mead mountain blues Reviews & Opinions


Submit mead mountain blues review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This book wasn't what I expected. It's more for a serious birder since it goes into how they build a nest and where in the woods they are likely to be seen. There are very few pictures and no color pictures at all. Mostly drawings. I am looking for more of a backyard bird book to recognise the birds that visit my feeders and the trees in my yard and surrounding area. I would send back for a refund but it would cost almost as much as the book costs so I will end up donating it to the local used book store

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    I found this book to be for the birds. Extremely wordy and only a handful of black and white prints of birds. The format does not let for fast and simple access to identifying bird species at a glance. It does not serve my need if I have to find through lengthy text to obtain info about a species that I can't identify until I see a color photo.I'm sure the author spend much time in gathering info for this book such as which birds are found in what areas... however, unless you are an experienced bird watcher or ornithologist, this book may be difficult to follow without prior bird knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    nice

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on mead mountain blues or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch mead mountain blues video reviews and related movies:

    See Bela Fleck & Tony Trischka Mead Mountain Blues on youtube.

     related image

    See Mead Mountain by B.K. Dell on youtube.

     related image

    See MIDDLE MOUNTAIN MEAD *** ARTISAN HONEY WINERY on HORNBY ISLAND BC on youtube.

     related image

    See Blue Ridge Mountain Blues on youtube.

     related image

    See Twilight Kingdom- Tony Trischka & Béla Fleck on youtube.

     related image

    See Purple Mountain Majesties on youtube.

     related image

    See Chuck Mead & Elizabeth Cook "Pickin' Wild Mountain Berries" on youtube.

     related image

    See Pickin Wild Mountain Berries (feat. Elizabeth Cook) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This is a marvelous book about the birds of the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are a lot of interesting tidbits that support you go to locations where you can have the opportunity to see certain birds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This book is an all-around treasure, for the beginning birder or the experienced ornitholigist, living in or near the Blue Ridge, planning to visit the Appalachian region, or even simply interested in this world-class region. The first fifty pages constitute an introduction to the Appalachian province and birding in general. The rest of the book profiles the birds of over 300 locations, where to go to see them, and how to obtain there. The book includes over two dozen maps, and even info about birding spots with handicapped access; an annotated checklist of birds; and a tutorial to contacts and resources for particular areas. It also features the drawings of H. Douglas Pratt. Part travel guide, part natural history, part handbook, this book is above all a joy.(This review originally appeared November 29, 2000)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This book is an all-around treasure, for the beginning birder or the experienced ornitholigist, living in or near the Blue Ridge, planning to visit the Appalachian region, or even simply interested in this world-class region. The first fifty pages constitute an introduction to the Appalachian province and birding in general. The rest of the book profiles the birds of over 300 locations, where to go to see them, and how to obtain there. The book includes over two dozen maps, and even info about birding spots with handicapped access; an annotated checklist of birds; and a tutorial to contacts and resources for particular areas. It also features the drawings of H. Douglas Pratt. Part travel guide, part natural history, part handbook, this book is above all a joy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    If you were a fan of Matt Slocum's awesome lyrics, or a groupie of Sixpence None the Richer (particularly before the pop stardom of "Kiss Me"), then you must be curious about the solo effort of songbird Leigh Nash. I couldn't resist. I bought the album without hearing a g mistake? Not at all. Leigh's voice has always mixed the innocence of a kid and the world-weary experience of a woman. Here, as is to be expected, her voice is the hook. While the melody falls somewhere between indie pop and art rock lite, the lyrics are genuine and effective, and Leigh's sincerity of tone lifts each song above the ordinary. None of the songs are as effervescently pop-sounding as "There She Goes," and none of them reach the dark moodiness of Sixpence's "This Attractive Mess." Instead, between the wide-eyed hope and weary reality, Leigh Nash shares a refreshing outlook that is nevertheless thought I miss the edginess of the old Sixpence, I am pleasantly surprised by my appreciation for Leigh's private effort here. I'll hold letting these songs grow on me, while cheering for her to continue on this revitalized career path.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    Believe it or not, I had not heard of Leigh Nash or Six Pence None the Richer up to four weeks ago. Then, while surfing the net I came across the video clip of My Idea of Heaven and I immediately became a fan. Leigh's voice is as smooth as silk and loaded with emotion. She reminds me very much of a toned down Deloris O'Riordan who I like very much too. I was very impressed with just about every song on this CD. My favorites were My Idea of Heaven, More of It, Angle Tonight and Blue. I liked Leigh so much I even purchased the Christmas CD The Dawn of Grace. Do yourself a favor and buy this CD. Amazing melody is hard to come by these days and this one is a winner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    I'm not a melody reviewer but I have just a bit to say. I had never heard of Leigh Nash until "My Idea of Heaven" was playing on a blog I was reading. Somehow the song moved me to tears. I came straight here to Amazon and bought the CD without a second thought. Her voice is remarkable and her collaboration with the other musicians involved is perfect. It's one of those albums I can listen to more than once at a time and love every min of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    I'm glad I purchased this CD. The songs are works of art. With a attractive painting, one is enriched in various ways with each viewing. The songs in this CD have this appeal for me. I seem to gain greater appreciation for the work each time I listen. The songs are romantic, yet carry the undercurrent (I search amusing and sometimes comedic) of our incompatibility as male and female. I also have fun Leigh Nash's lovely voice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    I have to say it's been a very long time since I was so moved and impressed by one particular album. This CD is the absolute excellent mix of amazing melody, lyrics, and the angelic voice of Leigh Nash. I only recently discovered the CD on Amazon and after listening to the preview tracks I immediately purchased the Mp3's digitally from the website! It's been getting a everyday listening for weeks now and my appreciation for each unbelievable track grows each day. My favorite track is "Never Finish", with the most unbelievably catchy chorus I've ever heard in music. (Particularly the quirky emphasis on the word "forever" in the song)Please! Please, Ms. Nash create another album soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    I'm a huge fan of Sixpence None The Richer. So when I heard Leigh Nash was coming out with an album I was looking forward to it, but was cautiously hopeful.Leigh's singing sounds familiar and as unbelievable as ever, but the musical composition is something new. The songs seem to have a more obvious hook than Sixpence's songs had, and they seem to follow a clearer is is not to say the songs aren't clever or original, they are! If you liked Sixpence None The Richer, I think you'll like this as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    If you are a fan of the gentle, gliding voice of Leigh Nash, you will have fun the selection of Blue on Blue. Leigh has a method of infusing each song with music beyond the music. When I play the record I search my mood elevating as I am lead by her sweet vocals into the careful lyrics. Some of the songs are pop-y, but I don't mind that because she is such a pleasure to have in the atmosphere. Each song is like a small joyous morsel that I look forward to unwrapping as the previous song a fan of Sixpence and her Delerium track, I am satisfied to have found Blue on Blue. It's definitly worth the buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    I have owned this album for several months now and it is still one that I listen to regularly. I search that there is something enchanting about Leigh's voice. It has a special texture. It is simple, unaffected, interesting and sweet. The selections on the album perfectly fit the quality of her voice. The whole thing is an simple and enjoyable listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    After I listen to this cd a couple more times, I stop play it! (Don't even have to desire to listen to this cd again, which is kinda unusually for me) There's just something seems to be missing in this CD. Don't obtain me wrong, I think Leigh Nash has a attractive voice, but when VERY song sounds so soft and DULL, it just gets kinda boring. I mean everytime i finish listen to the whole CD, none of the song actually stick to my mind, i guess what i am trying to say is that this CD has NO EXCITIMENT! So, i suggest those who still haven't obtain this cd and about to obtain it. I really think you should see and test to borrow this cd from a mate and listen to it a couples day, and if you search yourself liking it more and more, then go ahead and obtain it. Because I think it's stupid to spend $14 bucks (it's not a lot, but you can obtain a amazing film though???) on a cd, and later you going to hate it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue on Blue review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    Leigh has one of those intoxicating voices that you love to hear, like Alison Krause, or Norah Jones. I loved Sixpence None the Richer and when I saw this album I listened to some of the cuts on Youtube and just had to own the album. If you loved the song Kiss Me, obtain this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Mountain Ski Resort review [App]  2019-11-10 13:46

