metaphysical elements of justice Reviews & Opinions


Submit metaphysical elements of justice review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elements of Justice review []  2020-1-9 18:48

    Schmidtz covers a lot of ground in this interesting analysis of justice. Schmidtz is innovative in thinking of a theory of justice as a map. He contains poignant discussion on desert but at times he seems to not critically examine the free will implications behind some of his theorizing. All around a very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elements of Justice review []  2020-1-9 18:48

    Schmidtz has the rare ability to be tremendously original and absolutely clear. I recommend this book to anyone that intends to have a new and suggestive view on theories of justice. This book is a classic waiting to be discovered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elements of Justice review []  2020-1-9 18:48

    A lot of theories of justice are monistic: they suggest that justice boils down to rules x, y, and z, where x, y, and z do not ever conflict, offer clear answers to each moral dilemma when used properly, and do not depend on context. In "Elements of Justice" Schmidtz lays out what he calls a "contextual functionalist" view of the elements of justice - a pluralistic conception that suggests "justice' is created up of four elements that cannot be reduced to any formula. Desert, reciprocity, equality, and need are each part of justice, but depending on the situation, one (or two) of these four may be more necessary than others. For instance:What do we owe to children? What they need.What do we owe to spouses and friends? Reciprocation.What do we owe to citizens? Equality under the law.What do we owe to employees? What they e book is in six sections. The first goes over why Schmidtz sees this as essentially a pluralistic view of justice that is more akin to a map than a theory (a map is an imperfect guide; a theory is a detailed argument). Section two goes over the concept of desert and what is entailed. Schmidtz points out that desert cannot only be a reward but also in anticipation of what one will do. John can deserve his promotion by doing a amazing job, but Jane might deserve to be hired based on what we think she will do when she gets the job. The third section is devoted to the idea of reciprocity and how justice often (but not always) demands that we give in proportion to what we receive, paying back or paying forward. The fourth section goes over the idea of equality, noting in particular that attempts at equality of x will always effect in inequalities somewhere stly, we obtain into the idea of need. Here are where Schmidtz's views are probably the most controversial, as he joins with a lot of critics of the 'justice as concerned with equal distribution of shares' approach. To Schmidtz, equality should be less about equality of stuff, and more about equality of chances to secure well-being. So, a lot of theorists imagine that if we are in an orchard where there are two apples, justice demands that we each obtain one apple. But that assumes that we both got the orchard at the same time, and neither of us owned the tree with those apples on it. It seldom works that way. If you got to the orchard first and worked hard to plant and grow apple trees, and i obtain there later, is the egalitarian intuition that I deserve half still so obvious? No. Well, the true globe functions more like the latter than the former situation, and justice needs to function with the latter issues more than the former. To Schmidtz, the idea of property rights and allowing free trade gives everyone more of a possibility that simply shifting around bundles of goods from those who have more to those who have less. (And for those doubting that property rights give amazing opportunity for the "have less's" to rise and the "have more's" to fall, Schmidtz gets into a very amazing statistic-heavy chapter showing that market-based societies have much more class fluidity than highly distributive ones.)The final section will also be a bit controversial, and as one whose never read Schmidtz before, I'm not sure I was expecting it. He discusses the Rawls/Nozick debate as the seminal debate in 20th century justice, and that part is far from controversial or new. But he, if I understand him correctly, considers himself somewhat on the side of Ralws, arguing that Rawls has largely been misunderstood as advocating for redistributive justice. No Schmidtz says. Rawls (a) puts primacy of put on negative liberty consistent with like negative liberty for others, and (b) suggests that inequality is to be permitted if the inequality benefits the worst off (by whom he means 'working poor'). Schmidtz (if I understand him right) is s saying that both of those conditions are happy best in a shop society. That negative liberty is given pride of put there is obvious, but think about the difference principle: one of the assets of capitalism is that in order to obtain rich, one has to produce positive externalities for others by serving them what they wish to pay for. And, again, since Schmidtz sees equality of opportunity and possibility as more beneficial than equality of shares, it seems likely that a system of markets and property rights really satisfy the difference principle as well, and maybe better, than a distributive system that takes shares from the well off and gives them to those least well off. (Whether Rawls would have agreed with that is definitely debatable and a conclusion like this will surely @#$% off some Rawls fans.)Overall, Schmidtz's conception of justice is very contextualistic and, I would say, showing tips of rule-utilitarianism. When we are dealing with tough moral cases, one of the things Schmidtz seems to wish us to think about is, "What kind of action, if followed universally, would create everyone living together run most smoothly." For instance, imagine the situation where a train is coming at five people and you have the power to switch it to another track where it will only run one person over. Now, imagine that you work at a hospital where five people are to die for lack of organs, and you have the ability to save them by taking an innocent bystander, using her organs to save the five. Same problem, but various intuitions. Schmidtz explains it this way: we wish to save the five on the tracks, but can't bring ourselves to save the five in the hospital, because, in the latter case, it involves treating a human being as if they did not have autonomy and rights (where in the former case, the person is already on the train track). We could save the five in the hospital by violating the bystander's autonomy, but that would mean living in a globe where everyone is aware that they could be the next bystander. Schmidtz defends property rights in the same way: if we live in a globe where we know that what is ours is our and what is hers is hers, it is a lot safer for all of us than living in a globe where social utility is constantly maximized and no one can be sure whether they will come out on the losing end. Etc.Anyhow, this is an interesting book with an interesting pluralistic view of justice. Anyone looking for a hard-argued theory of justice will not obtain it here. Like Walzer's Spheres Of Justice: A Defense Of Pluralism And Equality or Kekes's The Morality of Pluralism, this conception is pluralistic and thus, always somewhat incomplete (as a theory, that is, because it is contextual). It is also, indirectly, an interesting defense of markets as a more just system than highly egalitarian systems.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on metaphysical elements of justice or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch metaphysical elements of justice video reviews and related movies:

    See Metaphysical Elements of Justice on youtube.

     related image

    See Elements of Self Destruction on youtube.

     related image

    See Objective vs Subjective (Philosophical Distinction) on youtube.

     related image

    See Kant & Categorical Imperatives: Crash Course Philosophy #35 on youtube.

     related image

    See Leonard Hobhouse The Metaphysical Theory of the State: Part 1 Dedication on youtube.

     related image

    See Metaphysical Magic - Foundations of Human Rights on youtube.

     related image

    See HPS100 Lecture 11: Worldviews: Metaphysical Components on youtube.

     related image

    See Plato's Republic Outline by Topic on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elements of Justice review []  2020-1-9 18:48

