Read mortal geometry reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all mortal geometry reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    Like some of the other reviewers I was just strolling looking for amazing movies to watch. I had no idea after watching the trailer what it would be about. I thought it would be just some metahuman type film. But when i found out that it was Norwegian I got more excited as a major part of my ancestry is from Norway. It is slow building but I felt it had just enough going on to hold my interest. If you have watched another film called, "Arrival," I strongly recommend this one. I think it was awesome story with well done CGI, and solid hero development with an interesting take on Norwegian legends, lore and history (history to an extent).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    I came across this movie by accident and decided to give it a 's not a poor film. In fact, I enjoyed it. It's different, beautiful good, and not poor for the e only thing I didn't like was the latest min of the film. Felt like there would be a sequel and if that's the case, then I'll watch it when it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    This film was phenomenal. It broke away from all the Hollywood drivel. It does follow the predictable path of a character learning who he is , like Luke Skywalker. Really amazing for the acting and the emotional connection to the stars even the sheriff. The ending has a huge twist and I loved. If you study eastern meta physics and Hindu deities you will love the Norwegian stroll thru mysticism and religion in this movie. The ending created me love the film even more. If you like slow moving build up with lots of building of expectation, like Hitch, buy this movie.

    0  


    Add your opinion on mortal geometry or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    4 stars? I don't think so, I am left wanting more from this movie. It wasn't what I was expecting, I just fresh it was Aliens or something LOL.... I rarely leave a rating or comment on an Amazon film but 5 star for this one and a one star for not giving more I WANT MORE...........

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    From the trailer, I knew not to expect an action flick but I do like the twist on a classic. I do not wish to spoil anything with this review, so I will not mention my favorite moments. I like how the relationship does obtain built between the male and female lead. It feels organic to me, not just the throwing together of 2 people but something that was built. I am a large fan of films like this. I saw mentioned in another comment, the film Arrival (another slow burn but immensely enjoyable) but I wish to mention another related movie: Chronicle (2012). The slow build up to a strong climax. Both films demonstrate to me something that is lacking in most cinema: consequences for one's actions.I would highly recommend checking this film ditional props for handling of the language differences since this seems to be a Norwegian production.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    This is an awesome spin on the story spun by Marvel only a handful of years ago. However, instead of cotton candy character tales of saving the globe as a drab girl's heart goes pitty pat over a heartthob; this film was laced with true human feelings and struggle over a power not comprehended and misunderstood. I sincerely hope there is a part 2 to this, and this is the begin of an awesome series. The only allow down of this whole thing is sitting on the edge of my seat asking "what comes next?" Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    Disappointed please save your money. The film has perfect unique effects. Seems to have by the description an interesting story. This film could have been a amazing Syfy but the story starts out keeping your attenion but halfway through the film is stalls out. The ending is not good the film just stops no real ending. I truly suggest waiting to see. It won't be too long you been able to watch this for free you might like it more if you don't have to pay cash for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    I could have managed my expectations knowing that this was just an introduction to a longer story, never meant to stand on its own. I assume that is the case, so including "part one" in the title would have been a amazing idea. I wouldn't have been as disappointed. I detected no chemistry at all between the 2 leads. There were interesting moments in the storyline that never really went anywhere, just as there were some interesting characters and interactions that didn't develop. I couldn't sustain my interest and by the time there was twenty mins left in the movie I just wanted it to be over. Then things got a small bit interesting and it ended on a cliffhanger. The whole thing seems like a very not good cinematic rendition of a video game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    Very interesting perspective, better to watch without knowing much. If you like slower suspenseful movies, with attractive scenes/landscapes and not following typical american tropes, watch this :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal []  2020-11-24 20:41

    I really enjoyed this movie. Amazing story telling. Gorgeous scenery. Not convoluted.I didn't wish the film to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry [App]  2018-2-11 13:0

    Nice to play ! Pamaentertainment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Feb 2019 modernize created heavy changes to their shop which significantly hinders fresh and old players ability to progress and take part in their weekly happenings due to hero based restrictions. New players can no longer reliably create a solid bronze/silver base which allowed early income for the gold hero grind. Their changes are heavily forcing RNG as a cash grab from whales.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    You killed all the fun in this android game with 2.0. What is the UX when you destroyed all the experience? Lagging, slow on a Galaxy Note 9? The graphics are horrible and you utterly destroyed the store, @#$%ing on long time players. One star and uninstalled it for the first time in 4 years since it came.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    The modernize are so a lot of problems. Too laggy cannot play the method i played before the movements of characters very slow im bored playing like this. The graphics are not good, In shop so a lot of modification i dont like it especially the hero cards. The faction battle i think this not realtime multi player? Scourge baraka challenge how can we finish that we need LIU KANG GOLD you created him DIAMOND. The modernize are TRASH..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    I give it a 2 star just because on the charecter challenge turret I have completed 3 turrets 2ce now and every time I begin that android game back up all my progress is gone like I never started it. love the android game how ever I'm gonna test one more time if my progress is not gonna let me to progress I don't think I'll hold this game... fix problem and I'll hold playing and give a 5 star as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    After This fresh modernize i am unable to log in with my WB Acc and access my android game data. Also provide an option to log in with WB Acc at the begin of android game to restore previous android game data instead of doing all those formalities and Tutorials.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Worst modernize till date. Graphics appear like designers were immature image guys. Characters appear in various dimension than background. Lighting effects on characters is messed up. Graphics are laggy. You should have introduced fresh characters in older android game only. Even touch response is messed up in fresh modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    I was hesitant to read this book after reading some of the reviews. I decided to trudge ahead because I really enjoyed reading Dreamhunter and Dreamquake. I am so glad I decided to read this book - in fact, I would love for there to be a second book because while the main story line was beautiful much wrapped up, there is still so much story to tell!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    Got right on side with Canny and traveled through her mysterious story. Felt really there. Drawn on to the end. Reading 'Wake' now. What an extraordinary mix of maths and magic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Discipline []  2020-12-8 19:1

    Another amazing book by Dr. Ahn. It maybe short book, but worth to read. Whether the person is a martial artist or not, the person will learn to be motivated and disciplined. Also the book talks about going through difficulties but achieving goals and and become a better person (morph). Thank you, Dr. Ahn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    This is a timely book for me because my parents are very elderly (94 and 88) and determined to stay in their home until the latest possible second. After reading this thought provoking book that teaches so much I am thinking that it may be possible for them to stay until the end which could be next week or a few years from now. It's going to take some organizing, but it looks like it is worth some research and time. It makes me sad to see how much of their independence they have lost, but they still have fun their lives as limited as they ere is a tendency to treat old people like kids which I realize now is usually very wrong. My dad is a diabetic and we (my siblings and I) have told him over and over that his diet of sugary cereal or cinnamon rolls and orange juice for breakfast and light shop brand fruit yogurt with grapes and three cookies for lunch is not what he should be eating. He acts surprised every time we mention this, but doesn't change a thing because I now understand that he wants the independence of eating as he pleases. He has lost so much--can barely hear or see or walk, that he needs these very little pleasures to continue. I imagine he doesn't see the point in giving up anything else because he has so small left. My mother's memory is going and she has COPD, but somehow has lots of obtain up and go. She does a lot for my dad even though I suspect she is the sicker one. Being Mortal is making me think about the best method to support my parents which will probably begin with asking them what they thing that surprised me completely was Dr. Gawande's statement that genetics is only a little part of reaching old age. Here I've been thinking that because my parents have lived so long that reaching old age is probably a no brainer for me. I have to think about that possiblity some more--a lot is book has some touching stories about very sick people and how their lives ended. Unfortunately for a lot of sick people the medical community is driven to act, but not necessarily to do what is best for the individual. It seems to me that they've forgotten "the do no harm" part of being a doctor. It seems to me it does hurt people to ruin the time sick people have left.A very through provoking book that will ultimately create me think about what I wish when the end is near. I want everyone would read it; especially medical people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    I love this book so much i bought a copy for my mother's basic care physician, neurologist, memory care manager and preacher. When someone you love is dying, how do you even start to know how to think about it? This book has been a rock under my feet. However, it's largest weakness is in it's lack of coverage of dementia patients. What do you do when the answers to "what is a amazing day in your current state?" changes in ways no one can predict and they cant articulate? What do you do when you ask them if they understand their condition and limitations and they have no clue they have dementia? These are my struggles with my parents (both have dementia). At the same time, there was still a lot of useful advise about dying. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    Now that I've finished this book, I am even more convinced that it should be needed reading for all adults. Don't wait until you're older, or caring for someone, or need care yourself. Read it now. Understand what's coming, what the true problems are, what kind of priorities we should be setting, and, most of all, what is POSSIBLE. Face the future - for yourself or loved ones - without illusion or fear.I'm not going to give a blow-by-blow rundown, but rather I'll say this: Dr. Atul Gawande's book gives the reader history, medical information, hope, moving real tales, courage, and wisdom which we all need as we walk through our lives.I can honestly say I've never been afraid of dying - it's an inevitability. But if I had been this would have eased those fears. For me, it adds to my body of knowledge and understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    I've been playing this android game for 4 years now constantly. Didn't obtain much of the fresh modernize experience cause your servers couldn't load up my acc with all the diamond cards, golden cards and most equipment, the hundreds of souls and my millions of coins. i had to delete the android game to reinstall it for zone issues.. which i have been doing it for a lot of times in the past with no issues at all. Now i have my account's banner level 60 BUT with only a few bronze cards, and nothing else, all gone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    why is the modernize always in a huge size.. everytime. loving the fresh menu, ui it is amazing looking. you guys still need to tweak it more tho, seeing loading dragon symbol everywhere, it's not fun. Bugs everywhere, e.g. Acc not leveling up, sometimes it obtain stuck after 4th 8th war of challenge mode, lag on mini games? really?, and i found out i cannot play it anymore if were to travel because of always online mode and the more i play the worst it is getting. please fix it soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    modernize 2.0 doesn't seem to be fully optimized, lagging, missing pixels, color distortion are few of the things ive noticed in the hour ive played so far. hero shop got a not good down grade and time gates are everywhere. 7/13/18 review: 5 stars, The android game I've played the most on my phone. Amazing all around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    This modernize sucks, really. I've done everything from reinstalling the android game to changing my password and i still can't access my account. Tried logging in, my profile is retrieved. Accessing it is the problem. The android game just loads for ages. Please fix this. Update: Guess this is where my mortal Kombat mobile journey ends. I've been trying to log into my WB acc for over 10 hours (yes, thats how much I love the game), but all to no avail. Goodbye Emperor Liu and Undead Hunter Johnny Cage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Before the modernize the android game was doing amazing and I had three quest running then when I played again it told me to modernize and I did. Then I collected my quest and did the jade challenge and it froze so I had to restart the game. I got on the people I used in the jade quest had no energy like the should but my android game rest the jade quest and the normal quest so I had to collect them again and it only added to my souls. So ever time the android game restarts so do the quest and challenge's I did before the update.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    sweet Bo Rai Chi, what the hell did you do to my favorite game? the slick menu & upgraded to Dianond characters was a nice touch, but the android game is slow, the graphics hang, can't play offline, only three characters available at a time in the shop (are you serious?). As nice as it was to obtain some favs upgraded to diamond, how the hell do you obtain them fused now. Got all these thousands of souls & only three characters available to fuse till the shop refreshes in 12 hours. You done messed up🤬

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Android game was amazing before the MK11 update. Now the framerate is really poor when battling and I've optimized my phone for Framerate and decreased Graphics. The fresh UI looks and feels really good. I would have given it 5 stars if it's framerate were better and you could transfer your IOS save to Android device and reverse since I started on an IPhone and now have an Android.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    with modernize 2.0 the shop is just horrible, you cannot purchase unlocked challenge characters. Also performace is low, especially wars are very laggy. On the positive side the application size is halved and the battery consumption has been reduced greatly (probably because the application is running in low graphics, which it shouldn't).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Excellent balance before latest update. Every change has been created to force you to buy MORE souls as if there wasn't enough incentive already. Even the 'upgrade' of certain golds to diamond characters is to disable you using them in challenges which require golds. Disgustingly sneaky and greedy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    i can't login my main account...before modernize i logged into my secondary account...and now I'm unable to obtain back my main account. This is so not accepted i have invested a long time and cash in that i need it back. Android game is so messed up... graphics sucks...controls are crappy...all the smoothness is gone...it would've been better if u haven't updated it. Injustice 2 mobile is already a poor android game and now this android game is just like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    For people who are looking for an simple read, with pleasant and likable characters, this is not a book for for the items I liked. The characters are complex, and non-comedic and highly dysfunctional relationships abound. Canny Mochrie (her true first name is Agnes) is beautiful cold for most of the story (you search out there is a amazing reason for that, if you stick it out), maybe more than a tad odd (or at least has not good communication skills), and she is also excessively smart. The depiction of magic is intriguing, because rather being blatant spells left, right, and center, it takes a while for a reader (and the characters) to figure out that the magic is a thing. Unlike a lot of YA fantasy novels that I have read, the characters are created to dwell on things that characters in other books would gloss over. Also, there is mystery, which is solved through sheer persistence rather than classic Nancy-Drew-ing. Set in an alternate globe in 1959, the latest history of that particular portion (apparently it is supposed to be like Fresh Zealand) is woven into the story. Mortal Fire is very various from a majority of YA fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    This was my first time reading an Elizabeth Knox novel, but I know for certain that it won't be my last. Quite popular in her (and my) country of Fresh Zealand, Knox is best known for her adult novel The Vintner's Luck and her YA duology Dreamhunter and Dreamquake. "Mortal Fire" is set in the same globe as the Dreamhunter books, one that's so related to our own that only a few name changes and the presence of hidden magic differentiates e story is set in 1950s Southland, a huge island republic in the South Pacific, and our protagonist is Canny Mochrie, a sixteen year old math genius, forced to accompany her stepbrother Sholto and his girlfriend Susan on a research project to the city of Massenfer. Sholto has been instructed by his father (a writer and professor) to collect testimonies on a somewhat strange mining accident that took put there thirty years nny has to go because her mother Sisema is returning to her home of the Shackle Islands where she's to keep a medal for her actions during WWII (she paddled a canoe carrying two wounded soldiers from the Shackle Islands to Southland, saving their lives from Japanese occupiers). Canny is reluctant to accompany her stepbrother as it means leaving her best mate Marli in hospital, slowly sucbing to polio.But once she reaches Zarene Valley, other things start to monopolize her attention. Not least is the strange Zarene family, which seems to be composed of the very old and the very young. She also realizes that what she calls the "Extra", a type of magic visible to only herself and which has the ability to manipulate reality, is being used by the Zarenes to hold hikers, wanderers, and other curiosity seekers from venturing too close to a strange house on the hill.What is inside the house that the Zarenes seem so determined to protect and contain? Canny makes it her business to search 's hard to really pin-point what it is that makes Mortal Fire so appealing, but there are three major facets to the novel that are worthy of praise. First of all, Knox's grasp of language is glorious. Often it's not so much a story as you *tell* that story which takes a book from amazing to great, and there were passages throughout Mortal Fire that created me sigh with envy and glee at how beautifully they conveyed ideas and descriptions, such as:"A silence came into the room and, like a cat, turned in a circle a few times, trampling down all arguments to create itself comfortable before settling."Or:"When her dark fingers flashed, the bees calmed and time itself seemed to slow till the late afternoon sunlight was as thick, lucent, and golden as honey."Secondly, Knox has a unbelievable grasp of how to use the supernatural to shape her story. It's not just something that informs the world-building, but is an intrinsic part of shaping characterization and plot. If you're a fan of Margaret Mahy (especially The Changeover,the Haunting and The Tricksters) you'll love the method that Knox infuses the strange and unbelievable into daily life, conveying magic with a matter-of-fact tone that does nothing to rob it of its beauty and mystery. As Canny learns to wield it we learn more about herself in the process, for its existence has a profound result on her background and abilities.Which leads to the third component of "Mortal Fire" that makes it so engaging: Canny herself. Knox referred to her at a seminar I attended as "a female Odysseus" in regards to the method Canny tricks and lies her method through the obstacles in her path (much to the stress of her long-suffering stepbrother). She is an incredibly smart teenager, and Knox is equally clever enough to *show* rather than tell us this. A reader has to pay close attention to what Canny thinks, says and does if they wish to hold up with her, and as all the strewn pieces of the mystery start to come together, it becomes all the more satisfying when we realize what she's been up to the whole so worth mentioning is that the book includes subtle flashes of insight into gender and race, such as how Canny is forced to downplay her mathematic skills by pretending to consult with her male companions at math competitions, or how her skin tone influences the method other characters answer to her, whether it be the curiosity of kids or the vague suspicion of certain short, "Mortal Fire" is a fascinating story, beautifully told, with a special heroine and an engrossing plot. It's also quite a thick book, so you can be assured of a few days worth of reading. I was hooked, and I'm not only looking forward to reading it again, but tracking down "Dreamhunter" and "Dreamquake" as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    Thanks to my son, and his upcoming marriage, now only two weeks away, I have become reacquainted with members of the community I was once a part: the medical one. At one social gathering I was talking with a medical resident who worked in an Emergency Room. I asked him if he had read Abraham Verghese’s  The Tennis Partner  which is set in nearby El Paso and involves an E.R. Resident and addiction. He hadn’t and said he would place it at the top of his reading list. He returned the book recommendation favor by introducing me to another American physician with origins in the Indian subcontinent: Atul is work is of particular interest for a couple of reasons: for the better part of a decade, at the commencement of my work in the medical field, I was in the field of geriatrics. And now, the problems of geriatrics, and empathy for “creaky bones” are no longer exclusively the concern with wande’s central thesis is that one of the most necessary questions of life – the method that it will end – is being handled quite poorly, with the “default option” being to prolong it, via medical technology. And this prolongation is versus the wishes of the vast majority of the patients, as well as their relatives. He commences with a description of a dying patient in literature – Leo Tolstoy’s  The Death of Ivan Ilyich (Bantam Classics) ). From there, like a lot of a physician, he moves on to different case histories. Notably, a number of these are ones that he has known personally, such as Alice Hobson, the grandmother of his wife-to-be. Hobson, like so a lot of others, has the strongest possible desire to live independently as long as possible: a lot of succeed for impressive periods, but eventually, as Gawande explains about complex mechanical systems, things eventually just “fall apart,” and even our built-in systems of redundancies are insufficient. Support is e author provides case histories of the efforts to provide that help. It is difficult to believe that the first “assisted living” facilities were built only in the 1980’s. Gawande info the work of Karen Brown Wilson in building the first one in Oregon. Another pioneer was Dr. Bill Thomas, a somewhat eccentric Harvard-educated family health physician-farmer who wanted to bring some life, literally, into nursing homes, via pets, other animals, and young ain, and yet again, Gawande raises the problem of the “difficult conversations.” What does the patient actually want? What are the tradeoffs? And when is it time to “let go”? A blunt-spoken nurse asks not how you are feeling, but what is your funeral home preference. The following passage particularly resonated: “We’ve made a multi-trillion-dollar edifice for dispensing the medical equivalent of lottery tickets – and have only the rudiments of a system to prepare patients for the near certainty that those tickets will not win. Hope is not a plan, but hope is our plan.”The latest chapter is entitled “courage.” Gawande demonstrated that with his frank discussion of the death of his father, who was also a physician, having emigrated from India to Athens, Ohio. He had an unusual and most difficult end-case scenario – a tumor within the spinal column. Even being within the medical field, it is difficult to get the care one desires. One physician suggested with treatment he could “…be back on a tennis court this summer.” As Gawande says: “…I was spitting angry that she would dangle that in front of my father.” Gawande would eventually take part of his father’s ashes to the very polluted Ganges River, take the ritualistic three sips of water from the river, and contract Giardia for his efforts.Another form of pollution is largely missing from Gawande’s account: “filthy lucre.” I believe that Gawande overlooks the huge financial incentives within the American medical establishment for unnecessarily prolonging life… he mentions the “lottery ticket,” as indicated above, but it really does deserve an entire chapter. And from my father’s medical treatment and death, I realized how that establishment carefully calculated insurance availability for “rehabilitation” at 100 days, and even though he was effectively brain-dead, dangled that same “tennis court” scenario to the family. Sure enough, he had 97 days of “potential.”Overall, an impressive work, and I will be reading other works of this humane, thoughtful and knowledgeable physician. 5-stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Kombat [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Mortal Kombat was one of the most popular, and controversial video android games of the 90s, so naturally, in 1995, Fresh Line Cinema released a live- action movie adaptation. When the movie was being advertised, several people were either excited for it, or skeptical due to Road Warrior being a total stinker, and since the movie was rated PG-13, which meant the violence and gore from the android game had to be toned down to appeal to the then-young MK fan base. Thankfully, all expectations were surpassed as Mortal Kombat actually turned out to be, believe it or not, a amazing video android game movie. Upon its release, the movie was, surprisingly, a box- office success, making it the first video android game adaptation to be successful both financially, and with fans, despite mixed reviews from critics (although Gene Siskel gave the film a thumbs up). To this day, it is considered one of the better android game to movie translations. Now, it's time to search out why that is the case. The movie succeeds by sticking to the plot of the first android game while incorporating elements from Mortal Kombat II. The plot itself is very related to Enter the Dragon (which I consider to be the greatest Martial Arts movie ever made), but with a supernatural twist to it, which is rather refreshing, and helps it stand on its own. Unlike Road Warrior where the focus was on Guile instead of Ryu and Ken (the original protagonists of that franchise), this film centers mostly around the Mortal Kombat game's original protagonist; Liu Kang. All of the characters from the first Mortal Kombat android game (as well as a few from MKII) are show in the film, and are given appropriate development, and screen time. The casting is also spot-on. This is one of the few adaptations of a video game, comic book, and cartoon present (at least one of the few I could think of) where all of the actors are cast perfectly. Christopher Lambert, and Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa are especially amazing as Rayden and Shang Tsung (respectively), they deliver the right amount of charisma without chewing the scenery. Linden Ashby also plays a amazing Johnny Cage since he brings the character's y personality to life, and delivers some of the best humor in this movie. But my favorite casting choice in the movie has to be Robin Shou as Liu Kang. Not only is Liu my favorite hero in the games, but Shou looks very much like the character, and makes you feel for him by showing his impulsiveness, and guilt over the death of his brother. It's a shame he didn't keep more starring cars after this movie, because I feel he is a capable actor, and Martial Artist. He definitely has more of a personality than Steven Seagal. While the film is rated PG-13, and doesn't include the huge amounts of gore from the game, it does create up for this zone with the huge amounts of Martial Arts action. The war scenes are very well done, and often emulate more of the Hong Kong style of war choreography, which was a refreshing change from most American action movies prior to this. They also incorporate several of the unique moves from the game, such as Liu Kang's bicycle kick, Scorpion's spear that comes out of his hand, etc., and they manage to create them look believable, and not embarrassing, unlike Road Fighter. The person who directed this film is Paul W.S. Anderson, and if that name sounds familiar, that's because this is the same man who would later go on to butcher Alien vs. Predator, and the Resident Evil movies. Despite his more latest efforts, he does a solid job directing this film. One of the powerful points of his direction (aside from how well he filmed the war scenes) is how he handled the film on a technical, and design level. The cinematography, set designs, and lighting are stylish, and hold in touch with the game's dark, and mystical atmosphere. The unique FX in the film are also beautiful cool, granted, they aren't exactly Terminator 2, or Jurassic Park, but they work fine for a movie released in 1995. Though not everything is CGI, the hero of Goro is a puppet, which still looks amazing to this day, and were made by unique FX masters Alec Gillis, and Tom Woodruff, Jr. Overall, Mortal Kombat is still a fun movie to watch. It created up greatly for Road Fighter, and in my opinion, it still is one of the best video android game films (right up there with Road Fighter: Assassin's Fist). It may not be Oscar winning material, but it is one of my private favorite movies, and as a large fighting android game fan, I couldn't be any more proud of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    I CAN'T GET IN! I just updated the application to Mortal Kombat Mobile it ran smoothly at first tho (not minding the reduced graphics) but just after i logged in my old account, it crashed (forced close) and i was trying again to begin the app, it can't. keeps on crashing. TRY TO SOLVE THIS ISSUE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    graphics are great! characters are phenomenal! info in the characters and backgrounds are amazing, especially for a mobile platform. kinda laggy on my s7 so hopefully the modernize fixes it. would like the ability to sell or trade bronze unused level up cards and help cards since i can't level up any further. controls are smooth and simple to remember for combos. amazing method to exercise ninja fingers. would like to see some updates w/ maybe combos, or specialty cards for various attacks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Having an audio issue with the fresh modernize where the melody won't play over top the "hitting audio," it just goes to an awkward silence while I'm beating on the opponent, then the melody comes back when I stop hitting them. Some of the UI is a small more unresponsive then normal, but I'm sure that will be tinkered with. Otherwise, amazing modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Fresh Modernize 😒. This fresh version, however promessing it may be, is lagging in all sences. Constantly crashing, not good selection of characters at the store. very laggy even on my Razer Phone running in performance mode. Some cool fresh features and some poor ones too. The performance is the assassin here, too a lot of bugs. Needs true attention from the development team.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Modernize 2.0 Review: In-Game lags are aweful. Isn't smooth and In-Game characters are too near to look at that you can only view the hero from head to knees majority of the fight. The arrows that appear after a primary attack combo sometimes don't react instantly after swiping and needs a very hard swipe but I know you will have upgrades to create it better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Rating it from 4 stars to 1 star!.I just updated the android game right now..I was excited to play the android game but my excitement turned into a large disappointment as the android game won't even begin after the loading just sends me back to my home screen! It used to play fine before modernize but now??You guys ruined such a attractive android game Devs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Very disappointed. I've been playing MK mobile for almost 5 years already and 'never had any cheat/hack on my acc but I lost all my resources after the update. All those resources I saved for years, GONE! Plus the longer loading time 😡

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    The android game lags a lot after the fresh modernize came out. If I begin the store, it lags and won't open. if I begin the challenge, it lags and also won't open. the video test is also quite slow and lags quite a bit. but when it doesn'@#$%!& beautiful cool. Can you please fix this? the android game is beautiful cool and it'll be nice if all works out nicely. And there's never been any issue with my phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    I can't run the android game after modernize when i come to main screen of the android game with war mode and so on... after few seconds later it closes force without error or anything else. I tried to reset my phone and still the same issue. ... Please fix this problem and i saw that other people have the same issue too. Otherwise i can't play the game... Please fix this problem We are waiting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    For me this novel was slow to obtain started, but I have come to trust Elizabeth Knox and indeed much of the seemingly b early material was important to the plot. I liked the conceptual globe of this novel and the sophisticated method in which its elements were woven through the story, which was rich in atmosphere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    First off I wish to say I don't think this is a 3 star book. It is both a 5 star book in locations and a zero star book in others. I found Mortal Fire to be a maddeningly slow read. It took me 2 weeks to finish and I can usually read a book in a day or two.I'd like to begin with the positive because I think Knox is a fascinating writer. She has given us a woman of color as a protagonist and that happens far too rarely. She paints a picture of culture and ethnicity that rings very true. Knox also has raised the bar on literary depiction of magic. I felt her descriptions were brilliant. As a sign language interpreter, I saw startling similarities in her drawing of signs with the hands to the joy of the deaf globe in the use of their visual language. The canon of magic in this book is without peer.Unfortunately, the book has a glacial pace that never really altered. Of the 436 pages of my advance reader copy, I think a decent editor could easily remove about 150 pages. I also really never came to care about the Zarenes, Marli, Canny's family or even Ghislain. With as much volume as this book had, I didn't feel the depth of hero or any warmth for any of them. They came across as flat and utility devices. There was a remoteness in Knox's portrayals that I could not obtain beyond.I did search the plot coherent from beginning to end and I did like the ending. I just cannot recommend this book as there was too much filler to war through to obtain to the story. It was a difficult book to read and a bigger challenge to review. I know few young adults who would search this an enjoyable read.Edited to add: the cover art is gorgeous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    Dr. Gawande writes that modern medicine can extend the limit of our mortality, but there is a finite boundary to that limit. This book is emotionally difficult because the reader and Dr. Gawande confront painful subjects that one is loath to consider: aging, frailty and death. Yet, these are essential stages of life and there are essential decisions that one must create at each can see the signs of aging as they appear on the outside: gray hair, age spots, and wrinkles. Dr. Gawande, a surgeon, also shares what he sees when he peers inside the body of an older patient. Each day some parts of the body die and are remade while others wear and change with constant use. What happens when the limitations of one's aging body require a change in one's lifestyle? There are now a lot of choices and Dr. Gwande rails versus settling for just safety and longevity, institutionalization and restriction. He relates the history of nursing homes and visits first-hand the a lot of options for living a life of privacy and community, of vibrancy and purpose. He applauds those in the field of gerentology who have thought "outside the box" for the development of active communities for those who are aged and e reader experiences the morphing of Dr. Gawande from a mere practitioner to the son of a dying parent. How does a doctor broach the difficult end-of-life options with terminally ill patients and loved ones? The menu of medical options for treatment can be insufficient and it is essential that the practitioner also ask the patient what she or he wants most in the finite time remaining. Is it a mistake to prolong suffering or is it better to provide value in a shortened life? The author suggests that courage is needed for both aging and sickness: the courage to confront the reality of mortality and the courage to act on the truth of that reality. Have the courage and the wisdom, dear reader, to discover these difficult subjects presented in the pages of this transformative book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    I am an avid fan of the Outlander books and television series. I first read the books over 25 years ago or so. For heavens sake, I've even been to Scotland 3 times and on one of the tours, visited several of the Outlander castles. This book is one of most boring books I have ever read in my life. There are thousands and thousands of words and hundreds of pages SAYING NOTHING. Where is the editing on this? There is so much about John Grey and his brother! Does anyone care about John Grey? He should be relegated to minor status and yet a large part of the book is about him DOING NOTHING. I am unbelievably disappointed and disgusted with this book. Shame on you, Diana Gabaldon! You have stooped to writing uninteresting things about uninteresting characters in what was once an exciting story line. Did you do it for the money? This is just a crushing disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    SPOILERI really have fun the Outlander series and was trying to read this slowly as Book 9 doesn't even have a release date yet, so it'll be some time before I can catch up with these characters again. The ending of the book literally gave me chills. I can't wait for Book 9! However, and here's a spoiler-Bree and Roger's son, Jem, is kidnapped by a man that has discovered one of Bree's parent's letters referring to the lost Stuart gold hidden in the Spaniards Cave in NC; Jem being child napped because he's the only one that knows the location. Roger-and one of his time traveling relatives go back into the past with the notion of finding Jem and his kidnapper-while under the assumption the kidnapper is searching for the gold. Unfortunately, they end up in the wrong time-like, Jamie Fraser is approx. 19 in Paris and his father Brian is still alive. Regardless, they still think Jem is there and it doesn't cross either of their minds that the Rising hasn't even happened yet and therefore there's no method the gold would even be in existence in NC at that time frame because Jamie and Claire haven't even met yet. I don't understand why this thought wouldn't have occurred to them. I obtain he meets his dad-they were both thinking "Jem" going through the stones so naturally they're placed in a time where Roger's dad Jeremiah "Jerry" is...um, ok. Then, the kidnapper never actually left the show time with Jem-he's just harassing Bree for some reason. I'm really not sure why...he wants to rape her? But ok, I can live with it bc luckily this plot line more or less resolves itself-thank goodness. Also, William is super annoying. I hope in Book 9 he becomes less whiny, incapable, and less prone to throwing tantrums all the time. Very glad, Ian got a satisfied bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    This book was amazing. The end was very surprising. Over all I loved it! The characters were very good. Would recommend to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Very accessible for middle school yet a chop above the usual. Amazing allegory on a lot of levels. Better than two dimentional characters and has a true unpredictable plot. My boys love the idea of giant transformers cities devouring each other, Angry Max Thunderdome style in a post apocalyptic wasteland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    A amazing book all around. The globe Philip Reeve creates readily captures your imagination. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Simple read, imaginative globe of adventure, you will wish to read the rest of the series after this one!Currently on the second book now, its even more enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    I used to play this android game and I thought I should retry it cause of the update..I test logging into my acc via wbplay and now my acc is at level 38 with 3 bronzes and a silver when I had 4 or 5 cause I forgot diamonds and multiple golds. plus I had a decent amount of coins and souls. nothing wrong with the android game but there is a huge with not only my acc my brother also tried logging in and it didnt work too! please support me recover my account.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Dropping to 3 stars until the server problem is fixed. 3 times tonight I have had my challenge progress and quests reset. Was loving the fresh modernize aswell but not having my time wasted!!!!! "MATCH RESULTS COULD NOT BE RETRIEVED FROM THE SERVER" No doubt due to now needing an internet connection to play. Poor choice was that my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    what can i say,!!! it's lagging modernize i wonna say. attractive and specific modernize this time but the spoilers are also exist. fighting background is not good and android game speed is reduced than before. at mobile of 4GB RAM it can't be happen but it is. 'but i think that this is freshing now, but after some time it will be as smooth as before was' i want this sentence be real in future... thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    So how we supposed to use a Gold Liu Kang for baraka challenge when you make batter it to diamond and we can't obtain another in shop because it seems 3 stuff per day. Shop is messed up and graphics is worse. It's amazing challenge package is now 300 souls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    just amazing. the only complaint i have is i want we were more involved in the war moves more than just tapping. On the other hand its one of the most entertaining android games in the playstore. i definitely recommend downloading this app. THE GRAPHICS ALONE BLOW YOUR MIND!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Awesome android game 'but' I've been playing the android game since 2015 and ive never had issues woth connection kr something likr that... till today i just begin the android game and a notice saying ( online saving disable ) and I'm not quite sure why... my internet is normal my phone too so idk... i have a large progress and I'm not willing to lose it, fix that ASAP pls ( and it's fix... Thanks ) 🖤

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    this 2.0 modernize has been a disaster. The whole system is lagging and even the graphics are worst. not at all feeling comfortable while playing it. hope the developers obtain a fix on it soon. My phone use to run it as smooth as butter but now other than the whole system lagging, the touch responses are delayed too. please fix this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    The fresh modernize SUCKS big. Combat graphic not so smooth and laggy. It's difficult to aim the skill bar for maximum damage. The character's designs are kind of weird too. The worst part is you can't buy hero as you like anymore. Just 3 random hero cards per 12 hours at the store? Come on... The previous ver is much better at anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    can't log in to my wb play account. it shows my profile than ask if i wish to load it? after accepting it keeps on going in circles. thinking it might be a issue with old ver so reinstalled it. but same story again. i have already reached level 60. i have diamond charcters as well as fusion x charcters. i don't wish to begin the android game from primary level. kindly provide solution. previous ver was much better. never had problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Awesome. Best android game ever. Crashes a lot but worth persisting. Logged in 400+ days in a row so far. Have had to de!ete and reinstall the android game 5 times on my tabiet and 3 times on my phone because the android game keeps crashing. Like the fresh modernize except for the unavailability of buying characters. Everything else seems awesome. Hope it plays well. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    What is it about Canny that she is so amazing at maths?What is the language she sees but no one else can?What does it all mean?While on a trip with her step-brother Canny uncovers a mystery that may support respond these rt magic, part mystery and part love story Mortal Fire is an enchanting story. As a disclaimer I should say I am a Elizabeth Knox fan and love her is is a lighter story than the recently published Wake and has a whimsical charm. This is written in the same globe as Dreamhunter but some years later. I can't support but describe it as charming! Worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    I can't quite place my finger on exactly what appealed to me about Mortal Fire. The early chapters were a challenge to obtain through (in a method a lot like this book), leaving me baffled. Then came the "magical turning point" - the phenomenon when the story pulls one over on you and becomes something you actually like. From that moment on, I was hooked! The novel is unusual, filled with a special sort of magic and unorthodox characters. It is also complex, with Knox masterfully weaving the relationships between her characters into the layers of stories. Mortal Fire is dreamlike and imaginative, and hard to explain - but I really, really liked e summary provides the barest outline of this story; the author colors it in with careful details, a dozens of characters and a liberal sprinkling of twists and turns. Reading this book without knowing exactly what to expect was the best method possible to experience it, at least for me. Sure, it was slightly confusing at first, particularly because the story starts and stops in small fits that don't appear to create too much sense. But unraveling the tale, and actually engaging in the story-telling process was appealing. It felt like the novel asked me to really think as I read it, which I don't encounter very often, but happen to appreciate.Even as my mind tried to create sense of everything that was presented to me, the author also invited me to step into a globe where I was needed to suspend my own disbelief. This was mostly because of the magic and the situations it placed the characters in. But I embraced it, allow go of my own preconceived ideas of what the magic was like and allowed the author to fill in the gaps for me. This was actually the relaxing part of the novel, which is probably in complete contradiction to the paragraph above, but that's just how it felt. I was fascinated to see how the magic worked in this world, from its foundation to the lore. While the explanations were few and far in between, I still think Knox did a credible job describing it in a method that I could understand.I suppose now is the right time for me to mention Canny Mochrie. I'm still not sure whether I really liked her or not. She's a decidedly difficult, confusing character, particularly since she seems to be a considerable distance away from the reader. Her insatiable curiosity and intelligence was certainly fascinating; however, these things often got her into trouble, which could have clearly been prevented if common sense had kicked in. Still, the book would not be the adventure it was without Canny's persistence in her pursuit of explanations. She may not be my favorite character, but she's the right sort of hero for this rtal Fire is a novel that's equal parts thoughtful and inventive. Though it does fall into the category of a book that asks a lot of its readers, the level of engagement is something that I consider a powerful point for this novel. There are twists and turns, mostly because of the magic that runs amok, and there are separate stories woven together that need to be unraveled and mulled over and worked out. I loved that this book was a challenging read, but left me feeling utterly happy when I turned the latest page. It might not be the type of book that everyone will enjoy, but it certainly left me with a very favorable impression.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    I can't say enough about how much I love this book. It literally changed my life and I recommend it to is is the second time that I've read it. The first was during a particularly anxious time in my life. Someone very close to me was diagnosed with cancer, just a few days after Robin Williams committed suicide and just a few days before the anniversary of my sister Ginger's suicide. Not long after this, a long time colleague died of lung cancer. And all of this was while my beloved job was ending because our plant was shutting down permanently and my mates and colleagues were scattering to the four winds where I would likely never see them again. Needless to say, it was a rough time, and I began suffering from anxiety in a method I'd never experienced. I would lie awake at night, unable to sleep, worrying about death - mine, people close to me, my dogs. My doctor prescribed Prozac, but that really didn't is book is what created all the difference. So much of anxiety is really about uncertainty and a loss of control, and death is something that most of us are unfamiliar with. Where once you lived with elderly relatives who aged, became infirm, and died, now the act of dying has been turned over to the medical establishment. Most people don't die at home, and elderly relatives don't live with us. They're independent as long as they can be, then they enter nursing homes or assisted living facilities. We don't wish to talk about death, often because we superstitiously believe that will bring it to we grow old and die without being prepared for it. While most of us would say that we wish to die peacefully at home, surrounded by family and friends, we don't know how to create that happen, and because we don't, that isn't usually how we is book helps us work through the things that are necessary to us - what makes life worth living and how we can maintain that worthwhile life as long as possible. It demystifies aging and death, and helps us understand the choices that we will have to make, for ourselves and for others.Dr. Gawande helps us understand how the medical establishment looks at death, and why they're not really prepared to support us to age and die in the method we would like. He admits his own mistakes and shows how what he's learned helped create his own father's transition what his father wanted it to be.Even if you don't wish to think of your own mortality, most of us are going to be involved in helping loved ones age and die. Read this book, and it will remove much of the uncertainty. It shows how we can have the end of our life be under our control as much as possible, and how to accept when that control is no longer possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    First of all, allow me say that the Outlander series is a saga, a time-traveling saga, a historical saga, a romantic saga, a generational saga but a saga in the broadest sense. This, the eighth and the recent book published (one being written and one promised) is large in scope dealing mainly with the American Revolution and the part the Frasers and the Greys played in it. But that is essentially too simplistic because nothing Diana writes is easy since concurrent to the that time, Bree, Roger, Jem and Mandy are in the show time trying to create a life for themselves and running into difficulties because of their special st of American Revolution takes put in and around Philadelphia which was occupied in turns by the British and the Continentals. There is amazing detail about what life was like under each occupying troops and how Claire, in particular, used her skills to survive. Fergus and Marsili found themselves by turns under suspicion or welcomed depending on the occupation. Lord John Grey is forced to marry Claire when it's thought that Jamie perished at sea returning from Scotland and she's accused of carrying info for the Rebels. Claire uses her skills as a surgeon to save Lord Grey's brother and his son from death, skills unknown in that time. She also goes to Valley Forge and works with Dr. Denzel Hunter to save wounded Continental soldiers and they each teach one another surgical skills. Ian serves as a scout for the troops and meets Denzel's sister, Rachel, falls in love with her but she's a Quaker and may not be able to marry a man who's both a Highlander and a Mohawk. When Jamie returns to Philadelphia, his @#$%!&? son from Hellwater, William who looks just like Jamie walks in and discovers his natural father, doesn't take it well since he is a duke by default and leaves. The stage moves to the Wars of Saratoga and Monmonth with Jamie being conscripted as a general and Claire again using her skills as a surgeon until she's seriously wounded and nearly dies except for Denzel Hunter whom she tell how to save her before her anwhile in the show time, Bree gets a job at hyro plant as a supervisor while facing a lot of prejudice from her male employees, especially one of them. Roger also starts working at a church as a choir director. Jem discovers an old man living in the broch who is actually Roger's ancestor. When Jem is kidnapped by the man threatening Bree, Roger and Brock go back in time looking for them but Jem has escaped his kidnapper and has hidden out in the dam. Now the two parallel stories start to converge through different adventures until the two families are reunited on the Ridge.I was born in Philadelphia and grew up in York, PA which claims to be the First Capitol of the United States as the Article of Confederation where signed there when the Second Continental Congress met there while the British held Philadelphia; they predate the Constitution. This story really interested me because of the vivid detail of life during that time. The main characters of the story are as vivid as always: Jamie, Claire, Roger, Bree, Ian, Fergus, Marsili, Jenny, Jem, Mandy, Lord John Grey, William; their lives are so interesting and you can't support becoming part of them. The popular people from the Revolution were also interesting to explore "in the flesh" so to speak rather than dry words on a page in a history book. The descriptions of the war were sometimes hard to follow but then I imagine wars aren't normally linear.What will I do now for my Jamie and Claire fix!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Mortal []  2020-11-25 20:54

    The late Dr. Sherwin Nuland wrote a highly informative book entitled 'How We Die'. Dr. Gawande's book title could have been 'How We Are Allowed to Die'. It goes the next step and yzes the medical establishment and how humans deal with their coming death. Well into the early twentieth century the Grim Reaper was a everyday companion and a near fatalistic attitude was held in our culture about it. From babies to healthy adults were susceptible to a myriad of ways of quickly kicking the bucket. The latter part of the twentieth century, however, introduced medical and technological discoveries which helped prolong the inevitable. Ironically it also altered our culture's mindset about dying itself and we have become less willing go gently into the night. As the author so aptly states, “… (we are) a society that faces the final phases of life by trying not to think about it.” 'Being Mortal' does an outstanding job of guiding the reader through the complexities involved in our deteriorating bodies and end-of-life care.Dr. Gawande has a clear and compassionate writing style. He is a humble physician who openly relays his ignorance in a lot of aspects of medicine outside his field of expertise. The reader is taken along on the author's journey of discoveries. The book's core helps you understand the emotional challenges for the patient, their loved ones, and the ham-handed approach taken by hospitals who focus on prolonging death even if it overlooks the patient's wishes. These are not cut-and-dried issues. The author retells compelling episodes of people struggling with either their mortality or the loss of their autonomy. He even contains a story of the very private loss of his dad. They are all perfect examples. Dr. Gawande covers such things as demographic shifts in aging, the history of dying in America prior to the late twentieth century, the creation of nursing homes, assisted-living facilities, how our motivations shift as we age, how we answer to pain, and assisted suicide.'Being Mortal' is a superb book. It does not bog itself down in technical medical jargon but is written for the average person. It is not a self-help book but I imagine it will be therapeutic and helpful to most readers. The book also is not simply about the latest days of a person's life but also facing and adapting to our body's inevitable decline. I can think of no book I've ever read that does a better job of presenting the issue. Read it for yourself and your loved ones. Even if you have already gone through the death of someone necessary in your life, the book may be some solace. We're all members of the dying club. No one is allowed to quit the merry death band and become immortal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    I have read a lot of of Elizabeth Knox's novels, and always search her approach to her topic to be fresh--and ever-surprising! As examples, I give you "Daylight" (vampires) or "The Vintner's Luck" (angels, demons,etc.)'The point is: these are hoary, old themes. Lesser writers 're-hash this material in predictable, though sometimes entertaining ways. But one is definitely not surprised, and one doesn't have to think much between title page and 'finis'Knox, however, takes that theme and makes one see it in a wholly fresh way. "Mortal Fire" May be a YA novel, but it approaches young love, the issue of being "different", and the famous theme (in the realm of fantasy fiction) of a young mage discovering and learning to use her/his powers in a new and subtle manner. As with her other works, Knox makes one think about far bigger themes than the obvious ones, which are merely the bare bones of the story. For instance, Mortal Fire is also about discovering and coming to terms with one's own identity and history. It is about love, forgiveness, and letting go. It is about what a lot of serious pieces of literature address: that "being human" thing!I think this comes down to the fact that Knox can really Write-capital W! Her protagonists are believable, three dimensional characters. They search themselves in unusual--but believable situations because Knox develops her personae enough so that what they do really reflects the hero as the reader knows him or rtal Fire is a story which takes put in the same universe as Dreamhunter and Dreamquake. If you enjoyed that strange yet somehow familiar setting, you will also love this novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Fire []  2020-6-14 19:18

    Elizabeth Knox is a renown writer from Fresh Zealand. This is her recent novel targeted at Young Adults. It follows Dreamhunter and Dreamquake, both perfect books in their own rtal Fire was a joy to read and hard to it Knox has made a landscape which almost seems recognizable and yet is full of magic and holds altered realities. The characters are powerful and believable and we end up caring deeply for them and being drawn into their surreal nny is a girl of remarkable mathematical genius, in a blended family whose mother is of royal blood. Sisema's island nation is far off the mainland and is steeped in legend and mystery. She seems a powerful and slightly detached mother to Canny. Sholto, Canny's step brother is a amazing guy who is a close companion for Canny. The stepfather is referred to as The Professor and remains aloof and sketchy at nny, Sholto and Susanne (his girlfriend) are on holiday in a little city investigating the fire in a mine in 1929. They end up in a mysterious valley where the Zarene family have lived for centuries. Magic happenings, runes and forces of amazing and evil appear from nature and there is a mystery to be solved.I really enjoyed the story because for as much as it is magical realism it doesn't stray too far from reality thus avoiding being a fairy tale set in a kingdom with implausible characters.Well worth reading this and her other two Young Adult books. Knox's most popular book is The Vintner's Luck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    this modernize is totally poor as it is was earlier players send to quest can be used to attack in fraction it is not possible. 2nd thing i had gold lui kang which i could use for completing the happening now that was transferred to diamond card how come i will obtain that gold card to complete the event. 3 rd graphics are very poor previous one were best. thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    An all-out awesome game... the fresh graphics look sickkkkkk!!! it lags really badly tho! I want that it would still be an offline android game as my playtime has been chop short! the visuals are choppy! The shop should include all characters just like before. Hope to see the increase in the android game #getoverhere

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Just did the modernize with added MK11 attributes, and while it does need work, NR will create it happen! Right now it's a bit glitchy with laggy animations and slow loading throughout. This is to be expected with such a major update. The positive things are the characters look polished and once the lag is fixed, they will look killer! Fresh turrets on quest mode are a welcome. Thank you NR for continuing our MK! Hold the improvements coming, and block the hackers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    The graphics are better now bt android game has worst bugs. After completing a challenge souls are not automatically added to account, the android game is stuck on a blank screen and the application needs to be reopened. Next one I observed is, even when I have a amazing Internet connection, once the match in the challenge has been completed received MATCH RESULTS ERROR "failed to retrieve match results from the server" this time reopening the android game hasnt solved the problem and im stuck on that challenge Truly disappointment

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MORTAL KOMBAT [App]  2019-2-28 13:28

    Love the fresh update. However,its true buggy. The android game feels slow and sluggish,the fighting mechanics are poorly executed. The android game also crashes at some point. It seems the graphics have also been downgraded for some odd reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    quick paced, intense. I love the method characters are developed though not of the characters are easily loved. unexpected ending, though it clears the method for a sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    An extremely well done story. Amazing writing with plenty of suspense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Reeves' female characters are interesting, strong and beautifully flawed. I loved the Fever Crumb series and this series is shaping up to be almost as good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    I remember reading the first book when i was in sixth grade. That was 11 years ago and the memory of this book and Tom and Hester's story has stayed with me all this time. I highly recommend the series to anyone and everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Awesome characters, story and very original. I can't wait til they create a film from this! Buy this book now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines (Mortal Engines #1) [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Philip Reeve paints a picture of a globe where cities have become mobile and materials are scarce for increased growth. What better method to obtain more 'stuff' than to eat a town smaller than you? But the mayor of London has bigger ideas. I really enjoyed this book and I'll be buying the second book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines: Mortal Engines, Book 1 []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I found out about this book after seeing a preview for the film and doing a bit of research. The idea of a sci-fi adventure/intrigue with moving cities that need to "eat" other cities sounded like it would be a fascinating dly, I can't say that I found the story to be nearly as compelling as the idea of it. I can't really place a finger on why I'm not enthralled. The idea is there, the action is there, but I guess the characters fall a bit flat for me. I am finding the book interesting, but not strongly and I've already started to lose interest in any of the 's just missing the magic piece I guess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortal Engines: Mortal Engines, Book 1 []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Phillip Reeve has made another broken globe of apocalyptic consequence. In this world, Municipal Darwinism is the norm. Moving cities hunt and devour other cities thousands of years into the future. The realms of the rich and not good are predictably determined by elevation. The bowels of the town are havens of oppression and injustice while the strong and wealthy experience the sunlight and wind of the chase.I came to this book because I heard Peter Jackson was directing a holiday blockbuster of the same name. I am a fan of Jackson and gave the book a read. The book had a slow start, but soon the storyline moves briskly and the reader is taken from one tragedy to the next. Reeve’s talent moves the reader through his broken globe of broken characters at whirlwind pace. This prevents the reader from focusing on any one evil while experiencing the ethos of the e story deals with Innocence lost and how perspective effects viewpoint. The protagonists are introduced as orphans (and associated issues). This sorrow is then amplified by happenings of such gravity that each fresh predicament begins to wear too heavy. There is small to celebrate in the narrative and, more often than not, relief is the sense at the end of each chapter. The reader experiences small hope mostly luck (and a bit of incredulity).Reeve’s skill as a writer is top notch. However, I will not be choosing this book for my classes...my students experience enough darkness some true some invented, but why would I wish to infect them with even more weight?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Run [App]  2019-6-20 13:0

    AWESOME PLAY IT NOW!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    Robtop your android game is awesome. I have an idea for it. If you can why dont you add a C block that allows the spike ball to jump. I think that would be cool and I would definitely use that in my levels. I know you can just use an orb but just to create it easier than having to put down an orb and then put down an alpha and figure out what to do from there on. So just to create it easier for starting creaters in 2.2 can you add that block? P.s my android game keeps crashing and I don't know what the issue is. 5 stars still :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    I like the android game in total, but im beautiful annoyed at the fact they dont modernize the android game enough, they also introduce fresh geometry dash android games but dont modernize them.. overall amazing android game though one feature i would be so greatful for is if you complete a level in practice mode... you can later chooss where in the level you wish to begin in practice mode just so you can focus on improving on a certain part of the level... like if you were in geometrical dominator and completed the practice... it would be handy if you could go near the end to practice and memorise when to jump without having to go tbrough the whole level in practice mode

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    The android game was very amazing back in the day and is getting better. What I don't like is that now with the 2.1 update, I need to replay every level and online level just to obtain those orb things. If they could just give the orbs in the level you already should have gotten them in, then I say the android game would also be good. I also don't like the . Before, you actually felt like you earned things by overcoming an obstacle. But now, you can just play simple online levels just to obtain a color icon, but that's my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    I love the part where you can create your own level it's beautiful much all I do on this game! I found a bug. I bought a ball in the , then went to play the game, then when I went out of geometry dash to play dragon vale, when I am back to geometry dash, I didn't have the ball I got! ( I did obtain my orbs back tho) and now every time I reopen geometry dash, the ball is gone! what is going on! Please fix this in the next update.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    I have fun this android game a lot on pc. However, for some reason on my phone there is suddenly a large delay between tapping, and the ship seems to fly downwards much steeper and quicker. It's quite unplayable for me at the moment. Anyone have any fixes? Amazing android game though, Id recommend to anyone, of course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    (To the people who are thinking adout getting this) It's the best mobile game, even tho it's so hard. I recommend this game, it's not math however. But it's really amazing and buetifull. To rubtub, I recommend adding online play mode, and a mode in android game that turns you to a spike and spike don't hurt, maby a 3d mode to create us have more rage, and an in android game thing that alows buttons to press pls. Thx

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    Okay so, Whenever I test to begin up the application it goes into a black screen and then crashes and takes me back to my home screen. why? I had so much damn issues with this android game now it's not even letting me play it anymore? Amazing job robtop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    The best mobile android game around. The objective is not complicated and the levels obtain harder which makes the android game engaging especially when a lot of of the levels you play are made by the thousands of other users who play this awesome game. My only problem with this android game is the glitches but for me it doesn't happen too frequently. Overall, best android game I have ever played.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Dash [App]  2017-10-13 22:39

    Geometry Dash is a amazing music-based game, which is also a very challenging and fun platformer even without the sound. The fresh updates and community levels add a lot of replayability. I got back into the android game with the recent huge modernize (2.1), and haven't been able to place it down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Darkness [App]  2018-6-20 21:0

    It's a amazing android game I prefer it over the normal geometry dash. The android game lags on occasion but issnt too poor would love to see more levels

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Darkness [App]  2018-6-20 21:0

    This android game only has two problems, the ads and the lag. But other then that this android game is so awesome.👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Darkness [App]  2018-6-20 21:0

    To laggy that i die everytime

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Darkness [App]  2018-6-20 21:0

    It's a cheap knock off but I love the method you obtain to choose your hero

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geometry Darkness [App]  2018-6-20 21:0

    It's amazing lags but just like the true g-dash

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386