    I think that the Play Shop description should indicate where the resort is. This Blue Mountain is in the USA; there is another Blue Mountain resort in Ontario, Canada, with a various app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Mountain Ski Resort review [App]  2019-11-10 13:46

    Application will not let you to scan QR code on receipts to keep credit on checkins.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    This book provides a glimpse not only into the medical and sociological challenges of Haiti and other impoverished regions, but into the culture of those who serve, help those who serve and in a lot of cases obstruct those who serve. Mr. Farmer's view of all human life being worthy of an opportunity to live is refreshing in an era of global narcissism. Mr. Kidder did an exceptional job capturing Paul Farmer's character, dedication, commitment and single-minded focus, but I still came away not fully understanding what drives him at his core. This lack of understanding my be my fault as I've been trained to seek a "root cause" when I analyze a situation, in a culture where everyone has an agenda. Regardless, I applaud Mr. Farmer and the thousands of other unnamed global servants who engage on a life level helping those who most need help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I had this book for a long time before reading it. When I would think of reading Mountains Beyond Mountains, I felt challenged. Actually that is a amazing thing as I understood how difficult Dr. Farmer's causes were and how dedicated and influential he was. I learned a lot about TB and other diseases prevalent in other locations and how difficult but important the treatments are. The broad funding requirements, the political dance, the education of others besides caring for patients created the PIH so crusty and difficult. Still with dedication and energy much has been accomplished is several critical places. The globe owes a amazing debt to Dr. Paul Farmer and others who dedicate their lives to caring for those who don't have the means or ability to support themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I finished this remarkable book a couple of weeks ago and have been too busy learning more about Paul Farmer and others who have been working for decades to improve the health, well-being, and living conditions for people in Haiti, Peru, and Russia to write a review. A co-founder of Partners In Health, Dr. Farmer and his cohorts continue to give of their time, money, talents, and just about all of their resources to support ease the suffering of the poor, hungry, sick, imprisoned, and dying.Until reading Tracy Kidder’s book, I didn’t know men like Farmer and his ilk existed. Someone asked me if he was a Christian, and I replied that he doesn’t talk much about his religious beliefs except for a frequent reference to the 40th verse in Matthew 25: “Verily, I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” Farmer definitely walks the is is the second of Kidder’s books that I have read, the first being Strength in What Remains. His books are filled with fact after fact about things I’ve never considered. For example, I now know about Burundi and the genocide there, but until two years ago I had never heard of this small, incredibly not good country and Deo, one of its citizens who escaped the genocide and became a doctor after living as a homeless man in both of these books, Kidder’s stage descriptions of Haiti, Cuba, NYC, Burundi, and several other locales are so realistic that the reader can see, hear, and smell the environments. He’s also a master at hero description and in adding an encyclopedic array of facts while holding the reader’s interest (mine anyway). Although I knew economics and medicine were related, I now have a deeper understanding of the interplay between politics, poverty, wealth, and healthcare.If you wish to obtain out of your comfort location and learn more about the globe and some of its people, read Mountains Beyond Mountains.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Thank you Tracy Kidder. It was hard to place this book down. I felt as if I'd walked every mile with Paul Farmer through remote mountain villages where he helped people suffering from maladies that took root in the midst of poverty, isolation and lack of knowledge. Reading this story, my takeaway was this: When we do have occasion to meet people like Dr. Farmer, we are fortunate if we recognize we are in the presence of someone who is living out his or her mission without holding back. Passionately, tirelessly and with perseverance. Deserving of our gratitude and support. Kidder does an admirable job by providing an accurate and respectfully written portrayal of Dr. Farmer with the power to inspire others to follow in his footsteps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I had to read this book for school summer work so of course I went into it not having high hopes, but it ended up being one of the most educational and eye opening nonfiction stories I ave ever read. There were a lot of life lessons that I learned throughout the novel and a lot of lessons dealing with globe medical history, racism, diversity, politics, and the problem of poverty in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Tracy Kidder is the master journalist, like a clear window on the world. Long ago I read The Soul of a Fresh Machine and liked it, but didn't think too much about it. The brilliance of Kidder's style is so create you feel like you are there, really feel what the topic is about, without any distortion positive or negative.What an awesome topic for this work: Dr. Paul Farmer. This guy is just amazing! As a college student, he travels to Haiti to dedicate himself to the poor. He attends Harvard while spending 8 months a year in Haiti building his own hospital there. He gets a PhD in Anthropology at the same time he gets his MD, the latter not surprising given that he already has 6 years of intense clinical experience dealing directly with life and death situations. You would expect such a person to take on airs, maybe be a huge proud of himself, maybe even be motivated by the 'big bucks' so clearly available in a rich city. Dr. Farmer appears to be vying for a "saint" award. Kidder makes you feel like you are there sitting in the same room, and it is no huge say this book is inspiring is badly understating it. Look at what you can do if you keep real to your ideals! It is humbling as well. Dr. Farmer is my age, and I can't support drawing parallels with my own life, and there is no method I could do a fraction of what he is done. Yet I don't need to: it is satisfying to know that there are people like him in the ere is so much to learn from the book. Never give in, and never give up! His everyday accomplishments are so small, and yet at the same time so profound and consistent. It is all about "caring". If you care about your friends, your neighbors, your family, and - yes - the rest of the world, how can you not love a person who literally saves people on a everyday basis? Are we seeing a saint walking among us? One has to is is a story that needs to be told. It reminds me a lot of Three Cups of Tea. If only we could motivate others to do the same -- if only we could motivate ourselves to do the same -- the globe could be a better place. How refreshing to read about a true superhero.While continuing to work in Haiti, he started to investigate Lima Peru, where there was a disturbing trend: people with Tuberculosis that was resistant to 4, maybe even 5 of the top antibiotics. He goes there and finds that in general Peru is competently following a program in strict accordance to WHO standards. The issue was the WHO guidelines! How to raise this problem without alienating the world's most necessary health organization, or the officials in Peru. At the same time, what can be done about drugs with inflated costs putting them out of reach of these not good patients?His travels take him to the prisons in Russia, which has a an extreme issue with TB as well. Prisoners are simple to study and monitor. He points out that the prisons are like a pump that cycles TB into the general population with prisoners who stay a few years and bring the disease back with him. You almost cheer when he gets a grant from the Gates foundation to develop a modified procedure to war MDR-TB.He does not do any of this all by himself. There are a lot of truly dedicate people who recognize his talent and follow/help him all along the way. Kidder manages to capture a lot of of these people as well. At still, Farmer's true talent is to be the catalyst that makes it all come together. It might be better to say it all flows around him...In the end, his success is due to one easy talent, and he says it best in his own words: "I like people." It is hard not to like him back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Read either this book to understand why so a lot of Haitians have migrated to Chile! Read this book to understand how one person really CAN change the world. Read this book to see that there really are selfless people in the world. John Farmer has changed so a lot of people's lives, in spite of his modesty he had Tracy Kidder for follow him around the globe for about 3 years, that in itself must have taken a amazing deal of tolerance. The author portrays John Farmer as an inspirational driven figure that you would just love to meet. His way of dealing with the not good and sick people of central Haiti, is to improve their lives not only their health, facing up the world's health authorities methods and getting them to understand what is important to tackle not only TB and AIDS, but drug resistant TB. My only question is, why did not they not vaccinate the healthy Haitians versus TB? I know it is not one of the best vaccines, but it could have reduced the number of fresh cases. PIH does seem to have a vaccination programme now, though I am not clear as to whether this is versus TB. Having seen in Uganda, where AIDS was so rampant in 1992 and because the symptoms of the 2 diseases are so similar, people with TB would just give up as they thought they had AIDS. Haiti's issues come from being a French slave colony, Papa Doc's Tonton Macoute and the US building a dam, flooding the interior fertile valley, to suite US investors, and of course the usual corruption. John Farmer sees the reality but it does not stop him from dedicating himself to the lot of the poor. I loved the first half of the book, but got a bit bogged down with the large number of projects that he tries to cover, in the second half, but this is important to cover the number of projects that Farmer got involved with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Let's begin by saying that the author is a Pulitzer-prize award winner. He's a journalist who writes the most wonderful and inspiring works of non-fiction. So, it shouldn't be a surprise that Mountains Beyond Mountains fits this description. Tracy spent years following the works of Dr. Paul Farmer, focusing on his work in Haiti and the development of Partners in Health. This man has dedicated his entire life, so far, to serving the not good and medically underserved. Despite the consequences that his work has caused in his private life and the lack of sleep he gets, he gives unreservedly to others. Although Kidder often portrays him as a "saint", he ensures that the reader is also aware of Farmer's flaws. However, these flaws often spur him on to do even more for others. Once Farmer reaches a goal, he strives toward the next one, living out the Haitian proverb that "beyond mountains there are mountains". Mountains Beyond Mountains is a amazing read that flows well and takes the reader around the globe to locations where people struggle to get the easy necessities of life.... reminding us that there is much work to be done in terms of equality and health world-wide.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Tracy Kidder's "Mountains Beyond Mountains" is the remarkable story of Paul Farmer. I knew nothing of Farmer before starting this book and left with a sense of awe and inspiration both for he has accomplished and how accomplished it. In an era where people bandy about the word character fairly freely, Farmer truly deserves that moniker. His selfless devotion to the health of those in extreme poverty and the work he and his organization, Partners in Health, has done in Haiti, Russia and Peru (what Kidder covers in this book) has saved countless lives of nameless and faceless people in environments words could hardly do justice. Kidder strikes the right balance about Farmer in this book. He doesn't exalt him to saintly status. He is able to marvel and chronicle the relentless work and insane pace that Farmer keeps while not glossing over hero traits that undoubtedly often frustrate Kidder and probably create Farmer challenging in the eyes of a lot of that deal with him. For instance, despite Farmer's success with Partners in Health, Kidder wonders whether it is sustainable without him and his force of will, perseverance and personality. Regardless of your political leanings, only the most jaded and negative person could read this book and not come away somewhat mesmerized by Farmer --- and feel a bit inferior at the same time. During this era of film star and athletic worship, Farmer is the type of individual we should be celebrating and exalting as a real character and I'm glad someone as accomplished as Tracy Kidder wrote such a compelling book about him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    It's rare that a book of nonfiction can keep my attention in the same method as fiction, but this real adventure had me enthralled. And even better it was full of hope and joy! And an audacity that got the impossible done! The globe needs a hundred, or thousands of Paul Farmers. Hopefully this book will search its method into the hands of those thousands of young people who wish to chsnge the globe but don't know how. Paul Farmer will present you the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing the Blue Mountain: A Guide for the Spiritual Journey review []  2020-1-19 22:28

    I have bought several of his books and they are all keepers. He knows how to show complicated material in a method that the daily person can comprehend. I bought this right after my Dad died, and it was a amazing read for where I was at that time. But all of his books that I've purchased have been amazing and none of them ended up in the "sell back" back. Check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing the Blue Mountain: A Guide for the Spiritual Journey review []  2020-1-19 22:28

    Amazing book for spritually inclined

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing the Blue Mountain: A Guide for the Spiritual Journey review []  2020-1-19 22:28

    Fantastically articulated. Brings a warmth and compassion to the Dharma that is less or missing from a lot of contemporary teachers. Presents meditation as accessible and possible and as a practice you wish to begin. Pema Chodron with added softness and warmth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing the Blue Mountain: A Guide for the Spiritual Journey review []  2020-1-19 22:28

    Another book of Spiritual clap-trap for those people who are "trying to search themselves". Come on people obtain a life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    The Breeze books remain fun to read, even more so with Breeze now in my part of the world. I have fun reading about locations I know. It was the same with all Florida based books when I lived in Florida. I am looking forward to the next Breeze book and will buy it the first day It is available.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    I love the method Ed Robinson brings you into the stories of his books. What would I do is a constant thought as I read. Love learning about the mountains and how Breeze and Brody are adapting to life apart from their boat. Perfect read, makes me wish to read more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    Our character Breeze, relocated from SW Florida to the Mountains of the Carolinas he and his partner Brody always seem to have "adventures" ahead of them. Even living in a sleepy city in the mountains.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    This is a story told through a series of vignettes of Breeze's fresh life. Things are never dull for Breeze and that's how he likes it. He shows us he is as adaptable to his mountain life as he did in the tropics. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    Ed Robinson is one of those authors that draws you into his books. He always makes me feel like I am there and alive as a character. I always hope to take my time and have fun his book over weeks, but I search myself staying up late and reading his book in 1-2 days. Another amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    I have read every book written by Robinson and have obviously enjoyed he work very much. This book however captivated me with an intrigue I hope to search in his next work . I'm waiting!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    Thought I'd miss the trawler thing. Didn't happen. Ed Robinson proves to be masterful story teller no matter the environment. I remain addicted to this series. Keeps getting better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    I have fun reading Ed Robinson. Read everything he's published so far. Sort of like sitting down and listening while a mate spins a plausible tall tale. Fun book that ends too soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    Amazing adventure as are all the Breeze books. I like the change from the sea to the mountains. A lot of mor possibilities for adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Ridge Breeze (Mountain Breeze Book 2) review []  2020-1-8 19:6

    I have enjoyed all Breezes adventures and this one was just as good. I am looking forward to the next in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Mountain Wallcoverings FB075271B Baseball Pile Prepasted Wall Border review []  2020-1-8 20:10

    Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    I'm taking a college Astronomy class and bought this as a latest min tool while on a VERY restricted budget. I have a small bit of previous experience with home telescopes but am a definite amateur. Telescopes can be very expensive and serve rather specialized purposes, but most people who wish to buy their first telescope really don't know what they want, need something that's a amazing compromise in a lot of locations so they can dabble and see what they like most in astronomy, and need something that wont break the bank in case they really don't obtain into observing much. The Meade Polaris 130 fits all those requirements and delivers a solid tool that (with a couple little upgrades) could serve well for a lifetime. I was surprised to search that most parts are metal and fairly sturdy. The scope's tube is steel. The EQ mount is massive cast steel. The tripod legs are fairly thick steel tubing. The mirror is parabolic (which is a amazing thing, and somewhat surprising considering how cheap this pack is). The aperture size of 130mm (5") is huge enough to actually capture light to see a lot of things in the night sky. The focuser is OK, it's built well with smooth action though it's a tad coarse, so at higher powers it can obtain a small tricky. The red dot finder that comes with this feels very cheap, yet it works very well and is simple to align with the scope and does a amazing job pointing the scope at objects. The EQ mount combined with the tripod is beautiful sturdy for such a cheap pack and is an necessary consideration as some cheap scopes really suffer in this area. The tripod comes pre-assembled so you just spread the legs, screw on the EQ mount, and then mount the scope. You certainly need to watch some videos to understand how to use an EQ mount if you haven't used one in the past, but it really boils down to pointing the scope at Polaris, locking down the main mounts solid, and then allowing the RA and Dec pivots to move freely so you can point the scope at other objects, and at that point you can track the object through its arcing path with a easy turn of a knob. It's well worth learning. In use, it does take some practice but after a couple hours of use it becomes beautiful intuitive. The scope comes with 3 eyepieces and a barlow (2x multiplier) that are the weakest components in this package. The 26mm and 9mm are OK for starting out, but the 6mm is just about useless. These eyepieces will obtain you up and running but suffer from significant distortion from center to edge and are just not terribly clear. The very first make batter you'll wish for this scope would be some decent Plossl eyepieces. The scopes end cap dust cover can serve as a moon filter by popping out a little plug to restrict most incoming light when viewing a huge bright moon. As for viewing with the included eyepieces you can certainly see a lot of amazing lunar details. You can see Jupiter and her moons and should be able to create out the colourful bands, though with limited clarity. You can easily pick up a lot of clusters and nebulae with the lower powered eyepieces if you learn where to look (get a star chart and/or download Stellarium for PC and StarChart for your mobile device). Test working through a list like the Messier program to give you an idea of what you should target. The scope will vibrate a little bit during focusing so you have to create little estimated focusing changes and wait just a short moment for it to settle but this is not unusual in a little cheap scope and mount. Overall, I think this scope is a amazing value that is well-built for the sub-200 price tag. Its weak eyepieces are typical of a cheap scope and you can't blame the manufacturer as very nice eyepieces can cost more than this entire package... they gave you something to obtain started with (some expensive scopes do not even come with an eyepiece as people prefer to chose their own) and you'll be doing the right thing when you buy one or more nicer eyepieces (Plossl's will begin as [email protected]#$%!30/each) to make batter this and enhance your observing experience for a lot of years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    i purchased this telescope as a family bonus for Christmas. I wanted a decent telescope but I wasn't sure if the children or myself would be all that interested in it and I didn't wish to drop $400 for something that's going to sit in my garage and collect dust. I settled on this one over the celestron simply because this one was the cheaper option. after using it for a few months I decided to write a review because there weren't very a lot of reviews at the time I created this purchase so I'm hoping to support out some others that are looking at this for a first rst off allow me say I rushed the assembly of the mount because we were all excited about getting it up and going. I did actually read the instructions and place everything together as amazing as I could. but in hindsight I should have paid more attention and not rushed it because later I realized that I had place it together sort of backwards, which could have led to some of the problems that I had which I will discuss later in the review. Setting it up took less than an hour although this being our first telescope I wasn't all that sure how to work everything. it has two control cables that move the right ascension and declination. the cables themselves are knobs that are on twisted steel cable. one of the knobs came loose from the cable so I used some super glue to fasten it back. I think this only happened because I had it assembled wrong the first time and I had twisted the knob after it was well past the point where that axis was supposed to stop. anyway, it fastened back together just fine and I eventually caught my mistake and corrected it. I have read reviews where people said it was either too hard to figure out or it took too much time to obtain something focused in the eyepiece and I can see why people would say that, but also once you figure out how the thing is supposed to move on the mount it doesn't take long at all set it up and begin viewing. it is a small massive and clunky to move around because of the counter weight that's attached to it but when I take it out I usually just remove the weight and place it back on after I move to its final viewing position as this only takes a few seconds.once I had the mount set up correctly I couldn't have been more happy with it. I think the control cables are a small too long. also, because its an equatorial mount the eyepiece is in a various position every time you turn to a various object and sometimes the control cable is on the opposite side of the eyepiece. fortunately there is a gear for mounting a motor that is connected to the RA control cable. for me it is easier to just rotate that gear than it is to fumble around trying to search the cable in the dark. also, the cables have a bit of slack or play in them but moving the gear itself is very smooth and gives you more delicate control, which I like.if you are still having some problems trying to move it into position for viewing I would like to tell you my process, which is fairly simple and painless. the problem I had was that I was expecting it to move differently than it actually does. there is an "up/down" (vertical) adjustment on it and at first I was confused as to why this was so hard to obtain right. instead of a locking screw and a control cable there is only a lock and an actual screw making it very difficult to adjust vertically. I have since figured out that you normally wont need to adjust this at all. I usually hold mine locked at 45 degrees. this was the hardest thing to wrap my head around at first, but trust me, follow this procedure and it will take you no time to obtain things set up and ready to rst create sure the vertical adjustment is 45 degrees or as close as you can obtain it and create sure its locked. create sure the RA and Declination are at 90 degrees and 0 degrees (I have forgotten which one is what, but you can't really obtain it wrong). it should look approximately like it looks in the picture. now loosen the nut at the bottom so that it freely swings from side to side. using a compass or a star swing the scope until it points north ( I don't usually use a compass I just know which method north is in my backyard and eyeball it). now tighten the nut down so that it doesn't swing side to side anymore. keep the tube that it doesnt fall over and loosen the locks for RA and Declination so that it freely pivots up and down at an angle and also from left to right. using just those two adjustments move the tube so that your target is lined up in the laser sight. slightly tighten the locks and place in the lowest mag eyepiece you have (mine is 28mm). using the control cables obtain the target in the center of the eyepiece and tighten down both locks. now you are set up. to hold the object in view all you should have to do is move the Right Ascension control cable or turn the gear that its connected to. to switch to a various target just loosen the RA and Declination nuts and move the tube as you did previously. you shouldn't have to mess with the vertical adjustment or the horizontal adjustment. I always begin out with the lowest mag eyepiece and gradually move higher and higher and always realigning so that the object is the direct center of the eyepiece before changing to the next. this process took me a while to figure out but now its so easy. I hope this saves someone a lot of time and hassle.on to the review:the first thing we looked at was the moon. it was very clear outside and it was a quarter moon. I have to say that we were hooked in the first 10 mins or so. I never knew the moon could look so fascinating! another hint is that quarter/half moons look much better than full or almost full. if its too huge then the light will wash out the features. the reason you can see so a lot of features is because of the contrast between the dark locations and the light locations and it looks absolutely stunning! it gets really grainy and hard to focus using very high magnification, but you honestly don't need much for the moon. even at low mag it is breathtaking. the next thing we looked at was Jupiter simply because it was very bright in the sky. even at low mag you can definitely see the 4 huge moons and can even see the shadow if one is crossing in front of the large planet. we had the best success with the 2x barlow and the 9mm eyepiece. you could clearly create out some of the bands, which was really neat. Jupiter is usually the first thing we look at now just because its simple to locate and its viewable from sundown until almost daylight. we are looking forward to viewing Saturn but at the show time it isn't viewable in my zone until around 2am so I guess we will wait a few months when it will be more easily observed.I don't like the focuser that's on it very much at all. in low mag its not poor but the higher you obtain in magnification the more precise you need to focus and that's where this one takes a turn for the worse. it jerks and shakes very badly making precise focusing all but impossible. you basically have to turn it a little, then look and see if its focused, turn it a little, then look, over and over and hope that you obtain it right. I plan on building something that will let me to have more precise control over it without actually touching it because its impossible to focus it while you are looking through eyepiece. method too jerky and method too much motion.I have seen reviewers say that the eyepieces that come with it are very substandard. I can't say this is real or not real because I don't really have anything to compare them to. I did buy a celestron eyepiece kit that came with extra eyepieces and some filters but seeing as how I don't know how "good" eyepieces compare to "bad" eyepieces I cannot elaborate on whether the stock ones are truly poor or not. for me the 6mm eyepiece doesn't focus all that well when paired with the 2x barlow. I think its just more magnification than the scope can handle. the 9mm one focuses decently (when you are lucky enough to obtain it focused with the poor focuser on the scope) so I was thinking about getting 7.5mm or 8mm one and see if that does any e laser sight that comes with it is decent once you obtain it pointed correctly. the only complaint I have about it is that I hold forgetting to turn it off once I obtain something positioned correctly so I've went through about 4 batteries already. luckily the batteries can be replaced without removing it so you don't have to hold aligning in short here is a little list of pros and cons:Pros:inexpensivefairly simple to set uponce you figure it out its very simple to obtain it e laser finder works fairly well although im sure there are better methodsit controls easily and once aligned you only need 1 adjustment to hold your target in view. you can even leave and come back and just roll the RA and it should come back into view without the need for works really, really well for an inexpensive scope. I was very happy with the info at which I could view things. very ns:it can be cumbersome to move aroundbecause of the equatorial mount the eyepiece may be in a really poor position for viewing forcing you to either loosen the screws and rotating the tube or raising/lowering the tripod legs. this isn't a large deal if you are viewing just a few objects that are relatively close to one another (which is usually what I end up doing specifically because of this reason)the focuser will aggravate you to no end at high magnificationassembly wasn't a large pain, but it was a small tricky to figure outI really want the laser finder had an auto shutoff or something. I hold forgetting to turn it off resulting in lots of batteries. its very simple to replace the battery requiring no tools and the batteries are not expensive but its a pain when you go through the problem of getting it out and setting it up and aligning it only to realize the batteries are dead.overall this is a amazing scope for the money. I would definitely recommend this for anyone wanting to make batter from a cheaper model or as a first telescope. there is a slight learning curve but its well worth the effort once you obtain the hang of it. you will probably wish to invest in some various eyepieces as most objects look best at various magnifications. my next projects are to search something that will let more precise focusing (I found an article online that describes how to build a motorized one using common servos and a rheostat for under $30) as well as getting the adapter so I can hook up a camera to it. this would be a 5 star review if it weren't for the focuser. the mount is extremely stable and very smooth when adjusting.Hope this helps.Michael

