Read me and crippled soldiers reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all me and crippled soldiers reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Set in Hawaii in 1944, this novel is told between two protagonists, Ella, 10 years old and her mother, Violet. With the bombing of Pearl Harbor, and the influx of soldiers, Hawaii with its lushness, sets the background for this WWII story. While Violet and Ella have gone a year without knowing the whereabouts of Herman, Ella's dad and Violet's husband, their lives are in limbo. Enter the troops and the soldiers who come to train before being shipped out, both are now ensconced in a various and more unsettled method of living. Surrounded by their mates and neighbors, the women decide to begin a pie stand to create a few additional dollars. Their sweet pies give them an opportunity to hold themselves busy, while the soldiers have a taste of home. In the midst of this, we catch a glimpse of those Japanese families who now are no longer mates to some in the community, but are considered the enemy. How quickly people become prejudiced, scared and more than just a small paranoid. We watch, as Ella carries a huge secret inside of her, causing her fear and a amazing of angst for her is was a well written novel, well researched and well told. A book that I could hardly place down, I highly recommend it, this is a 5 star novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I highly recommend this sweet and satisfying historical mystery romance! Rich and vivid descriptions of a part of Hawaii that is known to only a few. Sara Ackerman captures the flavor of a special "slice" of American history in this well-crafted narrative. Although it is set during WWII, the challenges the characters endure are quite relevant for today's circumstances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    A beautifully written historical fiction novel about the lives of a family residing in Honoka'a during WWII. Ms. Ackerman perfectly paints the backdrop of Hawaii in rich descriptions, full of the birds, flowers, plants, smells, and the heat of Hawaii. The family is a single mom (Violet) and her young daughter (Ella), who are left with each other after their patriarch (Herman) disappears. The book is told from the differing points of view of Violet and Ella, which each provide a various take on the disappearance, the war, and the people of the time. The community around this family is full of interesting characters, from their roommate and close mate (Jean), to the information-sharing telephone operator (Irene), to the reclusive okolehau (home-brewed alcohol) maker of Waipio (Bernard). The family also has a close relationship with their Japanese neighbors (the Hamasas), and are constantly standing up for them after the Pearl Harbor attack. The soldiers who enter the story are also well-written characters, ranging from those filled with hate for the Japanese, to those who separate the conflict from the American Japanese. One multi-faceted soldier (Parker) finds a method into the amazing graces of Violet and Ella, through a pet lion cub (Roscoe), which is based on a real lion mascot brought to the island by soldiers. The romantic tension between Violet and Parker makes for amazing suspenseful reading!The real effects of WWII are woven throughout the book, from meal and fuel rationing, to curfews, to the air raid drills of the time. In to create additional money, the women cook pies to supplement their income, and come up with a funny and special name for their pies. Also discussed are internment camps for the Japanese, and the constant fear the American Japanese lived with of being plucked from their homes and the lives, or separated from their families out of suspicion of collusion with the e mystery of Herman's disappearance haunts the characters, causing Ella mental anguish, and emotional conflict to Violet. As the mystery is solved in an intense climax, Ms. Ackerman pulls key characters together for a satisfying is book was a joy to read, due to the rich and interesting characters, the special interchange of the narrators, the underlying mystery, the historical accuracy, and the descriptions of Hawaii that really bring the backdrop of the story alive. I highly recommend this book!!

    0  


    Add your opinion on me and crippled soldiers or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I really enjoyed this novel. It takes put on the huge island of Hawaii during WWII. It's a fictional story but includes elements of what life was really like in the little towns of Honoka'a and Waimea during the war. I could really imagine what it must have been like. There is drama, suspense, and a bit of humor. I really got caught up in the lives of the characters who were dealing with love, loss, friendship, and betrayal. After reading this book, I wish to read more historical fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    It was an ok story, but was extremely slow through the entire story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book came to life when I created a visit to Honoka'a. I could see the people in the story walk these streets. I loved the book!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Loved this book. Special story that highlights the struggle with prejudism versus American Japanese in Hawaii during WWII. Sweet love threaded throughout. Stick with it - the story ramps up about 30% in. Worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    A beautifully written story by an exciting fresh author. The historical setting of Hawaii and WWII provides an evocative background for the touching story of Violet and Ella.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This was a charming, engaging read with an interesting twist on the usual WWII-era historical fiction: it is set in Hawaii. I loved the author's prose--I felt immediately drawn into the story of Violet and her daughter Ella, who are navigating their changed lives in the wake of the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the disappearance of Violet's husband/Ella's father. Even though the story touches on some massive themes--war, racism, the difficulties in parenting--its tone is endearing. Highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers is a beautifully written story set in Hawaii after the bombing of Pearl Harbor. The Hawaiian Island was described in vivid detail! If you have fun historical fiction with a bit of mystery and romance, you must read Island Of Sweet Pies and Soldiers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    The character is a guy, but he’s done nothing heroic. The h is TSTL. The H & h obtain their individual kicks from abandoning these neglected, orphaned children.I also don’t understand the point of the malicious shopkeeper’s, the steward’s, and her brother’s appearances in the book. Their appearance does nothing to drive the plot. None of them out her to Gray, so what’s the point of having them in the book? Finally, the fraternal hatred is two-dimensional. Again, what is the point? The H& h both have cartoonishly poor brothers who’ve disowned them; does this fact support them grow closer? No. Other so-called problems are at the forefront.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    This is a attractive story. The characters are flawed and seem very real. The story takes several turns and is one that actually brought me to tears. Well done and worth the read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    Penniless, homeless and so scared Charlotte Lott left her home and created her living working at age 18. She had just started a fresh job working as a governess to 3 kids when Major Dunforth Grayson became the children’s guardian. He was broken from the horrors of the battle and bitter with life. Meeting Miss Nott gave him purpose and strength. She had actually saved him from a life of misery. A attractive love story you will read again and still have fun the magic of this creative storyteller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    I thoroughly enjoyed this historical romance of two lost souls that search each other. I found the chemistry unbelievable and believable as well as the tension and passion. I fell in love with the characters and became a small weepy at one point. That shows how emotionally invested I was in this novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    Truly Magical. An exciting begin to this fresh series by one of my favorite authors, Alexa Aston. Each story I read of hers just makes me more of a fan and this one tore at my heart. But in the best of ways because I love the broken character or heroine who finds their method to love and this one fills that abundantly!When all seems at it's darkest, a little light can flicker and bring with it a fresh beginning. That light was Lady Charlotte Nott to Major Danforth Grayson. Two souls that had both been dealt less than the best of hands from their families. Charlotte when her father passed and her half brother threw her out on her own, she luckily found work as a companion and then a governess. She was just hired by Lord Crampton, when his wife passed giving birth and he died right in front of her! She ended up taking charge of the all the duties to run the manor while attending the children, Jane, Harriett and ay was called home from his duties as a Major in the troops and back to the home of the brother who had scorned him, due to his passing. He was now guardian of the young heir Roger and his two sisters. He also brought with him guilt over losing some of his men during the battle and all the sadness it brought with it.But as he gets to know Charlotte and she him, magic may just happen and with the children, who just victory your heart, anything is rrounded in emotions of loss and pain with a journey that leads to happiness and passion, it does not obtain much better than this story. Sigh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    What an amazing read by this author. I always have fun books that contain kids in the storyline, finding they add so much if well written. And of course, Alexa Aston never disappoints in this area. Loved the characters, and found the interaction between the character and heroine captivating. Definitely recommend this attractive tale. 📚💖📚

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    Wow, not all warm and fuzzy story. I shed some tears reading this because it is not only filled with sadness but joy too.I can't believe if the h's father was so loving and cared so much about his daughter why didn't he create provisions for her in case of his death? The father had to know his son hated his half sister so this didn't create sense to e stage is heart breaking over the nephew. It was so emotional and the method the author wrote, I couldn't support to feel I was in the room watching it all unfold - grab the tissues!!There is lovemaking outside of marriage and heat level 4 out of 5. I didn't care for the timing of their first coming together - didn't feel could feel the pain with the H's nieces. No-one seems to care for them and this come through. Another stage that will grab you. As you are reading this, you are probably wondering is their any happiness in this story? Yes, there is, but it does have it's share of heartache. From the H and how his brother treated him, to the h and how her brother treated her, to the nieces.I did wish the h's half brother to be dealt with, but that didn't cheating, no cliffhanger, HEA, some does build slowly and some spice. This story will feel like being on a roller coaster with a lot of ups and downs. I do recommend this story and this author. (ljb)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    I adored this book even as it wrung so a lot of emotions from me. This is my first novel from Alexa Aston and after enjoying the method she weaved her story with all to human and fallible characters, it will be the first of a lot of to come. As such, I immediately went to Amazon's shop and purchased her "Knights of Honor" series she had on (Yea, I love a sale) and couldn't pass up from an author of Alexa Aston's 'll love the intricacies of her tale and the characters too that I have come to love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    This was a delightful story! Charlotte and Gray were simple to like and care about. I wanted to shake Charlotte when she was too stubborn and cheer Gray when he was kind and patient. The three kids were amazing small characters, too. This is the first book I’ve read from this author and I look forward to reading more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Heal an Earl (Soldiers and Soulmates Book 1) []  2020-3-29 19:6

    After the death of her father, Charlotte is alone and homeless. Her angry, hateful brother has thrown her out of the house without any funds. Having the misfortune of being the second son, aka “The Spare”, Grayson was given a commission by his brother, with the spoken request that he not come back arlotte has painstakingly created a life for herself. A companion to an elderly lady, governess to children, and now, applying for the position listed by Lord Crampton, she is show when both he and his wife pass away. Grayson leaves the Troops and returns to-no chaos-but a very well run home and three orphaned kids who need his Charlotte and Grayson come to terms, they realize that the kids need both of them and they need each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    Amazing histoic film of the real heros of the American Southwest. This is an perfect movie and a real collectors must have. We can all stand a small taller and a small prouder because of the 9th and 10th Calvery also know as "The Buffalo Soldiers" so named by the native americans because just as the american buffalo, these soldiers never stoped even when wounded. These solders never retreated even when out numbered and out guned. A lot of of these soldiers were awarded The Congessional Medal of Honor. Although the movie dosen't with the historical aspects of the Buffalo Soldiers, it is very entertaining and exciting. A collector of movies collection is not complete without the "Buffalo Soldiers".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    Few films have been created about black soldiers serving in the West after the civil war. One other notable is "Sergeant Rutledge", starring Woody Strode. The film details, how in spite of the discrimination they must endure, black troopers, a lot of ex-slaves, led by Glover suffer war losses, the intolerance of their superior officers, and the humiliation of having to dismount and walk rather than ride through the nearby white town, all while they war the local Apache fighter tribe. Ironically, in the end, they search that they cannot bring themselves to inflict the same brutality on the Apache families that a lot of of them had experienced themselves. If you wish a glimpse of what black calvary life was like, I recommend this film plus "Sergeant Rutledge."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    I felt that this film really accurately depicted how the buffalo units were treated at the time and how brave these men were. Also as far as the indians were concerned the traps they came up with were I believe quite accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    This period in the US military history up to now was lacking. I can remember only one other movie about the negro soldiers in the USA, fighting the native Americans. Well acted by all, it showed the complete lack of respect that those Negro troopers should have had,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldiers & Saints []  2020-7-26 22:42

    The best Catholic hip-hop that I've found. Other Catholic hip-hop is massive on the lyrics and not as perfect on the sample. I allow some teens evaluate the various Catholic contemporary melody I had, and this was the only one they liked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Crippled God: Malazan Book of the Fallen Series, Book 10 []  2020-1-20 20:25

    What a journey this has been. It has been a long time (almost a year, in fact) since I picked up Gardens of the Moon. It really struck a chord with me. I said this of Gardens when I first reviewed it, and I'll say it again here; it was the first book since Dune to give me such a sense of imagination and wonder, and to push me to learn all I could about the series. From devouring the words, to scouring the maps, and reading the dramatis personae to obtain all the characters right in my head. Simply put, I don't come by works of fiction like this , at the end of the final installment looking back, I couldn't be more pleased. Erikson delivered on his promise of an epic Fantasy series, and then went a small farther. This series has fixed itself atop the list of my favorite Fantasy series, and now vies with A Song of Ice and Fire to be ranked #1. I suppose we'll just have to see how that series ends (years from now) to see who is the real any case, I couldn't be happier with how Erikson ended it. Was there loss? My god, of course there was. It's not called "The Malazan Book of Everyone Who Lived Happily Ever After". But beyond the Fallen, there is hope. There is love, and compassion. There are those who risked everything, to do what was right. And for no other reason than because it was right. There are characters in this series that I will never forget, moments of triumph that I will always remember, and of course moments of devastating loss that moved me to tears. And I do mean true tears, not just a wetness to the eye. I stand by my opinion that this series is the most cinematic I have ever read, Erikson has a method of painting a picture for his readers that is hard to search e Crippled God gave me the conclusive ending that I was yearning for, but did not respond every question so directly that I cannot still wonder and theorize. I like that. And though I've reached the end of the road, the globe of Malazan is still out there. In Ian Cameron Esslemont's novels, in Erikson's prequel trilogy. I will undoubtedly create my return someday but for now, I am content in having finished this heavy series, and I will remember the Fallen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sago Soldiers [App]  2019-6-27 13:57

    attractive android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    Buffalo Soldiers was the name given to Colourful soldiers by Indians because their hair resembled that of is film takes put shortly after the end of the Civil War, when former slaves were given their lored soldiers served in the West war the ing discriminated versus and not accepted as men is a given for the times.When the Buffalo Soldiers surround an Apache band, they are ordered to slay all, even women and children. An Apache chief asks them how they can follow the orders of their former slave e soldiers present compassion and allow the Indians escape. The Apache present these soldiers respect when at the same time their troops does e racism and segregation shown is this film to Glory, to the Tuskegee Airmen, to Vietnam, to now still exists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    Danny Glover and a sterling cast tells history we do not see often enough. They deserve to stand shoulder to shoulder with any who fought under our flag. It was not always so. Black skinned men who wore American uniforms in the 9th and 10th Cavalry who fought and died for an American cause were not treated as equals as we all ashamedly know. This story is brutal and bloody. They were slaves and treated as such. The Apache foe, the opponent they fought, gave these men the name so well deserved, 'Buffalo Soldiers' for their bravery and honor. This is history we should all know about. And never forget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    Arrived on time and in amazing condition, very amazing film I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sago Soldiers [App]  2019-6-27 13:57

    eh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    This is a amazing film! Very informative of what actually happened with the soldiers. I loved this film before I bought it. The actual disk came beautiful quickly and was amazing to add to my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    I enjoyed this film about the "Buffalo Soldiers". Not sure how accurate it was to the true Buffalo Soldiers story. However, it is still a part of our history. Danny Glover did a amazing job portraying an Troops officer, he is a amazing actor. It had to be tough during this time of our history dealing with the pressure always being treated less than the white officers of equal rank and fighting the opponent all at the same time. I enjoyed the scenery of the ole west. Thanks to the actors involved in making this film. The film was entertaining; I just [email protected]#$%! had some extras like the making of Buffalo Soldiers. It was well worth watching for me because I am fan of westerns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sago Soldiers [App]  2019-6-27 13:57

    boring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldiers Adventure [App]  2019-6-19 13:28

    I love this android game And I started playing yesterday

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Buffalo Soldiers []  2020-7-13 20:57

    i bought the dvd because the first 1 i had couldn't play but luckily there are more available to replace a damaged disc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    iTs retared i rather wach poop than this carp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    I'm a huge fan of Tiana😎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    i love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Me and My Pal [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    This was a hoot, as Ollie ends up late for his wedding because of a thoughtful bonus from his best man, Stan--a jigsaw puzzle that EVERYONE becomes addicted to. I'm especially fond of this film, and gave marks to it, due to the fact that its release date was exactly 70 years before the birth of my son, Julian.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Grandma and Me [App]  2019-9-25 13:42

    Still no animations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Grandma and Me [App]  2019-9-25 13:42

    I used to love thses books as a kid. I do miss the animations from the pc version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jiu Jitsu and Me []  2020-1-16 9:30

    My grandson got this book as a bonus since he has started classes for Jiu Jitsu. He really enjoyed the book. In excellent condition and quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Captain And Me []  2020-1-16 18:50

    As a teenager I was so lucky to be introduced to The Doobie Brothers with this ALBUM. I felt like I had been trransported to my unique world. Not one person I went to school with had any idea of this band or their GENIUS. SO MANY ARE SO TRUE TODAY. This is my 8th or 9th copy. I have loved each one of them and hope to have them around until I meet :THE SPIRIT IN THE SKY

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Captain And Me []  2020-1-16 18:50

    Doobie Brothers-The Captain & Me....Nice re-issue. Can't ask for more on vinyl.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus and ME []  2020-1-16 23:30

    I like all the songs on this album. Very uplifting and sincere in his lyrics and delivery. God Bless Glen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mercury and Me []  2020-1-17 22:55

    My take away from this book is that Freddie Mercury had a heart as huge as his voice. I believe he fell for Jim and genuinely cared for and even loved him. I also read Freestone's (Phoebe) book and there were some differences. A significant one being Phoebe said that Dave Clark was alone with FM when he died and Jim said it was he who was alone with FM when he took his latest breath. Phoebe was FM's private assistant for almost 20 years and a truly devoted friend. I believe him. I wonder if FM had not been infected with AIDs would he have stayed exclusive to Jim. FM was very generous to those loyal to him, Phoebe, Joe, his chef, whom he had a relationship with, and Mary whom he lived with until he told her he was gay. I think Jim became part of this club and FM didn't have the heart to turn him out. FM's love gave Jim validation. Someone who came from very humble beginnings that didn't even finish highschool attracted the largest rock star in the globe and he fell hard. The telling sign for me of their "real" relationship is that FM left Garden Lodge, half the song royalties and the bulk of his fortune to Mary but left the same amount for Jim as his other employees Phoebe and Joe. While it was almost $1M at the time of inheritance, it was a little fraction of what Mary got and she was trusted with FM's ashes. Jim painted her in a negative light saying she kicked him out of GL but if FM wanted Jim to stay at GL he would have created those provisions in his will. FM wasn't stupid and had the best legal tip so I search it hard to believe he didn't ensure every latest detail was covered. Joe, Phoebe and Mary nursed FM through his illness and Phobe created the funeral arrangements. Wouldn't a truly loving spouse wish to be the one to to this? Jim seemed conveniently disconnected. The book is certainly a sweet story of obvious devotion but does include inconsistencies from other prominent books, interviews and documentaries. Jim addresses FM's desire for privacy and discretion numerous times. He also notes that FM didn't wish the announcement created that he had AIDS the day before he died. This leads me to question why Jim thought it appropriate to share so a lot of intimate info in such a public way. I believe Freddie would consider this the ultimate betrayal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ziggy, Stardust and Me []  2020-1-11 19:17

    I am a public school teacher of English and art for grades 6-8, and lead trainer in my school district, wherein I lead professional development for staff on equity, diversity, and inclusion, and I believe this book should be mandatory reading in the language arts and social sciences curriculums. It’s vitally important, on sooo a lot of levels, starting with creating empathy and emotional resonance with the protagonist, and all others. Because we need to teach the history of the LGBTQ+ people in school, this book of historical fiction is an ideal launching point.I know this is a book that a lot of of my students need in to feel heard, seen, understood, and not alone.I know this is a book that a lot of of my students need in to hear, see, understand others, and contain others to make an environment of co-belonging.I don’t know how JB uses the alphabet to so broadly sweep into my emotional consciousness, but in EACH of his characters, I literally saw myself, and others, in my family, my work, my friendships, my community circles. I’d be reading and so completely swept up in a vortex that I’d have no concept of time, til I’d jolt back in to my surroundings only because this thought distracted me (when I realized I’d be reading a book and not actually in the body of Jonathan, the 17 year old protagonist)  “How is he (JB) doing this? How does his writing, simply arranging the 26 letters of the alphabet, do this to me?” Beautiful sure I fell in love with Web, too, and beautiful sure I felt my own wrists stringing the whole time. This empathic-somatic response is overwhelmingly magic to experience, like how a mother’s stomach hurts when her child’s tummy is e somatic wisdom of the body, the connection between body and emotion, the physical responsiveness of the body to the brain’s thoughts, was all over this book…it’s actually a main motif. James’ understanding of this phenomenon, one that we all experience but take for granted, was so fluidly infused into this book. As a scientist and empath and student of trauma research, I found myself trusting this author inherently, because he was so amazing at bringing in this body/mind element, through the protagonist’s physiological awareness, particularly, as he noticed his emotions embodied, often painfully, the residual shockwaves of what he endures. Brilliant.I KNOW this book is accessible to anyone, to everyone. For me, growing up with a brother and witnessing his suffering as he was bullied, this book spoke to me. As a melody lover, I had the best time geeking out on nostalgia of some of the melody on vinyl that created the soundscapes of my childhood. As an ally and advocate for equity and inclusion issues, particularly around the ongoing history of this country’s First Nation people, and living on the Mississippi River on land that is laden with sacred burial mounds and river history, this book was truly a gentle, yet potent method to stoke the reader’s curiosity, introduce some massive problems in a method that was inherently integrated in this gorgeous story of love, truth, acceptance, and joy joy to read this book! Heavy, but such joy. Fell in love with reading all over again, and fell in love with my imagination. Truly, James Brandon’s style, his voice, the stream of consciousness that is Jonathan’s head voice…truly such a fun ride to zip on!I’d be sneaking in reading the book at stoplights (I know, not a amazing practice)…I just couldn’t place it down! And I didn’t wish it to end.When it did end, I sobbed. Just sobbed. Processing. Journeying. I literally had a full on waterfall of tears, an emotional release that was both cathartic and loud, the moment I finished the book, the moment my eyes read the latest two words. The gorgeous experience of reading this book has rippled through me for days, weeks, months after reading the book, because the layering of the topics, issues, invitations to feel…the layers are profound and weave in and out of each other, totally interconnected, yet totally distinct. It’s an anchor point. I can’t wait to read it again, and I’m gifting my family with this book for the holidays!While reading this book, and after, I search that I walk around differently in the world. Created me a better teacher, and while I’m already inclined to take a trauma-sensitive approach with my students, I found myself entering my classroom and receiving my students with eyes wider, more open, heart more open. This book opened me to a more heightened ability to FEEL my students. I’m looking for their vulnerabilities more, I’m more acutely attuned. This is is book created me a better parent, like – I have to be sure I’m really seeing and hearing my children, remembering my children are going through their own stuff, and my job is to be a steward of holding zone for them, not to drill or question or doubt. Nope. I can’t decide for them how they feel, and I have to be ready to accept what they tell me, no matter what. #UNconditionalAnd this to me is the ultimate. I mean, everybody loves books for various reasons. So if the fun escapism and the joy of imagination can intersect with how the intimate privacy of a reading experience can inspire one to live outward in the globe more fully and expressively…this is the magic of art. Yeah? Yes. Go read Ziggy Stardust and Me. Search what you didn’t even know you wanted to find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ziggy, Stardust and Me []  2020-1-11 19:17

    This is a beautifully written story. It covers a wide range of emotions and tugs at the heart on a lot of levels. I couldn't place the book down once I started reading it. I love the style of writing and it is a amazing read for all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ziggy, Stardust and Me []  2020-1-11 19:17

    It's just so beautiful, and hard, and so awesomely well written. Wow, just wow. This book took my breath away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Application works well. Francis and Lisa do a amazing job challenging believers to surrender all to Christ. Likely the most influential book (not just marriage) I've come across.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    I thank God for Francis and Lisa's commitment to Christ and their obedience. It's because of their commitment to Christ and obedience that we have material like this. I've been so blessed by this book and I'm only on chapter 4! I'm telling as a lot of people as I can about this book because it has been truly mind blowing and I can't thank God enough for this blessing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Very Amazing Book. Recommend everyone must read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Content is awesome and glad I found it after buying the hard copy. Just minor issues. audio player stops when screen rotates. Unable to highlight text. Nexus 6P on Nougat & 7 on Marshmallow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Love that this exists. Troubled that what looks like a profile icon crashes the ap, trying to record video answers crashes the app, ditto for attempting to enter text answers...not sure why they're there if they aren't functional... EDIT: seems that when I used the application on a Lollipop device, signed up and verified a fresh email, application now works on all of my devices? Developer never replied to me emails though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Wow. Just downloaded the application and I am slightly blown away. It's the entire book plus cool videos and tools. And to think I just ordered 10 hard copies to give away. 😉

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Warning: beautiful deep. Must engage heart. It's amazing that the audio book and book are with the app. Please consider *warning* if not on wireless connection instead of disallowing. Thanks! You guys Rock!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    I love being able to read on the go, however it will not allow me sign up and create an acc I was looking forward to the highlighting and saving my put option. Please fix!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    I like the application other then it won't allow me sign up it works amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Wow, awesome book and package, inspirational and just awesome. And god bless them, for all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    A unbelievable book that really puts marriage in light of eternity. It's amazing for us singles too :) The application is nice and easy as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Love that it has the book, but I am not able to make an account.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Thank you for the amazing notice given through out this book. So much info to support hold a healthy powerful marriage alive through christ.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Loved the book the rating has to do with the app. I can't log in or make an acc and it's constantly kicking me out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    It is so awesome, when the light shines in the darkness. Thanks so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    God's Truth given

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    This is a goto for Connie and I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You and Me Forever [App]  2020-1-14 21:35

    Awesome book with sound doctrine. Very thought provoking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Women and Me []  2020-1-16 1:49

    In looking for a modern small women I came across this. While not what I was quite looking for it was still interesting. While it could've been simple to create the hero a Mary sue but the author constantly surprises with a well known story definitely enjoyable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Women and Me []  2020-1-16 1:49

    I thought this sounded like a clever idea but the book fell short. The main hero is very annoying. The "twist" of the story is stupid. How the "magic" happened is never explained. I read it all the method through but definitely would not recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mew and Me [App]  2019-12-9 13:43

    Since I have an American long hair kitten I think he will love it ,and watch yo mama joke's😋 and FNAF⚠️‼️‼️.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imagine Me And You []  2020-1-20 22:47

    Amazon has been recommending this film to me for a long time, but I kept ignoring it, thinking it was going to be another cheesy fall in love with a woman who is married, hot torrid romance thing, and then end in sadness. I guess I should have read the description, because I finally broke down and rented this and watched it. …and I’m absolutely in love with the film now, I hold finding myself going back to different scenes and re-watching it. It’s adorable and witty, and attractive on so a lot of ’s not a coming out movie, it’s a film about someone falling for someone else during her wedding. There’s a realistic emphasis/conversation about cheating, but in a positive method with characters who help one another through the process. No, they’re not rooting for one another, but this isn’t a film that is about being and the coming out process, etc. It’s about two people who fall in love a small ’s funny that I’ve read some reviews about the film being implausible. However, it’s not so much the plot that I would focus on in that regards. The little small thoughts, little day dreams about someone else, the warmth that you feel when you see them, or the desire to just be around them. Those are the small moments in the film that stands out to me and remind me a lot of young love. It’s in those moments, which I feel are well portrayed, that makes this film one of my all time favorites in a very short span of having seen it. I can finally watch something on the screen that is the most plausible to my own experiences in that regards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Imagine Me And You []  2020-1-20 22:47

    One of my favorite films ever! It's funny and cute and romantic all rolled into one. And, the beat part is, neither of the girls dies or has some kind of major heartbreak that ruins everything in the end like you often search in a romance movie. "Imagine Me and You" truely is a rom-com like all other rom-coms, it just so happens that it's about two women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Me and Bobby McGee []  2020-1-20 1:39

    Classic Janis

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Me and Bobby McGee []  2020-1-20 1:39

    Me and Bobby McGee is a classic and this is a beautiful amazing recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Me and Bobby McGee []  2020-1-20 1:39

    Love this song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polio and Me []  2020-6-14 18:43

    I am old enough to remember the polio epidemic and standing in line at grade school for the sugar cube that would protect us from the disease. I also remember being horrified by pictures of children in iron lungs. But Mr. Dalton, having experienced first-hand the ravages of the disease writes about treatments I never knew existed--hot wool bandages, being spread-eagled on canvas sheets for months, and more. His book provides an education that we all should read. My only quibble -- which isn't a complaint at all-- is that I want he had included more info about his own, private experiences with this dread disease so that we can assure it never happens again. Jan Flores

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polio and Me []  2020-6-14 18:43

    Polio and Me: Ken DaltonTake a trip back in time to 1943 and a young five year old boy named Kenneth Dalton whose life changed when he woke up one morning and could not move his limbs in to walk, keep an object in his hand like an apple and is rushed to a hospital and taken out of his mother’s loving arms and placed in a room where no one but hospital staff was allowed to see him. Imagine being diagnosed with polio as your family doctor insists you remain in the hospital and in quarantine until you are no longer contagious. The story is told in a timeline fashion flashing back and forth from the past to the show as Kenneth relates his numerous surgeries, physical therapy sessions and the hope for a miracle to walk without his leg brace. Imagine being isolated from your family during Christmas holiday. Imagine a disease with no cure that paralyzes your limbs and killed hundreds if not thousand of kids and adults well into the late 1950’s until a vaccine was finally perfected to stop it from e disease is polio also labeled as poliomyelitis and infantile paralysis and it is a seriously highly contagious viral infection that can lead some to death, others to having issues breathing and winding up in a iron lung and paralysis. The author relates all of the false hopes that a lot of had as various vaccines were made and failed and a lot of methods of helping kids and adults with the disease were tried, experimented and not until 1953 when Jonas Salk made and developed the first polio vaccine which finally led to the widespread prevention of poliomyelitis. Let’s take the journey back in time to understand the a lot of various levels of treatment, the different attempts at perfecting a lot of various vaccines and one woman who made her own miracle cure for kids enabling them to walk again.With his father in the troops leaving his mother to face life with a son in braces and two other little kids the sacrifices she created were more than e research that the author relates about the numerous vaccines was quite revealing but nothing like the disputes between Jonas Salk and Sabin. The Salk vaccine came first and was delivered by injection whereas the Sabin vaccine was on a sugar cube. I researched the Salk vaccine and learned that it was given in two try groups one receiving the true vaccine and the other the placebo. At the end of the or experiment those receiving the true vaccine were inoculated versus polio where those receiving the placebo had to be reinnoculated with the true vaccine. Polio mainly affects kids under five years of age and there is no cure but can only be prevented. The author brings out that parents that do not vaccinate their kids are leaving them wide begin for possibly getting this illness whereas parents that do have their kids vaccinated with the vaccine that is given multiple times can protect their kids for life. This is necessary and you learn more about his childhood you will also learn that much of what he experienced was funded by the National Foundation of Infantile Paralysis or NFIP who from 1938 through the approval of the Salk vaccine in 1955, the NFIP spent 233 million on polio patient care, providing significant foundation aid to more than 80 percent of America’s polio patients. That is amazing. The NFIP and Basil O’Connor ran into a issue once the Salk and Sabin vaccines were introduced. By 1958, the NFIP reached the point where their raison d’être was no longer valid and Basil O’Connor stated that the fresh mission of the Foundation was to prevent birth defects and in 1976 the NFIP became as we know it today the March of Dimes for Birth Defects. There are several chapters where the author allows us to hear his voice as kid before and after each surgery and his fears about what will happen each time. Learning how to with a brace and after the fourth operation not needing one let him to play Dodge ball and other fames but running quick was still not in the picture but first he had to with a large cast on his leg and Dr. Lowman told his mother that the method he slept although odd was conclusion this well researched and documented book would create a amazing documentary of his life and how this disease impacted his life and changed his childhood. But, the author is powerful and he became quite successful in his own right. The war lines between the two vaccines were drawn and the Salk was administered through injections and the Sabin on a sugar cube. The Salk was produced from a life from a attenuated virus and needed booster shots. The Sabin single sugar cube of vaccine provided a life time of immunity therefore this vaccine was produced at a lower cost and the ease of administering it allowed it to become the vaccine of choice in the United States and other countries. More info about the controversies between the two vaccines are highlighted within chapter is vaccine is also used to eliminate cancerous tumors. He flashes to his family in Chapter 18 where the author explains that when writing this memoir he thought he knew what he was going to share but as you write you contain more. Kids develop their family expectations from he states their everyday experiences through the “process of gradual or unconscious assimilations of ideas and knowledge, the same method a kid learns the native language of his or her parents.” He gives examples of kids learning from fathers that are drunk and mothers that are crazy but his life was not his own. He did not have a tv set, computer or any of the modern things were have today. Dishes were washed and dried and families in the living room with listen to programs on the radio shows that a lot of children watched on tv even today as reruns. He continues with why his parents obtain divorced and the story about his father’s socks that you will have to read in this ly in the epilogue we learn about his connection with the swim coach Mr. Pollack and how he aced algebra. His mother did not let him to test out for basketball so he was intelligent and became the manager of the team. Believe it or not which is remarkable at 40 he played basketball on a squad comprised up of phone company employees and quickly accept what he already knew that he was too short to obtain a lot of rebounds but quicker than the taller guys. There is much more that he relates that you need to read for yourself to understand the courage, the persistence and the journey that he recaps in the epilogue as well as focusing in this section on the leading cancer researchers like Dr. Henry Friedman, reported that an injection of the polio virus directly into a brain tumor either shrunk or in a few cases completely eliminated the glioblastoma. Remarkable and astounding but the word cure was not used but it was a powerful turning point to say the least. There is much more that he shares that the reader will learn when taking this journey, meeting his hospital friends, nurses and learning other polio survivors listed on page 244 and in conclusions about his unbelievable life with his wife and family. This is a book that everyone needs to read because of the gravity of the topic and why parents need to be vigilant and create sure their kids keep all of their immunizations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polio and Me []  2020-6-14 18:43

    As a health care professional, it was enlightening to read this memoir about the polio epidemic from the perspective of a patient who lived through it, and his efforts to learn more about the disease and the vaccine research that ultimately conquered the polio virus. Sometimes we fault our health care system for its lack of compassion, cost and excess regulation, but Ken’s stories and those of polio research topics recounted in Polio and Me support us see the progress we have created over the latest 70 ggy Means, Chief Operating Officer, Retired, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Senator and Me []  2020-1-25 9:28

    I liked this children's book. I like how the story is told from the view of the dog and how he refers to the late Senator Kennedy as "My Senator". The illustrations are great! I also loved how the author gave background on the dog and of how congress works on a everyday basis. This would be a amazing book to incorporate into the school system for teachers who wish to teach their students how a bill becomes law in the U.S Government.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mrs. Kennedy and Me []  2020-2-7 19:36

    I gave this book 4 stars because I think it was a fascinating look by one man into a moment of history with a First Lady he was assigned to protect.But there are things in the book I couldn’t give 4 stars to. At all.A small backstory: as a counselor, living in California, I came into contact with some very wealthy people, and I was always struck by how very wealthy people are among the most inconsiderate persons on the planet. They literally don’t have a clue that other people have lives outside of them. Everything – and I mean everything – revolves around their wants, needs, and desires, from the time they obtain up in the morning until the time they go to bed at night. The President and the First Lady were very wealthy people. Unfortunately they were completely inconsiderate of the humans who worked for them and showed it, in so many, a lot of ways. In the words of Chief Usher J.B. West, “Mrs. Kennedy held others to a rigid standard, but for herself she preferred spontaneity.” Uh-HUH. In other words, Jacqueline did whenever and however and whatever she wanted; if it inconvenienced somebody, tough. There are so many, a lot of examples in the book. One that immediately comes to mind is Jacqueline would ask Hill to do things for her that had absolutely no pertinence to his duties as a Secret Service agent in the slightest, such as buying magazines for her. Or making him go shopping with Princess Irene Galitizine for her. Or wanting him to “round up the paparazzi and just obtain rid of them.” The list goes on and on and on. And JFK was no better. The incomparable rudeness of them eating while Hill was still on duty and they didn’t him anything was particularly mean, as was the lousy $12 per diem, out of which he was supposed to for meals and a hotel room. Okay, once JFK brought back some clam chowder for the Secret Service guys; huge woop. And the outrageous time they called Hill to participate in a 50 mile hike – what the hell did that have to do with him being a Secret Service agent? The people hiking were Prince Stanislaus Radiziwill and Chuck Spalding, not JFK and Jackie! Those kinds of things were ridiculous, in my opinion. Or JFK and Jackie traveling CONSTANTLY, on the taxpayer’s dime, to wherever he or she wanted. They lived in at least seven various houses during the three years JFK was in office, which meant that each house had to have a White House Communication put set up – again at taxpayer’s expense. Must be nice! And what was reminiscent to me of my time as a counselor is that because they were wealthy, they saw absolutely nothing wrong with any of this. I guess if you’re that rich, you don’t have a clue as to how other people have to live. Nor do you have any understanding of how your least small whim causes major havoc to the Secret Service which is assigned to protect you.And it wasn’t just Hill who got the brunt of this inconsiderate treatment. Tish Baldridge, who was the White House Social Secretary, was always having to scramble to search a pinch-hit hostess when Jackie decided at the latest min to just not present up for something to which she had previously agreed to appear. How incomparably rude. If Hill was trying to paint a picture of how unbelievable Jacqueline Kennedy was, he fell far short. The picture he paints instead is not at all attractive, and what’s funny to me is that this is obviously not at all what Hill intended. Jacqueline struck me, while she did have genuinely amazing qualities, as being almost entirely like her self-centered mother, father and sister, all of whom, to me, were not particularly nice people in the e next thing is the huge absence of a lot of history that Hill had to have seen at times and being politically correct, just didn’t mention. We know now that JFK was one hell of a womanizer, and there isn’t a mention of that, at all. We know from Mary Barelli Gallagher’s book that there were a lot of wars over the amount of Jackie spent; there is nothing on that. We know that JFK was actually a very sick man; again, there is nothing about that. We know that JFK and Jackie were receiving regular injections of amphetamines from Dr. Max Jacobson – to be fair, they were not illegal back in the ‘60s – and not a word is written about it. So there is a very obvious – to me – large hole in the narrative. While I can even appreciate and understand Hill’s being private, to me, both JFK and Jacqueline were dead when he wrote his book, and history should be unvarnished and is book is neither.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mrs. Kennedy and Me []  2020-2-7 19:36

    I was undecided about ordering this book knowing that all he was going to write was nice things about Jackie. Well he does only write nice things about her but they ring real and it is very interesting to learn about her travels and extremely wealthy mates all over the globe and so, so much more. Mr. Hill traveled with her everywhere and it was a globe he had never known before. I have never, ever been a Jackie "fan" so to speak but I'm about 1/3 through the book and she is beginning to grow on me. I'll never be a fan but I do like her more than I ever thought I would. I glad now that I did the book and I have learned a lot about the Secret Service Detail that cover the President and his family. The book covers things you might not know about the guys on these different Info and what they and their families give up so they can protect the President and family. For my part it is a amazing book but to each his own. If you it I hope you think the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Grandma and Me []  2020-2-7 20:6

    Growing up in Iran, Mina and her grandma were always together. Mina prayed when Grandma said her prayers. They brought bread to next-door neighbor and her granddaughter who is Mina’s friend. This gently introduces kids to another culture: the Muslim practice of prayer, Grandma wearing her chador and visiting the mosque. A very heart-warming moment comes when Grandma prays for her neighbor while at the mosque and Mina finds out her neighbor prayed for her Grandma at her church. The mutual acceptance and caring between the women of two various faiths sends a powerful notice of hope for this e illustrations are and fit the gentle mood of the story. In four locations the text is set in a framed block. Decorating the block are baby and mama birds and the sun rising, full, setting or the moon at night. This corresponds to the time of day for the characters in the commendation: This story has the universal appeal of kid and grandma. It also shows acceptance and friendship between people of various ethnic and religious backgrounds. However kids not exposed to a diverse group of people will need a lot of things that are shown and written explained to them. Perfect for schools with multicultural students. An asset for schools where multiculturalism needs to introduced through st Read Lit: K thru YA is comprised of teachers and librarians who provide unbiased reviews for parents, teachers and librarians to create informed judgments about the of literature for their libraries. Joan Theal, Reviewer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zora and Me []  2020-2-12 18:59

    This book is delightful. The voice of the narrator will draw the audience into the globe of the small, all black, community of Eatonville, Florida and Zora Neale Hurston's mates and family. We obtain a glimpse of how Zora's creative imagination keeps everyone trying to figure out if her stories are truth, lies, or just the method she makes sense of the world. We do learn that early on, Zora is confident of her ability to tell stories and entertain others with is book was written to be read aloud, in real folklore/tall-tale fashion. It has amazing instructional possibility. The language is rich, the historical facts are compelling, and the dialogue creates humor and suspense. The female leads are strong, and well developed for the books 180 pages. Zora's curiosity, and imagination are central to the movement of the story. The book also includes a biography of Zora Neale Hurston, and a timeline of her e book does have a few sobering moments, as it opens with man being killed by an alligator. Subsequently, we learn that the main characters father left city to search work, and never returned, a traveling man the kids meet and befriend is found murdered with his head missing, and then a strange, quiet man who is the topic of Zora's tall-tales dies in his sleep. All of this misfortune concerning the men of Eatonville however, lends itself to a lot of discussion and instruction possibilities, not the least of which is Zora's "coming of age" and learning the truth about life. These truths, contain one characters decision to "pass" for white which is the source of both confusion and tragedy. Zora wades through it all within her circle of family, mates and help and does so with audacious determination and curiosity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zora and Me []  2020-2-12 18:59

    This story takes put in Eatonville, Florida; the first incorporated all black township in the United States. Zora, one of the main characters, believes that she has seen one of their neighbors as half man half gator, but the other kids in city do not believe her. When people in city begin to obtain damage or killed, she believes it is the gatorman that is responsible. She sets out with her best mates to prove she is right. This is a mystery book loosely based on the life of Zora Neal Hurston. Zora was a young girl with a wild imagination. She grew up to write a lot of stories of African-American folklore. This book was a very interesting read. I couldn't wait to search out how things ended. It is rated for ages 10 and up. I would recommend this book for any age group. There is mystery, murder and intrigue happening. It is told from the first person perspective which helps you to connect with the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nona and Me []  2020-7-12 18:58

    Nona and Me was an incredibly deep and emotional story of two childhood mates who reconnect again as almost adults. Uniquely Australian, I loved being transported to the little community where the saying 'it takes a village to raise a child', no truer words have been spoken. Rosie's parents are separated, but hold in contact. Both are powerful in their beliefs of supporting their local communities and have raised Rosie to be accepting, respectful and treat others with dignity. But once Nona, her childhood mate moved away, Rosie lost her method and became another little minded girl who just wanted to fit in with the crowd. Old habits die hard and when Nona returns, Rosie goes as far as to hide her association with her, for fear of being the center of gossip among her mates and losing the keen eye of Nick. My heart broke for Nona, Rosie cared far more about others impressions of her than wanting to reconnect with her na was a lovely character, spirited and as attractive as she was fast witted. I would have loved to have seen her point of view and learnt more about where she'd been and how her life was growing up away from Yirrkala. The storyline is set in an era where an 'intervention' was introduced into the Northern Territory, restricting the choices of Native Australians and all based on the misinformation of the government in power at the time. Nona and Me addresses the problems within the community, the lack of job opportunities within the fictional town, leading to depression and suicide. It was incredibly raw and moving, and highlighted the injustice and a lot of forms of racism that run rampant within the fictional city and the wider society as a ck's hero is one example of a boy who has formed his own opinions from that of his parents, his wealthy father seeing the Indigenous community as second class, not worth his time or patience and passing the same bigoted beliefs onto his son. It isn't long until Nick shows his true, misguided opinions, seeking his father's approval at the expense of others. Sadly, Rosie stood idly by and excused his behavior. In one particular chapter, where Nick was introduced to Rosie's father, where like the government at the time, Nick's opinions were based on misinformation and preconceived notions of the community. Rosie's father is a phenomenal character. Sensitive, educated and opinionated.We're all fundamentally human. We all feel, bleed, hurt, love.I loved it. It was moving, emotional and gave me a sense of righteousness that Rosie was able to create her own independent decisions, while learning a tough life lesson.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nona and Me []  2020-7-12 18:58

    Beautifully written and researched, with complex intercultural problems in a heartfelt and insightful way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Malcolm and Me []  2020-7-26 20:12

    As I listened to this audio book, I grew to have an affection for the author. His style is informal and intelligent. I'm probably five to ten years younger; but I grew up during the era of his focus, so much of his story was familiar. What struck me, however, was how a person's put and time restricts what they know and understand about the broader culture. He relays the contradictions of the period, of the passions, the hypocrisies, and of people doing their best to test to obtain it right. Definitely worth checking out -- short, and yet moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Me and Mrs. Jones []  2020-6-12 19:15

    Old School sounds. There is none better

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Me and Mrs. Jones []  2020-6-12 19:15

    I grew up on this song. I recall a day in early fall, I was missing my love and I played this song over and over again. Love the voice, love the sentiment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Me and Mrs. Jones []  2020-6-12 19:15

    So soulful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anne Frank and Me []  2020-6-10 19:21

    The authors of ANNE FRANK AND ME have accomplished a phenomenal task. They have written a Holocaust novel that is deeply moving without being a depressing read. Like THE DIARY OF ANNE FRANK itself, the ultimate notice of Bennett & Gottesfeld's book is one of hope. Both books demonstrate that even in the midst of the most horrendous violations of human rights, amazing people still exist who can create a difference. Without trivializing the historical tragedy, both books paint three-dimensional portraits of true teenagers, just as concerned with fashion and dating as they are with whether they will live or die. This juxtaposition is refreshingly realistic. Nicole Burns is an average teenager, at times intolerant, boy-crazy, and uninterested in schoolwork. She, like most of the characters in this book, is not 100% amazing nor 100% evil. In a misguided effort to be politically correct, some authors of historical fiction create their characters sinners or saints, leaving the reader with the impression that she could never relate to these larger-than-life people. But teens will identify with Nicole. They will realize that the Holocaust happened to ordinary people like themselves, and that it could happen again. This story will hook even reluctant readers with its humor and up-to-date setting, including Nicole's own website. Nicole's time-travel to Paris in 1942 is believably handled. Happenings become gradually more intense, so that by the time Nicole is in true danger, readers who would not normally choose a "serious," "educational" book will hold reading to search out what happens next. You will cry. You will also smile. You will definitely think and learn. What more could you ask from a book?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    I thought it was only toys and me videos

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    I love your videos tiyana its super cool even I love shopkins

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    I love toys and me 😁😀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Toys And Me Videos [App]  2017-10-22 21:8

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mrs. Kennedy and Me []  2020-2-7 19:36

    The short:This book is a moving memoir of the Secret Service agent, Clint Hill, who was assigned to guard Jackie Kennedy and who almost - but not quite - created it in time to take the fatal bullet for her husband, president John F. Kennedy, when he was brutally assassinated on 22 November 1963 in Dallas, is a book for people interested in the 'normal' lives of the Kennedys (as normal as they could ever be!), and who wish to read about the spectacular happenings and the daily routines, the heartwarming and sometimes embarrassing, and look over the should of a first-hand witness to all of this as well as all the tragedies, such as the loss of baby Patrick and Kennedy Sr.'s stroke. It is all in this book, as experienced by the man who guarded and served Jackie Kennedy virtually 24/7. No gossip. Only a stint of politics. And absolutely no conspiracy-theories. You will have to go elsewhere for all e narrative is constrained at times by the understandable need for Mr. Hill to still protect his own privacy as well his laudable intention to protect some privacy for Jackie's memory - an intention which conflicts somewhat with the genre and topic, but there you have it. However, Mr. Hill's dry wit anecdotes and emotional (but never sentimental) accounts of how it was to be part of American history through all of these times more than compensates for that constraint. And it is an added that there are a lot of pictures of the family, and especially of Jacqueline, in less formal is book has my warmest recommendations if you are just the least bit interested in this legendary first family of the United e long:This book is, for all intents and purposes, a decision to heal for Mr. Hill himself and a final bonus to his beloved "Mrs. Kennedy" - as he always refers to is healing in the sense, as Mr. Hill has described in the afterword, of being able to allow go of the past by allowing his feelings about all that happened (good and bad) to finally be ... shared. Instead of keeping it all in the "dungeon", as he calls it - a dungeon from which he almost never emerged after a near-fatal war with alcoholism in the late 70s and early 80s, following his Secret Hill is indeed ably assisted in this healing process by co-author Lisa McCubbin and it is probably her pen that allows the most vivid descriptions of everything from Onassis' opulent yacht to the colourful crowd spectacles from Paris to Pakistan to come to life. I did, however, obtain the clear sense from reading - as well as from watching interviews with both of them on YouTube later on - that McCubbin has never played anything but respectful and conscientious role as facilitator for Mr. Hill's nce the book, from a commercial and journalistic POV, to a huge degree has had to take into acc the appeal to an audience who is probably very interested in the glamour that surrounded Jackie Kennedy, it is refreshing that every time her 'Camelot-life' comes close to exhausting the arsenal of English superlatives, then there is *always* a dry anecdote directly from Hill to balance it all. For example: His recollection of the logistical head-aches about "how to obtain that damn horse home", when the Pakistani president gifted JBK with just such an animal during a state visit.And not to forget - to balance the glamour, there is also, sadly, the whole series of soul-burdening happenings in the lives of the Kennedys: The stroke and incapacitation of Kennedy's father, the loss of baby Patrick, or the row of high-strung political exigencies, culminating in the Cuban Missile Crisis, when president Kennedy only narrowly avoided the unspeakable: Nuclear for the political crises, however, they are only sketched - and the so called scandals are only hinted at. But I didn't feel any of the latter were 'glossed over' - never in a method which reduced my overall enjoyment of the book. Sometimes the deliberate downplaying of some of the salacious stories the Kennedy's have become known for actually created me smile and gain more respect for him at the same time:When Mr. Hill for example refers to Marilyn Monroe's infamous birthday song to the president with only one sentence: "We never discussed this" - I felt it spoke volumes both as to his awareness of what it *may* have signified to the president's wife - but also to his professional ethic of not going into the whole 'scandal-discussion' (read: alleged infidelities). He curtly acknowledges what may have been there and moves on. And I appreciated my view the subjects of, say, the alleged infidelity of JFK or the overspending of on 'excessive holidays' of JBK, seem somewhat petty considering that JFK were in constant physical pain, and dealing with crises that included avoiding possible nuclear war, plus the rest of his 24/7 political life and results. And Jackie lost her *second* kid during all this and had her share of exhausting political duties as well, all the time being chased by paparazzi. Her a lot of weeks abroad were definitely not spent *only* on water-skiing and sight-seeing.I have some mixed feelings, though, regarding the very limited focus on the family of Mr. Hill himself in the book. The consequences of such single-minded devotion to his job obviously cost his wife and children, but, like leading the United States, Hill's job was a job that *somebody* had to do. Somebody had to be willing to the to protect the leader and his family all year round, on travels, etc. After thinking about it, I can only say that I feel it is a very modern POV that may compel us - myself included - to judge harshly a man from 50 years ago, who leaves his home 80 percent of the time to do this kind of job. It should also be highlighted that Mr. Hill was probably the sole breadwinner, although this is never stated specifically. But even if this was not so, his excessive work-hours were part and parcel of normal gender-roles in the 1950s and 1960s.I am not saying it was all 'okay', then. I am glad that the times, at least to some degree, seem to be heading towards more equality and consciousness about the importance of work/family-balance - even for military and other necessary jobs. Nevertheless, I did miss a bit more attention to the family consequences for Mr. Hill himself, though - and I missed it especially when I looked in vain for a comment on what he told his wife and kids during the Missile Crisis! So that is why there is one star less than five in this review. However, I do think it is beside the point to create too huge a out of this lack. Mr. Hill is obviously a very personal person and those *were* various times. For some people in our Western globe that is still the method roles are distributed in the family.(BTW: I did a YouTube-search and found a C-SPAN interview from 2012 with Mr. Hill. It answers some of the questions about the family repercussions from his career with the Kennedys, which are barely touched on in this book).The bottom line is: This book is NOT about Hill's family - or even about the Kennedy family at its deepest level. It was written, as said, as part of a path to healing - healing the trauma from having been unable to foil an *assassination* . That is worthwhile l of this brings me, at length, to the second purpose I believe this book had: It was also written to be a gift. To Jacqueline this method of seeing the book dawned on me while I was reading, I gradually gave up trying to second-guess Mr. Hill's feelings from 50 years ago and label them either as 'being in love' or as 'friendship'. His feelings for Jacqueline were neither, the more I think about it. And it was not helpful, I found, to test to squeeze them into this or that category. It was - and is - enough for me to realize just this: There grew between Jacqueline Kennedy and Mr. Hill a powerful human bond, including a high degree of mutual respect, both of which inevitably comes from living and working so close to another person, and for being responsible for her life and safety - even if you are in two very various leagues as regards economic and political e closest I can come to a categorization here is 'courtly love' - the relationship that a knight of old could have with a fair lady to whom he professed his undying devotion and dedicated protection. The knight would even swear that he was willing to go to his death for his lady, and add a lot of heartfelt professions of 'love' to this vow- even though it was understood that he and his chosen lady would never speak personally or touch in a romantic or sensual way. It is definitely not the method of modern lovers. It is not a friendship in any normal sense of the word. It certainly is not a guise for lust. It is ... something else. It is also deeply fascinating to me, when this kind of relation seems to crop up again in the modern world. And at one point Mr. Hill indeed remarks that a lot of of the other agents felt the same method about Jackie. They were willing to go through fire and water for her. But he became the most dedicated of them y people, myself included, probably won't ever understand the real quality of the bond Mr. Hill came to experience towards Jacqueline Kennedy ... and perhaps he doesn't even understand it fully himself to this day. He can only acknowledge that it existed, and for all its costs, it was something precious to him, even as it came to be precious for her - whatever particular reasons Mrs. Kennedy may have had herself to acknowledge this bond (which she does at some pivotal moments in the story).By sharing with the globe some of that beauty that was indeed Jackie Kennedy's life - and especially that which was the bond between her and her protector - Mr. Hill has contributed to balance the glaring spotlight of endless political disseminations of the Kennedy years, the shadows of their a lot of tragedies and of course the 'scandalism' which has always been magnetically associated to their lives. In sharing this story has also created a courageous attempt allow go of a Guilt that must have lasted the better part of 50 years. A guilt, which at the end of the day, is about the most horrifying, unthinkable happening of all: Not being able to save the life of someone you care seems that this particular guilt has haunted Mr. Hill since that fateful day in 1963 and I think I can now understand why, although I never gave it much thought until this book dropped into my lap. I was always interested in the conspiracy theories, and to some extend in the politics. Not so much in the people, in the family. Mr. Hill invited me to focus on this, and by doing so he also took me to a point where I could care and sense the despair of not being able to protect r not only did Mr. Hill fail to save a husband and a father and a president, he also failed to save the *happiness* of this man's wife - whom he was devoted to and had also sworn to serve and protect. In a way, Mr. Hill must have felt that the bullets that took Kennedy's life had indeed did hit Mrs. Kennedy. Not in her body, but in her soul. It was just a few months after the most latest tragedy of her dead infant child, after all, and now the assassination had taken one who was most precious from her - her husband. The pain of this loss was real, and raw and shattering, whatever strains, true or imagined, that the Kennedy marriage had been topic to until that day. Mr. Hill's description of Jackie after the assassination leaves no doubt as to is book can never erase the horror that was true 22 November 1963. It can never completely erase the sense of failure and depression that inevitably had to come after, if you were a de facto part of the president of the United States' family like Mr. Hill seemed to have become. It is the same horror for everyone who is human - rich and popular or the millions of Others, lesser known, in this globe who have lost loved ones to a murderer, in all of history. Murder is murder. Death is death. Failure to protect from this atrocity brings crushing guilt. Both grief and guilt may never truly be wiped away from the mind and the heart. But I believe they can, in time, be balanced in such a method that they become bearable to live with, maybe even fade into the background as the Amazing once again becomes what matters.I feel that with this book, Mr. Hill has created his deeply private commitment, long overdue, to not allow the guilt win. He has therefore opted to present us, alongside the horror and grief, the real beauty of both some very true parts of Mrs. Kennedy's life and of that unique bond that grew between these two, admittedly, very various persons. All as he saw and lived it.I don't think there is any need to point out that you can never truly be a 'failure' if you unhesitatingly throw yourself between an killer and that assassin's victim - even if the latest shot has been fired (which you do not know) - and even if there was nothing in the first put which you could have done to reach that person *in time* to block the killing bullets. (Mr. Hill was on a vehicle behind the Kennedys and he barely was able to reach the president's vehicle in time to latch on to it and shield Mrs. Kennedy from further harm, before the vehicle sped towards Parkland Hospital.) So there was failure for Mr. Hill that day, yes, but only in a professional sense. Never in a human at is an intellectual exercise, however, and one which did not support Mr. Hill, especially in those years when he looked too deeply into the bottle. There inevitably arises a need to heal such a large wound in your memory, by finally allowing the memory to *be* there - without further judgment; by finally deciding to lift your gaze up again so you can see and appreciate once more the *entire* picture of the lives and bonds that were real, and not just see them from the vantage point of the day they all ended. And then to give that beauty and love back, in the form of this book, to someone you felt that you had taken it all from, even if she is no longer with us in the here and r Mr. Hill had never really taken anything from Mrs. Kennedy. He only gave selflessly.With this book he has given her memory - and thus our memory - something precious.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386