Read michael savage pod cast on colonial vegetables reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all michael savage pod cast on colonial vegetables reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Listen live doesn't work on Android. Emails to the developer ignored. Android 8.1.0.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Before I realized I could obtain in on easy radio I could only listen to it in vehicle but not always in car. Today found out by accident I could obtain it from play shop with archives I obtain it perfectly on my galaxy 5s someone said they couldn't. He tells you things you never hear on TV news or read in the locals news.A fresh Comer to the radio might think he is a maniac bu t if they lite long enough they will know he is the best and they will be opened up to a astonishing insight into the politics of here and

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Had my stolen Tag Levin is a phony

    0  


    Add your opinion on michael savage pod cast on colonial vegetables or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Love that I don't miss a present can listen when I wish

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Simple interface, fast and almost perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Works amazing and always up to date. Only little criticism would be... i [email protected]#$%! would stop playing when i answe the phone. This application is just awsome though thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Love Micheal savage!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Love fresh live player and application runs faster

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    For example. Add a rewind/pause/fast forward option. Like DVR. Also, need to hold shows up to date. I missed the interview with trump due to motherly duties, i do hope to listen to it soon! It should be available as soon as it is over, if possible. Thank you love Savage!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Thanks Dr. Savage for truth radio! The liberal news people are insane. They know the truth, but are afraid to report it. They have no backbone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Very satisfied with the speed of connecting to Dr. Savages show. Also satisfied with having access to the archived shows. I do want we could rewind, pause and quick forward the shows. Especially the archived shows. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Convenient to have, but does consume a nice bit of data. Either way, it is a nice option.😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Only application out there that gives access to the Savage Nation. Don't allow the feww poor ratings perduade you. The guy runs the Application on his own and does a amazing job providing shows daily. Also now its commercial free!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Application was amazing till it got updated. Used to have a player that can skip forward and back. Now I have to be careful that I dont stop it or it starts at the beginning. Why change it if its working fine?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    But the application isn't there yet. Unable to multitask with application running i.e. messaging, email, etc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Easy and does what it says it does, simple to use what more could you want?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael Savage Poadcast [App]  2019-2-7 13:17

    so insightful and generally a amazing reality check for both sides of the coin go Michael go

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Would be a amazing app, but st Fridays present still isn't up and it's monday.tidays present also not up live play is t worth paying for because it doesn't do what it says "allowing fast access to this content from a single app".I guess as long as u don't expect it to be kept current.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Only archived shows playback. That's ok, but not good. Still worth a buck however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    I have a Galaxy S5. I for and downloaded this App. It doesn't work at all! Nothing! Not archives... Not anything! I rebooted my phone... Nothing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Ok getting better you actually have the present on the same day it aired hold it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Thank you for creating this app. It does have its bugs, however, it's content is irreplaceable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    The "podcasts" on this application are actually on YouTube, and it's only about 2 weeks worth of archives at any one time. The only reason this is better than YouTube is you can turn off the screen, but you can't listen and use other apps unless you split screen in which case, you might as well use YouTube. I got a refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Why does not arrow work? cant present for convenient listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    This is a very necessary app, and Dr. Michael Savage is a National Treasure. He is method up on his "crows nest", where he adroitly scans the cultural and political landscape to warn us of the a lot of threats versus our freedoms, constitution, religion, economy, culture, etc. His battle cry or mantra is "Borders, Language, and Culture", all of which are under attack by the globalists, democRATS, socialists, jihadists, progressives, environmentalists, and mostly by the "Enemy Within" inside the D.C. beltway, Obama.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    My 10 year old son and I are so excited to have our Savage available when ever we wish now!!! Tucson doesn't air Savage nation so this is excellent, thank you!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    amazing that I can listen background play plus they have archived some of the shows!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Used to miss present due to work. Now...I can listen anytime. Application works amazing with my android. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Amazing job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Thanks for the bug fixes...the screen now dims on my Samsung galaxy phone while a podcast is in playback. Also like the fresh podcast playback format...cleaner looking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    This application has it's shortcomings, but also has what I need, Savage. VERY responsive support, amazing developers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    3 dollars for YouTube playlists?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael Savage Podcast [App]  2019-2-11 21:15

    so insightful and generally a amazing reality check for both sides of the coin go Michael go

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Dr. Michael Savage is a geneous, God blessed us when vage was born.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    I like this app, it works well on my Galaxy S3, I use to listen to Savage on the WFTL application but the f#*k-tard idiots in programming at WFTL decided to stop airing the third hour of the show. I normally don't for apps but this application is worth it.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    My boy that keeps this application current works hard at this all by himself and i have never seen him slip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Talk present best application ever I strongly recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    I live in an zone where Savage is unavailable over the air. I used to listen to each present on youtube, but the audio would stop when I minimized the app. The audio continues to stream with this application minimized. Worth the $1 just for that feature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    No programs available for a full week already (8-11-2014 forward). "I got married" is the application seller's excuse! Search the shows in iTunes for free.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    I have fun this app....PLEASE, hold this current...look forward to future use...thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    Now it's perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Msav ft Michael Savage [App]  2019-10-12 13:11

    I purchased this application and it worked okay. After a time, it stopped being up to date and then one day I got a notice that said "app not installed " when I tried to begin it. I tried to reinstall and got the notice "incompatible update". I guess I need a refund. I Really wanted it to work out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    I loved the method the author is acutely aware of his own bias, tells it like it was in terms of the imperialistic politics of the late 50's. Initially, (as most western people are & the author discusses) I was repulsed by the thought of cannibalism, however when taken in the context of the native culture it existed in, I could have a beginning understanding of the everyday spirituality of the Asmat, and the importance of maintaining balance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    Carl Hoffman does a commendable job of first party research in an attempt to uncover the truth around the disappearance and death of Michael Rockefeller in 1961 off Fresh Guinea. Rockefeller, grandson of John D. and son of then NY Governor Nelson Rockefeller, was exploring the native Asmat tribe and their "primitive" art in Fresh Guinea. While traveling on a catamaran with a Dutch colleague and two native guides, the boat capsized in rough water 10-15 miles from shore. The two tutorials bailed and while his Dutch colleague remained on a piece of flotsam, Michael emptied two gas cans to use as flotation devices and swam off in the warm waters of the Arafura Sea to shore. An intense find ensued with the Dutch colonial authorities, Australia and the US. Ultimately the official cause of death was ruled a drowning but questions always persisted. Fresh Guinea had some of the most remote location in the world, a lot of native tribes had minimal to no contact with anything modern and some tribes practiced "headhunting" or in other words were cannibals. Did Michael really drown? Was he eaten by a shark? or did he wind eaten by a native tribe?Hoffman's research uncovered a lot of basic sources never seen or reviewed by the Rockefeller family, spent significant time with local tribes and conversed with Dutch missionaries who were show when Michael disappeared. While nothing is certain and there is no "smoking gun", the preponderance of the evidence he uncovers leads one to conclude that Michael did create it to shore only to be killed and eaten by a native tribe. Hoffman delves into ancient animosities and strife among native tribes, clashes of local tribes with Dutch administrators and missionaries and the convergence of western culture and religion with native spiritual and animistic beliefs. All in all, Hoffman's persistence and willingness to immerse himself on the trail, wherever it would lead, provides sufficient conclusive to this story, not to mention and entertaining read.I read Hoffman's previous book, "Lunatic Express", and it is clear he has the private fortitude to go to the ends of the earth in some physically and mentally tough environments, whether for excitement, a amazing story or both. "Savage Harvest" is a amazing follow up book, a bit more focused, albeit a small less entertaining than "Lunatic Express". The toil he place in to research this story is quite commendable and makes me appreciate the efforts of his labor even more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    It was hard to stomach the initial descriptions of the tribal rites, at first. Then, the realization of modern factual happenings intersecting with my own travels in that geographical vicinity created Hoffman's quest more personal. I even had to check my high school yearbook for my Dutch Indonesian boyfriend's picture to "ground" myself into Hoffman's story. Grossly riveting at times, the mystery of Rockefeller's disappearance came to a somewhat satisfying conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    If you have a amazing interest in the disappearance and death of Michael Rockefeller or just wish to learn about the culture and cannibalistic practices of 20th Century tribes in Papua Fresh Guinea, this book is definitely for you. If not, you may wish to pass on reading this well researched and informative book. The tale moves slowly at times and a lot of of the village put names are not shown on the book's lone map. Also unusual is the telling of Michael's death in the opening chapter followed by the long and winding tale of whether the tribal members actually killed him or whether he drowned at sea (as the Rockefeller family chose to believe). Didn't we already learn who killed him in the opening passages of the book? Why all the suspense in the subsequent chapters when we learned in the opening chapter who killed him. The only thing fresh we learn in the end is why they killed him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    The author happy my interest in the fate of Rockefeller in the first few pages, and then randomly presents the evidence with constant flash backs. The use of flashbacks is grossly overdone to where it was difficult to hold track of what was going on. Towards the end it is obvious that the book is about the discovery of Carl Hoffman by Carl Hoffman. I am satisfied for him. This could have been a amazing adventure tale about Hoffman's find for the fate of Rockefeller, but it turns out to be a mucked mess wherein Hoffman tries to figure out what to write about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    If someone told me I would stay with a book after the author reveals the "secret" in the first chapter, I wouldn't believe it. But this is a very unusual book. Although the reader learns Michael Rockefeller's fate early on, the author kept me interested until the very end. I couldn't obtain my nose out of this book and quickly read it from beginning to end in less than two days.When Michael Rockefeller disappeared, I was a girl in Fresh York State and Nelson Rockefeller was our governor and a larger-than-life personality. I remember the speculation about how Michael died and his father's find for him in the South Pacific. I heard Carl Hoffman's interview with Terry Gross on New Air and became intrigued with the book shortly after it was published. Hoffman's experience in Fresh Guinea and his flashbacks to how the Rockefeller story unfolded are done very well. The reader gets a clear sense of Michael, his dreams of carving out a put for himself in such a stellar family, his youth and innocence, and of the place. Fresh Guinea is a mysterious, other-worldly spot even now, and was much more so when Michael travelled there in the 1960s. This is a tragic story of how happenings conspired versus the young thing that troubled me was Hoffman's thoughts about why the Rockefeller family didn't go to Fresh Guinea and do more in-person investigating into Michael's death. He states that he does not understand their desire to accept the drowning explanation in the face of so much other compelling evidence. Frankly, I understand it perfectly. Just as the Asmat people didn't wish to discuss it because of all the taboos around cannibalism, someone with a family member who died that method wouldn't wish to think about it. Those taboos go both ways. This was (and I am sure still is) a family in pain. If someone I loved had died this way, I don't know if I could discover it, meet the people responsible for it, analyze their culture, etc., It's just too painful. Drowning is a much easier death to accept.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    This is a remarkable and well-researched acc of one chance as to Michael Rockefeller's fate. I honestly had never heard about this since I was only a little kid when he went missing. The author lived among the Asmat people for about a month during his third visit to Fresh Guinea and obviously did a large amount of first-hand research. It is extremely well-written, reading like a mystery or a detective story, which I suppose in some ways it is. Mr. Hoffman makes a convincing case for Michael having been killed and eaten in a cannabilistic reprisal for some previous murders of the Asmat leaders by a white man in a position of power. He has gotten into the culture of the natives living in the zone and it is believable that the son of Nelson Rockefeller might have been murdered and consumed, although it was unknown for the Asmat people to slay white men. The political situation at the time and the Catholic presence there also create the case for the cover-up of the incident. Ironically, Nelson Rockefeller was also understandably anxious to believe that his son had drowned rather than to believe the horrific rumors without proof that Michael may have suffered a much more not good death, especially while obtaining primitive artifacts for display in his father's museum. The irony of that latter fact cannot be ignored- Nelson Rockefeller proudly displayed the art purchased by his son in what some may consider an exploitative manner without understanding the spiritual and cultural background of cannibalism and tribal retribution depicted in those pieces, Even some of the tribal poles known as bisj were possibly made as a sort of temporary put holders for seething revenge that might have found final balance in the killing and consumption of Michael. Because Michael himself did not completely understand the culture of the Asmat people from those villages in which he lived for months, and his father had even less understanding, the ultimate irony may have been that on display were the native pictures foretelling of Michael's very death. And because Nelson or his daughter Mary (Michael's twin sister)) turned a blind eye to all other possibilities other than the unlikely option that Michael may have drowned, he never understood that what he was displaying may have told the story of what actually heppened to his son, and may have been an integral part of the incident. A amazing book. I couldn't place it down; I started it latest night and finished it tonight. If I hadn't had to work today, I would have sat up all night to obtain to the latest page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    An interesting investigation into the mysterious death of Michael Rockefeller, however one that has been done a lot of times before. Like a lot of of these types of novels, after a long and winding journey you end up in the same put where you began, so the book is much more about a journey of the author into the wildlands rather than the Rockefeller mystery. In all it serves as a amazing read but ithe compelling part remains the author's journey and the cultures found there rather than the Rockefeller mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    Prior to reading this book, I had not heard of the story of Michael Rockefeller, and his tragic fate, so this story was totally fresh to me, and i was really excited to read it. The story is fascinating because of the mix of cultures involved, Dutch colonial ambitions, geopolitical historical aspects, as well as the nature of the wealthy, strong Rockefeller family. The story presents prime fodder for amazing characters and a amazing mystery. It will not spoil the story to say that the fundamental question is "how did Michael Rockefeller die?". The book tells the story by jumping back and forth from more latest times during the author's research and back to the time of Michael's time on the island, up until he disappeared, and the ensuing huge find effort. The jumping back and forth in time makes some parts of the book challenging. In addition, the book is created more challenging by the difficulty I had with put names and people names. There are numerous areas of importance referred to in the book, but there is not a single map - I want there had been at least one map (several times I used Google maps on my intelligent phone). With regard to people's names, particularly the names of Fresh Guinea tribe and family names, a family tree and/or timeline of relatives would have helped the understanding, and therefore the enjoyment of reading. Coupled with the disjointed time structure, the lack of maps and challenges with place/people names/relations, this book is not as amazing as it could have been. However, I still enjoyed it, and glad I read it, because the coincidence of peoples in Fresh Guinea at this time in history is really interesting. Regarding the question of Michael's actual fate, I left the book no more convinced of any proposed method in which he could have died. I will not say more on this, so I don't spoil it for others - you'll have to create up your own mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    This is a remarkable and well-researched acc of one chance as to Michael Rockefeller's fate. I honestly had never heard about this since I was only a little kid when he went missing. The author lived among the Asmat people for about a month during his third visit to Fresh Guinea and obviously did a large amount of first-hand research. It is extremely well-written, reading like a mystery or a detective story, which I suppose in some ways it is. Mr. Hoffman makes a convincing case for Michael having been killed and eaten in a cannabilistic reprisal for some previous murders of the Asmat leaders by a white man in a position of power. He has gotten into the culture of the natives living in the zone and it is believable that the son of Nelson Rockefeller might have been murdered and consumed, although it was unknown for the Asmat people to slay white men. The political situation at the time and the Catholic presence there also create the case for the cover-up of the incident. Ironically, Nelson Rockefeller was also understandably anxious to believe that his son had drowned rather than to believe the horrific rumors without proof that Michael may have suffered a much more not good death, especially while obtaining primitive artifacts for display in his father's museum. The irony of that latter fact cannot be ignored- Nelson Rockefeller proudly displayed the art purchased by his son in what some may consider an exploitative manner without understanding the spiritual and cultural background of cannibalism and tribal retribution depicted in those pieces, Even some of the tribal poles known as bisj were possibly made as a sort of temporary put holders for seething revenge that might have found final balance in the killing and consumption of Michael. Because Michael himself did not completely understand the culture of the Asmat people from those villages in which he lived for months, and his father had even less understanding, the ultimate irony may have been that on display were the native pictures foretelling of Michael's very death. And because Nelson or his daughter Mary (Michael's twin sister)) turned a blind eye to all other possibilities other than the unlikely option that Michael may have drowned, he never understood that what he was displaying may have told the story of what actually heppened to his son, and may have been an integral part of the incident. A amazing book. I couldn't place it down; I started it latest night and finished it tonight. If I hadn't had to work today, I would have sat up all night to obtain to the latest page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    A very different/unique book that can be interpreted on a number of levels. It could be read and interpreted as a contemporary detective novel; alternatively it could be seen to render a tale of the consequences of clumsy colonialism, or it could be judged to be a deeply private acc of what to expect when one gets 'up close and personal' with a native culture.I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I had no knowledge of the Rockerfeller family losing their son to cannabilism, nor did I realise their philanthropic attempts to corner the shop on native art! This was all revealed within the is book definitely leaves one asking how we define 'civilised' and how our attempts to colonise through the means of christianity can leave those we choose to define as 'savages' in cultural limbo with previous values and traditions frowned upon and a series of fresh values and traditions s well worth a read especially for any social scientist or humanities student.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    This book is a thorough investigation into the disappearance of Michael Rockefeller in Fresh Guinea in the 1960's. But much more than that it is a journey into the mind set of the local people and how they dealt with and with their transformation from a closely held culture where logical relations between spirits and humans buttress their method of life into a "modern" culture overlain with government, religion, and lifestyles replete with unsatisfactory contradictions. The author seeks not to judge, but to explain. Starting with a murder mystery he ends up understanding a mind set that can contain headhunting and cannibalism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    Having travelled in and out of Papua Fresh Guinea as a consultant for two years, I was deeply interested in the cultural aspects of the other half of Fresh Guinea. One of the things we learned was that a lack of understanding of the culture and social mores is a critical mistake. Hoffman does a amazing job of getting to know the people and not imposing his values on them as so a lot of missionaries do. Additionally, his writing style is exceptional. He takes an happening that happened over fifty years ago and brings it to life on a lot of levels. My only criticism lies in the statements that cannibalism and head hunting are no longer practiced. They as well as shape shifting, witchcraft, and the spirit globe are alive and well today

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    If you are looking for a description of the Asmat culture or a bit of the history of their colonial rule then this book delivers. If you're looking for evidence (even circumstantial) of what happened to Michael Rockefeller then the book will leave you empty. It seems to me that the book and the author's journey started out with amazing intentions and created amazing initial progress. When that progress eventually stalled, then he went ahead and wrote the book anyway. I found the very beginning and very end of the book to be disingenuous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    "Savage Harvest" is about much more than the 1961 disappearance of Michael Rockefeller in Papau, Fresh Guinea. This brilliant book also includes elements of exploration, adventure, anthropology, politics, and private introspection. My only complaint is that the book is too short. Any of these themes could justify far more words than are ch like Carl Hoffman's previous book, "The Lunatic Express," everything about "Savage Harvest" is audacious: the physical and financial risks of his two trips, the belief that after so long there was still something fresh to uncover, the challenge of being accepted by the indigenous Asmat people with whom Hoffman lives, and even the notion that a marketable book could be made from a story in which headhunting and cannibalism are central concepts. Even the structure of the book, in which first-person contemporary reporting is combined with detailed, if plausible and well-documented, recreations of historical happenings indicates a writer who doesn't like to play it , this is not a breezy read. Any book that begins with a graphic acc of one man being killed and ritually eaten by other men requires a certain commitment from the reader. This is a book that I read in little sections, thus allowing me to fully process the a lot of implications of the text. "Savage Harvest" demands, and rewards, a lot of thought. The most strong notice presented by "Savage Harvest" is that the Asmat live in a globe profoundly various from the one occupied by those who are likely to read this book. Asmat values, Asmat social expectations, and even the relationship between the Asmat and "reality" can be fundamentally alien to a modern, western deed, the most impressive accomplishment of this book is its complex treatment of the Asmat. "Savage Harvest" avoids reducing the Asmat to easy stereotypes such as Noble Savages or Oppressed Victims, or Uncivilized Heathens. Hoffman describes the good, the bad, and certainly the ugly, with brutal honesty. And he does so using evocative prose that frequently becomes poetic. My favorite example is when Hoffman writes, "There are people who don't like hanging out with spiders and dirt and naked men in pig grease, but Michael Rockefeller wasn't one of them."As for the truth behind the disappearance of Michael Rockefeller? I finished the book completely convinced of what Hoffman argues. However, there are still some aspects that seem mysteriously ambiguous. Things that we might never fully understand. And perhaps this is as it should be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    An interesting investigation of a "primitive" culture encountering western curiousity. Part mystery, part anthropology. Intriguing on several levels. Worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    Thanks to the everyday kindle specials I'm offered, I have read a lot of books I wouldn't have searched for. Savage Harvest was a pleasant surprise. There are a lot of amazing reviews so I won't be ere IS a map of the villages and I don't see how this book could be written without going back and forth in time. I certainly didn't search it tedious. Quite the contrary, I couldn't place it down. This kindle ver doesn't have the option to search out what percentage of the book has been read/remains so I kept going as I thought I must be nearing the end...and it's now 11 am.I'll be in NYC in a couple of months and I'll have to visit the Museum of Primitive Art at MOMA. I read this on an iPad but will have it on my iPhone 6+ so will be able to refer to the book while there. This is an exciting prospect. To actually SEE the artifacts that Michael Rockefeller acquired and see his photographs will be a huge thrill. I hope his journals will also be on e cover created me think I was getting a book written decades ago yet the book was published in 2014 and Hoffman's trips were in 2012. It was interesting to see that "ramen" is now a major part of their diet. And the references to John who lives between two villages and works elsewhere for and has adopted a more modern lifestyle (including satellite TV and watches CNN and BBC) was fascinating.Quite poignant was the author's realization that despite the really primitive conditions he felt a sense of kinship and belonging to a community. He talks about how his father left behind his Orthodox Jewish upbringing and Carl and his sister grew up in a little insular household among families with numerous children.If you like non-fiction, travel narratives, and biographies/memoirs genres, then this has it all. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    A very different/unique book that can be interpreted on a number of levels. It could be read and interpreted as a contemporary detective novel; alternatively it could be seen to render a tale of the consequences of clumsy colonialism, or it could be judged to be a deeply private acc of what to expect when one gets 'up close and personal' with a native culture.I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I had no knowledge of the Rockerfeller family losing their son to cannabilism, nor did I realise their philanthropic attempts to corner the shop on native art! This was all revealed within the is book definitely leaves one asking how we define 'civilised' and how our attempts to colonise through the means of christianity can leave those we choose to define as 'savages' in cultural limbo with previous values and traditions frowned upon and a series of fresh values and traditions s well worth a read especially for any social scientist or humanities student.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art [Book]  2018-1-9 18:0

    This book was so much better-on a lot of levels-than I expected. It is beautifully and authoritatively written. More significantly, for me, was the dedication the author showed in returning several times to the Asmat villages. Despite all the inconvenience, danger, and physical privation experienced by Hoffman, he was a man on a mission: to understand the culture (religion) of head-hunting and cannibalism. What starts out as a quest to explore what actually happened to Michael Rockefeller, whose disappearance has been shrouded in secrecy and misinformation, ends as a desire to not only know the Asmat, but also as a profound appreciation of their disappearing culture. This book was both a revelation and an education for me. I cannot recommend it too highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest []  2020-2-1 5:41

    Hoffman manages to come up with as close to a clear conclusion on the death of Rockefeller as can be made, half a century after others had failed to do so. His patient immersion in Asmat culture yields dividends when he gets the descendants of those who probably ritually killed Rockefeller to almost admit e book is particularly fascinating in the method it interweaves the history, politics, and culture of the time, to present how these all converge on an eager, bright, but unfortunate young man. For example, how the "domino theory" of Asian communism led President Kennedy to test to placate Sukarno and oppose the Dutch. How Dutch colonialists, trying to present that the Netherlands were in control of Papua, led them to murder Asmat, which in turn led the Asmat to take revenge on hapless e book portrays the Asmat culture to us Westerners in a method that helps to understand their globe view. I have visited other remote clans in Papua Fresh Guinea and have some understanding of this. Hoffman gets you deep into these natives' culture.I fault Hoffman for his annoying jumping around in time, backwards and forwards over and over. Very frustrating.And the paperback deserves a more beautiful cover!A brilliant study. A compelling read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    I liked this book very much. It was exciting, quick paced enough to hold my interest, had amazing hero development, a good, believable plot, and a amazing knowledge of law enforcement procedures and practices. I truly liked Michael Bennett, which for me, it is almost essential that I like the main character....unlike so a lot of books I have read lately. There seems to be a trend going on with police procedural mysteries that the main character, (the officer) is "damaged", with small character, integrity, or honesty. This officer has all of the above. If I have any criticism, it would be that his kids all ten of them, are a small unbelievable. I have children, G'children, know a bunch of children, know several huge families and not one of them has kids that good.... I have also read the next three books in the series and will read the whole series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    I am reading the series but I read the books during the day because the violence is much too graphic for me to not toss and turn all night thinking about the violence. It seems each book in the series is more violent and I am once again reading I Michael Bennett during the day. All Patterson's series move quickly and are hard to place down. Michael Bennett is a unbelievable character. How in the globe can James Patterson write so a lot of books and hold all his characters separate? He is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    The hero is true you can see he is torn between is duty of detective and his dying wife in the hospital with cancer. The interactions and help of the cast of family characters is well written and anyone coming from a huge family will recognize the dysfunctional times as well as times family pulls together in a time of need. The police drama and negotiations that occur take valuable time away from Detective Bennets family during the holidays and the brutality of the hostage takers as well as the betrayal of one of their own is well written and keeps you guessing just who is feeding the poor guys inside information as to what is event and the police are planning. This book has betrayal, love, family, and sadness all rolled into one. Simple read, keeps you going and coming back for more and wanting to read more about the life of detective Bennet and his extended ep On a Crack

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    This book is a divine work of art — it honors all aspects of yoga and depicts renowned yogis, hidden masters, and unknown naturals born practicing all their lives. The images by Michael O'Neill are magnificent and the writings in the book are transformative. This is the excellent bonus for oneself or others as it is a real treasure. Looks gorgeous on a coffee table too ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    Attractive book, photography is fantastic, and it is a amazing bonus for mates that are into Yoga! The only thing that I would change is the cover photo us is a bit impressive and it takes a bit to understand the pose,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    I️ got half method into church hostage situation and gave up! It started when a supposed TOP negotiator froze at the begin of the stand off, really? And think about who attended Nancy Reagan’a funeral...yet only the mayor and “some” politicians attended this one? Michelle Obama attended and President Obama was criticized when he didn’t. And law enforcement appeared more like keystone cops rather than law enforcement professionals. Liked Mike’s family dynamics, wished the main story had been believable. Cross and Women’s Murder Club were great. Missed the tag with this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    Step on a crack is the first in the series surrounding the Michael Bennett family. Michael is not your usual run of the mill detective. What might set Michael apart is first and foremost he is the father of ten adopted children from ages 3 to 12. Secondly while trying to hold Fresh York safe, he is also trying to manage his home life and his breaking heart as his wife, the love of his life, is dying of cancer in the tterson does know how to weave an interesting tale doesn't he?But wait - there's more...In the midst of Mike Bennett's already chaos of a life, the former first lady is poisoned and while St. Patrick's Cathedral is filled to capacity with Government leaders and celebrity mourning this loss... the entire congregation is kidnapped at the hands of a group of unknown gunmen. All this is event right in Bennett's back ... is never 's hard to explain what I really search in amazing audio - but this is it. The narrators, John Slattery and Reg Rogers lead you into a full body sense of suspense when they alternate the voices between amazing guy Bennett, and the eerie flat tone of the man known only as Jack.A amazing story line - I have fun the tameness a family man like Bennett brings to a genre that on occasion can be harsh - even offensive. yet at the same time - this story is not weak by no means. I bounced between the intensiveness of the kidnapping a church filled with well-known people... and the story line between Mike and his wife Maeve from the hospital bed. The latter causing me to sit in my vehicle while parked in the garage to listen a small longer to their conversations with [email protected]#$%!&ing my steering wheel.I have raved about Patterson's audio before and I am doing it again. Don't write off audio until you have experienced one of Patterson's latest audio - and even if you are not a Patterson fan, do not write off Patterson until you have read/listened to, this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    This is a large book - very well bound and sturdy. The photography is attractive and it's printed in Italy, so the photography and text is first rate. In a lot of ways this book is a tribute to India. I've always found Indians to be attractive and highly evolved and this books confirms my belief. This is an perfect introduction to Yoga and where it originated. The Indian civilization is 10,000 years old - we can all learn a amazing from them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    Absolutely stunning. I watched a film about this amazing photographer first, and had to the book after seeing it. The photos are spectacular, absolutely authentic, and the whole book is a joy from beginning to end! Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    This book is about a large hostage situation. It is carried out by most unexpected villains. It is suspenseful and exciting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    After watching the movie, I decided to the book for (of course) on the coffee table as it is something you wish to read on a relaxed moment, where you have a break and where you can be away from all everyday tasks. However, now I need to a larger coffee table....the book is surprisingly huge (to my joy)...a true piece of art. And very massive as well. It is really something that catches attention in any room it lives in. Thank you, Michael.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    One of the best image journals around. O'Neill is a genius. Words can't describe it. Only your eyes can.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    Got this as a bonus for my younger sister, and she adores this book. Hasn't even removed it from the plastic it was delivered in

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    I love the Michael Bennett stories and this is either the first or second novel in the series....how I missed it until now I don't know as I have read ALL the others and am awaiting the next one...but this one was excellent....police work...family work and this one even tho I did read it out of ...was heartwarming a small sad ( I wont tell you why as it would ruin it for you ) but in the end was an perfect read.....so go it already and you will NOT be sorry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    This was the first book I read of the Michael Bennett series and I instantly fell in love with this man and his family. This series of books about Mr. Bennett are some of Mr. Patterson's best writing. This book is one that a person begins to read early in the day and does not place down until late in the evening. It is exciting, intriguing and one cannot guess the ending which this reader thoroughly enjoys!!!! Yes, the Alex Cross series is amazing but this series is excellent!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    I got this for my wife, a yoga instructor, after watching the documentary on Netflix. Was a nice surprise for her, and she loved it. High quality materials, and a nice size. It's got a permanent spot on our coffee table. I've randomly seen my wife flipping through and reading it a few various times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    Amazing book and amazing documentary. One of a kind

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    A group of security professionals make the ultimate kidnapping scenario and begin the entire happening by causing the death of a very unique person.Locked in a fortress, that is virtually unimpregnable to the police and Feds, they end up killing 5 people , before a daring escape and usual this writing by this particular author is filled with suspense, attention to detail, and a very interesting story that keeps he reader on the edge of their seats with anticipation of the next event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Book 1) [Book]  2018-5-21 18:0

    STEP ON A CRACK-JAMES PATTERSONREVIEW BY KAREN VAUGHANMichael Bennett,father of 10 and husband to Maeve who is in the latest stages of cancer, has a hostage situation on his hands on the eve of Christmas. Trying to manage his kids and his grief he dives into the case of trying to negotiate the safe release of the hostages and capture of the e story is suspenseful while full of pathos for our character and his family. Have a box of tissues ready for this one people, you may need it. The comic relief comes in the dark humor shared amongst law enforcement and the quips with his crotchety grandfather who is helping him with the kids. I thoroughly enjoyed the well rounded story. Another 5 star vote for Mr. Patterson and co author Michael Lewidge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Michael O'Neill. On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (PHOTO) []  2020-1-30 21:2

    Bonus for my yoga master/teacher. He was very satisfied and is enjoying it very much. Very high quality and unique photographs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    I love this CD it is excellent for reenactment settings for the Revolutionary Battle and Civil "War

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    Nice back ground melody while working in my or driving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    ....or, in other words, the melody heard in colonial America was not just Mozart, Michael Haydn, Corelli, and Bach. This is a splendid recording by performance, instrumental arrangement, and selected works. Irish reels, sailor hornpipes, and Scotch ballads are show along with French dances, and 17th-century English famous tunes. Roots of bluegrass are obvious, and I felt the common frontier spirit, more John Adams than Thomas Jefferson. Instruments contain viola de gamba, violin, recorders, pennywhistle, and lutes: a trio ensemble appropriate to a town's meeting hall. This album is my favorite of Hesperus, and its dozens and brightness provide continual interest. You may search this fine background melody when reading histories of the American Revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    I live in Fresh England and love Colonial music. I play this while working at least once a day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Video & TV Cast - Miracast Display on tv [App]  2018-1-9 13:10

    Simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Video & TV Cast - Miracast Display on tv [App]  2018-1-9 13:10

    It's a amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    This cd travels everywhere with me and you can easily imagine a ball at Monticello given by Mr. Jefferson when you hear y not to daydream too much while driving as i had done several times..lol..it's hard not to with this cd..:)Perfect for a colonial reenactment or party.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    Enjoyed the melody and the historical contest. A nice combination of history and acoustic heritage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    I think this CD is the excellent melody for a national holiday such as Thanksgiving. I usually have dinner melody and am using the Colonial America this year. It will be famous with my family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    I first heard the "Colonial America" CD by Hesperus when I visited Monticello recently (the home of Thomas Jefferson) where they were playing the songs in the bonus shop. Imagine my dismay to search that only one cassette tape was left of the fabulous melody of Hesperus; however, that tape held me spell-bound all the method home, from Virginia to North was an wonderful journey from the past that has stayed with me since, and every day I drive that one hour back and forth to work. This melody has changed everything about the trips, and I can't wait for anks to I was able to all three CD's, including "Early American Roots," "Colonial America" and the incredible"Celtic Roots" with the most attractive violas ank you Hesperus! Please play more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    This is a unbelievable album!! Every song a small something different. I love the old-time\appalachian feel of this album. It is the excellent album for Thanksgiving and I can't wait to use it for this year. Recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colonial America []  2020-1-11 20:28

    This is a amazing album. I have the Celtic Roots recording as well and will be on the lookout for anything by Hesperus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Savage City: Race, Murder, and a Generation on the Edge [Book]  2018-2-21 18:0

    I first heard about this book several years ago when T.J. English was a guest on The Everyday Present with Jon Stewart. Even then the topic matter sounded interesting and I purchased the digital ver years after its debut. I loved the book so much, there were times when I couldn't place down my iPad. One Saturday I woke up, opened my Kindle application and read this book continuously for seven hours straight. is is the real story about race relations primarily in Fresh York during the 60's and 70's from three various points-of-view. The first perspective comes after two white middle-class women were raped and murdered in Fresh York. A young black male with a low-IQ happened to be in the wrong put at the wrong time and was apprehended by white police officers. The young man was held in a little room with no windows for days on end, was never told of his Miranda rights, and was fed info of the case by the officers questioning him. He was then persuaded into making a false confession that place him behind bars. The second perspective comes from a white NY cop with Irish heritage who played a key role in bribing both legitimate and illegitimate businesses. The businesses on a weekly or monthly basis for "protection" from being bothered by the cops. After getting caught in a wiretap sting he agreed to bring down the entire network of corrupt policemen on the force. The third perspective comes from a young black member of the Black Panther Party who saw racial injustices done to the not good by the NYPD and was determined to "Fight the Power." It wasn't long before he and the group caught the attention of J. Edgar Hoover and the FBI worked externally and internally to bring down the Black Panther movement.What I love about the book is how T.J. English uses other references and mentions other incidents to tell the story. I also love the fact that this book is not an opinion piece and purely informational in nature. It's truly a amazing read and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Savage City: Race, Murder, and a Generation on the Edge [Book]  2018-2-21 18:0

    The Book opens great, yet lacks some background info that may have been beneficial to you story. English lays out the stories in such a vivid manner allowing the reader to vision the story as it happens. I personally am not old enough to remember any of these happenings but reading this material prompted me to do some searching regarding the murders, the panthers, and Phillips. I personally enjoyed the story and the method English laid it out and have recommended it for others to read and learn just a portion of the history of the "safest town in America".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outcasts of Empire: Japan's Rule on Taiwan's "Savage Border," 1874-1945 (Volume 16) (Asia Pacific Modern) []  2020-1-22 1:54

    This is an incredibly insightful and engaging book. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about the history of Taiwanese indigenoues peoples during the era of Imperial Japanese rule. It has a universal notice that resonates with any reader. Bravo!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386