Read meet you in the middle reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all meet you in the middle reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    In this opponents to lovers romantic comedy, Meet You in the Middle follows two staffers in the Senate on either side of the political spectrum. Kate Adams is tough as nails and doesn't wish anyone waisting her time. When Ben Mackenzie blows off Kate's kid care bill in a meeting, Kate is none too happy and quickly tells Ben what she thinks of him. The two begin sending each other hilarious packages and snarky notes, just to provoke the other. As the two are thrown together at every turn, Kate and Ben decide to call a truce. They slowly navigate a friendship, but feelings begin to develop for Kate. In the end, Kate must wrestle with choosing between her heart and her powerful political values.I cannot start to express how much I loved this book! It was laugh out loud funny and I was totally obsessed with Kate, Ben and the Washington D.C. political scene. I do wish to preface this by saying I am probably the target audience for this book. I teach history and love visiting DC, so any time characters can throw jabs at each other using the Constitution, I am there for it! But don't be stress...there's method more romance and pranks, than there is policies and r me, the highlight of the book was Mr. Ben Mackenzie. Seriously, where is this man and can I have his number? Ben is so swoony: tall, smart, athletic and charismatic. He puts up a tough exterior, but Ben is caring and extremely protective of Kate. I am hereby claiming Ben as my fresh book boyfriend. Kate and Ben's chemistry was off the charts and the slow burn romance had me turning the pages so quickly to see where the story was going. And that epilogue...😍I highly, highly recommend reading this book! It's a gem and I loved it so much, I read it in a 24 hour time span. This book will definitely be one of my top reads of 2021.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    Wow. Had no idea after downloading a sample of this latest night I would be lead to binge it in hours, only stopping to feed my baby, and willingly give up on my precious sleep. Not only was it witty, charming, and realistic, but the best kind of slow burn. Romance and humor all in one. Can’t wait for whatever book is next by devin as she is now in the 1 click pre order category for me. Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    Allow it be known that I am going through major withdrawals and am wondering how soon is too soon for a reread. Kate & Ben, as *NSYNC once said, "I Wish You Back."Witty banter. Amazing chemistry. Heart. Slow burn. Pop culture references (duh). These are all the elements I look for in a rom com and Devon Daniels has DELIVERED. The cover drew me in, the summary hooked me, and the first chapter sealed the deal. Daniels has wonderfully crafted a story that makes you forget any political party biases you may have and fall in love with the characters for who they are, not what they You in the Middle was the PERFECT read and one I know I will be going back to again...and again...and o thing are for certain:1. This book is at the top of my favorites list.2. I will be first in line to obtain my hand on whatever she writes next.Order it. Request it at your library. Place it on your TBR. You will not regret it!!Great work, Devon Daniels!

    0  


    Add your opinion on meet you in the middle or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    “You say you’re not a romantic, but I think that’s just because no one’s ever done it right.”I loved this! It was an enjoyable read and left me with serious book is novel was the ultimate opposites attract, enemies-to-lovers romance based on the premise of *gasp* forbidden love between two people with opposing political views. With that being said, if you fall strongly on either side of the political spectrum, this book may not be for you. The story is written in first person from the left-leaning heroine's POV.I personally found that the author presented the political aspect of the story tastefully. The depiction of either political party was consistent with the usual stereotypes. I had no problem with it.I was hooked from chapter one. The banter is remarkably witty and the romance burned so satisfyingly slow. It has earned a spot on my all-time favorites list and though I read this on my Kindle, I have now purchased the print ver to live on my bookshelf, waiting for a is was an perfect debut novel from Devon Daniels. I look forward to what she will offer next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    A grin-worthy workplace romance excellent for fans of THE HATING GAME. The chemistry sizzles and the prank battle is a crowd pleaser, but what brings it home is the characters' hard-fought mutual the first chapter of this book, I wasn't too sure about Ben, but then they have a major confrontation where all the insults fly, each hero letting them know what they think about the other's political party, and it was the funniest, most gasp-and-cover-your-face kind of stage ever. It felt spot-on for what each political party would say about the other! From there, they descend into a prank battle that had me grinning for whole chapters, and it never crossed the line into mean or cruel. I really loved the method Ben treated her through the middle of the book, even when they disagreed, and I liked the method he showed that their political views weren't always as various as they appeared at first glance--a lot of the time, they were born from related values but various approaches to how you'd accomplish that politically.I picked up this book because of the political rivalry- because I had to see if a cross-the-aisle romance could be pulled off in today's world--but I kept forgetting about that piece as I was reading because the romance was just so irresistible. I was hanging on every exchange of the banter, and the chemistry raised the temperature in my apartment by several degrees. It reminded me a lot of the dynamic in the Hating Game, where the character appears forbidding (physically and psychologically) at first, but turns out to be a giant marshmallow for the ward the end, I loved that Ben not just paid lip service to their shared values but DID something concrete to build items Kate cared about into a bill he was working on. I want she would have done the same for him, to present that she also understood some of what was necessary to him, and could search redeeming value in some of his political stances. Nowdays, it's become gasp-worthy to say you could search any common ground with someone from the opposing party, but I loved what the author said in her author's note about how "we're all much more committed to finding common ground than the loudest voices in the media would have you believe." I enjoyed how this book showed people as individuals, not stereotypes, and showed that you can have the same core values while differing some in public policy, rather than perpetuating the false dichotomies of dividing political parties into "good" and "evil" and assuming everyone on the opposite side is the same person. If you identify as an open-minded liberal, I think you have to agree that avoiding stereotypes is always a amazing idea, whether you're talking about about matters of race, orientation, or yes, even political party. I can disagree with their party's policies, and still search individuals of that party who I have common ground and some shared values with, which is an ideal that's gotten lost in the latest few politically contentious years. One of the reasons I think fiction is necessary is it builds empathy, which is always preferable to dehumanizing the the end of the day, though, as necessary as the problems underneath this book were, I have to admit I purely just enjoyed it for the romance! It was a lighter and much more fun read than I might have expected, and I hope to see more in the future from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    First off, I have to say I was excited to search this book. Political opponents with current content? Sounded fun, until it wasn’t.I just can’t obtain past how a liberal winds up in rural Tennessee. I see that the author is from California, so no shocker that the h is a liberal, but really, do your homework. If the h is from a rural zone in TN, there is a powerful chance that she’s a conservative, and a responsible gun owner. The h should’ve been from Richmond, and I would’ve bought the liberal stance, but I digress.Overall, I thought the story was cute, funny, even though it dragged for the most part, and there’s not much event within the plot, besides “oh, he’s hot” “but he’s watches Fox - I’m shaken to my core”. ter I tried to soldier through at 57%, I figured I’d give it another chance, she just lost me with the h complaining again about the conservative H, and *gasp*, he’s a gun owner. Obtain over yourself, you deluded h. What a closed minded person.I should have stopped reading when I found myself rooting for the girls in the bar that were all over the H. Our h was so poor to him throughout every exchange with the H. She insults him and his beliefs at every turn, how on earth could these two have a future? Then they have a disagreement where they don’t speak for a week? Grow up, this “relationship” will never create us, the DNF. That being said, I would give this author a test again, as the writing is fairly decent. With one caveat though, as long as the next h is not a closed-minded liberal, I’m game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    I am obsessed with this book! I was planning on reading a few chapters and stayed up super late to read about 70% and then was upset I had to wait the whole next day to finish! I could not stop thinking about this one and the story. ⁣⁣Enemies to lovers is my favorite romance trope and it feels like any book in this trope is automatically compared to The Hating Game, but for me, this has been the only one that is a real comparison! ⁣⁣Devon Daniels can write banter so well!! I LOVED their interactions and I stopped and chirped back several lines out to my husband. I was cackling at the hate mail they sent each other, Kate's dating app, Donkey Date, and Ben's awesome one liners had me laughing so hard I almost cried. ⁣⁣I did search Kate to be short sighted at times and makes generalizations but both characters seemed like such true people. There are political stereotypes in this story and proposed legislation (which were inspired by real legislation) but this did not read like a political book to me; it is just set in a political environment. ⁣⁣A few more things I loved about this book - I connected really well with these characters since my husband and I are politically mixed. This story is about being able to respect others' opinions, beliefs, and values that are not your own; neither hero was trying to change what the other believes, but to be more begin and understanding, and to aim to be collaborative, not combative. I also loved the notice that you may not love 100% of the things your political party stands for but you can still love your party.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    This is an wonderful debut novel with smart, clever dialog and lots of humorous scenes rom-com fans will love. The prank battles are hilarious! I adored Ben and Kate, both as individual characters and as a couple. I feel that readers will search their struggles relatable. Meet You in the Middle a unbelievable enemies-to-lovers romance with a significant and timely notice that we can apply to our true globe lives: it is necessary to respect people who see the globe differently than we do. It's also possible to search happily-ever-after with someone who is our opposite. Well done, Devon Daniels. I can't wait to read your next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    This was such a fun read, I loved the witty banter and it was amazing seeing a couple trying to create it work with opposing political views. Such a refreshing read in 2021! Whether you're a Republican, Democrat, or Independent I think you'll have fun this (and maybe see that just because someone has various views than you it doesn't create them the opponent 😉)I do want they had delved a bit more into having the characters deal with political disagreements, and at times Kate could be a bit annoying, but I really really enjoyed this. Finally got me out of a reading slump!(4.5/5 stars)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet You in the Middle []  2021-4-6 23:8

    I received my copy on begin day and read the entire book in one sitting...I couldn't place it down! This is hands down the best romance novel I have read in a long time. So much so that I texted my mates to all grab a copy. The writing was phenomenal, loved this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    I want I had this book latest year! It gave real-life scenarios, the wrong method to fix issue and then the right way. Each chapter has the story of a true teacher and a issue they were having with a student and how it was eventually resolved. It was very helpful and I saw mistakes I've created in the past and it created me feel like I wasn't alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    A Amazing Resource.I have just received this book and it is great! It is so funny to read about the various kids that you teach and say, 'yes, that is so and so.' It will sit on one of my shelves at school and no doubt it will be shared with my colleagues. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    The info presented is good, but I would not buy it. It starts to repeat tactics and stereotypes students. In the day and time, I don't think it is and essential read to support teachers understand students. Advice: listen, be present, be authentic, have compassion and boundaries, seek help. if you have read it see if there is a copy in the library or an online summary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    I love the method Vickie does! Some stories created me cry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    I had to read this book for my credentialing program for becoming a teacher, but honestly it's well worth the read. The book gives you a glimpse back into the minds of when you were a high schooler and helps you learn how to answer to students giving you a difficult time. Some of the stories were heart warming others created me feel such pain, but it's an simple read and really can support fresh teachers (and current teachers) think of various ways to support their students learn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    This book was needed reading for my class. Was a fast simple read and I really enjoyed reading about the various students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    This book has extremely support information, even with my 20 years of experience. I recommend this to both novice and veteran teachers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    This book did introduce very well the "10 students you'll meet in your classroom", however, the subtitle part, "classroom management hints for middle and high school teachers", wasnt addressed beyond what a teacher picks up in teacher college. Example; Set down your rules, expectations, policies, at the beginning of the year. Doent incidents and notify parents/administration. Establish a relationship with your students in a positive community. Yes, duh!!!The "Classroom management tips" section for each type of student were vague. Example;The Amazing Children - "Avoid creating a 'Me versus them" situation". - OK, How?The Rebels - "Visualize the method you wish to organize the class and anticipate the behaviors that would inhibit learning" - OK, so how do we answer to the behaviors when they occur?The Misfits - "Be tolerant when a misfit brushes up versus the borders of the school rules." -OK, when the misfit acts out, what is your appropriate response? And so on with each type....I guess I was expecting a handbook of solutions for "acting out" like Harry Wong's or Fred Jones's books but with concrete solutions for each type. Although I did not pay full price for this book, I feel like I wasted my cash buying it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Students You′ll Meet in Your Classroom: Classroom Management Tips for Middle and High School Teachers []  2021-1-20 19:56

    As a student teacher I was looking for a book that would support me better understand and effectively deal with student behavior in a positive manner. This book fit the bill. Gill addresses issue behavior while respecting and treating each of her students as individuals. This insightful and practical book was very helpful to me as a fresh teacher beginning the profession.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    It is an simple read with an interesting perspective of middle school students and teachers. I am satisfied with the product, it arrived on time, and in excellent condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    A really amazing addition to my educational library. A lot of amazing ideas to use. I strongly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    I am not a person fond of reading "help" or statistical or "you should do this to have a excellent classroom" books... This book is an exception. It is simple and fast reading. It gives numerous, fun-to-read examples of true experiences, suggestions and ideas. I would definitely recommend this book for middle school teachers that haven't been very long in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    I'm currently enrolled in a teaching certification program and was assigned this as a textbook for one of my courses. As with a lot of textbooks, I approached this book warily, but was mystified by how amazing of a read it was. Rick Wormeli shares his pedagogy with you and share examples of how to turn your classroom into a middle school student friendly environment that encourages and fosters learning. This is one textbook that I intend to hold and use in the future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    Book has some amazing primary ideas to help beginning teachers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    This was purchased for college Spring 2010 semester. Instructor said was a very amazing book. I'll know this spring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    Was a gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    This book is expensive and out of date. The technology comments are useless. Some of his ideas still keep but a more current book would probably be more helpful. Also, I had the sense that the writer was too willing to accept the flavor-of-the-day rather than question what is at the core of amazing teaching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    Middle School education is so crucial in the formation of young people. Mr. Wormeli is a master teacher and this book is masterful in it's ability to encourage and excite middle school educators.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Meet Me in the Middle: Becoming an Accomplished Middle Level Teacher []  2021-1-25 19:58

    This book is horrible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    I really enjoyed reading this collection of poetry! I haven't read a contemporary poetry collection before this, but soft in the middle definitely gave me a amazing impression of the genre. Shelby's word choices are lovely, and I loved the representation of aity within the work. Even for those poems that I didn't relate to, I found them very thought-provoking and open. I flew through the book in one sitting, and I'll definitely be re-reading; I've already bookmarked some of my favorites! I really thought the artwork for soft in the middle was very beautiful and well-done, too - both the cover and the inside details! I'll definitely be keeping an eye out for any future works!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE []  2020-11-25 22:13

    The gender bending strikes again! A guy lucks into the excellent college life, with some of the nicest frat guys ever. And he pays them back by spiking their drinks to please a girl. Consent is really not a factor here, but it works out quite well, although not as you might think. I don't know what the agenda of the girls really is, but it's fun to read, and he enjoys being in the middle of things. I hope there will be more spiked drinks in the future. I first read about this story on Nikki's Patreon page, which has contests, advance looks, and the possibility to share your fantasies with her. This story came about because one person created a silly offhand comment and she ran with it. Come on by, who knows what you might inspire. But if she offeres you a drink, swallow it down, and don't s a drop. You may end up in the middle and getting it from all sides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE []  2020-11-25 22:13

    Accepting the premise and the speed of change the hormones caused. Makes this a fun a erotic story. I always have fun her stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    I rated this book 4 stars mainly because of the 3 various ways I was able to relate to this book and the author. My body, my aity, and my relationship with a woman that was always difficult to explain. Although after reading this book I feel like empowered and like I have a better view of what our relationship was. I had 15 favorite poems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE []  2020-11-25 22:13

    Liked the idea of turning poor men or men in general into women slowly but surely for the greater amazing of the world. Definitely a turn on and I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    •⠀“fat girls teach themselves all the names of the bones thin girls⠀ wear⠀on the outside of their bodies"⠀•⠀The title, along with the gorgeous cover art immediately caught my heart. I am forever thirsty for fat girl representation in books and media, and poetry that celebrates beauty in all forms? I couldn’t possibly pass up on it!⠀•“I think caring too much created us mince the affection we present to others"⠀• ⠀I started as soon as I got it months back, but oh my gosh, the words were beautiful AND were beautiful brutal to my heart so I took my time. Heehee. There was something attractive and painful in the accurate depiction of the struggle with body positivity. And it delves deeper into other serious problems (i.e. queerness, mental health, heart break).⠀•⠀"I never felt more attractive than when⠀she said it⠀through the wire⠀across the stars⠀she didn’t even know me⠀but she created me feel as true as houses⠀as whole as heaven"⠀•⠀Poetry, for me, is phenomenal when it evokes feelings within me that even I search hard to express at will, and this summoned A LOT of feels. It also inspired me to do something with said feels (through art or my own poetry, perhaps) so this should go without saying: 5🌟s from me. ❤️⠀•⠀"there I go again⠀I went and fell in love"⠀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    Brave collection that will no doubt resonate with a lot of young women. I applaud the author for sharing in such an honest, raw way. It will support others, especially young girls still growing up and becoming who they are. Attractive cover to boot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    This book! You ever have one of those moments where everything is a bit overwhelming and exhausting and then you see something you never knew you required but it was right at that moment? That's this book! I highlighted so a lot of passages in this book, this has become one of my favorites overnight. Omg, I can't wait to read more of Shelby Eileen's work, it's magnificent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE []  2020-11-25 22:13

    Dgi of DjangoFfuj ft yah is amazing for a lift to change the 12th or a lift back in the conference 🤔 💪 the 12th is a lift up and 5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE []  2020-11-25 22:13

    I wouldn't mind being Caught In The Middle just like the MC of this story. Nikki always comes up with fresh ideas and fresh ways to give us the satisfied ending all of us fans want!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    Reviewing modern poetry is always hard for me because each book of modern poetry I have read have been so private to the writer. The subjects and content are so raw and create the writer seem so vulnerable that I don't ever feel comfortable rating the poems by ere were about twenty poems I personally felt connected to, which I think is beautiful amazing and average for me. However, even if I didn't personally relate to the other 100+ poems, I felt like they were written well and it was really simple to empathize with the author. I probably say this every time I review a book of poetry, but being this vulnerable and begin is incredibly admirable and brave. It felt like I was reading Shelby Eileen's diary, and I couldn't support but empathize with her. Although I could not fully relate to everything she talked about, I could relate to to the subjects of body image, which is a main theme throughout the poems. Another subject I strongly similar to was Shelby Eileen's connection and relationship to words. The method she talked about what words meant to her created me feel like she was directly talking about me. It's nice to be seen, and I really wish to read more books, whether that be poetry or novels, that are about bookish and fat women. Being seen in any kind of book isn't something I have experienced as often as I'd only criticism with this book of poetry is that I [email protected]#$%! was organized a bit better. We have two sections, "Body" and "Afterthought" but I think that more categories/sections would have created more sense to me. I think the disorganized feeling created it hard for me to fully appreciate all of the poems because as a whole it felt a small all over the place.I am loving modern poetry more and more as I hold picking up various ones, and I think there's something emotional and raw in each one. I think each one I have read has allow me see such integral parts of myself and I really appreciate each poet I've read. This book is the epitome of body positivity and I need more body positive and self-love stories in my life. Although this book of poetry didn't resonate with me the entire time I was reading it, there were so a lot of pieces of myself hidden in the words that I overall have a feeling of positivity towards this book of poetry.I highly recommend this book. I think books of modern poetry are a amazing begin for getting into poetry and I think it is my favorite style of poetry. I haven't branched out yet to other styles but I would like to one day. If you wish to read raw and emotional poetry this is the book for you. It's about body positivity, self-love, unrequited love, crushes, romance, heartbreak, and the beauty of ladies. If any or all of those subjects are interesting to you, I say pick up Soft in the Middle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    Amazing poets are magicians. They place words together about experiences they have in a method that affects a wide audience. Poets strike the soul in a method that most novelists cannot. Shelby is one of these magicians, and she is a damn amazing one. This poetry collection is amazing. It is powerful and filled with truth and heartbreak and awesome messages about body positivity and the absolute beauty of girls.I'm not going to lie. I cried. Multiple times. I similar to a lot of the poems, but even the ones I didn't, were so well done and strong that I couldn't support but love them. Her poetry speaks things I've been too afraid to say. Shelby is fearless in this collection. One of my favorite parts of this collection is this thread of the beauty of nature in the poems. It is mostly similar to the beauty and power of girls and of the poet herself. The collection has awesome sapphic and body positive themes in it and it created me feel really warm after the poems that created me ft in the middle is a must-read for anyone who loves poetry or love or girls. It is attractive and strong and emotional. I loved this collection more than words can express.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    Poetry will always full holes I didn't know I had. Shelby Eileen is a fresh favorite. This volume is about romantic longing and self-love, long distances and fat girls. What a gorgeous book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE []  2020-11-25 22:13

    Fascinating story. I liked the method the story was told logically in a very entertaining way. Nikki is a amazing author and she has written lots of entertaining books for your pleasure. I highly recommend her stories in this genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Man in the Middle []  2020-1-3 23:51

    This album is so amazing and such a fulfilling CD when it comes to the people that know the Lord. Doc Mckenzie is definitely a man that knows the Lord. You can always tell by the words and the method he sings his songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    Poetry is something I have always enjoyed but for some reason I struggled to have fun “Soft in the Middle”. Most of this rating comes from that I just could not have fun the structure, or lack of structure I should say that the poet portrayed throughout this is is a book I would recommend for fans of poetry because it does present a various style that may inspire others and is a amazing single session read. However it can be difficult to obtain through so please read with that in mind.3/5 ratingFinished: 2/18/2020

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    soft in the middle []  2020-9-14 18:20

    Ughhhh, this is a unbelievable poetry collection. The ones about every love poem being for the same person is painfully relatable. Attractive words and emotional meanings. Loved this so much~

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet In Wawa [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    It’s like this author has lived my life. I’m left with so a lot of questions. Who am I? In the deeper sense. Why am I here? Why do I obtain trapped holding the doors of Wawa for method longer than I am socially obligated? There are a lot of of life’s unanswered questions that I must and will ponder.........but first I need a coffee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    Honestly, wanted to read this book for a long time. I've been recommended it by family and friends, amazing reviews encouraged finally to begin this globe of "heaven". Obviously when you have high expectations falling to reality is hard. I love philosophy, I love amazing lessons, I love amazing ideas. The thing is, those ideas, those lessons you are supposed to explore in the book, well based on the plot, you are supposed to explore after death, is something you are learning growing up. I've learned that things happens for a reason, sacrifices are part of life, forgiveness is essential, I've learned about love method before I opened this book. Why out of sudden this is a turning point of worldview for thousands? Cliche characters, cliche stories, simple strings to manipulate emotions. Most of "lessons" and "people" are not developed and plain, simplicity of this is overkill. If you wish to explore something catching your imagination, heart and mind, I would recommend avoiding reading it. There are brilliant masterpieces in globe classic, this book seems as a shadow of unfinished draft. Heaven concept is something unreasonable and illogical. This happens when author is trying to create feelings and emotions be the rulers of the life. There is no reason here and there is no purpose, there is no hidden knowledge. Just attempts to rediscover moral, and I know for sure ancient philosophers have done that better. Would not ever recommend this book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    Just coming off a latest read of "A Forgotten Man" by J. Pepper Bryars - which touched me deeply - and left me grieving for the 'middle class' in America - at the hands of an out-of-control Government Leviathan - in a very sad sort of way.I found this unbelievable story, this simple, touching and inventive view by Mitch Albom - an author - with a vivid imagination - of a fictional heaven - where ones life, their purpose and their interconnection with the globe and their fellow human beings is explained to them - through a series of story telling by those (selected by someone else - unexplained - God Maybe) who (known or unknown) were affected by one's life or that affected the main character's life throughout his or her life experiences quite refreshing. Where decisions, actions and/or inaction in different ways along their path created a huge difference in that persons adventure, successes and failures. It was like medication for the previous books negative implications. In fact it was restorative, invigorating and solemnly calming for my inner VE People You Meet in Heaven touches you at a level that causes one to think "Hmm, so that could have been me on this or that day." Or "wow who would the 5 individuals be in my life?".And about Mid Book you start pondering, contemplating, questioning yourself and remembering people, events, dates, necessary occasions, career choices/changes, survival situations and narrow escapes and the like - wondering - whom your list would include. Was it this guy or that guy or this family member or that - or was it that coworker and on and on to infinity about the countless people you have brushed up versus in your is delightfully fun to test to go back and come up with a worthy list of names that would create you the person you are today, or search that unique happening which place you in the situations you were in or are in now, or the position or career you are holding now and on and on. And as this only happens when you die - you being wondering also "How That Might Now Happen To You! And for what reason or purpose?". As I said it is delightfully fun to ponder all these and just 'go with it'. And the negateers and naysayers or those condemning souls who simply trashed this and every book like it have to be those anti-religious bigots or upset by 'everything morally based' or the 'hate the concept of heaven' list or the 'only government is my God' list or some other such nonsense. They have a sort of ingrained Neanderthal-like anti-intellectual issue of negtiavism in the wrong enviornment syndrome sort of thing. This is not a political book or a social engeneering book, it is fiction, fun and challenging your imagination stuff. It is sad that they simply cannot have fun a fun thought provoking book when they see one. Sad, just is book is pure and simply fun, thought provoking and challenging throughout - I was halfway through the book when asked - what it was about. In attempting to explain it up to that point and only having read about the first three entities and encounters - I found it was easier thought about - than explained and trying to tie it all together without reading it all - created it difficult. I explained my deductions one way. But by the time I finished reading this exceptional book/story and read the latest page.I realized I had been snookered by the brilliance of the authors tapestry weaving. And I was caught completely off guard and found the truth at the end was something completely various than what I imagined at the middle of my reading. Which caused me to instantly review mentally the entire story over again - to search where my error was created - at guessing the outcome incorrectly. I found it - and I wonder if others will as well. I loved it.I applaud the author for giving me a amazing read, an simple read and a spellbinding read and a mental puzzle to ponder that created me hold the book close by - to pick it up whenever I could. Surprisingly I began on a Saturday about noon on a street trip and finished it at my Granddaughters Birthday Party the very next day - so I could pass it on to a mate of the family - who had expressed an interest in it when he saw it on the table next to me.If you look to condemn - I am sure someone can - but I found it intriguing, fascinating and meaningful at a number of levels. Of course the most significant contemplation I had while enjoying this literary ride - was in true life if this were real - there could actually be a dozen or two dozen or scores of people or even more - in every person's life - who significantly affected in some method each of our lives similarly to the characters in this meaningful mething think about - no doubt. My congrats to Mr. L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom is by far my favorite book in the world. I'm an avid reader, but this was the most significant book at a point in my life (high school) where I was lost, confused, searching for my put in the world, and reeling for the loss of my grandmother, who was one of the most necessary people in my life. I was searching for a faith in something, and I picked up this book. It changed e premise of the book is that when you die, you meet five people. They are not always the five most necessary people in your life (parents, grandparents, spouses, children, etc), but sometimes people who you met in passing or who you'd rather forget. Sometimes it's someone you don't really even know. But they're always someone who has had an necessary impact on your The Five People You Meet in Heave, the story follows Eddie as he meets his five people and his life's meaning is revealed to him. He meets five people, only one of who he really would have thought would be on his 'five people' list. The story is heartbreaking and moving and life affirming. I am still a sobbing mess every time I re-read it. I can't tell you how a lot of highlights and pencil marks my hard copy of this has, and probably just as a lot of for my kindle version. Yes, I have both a hard copy and a kindle version. I treasure my original copy, but love having the digital ver at my fingertips everywhere I go. This book is THAT good. It's the kind of book you pass along to a mate who is struggling or a teenager in need of guidance and searching for the meaning of life. If you only read one book, create it this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    I have been hearing amazing things about this book so I had to check it out. I will mention briefly that I cringed slightly at the obliteration of theology, but not enough that it took away from my enjoyment of reading. The author does a unbelievable job of twisting together a story. It is best read in one sitting though because this book won't leave you alone. I constantly thought about it when I had to take breaks and too much thinking allowed me to figure out 95% of the is sorely lacking in hero building. At the end of the book I felt like I barely know the lead hero and the super short chapters, while beautifully set up and laid out, created it difficult reading when constantly being pulled from one stage to the s a amazing story though and I am anxiously awaiting to read the sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet In Wawa [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    Anyone who is from Delco knows the siren song that is Wawa. This was a delightful ode to the shop and its customers. Bravo, Nick!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    Oh my gosh! I loved reading this book! It makes you think about so a lot of things in your life. I wouldn’t say it’s particularly religious in any sense, just a very interested method to think of heaven and why things happened to you while you were alive. I will recommend this book for the reat of my life and I can’t wait to read it again. It is a very fast read. I couldn’t place it down!! You will love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    This book was recommended to me and it took me 3 years to buy it, always in the back of my mind of something to do but never done. Then when I finally got it, I consumed it in one morning. I’m not usually a huge reader honestly this is the 3rd or so book I’ve read cover to cover since I was in school but I simply could not place this book down! It is such a strong book it moved me to tears a lot of times reading it. I can’t recomend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    Saw something funny, in an otherwise amazing book. In the chapter during Eddie's 17th birthday, it starts:"From his bedroom, even with the door closed, Eddie can smell the beefsteak his mother is grilling with green peepers and sweet red onions..."And then a couple of pages later it says:"Later, after the unique steak has been eaten..."Given the contextual setting of the book, it's unlikely he has a unique tomato on his birthday. Beefsteak is a tomato, not a piece of meat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    I read this book, because it was assigned to my kids for the summer. I expected a amazing story, but I didn't expect such true characters or the attractive imagery that makes you feel like you're there. There are words of wisdom throughout the book, but the main notice is absolutely beautiful. I would like to be more specific. However, I feel like that would spoil the book for future readers. I gave this book five stars, because I feel like I received a hug from heaven. It really blew me away. Read it and listen to it on Audible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    I read this book on the recommendation of a friend, but I just couldn’t relate to the story at all. I was quite happy to be able to [email protected]#$%!, though I must admit to doing a lot of fast page all fairness, a lot of mates of mine have loved the story. I found it simplistic and shallow. It just wasn’t for me, but this was my fault - the title should have been a clear warning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven []  2020-1-16 14:38

    This book is not fresh and has been reviewed hundreds of times so I'll hold my thoughts short and sweet on it.When Eddie died in a tragic accident he met five various people that intersected his life in one method or another. They were meant to give him clarity and respond the question "Why was I here?" Some of the people were expected but others were e Five People You Meet in Heaven was a short and simple book to read. I flew through the pages and was anxious to know who Eddie would meet and what they would bring to the table. A lot of things about his life were explained and he was given clarity on a number of things as well.I enjoyed every min of this book. It doesn't obtain preachy or speak of religion but tells one story of what could possibly happen after the end. I appreciate that about it and therefore think that it would appeal to a huge number of people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Middle Ages [Book]  2018-2-5 18:1

    Quite interesting. However it skips around a lot, covering some things in detail and skipping over some things that would have been interesting. Also a lot of grammar and spelling issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Middle Ages [Book]  2018-2-5 18:1

    The Middle Ages has always been vague to me but here it was brought to life and some of the beliefs that I held were corrected. I highly recommend for the history buff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literacy in the Middle Grades []  2020-1-15 19:3

    It was cheaper fresh than it was used, so i got it. Haven't gotten around to reading it yet though...soon XD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    This book was so much more than just a kid’s story. It had themes, conflict, tension, and a surprisingly complex plot and characters.Historic fiction. Would highly recommend for an essay, or just an interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    "My Year in the Middle" might be set in the 70s but it covers a lot of relevant subjects in today' world. Some are racial relations, immigration, and standing up for what you believe e characters are flawed, as all people are, but lovable. Lu learns and grows throughout the course of the book and matures in her relationships with the people around is is a well written and engaging book.I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Middle of Nowhere []  2020-2-10 18:55

    Well-written adventure from the Author's youth. It is exciting and evocative. I recommend to all who have fun ordinary folk's travel tales. No BS, no hype, no sponsors' agendas. It is the adventure you could do ... if you had the imagination, zest, drive and resilience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    Decent Book but Boring

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    A amazing amount of exhortation to provide a "developmentally appropriate education" to middle school students, and a small more. OK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Middle Of Nowhere []  2020-8-19 19:26

    Another amazing Australian story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder in the Middle Pasture []  2021-3-24 18:53

    I read all of the original Hank books with my older children, who are now having kids of their own. Now my 9 year old is reading the Hank books and he devours and adores them. He told me to give ALL of the Hank books 5 stars, although he hasn't finished the series. I guess when you know you love something you just know ter all these years, my adult kids and I quote from these books with one another. Hank and Drover are a cherished part of their childhood and always bring a smile to my face when I think of the antics and misadventures those two crazy dogs got up to. Remembering that dogs always keep back when they "go" because you have to have a reserve for marking tires (especially 18 wheelers!), and rolling in dead items is like sweet perfume...I've never looked at dogs them same method since the first Hank book!Now, watching my youngest reading and laughing out loud, I think I'll have to obtain the series on audio again. Listening to Hank being read is a pure treat to me and I'll have to admit, I'm a small jealous of my son getting to go on all of Hanks adventures without me. Maybe Hank isn't for everyone but if you have a sense of humor you have to give these books a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder in the Middle Pasture []  2021-3-24 18:53

    I got this book for my grandson. He loves it. And that is what matters. Obtain them children to read and expand their knowledge.Wonderful thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder in the Middle Pasture []  2021-3-24 18:53

    Children loved it. Excitement, western humor and ethics, and just a amazing story for the kiddos. Best one yet. 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Middle Ages [Book]  2018-2-5 18:1

    It drags in points but you really do not wish to live in those times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Middle of Nowhere []  2020-2-10 18:55

    interesting especially for some one from Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literacy in the Middle Grades []  2020-1-15 19:3

    Product arrived on time and as described!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literacy in the Middle Grades []  2020-1-15 19:3

    This is a amazing book that teaches literacy tactics for 3rd through 8th graders. It was a fresh copy and it was shipped very quickly! It was great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    Great! Did not have a lot of markings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    Got it fast and it's useful to learn about what it will be like to teach in the middle school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    I enjoyed this book immensely and will be sharing it with every 4th and 5th grader I know. Students will identify with the themes of tournament and finding mates and allies in the most unexpected cirtances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    Rating: 5/5 StarsReview:This review turned into a critical ysis of the book, but I promise it’s worth it. But, heed my SPOILER ALERT. You’ve been warned!In reading Lila Quintero Weaver’s first foray into children’s fiction, I couldn’t support but think that this would pair well as a close ysis, keeping in mind Gloria Anzaldúa’s border theory. To hold it simple, Anzaldúa believed that immigrants, especially Latinx, and more specifically those of Mexican descent, not just live with the trauma of immigrating across the literal border. The theory also refers to the borders that have been socially constructed, such as racial categorization and ity just to mention a few. I’ll apply her border theory to this text because I believe most of the book is a study of said Year in the Middle follows the latest six weeks of Lu Olivera’s sixth grade in 1970 Red Grove, Alabama. Lu is the kid of two Argentinian immigrants, which reflects the author’s own private experience (this is explained at the end of the book with the Author’s Note). Lu considers herself to be a wallflower and does everything in her power to stay that way. But when the P.E. teacher decides that the girls will begin running for the latest six weeks of class, Lu becomes the surprise underdog. She outruns the entire class, which had been desegregated only the year before. In classrooms, however, an unspoken rule still divides Lu’s peers between black and white. Seeing as she identifies as neither, she occupies a seat in the middle row. In that way, she straddles a literal border.“A border is a dividing line, a narrow strip along a steep edge. A borderland is a vague and undetermined put made by the emotional residue of an unnatural boundary. It is in constant state of transition. The prohibited and forbidden are its inhabitants” (Anzaldúa 3).The method Lu sits in that racial border that has been constructed without her say in the matter, is much in the method she struggles with her identity as a Latina. She fears her Spanish is not too amazing and that her translation skills are too basic. However, above all else, she seeks acceptance among the white girls in her class. She fears being Othered, but also fears complete assimilation into whiteness. Anzaldúa said: “The only ‘legitimate’ inhabitants [of the borderlands] are those in power, the whites and those who align themselves with whites. Tension grips the inhabitants of the borderlands like a virus. Ambivalence and unrest reside there and death is no stranger” (4). Though death may not be something that’s talked about in the book, ambivalence is something the narrative strides to be against. Lu feels the tension between her black and white classmates, which at times escalates to physical violence. At some point, even Lu’s the victim of physical and verbal violence from an older white student who takes the bus with her. Lu thwarts this by stomping his feet and correcting that she’s Argentinian, but she has to constantly remind herself of something her mother says: “We’re foreigners. We’re not supposed to obtain involved.”Thus, Lu becomes an agent of whiteness by not daring to mix with the black kids, even though she identifies more with them and wishes to befriend them. There is a border that she dares not cross, even though it’s not something her parents have taught her. Her parents have taught her to be implicit in white supremacy even though they don’t believe in it. When Lu finally decides to befriend Belinda, a black girl in her class who is also a unbelievable runner, she worries about what her white peers might think of such relationship. She doesn’t hide it in public, and she defends Belinda in the face of a racist keeper, but when she’s faced with the questions of her white peers she shies away from the courage she shows. It’s a slow process as she realizes the systems at play in her classroom, and though she has some support from white peers like her mate Sam, her “best friend” Abigail does the opposite and encourages Lu to fact, most of the characters who want that Lu assimilate are women. If it’s not Abigail telling Lu to read women’s fashion hints in magazines, it’s Lu’s mom telling her that sports aren’t for girls when Lu expresses her love of running. This is a sentiment that even Anzaldúa expresses: “Culture is created by those in power—men. Males create the rules and laws; women transmit them” (16). By communicating that assimilation into a white hetero capitalist patriarchy or assimilation by ignoring your Otherness and that of your peers, Abigail and Lu’s mom transmit the messages of those in power, which Lu then e book mostly consists of Lu unlearning these internalized feelings and the text does so deftly and with the innocence of a sixth grader who’s only starting to realize the depth of US’s injustices. A amazing evolution is the photo of Lu’s sister, Marina, who’s a college student as well as a volunteer for the Brewer campaign. This campaign is another subplot that’s almost always occurring in the background of Lu’s life. At moments she believes she wouldn’t be affected by the campaign, which is versus rampant white supremacist ex-governor George Wallace and desegregationist Albert Brewer. But the book takes you on a sort-of ride-along as she goes to a Wallace rally because Abigail just wants to participate in a cake walk. As Lu feels horrible when the speeches begin and the Confederate flags begin flying, she bargains with herself and others that she only went to appease Abigail be a part of something with her white doesn’t tell her black mates or her own family that she attended the rally, knowing it would be met with scorn, which means that she knew it was wrong. When her social studies teacher asks her to write an essay about her experience at the rally for gift points, she does so, and gets full points while feeling guilty. That guilt is useless, however, seeing as it resembles the white guilt of her peers who wish to rebel versus the white supremacy in put at their school, but won’t do anything productive with it. It’s when Lu uses her guilt to defend her black mates that it becomes more a white student’s birthday party, Lu becomes the target of harassment from her peers for being mates with the black students, especially Belinda. White fear comes bubbling up, and it’s only perforated when Lu finally owns up to her own prejudices and by calling out her peers’ racism in the process.When Brewer loses the race, the sentiments explored in the book felt all too familiar. As the Brewer supporters begin mourning the loss, the white Wallace supporters become even more assertive of their desire for white supremacy. The feelings paralleled the days after the election of Tr*mp. Hold in mind, the book is set less than 50 years ago, and the sentiments of white supremacy and segregationist laws are still show in the US. It is at that point that Lu’s reality comes crashing down on school, she finally decides to sit with the black students, eschewing the made border of the middle row, the false neutrality she thought she could keep. Lu finally overcomes “the tradition of silence” that Anzaldúa wished to do in regards of the censuring of her identity as a Chicana (59). And though, again, Lu isn’t a Chicana, it’s the best turning point for her as she accepts her Otherness and doesn’t give into white supremacy. In fact, she goes to a white man in power (the principal) to defend one of her black peers, who’s attacked by a white student in is constantly subverting the expectations set for her as the book moves along. She shows growth in the most hopeful and honest way. She’s constantly deconstructing the set default, though not always by herself, like in the stage in which Belinda is at her house and they’re going through the magazines that used to be Abigail’s. Belinda points out that there’s one black model for the overwhelmingly white publication, but she doesn’t worry because at her house they keep beauty magazines for black women. Lu can’t support but wonder that there’s no such thing for girls like her, girls from Latin America, and that she doubted she would ever search a black-haired model with brown skin. This stage is a short one, yet it puts into focus what has been set as the standard for beauty: Eurocentric features. It also helps as a method for Lu to deconstruct such standards, and to question why those are the default.“It is not enough to stand on the opposite river bank, shouting questions, challenging patriarchal, white conventions. [...] At some point, on our method to a fresh consciousness, we will have to leave the opposite bank, the split between the two mortal combatants somehow healed so that we are on both shores at once [...] Or perhaps we will decide to disengage from the dominant culture, write it off altogether as a lost cause, and cross the border into a wholly fresh and separate territory. Or we might go a various route. The possibilities are numerous once we decide to act and not react” (Anzaldúa 78-79).And indeed, Lu acts. Most of the book is her reacting to injustice, and by the end she’s acting and choosing her own path. She chooses herself, she chooses her true friends, and her family. She also chooses running, with her entire family supporting her and her dad and sister helping her train before the huge tournament (a Field Day). It becomes a celebration of Lu’s identity as her parents scream encouragement in Spanish as she goes. Those screams let her to win, seeing as her competition, an older white girl, gets distracted and falls on a pothole. This final stage settles the border paradox within Lu. She’s able to celebrate both her passion for running and her identity as a Latina, all while celebrating the mates she has. There’s no indication she wants to seek reunification with the white peers who turned their backs on her, or that she wants to seek some sort of the end, Lu is satisfied with forging her own path. She’s finally unafraid to embrace her actions, and leave behind the made borders. There are fresh borders, but she doesn’t want to acknowledge them at the moment the book is finished. She’s proud of her growth, and so was Cited:Anzaldúa, Gloria. Borderlands/La Frontera: The Fresh Mestiza. Aunt Lute Books, 1987.Quintero Weaver, Lila. My Year in the Middle. Candlewick Press, 2018.An eARC was provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! (this is why I couldn’t directly cite from the source book, since ARCs undergo a lot of changes before publishing)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    Compelling and well written book about a Argentinian immigrant girl in 1970 Alabama during the first year of racial integration in fictional Red Grove AL. She's caught in the middle of racial strife, and between her culture and American culture and between the Pro-George Wallace faction and the Anti-Wallace faction at school and in the community. At first I was surprised at how a lot of idioms and casual catch phrases she used until I realized that they all dated from 1970 and only seemed over used because I grew up with them. A fascinating and attractive book about an ugly topic. Don't miss Lu -- she's a amazing mate to have in tough times

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Middle Of Nowhere []  2020-8-19 19:26

    Very well written, about a lovely real Aussie family. Created a difference meeting Terri and John.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder in the Middle Pasture []  2021-3-24 18:53

    Amazing Stories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Middle Ages [Book]  2018-2-5 18:1

    Life in the Middle Ages is a worthy read. Examples of life in Paris, the beginnings of hospitals, the lifestyles of the bourgeoisie, peasants etc. are spellbinding. The only criticism of Richard Winston' s book is the abrupt ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Middle Ages [Book]  2018-2-5 18:1

    Gritty, but seems accurate

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Middle Ages [Book]  2018-2-5 18:1

    I wanted to know what people were like in the middle ages. What did they eat? What was necessary to them? What was everyday life like? I'm only half method through this book and it has not disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literacy in the Middle Grades []  2020-1-15 19:3

    Amazing product!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literacy in the Middle Grades []  2020-1-15 19:3

    This textbook is an perfect study tool for the Praxis: Reading Across the Curriculum exam. It has definitions and ideas important to pass the try as well as plenty of resources for the classroom. If you have to buy this for a class, actually read through and hold it because you will need the info later on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    Lila Quintero Weaver’s My Year in the Middle (2018) might be set in 1970 and in an Alabama where racial lines continue to be drawn—and resisted and fought—but there’s much that speaks to a 12-year-old like myself. There’s the hallway chatter; catching those competitive sideways looks in gym; feeling those butterflies in the tummy when completing a math sum or a free write, knowing that your fave teacher will be grading it; avoiding those kids—the ones that push others around with looks and words—and occasionally with shoves; seeing in the cafeteria a sea that divides 6th from 7th and 7th from 8th graders; being the target of darting eyes of jealousy; getting caught sneaking a text—today’s method for us to pass notes.Quintero Weaver has a true ear and eye for description: the rotating sound of dialing an old phone as well as hand-drawn art of newspapers from the day. She breathes life into the main hero Lu during this ‘70s period and southern region of the US. Quintero Weaver has an equally sharp ear for turns of phrases from this time and place, also adding to the realism of the story: “I don’t say a dadgum word”; “pretend not to give a plug nickel”; “boocoodles of people.” Quintero Weaver is so amazing at conveying just how it feels for a middle-schooler like me to have someone come along and crush your hopes and dreams: “There I was, believing I was somebody, but now all kinds of darts are zigzagging back and forth inside my head” (24). And, Quintero Weaver really knows how to write about how someone like me struggles with being different. We see this with the meal that Lu’s parents prepare (empanadas, for instance), the method her hair stands like “porcupine quills” (37), and the deep feeling of not wanting to stick out as a Latina in a globe filled with hate. At one point in the novel, we learn that Lu’s mamá warns the older sister to be quiet about her progressive political views during a time of not good racism and racial segregation. There are a lot of times when those of us who are created to feel different—whether in the method we speak or look—are afraid to scream too a middle-schooler in 2018, I can say that Lila Quintero Weaver has her work chop out for her. Why? Like a lot of of my friends, we tend to reach for those high-octane novels like Divergent or fantasy novels like the Red Queen. When I first saw the novel with its stark black and white cover, I didn’t think I’d like it. It seemed like it might be boring. Once I began reading, I couldn’t place it down—and I understood why the cover had to be created up of those two huge blocks: white and black, with a small girl caught in the middle. I can say that in the end, Lila Quintero Weaver pulls it off. She weaves together a story that I connected to. I can’t tell you how various I feel growing up in Columbus and attending a school where I am the only brown Mexipina kid. Much like other authors who choose not to go the action-suspense method (some of my faves contain The Battle that Saved My Life and Red Umbrella), Quintero Weaver creates an engaging story that really shows what it feels like to grow up different—and this still applies to today. My Year in the Middle keeps you glued all the method till the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    I am going to begin with saying that you need to read this book. Now.Okay, so why did I begin that way? Because this book had me on the edge of my seat the entire book. Lu was an awesome and inspiring hero and I loved watching her grow. As I was reading, I felt like it was a classic that I had somehow missed out on. It just felt like it had been around. This story touched on a lot of necessary issues, mainly race, but also socio-economic problems and I think they were done well and in a method to really created me pause and think and reflect. I highly recommend this book to all readers. It needs to be read and ank you NetGalley and Candelwick for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    Some positives: It isn't long, and I rented it, so I didn't have to pay the full price for this book.Other: I felt like it was a small bit politically charged, and it was a bit boring. It was also WAY too expensive. If you have to use this book for a class, and need to pick and choose books to buy or rent. Rent this one. If you disagree with me, you can also pay the full price later. I bet you won't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    The copy I received was severely damaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Middle Of Nowhere []  2020-8-19 19:26

    Well written real story of sheer guts and determination with such deep love of family conquering all obstacles. I am determined to visit Riveren one day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder in the Middle Pasture []  2021-3-24 18:53

    My son loves these books! He is 5 and I read him a chapter or 2 every night! It's amazing to see him using his imagination rather than just looking at pictures! Its entertaining and fun! (I even have continued reading ahead after he has fallen asleep just to see what happens next! Lol)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder in the Middle Pasture []  2021-3-24 18:53

    My 8 year old son lives these books. They are the excellent level for him. Just enough comedy and action to keep and hold his interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literacy in the Middle Grades []  2020-1-15 19:3

    Bought it for class so I'm indifferent. But the book is in amazing condition. So that's all that matters to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In The Middle Of Nowhere []  2020-8-19 19:26

    Wow I think this would be my all time favourite. This woman gives us a amazing idea of how hard it was for the woman in thoses very lonely outback stations in northern Australia it was not written as an all sweet story it gave me tears and gave me laughs I have recommended this book to my mates as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Year in the Middle []  2020-2-7 20:12

    Writing: 5 Plot: 4.5 Characters: 5Excellent middle grade level story about racial tensions in Red Hook, Alabama, on the eve of the gubernatorial election of 1970 (hint: George Wallace wins). Lu Olivera is a fabulous hero — she is the quiet and unassuming daughter of Argentinian immigrants who finds her own voice and moral compass as racial tensions manifest in her city and her is one of the few children who “sits in the middle” in the classroom, with the black children on one side and the white children on the other. She finds a talent and passion for running and a fresh best mate — who happens to be black — to go along with it. As happenings transpire, and things occur which she knows is wrong, she wants to speak up, but running through her head is always her parent’s refrain: “We’re foreigners. We’re not supposed to obtain involved.” It’s both a history lesson and a lesson on the perils of conformity, being delivered to just the right age e characters are true and absorbing, and the plot keeps you on your toes and is appropriate for the middle school audience. The characters are portrayed skillfully as children who would rather focus on family and mates (and in Lu’s case - boys) than politics but who are reluctantly drawn into these problems eat book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    Required to obtain the textbook for a class I had taken . Overall, It was informative and an simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching In the Middle School []  2020-2-4 20:7

    This was a very info book about Middle School. I used it with a class and it was very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life in the Middle Ages [Book]  2018-2-5 18:1

    It is interesting, but shallow. It's almost exclusively about France. The author tells us about how different classes lived; nobility, peasantry, artisans, criminals, clergy, students. It appears that most of the detail for each comes from one or two sources--the relation of the Spanish captain who guested at a French nobleman's home implied that all nobility were like that. One obscure person described Paris, lists and e author gives us infrastructure information, which is important. It may be unpleasant to hear of how sewage is disposed of, for example, but you don't need much imagination to know how it affected life; smells, disease, difficulty of getting potable water.I suppose the summation would be, If I had to live in one or another class in the Middle Ages, I'd like to live like most of the folks the author describes. Because almost everybody else had it worse. But you have to know that e exception, of course, would be The Hundred Years Battle and civil wars. In that case, being off the line of march would be a blessing.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386