Read mudder 17 pieces wood handle carving chisels tools with whetstones and storage case reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all mudder 17 pieces wood handle carving chisels tools with whetstones and storage case reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    These work just fine. I've had them for over 6 months now. I don't use them incredibly often, but I have used them on about 7-8 projects already. Had no problems carving faces with beards and what not. Just use the sharpening stone's provided when they obtain dull!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I gave these a 5 star right after I bought them, I have been using four months and would give them a 6 star now. I really got into carving and bought several sets. One from Harbor Freigjt went into trash after one hour or so. I bought a Schrade 24OT and spent all afternoon trying to correct bevels. This set I just hold using and using. I touch up edge and strop every now and then. This was the best bang for the buck of all the crap I have bought since I got them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    THough the case doesn't quite fit/suit the tools, it's still a nice hard case w/zipper and loop for attaching to whatever. I've already found another use for the case because these carving chisels are kept out for regular use. They each have a plastic cap to protect cutting part, though the caps don't all stay on. The sharpening sticks are amazing addition to this kit and for all you get, the is fantastic.I've had this type of chisel before and the blades, because of hard use, did eventually chip or fall out of wooded handle; but, with care and if you use these for ONLY what they are intended, I expect they willl latest a long time. (I willl modernize otherwise).

    0  


    Add your opinion on mudder 17 pieces wood handle carving chisels tools with whetstones and storage case or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    These are ok for the price. My children recently became interested in wood carving and I didn't wish to expensive tools in case that interest waned. These were amazing enough for the children and they were able to carve with them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I've never whittled before, this is my first experience and I think these are amazing for beginners and experts! They are very sharp, I would recommend wearing gloves at first because I've chop myself at least five times haha. The only poor thing I'd have to say is one of them had the blade stuck in the cap, nothing a small gorllia glue won't fix though!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I purchased this for use on a project that is going to take me quite some time to complete. That there is a amazing range of blade shapes, sturdy handles, a case, and above all SHARPENING STONES in this kit was invaluable to me. It is still a bargain at a much higher than what is asked, so you are getting your moneys' worth for sure. The sharpening stones are shaped to give you a amazing advantage when putting a new edge on your blades. Would definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Been carving over 45 years since a Boy Scout. If you wish perfection the 3 cherries German tools... But getting my son into wood carving as a scout so these are great. Better than I had at his age which was just my fathers pin knife. They have a amazing sharp edge that takes to the stone well. They fit amazing in the hand and holds a nice cutting edge through an average little sized project. For the I am impressed for coming off shore and eastern steel. I also bought another set with more gouges and the edges were horrible and wouldn't take an edge. Remember in any factory there are apprentices and masters. If yours were honed by an apprentice then place some effort to tune the edges and see if they hold. I'm going to take them to the grinding wheel and test to properly tune them so they accept a hand stone to create them work. With any knife, create the effort to place a honed edge on it then pause when required from your work to hold the edge in shape before it dulls out and you have to begin over. Nice inexpensive beginner set. Wear gloves or finger and thumb guards especially with duller edges on any knife. Have fun and the shape from the piece of wood that calls out to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I got this for Christmas and three of the tools have already snapped off in the first couple of days.Update - I wrote my first review then was contacted by customer service and Jamie was unbelievable and sent me a fresh set.Update - I got a fresh set and then an email to check on me, but in the NEW set one of the tool is missing a cap and the cover was dusty.I told Jamie and gave me a full refund. So my conclusion Unbelievable customer service ok tools.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I am fresh to wood carving, so I wasn't exactly sure what to look for in wood carving tools. However, I am very experience in wood working and burning, so I have a general understanding of how wood functions. Upon receiving this package, I was highly impressed with the quality of the knives. They all appeared sharp and well attached to the handles. However, the handles also seemed lower quality for what I was expecting. They sound hallow and are very light to the touch. I am not sure how this will handle over a lot of uses, but it does create me nervous to use anything as a mallet on the end of it if ever necessary. Despite this, I am very happy with the quality of the knives and the stone sharpeners. The pack came with 4 stones, enough to fit every kind of tool that came with the set. The case is a high quality semi-hard shell with two little pouches on one side and a huge pouch on the other. I am not exactly sure what the smaller pouches are for since the knives and stones are as long as the entire case. For the price, these are not a poor method to go

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mudder 17 Pieces Wood Handle Carving Chisels Tools with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Would recommend as a bonus for someone that is completely fresh to wood g is a bit small, does not have separate slots, so it is a bit hard to hold it in put when one is taken put for the sharpening stones that comes with it, but is ok.Overall, the chisels seem descent quality and for the it is a amazing begin up kit or occasional use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    horse riding tales - ride with friends []  2020-5-19 15:11

    So i just updated it yesterday and when i got on 2 hours after the detail was all GONE !!!! I have a rare horse the black and white one spotted and then u couldn't see the spots left i wanted to begin over but i just got on lvl 7 and 6 horses already the barn detail and everything so i got on it this morning to see that maybe it was just a glitch but i was 100% WRONG. But other than that i love this android game but just one question why does the wild mode have to like 86 gems or your horse has to be level 100 why just it be i wanted to roleplay with my with other people but i have to be a wild horse so why not create it free. But i have you have my 100 help if u wish to create any changes pls fix this problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    These are great. I love that each knife also has its own plastic lid to protect the knifes and yourself. And also the stones it comes with to sharpen your knifes. Amazing purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    The quality on the set I got wasn't ey weren't particularly sharp, nor were the edges even in a method that was functional.I've been able to create use of them to a lesser extent, but I wouldn't them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    This is a amazing set of carving knives for the you for them. There are a lot of various gouges and a few straight and angled chisels. Knives arrived sharp and the only complaint is the 90* angled v-gouge had a pointed bur at the base of the wedge. Definitely a amazing for light to moderate workmanship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    I was hoping that these knives would be as sharp as other reviews had said. I was disappointed when they could barely obtain through pine, allow alone hardwood. I guess you obtain what you for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    A hint on one of the smaller chisels has already broken on me. They seem rather nice, besides my chisel hint that broke, but I [email protected]#$%! came with a little manuel to support explain what all the various blades are for and how to use them since this is supposed to be for beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    I am fresh to the carving globe but when 3 metal blades break off in pine and 4 more have loose heads and they are all being used in the manner in which they were made, something isn't right. They did arrive kind of sharp but had some uneven spots on the v gouge. The really funny part is the bevel is on the outside of the u gouge but the they give you a round sharpening stone( if that's what you wish to call them laughably) that's convex making it worthless. Super fail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    Came in amazing condition and on time, sharp tools, the case they came in is nice. They are amazing for people with little to medium sized hands. For the and condition they are a amazing buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    Comes with various shaped whetstone for various angled blades everything was of amazing quality my only problem is how little the case is you really gotta create the tools in there but all the tools come with plastic covers hints and all of them are sharpened I think these would be better for carving wax as the blades are very thin and could brake carving wood

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    I'm kind of disappointed with this product.. I bought these tools to obtain back into ink block printing and a lot of the blades looked beaten up and were filed down in odd shapes? I had seen a review about this same thing and thought it would be worth the risk.. i was wrong :'( the blades are sharp but some are kind of funky looking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zealor 17 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Kit Carbon Steel Chisel Set with Whetstones and Storage Case []  2019-12-17 20:27

    Quality is not good, for someone who is starting out, these tools would actually deter the person from continuing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    I bought these as first tools to use for Lino prints. The V and U tools worked well, and I liked the included sharpening block. The other six or so tools — seemed ineffectual and unnecessary, with the exception of the thin line tool. . I subsequently bought a standard Speedball handle with just a few tools. They worked better than this set and also included a narrower V tool that worked well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    Amazing starter set. My very very active children now sit still and have conversations while they whittle. We started with snowmen. Mates came over and got started too. I had their mom text me right when she got home...ok, where can I obtain him a whittle set? Sent her the link :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    Amazing craftsmanship and useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    I got this for my crafts. It’s a really amazing and everything is in a case to hold everything organized.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    Excellent for carving detail and little pieces

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    It comes with a case and whetstone, I am a beginner,it’s my first set . Can’t wait to begin my first project

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    Nice small carving set, I bought it as a bonus for my husband's woodcarving hobby, and it did the work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    This appears to be an ok set of tools, which I purchased for under $15. They are clearly mass produced, but come in a dozens of helpful shapes for carving. None of them has broken or come apart, although it's early days yet. Cute small sharpening stone and handy carrying case add to the usability of this set by making it easily portable for multiple zone work. Amazing for beginners or as a travel set for more experienced carvers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Pieces Wood Carving Tools Set, Wax & Wood Carving Knife with Whetstones, Storage Case and Safety Cap for Rubber, Small Pumpkin, Soap, Vegetables and More []  2020-1-13 18:45

    carrying case and whetstone are convenient. Tools are simple to use and handle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    I bought this Set for my Grandson. My Son was using it more than the Grandson! SO... I had to another set so they both had one! Amazing Bonus Idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    My son got this as a beginner's set. It doesn't come with any wood blocks though - we had to obtain the blanks from the craft store. That's all that's really required other than the set though.I love that the tools come in a nice, zippered bag that keeps them all neat and tidy, and let's you see easily all the hints so you can select the tool you e handles are comfortable and they are all working fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    super quality, lots of choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    Got this for my child hint begin off she loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    *** For beginners and light uct design and packaging was nice.Feels comfortable in y use for woods, might be better for clay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    I have recently decided to expand my wood working from just using pre-made wood pieces to woodburn and create designs on to adding my own touches to the edges and eventually perhaps the wood designs themselves. Let's take a look..WHAT ARE THESE LIKE?The images in this listing are VERY accurate. The hints of all of the tools are clearly listed for you to see what you are getting. I am still learning the purposes of all of the tools, but I do know that this is for FINE work. This is not the banging out type of tool that you will use on a freshly chop branch from your yard.HANDLESThe handles are nice to keep and fit in the hand well. They did not slip, although someone with bigger hands might search them a bit little to keep on to. For me they have been okay so far.BLADESAs with some of my leather tools, it is not uncommon for you to have to sharpen or hone the edges of these tools when you obtain them. Thus was the case with this set. A few of the straight blades and one curved edge had beautiful poor uneven spots on them- as in metal artifacts so to speak. In other words the edge was not just straight and had to be honed. It took a ENING STONEThe stone that comes with this does support to sharpen, but I also used a rotary tool with stone grinding on it for the very fine edge shaping I had to PSI love that these have caps on them so if I accidentally drop one, it won't chop me or anything else if it hits just THESE WORK?As long as they are done on fine wood that has little designs, these are nice tools. Unfortunately, they are not created for massive work- like trying to shape a branch or little log you just cut. That is a whole various set of tools you will need to obtain if you are fresh to woodworking.LEATHERI am also exploring using these on thick leather to support shape some carving. I only used them for little locations which they worked for. I am not sure how much leather work I will do with them, but I definitely plan to continue doing nice fine designs on wood for E BOTTOM LINEIf you are fresh to woodworking, these are a amazing set for detail work. They might have to be honed or sharpened, but the caps on the blades and amazing carrying case support protect both the tools and hands from RATINGFIVE STARS. I want there was a bit more of an instruction sheet for people fresh to woodworking, but the kit is well explained prior to purchase, so that is not anything that deducts in the rating. I look forward to using these more in the future as I learn how to best use each one. So far, I like what I am able to do with them, despite just learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    Just what I was looking for. For the I wasn't sure what I was getting but I'm satisfied with the quality. Amazing deal!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    This tool kit has a dozens of cutting hints that should create any wood carver very happy. The hints are VERY sharp, and dig into the wood, making nice clean cuts. I like the handy carrying case that they come in, and it is nice that a sharpening stone is included. The only problem I have with them, is that the handles feel rather little to fit an adult hand (see pictures). If you have little hands, they will probably feel search to you. I would recommend this to anyone needing to do fine detail work in wood carving, but also the tools could be used for other crafts, like lino-block carving or scupting with clay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    Just a small sharing & they're amazing to carve. I think the stone is to course jewelry paste on it & it is a lot better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    12 Set Wood Carving Tools,WAYCOM Upgrade SK7 Carbon Steel Crafting Chisel Tools Wood Carving Knife Set with Storage Case & Graver Whetstones for Wood,Pumpkin, Soap,Vegetables []  2020-2-6 18:26

    These wood carving knives are really nice for a beginner. It has a dozens of shapes for various purposes. The blades look and feel like a nice quality and very durable along with being very sharp. The handles are also really nice and very comfortable to keep too. The case is beautiful nice but you have shop them alternating up and down to fit into the case and yet for some reason the elastic is not amazing for holding them in put though and if you don't begin it carefully or flat they can begin to fall out so that part of the design... not great. Overall if your a beginner just wanting to obtain into wood carving I think these would be a amazing set at a reasonable price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Gauging the quality of a mid-tier product is very hard. I wish to be fair and say that 1) my experience may be special since most reviews are very positive AND 2) absolute beginners won't likely message issues and pros will know how to fix the problems themselves and should probably have a bench grinder to handle it. I did not fit into those groups and so I had some problems with what seem like otherwise amazing tools.Let me begin with the good...The steel is perfect quality for the range. You have to spend at least double to obtain finer steel. The handles are absolutely well fit and are durable. The balance is comfortable to keep for hours while working. The tool roll to keep the chisels is thick and protects the tools from you and you from the tools. I also wish to point out that while I had issues with half of my chisels, the 12 6 V tool and the 7 6 parting tools were as amazing as any Pfeil I have e less than amazing aspects...The edges on 4 of the chisels were uneven. By a lot. I'm not sure if a carver with a decade of experience would mind but for anyone with less experience this will cause problems while carving. Additionally, the bevel was uneven on half of the tools. 8 required significant sharpening to work poplar right out of the box. They say not to but them if you aren't prepared to sharpen them but I think most will expect a midrange set to arrive sharp at least. Finally, a MINOR gripe- the plastic protective hints that came with mine were clear(smoke) vinyl that ripped right away. That is not a breaker but the red or orange durable protectors I have seen in other customer photos are superior and provide long lasting ybe I got an uncommon batch of irregular chisels and gouges. I would definitely take the possibility on their tools again and hope for the best. I'm just disappointed in half of those I received. I would love to send them back but I am unable to physically obtain to the post office at this time and I can eventually straighten them out most likely. It will just take a lot of time with my water stones and strop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I unpacked the tools with amazing excitement and to my surprise I got more than I expected. Each carving knife was individually wrapped. What attention to detail. I also ABSOLUTELY love the canvas tool holder. It’s perfect. I did add one thing. I took a sharpie and labeled each pocket for the knife that goes into that pocket. I figure you children know what’s best for the knives so I wish to create sure they go back where they belong. A satisfied tool is a healthy tool!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I have been wood carving for a lot of years and I have a collection of several various brands of carving tools. I purchased this set just to see if I might obtain lucky and search one quality tool in the entire set. I was very lucky because the entire set is first rate. I had to do some additional fine sharpening but that is to be expected with any fresh tools. Amazing quality at a amazing price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I wanted a set that would be amazing but didn't wish to spend $400-plus. This set arrived today...what a treat..wrapped in a double lined heavy-duty tool roll. So the chisels when sharpened will not pierce by accident. Each tool wrapped in plastic and hints dipped. There is a smell of dryness, so manufacturer/distributor stored e kit included 12 chisels...each is about 10 inches in length and the handles are about 6 inches. The metal is forged steel...little light but could be managed easily on less dense woods. The handles are also lighter in weight than I would desire...but they are long enough that you can grip differently to create different cuts. The edges of the chisels look clean, but they will need extra honing prior to use. You expect to hone a set priced at $89...but probably not a set priced at $400.I probably have 50-plus chisels...some old, some and some I go back to again and again. I like this set...with some attention, I think it will work well. Might a second set to reduce sharpening time on projects. I have to admit...I have a related set from about 1950's...about same weight/so in the order...a personally signed thank you from the CEO...nice grading...quality for 4.75/5.0....usability. 3.75/5.0 (personally prefer more weight)...overall recommendation. 4.5/5.0

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Giving five stars because the price/value of these tools absolutely merit it. I did have an problem with the but it is being resolved super quick by Schaaf tools. But outstanding customer service is important but not sufficient to choose these tools. I’m outlining below why they are a solid e tools themselves are great. They need to be sharpened and honed to the carvers preference of course, as any quality tool would (except maybe Pfeil tools). I tuned up a couple to see how they performed and I was very satisfied with how well they took an edge and kept it. The huge format gouges I was particularly impressed with. The angles were spot on for the larger ones, the smaller gouges I may end up regrinding to a shallower angle but that is my private preference as I carve white pine (I live in the Jersey Pinelands) and shallow angles seem to work better with that kind of e handles are nice, I think they are Ash. They look and feel the same as my Pfeil gouges. The sweep (gouge radius) matches my Pfeils which is a amazing plus because they will fit in nice with my other tools.If I would give a fresh carver tip it would be to this set and one Pfeil gouge. The reason is the Pfeil gouge will present you what a professionally sharpened and conditioned gouge feels like and is the excellent reference while you tune up the Schaafs. I’m hoping Schaaf produces an micro and additional huge format set so I can obtain those as well. Amazing job Schaaf!I uploaded a picture of a fast acanthus leaf that I carved with a couple of the Schaaf tools (plus a micro V tool from Pfeil

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    These are amazing chisels, and they do mirror Pfeil chisels that for $ 429.99 The chisels do need to be cleaned, some honing and/or stropping. You can see the Pfeil set on the Woodcraft website and are called "The Brienz Collection", Full Size Set of 12, purchasing individually would cost $495.98I have had a lot of Pfeil chisels and loved them, gave they away 10 yrs ago. Now these are not Pfeil, but they are as close as you will get.I will hold an eye out for more of Schaaf's tools, if this is there standard of quality with an perfect price, I wish them. Every chisel is exactly what is required to obtain started. This is as amazing as it gets and most carving tools have to be cleaned and sharpened. Even though Pheil chisels come sharp they still need some cleaning and stropping. IMPORTANT - If you are fresh to carving tools, watch several videos on how to sharpen the tools, it is simple to screw up the blades. Take the time to do it right and you will love them. I believe all of the chisels will need to be reshaped to a 20 - 23 degree angle. Currently they are at a 25 degree angle which requires the chisel to be held too high and harder to work with. I will sharpen to 20 degrees. Go to for a 10% discount.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I'm pleasantly surprised by this set of tools. I've been using them to carve spoons and shape wood for a dozens of reasons, and these have worked very well. They're a much better than the more-expensive name brand, and I search the quality to be very good. Mine were in amazing shape right out of the box, and they became wickedly sharp after further sharpening with a diamond plate and strop. Now, they carve through greenwood pine like butter and I've had no issue using them on harder woods like walnut.Overall, I'm very satisfied that I got this set rather than spending hundreds on the luxury brand. These don't look quite as attractive or arrive quite as razor sharp, but it's simple to sharpen them to essentially the same level of effectiveness (and you'll need to sharpen any chisel/gouge on a regular basis anyway).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I went through each tool I purchased carefully, looking at the grind and regrinding as required (not much). I honed and polished the bevels razor sharp and created a bunch of try cuts with each of them. These Schaaf's are a high quality wood carving chisel set...dare I say equal to my Swiss Mades, the few English or Japanese Blues I have. See no fault in the steel quality, they come nicely tempered and polished. Handles are hardwood, octagon and finished. The really nice tool roll with a liner is included...and I mean that this is a perfect tool roll - no cheeping out on this. I am VERY Impressed with this set, and at only $7.50 a tool- This is an Outstanding value....get one before they are gone.Edit: Wanted to add the one CON- not just of this set, but all 'sets' of wood carving chisels- It only comes with 1 V Tool and one veiner which is really a little U tool. I want everyone who makes these sets would stop putting in a straight chisel- because everyone already has one or a carpenters chisel. Instead place two V tools- a larger and a small. That is what everyone needs and is always missing. My 2 cents. Still the 'Best' for a set of wood carvers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I search sharpening extremely therapeutic when a blade or chisel become dull after use, and rewarding when you can pair white oak like it was butter after getting that latest bur off on your stone. (Advertised as: Don't if your don't sharpen your tools.) The one thing I hate about sharpening is grinding the correct angle into hardened steel. These chisels are so inconsistent when it comes to angles. Most of the gouges came at a higher than 35 degree angles and not even close to sharp. For these to be used for carving, without beating a piece of wood into submission with a mallet I would need to regrind every angle and spend hours getting a proper hone. You obtain what you for with this set. Don't waste your money, obtain 3-4 Pfeil chisels for $30 more than this set and spend time carving, not days grinding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SCHAAF Full Size Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 with Canvas Case - Gouges and Chisels for Beginners, Hobbyists and Professionals []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Finally had time to obtain these out. They do need sharpening but that was expected. Four of the gouges were not ground properly. On one the edge was at a skew, on the other there was over 1/16 difference in length the sides of the edge to the center ofthe edge. The other two were ground at a skew and e metal seems amazing but the lack of quality control on the grinding and shaping of the edge is concerning. If you don't have access to a slow speed grinder or a amazing selection of stones in a dozens of grits this may not be a amazing choice.I did talk with Schaaf and they quickly replaced them. The replacements were shipped directly from China. Looking them over I can see they attempted to rework one chisel and clean the grinding up, they did this by grinding the edge at a various angle then the rest if the gouge. The other 3 were better than the originals I was sent but still chop at skews and not square across the tom line, the metal seems amazing but be prepared to do extensive stone work and even work on a slow speed grinder to obtain them shaped and sharpened correctly as it is obvious the factory does not have the ability to do this and may not even know what is correct.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools For Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2019-12-17 20:24

    I have purchased a few of these now for me and my kids. They are a light duty carving set. Hold cuts little and manageable. I have had a few knifes loosen after massive use. I also like the fact they give a few sharpening stones as well. overall we have enjoyed the set.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools For Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2019-12-17 20:24

    My 14yo son bought this to support him with his whittling. He loves it! He says this kit makes it so much easier. All the pieces were sharp from the start. He bought it for the sharpening stone, and was pleasantly surprised with the tools.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    Always wanted to whittle and this very nice quality set of tools is excellent for me as I continue to learn this hobby

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    Amazing starter package for the beginner. Have all the tools you need in a simple to carry and shop pouch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools For Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2019-12-17 20:24

    Nice carving set, although it doesn’t come with any long knives as I expected. It seems like a specialty carving set instead of a beginners set. I do like the carrying case. We bought this for my eight year old son who wanted to obtain into whittling, and it has been amazing for him. The back of my van is constantly covered in sawdust, haha.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    Amazing set for beginners! Has everything they need to obtain started. Well created and comes with nice storage case!! A very nice set!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    Amazing kit with amazing safety packaging to maintain the tools

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools For Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2019-12-17 20:24

    Quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    Got this for my husband for Christmas and he really liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    Got this for son for a Christmas bonus and he loved it! Want the caps would stay better but not horrible if you dont lose case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools For Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2019-12-17 20:24

    Always wanted to whittle and this very nice quality set of tools is excellent for me as I continue to learn this hobby

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools For Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2019-12-17 20:24

    Amazing but it doesn't keep sharp as long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    The carving set works great. If you don't already have one, I'd recommend getting a cutting glove with your as the tools are VERY sharp.I had created the late so figured it would not arrive for Christmas. Even the 'expected deliver by' date range had the arrival time as after Christmas but it got there early and I was able to wrap it up and have it under the tree. Thank you!To return back to the glove suggestion, if you don't wish to the glove (after buying the carving kit, the blocks of wood, a carving instruction book with designs, and all the other bonuses I'd bought, I didn't the glove either), you might wish to invest in a first aid kit with an emphasis on butterfly bandaids, superglue, etc. We fortunately already had that but.... yeah..It is surprising... You'd think people would learn from others mistakes however three adults attempted carving, the first aid kit needs replenished, and that glove is on now..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    The set is great! It’s compete and it’s amazing for beginners. So far we haven’t been successful at making anything but because we are barely learning but the tools are created well and seem to be durable! Amazing purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools For Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2019-12-17 20:24

    The set is great! It’s compete and it’s amazing for beginners. So far we haven’t been successful at making anything but because we are barely learning but the tools are created well and seem to be durable! Amazing purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    I have purchased a few of these now for me and my kids. They are a light duty carving set. Hold cuts little and manageable. I have had a few knifes loosen after massive use. I also like the fact they give a few sharpening stones as well. overall we have enjoyed the set.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    14 Piece Wood Carving Tools Set with Whetstone and Protective Case, Chisels, Gouges, Scrapers, V Parting, Relief Tools for Wood Blocks, Basswood, Softwoods, Beginners, Projects []  2020-6-22 18:19

    The daughter likes this. Looking forward to learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    These knifes are the worst. Will not cut. Need to be sharpened before use. Steel of not good grade. Would not buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    Blades are not ideal for spoon carving. The metal is less than ideal for precision work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    The blades are chipped and asymmetrical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    Didn’t work well on cherry veneer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    They have done their purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I was extremely disappointed. I understood this would be for beginners, but the quality and total lack of sharpness is very discouraging, especially for a beginning. So dull that none of the tools even started to do what they were designed to do. Even the sharpening stone was inadequate. Possibly could be sharpen by a Wood tool Professional Sharpener with perfect sharpening tools but I did not think it would be worth the time nor money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    The gouges come completely blunt. I can't use them until I obtain something to sharpen them with. I'll modernize my review after I am able to sharpen them and use them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    Works amazing for the limited work I do.would not suggest for professional use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lehom Wood Carving Tools Set of 12 Full Size Wood Chisel Tool Wood Hand Carving Gouge Set Carbon Steel Sculpting Chisels with Canvas Case for Beginners Hobbyists []  2020-6-16 18:33

    satisfied with purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Some of the tools weren't very sharp when they arrived. The seller offered to replace the set with a set that was sharpened. The carving knife is too thin in my opinion. It did not hold its edge well and was difficult to sharpen. The chisels were comfortable to keep and seemed better than the carving knife was. If you are looking to do projects that require more work with chisels and gouges this is a amazing beginner set. I would recommend buying a separate carving knife though. The case was in amazing condition and was reasonably durable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I'm not a Complainer. But this is the largest piece of Garbage I have ever seen! The knife looks like it has been ground on a rock, the Chisels are misshapen and dull, all around Craftsmanship is Very Very Poor. Not even sure what kind of Metal was used. I would be ashamed to such not good quality tools. Plus side. The case is nice. That's it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Absolutely worthless product. Came in the mail absolutely dull as can be, won’t even carve through basswood without me using my full body weight. As a beginners set I don’t think you, as a company, should be expecting beginners to spend an hour sharpening the tools they just bought. What a waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    This is a amazing beginner set. As others have said, I recommend a high quality knife as this one is not. Others have complained about the sharpness of the tools and agreed, that could be better. Having said that, you have to know how to sharpen your tools...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Out of the package, my tools were dull and unusable so I wrote a not good review.I was contacted by a representative of SampSmart, and my set of tools was replaced of charge without e Next set of tools I received were sharp and ready to uly appreciate the effort to create me anks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    not sharp out of the box

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    I purchased this has a beginner looked amazing but when I received it, I found it to be of not good standards. None of the chisels where even sharp enough to chop paper. Two of the handles where lose. I attempted to sharpen myself but I should bof just returned it. Will never from this company again. DON'T BUY NOT EVEN FOR BEGINNERS!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    Very simple to keep but it doesn’t matter how simple it is to keep if the blades aren’t sharp enough to chop with. The main blade I need was all Jacked up and I am a beginner and I am not sure how to sharpen them. If you wish sharp when you them don’t these if you know what your doing the handles are comfortable to hold

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wood Carving Tool Set 17 Pcs with Apron & Whittling Knife. Gouge Chisels, Strong Comfortable Wood Sculpting Grips, Whet Stone and Mallet, Beginner Woodwork Tools with Canvas roll-up Bag & Info Flyer. []  2019-12-17 20:26

    The metal bent as trying to use the tools for wood chiping. I am not someone with upper body strength capable of bending the metal so I believe that it is not very powerful metal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    I got this for my 12 year old and he loves it. I also got gloves to protect his hands. This was a amazing bonus idea for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    This kit contains twelve sturdy carbon steel blades (each distinct, with gauges ranging in size from 0.12 up to 0.34 inches), a carrying case, a sharpening/polishing stone, and six pieces of wood. As an added safety measure, each blade has its own plastic cap. However, despite the box saying "great for beginners whether it's children or adults", instructions are NOT included, so those who have never whittled before will need to seek instruction elsewhere. The box also implies the product is suitable for ages 3 and older but I personally would not let my kid to use these until they were older, perhaps 8 years old under close supervision.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    Wood blocks to hard, no instructions/explanation for usage of tools, which is a need for beginners. Blessed Cisco and tools, that’s it🥴

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    I ordered this for my hubster who has taken a liking to wood working during his time. I thought this would be a really nice addition to his setup, specifically for achieving intricate, detailed finishing work. So far, he has really enjoyed experimenting with the different tools. I've been pleasantly surprised that my two young kiddos (ages 10 and 12) have also found amazing interest in this kit. Albeit sharp, the tools are sized just right for their smaller hands and they have had amazing fun with whittling interesting projects and crafts. I want I had saved this for Christmas as it would pair really nicely with a beginners whittling tutorial for a special and treasured gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    Amazing tools

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    As someone who earned Woodcarving Merit Badge a long time ago (and has the scars to prove it), I can appreciate having a dozens of amazing wood working knives. I ordered this set because I expect to place them to use for model railroad projects. They have applications in a lot of crafts and hobbies.I appreciate the inclusion of a sharpening stone, although it would be helpful if instructions on how to use it were included. Being able to hold on amazing edge on these blades is critical to keeping them useable. It's not clear if this is a stone that requires a sharpening oil to work or can be used dry. It's also useful to know just how fine an edge this stone can place on the blades; for a really keen edge it may be useful to obtain a stone with a really fine texture for the finishing 's why disposable knife blades are famous - wear out a blade until it's dull, discard it. Do that enough times though and you are quickly going to exceed the of this kit. A set like this can latest for years if properly cared e grips are good. The combination of 2 flat sides and 2 rounded sides makes them simple to grip precisely but comfortably. They fit well in the carrying pouch, which also helps by keeping them thing this kit lacks are blades with longer cutting edges. If you are doing pumpkin carving as one of the suggested uses, you will need to obtain a long knife that can chop all the method through. These blades are amazing for shallow, little cuts working into a surface. For huge carving projects you will need larger blades, but these are amazing for learning and for detailed r someone just starting out, a copy of the Woodcarving merit badge book from the Boy Scouts will give you a amazing begin on the basics and how to use these tools safely. (You can search copies on line with a search, as well as other guides.) You will also probably wish to invest in some primary first aid supplies - accidents happen while developing carving skills, especially if you are pushing too hard or trying to chop too much at one time. Patience is a anks to the Internet, you can search no end of carving projects and designs on-line. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    Nice beginner kit. Quality stuff in the set. Should have hours of learning ahead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    I received more than five pieces of wood - it was six with the zippered pouch on top of the wood pieces. I love crafts and have a mate who whittles and has volunteered to support me learn how. I took one of the tools from the kit, uncapped it and it easily sliced into the piece of wood that was included. I took a divot out of the wood with the tool to present that it is quite sharp. The only thing I want the set had was the elastic holding the tools in put was sewn to keep each tool individually so they don't all move when one is removed, but that's just a little thing. I'm going to have fun with this set, learning a fresh craft, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to obtain into whittling or to give it as a bonus to someone looking for a fresh crafting experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    I am 100% fresh to wood carving. I have always wanted to test it and when presented with the opportunity to test this kit I jumped at the chance! I haven't had much possibility to work on my first piece but the few times I have gotten it out I really enjoyed seeing what I could accomplish. I love that it comes with wood in a few sizes, excellent for figuring things out as a beginner! The knives seem to be amazing quality and are sturdy, and the case is really nice and professional looking.I was a small overwhelmed with options when I opened it and had to do a small and error to figure out what each piece was for. I [email protected]#$%! came with a small diagram or something, and labels on each knife so you don't have to take the guards off each time. If you don't have small children you could probably leave them off but I would be worried my small ones would obtain into it.I would definitely a beginners wood carving book with this kit if you are using it as a beginner, or be prepared to do a lot of youtube-ing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magicfly Wood Carving Tools with 12 Pieces SK10 Carbon Steel Whittling Kit & 6 Pine Wood Blocks Bundle, Storage Bag, Linoleum Carving Tools for Pumpkin, Basswood, Beginners, Carving Hobby []  2020-4-1 18:22

    My son is in Boy Scouts and loved woodworking. He is still fresh to it and learned with his pocket knife. This set allows him to fine tune the design a lot better than a pocket knife. The set is beautiful huge with different shapes and sizes of blades. This, paired with a amazing book, will let a novice to learn and have fun with wood carving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puli Craft Wood Carving Knife Tools Set - Gouges Chisels Sharpening Stone Mallet Beginner Woodworking Kit with Canvas Case - Precision Cutting & Shaping for Personal Use Whittling []  2020-2-1 19:19

    I have been using this kit since thanksgiving and have enjoyed it. I have carved and fitted violin bridges with it and have shaped grooves and carved designs in larger pieces of oak with it and they are simple to keep and all the various pieces i need are in the roll. I will recommend honing them with the included stone before use on some of my tools there was a small bit of bur on the back of the edge. these will be amazing for me and my children to work on our four h and summer fair projects and they didn't cost an arm and a leg to obtain started.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puli Craft Wood Carving Knife Tools Set - Gouges Chisels Sharpening Stone Mallet Beginner Woodworking Kit with Canvas Case - Precision Cutting & Shaping for Personal Use Whittling []  2020-2-1 19:19

    I was looking for something simple to use, and comfortable. After reading reviews about quality and value, I went with this product. I choose shipping, and had them in 3 days! 5 stars for that! The box was beautiful massive (figure if it’s packaged with quality and care, it’s built the same way). I was not disappointed. Nice small roll up pouch to hold them in. They were sharp and felt good, and were likewise simple to use. I’m no professional, but these will support shape my craft, as I shape my next masterpiece! I would recommend these!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puli Craft Wood Carving Knife Tools Set - Gouges Chisels Sharpening Stone Mallet Beginner Woodworking Kit with Canvas Case - Precision Cutting & Shaping for Personal Use Whittling []  2020-2-1 19:19

    These are not carving chisels. Every chisel in this set is flat and dull. I thought from the pictures that the chisels would have various radiuses on the blades. Not true. Worthless for my purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puli Craft Wood Carving Knife Tools Set - Gouges Chisels Sharpening Stone Mallet Beginner Woodworking Kit with Canvas Case - Precision Cutting & Shaping for Personal Use Whittling []  2020-2-1 19:19

    All of the tools “look” great. Until I tried to use the out of the package. So dull they probably wouldn’t work on a stick of butter. Now I have the task of sharpening all of them. I’m kind of wishing I spent more on them and got something more quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puli Craft Wood Carving Knife Tools Set - Gouges Chisels Sharpening Stone Mallet Beginner Woodworking Kit with Canvas Case - Precision Cutting & Shaping for Personal Use Whittling []  2020-2-1 19:19

    I am not a beginner but far from an expert wood carver. I purchased this set a few weeks ago & I love it. Right when I opened the box I was very satisfied with the very nice canvas bag it comes in to hold everything neat & organized. I found the 12 uniquely various chisels excellent for cuts & gauges that I was never able to do before so easily. I am now able to detail like never before. I was able to sharpen them, without issue, I did so for practice & because of the comments left in a previous review, I didn't think they required to much sharpening. You may need to acquire other tools for true hard woods,I do not use, but for softer more common woods this set does the job. Highly recommended.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386