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    After playing around with inexpensive, smaller telescopes for a year (two years ago) this is the one I settled on as my make batter scope. On the whole I have been impressed and I am very satisfied with my purchase, but I was surprised by a few things. Now that I've used the Polaris 130 for a year I finally decided I was ready to share my rst a fast summary since some people don't like to read all of my s:-Good balance between portability and capability (my most necessary criteria)-Doesn't come with useless accessories-Solid tripod and mount-I like the versatile tripod tray-Quick to set up and tear down-Convenient carrying case is available (but not included)-Impressive low and medium power views, especially with eyepiece upgradesCons:-Not capable of quite as high a magnification as I expected-Doesn't contain collimation tools (this is common)-Eyepieces and Barlow are okay, but the scope really benefits from upgrades (easily remedied)-I don't like red dot finders (again, easily remedied)-Mine needed some adjustments to secondary mirror position (easy to fix)-Slow motion control for RA axis gets in the method sometimes (not a huge deal)I'll begin with some backstory: Two years ago my wife got me a couple telescopes for Christmas (a Rokinon 76mm reflector and a Coleman 50mm refractor). The reflector was good, the refractor... not so much. However, it sparked my interest in astronomy and I fell I love with the hobby. I also quickly outgrew the 76mm scope and wanted something with more horsepower. I didn't wish my wife to feel like I was rejecting her thoughtful bonus by immediately replacing it with something else, so I decided to live with the scope I had for a year before upgrading. I think that ended up being a amazing decision. I learned how to push the limits of what little scopes are capable of, and by using my little scope on as a lot of targets as possible I learned what kind of things I enjoyed observing. Mostly I liked nebulae and star clusters and I didn't particularly care for splitting double stars, which helped direct my shopping for the next telescope: a fairly quick telescope with more aperture that was still portable since I have to carry my telescope down a war of stairs outside in the dark, then down the block and across the road to a vacant lot in order to use it without being blocked by trees.I liked the Rokinon scope a lot, so I first looked at other Rokinon offerings. There was a long tube 130 that was appealing, but when looking at reviews everyone seemed to recommend Orion scopes, so I then looked there. Orion sold two 130s: the long tube "EQ" and the shorter "ST". Again, reviewers seemed to steer people toward the ST for its parabolic mirror. The shorter focal length sounded like it would be ideal for my en I noticed Celestron and Meade also created short tube 130s with parabolic mirrors. Which to get? What was the difference? Not a lot other than price it turns out, at least not that I can tell. The Orion scope came with more expensive accessories, but I didn't wish all that junk. I already had decent eyepieces and star charts and a flashlight, etc. and while the Orion's mirror came center-marked that wasn't hard to do myself on the Rokinon. The Orion came with a collimation cap but I already had a Cheshire and had gotten amazing at collimating my mirrors. The Meade was the cheapest of the three, seemed to come with the best tripod legs and didn't come with anything I didn't want. I was sold.I think the first thing I looked at was the Orion nebula, and I was not disappointed. There was a noticeable difference between the 130mm and the 76mm I'd been used to. Nice.I then noticed some other things: the phrase "gnat's rear end" comes to mind when it comes to focusing and high power views(anything over 100x) seemed to be not as sharp as I expected. Getting a amazing focus needed a lot of effort since the "sweet spot" was very little and simple to miss at higher powers. A two-speed focuser would have been wonderful, and I'm still looking for a method to make batter the focuser that won't break the mewhere along the method I'd picked up a broken cheap junk Bushnell 114mm f/7.8 reflector from a thrift shop to fix up and use as a loaner, so I set them up side-by-side to compare using Series 4000 Super Ploessls and a #140 apochromatic 2x Barlow and #128 3x Barlow (not at the same time) in the Meade and generic Chinese Ploessls and 2x Barlow in the Bushnell. To my surprise, while the Meade had the edge in low and medium power views, the 130 fell off bigtime at higher power. At 180x the Bushnell was considerably sharper on the moon than the Meade was at 160x. I then discovered that the phrase "gnat's rear end" also applied to the Meade's collimation tolerances. Tweaking collimation improved things a bit but for whatever reason (slower optics? smaller secondary obstruction?) the beat up Bushnell I bought for $25 remained the better high power scope. The Meade is better in every other way, though. The general rule says scopes should be capable of 2x their objective diameter in magnification, or 260x in this case, but this doesn't seem to be so for the Polaris 130. That's okay, high power viewing of the moon and planets was not why I bought the scope.Okay, down to business. The scope comes in several pieces but isn't hard to assemble. Some reviewers complain about the assembly but it's really not that complicated even without directions if you look at the picture on the box and take your time. The manual does a amazing job of explaining how everything works and how to use the scope. Equatorial mounts take some getting used to if you haven't used on before but once you obtain the hang of it you won't wish to use anything else. Adjust the tripod for your latitude (easy to do with the adjustment screw), point it vaguely North, and voila, you're amazing to go for visual observing.I had some pleasant surprises when I opened the box. Some of the things that look plastic in the online pictures are actually metal, specifically the "spider" (secondary mirror holder on the begin end of the tube) and the tube largest challenge was balancing aperture and portability. Since I have to go down a flight of stairs with my telescope and carry all my gear (book, eyepieces, camp chair) in one trip to my observing website 75 yards away size and weight mattered a lot to me. Many, a lot of seasoned astronomers recommend nothing smaller than an 8" Dob for beginners, then go on to say that you should really consider a 10" or 12" Dob instead. Yeah? I'd love to see them manhandle something the size and weight of a hot water heater down a flight of stairs in the dark. I'll wait at the bottom with my finger ready to press "call" to 911 for an ambulance. At 26 pounds, the Polaris 130 is the largest thing I felt like I could carry one handed since my other hand needs to carry the camp chair and star chart thing I really liked was that you can actually use everything in the box. Too a lot of other telescopes come with 3x Barlows and SR 4mm eyepieces so they can claim "675x power!" on the box when the SR 4mm eyepiece alone has too much magnification to be useful with the scope. Not so here. The eyepieces are decent quality and work fine and the Barlow works beautiful well, too. With that said, they could use some improvement, though. Better quality Ploessl eyepieces are sharper and give a bigger photo with wider field of view. Makes the views much more pleasing. The medium and higher power views seem to benefit the most, although a nice wide angle makes the low power field more enjoyable, and low power is where this scope really shines. I use the more "expendable" Cassini 26mm Erfle most of the time (to hold my older Series 400 eyepieces in tiptop shape) as well as a 10mm Ploessl and the 2x Barlow the scope came with for medium (65x) and high (130x) powers. I also use a Celestron 7-21 zoom eyepiece to support search faint things since I can use it to quickly vary the background darkness. a UHC nebula filter works well with this telescope, too. I have found that several objects (like M1, the Crab Nebula) that were completely invisible in the 76mm scope may also be invisible at low power in the 130mm, but if I gradually increase the power the background darkens enough that I can finally see the object. There's a balance: too much magnification and the target object dims too much.I don't like the red dot finder because I live in a light polluted zone and I like to star hop, so I need some sort of magnifying finder to support me see stars I can't see with the naked eye. It's also much easier to follow the directions in my beat up copy of Turn Left At Orion with a traditional finderscope. Fortunately, it was an simple fix since most 5x24 and some 6x30 finders will attach to the mounting bolts with minimum fuss. The Orion 6x30 finders are nice, but because of their dovetail connection you'll need to modify the Polaris 130 a bit to place a dovetail receiver on it. I bought an older Meade 6x30 finder to use that matched up to the existing mounting bolts without modification. They've gotten harder to come by, e tripod and mount are beautiful robust. They keep the scope solidly, it's less likely to hint over than the more precarious Bushnell 114, and with the legs shortened almost all the method the eyepiece is at a excellent height to use while seated in my small folding camp chair and the shorter legs hold vibration to a minimum. It's a comfortable telescope to use, and the controls are simple to search by feel in the dark. The dovetail connection makes set up and tear down amazingly quick, and the optional carrying case fits well. I can take the scope from zipped up in the bag to set up ready to observe in less than 2 minutes. Grab and go anyone?In general I prefer the flat triangular trays with raised sides (like my Rokinon and the Infinity 60 and 70 scopes come with) over the more traditional thin tray with holes in it for eyepieces (Tasco and entry level Celestron scopes come with these) because they're more versatile at storing things. This one manages to be the best of both worlds. There are holes for three eyepieces and lots of flat zone for everything else. I ended up liking it method more than I expected. It attaches securely and makes the tripod very only complaint about the mount controls is that in certain orientations the scope tube pushes versus the RA axis control cable. Not a huge deal, I usually just remove the cable and use the huge gear for the optional motor drive to control the RA axis. On my EQ1 refractor mounts you can move the RA adjustment cable from one side to the other but that's not the case here.I mentioned before that collimation needed "gnat's rear end" precision but that shouldn't scare you off from the telescope. Any reflector scope is gong to need collimation now and then so you'll have to obtain used to the idea eventually. Fortunately, it's not hard to do with the right tools. I personally search a Cheshire to be more useful than a laser but either one works. The nice thing with the Polaris 130 is that the tube is short enough you can create adjustments while looking through the Cheshire which speeds the process up and makes learning to collimate the mirrors easier. The secondary mirror adjusting screws were extremely tight the first time I adjusted them (I was afraid the Allen wrench would strip out the heads) but after removing them and giving them a little dose of lubricant they work better. The basic mirror has a sort of soft rubber o-ring between it and the tube meaning you only have to use the three "pulling" screws to adjust the basic and once you obtain it in the right spot the three "pushing" screws can be tightened down to secure the mirror in position. As simple as it e only issue I had with the scope was that the secondary mirror was not positioned correctly when I got it. Basically, the secondary mirror was too far away from the basic mirror and thus wasn't centered with the focuser. It wasn't very hard to fix: loosen the center bolt and then tighten the three adjustment bolts, then repeat as important until the mirror was further away from the spider. Having a Cheshire created it simple to center the secondary mirror. That might be trickier with a laser.I usually spend a lot of time modifying, improving, and tinkering with my telescopes but the only extra modification I've done to this one was to install some flock paper to the inside of the tube. This was something of a pain since there's not a lot of room to work with inside the tube but it does seem to have helped with contrast and helped war stray light in my ally the only weakness is with high power views, so if your interest lies only with the moon and planets then a various scope might be a better choice. In my case, I just supplemented the Polaris 130 with another scope for lunar/planetary observing. I'd intended to obtain a Polaris 90 refractor for that purpose but ended up getting an wonderful deal on an older ETX 90 RA that is now my moon and planets scope. The Polaris 130 is my "everything else" thing I wondered about for a long time but only recently found the respond to is whether the Polaris series telescopes would work on the Infinity 80, 90, and 102 tripods and vice versa. The respond is yes and no. I bought my dad an Infinity 102 for Christmas and while the 102 happily sits on the EQ2 mount from the 130, the 130 is simply too massive for the Infinity Alt-Az mount. I think the Polaris 70, 80, and 90 refractors would probably work fine on the Infinity mount, but the114, 127, and 130 reflectors are simply too big. Bummer.I don't mean for any of my criticisms above to imply there is anything inherently wrong with the scope or that potential buyers should be concerned. On the contrary, I've been extremely happy with the telescope and it and I have spent a lot of hours out in the dark together. A year later and I still smile every time I bring it out. Occasionally I think a small more aperture might be nice but then I look at the stairs and decide, "Nope." For me, at least, the Polaris 130 has been the excellent balance between aperture and portability. Because the scope's performance is better suited for low and medium power I'm not sure it makes the best first telescope for someone but if you wish to create a leap of faith it's not hard to learn with and will take much longer to outgrow than a smaller scope would as long as you hold I mind the scope's limitations. As a second scope it has been phenomenal at meeting my needs and there's no method I would trade it for anything else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    I am the type of person to obtain really excited about something, jump in, obtain a bunch of equipment for it and then wander on to something else, occasionally returning to the previous things in passing. As such a person, although I really wanted a 12" telescope with computer controls; I also didn't wish to drop several thousand dollars just to wander off a few weeks later and have something too huge to deal with and too hard to set up to bother with when I had a few days desire to play with ter weeks of browsing the Internet over several years of occasional looking; I bought this as I wanted a Parabolic rather than Spherical mirror available on the 127 series telescopes.I have not regretted my decision at all. The Meade Poaris 130 is well built, has a amazing equipment kit for the cash and looks really beautiful! It's also begin enough that it quickly adjusts to temperature changes, going from indoors to out is a decently rapid process.I am in a large, light polluting town in the Midwest, so the regularly viewable stars are not nearly as numerous as I would normally want. Just using this to view stars was worth it for me. I've used it to see satellites, stars, planets and the moon and have had a lot of fun doing so. Granted, planets aren't much more than a little dot; but it's still fun to see e tripod is decent enough, I use it in my mostly wind sheltered back yard on an old wooden deck, and don't obtain too much wobble out of it. It is simple enough to set up now after I created a few changes, and sets up quick enough that I can usually go from decision to take it out to set up and looking within five to ten e Meade Polaris 130 went together easily; I was able to set it up easily after glancing through the instructions. I had problems with the scope tube counterweight constantly tilting the axis forward in the tripod no matter how tight I tightened the adjustment bolts. The manual had no fix for this, so I checked the Internet for answers and found that The problem was not well finished bolts and nuts which caused too much friction between the threads. I disassembled all the nuts and bolts on the tripod, cleaned and deburred them, and then reassembled them with light camera oil I first time setting the tripod up and getting it properly adjusted took several hours. I drilled holes in my deck to place dowel pins in so that the next time I could just put it quickly in exactly the right spot. The second time I took it out and adjusted it, I marked register marks with a scribe on everything that moved so I could quickly set it to point at Polaris no matter where it had moved to. I also added a stop to the tube so I could quickly attach the tube and hold excellent balance on the tripod, and marked the counterweight rod in case the weight shifted. Now it takes me longer to take the telescope out of the closet and run it outside than it does to set it up.I do take it to work when I am somewhere overnight, and it still takes me a bit to adjust it for the fresh location, but getting it set up at home afterwards is extremely fast. I intend to do more modifications to it later, but out of the box there was surprisingly small that required to be done for the price of the e tracking adjustment knobs are perfect and intuitive to use, searching with the Equatorial mount loose is simple once you play with it a bit and the red dot finder is really simple to find with.On the downside, the red dot viewfinder can be bumped out of alignment easily and I've burned through a few batteries by leaving it on accidentally. I'm intending to create some registering pieces to create taking it off and putting it on easily, and getting a remote momentary use switch for it so I don't hold burning through the batteries. Also on what I search to be the downside, the aperture cover does not stick into the telescope tube, but rather just sits on top of it. I sometimes forget this and it falls off when I forget to keep the tube e stock lenses are good. The addition of the 2x Barlow prevented me from wanting to buy one of those kits you see, and the lenses are all good. Sometimes I see small rainbows around stars and some doubling of the lines on the moon under much higher power.When I bought the telescope, I picked up an Orion 25% neutral density moon filter to go with it, and it's fine when the moon is fairly dim but it is not enough of a filter for me when we have a mostly full or full moon. I will be buying the 12% to go along with it along with a solar filter for daytime looking at the sun use... Because who doesn't love staring at the sun?Overall, I could not be happier with this telescope at the price I paid ($179) and would remain a value for even e image attached was taken by hand with an iPhone hovering over the eyepiece. It was vastly more clear than that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    This is absolutely amazing as a beginner telescope. I wouldn't obtain it for a kid (for a lot of reasons), but for at least a teenager or older it's great. You can obtain a very amazing view of bodies in our solar system, and even looking at distant stars is a pleasure with this scope. Is it the best or most powerful? No. Can you see into forever? Not without drugs, I suppose. But as an absolute amateur who just loves stargazing and learning about space, this scope has brought me a lot of joy when using it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    The sales pitch was for the 130. The listed reviews were for the 130. My purchase was for the 130. I received the 127......The celestron 130mm f3.5 is a decent quality amateur telescope. It is a real newtonian with a parabolic basic mirror. You would have the ability to align the basic mirror to the secondary and to the focal point. Amazing scope for the e celestron 127mm f3.5 is a Bird-Jones piece of garbage. It has a spherical basic mirror with an oversized secondary followed by a "corrective lense" that they dont even mention in the ad. The corrective lense is for the error made by the spherical primary, but it does not correct the problem. It's in the wrong position to correct the problem, but that positioning saves them a small bit l of this would be one problem entirely and would have been avoided by me, had it been outlined in the advertisement on Amazon. Instead, the seller decided to present a scope that's "close in appearance" along with the reviews for that scope in order to sell a few additional troops for prime day.I've seen some less than reputable salesmen in my day, but I thought Amazon was above BAIT-AND-SWITCH. I am disgusted by this. Time to look for fresh locations to shop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    Wow, it is larger and heavier than I thought it would be. I chose this telescope because I didn't wish a Bird Jones type reflector and the Meade 130EQ does not use it. I purchased this telescope because 1) as a pre-teen I had a refractor telescope and I always wanted a better telescope and 2) I'll have my grand-daughters for two months this summer and I have some night sky I'd like to introduce them to.I've only used this telescope twice now and both times it was to observe the moon from my light polluted back yard. The 26mm lens gave a nice clear view of the 65% waxing moon, the 9mm lens really brought the craters into sharp view. The 6.4mm lens was a pain due to the amount of wobble in the scope mount and tripod. I'm sure if I had used the tripod with the legs fully retracted it would have been more far I have only had one problem with the telescope, it was shipped with the three screws that are use to adjust the secondary reflector were missing, fast trip to the hardware shop for 4mm screws solved that problem. (Colliamation was OK) I plan to purchase the following lenses a 32mm and a 15mm plus the Meade filter kit.Overall, I am very happy with this telescope and hope to learn to use it to its full potential before my grands arrive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    Maybe I got a poor one. But, this scope was completely misaligned. Stars, planets had a major coma effect. I attempted to collimate using my laser collimator. But, the secondary mirror refused to align properly, clipping a huge portion of the view through the focuser tube. My guess is that the secondary mirror was not properly aligned beneath the focuser tube and required to be shifted horizontally in relation to the basic mirror. But, the screws were torked so tightly that I could not loosen them and move the mirror's location. Kudos for Meade help though. They helped me determine that this was indeed a 'bad' scope, even calling me back to create one latest suggestion of something to try. In the end I returned the scope and went back to my 40 yr old Edmund 6" reflector that still has awesome views (but is much less portable!). This may be an ok beginner scope, if you obtain a decent one. But, I'd suggest spending a bit more and getting a nice Dobsonian reflector that's simple to transport and will give you much better views. Just my 2 cents.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

