minimum wage magic Reviews & Opinions


Submit minimum wage magic review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    The globe building and plot was really well done in my opinion. My largest gripe is that for a globe of magic, we actually learn very small about it. In both this fresh series and the latest the MCs have been horrible at magic. It would be amazing to see if the author has the ability to actually make a special and interesting magic system instead of just tip that there is one. Also steming from the MCs ineptitude for magic, it's not fun reading about underdogs who realistically wouldn't be able to keep their own. Opal had to constantly be saved by someone else, and she is so unskilled in just about everything that I can't ever see her actually being able to rise to the occasion. Most of her useful input came from her AI and if she didn't luck out in befriending the one person in the town that doesn't have a AI, even that usefulness would have been moot. I genuinely love Opals hero I just want she had something strong about her wether it be her magic, mind or body. But so far all have proved to be very average. Even with her damsel in distress complex I really enjoyed the book, and I look forward to reading the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    This book had some flaws which the rest of the series did not and I think the first problem is that it attempts to shy away from the other series references so no characters similar to Julius's globe are allowed but the book moves right into the central zone of the previous books. It's as if the rich description of the DMZ was reduced to a easy prop in an attempt to not be like the other books. It makes the assumption the Reader knows the DMZ so it feels hollow. I felt as if the plot could have taken put in a various part of this globe and been better for it. While I loved the female protagonist and liked her struggle, Opal's supporting cast was as week as Julius's was strong. I don't remember solider boy's name and after awhile I found it very hard to read his dialogues I didn't feel they were worth reading which created it hard to like him. I also found it frustrating that I could immediately tell what the twist was with her dad within the first few pages but in the amount of pages he was in the book a lot of his hero is shown with some subtle qualities I d like to see more of but unlike some of the other supporting cast I felt he was a fully rounded individual.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    Opal is a mage who makes her livelihood as a Cleaner, bidding for the right to empty and clean abandoned apartments. While she gets to hold the contents to sell off, it’s a gamble whether any auction will be worth its price. Bonanza or bust, this time around Opal has emptied the bank to bid on a couple of properties and there’s no margin for error. While she has an advanced degree from the premier magic university, she’s struggling to pay off her heavy student debt month by month. This month it’s harder than ever, due to a five-month streak of poor luck and apartments full of worthless junk. If Opal doesn’t create her payment on time, a rather ill-tempered gentleman – her father – is going to foreclose on her freedom for good. Opal has only a few days left to create it or break it.And Opal just might be the one getting broken. Her recent acquisitions, and the murdered professor who owned them, have drawn the interest of several massive hitters, including criminals, a competing cleaner, and a couple of rather touchy mum Wage Magic takes put in the globe of the Heartstrikers series (Heartstrikers is such an appropriate name for that dragon clan!). If you haven’t read the Heartstrikers series, which starts with Nice Dragons Finish Last, Minimum Wage Magic contains enough background that it can be read on its own. However, you’ll wish to grab the Heartstrikers series and read them while you’re waiting for the next DFZ book, because you can never obtain too much Rachel Aaron, DFZ goodness, or mum Wage Magic is an enjoyable mix of fantasy and cyberpunk with immersive world-building and believable characters. If you’re familiar with Rachel Aaron, then you know the first books in her series, while chock full of incredibly complex characters and worlds and mesmerizing in their own right, have storylines that only tip at the complexity, hero growth, and world-building to come. Minimum Wage Magic is the first course in a whole fresh feast. Highly recommended for anyone with an appetite for science fiction and fantasy or the joy of amazing storytelling. Rachel Aaron never disappoints.I received this book as a digital Advanced Reader Copy (ARC). My opinions are my own.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on minimum wage magic or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch minimum wage magic video reviews and related movies:

    See Story Time - Minimum Wage Magic by Rachel Aaron | Urban Fantasy on youtube.

     related image

    See Book Review Minimum Wage Magic DFZ Book 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See Minimum Wage on youtube.

     related image

    See Are You Worth More Than Minimum Wage? on youtube.

     related image

    See Unincorporated L.A. County and Minimum Wage on youtube.

     related image

    See Minimum Wage on youtube.

     related image

    See Minimum Wage: Governors Say They Can’t Perform Magic on youtube.

     related image

    See John T. Addison: No magic formula for setting minimum wages on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    This book/series takes put in the same globe as Rachel Aaron's Heartstrikers series (which I loved. Like... a lot.), which means I could hardly wait to obtain my paws upon it. It takes put about 20 years after Julius and Marci's story ended, and shows the town that came to exist because of them, but it's not at all important to have read the Heartstrikers series first. This one makes mention of things that are... perhaps resulting from those events, but never in a method that gives things away for either is is the story of Opal Yong-ae, who is a Cleaner. What this basically means is that she makes a living bidding on the right to clean out apartments whose renters have failed to pay their rent. It's sort of like storage wars, but with cybernetics and magic in the Detroit Free Zone, or DFZ, a moving, living town that has a spirit of its day, Opal unlocks the apartment she recently won (read: she blew the door off of it by accidentally tripping a magical ward), and finds a dead body in it, some very well guarded papers, and hoarder levels of boxes of different magical history , she's going to search out what those papers say, because anything that well guarded is very likely leading to something worth dozens of money, and Opal is in quite a bit of debt and that could be dozens of really helpful money.While I didn't love this one quite as much as I loved Heartstrikers, it was still a beautiful unbelievable read. I liked Opal as a character, and I cared what happened to her. I also really liked Sibyl, who is her 'social help AI' - an often snarky voice in her ear, more or less.On her adventures, Opal ends up teaming up with a bit of a rival Cleaner named Nikola Kos, and he is a hero with a mysterious and risky history, who takes Opal into locations she wouldn't otherwise go. I really, really liked Nik and just the relationship between him and Opal. Teamwork makes the dream work.... most of the time. :DThere were twists and turns I didn't see coming, and while I'll admit that this one took a small time to really grab me, once it did, it really grabbed me and I was making time to read whenever I could. The latest half of this book I consumed all in one sitting, because I just couldn't place it down.I can't wait to see where this one takes me. It sounds like things are bound to obtain more and more interesting!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    I've read the Heartstrikers series and liked them as a change of pace from zone opera. This one, the plot had some amazing twists, but the combination of Opal not being well prepared to defend herself other than magic blasts and her eventual very violent partner Nik didn't seem like the right mix in comparison to the earlier series. I prefer more plot development and less descriptions of fighting and killing. Heartstrikers had a better balance. Also, a small grounding in reality when it comes to meal and sleep...like carrying food bars in the backpack. Based on life in the DMZ, Cleaners work schedules, fending off attacks and results of concussion magic, it just seems a requirement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    This book is Aaron's follow-up to her Heartstriker series of booksabout the "Nice" dragon Julian and his Merlin/wife Marci (who donot come on scene here).Some years after the happenings in that series, Opal Yong-ae is a "Cleaner"in the DFZ (the town once called Detroit). When people can't pay theirbills, Cleaners bid on the possibility to buy their property and hopefullysell it for a profit (it's theirs to do with as they want as long asthey clean up the affected true estate, which is all the town cares about).You've seen the reality shows about bidding on abandoned storage units?This is a bit like that.Opal is a bit of a mage, though not a very amazing one by conventionalstandards. Instead of carefully planning out spells for the desiredeffect she tends to Green Lantern her method through things by imaginingmagical crowbars and the like. It's not elegant, but it helps obtain herthrough the wards that even rent-delinquent locations tend to have in the e's also on a bit of a losing streak, having gone from making a reasonableliving Cleaning to being in debt up to her eyeballs. In fact, if her latestbid doesn't pan out, she will have to go crawling back home, worse thandefeated. But it doesn't pan out. And there's a dead guy in theapartment. And with all the trash, there's some kind of papers that maybe spells. And her main competitor (dangerous if simple on the eyes) issuddenly making nice. And people are trying to slay them both..This is another fun book from Aaron, and largely avoids the over-explainingof her magical system that slowed down the latest few Heartstrikers books.I think there is a lot Opal doesn't know about herself and suspect sheis not a "bad" mage at all, but something else entirely.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    Minimum Wage Magic was a whole lot of fun, and I expected nothing else of a Rachel Aaron novel! Her work would likely appeal to fans of Ilona Andrews, as this book is a fast-paced urban fantasy novel with perfect globe building and a powerful heroine at its though Minimum Wage Magic takes put in the same globe as her Heartstriker series (start with Nice Dragons Finish Last), this series has an entirely fresh cast and is set twenty years after the previous series. You could read Minimum Wage Magic first, but I would still suggest reading the Heartstriker series first. If you read Minimum Wage Magic first, that will mean some spoilers for the huge picture items of the Heartstriker series, mostly regarding some reveals about that all that’s out of the way, Minimum Wage Magic follows Opal Yong-ae, a young woman whose barely making a living given a not good streak of poor luck. She lives in the independent town of DFZ (previously Detroit), where almost everything is legal and life is dangerous but full of opportunities. Despite her expensive degree in magical art history from one of the best schools out there, Opal works as a Cleaner. A Cleaner is… well you know that TV present about people who create a living biding on the contents of storage lockers? That’s essentially what a Cleaner does, only for houses and apartments in the DFZ.Opal’s got a problem. She desperately needs cash to pay her method to freedom (read the book to search out more), but her poor luck means she keeps buying lots full of nothing but useless junk. Take the most latest one. All she finds are a bunch of papers and a dead body… but just maybe some of those papers could prove valuable, as one looks to be some sort of highly complicated spell involving all sorts of expensive ingredients. Finding them may be Opal’s only possibility at making her usual, the globe building was excellent. The DFZ is a put like no other, ruled over by a sentient spirit that arose out of the town itself. The town owns itself and rearranges buildings as it sees fit. The series combines urban fantasy with near-future science fiction elements, so you’ve got both mages and cyborgs. It’s a delightful melding.Opal was an enjoyable protagonist, and I appreciated her smarts and her grit. She’s willing to live rough and dive through dirt if it will let her freedom. I appreciated the gradual reveal of her background too. Of course, happenings in Minimum Wage Magic also create her question where she draws the line — what won’t she do? Where does she draw the line? Finally, Minimum Wage Magic is about her learning to work with someone else and allow other people in. She ends up teaming up with another Cleaner, and while there’s not much romantic content in Minimum Wage Magic, I’m assuming there will be a slow burn romance plotline. Look, he’s a sexy guy with a mysterious past. Assuming he’s the love interest isn’t much of a leap.Opal’s Korean, and I can’t speak as to how well that aspect of her is portrayed. On other representation notes, Minimum Wage Magic does acknowledge queer people exist (this is something I now watch for in all books I read), but… I wasn’t thrilled that the only queer hero was a lesbian woman who created the straight protagonist uncomfortable by flirting with her. It felt a bit like the “predatory lesbian” stereotype.With that one quibble, I really enjoyed Minimum Wage Magic, and I can’t wait for more installments in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    This book answers the question what if Storage Battles was mashed up with a globe where ‘gods are real, dragons are traffic hazards, and buildings move around on their own’. Minimum wage magic is a spin off series set in the DFZ (Detroit Free Zone) of the Heartstriker Series. You do not have to have read the prior series to have fun this, it is completely fresh and set after all the happenings of the HeartStriker mum wage magic explores the DFZ in an entirely fresh method through the eyes of Opal a cleaner. She basically bids on troops based on pictures hoping to clean out the items left behind in hopes of making some cash so the housing can be turned around and rented again.***The Master Key was a sacred object and a Cleaner’s only true identification. It had been created for me by the Spirit of the City, and it could begin any door in the DFZ if the town believed you had a right to be at latest bit was the tricky part. Unlike every other town in the world, the Detroit Free Location was alive. Literally alive, with her own soul, mind, opinions, and, occasionally, off-the-books true estate deals. ***Opal might be a mage but she has struggled with conventional magic. Here style is a bit more slapstick, but hey it gets her by. Or at least it did until she bid on a unit that might have a bit more of a mystery tied to it when she also finds a dead body.I really enjoyed this book. There are mages, dragons, humans and some augmented humans (that’s cyborg right…I think there are cyborgs). Anyway, Opal NEEDS a lot of cash, fast, and she has stumbled onto something that might pay out large if she can solve the mystery and search the magical treasure.***“I think you’re letting your optimism run away with you again. Even if you’re right, and there is a pot of gold at the end of this wild goose chase, the DFZ is a hundred and ninety-four square miles that move around. The possibility of you finding one mage’s circle in all of that is practically zero…” ***Good thing she has found someone who knows the underbelly of the DFZ and is willing to support her for a price that k is another cleaner who usually acts as Opal’s tournament but he might just come in handy and with the deadline she is on, she’ll need more support than her virtual reality assistant. As they work together both learn an appreciation for each other and although there is no smooching in this book, that doesn’t mean in the long term that won’t happen.***“Oh, honey,” Rena said, giving me a wink. “He’s got features. Not surprised you haven’t seen them, though. Nikki likes to hold his cards hidden, but I’d bet he’d present you if you asked nicely.” ***There are a few mentions of The Peacemaker, The Spirit of the DFZ and the Nameless Wind for those of you who have read the Heartstriker series but this is definitely a fresh bag of tricks and those were just gifts for the readers of the other series.I really enjoyed the fresh hero Opal and Nik and how each brought something to this fresh forged partnership. I also enjoyed the premise of the story and what Opal is trying to escape from. This was an entertaining story of trying to search the missing treasure with the clock ticking. I’m looking forward to seeing what Opal and Nik come up versus next as there are more books to come in this world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    I missed DFZ and dragons. It‘s amazing to have them back in my Minimum Wage Magic Aaron revisits and develops the world. We explore the town and its secrets through eyes of Opal Yong-ae - prestigious magical university graduate who works as a Cleaner. If you’ve ever watched Storage Wars, you already know what Cleaners do. They sort through all sorts of junk hoping to score a amazing deal. Opal used to be the best in the business. But recently, everything she touches turns into a disaster. Things go from poor to worse when she discovers a dead mage in one of her e story focuses on fresh characters living in DFZ around forty years after the happenings of Latest Dragon Standing. Magic and science mix. People use AI, self-driving vehicles and cybernetic enhancements. DFZ, a sentient, constantly changing (literally - DFZ likes to shuffle whole districts and change their physical zone on the map) town is recklessly modern, although she still keeps some older buildings.Where Julius had mommy issues, Opal has daddy issues. For a reason you need to explore yourself. I assume some readers won’t like angsty and reckless Opal, but I liked her instantly. Her supporting cast doesn’t lack charisma and I would definitely like to read more about her unexpected business-partner (a real outcast living off the grid in a digitalised world).If you hope to meet Bob or Amelia as much as I hoped to, I have to disappoint you. Well-known characters (except for one) appear only as cameos/are mentioned along the way. Minimal Wage Magic stands on its own and requires no previous knowledge about the world. And it does it very well. I like the focus on small-scale happenings and read the book practically in one sitting.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ Book 1) review []  2019-12-19 19:10

    The final book of Rachel Aaron’s Heartstrikers series wrapped up the story neatly... but it also gave a tip of fascinating things to come, so much so that I was mad Aaron wasn’t immediately working on a fresh series set in the DFZ. Well, about a year later, surprise! We obtain Minimum Wage Magic, the first in a fresh series set years after the Heartstrikers finale. Is it everything I hoped for? No—but it’s certainly a step in that e fresh series picks up twenty years after the old one with an all-new cast, so it feels divorced from Heartstrikers despite sharing a setting. This is to ensure the series is friendly to newcomers, and it succeeds in that regard. Opal, Sybil, and the rest of our fresh characters are on an all-new adventure in an all-new DFZ; anything relevant to the old series, including the backstory of the setting as a whole, is explained in clumsy-but-useful exposition. Returning fans will also search a lot to love here as we dig into what it means to be a human living on the roads of the town where nothing is illegal. There’s only one major appearance from an old character, and nothing about that cameo will place off newcomers, though it will delight Heartstrikers ally, I want there was more of that sort of thing. The latest series ended with the Detroit Free Location as a living town where dragons keep summits, streets shift on a whim, and mages have to hold rogue gods from destroying the globe on a everyday basis. For this story, we focus mainly on the road level, encountering relatively small of what makes the DFZ such a special setting. The story isn’t just short, it’s small. This is the only thing holding me back from a excellent ever, seeing that this is only the first in the series, I’m certain things are only going to obtain bigger and better from here. Across five Heartstrikers books, Aaron delved more into the world, developed the characters, and escalated the conflict while keeping the stakes personal. This first entry in the DFZ series feels too little after that, but it also promises greater things to come. Opal and Nik already have me cheering for them, and I can’t wait to see what comes next. Minimum Wage Magic is highly recommended to fans of urban fantasy, as well as fantasy in general, and anyone who loves a well-told story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    I was a small disappointed that the pack is one single book instead of all three separately. There aren't pictures like the originals but it is a nice book. It has 200+ pages, amazing info and I love that it was printed not only two days ago but in my home city, San Bernardino! Whoop whoop! Lmao

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    This is a amazing compilation set to learn the foundations of Wicca. I like Lisa Chamberlain’s style if writing. It’s simple to understand and concise. I use this book in my Wicca 101 classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    I have really come to love Lisa Chamberlain. Her books are simple for beginners and well thought out. She does not disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    Really amazing starter kit for the Newbie and some advanced witches. I like the soft touch that Lisa Chamberlain uses as some witch books can be a bit rough for the newbies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    I wasn't sure there would be enough info in this book, being a 3-in-1; but it is crammed with helpful information! In fact, I like having the combination of Candle Magic, Crystal Magic and Herb Magic. Amazing addition to my library!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    Once more Lisa (author) does an perfect job taking the reader through the very basics of Wicca in regards to Candles, Crystals and Herbs. Going through candles the author teaches what all the colors mean and how to use them in a ritual while reminding the reader of the basics of ritual work. Then she ties in crystals and how they can be used in a ritual as well as in your everyday life. She ties all of them together with herbs! Here she goes over herbs and their usages. The author goes in depth with herbs to support a fresh or seasoned Wiccan practitioner know what to do with each herb along with all the warning of how to use them. You don't wish to ingest a herb which is poisonous or use one which can cause problem with a pregnancy. Plus you are taught how people will scam you as well as how to grow your own herbs. This was a amazing teaching to obtain anyone up and running in Wicca.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    Simple to read and you don't feel intimidated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    I loved everything about these books, they have untangled a lot of questions that were confusing me, really opened up my mine

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    This was exactly the introduction that I was looking for! Very simple to understand and implement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wicca Magic Starter Kit: Candle Magic, Crystal Magic, and Herbal Magic review []  2019-12-27 18:1

    These books are enjoyable and offer a amazing base to build on. Simple to understand for the novice yet still full of useful hints for the more experienced practitioner. Keepers for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How To Do Magic! - Magic Tricks Tutorial (Magic Card Tricks Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 21:15

    This book is amazing. This is not the ordinary book on magic effects but much more. This book should be read before putting on your first show.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How To Do Magic! - Magic Tricks Tutorial (Magic Card Tricks Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 21:15

    Well written magic book by someone who has a real understanding of magic and how to perform magic for the public. I have read a lot of books on magic and so a lot of include tricks and effects that are not practical or performable. These effects are well thought out and very performable by even the beginner magician.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How To Do Magic! - Magic Tricks Tutorial (Magic Card Tricks Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 21:15

    Simple fun tricks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How To Do Magic! - Magic Tricks Tutorial (Magic Card Tricks Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 21:15

    I don't reccomend this book for magicians.i think the book could have been more was also just a bunch of crappy stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How To Do Magic! - Magic Tricks Tutorial (Magic Card Tricks Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 21:15

    This book offers amazing practical magical performance tip and hints to helps a beginning magician support polish his or her "act" and improve magic tricks with ease

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    I recommend this short small book for hints and tricks! It was helpful to spur on my creativity for frugal living!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Very short compilation of ideas that are very basic. Helpful for those who are considering simplifying for the first time. There's a lot to be said for the ability to appreciate what one has, rather than mindless accumulation of material things. I think this is the true joy of a minimalist lifestyle. For me, there is a satisfied medium between the two points. I've always been cash wise, but I do have fun spending as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    I love this book and the author and she has a down to earth writing ability. I love how it feels like she is sharing tips and ways to support with saving money. Every small bit helps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Nothing fresh as far as ideas but I do like the enthusiasm and writing style. It would be amazing if everyone practiced these ideas, even the ones with incomes that don't require frugal living.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    amazing book, and service

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    My husband and I are older but still need to work and there are a lot of amazing ideas for us here! Thanks for the information! Priceless!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    5 star rating because the author 'painlessly' gives a unbelievable synopsis for frugal living and saving money. I love it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    To a lot of typos and very disjointed. Could have been avoided with a decent proof reader. Too a lot of references to save cash by going to church.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    It is short & sweet but I didn't really learn anything I didn't already know. There are a lot of people who don't know that much!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dirt Poor and Lovin' It!: Learning to live on minimum wage painlessly review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Lots of well written fast information you can apply asap! I'm getting the rest of her books & hoping they have more amazing info! Thank you Kate for choosing to share your journey!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    I think that Charlie N Holmberg took an acid trip before writing this book. I really enjoyed Charlie Holmberg's Paper Magician series so I gave this a whirl... I regret that decision. This book is a three-star book...simply put..."It's okay." SPOILERS/SYNOPSIS AHEAD:::The book starts out with Marie, a lovable hero who bakes her innermost wishes into her confections. She is a female who is renting out her own store and lives with two loving people who took her in. The fact that she is self-sufficient (almost) is beautiful cool. Through a series of really f-ed up happenings she becomes a slave to this horrible, mentally deficient man who seems to know something about Marie's past. He makes her do pointless tasks like moving rocks and baking him cakes to create him intelligent (which we later search out that he hates?!) THEN we as readers are asked to suspend our belief that this put (in which people are taken slaves and raped ((another woman who was kidnapped))) is actually a fairy tale world. The man who takes Marie gets jobs to create cakes that create you little and huge (Alice in Wonderland,) a house created of gingerbread for a witch (Hansel and Gretel,) and a gingerbread boy. But it is never talked about and no other fairy tales are mentioned... During all of this Marie is visited by a glowing white man with wings who knows who Marie is and where she came from, but can't support her because if he tells her anything she'll have no possibility of coming back and becoming who she was before... Through a series of visits (in between beatings and her skin changing to red...) Marie learns that her fairy looking man-friend is her equivalent to a husband and he is called a Creator, which are various from Gods. Gods create souls, creators make plants, mountains, worlds for the souls that the Gods create. But he won't tell Marie if she is a creator or not... OKAY. So Marie finds herself back in the care of her sudo-parents and manages to "break" her "master" into just following her around. They create their method back to their home city where Marie eventually becomes what she was. BUTTTTT it gets more f-ed up... her master? Turns out that the whole reason he's crazy is because he doesn't have a pure soul. Marie (who turns out to be a creator...surprise?) created him out of jealousy of the Gods and her wish for a child. When the Gods came to punish her Marie and her diseased man-child fell to earth, and when they fell Marie forgot who she was and her Master went looking for her and just happened to search her when she was being held captive by slaves and he then...keeps her as a slave. I just...don't understand what the heck happened in this book. It started out really great...and then the incorporation of the fairy tale stores, and the convoluted alternate worlds that the readers are just supposed to accept with out much detail, it's just a lot, and messy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    I thought the idea of a magic baker who could infuse emotion into her creations, and thus influence people in numerous magical ways was an perfect idea. Alas--reading the synopsis of this book was like watching a amazing film preview, then discovering that the only amazing parts were IN the preview! I thought the premise of this story was a amazing one with so a lot of possibilities, but the hope for a story which would discover this theme barely lasted past the first en, things took a U-turn into . . . something else. I'm not sure what else, exactly. I read a amazing deal of fantasy, so I know there are a lot of ways to interpret that term, and I suppose that technically this is fantasy, since the plot is certainly fantastical. But not in a amazing way. We obtain a tip of fairy tale themes, but they seem to serve no purpose in the plot, and go absolutely nowhere. We obtain lots of unnecessary and gratuitous scenes of violence versus the heroine of the story, which again, serve no purpose in the plot. Then (spoiler alerts to follow!), the heroine's skin mysteriously turns bright crimson red, and I went from wondering 'what the hell?' to going 'Oh, hell no!!' It's necessary for me to be able to identify with a character, and that small detail (which also turns out to have no explanation, and serves no purpose in the plot) lost om then on, my interest in the story was diminished, but curiosity as to where this mishmash of ideas could possibly be going kept me reading, hoping that Ms. Holmberg was somehow going to pull all of this together in some coherent way. Alas again--not so much. The conclusion took a u-turn away from magic and even real fantasy into a pseudo-metaphysical put that created no sense whatsoever. It was like two completely diverse genres of thought merged, hoping to make something profound and thought-provoking, and instead went seriously 's just difficult to understand what the author was thinking when she took the premise of the beginning, and the strangeness of the ending, and thought that they could go together to make a coherent narrative. Instead, this is two various stories that should never have been place together. The only thing that really created sense to me was the title--the premise is sweet, but the progression of this tale becomes increasingly bitter as it progresses to it's bizarre ending.I see a lot of readers saw something more in this one, but sorry, I thought it was beautiful dreadful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    I liked the book, but I found it to be a difficult read. Like Charlie's other books, they are vividly descriptive and magical. However, this book felt like I was trudging through molasses and I figured out how it would end mid method through the book. I would recommend this book to fans of Charlie Holmberg, however I probably would not recommend to anyone else. I found the beatings the heroine suffered to be to much and felt that she could have had other experiences to present her suffering. Without a doubt my least favorite read of all her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    Ms. Holmberg baked into her story intriguing characters, even the least lovable among them evokes some empathy (despite some serious nastiness). Her globe is rich with smells, sound and myth come alive. Her story arcs in sometimes surprising ways and enters dark corners but never artificially or without purpose. I devoured this delectable treat in a couple of days and want to immediately jump back into Raea. I cannot recommend it agine taking a Greek tragedy (and the similar pantheon of gods), merge into it the story of the Fall and Original Sin and twirl in a mixture of fairy tales; never mind being able to “bake in inspiration”. That’s Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet. It’s one thing to have a brilliant premise, it’s another to execute that well. Ms. Holmberg delivers in spades. She takes us along Maire’s painful journey of discovery of her own story. It’s a challenging globe into which she has fallen, much like medieval Europe, full of might-makes-right and enslavement, as well as love, hope, and friendship. Maire’s “owner” is clearly not quite right. Not only is he devoid of a moral compass, he’s even devoid of common sense. So, he looks to the globe around him to give him some clue of how to be in it. Given that sends him mixed messages, he’s not quite sure what that to do. As abusive and disgusting as he can be, he’s also an intriguing hero of conflicting and foreign makeup. He is not only not normal, but he is “other”. He is not of this world. So even while you despise him, there is some empathy towards his plight. It’s a small like despising a snake that bites you. He cannot be other than he is. He cannot reflect and grow into something more even as he does learn to “fake it” better. He is limited by his very nature in an even more profound method than humans ire’s antagonist is also a bit of an entrepreneur; his business deals bring us into the globe of fairy tales. Charlie Holmberg weaves these tales within the overall story in clever ways with just enough of a twist to create them new. While this is a fun sideline from the main thrust of the narrative, it’s integrated well and certainly adds to the overall enjoyment of the story. While no individual element of this globe is completely new, Charlie Holmberg combines them in intriguing and innovative e characters are well developed; these are primarily Maire and Allemas, but also Arrice, Franc and Fyel. The relationships are complicated. Arrice and Franc essentially adopt Maire even though she’s appears to be a young woman when they meet her. Fyel is the ultimate tightlipped mystery man who appears to be connected with Maire and on her side, but for some reason doesn’t directly support her. Maire and Allemas have an often bizarre, disturbing and ever-changing relationship. At times, Allemas seems to treat her as property while at others he evinces a more intimate terms of her writing style, I love how the dialogue matches the characters so well, especially for Allemas. Even his speech patterns are bizarre. Because Fyel feels he must keep his cards close to the vest, his halting attempts to communicate with Maire are a study in frustration. Arrice’s speech brings forth her loving and nurturing nature as Cleric Tuck’s conveys his competence and care. In other words, there’s a amazing fit between the manner of communicating and the characters most journeys, the path on which Magic bitter, Magic Sweet takes you has a lot of unknowns and a number of surprises; the journey takes you along in a various manner than you might think and leaves you at a slightly various put than you anticipated. I think the magic of this story is how she melds these disparate elements of myth, magic, and misdeed. While it’s a time of worn phrase, this is a novel where the whole is greater than its parts. At least for me, this journey is well worth the effort; it is enlightening and full of points that inspire reflection. I highly encourage you to take the journey as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    What caught my attention initially about this book was the cover. "Don't judge a book by its cover" they say...but sometimes that's the bait you need to catch someone's attentions :) But what sold the deal was the not-to-common premise: A baker who can infuse emotions into her goods, emotions that don't manipulate it's eater, but inspire their emotions. Now, that was the hook...a hook that drove me to finish this 278 page book in two days.WHAT I LOVED ABOUT THE TALE (NO SPOILERS):Fragmented Narrative:I really appreciate that though the narrative has a clear progression, it does not feel very linear...but that we obtain glimpses of pieces that we aren't completely sure about...encourage you to to think and TRY to piece things together. Of course all that is settled by the end. But I couldn't support but test to anticipate the direction of things...and sometimes I was wrong...or my assumption was only partly correct. No book has had me guessing wrong in a long time. In addition to all this, the multiple fragments of seemingly three various storylines add to the "world-is-bigger" feeling of the tale. And may I add that the inclusion of other literary sources was ingeniously utilized?Formatting:Also the method they format the pages and chapter headings is very intentional and accentuates the above arisma in the visuals and a clear, but impactful and personable narration:This author is really really amazing at helping you visualize what's going on to the point that you start to feel the emes:At the base of this grandiose tale is the them of "Bitter & Sweet" and how it impacts not only the protagonist, but those around her. Bitterness from immediate trials, Sweetness from generous random acts of kindness, bitterness that grew from mistakes of the past to Sweetness at knowing you are still loved. This book covers a lot of ground, but all of them are unbelievable to explore.A NOTE OF CONTENT:However, with all the amazing things about this book (and the very playful cover). This is not a young adult book but a very mature one. In addition, the author is largely characterized by her vividness in the writing. This does also contain the more brutal and violent parts of the Tale. These don't happen all to often, nor are they gratuitous, and they do add an necessary layer to the tale, but they definitely are intense. So, if you are particularly averse to that, this could be a difficult aspect for you. Also, love making is alluded to at one point. It's hard to describe this without going into specific spoilers, but I'll try. Basically, this is not pornographic or dime-romance style. It's poetically utilized to describe when a divine couple have decided to become husband and wife ("lahsts" is the term used here). You'll understand it in context, but basically, it signifies a union between the two...but does not go into any detail of the actual E PACKAGE:My book is the paperback edition. Besides the tale itself, it also has the prologue of her other book "Followed by Frost". This book uses typical modern novel paper as often found in "New York times bestseller paperbacks".All in All:This is a book that, though brutally dark at times, uses that darkness to support us face brutal realities, break past the bitterness, and enter a time of sweetness and hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    Without giving too much away, I definitely recommend this book. I will acknowledge that it took me some time to obtain through the first eight chapters because I just could not obtain myself submerged into the story. By the ninth chapter I could not place this book e story opens on our main character, Maire, as she goes about her everyday routine in her locally owned business. Everything seems fairly plain and easy until (the fire nation attacked). This puts her in a compromising position where she must rely on the kindness(?) of a stranger or possibly be stuck with the devil that she knew. As the story progresses we run across possible representations of Rumplestilsken, the Blind Witch, and other vaguely familiar fairytale characters. And… That is about it. This story has a tendency of dragging on in certain places, but that does support set the tone for the character's sense of captivity. It's one saving grace is found in the latest few chapters with a twist that barely fits into the storyline.*Sigh* and then there is the epilogue. I see what #CharlieNHolmberg did there, but it was not necessary. It's kind a like The third Lord of the rings film where you ended up with like 15 endings. Only this time there are two endings and the second one was, thoughts, I would recommend this story to anyone who enjoys reading fairytale/fantasy fiction. But do not go into this book expecting another "the paper magician" series-ish storyline. You ain't getting that here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    "My mind is like a pan of cake torn apart by eager hands, leaving only the outer crust. It’s strange, this story of mine. A tale that starts somewhere in chapter twenty and ends who knows where."Holmberg, Charlie N.. Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet (p. 2). 47North. Kindle Edition. The story of Maire, a baker whose heart is unfathomably large, will create your heart swell, cringe, break, stutter in fear and say ahhh. I experienced every emotion as I read this e time-frame is a mystery, as is the setting. There are Earth-like towns and cities, but the names are unfamiliar. Maire is a young woman who has lost her memory, and is the almost adopted as a family member for whom she bakes unbelievable desserts that elicit magical emotions. She has a gift, but she has no memory of her past or the origin of her gift, and yet she is mostly content in her life. One fateful day, Maire sees a spirit, who asks her name, exclaims that "it's not too late" and tells her to run. Her life is upended by marauders and thus begins a(n) (adult) fairy-tale that is as shivery and suspenseful as any Grimms story. In fact, you will search a lot of of your childhood story themes running through the fantasy of this book. I love authors that defy genre. Charlie N. Holmberg (she is indeed a very talented woman) has written a book that is not just a fantasy, not just a suspenseful tale, and not just a romance - but a complex cake of all of those. But be warned - you will place this book down when you can't take the suspense or the emotion and be forced to pick it up again to see what happens next. Magical.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    All in all, it's a amazing read. I love the world-building that went into this book, and I would LOVE to read more about the creators (or builders) and what they do. (That could be the D&D nerd in me, but I see serious potential for use or inspiration in a campaign setting). I haven't read any of Charlie N. Holmberg's other works, but this book has intrigued me enough to give them a shot. :)I was first drawn to this book because of the idea of "cooking magic" described in the summary. I have a few mates who are bakers and pastry chefs, so I thought I would give it a test to see if I should recommend it to them.Overall, I think I *would* recommend it to them, but with a warning: this story is darker than it seems, and it lasts through a amazing portion of the book. It's enough to be jarring in a story that starts out otherwise joyful and whimsical. I have a powerful tolerance for this sort of thing, so for me, it didn't detract from the book or my rating for it. I could see where it might place others off, however, so reader beware.I usually love there being an epilogue in books- wrapping up a story while leaving just enough to the imagination that a reader can easily have some of their own ideas as to how the character(s) reached that point. In Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet, iIt's very obvious what happened, enough so that I [email protected]#$%! had be written out in another chapter, with various content for the epilogue. It felt messy and hasty, and left me feeling just a small frustrated. This is the main reason for giving this book a 4-star rating instead of 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    Awful! If your idea of a amazing read is the protagonist being enslaved and abused for most of the story, you will have fun the book. Terrible. Just too mean for my taste. After a while, a reader gets tired of questions. Don't waste your time or money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet review []  2020-1-8 19:11

    I thought the premise and conclusion were really very good. While there are certainly dark portions of the book, they are leavened by unexpected behaviors. I read paper magician as well, and enjoyed it. Paper magician is mind candy. It's fun, exciting, and there are parts of the books that are surprisingly moving. In general, it's light and airy. This book on the other hand is quite heavier. Yes, there is violence, but it's not gratuitous... and the premise of the story is quite deep. I was surprised and happy by the book and its ending.I'd recommend W.... with paper magician, I felt like a was reading the author's maiden voyage (which may or may not be true). This book has far more heft to it, and it's not nearly as predictable... all the method to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    My class absolutely loved this book! The word choice, vocabulary and graphics really impressed my students and it allowed me to do a lot of lessons with it. I love how it gives children positive traits that they can strive for. Yes, we all have poor days but this book really gives students an abundance of vocabulary to cheer them up and use it everyday! Here are some reviews that my students wrote:This book The Magic of Me: My Magical Words has lots of kind e book was written by Becky Cummings and illustrated by Zuzana Svobodova. The words are also VERY positive.I give this book a 5. My FAVORITE part was when the fruit and veggies were dancing. That was very humorous. I also liked the rhyming words. Very kind. I felt amazing inside when I heard nice words like that! ❤❤❤ I think LOTS of other people should read this book because it can really truly bring goodness!!!😁👍 If someone is sad this book can create lots of people feel better, I say that because this book has SO MUCH kind words in it. This book it cool, kind, sweet, funny, and positive. Thanks to the authorsrs Becky C. and Zuzana S.!This book is called The magic of me : My magical words written by Becky Cumming and illustrated by Zuzana Svobodova .I rate this book a five because i liked how you used rhyming words and also I liked how you place vegetables in tutus.I would read this book because it is funny and it tells people to be nice to people and instead of using action use word with people . This book makes me feel satisfied because it is telling you that you have magic in you .Other should read this book because it will create them happy. I like how the author did all this fun items .Today I will be rating the book The Magic of Me:My Magical Words by Becky Cummings And illustrated by Zuzana Svobodova. I rate this book 5 out of 5 because I love the humor that the drawings showed and the rhymes were funny and unique. Also in the beginning I love how you the author wrote hints for parents or teachers on how to express the jesters and read so we children obtain the feeling of the point your trying to create through the writing. I myself would personally love to read this book because it shows lots of kindness and the rhymes and illustrations would just create my day and create me so happy. I think other people . children and adults should read this book because the method the author wrote some really positive ideas and ideas for how we can be kind to one another. I think it was a really nice how the author place author's craft into her writing to really present expression .Hey! do you like humorrhymingng and kind words? well you should definitely come buy this book! The author is Becky cummingillustratoror zuzana svobodova.I would rate this book a 5 - 5 because it used humor and lots of kind words. It tells how we are all unique.I think everyone should read it because it used funny pictures and everyone likes silliness so you should really buy this book!I think you did a amazing job on the book hold up the amazing work!!The book title is The Magic of Me My Magical Words and the Author, and Illustrator are Becky Cummings Author and Zuzana Svobodova the Illustrator. I rate the book 5-5 because it was super funny and it told children to be themselves and don't mind what other people say. I would read the book again because it was interesting and the book told everybody around the globe to be their self. Others should read this book because it will do the same thing the book did to me and I loved the part when the vegetables had tutus on and when the mouse did not need training wheels and how this book is magic and you are magical too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    So, i was shocked by the illustrations - so detailed - and the colors are so vibrant. I love how the author included representation for a lot of kids. This is so important! Visibility and inclusion! I didnt think I would like the rhyming, but it gave the story kind of a... Positive flow to go along with the messages. Very satisfied to have this on my Kindle for a gold bedtime story for our kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    This book is a amazing method to teach kids about positive affirmations. It talks about health, beauty, self confidence, and more. The illustrations are vibrant and adorable. I love the small animals that acompany the children. Every drawing has so much personality. It's excellent for preK mindfulness classes, and overall to spread amazing vibes and positivity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    After reading this book even I felt better about myself as an adult. The illustrations are not only beautiful, they are interesting. I loved the diversity (different races, genders, a kid in wheelchair, etc.) of this book. It is very inclusive. It is a book you can snuggle up with your kid and have discussions about what makes them magical. Loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    My Magical Words is simply magical! The words alone would create it a book worth purchasing, combined with the awesome illustrations create it a must own book. You may wish to purchase several because, as soon as you give one away, you will wish it back!I love the diversity of the photos and they were done in such a method that they don't feel "forced". This is so refreshing to see. Kudos to the entire squad who place together this simply awesome book! I can't wait for the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    Not only are the concepts about self worth too complicated in this story for picture book aged children, the author mixes in physical health points which cannot be "I am'd" into manifestation; this would be very confusing for little children. There were also a couple Christian religious belief concepts sneakily dropped in. The illustrations were amature and had no true warmth to them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    I really adore the positive messages and whimsical artwork in this children’s book! It is so necessary to allow kids know that they keep wonderful power in their words. I love that the author provides instructions to parents for how to use the messages in the book for extended learning. The only reason I did not give this five stars is because the rhythm is a @#$%!&oppy. I’m sure most kids won’t mind. The superb notice and awesome artwork create up for this one flaw.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    Instead, each page has a various 'I am' statement followed by a descriptor in verse. The rhythm stumbles in a few locations but children will be drawn to the 'me factor' and illustrations. There are two pages of solicitation and self-promotion at the end. Buy it for the illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    In a globe that tells our children what to think, say, and do... really who to be... this book has captured the two most necessary words that a kid can learn to shape who they wish to be.. I am! This book is in my regular night time rotation with my 1 year old because I wish to ingrain this mind set into his subconscious. I wish his natural thought to be to decide who and what he is before the globe around around him does. This is a truly strong exercise for a kid and if I can obtain him saying this over and over again it will be natural for him as he grows up to tell the globe who he is! Besides unconditional love, I don't know what better bonus that you can give a kid in life... sense of self! I think the author has delivered a very strong tool for my kid to use, amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Magical Words (The Magic of Me Series) review []  2020-1-19 23:34

    Wonderful and strong book for kids. I read with my 7 year old and we both adored it. She thought the wording was cute and loved the pictures. She said it created her feel loved and special. This book gives power to children from within. I read kindle ver but have pre-ordered the hard back. It will also create amazing bonuses for other kids we know. Beautifully done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    My copy just arrived and it was an simple read!Throughout the book there are side bars called "Helpful Hints" and I want more magic books had this e book is well illustrated and the directions for the tricks seem is book is a value book in that there are classic magic secrets that a beginner can learn.I have paid much more for books that provided much less.I did not give 5 stars as I need to try this book on some students to obtain their reactions.I suspect I may change this to 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    This is a unbelievable book for children ages 8 and up, and for adults that have thought about learning some magic tricks to amuse their kids, grandkids, or even other adults. The tricks are all very simple to do, but a lot of of them have been and are being used by professional magicians. As a now retired professional magician, I can honestly say I have used a lot of of these tricks! Jim filled the book with illustrations that create every trick simple to so, he contains a lot of helpful tips about learning and performing magic, all based on his lifetime of experience as an ildren obtain a lot of benefits from learning magic tricks and performing them for family and friends: Benefits that they never realize! It builds self-confidence and self-esteem. It builds social skills and communication skills. It helps build hand and eye coordination. It motivates children to read. It helps children to "think on their feet." Yes, they can obtain all of these awesome benefits from using what they learn in this book! It is a unbelievable book to have hidden for those days that the children are trapped inside by poor weather. Aunts, uncles, and grandparents should have a copy handy for when families come to visit. It will hold the children occupied so the adults can socialize without constant interruptions​.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    Jim does an outstanding job of explaining and using colorfully & amazing illustrations for each of the tricks in the book. The tricks are all very simple to do, but just because they are simple doesn’t mean they aren’t good, because a lot of of them are being used by professional magicians today. His "Helpful Hints" are valuable tip about learning, practicing and the preforming which is amazing for the children and their parents for avoiding difficulties that might cause a lot of frustration and ultimately causing them to quit. Necessary Life Skills that are being lost in our technologically-based globe can be taught with Magic! Self-confidence, self-esteem, communication skills, social skills and hand and eye coordination are all parts of what magic is about. Another thing magic can do is it motivates children to read. These awesome benefits from using what they learn in this book!Dave DavisPast PresidentInternational Brotherhood of Magicians Ring 5

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    Learn Magic is excellent for children of all ages just discovering the globe of magic. The blend of fun tricks and puzzles to play with by yourself, audience favorites, and gags to mix into your performance is the excellent beginning for someone interested in magic. I love the emphasis on entertainment. Some of the silly items will support budding performers develop amazing habits early. Instead of the fresh magician stroking his ego with inexplicable miracles, or more likely, going on a fruitless find for the excellent trick that will fool all by itself without any performance needed, this book will support the newcomer obtain smiles and make the magic of a fun time. The ability to entertain and calm the critical mind is essential for anyone doing of my favorite tricks included is the trick involving a balloon and a paper bag. Not only are the props simple and inexpensive to find, the trick captures an audiences attention and is very convincing. The audience hears the balloon pop. Then the performer incredibly restores the balloon. Another amazing trick is the coin thru handkerchief trick. I remember thinking this trick was ridiculous when I first learned about it in a various book. Watching someone perform it, taught me never to discount a trick just because it sounds poor in a is volume is short, and at first I thought that was a poor thing (it could be cheaper, but then, secrets are invaluable). However, the focus keeps the wannabe magician on task. Instead of reading about trick after trick, the performer-in-training is forced to chose one to start with. And what amazing choices he has! Almost immediate gratification can be had with a lot of of the card tricks included in this book. Tricks with cards, rope, lifesavers, balloons, and more can be learned quickly from this book. Take it from a clown with disposable thumbs - these magic instructions are great!~Fizz the Clown (aka Trent Williams)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    Perfect Book for Beginner Magicians!!! - Jim does a amazing job of explaining and colorfully illustrating each result along with very helpful tip for performing and practicing. These come in very handy for mom or dad to support their kid or mate perform magic properly so it's enjoyable for all. By following his tip the budding performer can avoid pitfalls that cause a lot of to quit. While, the target audience may be younger beginners, I have seen several of the result (tricks) in this book performed by seasoned professionals.I want I had a book like this years ago when I started!Columbus SmithVice-PresidentS.A.M. Assembly 8

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    Just got this for my 9 yr old daughter and she cannot place it down. She feels very excited to learn a few magic illusions to test on her friends.Will be a amazing birthday show for her school mates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    Bought for my 11 year old Grandson he got the Jim Stout majic set ce handbook for accompanying the majic set

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    I've been dabbling in magic for 30 years so when my 9 year old Godson expressed interest in the art I wanted to do everything I could to encourage him. Teaching him a couple of the basics I went looking for materials to support him and hold his interest alive... and I discovered this book on Amazon. After it arrived I couldn't have been more happy with this purchase!! When I gave it to him on Friday I challenged him to learn and practice at least one fresh trick to present each time I see him every 2 weeks.Oh... and there was even a gag/tip or 2 I learned from examining the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    Amazing for the beginning magician!Wonderfully place together. Teaches some very primary magic, but... very well. Colourful images and illustrations create it a very pleasant read. I bought this book to give to one of the patients at the hospital where I am a doctor clown. I know it will be cherished.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learn Magic with Jim Stott: Magic for Beginners and Kids 5 and Up Plus Magic for Grownups! review []  2020-1-24 20:56

    The author has combined practical tips, general teaching and actual tricks to bring the reader a fun book on magic. His hints contain such practical stuff as how to buy tricks. Amazing book for intermediate or a small more than beginning magician.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    'We're gonna be star-arrrs.' — "Fats" It had been two weeks after seeing Phantasm that my family's weekly "Movie Date Night" continued on with the next movie treat on our list: Magic, the Richard Attenborough directed psychological horror, in which the now legendary Anthony Hopkins stars as Charles "Corky" Withers, an aspiring magician and Ventriloquist, whom, "in partnership" with a profanity-spewing ventriloquist dummy named "Fats", perform their comedy shticks before live audiences and together become a large success. But the newfound fame - even coming with an offer to star in his own tv present - just isn't amazing enough for the "severely troubled" Corky: For he is a man who has never allow go of his past. And that past contains a woman on whom Corky had an intense crush, even from his highschool years. Enter Ann-Margaret, who portrays Peggy Snow, Corky's childhood crush. Corky wants her all for himself, especially now considering his newfound fame. But Peggy is already married to one of Corky's old highschool buddies ... And this realization does not sit well with Corky ... Or with Fats, Corky's wooden dummy...and alter ego. From there, Magic turns horrifying. Two things about Magic creeped me out prior to the film's theater release: The terrifying trailer ads which featured on the radio, and the film's original theatrical release poster. Just based on the intensity of those two previews, I knew that Magic was going to be a bone-chilling flick. And my instincts proved to be true. This movie boasts a superb dual performance by Hopkins as both Corky and Fats, as does it with a fine supporting cast that, in addition to the storied Ann-Margaret, includes: Ed Later, whom, by the way, plays Peggy's husband Duke; Burgess Meredith, Lillian Randolph, and David Ogden Stiers, among others. Magic is a genuine classic and a definite must-see for any passionate fan of cult horror.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic: A Guide to Practical Probability Magic: How Space Time Magic Works, Book 2 review []  2020-1-18 21:1

    When people think of the future the past and the ends of the universe, they are already thinking about magic. This book pushes the limits of how we think about our put and how we result it. By rethinking the limits of time and space, you can look at your magical practice in an expanded light. Often people limit themselves too much or hold their magic to begin to all possibilities to be truly as effective as they desire. This book works deeply on how to select your probabilities and how to enact them in your magical work. Main subject locations are ritual work, music, tarot and art/sigils. I suggest this book to anyone who wants to do more with their magic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic: A Guide to Practical Probability Magic: How Space Time Magic Works, Book 2 review []  2020-1-18 21:1

    I always wanted to submerge to the atmosphere of Medieval Alchemy, which predates the Science and has some properties of the latter. Not 'doing Magick by a spell book', but researching it. And that's what this book does and teaches you to do, on the topic of Zone and Time. You rediscover your own zone instead of putting int to the Procrustean bed of someone else's views. I like the Author's caring attitude and respect for my own free will. He gives a sample list of space/time deities and entities, which covers most of traditions, so there's something for theoretically anyone. I cannot be a living proof of these methods' workability, as the studying process is assumed to latest for several months, at least. But I already like it. And I've magically found Time in my tight schedule to write this review, which I consider as a miracle! Hopefully, I made Zone for this book in your heart, as e Author sent me a free copy of this audiobook for my critical review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    Such a fun read! As a Chicago-area native, it’s refreshing to read a story that’s set in the town where the author understands The Town and does her justice. From the touristy Navy Pier to bougie Lincoln Park, the settings of The Best Kind of Magic are wonderfully descriptive & familiar to this Chicago girl. That alone makes this book special, but the characters & story are what makes it truly wonderful. Amber lives between several worlds, never feeling like she fully fits in at school or in the magical lineage into which she was born. She’s your typical snarky teen, a whip intelligent and sassy a la Veronica Mars and Buffy Summers, juggling mystery & magic while getting through typical high school life. This is such a fun read, if you’re a fan of YA, magic, or mystery this is definitely worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    The book arrived on time and in amazing shape. Can't complain there!I'm a fan of magical realism, but this book wasn't exactly what I expected. I'm not a large fan of the story, which seems to test to be serious at points but doesn't quite obtain us there. The "mystery" about the missing woman (not a spoiler, you can read this bit on the cover) didn't grab my interest at all. Regardless, it was a fast read, and it had it's funny and romantic moments--even though the ending left me with far more questions than answers (is there a sequel coming out? That might explain it.)I'd recommend this book if you aren't looking for something to obtain too invested in, or if you like teen angst and magical monsters but don't have time for backstory or hero development. Maybe it's right up your alley! I can't say it was bad, just simply not for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    Cute! LOVE Amber's voice. She's fantastic. The feel of this book reminds me of the adult series Enchanted Inc., which I loved. The magic in this is more occultish (Wiccan) than I prefer in my fantasy books, but I enjoyed the story and the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    I'm kind of a cynic when it comes to love but magic saved my life as a kid. This book was fun but had its serious moments and I am so looking forward to the next installment of the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    Item was as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    Loved this book, read it in about a day. It's the excellent mix of magic and young adult romance. I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    *** Some spoilers ahead***PROS: I enjoyed the main character. She was powerful willed and was someone that I respected for her personality. I liked the plot line that involved her helping a classmate with a family dilemma/mystery and the two main characters ended up falling in love. I liked the globe that involved show day mixed in with "fairy-tale/mystical" monsters interwoven in our reality. I also enjoyed the mate relationship between Amber and Amani NS: The main character's (Amber Sand) mother (Lucille Sand), was in my opinion a huge pain in the butt. She was not a mother figure at all. She took no interest in her daughter's life, she showed no affection or any love/care to her daughter. The author gave us too a lot of scenarios in the beginning and middle of the story that shows Lucille Sand as an utter Bi**H and then all of a sudden at the end, Amber and her mother have a small/brief create up period and we as the reader are supposed to believe that the mother hero is a compassionate and caring individual. ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!! There was no hero building with Lucille Sand. To obtain from point A to point B, we as readers need a small bit more. There was all this secracy surrounding this hero and there was no involvment in her daughter's life. I would have enjoyed the story a whole lot more if the mother figure was not a part of it. If Amber would have seeked assistance "magically" from another source it would have been better, rather than getting her mother involved towards the end. Or if the author would have place forth more effort into building the mother figure to present her "growth" for us to understand her more it would have been better. Secondly, in this story the phrase "good gods" was something that was so repeative it drove me absolutely bonkers. I understand why it was in the story. It was because the main hero and her friend, Amani Sharma (precog-aka future teller) were powerful believers of their history and didn't believe in just one "God". It was explained briefly in the beginning of the story. However, this was so irrating to see it every few chapters. It just didn't seem natural. I would have preferred to have them say something different. Like: Oh my gosh, amazing golly, geez louise, etc......-----> With all this being said, the cons out weigh the pros and I have no desire to pick up the sequel. There wasn't enough to hold me invested in these characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    This book was the best kind of magic for me.I love going into an indie bookstore and finding an employee recommendation that isn't for one of the huge hits you can search face-out at every B&N. Without an employee recommendation card, I might not have ever found this book, and I'm so glad I did. It was exactly the type of light, sweet contemporary fantasy I rarely see in YA. When I search contemporary fantasy, usually it's the Buffy-esque type (and don't obtain me wrong; I *adore* Buffy!) with a focus on slaying a demon or trying to turn dark while doing magic. It was refreshing to obtain magic in the contemporary world, where plenty of people are descendants of magical monsters but none are trying to destroy the world, and the magic is just one of some characters' skills.Our main character, Amber, is lowest on the totem pole as far as the magical community is concerned. Her only magical ability is to see someone's soulmate in their eyes. No risk of her tangling with the wrong spell here, because she can't do it. Instead it's about dealing with her feeling of inadequacy in the magical globe along with her pride in what she actually does. It's about how her one magical ability might cause others joy or pain, including herself or her bestie. Her ability might not actually support out the guy who comes to her to support search his would-be stepmother, but it does tell her that he's not her soulmate, even as they build up a romance together during the search.I'm somewhat burned out on romances in the middle of fantasies (good luck avoiding those, Sage), but going in to this story with the knowledge that it was all about romance, I was amazing with it, and it was paced well and very thing I'd like to see was some closure on the app process for the baking college. It felt like a loose end, not like something left for a commended for fans of: light and sweet contemporary fantasies, MCs with minor magical abilities, love stories, magical monsters distributed through the population, baking

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    The Best Kind of Magic is the first book in fresh series, Windy Town Magic and it was such a delight to read. The book has a cute whimsical look on magic and daily life, that created it a fun the Sand bloodline there are witches. Unfortunately for Amber Sand she didn't inherit that talent or a least not completely. In a globe of true witches, her mother being one of them, the only magical talent Amber received is the ability to be a matchmaker. People / supernaturals from all over Chicago come to Windy Town Magic store to search real love but Amber has never experienced love for herself, how can she when every time she looks at a guy all she is his excellent match. So when classmate (and sort of family friend) Charlie ask for a small magical assistance with his dad's girlfriend, Amber is not prepared for the awesome adventure they will go on or her sudden developing feelings for Charlie. What is a girl to do when she looks into his eyes and she she's not his match?The Best Kind of Magic surprised me a little, I thought that the plot was going to be centered on Amber's romantic situation but the story went beyond that. There was not only moral dilemmas, magic, mystery and family drama. Not only was a magical mystery afoot but there is also the stressed relationship of a mother and a teenage daughter who doesn't think she lives up to her mother's reputation.I really liked Amber as character, she puts up with a lot, first from the children at her prep school who all look down on her (I still don't obtain why) and then there is the magical community that is filled with all sorts of strong magical beings who look down on her because her only talent is matchmaking. However she does what she does with her head held high and she doesn't allow their hangups obtain to her, also she has an perfect sense of humor and can banter with the best of them.I am not going to lie I at first thought being a matchmaker in a magical community sucked. However after reading the book, hearing Amber explain things and deal with the prejudice of her skills (that she doesn't have more power) I have a lot more respect for Amber. Another thing I liked about Amber, who has a sweet tooth I can appreciate, is that she is an perfect baker and creates delicious confections and is very proud of that ystal made a lovely blend of magic and daily life. A magic store in the middle of downtown Chicago with fresh age customers and witches in the same shop. How you can see a person who is one-fourth fairy obtain on a bus or a troll stroll down the boardwalk but all under human disguise. The supernatural globe and human globe blend perfectly ystal manage not only to do a nice small introductory build to this globe but give a nice representation to the supernatural mething that was a small change-up was that Lucille (Amber's mom) was involved in Amber's life and was always suspecting that Amber was up to something. Also Lucille had her own items going on that flowed into the story as well. Lucille while maybe a amazing mother but she comes across a small cold to me and I know that it makes for amazing representation because that how people can be sometimes but I just wished they softened her up a Kind of Magic was kinda the excellent title for the book and you would have to just read to search out why. I really enjoyed the story and I am very interested to see where the story goes next because I have some questions about backstory and I am hoping more will be explained in the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Windy City Magic, Book 1 The Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, Book 1) review []  2020-1-25 16:44

    Magical Realism has been getting lots of love from the YA community recently, and for amazing reason too. It's the excellent balance, normal life with a dash of mythical. The Best Kind of Magic is without a doubt magical realism, it's set in a ver of Chicago with a secret magical community. A lot of various types of magical monsters live among the city's human population, including: witches, who are at the very top of the magical meal chain, goblins, fairies, leprechauns, vampires, precogs, etc.Our main character, Amber, is a matchmaker, a skill which ranks beautiful low on the magical hierarchy. Basically, she can look into anyone's eyes and determine who their real love is. It's not uncommon for people to come to her to search out whether or not the person they're dating is "the one", in fact, it's practically a everyday you can imagine, when the respond is no, these people tend to answer rather negatively, lashing out at both Amber and her abilities. At the begin of the novel, she has small sympathy for them, but as the story goes on, she gains insight and starts to understand their reactions more. I really appreciated this aspect of her hero development, and I think it added a lot to her hero and the book as a ber's a beautiful snarky narrator, and while that does create the story much more enjoyable, there were a couple times when I felt like she was almost border-line mean.... It's just, some of the things she thought and said left me with a poor taste in my mouth (well, then again, it's not exactly like I can really say anything about having a sharp tongue, I'm a beautiful blunt snarkfest myself in true life).As mentioned above, there's no shortage of magical species in The Best Kind of Magic, and most of their introductions included at least one or two stereotypes, typically negative ones. While it was noted several times that characters didn't necessarily have to live up to the stereotypes their species afforded them, ultimately, I was uncomfortable with the immediate assumptions Amber created of some of the characters due to their species.Overall, my favorite part was definitely the romantic plotline. I know *gasp*, haha I never say that, but this one's beautiful unique. It's not the standard love story I've come to expect, I didn't immediately know how it was gonna end (something which is sadly not very common in YA these days). The romantic plotline had me clamouring for the next book in the series the moment I finished the latest me Cover Thoughts: The Best Kind of Magic's cover represents the story rather well and nicely evokes that Magical Realism feel, but (here I go again...) I'm just not a fan of the title font. I know, I know, I'm forever harping about the title font, but I can't support it, I never seem to be quite happy by it. Don't obtain me wrong, I adore the mark line and how it curves with the buildings, but the title and the author's name, just no....Stereotypes, Witches, and Chicago // The Best Kind of Magic by Crystal Cestari Review first appeared on Quartzfeather.I received an arc from the publisher for review consideration (thanks Disney-Hyperion!) this in no method affected my review, cross my heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    Taylor was generous in giving me, and others a copy of this book for review. As always his work challanges you to think outside the box, and even the room the box is in. You will search clear definitions, and a lot of exercises in clear languge to obtain you on your method activly working with this material. I will definitely be rereading, and working my method through this so If you haven’t read his other titles I highly recomend them as well. None of his work will disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    I was given a possibility to review a preview copy of Mr. Ellwood's book. My mind was blown away at how he challenges the traditional dogma surrounding magick. He has finally brought it into a fresh twenty-first-century paradigm of our constantly shifting Albert Einstein revolutionized physics in the twentieth century, Taylor Ellwood does the same for magick by focusing on the basics of magick, what magick really is, and the practical use of magick. All this without the traditional fluff. He draws upon the science of NeuroLingustic Programming (NLP), biology, quantum physics, info science and pop culture to accomplish all this as in all his other books. I think that this should become a theoretical textbook in universities as the veil between science and mysticism is becoming thinner and almost non-existant everyday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    **I received a free review copy of this book.**I've read tons of theoretical and practical books on magic. It's rare for me to encounter what I'd consider a new perspective. This book provides that by breaking the notions of "space" and "time" (which, like most people, I just took for granted in terms of a definition) into specific elements and integrating those elements into practical work. There are exercises to strengthen an element (e.g., Zhine meditation to develop Stillness), as well as suggestions for integrating the elements themselves into magical workings. I have a long list of experiments to test - working with past/future/alternate timeline selves, consciously using time dilation, Burroughs' cut-up technique... Highly recommend the book if you're looking to add some fresh tools to your magical toolbox.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    Taylor knits together several practices to create a kind of magick that will give true results that you can implement immediately. The instructions are clear, and if you do the work, you will see cumulative results. He doesn't create lofty claims or require you to purchase expensive props. If you are an aspiring magician or energy worker, this is a valuable book to own.I received this copy for review, but will be keeping it, and referring to it often. I'm very grateful that he chose to share it with me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    I always wanted to submerge to the atmosphere of Medieval Alchemy, which predates the Science and has some properties of the latter. Not 'doing Magick by a spell book', but researching it. And that's what this book does and teaches you to do, on the topic of Zone and Time. You rediscover your own zone instead of putting int to the Procrustean bed of someone else's views. I like the Author's caring attitude and respect for my own free will. He gives a sample list of space/time deities and entities, which covers most of traditions, so there's something for theoretically anyone. I cannot be a living proof of these methods' workability, as the studying process is assumed to latest for several months, at least. But I already like it. And I've magically found Time in my tight schedule to write this review, which I consider as a miracle! Hopefully, I made Zone for this book in your heart, as e Author sent me a free copy of this manuscript for my critical review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    The author was kind enough to give me a free copy to review. I read Taylor Ellwood's first magic book on time magic awhile back. There aren't a lot of books of this genre out there. His first book was groundbreaking. Now there is a whole town where the groundbreaking took e exercises in this book are easy yet effective. It felt like a tour through chaos magic except through the lens of time and space. Very creative techniques were given and a lot of helpful l magic in it's own method is about time and space. The techiques in this book which illustrate the definitions at the beginning of the book create it well worth the read. This book is valuable to become a better magician.I especially found the parts about limits and stillness useful.I know I sound like a cheerleader. It wasn't my intent for the review. I was just surprised by the quality of the book and the fact he seemed so much more aware of a rare topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    *I was given a copy of this book for review purposesThe reason I read Taylor’s books is they include info and ideas you don’t search in most books on magick. The thing I like best is he takes you through his process so even if a specific working isn’t useful for you, you have the knowledge and tools to create it work for yourself. This is invaluable to me. The only reason I give it 4 stars is the editing needs work and that always gets me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    I wish to state first off that I received a free copy of this book in return for my honest opinion. The author starts with a overview of both zone and time and how you can apply them. Don't skip over this step as it is a amazing method to sync up with his outlook . This book has a number of exercises for you to develop your skills. You will learn a amazing a lot of techniques to apply as well. You may wish to read it from cover to cover and then go back to do the exercises, there is a amazing deal of unbelievable info to dig into here!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    I would very much like to give this book 10 stars. Space/Time Magic Foundations includes outstanding ideas and to-the-point, brilliantly useful insights, grounded in solid research. It is packed with helpful, fresh (I have not found elsewhere) information. The book contains immediately implementable exercises and Mr Ellwood writes of his private experiences and experiments. It also includes ideas from how to become aware of possibilities all the method to manifesting reality across time and space, including using aspects of self and alternate selves and so much more! I now refer to the text everyday and, I suspect this book will provide fresh insights with every re-read in future. I am very grateful to have received this preview copy and honestly feel it has already created a positive difference in my life in the past few days alone and I am certain can support countless others as well, both beginners and advanced practitioners!The exercises and ideas can, I believe, be applied to most magic: an eye-opening experience. Thank you so much forwriting this exceptional book - it is exactly what I have been searching for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Space/Time Magic Foundations: A Guide to How Space/Time Magic Works (Space/Time Magic Series, Book 1) review []  2020-1-22 22:43

    I've always philosophized about space/time and it's relationship to our world. I was unable to take Taylor's famous course on this topic in the past. However, I was more than honored to keep a free copy of this book for my critique. Where do I begin? First, "Space/Time Magic Foundations" is not simply an explanation of magic theory, but instead, it leads the reader through fun exercises and enlightening experiments. Second, the chapters cover intriguing subjects in space/time magic including divination, sigils, and entities. My favorite chapter was on the stillness practice of Zhine and its cultivation for the awareness of unknown possibilities. What a treat! Don't waste time! Add this one to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Some Magical Photos review [App]  2019-3-30 13:9

    @#$%! application ju qifsha ropt

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Some Magical Photos review [App]  2019-3-30 13:9

    number 1

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Some Magical Photos review [App]  2019-3-30 13:9

    very amazing editor..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    hou to create hear style

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    MANNANALI. nice apps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    cudix

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    aaaa

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    very good👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    emon

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magic Camera: Make Magical Photos review [App]  2019-7-2 13:9

    nice application

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter