Read mourning interrupted reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all mourning interrupted reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    Girl, Interrupted written by Susanna Kaysen is about the authors life as a young, ambitious girl in the 1960's who gets admitted into the women's ward of a psychiatric hospital in Massachusetts. Observantly, Kaysen tells the story of her two-year-long stay at the hospital through multiple vague vignettes. She describes another patient named Lisa, who is a proud sociopath, and how her unpredictable personality was a prime source of entertainment for the other women in the ward. Another one of her 'friends' at the hospital is her room mate, who also suffers from depression, named Georgina. Georgina is an ultimately relaxed hero and, on the surface, seems beautiful normal, but her instability emerges later in the story. For most of the book, Kaysen refuses to accept the fact that she is in the ward because the psychiatrist that admitted her only saw her for 20 mins and diagnosed her with Borderline Personality Disorder. In one vignette, she recollects her suicide attempt, in which she took 50 baby aspirin and passed out at a grocery store, saying, "… it was only part of myself I wanted to kill: the part that wanted to slay herself, that dragged me into the suicide debate …" (37). This showcases her unhappiness with only parts of herself and her underlying instability, which seems to be a very necessary theme throughout the novel. One necessary happening is when Kaysen is released into the globe and is forced to participate in life. She struggles with finding a job because of her past and reluctantly accepts an old friend's marriage proposal. Personally, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it very insightful. It showcased the struggles of womanhood in the late 1960's, her endless turmoil with her mental state, and her attempts to define the line between sanity and insanity. Throughout the book, her and the other women in the ward frequently watch tv and are very engaged in the a lot of civil rights movements going on in that time period. Even after Kaysen leaves the hospital, she struggles with finding a job because of her intolerance with the unfair roles of women in the workplace. Having left the hospital and made a life for herself, she decides to research the disease the doctors claimed she had. She understands some of the parts of the diagnosis; cutting herself and impulsive activities, but she comes to the realization that it is a generalization, which further brings up the issue with the blurry line between sanity and insanity. Her efforts to determine sanity are very relevant, even in modern society, because mental illness is a very true thing and the course of treatment is crucial to a person's development. I would definitely recommend this book to others because of its dark humor and reflective plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    A captivating read. Kaysen retells her story with rawness and elegance that leaves you shocked and moved. I finished the book on a 4 hour plane ride, I didn't place it down once. Definitely would recommend to anyone who has struggled with a psychological disorder, either personally or the plight of a loved one, as Kaysen beautifully captures what the journey is like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plan Interrupted []  2020-8-21 18:0

    Elizabeth has a plan. A plan that doesn’t contain a man. She wants to have her career on track, proving that she can be the person her parents aren’t convinced she can be. Her job transfers her from Fresh York to a suburb of Chicago, where she buys a house and is on the quick track to upper management. She has had a beautiful secluded life, never having celebrated things (even holidays), she is quite disappointed to be moving next door to a man with loud children. Joe is kind of place off by the woman that obviously has a stick up her butt. He just can’t stay away from the first I was place off by Elizabeth. She is set on her plan and being number one at work that it’s an obsession. Even seeing her out with her friends, she never lets loose. Her dislike for the “noisy children” was a huge of a barrier for me, but I hung on, hoping she would change her point of view. The neighbor, Joe, was just so tasty. He’s a amazing dad, always putting his kids before anything. And the fact that he’s willing to support Elizabeth when needed, despite the tension between them, really makes him a stand up guy. In addition to the romance, there is a bit of suspense in the second half of the story. A not good thing happens to Elizabeth at a holiday party, and your heart just goes out to her. As her heart melts to the guy next door, your heart will melt for the story. Once you begin reading, it’s hard to stop. Elizabeth does become a likable person, I promise, so don’t allow the stick up her butt hold you from finishing this story. I recommend this for romantic suspense fans.I received a copy of this story from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


    Add your opinion on mourning interrupted or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plan Interrupted []  2020-8-21 18:0

    When a girl's got a plan, a girl's got a plan. Career Focussed Elizabeth has a plan to achieve her ambitions, which doesn't leave time for anything or anyone ngle dad Joe, Elizabeth's neighbour, knows that plans can fall apart. His children, Max and Molly, are his number one priority and he has created changes to his life to ensure this.When they first meet, it is hate at first sight as Elizabeth's disgust for Joe's kids is plain to see. But kids have a method of wheedling their method into your heart without you noticing. This softens Elizabeth and makes her more likeable than the cold, judgemental woman she appears to be at the beginning. Coupled with happenings that change her perspective, the plan becomes not that important.I loved seeing the change in Elizabeth as she softens after being welcomed by Joe and his family. She is able to see a life beyond work and the love she never had as a child. Joe is a unbelievable man: kind, compassionate and puts others first. It was a fun and at times emotional read with a excellent blend of romance and plot twists to hold you on the edge of your seat.***Reviewed for LBM Book Blog***

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I appreciate that it includes an epilogue, so to speak, with Susanna explaining what happened after her hospital stay. I have seen the film a few times, and it portrayed Susanna as being completely recovered, but also never having been that sick, in the first place. The film is great, but the book is wonderful. It far encompasses the film. Test it. You'll probably be pleasantly surprised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plan Interrupted []  2020-8-21 18:0

    I finished this book yesterday, and I’m still thinking about the characters today. Other reviewers have summarized the story, so I’ll point out that I absolutely loved the method Valerie portrayed Joe’s hero and his tenderness as a father. Her ability to reflect the emotions of all her characters is excellent, and I couldn’t believe how a lot of times I was moved to tears while reading the book. The story certainly isn’t typical, and I thoroughly enjoyed Plan Interrupted. Hold up the amazing work, Valerie. I’m a fan!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen wrote this book of the time was admitted in the psychiatric hospital at a young age. She was able to obtain a keep of her medical record by hiring a lawyer and started writing her story. She talked about her time in the psychiatric hospital and the mental illness she was going through at that age. This is a non-fiction novel, which involves a story on how mental illness was treated and looked upon when place in a ward. Mental illness has been a huge issue, even in today’s globe and they were being treated as prisoners, not being able to go outside, always having nurses watching them and always had to take medicine to obtain knocked out if they started acting up. Instead of getting the support they needed, they were just place into a ward with others. It created Susana believe she belonged here because she was crazy for trying to attempt to slay herself, but in reality she had a personality disorder. Instead of spending more time with her, to understand her, she was immediately place in the sanna Kaysen was a 17 year old girl, who was admitted into a psychiatric hospital called McLean. She was admitted due to her trying to slay herself and her diagnosis had her be admitted immediately into the facility. After her interview with her doctor for about twenty mins she was admitted. She goes back and forth with herself whether she wants to live in the inside at the ward because she believed she belonged there or the outside globe where she must face the difficulty of reality. She had a boyfriend that would test to come visit her, but she didn’t wish anyone visiting her because she wasn’t “sane.” She met and became mates with other females that were admitted named Polly, Georgina, Daisy and others. Susana was one of the more normal ones at the ward, so she had less restrictions, while others had more nurses watching over them at all times. As Susana was spending her time at the ward and once she was in the process of healing she was applying for jobs, but would obtain questions about her stay at the ward. It was much of a challenge because she also had to obtain doctor’s note to proof she was stable enough to have a job, driver license, and other things you need in your everyday life. She accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, but wasn't sure why she accepted it or the fact that she even wanted to obtain married. Once she finds out years later of her medical records and her diagnosis, in the notes it said that it was more common in women than it is in men, it raised sexism. The title of the book was connected to the Vermeer painting that she saw at a museum and she was able to connect with sana was admitted into the ward because she had a personality disorder according to her diagnosis. In this case, it seems very inaccurate. There was lack of evidence to present that she had this diagnosis. Even though, she did present some signs of mental illness, she was just a young girl going through a rough time and was temporarily interrupted by her mental illness. The book didn’t present much evidence of why she was diagnosed with this. Girl, Interrupted talked about borderline personality disorder, which is rarely discussed in media. The book had some amazing passages that had insightful concerns on what it’s like to live with mental illness in the 1960’s and being diagnosed with border personality disorder. The book had short chapters, which was odd and didn’t really obtain into info about what every hero in the book is going through it was briefer. At times, I felt like the story was all over the put and not chronological order, so it would confuse me a bit on whether it was the show or past. It is a book that is more of Susana thoughts and females that had gone through mental illness, they were able to connect their experiences. What I thought was also interesting and I liked that she had her documents printed into the book to present her medical records and it was very informative. Susana mentioned how they weren’t treated as humans and it shows that till this day there is still no solutions in decreasing mental illness, but instead it is rising. People with a mental disorder are judged upon and avoided just like when she was trying to look for a job.Overall, Susana has explained to us her globe for two years in the psychiatric ward, where mental illness was not treated fairly. The Vermeer painting was called “The girl that was interrupted from music” just like she was interrupted from her life. Her symptoms lead to her diagnosis of borderline personality disorder. Since women are commonly diagnosed with borderline personality disorder, she was admitted into the hospital after 20 mins of the interview. Sexism did exist in this story because at one point Susana knew she wasn’t crazy, and then at another point she doubted herself and thought she might be and bit her hand to see if she had any bones. The book wasn’t my favorite, but it was very informative, and gave me an idea on how the mental institute worked in the 1960’s and how mental illness was looked upon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    An honest journey into the globe of a mental health institution for young women. Susana Kayson takes us into her globe after she enters a mental hospital after trying to slay herself by taking 50 doses of aspirin. Unlike One Who Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, it is not a globe of villain administrators and persecuted inmates, it is a globe of young women struggling to obtain back to some kind of normal life. It is both sad and uplifting at the same time. It was a quick paced page turner into the hidden globe of mental illness. The film stars Wynona Ryder and Angelina Jolie. I recommend both the book and the film it inspired.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plan Interrupted []  2020-8-21 18:0

    I have several of Valerie's other books and this one is my favorite so far! I loved how she developed the characters. I was taken by the twists that I didn't expect. It was an simple read & I would recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    IntroductionGirl, Interrupted, by Susanna Kaysen, is a riveting memoir about mental illness which will have you questioning your own mental state. Kaysen was born and raised in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She is an American author with several books under her belt spanning from fiction to memoirs. Kaysen has written a total of five books with Girl, Interrupted being the best and rightfully so. Kaysen bares all and portrays how her life was interrupted by her self-commitment to a psychiatric hospital at age 19. Kaysen commits herself after a short visit with a psychologist she had not seen in the past unaware of her rights to do otherwise. The story is told in a manner in which time is not linear and characters are revealed as they pertain to Kaysen’s agenda, which exposes different mental illnesses and minimally focuses on her own. Kaysen’s frank description of insanity and life at McLean Hospital will leave you identifying with the narrator and the people she encounters during her 18 month mmary of contentSusanna Kaysen is late. This is a common occurrence for her as she makes her method from one train to another in to create her appointment with her psychiatrist. Kaysen did not know this appointment would cost her 18 months of her life and much of her freedom. It is the spring of 1967 and Kaysen is being admitted to McLean Hospital because she has a history of suicide and the psychiatrist she just met classified her as profoundly depressed. Kaysen agrees seeing as the doctor who referred her stated her stay would be “just for a couple weeks.” She arrived at age 18 and left at age 19, with a month until her 20th birthday.During her stay at McLean, Kaysen encounters patients and keepers. The keepers are the nurses and doctors and the patients contain some of the people she builds relationships with. Kaysen recalls the keepers and how “they didn’t like that. Touching us.” The patients, on the other hand, teach her more about various types of mental illnesses and give her insight on those illnesses. Kaysen introduces Polly, a fellow patient who despite lighting herself on fire with the scars to prove it was a kind and compassionate person. Lisa, another patient, is constantly planning her next escape and always voicing her lack of respect for authority. Georgina, Kaysen’s roommate, is preoccupied with her irrational boyfriend Wade who lives in a fantasy where his father belongs to the CIA. Then there is Daisy. Daisy is an irritable rich girl who frequents the hospital for the end of year holidays and occasionally her birthday. Daisy only cares about two things: chicken and laxatives which fascinates the e memoir does not follow time as it passes, rather it jumps around related to states of mental illness or episodes of acting out as the keepers would call it. Kaysen reviews the etiology of mental illness and how the definition of sanity or insanity can be due to “society’s low tolerance for deviant behavior.” Mental illness opens you up to a parallel universe in which, “the laws of physics are suspended. What goes up does not necessarily come down; a body at rest does not tend to stay at rest; and not every action can be counted on to provoke an equal and opposite reaction.” Kaysen tells how time is various and works fluidly not linear. Kaysen tells how when you are mentally ill, the voice in our head has a miscommunication between ‘interpreters’. The interpreters fail to deliver the right notice or one of them fails to help the notice aligned with reality leading to what society would label as insanity.Kaysen attempted suicide and was overly flirtatious with older men, she was told she had a “character disorder”. It was not until much later that in her records she discovered she was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. Kaysen agreed with most of the diagnosis but stated it was not profound and though she knew it was not meant to be she had her uncertainties about it. She did not see herself fitting into the educational or social systems in put and “life demanded skills [she] didn’t have”. She dissects her diagnosis and noticed it stated it was more commonly diagnosed in women, alluding to the fact that the doctors were the ones judging. She notes gender bias for several labels given to women that would not typically be assigned to boys. By the end of the memoir Kaysen is considered recovered though she still continues to question her sanity in her day to day life.Analysis and evaluation of the bookKaysen recounts her experiences with others though her private experience is rather lacking, there is omission throughout the story. We are not introduced to her parents or given much background on them or what they thought of her extended stay at McLean. There are mentions to her mother on the day of her suicide attempt and how her father is too busy to visit but other than that, nothing. We see her parents full names and her father;s occupation as a Director at Princeton on the admission forms but their existence in this memoir is rather ain, readers are left with the question of who Jim Watson is and how Kaysen was familiar with him. Watson was clearly somebody that had affection towards Kaysen seeing as he offered to break her out though she ultimately declined. I understand that the point of the chapter was to address a state of acceptance with where she was and her need for rehabilitation yet I still yearned for context. What was true to Kaysen at this point in time was “the vinyl chairs, the security screens, the buzzing of the nursing-station door: those things were clear.” Everything else was fuzzy and that is understandable as she had adapted to her environment and seemingly enjoyed the other patients company. This is one of the few explicit mentions about how she felt during her time at McLean.I think Kaysen’s journey of trying to understand her situation is one a lot of people experience throughout their own life. The sense of detachment from her is critical as it forces the reader to create conclusions on their own. Specifically, the chapter about how much time she spent with her doctor prior to being locked away makes us question what is true and who is telling the truth. The doctor claimed it was a total of three hours but when presented with Kaysen’s evidence we are inclined to think otherwise. I thought this was intentional that because she has been labeled mentally ill, do we even trust her? Is she credible? I note a lot of parallels as Kaysen presents her struggles in a gender-biased society and now though she is recovered will there ever be a time in which people do not question the validity of her statements. And how will we and how do we treat and value input from those who have once been labeled as mentally ill?ConclusionI think this was a amazing book, which was simple to follow and makes the reader draw their own conclusions. To fear something is to not know it. The lack of physical contact from the keepers and the lack of agency the patients experienced is concerning; specifically for the women in society during the 1960s and even now. What we think we know and we actually know about mental illness is a generalization, Kaysen exemplifies that in her memoir.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plan Interrupted []  2020-8-21 18:0

    I am so happy I was able to read and review this lovely novel. I rated it 5 stars because I really appreciated the depth of the characters and themany layers to their personalities. The secondary characters were just as multi faceted as the character and heroine. The story itself wasn't a fresh premise, career focused woman, family centered widower, and the rocky street to love. What was fresh, was the author's ability to bring out so a lot of emotions in me while reading. I found myself fully invested in the character and heroine's happily ever after, and unable to place the book down until that occurrence!*I was lucky to have requested and received my copy through in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    I have fought with crippling depression and anxiety over the past few years. It has gotten better, however I still have my occasional dark day here and there. When I first read this book (after the film came out) I was frustrated and annoyed by the large differences between the two. Reading it again in my late thirties, so much rang real to me this time...particularly in regards to self harm. Yet again I am reminded as to how recovery is a constant process. Thank you for sharing your story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    Read more:[...]I swear, someday Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher will stop coming up in reviews. Probably when I stop reading books about mental illness. So, never. Anyhoo. Girl, Interrupted is where all those hard-hitting teen problems books began. It's not necessarily for teens, but older teens especially will search it accessible. Written in out-of-order vignettes about Susanna's day-to-day life in the hospital, and her final release, it breathes the material it seeks to describe. Like the author's mental state at the time, this book is fragmented. It's full of missing time and unconnected pieces. The language is at times chillingly beautiful, at times blunt and raw. I'll admit--I didn't even glance at the author's name when I opened it, so I didn't realize until the end the hugely necessary autobiographical nature of it. And I liked that. Because it allowed me to read it as a story, and then to re-experience it in a sudden rush as reality. It makes you think a lot about where reality ends and story begins, and it inspired me to write again. I hope it inspires ot . 5/5If you have a hard time following stories that aren't in chronological order, this one will drive you crazy. Ha. Ha. Okay, I'm sorry, that was terrible. Seriously, though, it confuses and annoys at some points, because it makes it hard to follow a linear narrative. But you have fun it, because you realize that that's the point. Story isn't linear! Minds aren't linear! Susanna's life is anything but linear. She forms connections in impressions, not in time points that happen one after one. It becomes a sort of diary-like series of random events, a collage of vignettes that ends in one final, attractive impression. What struck me most was how small was described about treatment, or "being crazy." It was everyday life. It was being bored. It was philosophy. It was avoiding nurses. It was the sanity that people don't see because they're focused on the diagnosis. Loved ncept . 5/5It's a brave and unbelievable thing to write a book like this. People will revile you for it, or love you, and you can't tell which off the bat. It's also something that somehow feels timeless. It's very embedded in the 60s, but we know it's old-fashioned. We know it's this author's past. Somehow, I don't know how, but somehow it makes it feel like it could exist in any time and any place. The idea of just focusing on hospital years isn't new--Kesey did it, etc.--but the method it's structured with the non-linear narrative makes it a excellent representation of mental illness about mental illness. Form fits aracters . 5/5These are all true people. Even the ones you hear small about feel like fully-fledged humans. You don't obtain nearly all of their stories, but you feel like you know these girls. They're clever. They're funny. They're irritating and moronic in the most interesting of ways. Susanna herself is often a quiet observer, adding small to the action, but you come to know her through every word. Her voice takes over. I really wanted to know these girls--even the ones who scared . 5/5A painting in words. Seriously. It's not flowery or overly ornate at all. It's just beautiful. Susanna sees the globe in such a various way. Her worldview takes over everything she talks about and makes even the most commonplace activities new. I read the latest page almost ten times, the latest two paragraphs, because they were so perfect. Every word exactly where it required to be. A collage of images. I could gush about this forever. It was just beautiful. Atmospheric. Dark. Humorous. chanics . 5/5The inclusion of scanned medical documents was a amazing touch. It makes you realize how differently these papers and the doctors see Susanna's world, compared to how she sees it.take home messageA must-read for anyone interested in mental health, or the human condition. A attractive example of prose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    This started out so good, but quickly descended into content that created me give up the story. There is one part where she talks about a squabble between patients in an ice cream where one of the people starts referring to the peppermint ice cream in vulgarity. It was at that point that I decided that I didn't wish to read any more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl, Interrupted []  2020-5-30 18:0

    Unlike the dramatic (and wonderful) narrative film of the same title, Susanna Kaysen's book is a collection of small vignettes sprinkled with her smart self-examination and philosophical musings. It can be read in little chunks, each of which is thought-provoking. I particularly appreciated her characterizations of the therapists, who weren't any saner than Ms. Kaysen (and that's perfectly realistic given that a significant percentage of people enter the study of psychiatry/psychology for a better understanding of their own maladjustments.) I want this book was about twice as long, because I read it in a single short sitting and found myself wanting more. Oh, and as to the diagnosis of "borderline personality - recovered," I shared that diagnosis and don't understand it any better than Ms. Kaysen and perhaps her therapists do. I think it represents the intelligent, sensitive person who questions the globe around her and finds it wanting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plan Interrupted []  2020-8-21 18:0

    Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    3.5 StarsI just finished the book and I have so a lot of mixed emotions. Throughout reading this book I thought it would be one of, if not, the best books he's ever written. It's amazing seeing Sandersons writing grow, and it really showed in this book with the characters. I liked The Alloy of Law, but some of the characters personalities (especially Wayne) felt a bit forced. I have felt this method about some of the characters in his other books as well, but they were never TOO bad. In Shadows of Self they got better, but the plot and twists was more of the highlight of that book, and not so much the side characters like Wayne, Marasi, and Steris. In this book however I found all the characters wonderful, but the plot......not so much. All the characters (especially Steris) were delightful to read and I must have laughed out loud at least 10 times while reading this. Their chemistry just worked so well together and I think this is the best Sanderson book to date e plot itself though just never captured me. It was ultimately the characters and their interactions with each other than created me read this book so quick and not wish to place it down. The plot was just.....boring and compared to Sandersons other books, which have spoiled me with their twists and explosive endings, it fell flat. -- SPOILERS FROM HERE ON OUT --It's probably my fault a small bit that it fell flat for me, because seeing some of the early reviews got me REALLY excited. People talked about the cosmere getting tied together, about alien forces invading Scadrial, and all around just created it's scope seem huge and epic. Well....none of that really happened. The plot was just a primary treasure hunt with a few obvious and meh twists (Wax's sister and the Spear) and a weak ending. Shadows of Self teased us with Trell and this book just teased more and never really answered much. I was also super excited to figure out what the void eyed demons were and then they just turned out to be people with masks from far away on Scadrial. I mean come on, I'm sure everyone who's read Stormlight got all excited like me and thought they would be some sort of minion of Odium, it turned out to be SUCH a allow l in all i give this book 5 stars for the characters, and 3 stars for the plot. Another terrific book by Sanderson, but ultimately a small bit disappointing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    This is the third of the Steampunk-ish trilogy on this complex planet in Sanderson's wonderfully complex Mistborn fantasy universe, and it does not disappoint. A number of twists and turns and it reads like suspense but plenty of humor because Sanderson creates amazing characters - human and non-human. He knows what motivates people and the range of what people can be. The very reasonably logical yet fantastical powers the Mistborn possess and too fun to describe. You wish to read the Mistborn series IN ORDER, please, so you understand the full depth of what is event and what has happened on this very unusual globe as well as its theology. The Mistborn humans can use the powers of different metals by metabolizing them, and each one gives a special ability for as long as you have a shop of the metal inside "to burn." Test anything by Brandon Sanderson. He never disappoints in fantasy writing!! PS - If you're the kind who read the Silmarillion when you read LOTR, or you play D&D, then you'll wish to read the appendices in which he explains why the fantastical happens in this universe, in a very logical but complex way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    Can't go wrong with the Mistborn series from Brandon Sanderson. I was a bit disappointed by the limited scope of this branch (the Wax novels) compared to the original Mistborn series. I mean, who cares if he's a coinshot when he could have been Mistborn? Anyway, as much as I was disappointed by the Alloy Of Law novel, the Bands of Mourning redeemed the series. Not only do Wax and Wayne's stories come to a satisfactory conclusion, but we also learn more about the original characters from the original Mistborn novels. As usual, awesome storytelling from a talented author. Extremely complex characters that sound authentic, like actual people that might step out of the pages and exist in true life. Sanderson contains some funny moments with all the action and suspense, something he has a bonus for. If you have fun fantasy, suspense, mysteries, or even old Westerns, I think you'll love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    I originally purchased Bands of Mourning thinking that it was going to be the huge finale for the 2nd Era in the Mistborn Saga, and spent the entire book wondering how Sanderson was going to top the huge reveal in the second book. I won’t spoil either surprise, but just when you think you begin to understand all the possible tangents of Allomantic and Feruchemical powers, Sanderson drops in a characteristic twist that you never saw coming! The largest announcement of all comes at the end when you search that there is going to be a fourth book in the series, The Lost Metal, coming out sometime after the next Stormlight book wraps is book continues to flesh out the history of Wax, and why he chose to escape out to the Roughs. It starts with an interesting insight into his childhood, and provides insight into his strained relationship he has with his Terris heritage. Throughout the rest of the story, you start to learn more about his history with his sister, all while maintaining a breakneck pace into one conundrum after another, in ways only Wax and Wayne could search themselves falling into.I loved the extra characters and the realizations that they bring with them near the end of the book. You can see where Sanderson was laying some marvelous groundwork for the next books, and I can’t wait to see how far the story will expanding now with whole fresh worlds coming into the mix.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    “The Bands of Mourning” is the sixth book in the Mistborn series, and the final book in the later trilogy. I enjoyed this book a lot because Sanderson provides more backstory on Wax and his sister Teslin, and he attempts to provide an respond to why a god will allow people suffer. Of course, we also obtain a satisfying conclusion to the war between Wax and his ter the happenings in the second book, Wax is upset with his god Harmony, and he chooses to search his own method despite Harmony’s efforts to tutorial his path. It took until the end of the book, but we finally obtain a dialogue surrounding the “Why” questions that fuel Wax’s resentment toward his god. Theologically, Harmony is a bit underpowered compared to the real God and creator of the Universe (i.e., Yahweh, Jehovah), but I thought Sanderson did a decent job of explaining why a god would choose to let suffering in the globe even if it means not good things happen. The respond was a bit lacking in regards to the Christian faith with its hope for eternal life and ultimate justice in the world, but perhaps Sanderson’s respond will gives readers something to think about in regards to their own beliefs about God.I don’t wish to overplay the religious aspect of the story --- this book still contains the fun banter between Wax and Wayne, lots of adventures and shootouts, and even some romance along the way. The religious aspect is minor, but I think an necessary part to understand why things happened the method they did in regards to Wax and his lost love Lessie.I look forward to reading more stories in the Mistborn universe!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    Unbelievable story as usual from Sanderson. If you're already a fan then there isn't really any need for a redundant review telling you why this book is great. It's in the same vein as his other allomancer stories and the main hero is far more likeable than Vin. More like a Kessler except a small more sane, a small more globe weary. If that's possible as Kessler was locked in a God forsaken pit and left to ory is quick paced. Define ty a page turner. Finished it in two days and was sad when there was no more left. Didn't think I wanted another metal bender book, been rereading the storm light series but this is a small lighter and... While not MORE fun, a various kind of simple fun with a amazing story, interesting characters, you won't ever be sorry you picked up a book by Sanderson. Unless it's a children book, the alcatraz series. While I can appreciate those for what they are it's akin to reading Harry Potter for a slightly younger audience. And I wasn't ever a fan of the Harry Potter series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    This is the third book in a four book series, and although it has its own plot arc, its story is a continuation of a greater plot arc - if you haven't read Let of Law or Shadows of Self, you really need to read those in to follow the story. Also realize that there is still one more book in the series that Brandon hasn't even started writing yet, so although there is some closure for some things at the end of this book, it is not THE IS is, however, what I was expecting when I first read the first Wax & Wayne novel, Alloy of Law. Although I enjoyed it, I asked, why would Scadrial, a globe with powerful, remarkable magic, develop the exact same technologies that Earth did? Trains, steam power, electricity... Shouldn't the magic have some impact on industrialization? Finally, we see not only a continuation and further development of Wax's quest that was introduced in the first book, along with the humor and plot twists you expect from Brandon's novels, but also special technological advances that specifically relate to the magic powers of the globe - with fascinating implications for the e book is a satisfying and enjoyable continuation of the adventures of Wax and Wayne, along with several secondary characters they've picked up along the way. As with all of Brandon's books, it's a character-centric story, and you really obtain pulled into their plights and struggles. I laughed, I cried, I worried, I celebrated, and I didn't place the book down until I had finished. And now the long wait for the finale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    I started reading Sanderson since he was brought on to complete the Wheel of Time series and he doesn't disappoint. After becoming thoroughly immersed in the globe of Kelsier and Vin, the transition to The Let of Law was a bit rough for me. However, as the series progressed I became exciting with the escapades of Wax and s of Mourning - just like the previous two books - does a amazing job in providing readers with its own story line not completely dependent on the other books while satisfying those readers - who have read the others - with links to the rest of the series as well as to the original Mistborn stories. Now I just have to bide my time with the Stormlight Archive until the final installation of Mistborn is released!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    Reader thoughts:This book delivered all I expected and more. There were a couple things I guessed early (just a few pages before the characters, a certain betrayal and a certain hiding place), and there were a couple things I did not like (ahem, no killing named characters). It was still a amazing ride.I've loved Steris from the begin (she's dull but earnest and studious, so much like me), so I loved that amazing things happened to her. :)The masked ones were great! Technology that enhances allomancy? Opens so a lot of possibilities. I saw Rothfuss's one culture in them in the method they signal emotions with their hands. Love that idea.Wax and Wayne are excellent together as always. The banter is seriously ROFL priceless. Spoiled ain, there was slight inuendo (maybe 3 lines? A reference to balls?) which I thought unnecessary. I prefer Stormlight, Alcatraz, or Reckoners for that reason primarily.Wayne has to have some command over connection, though it's through his hats, which doesn't create sense, because they aren't metal. Or maybe he's just talented.Writer thoughts:Sanderson's pacing is great, like always, and his characters are so well developed (Steris reading a book on the train and listing all the things that can possibly go wrong). The globe is somehow growing but still consistent (how does he obtain that to work?).He balances various story aspects very well too. There's humor (the stage with the innkeeper watching the group interact so weirdly). There's sorrow (masks on the walls). There's invention (telephones and cubes). There are fresh cultures (not telling). It's not just the amount of each of these that's important, it's the timing too. Sanderson's chapters play them out in the right order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bands of Mourning []  2020-1-5 18:32

    I just finished the bands of mourning by Brandon Sanderson. I am a large fan of Wax and Wane and this book certainly didn't disappoint. I really liked how the development between wax and Steris happened, and I very much enjoyed the political Intrigue and interwoven politics that took put in this one. It certainly gave a various tone to the first book, and it created the greeter even more invested in the series than they were before. I cannot wait to read the final book from Brandon Sanderson although it will be with a massive heart that I pick up that novel. In this book I enjoyed very much the reveal of the secret society as it were through suits and the set and I also enjoyed the different various challenges and tryouts wax had to go through in to persevere. All of the characters in this novel had their own stories to tell, and I can't wait to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Victorian Mourning Jewelry []  2020-1-21 23:3

    Not really a book but more of an introductory pamphlet. If you had never heard off mourning jewelry this is an amazing intro but am the author did was pull together a few sentences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Interrupted Journey [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    20 Killed, 31 Injured! The Interrupted Journey is directed by Daniel Birt and written by Michael Pertwee. It stars Richard Todd, Valerie Hobson, Tom Walls and Ralph Truman. Melody is by Stanley Black and cinematography by Erwin Hillier. To Stop Train In Case Of Emergency Pull Down The Chain. Penalty For Improper Use £5. That's a woman in a million. Very tidy Brit noir this one. The story is a bit hokey as it enters Twilight Location territories, but the twists, turns and mystery quotient hold it lively to keep the attention. The low budget is never a issue for Birt, who aided by the perfect Hillier, brings a feverish realm to the story by method of canted angles, shadow play and hazes, while certain photos (shapes of doorways etc) are cunningly teasing the audience about what is going on. Cast are very powerful to round this out as more than worth the time of the Brit noir movie fan. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Interrupted Time Series Analysis []  2020-6-28 18:28

    This is a revised ver of the 1980 Small Green Book (LGB) of the same title by these authors. Consisting of maybe 150 titles, the LGB series has two annoying properties. (1) The titles vary in quality from really amazing to really bad. (2) No matter what the ads might say, they’re never revised. The 1980 LGB was obviously dated and, as I recall, badly in need of revision. This 2019 LGB --- yes, it's cover is green --- has a various publisher (Oxford) but follows the same plan. Easy-to-follow examples are worked out in detail with a lot of pictures. I can’t search my copy of the 1980 LGB and can’t do a page-by-page comparison. This 2019 LGB costs about the same, however — so much for inflation — and is about 25 pages longer. Examples come from a dozen fields and fresh methods are introduced. This 2019 LGB is a superior product. Anyone think of buying the 1980 LGB — yes, it’s still in print— should this 2019 LGB instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    The Lusitania, WW1, Catholic and Protestant, servants and upper class....love, honor, respect, tragedy and triumph!!! It is all within these pages set in 1915!A fun summer historical read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    Love following this family and learning all the happenings that take put in their lives. The marriages that bring such joy the deaths that bring such sorrow, the babies that are still to come.. Can hardly wait to see what happens in the next book !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    It is hard to place down. I had to obtain #5 to see what was going on next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    What is it that hold us connected to our "friends" inside this story. No a question, really, just an observation on my own behalf. The trusts and turns of the convoluted relations. Surprise after surprise. Should there be any more characters, I'll have to take notes. A marvelous story of the eras rules of friendship, coupling, inheritance and generations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    The multigenerational series is like an American "Downton Abbey". As family secrets are uncovered and the lives of everyone in the story change we can all remember where we were when various happenings shaped our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    Marie Silk has done a amazing job keeping the saga going on all the characters in her books. Explains how each of the characters met and what has happened for them to be in the situation or position they search themselves in at the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    Wow loved these series. Lot of ups and downs for this family, secret glory me, they just hold coming, twist and turn, hold your eyes begin or you will miss the tip from the author. Soon as I finish one book i go a the next one. The best writing skills, I admire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    There was only one thing I disliked about Book 4 - Book 5 doesn't come our until this fall. Amazing series, amazing characters, and amazing plots. Very enjoyable reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    I was thrilled that Book Four was out and read it in a few hours!! It totally had me enthralled during the time on the ship! I almost went to the end of the book to search out what happened! I held back though and loved the method everything came together for all the key players in the former books, plus a few nice surprises - I love a satisfied ending....Now awaiting Book 5 in the fall. Marie does a amazing job of portraying historical fiction with romance and depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Davenport House 4: Heiress Interrupted []  2020-1-21 22:28

    I've actually finished the series of 6 books and I'm experiencing withdrawal, getting impatient and grumpy. I can't wait for the promised prequel. I loved book 4 as I have loved every delicious adventure of these heiresses, their staff, neighbors and friends. The story moves along quickly and purposefully. It's great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I wish to thank Lauren S. for this unbelievable bonus to our library and with it her tip that it is a must read for young adults. I wholeheartedly concur; in 68 poems in this spare, yet piercing novel in verse, the author was scheduled to speak at Matthew Shepard's college and found out just before about the savage beating this young man received. Leslea Newman kept her keynote engagement and spoke and wept at the sheer horror of this hate crime toward an innocent victim who succumbs to death 5 days later. Newman has taken a lot of elements of Matthew Shepard's latest hours and imagined what may have been; the road, the fence he was lashed to, the biker, the murderers, the pistol, the deer and so much more. This book is a tribute to Matthew Shepard who died as a effect of a hate crime at the hands of haters. This book is also a history lesson that every child, young adult and reader needs to discover because in the reading of this book, you will be changed. This book needs to be read by everyone.I especially gained even more knowledge through the author's introduction, her epilogue, her afterword, notes, explanation of poetic forms and resources. Newman brings sympathy, anger, sorrow, and compassion to each and every word in this book. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This is so hard to read. The poetry is wonderful. It is very well written and edited, but the emotion that surrounds Mr. Shepherd's death is so powerful that it can only be read a few pages at a time. One must have tissues show to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    This is a print to edition. The product description did not say that, and i would not have purchased if I'd known. There's a hrammatic error in one of the gurst pages of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    This is Catherine Aird at her best: a fun read with interesting characters and a amazing plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This book was a unbelievable book, it is written from a lot of various points of view. It is a quick read but is so sad. Brough me to tears reading it. Would recommend this book to 13 y/o and up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I haven't had a possibility to read the book, but Leslea Newman visited my college and did a reading from this book. I was lucky enough to have her sign my copy. It was a very moving book and the imagery is incredible. I highly recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    Inspector Sloan is called to a dinner where 12 sit down to eat, but only 11 survive the night. All the meal has to tested and everyone’s whereabouts have to be determined so Sloan can figure out who poisoned the victim. This is a very amazing mystery and amazing method to present the intelligence of the characters in the series. This was one of my favorites in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    I always have fun this series with its familiar but pleasant formula and familiar characters. Not amazing lit but just what I'm looking for when I pick up a mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I love this one. I am a visual artist and do not express myself with words very well. That's one of the reasons I have fun reading is finding beauty in words and the storytelling. The foreshadowing and mood setting with word choice. This is a various but attractive art form. Poetry with iambic pentameter and rhyme schemes that I cannot figure out create it hard for me to obtain the beauty of the roll, the stops of the word. Concrete poems I understand, dual voice poems check, Haikus gotcha. But when it is necessary to a verse novel for me to understand the rhyming pattern and the emphasis of words, I feel like I lose some of the beauty reading gives me since I miss out on emphasis that I can later going back understand was foreshadowing to set the is book uses multiple types of poetry to tell basically a single paige point of view of someone or something that was show of affected by this hate crime. And while some do have the elements I don't like, the author has given an index of the poems numbered and described how the poem works in its put and what kind of poem it is. I recommend waiting till the end to look for ones you don't understand. It might breakup the thoughts and flows between , this verse novel gives the happenings of a tragic murder of a boy named Matthew Shepard. I begins before he is killed, what he is thinking about in the club, when he is beaten and tied to a fencepost and ultimately dies. Multiple viewpoints are given throughout the book. What the stars saw, what the mothers of others felt for their sons. The fence that so sadly had to keep him up... And the mourning and fall out from a murder of hate. The sentencing, the hate-groups that agree...It's deeply moving. interweaving various stories like yarn into a coherent begin to finish book of what happened that night to the aftermath for the boy, his family, his killers, the community, and the LGBTQ community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I bought this product for a theatre project and it one of the greatest books I've ever read similar to LGBT issues. It's thoughful, artistic, and lists it's resources in full so the reader can do plenty of independent study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    I always have fun a mystery that keeps me guessing. A dinner party with an overdose, a fatal vehicle crash, and a village full of people with secrets. Place all of these together and you have quite an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    As is often real I noticed the clues but didn't place them together. It wrapped up quickly at the end, but I can see no reason for the conclusion. Ah, well! I liked the ride even if the end was hardly justified.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Newman's diary of poems runs up and down the dial of viewpoints and emotions telling the feeling of a lot of people -- and some other beings and non-beings as well -- surrounding the torture and murder of Matthew Shepard, the young student. But here's the deal: These poem spring out of horror, and I would never have purchased the book had I not had the opportunity to look through it first (a friend's copy). One finishes the collection (which can also be read piecemeal) feeling more encouraged and empowered than horrified. Bravo to Newman for accomplishing the impossible and demonstrating how something attractive can come out of something unspeakable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Beautifully written words on such a tragic event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    This is the first C.D. Sloan mystery I have read. I liked the inspector and the mystery was good, but I felt like she was a small too technical when it came to finding out what poison was used on the first victim. The ending was a surprise and the motive not fully explained.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Wow. I almost want I was still teaching so I could use this book during Poetry Month. Not only has Newman written some attractive poems, but she also used a wide dozens of poetic forms and styles. Wow. This book was so amazingly excellent. I'm undecided about whether I should donate this book so others can share in it, or if I should just hold it under my pillow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard []  2020-1-14 19:36

    As someone who does not regularly have fun poetry outside the kinds of Shel Silverstein, I was hesitant to read October Mourning. However, after reading just the first entry I was blown away. Needless to say I finished it in one sitting and since have returned time and time again to re-examine my favorite poems. Newman does an wonderful job taking on various perspectives and it raises the book to another level of creativity and effectiveness. As someone who was very young at the time of Matthew Shepard's death after reading October Mourning I was ashamed I had never heard of him. Everyone needs to read this book, whether you like poetry or not, and especially if you do not know Matthew Shepard's story- it is a must!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    This book is the sixth in Catherine Aird's 'Inspector C. D. Sloan' police procedurals, and was originally published in 1975. My husband and I both enjoyed these ingenious British mysteries starring Inspector C.D. Sloan and his clueless side-kick, Detective-Constable Crosby. In fact, "Slight Mourning" has one of my favorite 'Crosby' scenes, where the hapless constable tries to chase a bee out of a greenhouse while the Inspector is interviewing its owner. After several fruitless passes, "There was a sudden commotion near the door of the greenhouse, and Crosby shot outside into the begin air, hotly pursued by an exceedingly irate bee. 'That,' observed Miss Paterson dryly, 'seems to have done the trick. Thank you, Constable.'"Mrs. Paterson had been a guest at the dinner party where an elderly gentleman received an overdose of barbiturates and later perished in a vehicle crash. There were twelve people around the dinner table, so how was the poison administered to just one diner, and did it slay the right victim?This book winds on at a leisurely pace, while Sloan works his method through the suspect list. Then the assassin strikes again, and a prime suspect disappears. Can the Inspector stop the murderer before another guest at that ill-fated dinner is slaughtered?I can highly recommend this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    This author doesn't disappoint. Thorough hero development and a solution i did not guess. Always have fun her books. Will expect more of the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slight Mourning (The Calleshire Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-5-17 18:0

    One reviewer said this is not your typical 12 to dinner, one murdered, whodunit; and he's right. Although not long, it leads you astray quite expertly; and only has you guessing anywhere near the truth when Inspector Sloan begins to obtain a clear view of the murderer himself. I like a good, British mystery with lots of twists and turns. Reminds me of Agatha Christie who, of course, is the best. Catherine Aird is right up there with this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    Grab a beer, glass of wine and even a cigar while enjoying this novel. You will probably reload a couple of times and hold e areas and characters were brought to life and the storyline had me thinking about "what if" in alternate history. The book is written in amazing and descriptions that had me feeling I was there at all times.Easy read and goes by quickly for 350+ pages, definitely worth the for fresh novel price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vacation Interrupted (Thriller 3: Love Is Murder) []  2020-7-28 19:39

    Amazing story line

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vacation Interrupted (Thriller 3: Love Is Murder) []  2020-7-28 19:39

    I love Allison's books. I think I have read all of them. The knowledge that she has taken the time to learn shows in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    My previous reads of alternative histories left me cold and disinterested. McDonald's take on US Civil Battle history is an interesting, and quite plausible, view of what could later have been a very various WWII. Well paced and tightly written, McDonald moves between scenes like a movie director. Well researched, with small known info of technology at the time blended into the plot. Recommended and enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    This was one of the best novels I've read in a long, long time. Unless you've got time to [email protected]#$%!, don't pick it up. The plot is filled with unexpected twists and the writing is superb. The ending is priceless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder, Interrupted (James Patterson's Murder is Forever) [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Reading this was a waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    Well, this is one of THOSE books. The story itself is outstanding, creative, captivating. Unfortunately, the writing does not do it justice. I search it hard to criticize the book as I loved it and read it in one day! But I was distracted by some of the awkward story telling. The larger story was sweeping and came together. The hero parts, the smaller parts were just wanting. Anyway, if you like alternative history, the book itself is a treat, definitely and read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    This book is a must-read for fans of historical fiction. It is an ambitious undertaking of a look into an alternate history of our nation. Written in a novel format, the plot builds in your mind and your soul, and immerses you into a heart wrenching tale of Hitler's attempt at ethnic cleansing and the annihilation of Jews, and the bravery of a lot of of the main characters as they are skillfully developed from chapter to chapter. I found the story to be fascinating and gripping from beginning to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    It was a really amazing read spent time putting this together in a format that one could actually believe it might have happened

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vacation Interrupted (Thriller 3: Love Is Murder) []  2020-7-28 19:39

    Another Amazing Lucy Kincaid story! It always amazed me that amazing authors like this can hold coming up with interesting stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    If you wish an exciting WWII tale of amazing courage, and not good crimes, this a book for you!However, the alternate history is simply absurd.... The South won the Civil Battle and became independent nation in 1862. But Hitler still has the same career in this other history, even 80 years after the 1862 divergence .... Apparently the South winning the American Civil War, had small or no result on the course of globe history! All the popular true people from our WWII, are exactly the same people in the other history, despite being born decades after 1862. Same parents, same time of conception ( and human reproduction is so random too.... ) seemingly not effected by a various history, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    Unbelievable read, pulls the reader into the book early on. The author is able to make a stunning narrative that will hold the reader turning pages late into the night. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vacation Interrupted (Thriller 3: Love Is Murder) []  2020-7-28 19:39

    As always A amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vacation Interrupted (Thriller 3: Love Is Murder) []  2020-7-28 19:39

    Very amazing but too short..needed a few more things to happen. Really like her booksLove Lucy Kinkaide series Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vacation Interrupted (Thriller 3: Love Is Murder) []  2020-7-28 19:39

    Problem finds them no matter where they go. Individually and as a couple they are caring and quite skilled. This story picks up immediately with saving someone from drowning but then it turns into more...a stalking case. The action is constant and the story is quick, but info and this globe are just as vivid as the longer stories that we love with Lucy Kincaid

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vacation Interrupted (Thriller 3: Love Is Murder) []  2020-7-28 19:39

    This is a fast adventure of characters I know and love. The relation between these two characters combined the best of love and trust. Fun read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    I'm not usually a huge fan of alternate history, mostly because I know it's not what really happened. Well, it didn't take me long to obtain past that reservation. This thing is so close to reality I found myself forgetting it wasn't e author has seamlessly woven his edge-of-your-seat fictional storyline into a history book. Instead of going down an endless rabbit hole, like most alternate history novels I've read, this story actually builds to a climax, with a surprise ending that brought a satisfying closure to the is book is also special in another way: It's a heart-pounding geopolitical/military thriller that has some beautiful darn amazing relationship stories running in the background. It does take a small while for the author to develop the several fictional characters involved in the story, and I thought about withholding that 5th star, but ultimately, the payoff was well worth the wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Nation Interrupted: An Alternate History Novel []  2020-6-10 18:58

    Wow! What a read! Exhilarating indeed to borrow from George Galdorisi. Kevin McDonald does it again! Must have been those exciting Austin "Star Flight" helicopter pilot days that helped propel this story and his UT journalism days. Kevin is a gifted, unbelievable writer. It's like Amazing Expectations; each hero is well developed, and you're craving to learn more about them. His word selection, excellent grammar, and meticulous attention to descriptive info makes this a true page turner!And what if?! Kevin's twist on history gave me amazing pause. Much like our country right now -- a nation interrupted -- over Covid-19. His book is relevant today! Read it!Here is hoping Kevin enjoys his upcoming film consulting as much as he enjoys writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    First, allow me say, I love this e first two are still my favorites, but this one is right up there. The writing is top cond, take note HBO. These novels, when they’re done, would create a [email protected]#$% show. Please and thank ird, and maybe least importantly, there are a few grammatical errors that are a small annoying. They shouldn’t be there in a book this stly, a few quibbles (and some spoilers people, look away now if you don’t wish spoilers). This is the third time Ethan has pulled his allow me test to use a god to create myself a god thing. And over all that time, there hasn’t been a single lead as to his machinations or location? The SOA hasn’t turned one Dominion Sect member? How does the SOA suck at its job this much? Not everyone in that agency is a traitor. Idk, that situation felt like there should be more progression in the overall storyline than there was. Also, the situation with Hannah, that was horrifying. Absolutely horrifying. I’m glad that whatever Ethan forced on her, none of that was on page. It actually felt like that was the closest that part of the story arc got to progressing and yet, it was all off page.But don’t allow me taking umbrage at a few typos or lack of Patrick actually injuring Ethan stop you from buying this book. It’s a damn amazing book. You should it. And HBO should the rights to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    Another AMAZING book to continue this amazing series. The amount of research that goes into each of the mythologies is truly awe-inspiring.Once again we see Patrick and Jono's relationship grow in fresh ways as their bond is tested again and again.Wade's personality continues to grow (even if it is into an obnoxious teenager! lol)Fenrir becomes a little... more....This series is not to be missed! Can't wait for book 5...and 6 ...and...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning: Soulbound, Book 4 []  2020-7-26 20:26

    If you have read books from this author then you know she likes to give you an idea of what will happen with her title. I was scared of what the outcome might be. I am very satisfied with the how things played out; while also wanting to be able to smack both Patrick and Jono upside the know things aren't amazing when groups have to split up and our guys obtain a reminder of that in this book. The darn gods hold trying to tear everything apart in their own special ways which is always detrimental to everyone else.I love these characters and their special world. The time that the author takes to build each one is amazing. I have fun the fresh challenges while still aiming for the ultimate goal. Patrick, Jono and the rest of their package have a lot to do, but they are intelligent enough to know their weaknesses and to fill the no learns some lessons and some of his secrets come out to his friends. I think it was good, but he definitely had some groveling to this book, but create sure to read the whole series in order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    It's May Day in Oxford and Gemma Rose crawls out of her warm bed to meet her best mate at dawn . A 500-year-old ritual of life in Oxford, May Day starts with the ringing of bells and song but it has been eleven years since Gemma latest participated. She is feeling every day of those eleven years since she works every day at her fresh tearoom, The Small Stables. The celebration is disrupted, however, when a young man plunges from the bridge near Gemma. It becomes clear when the body surfaces that it was murder, not an accident. With the support of the "old biddies", four pensioners who support out at the tearoom and consider themselves sleuths, Gemma (under protest) sets out to solve the murder. Could it be his on and off girlfriend, a Russian "princess" from a strong oligarch family, or someone else? As usual, Gemma has lots going on in her life. Her overbearing mother is bringing her strange plants, her cat Muesli is spreading mischief at an old-age home, and her boyfriend, Devlin O'Connor, is behaving oddly. She is making small progress in settling into her fresh cottage and really doesn't have time for e Oxford Tearoom Mysteries are delightful reads, packed with atmosphere and quirky characters. I really appreciate the inclusion of recipes for tearoom goodies--someday I will actually create some of them! I recommend this series for anglophiles and cozy readers alike. Thanks to the author for an advance copy in return for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    This was another unbelievable book by H.Y.Hanna. This series is well worth reading. She has developed all these characters so well. I just love the "old biddies". They are unbelievable and always hold my laughing. I have really enjoyed reading her books and cannot wait to read her next installment with Gemma and all of her unbelievable characters. I highly recommend these books to anyone who enjoys a nice, clean, mystery.I can't place it down once I start reading. I have truly enjoyed reading this series and look forward to her next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    What a treat, not only another delicious recipe to satisfy this Anglophile’s appetite, but also I couldn’t place down this fifth book! Only H.Y. Hanna would take us to Oxford’s May Day celebration opening up at an ungodly morning hour and giving us…murder! Always well-written we obtain a clear picture of Oxford through descriptions of its pathways, bridges, towers, and college gardens along with everyone’s different early morning fashions. My favorite hero Gemma heads out to meet BFF Cassie to have fun the Magdalen Choir greeting the sunrise reminiscent of their college days. Everyone, including Gemma, felt goosebumps at the final blend of joyous voices and then a commotion, shouting, someone heaved over the edge, and the splashing of water. The crowd eagerly set to applaud another Oxford tradition of jumping off the bridge and into the river below, but the Harris tweed clad boy Gemma had stood next to on the bridge floated silently, not moving, face down in the cold river…this isn’t part of the tradition! But a clever murder is always part of H.Y. Hanna’s Oxford Tearoom Mystery!I’m always engaged with Hanna’s murder mystery, gathering clues, navigating twists and turns, and trying to uncover the assassin before another “Gemma’s in peril” ending. My inner “Sherlock” is always delightfully challenged, but I really have fun the well-developed characters and all their interactions. Again CID detective and boyfriend Devlin O’Conner heads the investigation, and although very amazing at his job, it’s effecting the budding romance between him and Gemma. Hanna has woven this drama throughout the series along with the nosy “Old Biddies” interfering with their own investigation, Muesli’s kitty behaviors causing problems, Gemma’s mother inserting herself, and BFF Cassie always there in a pinch. I love the whole globe of tea and scones, mates and family, and murder and mayhem! And don’t forget sticky toffee, sliced bananas, and new whipped cream…yes, Banoffee Pie!Do you wish a treat? Check out the audio ver with the brilliant talent of Pearl Hewitt enhancing this engaging story!Pearl Hewitt’s artistry hits the tag again portraying a wide dozens of British accents and dialects, and mesmerizing me as I listen to every delightful character’s tone, personality, and emotion greatly enriching an already engaging H.Y. Hanna story…What? Three hours have passed? I didn’t even realize as I was plugged into my phone going about my chores…Ok, I really didn’t do the chores. During the gossipy moment at the tearoom, Pearl does an extraordinary job with the different tourists offering info about the mystery from Americans to Australians to a Scot or two, and she even provided an perfect Slavic accent. All of this is why audiobooks are so unique. I can read the story myself, but the narrator, especially Pearl Hewitt, screams, yawns, whispers, slows her tone for dramatic effect, and when “Devlin sighed” you hear him sigh, when “Dora snorted” you hear her snort, and when Meusli is upset you hear the “meorrws!”! I love it! Pearl Hewitt is absolutely excellent for H.Y. Hanna’s Oxford Book Only "Disclosure: A review copy of this book was sent to me by the author. All of the above opinions are my own.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    Another amazing story in the story of Gemma Rose and her life since she gave up her high powered job in Sydney and returned to the Cotswolds and opened her tea is story finds her trying to track down the truth about a May Day murder.Her baker Dora, whose best mate Miriam, is accused of killing a boy in her care at Haverton College.While trying to do this Gemma gets roped in to joining a self-defense course and ends up side lined when the old biddies obtain a small to enthusiastic in always a amazing story which makes you use your small grey cells.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning: Soulbound, Book 4 []  2020-7-26 20:26

    First, allow me say, I love this e first two are still my favorites, but this one is right up there. The writing is top cond, take note HBO. These novels, when they’re done, would create a [email protected]#$% show. Please and thank ird, and maybe least importantly, there are a few grammatical errors that are a small annoying. They shouldn’t be there in a book this stly, a few quibbles (and some spoilers people, look away now if you don’t wish spoilers). This is the third time Ethan has pulled his allow me test to use a god to create myself a god thing. And over all that time, there hasn’t been a single lead as to his machinations or location? The SOA hasn’t turned one Dominion Sect member? How does the SOA suck at its job this much? Not everyone in that agency is a traitor. Idk, that situation felt like there should be more progression in the overall storyline than there was. Also, the situation with Hannah, that was horrifying. Absolutely horrifying. I’m glad that whatever Ethan forced on her, none of that was on page. It actually felt like that was the closest that part of the story arc got to progressing and yet, it was all off page.But don’t allow me taking umbrage at a few typos or lack of Patrick actually injuring Ethan stop you from buying this book. It’s a damn amazing book. You should it. And HBO should the rights to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning: Soulbound, Book 4 []  2020-7-26 20:26

    Another AMAZING book to continue this amazing series. The amount of research that goes into each of the mythologies is truly awe-inspiring.Once again we see Patrick and Jono's relationship grow in fresh ways as their bond is tested again and again.Wade's personality continues to grow (even if it is into an obnoxious teenager! lol)Fenrir becomes a little... more....This series is not to be missed! Can't wait for book 5...and 6 ...and...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning: Soulbound, Book 4 []  2020-7-26 20:26

    This is a amazing addition to the series, though I have a few complaints? Comments? Not really- just keeping it interesting! My only comment is it is too short! And I read-gulp it down so quick I have to reread ( NOT a hardship) right away. Obtain this one! Obtain the whole series! World(s) building, love and commitment and dragons. And pop-tarts. What more do ya need!?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    This series continuously blows my mind. This time Patrick and Jono are dealing with Norse gods, and as always with gods, things go fubar fast. This one felt more nonstop action to me, and I was thrilled to be along for the ride. Turner is a master at adding fresh twists and turns, while also crafting a riveting underlying story. I think this installment did an absolutely unbelievable job of showing us Pat and Jono’s love, and they are quickly moving to one of my favorite couples ever, as I swear I can feel all their love for each other. However, for me, Wade always steals the present and I loved him dearly in this one. Funny at times, at others heart-stopping and intense, this is definitely a book you don’t wish to miss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    I actually switched between reading and listening to this story. Gemma's day ends in murder and the old biddies are very interested in helping to solve it and are getting in the way. Even sweet small Muesli is getting into trouble. What is going on here!! Everyone is giving Gemma problems. And is this the end for Gemma and her boyfriend? Why is he avoiding her? I just love all the characters in these stories. They are lively and full of mystery and fun. You just know that if you visit the Tearoom and surrounding town, you are going to love talking to them all. And Pearl Hunter, the narrator, just makes these characters and stories come alive with her reading. She makes it sound so charming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    Cat lovers,beware!They are addicting I want she would write faster,reminds me of the Cat Who series I have all of them in hard ey are funny and suspenseful I have a kittie just like Museli these are all keepers for the old biddies,and being from England 65 years ago the sayings bring so a lot of memories of ied to sign onto her web website but not much luck on my kindle will test my iPad.E

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    This book is amazing! I love the Soulbond series and this book, while stressful, shows how brilliant the author is. Jono and Patrick have been through a lot in this series so far, now they're halfway across the country from each other and their relationship is tested like no other.Even though Jono and Patrick have their problems they prove they are stronger than anything, even the gods who are using is book has all the action of the previous ones and it's awesome to see how these characters have grown. They've always worked well together but the closer they obtain the more they trust one another, the faster and more easier it is to work together and it means they have a deeper understanding of what the other needs when their out in the field.I cannot wait to see what happens next in this series though I'm scared of what else the author is going to throw at them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    You can’t fail with Hailey Turner! This edition found Patrick in Chicago, in the winter, trying to protect Odin, along with the Valkyries and some fresh characters, from the Dominion Sect, Jono targeted by a hate team hired by Estelle and then there’s teenage dragon Wade who is snarky as ever (we see him in action – yay)! Action, family drama and Norse gods, oh my! Can’t wait for book 5!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning: Soulbound, Book 4 []  2020-7-26 20:26

    This series continuously blows my mind. This time Patrick and Jono are dealing with Norse gods, and as always with gods, things go fubar fast. This one felt more nonstop action to me, and I was thrilled to be along for the ride. Turner is a master at adding fresh twists and turns, while also crafting a riveting underlying story. I think this installment did an absolutely unbelievable job of showing us Pat and Jono’s love, and they are quickly moving to one of my favorite couples ever, as I swear I can feel all their love for each other. However, for me, Wade always steals the present and I loved him dearly in this one. Funny at times, at others heart-stopping and intense, this is definitely a book you don’t wish to miss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    Muffins and Mourning Tea is the 5th book in the Oxford Tearoom mystery series. If you love tea, scones and cozy mysteries then you're in for a treat with this engaging book by H.Y. Hanna!You would think that running a tearoom would be fun and involve small stress (what could be stressful about banoffee pie and a cuppa???). Gemma Rose's life turns out to be anything but enjoyable when she ends up in the middle of yet another murder investigation! Of course, the Old Biddies have their granny panties in a bunch again and horn in on the action, but this time it's personal! Another older lady who is mates with Dora is accused of the murder. Among choke holds, scary Russians, kabob skewers, and a sprained ankle, Gemma has to piece it all together before the nice old lady Miriam finds her self up the River Thames without a paddle!!I enjoyed this book. It kept me guessing until the end!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    ***Possible Spoilers***A Vigil in the Mourning is another champion for the Soulbound series. I have read a lot of series over the years, and it takes an exceptional author to hold the content new and exciting. It is doubly impressive when they do so with one couple throughout. This author does just this one isn’t as balls-to-the-wall as the previous books. There is still plenty of action, but that breathless, “OMG, what’s event now” and “Can I please take a break before everything all falls apart” and “I can’t look, I can’t look” feelings weren’t there. I like those feelings, but I also enjoyed being able to spend time with these guys and relax into their relationship with each other and the members of the pack. I felt a small closer to them this go round and enjoyed the ease with which they with each other. The tension building as their opponents continue to push boundaries created me appreciate more the devotion that they have to each other and the pack. The author has a amazing feel for creating dedicated groups that go above and beyond the call of duty.I appreciated seeing the strain the separation locations on Jono and Patrick’s soulbond. It gives me a gauge to use in understanding how powerful it normally is and the stress it locations them under when it is weakened by distance. Theirs is a strong, yet still evolving connection that surpasses the soulbond and reaches into the depths of their emotional reserves. I wonder if, in the end, the reserves will overflow and forge them into one soul with two bodies. Could that happen? I can’t wait to search out. Jono’s experience while Patrick was in Chicago reminded me of how hard it was for Patrick to learn to allow go and trust him when they first got together. I had forgotten the extent to which Patrick had chop himself off from intimacy. These guys are brutalized by this author regularly and come back stronger than ever. The sexy times are very well done, (despite what Wade thinks) and their physical connection, whether or not, enriches their ever-deepening feelings for each e author introduces more Gods and monsters into this world. The more the merrier, I say. These books would be tame and bland without Patrick and Jono being tormented so viciously by these beings. (And the author would probably go into DT’s if no torture was implemented) I love e cases in Chicago are interesting and seeing Wade in that situation is both funny and exciting. He provides a lot of comic relief, but the author will not let us to forget his past. He has so much potential and I can’t wait to see some of that actualized.I am curious about the ongoing storyline of Ethan. The creepy small glimpse we obtain from that faction just created me wish more. When this blows up there will be hell to and Jono and Patrick will be right there taking what is their due and I will be there, popcorn and pop tarts at hand, rooting them on.I look forward to book five in the Soulbound series, but please, dear author, give Patrick a day off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    If you have read books from this author then you know she likes to give you an idea of what will happen with her title. I was scared of what the outcome might be. I am very satisfied with the how things played out; while also wanting to be able to smack both Patrick and Jono upside the know things aren't amazing when groups have to split up and our guys obtain a reminder of that in this book. The darn gods hold trying to tear everything apart in their own special ways which is always detrimental to everyone else.I love these characters and their special world. The time that the author takes to build each one is amazing. I have fun the fresh challenges while still aiming for the ultimate goal. Patrick, Jono and the rest of their package have a lot to do, but they are intelligent enough to know their weaknesses and to fill the no learns some lessons and some of his secrets come out to his friends. I think it was good, but he definitely had some groveling to this book, but create sure to read the whole series in order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning (Soulbound Book 4) []  2020-6-18 18:43

    This is a amazing addition to the series, though I have a few complaints? Comments? Not really- just keeping it interesting! My only comment is it is too short! And I read-gulp it down so quick I have to reread ( NOT a hardship) right away. Obtain this one! Obtain the whole series! World(s) building, love and commitment and dragons. And pop-tarts. What more do ya need!?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning: Soulbound, Book 4 []  2020-7-26 20:26

    I'm a BIG fan of Urban Fantasy, and finding this series was Christmas and birthday wrapped in , after reading the fourth book of the Soulbound Series, I can say with no uncertainty that I love this series even more than at the beginning. The characters grow on me with each book. And it very much reminds me of Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews, because the series really gets better with each installment. And although the action is in the foreground in this series, the relationship between the couple and the supporting cast is a unbelievable balance to it all.Honestly, this book has everything I like in a UF series: meddling and fickle gods, mages, were-creatures, a dragon fledgling, vampires, fae, mythology, magic, intelligent writing, and dry witted sides all of the above, the relationship between Patrick and Jono is getting stronger with each book. The story doesn’t waste time on relationship drama, instead Patrick and Jono obtain things done by working through situations and move on. After appropriate groveling, of e addition of Wade, the fledgling dragon, is just the icing on the cake. He brings the comedic relief in certain situations. And he is still very much a bottomless pit and needs to be fed every min of the day (ok that’s an exaggeration) but still, he eats constantly and I love him for it. Wade is definitely my favorite supporting character, and the best thing that could have happened to Patrick and Jono. One growing family.Furthermore Jono’s package is growing as well. It’s very much something that makes me happy. Because in the end, this is the one thing that an Alpha needs more than anything, a growing pack. And honestly I can’t wait until they kick someone’s behind.Overall, this fourth book might be my favorite book so far in this series. Although Patrick and Jono have some problems to work through, as can be seen in the blurb, they manage to search a method to obtain it done. And I really loved that Jono joined Patrick in Chicago, because honestly, these two are the happiest when together, and I feel the same. It’s really no exaggeration when I say that I devoured this book in one this point, this series is on the very top of my tbr. I’ll be dropping everything just to read more about Patrick, Jono and now Wade too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Vigil in the Mourning: Soulbound, Book 4 []  2020-7-26 20:26

    Once again, the Dominion Sect doesn't seem too plan well enough ahead for the resistance that comes from both magical and mundane sides. We didn't see much of Ethan this time, which sort of makes me think that this was just a diversion. Was Yggdrasil just there to hold folks from messing with whatever was going on with Hannah and the rite with Freyr?Also, if Ethan needs a godhead, why are so a lot of gods willing to work with him? He's shown that he has no problem with taking it from wherever he can obtain away with...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muffins and Mourning Tea (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 5) []  2020-1-28 22:5

    It is a attractive morning, early, but tradition and all that, as we join Gemma Rose and her best friend, Cassie to listen to the Oxford University choir for May Day celebrations. Suddenly, there is cheering as the song ebbs, and a shout is heard...a student in the water? Wait, a body of a student in the water...an unfortunate death or a murder?Well, since we know Gemma's propensity to finding corpses, it most likely was a murder, however, as Gemma's boyfriend, CID Devlin O'Connor has repeatedly told her...Stay out of Police Business...she keeps her nose clean and goes back to the peace and quiet? of the e case will not hold quiet as we know the four 'Old Biddies' and clients will gossip. Then, Dora, the Tearoom's baker asks Gemma's support for her mate and just what is a girl to do? Sleuth and sleuth she does!The humor is always show in this delightful cozy murder. This time the Old Biddies explore a defense class and take it! Watch out Oxfordshire! It is a delightful and scary concept!Gemma's Mother is show and causing romantic issues for Gemma by her interference and Gemma also has her own is novel has all the elements of a real British Cozy. Grab a cuppa and enjoy!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386