    I'm an old fart and have had telescopes for a main portion of my life. I love the sky and stars. Astronomy has always been my major hobby. I just wanted something decent to look at the Moon, major planets and, since I live in a one bedroom apartment surrounded by severe light pollution, at least something to resolve the brighter binary stars without spending too much. I'd had Meade telescopes before and because of the name, I went with the Polaris !!! Method WAY better than I expected. Perfect manufacturing and machining. The optics are superb. When I took it out on my first night, I figured it would take a while to collimate the glass. Surprise!!! Everything was dead on. Impressive since the telescope was created in China, shipped across the Pacific to California, then to me in e only drawback for telescopes such as this is the fact that they are bundled with cheap eyepieces. Uuugghhh! I knew that when I ordered this telescope and bought a decent set of Meade Plossles to go with it.What I can't figure out is the price. Perfect materials, perfect manufacturing and machining, exemplary optics. Then all the shipping involved. How can you do it for the price?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meade Instruments 216001 Polaris 70 EQ Refractor Telescope (Blue) review []  2020-1-17 3:17

     Before I talk about the product itself, I wish to provide a small background about myself. I am by no means an experienced astronomer. When I was younger I owned a Meade 114 Reflector on an equatorial mount. I never learned how to properly use the equatorial mount, but still learned how to search Saturn, Jupiter, and several other astronomical objects. I enjoyed using this telescope very much but eventually I became too busy to use it. Recently, my interest in astronomy was piqued and I decided to pick up the Polaris rst Impressions:The box arrived in amazing condition from Amazon and upon opening it, I was pleasantly surprised by the packaging. The graphics on the outside of the box are visually appealing and printed on high quality material. Upon opening the box, I was once again happy by how well the parts of the telescope were packaged. Telescopes are fine instruments and should thus be treated as such, and an initial fear of mine was that the telescope was going to arrive damaged or broken. However, each individual component was well packed with proper amounts of either styrofoam, bubble wrap, or sembly:The first thing I did prior to assembly was to read through the manual to familiarize myself with the parts and their names. Assembly of the tripod and attaching the equatorial mount to the tripod was simple. Setting up the equatorial mount itself is where things got a small complicated. However, after some thinking and referring back to the manual, I was able to figure it out relatively quickly. The optical tube assembly easily connected to the mount and the remaining accessories such as the red dot viewfinder were all easily attached. Overall, assembly took me about 30 mins and was very headache free. The manual is sometimes overwhelming, but is nonetheless packed with necessary information. One thing that really stood out to me was the attractive blue paint job of the optical tube assembly. I have attached a timelapse video of me constructing the telescope to give you all an idea of what it is rst Light:Immediately after assembling my telescope, I decided to do some research to learn how to properly use an equatorial mount. After reading the manual and watching some videos online, I felt comfortable with the mount. I then took it out to my backyard and starting the viewing process. I first zeroed the red dot viewfinder using a distant building. Drawing from my prior experience, this process was fast and simple. This process may require more time for first time users but is still very straight forward. The construction of the red dot is not the best, but it gets the job done. My first target after zeroing the red dot viewfinder was the moon. I was very satisfied with the level of detail, brightness, and clarity I could see through the scope. I also used the other eyepieces and the barlow lens included in this pack to see a more magnified photo of the moon. My next target was Saturn. While I wasn't able to obtain a picture with my Iphone, the photo I saw with my own eyes was fantastic. I could see amazing color, its rings, and a few of its moons. Both targets were simple to hold in view using the slow motion cables once the equatorial mount was polar oughts after 2 months/Final Thoughts:I purchased this product back in June and have now had multiple chances to use it. Even though I live in a fairly light polluted area, I have been able to search and see a lot of astronomical objects. For example, in late June, I was able to clearly see the Venus-Jupiter Conjunction. After several viewing sessions, I feel much more comfortable with the equatorial mount and the scope as a whole. I highly recommend that all buyers of this product create the effort to learn how to use an equatorial mount before taking it out. Overall, this telescope is a amazing pack that contains everything you need to begin viewing. I did message that some parts of the telescope/mount/accessories are created with relatively cheap material such as plastic however this is to be expected in this price range. Also as I said before, it seems to be durable and it gets the job done. In the end, I am satisfied with this product and look forward to a lot of more nights with this product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Amazing! I've enjoyed red, yellow and black so much! Thank you for making another one :D I just finished it, and it was awesome once again!💕 Love your work, and hmm... Imma create a guess on the next colour if another one comes in the future... purple? :) Ooh or green?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Bart has done it yet again. An awesome and inspiring android game that combines clever thinking and simplicity in the excellent way. These android games truly are one of a kind and tremendously satisfying. This android game should be rated much, much more than just 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Just as much fun as the earlier releases. Though the melody is not "new" it is just as rewarding to hear that sound when you finish a level.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Amazing android game again. But I think level 47 was really suitable for easter eggs. I think you should add some.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Another delightful puzzle android game from Bart Bonte! If you liked yellow, red and black, you'll love blue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    AHHHH yess another puzzle game! I cannot wait for the next colour! Hope it's Green now!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    I love it this is now going to be my brand fresh summer android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    another one of those is always a pleasure

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    waiting for this android game to be here i dig the puzzles

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Level 3 and Level 9 are same 🙄 Still loving it..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    another amazing android game bart!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    amazing as always

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    YESS IVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS GAME FOR SO LONG NOW AND IT'S FINALLY OUT!!! 🎊🎉🎊🎉🎊

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    First. (Also your android games are amazing)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    I'm absolutely in love with this series. Hold them coming

