michael myers Reviews & Opinions


Submit michael myers review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    You've got to support me Jamie. You've got to support me search him. We both know he's alive. Halloween 5: The Return of Michael Myers picks up where part 4 left off, only Michael is not dead, obviously! He's come back to Haddonfield intent on finally killing his niece, Jamie (Danielle Harris), who due to trauma has lost the ability to speak and now has a psychic link with angry uncle Michael. Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasence) is once again on hand to be nutty and spout ominous warnings, while all other folk in Myers' method are doomed. It starts off quite promising, with shades of Frankenstein (1931) offering hope that maybe this wont be a sequel reeking of money cow formula. Unfortunately it proves to be a false dawn, evidence that the writers were out of ideas, it lacks scares or a narrative spark to ignite suspense sequences. Harris is once again superb, Pleasence amazing fun as usual as he hams for all he is worth, while an extended sequence in a barn keeps fans of the series happy. It's passable fun for the slasher crowd, but ultimately it's unimaginative and a low point for the Halloween franchise. 5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Apocalypse, End of the World, Armageddon. It's always got a face and a name. After Halloween III veered in a fresh direction without Michael Myers, the indestructible killing machine of the franchise, the rights to the series changed hands and so it came to pass that part 4 (though part 3 in essence) brought Myers back. After being in a coma for ten years Myers is up for a transfer to a sanitarium, but wouldn't you know it, he wakes up and upon hearing he has a niece back in Haddonfield, he sets off on a murderous rampage back to where it all began. It's one of the Halloween sequels that causes much debate among the series' fans, there are those who decry its lack of blood and its ordinary screenplay (both viable complaints), and those such as myself who like that it reverts back to what created the series begin so brilliantly. Including a superbly devilish nod to the begin of the 78 film. Haddonfield becomes a city under siege, this the work of one monster, or as Donald Pleasence's scar faced doctor says - "evil on two legs". Myers once again is just glimpsed here and there, adding that unearthly suspense factor, until he hones in on his niece and her foster sister and the pursuit begins. Some of the interim characterisations are padding out the run time, the usual teen angst romantic flannel, but Pleasence's determined Dr. Loomis is never far away to remind us that everyone is doomed! Then of course there's the ending, which is an absolute beaut. There's no brains on offer here, but it's a worthy sequel and a amazing tracer line for its iconic bogeyman. The story has moved on to another level and leaves the fans hankering for more. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    This book tends to leave the reader very conflicted! There are times when the writing flows smoothly and is well crafted - there are other times, too often, when the writing is clumsy and awkward. The basic character, Vanessa Michael Munroe, is anything but likeable, often verges on insanity, is violent and yet brilliant. She is not really someone the reader can identify with even though the characterization is beautiful well done. The hero development of the other players is less well done with tidbits of info dropped here and there. The African setting for much of the tale is interesting, but questionable in the overall harsh portrayal. I suppose the violence is germane to the characters but there is method too much detail. All told not a very likeable book. On my Kindle for some time and I am not sure why I bought it to begin with! Finished it because I don't like to give up on a book and I kept hoping that it would resolve into something more interesting. Not particularly recommended.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on michael myers or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch michael myers video reviews and related movies:

    See Michael Myers During October (Halloween Parody) on youtube.

     related image

    See Halloween (2018) - The Mask of Michael Myers Scene (1/10) | Movieclips on youtube.

     related image

    See Michael Myers Cheated On Me With Annabelle on youtube.

     related image

    See MICHAEL MYERS VS PARKOUR | HALLOWEEN MOVIE on youtube.

     related image

    See Halloween II (10/10) Movie CLIP - The Death of Michael Myers (1981) HD on youtube.

     related image

    See Horror Villains VS Parkour POV (Michael Myers, Chucky, Jason Voorhees, Pennywise...) on youtube.

     related image

    See Michael Myers BAILS His LOVE Out Of JAIL on youtube.

     related image

    See MICHAEL vs JASON: Evil Emerges (2019) | Short Fan Film HD on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    I had some difficulty getting into this book but once I did, I couldn’t place it down. Vanessa Michael Munroe is smart, competent, independent, determined and a small like Lisbeth Salander with unique forces training. So what does an “informationist” do? She obtains info not by computer hacking but the old fashioned method - she goes to the sources, countries, people, and she digs around for it. Then she puts the information together so that it’s helpful to those who hire her. The first book is a small various in that she’s hired to look for a missing girl. The story was complicated with interesting supporting characters and lots of plot twists. I recommend for fans of Stieg Larsson, Vince Flynn, David Baldacci and other top-notch thriller writers. I’m really surprised this series of books isn’t more well known.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    The Informationist certainly held my attention, but I found Vanessa Michael Munroe to be more of a female James Bond for the 21st Century than a knockoff Lisbeth Salander.VMM kicks butt in same method Bond did in Ian Fleming's novels, and the exotic locales the protagonist operates in also remind me of a modern day Bond novel. That's a amazing thing. The African, American and European locales were beautifully and interestingly drawn by author Taylor Stevens. Even though I was about a hundred pages ahead of our brilliant informationist in figuring out who the traitor and the poor guy were--the story still took me on a wild and compelling e plot is fairly straightforward. Texas oil billionaire hires a brilliant but demon-haunted investigator to track down his long-lost step-daughter. The find leads Vanessa Michael Munroe to Europe and eventually to Africa where dangers and complications abound.I was mystified by the androgyny/cross-dressing thing and why it's supposed to be central to the lead character's personality. VMM uses her ability as a trick of the trade, but the reader is led to believe that this is integral to her hero in ways that are never demonstrated or fully explained, except perhaps as possibly evidence of all of the demon battling she is doing. Also, enough with the demons. We're told and shown ad nauseum that Vanessa is haunted by metaphorical demons, and that's all fine and dandy--everyone loves a deeply-flawed personal eye. But I lost track of the number of instances of the word "demons" in the book and how often the lead hero had to take a break from the action to war them. It got in the method of the story in the same method as if we had to stop every 50 pages or so to war a migraine ose flaws aside, I enjoyed this book and look forward to following VMM on her further adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    She’s a tool. A weapon. Like Jason Bourne or James Bond. Able to blend into her surroundings. She speaks 22 languages, and she’s damn near deadly with a knife. And she’s androgynous. She’s Vanessa Michael Munroe. Or Michael for venge might as well be her middle name, though. She reminded me of Lisbeth Salander with the method rage completely consumed her. And yet she still managed to present some heart, or at least her slightly abbreviated ver of it. Emotions seemed to fill her, consume her, even as she struck out at the imperfections of this world.Her ability to seek out, consume, and process info rapidly helped explain the title. Even when she was just traversing through a particular area, it felt as though her brain worked at a higher level than everyone else around her. Almost like a android game of dominoes where she already had the excellent plan mapped out in her e Equatorial Guinea setting proved as true and as feral to me as she was, and it was the excellent setting for such an untamed creature. Had THE INFORMATIONIST been set anywhere else, it probably wouldn’t have worked as well as it did.Kudos to you, Ms. Stevens. Michael is one interesting, intriguing character, and this proved to be one interesting and intriguing bert DownsAuthor of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Personal Investigator

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    I liked this book. It was intense, and a small scary thinking that the globe is really like that in places. More and more places..... but even more scary was thinking there are people like Vanessa walking around with us....I like the plot and the writing. I did spend half the book wishing I had been given a better discription of the heroine though. It would have created it easier for me to picture the story as I read. She is a scary gal. I'm sure glad she is on the amazing side of the fight...wow! Would I hate to be the one going up versus her! She is the scariest sociopath I've read about in a long time.....Many reviews compared her to other powerful female anti-hero roles from the dragon tatoo series and several others. The only thing these women have in common is the not good violence and abuse in their background to mold them into who they are today. The resemblence ends there. Unfortunately, Vanessa place herself in the position for the abuse to happen when she ran away from home at 13 to join a bandit band. Vanessa can't really function in society. Her first urge is violence, she wars that urge even in her private life with people she cares about. She is incredibly intelligent and intuitive which makes her the best in her field of intelligence. She turns picassoesque pieces of info into grand master pieces of intelligence using the tiniest bit of glue to keep it all together. Watch out when things go wrong or she doesn't obtain what she wants. She is strong,intelligent, and thinks like the poor guys, since she was one of them growing up. Now, that dark past can hold her alive. Unfortunately, she is also damaged far worse than even her mates know, and in any situation that doesn't fit her ideal of norm she loses it. She hears voices and becomes a berserker...... scary.I started the second in this series but the story didn't keep me the method the first one did and I never finished it. The first book is generally the best in a series and so far this is holding real for this one. Liking this book was unexpected for me. Normally, I like lighter reads with a more likeable lead. Vanessa is difficult to like, it would be far easier to just feel sorry for her. She wouldn't accept that though. Like her or hate her....she is impossible to ignore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    I couldn't place it down !! Didn't obtain a lick of work done for two days !!! It was one of the most intriguing books I've ever read !!! I would suggest it for a amazing getaway with no thoughts of anything else .... we had a black out in the neighborhood and I never noticed it because I was Reading on Kindle fire and could see the book perfectly !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    Vanessa Monroe has a lot of gifts. She can obtain inside info on any country, the sort that can create or break a company that wants to do business there. So she gets huge bucks for her reports. She speaks twenty-two languages and can learn a fresh one in a matter of weeks. She's a lethal warrior with guns, knives or bare hands. And she's a attractive woman who can pass as a handsome young man. Just call her Michael when she's in trousers.Her reputation gets her an impossible assignment in this book. She's asked to search Emily Burbank, a young woman who was latest seen four years ago in Namibia. Other squads of investigators have failed to search any trace of nroe would like to forget Africa, which created her the traumatized assassin she is today. But the cash is too amazing to refuse. The find takes Monroe into Africa's most remote and risky areas, where governments are unstable and unpredictable, and the police are trigger satisfied and corrupt. This is hard-core adventure on top of deep mystery, in a very exotic setting. Violence abounds, but since Monroe is always on the side of right, it's not too hard to nroe has had shocking experiences in adolescence. She's a textbook case of how violence begets violence.I was inspired to read this book after reading The Doll. They're both perfect thrillers of the hard-to-put-down variety.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book and will continue to read more of Vanessa Michael Munroe adventures. Had an idea who was the most evil person in this book was however you had to figure out who helped him out. Thanks Taylor. I'm a fan for life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    Vanessa Michael Munroe is an exceedingly odd, complex and gifted sleuth and anyone contemplating reading the series she stars in (which at this writing stands at a mere two, but will surely grow well beyond that) is strongly encouraged to begin here, at the beginning, where key elements of her storied private history and how she survived it are gradually revealed, along with the singular investigatory skills and demons that come with nroe, as she's mostly known, has most reluctantly returned to her native Texas to discover whether to accept a hugely lucrative contract that's somewhat outside her usual "informationist" bailiwick. A billionaire oil magnate wants her to create one latest test at finding out what happened to his daughter who went missing in Africa four years ago. So far no sleuth has been able to turn up the tiniest trace of Emily Burbank, alive or dead. Now it's Munroe's turn. And it isn't going to be easy, even for her and her considerable first-hand knowledge of the politics and peoples of Equatorial Africa and grasp of 22 languages. But this rough and bumpy ride is one you'll surely wish to come along on...one that's extraordinarily well written, well-constructed and well-nigh unputdownable. I was stunned to learn, thanks to an author interview in the back of the book, that this brilliant debut novel is the work of a young woman who was raised by a cult that chop off her formal education at age 12.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Informationist: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel (Vanessa Michael Munroe Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-12 18:0

