Read marks of american potters reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all marks of american potters reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    This book is a must-have if you collect American silver. It's an exhaustive reference of marks and makers, with over 400 pages of information. Silver makers are listed both alphabetically as well as cross-referenced by monograms or marks. More than 10,000 silversmiths, from 1650 to the show are included, and the book makes it simple to identify a piece or its maker. There are shape tutorials (for things like spoons and coffeepots), as well as hand-drawn photos of marks (no images in this book). All in all this book is an extremely useful reference for the collector or dealing of American silver. Don't hesitate, buy it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    One of the most complete books out there for US manufacturers. I would recommend having this one in your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    This is probably the most widely used book on the shop for American silver makers/marks; it has thousands of makers with their locations, dates, and for about half of them their marks. There are initial tutorials at the beginning of each letter's section (these are incomplete, but at least create a start), and easy drawings showing chronological changes in styles for several silver forms (these are problematic, but do at least give a easy framework for beginners). A lot of dealers use it regularly to identify their at's the good; what's the bad? It's chock full of mistakes, of several sorts. The info was mostly compiled from other publications with minimal cross-checking, and has both mistakes from the sources and mistakes of copying over. Dates are a hodge-podge of working dates and life dates, some incomplete, some quite likely just created up by guesswork - but with no indication whether a given one is amazing or not. The most serious flaw is that this edition replaced the sometimes not good (but sometimes good) hand-drawn marks of the previous edition with typeset versions - so there's no possibility at all of comparing various makers' related marks. This is especially necessary with the (usually earlier) initial marks. I have a mate who corrects all the mistakes he finds in his copy - there are about as a lot of corrections as there are entries!Serious collectors and dealers will have the six or so shelf-feet of original publications to check such information, and the knowledge to evaluate the various and sometimes conflicting data. I will often carry a copy of this in my backpack when going to shows, knowing that I can interpret from it and using it as a convenient "pocket" reference. It can also sometimes support in quickly identifying which better sources to turn to for identification. But if you don't have the resources and experience it can be seriously misleading. I couldn't say how a lot of times I've seen mistaken, and sometimes laughable, attributions created by people relying on this for their info - who are confident because they "found it" in this summary, it's a seriously flawed collection of info that can nevertheless be useful for certain things. Caveat emptor.

    0  


    Add your opinion on marks of american potters or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    A book that is one of the most extensive and well researched reference tutorials in the identification of American Silver Marks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    While not the definitive reference that Jackson's book is on English silver, the Kovels do provide an extensive listing of American silversmiths and manufacturers. A person cannot be a serious collector of American antique silver without this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    Amazing reference book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    Unless already know the name of the maker, it's fairly difficult to look up a unknown, cryptic mark. I have to thumb through the whole book to search the tag I'm searching for. There is no cross reference e book is organized and alphabetized by maker.Unfortunately, there's very small info about the maker him/herself. Just circa and location. That's it. If I wanted to know more about a specific maker, I would have to refer to the bibliography section and buy another book.I expected much more from Kovels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    A amazing reference for American silver marks, which are far more confusing than British ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' American Silver Marks []  2020-1-31 5:14

    I know nothing about silver company marks and never before researched a company mark. But I had an old family candlestick for which we were curious to search out its period in history. I went to my local library, found this book on the shelf, saw it was organized alphabetically, studied my mark, decided it might have something to do with the W marks, began searching there, and found my tag after a few pages. I'm not sure how else one would organize such a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    They Left Great Marks on Me: African American Testimonies of Racial Violence from Emancipation to World War I []  2020-2-6 21:49

    Williams's scholarship puts a focus on exactly what has been glossed over for more than a century by historians: the violence of white vigilante groups and the consequences of that violence on African Americans. For too long the centrality of vigilante violence by white supremacists has gone unrecognized in both famous and official historical narratives, resulting in a myopic, self-serving interpretation of the Reconstruction era and the terrors that went into the creation of Jim Crow. Williams's work not only identifies and challenges this historiographical "oversight," but she does so by replacing it with solid research and historical scholarship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    They Left Great Marks on Me: African American Testimonies of Racial Violence from Emancipation to World War I []  2020-2-6 21:49

    Wow, for someone like me who only has a superficial knowledge of what African Americans when through at the early stages of the civil rights struggle, this book is indispensable. What an eye-opener! Thanks, Prof Williams, for bringing attention to these heroes and their contributions and for educating us all. The stories you tell are depressing, yet so inspiring. What courage these victims had. And thanks for writing so clearly and engaging. When is your next book coming out??

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    They Left Great Marks on Me: African American Testimonies of Racial Violence from Emancipation to World War I []  2020-2-6 21:49

    "A must read for anyone interested in black history, social justice, or American history. It should be on every undergrad and grad's reading list - and every professor's. The research is unbelievably extensive; the methodology staightforward yet innovative. Williams has unearthed previously ignored sources and turned them into an engrossing, accessible narrative that changes the method one looks at racial relations in America. No matter how devastating the facts, she maintains objectivity and lets readers draw their own conclusions. I can't recommend this book more highly."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    They Left Great Marks on Me: African American Testimonies of Racial Violence from Emancipation to World War I []  2020-2-6 21:49

    Very early on in the reading, I began to wonder if the method that my history classes covered the US Civil Battle and Reconstruction was portrayed the same method elsewhere in the country. I grew up and was educated in a former Confederate state, but I don't remember any teacher or professor trumpeting the cause for States' Rights or making any attempt to search nobility in enslaving other humans. A lot of attention in the textbooks and class discussion was given to the battle itself however: to war tactics and mini-biographies of the generals and leaders of both sides. Reconstruction was rather rushed over and woven with tips of unrealistic promises and rampant corruption by outsiders rushing in to create a profit."They Left Amazing Marks on Me..." gives another perspective. In its well-sourced accounts, formerly enslaved people and their descendants worked long hours to farm land, educate themselves and their children, and do their civic duty to vote. In reading info of the hurt done to their houses and fields, one appreciates how hard families had to work for their harvests and to recoup their expenses, and the difficulty they had in finding redress for unfair compensation and pricing structures. If there was widespread corruption during or after Reconstruction, it was more likely by those who cheated their sharecroppers, or engaged in unfair credit practices.Over time, according to accounts taken from survivors, cheating disintegrated into violence and physical attacks if they attempted to protect their interests. Night Riders used the horribly euphemistic term "charitable exile" as the grim alternative to a targeted farmer who had a successful crop ready to harvest: flee the zone now and leave everything behind or be beaten and murdered in front of your family. Sometimes the family was murdered along with the head of the household. If any took refuge in neighboring houses, or attempted to protest or report the violence, they and those who assisted them were also targeted according to the records that the book cites. This went on for decades with small intervention by local courts or federal authorities. Lynching became so widespread that it spurred the Amazing Migration and eventually became a national scandal.If one considers the deaths of so many, over so wide an area, the thought occurs that surely there had to be some strenuous wrestling of consciences among those who considered themselves the more enlightened and noble of the races. Even if we consider these men in the context of their culture and time, would the fact that they did what they did in the dark offer some chance that deep down they knew they were wrong and wished to stop? Did those covering themselves with masks and sheets ever want they were not summoned or pressured to go? Did they ever discuss it with family or friends? One hopes for at least a soul-sick need for a deathbed confession or fear-of-hell sourced remorse for those who considered love and mercy integral parts of their professed faith.I want there were some accounts of this, in family stories or diaries or something to give me a small more faith in my fellow man. Because reading the later accounts of public hangings, begin mob violence, and resistance to outside investigation leads me with small reassurance.I have to accept that it stopped only because of the individual heroism of African-American investigators, writers, and their white allies who risked their lives to doent the deaths and report them over and over again until the nation could no longer turn away and pretend it was an exaggeration of isolated cases. And that makes me wonder if the fear, greed, and hatred at the root of such socially-sanctioned terrorism (which is what it was, whether the word terrorism was coined then or not) never completely went away. Rather, those rages went underneath the surface when there was finally resistance from our better natures. And if so, are we catching glimpses of them bubbling up again? And do we have a better method to stop it this time around?I search it hard to rate books like this. How do you give 5 stars that say "I loved it!" to unrelenting accounts of widespread lynching and systematic terror? I had to place it down several times, and read quick through some sections. I don't know if it was the method it was written, my state of mind, or the topic. I didn't love it, but I'm glad that I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    They Left Great Marks on Me: African American Testimonies of Racial Violence from Emancipation to World War I []  2020-2-6 21:49

    This book lays out the story of continuing violence experienced by African Americans after the age of slavery. A must-read for anyone who believes that the end of slavery was the end of the injustice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    They Left Great Marks on Me: African American Testimonies of Racial Violence from Emancipation to World War I []  2020-2-6 21:49

    Kidada Williams' authoritative study of how sustained and repeated racial violence shaped African American life after the Civil Battle is an necessary addition to American history. The topic of white violence versus African Americans is hardly new, but Williams breaks fresh ground by focusing on how representations of racial violence shaped a sense of collective identity among American blacks during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Central to the study are the voices of the victims themselves, from ex-slaves in the Reconstruction era to early civil rights agitators and intellectuals in the early twentieth century. The writing is clear and relaxed; this would be a valuable text for undergraduate or graduate courses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handbook of marks on pottery and porcelain []  2020-2-1 1:6

    using it and satisfied with purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    The Encyclopaedia of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks is comprhensive and well organized, making it the ideal reference. I want I had purchased the book years ago!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handbook of marks on pottery and porcelain []  2020-2-1 1:6

    Another book purchased that won't download. Don't know if it it's the book or other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    This is a amazing source of info for very old pottery and porcelain. I buy and sell antiques and this is a nice addition for my reference library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    It's rare I can't search and date a tag on any English china, even very old and fresh stuff, using this book. VERY useful. Mostly well organized. I consider it a needed reference for serious English ironstone collectors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    Very interesting, thankyou.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    If you deal in or collect antique English pottery and/or porcelain this is the only book on marks you will ever need. It is worth the money. It is known in the trade as the 'Bible on English marks' and its authority is never questioned. The maker and historical notes included with every identification, give you direction if more research is desired.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    Quick shipper, amazing prices. This book is super informative if you collect china, pottery or porcelain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handbook of marks on pottery and porcelain []  2020-2-1 1:6

    A very meal guide! Well suited for the pro or novice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    Exactly what I was looking for. I have some china from my grandmother I couldn't identify and it was in the book. Thank you, Has a lot of English created pottery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    amazing book, quick shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    When looking for a reference book on pottery and porcelain marks Amazons displayed a list of possible alternatives. From this list it was simple to access the important info to create an informed decision on which produce best meet my needs. The condition of the book was outlined by Amazons which proved e choice of suppliers and info of cost including postage was simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encyclopedia of British pottery and porcelain marks []  2020-1-20 1:20

    Book sent out damaged but the seller was amazing to work with and refunded for merchandise and shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Ok just not what I expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    This is the easiest on the shop to use and comprehend. I cannot do without it. It is wise to modernize to a fresh ver now and then too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marks' Essentials of Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach []  2020-7-10 18:54

    The level of detail is so scant it almost makes this not useful for medical school curriculum. It may, however, be useful for other courses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    I bought this on a whim for my husband who collects restaurant china. It was a used copy and was only a couple dollars. This book is an awesome fountain of info on china markings. He has not stopped reading it. If I had spent 500$ on this it would have been worth it given the amount of pleasure he has gotten from this husband dragged out his entire collection of restaurant china and was able to accurately identify every single piece by the maker. Since he is not interested in resale, the lack of current valuation was not an issue. Being able to obtain insight into each piece was of amazing import. He is also not a collector of sets; he has a lot of random pieces he was able to put geographically and in is is an amazing, well researched tutorial to US created china and would be a amazing addition to the collector's library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    This book is prodigious in scope: the pottery marks (with large varieties within each company) and historical info are both invaluable and interesting. However, the indexing is weak, which leads one to thumbing through pages trying to search an elusive mark. This is such a well-researched, vast collection of marks, however, that laborious searches are rewarded.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    A amazing reference book! A definite requirement for your collector library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    This is an incredibly detailed compilation of pottery manufacturer information, assembled before PCs and spreadsheets would have created the job easier. I consult this book constantly for identification purpose but also history and to use some of the extra materials about distributors and the geographical index. Using this work in conjunction with visiting RWCN, the Restaurant Ware Collectors Network () will support with a lot of a lot of ID questions for identifying the more utilitarian pottery and porcelain once produced by so a lot of US companies. Sadly, the book is a catalog of one sector of our own industrial past, as small remains today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    Provided some info I had been looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lookingbill and Marks' Principles of Dermatology E-Book []  2020-8-18 18:44

    This was the first module in my clinical medicine class for PA school. This book was an simple read, had amazing pictures, and provided amazing information. I also worked in a cosmetic derm office as a MA for gaining hours for PA school. We didn't do a lot of regular derm and if I had this book as a reference when we got the rare true derm patient, it would have been amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lookingbill and Marks' Principles of Dermatology E-Book []  2020-8-18 18:44

    great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    A amazing support in identifying some of those marks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Too old and difficult to understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    A must have if you are a collector, inherited or just beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    I liked everything about this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    I have owned this book for awhile now and have used it often. I also have lent it to mates so that they can search out what they have. The book contains a large amount of images of marks and is simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Fantastic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lookingbill and Marks' Principles of Dermatology E-Book []  2020-8-18 18:44

    Very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    This book is large and is loaded with every tag and pattern you can think of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    So far...I have found none of the marks I have searched for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kovels' Dictionary of Marks: Pottery And Porcelain, 1650 to 1850 []  2020-1-31 5:13

    One of two that I have added to my growing library. You can't have to many. I know the internet is a amazing source but sometimes you just have to have paper at your fingertips.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    This is my best resource for identifying American ceramics with two exceptions: any California pottery except the biggest and best known companies, and studio pottery which is outside the scope of this guide. I have been able to determine in which line of products an item fits, and differentiate years of production. These problems are particularly confusing for the California potteries where company buyouts and movement of designers and artisans from one company to another were rampant in the mid 20th century.A fresh edition would support fill the holes with input from collectors in particular.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    Excellent condition. Amazing addition to my research library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehner's Encyclopedia Of US Marks On Pottery, Porcelain Clay []  2020-8-30 18:34

    Chocked full of useful info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marks' Essentials of Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach []  2020-7-10 18:54

    Very amazing simple to understand text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    Fresh to pottery and happy with all the Amaco glazes I've tried so far. None have arrived solidified in the container requiring lots of stirring. Nice consistency, simple to apply with brush. Results have been attractive on four various clay bodies. Looking forward to experimenting with layering combinations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    Shipping was quick, all of my glazes arrived sealed with no leaks. I noticed in some reviews people were upset about receiving textured amber brown and oatmeal instead of salt buff and Albany slip brown. I had messaged them before it shipped and said I preferred this as salt buff is super ugly and the oatmeal has looked attractive on everything I’ve paired it with. I’d probably have liked Albany slip brown but I really like the textured amber brown so it worked out great. I will be ordering again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    I like Amaco Glazes just fine usually. I ordered this and the 39219X pack, on the 39219X one of the bottles had the top loose and broken seal with a small of the glaze leaked out. This one however, the "oatmeal" was busted begin (note shipping box was ok) the box inside was half open. The oatmeal was not a listed color for one and I am not sure how a lot of colors actually match the description because the oatmeal was half all over the inside of the box and I could not read all the other labels. I decided to hold the 39219X since the s was not too poor and had the right colors listed but sending this one back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    This is an inexpensive method to test fresh glasses. 5 of them were amazing on my cone 6 Pottery 26 when did not come out well at all. But that's the same thing you would obtain if you bought it from the shop only you would pay more and you have to drive to obtain there. The Smokey Merlot turned out quite interesting I never would have gone with a purple if I was picking them out individually at the store. Worth a try. Look to the www service for the best ways to use each individual glaze.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    My wife purchases special pottery, antiques, etc. on a regular basis. As we live on the border of North Carolina, we often were advised to obtain this book. I recently gave it to her as a gift, and she loved it. She has an extensive library of reference works, and considers this book "one of the best".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    We're thrilled with the results. I ordered three various sets of Potters Choice Glazes and they shipped with Amaco's Catalog.If you're fresh to this series, I strongly suggest reviewing their app and layering instructions. It's imperative one applies three to four generous coats in order to achieve results related to those pictured in the catalog. I threw two sets of yunomis and carafes. Both were thrown with Laguna Clay's Electric Brown mid-range cone 5-6. Both sets were bisque-fired to cone 04. One set was glazed with 2 coats of Chun Plum and 2 coats of Seaweed. The other set was glazed with 2 coats of Deep Firebrick and 2 coats of Blue Rutile. I fired to cone 5 using a slow to medium schedule. See the images I uploaded for the results.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    These are perfect glazes for Cone 6 fired pottery. I have used all six colors that came with the set and they look amazing separately and blended in two layers. The Ironstone is especially amazing with Chun Plum with either as the outer layer. The price for a set of six is very good. I especially liked the color sheets sent with the glazes that present what effects you obtain combining various Amoco glazes with a specific glaze. I highly recommend them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    The glazes fire as shown in the photos. The saturation gold is especially beautiful. I want the on-line catalog went into a bit more detail about how the glazes behave in hand-building projects, but I think Amaco does a very amazing job communicating how to use and apply the glazes. Also, their technical assistance telephone customer service is absolutely friendly, smart, and on-point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    I think this is a amazing price especially if you you use a lot of Glazes. The dozens is amazing and allows you to test a lot of various colors and you can test colors out. One problem with my box that I received, 2 of the glazes that were unusable and when I called to complain they sent me a fresh box but it wasn't the same set. And not sure the 2 glazes that were the original poor were also poor again. I know this isn't Amazons fault and they are always eager to help. I can't risk using poor glazes on my work. I think its best to obtain this box if you're a student and not a professional. Other than my comments. As I said its a amazing deal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    its a amazing color assortment. your results will vary based on how thick you apply, what color ware you place it on, how hot the firing goes too..... but these colors layer up so well! you can come up with so a lot of amazing looks by layering a bit here and there and allow them blend away. buying the set saves cash on getting 6 separately. only one had its foil top broken begin and a bit leaked out, not poor for items that is shipped and UPS can drop stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Non-Toxic Glaze Set, 1 pt, Assorted Color, Set of 6 []  2020-1-3 19:51

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    My kin people are included in this book.. Amazing Read about Pottery …..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    This is an essential work on traditional North Carolina pottery. Charles Zug is a long-time student of the craft and this book reflects a tremendous depth of research and knowledge. The book's focus is on the historic development of North Carolina pottery as a folk craft, beginning with Colonial era pioneers and continuing through the early 1980s. Along the way, Zug educates the reader in techniques, materials, forms, and a lot of of the potters themselves. "Turners and Burners" is a standard-setter and for anyone getting started in North Carolina pottery is an essential reference tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ITE Marks [App]  2019-9-28 21:10

    Nice , Helpful and simple to use , thanks ^_^

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ITE Marks [App]  2019-9-28 21:10

    شي كبيير ياعمري

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Marks []  2020-1-22 1:46

    got what i paid for

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Marks []  2020-1-22 1:46

    Amazing book! Written by a unbelievable legend of pottery. Packed full of info and photographs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    OT2Go->Marks [App]  2020-7-5 13:43

    Paid for it then they tried to charge me for upgrades. Don't waist your time or money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    amazing colors, you obtain various looks depending on what cone you fire too. they do not do so well at a low 06 cone. but really pop at cone 6 or 10. depending on how a lot of coats you place on too. I search the best method to obtain the real intended color is 2 nice even coats, or 3 if you dont have a lot of texture to your item, they will spread over textures and present clay body through which makes for attractive results. you can mix and overlay colors, they will react in unexpected by unbelievable colors. if you have low fire clay, test the amaco elements glaze. they fire nice at 06, which wont melt your clay body.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    The "plum" is NOT close to what is in this picture - comes out like a dark pink not orangy-red. Otherwise fantastic. The jade is much more dynamic and soft - beautiful. And the seaweed color is a dark, fluid deep green on blackish background. The gold actually looks like a dark gold metal once fired - is amazing with an overglaze pattern of black on top...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    We have loved these glazes. For us they appeared related to the pictures. I have a suspicion that others who haven't loved the Potter's Choice glazes may not be applying them right for the effect they want. Each glaze needs a slightly various app in this family of glazes. A lot of are float glazes and the final appearance varies drastically based on how thick they are applied and what temperatures they are fired to. I have been firing to cone 6 as recommended with success. I found the following resource provided by the manufacturer to be incredibly helpful and would have had a not good experience with these glazes without it. see:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    I like Amaco's Potter's Choice glazes. They are nice glazes for cone 5/6 glaze firing. Most require more than one coat. My only gripe is that the lid liners are paperboard and therefore go moldy after opening. So remove them right away and replace with circles chop from sticky back foam craft sheets like I did and you won't have the problem again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Non-Toxic Glaze Set, 1 pt, Assorted Color, Set of 6 []  2020-1-3 19:51

    Glazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    While this is an older book, it is perfect for beginning pottery collectors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Marks []  2020-1-22 1:46

    Wow, unbelievable book!This is more than a study of the ceramic surface. This book shows the changes that kilns have on clay, I have been trying to explain to my students the variables that can happen in gas kilns with oxidation and reduction. Yes it does have the surface finishes as well, but I am impressed with the 2 chapters on heat and the next on e glaze colorant section is very comprehensive and the tables of various oxides is very king Marks discusses a wide range of surface decoration, plenty to begin you of on a fresh decorating technique.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Marks []  2020-1-22 1:46

    Love this book, just want i had more time to use it and test the techiques

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ITE Marks [App]  2019-9-28 21:10

    Greatful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    OT2Go->Marks [App]  2020-7-5 13:43

    An Android device application to compete with AM! This application is close. The UR load/save/delete functions are a small buggy and it would be nice to be able to rename the default ur since that's the one it loads first every time. Overall, amazing work though!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    I like Amaco's Potter's Choice glazes. They are nice glazes for cone 5/6 glaze firing. Most require more than one coat. My only gripe is that the lid liners are paperboard and therefore go moldy after opening. So remove them right away and replace with circles chop from sticky back foam craft sheets like I did and you won't have the problem again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    I'm sure the glazes are great. I just got them but two of the six glazes are different. (Oatmeal and Textured Amber instead of Albany Slip Brown and Salt Buff). Beautiful disappointing! I'm not sure how to resolve this with Amaco without returning the glazes as I need them this weekend and I opened them without realizing they were the wrong ones. Will be searching for how to contact the seller or amazon about this. I was really excited about the Albany slip brown :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    Same a everyone else. Substituted 2 colors. I really did wish the Albany Slip and that was one of the subs.Wouldn't bother me if they swapped for a 15.00 item. Which they didn'bany Slip and Salt Buff subbed with Textured Amber and Oatmeal, both 13.00 items. Both stuff substituted are readily available from same vendor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Non-Toxic Glaze Set, 1 pt, Assorted Color, Set of 6 []  2020-1-3 19:51

    Used them for a first firing. Impressive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    Astounding volume, so a lot of amazing pics! I cannot stop referencing this fine book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    The best part is mixing the colors. This comes with a hack sheet of what comes out when mixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    I ordered these glazes a few weeks before Christmas because I wanted to use my pottery for bonuses this year. I tried the glazes and I was extremely happy with most of the colors. There was one color in this group that I was disappointed with and that was the Ironstone glaze. This glaze, if it pools in the bottom and gets too thick, will bubble up and make a pitted, bubbled result and it is very disappointing. So, I have learned to [email protected]#$%! on fairly thin, or just fire it at a lower temp. But the other glazes were very nice, and I will certainly purchase them again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Glaze Set - B, 1 pt, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 - 39219X []  2019-12-17 19:0

    1 box came and one of the jars opened in the box. The second one I got, 2 of the glazes were dried up. This is a amazing price and Amazone always has amazing service. But I can afford to buy glazes that have been sitting around or risk them on my pottery. As I said once before amazing deal for the money, and works if your a student or a teacher but if your a pro test getting them from a Ceramic dealer instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO 39182X Potters Choice Glazes, Set A, 1 Pint, Assorted Colors, Set of 6 []  2019-12-17 19:0

    2 of the 6 glazes were not the described colors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AMACO Potters Choice Lead-Free Non-Toxic Glaze Set, 1 pt, Assorted Color, Set of 6 []  2020-1-3 19:51

    Coverage is amazing however, in using 3 coats some of the colors aren't distinguishable. The blue-black came out very black and because the piece was smooth you can't see any blue. The turquoise color was also very dark.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    Amazing book on NC pottery. If you're into collecting ceramics (pots), particularly North Carolina pots, you have to have this book. Gives the background of the potting families and traditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina (Fred W. Morrison Series in Southern Studies) []  2020-6-26 19:4

    Turners and Burners is a must for anyone interested in North Carolina Folk pottery. It presents the history starting with the first potters to settle in the region to the evolution of the trade that lives on arles Zug does an outstanding job of presenting the culture and the mindset that guided the craft through generations of potters spanning over two centuries.And the technologies of the craft is given ample attention, through interesting descriptions, drawings, and photographs. A prime example is the discussion of how alkaline glaze kilns differed from the salt kilns in terms of design, firing methods, and is is a amazing book, full of useful info to the researcher as well as praticing potters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ITE Marks [App]  2019-9-28 21:10

    ممتاز وسريع ومافي مشاكل

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ITE Marks [App]  2019-9-28 21:10

    Thx❤❤

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making Marks []  2020-1-22 1:46

    Extremely thorough.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386