Read molecular carcinogenesis and the molecular biology of human cancer reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all molecular carcinogenesis and the molecular biology of human cancer reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    I know this sounds like hyperbole but I really mean it from the heart: Alberts is the greatest collection of words and photos that I have encountered in my lifetime of reading. It inspired me to change careers and altered the trajectory of my entire life. It is the bible of the natural world. It was the longest and most challenging book I had ever read but it was also the most rewarding. My only complaint is that the first few chapters assume some cursory knowledge of chemistry. While a motivated reader can certainly power through these sections, I really want they would rewrite these chapters to support along readers who lack a science background. Every effort should be created to create this text accessible to a broader audience! I encourage you to invest in the hardcover ver as you'll be hanging onto this book as a reference for the rest of your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    MBoC 5, arguably one of the best science textbooks of all time, has been dethroned by this, its successor, the 6th edition. This textbook is my prized posession, the most necessary textbook that I own. It is fabulously detailed, it would take a lifetime to read the whole thing at once (though that's not the point). As usual, the cartoonish technical figures and pathways are sprinkled with some nicely illustrated watercolor/pastel drawings of proteins, and from time to time we obtain to see some X-ray crystallography and actual histological stains/samples to provide the real-life version; these are all very high-quality as have come to be expected from texts published by Garland Sciences (the best in my opinion, wholly due to their oversight of this magnificent book). The chapter titles and some other materials have been completely overhauled from the 5th GREAT thing they did with this ver was including the final five chapters (rather than have them as a supplement), which are a mix of developmental biology and immunology, very necessary topics; this is nice because in the 5th edition, they included PDFs of the final five chapters on a CD included with the text which created it somewhat bersome to access them if you didn't wish to print them out or something like that. There are only 24 chapters in the 6th edition (there are 25) which comes from them combining two chapters into one, and it is significantly larger and heavier than the 5th because they bunched in those latest parts. Nonetheless, I think it's a fair trade for the accessibility I was not used to.A huge downside to this, though, was that no CD supplement is included in this 6th edition. I loved the extras that came on this CD from the 5th, as they included pre-made powerpoint presentations and figure/illustration galleries for ALL the chapters, an awesome feature that created it super simple to contain figures in presentations and lectures I give. They recycled most of the figures and illustrations from the 5th into this one, but I am still missing out on a few, and anyone who buys the 6th without having the 5th will have no access to these things at all- what a bummer! They should be included for educators to use! I might be going off here for no reason, though, as they might let access to these things on the GS website...I haven't looked into that, but if you only have the 6th edition and wish to use the figures in lectures/presentations, you might wish to look into conclusion, MBoC 6 is a spectacularly well-written and detailed textbook that is at the pinnacle of cell and molecular biology resources, second to none in the field. As a PhD student and educator in the field, it has my highest recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    I purchased the used loose leaf ver and was disappointed to search that there were 2 chapters missing. Want I would have noticed this sooner. Just wanted to leave this review to remind others to check and create sure all the pages are included as soon as you keep it!

    0  


    Add your opinion on molecular carcinogenesis and the molecular biology of human cancer or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    Not very informative. Some info was unclear and debatable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    Relatively low print in black & white, but amazing enough for an awesome price. Hard cover color ver is very expensive, and I think this ver is a amazing alternative for students with a low budget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    Great! Giving it a 4 star though as the diagrams were in black and white. I had expected them to be in color just as the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    Actually, to be fair, it's either Alberts or Lewin'rsonally, I have never found better molecular biology books than these two.I personally like Alberts, only because that's what I used in grad school and I personally like the level of detail.But I also used Lewin's. I found Lewin's lacked detail in a lot of cases, but some of the explanations were choice still stands: I would rather have more detail than less, and that's why I would recommend Alberts.And...If you obtain it, also (by default) obtain the Issues Book. Amazing study all, to me, Alberts is still the best book on molecular biology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    This is not merely the best cell/molecular biology textbook, it is likely the best textbook ever produced. The style makes the topic simple to understand while still being informative; it almost reads like a novel. Each little section makes and then illustrates a specific point. This is reiterated by clear and helpful figures. It is not a book of just facts. The reader comes to understand what experiments and what evidence supports the current models. This helps students and specialists alike improve their own thinking. The book is ideal for both undergrad and grad/medical students but still very useful for specialists already established in the field. Each fresh edition provides appropriately updated info without 'throwing the baby out with the bathwater'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    Amazing. Never in my life have I actually enjoyed and understood reading from a textbook. One awesome thing about Alberts is that the communication of concepts are quite clear and straightforward, at times there can be tangents however those are infrequent. Honestly, Alberts is the best and really gives awesome and amazing info of scientific methods and mechanisms. I have read a lot of science textbooks and found this book to be invaluable and a amazing support to my classes, whereras those other books I sold, hardly read or threw out. I actually read the chapters and used this book thoroughly. In hindsight I want I did obtain the essentials version, which is more concise. However, this book will definitely help anyone starting molecular biology of the cell. I relied heavily on this book b/c my sciences were rusty and primary biology was all i knew before I took the creature known as cell biology. The diagrams are well explained and I respect the fact that the people that wrote this book created it student and user friendly and engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    I bought this book to help me with my transition into the field of genomics research and molecular biology. I searched around for quite a while looking for a fairly deep and up-to-date books, and I think this book has more than fulfilled this purpose for me. I've been to Cold Springs Harbor Labs (this book is a CSHL Press publication). CSHL's history and put in this field of science is undisputed. Of the authors, I'm taking an online ed.s class from Professor Stephen Bell (MIT), and it is likewise excellent.What you should expect to search with this book is a text book format, with a quiz after each chapter, and the even questions have answers in the back. The book can easily be read front to back, but is also a very amazing reference book, with full index.I've found the book to be very accurate and up-to-date, at least to my level of knowledge. There are very few typographical errors. The figures are plentiful, presented in context, and provide a very amazing graphical representation of the text they accompany.I bought the loose leaf ver so I could carry around just a few chapters as I read them. This book is nearly 900 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    Amazing review of of all pertinent Molecular Biology for the Graduate and Medical School Level

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    It's a amazing textbook, but the paperback ver is in black and white print. For a biology textbook, that's a beautiful poor method to look at figures...I wouldn't recommend the paperback version, unless you are really on a budget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    All in black and white. Hard to distinguish the photos that needed colours to see what they are. Also described as having an access code- which I did not get. Book is fine for studying though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    Was ok but want I had gotten one with color pictures instead of just print.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    Bummer that Garland was purchased by CRC and no longer supporting film archives for students. When i follow the link from the Notes to Reader section to access the 174 films accompanying the e-textbook. I keep this conglomerate buyout message of dropped support. negative points to Garland and your fresh buyer CRC for your lack of attention to this necessary part of the book! I sent CRC tech help an email asking for a fresh link to the movies. I will modernize this review if they obtain back to me (2/1/2019)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    I am a physician who has practiced rheumatology in an academic setting and worked in pharma doing clinical research. I was interested in seeing what is fresh in molecular biology. My intention was to flip through this book and key in on specific topics. Instead I have been reading every page and am about a third of the method through. This is a superb book and is almost a must read for anybody interested in our current understanding of the intricacies of modern biology. Between the clearly written text, the perfect diagrams and the well constructed films the authors create an extremely complicated topic matter, not only comprehensible but totally fascinating as well. What brings this book to the next level is that the authors are not content with merely laying out the facts. They also explain how several of the key biologic discoveries were uncovered but more importantly attempt to put some of the most mystifying concepts in biology in their evolutionary context. This is truly one of the finest text books that I have ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    [Update, September 2017: Just a caution here that there now seem to be two Kindle editions of the book available. The original "eTextbook / Print Replica Kindle Edition" which is like a PDF file of the actual printed book, and a fresh "Kindle Edition" which is *not* in Print Replica format. This latter fresh edition has a various ASIN and shows over 3,000 pages (page-turns on a Kindle device, not actual pages). Beware though, as it is not going to have the attractive layout and typesetting of the original version. It IS readable on any Kindle device (not just those capable of displaying the Print Replica titles), and should let increasing the font size to create the text more readable for those who search the full page photos of the original book too little or difficult to manage. Personally I prefer the original eTextbook edition which is an exact reproduction of the printed book. In any case, be sure you're ordering the correct ver (they currently seem to share the same price) and don't be bothered by the fact that the fresh Kindle ver shows more "pages" and has a larger file size than the original eTextbook one.]This review is based (mostly, see modernize at the end) on the Kindle edition of the book, which is a "Print Replica" edition which exactly matches the printed textbook (it's essentially like a PDF of the entire book). For textbooks, even the most valuable (like this one) that I love and plan to hold for a long time, I now much prefer electronic versions for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is that it's easier to keep up and read a smartphone than a seven pound tome. You can also zoom in on text and figures as needed, and the illustrations are almost all in "vector" form meaning they stay sharp and detailed as you zoom in. You can also find the complete text of the book, do electronic underlining, set bookmarks, s, the Kindle textbooks have DRM that restricts what you can do with it, but I search the Kindle restrictions less onerous than many, and in most cases they give you an option to "rent" textbooks for the duration of a class which might be as economic as buying a physical copy and then reselling it when you're done with it. But if you wish complete freedom to resell what you buy, or maybe you just like the feeling of holding a true book in your hands, then the printed copy would probably be what you want. Note that I believe the physical ver comes with a disc containing the films and supplemental materials for the book (turns out it doesn't, see modernize below), but you can also search all of this free on the Garland Science web website if you buy an e-book with that out of the method let's talk about the book! There are basically two groups of people who are likely reading this. Either you've had this book assigned as the textbook for a class or you haven't. If this has been assigned as a textbook, first create sure you're looking at the correct edition. This sixth edition is very various from the fifth (the authors point out that five million scientific papers were written since the previous edition) and you might *not* obtain away with buying a cheaper used previous edition. If your class is going into enough depth that it needs this book over something like Essential Cell Biology, 4th Edition then chances are you really do need the correct edition. Also the sixth edition is brand fresh as of this writing, so create sure you're not being asked to obtain the previous (fifth) edition!This is one of my favorite textbooks of all time. A really amazing textbook is designed to prepare students to be practitioners in a field, not just to test to hold bored students awake and keep their hands through a class they really want they didn't have to take. This is a amazing textbook and it's THE book to obtain if you wish to learn as much about cell biology as is possible from one volume. It's also now entirely new and up to date (as of 2014), something absolutely critical in a field like Biology which advances daily. Everything in here is fascinating. If you think this items is boring then I feel sorry for you :) Life is cells, and this is "everything we know about how cells work" so it's directly applicable to an understanding of every (known) form of life, from bacteria to you and me. Even if your class doesn't go down into the depths and fine details, this is a amazing book to have for later self-study if this items interests you. This can be a textbook you hold for years and refer to is is also a surprisingly accessible work for those interested in learning about modern Biology on their own. If you're someone who is scientifically minded and wants to understand how life works, then most of what's in here is easily comprehensible and highly enjoyable. Unlike a lot of fields, there aren't years of prerequisites required to begin the study of cutting-edge Biology. If this were Physics, you would need to have had ten years of math and boring low-level physics before you could ever hope to start to understand things like quantum mechanics or the general theory of relativity. But there's no math requirement for understanding Biology (though it's starting to become more quantitative and newer fields like Physical Biology are growing rapidly). A small knowledge of concepts from Chemistry is helpful, but again very small of the discussion in this book is quantitative so there's generally nothing to calculate, no equations to solve, etc. Cell Biology is much closer to something like computer programming in terms of the mental aptitude required to understand it. To obtain started I recommend reading chapter 1 thoroughly, then read chapter 2 but if your eyes begin to glaze over then just skip the rest of chapter 2 for now (the chemistry, while obviously fundamental and critically necessary is not important to understand deeply in order to understand the rest of the book, just as you don't really need to understand voltages and transistors in order to learn to program a computer), and then read Chapter 3 thoroughly which is all about how proteins perform most of the work in the cell including acting as microprocessors, motors, pumps, etc. By that point you'll likely be hooked and you can go back and appreciate the rest of chapter 2 when you're ready for how does this Sixth edition compare too the Fifth? Well, first of all it has been seven years since the previous edition, which is nearly forever in the globe of Biology, so just on that basis alone the fresh edition is going to be a huge advance. In general the fundamentals are the same, but the fine info of understanding have advanced a amazing deal.An ongoing issue for the authors is the wonderful volume of knowledge that exists and the near infinite and subtle complexity of even the simplest cells. This means the book could easily be three times its current size, a pressure which the authors must search a method to resist if the book is to remain portable and affordable. In the fifth edition, the book exploded past its covers and the standard edition was forced to relegate the latest five chapters to PDF supplements (a large Reference Edition with over 1600 pages was available with all chapters printed, and the e-book versions contain all chapters). This was not a famous decision as it meant that even after buying and lugging around a huge expensive tome, you still didn't even have all the content e sixth edition now contains the entire content of the book, and there's no need for a "Reference" edition. This means however that even though the printed book has gotten slightly longer, they have had to shorten the effective size by about 250 pages! This has resulted in a lot of editing and a reduction in the number of figures. In some cases this means more effective and concise content, but in other locations interesting material and in-depth discussion has been eliminated. Taking as an example chapter 4, Control of Gene Expression, the current edition has 79 figures where the previous edition had 115. Also the chapter on Reproduction has been eliminated entirely (you can download the fifth edition ver of this chapter as a PDF, see the modernize below) though some of its material has been integrated into other parts of the book.I cannot support but wonder if the authors have really created the right decision here. Choosing to reduce the (effective) size of the book by around 15% at a time when knowledge in the field is growing so rapidly seems rather limiting. I would personally have rather seen them embrace the idea that a lot of of their readers will be using e-books where the length has no physical effect, or even consider breaking the book into two volumes as is often done in fields like the study of medicine. But in the end this is still intended to be a textbook, and a lot of students will likely appreciate anything that reduces the number of pages they have to read :)A lot of work has been done to clean up the design, and they have re-created a lot of illustrations in a more consistent style. This edition uses a pleasant blue theme in comparison to the reddish-pink of the fifth edition. It has a cleaner look overall, and I think the changes in title/heading color are a definite improvement for on-screen reading. There are a few locations where figures contain little locations of white-on-lime-green text that I have to zoom in on to read, but generally the changes are e content in general has been brought up to date with a lot of sections extensively updated or re-written. Interestingly, as a sign that classic quantitative methods from Physics are starting to creep further into Biology, there's an extended section in chapter 8, Mathematical ysis of Cell Functions, which gives some mathematical (ZOMG! some math in a Biology book!) treatment to things like gene product equilibrium and gene regulation and serves as a amazing introduction to the field of Physical Biology, which is another interesting method of approaching the study of life (if you search this interesting then I can also recommend Physical Biology of the Cell which I bought and have been enjoying).Anyhow, MBoC gets all the stars as being one of those magical books that takes you deep into a whole fresh and fascinating world, one where you'll learn how each individual cell in your body has much more in common with a modern supercomputer than it does with that soggy old frog you dissected in high-school. The practice of modern cell biology is nothing less than hacking into alien computer systems (not designed by the mind of man) looking for technology we can appropriate or adapt to cure disease, reduce globe hunger, produce clean cheap energy, and otherwise improve our lives.An exciting book for exciting times.G.Update: I've now purchased a copy of the physical book as well, just because I like it so much. It's a six pound, 13 ounce tome that's two inches thick. It's hardbound, and has the same feel and quality as the Reference edition ver of the fifth edition. Paper quality (thickness, brightness) are again related to the fifth edition. It's definitely not as lap-crushing as the old Reference edition (that additional pound or so makes a huge difference).The physical book does NOT come with CD media for the supplemental films and stuff, so you need to go to the Garland Science website to search them (under the Student tab you can find for the film numbers from the book without needing to make an account, or you can make an acc and add the book to it to create accessing things a small easier). The GS website still seems to be rolling out info on the fresh edition so at some point they may have a page/site dedicated to the book as they have for some other latest textbooks. They have also now added a downloadable PDF of "MBOC, Fifth Edition - Chapter 21: Reproduction: Meiosis, Germ Cells, and Fertilization" in the sixth edition downloads area. This chapter got eliminated from the sixth edition (the meiosis section in the Cell Cycle chapter was extended a bit to compensate) so this is a useful reference to have.Update 2: I just picked up the fresh ver of Molecular Biology of the Cell 6E - The Issues Book and it's got a lot of VERY nice improvements over its previous version. It should really be considered "part two" of the textbook. There's a large amount of extra knowledge in here and it's amazing to just read, not just as a workbook. Go check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    I just purchased the loose leaf ver of this text (in order to save about $50) with some trepidation. This ver has the whole text and is 3-hole punched onto 8.5x11 paper. I'm delighted to explore that I am able to place it in standard 3-ring binders. Most importantly, I am now able to take a couple of chapters out and place them in a separate binder temporarily. This makes the large lump that is a 1400+ page tome much easier to read because I don't have to have the entire weight of the book in my lap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell []  2020-1-15 23:47

    What a superb book! I absolutely love it. The writing is so logical and so clear. Whenever I wish to review a subject whether it's immunology or genetics, I always reach first for "fat Albert". It always amazes me how comprehensive each subject is.I am a retired ER doc and I consider this book the excellent method to stay current on different favorite sections are the immuno oncology section and the genetics section. The entire book however is marvelous.I very highly recommend this book. I also love the fact that I have the Kindle ver on an iPad and I can take it anywhere and read it in an airport or wherever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene []  2020-1-23 1:49

    For my Molecular Genetics Class the Hardcover book was so expensive at my school shop and online, yet I only paid $16 for this, and I’ve used it to earn an A in the course! This helped me so much and is REALLY worth the money, I’m amazed I got it for that cheap!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    I know this sounds like hyperbole but I really mean it from the heart: Alberts is the greatest collection of words and photos that I have encountered in my lifetime of reading. It inspired me to change careers and altered the trajectory of my entire life. It is the bible of the natural world. It was the longest and most challenging book I had ever read but it was also the most rewarding. My only complaint is that the first few chapters assume some cursory knowledge of chemistry. While a motivated reader can certainly power through these sections, I really want they would rewrite these chapters to support along readers who lack a science background. Every effort should be created to create this text accessible to a broader audience! I encourage you to invest in the hardcover ver as you'll be hanging onto this book as a reference for the rest of your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    Relatively low print in black & white, but amazing enough for an awesome price. Hard cover color ver is very expensive, and I think this ver is a amazing alternative for students with a low budget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    It's a amazing textbook, but the paperback ver is in black and white print. For a biology textbook, that's a beautiful poor method to look at figures...I wouldn't recommend the paperback version, unless you are really on a budget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    DVD is not included. DVD includes essential material, ie the latest 5 chapters of the book, not just supplementary material. I suspect it’s done by the author and publisher to minimize resale of older editions of this book, which is fraudulent and misleading. Class action law suit, anyone? I am game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    Absolutely by far the greatest text book I have ever read. The writing is both crystal clear and subtly poetic, which clear undertones of reverence for the majesty of the topic matter (without ever getting to lyrical; it is a science text after all). The examples given seem carefully chosen to impart the heart of whatever problem is at stake with minimal superfluous info and the figures include just enough detail to explain the point without getting bogged down. A wonderful, unbelievable book. The first time I've felt like the price I paid for a text book was worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    Amazing review of of all pertinent Molecular Biology for the Graduate and Medical School Level

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular and Cellular Biology of Viruses []  2020-1-31 2:17

    This elegant, beautifully written textbook fills an necessary niche in covering material useful for upper-level undergraduates as well as for early-level graduate students. The figures and supplemental material are superb and extremely helpful. I cannot recommend this textbook enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    This is not merely the best cell/molecular biology textbook, it is likely the best textbook ever produced. The style makes the topic simple to understand while still being informative; it almost reads like a novel. Each little section makes and then illustrates a specific point. This is reiterated by clear and helpful figures. It is not a book of just facts. The reader comes to understand what experiments and what evidence supports the current models. This helps students and specialists alike improve their own thinking. The book is ideal for both undergrad and grad/medical students but still very useful for specialists already established in the field. Each fresh edition provides appropriately updated info without 'throwing the baby out with the bathwater'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    I am a physician who has practiced rheumatology in an academic setting and worked in pharma doing clinical research. I was interested in seeing what is fresh in molecular biology. My intention was to flip through this book and key in on specific topics. Instead I have been reading every page and am about a third of the method through. This is a superb book and is almost a must read for anybody interested in our current understanding of the intricacies of modern biology. Between the clearly written text, the perfect diagrams and the well constructed films the authors create an extremely complicated topic matter, not only comprehensible but totally fascinating as well. What brings this book to the next level is that the authors are not content with merely laying out the facts. They also explain how several of the key biologic discoveries were uncovered but more importantly attempt to put some of the most mystifying concepts in biology in their evolutionary context. This is truly one of the finest text books that I have ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    What a superb book! I absolutely love it. The writing is so logical and so clear. Whenever I wish to review a subject whether it's immunology or genetics, I always reach first for "fat Albert". It always amazes me how comprehensive each subject is.I am a retired ER doc and I consider this book the excellent method to stay current on different favorite sections are the immuno oncology section and the genetics section. The entire book however is marvelous.I very highly recommend this book. I also love the fact that I have the Kindle ver on an iPad and I can take it anywhere and read it in an airport or wherever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    I read an earlier ver 10 years ago and wanted an updated version. This is the best microbiology text book! Don't allow the size intimidate you, plenty of pictures and illustrations. Well written and simple to comprehend yet detailed enough to give a complete understanding of biology. Starts from amino acids thru DNA and proteins to plants and animal biological systems. While I prefer fresh text books with up to date information, this textbook and author stand the try of time. Purchasing this edition saves cash over buying new. If you are interested in learning microbiology a decade or more past college or wish to bonus to a teenager interested in life sciences, this book will give you or them a solid foundation. It is a pleasure reading and learning the info they didn't teach you in high school! Excellent for the family library for a reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    I honestly found the text accessible and extremely thorough. As a reference for someone taking molecular biology, this book was really nice. My instructor was barely english speaking and the book filled in much of the items i couldn't understand. The editors were really amazing about keeping up with fresh material. This edition vs the latest edition had added some of the cutting edge items that had only been really studied in the latest 6 months.On the down side: It is really really huge and heavy. Cell pathways need huge diagrams and the editors could have done better with donating spreads to some of the larger time, now that I've switched to tablets, I would go with a digital ver so I can leave searchable notes. Ctrl+F is my fresh friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    This textbook basically defines the word "authoritative." It is incredibly comprehensive, very detailed, and quite readable. There's a reason that so a lot of scientists use it as a reference for the locations of molecular and cell biology with which they're less familiar. The drawback (if you can call it that) of cramming such a monumental amount of content into a "mere" 1300 pages is that the book is very dense. I can't read a full page of text for the first time in less than five mins and absorb any of it. But that's really more of a feature, since the alternative would be a 4000-page, 20-pound textbook. Even though the growth of knowledge in molecular biology is so rapid that much of the book will be out of date in fifteen years, this is still the kind of text you purchase as an undergraduate and keep, not re-sell.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    All in black and white. Hard to distinguish the photos that needed colours to see what they are. Also described as having an access code- which I did not get. Book is fine for studying though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    Not very informative. Some info was unclear and debatable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    [Update, September 2017: Just a caution here that there now seem to be two Kindle editions of the book available. The original "eTextbook / Print Replica Kindle Edition" which is like a PDF file of the actual printed book, and a fresh "Kindle Edition" which is *not* in Print Replica format. This latter fresh edition has a various ASIN and shows over 3,000 pages (page-turns on a Kindle device, not actual pages). Beware though, as it is not going to have the attractive layout and typesetting of the original version. It IS readable on any Kindle device (not just those capable of displaying the Print Replica titles), and should let increasing the font size to create the text more readable for those who search the full page photos of the original book too little or difficult to manage. Personally I prefer the original eTextbook edition which is an exact reproduction of the printed book. In any case, be sure you're ordering the correct ver (they currently seem to share the same price) and don't be bothered by the fact that the fresh Kindle ver shows more "pages" and has a larger file size than the original eTextbook one.]This review is based (mostly, see modernize at the end) on the Kindle edition of the book, which is a "Print Replica" edition which exactly matches the printed textbook (it's essentially like a PDF of the entire book). For textbooks, even the most valuable (like this one) that I love and plan to hold for a long time, I now much prefer electronic versions for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is that it's easier to keep up and read a smartphone than a seven pound tome. You can also zoom in on text and figures as needed, and the illustrations are almost all in "vector" form meaning they stay sharp and detailed as you zoom in. You can also find the complete text of the book, do electronic underlining, set bookmarks, s, the Kindle textbooks have DRM that restricts what you can do with it, but I search the Kindle restrictions less onerous than many, and in most cases they give you an option to "rent" textbooks for the duration of a class which might be as economic as buying a physical copy and then reselling it when you're done with it. But if you wish complete freedom to resell what you buy, or maybe you just like the feeling of holding a true book in your hands, then the printed copy would probably be what you want. Note that I believe the physical ver comes with a disc containing the films and supplemental materials for the book (turns out it doesn't, see modernize below), but you can also search all of this free on the Garland Science web website if you buy an e-book with that out of the method let's talk about the book! There are basically two groups of people who are likely reading this. Either you've had this book assigned as the textbook for a class or you haven't. If this has been assigned as a textbook, first create sure you're looking at the correct edition. This sixth edition is very various from the fifth (the authors point out that five million scientific papers were written since the previous edition) and you might *not* obtain away with buying a cheaper used previous edition. If your class is going into enough depth that it needs this book over something like Essential Cell Biology, 4th Edition then chances are you really do need the correct edition. Also the sixth edition is brand fresh as of this writing, so create sure you're not being asked to obtain the previous (fifth) edition!This is one of my favorite textbooks of all time. A really amazing textbook is designed to prepare students to be practitioners in a field, not just to test to hold bored students awake and keep their hands through a class they really want they didn't have to take. This is a amazing textbook and it's THE book to obtain if you wish to learn as much about cell biology as is possible from one volume. It's also now entirely new and up to date (as of 2014), something absolutely critical in a field like Biology which advances daily. Everything in here is fascinating. If you think this items is boring then I feel sorry for you :) Life is cells, and this is "everything we know about how cells work" so it's directly applicable to an understanding of every (known) form of life, from bacteria to you and me. Even if your class doesn't go down into the depths and fine details, this is a amazing book to have for later self-study if this items interests you. This can be a textbook you hold for years and refer to is is also a surprisingly accessible work for those interested in learning about modern Biology on their own. If you're someone who is scientifically minded and wants to understand how life works, then most of what's in here is easily comprehensible and highly enjoyable. Unlike a lot of fields, there aren't years of prerequisites required to begin the study of cutting-edge Biology. If this were Physics, you would need to have had ten years of math and boring low-level physics before you could ever hope to start to understand things like quantum mechanics or the general theory of relativity. But there's no math requirement for understanding Biology (though it's starting to become more quantitative and newer fields like Physical Biology are growing rapidly). A small knowledge of concepts from Chemistry is helpful, but again very small of the discussion in this book is quantitative so there's generally nothing to calculate, no equations to solve, etc. Cell Biology is much closer to something like computer programming in terms of the mental aptitude required to understand it. To obtain started I recommend reading chapter 1 thoroughly, then read chapter 2 but if your eyes begin to glaze over then just skip the rest of chapter 2 for now (the chemistry, while obviously fundamental and critically necessary is not important to understand deeply in order to understand the rest of the book, just as you don't really need to understand voltages and transistors in order to learn to program a computer), and then read Chapter 3 thoroughly which is all about how proteins perform most of the work in the cell including acting as microprocessors, motors, pumps, etc. By that point you'll likely be hooked and you can go back and appreciate the rest of chapter 2 when you're ready for how does this Sixth edition compare too the Fifth? Well, first of all it has been seven years since the previous edition, which is nearly forever in the globe of Biology, so just on that basis alone the fresh edition is going to be a huge advance. In general the fundamentals are the same, but the fine info of understanding have advanced a amazing deal.An ongoing issue for the authors is the wonderful volume of knowledge that exists and the near infinite and subtle complexity of even the simplest cells. This means the book could easily be three times its current size, a pressure which the authors must search a method to resist if the book is to remain portable and affordable. In the fifth edition, the book exploded past its covers and the standard edition was forced to relegate the latest five chapters to PDF supplements (a large Reference Edition with over 1600 pages was available with all chapters printed, and the e-book versions contain all chapters). This was not a famous decision as it meant that even after buying and lugging around a huge expensive tome, you still didn't even have all the content e sixth edition now contains the entire content of the book, and there's no need for a "Reference" edition. This means however that even though the printed book has gotten slightly longer, they have had to shorten the effective size by about 250 pages! This has resulted in a lot of editing and a reduction in the number of figures. In some cases this means more effective and concise content, but in other locations interesting material and in-depth discussion has been eliminated. Taking as an example chapter 4, Control of Gene Expression, the current edition has 79 figures where the previous edition had 115. Also the chapter on Reproduction has been eliminated entirely (you can download the fifth edition ver of this chapter as a PDF, see the modernize below) though some of its material has been integrated into other parts of the book.I cannot support but wonder if the authors have really created the right decision here. Choosing to reduce the (effective) size of the book by around 15% at a time when knowledge in the field is growing so rapidly seems rather limiting. I would personally have rather seen them embrace the idea that a lot of of their readers will be using e-books where the length has no physical effect, or even consider breaking the book into two volumes as is often done in fields like the study of medicine. But in the end this is still intended to be a textbook, and a lot of students will likely appreciate anything that reduces the number of pages they have to read :)A lot of work has been done to clean up the design, and they have re-created a lot of illustrations in a more consistent style. This edition uses a pleasant blue theme in comparison to the reddish-pink of the fifth edition. It has a cleaner look overall, and I think the changes in title/heading color are a definite improvement for on-screen reading. There are a few locations where figures contain little locations of white-on-lime-green text that I have to zoom in on to read, but generally the changes are e content in general has been brought up to date with a lot of sections extensively updated or re-written. Interestingly, as a sign that classic quantitative methods from Physics are starting to creep further into Biology, there's an extended section in chapter 8, Mathematical ysis of Cell Functions, which gives some mathematical (ZOMG! some math in a Biology book!) treatment to things like gene product equilibrium and gene regulation and serves as a amazing introduction to the field of Physical Biology, which is another interesting method of approaching the study of life (if you search this interesting then I can also recommend Physical Biology of the Cell which I bought and have been enjoying).Anyhow, MBoC gets all the stars as being one of those magical books that takes you deep into a whole fresh and fascinating world, one where you'll learn how each individual cell in your body has much more in common with a modern supercomputer than it does with that soggy old frog you dissected in high-school. The practice of modern cell biology is nothing less than hacking into alien computer systems (not designed by the mind of man) looking for technology we can appropriate or adapt to cure disease, reduce globe hunger, produce clean cheap energy, and otherwise improve our lives.An exciting book for exciting times.G.Update: I've now purchased a copy of the physical book as well, just because I like it so much. It's a six pound, 13 ounce tome that's two inches thick. It's hardbound, and has the same feel and quality as the Reference edition ver of the fifth edition. Paper quality (thickness, brightness) are again related to the fifth edition. It's definitely not as lap-crushing as the old Reference edition (that additional pound or so makes a huge difference).The physical book does NOT come with CD media for the supplemental films and stuff, so you need to go to the Garland Science website to search them (under the Student tab you can find for the film numbers from the book without needing to make an account, or you can make an acc and add the book to it to create accessing things a small easier). The GS website still seems to be rolling out info on the fresh edition so at some point they may have a page/site dedicated to the book as they have for some other latest textbooks. They have also now added a downloadable PDF of "MBOC, Fifth Edition - Chapter 21: Reproduction: Meiosis, Germ Cells, and Fertilization" in the sixth edition downloads area. This chapter got eliminated from the sixth edition (the meiosis section in the Cell Cycle chapter was extended a bit to compensate) so this is a useful reference to have.Update 2: I just picked up the fresh ver of Molecular Biology of the Cell 6E - The Issues Book and it's got a lot of VERY nice improvements over its previous version. It should really be considered "part two" of the textbook. There's a large amount of extra knowledge in here and it's amazing to just read, not just as a workbook. Go check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    Amazing. Never in my life have I actually enjoyed and understood reading from a textbook. One awesome thing about Alberts is that the communication of concepts are quite clear and straightforward, at times there can be tangents however those are infrequent. Honestly, Alberts is the best and really gives awesome and amazing info of scientific methods and mechanisms. I have read a lot of science textbooks and found this book to be invaluable and a amazing support to my classes, whereras those other books I sold, hardly read or threw out. I actually read the chapters and used this book thoroughly. In hindsight I want I did obtain the essentials version, which is more concise. However, this book will definitely help anyone starting molecular biology of the cell. I relied heavily on this book b/c my sciences were rusty and primary biology was all i knew before I took the creature known as cell biology. The diagrams are well explained and I respect the fact that the people that wrote this book created it student and user friendly and engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    I bought this book to help me with my transition into the field of genomics research and molecular biology. I searched around for quite a while looking for a fairly deep and up-to-date books, and I think this book has more than fulfilled this purpose for me. I've been to Cold Springs Harbor Labs (this book is a CSHL Press publication). CSHL's history and put in this field of science is undisputed. Of the authors, I'm taking an online ed.s class from Professor Stephen Bell (MIT), and it is likewise excellent.What you should expect to search with this book is a text book format, with a quiz after each chapter, and the even questions have answers in the back. The book can easily be read front to back, but is also a very amazing reference book, with full index.I've found the book to be very accurate and up-to-date, at least to my level of knowledge. There are very few typographical errors. The figures are plentiful, presented in context, and provide a very amazing graphical representation of the text they accompany.I bought the loose leaf ver so I could carry around just a few chapters as I read them. This book is nearly 900 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    I purchased the used loose leaf ver and was disappointed to search that there were 2 chapters missing. Want I would have noticed this sooner. Just wanted to leave this review to remind others to check and create sure all the pages are included as soon as you keep it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    [Reviewing 5th Edition, Chapters 1-7] I'm a Ph.D. computer scientist working on an NIH grant in text mining biomedical literature, so I thought I should bone up on the underlying science. The first seven chapters of this book are just what I needed. The first overview chapter is an perfect standalone introduction to the cell and genomics/proteomics and their ilk. After a two-chapter very comprehensible introduction to biochemistry (strong emphasis on thermodynamics/energy and bonding/structure) and protein structures, the next chapters lay out the entire process from DNA to protein, including expression 's slow reading (it takes me an hour or more to read 10 pages), but very clearly written, and very thorough. The diagrams and accompanying text are amazingly clear and helpful. (There are also animations, but I've never looked at the DVD.) The diagrams and their long captions are often supplementary in that they add info that are not in the body of the text.I had read the same sections of the 4th Edition a few years ago. The 5th edition adds substantial fresh material starting with the chapter on proteins. Ironically, the 5th edition is more speculative, because the more we search out about gene expression, the further away full understanding seems to be. The book does a nice job of balancing what's known fairly certainly with speculative guesses about things like chromatin is time, I think I'll hold going. The sections of the rest of the book I've browsed when they've been cross-referenced are also excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    All in black and white. Hard to distinguish the photos that needed colours to see what they are. Also described as having an access code- which I did not get. Book is fine for studying though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    WORKED OUT WELL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    For my Molecular Genetics Class the Hardcover book was so expensive at my school shop and online, yet I only paid $16 for this, and I’ve used it to earn an A in the course! This helped me so much and is REALLY worth the money, I’m amazed I got it for that cheap!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    Great! Giving it a 4 star though as the diagrams were in black and white. I had expected them to be in color just as the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    Was ok but want I had gotten one with color pictures instead of just print.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    I just purchased the loose leaf ver of this text (in order to save about $50) with some trepidation. This ver has the whole text and is 3-hole punched onto 8.5x11 paper. I'm delighted to explore that I am able to place it in standard 3-ring binders. Most importantly, I am now able to take a couple of chapters out and place them in a separate binder temporarily. This makes the large lump that is a 1400+ page tome much easier to read because I don't have to have the entire weight of the book in my lap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    Actually, to be fair, it's either Alberts or Lewin'rsonally, I have never found better molecular biology books than these two.I personally like Alberts, only because that's what I used in grad school and I personally like the level of detail.But I also used Lewin's. I found Lewin's lacked detail in a lot of cases, but some of the explanations were choice still stands: I would rather have more detail than less, and that's why I would recommend Alberts.And...If you obtain it, also (by default) obtain the Issues Book. Amazing study all, to me, Alberts is still the best book on molecular biology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    I am currently studying bioinformatics at Stanford University, and I purchased this book to be my reference tutorial on all matters regarding cellular biology.I originally purchased the kindle edition, but returned it in favor of a printed copy. The kindle edition, while complete in content, was difficult to read on my ipad mini. Other kindle books I’ve read allowed me to adjust the font size, which changed the pagination of the book. Unfortunately with this title, the pages are fixed and font size can’t be changed. If I had a full size ipad I might have chosen e book is a hefty beast, with over 1200 pages of detailed descriptions with full color diagrams on every single page. The material is complete and very well explained. I certainly do not consider myself an expert in molecular biology, and found the text simple to read and e book contains a DVD which has an extensive library of animations and short videos. Complicated processes such as transcription and translation are clearly explained in these videos, and watching them helped me fill in a number of concepts I did not obtain from the text.I have not read the book cover to cover, nor do I plan to. I’ve chosen the subjects I wish to read and I am skipping around in the book. I’m finding that the subjects are so well covered, that one can do this without being too confused.With most text books, I cringe as I plop down my cash on a title I will only use for a few months. In this case, I expect to be getting value out of this book for years to come as I continue my studies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    A couple years back I was researching glycolysis and the Krebs cycle and required a reference book that also had other information. Well, this is THE book to obtain and I'm glad I bought it. It has everything in it. My understanding is that it is mostly for graduate level biology courses or, perhaps, advanced undergraduates. I'm a fairly quick reader, but admit that almost every page has to be studied, not read. So, no, I have not read the entire book, but refer to various sections from time to time. The sections and chapters about DNA seem to continue forever; sometimes I think I can understand it all, other times, well, let's just say I have a newly found respect for geneticists. Highly recommended... - lc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    I bought this book to help me with my transition into the field of genomics research and molecular biology. I searched around for quite a while looking for a fairly deep and up-to-date books, and I think this book has more than fulfilled this purpose for me. I've been to Cold Springs Harbor Labs (this book is a CSHL Press publication). CSHL's history and put in this field of science is undisputed. Of the authors, I'm taking an online ed.s class from Professor Stephen Bell (MIT), and it is likewise excellent.What you should expect to search with this book is a text book format, with a quiz after each chapter, and the even questions have answers in the back. The book can easily be read front to back, but is also a very amazing reference book, with full index.I've found the book to be very accurate and up-to-date, at least to my level of knowledge. There are very few typographical errors. The figures are plentiful, presented in context, and provide a very amazing graphical representation of the text they accompany.I bought the loose leaf ver so I could carry around just a few chapters as I read them. This book is nearly 900 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    It's a amazing textbook, but the paperback ver is in black and white print. For a biology textbook, that's a beautiful poor method to look at figures...I wouldn't recommend the paperback version, unless you are really on a budget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    Great! Giving it a 4 star though as the diagrams were in black and white. I had expected them to be in color just as the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular and Cellular Biology of Viruses []  2020-1-31 2:17

    Love this book! Written for the college or post-grad student with a background in biology but limited knowledge of viruses. Very well written, especially considering how dry textbooks tend to me. I am using it as a reference in veterinary school. Not your average textbook!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    Bummer that Garland was purchased by CRC and no longer supporting film archives for students. When i follow the link from the Notes to Reader section to access the 174 films accompanying the e-textbook. I keep this conglomerate buyout message of dropped support. negative points to Garland and your fresh buyer CRC for your lack of attention to this necessary part of the book! I sent CRC tech help an email asking for a fresh link to the movies. I will modernize this review if they obtain back to me (2/1/2019)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell (Sixth Edition) []  2020-1-16 5:9

    MBoC 5, arguably one of the best science textbooks of all time, has been dethroned by this, its successor, the 6th edition. This textbook is my prized posession, the most necessary textbook that I own. It is fabulously detailed, it would take a lifetime to read the whole thing at once (though that's not the point). As usual, the cartoonish technical figures and pathways are sprinkled with some nicely illustrated watercolor/pastel drawings of proteins, and from time to time we obtain to see some X-ray crystallography and actual histological stains/samples to provide the real-life version; these are all very high-quality as have come to be expected from texts published by Garland Sciences (the best in my opinion, wholly due to their oversight of this magnificent book). The chapter titles and some other materials have been completely overhauled from the 5th GREAT thing they did with this ver was including the final five chapters (rather than have them as a supplement), which are a mix of developmental biology and immunology, very necessary topics; this is nice because in the 5th edition, they included PDFs of the final five chapters on a CD included with the text which created it somewhat bersome to access them if you didn't wish to print them out or something like that. There are only 24 chapters in the 6th edition (there are 25) which comes from them combining two chapters into one, and it is significantly larger and heavier than the 5th because they bunched in those latest parts. Nonetheless, I think it's a fair trade for the accessibility I was not used to.A huge downside to this, though, was that no CD supplement is included in this 6th edition. I loved the extras that came on this CD from the 5th, as they included pre-made powerpoint presentations and figure/illustration galleries for ALL the chapters, an awesome feature that created it super simple to contain figures in presentations and lectures I give. They recycled most of the figures and illustrations from the 5th into this one, but I am still missing out on a few, and anyone who buys the 6th without having the 5th will have no access to these things at all- what a bummer! They should be included for educators to use! I might be going off here for no reason, though, as they might let access to these things on the GS website...I haven't looked into that, but if you only have the 6th edition and wish to use the figures in lectures/presentations, you might wish to look into conclusion, MBoC 6 is a spectacularly well-written and detailed textbook that is at the pinnacle of cell and molecular biology resources, second to none in the field. As a PhD student and educator in the field, it has my highest recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    This is going to be a review of the Kindle version, and specifically the Kindle ver on an (original) to the book itself, this is the best textbook I've ever seen and is just a must-possess item for anyone with the slightest interest in biology.And, wonder of wonders, the Kindle ver turns out to be a MUST HAVE even at the e print ver of MBotC comes in two editions, the regular ver and the Reference Edition which contains an additional five printed chapters (they're available as free PDF downloads if you only have the regular edition). The description of the Kindle ver suggests that it only includes the 1392 pages of the regular edition, which would be incredibly annoying because why should you have to separately download five PDFs as a supplement to an already electronic book?But it turns out that the Kindle ver DOES contain the full 1600 pages of the Reference Edition with all 25 chapters! The cover graphic lacks the "Reference Edition" text, but all the pages are there, and the page numbers match up exactly with the printed Reference Edition. So immediately the price starts to look a lot better when you compare it to the Reference Edition.But it gets e book looks gorgeous! It looks *exactly* like the printed book, and a full screen page on an iPad is very readable even though it's a couple inches (diagonally) smaller than the actual book. One of my worries was whether it could look anything like as sharp and readable as the true book. Well, it looks *perfect*! In fact, most of the illustrations are actually vector-based, and remain perfectly sharp as you zoom in. This also means that the book will probably look INCREDIBLE on a retina-display iPad as the text and most graphics will be able to render at the higher resolution I would expect. Even the raster-based illustrations are included at a very high DPI such that they too look as sharp as in the printed edition.What more could you want? Well, the book is fully searchable which adds tremendous value over the dead-tree version. Also of course it weighs nothing compared to something like nine pounds for the printed Reference is is a book that justifies buying an iPad or Kindle Fire just on its of the best (not to mention heaviest) books ever becomes the best Kindle book TE! that you MUST have an iPad, Kindle Fire, or PC/Mac to view this book, you cannot even install it on a regular (eInk) Kindle because you need a huge color screen to view it on.G.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell, 5th Edition []  2020-7-18 19:32

    Though it is not perfect, this book is certainly better than any of the other cell biology textbooks I've read. It was a needed book for a graduate level cell biology course that I am taking and so far I am quite satisfied with it. It is current, well written, and has a lot to offer both the beginner and the expert in cell biology. I will certainly be keeping this book after the semester is over as I think that it is an perfect reference on the st of the subjects in this book are covered in amazing detail with a lot of really well chosen references, and I think that for a lot of the topics covered you would not be able to search anything better outside the journals. The text is clear and carefully written so you do not have to continually have to go back and refer to other chapters to understand fresh information. The figures are generally clear and simple to understand, though there are some that I feel they over-complicated such that the point they were trying to create was not entirely obvious. Also, some of the sections that are more chemistry or physics similar are a bit superficial and include some over simplified ogies that are not entirely accurate. I think that this book does a amazing job with the more speculative information, and for the most part tries to create it clear what is known with more certainty vs. what is currently more just e one thing that really bothers me about this book and the only reason that I am not giving it 5 stars is that, as others have said, the latest 5 chapters are not actually included in this ver except as PDF files on the included DVD. If you wish to have the complete 5th edition of this textbook you must purchase the `reference edition', which costs substantially more than the already very expensive normal version. They claim that they did this to create the book more `portable', although I am guessing it is really to save the publisher cash on printing as the book is already quite huge and I don't think that including the latest five chapters would really create that much difference as far as portability was concerned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (7th Edition) []  2020-5-27 18:42

    Amazing review of of all pertinent Molecular Biology for the Graduate and Medical School Level

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    Relatively low print in black & white, but amazing enough for an awesome price. Hard cover color ver is very expensive, and I think this ver is a amazing alternative for students with a low budget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    For my Molecular Genetics Class the Hardcover book was so expensive at my school shop and online, yet I only paid $16 for this, and I’ve used it to earn an A in the course! This helped me so much and is REALLY worth the money, I’m amazed I got it for that cheap!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    I purchased the used loose leaf ver and was disappointed to search that there were 2 chapters missing. Want I would have noticed this sooner. Just wanted to leave this review to remind others to check and create sure all the pages are included as soon as you keep it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Gene (2-downloads) []  2020-9-2 18:42

    Not very informative. Some info was unclear and debatable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular and Cellular Biology of Viruses []  2020-1-31 2:17

    Thank heaven for Dr. Phoebe Lostroh who has written the most magnificent book on virology that I have ever read, and I have been a passionate student of virology for forty is beautifully illustrated text teaches us the mechanisms, the elegance and the beauty of these creations unlike any book I have ever read.I would only urge you to buy the hardcover text as this book will be a gem in your library for a lifetime.I am usually a harsh critic, but the viruses of Earth owe a debt of gratitude to such a talented omas Weisman MD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Molecular Basis of Cancer E-Book []  2020-8-31 18:14

    Very amazing book to learn basics of cancer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Molecular Basis of Cancer E-Book []  2020-8-31 18:14

    👌

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Molecular Basis of Cancer E-Book []  2020-8-31 18:14

    It helps to have "P53 That cracked the Cancer code" to see a singular thread also but this then opens up on Cancer's sneakiness and resistance to cure. Test DaVita's "Death of Cancer" book too. I'm on my 10th cycle of chemotherapy with a colectomy so it's true for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Molecular Basis of Cancer E-Book []  2020-8-31 18:14

    Perfect starting text, very well organized and written, amazing illustrations but the citation listing is tations within a chapter are a number only but the full citation is not necessarily listed at the end of that chapter, so lots of fishing...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Just as expected, thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    I bought the book then went to Google Play to download the kindle application but I obtain a notice saying it is not compatible with my device. I use an Acer Chromebook for school, if I can't read the e-book on my Chromebook then it's useless to me. I will be requesting a reversal of the transaction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    I have read a lot of molecular biology textbooks, and this is by far the best. However, that's only if you have the prerequisite knowledge. No professor should use this text for a class that does not require genetics and biochemistry as a prereq. That's really real for any class that focuses entirely on molecular biology. I agree with the reviewer that said this text would be best for a course for juniors and seniors. With that said, this is one of the best textbooks I have ever read and really trains the reader to think like a scientist. Necessary experiments are presented in detail in the text. Knowing how we know what we know makes it much easier to remember the material, and makes the chapters read like a story. The author has an clear and engaging writing style that makes the beauty of this topic shine dly, the most latest edition of this book is from 2011, so it really needs an update. The field has advanced rapidly, especially in the zone of noncoding RNA. The author has retired, but I really hope he or the publisher have plans for a fresh edition. I have never read a textbook in the life sciences that has this sort of detailed experimental approach (if you have, please recommend one to me!). Hopefully I'll check Amazon next year and be pleasantly surprised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    School book purchased for my vet school daughter. She said it was what she required and received in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    So the actual content is good, however the method to access the product on kindle is screwed-up. Even if you purchase the product you can only activate it on one device. I tried to remove it from the one device it is activated on and add it to another, however for some reason now I am unable to view it on any device. Not worth the $110.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Nice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    yay

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Molecular Biology, 4th Edition, by Robert F. WeaverAs an undergraduate science student in college, I understand the importance of having the right textbook that will effectively complement what is being provided during course lectures. To provide a small background information, this textbook was needed for a third-year molecular biology course at a major public research university. According to the two instructors of the course, Molecular Biology by Weaver would be extremely thorough in covering all of the major subjects in a one-quarter molecular biology course. If being used as a stand-alone textbook for students trying to gain an understanding of an introduction to molecular biology, Weaver's Molecular Biology might not be the ideal solution. Although I do not intend to discourage other students from purchasing this textbook, I should offer a warning that students should be prepared to spend a decent amount of time reading through sections of this textbook. I should note at this point that I have very mixed feelings about this writing this review, I am going to assume that the target audience for this textbook will be third- to fourth-year life science undergraduate majors or graduate students. As I previously stated, this textbook is by no means a CliffsNotes for understanding molecular biology. A lot of of the major experiments carried out in the field of molecular biology were discussed in detail in this book, notably the Meselson-Stahl experiment that demonstrated the semi-conservative replication mechanism for DNA. To be more precise, it is the experimental molecular biology portions of this textbook that are extremely detailed. A cursory examination of this book will indicate to any reader that there is an abundance of diagrams and illustrations. From a student's point of view, I search this to be particularly useful in that I am not only a more visual-oriented learner, but a lot of of the diagrams provide decent summaries of what is trying to be conveyed by huge blocks of of the major nuisances I found in this textbook are the seemingly redundant chapter summaries. After each section within a chapter a short summary consisting of a few sentences is offered to provide a type of overview for what was just discussed. At the end of each chapter, the "Chapter Summary" is simply a compilation of all of the summaries from each section in that chapter: essentially the chapter summaries are copy-paste collections of the section summaries. I cannot emphasize how infuriating it is when attempting to study for an exam and when reviewing only to encounter a large block of text. Allow this serve as a warning for those using this book to study for an upcoming exam: unless you make your own personalized summaries of each chapter, be prepared to beautiful much read through entire chapters again in the supposed be fair, the often excess amount of info provided for some sections of the book are useful. The Meselson-Stahl experiment, when first presented to me in lecture, was particularly confusing, for one reason or another. The author went to amazing lengths to elucidate this experiment within the book. A lot of of the sections on DNA replication, transcription, and translation were very thorough and well-written, and provided the much-needed clarification from confusing lecture an undergraduate science major in his third year, I am willing to accept that an undergraduate education is meant to provide an introduction of sorts to a particular field of study while simultaneously attempting to educate you in the humanities. However, this textbook is what I would deem to be much more advanced for any undergraduate course. By no means is the author at fault for providing an perfect introduction to molecular biology, but course instructors and other personnel at the departmental level should be more weary of selecting textbooks such as this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology []  2020-1-22 20:49

    Amazing detail for graduate level molecular biochemistry course. Helpful for solving discrepancies covered during lecture.Would recommend the book as more than just a bookshelf placeholder. Diagrams were helpful and for the material the class covered, the sections were well written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    Informative and engaging. The best textbook I have ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yeast: Molecular and Cell Biology []  2020-10-15 18:44

    So far a amazing text. I [email protected]#$%! was more infection based than Saccharomyces based though...or that there was clear indication of what will be covered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    Amazing book! Created the course flow really nicely and simplified complex material. Got me an A in molecular biology!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    Arrived as described, but of course, we didn't even use the book -_-

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    Exactly what I required and it is much cheaper than purchasing the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    Arrived on time. brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    The book I received was completely missing the front cover. I am very disappointed in the quality of book I received, especially considering the amount I paid for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    The book came with a tear of the spine. But can fix it anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    Amazing book! Exactly what I was looking for!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Principles and Practice []  2020-1-16 15:57

    nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    Helpful textbook

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    Amazing supplement to the book, but not the best resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    Literally had my Professor (Graduate Level) Use 50% of her exam questions from this book. IT SAVED MY GRADE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Structure and Dynamics of Genomes and Proteomes []  2020-6-25 18:45

    At first it may seem like this book is hard to read, but it will grow on you if you remain focused.I [email protected]#$%! had a various organization. Example: The first page may suggest that you look at figure 1.1, which you might have to search 3 pages later, which I search distracting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    This is the "Problems Book" that goes with the sixth edition of Molecular Biology of the Cell. Doesn't sound all that exciting does it? But actually the issues book is just as fascinating and informative as the textbook it's a companion for. And there have been enormous improvements over the previous (fifth) edition here too. I've been working my method through the fresh edition of MBoC and loving it, and just got around to taking a look at this fresh issues book and e issues typically begin out with an interesting fact and then ask you a question about it that will require some creative thought. The background info provided for each question is often fascinating and goes into all sorts of locations with detail that there isn't room for in the main textbook. Here's an example question from p.6:"1-45: Giardiasis is an acute form of gastroenteritis caused by the protozoan parasite Giardia lambila. Giardia is a fascinating eukaryote; it includes a nucleus but no mitochondria and no recognizable endoplasmic reticulum or Golgi apparatus--one of the very rare examples of such a cellular organization among eukaryotes. This organization might have arisen because Giardia is an ancient lineage that separated from the rest of eukaryotes before mitochondria were acquired and internal membranes were developed. Or it might be a stripped-down ver of a more standard eukaryote that has lost these structures because they are not important in the parasitic lifestyle it has adopted. How might you use nucleotide sequence comparisons to distinguish between these alternatives?"In the previous fifth edition, a CD-ROM was provided with the book that included PDF chapters of the answers for each issue chapter in the book. This was inconvenient at best. But now for the sixth edition all the issues AND all the answers are printed in the book. You obtain over 400 pages of issues followed by another 400+ pages of answers, so you can read and think about a issue and then flip to the respond to read their explanation. This gives the printed ver of the book a significant advantage over the Kindle ver in my option, since it's much easier to flip back and forth in a physical book than it is in the Kindle reader application (if only they could provide active links between the questions and answers...)The answers are as extensive as the questions, and provide lots of extra interesting information, history, etc. The respond to question 1-45 above takes up half a page and contains a paper ere are several styles of problem. Each section includes one ore more of the following: primary vocabulary (match the term to its definition), True/False questions, Thought Issues (as the example above, and there are lots of these), Calculations that ask you to figure out some (usually fairly simple) quantitative value to illustrate some fact about the spatial or temporal globe of the cell, Data Handling questions that show info in terms of experiments and then ask similar questions, Medical Links questions that connect the primary science more to human clinical practice, and fresh MCAT style questions that consist of a passage of text followed by ere are plenty of illustrations and diagrams, some repeated from the textbook and others original, in both the issues and answers e book is now printed in color and this greatly improves the usability of the book and its figures, and it substantially improves the look and feel of the book overall.If you wish to see more before you decide to buy you can obtain the first 47 pages or so via the Kindle Preview option if you have a smartphone or PC/Mac Kindle reader app. The answers are all in the second half of the book so the preview will just present you more questions as well as the front-matter of the book. The Kindle ver is a "Print Replica" so it's an exact reproduction of the physical book (like a PDF).Besides the Issue Book's own questions and answers, it also contains answers to all the end of chapter questions from the main is book is as much a source of fresh knowledge as it is a method to try your knowledge of the topic matter in the textbook. You can think of it as another nearly 1,000 pages of fascinating molecular biology presented in a Socratic style. Like the textbook itself it's extremely well written and very approachable, and is one of those rare "wow" book 's amazing if you wish to learn and think more about cell biology (and life in general), as well as its applications to human health, and even if you've just been assigned this as an extra book for a class using the main textbook then I think you'll really have fun it.G.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    The classic, but it's a load to haul around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    I was getting A's on my tests without this book but decided to obtain it half-way through my course. I still obtain A's. What's the difference? I study much more efficiently and I'm able to save a lot of time. Why? The respond book helps you to remember the huge subjects and focus on thinking in a method that makes everything stick effectively. You can learn a lot from the book by just studying it on your own and drawing or however else you learn, but learning in this test-taking way is unbelievable and it allows you to grasp what you really should be understanding out of each chapter. The only downside is flipping so far between questions and answers. obtain some sticky tabs to quickly alleviate this issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    Simply put, if you are considering this book, then you also should have purchased Alberts Molecular Biology of the Cell as well. One goes with the other. Highly recommended. See my review of Albert's book as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    Amazing companion to the book. Obtain you thinking

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    This book literally is a critical thinking machine. However the annoying part about this solution manual is that the answers are all the method at the back of the textbook. I ripped my book in two for this reason. The issues are super difficult and sometimes even the answers are hard to understand. The weakness in this book is that the explanations can be quite convoluted also there are some questions that are too low quality and honestly quite stupid. Generally speaking though, if one wants to learn more about experimental designs and questions of that nature, this book is for you. There are definition questions, true/false, math based issues and experimental problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology of the Cell: The Problems Book []  2020-7-6 18:42

    Gavin Scott wrote a review for this book too. Read it, it's very good. I disagree with Mr Scott on one point. With the Kindle edition and a PC, you can look at the question and the respond both at the same time, something you can't do with the paper edition (but I suppose book + PC is just as amazing as Kindle + PC). In any case, by using bookmarks I search that I can go back and forth between q and a nearly as quickly as with a paper book. I have only finished chapter 5 but I assume the rest of the book is more of the same, so I am confident that when I do finish the book, I will not have anything to add or subtract from this e issues in the book are split into categories:Definitions: tests your memoryTrue/False: tests your memory plus understandingThought Problems: By far the best part of the book. I will go into this in detail later in the culations: Numerical problems. There is a lot more hand-holding here than I am used to from reading physics books, so these issues seem simple to me. If your math background is poor, these will support shore it up, but for me, it's more like eating Handling: This is the meat of science. How to connect theory and ical Links and MCAT style: These are issues of unique interest to students in the health sciences. That doesn't contain me except in the sense that I am interested in all about those thought problems. Any book I ever read went something like this (very contrived) example:The ATP (adenosine triphosphate) is a molecule containing three phosphates in a chain. Recall that tri- is the Greek prefix meaning three. ADP (adenosine diphosphate) has the same structure but with two phosphates (di- is the Greek prefix for two). AMP (adenosine monophosphate has one phosphate (mono- is for one).OK, you just learned something. Let's see what you know.Q: How a lot of phosphates are there in each of ATP, ADP, and AMP?Anyone who understood the paragraph would have no problem answering the question and even without understanding, a amazing memory would suffice. In this book, the order is reversed. The question comes first (nothing prevents you from reading the answers first and then reading the questions). Maybe you knew the answer, so you learned nothing new. Perhaps you have no idea what the letters stand for. It would be a beautiful lucky guess if you got it right. The purpose of this question is not to see what you have memorized, but to create you think. After all, you may not know what the letters stand for, but you know that they stand for something. What, what, what do they stand for? Because my background in chemistry and biology are weak, I search that I have no possibility of getting the right respond in a lot of of the cases. In other cases, it's because I didn't completely absorb what I read in the book. So what. I think about each issue for a amazing while before I look at the answer. In the end it's no various than if I had looked at the respond first and then the question. I learned the same amount of material. What is various is that I thought about it for a while. A lot of times I have no clue but I cogitate for a while just the same. Other times I think I have a reasonable answer, but it's wrong. Even when I obtain the respond right, my thought process tends to be shallow compared to the respond in the book. However, as I go a long I search more and more that my respond matches what's in the book. I am getting better at it and perhaps that's a effect of getting used to the process in a wax on, wax off kind of way. Hooray, I'm learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Molecular Biology: Structure and Dynamics of Genomes and Proteomes []  2020-6-25 18:45

    Used this for class. Has alot of info but not exactly user friendly when it comes down to studying.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386