    This week the state in which I live, Nevada, executed someone. Was he guilty? Probably, he was found guilty in a trial and then confessed. After some twelve yers on death row he quit appealing and asked to be executed. The comment of the kids of the lady he killed were reported by the news as being thankful that justice had been served and closure brought to the situation. Today in the paper there are several articles wanting other people on death row to be this justice? Is it justice if the people executed are largely poor, minority and male? Or do the poor, minority males commit more crimes?These and a lot of other points about justice do not have simple answers. This small book attempts to show a theory of justice that covers these and a lot of other points. In defining justice he discusses deserving, reciprocity, equality, and the philosophy of what has defined justice down through the years.Excellently written, this is a book that makes you think.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    Been looking forward to reading this since the author announced it. This is the end of the Elementals Origins series by A.L. Knorr, but thankfully that's just the begin of this compelling series. We've read the individual stories of the four mates from high school who explore they each have elemental powers over one summer vacation, and we were promised a novel rejoining the four girls as they return from vacation and test to resume their lives. But we took a slight detour to introduce Petra in her own story, and ever since I've been wondering where we'd wind up.Well, the final novel in Origins is here, and Ms Knorr has crafted a doozy. It's a quick moving tale, starting with the long-promised reunion at The Sleepover and barrelling through from there. Threads from Perta's story weave themselves into a corporate entity that presents itself as beneficial but are they really ever in these things? And it all winds up in a coupe de grace with the city of Saltford hanging in the balance.Would not have expected this from the method the girls' story began. Couldn't place the book down, and the author leaves me wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    What do you do when you have the power of an elemental and it isn't enough? When you have mates who have the other three elements and it isn't enough? You will search one solution here in this quick paces conclusion to A L Knorr's Elemental Origins is book segways from the happenings of 5 and then goes into the highly anticipated "guess what happened to me this summer". The excitement mounts as the heroens search a globe changing project that only they can do, but things aren't always as they seem and all hell breaks orr's writing is unbelievable and she has made some unforgettable characters. Now that we know who they are. it will be fun to follow them to see where they go in follow up s 1 - 4 can be read in any order, and book 6 is mostly a continuation of 5. So I would recommend reading the first 4 , then 5 and 6.I would give this more stars as it earns my rare, re-read award!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    Wow. This book was spectacular. Amazing. Incredible. I can't search enough words to describe it. Reading about Targa,Saxony,Georjayna,Akiko and Petra together was awesome. And their roles in the end was just amazing. I love that each of them had "screen time" and shone brilliantly. These girls were strong individuals by themselves but it was awesome how they worked together. I love this series and [email protected]#$%! didn't end. Am positive i'll reread all six books again. A.L, u outdid yourself this time. I loved the ending with Akiko. U got a spin off in mind??? Am hopeful.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    Just finished the 6th and final book in The Elemental series by A.L. Knorr. It was so much better than expected. I loved how it was all tied up in an awesome adventure. Amazing youth fiction for anyone with just enough fantasy to tantalize and hold me on the edge of my seat. This author has a unbelievable imagination and sense of amazing story lines. I loved it.I highly recommend this series just for fun and adventure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    Amazing. [email protected]#$%! was continuing:( I love Targa Saxonny Georgie Akiko and Petra :) can’t wait to reread!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    I’ve been overwhelmed with delight each time I’ve had the (truly total) pleasure of reading one of of A.L. Knorr’s Elemental Origins series novels. Now, in The Elementals, we obtain all five elementals together in action. It’s a total treat getting Targa (water), Saxony (fire), Georjayna (earth), Akiko (aether) and Petra (air) all at once - sort of like one of the most latest Marvel super-movie where all of the characters from prior movies got together, but much (MUCH) better. This book really had it all. It was superbly written. It had a superb plot. It had a superb supporting cast of characters. Frankly everything I wanted was there and just, well, superb. But for the fact that I’m literally dictating this review to my husband from my hospital bed I could go on and on with praises - the book definitely deserves it. Since I can’t do that I will simply note that the book is most definitely one to read, it is simple to highly recommend. Really the only poor thing about this book is that it’s the penultimate one in the series. Now I love that word, penultimate, as it’s such a classy method of saying “next to last”, but darn it that means it’s the next to last! I’m now both desperately looking forward to and dreading getting that next book since it will be the latest of a - you guessed it - superb series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    I have been reading orr books since the first Elemental book, "Born of Water". There were originally four Elementals, Water, Fire, Earth and Air. Since that time, we have awaited "the Sleepover", but along came Petra in "Born of Aether". an awesome addition to the other four girls, so it was fitting that she came to the sleepover and provided the excitement and anticipation of a whole fresh episode where all five worked together to overcome EVIL. The story itself is told from the perspective of each girl, which creates an wonderful retelling and even more interesting synopsis of the summer's revelations. Then Petra asks them to support her, and the story truly e is an extremely well-written book , developing as each girl becomes privy to the happenings taking place. It saddens one to think this is the latest in the series, but others may insert themselves at some point, hopefully!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    It's finally time for the sleep over where the girls come back from their 'vacations' and obtain to know one another again. But that's not all - it's a stop on the method to the huge adventure for the girls. There are moments that have you wondering what the girls are getting themselves into and moments when you are proud of them. What happens when the Elementals come together is earth shattering and just angelic at its best. Read the series in order and end with this one for the best read possible otherwise you won't understand the background of the characters. Watch the girls bloom, refine themselves, and ride the wave of adventure. Love this series because it's a clean read and amazing for preteens to adults. Who's your elemental? Who do you like the most? Wish to escape - read the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    Fantastic! Finally the "sleep-over!" The girls share the stories of their summer and their fresh "talents" with each other, then Petra shows up and the adventure really begins! All of the girls use their talents and work together in awesome ways, Targa with water, Saxony with fire, Georgie with earth, Akiko with the aether/hanta and Petra with air. Seeing how they all mesh (including Petra) is amazing! In the story Petra develops even more and learns how to use her element in awesome ways. All the girls expand their abilities. The story is captivating! This is a amazing read - entertaining, exciting and just fantastic! The book is well written and well developed. I give it 5 stars wholeheartedly!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Elementals: An Elemental Origins Novel review [Book]  2018-6-8 18:2

    The Elemental series by Knorr is unbelievable reading. I received this book as an early advance so I could give it an honest review. It deserves it’s five stars! ELEMENTALS, continues to present how amazing a writer orr is with a scary plot, unbelievable hero development, and a surprise ending. It was hard to place down, even though I was traveling for vacation and required to do some packing and driving. Knorr gently reminds the readers of her characters developed in the initial books, then blasts into a plot which doesn’t quit until the very finish. The integration of Petra with the other elementals was well done. SIGH...now I have to wait for the next book. Grin

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    An perfect handbook. Clear, concise, a solid foundation for those interested in the restorative justice process. Powerful recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Amazing book and received it when it required amazing price quick delivery

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    I required two of these books for grad school and found this combo book. Lots of information regarding various subjects in just one book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    The emerging social science is a major paradigm shift from that of the failed retributive justice model. This is written by one of the pioneers in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Unbelievable book! I highly recommend it to people working in school systems or the criminal justice system.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    amazing reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Amazing tape!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Arrived on time. 5/5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Book of Restorative Justice: Four Classic Justice & Peacebuilding Books in One Volume (Justice and Peacebuilding) review []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Amazing book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice League: No Justice (2018-) #3 review [Book]  2018-5-25 18:0

    DC playing bait-and-switch again... the “art” in this problem isn’t done by Manipul, but split between two other artists, with several pages looking genuinely terrible. Why DC can’t complete even a little project 4-issue with an A-list artist remains perplexing, but also very typical these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Android game is a bit slow I see unlike when u created Z Champions. Only other issue is you should fix the controls like take off the Joystick and just create it Arrow Keys. Otherwise amazing beta so far just fix those things

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    HOPE THIS GAME DEFEAT WARRIOR OF THE UNIVERSE , KEEP THE UPDATES COMING !! BIG FAN OF THIS PROJECT SINCE Z CHAMPIONS !!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Waited for the android game so long and it's out and it's awasome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    u created a comeback on everybody that doubted u this android game 💥💥💥💥💥💥✨✨✨🏆🏆🏆🏆

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    You need to add more combos and more skills in future. Also create sure to add multiplayer. Then this android game will have true potential

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Im so satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    I know the android game is a small rough around the edges right now, but I have no doubt in my mind, that you will improve the android game in the future, also it would be really cool if you add a light, and darkness element, the light could shoot an energy beam, and darkness could shoot a black hole, also a lightning element, would be cool as well, hold up the amazing work, and don't disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    The android game is amazing, I hope you add horns or tails in the next modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Esta incrível.. Recomendo que troque o analógico por setas e deixe a batalha mais suave.. Espero por atualizações, o jogo é incrível.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    This android game is really awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    The android game is amazing but can you please add other elements such as lightning,ice,nature and others

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Its a amazing android game so far please add more lands and clothes for characters

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    It's a amazing android game it has a amazing mechanics. For a beta it is amizing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Dope🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    Andrea sansone i'm very glad that you stepped away from making a amazing android game like Z champions because you did'nt deserved creating DB games. Trash & useless android games like this one should be developed by you. You've definitely long lost your talent for continuing developing awesome android games like Z champions & this android game is the proof that you're the worst & useless developer ever existing. And about people who are saying this android game amazing prefers pure garbage packed in a shining bonus box 👎👎👎👎👎👎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elements review [App]  2019-9-3 21:26

    It's kinda hard to move without touching the element button

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    The dialogue was ah-mazing!! The plot was entertaining and new and executed perfectly. The ending left us on a tad bit of a cliffhanger. This was the first book to come from the creative imagination of Ms. Middaugh! Our main character, Valerie is a high schooler and doesn't know that her whole globe is about to change. She has three hotties that could be her Mr. Right and this complicates her life. With fresh opponents and shady family members trying to dictate her choices her frustrations grow. Some decisions are better left to fate, but even being undecided could lead to Val's worst nightmares. I will note that Valerie is a teeanger who only ever sought out the shadowy corners. Once she decides to venture from her norm she loses a bit of her likability. But.... she is a teen and she's suddenly placed into situations and she is justifiably trying to spread her wings. If you love a paranormal twist with plenty of drama with slow burn romance, create this your next read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    This was the first book I have read from Elle Middaugh and I can assure you, it will not be the last. I ordered this book to take with me on vacation next month, however, I couldn't war the urge to begin reading it the day it arrived. Before finishing it the next day I actually had to track my pack of the second book, Elemental Lies, to be sure I wasn't going to be left hanging for very long. Elle writes so vividly that you feel like you are there with the characters, as if you know them personally. This book was nearly impossible to place down as it has multiple roller coaster rides throughout. Just as you think you are getting to a point where you can sit the book down and walk away, YOU'RE WRONG, Elle grabs you right back in. By far one of the best books I have ever read. Next review, Elemental Lies...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    In one instant imagine learning your entire being was a lie. Your beloved father might not be your biological father. There's a race of beings more strong than humans, and shocker you may be one! All kinds of secrets, intrigue, politics, family intrigue, and a small romance here and there. Amazing begin to an exciting series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    So far I am enjoying this series. Reading about the angst that teenage Elemental Valerie and all her mates brings me back to my years in High School. Looking forward to reading book 2.I recommend that anyone that enjoys this type of book to read it. I promise you will love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    This was a amazing book from begin to finish and I love the plot and characters so much that I wanted more! This is worth checking out if you love fantasy novels of all sorts!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    This one is one of the best reads of the year it keeps you on the edge of your seat I can't wait for the next book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I don't usually read books like these but was surprised with myself in not being able to place this one down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    A really unbelievable book that keeps you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    This is a book you can obtain caught up in. Such a mix of emotions! I found myself crying with Valerie as she relived her mother's death, nervousness around those hot guys, joy of finding such amazing friends, and sheer terror of possibly dying. Looking forward to the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental Secrets (The Essential Elements Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:28

    Perfect read! A book I loved to engulf myself in. Attractive depictions, a special plot line, and it keeps you on your toes. One of my favorites! I hope there's more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    The point of the book is to introduce some beautiful primary jurisprudence/moral philosophy, and the idea that common social problems should be argued with morals and ethics--in fact, they can't be excluded from discussions. If you're not familiar with a lot of the primary philosophical theories that are referenced in socio-political discussions (Kant, Utilitarianism, Aristotle, etc.), the book will be helpful.I found that Sandel repeats himself frequently, and uses a lot of short stories to explain a concept. It felt more circular and kind of energy-draining to test and search out the point he was trying to make. Additionally, he doesn't go into any true depth with the theories, just mentions a few primary points and then goes right into another hypothetical.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    ScienceThrillers Review: I never took Sandel’s popular core curriculum course while I was at Harvard, but a lot of undergraduates did. There was something unique about that class: people talked about it, and kept talking about it. Sandel was accomplishing what all educators want they could. He was lighting a , years later, Professor Sandel has written a book based on the content of that course which has now become popular beyond the ivy walls. Which means I had a second possibility to be his student. (Or third chance, if you consider I rejected the idea of enrolling in the online edX ver of Justice as too onerous.)No one would describe Justice as a beach read, but I did read it on vacation, an advantage that allowed me to focus more fully and not abandon the book for too-long intervals. It is a page-turner in its own way. Sandel’s bonus is two-fold. First, he streamlines the key arguments and perspectives of a select group of amazing moral philosophers. The ideas aren’t dumbed down, but they are artfully reduced to their essence. Second, he uses real-world anecdotes to illustrate the app of the different philosophies, and equally important, he explains the intellectual challenges created to each. (Which allowed me to pretend that’s exactly what I was thinking and I was glad he brought it up.)Moral problems used in the book contain the popular runaway trolley problem, outrage over the bailout, exploding gas tanks in Ford Pintos, a consensual cannibalism case from Germany, the voluntary military, surrogate pregnancy, selling kidneys, Bill Clinton and Monica, affirmative action, reparations, evacuating Ethiopian Jews, buying American, and much more. In each case, although Sandel is clearly a contemporary American liberal, he avoids taking a decisive stand but works through the logical conclusion of the relevant moral us about 80% of the book is an engaging, readable distillation of necessary ideas about justice, society, and morality. In the latest 20% or so, Sandel goes beyond teaching and presents his own argument for a fresh approach to justice in our times. Once you wrap your head around it, you realize that he is advocating for a revolutionary re-thinking of the moral neutrality which has been the unwritten goal of justice in America for some decades. His is a bracing, dangerous gambit–but once you’ve read the whole book, you’ll see why it may be the only method to save modern politics.A remarkable, compact book that will stimulate the logic circuits of your brain and leave you pondering Huge Questions.Unusual words: utilitarianism; Jeremy Bentham; John Stuart Mill; libertarianism; universal rights; laissez-faire; pure practical reason; Immanuel Kant; categorical imperative; intelligible realm; John Rawls; moral desert; Aristotle; telosIf you like Justice, you might like:The Righteous Mind: Why Amazing People Are Divided by Politics and Religion by Jonathan Haidt.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    This is an immensely readable refresher of the principles pertaining to justice as written by a wide array of philosophers, from Aristotle to Rawls. Ultimately, Mr. Sandel argues convincingly that what the right thing is cannot be separated entirely from the hazards of our genes, education and circumstances and that discussions of moral matters require more than considerations of utility and consent. To Sandel, there is a civic dimension to justice that too few attempt to engage. These are thought provoking ideas brought forth in examinations of some very contentious modern problems from immigration to affirmative action to abortion, you name ever, the most attractive thing about the book for me was the self-reflection it promoted in me as I tried to engage the questions as rigorously as I could. Doing that, in the first instance, is the Right Thing to Do, I think.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    5 stars for the book; ZERO stars to Amazon for the prominent claims that the Kindle ver contains page numbers.--> It does not.I like my Kindle and I hate zone numbers - part of the reason I chose an e-version of this book was Amazon's claims that it contains actual page numbers. It doesn't and they are not an TE: I am wide begin to being proven wrong and would welcome it; if anyone replies with a method to see pages, I will take it all back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    The ideal is to take Sandel's highly sought after class at Harvard, "Justice," which you can do online. It's amazing. The book offers a terrific method to continue pondering the vexing dilemmas that he offers for our contemplation. The "position" from which he presents the problems is neither completely relativist nor absolutist, and he forces in the most smart method to consider the sticky variables surrounding moral is a fabulous book for lay people who are overwhelmed by philosophy's jargon and overly headiness. Sandel is brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    In this book prof. Sandel explores three approaches to justice. The one that justice is the maximizing utility or welfare, the second according to which justice means respecting freedom of choice and the third (which author himself favors) that the justice involves cultivating virtue and reasoning about the common good. The book includes a lot of history of political philosophy. I combined the book with author's video lectures at Harvard where a lot of moral dilemmas were discussed with the students. This book makes you reexamine some of your views on moral questions from a more analytical point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    This is a very interesting book that goes into various philosophies of justice. Sandel starts with an explanation of the utilitarian and libertarian views. His exposition on these is rather too brief, even half-hearted. It is obvious that he disagrees substantially. He goes on to give a very amazing explanation of Immanuel Kant's philosophy of justice. His description of Rawl's and Aristotle's views is also useful. I can see amazing scope for developing Sandel's favoured approach of the narrative, identity in community, and moral engagement. The thoughts that he puts forth are promising, but have yet to be fully e book is written and illustrated with examples (hypothetical and real-life) that are simple for a lay person to understand. It is recommended for any reader who is interested in justice in modern politics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    I will divide my (short) opinion about the book in two parts: firts, the content of the book and second, the material of the book.1.- Content: I have been using the book for a month and I can say that the book is unbelievable whit the content that it provide about Justice. In the book there are a lot of differents authors that talks about the justice whit their respective examples, ideas, opinions and definition about Justice and more. I search that the book is not so complex at all, maybe the part when Sandel (the author of the book) thanks about Kant can be a small confusing, but besides that, its not hard at all to understand the book. In conclusion, the book is really good, not hard to understand it and provide the basis for understand the concept of terial: I found the material of the book a small fragile and delicated, but I could see that coming because of the price and the color of the book, white. In the second weak the book got dirty in the left side whit some kind of black material. I don't know what it is, but the point is that the book can obtain dirty very simple and it's difficult to clean it up. In the back of the book (also in the left side) it got a small creased only by passing the pages of the book. Again, I don't know what nlusion:- Content of the book: 10/10- Material of the book: 9/10- Opinion: 4.5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    I can't quibble with the author's analysis of the limitations of the "liberal" justice theories of Kant and Rawls. I haven't studied them to any degree. However, it does seem to me that the principle of the "dignity of the individual" as an end, never merely as a means, has more substance than the author appears to credit it. He says it provides a foundation for "respect," meaning not to do another harm. But not necessarily any more than that, i.e. not specifically to seek the amazing of others or even the common good. Perhaps that is right in a minimalist view. The Hippocratic oath states "First, do no harm." One might say that is the first word about justice. But the implications of understanding others as having a fundamental dignity equal to one's own, in result being a family of man, goes well beyond not doing e "good" advocated by Aristotle appears by the author's own description to be premised on building up the "common good" which implies, first of all, the dignity (if not equality) of persons for whom pursuit of the common amazing is the purpose. The author also emphasizes Aristotle's focus not on prescriptions or rules about the "good life," but practical wisdom that uses judgment about particular situations. That approach fits the author's argument for seeing the identity and nature of persons through the "narrative" rather than "voluntarist" is kind of empirical evaluation of our concrete interdependence, horizontally within our society and vertically deep into our past, strongly suggests (if not dictates) the conclusion that the fundamental dignity of each human being implies a duty, Kant's categorical imperative, to our neighbor beyond doing no harm. In fact to act for his or her good. If people are not to be treated as mere means to another's private ends, then in concrete situations we will always be faced with choices about how to orient ourselves. Do we act in a method that is above all self-interested but in which there is at least no intended hurt to others? In that case, even if they are not in fact (unduly) harmed they are nevertheless being used as means to our ends.Kant's logic supports the notion that the dignity of other persons as ends in themselves demands that we must always act in such a method that we are not indifferent to the amazing to others that may be effected through our actions. After all, in a lot of concrete situations there is no bright line of demarcation between amazing and hurt our actions may visit on others. We may suppose that most often if we pursue our self-interest with an eye only to clear and show hurt to others, we will err with responsibility for latent and unintended harm. The Golden Rule, said to be dismissed by Kant based upon its uncertainty in relation to how one wishes to be treated by others, at least can stand for the proposition that we would always wish others to take acc of our well being in the decisions they create for themselves. We would always wish others to act in a practical method as much as possible for my benefit consistently with their own, if not actually making any private sacrifice to their detriment to result my e upshot is that the rationale behind each theory of justice discussed by the author, insufficient and distorting by itself, may be seen as complementary as a corrective to each of the others. For example, the utilitarian model, problematic for failing to insist on fundamental rights, offers a perspective of pragmatism that the author admires in discussing Aristotle's emphasis on practical wisdom. Utilitarians simply carry the pragmatism principle beyond its capability, ignoring fundamental rights and the limitations on our knowledge of weighing consequences. Liberal justice theory arguably corrects for this by insisting only on proscribing the clearest cases of hurt (to fundamental liberty interests). The author in fact argues for a middle method that treats fundamental rights as a foundation of private human dignity (first, do no harm) but insists we go beyond that to address the higher purposes for which we live. Implicit in this approach is a recognition that human dignity which demands respect for primary rights also is the foundation for identifying the higher purposes which in principle must encompass the common good. Individual actions and decisions are always taken within a context of social responsibility.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Justice review []  2020-1-16 11:6

    As an introduction to justice, this book is unbelievable and has inspired me to dive into basic sources (e.g. Rawls, Nozick, Sandel's other book Liberalism and the Limits of Justice).The author begins by establishing 3 views of justice:1) Welfare-based views (utilitarian)2) Rights-based views (libertarian & egalitarian)3) Moral/virtue-based views (communitarian)The author then works through utilitarian, libertarian, egalitarian, and communitarian schools of justice, showing how each responds to perceived shortcomings of preceding e author clearly articulates the salient points of each view. In addition, the author demonstrates each view's strengths and shortcomings via well-chosen situations and reflections.Unlike some reviewers who objected to the author's focus on Obama and Kennedy, I found the recent chapter to be an effective conclusion to the entire book. The theme of the final chapter was, contrary to what I expected having read those reviews, a critique of the liberal egalitarian view of divorcing morality and justice. And I found it te: the book covers much of the same ground as the EdX class, but I consider them to be compliments. The book goes into more detail than the class, though any book can't replicate the discussion forums show in a MOOC-format class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    Loreena's first album in the more overtly Irish repertoire contains love songs and melody that is tragic and haunting She moved through the fair, and another one of her very best The stolen kid lyrics from a poem by W. B. Yeats is exquisitely beautiful, the Blacksmith a spirited song of betrayed love. I have all of her music, so It is hard to select a favorite. But as this is her first work(1985)it is a must have for collectors of her work. Recommend it to those looking for attractive Irish Music. Ms Mckinnitt leaves the pub or rousing drinking songs for artists. She does have better albums and if you are going to select just one or two this would not be one of my first picks, however do not misunderstand it is very good. I purchased it because my wife has alzheimers and soothing melody works wonders for both of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    First, by method of a disclaimer, I would like to be able to claim that I have in fact been a fan of Loreena McKennitt right from the beginning of her long and illustrious career, but alas! The sad truth is that I only discovered her a few short years ago thanks to a mate who had her "The Visit" CD playing in his SUV when he picked me up for lunch. Needless to say, I was blown away by what I heard as we tooled down the snowy roads of Cambridge past the ivied halls of Harvard on our method to a local spaghetti place. Having already become a confirmed fan of Celtic melody with Irish artists like Van Morrison and Clannad, I quickly bought all of her CDs, and as a effect have come to admire her work a amazing deal. Needless to say, this particular album, her debut album of "Elemental", is a private favorite.Her voice is hard to describe, other than to say it has a haunting, ethereal quality that is the excellent car for her wide-ranging compositions and arrangements. It is hard to classify her work, because it does encompass quite arrange of various genres. It is safe to say that she draws from an amazingly rich shop of various kinds of traditional music, and seems to breathe her own unifying force in delivering them in a manner that is at once both traditional and innovative. Thus, from the opening strains of the "Blacksmith" through the mystical treatment of "The Lark In The Clear Air" to the ending sounds of "Lullaby", the work seems to thread itself together seamlessly, even though the sources for the individual songs is often quite different. The only method to properly appreciate her wondrous abilities is to experience them. Otherwise, I feel like the guy trying to convince his lady mate to take her first roller-coaster ride. You have to explode down all the method from the top of the edifice to understand the rush. So it is with our lady Loreena. Buy it and obtain ready for the rush!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    I'm only sixteen, butI love Loreena. This is the recent of her albums I've gotten and I think it is very good. This melody is very simple, but also light and soft. Her accordian and harp play were at her best! This album also has a lot of of her lesser known really amazing songs like "Kellswater" and "Banks of Claudy", which is my favorite song on the album. I also really loved "Lullaby" because it was really beautiful. Loreena's powerful saprano voice was also at her best (she sounds a lot like Norwegian singer Sissel Kyrkjebo). I also like her ver of "She Moved Through The Fair", which Charlotte Church also did a nice ver of. A real fan can not be without this album and if you don't like this album, shame on you!If you click on my name you can search other things I like and a few things I don't like. I also like Enya, Maire Brennan, Clannad, Sissel, Charlotte Church, Dadawa,and others. I recommend them all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    Loreena McKennitt has a lovely soprano voice! I love how she mixes Middle Eastern style melody with Irish, Scottish and American folk music. In fact a Middle Eastern dance troupe in my neighborhood dances to "Marco Polo" and "Noel Nouvelet".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    I have fun Loreena and recently went to a concert given by her. The performance was amazing. This CD, Parallel Dreams, and To Drive the Cold Winter Away are wonderful. Apparently older, but her voice is more clear and really simpler lyrics which lift our spirits.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    you will like this. Elemental Loreena.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    I love Loreena McKennitt's voice - this helps fill out my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    Loverly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    First heard this melody as the soundtrack of a documentary on the life of Dr. Henry Norman Bethune when I visited Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada in 2012. I found the melody captivating and am satisfied that I finally found it on CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Elemental review []  2020-1-18 23:39

    This is her first ablumso it various from the others but it is still worth listening to. I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    4.5 synonym stars!“Is a chameleon a coward because it can change its color? No. It’s evolved and awesome.”Okay at first I was kicking myself for not having read this sooner, but after the cliffhanger that was the ending boy am I glad that I waited until this series was finished! I can jump right into the next book! And also, a little scream out to Dee, Jasmine and Sharon, all three of whom recommended me this series at one point. I really was listening! I mean 3 recs people, that's beautiful promising. I will give each of you credit for every book (Dee first because she rec'd it first).THIS WAS THE PERFECT BOOK TO SUIT MY MOOD! Like seriously. After DNFing my latest book I required something that could keep my attention and this book was it! I honestly was giggling and laughing out loud while reading this.“You’ll have to read the book, and don’t interrupt me. It’s distracting enough looking at you. You’ve already derailed my brain train with your face several times.”Attraction drops us right at the beginning of the story of Parker and Martin. The two are lab partners and one day when hiding in the closet of the chem lab, Parker overhears two people plotting versus her very hot lab partner Martin. In an attempt to warn him, she finds out that he's been attracted to her the entire time they've worked together. A girl who likes to blend in Parker wears baggy clothes and does her best to fade in the background, but somehow rich guy playboy sees Parker for who she really is, and wants on Martin has coerced her onto a Spring Break trip where Parker is swept up into a whirlwind of fresh emotions and experiences. But can she really allow herself fall for the mysterious poor guy Martin?“He was so handsome I felt like filing a civil lawsuit versus his parents, claiming punitive damages, pain and suffering to my psyche.”Penny Reid's author voice is one of the best ones out there. She manages to write seemingly true characters and adds a layer of humor to it all. I loved Parker's inner thoughts and her reactions to all of her fresh scenarios, it easily place a large smile on my face.I also liked the mysterious Martin and wish to learn more about him and his motivations. He seems to genuinely like our heroine and goes after what he wants. For a shorter novel a lot of amazing items was crammed in and I cannot wait to read the next book! (When I should be writing my thesis *wah wah*)“I will die satisfied here, today, in this spot,” she sighed. “In your puddle of lust.”“Leave my puddle of lust alone. Obtain your own puddle.”

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Oh how I hate cliff hangers . Especially when it's really a half finished book.. More like they don't know how to finish a book ok.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Yeah, I'm late to the party but better late than never, right?!So, this was my first book by this author and OMG I could slap myself for not reading this book sooner since I had it on my kindle forever. Now I really need to obtain my hands on the second book because that cliffhanger there, it totally killed me. It ended like at the best part - where the story gets juicy.Anyway, this was a short read which was the reason why I've read it because I don't like to DNF a book and a short book is a amazing method to obtain to know the story and the author without having to invest a lot of time. Although I will invest lots of time in her works now because I loved this e Story:Kaitlyn couldn't believe how evil some people were and when she overhears two students discussing a plot versus her lab partner, she knows she has to warn him. But this might be easier said than done given his gorgeous eyes penetrating her and his muscular body pressing versus her. Even Kaitlyn isn't immune to Martin's hot body, charm and intelligence; although she heard lots about his bullying and knows that he, being a jerk face, makes girls cry on end.But his persistent lands her on a personal beach for one week at spring break with the one and only Martin Sandeke. How in the globe will she survive this? The chemistry between them is not to ignore but will she be comfortable in this billionaire universe? And most importantly, can she trust that Martin really likes her?Thoughts:Even though with this plot, the book could have gone so wrong, it certainly didn't and left me positively surprised. Good-looking, handsome, short-tempered playboy billionaire and most famous student meets nerdy, strange, invisible, nice next-door-girl. Yeah, this probably makes a few people cringe but believe me, this was such a quirky and fun read it might even surprise e writing was refreshing and the characters – as ordinary as they may seem from the plot – were quite is was an unexpected but really entertaining read. I loved it despite the jerk face of a guy; but I have to say that he really got some gift points for being kinder than I thought a jerk face would ey were both so cute. Kaitlyn was obviously inexperienced with boys and even though Martin had lots of girls enter his bedroom before, this was fresh for him too because she's so various to the other girls he’s met so far and they just were so unsure of everything and nervous. It was so sweet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Dear Author:Learn the parts of a story. You do not know a story's primary concept. Beginning, middle, end, conflict, resolution, denoument, etc. Learn it and use it. You cannot publish a "novel" that isn't a whole story. The end of the story is not the "conflict" part. Therefore you cannot, I repeat, cannot, say a "novel" is book 1 in a series, should you choose to write in this serial-hit, no-resolution fashion. A novel has an ending. This is a junior high level writing concept, although I'm sure any three-year-old could tell you when a story doesn't have an y the ghosts of William Shakespeare, Alexandre Dumas, and Jane Austen haunt you for your poor "half-novel" writings and calling them complete stories. (By the way, read Dumas and his Three Muskateer novels for a brilliant example of how to write the same characters in various novels).A novel is not a primetime TV present that has a season-ending cliffhanger. How do you feel when an entire tv series closes with a cliffhanger? Awful, tricked, cheated, ripped-off, disappointed, gut-punched. Exactly my point with your "novels". You have cheated your readers. Learn to write a true ending, resolution, denouement, and all that jazz.If you want to continue to write in your chosen haphazard fashion, every person who has purchased one of your "books in a series" should sue you for false advertising. Seriously. And we would victory those suits handily, I might add. Actual books-in-a-series is a longstanding tradition, but those are each complete stories unto themselves. Not like what you have done. No, in those cases not another page required to be purchased to see how things resolved and how the loose ends tied , however, did not sell your readers a complete story, you sold them an installment in a story. The installment story is a great, lost tradition. The pins-and-needles waiting on the next week's newspaper or the next's months magazine to obtain the recent bit of the story was the begin of the entire "cliffhanger" experience. But then it always was billed as such. Correctly billed as such. An installment. A section of a story. A part, because the whole story is not did not invent the cliffhanger. You have no business trying to recreate it, rebrand it, or shop it as anything less than the fraction that your writing summary, shop your small forays into the literary globe as installments, or risk lawsuits for misleading the public. For Heaven's sake, give your readers an informed possibility to read a complete story or a part of a story. Done as the reader so chooses, not you.Or better yet, obtain some schooling, search a decent editor who won't stand for your shenanigans, and learn to write a complete novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Enraptured, delighted, charmed, enchanted, captivated, enthralled: all synonyms, all the feels of how I feel about this delightful beginning to a amazing trilogy. This book wraps you up for the long haul in the very first scene. Yep, first scene, no warmup, no getting into it, no give it the 10% trial period. Penny Reid is my go to author anytime I’m in any kind of a book slump, her writing is so energetic and engaging. Her characters are real to themselves and each is a various person all together, you’ll never read a copy and paste hero from Penny.‘We’re not doing that again. I don’t kiss unobtainable boys, it’s one of my life rules.’Parker, Kaitlyn Parker, is logical, all logic all the time. Write an agenda and tick those boxes off as completed. She sees no need to fancify her life, hold it practical; create and hold to life rules. Makeup: zero need, too much time, too much money. Thin her eyebrows: they are eyebrows, is there a unibrow situation? No? Case closed. Men’s second-hand clothing: cheap, comfortable, keeps the cold out and the heat in.‘Even though you don’t feel calm doesn’t mean you can’t be calm.’She is gloriously oblivious to her charm, magnetism, and wit. ‘ ‘Do you always talk like that?’ ‘Like what? Like awesome?’ ‘Kaitlyn is a amazing person through and through. Her moral compass is what takes her to a party, a fraternity party, to warn her chemistry lab partner about his impending doom.‘I would rather store for a bra than go to a fraternity party…’Martin Sandeke is Kaitlyn’s chemistry lab partner. She does not like Martin.‘...Martin, who has no issue yelling at females, males, turtles, grass, and furniture…’‘Martin Sandeke, Hercules, jerk to women…’Yet, Martin lights a fire in Kaitlyn’s figurative Bunsen Burner and oh, how she wishes that were not the case.‘…spend some naked time with Martin Sandeke’s superior physique without the danger of his personality ruining things.’Martin is a tad damaged. Don’t we all love a damaged hero?‘…I blinked at Martin and a dawning and disturbing realization took root. Martin Sandeke wasn’t used to freely voicing his thoughts and feelings…nor was he used to kindness.’Samantha is one of my favorite best mates of all time. The side characters in this book are a total win. There is something about amazing secondary characters that just create a book a win.‘…and you should have me there as your representative to create sure he doesn’t test to zap you with his sexy ray.’In this first of three books, Attraction focuses on Martin surrounding Kaitlyn with himself. He is secretly holding a torch for Kaitlyn who has no idea; after all, she is the invisible girl who hides in closes as a strategy to be unseen. This is a fun, quirky read following the slow burn of Martin winning Kaitlyn over just a bit. He’s demanding some attention.‘There is nothing temporary about how I wish you.’And he’s getting in there even if it’s just a bit.‘You’ll have to read the book, and don’t interrupt me. It’s distracting enough looking at you. You’ve already derailed my brain train with your face several times.’Attraction is written in first person from Kaitlyn’s POV. These two are college students so it’s definitely a young adult read. Which, I loved, all those high emotions that are fresh and sparkly like confetti in the air around you. There was no eye rolling during this read, Penny Reid can pen a story free of unnecessary drama.‘I’m not one of your simple girls, or even difficult girls.” My voice wavered, so I cleared my throat. “I’m not even really a girl. I’m more like one of the boys. Think of me like a boy.’Headed straight for book 2, Heat, where I know things are about to sizzle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    This was a cute story. This is the first in a series of novellas, so it is fairly short and fast to obtain through. This wasn’t at all what I expected. I was expecting your typical fresh adult story where the two main characters obtain together, have steamy interactions for most of the story, have conflict, resolve said conflict, and create up. This is not that at all. To be honest there isn’t much steamy items event at all, though there is is is the story of awkward, nerdy Kaitlyn Parker and playboy Martin Sandeke. Parker and Sandeke are chemistry lab partners, but they secretly like each other. That is the cute, fluffy, fresh adult part. He’s rich and her family is fairly famous. They are like various people when they are together, but they both have very distinct and powerful personalities that challenge each other. Kaitlyn can’t figure out why Martin likes her, she certainly isn’t his type. Martin can’t figure out why Kaitlyn would do anything to support him out without requesting something in return or holding it over his head. Martin clearly has been used and damage deeply by people who are supposed to care about him in his past. Kaitlyn likes her space, hasn’t really had much experience with boys, and she is kind of old fashioned when it comes affection as in ask before you touch.Kaitlyn and Martin jet set away to his personal island for spring break because he wants to convince her that he is interested in her. She ends up convincing her best mate to go with her on the trip. Martin is respectful enough of Kaitlyn, but upon finding out that she is inexperienced, he slows it method down. Kaitlyn tries to use her experience as a wedge between them so they can just be friends. She is convinced that Martin really just needs a mate who doesn’t care about his wealth and amazing looks. She sees him as a person, and wants nothing from him but conversation and human interaction. This mates is why he wants to be with her. She does not compute. This dialoge kind of gets old after a while, only because it is repeated a few too a lot of times for my taste, but doesn’t at all bring the book down.What I liked:Katie is body conscious, but it is all self-imposed. While her mom was kind of robotic in her interaction with her, she was supportive and gave her amazing tip about not giving other people power over her and how she felt about her appearance. I think this is extremely necessary for young girls. Normally in YA or NA books the body photo problems are because a family member has said something, usually a mother wanting her daughter to look a certain way. In Attraction, her mother tells her not to care what other people think and to love the skin she is in.Kaitlyn wasn’t afraid to tell people to not touch her when she didn’t wish them to and she wasn’t afraid to tell Martin what she liked and didn’t like. She told him when he was being a douche, and he responded appropriately. He didn’t obtain defensive or answer aggressively. He was respectful of her wants and needs, and took her words to heart. This is also necessary as I fear that a lot of young girls are afraid to speak up, talk to their partners, say no, or tell people in general when they are uncomfortable or something is not right whether it is in an intimate situation or in a professional situation. I think both men and women are afraid to say something because they fear the repercussions. Kaitlyn wasn’t afraid to tell Martin that he was selfish or being a jerk, she didn’t care if that meant he wouldn’t be her boyfriend. I think that’s important.What I didn’t like:Kaitlyn has this need to always wish to search and actual closet and hide in it. If the closet were figurative I’d obtain it, but the physical hiding thing was strange. She didn’t seem to have ever suffered from some traumatic happening in her life that created her wish to hide, and she wasn’t terribly shy. This was just weird quirk. I fully help wanting to be drama free, and maybe wanting to be invisible in uncomfortable situations, but the hiding in actual closets thing was just weird to me.We don’t obtain enough of Martin’s back story. I’m hoping we obtain more in the next installments, and knowing that this is a novella you can’t really dock the author for not giving you more because it’s a serial. Martin is kind of a douche sometimes, but you don’t know why. He appears tortured and sad, but you don’t know why and he won’t talk about it. I feel like that’s coming, but we didn’t obtain it in this e cliffhanger ending. I hate cliffhangers! The plus side is the other 2 books are out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    For the very first time in the history of me reading a Penny Reid story, I’m not buying it. I call bullcrap! There is no freaking method these people are practically kids. And yet… I don’t give a flying fig because this book is SO FREAKING GOOD!!!Now, the first thing you need to know about Attraction is that it ends in a cliffhanger to end all cliffhangers. The second thing you need to know is that the two books that follow Attraction are actually all out so there will be nothing stopping you from reading this whole story from begin to finish.Kaitlyn Parker’s life is as neat and tidy as Kaitlyn herself. Rational thinking is the method to an simple existence and she is a pro at it. Her outlook on life meant she was as quirky as she was unintentionally funny, smart, honest and strived to be the best ver of herself she could rtin Sandeke, Kaitlyn’s chemistry lab partner and rowing-hunk, is her polar opposite. Abrasive, confident and bigger than life, he’s nothing more than a very handsome face (with the hottest bod) and freakishly intelligent brains to her. That is, until a situation forces her to interact with him in other than the strictly chem-lab-partner condition. This unleashes a cornucopia of unexpectedness and nothing will be the same ever ddenly, Kaitlyn finds herself being swept away into a personal island for Spring Break and being thoroughly and repeatedly kissed by a complete new-to-her and totally-non-jerk Martin. The more Kaitlyn gets to know him, the more she starts to like him, but she’s totally inexperienced and not accustomed to being led by her feelings.Whole fresh worlds begin up for them both, and as they spend more and more time together, they realize they have a very unique thing between them. With some serious past problems to resolve, they’ll have quite the ride if they wish to create it premely aptly named, Attraction is all hot chemistry and undeniable attraction. I swear, the tension between Martin and Kaitlyn was palpable and they had me glued to my kindle from their first interaction. They also had me desperately one-clicking on the next installment, and I’m beautiful confident that’ll happen again with the third and latest part of the story sometime tonight… because who cares about being a zombie at work when you can spend a night with Martin Sandeke?Disregarding the whole “there’s-no-way-these-people-are-this-age-and-I’ll-just-pretend-they-are-older” (because really, I don’t even care anymore) Attraction gripped me and wouldn’t allow me go. I just can’t wait to hold on reading (which in reality, I haven’t, as I’m already 36% into Heat)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    I joined the Hoopla mania a week ago and ever since then I've been excited to search favorite authors books available for me to r those who don't know what Hoopla is here's a description:Hoopla is the digital service of Midwest Tape, a leading provider of entertainment media products and services: DVDs, CDs, audiobooks and shelf-ready solutions, to public libraries across North America for over a quarter of a century. Our purpose has always been to partner with libraries in delivering the best content to patrons in the most streamlined manner possible. Through the years, we've cultivated a growing passion for the evolving public library.Hoopla digital builds on that passion by providing public libraries of all sizes the ability to offer patrons an enormous selection of digital video (movies and TV shows), music, audiobooks, ebooks and comics to their patrons. For these libraries, we’ve pioneered a special model that allows patrons to borrow content immediately, removing artificial availability constraints and maximizing the power of digital content and Internet distribution. Technologically, we focus on the recent browser, phone, tablet, and TV products to deliver the best possible experience to our user – our passion – the public library patron.When I saw the Elements of Chemistry series available I quickly one clicked e opening stage was great. The heroine, Kaitlyn is hiding in the lab cupboard at her college and overhears a nasty plot to ruin her lab partner, Martin. Martin is the popular, rich and handsome guy while Katy is more of your wallflower type. After working together long term in the lab there's an Attraction that Martin wants to discover and Katy is hesitant because she knows there has to be more than just lust to create a relationship work.I really enjoyed the clever dialogue that Penny Reid brings to her books. Elements of Chemistry is a three-part series revolving around Martin and Kaitlyn.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    4.5 “Bunsen burner” “life rules” “jerk-face” “synonyms” “Parker” “Sandeke” KissesOh my sweet Bunsen burner – why?!!??! Why did I wait so long to read this series?!?!?! I think it truly boils down to it being a double edged sword because Jiminy Cricket I love every single thing that I’m reading but…like most of Penny’s books, I never wish it to end. Ever. And with the Elements of Chemistry Series I know it will be over sooner because it’s a trio of novellas…so the struggle is very real. I have a love hate relationship with novellas and I search that when dealing with Ms. Reid’s novellas, that feeling only intensifies exponentially because…once again, I refer back to the fact that I never wish her books to end. But I digress. Regardless of the fact that it took me method too long to finally read Attraction…here I am, confuddled and all over the put because holy banana’s…that was freaking amazing.Kaitlyn Parker…Katy, Parker, call her whatever you wish to, I dug this girl huge time. I loved that she was a nerd…I loved the random items that came from her thoughts and sometimes out of her mouth…I loved her synonym game. I loved that she would much rather wear t-shirts and read a book in bed then to be a ‘normal’ college student going out to parties. I loved that her past times included hiding in closets, playing video android games and studying. She’s the kind of girl I can see myself being besties with and it created it ten million times easier to basically adore everything that came out of her mouth. She’s quirky…different…unique and my kind of awesome. And I’m not the only one who sees how amazing she is…‘“Let me guess.” He crossed his broad arms over his broad chest, his broad shoulders stiff and straight, and leaned his hips, which were narrow and not broad, versus the pool table. “Your level of interested has…changed.”I squinted at him. “What?”“You’ve changed your mind about me.” The method he said the words, deadpan and caustic, led me to the conclusion that he thought I was there to beg for more kisses, entrap him with my feminine ttle did he know, I possessed no feminine wiles. Only the willies and the hibby jibbies.’Martin Sandeke…oh my stars, what I wouldn’t give to be in this boy’s head, even for just a minute! Martin is…fascinating, intriguing, alluring…and yummy. He’s truly one of those book boyfriends that makes me really pay attention to all of the small things that he does – he’s not very vociferous, he’s more reserved and cautious (I have dozens of theories as to why) and so I love paying attention to all the little info when it comes to Martin. I know we have barely scratched the surface of his greatness but I’m dying for more.‘“Haven’t you ever wondered why I come on Fridays?” His fingers curled around my neck and his thumb traced circles along the line of my collarbone. He encouraged my head to hint backward.“So that we can obtain a jump begin on the weekly assignment?”He shook his head. “You.”My eyelashes fluttered. “Me?”His held me captive with both his heavily lidded gaze and his caressing hands. Martin leaned forward, and he brushed his lips versus mine. It wasn’t a kiss. It was more like he was using his lips to feel mine, to have fun my softness.“You,” he whispered again.’I love Kaitlyn and Martin...they are opposites attract at its finest – the super-hot jock and the nerdy beauty. There is so much about them that is unexpected…like Martin’s feelings for Kaitlyn – even though we don’t obtain inside his head, all of his actions speak volumes for how he really feels about her and I love that he shows her how he really feels. And I love how Martin affects Kaitlyn…he pushes her out of her comfort location which I think is really necessary. She’s an insanely intelligent, strong, modern woman but girlfriend needs to remember that all work and no play makes Kaitlyn a dull girl – and I like the result that Martin has on her…well, except for the ending. But I’ll come back to that. Everything before the ending was fresh and exciting and fun and gave Kaitlyn all kinds of fresh feels and I was so about it. I love how they react to one another and I’m definitely looking forward to more of that.‘He studied me for a moment , his gaze growing thoughtful , introspective. His words sounded shaded with distraction as he said, “We’re going to take this slow. We’re going to begin over and do this right.”I squinted at him, my mouth doing its opening and closing dance. “What? What are you talking about? Take what slow?”“You like me.” He said this matter - of - factly, with a tip of belligerence .This statement did not respond my question.“What?”“You like me. You wish to know me better.”“I most certainly do not wish to know you better.”“I definitely wish to know you better.” His gaze flickered down then up meaningfully.’Penny Reid rocks my face off…plain and simple. I never know what to expect…but I know I’m guaranteed greatness every time I begin one of her books and Attraction is just another book in a tremendously long and ever growing list. I love that she can introduce two brand fresh characters in a whole brand fresh globe and still create me fall head over heels in love with them quicker then you can snap your fingers. I love the tension and angst she has made almost effortlessly between Kaitlyn and Martin. I love the friendship between Kaitlyn and Sam (Samantha)…and the side romance with Sam and Eric (one of Martin’s friends). I love the method she injects humor and intellect into her books and her characters while at the same time making them not fell silly or heavy…the balance between that and the emotional aspects is freaking perfect. I love her dialogue too – especially the dialogue between Kaitlyn and Martin…I could go for days on their back and forth and never be bored.‘He seemed to hesitate as he studied at me, debating whether or not to give a voice to his thoughts. He must’ve decided in favor of the idea because he abruptly said, “You’re the girl that guys like us, if we’re intelligent and if we’re lucky that is, you’re the girl we marry. You’re the marriage girl.”’Oh boy…now comes the part I would love to avoid but sadly…it is what it is – the ending. It is…brutal. It’s a maaaaajor cliffhanger – one of those where you are stabbing your kindle screen begging for more pages – and there is a teaser chapter of Heat at the end…but, I’m a purist and I didn’t wish to read it until I was done with my review – I shan’t be tainted! Also, I will confess that I am strange (not a true shocker, I know) but…I am probably one of the very few readers that loooooooves cliffhangers. Gah, do I love me a amazing cliffy – and Attraction’s cliffy is exceptional – a well-timed cliffhanger can really do wonders and in this case, the result was epic. Because I need answers…I need to know what is event and I’m jumping out of my skin because I don’t know what Kaitlyn is going to do…but I’m dying to search out and…luckily, I can jump straight into the next book, Heat ! I’m so ready! #BringItOnJerkFace

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attraction: Elements of Chemistry: Elements of Chemistry, Book 1 review []  2019-12-17 21:6

    Kaitlyn is studying chemistry at university. She comes from a family of very high achievers. She is totally focussed on her academic programme. Martin comes from an extremely wealthy family. He is her lab partner. Kaitlyn is in a closet when she overhears two people planning to sabotage him by drugging him, the girl sleeping with him, hopefully falling pregnant to trap him. Kaitltn warns him. He is a bit of a caveman. He has found her unobtainable and attractive for two years. He kisses her breathless, manhandles het, then demands that she accompany him to a personal island in the Caribbean. He actually enters her bedroom while she is sleeping, wakes her up, demanding she pack, despite her intention to withdraw her acceptance of his invitation. She goes, but demands that Sam, her friend, goes too. He takes his whole rowing squad including Ben, who planned to drug him.Kaitltn cannot resist Martin but stands up to him. He needs a mate he can trust. He is rough, taking what he wants, the typical Alpha male.I am saddened by the low moral standards, vulgarities, foul language but enjoyed the story otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    I love John Etzil's style of writing. It's smooth moving, no lags and it keeps your interest, especially having the same sort of warped sense of humor as I have. The action can be leisurely or at a quick pace to hold up with the scene. I sometimes have a glitch when resolving his moral compass or lack thereof. But one thing is for sure-there's no method you could read one of his books and not have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    I loved this book. Tho in spots it was predictable, in just as a lot of locations it wasn't. It kept me interested to see how the characters could possibly obtain out of the situation they found themselves in. I found myself thinking how simple it was to hate the villain and search a character that is less than excellent but likeable anyway. This is my second book by this author, and in both books the body count is beautiful high. If you are looking for a feel amazing book with roses and hearts and hand holding while walking on the beach this is not the book for you. Pass it by.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    I was reading away with thinking this was a serious story....it is, but there are times in the boo that had me laughing so hard I couldn't stop. My daughter wanted to know what was so funny, so I allow her read the part I was laughing about. She said, " What are you reading....I wish it when you're done.". That's a large compliment to the author because she doesn't like to read....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Love these books.......Interesting read...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Amazing escapism rolled into multi genre tall tale. Humor poked at FBI while little city sherif takes care of rural American city folks. NSA, CIA and vigilante background leads to a amazing chuckle and pleasant read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Amazing quick paced story that you just won't wish to place down. If you like shoot'em ups ,this is for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    I love the action and the humor. Difficult for me to place down from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Dozens of action. Amazing book. Love the introduction of Frankie! Will there be a Book 3 soon? This series needs to continue!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Alright. Readable. Directed at a more immature audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Urban Justice: Vigilante Justice Series 2 with Jack Lamburt review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Amazing Read !!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    Definitely five stars worthy,e s especially if you have fun a quick moving rendition of realistic old American western folklore adventures. Plenty of outstanding gunplay, and a small romancing thrown in to appease anyone's desired expectations. Outstanding storylines throughout this compelling western masterpiece, and the perfect selection of characters definitely portrayed their assigned roles in an extraordinarily descriptive ally a family-friendly accounting of how I have perceived our old American West was probably tamed. Too, the outstanding camaraderie of the amazing guys is unsurpassed, as the author successfully researched his intent before striking his first key. Definitely recommend this compassionately motivated successful western masterpiece of one exciting episode after the other, and there are some ongoing suspenseful moments throughout this compelling story, that definitely keeps your undivided attention from beginning to end! I encourage all of you readers, regardless of your desired reading preference, to follow the Sheriff, and his constituents, as they once again rid their zone of the scum undermining their serene environment!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    This is a amazing story and it played out well in words. A man, a woman, a child, a friend, a horse, a poor guy who was thought to be dead. Amazing people who go bad, a long-lost love interest, It all comes together well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    Attractive story that holds the readers attention and full of suspense that never stops. Real love conquers all eventually_

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    But it surely seemed to me, Hale and Luther took a very long time (and pages in the book) getting their man. Too long. Too careful. Uncharacteristic of a Texas Ranger Captain, even a former one. Found myself skipping paragraphs. Author needs to tighten it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    A amazing read although it was kinda slow in story line. When Thalia and Eve were kidnapped it seemed to take along time to rescue them. I did have fun the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    I had a difficult time with this book. I felt the story was slow and at times hard to follow. Having said that it still was a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    We in the west live by a code allow no man speak versus or test to disrespect us and we allow everyone live there life they want.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    What a amazing story...action packed and well written..always a pleasure reading a Sam Scott book..already looking forward to the next one..excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bounty Justice: A Classic Western (Western Justice Book 3) review []  2020-1-17 22:24

    Story was a small long... Slightly various for the other ones that I had read, but still enjoyed it.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter