a casual gardener, an intent breeder, an accidental discoverer, as an observer, a reader, a researcher to info he uncovered in histories, annals and journals seamlessly; in other words, he can tell you about his afternoon spent tending his tulip patch and the Dutch tulip mania in one continuous, endlessly entertaining flow- the set up of the book is concise and well considered- pollan's writing style is approachably anecdotal, but the book is in fact backed up with a lot of science- for people who search his views on what to eat "political" or antagonizing, please still give this book a chance. I know vegans have used his other works to preach, and it place me off reading Pollan for a long time... but I am glad I gave this book a chance

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This book isn't what i was expecting based on the title and brief description. The title should be something like: "Four plants and their influence on human culture and behavior." The book does describe some botany (which is very interesting), but in no method is that the majority of the book. Most of the book is about human behavior and how it has been influenced by plants. For example, in the marijuana section, Pollan talk A LOT about the experience of getting high and why people wish to obtain high. He talks about consciousness and some of the chemical means of altering it (talking of course about THC, but also other chemicals). As another example, in the apple section he talks A LOT about Johnny Appleseed (probably the majority of the section). In the tulip section, he talks about tulipomania (a very interesting time in the 1700's in the Netherlands revolving around tulip fervor there and an economic bubble and crash of the tulip trade). All of these were interesting in the own right, and perhaps worth the read. It just wasn't what I was expecting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    This book was recommended in the lecture notes from a botany class at the U.S. National Arboretum and it lives up to the recommendation and then some. The most impressive characteristic of the book is it makes botany truly interesting and compelling. The author accomplishes this no little feat by presenting the info clearly and in a very readable style. The writing is not dense and simple to understand with no training in rongly recommend the book to anyone with an interest in plants. It gives the reader a much broader understanding of the wonder and complexity of plants. One might ask the question, "Why should I be interested in plants?" One respond is: "Plants can live without animals, animals cannot live without plants." Another respond is: Most plants cannot move and plants have awesome diversity because they cannot move. This book reveals some of the fascinating diversity of plants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    Whoah! I'm one of those people who is a hands-on learner, so to read directions about how to do somethingalways kinda snags me, but this book did a unbelievable job on helping by its thorough classificationof plants and their characteristics. I've been a hard-core hobby gardener for 7 years, and I thought I knewplenty about identifying both meal and herbal plants. This book proved I still have much to learn. I'm studying formy Master Herbalist Certification, and although the school has a few books about botany we must complete to graduate,I decided to add this one to obtain a more in depth understanding of plants and identifying them. Especially knowingwe are to be thoroughly tested on related looking plants whereby the "twin" is actually poisonous, like ank you Brian. I personally love to be able to go to various locations and States and identify plants and trees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    This book was a fabulous companion to my college botany class. It helped to simplify those concepts that my textbook just did not quite communicate as sufficiently. Thanks for helping me pass with an A!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    I have been working in the coloring book while also reading other introductory botany books in to school myself in primary botany. For those who process fresh and complex info visually, coloring books such as these are really helpful.. While you are coloring the illustrations you can repeat to yourself the terms and and explanations laid out on the facing page. while your are coloring the photos that explain plant anatomy and physiology become fixed in your memory..The incremental presentation in this book is logically set out so that your knowledge builds as you progress through the illustrations..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    I bought this to brush up on my botany prior to applying to grad school and figured what better method to learn than coloring. This has worked amazing to relearn and brush up on knowledge that I learned a few years ago. The art is well done and the info it includes about plant structure is great. I want I would have had this in my first botany class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    I was a small dubious about buying this, but it was recommended as a study aid for an introductory horticulture class I'm taking. I just received my first quiz grade for that course and I aced it while a lot of in the class scored poorly. I attribute my success to having worked through the respective diagrams in this book! It's relaxing and enjoyable to do, and works very well to complement the course text in the learning process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    Amazing method to understand Botany!!! Coloring photos need to be much bigger and not so dark. A lighter gray scale and again much bigger photos and even bigger outline print. Difficult to color such little things with color waxy pencils. Would be amazing if the created a watercolor book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    amazing for fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    Clear, concise information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    If it weren't flawed by what is at times 101 level superficial background knowledge (i.e. China roses were not the first repeat blooming roses to enter Europe, and a lot of species repeat); sly political advocacy that takes advantage of the bond he builds with his readers; his tendency to belittle people who disagree with him to create himself look more clever than he really is by false contrast; his banal, annoying college freshman-like reiteration of Nietzsche and Apollo versus Dionysus; and his unreliability as a narrator (he claims to dislike pot, which he later has to acknowledge is not exactly true...a dishonest rhetorical trick to test to persuade others to his side)....if it weren't for those things this would be a excellent book. As one reviewer called it, a pastoral poem for our age on par with Virgil. Too poor Pollan didn't have an editor willing to do the right thing and chop this down by vertheless, this is a amazing read though you can definitely skim some parts as he says the same things over and over, adding nothing new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    Instant set of facts at your fingertips. Concise and pertinent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    Works for helping me organize my material more effectively... amazing resource to have on hand... would recommend to others who are learning about plants

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    When a leaf naturally dies on a plant, what do you do?If your respond is to remove it immediately to hold the plant looking its best, you need to read this s, this book includes a amazing of info from the structure of cells all the method to the a lot of and varied forms of plant reproduction. In and of itself, this info would be enough to create this book a amazing if challenging read. However, the tidbits the author scatters in passing such as the respond to the initial question above create this book all the more worthwhile.And the reason you shouldn't remove the dying leaf immediately, you ask? The plant is smarter than you think: it actually uses the time during which the leaf withers to remove nutrients and minerals to be recycled.Who knew?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    What I like about this book is that, as a beginner in botany myself, it opened my eyes to better take care of plants in the garden. It's simple to read and things just tend to the more you learn. Some of the jargon is hard to remember but the images support understand what Capon is trying to illustrate; but sometimes he doesn't contain figures which is frustrating. But after reading this book, I can now create inference on how to pollinate a flower myself, plant a seed the right method and how to chop into a tree without giving it too much problem to heal. This book is not only for horticulture beginners but also for biology majors who are interested in plants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    This is an perfect refresher for any backyard gardener or established gardener. Excellent for your reference library and fun to read. It’s easy enough for anyone to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    Thanks to a bit of trans-generational intellectual “pollination,” via the son of a mate from Atlanta who once owned a restaurant and had a passion for food, I was introduced to Michael Pollan’s work “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” a decade ago, which I have read and reviewed on Amazon. Most regrettably, I had not read a second of his works until now. The man has a lot to say; and says it all too well. It is a case of “all the news NOT repeating itself,” to invert one of John Prine’s laments.“The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” published in 2007, is subtitled: “A Natural History of Four Meals.” The number “four” is also operative in “The Botany of Desire,” which was published in 2002. It is the story of four plants: apples, tulips, cannabis and potatoes. Reflecting the theme of the title, there are four human desires that are associated with these plants: sweetness, beauty, intoxication and control, respectively.Early in the book Pollan teasingly throws out the idea that perhaps the classic view: “People cultivate plants” should be inverted. For sure, Pollan does not fall off some “New Age talk-to-the-plants” cliff (and they will talk back) but posits a sound argument that without a conscious effort, plants evolve to utilize humans and animals to create up for their lack of mobility. His introduction is entitled: “The Human Bumblebee.”Alma-Ata (Kazakhstan) means “father of the apple.” From the surrounding zone the apple spread throughout the world, in part, aided by John Chapman, an American folklore character more famously called: “Johnny Appleseed.” Pollan traveled to eastern Ohio, which, in 1806, was once the American frontier, and attempted to sort out the man from the myth, providing a lot of an illuminating insight. Among those insights: apples were planted not for eating, but for drinking… in fermented form, and it was Prohibition that forced the apple growers to concoct the marketing slogan: “An apple a day keeps the doctor away.”Tulips originated in Turkey. An Austrian Ambassador to the Court of Suleyman the Magnificent in Constantinople served as the “bumblebee” in this case, bringing tulip bulbs back to Europe, where they spread to Holland and fueled one of the more popular financial “bubbles,” ironically among normally staid Calvinists, in the 17th Century. A “holy grail” among tulip cultivators is a black tulip since black occurs so infrequently in the living plant world. The grail is still elusive but Pollan is proud of his dark maroon nnabis is associated with the desire for intoxication. Hidden in plain sight, as Pollan says, is the chronic issue with mind-altering substances that are abused: “toxic.” Pollan provides a brilliant exposition on this perennial flashpoint of America’s cultural wars. Anslinger, and “Reefer Madness” create the obligatory cameo appearance. Much more instructive was the modernize from the ‘60’s, in terms of how marijuana is raised and cultivated in the United States, and the pendulum swinging back and forth towards legalization (written in 2002, he does not anticipate its legalization in neighboring Colorado, or a handful of other states). He has justified concerns about the two “errant” plants in his backyard, noting under federal asset forfeiture laws that if a case was brought: “The People of Connecticut v. Michael Pollan’s Garden”, his land could become the property of the Fresh Milford Police Department. Pollan introduced me to Raphael Mechoulam, an Israeli scientist who isolated the chemically active component: THC. The author provides a BRILLIANT description of “plain-ol’” vanilla ice cream as experienced in an altered state of consciousness, and questions whether, chemically there is a difference between the chemically-aided ver and that induced by meditation, fasting, and other methods. Indeed, there is a “sense of wonder,” as Pollan says, about seeing things new and anew, as a kid might, that can create a trip worthwhile, so all the news does not repeat itself.Potatoes are the topic of the latest chapter, starting their journey from their historic epicenter high in the Andes and brought back to Europe by the conquering Spaniards. They may have been introduced into Ireland by a shipwreck from the Spanish armada in 1588, providing a godsend to a starving people where other crops would not readily grow. A “godsend” until the famine of the 1840’s caused a reduction by half of Ireland’s population (through starvation and emigration). The dangers of an agricultural “monoculture.” Pollan visits the headquarters of Monsanto in St. Louis, which is doing so much to introduce the entire globe to the “intellectual property” of patented genes and seeds and goes off to Idaho to describe its dicative of Pollan’s outlook and writing style is the following quote concerning his visit to the St. Louis Monsanto headquarters, and his meeting with Dave Hjelle, the company’s director of regulatory affairs: “Dave Hjelle is a disarmingly candid man, and before we finished our lunch he uttered two words that I never thought I’d hear for the lips of a corporate executive, except perhaps in a poor movie. I’d assumed these two words had been scrupulously expunged from the corporate vocabulary a lot of years ago, during a previous paradigm long since discredited, but Dave Hjelle proved me wrong: ‘TRUST US’.”To see anew, and act anew, and the catalyst can come from a book: 6-stars for Pollan’s many, a lot of fine insights.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This is truly one of the most interesting books I've ever read about a topic I'd never before thought much about -- our relationship with the plants that feed us and create out lives possible and enjoyable. On top of that, it's very well written and frequently quite amusing. Use Amazon's "Look Inside" feature and see for yourself what an perfect read this book is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    This is a amazing coloring book! I was needed to it for my botany class, but after using it, I would not hesitate to a related one just for myself. The pages are extremely detailed and the book (when paired with other learning materials) follows a clear and logical progression of ideas that build upon themselves. Coloring the pages can take a bit of time, but as long as you like coloring, you'll be completely fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    While these books may appear as easy children's activities, they are instead detailed and complete tutorials to college level work and textbooks, giving a fresh initiative to learning material. The color, details, and careful explanations included within these books complement work done in the classroom and in the field. Before paying out huge sums for study guides, outside tutoring or online help, test this book. This helped me through tests and assignments to obtain a better grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Knock knock.Who's there?any who?Botany amazing books about plants lately?Yes. This one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    The 'for dummy books are sleepers in all those topics I have missed - complete and well illustrated for the schematically savvy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    nice chart, very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany (QuickStudy Academic) []  2020-1-30 22:19

    Very detailed summary of botanical structures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    This reference is so simple to understand! I participated in a Master Gardener class a few years back. The info similar to botany that was provided by that program was very good, and a unbelievable book was available for reference purposes. But I realllllllllly want this book had been recommended for the botany information! The illustrations are unbelievable (better in my hard copy than the Kindle, understandably), but the description of the botany of plant systems really "clicked" for me when I read this book. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in knowing how plants function - the first step in understanding how to care for them and hold them healthy!! I liked the Kindle ver so much, I purchased the hard copy so that I had better access to the most perfect illustrations!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners []  2020-1-29 2:4

    This book is AAMMAAZZIINNGG!!! Puts the extremely advanced concepts of botany into a format GARDENERS can understand! The holy bible of beginning botany!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    It was some years ago that I read the author's "Omnivore's Dilemma" and watched the documentary series based on his book "Cooked". I have been impressed by both these works. It is, therefore, with amazing expectation that I picked up his "Botany of Desire". I am fascinated by the idea that plants are in result topics in attracting us (objects) to support them propagate, when we may think that we are taking the initiative to domesticate them.Taking apples, tulips, marijuana, and potatoes, the author looks at how these plants pander to our desires for sweetness, beauty, intoxication, and control. In doing so, he takes the reader on an interesting journey through history, civilisation, capitalism, and technological ere are, nevertheless, a few aspects in the author's style of writing that I feel are not reader friendly. The book consists of very long chapters which are not organised under any subheadings that would support the reader to follow his train of thought. Indeed he often jumps from one idea to another in a rather disorganised manner. There is a theme that he comes back to throughout his book--that of Apollonian versus Dionysian diversity. However, he harps on this theme so often that the idea quickly loses its initial freshness to the all, interesting items though rather disorganised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany of Desire []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This is a book that makes you think not just about meal but about the nature of mankind, the power of what we call Nature and the element of chaos or unpredictability that drives the results in the course of human affairs. This was a very informative book that challenges me to look at how we fit into the overall pattern of living things on this planet. Well written, intimate and with a beguiling understated self depreciating wit the book was a pleasure and satisfied page turner. It should be as well for anyone with a amazing sense of curiosity about such things. Gave it to my daughter for her birthday when I saw that she was actually interested (for once) in one of the nerdy books I am always reading. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Botany Coloring Book []  2020-1-22 1:42

    Nicely detailed images, amazing primary info as well as not so primary details. In addition to plants, also has some information on fungi, lichen and some single celled structures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    I homeschool some friends' children. Two are seventh graders this year and one a ninth. I asked them what they would like to so for science -- each could choose a topic and I would prepare a ten week course on it. One chose botany. I have never taught botany before, although I thought I knew a beautiful decent amount in that area. So I ordered this book.I learned so much! And I was able to take most of the material and simplify it to a jr. hi level. The book is very well done and the part about strange plants at the end got me going on the net for some more examples the children would like. Because we did cell structure latest year, I only need to review it this year. This book, however, does an perfect job of going 'ground up' in terms of the need for info to build on. Highly recommended. (Note -- it is aimed at students who are in college, to support them if something in their course was difficult or confusing, but it is very lay friendly)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    I have a degree in Physics but wish to learn the basics of Botany and at the same time gain a greater appreciation for this science. Since the book is for 'Dummies', I thought it would be an ideal method to start. However, the book reads like a giant glossary; it tries to list every term and its definition used in primary Botany; it does small else. If you wish an intro to Botany, this book is uninspiring and useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany For Dummies []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Hard reading, lot of fresh words

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    I have read this book at least a dozen times and finally have my own copy. It is my go-to book for a good, comfortable, comforting, funny and informative read. It amazes and astounds (field bindweed roots reach a depth of 20 feet!) with descriptions of the lives of weeds and their relationships to us humans. Their stories are remarkable, and so are Ms. Stein's warmth and intelligence in presenting them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    I haven't read it yet but from perusing it, it seems to be interesting and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    When a leaf naturally dies on a plant, what do you do?If your respond is to remove it immediately to hold the plant looking its best, you need to read this s, this book includes a amazing of info from the structure of cells all the method to the a lot of and varied forms of plant reproduction. In and of itself, this info would be enough to create this book a amazing if challenging read. However, the tidbits the author scatters in passing such as the respond to the initial question above create this book all the more worthwhile.And the reason you shouldn't remove the dying leaf immediately, you ask? The plant is smarter than you think: it actually uses the time during which the leaf withers to remove nutrients and minerals to be recycled.Who knew?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    “Botany for Gardeners” by Brian Capon I happened to ask a professional Botanist if there was such a thing as a credible primer on Botany written for non-scientific nature-lovers. Hoped for was a book that wouldn’t sedate me with mounds of Botano-jargon and esoteric tangents into the globe of Bio-philosophy. He recommended this book highly. I thank him immensely. It’s logically organized, interesting, relevant, and written so actual people can grasp the topic matter. It’s helping me recognize and understand the plant cycles on my property and convert a few acres over to “natural area” for the benefit of birds and wildlife.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    I bought this book to obtain some insight on the weeds in my garden. I ended up reading it and re-reading year-round it for the thoroughly entertaining style and wealth of botanical information, whether or not I was thinking about gardening. This will always be one of my favorite books, even when I rank it versus my fiction collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    I had a horticulture 15 class and this is the book we required to obtain for class. I read most of it and got an A in the class. It’s very informative and amazing to hold for reference. If you wish to learn about trees plants and shrubs more obtain this book it’ll allow you understand how the inside of plants work like how xylem and phloem are the method plants obtain water to the plant and minerals are moved around to the plant parts by flowing in the phloem created during image synthesis. You can learn more about the tissues of plants and their purpose. Very informative book amazing pictures that they use as examples. Would recommend to any other horticulture or hobbyists who wish to know more about plant basics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    I was afraid this would end up being a bunch of borish random technical info, but was pleasantly surprised that it's actually well organized and engaging. I'm flying thru it, totally intrigued and learning items at the same time. I feel like I'm watching a Discovery Channel documentary, amazing writing, photography and insight. It has definitely earned it's spot on my keeper bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    I have loves and hates among “weeds”, so I could relate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    Sara Stein shares her awesome in-depth knowlege of the botany of weeds with a sense of humor that makes this book a "I can't place it down" volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    This book has some problems:-- the e-text ver isn't fully usable on a black-and-white Kindle reader because the text refers to colors in the graphics.-- the presentation makes a fascinating topic seem dull-- Charles Darwin did not invent the phrase "survival of the fittest," as the author claims in Section III. It was economist Herbert Spencer. A whopping error like that casts doubt on the competence of the author and his Capon obviously has some facts at his disposable, as the book is recommended reading for the Fresh York Botanical Garden's certificate program in gardening. But it's a boggy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    An unusual topic treated with intelligence and humor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    I love this book. I am amazed by her depth of knowledge. Plus it's a amazing read. I am re-reading it now, keeping it by my bedside to read a few paragraphs each night. Such a wealth of knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    I thought this might be a dry read, but it certainly wasn't. The author has a amazing sense of the practical questions gardeners face as well as a deep understanding of botany and is able to communicate concepts without being too arcane or too famous (dumbed-down). He uses amazing examples that illustrate the concepts vividly, so the reader finds it simple to understand. However, the thing in my opinion that sets this book apart is the obvious delight Capon takes in botanical processes; to him, every aspect is a little miracle, and his sense of wonder at how it all works together is both sincere and contagious. I highly recommend this small tome for anyone, botanist or not, who wants to enter into the understanding without losing the mystery. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    This book was recommended in the lecture notes from a botany class at the U.S. National Arboretum and it lives up to the recommendation and then some. The most impressive characteristic of the book is it makes botany truly interesting and compelling. The author accomplishes this no little feat by presenting the info clearly and in a very readable style. The writing is not dense and simple to understand with no training in rongly recommend the book to anyone with an interest in plants. It gives the reader a much broader understanding of the wonder and complexity of plants. One might ask the question, "Why should I be interested in plants?" One respond is: "Plants can live without animals, animals cannot live without plants." Another respond is: Most plants cannot move and plants have awesome diversity because they cannot move. This book reveals some of the fascinating diversity of plants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    Gave as a gift. Assume everything was okay. No complaints. Want I had the option of limiting future recommendations just to stuff I and ship to myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany []  2020-7-2 20:6

    Entertaining and informative narrative about gardening and weeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    This reference is so simple to understand! I participated in a Master Gardener class a few years back. The info similar to botany that was provided by that program was very good, and a unbelievable book was available for reference purposes. But I realllllllllly want this book had been recommended for the botany information! The illustrations are unbelievable (better in my hard copy than the Kindle, understandably), but the description of the botany of plant systems really "clicked" for me when I read this book. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in knowing how plants function - the first step in understanding how to care for them and hold them healthy!! I liked the Kindle ver so much, I purchased the hard copy so that I had better access to the most perfect illustrations!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    What I like about this book is that, as a beginner in botany myself, it opened my eyes to better take care of plants in the garden. It's simple to read and things just tend to the more you learn. Some of the jargon is hard to remember but the images support understand what Capon is trying to illustrate; but sometimes he doesn't contain figures which is frustrating. But after reading this book, I can now create inference on how to pollinate a flower myself, plant a seed the right method and how to chop into a tree without giving it too much problem to heal. This book is not only for horticulture beginners but also for biology majors who are interested in plants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany for Gardeners, 3rd Edition []  2020-7-13 19:51

    Whoah! I'm one of those people who is a hands-on learner, so to read directions about how to do somethingalways kinda snags me, but this book did a unbelievable job on helping by its thorough classificationof plants and their characteristics. I've been a hard-core hobby gardener for 7 years, and I thought I knewplenty about identifying both meal and herbal plants. This book proved I still have much to learn. I'm studying formy Master Herbalist Certification, and although the school has a few books about botany we must complete to graduate,I decided to add this one to obtain a more in depth understanding of plants and identifying them. Especially knowingwe are to be thoroughly tested on related looking plants whereby the "twin" is actually poisonous, like ank you Brian. I personally love to be able to go to various locations and States and identify plants and trees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Economic Botany: Plants in our World []  2020-1-16 16:57

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Economic Botany: Plants in our World []  2020-1-16 16:57

    The book itself was a amazing find, but have yet to actually have to use it in class. So a small disappointed in that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology []  2020-6-14 18:48

    mostly use it as a second source when i need further explanation of what’s being taught. I’m a visual learner and the photos are very detailed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chinese Herbs: Their Botany, Chemistry, and Pharmacodynamics []  2020-5-8 18:28

    Very comprehensive book with the most useful index I've seen in a Chinese herbal book. You can reference the family name, common name, and botanical name of an herb. Although not every herb is covered, it does an extensive list to reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology []  2020-6-14 18:48

    Perfect botany textbook with all the recent research and facts on current thinking on plant biology. It also has plenty of attractive color images of cell structure, plants, algae and everything similar to the physiology of plants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mango: Botany, Production and Uses (Cabi) []  2020-6-20 18:58

    A must have reference book for anyone growing mango's. A compilation from researchers around the world that can support respond most questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Economic Botany: Plants in our World []  2020-1-16 16:57

    amazing prices

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Economic Botany: Plants in our World []  2020-1-16 16:57

    Amazing conditions, I was satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chinese Herbs: Their Botany, Chemistry, and Pharmacodynamics []  2020-5-8 18:28

    Learning curve needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chinese Herbs: Their Botany, Chemistry, and Pharmacodynamics []  2020-5-8 18:28

    Definitely a amazing book for the shelf. It's hard to search what your looking for. I use it to cross reference other books. Not for the beginner. I really like how it has animal parts and not just plants. I would it as a bonus but not for a beginner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Economic Botany: Plants in our World []  2020-1-16 16:57

    Amazing book. Lots of information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Economic Botany: Plants in our World []  2020-1-16 16:57

    I bought this book for a class I'm taking. The book is a bit out-of-date, but was needed for the class. A fresh edition would be nice. I purchased the book used through Amazon, but shipped from the seller. Overall condition was decent. There were small to no markings in the text. The binding wasn't in amazing shape, but was amazing enough for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology []  2020-6-14 18:48

    Perfect text. Use it in my class. Bought it for my Teaching Assistants.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386