    This debut novel by Taylor Stevens introduces us to the recent female action character Vanessa Michael Munroe. Munroe has amazing skills with martial arts, knives and guns. But most of all she is extraordinarily smart. She is fluent is 22 languages, is a master of disguise, and of course is drop-dead gorgeous!Munroe is the informationist. She is hired by multi-national corporations to get info from all parts of the globe. Her info is extremely valuable, as she is able to understand local history, legends, and culture, and place the info into its proper context. When Munroe is hired by Texas oil baron Richard Burbank to locate his daughter, who went missing while on vacation in Africa four years ago, this story rmally Munroe does not accept this type of job, but the huge paycheck that has been guaranteed whether or not she succeeds has intrigued her. Burbank's only stipulation is that she take his security consultant, Miles Bradford, with her. While Munroe normally works alone, she agrees to ings start to wrong as soon as Munroe and Bradford arrive in Africa. The question is-who wants them to fail in their mission to search Emily, and why? As the book progresses, we learn a more of Munroe's skills and how she acquired them. We meet people from her past who may or may not be glad to see e Informationist is a fast-paced exciting thriller. I highly recommend this fresh book, and I look forward to further novels in this series.Oh-and don't bother to google Taylor Stevens. Apparently there is a porn star by the same name who is much more famous. But probably not for long!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Michael Jordan Has always been a inspiration for me. Reading this biography about his life and all the struggles and pain he went through really motivates me to go after my goals. “You have tournament every day because you set such high standards for yourself that you have to go every day and live up to that” – Michael Jordan. Seeing this quote in the book really support me change my perspective about how go day to day. Readers will be able to gain encouragement and knowledge on how one the greats was able to become great, and to honest that’s hard to find.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    This in an inspirational journey through the life of michael jordan, from his early childhood challenges, adversities on his method to becoming a amazing sportsman, the key happenings of his assent, difficult days and successes of his career and Info about the mentality and attitude that led to Michael's success. It is a comfortable book to read that also reviews aspects such as his techniques or his superstitions and his belief system for success. In synthesis, an perfect book, super recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Michael Jordan: A Special Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan is all around a very well written book. It info Jordan's life while at the same time providing tidbits of info about what created him such a amazing basketball player. It even explains things like his fears and motivators. The book is beautiful straightforward and the author doesn't ramble on or say more than he has to in order to obtain the point across, which is something I really like. The various pictures and links to videos of Michael Jordan's playing really helped to emphasize various points created in the book.If you're looking to learn about Michael Jordan but don't have the time to sit through a very long book, and you also wish some extra content to really support you understand his playing, definitely read this book! If you're a basketball player who wants to up his game, this book would be amazing for you. I recommended it to a mate who is a huge basketball fan, and he also really enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I've been a Bulls fan my whole life. As a young boy, I saw Michael Jordan walk by at a golf tournament. Other than hearing a few facts about Jordan from my dad, I didn't know much about Michael Jordan's life. That is why I picked up this is book took me through his life at a high level. I got a amazing grasp of what he went through at every point in his life and career. It was an simple read which was what I was looking for. I now feel like I have a much better understanding of and respect for MJ.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Michael Jordan's life story offers tremendous benefit to those who take time and learn about it. This well-written biography offers a well-researched glimpse into fascinating info of Jordan from the days of his youth to the present-day successful businessman that he is. It offers testimony about how Jordan is no less an American character than others who are well thought of. Jordan's ability to transcend sports and become successful in business is perhaps the lesson I like most ​because that requires a special, elite level of self-motivation that is quite uncommon. Readers of this book will have fun the stories but also have the ability to let Jordan's motivation to benefit their own lives. I know it did mine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Michael Jordan is a real Basketball legend - perhaps one of the best of all time. I have always looked up to him and I still admire him. But I never knew his entire story.I never even knew that Michael Jordan's first motivation arose out of a sibling rivalry. The author really dives into the genuine story of a legend. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with an ounce of interest into Michael Jordan!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Amazing high level fast read about Jordan's life and accomplishments. Definitely would have liked much more detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    A amazing book...but was below my expectations considering the fact that it was about one of the greatest sporting Legends of our times..did not provide me the expected insight into what created him so amazing ...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    This books is a must read for real Michael Jordan fans. Michael forever changed the android game of basketball on and of the court. This books gives you rare insight on mj as he goes through the phases of his life and meets them head on with determination, becoming an icon and inspiring generations to come! I highly recommend this book to all Michael Jordan fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Jordan: A Unique Insight into the Career and Mindset of Michael Jordan (What it Takes to Be Like Mike) (Basketball Biographies) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    This book is a amazing read, I loved to watch Michael Jordan play basketball, weaving through the lane, high-flying dunks, and ankle-breaking moves. I thought I knew most things about him, but I found this book to be really informative about his career. For instance, I have always heard that Jordan did not create his sophomore high school basketball team, but I di not realize he was only 5'9 at the time. The book has some amazing images and lots of other information. I encourage anyone to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Collins review []  2020-1-10 19:26

    Book gave amazing info but in addition added a lot of names of some of the "players" never mentioned before. McDonnell needs to sharpen his writing skills a bit to create the "read" easier on the reader. Very amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Collins review []  2020-1-10 19:26

    Though not a voraciously reader, this book held me through to the end. Would highly recommend this book for someone who wants a amazing overview of the Easter Rebellion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Collins review []  2020-1-10 19:26

    This book was a amazing resource in helping me to understand the struggles of the [email protected]#$%!& doesn't matter what side you are on...the man, Michael Collins was a Leader, and a amazing one. Thanks V. McDonnell.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael Collins review []  2020-1-10 19:26

    Good, informative book. Enjoyed reading about the history of Collins and the IRA. Not sure what else can be said.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    This series is excellent for my fifth graders to use as a basis for a Bio Book Talk project. It is not overly detailed, and allows for them to focus on how the person became necessary enough for the "Who Was?" series. When they present, they also have to dress up as their popular person. We focus on popular Americans, but the others in the series are amazing resources also.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    My fifth grader loves everything about basketball, so he loves reading this book. He is typically not much of a reader, so we have to search books that interest him. This book definitely caught his interest. He wouldn’t place it down. Amazing book about Michael Jordan with a lot of amazing facts and info. He learned a lot of things he hadn’t known. This entire series is awesome...definitely recommend this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    this book is a really amazing book for people who love basketball and for so who don't know about Michael Jordananyway, don't lesen to those 1 Star people this book is five star

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    Very well written . You don't search a lot of books about African Americans and that is what makes this line of books so great. Highly recommend to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    Satisfied to have this book. It came in amazing shape, no rips, tears and on time. Excellent for teaching my young boys about their history and heritage.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    Love reading this series to my kids. They love to learn about all various types of people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    Amazing book for my 9 year old to read about MJ... the GOAT.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    I got a amazing deal on this book and it came in pristine condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    Amazing for my middle school biography projects!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Jordan? (Who Was?) review []  2020-1-16 8:1

    Amazing book but it’s smaller. Check dimensions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    An interesting and quick read about one of the most successful people in latest Hollywood.Ovitz combines business lessons, an inside look at Hollywood and a private memoir all in one book. Anyone interested generally in business case studies will have fun the book at the author built one of the most successful startups in Hollywood in the modern era. If you are interested in the movie business specifically, the book is probably a must also obtain some insight on how he handled negotiations, employees, and clients. There are Hollywood anecdotes about stars and popular directors including a priceless paragraph about how he got his martial arts instructor, Steven Seagal, a film e "memoir" part is also interesting. Ovitz doesn't obtain too specific but you obtain a feel for the background he came from and what drove him. He admits to some mistakes he created and discusses how he manipulated people and was stabbed in the back as well. As usual with memoirs, there is some self-promotion and score settling.I'm surprised there aren't more reviews of Who is Michael Ovitz. Maybe Ovitz's Hollywood opponents have helped bury the book, which is one of the better reads of the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    Outstanding. The title is very appropriate. I found myself asking the same question "who is Michael Ovitz??" when i saw him do an interview on CNBC. I became curious so i bought the book. NOW, I normally don't like reading long winded books allow alone a 400 page one but If you're going to write one that long you better create sure it's damn good. This book is "Damn good". I couldn't stop reading. For 2 weeks straight I woke up early every morning just so i could obtain to the next chapter. I read it at work. I read it after work. If i didn't know better i'd say this book was written like a screenplay (*wink*).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    This book is such amazing fun to read. The pace of story telling is relentless, which is what it must have been like to be around this a tech person with no background (or interest) in Hollywood I was still gripped by his stories. My outsider knowledge is related to his description of LA film people ignorant of Fresh York finance people: “Hollywood, where people didn’t know Goldman Sachs from Saks Fifth Avenue”. He worked with so a lot of people moving behind the scenes with such high profile outcomes.Ovitz transformed the commercial artist representation business, in the process dramatically raising the price and power of talent for the studios. In an industry built on luck and relationships he scaled up hard work and hard ball to create an almost monopolistic agency that often represented all the major actors, directors and producers in each film so the studio could not play any off versus the other.He then expanded the agency to handle mergers and acquisitions, selling 2 of the 7 Hollywood studios to Japanese companies. And extended further to advertising, winning a $31 million Coca Cola contract from a standing begin in the advertising industry. He would have done much more if it was not for the guilds stopping e CEO of Disney did not let him to succeed when he hired him as the COO of Disney. But Orvitz got $130 million severance out of it. He recent act was to become a successful technology investor in Silicon e secret to his enormous success is clear - he works harder and longer than anyone else, and his hard work has compound interest. I do not understand how he managed to sustain such a pace but he really did.I also do not understand why he still cares because he clearly does. Once you obtain $130 million for being fired and the court confirms that you were mistreated by your employer, why does the mistreatment still damage you? Once you sell Columbia to Sony, why does your LA colleagues’ annoyance at your being in Japan during the deal still upset you? Once you have signed up every necessary actor and director away from their previous agent, why be mad that the agents you beat and the buyers whose buying power you crushed are mad at you? But the book is full of hurt, upset and anger. Even though he won, and won massively, I don’t think he got to have fun vertheless, what an extraordinary collection of stories of winning in difficult situations. One story stuck with me from his founding of the agency. He and four cofounders left their previous agency employer to found the fresh agency. The employer found out about this before they had fully set up because the banker setting up their acc was mates with the employer and tipped off the employer. The employer fired them, blocked others in the industry from working with them, and convinced another company to sue them for the trademark name of the fresh agency. A spurious lawsuit, but it would take time and cash to war and the fresh squad has neither. Back versus the wall, Mike remembered that the heavy company suing his little startup was being investigated by the Federal government anti trust team. Hands shaking, voice quivering, he calls the company’s lawyer and says he will hint off the federal government that this lawsuit is another example of monopolistic practices. He gives the lawyer 2 hours to send a letter cancelling the law suit before Mike will call his contact. Mike has no such contact. But in 1 hour and 45 mins he has a hand delivered a letter cancelling the law ere is always a ’s inspirational to read Mike share some of his moves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    A wonderfully told origin story. Ovitz is the rare successful man who can look back with honesty, recounting both his achievements and failures. It makes him a more sympathetic figure; you end up cheering for him even though you know how the story ends. It shares a lot of parallels — and is on par with — Thomas Watson’s brilliant ‘Father, Son & Co.: My Life at IBM and Beyond.’

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    The industry has always been a black hole for me. I attended a few dinners in NYC that was a mix of Hollywood and business people. Not much crossover from my vantage point. But, I am a partner in a personal bank and enjoyed not only learning what went on behind the scenes but by far most importantly, the thought, planning and extraordinary commitment to success that Michael Ovitz puts into... everything. I bought the book for some folks in a PE Firm hoping that they would obtain what it takes to obtain to the next level. Mr Ovitz does not trash anyone nor obtain gossipy. He does admit mistakes and shares his epiphanies as they unfold. Quite a leap from peering in the fence as a boy to where he ended. I would like to know what he does now and if he would change anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    Michael Ovitz wrote a book that you couldn't place down! The stories of his career and risk taking from the valley to Beverly Hills. He is someone who wants to obtain down to business and do whatever it takes. The stories of this book are very useful and you will gain insight of the highest levels of success. He challenged the status quo and wanted to do right for the client. Complete Cleaner in the Hollywood scope and now working in Silicon Valley that advised a Venture Capital firm right away to create them distinctive among all firms. Very worth your time and valuable information. I'm biased as I was born in Los Angeles and know the town very well so it was very relative to my upbringing and life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    The book is a amazing story of tales by Michael Ovitz, the founder of CAA. - Every day my husband reads the book and then is so excited to share with me what he learned when he comes home from his "coffee".Just a fun, real story of some Hollywood tales (with a lot of inside stories).It also shows what it takes to build an empire.A fun side note, flip to the back of the book to search your favorite "movie star" to read about them eat! Great! Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    Recommended especially for those who are interested in the film business and/or the mechanics of orchestrating very huge corporate transactions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    An insightful front row acc of how CAA change the entertainment business. Dozens of funs stories of how movies obtain financed and made. Ovitz deals directly with his complicated mystique with enough self awareness to be instructive. I’m sure some of the stories are self serving, but the perspective makes for a very enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Who Is Michael Ovitz? review []  2020-1-16 14:45

    Though portrayed often as being cold, he was at least honest. His crime: A Machiavellian in a cesspool known as Hollywood. Seems like his critics are merely jealous. An enjoyable well as educational about surviving - thriving - in a harsh industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    This was very disappointing. However, if you have fun the goings on of the Bennett family, then it is a amazing book. It seemed the private family problems took over the much of the book. Detective Bennett was on vacation and helping the local cops was just not the main happening here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Just finished reading the Haunted. This was a book which was really difficult to place down. I normally read about an hour at the end of the day while laying in bed. Latest night I went to bed early because I wanted to read more. I started around ten in the evening and stopped at three in the morning. This is one of the best of James Pattersons books that I have had the pleasure to read. Now to order another one. lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Michael Bennett gets involved with drug dealers when he takes his family to Maine for a vacation. The plot holds your interest and makes you wish to obtain to the solution.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Michael Bennett Julia Paige Turner this book exciting and never ending thrills just a small-town hell a lot event let's stop the summit epidemic. Read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    This book like all the others was a book I did not wish to place down and finished very quickly. The book had everything, danger, romance, and laughs. Amazing ending that probably is leading in to next amazing read. Hurry up!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    I've read several Mike Bennett books and this one doesn't disappoint. A amazing story will hold your attention waiting to search out the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Michael Bennett can never take a real vacation. He gets involved in a murder and you know the rest. It was a amazing book. It moved fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Always look forward to the Detective Bennett series but with James O'Born as the co-author the book turned into a poor novel!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Wow. What a page turner! I have grown very fond of the Bennett family! They are like catching up with amazing friends. I laughed, cried and held my breath as Michael Bennett and his family took me on a Haunted adventure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Haunted (Michael Bennett) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    It had a couple of twists that were a surprise. I was not expecting the can not go wrong with the Bennett Family

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    Fabulous book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    This is a amazing cookbook for the home cook/foodie. It's beautifully illustrated!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    I ordered this bookright after making just the parsley sauce for roasted cauliflower. Every recipe has been a amazing success-from making it to everyone loving everything I have created from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    Amazing cookbook. Have created several of the dishes. They are terrific. Michael Schwartz prepares simple to follow recepies and the dishes are delicious.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    We ate at michael's in grand cayman. The meal was unbelievable and what we ate is in this cookbook. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    I have just received it, but am anxious to test a lot of of the recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    Amazing Product

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    GREAT book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    Amazing book. Five stars. Amazing for cook lovers. I love quality recipe. Chef Michael is one of the best . Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Michael's Genuine Food review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    This is must have book in your library if you like awesome food. If you can visit his restaurant in Miami then you will see what he is all about. No secrets all his amazing menu stuff are spelled out. GREAT JOB Michael!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers wallpapers application has awesome stumize your phone screen with horror Michael Myers wallpapers.I suggest to download this application now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    The michael myers it was fabulous and outstanding application for hd and best wallpaper so i am using this application for a lot of days and it is really working to amazing thanks......

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael myers app is very unbelievable app..it's wallpaper is very nice..all free wallpaper I really have fun it it such sa awesome application 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    This is a amazing and awesome application its fractures is very amazing it's very useful I like it soo much this application is realy awesome and unbelievable application and amazing dating app...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers Wall ap is the best application It is unbelievable to use i use it and obtain benefits.I also suggest you to join this app:02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    this is the very nice application esy to use and very helpful to me best to all mobile phones wallpapers i am loving it to this greet application and very useful application for all 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers wallpaper application very amazing work nice, a lot of other features I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers Wallpapers Amzing application Very simple to use this application This application is very nice very beautifull walpapers 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Musical myers such an awesome and brilliant app,its working much better another application i like..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers Wallpapers is the best wallpaper nice view and nice wallpaper for your phone 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers is the amazing application to use the different free wallpaper use to be the mobile phone and the mobile phone...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    very nice and grat application and beutifull application mates download very use full application 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    michael myers wallpapers is very amazing and very greet appp i raelly love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Mayer's application is very awesome app.. Best application ever 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michel myers application is very amazing app.. I like it very much.02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    these wallpapers are osm i like it very much 02 😍😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    This application is very useful best wallpaper and like this application o2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    it is an awsome application i am enjoying this application love it developer 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers Awesome application developer 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    this is a amazing application for wallpaper 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    this application is awesome 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Micheal myers such a amazing and best app,no more zone in mobile, I really appreciate it very much for this work...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Micheal myers ossume app,i recommend all user to use this amazing and quick application,no more zone in mobile...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Micheal myers has abducted features have,we recommend all user to use this brilliant app, love to use...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael myers application simple to use this nice app,its working amazing and no more zone in mobile...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers Amazing time killed,i wish to approximate this making nice app,bcz much appreciate app...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    this is a amazing and very awesome very amazing features customize yout phone screen i am so happy u also test it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    micheal myers application have amazing themes its contents very much appreciated and better another app...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers application nice I am enjoying this application beauty design I love it developer 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael myers application is vergood and beautifull application and super and geart 100% working full 02

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers is unbelievable app,must install this brilliant app love to use this...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael Myers such a nice app,easy to use,i really appreciate developer to create nice app...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    michael myres wallpaper app too be amazing to download is osm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🎃Michael Myers Wallpapers🎃 review [App]  2019-1-21 21:28

    Michael mysers apps nice work I love its developer

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter