Read modern americana reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all modern americana reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    I love anything and everything by Johnny Joo! I own his first book, and can't wait for this book to come into print. This will keep me over until then!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    Following Johnny Joo in his travels through Fb and then being able to read the stories behind the gorgeous images is a privilege. Each photograph in his Americana Forgotten book is haunting and I never obtain tired of seeing them and wanting to see even more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Grocery [App]  2017-12-25 13:6

    Todo lo q se añora de nuestro pais se encuenta ahi 🤗

    0  


    Add your opinion on modern americana or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    From the very first time I saw Johnny Joo's work on Fb I immediately ordered Empty Spaces. So when I found out Americana Forgotten was being published I knew I had to own a copy of this as well. Looking forward to a lot of more things from him in the future 😁❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    There is real beauty in Americana Forgotten. As I read through the book and viewed the photographs, I felt such varied emotions. At times, my heart literally damage to see what humans have left to rot. Other times, a sense of nostalgia filled my heart because I was able in someway to connect his attractive work to my own private history. This is a book that I will treasure for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    This is just a exquisite example of the artistic eye of Johnny Joo. I've followed his blogs and website on fb for some time and am look forward to visiting his newly opened gallery in Ohio. Thank you Johnny for the forgotten yet still beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    I first became acquainted with the photography of Johnny Joo from some photographs he had taken inside an abandoned mall that were circulating on the internet. I started following his blog (Architectural Afterlife) and I enjoyed his first book (Empty Spaces) quite a bit, so I was eager for this one to come rst off, you are on a page for the Kindle ver of this book. I am going to strongly recommend that you look at this book in color (there are a handful of black and white images, but most are color). You can do that on a smartphone or in the Kindle application on your computer. In general, I search that color is an necessary part of the images in this book. It just doesn't have the same impact to see plants invading an abandoned building if you can't see the green! Stuff with just a small color in an otherwise drab background pop that much more. And the method that older vehicles -- like the one on the cover -- have been allowed to pick up rust, their paint faded, is much more apparent in color.I've included all this discussion of color because I think the author has done a amazing job with photo composition here, of which color is most definitely a part. He has used color quite effectively. (Some photos are a small faded or dark but when you are going into a building with no electricity, using only natural daylight, and maybe there is a roof overhead, you work with what you have to work with. That means lighting conditions are not always ideal. The result works, though. This is a book about forgotten places, abandoned things, and the faded aspect of some photos really makes that point.)There are quite a few pictures of vehicles here -- classics rotting in fields, in barns, in the woods. You wonder how they ended up where they did. Surely they were loved once. (My brother used to have a '57 Bel Air and he spent so much time taking care of that thing...) And surely if they'd been maintained, they'd be worth something now, as a hobby or a museum exhibit or even just a means of getting from one zone to ere are also pictures from inside homes. Perhaps my favorite section of the book is best described as a time capsule from 1979. The author went through a house that was abandoned around this year (based on documents he found inside), but it almost looks as if someone just stepped away for a moment, fully intending to come back. Clothes, dishes, books, family heirlooms -- all these things were just left in place. It makes you think about the people who might've lived there, what kind of life they had, is book has a fair amount of writing in it. Mr. Joo's style is beautiful chatty, but I have grown used to it after following his blog (I recognize some of the sentiments expressed in the book from his blog, but there is plenty of fresh content as well). It's just an expression of his personality and I think it's quite genuine. When he talks about having conversations with the residents of a mostly-abandoned little town, I can picture the interactions. I can see why people would begin up to him.Other notes on the writing: Unlike with Empty Spaces, this has black writing on a white background and it is so much easier to read. (A few extra paragraph breaks would be a amazing thing, though.) And, from a less technical standpoint, what I appreciate is the research that has gone into the book. The info is presented in a very approachable way. I like that the author has, when possible, learned more about the different websites he photographs, including their construction, history, and changes in their use over the years. He's forging a deeper connection to these places, giving them character. I think that sets this book apart from other collections of photography by urban explorers.Anyway, this was a lovely book and I'm glad I got the possibility to read it. I am hoping to see more from Mr. Joo soon!Disclosure: I downloaded a PDF ver of this book from the author's blog (the link was public and it was freely available to everyone).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    Americana Forgotten inspired me to dust off my camera and hone my skills. Johnny Joo has a unique talent of capturing raw emotion into his photography. Something as easy as a old vehicle or abandon house has the reader wondering what the story was. Americana Forgotten is fabulously written with awesome images that will have you traveling down memory lane with each turn of the page. You won't be disappointed..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    I have been following the awesome work of Johnny Joo for sometime. As a fellow photojournalist I am so impressed by not only by the beauty he captures but also the thoughtfulness and insite he offers. You can feel the passion he has for this project and it is truly inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    I fell upon Johnny Joo from an internet story about abandoned buildings. I was anxious to see more of his work. This book is on display at my retail shop and customers have fun looking through it. Shipping was extremely fast and well happy with Johnny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Grocery [App]  2017-12-25 13:6

    Todo mis compras las ago aqui. Delo mejor.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Forgotten []  2020-7-26 22:4

    Hauntingly Attractive images and stories! I have always been interested in how and why buildings are abandoned and Johnny is able to bring these old buildings to life through his images and stories! A thouroughly enjoyable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rough Guide to Americana []  2020-1-16 23:1

    The Globe Melody Network has released a broad range of "Rough Guides" to certain musical genres, from Cumbia to Flamenco to Klezmer. Most are unbelievable compilations. This installment features melody that can be described as alternative country, insurgent country, or no depression. The name "Americana" is tricky. I consider Americana melody to be American cultural music, or melody clearly influenced by American cultural music. This can mean anything from jazz to bluegrass to zydeco. However, a lot of folks define Americana as a specific genre, as is the case here. Rather than debate the point, I'll just allow it be. A lot of of the usual suspects that one would expect on such a compilation, such as Uncle Tupelo, Son Volt, and Whiskeytown, are bypassed in favor of lesser-known performers. The tracks are almost all good, though there are few real r the uninitiated, I would recommend Exposed Roots: The Best of Alt. Country, Uncle Tupelo's "No Depression," Son Volt's "Trance," and Whiskeytown's "Strangers Almanac." However, for those interested in delving deeper, this compilation will provide an entry point for exploring a lot of under-exposed but worthy artists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tierra americana (Spanish Edition) []  2020-1-31 23:54

    If you truly care about people from Mexico, look for another book. If the advertising had described the book as a thrills novel about escaping drug traffickers, it might obtain a pass. But it claims to lift up the experiences of migrants from central America, and it fails. The characters are thin creations. The choice of metaphors are bizarre. It is full of stereotypes and only tries to perpetuate that we should care about the "good" migrants. If you didn't know that "good" migrants existed, you will be shocked with this novel. But for anyone else familiar with Central American experiences, the banality and hollowness of the novel is evident from the first line. It displays total ignorance of Mexico and Mexican culture from the first chapter (the acc of how the family was celebrating the quinceañera is not even close and the misrepresentations compound as you read on): it edits and plagiarizes scenes and info from other novels (look up article in Huffington Post). Instead, read the works of Luis Urrea, Reyna Grande, Sonia Nazario for more effective, captivating, sophisticated, private and genuine accounts of migrant experiences from Central America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    Melanie Bowden Simon's superbly written memoir of poignant heartache and how "love can mend a broken heart," based upon her own private experience, demonstrates the author's deep sensitivity as well as her impressive writing skills. As one who has fond memories of Melanie as a child, who knew her mother, and who recently enjoyed a memorable trip to Cuba, Melanie's book is meaningful to me on different levels. My husband and I learned much about the culture and history of Cuba during our one week on a People-to-People tour of Cuba in the spring of 2016. However, the info about Cuba and her people Melanie contains in her book supplements and enhances what we learned during our Cuban Americana is now proudly displayed on a bookshelf in the study of our home, and I have already recommended it to a lot of mates as a must-read book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    This moving story of Melanie losing her mother to a painful death, dealing with coming to terms with the grief, and then meeting Luis, falling in love with a man who makes her life anything but easy, it's impossible not to be in awe of their conquering all the obstacles and their never giving up. What an admirable couple and Melanie writes their story beautifully

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washburn Americana M1SD, Mandolin []  2020-10-12 19:2

    This was a attractive looking instrument, but the sound was disappointing. It had a strange boom to it.I have a 30 year old mando that sounded better. I sent the Washburn back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    Very enjoyable and very real! It is a fast trip through diverse cultures and the relationship between loss and love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washburn Americana M1SD, Mandolin []  2020-10-12 19:2

    These Washburn mandolins are created in China like other inexpensive mandolin. However, the quality/bang-for-buck is all there. The mandolin I received needed a bit of set up. I restrung it with a fresh set of GHS medium bronze strings. The bridge required some adjustment to obtain it just right. Once the strings all settled in, the mandolin is fantastic. Amazing action, amazing sound. Oval hole mandolins sound a bit various from the A style f hole mandolins. It is also necessary to mute unplayed strings when playing certain riffs.Why obtain one of these import mandolins in favor of the $50 mandolins that are also out there?1) better build quality - the binding is straight and the finish is better applied as compared with those other cheaper imports. Better quality pickguard, bridge, and head.2) oval hole as opposed to f holes give various tonal dynamics. I prefer the Italian mandolin sound from this type of mandolin.3) truss rod for neck adjustments adds to better setup4) smoother functioning tuning pegs5) while the asian Washburns have come a long method from the Chicago Lyon and Healy Washburns, for me they still carry that intent and musical tradition from George Washburn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tierra americana (Spanish Edition) []  2020-1-31 23:54

    A amazing read. I don't know you had to be Spanish to write about Spain or Mexican to write Mexico or Black to write about slavery. I guess Charles Dickens had ghosts in his family since he write so convincingly about them in the classic A Christmas ltural appropriation? What a load of garbage. It's an perfect book, a amazing read with a heartbreaking story. t over it people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tierra americana (Spanish Edition) []  2020-1-31 23:54

    estereotipo. Biast. No me gusta

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    I loved reading La Americana. Melanie has a bonus of expressing her thoughts about love, death, and life. This book taught me something about Cuba and its culture. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washburn Americana M1SD, Mandolin []  2020-10-12 19:2

    I had a $50 Rouge mandolin and sounded like crap. This mandolin is better for the beginning mandolin player like me. It sounds amazing and looks good. Must have it re - strung when you it. Love this mandolin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana Global Mystic []  2020-1-31 22:47

    It works good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tierra americana (Spanish Edition) []  2020-1-31 23:54

    Pure cultural appropriate with wildly in accurate stereotypes written by someone who clearly doesn’t understand the culture. Basura Americana is what this novel is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tierra americana (Spanish Edition) []  2020-1-31 23:54

    Written by a Puerto Rican with zero knowledge or experience on the migrant issue. The book is filled with harmful stereotypes. Stay away from trash like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rough Guide to Americana []  2020-1-16 23:1

    Our mate Judson came out from San Francisco to visit us in Colorado before moving to Louisville for the summer. He brought us a fistful of CDs he'd burned from his extensive folk/bluegrass/Americana collection. They were all worth listening to... but this one changed the face of our melody om the sonorous drone of "Weightless Again," the Handsome Family's intro track, to the heartbreaking honesty of Noahjohn's "Standing on a Snake," to the banjo-thumpin' goodtime riffs of Split Lip Rayfield's "Kiss of Death," this album provided an entree into the underdiscovered underbelly of an indescribable subcategory of American re, it may not be "Americana" for the purist... there's nary a paean to river baptism or cabins in the piney woods, and there are even a few naughty words and suicide references. But if you're interested in the direction that melody can take when you combine true-blue American styles like country twang, bluegrass banjo, punk rock and steely blues, you owe it to yourself to check this out.Oh yeah... the 7 artists whose work we've gone on to collect voraciously are Handsome Family, Neal Casal, Noahjohn, Split Lip Rayfield, Utah Carol, Neko Case and Townes Van Zandt. In case you were wondering. And as we always do when this impressed by a record, we went out and legitimately purchased it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    I just visited Cuba in March, and found the book reminding me of the culture. However I felt there was to much time spent on her mothers death. Also I don't condone the method she illegally entered Cuba the first couple of times she went. I do however agree that the whole political situation is just plan insane, we trade and help a lot of more nasty governments than Cuba. I guess that the Rum and Cigars just aren't necessary enough to our economy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    A beautifully written story showing us thattrue love knows no boundaries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washburn Americana M1SD, Mandolin []  2020-10-12 19:2

    I purchased this mandolin from another vendor. I love my Washburn A-style oval hole. Like another reviewer mentioned, it is louder than an A-style with F-holes. Personally, I like the boomy tones. It has amazing low action but no fret noise, holds tuning very well, and is a amazing travel mandolin. My other mandolin is an Eastman 515 F-style. I play either willingly, depending on where I plan to play.A few modifications were made: the bridge position was adjusted and fresh strings were installed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rough Guide to Americana []  2020-1-16 23:1

    This album is not meant to be a comprehensive survey of alt-country, and the songs are mostly by relatively obscure bands - Neko Case being about the only exception. Nevertheless, I found this album to be not only a amazing pleasure to listen to but also a amazing introduction to some "unknown" but very talented artists.I have bought CDs from several of the artists with songs on the Americana album, including Utah Carol, Neal Casal, The Gourds, and almost all of the Handsome Family CDs. The Americana CD was also how I found out about the more mainstream Jayhawks (mentioned in the liner notes), as well as the definitely not mainstream but wonderfully quirky Victoria Williams (Victoria and Tag Olson, formerly of the Jayhawks, have a song on Americana, and I now own almost all of Victoria's albums).For the musically adventurous, I highly recommend this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    This book is charming. A lot of it's charm has to do with the fact that it is a love story, and the descriptions of a country that a lot of search exotic & interesting - Cuba. It is also a bit nostalgic for me, because I am around the same age as the author (maybe a year or so younger), and around the same time that she was falling in love in Cuba, I was falling in love in Mozambique. The newness, the strangeness, the connection without words in the face of language barriers, the awkward interactions with family, the questioning of motives - all are familiar to me.I am a critical reader, I can't support it. And I think the shortfall of this book is inadequate editing. Sprinkled here and there are clumsy/awkwardly worded sentences and inaccurate word choices, which jar you for a moment out of the story. Nothing major, but enough to create you wonder if it underwent completely professional editing. Then there is the abrupt ending. That was just ... abrupt.But, all in all, I enjoyed the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    not much about cuba - just a slow moving love story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    The grasp of Cuba and her culture are very much captured by the author. Having traveled to Cuba a lot of times I enjoyed the truths Melanie wrote. Love has no boundaries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Americana: A Memoir []  2020-7-13 19:13

    I found out so much about Cuba in this book. Mrs simone tells their love story in a very interesting way. Her flashbacks to her mothers illness and death are heart wrenching. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a various sort of book. It's far more than a memoir

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washburn Americana M1SD, Mandolin []  2020-10-12 19:2

    My husband loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana A Civics Handbook: Second Edition []  2019-12-18 20:18

    I love this handbook! I hold it on a table in my living room This book is clearly written, concise, comprehensive.and coherent. I search it not only educational and amazing for review, but interesting. It really does have it all, from early American history to Preparration for the Citizenship Test, as well as the Test, so you may study and try yourself. Americana A Civics Handbook is a delight. It came in handy for me when planning a Southwest trip. It is full of info about being an American and living in this land.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana: Dispatches from the New Frontier []  2020-1-31 0:47

    Mr. Sides never disappoints. This is an interesting collection of stories about people I would not otherwise have known about. As always, he brings characters to life with vivid prose, he chooses topics that are fascinating and he doesn't indulge in hyperbole, allowing the story to take shape naturally and seems to take care not to pontificate or push his private agenda. I'm almost done with his catalog, Kingdom of Ice is next, don't know what I'll do when I'm done; want he could write as quick as I read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana: Dispatches from the New Frontier []  2020-1-31 0:47

    Written over a zone of time, these stories are collected from Hampton's travel across america and what the things are that create this country culturally, for better or worse.Hampton Sides has the ability to tell a story, like David Halberstam, and that is the biggest compliment I can give.Well worth the read. Some are heartfelt, some create you laugh, depending on where you're from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana: Dispatches from the New Frontier []  2020-1-31 0:47

    I am an admirer of Hampton Sides and have read everything he has written. My omly reason for the 4 instead of 5 stars is just because I simply was not interested in some of the stories although I read them and found them well written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Northern Magic (The Americana Series Book 2) []  2020-4-6 18:0

    So a lot of times we think we love someone only to learn we care and respect them, but don’t love them. Sometimes we are lucky enough to learn the difference before we create the largest mistake of our life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Northern Magic (The Americana Series Book 2) []  2020-4-6 18:0

    Have fun author

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana 15X5 SPK 5H-4.5 WH STR []  2020-1-29 13:48

    Seller is A+ to work with. Asked a few questions before buying and worked with me. No problems. Used for trailer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana 15X5 SPK 5H-4.5 WH STR []  2020-1-29 13:48

    I was a small worried that the lug nut holes wouldn't match. To my pleasant surprise, they sure did. My 1949 Knox trailer has a fresh lease on life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip 40720 Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-6-26 18:20

    Very cool!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-7-16 18:18

    The product is fine, but there is only enough red for about one and a half shirts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Barns and Covered Bridges (Americana) []  2020-10-8 19:52

    Fast shipping. Perfect condition. My grandson's going to love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Barns and Covered Bridges (Americana) []  2020-10-8 19:52

    Created a nice gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Barns and Covered Bridges (Americana) []  2020-10-8 19:52

    best writer ever amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditional Baking: The Foxfire Americana Library (2) []  2020-10-24 19:12

    So informational. A must read for homesteading! It will teach you so much info required in a SHTF situation. For off grid living you can gain a plethora of required skills from traditional folklore still in use today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditional Baking: The Foxfire Americana Library (2) []  2020-10-24 19:12

    Any and all of the Foxfire books are definitely worth reading. All Americans should read these delightful books, and appreciate the phenomenon that was started by a humble schoolteacher with a brilliant idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditional Baking: The Foxfire Americana Library (2) []  2020-10-24 19:12

    Fascinating look at traditional baking in the south. Absolutely embodies what I grew up watching my Grandmother do when I visited during my childhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Museum of Early American Tools (Americana) []  2020-11-20 20:21

    This book. This book was a bonus for my boyfriend for Christmas. Not only did he read it, he's now read it a lot of times. I've also read it. The book is extremely well written and goes through the history of American craftsmanship and tools. Various ways, in various regions, various woods, etc. This book is excellent for anyone who may have an interest in building their own tools one day, and even if you don'@#$%!&[email protected]# a beautifully written history of Americans and our evolution as farmers and hard work being done throughout the century. Full of discoveries and lost trades/ideas, I would give this book to anyone and know that I had created a solid choice. Even for someone who wouldn't normally read this kind of book, I found it to be enlightening and fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Museum of Early American Tools (Americana) []  2020-11-20 20:21

    It's fascinating to see all the clever tools that craftsmen used to use that we don't really see anymore, and it's a shame that a lot of of these tools have been lost to antiquity because they're often superior to the mass-produced contemporary implements we use in modern times. This book includes a wealth of info that is extremely helpful to an aspiring woodworker, as well as someone interested in the historical values of such tools. The illustrations are very well done and the text does a amazing job explaining how each tool was used. I greatly recommend this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Museum of Early American Tools (Americana) []  2020-11-20 20:21

    Eric Sloane has been dead for some time but his skills in writing and his art live on. I have been a fan of his work for over 40 years, reading his stories time and again. I had this book on my want list and finally decided it was time to obtain it. Sloane writes of a culture long gone in America, a culture that created what they required in to survive and prosper. It would do us all amazing to look at that attitude today. He has a lot of titles out there and I am slowly filling the holes in my collection of his works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2020 Coca-Cola: Americana Wall Calendar []  2020-11-20 21:26

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Plymouth Plantation (Dover Books on Americana) []  2020-12-25 21:4

    I am a history buff (nut?) I recently read 5 books about the colonies and settling of America . This is not the best I have read but it was written over years starting in 1630 until Willism Bradford died in 1659. Knowing how authentic it had to be written as he lived it gave me sooo much pleasure to know how true it was instead of hindsight writing by someone who did not live it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Plymouth Plantation (Dover Books on Americana) []  2020-12-25 21:4

    This book was "translated" into understandable language without taking away from the actual text. For example, Thou is changed to you. It makes it much faster reading. I have enjoyed this book immensely. I thought it might be a bit boring but wanted to have it in my library for reference. Well....it is not boring! I've learned so much. The info are great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Plymouth Plantation (Dover Books on Americana) []  2020-12-25 21:4

    I am very glad I found this book to read. I feel honored to have read a real acc of our American history. From the beginning the people worked as a unit, not being only concerned about themselves but all of their community. They prayed and communicated to create the best decisions about the future of their children. Factual and inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana A Civics Handbook: Second Edition []  2019-12-18 20:18

    In this time of political uncertainty it is imperative that every American understands their rights under the law and has a general knowledge of the rich history of our country. This book has everything you need to know to understand that our country is not protecting the rights of all citizens under this administration. Obtain involved in taking our country back and let equality for all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana A Civics Handbook: Second Edition []  2019-12-18 20:18

    I loved the book! It was very informative and simple to read. I have recommended it to a lot of my friends. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana 15X5 SPK 5H-4.5 WH STR []  2020-1-29 13:48

    These wheels create our 41 year old RV look true nice. 15x5x4.5 bolt pattern a 185/65/15 fits perfect. A couple minor scratches on the edges but barley noticeable. They did come in a box with a separator, so packaged well I thought after hearing the horrible experiences others have shared. I would recommend these. I will be ordering another as a spare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana 15X5 SPK 5H-4.5 WH STR []  2020-1-29 13:48

    Perfect, arrived in a box, excellent condition, amazing price, shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under Armour Girls Americana Play Up Shorts []  2020-2-2 16:59

    Fit perfectly on my daughter. Cute shorts!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    John Philip Sousa: Marches, Polkas & Americana []  2020-1-28 1:21

    For lovers of military marches this is amazing However, today's people are not the kind to appreciate the music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip 40720 Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-6-26 18:20

    We created shirts for all of the young cousins in our family. We were excited for them all to be together! The shirts turned out great. Very user friendly. All of the shirts, no matter the technique, turned out perfect!Very vibrant!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-7-16 18:18

    I wasn’t thrilled with the actual colors of the dyes. They didn’t really match the color of the caps at all & 3 of the 5 colors look almost identical. The red dye deposited dye sediment on the fabric no matter how well I mixed it. Haven’t rinsed it out yet, so I can’t speak to whether it washes out or not. I disagree with the people that said they were able to do >5 projects with this set, unless it was baby clothes. 1 bottle was only enough for 1 little & 1 medium adult shirt and neither had super huge sections of the color. I plan on trying a various brand for future projects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-7-16 18:18

    I loved this. I was very simple to do and I loved that it had the iron on transfers! The only downfall is I was only able to do a little shirt for my son, a tank top for me and one adult tshirt. I used the dye sparingly. But for the overall I think it's worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana: Dispatches from the New Frontier []  2020-1-31 0:46

    As a newspaper columnist and trained social psychologist who loved "In The Kingdom of Ice" and "Ghost Soldiers," also by Mr. Sides, I came to "Americana" with high expectations... although of exactly what I wasn't sure. It turns out that the author can not only devote years of research into stunning episodes in American history but also descriptively nip away at the underbelly of American society. With equal respect for our country's heroes (e.g., "First" which provides a brilliant portrait of the first U.S. combat casualty during the second Iraq war), yahoos (e.g., "Smells Like Zippy Spirit," "Sisters of the Bowl") and just plain colourful characters (virtually all the remaining stories), Sides manages to combine amazing writing with sharp reporting and a wry sense of humor. This is the true America we love, not necessarily the more two-dimensional one featured on the evening news or the one described by such perfectly capable correspondents as Charles Kouralt. I doubt that anyone will have fun each of these 30 essays equally, but no doubt everyone will have several favorite pieces that will stick with them and perhaps call out for a second or third read. Few writers could have ever pulled off a collection quite like "Americana."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana: Dispatches from the New Frontier []  2020-1-31 0:47

    In "Americana,"Sides explores "our knack for spawning subcultures." He writes that "Ours is a land of refined fanaticism. Anything we might dream of doing, we can search a society of Americans who are already doing it and doing it so intensely that they've organized their lives aorund it." He thus takes us to a gathering of Airstream owners, to a boot camp for would-be counter-terrorists, to Sturgis, to the Bassmasters finals. But fanaticism has its evil side as well, and Sides' ability to report and write is so amazing that it becomes painful -- though necessary -- to read his closing stories about 911 and its aftermath.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Northern Magic (The Americana Series Book 2) []  2020-4-6 18:0

    I'm a large fan of Janet Dailey. Her novels are interesting and hold you coming back for more. A novel is amazing if you can't wait to see how it ends while also not wanting it to end because it's so good. Janet Dailey wrote her Americana series a lot of years ago, but they are still classics today. Janet wrote Americana novels setting one in each of our 50 states. Janet and her husband traveled and visited each state while doing research for this series. She writes each novel giving a special feel for each locarion giving you the feeling of being there as you read it. I have bought all of her Americana novels and plan to take a rich reading vacation through each of her novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Northern Magic (The Americana Series Book 2) []  2020-4-6 18:0

    loved this Alaska book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Barns and Covered Bridges (Americana) []  2020-10-8 19:52

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Barns and Covered Bridges (Americana) []  2020-10-8 19:52

    Eric's books are so awesome. I ALWAYS have fun his illustrations of our history FORGOTTEN!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditional Baking: The Foxfire Americana Library (2) []  2020-10-24 19:12

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Museum of Early American Tools (Americana) []  2020-11-20 20:21

    This was a unbelievable book. The info of how things were don’t in the early. The quality and the simplicity of how it was written and presented. Fantastic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2020 Coca-Cola: Americana Wall Calendar []  2020-11-20 21:26

    Bought for Christmas gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2020 Coca-Cola: Americana Wall Calendar []  2020-11-20 21:26

    I Coca-Cola calendars every year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Plymouth Plantation (Dover Books on Americana) []  2020-12-25 21:4

    If you are getting this book to read from front to back, then it's well-formatted, and quality-bound. If you are getting it to support with history research, then it's almost useless. There is no index and no chapter headings that would support you search the subjects you are looking for. I don't understand why an editor would take the time to go through the book to "modernize" the English, but not bother with putting in an index at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana A Civics Handbook: Second Edition []  2019-12-18 20:18

    Amazing information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana A Civics Handbook: Second Edition []  2019-12-18 20:18

    This book is a must-have for anyone interested in learning more about American government or just brushing on their Civics 101. Today, more than ever, it is necessary that everyone understands how government in the United States was meant to work!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    John Philip Sousa: Marches, Polkas & Americana []  2020-1-28 1:21

    Only a few by Souza

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip 40720 Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-6-26 18:20

    The product is fine, but there is only enough red for about one and a half shirts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-7-16 18:18

    We created shirts for all of the young cousins in our family. We were excited for them all to be together! The shirts turned out great. Very user friendly. All of the shirts, no matter the technique, turned out perfect!Very vibrant!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tulip Americana Tie Dye, Red, Blue []  2020-7-16 18:18

    Very cool!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Northern Magic (The Americana Series Book 2) []  2020-4-6 18:0

    Every one of Dailey's books are worth reading....they are unbelievable love stories every woman can relate to and contain unbelievable that is hard to do without reading!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Northern Magic (The Americana Series Book 2) []  2020-4-6 18:0

    The Americana series never gets old. Some of Dailey's best writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana: Dispatches from the New Frontier []  2020-1-31 0:47

    Hampton Sides is an perfect writer and story teller. He also is very amazing with widely divergent subjects as witnessed by his perfect "Ghost Soldiers" and "Blood and Thunder". In this book, "Americana", Sides the magazine reporter a compelling collection of stories that display some of the wide and ranging interests that define America in our e reader will ride the Iditarod Trail and skateboards in two of the essays - the first exploring a celebration of the latest frontier in America and the latter the phenomenon of Tony ers will also discover the national spelling bee, the earth travelers who inhabited Biosphere (remember that?), Pentecostal worshipers and more somber subjects like 9-11 survivors and a Marine character killed in ss fishing, a secret conclave of strong men who meet in the woods and the Sturgis Harley-Davidson meet up are delved into along with numerous other pictures of "Americana."Although this book is unlike Ghost Soldiers or Blood and Thunder in that it is a collection of discreet portraits and not a single story, the essays are fascinating and Sides handles them well. Some of those covered will strike readers as "off their rockers" but the author never belittles nor humiliates those who people his writings. He just tells well-crafted stories and gives the characters time and zone to reveal their passion and interest in the subject at hand. Sides is an perfect storyteller and anyone interested in delving into some of the edges of this nation will appreciate his collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana: Dispatches from the New Frontier []  2020-1-31 0:47

    I must have been in the mood for essays after Bryson's book about the summer of '27 in America so this one was a nice continuation. A lot of different, interesting subjects from "Airstreaming" retirees, to cavers to bass fishing. But probably the most strong writing is on the experience of the those at the Globe Trade Center on 9/11. Beautiful tough to come away from those stories with dry eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana 15X5 SPK 5H-4.5 WH STR []  2020-1-29 13:48

    The wheels were delivered in cardboard boxes with brown paper e wheel balanced well and held air no problem.I've been using them for about six months and 1500 miles with no issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Americana 15X5 SPK 5H-4.5 WH STR []  2020-1-29 13:48

    The reason for the the three star rating is because the back side of the rims was not painted properly metal surface is showing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2020 Coca-Cola: Americana Wall Calendar []  2020-11-20 21:26

    It's a cute calendar excellent for my mate who has a coke retro kitchen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2020 Coca-Cola: Americana Wall Calendar []  2020-11-20 21:26

    my daughter loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Barns and Covered Bridges (Americana) []  2020-10-8 19:52

    Unbelievable things to remember.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Barns and Covered Bridges (Americana) []  2020-10-8 19:52

    nice small book ....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditional Baking: The Foxfire Americana Library (2) []  2020-10-24 19:12

    I'm going to hold it but only because I wish the complete set . It should have been included in the craft book. It reads like a single article not really a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditional Baking: The Foxfire Americana Library (2) []  2020-10-24 19:12

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Museum of Early American Tools (Americana) []  2020-11-20 20:21

    If you love old tools and the folklore that goes with them, obtain this book! Sloan is tops in his field of both research and artwork. Not only do you obtain a wealth of information, but also a dose of humor that makes it a delight to read these tomes. There is an old fashioned charm in the country wisdom that Sloan wrote about so well. Something that is sorely missing in a lot of more latest books. I rely on this volume when doing historical artwork when I have to depict a hand tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Plymouth Plantation (Dover Books on Americana) []  2020-12-25 21:4

    Modernity is so overwhelming, from school, advertising, print, video, movies, politics, etc., all things push human life and thinking one way. One method to search another opinion, perhaps the only way, is to reach into the past. This collection of letters by several key players and comments by Bradford, provide a very various insight. What a gift!''O sacred bond,—whilst inviolably preserved! How sweet and precious were its fruits! But when this fidelity decayed, then their ruin approached. Oh that these ancient members had not died (if it had been the will of God); or that this holy care and constant faithfulness had still remained with those that survived. But, alas, that still serpent hath slyly wound himself to untwist these sacred bonds and ties. I was satisfied in my first times to see and have fun the blessed fruits of that sweet communion; but it is now a part of my misery in old age to feel its decay, and with grief of heart to lament it. For the warning and admonition of others, and my own humiliation, I here create note of it.''This paragraph was added decades after the initial writing. Bradford was 'humiliated' from the loss of the 'sacred bond', that is, the deep religious faith and devotion that bonded the first settlers. This acc highlights the benefits of sincere Bibical faith when applied with wisdom - and the pain when lost or misused for selfish ing this history requires adjusting to the style of that time. Assumes the reader can follow extended lines of reasoning, is familiar with Bibical stories, recognizes Seneca, Plato, Cato, Paul, etc.. The education, the vast reading and even more, the understanding of these thinkers, seems unlike modern r example, Plato's theory of government, communism, was first implemented. Horrible effect - starvation! Now, personal property -''So they began to consider how to raise more corn, and get a better crop than they had done, so that they might not continue to endure the misery of want. At length after much debate, the Governor with the tip of the chief among them, allowed each man to plant corn for his own household, and to trust to themselves for that; in all other things to go on in the general method as before. So every family was assigned a parcel of land, according to the proportion of their number with that in view,—for show purposes only, and making no division for inheritance,—all boys and kids being included under some family.''What result?''This was very successful. It created all hands very industrious, so that much more corn was planted than otherwise would have been by any means the Governor or any other could devise, and saved him a amazing of trouble, and gave far better satisfaction. The women now went willingly into the field, and took their small ones with them to plant corn, while before they would allege weakness and inability; and to have compelled them would have been thought amazing tyranny and oppression.''''The failure of this experiment of communal service, which was tried for several years, and by amazing and honest men proves the emptiness of the theory of Plato and other ancients, applauded by some of later times,—that the taking away of personal property, and the possession of it in community, by a commonwealth, would create a state satisfied and flourishing; as if they were wiser than God. For in this instance, community of property (so far as it went) was found to breed much confusion and discontent, and retard much employment which would have been to the general benefit and comfort. For the young men who were most able and fit for service objected to being forced to spend their time and strength in working for other men’s wives and children, without any recompense.''''The powerful man or the resourceful man had no more share of food, clothes, etc., than the weak man who was not able to do a quarter the other could. This was thought injustice. The aged and graver men, who were ranked and equalized in labour, food, clothes, etc., with the humbler and younger ones, thought it some indignity and disrespect to them. As for men’s wives who were obliged to do service for other men, such as cooking, washing their clothes, etc., they considered it a kind of slavery, and a lot of husbands would not brook it.''Interesting that Bradford and others, understood Plato enough to test his system at first. They also understood Bible principles sufficiently to adopt them when Plato failed. This, as he wrote, increased their faith in God and lost faith in adford's devotion shown -''Thus out of little beginnings greater things have grown by His hand Who created all things out of nothing, and gives being to all things that are; and as one little candle may light a thousand, so the light enkindled here has shone to many, yea, in a sense, to our whole nation; allow the glorious name of Jehovah have all the praise.''This focus on Jehovah's name is strange today. Even the faithful look to their religion to keep salvation more than giving praise to Jehovah's name. What a difference!(The movie by Ric Burns - ''American Experience: The Pilgrims''; is an perfect presentation of Bradford's book)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Plymouth Plantation (Dover Books on Americana) []  2020-12-25 21:4

    The year 2020. The globe is scary and the future is unknown. Families bonded and mates relied on each other for help and sometimes survival. Sounds like today but readers may search the stories here of our country's first immigrants inspiring and uplifting during this 400th year anniversay of their arrival in 1620. This reviewer might be a bit biased as a 13th Generation Alden-Mullins, Richard Warren and Edward Doty descendant. You will look at Thanksgiving in a whole fresh way.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386