Read mathematical methods for physics and engineering reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all mathematical methods for physics and engineering reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Bought mine brand fresh and it came destroyed, ruined, and unusable by water damage. The pages are stuck together and warm from what appears to be water damage. Pages peal and tear when I test to begin them because of this. I will be returning this and expect a refund for this scam

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    This is probably the best math methods book out there. I'm only confused by its characterization as an undergraduate-level book. It is definitely graduate level, particularly in later chapters starting with DE's and complex ysis applications. My guess it is so lucidly well-written, and with available solutions that it is perfectly accessible to senior undergraduates as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Terrific book, one phywical issue with binding (a chapter was glued in upside down) but very clear exposition. Perfect review for applied math, machine learning, EE, physics students

    0  


    Add your opinion on mathematical methods for physics and engineering or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    amazing book, amazing reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Pages are very sensitive. A lot of are detaching from book. the book binding seems very cheap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Has a chapter on numerical methods. Yay!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I bought this book because I felt that in my undergraduate Chemistry education, I didn't keep enough mathematical training. As I begin graduate school, this book has been helpful in seeing the bigger picture of necessary mathematical concepts and tools. One can really learn a lot if you take the time to read the chapters AND do the problems. It is, in my opinion, a amazing resource if you need a refresher on some topic, although (as the authors note) not everything can be covered in only private want is that there was more visual, esp. graphical, content to accompany the concepts. As a visual learner this approach really helps me. The early chapters do well, but figures become sparse in later chapters. Other than that an perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I want I had the RHB (Riley, Hobson, and Bence), when I was in engineering school. Alas, I was born too early—a few decades too early. We used Kreyszig, which was good. But in my opinion, RHB's approach, style, and tone is better for the young engineering (and physics) students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    This is a wonderfully written reference for any math class. Abstract subjects are explained in a manner in which Engineers easily pick them up. I went through my entire BS pretending to understand math and since we started using this book for my entry level graduate class, I ACTUALLY feel like I understand some of this stuff.If your instructor recommends this book, props to him, and lucky you!If you just like math and wound up here without being forced to buy this book, I would obtain it anyway because its so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I am a graduate student in Biochemistry with a bachelors in applied math and I wanted to go back and review a lot of math techniques before I totally forgot them. So I started looking at my old math texts and saw that for what I wanted, a lot of of them were far to dense for a fast I started searching Amazon and purchased this text along with both of Stroud's texts and I am glad I did. Stroud's texts provide simple to follow examples while Riley's text provides a more rigorous concise presentation of the topics. I search myself reading Riley's text first and if I can not quite understand the topic, I then go to Stroud's for some easier to follow examples. Fortunately, they contain a lot of of the same us in my opinion, Riley's is a amazing text as a reference and for reviewing a subject if you are a small rusty. It is not a amazing text if you are trying to learn something for the first time or for self study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Student Solution Manual for Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering Third Edition []  2020-8-17 18:58

    The book is perfect not only for giving the solution, but explaining the problem, clarifying what exactly is being asked and giving major guidelines for how to solve the problem. Thank you very much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Student Solution Manual for Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering Third Edition []  2020-8-17 18:58

    Well prepared!Still it needs further editing. There are some typing mistakes in equations..Some solutions should also be reviewed..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Student Solution Manual for Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering Third Edition []  2020-8-17 18:58

    It only includes half the solutions, which isn't that helpful if you're self studying like me. In the end I decided to switch to other textbooks that specialize in a certain zone (like linear algebra, calculus, etc) rather than work through Riley, which I found to be a rather poor method to learn the subjects covered in the book for the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Student Solution Manual for Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering Third Edition []  2020-8-17 18:58

    The book was in perfect conditions and its content have been very useful. This is a book with a high level but at the same time easier to follow and understand. The examples shown are illustrative enough to consider that the subject was completely covered and understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Student Solution Manual for Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering Third Edition []  2020-8-17 18:58

    I personally felt like the examples could have been explained a lot better.. didn't prove useful for me because I was lost figuring out how they came up with certain solutions. Maybe our professor was doing them differently? I'm not sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Student Solution Manual for Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering Third Edition []  2020-8-17 18:58

    The solutions manual of a very amazing book. Useful for instructors and students as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Student Solution Manual for Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering Third Edition []  2020-8-17 18:58

    The solutions for the odd numbers don't seem to be available online anywhere, and the library didn't have this one either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    A amazing book to learn differential geometry, Lie algebra and manifolds for those interested in theoretical physics. I use it on a weekly basis as a companion and reference during my research in the intersection of gravity, quantum field theory and cosmology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    It is just what I wanted, this book was new, cheaper and very amazing material for someone who wants to learn more about geometrics methods in physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    Very amazing introduction, but I felt that waiting until chapter 5 to introduce any examples was a small weird of a decision. Once you already understand the material and are done with the book, then he introduces learning examples. Some easy implementations would have helped the learning process immensely. He goes through forms very general and abstractly and leaves the concrete and specific as a later chapter.Other than that, I really loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    using this text to study engineering applications of differential geometry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    I rarely love reading/learning math.. sigh.. This one is ok though. It's intuitive/physics enough to follow through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    Awesome book, comes really quickly and I'm amazing shape

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    The exposition in this book is concise, intuitive and, for the most part, quite lucid. It's really tops for getting the larger view, relating key mathematical concepts to applications in physics. As an autodidact, I've found it particularly productive to use this book in conjunction with a more detailed treatment of some particular topic, e.g. tensors, representation theory for groups and the relationship between that and Lie groups and algebras. I've also found it enlightening to supplement this book with the typically more detailed and superb expositions on some subject in Frankel's  The Geometry of Physics: An Introduction, Second Edition  and in Wasserman's apparently lesser known but phenomenal  Tensors and Manifolds: With Applications to Physics . With some foundation/supplementation, the book can profitably be used to solidify and extend one's intuitive understanding of these mathematical subjects and come to understand how they are of use in physics. One can also use the book to identify weakness in one's understanding and to determine what else one needs to study to create further progress. In addition, Schutz provides solutions or tips to the exercises. It's a comparatively fast read and overall, quite enjoyable. Highly recommended for self-study but see the caveats spite my high praise, I think that this book is best used as a supplement to more thorough treatments of the math covered (mainly, differential manifolds, forms, Lie derivatives, Lie groups). Other books I have used repeatedly and highly recommend contain Tu's  Introduction to Smooth Manifolds (Graduate Texts in Mathematics) , Lee's  An Introduction to Manifolds (Universitext)  on manifolds; Stillwell's  Naive Lie Theory (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) , Tapp's  Matrix Groups for Undergraduates (Student Mathematical Library,)  and Hall's  Lie Groups, Lie Algebras, and Representations: An Elementary Introduction  on Lie groups, etc. and Weintraub's  Differential Forms: Integration on Manifolds and Stokes's Theorem , Darling's  Differential Forms and Connections  and at a more advanced level, Morita's lucid and concise  Geometry of Differential Forms (Translations of Mathematical Monographs, Vol. 201)  on differential hutz states that the aim of "this book is to teach mathematics, not physics". In general, I do not think one's math should be learned soley from physics books (having experienced the inadequate job done on mathematics in typical general relativity and quantum mechanics books). This book is no exception despite its exceptional lucidity. The claim that one only needs reasonable familiarity with "vector calculus, calculus of a lot of variables, matrix algebra ... and a small operator theory ..." is overly optimistic. In some narrow sense, it might be real that this is all that is needed to follow the primary logic of the mathematical development, but to really understand the text, I believe some background in differential geometry, forms and Lie groups -- preferably acquired from math books written by mathematicians -- is I said, despite the caveats immediately above, I found the book both illuminating and enjoyable to read. In fact, I return to it quite often to refresh my memory on different topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    Perfect and clear discussion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    This book is a attractive work of translation for theoretical physicists (applied mathematicians, etc.) to learn about differential forms and to see how their abstract representations can be very useful and intuitive (geometric and coordinate-independent). At the same time, reading the inverse way, i suppose it is also a very nice translation for mathematicians already proficient with differential forms to understand the uses of most interest for physical applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometrical Methods of Mathematical Physics []  2020-12-1 18:38

    I have used this book as a student (junior level and up) and I recommend it to undergraduate students making their method to general relativity and gauge theories. It is clear, easy and intuitive enough for a young student but goes thouroughly through the most necessary info and techniques.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Monte Carlo Methods for Radiation Transport: Fundamentals and Advanced Topics (Biological and Medical Physics, Biomedical Engineering) []  2020-6-29 18:44

    Amazing book for medical physicists who are interested in the background mathematics of Monte Carlo. There's also a useful chapter on microdosimetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Monte Carlo Methods for Radiation Transport: Fundamentals and Advanced Topics (Biological and Medical Physics, Biomedical Engineering) []  2020-6-29 18:44

    I was very much looking forward to the content of this book, however Kindle for PC or the method that this eBook was published makes it impossible to read equations and a lot of figures legibly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Exercises and Problems in Mathematical Methods of Physics (Undergraduate Lecture Notes in Physics) []  2020-8-7 18:49

    This book is one in a series called Undergraduate Lecture Notes in Physics published by Springer. According to the preface this book is the effect of the author's lectures during several decades at the Department of Physics at the University of Pisa in Italy. The undergraduate physics students in Italy must be a lot more advanced than the ones in North America because to solve these issues you need a beautiful deep background in math. For example in Chapter 2 which is complex ysis the second issue is sin(z) = 4i and cos(z) = 30. These are not as simple as they look. The point is it gets more difficult from there and you have to have a better knowledge of complex ysis than an undergraduate math major would allow alone a physics major. The other 3 chapters are Hilbert Spaces, Fourier and Laplace transforms, and Groups, Lie Algebras, and Symmetries in Physics. I'm a math guy and I found the book loaded with interesting issues and there are answers to most of the issues at the back of the book. So I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 because I think it is too difficult for undergraduates. I think this would be doable if it was used as a textbook along with lectures which explained how to tackle the problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-5-28 18:15

    I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-11 18:29

    Amazing book. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-5-28 18:15

    I came upon this book through a Google find similar to linear operators on normed vector locations while working through Rudin's True and Complex ysis for a university course. For the same reason that the previous reviewer gave the book only three stars I am giving 5. It is an perfect reference for getting a solid "high level" view of introductory Banach and Hilbert locations and Fourier ing from both True and Complex ysis and Principles of Mathematical ysis it is very simple to fall into a "forest for the trees" type of situation and obtain easily lost in Rudin's very terse yet very dense proofs. Although as a student of mathematics it is absolutely important to tackle ysis at the depth and rigor needed of Rudin it is also very, very helpful to gain an broader yet more explicit understanding of the topic (along with its underlying motivation) which this books does excellently!Along with Linear Algebra Done Right and Apostol's Mathematical ysis, this book has become a go-to reference for me! Can't recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-14 18:32

    I came upon this book through a Google find similar to linear operators on normed vector locations while working through Rudin's True and Complex ysis for a university course. For the same reason that the previous reviewer gave the book only three stars I am giving 5. It is an perfect reference for getting a solid "high level" view of introductory Banach and Hilbert locations and Fourier ing from both True and Complex ysis and Principles of Mathematical ysis it is very simple to fall into a "forest for the trees" type of situation and obtain easily lost in Rudin's very terse yet very dense proofs. Although as a student of mathematics it is absolutely important to tackle ysis at the depth and rigor needed of Rudin it is also very, very helpful to gain an broader yet more explicit understanding of the topic (along with its underlying motivation) which this books does excellently!Along with Linear Algebra Done Right and Apostol's Mathematical ysis, this book has become a go-to reference for me! Can't recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:30

    Amazing book. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:31

    I didn't study the material yet, but briefly scanned through the e organization is very covers metric space, Banach and Hilbert Space, Fourier Transform, and Wavelet te that it have two entire chapters on L^p and L^2 locations to present engineering e two chapters are very useful for ever, the book is not ound 1/3 of the proofs are left to reader as "exercise".This is the main reason that I rate this book 3 has potential to become a standard ever, a lot of proofs are is a amazing book, but NOT for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-12-27 18:31

    I came upon this book through a Google find similar to linear operators on normed vector locations while working through Rudin's True and Complex ysis for a university course. For the same reason that the previous reviewer gave the book only three stars I am giving 5. It is an perfect reference for getting a solid "high level" view of introductory Banach and Hilbert locations and Fourier ing from both True and Complex ysis and Principles of Mathematical ysis it is very simple to fall into a "forest for the trees" type of situation and obtain easily lost in Rudin's very terse yet very dense proofs. Although as a student of mathematics it is absolutely important to tackle ysis at the depth and rigor needed of Rudin it is also very, very helpful to gain an broader yet more explicit understanding of the topic (along with its underlying motivation) which this books does excellently!Along with Linear Algebra Done Right and Apostol's Mathematical ysis, this book has become a go-to reference for me! Can't recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:31

    I came upon this book through a Google find similar to linear operators on normed vector locations while working through Rudin's True and Complex ysis for a university course. For the same reason that the previous reviewer gave the book only three stars I am giving 5. It is an perfect reference for getting a solid "high level" view of introductory Banach and Hilbert locations and Fourier ing from both True and Complex ysis and Principles of Mathematical ysis it is very simple to fall into a "forest for the trees" type of situation and obtain easily lost in Rudin's very terse yet very dense proofs. Although as a student of mathematics it is absolutely important to tackle ysis at the depth and rigor needed of Rudin it is also very, very helpful to gain an broader yet more explicit understanding of the topic (along with its underlying motivation) which this books does excellently!Along with Linear Algebra Done Right and Apostol's Mathematical ysis, this book has become a go-to reference for me! Can't recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:30

    I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-11 18:29

    I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-5-28 18:15

    I didn't study the material yet, but briefly scanned through the e organization is very covers metric space, Banach and Hilbert Space, Fourier Transform, and Wavelet te that it have two entire chapters on L^p and L^2 locations to present engineering e two chapters are very useful for ever, the book is not ound 1/3 of the proofs are left to reader as "exercise".This is the main reason that I rate this book 3 has potential to become a standard ever, a lot of proofs are is a amazing book, but NOT for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-11 18:29

    I came upon this book through a Google find similar to linear operators on normed vector locations while working through Rudin's True and Complex ysis for a university course. For the same reason that the previous reviewer gave the book only three stars I am giving 5. It is an perfect reference for getting a solid "high level" view of introductory Banach and Hilbert locations and Fourier ing from both True and Complex ysis and Principles of Mathematical ysis it is very simple to fall into a "forest for the trees" type of situation and obtain easily lost in Rudin's very terse yet very dense proofs. Although as a student of mathematics it is absolutely important to tackle ysis at the depth and rigor needed of Rudin it is also very, very helpful to gain an broader yet more explicit understanding of the topic (along with its underlying motivation) which this books does excellently!Along with Linear Algebra Done Right and Apostol's Mathematical ysis, this book has become a go-to reference for me! Can't recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:31

    Amazing book. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:30

    I didn't study the material yet, but briefly scanned through the e organization is very covers metric space, Banach and Hilbert Space, Fourier Transform, and Wavelet te that it have two entire chapters on L^p and L^2 locations to present engineering e two chapters are very useful for ever, the book is not ound 1/3 of the proofs are left to reader as "exercise".This is the main reason that I rate this book 3 has potential to become a standard ever, a lot of proofs are is a amazing book, but NOT for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:30

    I came upon this book through a Google find similar to linear operators on normed vector locations while working through Rudin's True and Complex ysis for a university course. For the same reason that the previous reviewer gave the book only three stars I am giving 5. It is an perfect reference for getting a solid "high level" view of introductory Banach and Hilbert locations and Fourier ing from both True and Complex ysis and Principles of Mathematical ysis it is very simple to fall into a "forest for the trees" type of situation and obtain easily lost in Rudin's very terse yet very dense proofs. Although as a student of mathematics it is absolutely important to tackle ysis at the depth and rigor needed of Rudin it is also very, very helpful to gain an broader yet more explicit understanding of the topic (along with its underlying motivation) which this books does excellently!Along with Linear Algebra Done Right and Apostol's Mathematical ysis, this book has become a go-to reference for me! Can't recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-14 18:32

    I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-14 18:32

    I didn't study the material yet, but briefly scanned through the e organization is very covers metric space, Banach and Hilbert Space, Fourier Transform, and Wavelet te that it have two entire chapters on L^p and L^2 locations to present engineering e two chapters are very useful for ever, the book is not ound 1/3 of the proofs are left to reader as "exercise".This is the main reason that I rate this book 3 has potential to become a standard ever, a lot of proofs are is a amazing book, but NOT for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-12-27 18:31

    I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-12-27 18:31

    I didn't study the material yet, but briefly scanned through the e organization is very covers metric space, Banach and Hilbert Space, Fourier Transform, and Wavelet te that it have two entire chapters on L^p and L^2 locations to present engineering e two chapters are very useful for ever, the book is not ound 1/3 of the proofs are left to reader as "exercise".This is the main reason that I rate this book 3 has potential to become a standard ever, a lot of proofs are is a amazing book, but NOT for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-5-28 18:15

    Amazing book. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-11 18:29

    I didn't study the material yet, but briefly scanned through the e organization is very covers metric space, Banach and Hilbert Space, Fourier Transform, and Wavelet te that it have two entire chapters on L^p and L^2 locations to present engineering e two chapters are very useful for ever, the book is not ound 1/3 of the proofs are left to reader as "exercise".This is the main reason that I rate this book 3 has potential to become a standard ever, a lot of proofs are is a amazing book, but NOT for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-14 18:32

    Amazing book. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-10-6 18:31

    I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functions, Spaces, and Expansions: Mathematical Tools in Physics and Engineering (Applied and Numerical Harmonic ysis) []  2020-12-27 18:31

    Amazing book. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computer Algebra and Symbolic Computation: Mathematical Methods []  2020-6-9 18:26

    Perfect book covering the basics of building your own computer algebra system, together with its partner text: "Computer Algebra and Symbolic Computation: Elementary Algorithms". The author presents the mathematical fundamentals, practical challenges, formulaic solutions, suggested implementations, and examples in a few programming languages appropriate for someone building their own CAS from scratch in very clear prose. The author makes extensive further reading recommendations for each each scene of the development, the author presents the motivation for each feature of the CAS along with formal basics of the math behind the techniques. The author presents the primary practical challenges faced by the computer and algorithms in working with the math. Together, these create the text appropriate for both those with math experience moving into programming, and programmers moving towards math. The author lists step-by-step techniques from a mathematician's point of view for solving the problems, and then continues to give algorithm listings in an easily-read "Math Pseudo Language", complete with flow charts explaining the more complex algorithms. A formal computational complexity ysis of the algorithms is not e author's examples are provided in Mathematica, MuPad, and Maple, but not in C-like languages. The examples, however, are function/structure-based, and are thus clear enough as to be immediately extensible to the reader's language of choice. For an engineer, the examples amount to a practical recipe. The book also includes a CD with the examples & the text of the book as a .pdf. However, this .pdf is only directly accessible to Windows users. Mac users will need to use Windows to run the included Windows application which can access the .pdf and then save it into another .pdf file to use on their Mac. (I've never seen anything like this before! The .pdf files on the CD present up as "Zero KB Symbolic links" on the Mac which don't resolve unless opened in Windows! In the end, I was able to obtain the .pdf onto my iPhone so I can easily carry the e-book with me when traveling.)The author provides insight into both the mathematical and computational limitations of the algorithms, the issues caused by the limitations, and frequently gives examples for recognizing the limitations or working around ly, the author provides extensive references for further reading for info on particular all cases, the author's mastery of English prose makes the info easily accessible, which is not at all the case with some other CAS books I've wasted cash on... Speaking of price, considering the extreme niche shop and the exquisiteness of the text, the combined price of the two books was worth support the potential customer (as a preview of the contents is not available), this book is the one of the two books (which can be effectively read in any order), and covers the basics of CAS's, the included Math Pseudo Language (MPL), detailed rational number manipulations, automatic simplification of expressions, single and multi-variable polynomial decompositions, resultants, and 's possible I may one day search a more extensive text with more advanced techniques, but the two texts provide a foundation for building my own CAS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    First, the book arrived quickly, in amazing condition and I was very appreciative of the low price. (I had to buy this textbook for a class I'm taking and always appreciate when the needed textbook doesn't break the bank.)Unfortunately that's about the best it gets. I have found the actual book relatively useless and have been using YouTube and other math books to support teach me. The examples aren't written out all the method and it makes a lot of assumptions about things that it thinks you should know already. Even if I've learned it before, it's nice to have a refresher so, the plastic covering to the book has started to peel off. Might be me? I do take it in and out of a backpack everyday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    The book was in very very amazing conditions, nice price just what I need

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    I used this book as a textbook for a Math class. Okay, I'm not a mathematician so it was suppoused to be a side course. Since I'm not precisely fluent in most of these subjects I expected to learn at least the primary stuff. But, as I tried to use the book as a basis for my studies, I found only concepts and demostrations, and no clear examples about anything! I think the authors must think that putting examples in a book like this may be considered offensive by some of their most lectured readers!I recommend this book only if you are fluent in mathematics, if you already know about the subjects and just wish a reference book, or if you wish to place your "genious" to the try trying to search out what's going on without any kind of aid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    If you are a Physicist, then this is a must!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    Amazing book, I liked better the 5th edition though. Complex variable was reduced from 2 to 1 chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    Recommended by other students in my course as a supplementary text because of the clear manner in which concepts, mathematical formulas are explained.Haven't used this book for very long, but so far very glad purchased it, in fact want I had it decades ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    It has everything you need for those long nights alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Human Factors Methods: A Practical Guide for Engineering and Design []  2020-1-24 19:33

    The paperback ver is the the most recent, 2nd edition. There is extra content and case studies which should be more useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    I have been a physics professor now for nearly 18 years and this is one of the worst TEXTbooks I have seen. It is essentially a huge reference book for those that already have mastery of the subjects and is of very small use as a sic pedagogical issues abound such as: 1) Subjects in a lot of chapter sections are dependent upon other sections perhaps a lot of chapters ahead of the current topic... and those referenced sections are in turn dependent upon other chapter sections elsewhere in the text. This leaves one to wonder if the Authors had meaningful structure of the text in mind when they wrote it. 2) There are few useful examples for students. Most of the useful info is left to the student to work out as exercises without textbook guidance. 3) Section issues are unclear as to what the Authors are asking and since students are largely left to their own devices to explore crucial concepts, the text becomes largely is book is a reference NOT a textbook. Students will need to have other well written Textbooks on hand such as Mary [email protected]#$%! "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences to create sense of the material THEN go back to this book once they have mastered a subject to see if they can glean what the authors physics, there are "status symbol" textbooks that, unfortunately, departments adopt to test to impress others of their rigor, high level and expertise. These books do little, if anything, to support students learn and therefore are not good textbooks. This is one of those books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    Perfect book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    I don't use the book much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    Looking at the title, don't judge it. The book is written by wanna be novel writer. There is story written instead of math

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    important reference for any physicist who is not a mathematical genius. doesnt replace a amazing course in math but close enough for most physicists need in understanding the material

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    Amazing book for self teaching. Really forces you to think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    An indispensable companion to any soul brave enough to venture into the globe of graduate-level physics. Which is not to say it is necessarily best at everything. The very inexpensive book by Bryson and Fuller is a very hand adjunct.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    It’s good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    Most physicists I know say that while this is not the best of textbooks, it's a amazing reference. I sometimes ask them to refer me to a useful section. They usually can'is book is the standard in graduate math courses for physicists. It's a shame. We buy this book for the course and then either seek out other texts (or the internet) for elaboration, or more often, we trudge through all the math that Arfken leaves out. I've rarely used any math not found in this book, but also rarely has this book been useful enough to present me how to use the math. It's sort of like a dictionary. Everything is mentioned, but if you wish to learn about something, you need to know a lot more than just a az's undergraduate math book is a amazing text for this subject. Unfortunately, it doesn't go in depth enough for all of a graduate course. For the same price as Arfken, I own about a dozen Dover editions, one for each of the necessary sections covered in a year long course.A subject that we thoroughly exhausted but is not taught too often these days is complex ysis and the calculus of residues. Residues were much more necessary for solving complicated integrals before computers became so commonplace. For this, I recommend "Complex ysis" by Tristan Needham. It's a tome of all things complex, but if you have the time, or are just curious, it's a amazing book.If possible, obtain a list of alternative sources from you professor before you take the class requiring this book. Then buy them, do not buy this poor monstrosity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    Years after I got this book I still search it very useful. I don't use for Physics only for science in general. All subject are covered really well and it is a must have book if you are doing science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    This book is the Holy bible of the basics subjects for a Scientist

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    I would not recommend this book, but unfortunately I don't have any alternative tations change throughout the book and it is written by non-Americans (not a issue in itself, but some in some instances it makes interpreting statements and following arguments very difficult if you are an American or use American English)If you need it for a course (as a math major) you'll fair much better if you have a amazing physics background. If you're in your 2nd or 3rd year of a physics program you'll be fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    A book aimed at people who already know its content. Uses operators and functions without introducing them, and is poorly organized. Would not recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    Bought it as a needed text for class. Not only is it unhelpful, it is demeaning. Never before have I had a textbook say "From this, clearly..." Imagine if a professor said that to their students, "Clearly...anything..." No teaching tool should ever suggest that something is obvious; it's like telling the learner that they are dumb if they don't just obtain noted by others, examples skip steps. Present me the steps that obtain to the solution so I can understand; don't draw abstract conclusions from the issue without any explanation.Furthermore, the chapter questions are not slanted for learning and applying fresh skills. They are abstract, and I frequently search myself devoting a significant amount of time to figuring out what a question is asking before I am able to approach solving it.If any professors read this review while on the shop for a textbook for their upcoming class and need an example of what not to choose, look no further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    This is the amazing book with an affordable price. The content is very knowledgable which can support me understand more about Math at graduate level. Highly recommend for graduate students expertised in Machanical engineering!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    The book is ridden with the two phases that title this review. The book isn't awful, I've seen worse. It is, by no means, the best though. I used other books and online resources as much as possible for my mathematical methods elaborate, the book shows you the first steps of a proof or solution: A ~~~ B ~~~ C ... "now it is obvious that" C ~~~~~ Z. What the heck!? Where are steps D through Y!?!? That might be obvious for a mathematician but this college engineering major is super lost!Such was my relationship with this book. Use at your own risk!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    As an undergraduate student this book was difficult to follow. Explanations were incomplete and it seemed evident to me that the text was created for graduate students, but I had to use it in an undergraduate course. Essential info required to solve issues were sometimes hidden a lot of chapters ahead. As a reference book for graduate students it's probably beautiful good, but I didn't have fun learning from it one bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    It's an necessary book to obtain a clear and broad view on a lot of mathematical subjects that are regularly used in engineering and physics applications. Authors did a amazing job to place everything in a single book and it's well written. It helped me a lot. Both Undergrad and grad students can have it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Human Factors Methods: A Practical Guide for Engineering and Design []  2020-1-24 19:33

    Very densely packed with information,. Was a bit disappointed by the lack of material in physical ergonomics. print is a bit hard on the eyes as are the visuals

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    This book is singularly unhelpful. I purchased it because it is needed for a class I am taking, but have it found it utterly useless for understanding any of the material it purports to cover. I have had to consult multiple outside sources - other books, websites, programs, people, and even notes from other classes - for every single subject this book is supposed to cover - just to understand what the issues at the end of the chapter are even asking the reader to attempt to ere are two purposes of a textbook: 1) to aid the reader in understanding the material's use, significance, and background and 2) to supply sample issues for the reader to practice and try their understanding of that first the first objective this textbook has failed utterly in every way. There is virtually no explanation of the usage of any of the material being covered except in off-handed comments such as "this is necessary in the physical sciences." There is no explanation or proof of most of the theorems, formulae, and other concepts. Lastly, it is simply void of practical, actionable examples clearly showing how to use the material and situations in which to apply it. Instead it regularly skips over most steps of the examples, with implications that certain things are possible to do and yet never giving an explanation as to how to do a result, while the book supplies an ample number of issues at the end of each chapter, they are utterly incomprehensible to anyone who has been using only this textbook, making them completely unusable without consultation of outside sources.If a textbook cannot stand on its own, and if it cannot enhance the reader's understanding of the material, it has failed.If you are a hobbyist or independent learner, do not buy this book; it will not support you.If you are a Professor or other Instructor, I implore you not to use this book for your classes; it will not support your students.If you are, like me, a graduate student who is stuck using this book, I recommend for your own sake that you test to convince your Instructor to use a various one. Otherwise, I am sorry that you have to share my fate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Mathematical Methods for the Physical Sciences []  2020-1-29 2:35

    I purchased this as it was a needed textbook for a course I was taking. If I didn't need it for the homework problems, it would have gone in the trash. I constantly found myself using online resources to learn the material instead of this textbook. The user review about the missing steps was spot on. Do yourself a favor and avoid this book if possible

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods For Physicists International Student Edition []  2020-4-1 19:10

    I am a graduate student who studies perceptual systems. My research interests are neuroscience, vision, statistics, classification, and machine learning.While this text is not directly in my line of research, it offers a superb and comprehensive mathematical treatment of a lot of subjects in physics. Such treatments are useful to researchers from other statistics, I could not search a treatment of tensors, spherical harmonics, and orthogonal polynomials (as they relate to multivariate probability distributions). I was forced to turn to this textbook for the Physics-related treatment. I soon discovered that it is a treasure-trove of knowledge. It is beautifully written and accessible to the mathematically inclined reader without proper training in Physics. (I took AP Physics in high school -- and that was it.)This is a very thick text. A amazing reference for a lot of topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    Created me wanna cry, but it works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Methods for Physicists: A Comprehensive Guide []  2020-7-24 18:46

    It was exactly what it said it was! Detailed, Matter of fact, Amazing Reference, etc. I'm a satisfied Camper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    I sure want I'd had this small book method back the first time I was trying to learn calculus while trying simultaneously to remember algebra from 40 years before!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    The Text is well presented and tutorials its reader quite well. The worked examples are excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    This book helped me more in intermediate microeconomics course than the actual book we were intended to use. If you wish a lot of of the useful math tricks used for business and economics in one convenient package, then I would highly recommend getting this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    Extremely helpful for my masters in econ especially having not touched a lot of this in years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    Arrived in advertised condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    This book was used by my class as the main textbook. Very simple to understand and will support you obtain an A in your class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Methods and Techniques for Proving Inequalities (Mathematical Olympiad Series Book 11) []  2020-1-21 21:40

    Buen producto

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    Really amazing book for someone who took college-level Calculus few years ago but need to brush up on the concepts for job interviews, preparation for graduate school or for fun. What makes this book so informative is its easy-to-follow format allowing the reader to ease into the more complex concepts of mathematical methods. For example, it starts with very primary concepts of calculus (i.e. differential calculus, optimization issues etc.) and ends with advanced theoretical concepts such as multi-variable calculus. Similarly, it begins with primary level of algebra and ends with intermediate linear algebra. Assuming that you have the discipline of studying periodically, this book is the best alternative to taking a refresher course in college-level algebra/mathematics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Mathematical Methods for Business and Economics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2020-1-14 18:48

    Very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Handbook for Scientists and Engineers: Definitions, Theorems, and Formulas for Reference and Review (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) []  2020-7-21 18:57

    A amazing "need-to-have" at any particular moment when you can't remember something you probably slept through in class. The book should be a ready reference on the desk of those in need of fast answers to a particular question.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mathematical Handbook for Scientists and Engineers: Definitions, Theorems, and Formulas for Reference and Review (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) []  2020-7-21 18:57

    Really useful handbook for all math definitions and equations. Amazing buy!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386