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Really amazing game!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Like a lot of others, I received the email and proceeded to take a break from work to download this fourth instalment. Another superb piece of work from Mr Colourful. Although it won't latest for hours - and you might recognise some puzzle solutions from previous android games - it is a lot of fun and I enjoyed every moment. Looking forward to the next colour! (I'm curious as to which colour it will be - after the Belgian flag and blue...?)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Blue is another unbelievable android game of Bart's color puzzle series. I just finished it up and can tell you it has a lot of various puzzles from the others, yet has its own globe of mini challenges that set it apart and create it fit neatly into his already fun series. Never have I downloaded something so fast. Thanks Bart for the amazing times from me and my family. Looking for that next color up, GREEN!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Always excited for a fresh android game in this series. Blue, like the others is clever in each puzzle. Each android game is just the right amount of difficult, so its still fun and rewarding to figure out while still not enough to create you quit all together. The melody and the atmosphere all the android games have just place you in a mood to go through the challenges. Blue is just the thing ive been waiting for and Ive shared it with my mates to play as well. I hope more hold being made, even if it take the whole rainbow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    I swear I reviewed this already, but guess not. Amazing small game, although I believe you can irreversibly mess up the fish puzzles? (43) If so, a reset button would be nice. Additionally I think not all puzzles are at their full potential in terms of difficulty, and the android game is kinda fast so that's that. Now pardon me while I patiently resume my wait for purple

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Really Really Amazing as Always! These android games always create you think in a lot of various ways, but also crank up the difficulty on later levels! Hold being awesome, Bart Bonte!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Your android games are like the only ones I play on mobile. Of course another awesome puzzle experience that is so hard to match! Everything from the melody to the controls and the abstract puzzles is pristine! Another amazing android game Bart, we love ya :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Another brilliant installment of the colour series from Bart Bonte. A amazing chilled android game to pass the time and something you can come back to. Several tips if you obtain stumped create it really good, no more frustration from getting totally stuck on a game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Thanks Bart Bonte, finally the long waited color android game of my favorite: Blue! With water and ocean theme, this one is new and relaxing. Each level is fun, a bit stuck in level 48. All hail blue, I luv playing you!!! 😊💙

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    These are the only mobile android games I obtain excited about. Very challenging puzzles to solve.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    More of the same and beautiful easy... Took just over 35 minutes to complete so a small overpriced IMHO. I like to help development but not sure I'll buy any more in this series... only two puzzles caused me any true delay and only required a tip on one...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Saw the email. Rushed here immediately. Wasn't disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Excellent amount of difficulty in this one! I'm looking forward to the next colourful android game if there is one! Green? Purple? Orange is the fresh Black? Unbelievable games!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    played all the other colour android games and excited to play this. also love thanks to rusty lake I found that this came out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Another amazing entry in the "colours" series of android games by Bart Bonte. Some familiar puzzles, some of them with fresh twists and a lot of fresh ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    lol first Edit: Np I love all your android games and I've finished red yellow and black. Also 25 I think. I'm halfway done blue. I love how you incorporate the name of the android game into some of the puzzles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Yet another surprise I awoke to! Any Barte Bonte android games is fun and gets my gears turning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Appena Finito! Bellissimo gioco, come tutta la "Saga", rompicapi bellissimi e solita musica rilassante. Veramente gioco ben fatto! Grande Bart, anche questa volta 5 Stelle! E la newsletter è molto comoda!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    5 Stars of course! Such a amazing series of fun small games, definitely worth the little unblock price for the enjoyment I obtain from finding the solutions!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    The colour android games are a lot of fun, and I tend to race my mate to the finish as soon as they're out. :) You're a genius!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Just when you thought all the amazing colours were taken, here he comes and does it again! Another heavy hit for the ages!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Love is Blue! Bart created yet another completely enjoyable game. Expect the same fun, head-tiltimg android game as yellow, red, and black.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    Review first, play later. I have trust the developer since the first game, and now it is the fourth game... Download after I obtain the email notification

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    I was waiting for it, I used to check you www service for a fresh game. Now my wait is over, thank you bart.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    blue review [App]  2019-6-20 13:25

    So excited for this. I downloaded it the moment I got the email from Bart! (I will post a review after I play it as well)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    A truly amazing ere are four absolute classics here, songs and performances so amazing that it just gives you chills: "I'm Still In Love With You," "The Mountain," "Dixieland," and "Pilgrim," along with two very amazing instrumentals and a batch of other fine tunes.Earle has said this was a work of inspiration, and it is a sustained inspritation at that. Like the best of Springsteen or Tom Waits, THE MOUNTAIN speaks of put and time without being a hokey concept album. The characters come from hard times and, like those on Springsteen's NEBRASKA, they sometimes fall--into dispair, drunkenness, jail.But unlike NEBRASKA, where some characters seemed to search no method out, Earle's coal minors and irish immigrants see a light on the horizon. They search pride and honor in their hard work, in their civil battle soldiering, in their lost e Del McCoury Band is rock solid, swingin' and singin' with a confidence you only search in a band that has played together for a thousand years. Iris Dement is perfect; her duet with Earle on "I'm Still In Love With You" is achingly sweet. Emmylou Harris appears here and there--I think there is some law that says Emmylou Harris must sing backup on every bluegrass record now--and a whole host of country singers join in the chorus of "Pilgrim."But this is Steve Earle's record. I had a lot of problem stomaching some of his earlier records, but THE MOUNTAIN is so amazing that I'm willing to rethink it all. Nobody could create a record this amazing unless they have real heart, real soul, and a real love for bluegrass, country, blues--American melody in is is, without a doubt, one of my absolute favorite records of the latest 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Though billed as a bluegrass album, The Mountain just as prominently showcases Southern string-band styles older than the melody Bill Monroe invented in the 1940s. "Harlan Man" sounds like an especially rousing agit-prop anthem from the labor battles that raged in the Kentucky coal mines in the 1930s (which produced the classic protest song "Which Side Are You on?"), and "Dixieland" could easily pass as an authentic Civil Battle ballad. "Carrie Brown" takes its inspiration from the Appalachian folk standards "Cindy," "Wild Bill Jones," and "Tom Dooley." The CD's most moving cut, the extraordinary "Pilgrim," weds a hand-me-down music to photos from a body of traditional songs and hymns, among them "I Am a Pilgrim," "Wayfaring Stranger," "This Globe Is Not My Home," and "Long Time Traveling." The bluegrass selections here mirror a sound more often heard in the 1950s than in the 1990s. This charmingly backward-looking collection underscores the genius of Earle's singing/composing and the McCoury Band's playing, of course, but it also reminds us that the well of American roots melody is well nigh inexhaustible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Unless you have never heard of Del McCoury or Steve Earle would probably not am appreciation for this kind of bluegrass/thumper/folk music. I've worn out one CD working on #2, amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    The combination of Steve Earle's songwriting and singing with the instrumental and vocal talent of the Del McCoury Band has produced a truly remarkable CD. As a longtime bluegrass fan, I was a small leery of this "bluegrass" CD with Steve Earle as the focus, but there are so a lot of amazing cuts here that it's hard to praise it too much. The mandolin and banjo work is first rate and never sounds out of put or cliched, but it's ultimately the songs themselves that create this CD great. Steve Earle really shines as a songwriter and plays and sings with amazing energy and enthusiasm. Del and Ronnie McCoury's harmony singing sounds just right with this varied but cohesive group of songs. This ain't all traditional bluegrass, but whatever you call it, I like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I bought this album after seeing it ranked #2 on Amazon's list of the best of 1999. I'm a large bluegrass fan, and was amazed I hadn't heard of it before. I listened to 5 seconds of the online clip from "Texas Eagle" and was immediately sold. The songs are, without exception, amazing bluegrass compositions, about trains and heartbreak and battle and poverty and coal-minin' and all that amazing stuff. Steve's voice isn't beautiful at all, which is as it should be -- his raw vocals fit the emotional content of the songs. Del and the band provide outstanding instrumental and vocal accompaniment for that true, high lonesome sound. Standouts contain "Texas Eagle," "Carrie Brown," "Harlan Man," "Connemara Breakdown," and "Dixieland." If you like bluegrass music, you will absolutely LOVE this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Most likely the best Bluegrass Album/CDEver made!! I have on e every this as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I like this album so much...and have for years.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter