Read mayflower increasings reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all mayflower increasings reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    A amazing read for sure but the title is a small misleading. This book is centered around two specific happenings and the transition between the two is rather rough. The first 150 pages are about the Mayflower voyage, the first Puritan settlement in Plymouth, Massachusetts and their symbiotic relationship with the Pokanoket tribe. The focus of the second half of the book is the Puritan vs. Indian conflict known as King Philip’s War. This involves all of Fresh England and happened about 65 years after the Plymouth settlement is established. Frankly, I was a small lost during the transition and it was a hard to follow for a few pages. I think that a more appropriate title would have helped. Something like the “Mayflower and King Phillip’s War” or “The Puritans in the Fresh Globe 1610-1676” would have been more e settlement in Plymouth would not have survived the first year if it were not for their relationship with the Pokanoket Indians. The Fresh England tribes were decimated by European diseases which they had no resistance to. Historians surmise that it was the plague that struck them in the first decade of the 17th century. The plague killed up to 90% of the Indians that had inhabited Fresh England. The zone where the pilgrims would eventually establish the first settlement of Plymouth had contained thousands of Indians just a few years prior to Mayflower's arrival. When the Pilgrims arrived it was e Pokanoket tribe [email protected]#$%! especially hard by the plague and they were weakened more so than several of the neighboring tribes. These tribes, such as the Narrangasetts, took advantage of their weakened neighbors. The Pokanoket chief, Massasoit, leveraged his relationship with the Pilgrims to survive versus the Narrangasetts. The two groups more than co-existed. The two groups had a symbiotic relationship. Unfortunatly, the Pilgrim’s ancestors had forgotten how critical the Pokanokets were to the survival of their forefathers. Subsequent generations of Puritans took advantage of the Indians. This led to a battle with the Pokanokets that on a per capita basis was the bloodiest battle in the history of North e lessons gleaned form the pages of this book have been repeated over and over again throughout history. Poor policy started King Phillip’s war. It could have been simple to avoid. Revenge was taken by the frustrated Puritans who could not catch the warring factions so they conveniently took revenge versus praying and neutral tribes. On the other side, allies of Pokanoket sachem King Phillip killed the relatives of Plymouth descendants of whom King Phillip considered friends. The conflict spiraled out of e battle was not going well for the Puritans until Mayflower descendant Benjamin Church recruited a strike force of Puritans and Indians from friendly tribes. He was able to convince warring Indians to change sides and join Church’s party. Church granted them amnesty and these Indians in-turn taught Church their tactics. They taught the Puritans how to move without being detected and how to avoid ambushes and how to set them. Church and his combined strike force used these strategies to hunt down King Phillip and to end the e book gives Benjamin Church his due as one of the first amazing early American Indian warriors that you never heard of. Like the pilgrims, Church would not have been successful without his reliance on friendly Native Americans.Enjoy the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I purchased this non-fiction title soon after reading the author's In the Heart of the Sea. I found his research and presentation of small known history to be enlightening and educational. The subject of this work, while more mainstream, is nevertheless mired in myth and misinformation. The info of early Fresh England colonization, Native American relations and conflict are not commonly known. In that respect, I found this work to be well worth the e history is roughly evenly divided between the struggles faced by the early Pilgrims and Puritans and the conflict which ensued, culminating in King Philip's War, named after the relatively minor local sachem that sparked the rebellion. Not surprisingly, the author paints the Native American tribes as sympathetic figures, and in a lot of cases rightly so. However, it is likely simple for him to do so in his heated study, well sated by a amazing meal, safe and secure in his person and possessions. The early American settlers were not so is a common misconception to view the local inhabitants as a homogenous, cohesive unit, when in fact they were split between tons of tribes, some friendly, others not so much. As the story reveals, a lot of Native Americans switched their loyalties repeatedly, making trust a major issue. It is beyond dispute that the American settlers and their subsequent generations badly mistreated the Native Americans, however it is naïve to suggest that, given greater understanding and empathy, the two sides might have peacefully coexisted. The clash of cultures, lifestyles and beliefs, coupled with the increasing flood of fresh immigrants created the ultimate effect l in all, a amazing accurate history lesson on a topic, though familiar in the broadest sense, not so much as it relates to the details. And as we all know, the Devil is in the details.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Another amazing book by Nathaniel Philbrick. I read his In The Heart of the Sea...5 stars...see my yflower reads very well with lots of action. Its 462 pages plus some B/W pictures of some of the people,maps, equipment and locations told about in this book. There is a large amount of notes and a amazing bibliography where readers can obtain more information. The actual reading of the book is 361 pages. It reads fast. I read it in a small over 2 days. This is a amazing book..just look at the almost 200 five star ratings on Amazon!In high school history I had a one day lesson, a small about the Mayflower, the Pilgrims and Puritans and some of the Fresh England Indian tribes of the early to mid 1600s. Just a speck of thaniel Philbrick goes much, much deeper into the Mayflower and the various Pilgrims and Puritans and a lot of more Indian tribes and the Mayflower Compact. We see the Pilgrims trying to obtain religious freedom in the fresh world, yet not being begin to other religions. We see the differences in the Puritan, Pilgrims and Quakers and how they really did not obtain along very well due to differences in religion and how each were governed. We see the various crops planted by the native Americans. lobstering, catching of game, and fishing to survive. Also the role of using Herring fish as fertilizer is shown. The Governors of Plymouth and the military commanders are so the King Philip battle is shown and the eventual killing of the menacing "Indian King" King Philip. Also the amazing deeds of Benjamin Church in the Indian battles who was a believer of allowing the use of friendly Indians to support war versus the fighter attacking Indian tribes rather than Captain Samuel Mosley who believed the only amazing Indian was a dead Indian. We see the a lot of massacres of both whites and so how the Indians actually did save the starving original Pilgrims with their corn, game, fish and lobster as the crops the pilgrims had planted did not do well in the fresh world, as it was very late in the year and cold. The Pilgrims would of starved to death. We see the large death toll from disease and small meal of the original Pilgrims and the heavy percentage of Fresh England colony people killed and Indians killed in the Indian Wars.( over 8% and up to 80% respectfully) A much greater percent of the population killed than the Civil Battle or any of the battles the US later had.I won't ruin the book with more description. Just say there is much, much more. There is probably tid bits of info you never heard about or info with a differnt slant than taught in school.A fantastically well researched book, rich in description and action. Mayflower 5 stars and recommended. I liked Nathaniel Philbrick's In The Heart of the Sea and Mayflower so much I bought his books... Sea of Glory and the Latest Stand and will review.

    0  


    Add your opinion on mayflower increasings or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    This was a highly detailed and historically accurate reporting of the specific period of time surrounding the Plymouth landing. It was a slow read for me because of so a lot of names to test to hold track of (some familiar and some not), and the massive accent on who did what when and e essence of the story is clear however, and the amazing difference between this historically correct accounting and what I remember learning in elementary school is stunning. For that reason alone, I would highly recommend this book. I would also say that the read got easier for me as I became engaged in the plight of the native indians and the unfortunate decisions created by leadership on both sides.Missing, and disappointing for me, was the exploration of the women in the group of original and first generation of those who landed at Plymouth. This is likely due to the limited info and recording by those women. There was also limited hero development, again likely due to the limited info available.I loved learning of the female indian leaders, and the efforts and struggles on the part of all the indian leaders to build relationships and co-exist with the fresh arrivals. Again, that perspective makes this book a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    As an amateur genealogist, I have managed to trace my family to the Mayflower. I read about the Plymouth settlements and the ships in high school, but I think we ignored this part of history in college. This book is so simple to read and so factual that I couldn't place it down. I have both the paperback and the kindle versions - I've found this is the best method to read any book I wish to retain and understand fully.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    If you like books about the Indians and their impact on the English in the early 17th century, this book is for you. I for one wore out at the end during the discussion of King Philip's War.. Being one of 35 million descendants (through John Howland and Elizabeth Tilley) I wanted more about the journey, their life and how things were during the first few years. Instead, the Indian relationship was a powerful theme. I guess this is due to a lack of true records of the happenings that took place. Anyway. It's a meh for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Not just a well written book on one of the most popular ships in history, but very informative on the people who decided to cross to unknown lands and what drove them to create such life altering decisions. What small you knew - or thought you knew - about the "Pilgrims" and the indigenous people who took them in is greatly revealed and explained, with much sympathy to the relationships and bonds that were sorely tested in future than Philbrick does a amazing job of introducing familiar historical facts and then expanding on them and making this old story new. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Book was exactly as described and in perfect condition due to quality packaging. Received it quickly. An perfect and very satisfying purchase. This author really did his research on the historical facts and is in my opinion, an perfect writer. The story flows well, specific info are included to draw the reader into the story and marvel at what the Pilgrims went through and were willing to risk because they believed the truth. I want everyone who teaches about the early settlers would read this. I don't remember hearing anything near the description of this event...not from grade school through Masters degree. An wonderful read that is difficult to place down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    If you think the famous history of the pilgrims is an accurate and sufficient depiction of the actual happenings then you owe it to yourself to indulge in this fascinating book which is "lean" enough with the info to hold the reader moving along in this frank and vivid acc of the origins of much of this country's e fact that 35 million of todays citizens are descendants from that little colony of early settlers is reason enough to warrant your time and attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    The book was quite interesting. It certainly varies from what I learned in grade school back in the '50s. The clash of cultures combined with the human tendencies on both sides brings closer to reality what happened back in the early Plymouth colony and the other Massachusetts and surrounding colonies. It is certainly worth a read. You don't have to be a history buff to have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    It is awesome how this talented man can make melody after over 30 years of performing, recording, writing and producing. I must say I have been a fan for a while and although technically the "Sinatra", and "Summer of 78" were amazing albums, they certainly were not ry is BACK! "Here at the Mayflower" brings back the magic that was the albums like "Even Now", "If I Should Love Again" and even "One Voice"."Here At The Mayflower" is exciting and musically a creative journey of the life and times of personalities. People that even may exist in your life as your neighbors. They are upbeat, positive and new for Manilow. A long time coming in my opinion. Even the serious - broken love - ballads he is noted for have a true story and music to tell. They created me smile, sad and e stories are those tales of true people, their feelings and in some cases, their demise! Contemporary and upbeat and the standard Manilow ballad are all composed on this one nically I am also impressed, Barry is writing, producing, performing, singing and just about doing everything on all these songs. The real sign of talent is one that transcends himself.I hope Barry ONLY releases albums like these. Cover Albums are "neat" but not something I listen to over and over. "Here At The Mayflower" is! Bravo Barry - I bought two! (2-8-04)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    Various than the usual BM CD, and great! Really an amazing album and an extremely creative project, evidence again that the genius of Manilow once again rears its beautiful head and is CD is the private stories, dreams, and hopes of people in various apartments in the Mayflower Hotel. It's almost like a attractive play, in song, as you listen to one person tell you the story of a girl who plays her radio late at night. She's obviously lonely and the guy in the other apartment wonders about her, dreams about her, and longs to be with her--but she is caught up in being alone. He wonders why. Barry even adds to the lyrics, "And I heard her playing Dave Koz, in her room alone at night." Cute. (In case you don't know it, Dave Koz plays or did play sax for Barry. Dave recently released his own album "At The Movies".)There are a lot of other stories. All of them are done so well, but the story-in-song that heartfully affects me the most is Esther and Joe, the oldest couple at the Mayflower. As Joe tells his fresh young friend, "no one is what they look like," I think of how truly inaccurate and morally wrong it is to judge others. "Not What You See" is about an aging couple in their 80s. Kind of sad. Joe is telling you how they [were]so much more [when they were younger], so, in other words, they are so much more inside than the old [beat-up] people you "see". It is very profound because NOBODY is what you think you "see". It's also sad because people are judging this old couple based on what they THINK they "see"--instead of the beauty that is forever within them. (Your eyes will deceive you.) Anyway, it's a amazing song, cause it has profound meaning and beautiful music. Joes still sees Esther as that attractive young girl that she was when they were married, with the "waist as huge as your neck" and legs to die for (even though she's 80 now and he has to push her around in a wheelchair)-- sad but beautiful, and very realistic--but don't obtain me started about how society treats old people. Cultures used to respect the elderly, for their wisdom and knowledge and used to do everything to hold them comfortable and happy. Now, they slap them away into a nursing home so they don't have to spend prescious time taking care of them--but DON'T GET ME STARTED, I SAID!)The elevator operator is included in the stories, who, (guess what?) runs the elevator. The songs/stories are unique, interesting, and heart-warming. They are also very enjoyable. Some are up-tempo. This album/record/CD also contains a song booklet with all the words, so you can sing along with Mr. B. (I have problem typing the word "CD", because they USED to be records or albums!) There are 16 tracks, ranging from a small over 2 mins to about 5 1/4 minutes. Total time is a wee bit over 1 other favorite on this CD is "Turn the Radio Up." For some reason, I don't see this song on a lot of of B's CDs and I love it. Of course, people wish to slap me when I sing it. (And whatever you do, don't be too satisfied in an elevator in the morning!) "Turn the radio up.. ..turn reality down.. .. too much talk about blues.. ..out with the negative, you search the positive way.. .." Catchy tune and lyrics! I love this song so much, I sing it in my sleep! (Sometimes I even wake myself up.)"She Should'a Been Mine" is also another of my favorites. Beautiful melody and a small sad. It's about a guy who wishes this girl was his girl, instead of someone else's girl. Gives you the impression he would treat her better and love her more."They Dance" is on here too. It rocks! It is performed on the Manilow Vegas DVD that is very popular.On a side note, I was in Manhattan recently and looked for the Mayflower, only to search it had been bulldozed in the name of progress.Anyway, amazing album--I mean CD! (CDCDCD!!!) Once again, I think it points out Barry's brilliance and versatility. If you love Manilow melody and wish something of his that's a tad different, here it is, for a small less than 20 bucks. On a scale of 1 to 5, I gotta give it at least a 20, maybe more for creativity and social value (and another 20 for the music!). I LOVE it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    I've been listening to this CD since its release latest November and I never obtain tired of it. I've also seen Barry perform some of these songs in concert. He has place his heart and soul into this CD. It's too poor this CD has been overshadowed by the release of his Ultimate Manilow CD which was place out by his former recording label. As I write this, Barry has had a resurgence in popularity. His long-time fans, of which I am one, know that his older, "Ultimate" songs are legendary. It's amazing that his older hits are reaching fresh and younger fans, but this Mayflower CD is Barry at his finest. Give this CD a amazing listen. You won't be disappointed. Each chop is about different tenants in the Mayflower apartment 's an outstanding concept. Barry has achieved a fresh level in songwriting with this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    This very Broadway-esque 'classic-old/big' Apartment House 'stories' Recording includes some of BMs best slow & Quick tunes, and does sound better after several attentive, listenings (start to finish). It grows on you, as would a friendly, older neighbor who is always reliable, friendly, and kind/thoughtful! The production (musicians, arrangements, recording) as always is superb, Barrys voice & energy were in amazing shape, while the intimate 'stories' he tells of different residents of the old Mayflower, draw you in to think on what life might be like in a large, Apartment Building in NYC or Brooklyn, NY. for, young & old residents doing their best or not, to live their lives and obtain thru the huge ups/downs we all go thru and must face. He touches on lots of various emotions, fromlove to misery, fun moments to trials & tribulations, etc. but does it with style, passion, and some outstanding melodies. While not every tune is an A-1 Champion in the music dept., most are effective & fun to listen to, & a few create you wish to obtain up and dance the night away. While probably not his best recording & group of completely original songs, it is right up there w/most of his better works, such that i am glad i added it to my quite sizeable Audio Library of 'best' CDs by Barry & a lot of other 'greats'. He's had a masterful and highly musical/popular Career as a song-writer and singer, and has truly created our world, a much better put to be!! Enjoy!Lee Stern July 2013

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    I am a large Barry Manilow fan but have been less than thrilled with some of his latest offerings. This time, however, Mr. Manilow has struck gold! This is the songwriter I grew up listening to in the 1970s. It is as if he has rediscovered his musical roots and allow the creative juices flow once more. I want I could give this more than 5 stars. Honestly, as far as pop/easy listening melody is concerned, this is the best fresh album I've heard in 2001. It is near perfection. Mr. Manilow has woven songs together to make a thrilling and emotionally moving concept album. Any fan of this musical giant, casual or otherwise, must own this CD. (...) Mr. Manilow has enlisted the support of some of his old musical buddies including Enoch Anderson, Ron Dante, Adrienne Anderson and Marty Panzer - and it shows! For fans of Barry since his early days, you will certainly hear shades of his masterpiece albums "Barry Manilow II," "Trying To Obtain The Feeling" and "This One's For You." Feel-good, uptempo numbers such as "Turn The Radio Up" will remind you of his classic song "Daybreak." The extremely moving song of a man singing about his 80-year-old wife, "Not What You See," (perhaps the best song lyrically on the CD, and a bit theatrical) will bring the "Barry Manilow II" song "Sandra" to mind. Barry can STILL make believable and interesting characters for his songs! Other tunes such as "I Hear Her Playing Music" (a dynamite song!) will take you back to songs such as "She's A Star." The whole concept of melding together various stories surrounding the lives of diverse people in an apartment building called the Mayflower may sound ridiculous to some, but it is anything but that! This idea not only worked well for Mr. Manilow, he made characters that you can almost see in your mind's eye as you listen. Thanks Barry!! YOU'VE STILL GOT IT!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History Smashers: The Mayflower []  2020-9-23 18:56

    Explanation of what really happened to and because of the pilgrims. Written in a clear method for children, or anyone, to understand the content. Highly recommend. Taught me so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    An unknown masterpiece by Barry Manilow. Actually, I consider it a "concept" album based on the occupants of the apartment complex named the Mayflower. The song "I Miss You" is a song of lost soul friend and one of the most poignant ones I have heard in long time. It was my wife who originally had the album and saw Manilow perform it. Sometimes, one has to stop and listen carefully to musicians of his genre and realize how truly talented he was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    Yes, I'm a lifelong Barry Manilow fan (going on 30 years now).If you're not a fan, go ahead, roll your eyes now (I don't mind...that's part of being one of his fans)...but you should give this CD a listen first. I believe you'll change your ry uses his musical bonuses (writing, arranging, performing, producing) and a diversity of musical styles (jazz, latin, pop) to weave vivid emotional pictures of the residents of the e the songs 'radio friendly"? I believe that several songs are (Turn the Radio Up, I'm Coming Back) - but is radio the REAL reason we listen to music? Radio shouldn't dictate taste, rather, the reverse should be true. I rarely listen to the radio nowadays - the songs and singers and stations are virtually indistinguisable from one e strength of this CD is Barry's ability to MOVE his listeners...move us to dream (Come Monday, I Hear Her Playing Music), to dance (Turn the Radio Up, They Dance), to celebrate (The Night That @#$% Played, Welcome Home), to mourn (I Miss You, Say Goodbye), to laugh (Freddie Said), and to love (Not What You See, I'm Coming Back, Talk To Me). And move us, he does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    Take Swing Street, mix in 2AM Paradise Cafe add a generous helping of Barry Manilow II and you have this CD. All I can say is "WOW!" I didn't know Barry still had this sort of album in him (especially after that Sinatra thing).I have only one complaint - why the Stealth Mode? I read Entertainment Weekly... I'm connected... I'm in the Loop... but I heard NOTHING about this CD. Never saw an add, never read a review. And it was released right before the Holidays?!! What gives? It was just by dumb luck I found it... Ultimate Manilow is getting all the buzz and all the sales, while this is the album to buy (what was that, like the 53rd "Manilow's Greatest Hits" collection Arista has released? Give us a break already).If you like any of Barry's music, in particular the three albums I mentioned above, you will love this CD. No doubt about it. It's been a long time coming and, whadda ya know - it was well worth the ry, it's amazing to have you back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History Smashers: The Mayflower []  2020-9-23 18:56

    The concept of this series is to correct stories from history that have evolved to be only a semblance of the truth. I especially appreciated how Messner explains when and how the misconception occur. Thoroughly researched using a lot of basic sources. A amazing text to have students read and compare to others to teach them to be thoughtful, careful readers. A amazing dose of humor is infused along with intriguing happenings from our history. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History Smashers: The Mayflower []  2020-9-23 18:56

    This book was a HUGE learning experience for me! I went in thinking it would be a rehashing of old facts (in a brilliant Kate Messner kind of way). Boy was I surprised!! This acc of history was filled with interesting facts that I have never come across is 17 years of teaching and 45 years of learning. My fifth grader read it as well and when we talked about what we had learned (while reading separately), we both shared various things! There is so much to learn from this book. I love this fresh series and look forward to what fresh things I can learn!! Thanks for the ARC for me to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    Having grown up with Barry Manilow melody I always know what to expect when a fresh album is released. However, with the release of "Here at the Mayflower" I got a large surprise. And honestly initially it wasn't what I would have considered a amazing surprise - certainly not for a Manilow album. That said I'm rarely one to give up on melody from an artist I'm familiar with and whose melody has always been appealing (this from someone who still holds tight to some vinyl LP's that have never been transferred to CD). So, I gave it a few more spins and suddenly it became not only one of my favorite Manilow albums but one of my overall favorite albums in my rather vast and eclectic collection. Now, quite a few years after my original purchase I search myself still going back to "Here at the Mayflower" with more frequency than anything else I own. I've actually purchased this album four times in order to obtain various releases (K-Mart, Import, etc.) with various gift tracks. If you're looking for standard early Manilow (nothing wrong with that) then there is a amazing possibility that this album might not be to your liking. But if you're begin to something various from Barry than "Mandy" or "I Write the Songs" or any of his other classics then I suggest that you give this a test and see if it doesn't grow on you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Here at the Mayflower []  2020-1-23 3:38

    You hear the description of "songs about people living in one apartment building called the Mayflower," and you start to wonder how bored you are going to be trying to listen to this album. Then you start to listen, and from the first track, you are swept away. Melodically, this is Barry from the early days of Ron Dante and Lady Flash ("Turn The Radio Up" really reminds me of some of the old commercial jingles), but the lyrics absolutely kick 'butt'. There are some technological advances, some fresh rhythms and it's clear Barry is far from being ready to retire - the voice is warm, clear - at times intimate, at others strong. You never miss a syllable either, which is the strongest part of this album - listen to the lyrics - they are this album's lifeblood. A pity most radio stations no longer have a format an album like this would see airplay on, but it's a excellent companion on a long commute. Not a clinker on this album...the book you listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History Smashers: The Mayflower []  2020-9-23 18:56

    So good! This perfect look at history has a conversational tone that will be a hit with middle grade readers (especially those in upper elementary who learn about these moments in time in school).With lots of illustrations and sidebars to provide more context, they provide a rich experience.I’m buying a set for my kid’s 5th grade teacher’s classroom library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History Smashers: The Mayflower []  2020-9-23 18:56

    Kate Messner debunks the myths and history lies about the Pilgrims, the Mayflower, and the story surrounding the first Thanksgiving. Amazing lesson on how a basic source isn’t “necessarily the truth of what happened; it’s an acc of what the writer noticed and believed at that time.” And that history writers had “their own motivations and biases, just as people do today.” Decolonizing the curriculum and providing children a various perspective is so necessary and this book will be a excellent alternative to textbooks that center only colonialism. Please buy this book for your classrooms and home libraries!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    The book turned out to be a very engaging read for me. I have a Mayflower ancestor, and now have a much richer understanding of the experience of the pilgrims (both of their courage and of the devastation of the Native people). I was interested to learn that the Pilgrims admired Massasoit, the key sachem or leader with whom they had initial contact, and of their cooperative relationship. The situation degenerated in later years, and warfare and cruelty took over. This ver was for young readers (ordered by mistake) but I still found it very worthwhile, and would recommend it for younger readers as well as adults who may wish the shorter version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    Amazing story, about the Puritans in Fresh England and the Indian wars. I learned a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:29

    I did not like this book. I did not realize it was for "Youth" when I ordered it. It was poorly written and very choppy. Too much of the book was spent on the "wars" with the indigenous people years after the Mayflower landed and not enough on the early struggles and culture of the settlers and the indigenous people. For a book targeted toward "youth" it was a small too gory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    I love Nathaniel Phlbrick's style of writing. Seeing the Fresh Globe from the actual writings of the Pilgrims and the Indians' point of view is very enriching and makes the historical struggles of both communities so realistic. The real hero of the human side of all involved in settling these first colonies gives the reader a powerful appreciation for what they really experienced and what spirit and courage and raw human determination of our early forefathers formed the grit that is now our American bravery and courage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    I have enjoyed everything I've read from this author. I recommend him!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary & Study Guide Mayflower by Nathaniel Philbrick []  2020-8-3 18:26

    After having read the book "Mayflower: this summary was worthless. I was looking for some provocative questions that would facilitate a amazing discussion. However I was on my own with this summary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    Everybody I the early 1600s had a very hard time in North America. The Native American with the introduction of European diseases and broken promises, as well as the European settlers with their lack of knowledge and not good supplies. This book gives an perfect description of the a lot of hardships as well as the alliances that kept changing. Especially, the fact that alliances were often founded on private friendships and upon who had momentum at the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    The Amazon Kindle ver of this book is highway robbery! It cost more than the paperback ver and has not good editing. I'm not talking about an error here and there; the majority of the pages totally ignore capitalization, even in proper name. A lot of words are misspelled, completely changing the sentence's meaning. Unless you like to read 2nd grade grammar, do not by the Kindle version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    If you truly wish to learn something about an interesting time in history. Excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattle's Mayflower Park Hotel (Images of America) []  2020-6-11 19:26

    I really like the history. The authors did a amazing job finding all the pictures and all the history of a amazing Downtown Hotel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattle's Mayflower Park Hotel (Images of America) []  2020-6-11 19:26

    Mother in law loved it. They stayed at the Mayflower on their wedding night. ...54 years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    Satisfied with the book. Thank you!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mayflower and the Pilgrims' New World []  2020-1-10 19:30

    This book is wonderful and full of so much detail that is interesting to read; albeit slowly. Too much to take in with quick reading. If you have to read this book for an assignment, give yourself plenty of time. There are no spark notes or anything on this factual book. There are also two versions of this novel! Beware of possible versions out there with missing pages in the middle. Maybe it was a fluke with me, but my fresh soft-bound copy purchased through Amazon, it was missing almost 75 pages in the middle and the binding did not reveal or indicate such. I actually emailed the publisher in order to see if there was a production run issue and told them about my book, but I never heard back from them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattle's Mayflower Park Hotel (Images of America) []  2020-6-11 19:26

    Loved reading all about the early years of the Mayflower and the private stories. Very interesting all the a lot of changes over the years. Interesting reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-8-17 18:42

    Please note, this "book" is highly plagiarized.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-11-18 18:27

    Love history

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-11-18 18:27

    I love historical info but this is painfully slow to obtain through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-8-17 18:42

    Love history

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-8-17 18:42

    I love historical info but this is painfully slow to obtain through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-11-18 18:27

    Please note, this "book" is highly plagiarized.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-8-17 18:42

    A interesting book if you are similar to the first settlers in corrects a lot of miss information.Otherwise a small dry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of the Mayflower Voyage and the Destiny of Its Passengers: Including Mayflower Ship's Log, History of Plymouth Plantation, Mayflower Descendants ... for Two Generations After the Landing []  2020-11-18 18:27

    A interesting book if you are similar to the first settlers in corrects a lot of miss information.Otherwise a small dry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    This was exactly what I was looking for! Our 2 grandsons have at least 7 ancestors who sailed on the Mayflower. We did a lot of research and found their names and stories. Since the kids are very young, I wanted a amazing solid hardcover book about the Mayflower so I could write all this info for them to have when they are older. Hopefully it will be kept safe and not meet the fate of a lot of paperback children's yond that, I was so happy that this book was so interesting and really gives the reader a sense of what it must have been like for the Mayflower passengers and crew. One story in particular created me realize how lucky I am to have my grandsons. A great, great, amazing grandfather of theirs fell overboard and almost wasn't rescued!As a child, there was always something magical about the story of the Mayflower and first Thanksgiving! I want every family had a copy of this book to set on the Coffee Table next Thanksgiving Day. Kids and adults young and old would have fun the amazing pictures, colors and you know the name of the baby born on the Mayflower?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    We love this book--I read it with my 3- and 5-year-old (the 5-year-old gets more out of it, of course). It takes the reader through a full story of the pilgrims' everyday live, in appealing language with appealing illustrations. The only downside is that I think it could use an update--I think some of the info is a bit out-of-date, and fresh findings have been revealed. But that's probably me being nit-picky, and it's totally fine for a young so, this is a fairly thick book--it's not the type you read through in one sitting, but it's organized into questions and answers so we easily search a stopping point. I love using it to introduce my kiddos to history, and as I'm planning to homeschool, I know it'll continue to obtain a lot of use!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    WELL DONE BOOK I ENJOY READING IT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    The book was quite interesting. It certainly varies from what I learned in grade school back in the '50s. The clash of cultures combined with the human tendencies on both sides brings closer to reality what happened back in the early Plymouth colony and the other Massachusetts and surrounding colonies. It is certainly worth a read. You don't have to be a history buff to have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    Forget about what tales you heard about the Pilgrims, Plymouth Rock, the Indians, and all the rest of the horse manure we all were feed in grade school. This book will set you straight on the facts, and the facts are not beautiful most of the time. For "God Fearing Christians," the Pilgrims, Dutch and English settlers were none too shy about killing a whole lot of Native Americans, and visa-versa as well. It's a amazing read about the very beginnings of our nation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    Having read all the unbelievable books by Laura Frantz and Lori Benton this year, I have been hoping to search other authors who have their bonus of bringing this era to life. Some of the other books in this series did not keep my interest, except I did like the Captured Bride by Michelle Griep. The berland Bride was hard to place down: believable, slow-burning romance taking put in an authentic, historical setting. Shannon McNear has either traveled horseback through rugged country or taken the effort to learn what it takes. This book compares to The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton and Courting Morrow Small by Laura Frantz.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    Another amazing installment in The Daughters of the Mayflower Series. I loved The berland Bride. I could feel the love between Kate and Thomas. I enjoyed their adventurous journey through the Frontier. I enjoyed the interactions with the Shawnee Indian Tribe. A amazing read rich with history. I'm looking forward to more amazing reads from this Author.I give The berland Bride 5 stars for its enjoyable read.I would recommend this book to Historical Fiction Fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    Perfect read. Anything by Nathaniel Philbrick is worth reading. Makes history very interesting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    The historian Nathaniel Philbrick won the National Book Award in the year 2000 for his book In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Es, and years later he won the 2007 Massachusetts Book Award for Nonfiction for Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War. Penguin has issued a 50-page excerpt from that later book entitled The First Thanksgiving that narrows the larger story to the first year the Pilgrims stole corn stored by the Indians on Cape Cod before landing in Plymouth Bay. They chose a put to live, which happened to be the same zone an earlier group had tried to settle only to die of disease leaving human skulls above ground for those after them to find. Philbrick reminds us of the cougars once native to Fresh England, and the long history of attempted settlements and skeptic Indian tribes, some of whom had English speakers who had travelled to is is a remarkable short monograph on a discreet period of time that will whet your appetite for more history. In his preface, Philbrick reminds us that the peace that graced the Pilgrims first years deteriorated into some of the bloodiest conflict in U.S. history in the time of those first Pilgrim's children. That fighting would be called King Philip's is book is available only as an ebook and is for sale for a little fee in the usual places, e.g., Amazon, B&N. I read a copy I obtained through Netgalley. By the way, Philbrick suggests that venison may have been the main food on Thanksgiving, though migrating fowl and fish were probably also on the menu.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    Writing history is hard to do well, but when an author succeeds he makes it look easy. I've read some mediocre, juvenile historical accounts, but Nathaniel Philbrick's fascinating presentation of the first Thanksgiving is high quality. He manages to weave what might otherwise be a droning presentation of "names and dates" into a fine narrative, detailing how often the personality quirks and seemingly inconsequential choices of major and minor players shaped the early history of the Pilgrims and Indians. It definitely created me wish to read the rest of the book this selection came from, Mayflower.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    Amazing book that teaches the children of the Mayflower journey and the hardships they encountered

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    We love this book--I read it with my 3- and 5-year-old (the 5-year-old gets more out of it, of course). It takes the reader through a full story of the pilgrims' everyday live, in appealing language with appealing illustrations. The only downside is that I think it could use an update--I think some of the info is a bit out-of-date, and fresh findings have been revealed. But that's probably me being nit-picky, and it's totally fine for a young so, this is a fairly thick book--it's not the type you read through in one sitting, but it's organized into questions and answers so we easily search a stopping point. I love using it to introduce my kiddos to history, and as I'm planning to homeschool, I know it'll continue to obtain a lot of use!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    If you think the famous history of the pilgrims is an accurate and sufficient depiction of the actual happenings then you owe it to yourself to indulge in this fascinating book which is "lean" enough with the info to hold the reader moving along in this frank and vivid acc of the origins of much of this country's e fact that 35 million of todays citizens are descendants from that little colony of early settlers is reason enough to warrant your time and attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    This was a highly detailed and historically accurate reporting of the specific period of time surrounding the Plymouth landing. It was a slow read for me because of so a lot of names to test to hold track of (some familiar and some not), and the massive accent on who did what when and e essence of the story is clear however, and the amazing difference between this historically correct accounting and what I remember learning in elementary school is stunning. For that reason alone, I would highly recommend this book. I would also say that the read got easier for me as I became engaged in the plight of the native indians and the unfortunate decisions created by leadership on both sides.Missing, and disappointing for me, was the exploration of the women in the group of original and first generation of those who landed at Plymouth. This is likely due to the limited info and recording by those women. There was also limited hero development, again likely due to the limited info available.I loved learning of the female indian leaders, and the efforts and struggles on the part of all the indian leaders to build relationships and co-exist with the fresh arrivals. Again, that perspective makes this book a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    hannon McNear is a fine writer and does her homework The berland Bride parallels my own genealogy story, I read it with interest--looking for a sense of what my ancestors endured 200 years ago. McNear provides plenty of description of Kentucky's flora and fauna at the end of the 18th century and the only description of the berland Gap I've is romance was just a small too focused on the romance for me--others will probably have fun it--which why I only gave it three stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    As the characters travel to a fresh life in Kentucky, the reader has glimpses of their differing points of view and backgrounds. Suspense of if or when they would meet Native Americans and how that would play out kept my interest. I had a moment when I hoped that the action would pick up, and once the Native Americans came seriously on the stage I wasn’t disappointed. I was glad that the romance had time to grow, and I loved the historical interaction with Native Americans that you don’t always obtain to see. I loved the author’s note and extra historical note that gives even more historical info about the time period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    A amazing reminder of the early history of our nation & a reminder of how we must all learn to obtain along with the "other" if we all wish to survive on this planet. I would recommend all of N. Philbrick's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    I expected an excellently researched and flowing narrative. I had hoped that he wouldn't abandon his historical writing or interests. Honestly, the subject of Thanksgiving struck created me think, "Well, I enjoyed the other books, but Thanksgiving?" It just wasn't as striking as the Alamo or Custer's Latest Stand.I'm very happy I continued to read this fresh e author continues to write with a smooth and well-researched style. I am especially grateful for the avoidance of unnecessary narrative or pointless contention framed around min historical intricacies. For example, with all respect, Bernard Cornwell leaves me with the bitter sting of reader's arrogance. I've found those small squabbles among historians fascinating, but I haven't really read an author other than Philbrick who has able to address active academic debates without dragging me out of the story (or ruining the narrative). I was entirely able to have fun the book without the distracting debate over the 1565 Florida Thanksgiving claim as opposed to Sabbath services in 1619 vs the Fresh England Thanksgiving of 1621. Historical writing seems particularly topic to a kind of gnosticism, where you can't have fun a book if it doesn't include some special tidbit casting the traditional story as a form of grand thaniel Philbrick has a special talent of capturing my imagination while informing my historically-curious mind. This was a delight to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    This book does an awesome job of conveying the truth of traveling on the Mayflower. They don't sugar coat things and create it beautiful for people. It has lots of facts, including a page with an inside view of how the Mayflower would have looked and all the difficulties of traveling for so long with so a lot of people on a crowded vessel. It's a really amazing book. We use it in our homeschool study of e whole series of "if you..." has been great. There are a lot of of them about all types of various subjects throughout history and we have only been able to obtain through a little amount of them so far, but they are all loaded with amazing factual info about history as far as I can tell. I plan to buy the whole series for our homeschool library. We are avid readers and I love how much these small books can teach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    Very interesting and engaging book. Bought it for cubscouts in 2nd grade to learn about the pilgrims and it definitely held their attention. It's more of a reference book than a short story (long and detailed with a lot of facts). It's a amazing reference book for a young student or to glean sections out for story time with younger kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    Sorry to be a bit negative here, but I just got this and I'm a small disappointed. I bought it for the photos, hoping to see National Geographic quality images of a restored replica ship and pilgrim village. Instead, the images are mainly of the actors who are playing the parts. There are closeups of people's faces with just a small rigging showing in the background, images of "passengers" that present nothing else, etc. Not exactly the photographic walk-through of the ship I was hoping for. If you're getting this for interesting images of the ship, I wouldn't. Now, if you happen to know one of the reenactors and you'd like an 8 x 10 glossy image of him/her, this is your book. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    Nice small pamphlet. Amazing for coffee table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    I thought this might be a small over my kids' heads (ages 5 and 3) but they really have fun it. We are reading a small bit each day and they are retaining the info beautiful well. It's well written to appeal to younger children in both content and style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    Amazing book that teaches the children of the Mayflower journey and the hardships they encountered

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    I am descended from four of the 103 passengers on the Mayflower, & this is an perfect book for my grandchildren learn how their ancestors struggled on their journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    The collaboration between National Geographic and the Plymouth Plantation makes stunning tale of the Mayflower!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    Excellent addition to the Tour of Mayflower activity on My students are amazed at the rough conditions on the Mayflower. This book helps them see the sacrifice created by these people to come to America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was extremely accurate and I loved the pictures. All kids should read it, also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    Are you a sucker for lore of the Kentucke wilderness around the time of Daniel Boone? Do you love the style of Laura Frantz or Michelle Griep? Shannon McNear has been added to my list of names who can paint that period so well, you can feel the splash of the river as the horses ford it, sense the cold and wet of the mountain dressed with thick fog. Be overtaken by the fear for safety as you vicariously travel the berland Gap.What an intriguing supposition McNear starts out her narrative with. A Hessian siding with the Americans. The true question I saw, over and over throughout the book, is where does one end viewing another as an enemy? How does the forgiveness offered by one affect others around him? Or will an attempt at reconciliation between obvious opponents bring shame, betrayal, and untold danger?How I loved these characters. Some followed their upbringing, some followed their hearts, and all followed risky trails. Who will have the strength of hero to survive a time and put given to unrest and danger?Worthy quotes:“It always seemed the more willing a body was to share their story, the more likely that story wasn’t worth hearing.”“God could protect them...And if they could not place their hope in Him, then—what else was there?”My heart is full after reading The berland Bride. May we all learn to view conflicts from angles other than our own. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley. This in no method affects my opinions. I am not needed to leave a positive review. I DID, however, pre-order my own copy for my keeper shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    It has to be difficult to write a story about frontier characters walking day after day to their fresh home, but this author did a superb job. Could hardly place this books down. The imagery, characters and their hardships are engaging and entertaining. I will be reading more by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    A amazing read for sure but the title is a small misleading. This book is centered around two specific happenings and the transition between the two is rather rough. The first 150 pages are about the Mayflower voyage, the first Puritan settlement in Plymouth, Massachusetts and their symbiotic relationship with the Pokanoket tribe. The focus of the second half of the book is the Puritan vs. Indian conflict known as King Philip’s War. This involves all of Fresh England and happened about 65 years after the Plymouth settlement is established. Frankly, I was a small lost during the transition and it was a hard to follow for a few pages. I think that a more appropriate title would have helped. Something like the “Mayflower and King Phillip’s War” or “The Puritans in the Fresh Globe 1610-1676” would have been more e settlement in Plymouth would not have survived the first year if it were not for their relationship with the Pokanoket Indians. The Fresh England tribes were decimated by European diseases which they had no resistance to. Historians surmise that it was the plague that struck them in the first decade of the 17th century. The plague killed up to 90% of the Indians that had inhabited Fresh England. The zone where the pilgrims would eventually establish the first settlement of Plymouth had contained thousands of Indians just a few years prior to Mayflower's arrival. When the Pilgrims arrived it was e Pokanoket tribe [email protected]#$%! especially hard by the plague and they were weakened more so than several of the neighboring tribes. These tribes, such as the Narrangasetts, took advantage of their weakened neighbors. The Pokanoket chief, Massasoit, leveraged his relationship with the Pilgrims to survive versus the Narrangasetts. The two groups more than co-existed. The two groups had a symbiotic relationship. Unfortunatly, the Pilgrim’s ancestors had forgotten how critical the Pokanokets were to the survival of their forefathers. Subsequent generations of Puritans took advantage of the Indians. This led to a battle with the Pokanokets that on a per capita basis was the bloodiest battle in the history of North e lessons gleaned form the pages of this book have been repeated over and over again throughout history. Poor policy started King Phillip’s war. It could have been simple to avoid. Revenge was taken by the frustrated Puritans who could not catch the warring factions so they conveniently took revenge versus praying and neutral tribes. On the other side, allies of Pokanoket sachem King Phillip killed the relatives of Plymouth descendants of whom King Phillip considered friends. The conflict spiraled out of e battle was not going well for the Puritans until Mayflower descendant Benjamin Church recruited a strike force of Puritans and Indians from friendly tribes. He was able to convince warring Indians to change sides and join Church’s party. Church granted them amnesty and these Indians in-turn taught Church their tactics. They taught the Puritans how to move without being detected and how to avoid ambushes and how to set them. Church and his combined strike force used these strategies to hunt down King Phillip and to end the e book gives Benjamin Church his due as one of the first amazing early American Indian warriors that you never heard of. Like the pilgrims, Church would not have been successful without his reliance on friendly Native Americans.Enjoy the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    I read Marooned about Jamestown by Joseph Kelly before I read this since Jamestown happened first & he created several negative comments about this book. I actually enjoyed this book much more than his! I've read several on the colonies lately because I have ancestors who were in MA then RI very early on & I am wanting to know more about them & their lives. Nathaniel Philbrick writes with an enthusiasm that comes right through & I felt as if I were being told stories by someone who had witnessed them 1st hand. Never a fan of history until I started doing genealogy about 6 yrs ago I don't ever remember hearing about King Philip's War. My x7 gr grandfather fought in it, I learned not too long ago, so I had looked it up briefly. That it was included in this book is one reason I bought it. That went on a small too long, for my taste, but then I don't like to read about battle battles. It was wonderful & complicated & I wonder why more wasn't created of it in history class especially since percentage-wise more people died in it than died in the Civil War. Another reason I was interested is because he talked so much about Benjamin Church, who was a major player in the conflict, & he seems to have a amazing deal of respect for him. At least 2 of my ancestors married into Benjamin's family so I am really proud of that connection & feel I have gotten to know him on some level. I can't stop thinking about all of this & will probably read it again soon. I have moved on to another one on the colonies but so far, this one is my favorite & I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    This book does an awesome job of conveying the truth of traveling on the Mayflower. They don't sugar coat things and create it beautiful for people. It has lots of facts, including a page with an inside view of how the Mayflower would have looked and all the difficulties of traveling for so long with so a lot of people on a crowded vessel. It's a really amazing book. We use it in our homeschool study of e whole series of "if you..." has been great. There are a lot of of them about all types of various subjects throughout history and we have only been able to obtain through a little amount of them so far, but they are all loaded with amazing factual info about history as far as I can tell. I plan to buy the whole series for our homeschool library. We are avid readers and I love how much these small books can teach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    This was exactly what I was looking for! Our 2 grandsons have at least 7 ancestors who sailed on the Mayflower. We did a lot of research and found their names and stories. Since the kids are very young, I wanted a amazing solid hardcover book about the Mayflower so I could write all this info for them to have when they are older. Hopefully it will be kept safe and not meet the fate of a lot of paperback children's yond that, I was so happy that this book was so interesting and really gives the reader a sense of what it must have been like for the Mayflower passengers and crew. One story in particular created me realize how lucky I am to have my grandsons. A great, great, amazing grandfather of theirs fell overboard and almost wasn't rescued!As a child, there was always something magical about the story of the Mayflower and first Thanksgiving! I want every family had a copy of this book to set on the Coffee Table next Thanksgiving Day. Kids and adults young and old would have fun the amazing pictures, colors and you know the name of the baby born on the Mayflower?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    I am descended from four of the 103 passengers on the Mayflower, & this is an perfect book for my grandchildren learn how their ancestors struggled on their journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    Very historically correct.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    The first Thanksgiving did not take put in Fresh England in 1621, as Philbrick claims. It took put in 1619 at Berkeley Plantation in Virginia, among the Jamestown settlers. And in that instance, unlike with the Pilgrims, it actually was an official service of Thanksgiving. Philbrick, as a supposed historian, ought to know better than to perpetuate this myth. Northeasterners, in their blind conceit, continue to insist that Plymouth Rock was the first permanent English settlement in America, but the settlement at Jamestown preceded it by 13 years. There is no question that the first Thanksgiving occurred in Virginia. The facts are what they are, but erroneous books like this one continue to feed lies to the masses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    I thought this might be a small over my kids' heads (ages 5 and 3) but they really have fun it. We are reading a small bit each day and they are retaining the info beautiful well. It's well written to appeal to younger children in both content and style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    I am into genealogy and have traced my Ancestry back to the Mayflower. I wanted to create sure my grandchildren had an understanding of the pilgrims and this book is exactly what I wanted to give them along with the family tree. Really amazing book for elementary children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    I love this. This book corrects the wrong story being taught in schools. My grandaughter came home with the wrong information. She said the teacher stole the Indians land and murdered them. Not true. The Indians under Chief Powhatten welcomed the Pilgrims and taught them to farm fresh crops. That is why the Indians were invited to what is now known as the first Thanksgiving. The Pilgrims also support Powhatten war Powhatten enemies. Those that came AFTER the Pilkgrims did indeed steal land and murder a lot of Indians - but not the Pilgrims.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    I liked getting a fuller picture of the happening from one of my favorites authors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    3.5 stars"Be brave, sweet Kate."It's 1794 and Kate Gruener's father has decided to move his family west; regaling them with stories about the wild, barely tamed Kentucky frontier and its wide, begin opportunities. He hires experienced scout Thomas Bledsoe to lead their cluster of local families safely across the Wilderness Road, knowing that renegade Shawnees are continuing to stir up problem throughout berland Gap.Kate's natural curiosity and propensity to record details, about people and places, prompts her to quiz the intriguing scout from time to time about his family history, to which he barely responds. But as the miles disappear under their feet, an invisible thread begins to form between them, causing Thomas much angst. He is determined to avoid attachments, he never wants a woman to cry over him again, and the lovely Kate is proving hard to resist with all of her annoying seems the Almighty has His own plans for Thomas and Kate, for after Thomas' worst nightmare is realized, he turns to the only source of wisdom that he should have ever considered to start with and listens to the still, little voice of the Spirit saying, " And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee saying, This is the way, walk ye in it."Honestly, the first and second halves of this story differed remarkably in intensity, but create no mistake; the author ends powerful and ultimately that is what matters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    This story was fun and adventurous. The story of the early setters their race versus the elements, time and cirtances add a love story - winner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    . . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 []  2020-1-30 22:10

    I love this. This book corrects the wrong story being taught in schools. My grandaughter came home with the wrong information. She said the teacher stole the Indians land and murdered them. Not true. The Indians under Chief Powhatten welcomed the Pilgrims and taught them to farm fresh crops. That is why the Indians were invited to what is now known as the first Thanksgiving. The Pilgrims also support Powhatten war Powhatten enemies. Those that came AFTER the Pilkgrims did indeed steal land and murder a lot of Indians - but not the Pilgrims.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    Ancestry reference for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower 1620: A New Look at a Pilgrim Voyage []  2020-1-30 22:14

    Very Helpful in my ancestry research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    As an amateur genealogist, I have managed to trace my family to the Mayflower. I read about the Plymouth settlements and the ships in high school, but I think we ignored this part of history in college. This book is so simple to read and so factual that I couldn't place it down. I have both the paperback and the kindle versions - I've found this is the best method to read any book I wish to retain and understand fully.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War []  2020-1-28 20:10

    I come from one of these passengers. They were rigid, intolerant people, who were expelled from England because they refused to worship the King James Bible, because the words were not pure -- meaning, they were not the original words in The Bible. They sought refuge from a King, and came to the Plimoth shores, where no King [or government] could tell them what to do [even if it is amazing for us, such as governmental benefits.]But even though the Puritans were narrow and rigid, they formed a fresh type of government, that to this day, is still unmatched in the world.Any other government, even countries in The Commonwealth, do not have the ability to adapt to change, for better -- and for worse. What comes up, will come is is real for markets. It is also real for leaders. One POTUS will leave. Another will untries in The Commonwealth of Nations - their Prime Minister, such as PM Justin Trudeau - he is the head of government, but Queen Elizabeth II is the head of state. We have no such dual system here. I must admit, that the young Royals are adorable.We have the best form of government in the world, in that it is the most adaptable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    I really enjoyed reading this fast history of the 9 or 10 months leading up to the harvest festival that has become known as the first Thanksgiving.I am surprised how small of this story is taught in U.S. schools, and how much myth abounds and is is excerpt from the larger book "Mayflower" shows the amazing and poor in both the Pilgrims and the Indians - shows that both were imperfect, but mostly doing their best to do what they believed was right and wise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The First Thanksgiving: A Selection from Mayflower (Penguin Tracks) []  2020-1-21 21:0

    AAA++++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    Wow! This was an awesome adventure! I loved it!It's odd to think of western Kentucky as the frontier but in 1794 it was.I loved the info and descriptions the author gives us in her telling of this family and group packing up to move west. The info of the journey had me on the trail with them.Katarina (Kate) Gruener gets into all kinds of trouble. Thomas Bledsoe is there to rescue mewhere along the way, he finds himself breaking a promise he created to himself long ago. He also finds his faith again.I can't say the rest of what I wish to without giving ybe a teaser...there is a sweet connection to the attractive cover on this book. You'll have to read the story to search it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The berland Bride: Daughters of the Mayflower - book 5 []  2020-1-24 23:29

    Well written and researched. Very difficult to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Sailed on the Mayflower (If You…) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    Very interesting and engaging book. Bought it for cubscouts in 2nd grade to learn about the pilgrims and it definitely held their attention. It's more of a reference book than a short story (long and detailed with a lot of facts). It's a amazing reference book for a young student or to glean sections out for story time with younger kids.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386