Read mirages of winter reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all mirages of winter reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mirages of Winter [App]  2021-2-25 21:51

    A attractive experience... I really loved the poetic method the art style was used to convey complex situations in a easy visual style. And the melody is incredible!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mirages of Winter [App]  2021-2-25 21:51

    Utterly beautiful, restful and still demanding thought. A unbelievable pastime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    "Hacking Matter" deserves 4-5 stars for addressing a very interesting subject - artificial atoms - and 3-4 stars for its presentation. The book can be divided into two parts. The first section, about 110 of the book's 200 pages, gives us a tour of actual research in solid-state physics and its implications for material science. The second launches us from true developments to speculative devices and applications. McCarthy tries to focus the book on programmable matter and only touches on other aspects of nanotechnology. I think that's a amazing idea, but it should have afforded him the opportunity for deeper explanations of research and ideas that were only briefly Carthy is facile with language, as might be expected from a writer of fiction. But while the reading flows easily, the first section suffers from an uneven handling of the material. For example, McCarthy delays the discussion of atomic orbitals until the middle of the book, and even then it's a watered-down introduction with the reader directed to a freshman chemistry textbook for more information. Given the complexity of the topic, I felt he should have assumed a certain level of reader compentency, begin with a more detailed review of the atom with better diagrams of orbitals and material characteristics, then build from there and drop the "monkey on limbs" ogy. In contrast to some locations of hand-holding explanation, some quotes from physicists, given without further explanation, assume a certain level of sophistication from readers: "In general, high temperatures tend to equal more interactions, because there are a lot more blackbody photons emitted from hot surfaces, which can then be absorbed and destroy atomic superpositions. But photon-photon interactions have such a low cross section you don't have to worry about it for optical quantum states. A photon that's in a quantum superposition is therefore going to be a lot more stable at room temperature." (p. 71)Perhaps it's praise to McCarthy that I wanted more of the first 100 pages -- like a thorough introduction to atoms and how material properties arise, side-by-side diagrams of natural and artificial atoms in terms of scale, electron density plots, more info on the research, etc. It's fascinating items and there are references at the end of the e speculative portion of the book, although it occasionally veers from the focus on programmable matter, is well-written and thought-provoking. McCarthy notes that the interviewed researchers are reluctant to speculate, and he steps into that void and presents some possibilities. One chapter describes a hypothetical construct for handling an array of quantum of dots: a "Wellstone Fiber" invented and submitted for a patent by McCarthy and his ck in the late 80s, K. Eric Drexler, referenced at least twice in "Hacking Matter," used his book "Engines of Creation" to speculate on possible directions for nanotechnology, well ahead of actual technical developments. While some of Drexler's ideas may not be realistic, he did galvanize interest in the subject. I can't support but think McCarthy is trying to play that role for artificial atoms and the funding of condensed matter physics research. For those of us who don't think that much about material science, this book provides a amazing wake-up call in the form of an entertaining read.

    0  


    Add your opinion on mirages of winter or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    I think the previous reviewers have not been keeping up with the leaps and bounds that technology has been making with quantum dots. They exist folks and they are being used as we speak. While the applications for this technology as discribed in this book are not possible at this point in time, they should no longer be considered impossible. Just type 'quantum dots' in your find engine or check out some of the famous science websites. This is true and it is utterly facinating. Definately a amazing book but you'll need to read up on some primary quantum mechanics first to really have fun it (the reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    I purchased this book for the title alone, while shelf-browsing at ETcon 2003; to see a non-fiction book discussing programmable matter on the cover was enough to catch my attention.I found it a casual, yet enjoyable read; it threads gently through the prerequisite background, glossing over the specific info to hold the basic focus of the book intact; as it turned out, this didn't affect my enjoyment at all, while providing lots of jumping-off points for the interested observer to research aging to not obtain distracted by the fact that such things as "electron shells" and "thermochromatics", it introduces the reader (educated as they may or may not be) to the concept of a kind of material whose properties can be changed at will, by humans (not just nature). The core concept at hand is "quantum dots", and the text returns over and over again to this, diverging occasionally to provide anecdotes, or ways these semi-magical materials have already been (or soon, could be) used.Overall, I felt the book a amazing read; if you're looking for an introduction into the globe of quantum dots, dynamically modifiable materials, and science the likes of which one would formerly have expected from science fiction. It's not a book in which can be found explicit technical details, though there's more than a hundred references in the end-of-book bibliography; for that alone, it would be a excellent entry point for research.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    This is the second copy I have bought. The first one was "lent" to a dear mate who won't give it back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    I think the content of the book was so far out into the future that suddenly Star Trek films create sence. The material is discussing theory so much with true practical applications a lot of decades away, that one cannot support but think of Star Trek. It is with programmable matter that the future trekies can enable themselves to own cool toys like tricorders, replicators, cloaking devices, shape shifters etc. I think an alternative title of the book could have been, "Star Trek Explained" :-)Being a science fiction fan, I enjoyed it thoroughly, except for the technical info of wellstone which was a drag in the end...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    Despite my intrinsic interest in such futuristic subjects as programmable matter, the topic of Wil McCarthy's interesting journalistic acc of research underway at laboratories around the world, I never know how much I should believe concerning these possibilities. More likely than not it will turn out to be just as true as speculations about flying vehicles in the 1930s or jet packs for everyone in the 1950s or...I could go on and on. In "Hacking Matter" McCarthy lays out a story as unbelievable as any concocted by a master of science fiction. It has the attraction of ancient alchemy--of Midas turning anything to gold with his touch or Rumplestiltskin's spinning of straw into gold--and may be just about as real.But there is a serious side to this, and McCarthy does a service by discussing the research underway to manipulate matter at the level of the molecule. Scientists already understand the process, and the very true science of nanotechnology is built on this knowledge. The U.S. Department of Defense, other government agencies, and some corporations are investing in this future technology. Their reasons for doing so are obvious, if we can transform one type of matter into another with the click of a mouse button the potential is incredible. Materials precious and difficult to get may be acquired quickly, easily, and safely. The potential to completely change the physical existence of all humanity should be apparent. This is a fascinating story, one that is probably realizable perhaps centuries in the future, that is if it realizable at all. But it is a fascinating line of scientific inquiry nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    I have no degrees in physics, just a bit of curiosity and for me this book was wonderful. A very well written (for laymen) brief on a technology that is just over the horizon. If only half the apllications he describes are realized, wellstone will change our lives.I was left with only one (whimsical) question about wellstone; could you build a ringword with it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    Perfect book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    One can poke several holes into a lot of the items that is discussed in the book - especially that this technology (using quantum dots to make artificial matter that emulates true matter) is so far away as to be in the realm of sci-fi. However -inspite of all those caveats - the author does a amazing job of explaining the potential of this technology. His enthusiasm is contagious - and one really wishes that this technology advances at a faster pace. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacking Matter: Levitating Chairs, Quantum Mirages, And The Infinite Weirdness Of Programmable Atoms []  2020-1-8 18:44

    I really like this book! Don't understand some technical terms but understand enough to create this book a fascinating read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    This book was hard to follow. There were lots and lots of undeveloped characters and the end is very disappointing with very few answers to the mysteries presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    The festival has started but the main page still says it's for latest year's festival. Has the application been updated for this year or not?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    sorry I waited so long to reviews this. it's johnny, what can I say.he says it all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    Been looking for this CD to add to our CD collection... amazing price. shipped quick. would buy again fromt his vendor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    This CD has a couple of the most unbelievable guitar blues songs ever recorded. Namely, "Anything For Your Love" (which interestingly shows that JW is in the next league up from Eric Clapton when it comes to pure blues. EC recorded the same song on "Journeyman", and side-by-side, there is no comparison). "Rain" is another phenomenal song, as are numerous others. "Just Like A Woman" is trite and backwards, and the latest two songs seem to have been added as filler. But if you wish that gut-wrenching, soaring blues guitar, this is a must-have CD. I have been a JW fan from the 60's and I know his whole body of work. This one is a killer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    I've been a fan of Jay & Molly for years. So I was thrilled when they released this compilation of live recordings of songs similar to the includes some fine tunes about Winter, Christmas and Hannukah. We also obtain to sample the a lot of styles of melody they play. Of course there is their signature fiddle music, along with some swing, a small bluegrass, a bit of klezmer, topped off with a dash of cajun.If you are looking for some wintertime melody that's not the standard Christmas alblum, this is one you may wish to consider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Am longtime fan of Jay and Molly...admit freely that the colourful cover was a factor!!...but no disappointment at all in the excellence of their kind of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Wonderful! Love the cover picture too. Unbroken thread is my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    This festival starts in less than a week and the application isn't even updated for this year's event. I was really excited to see the lights during my trip to the falls but I can't search information on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    attractive music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    This recording was created after Winter's superb massive blues Alligator recordings "guitar slinger", "serious business" and "third degree".It was done with a major label (MCA or RCA) which a lot of blues critics labeled as a "commercial blues rock record" (read sellout).It is certainly not like any of these current "commercial" "blues" songs being played on the radio today which a lot of of are nothing but blues guitar licks and blues vocals added to pop songs."Winter of 88" ranges from funky blues, ala 80's Buddy Guy, to soulful searing blues, ala Otis Rush with a touch of rock added to the mix that is enhanced with terrific song is a tad more rock oriented than "Winter II" or his Alligator use a Stevie Ray Vaughan comparison, it is a tad more blusier than "texas flood".In fact the song "rain" would have been a radio staple by now if Stevie Ray had of played it, and not, at that time, played by a "44 year old fart from the 70's"I generally don't give 5 stars but it is how a "commericial" blues recording should be made.If there was a 10 star rating, this would obtain 9.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    Incredibly intriguing. I've read it twice already from library. Now my own copy to reread and share. True people and their true actions that create no sense unless they were being directed. By whom? Why?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    …Broughton Island. Cape Dyer. Cape Mercy. Brevoort Island. LoksLand. Resolution Island. Cape Kakaviak. Saglek. Cape g Bay. Tukialik. we believe in these places? she wondered. Was that it? Doesit matter so long as we can say their names?Before the advent of GPS, navigation needed the accurate measurement of both zone and time. You would think that Ed O'Loughlin's ambitious historical novel of polar exploration has both: it is replete with maps; and it begins with the (true) discovery of a chronometer belonging to one of the one of the most tragic of arctic expeditions, that led by Sir John Franklin in 1845. But the reader requires navigation too. O'Loughlin's journeys take him to both hemispheres and a lot of countries, over a 175-year span, switching with dizzying speed. Alas, though fascinated by the subject, I could hardly hold up. I found myself careening from segment to section without much overall sense of direction. This is a book about navigation whose own navigation largely ose maps, first of all. There are tons of them, but their connection to the text they accompany is often non-existent. There are three of them in the first few pages, all slightly different, but all showing related locations of the Arctic. You read a passage involving some put names, you turn back to look it up, but you don't know which of the three maps to turn to, and chances are you won't search it anyway. Each of the nine sections in the novel is marked with a zone and precise compass coordinates, but much of the action takes put somewhere else. O'Loughlin tosses put names around with madcap abandon, no matter that the reader has no idea yet where they are, and indeed may never be told:Ivan followed the ancient fur trail north through the Tombstones,along the Porcupine River, then up the Bell 'till he reached SummitLake—that heart-shaped mirror of the continental divide, whichfeeds its still waters to two various seas. From there, hefollowed Two Oceans Creek to the head of the Rat River. And it wasthere, amid the tumbled rocks and willow thickets of that treacherousstream, that he received the first amazing shock of his e author does much the same with time. He starts by framing the loss of the Franklin Expedition in 1845 with a contemporary story about a man and a woman who have come separately to the far north of Canada's Northwest Territories, each in pursuit of a quest they do not fully understand. But in between the modern sections, he will visit every intervening decade, bringing in just about every well-known name associated with polar exploration, and equally a lot of no one has ever heard of. He will give equal weight to two Esquimaux presented to Queen Victoria, Scott's death at the Antarctic, a meeting between Amundsen's former mistresses, the early history of telegraphy, two globe wars, the latest days of Nazi Germany, the Cold Battle DEW (Distant Early Warning) line, Sputnik, and references to a never-explained clandestine agency known only as Room 38. Hey, throw them all in, the more the merrier, never mind if the reader gets confused!Even at the end, I couldn't tell you how the different pieces connected. O'Loughlin's device of tracing the history of Franklin's chronometer is a flimsy one at best; at the end, in a gratuitous insult to the reader, he simply shrugs the whole thing off.And yet, there is a fascination in these tales of endurance and discovery, in the lonely deaths, in the spirit that drives men onward and outward. Just occasionally, O'Loughlin captures small glimpses of it. But his habit of jumping around as much in genre and style as he does in put and time only reminded my how much better other authors have handled the same material. His pointless stage in Van Diemen's Land (Tasmania) at the beginning, for instance, or evocation of the Franklin Expedition, quite lacks the magic of Richard Flanagan's WANTING. By treating the story of the Eskimo couple as first-person narrative in primary English, he makes it pale beside Stephen Heighton's marvelous AFTERLANDS. And when he narrates another section as (get this) someone's recollection of Jack London talking to a mystery man in a sickroom about a story he never got to write, the vaguely metafictional effect is merely confusing.But then the entire novel is confusing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    Amazing application to hold up to date on activities event in and around The Falls!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    Latest year it updated December 1st

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    This was one of the most frustratng books I've read in a long time. It was a shortlisted book for the 2017 Giller Prize, so I was expecting something a small special. It also outlines the mysterious disappearance of Sir John Franklin's two ships and his entire squad on the polar ice in the year of 1845. I have always been fascinated with this particular arctic mystery, and couldn't wait to read more about it. This book was all over the put as far as I was concerned. For the first 1/2 of the story, I found it tough slogging getting through all the differing points of view, various parts of the world, and various time frames I almost gave up a lot of times. But I persevered and after about halfway through, I was starting to obtain into the story, and I was really enjoying all the Arctic and Antacrctic history and geography. I was also enjoying the stories about the early arctic explorers. What a uniquebreed thery were!! They all were tied in someway to the polar climates, and all of them wanted to explore fresh islands, bays and never-before=seen geography. The book went along fairly well again until right near the end. Just when I was hoping that the mysteries and secrets were going to be explained, it stopped and the ending was abrupt and anti-clamactic, and never did explain any of the mysteries surrounding an elusive timepiece from Sir John Franklin's failed expedition that had mysteriously turned up in a museum in the show day. The book appealed to me in some ways because Mr. O'Loughlin had very obviously done his resarch on these early arctic explorers, and he has captured their essnece in his descriptions of their writings and in their dealings with other people that they encountered in their nomadic lives. That carried me along through a lot of pages in a semi-state of wonder, and then, he abruptly drops it all with no proper explanations, and a feeeling at the end that it had all been a dream for Arthur Nelson and his Fay Morgan. We never found out for sure what happened to Arthur's brother Bert and Fay's grandfather - both who mysteriously disappeared in the frozen tundra of the north. They were both lost in geographical proximity, but sixty years apart. In all honesty, I am not really sure how this book created the Giller Prize shortlist. Maybe I missed the entire point of the book. I am glad that I read it though because of the insight it gave me into the lives and minds of these intrepid arctic explorers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    Not a poor song on the entire album !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Pleasant music. I have fun these artists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    IMHO - the singing is ok but not great. But the fiddle and guitar are unbelievable to listen to and evoke an old fashioned Christmas in the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Jay Ungar& Molly MasonThe Pleasures of WinterFiddle and Dance RecordsIf the names aren't familiar allow me preface this by saying that Jay Ungar wrote the waltz "Ashokan Farewell," which was the theme song for Ken Burn's doentary "THE CIVIL WAR;" and that is their band, Fiddle Fever, playing the song. It is Jay's attractive clear tones that create the song so memorable. Jay and Molly both did the sound track to BROTHER'S KEEPER, which was released as the CD "Waltzing With You." Molly and Jay also wrote "The Lover's Waltz," an equally attractive piece of music, and CD, that is overshadowed by the fame garnered by "Ashokan Farewell." They also play in a number of aggregations that involve either mates or family or both and some of these are represented on this disc; two of their groups deserve attention; Swingology the group that plays on their radio show, Dancing On The Air, on WAMC (and streamed and a unbelievable treasury of music), is one such group that has a cast of musicians that involves cohorts that are available, and the Jay Ungar & Molly Mason Family Band which is comprised of them playing with Ruth Ungar and her husband Michael Merenda, AKA Ruthy and Mike, (both of them are members of the Mammals).This disc comes from live performances over a number of years and contains both friends; Harry Aceto, David Bromberg, Tony Trischka, Kate Pierson (B-52s) and Sam Zucchini among othersin different configurations, and the family Ruth and Mike. The tunes are a heady mix of songs for the most part traditional, but with arrangements by one or more of the band members, and songs written by one or more of those either playing on the disc and/or somehow relating to the title of the disc, but definitely not your traditional songs of the eir melody is traditional, and might fit into any number of genres, folk, ragtime, Appalachian mountain, Cajun and so on. Though we called it traditional it is never stale it is enlivened by the energy they bring to the melody and the broad backgrounds of these musicians. The backbone of their melody is their musicianship. Jay's fiddle playing is some of cleanest and clearest you will hear no matter what style genre of melody he is playing, and his mandolin playing is every bit as clean and should be displayed even more. Molly's singing is just attractive and she never over sings a song, and her fpiano, and guitar playing shows her versatility. And with the musicianship of the mates and family it is truly a disc that has long playability and a sheer delight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Love this cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    UPDATE for this year please.. otherwise this application is useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    Keeping everyone informed !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    Johnny rocks on this jam. I bought it for a mate who is into Texas blues and Johnny especially... it's been three weeks and he's still playing it daily. Dealer was quick on the delivery and got the disc to me in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    OK! This is one of my top crank it up till the walls shake Jams! Johnny was in FINE Fine form on this one. Apparently he had a lot of issues with the producer but you can't tell from his playing! Just blazed away like there was no tomorrow!In fact he may've channeled that anger and frustration into it because his guitar work is nothing short of virtuosity As it usually always was! Now, Johnny is one of these players in my opinion who COULD NOT place out a poor album if he tried but then some were better than others and this is one of them. We miss you Johnny! Can't wait till I can set in on that amazing jam session in the sky with you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    The melody is probably wonderful, but the disc has a very obvious flaw in it that only allows you to hear the first few seconds of the CD. It doesn't support to skip a track, either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    I really wanted to like this book and I definitely got something out of it- stories of explorers, the artic, some history and geography... But it was method too hard to follow the connection between the "present" and the past. I believe the author intended for a connection to be made. But maybe not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    I am sorry but I had a really hard time reading it. Finished it but it was hard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    I like this book. It took me a while but as I at first pressed on - I did have to press on, at least past the first chapter - I realized the title is exactly right: “The Minds of Winter” reflects exactly what this book is about. I do not normally appreciate an author putting the reader into the mind of a historical figure; after all, how can anyone know the real motivation or the inner reflection of another, and when you test to do that to well known historical hero it is just not right. The author runs the risk of not only misleading the reader, but also perverting history. In the unique case of this book, however, I create an exception because, in the end, what is more important, a string of facts in which an author is reluctant to step beyond, or a much more contemporary and engaging ver of history that may not be entirely factual, but nonetheless covers the essentials and, more important, engages the reader in the subject. This novel does that - it ignites the imagination. As I read on, I wanted to know more about the subject, and, indeed, I was able to cross reference all the characters back through some ways, though, it is not really a novel and so I can see why some might complain. It can be seen instead as a collection of anecdotes or short stories. Once I understood that, I was hooked. I was engaged. Even so, I debated on either 4 or 5 stars because there are weaknesses in the telling. In end I decided I could forgive all of that for the bonus the author gave me - he opened up the North in a method that I had yet to understand, and he created me think. If that is not worth 5 stars what is?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Heading for an audition, an actress drives out to a huge mansion to prepare for the role only to search that a strange conspiracy appears to involve one of his former patients trying to slay her, and she soon learns of deeper ties to their plot and must place a stop to them before it's too late. There were a few amazing parts to this one. One of the better parts to this is the house's look, which actually works to the film's advantage in creating a dark, chilling atmosphere due to several key factors. From the huge size that offers up hidden passageways, alternate rooms and more to the decorations that adorn the walls and layout, there's plenty to have fun about the setting to this one. There's also the film's somewhat engaging mystery when it first starts throwing them out there. From the burning license in the fire and the lies about the phones to when it starts in with the hidden rooms and passageways, along with their behavior towards her, it makes this part of the movie really entertaining and enjoyable, which is a amazing thing and is definitely very appreciated. The only other amazing part of this one is the final chase in here, which is really amazing from the first instances where the escape plan is place into motion, the various confrontations throughout the house are very amazing as well, and once it moves into the attic where it gets really fun. From the kills to the suspense and the action all combine to create this the only section of the movie where something is happening. These here are all that work for this one as it has a couple flaws that severely keep it back. One of the main ones is the fact that the movie just doesn't have any kind of action or horror-related scenes for a near eternity. It's close to fifty mins in before any kind of danger is detected, and it's still not anything that would move the movie along with any kind of speed or momentum at all, and usually resort to being quickly written off at the time to obtain back to the slow, snail-like pace that has been going on until then. That just makes the movie go so long that it's really almost impossible to obtain into the movie with any kind of intimacy, due to the fact that the time when it should be making us interested in the movie it spends them showcasing these boring aspects instead, and that is really off- putting and extremely uninteresting. The other huge issue with this one is the fact that the twist, when it occurs late in the film, not only doesn't change matters much but seemingly re-writes the movie to the point of utter confusion. This would take forever to fully obtain all the method out, and instead, it just doesn't do much at all to the movie as a whole. It's quite a lame twist and doesn't support the movie at all. There are a couple other minor flaws, but none of them are as detrimental as these. Rated R: Violence and Language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    Loved the history but found the zigzagging between various periods didn’t bring the tale together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minds of Winter []  2020-2-2 0:38

    Grab a pen and paper, be ready to doent the chapter titles, and who the chapter is going to cover, this will certainly support you in following the story and the timelines. Then sit back and obtain ready to learn a whole lot about arctic explorers, life in the wild and about the men and women that choose this type of lifestyle. Related to the other reviews, this book is all over the place, very hard to follow. The ending did not tidy up any loose ends and left you feeling like, seriously, that was it???That was the downside of the book, now for the upside to this book, IT WAS AWESOME when you got into those chapters where the explorers were telling about their stories, Eskimo Joe, Roald Amundsen, (Bess and Kiss), Albert Johnson, Sir John Franklin’s widow, Moses Isaac, Meares, Morgan, Commander Crozier, etc. I was entranced at what lengths these men and women would go, to be able to declare they were the first people to ever see a fresh land, or a fresh body of water, or a fresh mountain. Not in a sunny pleasant location, but in a harsh, cold, icy, brutal environment for months, even years on end living in a tent or a ship trapped in ice with small food, water or heat. Living conditions were deplorable, almost unbelievable. The author did a phenomenal job of describing these conditions.I will only be giving 3 stars to this book, I’m glad I read it, I’m glad it finally ended, unfortunately the ending left so a lot of unanswered questions, your imagination would have to fill in some of the blanks. The story was not told in a fluid manner, even with my pen and paper, I still cannot say I had a amazing grasp on the whole book, it had amazing moments but no real beginning, middle, and ending. Just a whole lot of info in the middle.I do thank Net Galley for the opportunity to review this story for my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    Must have for visitors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter Festival of Lights [App]  2019-11-17 21:24

    Festival info and more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    one of the best blues albums ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winter of 88 []  2020-6-12 19:8

    Order shipped even though it was cancelled. No response to e-mails and long wait for credit. Do not do business with these people!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Had too a lot of vocal pieces as opposed to instrumental pieces. I was looking for the latter. Maybe I didn't read well enough

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    I’ll admit I am fascinated by mythology and lore. I also love a amazing story no matter the form or genre. I knew after reading the first chapter that this was a book I could really sink my teeth into. The dialogue and action are new and witty, and I think the author did an exceptional job of fleshing out the characters as they arc throughout the book. I especially love the seamless interweaving of the show day with ancient Scotland, which was done so well. Also, I never felt jarred or confused while switching between various characters’ point of views or the past and show (which can be tricky and some authors don’t obtain quite right). It was a gift getting to learn about Druids and runes while reading this book since I didn’t have much knowledge of either beforehand. The romantic tension was excellent, too.I loved this book and honestly can’t wait to read book 2! I have high hopes for this series. Thanks, Corina, for writing this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    I really enjoyed this book. It starts with a bang and keeps a amazing pace throughout. There is enough mystery to hold you wanting to search out more, plus action and danger. For me amazing writing style is almost more necessary than a amazing story, so I was very satisfied that this book has both! I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys urban fantasy or mythology books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    I admit I know nothing about Druids or Celtic stories but after reading the Daughter of Winter I am looking forward to learning more. Knowing nothing about this genre I found the concept of magical runes very interesting and a nice switch-up from the run-of-the-mill magic theme. This is a quick moving story with a powerful willed heroine and a mysterious and powerful, if a small reluctant, protector. The author writes with a descriptive style and in a manner which makes it simple to read. Highly recommend this book and the others which will (hopefully!) follow!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    Pulls you right in from the first page and is very enjoyable to read from begin to finish. I love that the story is told from the perspectives of multiple characters, and it does shift between past and present. It's really interesting. And for those interested in Celtic mythology/Celtic paganism, there is a amazing deal of lore to glean from these pages and entice the imagination. I will definitely be continuing this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    Intriguing debut book. I don't read a lot of fantasy, and am totally unfamiliar with Celtic lore with druids and goddesses, but the story grabbed my attention from the start. Note to fresh readers: The story shifts back and forth between characters as well as past and present. Always read the name at the head of each chapter to see from whose point of view that chapter is ages past, we have the building animosity between Tritus and Talorgan, ancient druids, and we are also given glimpses how there relationship effects the show the present, we follow Brydie's story as she is told she is a Daughter of Winter, a descendant of Cailleach the Celtic goddess. She's given an ancient rune, a pendant, to support provide protection and power. We see her reluctantly accept and start to grow into her fresh identity.While the book reads as a complete story, we are definitely left wanting the sequel! I so appreciate that this author plans to release book two only two weeks after the release of book one. I hope that happens, as I'd really like to see how some of the loose ends are resolved in book two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    This book is very well written and well researched. Characters come to life as the story unfolds, revealing their struggles, doubts, and weaknesses. The magic and myths that the author infused into the book were well constructed. It was an enjoyable read, and I was fully engrossed into the globe she created, rooting for the people in it to succeed. I loved the back story that went into the past and revealed some of the history while I "watched" the happenings unfold in the present. There wasn't a dull moment. Can't wait until the next book is out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Previously gave this 1 star due to it simply not working. Now that has been fixed, expansion and promo cards added, this is a MUST HAVE application for this amazing game. Makes the android game so much more atmospheric and narration is superb. Only reason it didnt obtain 5 stars is there doesn't appear to be an exit button when you have finished playing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Amazing idea for an app! If someone were struggling as much as I did to obtain only the Long night cards showing up; To use only The Long night cards. You need to check both "Include The long night cards" AND "Only The Long night cards" in the options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Have played with the ios ver at my friends. Absolutely fantastic. I recently got both Dead of Winter and Long Night and this is a must. Only thing I can see that is missing is the 5 BGG promo cards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    i really like the concept. the added layer of choosing the decision first then have the outcome shown later makes the android game more exiting and suspenseful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Incomplete "Army" card, no added value over the card deck Using for the first time, we got the "Army" card and chose option 1 which said "add the following win condition" but then displayed no such condition. So we had to grab the box and go through the Crossroads card deck to search out what the condition was! What a waste of time! Also only some of the text is actually read out. So what's the point? And why not use the application as an opportunity to randomise the outcomes a bit, to set it apart from the card deck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    It was nice to have the application read the flavor text so you have to create a choice based on whats event and not the outcome. It doesn't read the outcome of the choice you create though, so you only obtain half of the card read. It could have been so much better. I am hoping this is still a work in progress.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Good! Worked on my nexus 5 like a charm! Amazing app! Not a 5 because it doesn't quite work on my galaxy s6. If I tap the option I wish repeatedly, it will present the effect after around 20 taps lol. Would be nice if this can work properly on my device.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Is there any planning to contain the long night cards? I would love to have both android games supported as beautifully as the first one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    5/5 Nice for my group since we always forget about the cards!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade of Winter []  2020-1-5 18:54

    Can't really say enough about Simon and Garfunkel, I loved them then and I think I love them more now

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade of Winter []  2020-1-5 18:54

    Amazing Song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade Of Winter []  2020-7-17 21:26

    How does one rate a song for the benefit of others that was probably the best Simon & Garfunkel tune of its day? Basically, I remember it and it is part of my musical psyche, consequently, there is no method to actually rate the song -- you either like it or you don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade Of Winter []  2020-7-17 21:26

    Can't really say enough about Simon and Garfunkel, I loved them then and I think I love them more now

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade Of Winter []  2020-7-17 21:26

    Amazing song!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade of Winter []  2020-1-5 18:54

    Gave as a gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade Of Winter []  2020-7-17 21:26

    I like to make videos and slideshows using my images and songs I download from amazon I like to shop the audio files in a folder I made on my C drive and amazon does create it simple for me to do this. It decides where to place the file and then I have to move it. Could you please create a download option so I can place the file whereever I wish on my computer. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade Of Winter []  2020-7-17 21:26

    If this doesn't grab you, there's something wrong with you. Listening to only style of melody is like eating the same thing everyday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade Of Winter []  2020-7-17 21:26

    Takes me back to high school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    This is a unbelievable app. 100 percent recommend it. Sadly the lack of custom cards (or help for promos) will be this apps downside. There are a lot of promo cards out there and I can't see myself playing without them just to obtain an awesome voice over. Please add help for promos or at least the ability to add blank cards with a custom title so promos can be used. Think of Kodiak Colby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    I bought this application because of voice acting that is amazing addition for some playing events, especially when English is not players mother tongue. However, this application doesn't replace regular cards at all, because you can't hold cards when you need to. It needs something player profile system for each android game play, so players could easily hold and browsing cards, or discard them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    My only hope is warring Colonies is added!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    This would be great... if a bunch of the cards weren't missing text. Useless otherwise because you have to refer back to the original cards still for the cards in the application that aren't complete. Waste of time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Perfect addition! A unbelievable application that adds a fresh level of tension to an already perfect game. Only issue is it drains the battery over the course of a game, so hold a charger handy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    No Long Night help yet I love this app...but it's currently unusable if you are playing with the expansion :/ I really hope they modernize it soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Does Not Work Application does not begin even after uninstalling and reinstalling. Using Galaxy S6. Would love to use. Please update.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    The voice acting is amazing and i don't play dead of winter without. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't contain promo cards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Modernize Please modernize this application with Dead of Winter The Long Night crossroad cards!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Perfect Love Eric's voice! I cannot wait for expansion support!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade of Winter []  2020-1-5 18:54

    How does one rate a song for the benefit of others that was probably the best Simon & Garfunkel tune of its day? Basically, I remember it and it is part of my musical psyche, consequently, there is no method to actually rate the song -- you either like it or you don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade of Winter []  2020-1-5 18:54

    I downloaded these as separate Mp3's without having to buy the whole box set. I like the studio recordings are a lot better that live ones where there is audience clapping. Also, studio versions are better quality with fullness of sound, in my opinion. Very satisfied with these!! Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade of Winter []  2020-1-5 18:54

    Takes me back to high school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    The long-awaited expansion and promos being added is fantastic, but you're still missing one Crossroads promo: Rodney Smith! Hopefully we don't have to wait as long for the Watch It Played Mountie to be added along with any Warring Colonies Crossroads cards. Hold the content coming!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Amazing but it would be even better if it supported the two characters included with Raxxon or if it supported warring colonies, but I suspect that is probably in it's way. I would also be willing to pay for application only expansions. Ie $2 for fresh crossroads card only included in the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Needs to be updated to contain Warring Colonies Expansion, BGG Promos, Raxxon Promos, and Ruckus Barley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    No voice acting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Used to always play with this I originally rated this 5 stars I have to change that. I loved using this app, but, with so a lot of crossroad cards you would think you wouldn't obtain repeat cards during just a few games.....you'd be wrong. We played this android game 4 times over the course of the latest 2 weeks and we had 4 cards repeat 3+ times during these sessions. I will not be using this application anymore which is a shame because it is well designed, but, without the randomness of cards you obtain being fixed I will only use the physical cards from now on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Amazing but needs promos Best feature is having the outcome hidden before choosing the option. Just needs help for promo characters!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Can't even download Won't even download to my device. will change to five starts if issue can be fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    A must have!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hazy Shade Of Winter []  2020-7-17 21:26

    I downloaded these as separate Mp3's without having to buy the whole box set. I like the studio recordings are a lot better that live ones where there is audience clapping. Also, studio versions are better quality with fullness of sound, in my opinion. Very satisfied with these!! Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    I really enjoyed this debut novel! It was an simple read, the characters were interesting, and the book contained just enough worldbuilding and context to take me into the story without being too complicated upfront.I even spent a few nights reading a few hours past bedtime because the chapters naturally flowed onto the next and kept me excited to hold going. The characters are well developed and they play off each other well. There's lots of action with a little amount of foreshadowing and flashbacks that support this story move at a amazing pace while keeping some intrigue for what's to come. A amazing debut novel, and can't wait for the next one that's out soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Winter: (Daughter of Winter, Book 1) []  2020-12-12 18:47

    What a amazing introductory book. I cannot wait to read where Glen and Brydie go from here and what lengths they must go through to war Talorgan and his minions. I'm not that familiar with Celtic mythology, but the descriptions of 3rd century Scotland are vivid, painting the picture very well. The premise, which is quite intriguing, takes these myths and makes them real, giving us the "what-if" scenario that descendants exist today. They are modern-day Druids, wielding magic--not with spells, but with runes. Can't wait to pick up the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead of Winter: Crossroads App [App]  2019-1-22 0:36

    Amazing application ! Application is Must buy for anyone who owns the game. Period. Would like an modernize on an ETA for Warring Colonies to be added !

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386