Read murder in the village a gripping crime mystery full of twists reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all murder in the village a gripping crime mystery full of twists reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    The body of a man is found in his kitchen under suspicious circumstances. Meanwhile rumour has it that one of the local thieves has got his hands on more than his usual set of tools of the trade. Somehow there is a mole in the camp so things have to be kept underwraps. DI Greene is a very likeable hero that you take to easily. Her squad are a mixed bunch from Janine who is having a relationship with the Hillary superior to Frank who can’t really be relied on but has a amazing set of “nouses” to hold him informed. When a stakeout takes place, Hillary gets slightly more than she bargained for. This is one of a series by Faith Martin, each one being a very enjoyable read. They could stand alone but why miss out on other perfect reads? They have a solid plot line, believable characters and a small humour along with enough background to hold the reader interested without overdoing things. I love “puff the tragic wagon”- very clever! A very enjoyable simple read.I voluntarily chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

    0  


    Add your opinion on murder in the village a gripping crime mystery full of twists or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Interesting and enjoyable story. Hillary Greene is a fascinating character. She is portrayed as very human, a fast mind, dogged and with a true sense of humor. She is honest to a fault although she is severely tempted by a cache of from her deceased ex that she knows about. In this book Hillary solves two murders, the one a political candidate beaten to death in his own kitchen and a drug dealer who had consistently managed to escape the clutches of the law until a fresh is raided and he is shot to death by someone unknown. Hillary takes on her own supervisor in this story and brings boh cases to a successful conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    writing reviews must give the same kind of illicit thrill as trump or musk obtain tweeting, except no one probably reads them.I love these Hillary (one i) Greene (with an e) books! The DI is a unbelievable hero ("junoesque", "the witch of Thrupp"), surrounded by other unbelievable characters. Too poor the titles don't have the word narrow(boat) any more. This is a genuine, intelligent woman, and a pleasure for a man to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    *Thanks to Jill Burkinshaw for the copy in exchange for an honest review*In this book, Hillary's main case is a would-be politician, who is found battered to death on his kitchen floor. No-one has a straight forward alibi, but no-one seems to have a serious motive for murder. Just as she starts making headway, another case that she's involved with has a fatal development, and everything grinds to a n Hillary solve two cases at once?This is the fourth in the DI Hillary Greene series, but can still be read as a standalone, however this is the first one where I've felt I'd feel I'd missed something if it was my starting point. I would say that you'd possibly be better at least reading book 3 to obtain a better grip on the storyline.I felt a small allow down by the storyline on this one. I still enjoyed it, but it felt a bit rushed, and I didn't have fun the cases as much. It was amazing to see a bit more of the other characters but I was left wanting more Hillary ended on a amazing cliff hanger, and I'm intrigued where the next story will go!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    At long latest her dead husbands ill gotten gains obtain sorted. I am not satisfied with Raleighs access to the Mallorn. Did he obtain the padlock open? Also how did he twig to tbe @#$% Francis book.? Very sloppy plotting. I love the glossary of slang. I am also enjoying looking ul different criminals. Amazon did a very poor chronological listing of books. Poor Amazon, bad, bad, bad. I really hate knowing of one mans death etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    I really love this series. I hardly ever give five stars, it’s not Yeats after all. But the characters are very real, and DI Greene so admirable and interesting. And I more than I usually do to create sure I had the series in order. I think I will be bereft when the series runs its course. Hold it going!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    This was an entertaining mystery. I caught myself wondering what was going to happen next in the story. I highly recommend this to other mystery readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    5 starsDI Hillary Greene gets a case involving a minor politician who has been murdered. The man’s name is Malcolm Dale and he was battered to death with a blunt object. He lived in an affluent section of Oxfordshire. The body was discovered by his secretary. His wife is not at home at the time of the the same time, her fresh boss’ boss Superintendent Jerome Raleigh has his sights set on capturing one of Oxfordshire’s major crime bosses, Fletcher. He will go to almost any lengths to catch him. When his raid on Fletcher’s put goes sideways, he scrambles to create it look right.Hillary and her squad interview possible witnesses, friends, acquaintances and relatives of Malcolm Dale. They learn that Mrs. Dale’s alibi does not keep water. They also interview the victim’s political rival George McNamara. He seems a amazing suspect. The assiduously follow the clues and work the case very e identity of the murderer comes as a true surprise, but not near as surprising as the killer’s is remarkable novel is both well written and plotted. It has just the right amount of action. I like DI Hillary Greene very much and I appreciate the method she gets along with her team. Her relationship with her boss, DCI Mel Mellow is solid and professional. Hillary has both compassion and empathy, not only for the victims, but also for her squad members. She suffers DS Frank Ross with amazing humor and works well with squad member Janine, even though Janine’s relationship with Mel is ill-advised at best. I like the method Ms. Martin injects small bots of humor here and there: “Puff the Tragic Wagon” is her nickname for her older VW Golf. Faith Martin is a brilliant writer and I can hardly wait for the next novel in the series to come out.I wish to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this amazing book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    DI Hillary Greene is called out to a murder of a local candidate for office. Hard to see who could be responsible. Her squad is working every angle but coming up with nothing. In the mean time Hillary is called out to a raid on a drug dealer. Those armed are to go in first and then when clear the unarmed go. The squad leader has decided to go before the coast is clear. Out comes an armed suspect and Hillary is shot in the hip. The more she thinks about it as she is recovering the more she wonders why they went so soon. With time on her hands she starts to investigate. Can Hillary solve this point that keeps bothering her and solve the murder as well? Interesting how she is able to do her elimination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book, this is certainly a series I am thoroughly enjoying and was delighted to search out that hot on the heels of this book, the next one is due out very soon!The plot was amazing in this book as normal and I loved the hero development in this book and Hillary is an perfect hero with a lot of baggage!The book has plenty of twists and turns, a amazing pace for the plot and it is a gripping story - 5stars from me for this one and looking forward to book 5!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    Unbelievable series! So glad I discovered Faith Martin’s Hillary Greene series. I’ve read 8 so far, and can't wait to read the rest.Rather than commenting on each book individually, I’ll just say that it’s a amazing collection of police procedurals, set in Oxfordshire. They're not at all cosy, but there’s no superfluous gore, either.We meet intriguing people, glimpse gleaming spires, picturesque landscapes and down-at-heel housing estates, and search ourselves bouncing along with Hillary in her “Tragic Wagon” in find of villains and the answers to more private mysteries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    D.I. Hillary Greene once more entertains the reader with the realistic portrait presented by her creator, Faith Martin. Although some of the plot is easily discernible, stand by for some twists and turns as the cases wrap up. I hope other readers like this book as much as I did and appreciate the time spent by Ms Martin on increasingly fleshing out her characters, both the "regulars" (even Frank Ross) and those just made for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    This is the 4th one I have read and can't wait to read the next and the next. love Hillary Greene character. These are fun fast reads and the writing is so amazing that the story just flows and hold entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This is book 4 in the Hillary Greene series. The books will work very well as stand alone but a better reading experience will be accomplished by reading them in sequence.Hillary is a dedicated DI and is still dealing with the fallout from a poor marriage to a bent copper who died leaving Hillary with his mess to clear up. She is living on a Narrow Boat on the Oxford Canal while working her method through the fall out from Ronnie's death. She survived investigation by the IPC and is fighting off a court action resulting from her Ex-husband's illegal e is well thought of within the department and leads her squad with compassion and guidance. Janine is not impressed with having Hillary as her 'boss' and her relationship with Mel causes issues for everyone. Despite this Hillary still has her is story is very intriguing and moves along beautiful quickly with a lot of twists and turns and unexpected happenings popping up to hold you turning the pages.I love how this series is progressing. The books have a small humour interwoven in the story and very special characters that create up Hillary's diverse team. Well written, gripping and a small light humour thrown in what more could a reader ask for? Well worth the 5 stars and looking forward to book 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. The story weaves together two separate cases, during one of which DI Hillary Greene is shot. Although this can be read independently as a stand-alone, it is enhanced by the development of Hillary's hero in previous books--her honesty and perseverence and her ability to think clearly under stress. Some loose ends from previous books are also resolved in an unexpected way. Perhaps because of the method it builds on the previous books as well as the solid presentation of the current cases, I search this to be one of the best in the series thus far. The gentle progression throughout the series has added to the enjoyment of each book, and I look forward to what will happen next.I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    DI Hillary Greene and squad are back in the fourth book of this exciting series. Greene was working on the Fletcher case that Detective Chief Superintendent Jerome Raleigh was in charge of. She was also SIO on murder case of Malcolm Dale ('a wannabe Tory politician').This was a decently paced murder mystery with an interesting storyline. The characters are very familiar and the surroundings even more so. Faith Martin knows how to tell a amazing story and blends an overall plot and several subplots effortlessly. I followed the investigation as it unfolded and tried to guess who was guilty of what. I figured out one guilty party early, but did not know exactly what he was guilty of or what motivated him. As more clues came to light, things started to create sense — then would come the twists and turns every amazing mystery has and you would realise you had it wrong. The cases were solved and there was more than one surprise before the story terThought: The ending referring to a continuing part of the storyline was a bit of a shocker...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    I love Faith Martin's books, and this one is no exception. The three star rating is because my copy begins at page 115 and page 1 is to be found somewhere in the middle. I couldn't figure why I wasn't getting the hang of the story till I realized that I had a mutilated copy. Time to fire someone....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This is the fourth book in the DI Hillary Greene series, it could be read as a standalone though I`d definately recommend reading them in as then you can hold up with the private stories of Hillary and her squad which run in the this offering we have the investigation into the murder of the local political candidate, which throws up plenty of suspects and the killing of a local drug dealer, Lee Fletcher, who in the past has always managed to evade prosecution.Lee was the topic of a police raid involving Hilary`s Superintendant Raleigh, a man she has had a poor feeling about since his arrival. As it turns out rightly seems whatever could go wrong on the raid did and in the process Hillary is shot. Whilst on sick leave she determines to explore the truth about Superintendant is is a well thought out plot and moves along at a quick pace, holding the readers interest and is a amazing addition to what is quick becoming one of my favourite series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE by Faith Martin. Joffee Publishers.DI Hillary at forty four , was she to scared of boredom, and loneliness to retire from being a cop. Another murder, 2 women with alibis full of holes. Raleigh could have figured out she was digging up information. He had something of hers she valued. Would the be there, at least she still had a job, for now. Readers will have fun this fourth book by her. Amazing mystery from the beginning. Given ARC. for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    DO Hillary Greene is back in the next book in the series by Faith Martin. Again Martin delivers an perfect mystery and police procedural. It is full of twists and turns and an unexpected and excellent ending. The characters are quirky but true and the mystery is one that keeps a reader's attention. I think this series is a must read and I assign the next book with anticipation!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Book 8 in series aka Down a Narrow Path. Grateful this book just became available on Kindle!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Well drawn out characters, perfect realistic dialogue, lots of plot lines, this stood well on its own even knowing other book held keys to the cases. A thoroughly amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Another home run! I have been thoroughly enjoying the Hillary Greene series. I especially enjoyed Hillary confronting Gemma in the ladies room. Priceless. Can't wait for the next ce job, Ms. Martin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I enjoyed it up to the end, and, out of nowhere, it was ruined, I can think of plenty other ways to end this novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    Really enjoyed this book. The characters and story development all you expect from Faith Martin. I've only read two books and look forward to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    Another home run! I have been thoroughly enjoying the Hillary Greene series. I especially enjoyed Hillary confronting Gemma in the ladies room. Priceless. Can't wait for the next ce job, Ms. Martin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    I read the first book in the series and got hooked. This entry in the series is solid and e plotting is well done and the characters are believable and generally likable ( except for the poor Frank). Frankly, it’s a pleasure to have an intelligent, highly competent and highly regarded woman D.I. as the protagonist. She gets along well with her colleagues and superiors and is considered to be an expert at training fresh members of CID.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    A nice, fast read. The characters are engaging and rather compelling. After reading 4 or 5 books now, I am rooting for DI Greene all the way! Can obtain a bit "soap opera-ish" with some of the relationship items but that didn't detract from the mystery. I would like to give 3.5 but can't search method to that. The score reflects the method the narrative sometimes switches point of view abruptly. I was confused a few times but that can be fixed by inserting writing to signal when we have switched povand to which character

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I really love the Hillary Greene novels and this one was no exception. The assassin is seldom the one that you suspect and the side plots hold you involved. Just when you think you know who did it you search out you don't. The characters are simple to engage with. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy. I look forward for the next book in this crime fiction series. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my EASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DOWN A NARROW PATH.”A fatal stabbing of a wealthy almost-divorcee leads DI Hilary Greene and her squad into investigating her somewhat convuted life. The woman, Mattie Jones, was almost divorced, had a boyfriend, was arrogant, and downright mean at times. Not surprising that when talking to neighbors, no one liked her very much.Heading up the list of suspects is her husband, who also has a much younger girlfriend, and a huge insurance policy on his wife's life. But he's not the only suspect, and Greene and her colleagues have their hands full seeking out the ere is also a sniper loose ... and he's targeting police officers ... mostly on their own turf. Who's next ... and will it be one of Greene's team?This series has become a favorite. Green is such a solid hero ... yes, she has her quirks, but she never seems to lose her humor, and she has such a method of reading people. She has a boyfriend, of sorts, but she really doesn't wish to share her zone with anyone. The rest of her squad lend an air of credibility to the though this is 8th in the series, I highly recommend starting at the beginning ... go for a reading marathon! Each book is well-written with twists and turns .... usually with an ending that you never see coming.4.5 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    I always have fun reading about the exploits of Hillary Green. It was a very entertaining read and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffee Books / Netgalley for the advance digital copy. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my EASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “ACROSS THE NARROW BLUE LINE.”DI Hilary Greene is back .. but she's not the same feisty, strong, justie-driven, female detective that she's always been in the past. She's been on a 2-month compassionate leave because someone she's been close to for a lot of years was murdered. The assassin has never been e is determined that she will obtain whoever the assassin is, even though her supevisors have warned her versus getting involved. There's only one person who is more determined than Greene .... the very pregnant Greene tries to obtain her emotions under control and hold the widow out of trouble, she's called in on her first day back to investigate the murder of an elderly man. It looks like he was gardening when someone knocked him in the head with a owing through family and mates is like swimming in concrete. No clues, no apparent motive. Who would wish this senior citizen dead?As I have found with the first 8 books in this series, this is a well-written crime mystery. Hilary and her squad have matured over time, some are now gone but replaced by credible others. There always seems to be a touch of realism to her cases. I like that she's older, experienced, and willing to share those experiences with the younger ones coming up the ladder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    DI Hillary Greene returns to work almost two months after Superintendent Philip ‘Mellow’ Mallow's murder at the hands of a sniper at the end of MURDER IN THE MANSION. Both she and Mel's pregnant widow, Jeanine, are determined to search the assassin — will Janine go too far?Hillary meets Mel's replacement, Superintendent Brian Vane (who she has worked with before). At the same time, she and her squad are assigned the Edward Philpott murder case...I followed the investigation as it unfolded looking for clues in the Philpott case. I was also interested in seeing if the person that shot Mel would be caught and created to for his crimes. There were several tense moments along the way. The whodunnit and why (on Mel's investigation) were mentioned in the story in advance, but the reader is left to wonder if the murderer would be caught. I did not figure out the whodunnit or why in the Philpott case until the huge I have with the other books in the series, I read this one straight through without stopping. It was a pleasant afternoon read and I recommend the DI HILLARY GREENE series to anyone who enjoys good, clean mysteries with a powerful female protagonist!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    I always have fun reading about the exploits of Hillary Green. It was a very entertaining read and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    I can't. believe how Faith Martin can write one amazing mystery after another as she does! Can't wait to obtain to the next one. Wonderful, stories that read like the true thing, with all the characters feeling real. I have read and loved all 4 so far, and am eager to obtain right into another. These are well written and so amazing to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    I have read all of Faith Martins books and I highly recommend them if you are into British mysteries. You may just obtain hooked on her like I did. I am not going to write individual review for her books. There are too many. She has four various series to choose from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I have enjoyed this series but, the villain was too apparentIn general though I really have fun the characters, although Hillary is c just a bit too perfect, no one is that intuitive ALL the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    Another full on story with twists and turns throughout. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely recommend this series to my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    I really have fun the characters and plots, but want I could search a list so I could read in order. The plot hole is the glaring lack of follow up on a teenager with photography as a hobby. I can see why drugs and other avenues were pursued, but the camera is a dead give away to a blackmail motive. His camera was found so anything on it should've been scrutinized as well as his mates computer he used to print off things or any other put he may have used to print his pictures. I knew early on that blackmail was the motive, but had to hold reading and asking "what about his photos? What was he capturing? Where are his prints? Was there a key with his things that would have clued them to the locked zone they found? They searched his home...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The a lot of twists in the story kept me guessing as to who had actually done the murder. I am really looking forward to the authors next book out in the series. Highly recommend for anyone who enjoys a really amazing crime mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I am so happy that the “missing” volumes in the Hillary Green series are being released. It was so frustrating to have four of the middle novels unavailable. This murder case is gripping and demonstrates Green’s mastery of procedure, plus an ounch of intuition. The final ending was expected since faithful readers of the latest books in the series knew what was coming either in this novel or the next, but it was still a shock. I can’t wait for the next novel to be released.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    5 starsI read the Kindle edition.A sniper with a grudge versus the police is on the loose and slowly making his method towards the Thames Valley Constabulary near the Oxford area. The police officers there are on edge.DI Hillary Greene receives a note from her superior, Paul Danvers, about a murder. Responding to the call with DC Keith Barrington and the rest of her team, they search the murder occurred in the nicest house in the village. The victim is a Mrs. Mathilda “Mattie” Jones. She was stabbed multiple times. Upon interviewing the neighbors, they lean that Mattie was the type to create opponents and a lot of of the neighbors could be counted amongst them. Keith finds several poison pen letters in Mattie’s jewelry e letters are traced to Mattie’s sister, Fiona Cartwright. She is a hateful individual who is abusive to the police. Then a witness come into the police station and tells Hillary that she saw a vehicle parked in front of Mattie’s house at the time of the murder. There was a blond woman sitting in the car. It turns out to belong to Rachel, Mattie’s soon-to-be ex-husband’s secretary and bit on the side.DS Gemma Fordham is still sneaking around with her own agenda for being with Hillary’s team. But Hillary is on to her and Gemma begins to suspect that she might be. Is she being paranoid? DS Frank Ross is still being sloppy and relatively lazy and ter interviewing Mattie’s boyfriend, Hillary gets an idea. Now all she had to do was prove it. The identity of the assassin comes as small surprise, but the fun is in getting there.And the book ends on a very sad is book is very well written and plotted as are all of Faith Martin’s novels. I truly enjoyed it. The story starts out with a bang with Mattie’s murder, and the suspense continues throughout the book. The squad gets along well with Hillary at the helm. There are moments of irritability showing through when Frank acts up or with Gemma’s “undercover” activities. Ms. Martin keeps getting better and better. Very well done and hold writing!!I wish to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this amazing book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Once again Ms Martin has written a really amazing crime mystery. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a well crafted mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    An awesome series with a powerful female character. An inspector in the Thames Valley Police, Hillary Greene has in impeccable record of solved cases. It hasn't been simple for her since she's had to defend herself in an investigation of her husband , a bent police officer in the department. This series sees Hillary and her squad members who all have private issues, as they work the cases and arrive at solutions. All the books are hard to place down and are highly satisfying reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    Well drawn out characters, perfect realistic dialogue, lots of plot lines, this stood well on its own even knowing other book held keys to the cases. A thoroughly amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    This book was an engaging mystery featuring an astute female detective on a police force in an Oxfordshire town. For those readers unfamiliar with Hillary Greene, you're in for a true treat . I highly recommend this book to mystery readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I really love the Hillary Greene novels and this one was no exception. The assassin is seldom the one that you suspect and the side plots hold you involved. Just when you think you know who did it you search out you don't. The characters are simple to engage with. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    Right from the begin Hillary Greene is running to home plate. She is a very astute, detail catching cop. It's nice to see the interaction with coworkers and superiors. She is always juggling and doing the right thing. Everything sums up nicely??? But no one is ready for the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    Detective Inspector Hillary Greene is back in the fifth book of the series to solve the murder of fifteen year-old Billy Davies. Who wanted the boy dead and why? Perhaps he is not as innocent as he seems... Meanwhile, at work, Hillary has been passed over for (another) promotion and DC Tommy Lynch is being transferred out...I followed the clues along with Hillary and her squad as they investigated Billy's murder. I thought I had the answers a few times, then along came another twist, turn or surprise that created me realise I had it wrong partly wrong — I figured out the reason of the story in early on, but not the why. The why was kept beautiful well hidden until the appropriate huge reveal in the latest 10% of the book (there was just no method to know beforehand). I thoroughly have fun the method Ms. Martin tells a story!AfterThought: I am SO glad DC Tommy Lynch is being transferred. I was beyond tired of his commitment to marry Jean while he was mooning over Hillary (I think it will be annoying enough to continue watching Danvers and Regis compete).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    Too a lot of words--just chop to the chase. Likable characters for the most part, and an interesting plot, but too much description about things I didn't need to know about and really didn't moe things forward. I know some readers love all the descriptive stuff, so if you're oe of those you'll probably like this author. It is doubtful, however, that I'll choose to read another of Martin's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Once again the author has written a amazing book. The tension builds slowly and the twists really pull you into the story. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a really amazing mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Book DescriptionMeet DI HILLARY GREENE, a policewoman struggling to save her career and catch ttie Jones is found brutally stabbed to death in her palatial home. Hillary Greene is called in to investigate the murder of this wealthy woman. Who wanted her dead and why?Hillary discovers that Mattie’s snobby attitude had created her a lot of enemies. Mattie was also going through a messy divorce and had a secret anwhile, in a terrifying turn of events, police officers are being gunned down outside their stations. A sniper is on the loose. Who will come under attack next?Can Hillary cope with the opponents within, a complex case, and the whole force under attack?My ThoughtsMurder in the Mansion was my introduction to DI Hillary Green and author Faith Martin. There are two main plots as well as several minor ones that unfold over the course of the book. Who killed Mattie Jones and why is a sniper killing seemingly random police officers?My favorite mysteries are well-crafted stories with a lot of layers and enough suspects to hold me guessing “ who done it” until the end. Faith Martin did not disappoint as the characters had enough backstory to ensure I understood why they acted the method they did individually and as a team( DI Green's team). There were quite a few twists and turns and while I did figure out certain aspects of the story, the ending took me by surprise. This was an enjoyable read and when I finished, I wanted to read more books in the series, which is always a amazing thing to ank you, Faith Martin, Joffe Books and NetGalley for the digital copy to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    An awesome series with a powerful female character. An inspector in the Thames Valley Police, Hillary Greene has in impeccable record of solved cases. It hasn't been simple for her since she's had to defend herself in an investigation of her husband , a bent police officer in the department. This series sees Hillary and her squad members who all have private issues, as they work the cases and arrive at solutions. All the books are hard to place down and are highly satisfying reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    DI Hillary Greene is known for her ability to focus on info others miss, her skill in leading her squad and the mentoring she provides to her younger colleagues. Murder in the Garden does not start on a amazing day for Hillary. Two months have passed since her close mate Mel was murdered and while the police believe they know the identity of the killer, without evidence connecting him to the crime, a lot of fear this will become an unsolved cold case. Hillary is grief-stricken and her usual razor-sharp focus wavers as she attempts to solve her current assignment while trying to help Mel's pregnant widow, who is determined to unmask her husband's assassin even if the police cannot.Hillary and her squad are tasked with investigating the murder of an elderly gentleman in his garden. He seemingly has no true opponents and yet he was killed by a blow to his head with his own shovel. Figuring out the killer's identity is normally what DI Greene does best, however she has returned from leave full of self-doubt and is afraid that she has lost the ability to lead her squad and solve this crime. The story alternates between the movements of Clive Myers, the man believed to have killed Superintendent Philip “Mellow” Mallow(Mel) and the current murder of Edward Philpott. Hillary is constantly drawn away from her case as Janine, Mel's widow continues to disregard instructions to stay out of the Myers investigation. Will there be justice for Mel as well as for Edward?The answers to those questions are what propel the story along and I have to say I was rooting for both murderers to be exposed as well as for DI Greene to search some is is the second book in this series that I have read and DI Greene's hero continues to grow on me. Sometimes I am in the mood for a superman or woman type detective, and sometimes I am enamored by a flawed human being who is amazing with people and cares about those around her. That to me, is Hillary, a amazing detective, and a amazing person. I am looking forward to spending more quality time with her as there are more books in this ank you, Faith Martin, Joffe Books and NetGalley for the digital copy to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    This book is set 2 months after the tragic end of the latest book, with DI Green returning to work after slowly getting over the death of her boss, the much loved Mel.  Hilary is then thrown straight into the deep end of a murder investigation when a man is found dead in his back is book is a brilliant one based around two completely various investigations, on the one hand you have a murder story based around a flower show, with all the drama and vicious back stabbing that goes with it, and the other story is the investigation into who killed Mel, whilst stopping his heavily pregnant widow also trying to search out what happened and turning into a e main plot is great, where we are taken into the dark underground of flower shows and trying to search the assassin through all of this was a amazing read, I really didn't work out who the assassin was throughout until the heavy reveal on the latest couple of pages.  This was almost overshadowed by the shocking conclusion of the other investigation involving Mel, which was a very apt if unexpected ter reading this book I can't wait for the next one, which if Joffe and Faith continue as previous then it should be a couple of weeks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    DO Hillary Greene comes back from a two-month compassionate leave still morning the loss of her best friend. Crime however has not taken a break. This story keeps a brisk pace as the constabulary seeks to solve the murder of Hillary's best mate and a fresh crime victim found face down in his lovely garden. DI Hillary Greene has a reputation for clear thinking and intuitive focus on pinning down the relevant facts. I look forward to reading more novels featuring DI Greene. She is concise and admirable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    Author Faith Martin has done it again. DI Hillary Greene is back, investigating a murder of a teenaged boy. All the same characters are at work with her although change is in the air as both Tommy and Janine, her sergeants both seem headed for fresh responsibilities. The case progresses with different twists and turns and concludes with the realization for the reader that changes may be in the wind for Hillary Greene rhaps not as gripping as the earlier books in this series, nevertheless, Murder in the Family is an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    Ok. Where's the next one? I looked in shop and said not available at present. Come on. Not fair. I need it. Please create available. I like to read in this series addicting. Please don't leave Hillary's fans hanging! Amazing series and need more NOW!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I enjoyed DI Greene very much. I found the other characters shallow. I also did not think the conclusion as to who murdered Mattie was created clear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Faith Martin is a amazing mystery writer! And this series is my current favorite of this type. Only Colin Dexter and his Inspector Morse books top her....and not by much. Both authors take me back to Oxford in the first few pages and hold me there until each book ends. Now, I'll wait impatiently for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Another amazing story which I read in one sitting. I can't wait for the next book,the author Faith Martin writes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    The force is under attack by an unknown sniper, officers have died. Hillary and her squad along with the rest of the force are nervous.A woman has been been brutally stabbed to death in the hallway of her home. Hilary starts the investigation e woman, Matilda Jones,is in the processs of divorcing her husband Barry and at first he becomes the prime ever when the investigations throw up evidence of sibling jealousy and secrets from Matilda`s past the pool of suspects is is a well plotted murder mystery and I think one of the best in the DI Hillary Greene ere are twists and turns aplenty and just when the officers think they are safe following the snipers capture another would be assassin has an officer in his sights.I can`t wait to read the next book in this series after the shocking end to this anks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.I would definitely recommend it, you won`t be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Amazing series! Why all the name changes? I've purchased and read books 1-8. Book 9 was supposed to be Across the Narrow Blue Line. But wait, it's not. Book 10 is listed as A Narrow Point of View. I can't search it. Why? I'm just going to give up soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Very suspenseful on several levels. Was the house wired with a bomb, or wasn’t it? Who was the killer? What happens to Janine? A amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I am so happy that the “missing” volumes in the Hillary Green series are being released. It was so frustrating to have four of the middle novels unavailable. This murder case is gripping and demonstrates Green’s mastery of procedure, plus an ounch of intuition. The final ending was expected since faithful readers of the latest books in the series knew what was coming either in this novel or the next, but it was still a shock. I can’t wait for the next novel to be released.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    DI HILLARY GREENE and her squad will investigate the death of Mrs Matilda Jones. Mattie was stabbed to death in her home. She was going through a divorce and was having an affair. Her attitude has created her a few enemies. Meanwhile, a sniper is setting up outside police stations and shooting cops...The main storyline was woven with several subplots and all of them were interesting. I followed the investigation as I read and tried to figure out who murdered Mattie. I also hoped they would search the sniper who was shooting the cops. The person who was guilty of Mattie's murder was a surprise to me. I did not suspect that hero once he/she was introduced. The end of the book (one of the subplots) was a complete shocker and totally unexpected!AfterThought: I enjoyed this pleasant afternoon read and highly recommend this series by Faith Martin!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I am so glad I found this series - they are prefect commuter reading for the train. They are well-written and, while the central hero is a likeable, intelligent, feisty and independent women, the other characters are a mixed bag. One reviewer wrote that the other characters aren't fleshed out but I disagree; their characters unfold as the books progress. I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series. The kindle editions are very affordable which is also amazing as I am getting through them quite quickly. Hold 'em coming Ms. Martin!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    The astonishingly repetitive use of the word "grimly" - and variations thereof - was so distracting I almost quit reading the book about midway through but, then, I became curious as to how much more the author could possibly use it. I wondered if it was a dare. How a lot of times could she use the word grimly (or grim or grimace)? I've not read any other books from this series so I don't know if this is just the author's signature word for the series, and it's just not my cup of grim tea. I can't speak to the merits of the book because, honestly, I was so distracted by this word that the import of the story grimly faded away. The following are just some - SOME - of the usages of grimly starting about midway through the book:“Grimly now…”“… thought grimly…”“…smiled grimly…”“…carried on grimly…”“Grimly, she jogged down the path…”“Grimly, they reminded her…”“…watched grimly…““…snapped grimly…”“…sighed grimly…”“…broke in grimly…”“…said grimly…”“Grimly, Davis relayed…”“…nodded grimly…”“…bluffed grimly…”“…all too grimly…”“Grimly she walked…”And there were variations....“…first grim tingle…”“…a disgusted grimace…”“…grim-voiced…”“…grim smile…”Another favorite word was tight and variations thereof...“…a tight look of apprehension…”“…stomach felt tight…”“…voice, tight with tension…”“…thin lips tightened…”“…lips felt tight…”“…a tight smile…”“…said tightly…”And then sometimes the twain would meet...“her face was as tight and grim as…”If you're not bothered by the repetitive use of the word grimly, this may be a fabulous book. I see very positive reviews for it, so you might wish to rely more on those. But the use - and abuse - of the word grimly (can you jog grimly?) was so abundant, I just felt compelled to review. Some might say I did so grimly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    This is a amazing series. If you have started reading them, go back to the beginning and obtain them all! And they're reasonably priced so you won't feel too guilty about spending on books. Faith Martin has made people that feel like your friends; you just wish to hold finding out what's going to happen with them next. Plus each book has a amazing plot line and terrifically true police involvement. I just can't say enough about them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    Unbelievable series! So glad I discovered Faith Martin’s Hillary Greene series. I’ve read 8 so far, and can't wait to read the rest.Rather than commenting on each book individually, I’ll just say that it’s a amazing collection of police procedurals, set in Oxfordshire. They're not at all cosy, but there’s no superfluous gore, either.We meet intriguing people, glimpse gleaming spires, picturesque landscapes and down-at-heel housing estates, and search ourselves bouncing along with Hillary in her “Tragic Wagon” in find of villains and the answers to more private mysteries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Faith Martin you've done it again. I read this book in one sitting, as I have all her books. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my IS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A NARROW EXIT.”Almost impossible to believe, but Hilary has place in her resignation and is scheduled to retire in just a few weeks. Most of her squad have either left or transferred out. And since her best mate was killed in front of her, she just doesn't have the motivation to stay. She spends a lot of time pondering what she will do when she no longer has to chase the poor guys.Her bosses definitely do not wish to see her leave. Her superior comes up with an idea .... place her on a murder investigation. She won't leave in the middle of the case and that will give him some additional time to come up with something else to convince her to e murder victim, Michael Ivers, was brutally killed with a few bashes to the head. Known as a gambler and a philanderer, he wasn't much liked by anyone. The question is ... which of those who didn't like him actually killed him?Complicating the case is the return of ex-Sergeant Frank Ross, now a security guard and ultimately a prime suspect. Since he was forced to retire from the department, he has only become more surly and ere are a lot of suspects to look at. Ross, who may have been blackmailed by Ivers, any number of ladies he has dated and dropped, husbands who may have taken offense of Ivers messing with wives ... partners at work for any number of reasons.Every time I read one of Faith Martin's books, I'm amazed at how well written they are.. and each seems to be better than the last. The mystery is always a puzzle and so a lot of twists and turns with a dozens of suspects keeps me riveted to the story.Hilary is a terrific character. She's an older woman, approaching 50, who is well known for her dedication to catching criminals and finding justice for those left 's going to be an awesome ride when she retires (if she does) and goes onto something else. It will be fun following her adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Amazing to see Hillary Greene back to work again. She is back in her old nick going after an cold case twenty years old. If anyone can solve it Hillary can. The bet is on to how long it will take her. The case was looked at with a keen eye then but there was DNA not identified on the victim. She was a mother of three who was killed in her kitchen. Hillary and her group are going over it all again and looking at it just enough differently to see one or two things that need a follow up. Then Hillary has a secret admirer who is going through her boat after breaking in and sending flowers. That is a situation yet to be solved I love this series and this book was every bit as good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    5 starsDC Tag Chang is a fresh member of DI Hillary Greene’s team. He replaced the disreputable and obnoxious DS Frank Ross who (I’m glad to say), was finally forced to retire.DCI Paul Danvers still has a crush on Hillary. Superintendent Brian Vane is still plotting to obtain even with Hillary after his latest idea e squad receives a call out to a death in a nearby street. A man is burned in a yard fire, with different books scattered around him, also burned. Interviewing neighbors and acquaintances, the squad learns that the man was very strictly religious, had no sense of humor and was not well liked. But who would have disliked him enough to slay him? The pathologist Steven Partridge reveals that he was dead before he was place into the fire. The man was beaten. Dr. Partridge later confirms that the dead man’s identity was David Marchant, the owner of the residence where the murder anwhile, DC Chang’s parents are being terrorized by a vicious Chinese gang. And PC Keith Barrington’s lover’s father has died in rington, Fordham, Chang and Hillary are interviewing witnesses, acquaintances and those who knew any potential suspects. They learn that Marchant had a son named Victor who they cannot locate. In Marchant’s rental house lives an artist named Francis Whyte. His landscapes well, but not for much money. He likes doing nudes the best. This enraged landlord Marchant and he ordered him to move out of the eir case moves on slowly. It contains interviewing the trustees of David Marchant’s trust that was set up for his son Victor by Victor’s grandparents. She tells Gemma to pull out all of the stops and place Victor’s picture in the paper and obtain an APB out for him. It is shortly thereafter that Hillary gets one of her popular e identity of the assassin is kind of a is book is as well written and plotted as Faith Martin’s previous novels. Hillary Greene is a remarkable woman who is a amazing boss; being tough when she needs to be but compassionate as well. Her interview skills are legendary and her solve rate is second to none. I really like this series. Hillary and her ever-shifting squad are delightful, with their small quirks, weaknesses and strengths. Please more, Ms. Martin!! And soon!I wish to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this amazing book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    There are a lot of things going on in this story that are almost sub-stories within the main story. First,DI Hillary Greene has a fresh squad member now that DS Frank Ross was forced to retire. Then there is DCI Paul Danvers, who has a secret crush on Hillary and of course her boss, Superintendent Brian Vane is still trying to obtain her fired. All that and she has to work cases of murder. A man is found in a fire with books scattered all around him. The pathologist Dr. Partridge says the man was dead before being place in the fire. There is no shortage of suspects as the man was not well liked. Can Hillary's squad search the killer? Things are not working as well as they should with the team. A lot of things going on in this story. How it ends is anybody's guess. I received a copy of this book from Joffe Books, the review is my own opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Read them all and looking forward to the characters journey in the future. Its a pleasure to hold reading about interesting people and the paths they follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    DI Hillary Greene has only a couple of weeks left to retirement and just cleaning up those cases still on her desk. Her bosses have another idea. Her group gets the next murder case up. Here we are at an industrial zone with Frank Ross, now retired with Hillarey's support as the night watchman who finds the body. Looks quite evident at first what happened to the victim but sometimes there is more to it than meets the eye. Hillary is as thorough as ever and will uncover the happenings to bring us to his death. She finishes in time to be off on her adventure seeing the canals. A few other things obtain cleaned up also before she leaves. What will being her back? We'll have to wait and see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES by Faith MartinOnce again we meet up with Hillary, living on her boat, and bored, wanting her job back. A step into the bosses office, and he hands her a file, and telling her. she is with Caryle’s , a Crime review Team. You have your own cases, to work on as you want, from startto finish. Meeting the boss, and her work area, surprised she didn’t walk out. He wants his name first, climbing the ladder for promotions, and giving her the coldest hardest cases. The bets are on in the station,would she hold her records of cases solved. A various approach, interesting of how she goes over the files, and know where lop holes maybe at. Another story that readers won’t wish to miss. Given ARC for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Another entertaining and captivating mystery, Hillary couldn’t stay away from the force, it was deeply rooted in her and on her return she is faced with a cold case that was twenty years old, how in heaven's was she going to solve that with most witnesses aged and died. This is what it’s all about for Hillary putting together those pieces of the puzzle that didn’t create sense. On top of that she picked up a stalker one on the force of all places, now that was another puzzle she required to solve and fast. Although Hillary was minus her old gang she was still able to do the job she enjoys with amazing results. A amazing storyline as is expected and the characters are awesome, my only regret is that I have to wait for the next book to search out how they with the scumbag who has decided to target Hillary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Hillary Greene, had enough of touring on her boat and retirement. She returns Toth Cold Case Department ,along the method she picks up a sexy younger boss and a stalker. Will her skills, kick back in,and will she be alert to her possible danger. A amazing read, watching Hillary establish her fresh method of life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    This is book 10 in the 'Murder' series. It would be helpful to read these in sequence as this book discusses the aftermath of Book 9 but it should work as stand alone.A bible pushing publisher is found burning on a bonfire of his own books in his own back garden and Hillary is on the case. Not a lot of clues and although the man was not liked by a lot of there are not a lot of suspects. The case becomes very tangled as the squad test to follow the few leads they d a fresh squad member being bullied into the mix along with the repercussions from book 9 and Hillary is struggling to cope with all the problems being piled upon her. Keith Barrington also has his issues and with Danvers keeping his distance it seems everything is falling ever, first job is to catch the murderer so onwards and upwards …..Very believable, flawed characters that develop very well over the course of the book with enough twists and turns to ensure the reader keeps turning page after page…Another brilliant addition to the series with an absolute shocker of an ending,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    This is not my favourite of the Hillary Greene series but is still head and shoulders above the rest. I think the reason it did not appeal to me especially was because there are so a lot of "dirty tricks" being played by characters on all levels – even a hero who supposedly "loves" the hero whom he's manipulating. Ugh! In any case (hoping this isn't a spoiler alert), this is an interesting resolution to one aspect of our intrepid heroine's life ... and a lead-in to further adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Faith Martin's Hillary Greene stories are not flashy mystery stories with unrealistic, ultra clever plots, nor are they edge of the seat thrillers that will hold you awake at night. What they are is solid, well-written detection with fair clues, amazing logic, realistic and engaging characters and a satisfying this book, Hillary has tired of retirement and returned to her real vocation: solving murders. This time a twenty-year old cold case, the death of a mother and wife. Hillary sees the aftermath of the crime as she interviews the family and their associates in the find for fresh clues and a better understanding of old ones. Spoiler: her high success rate at solving murders continues in a fresh setting with a fresh squad and a fresh boss and the tip of the chance of a fresh romance in the future. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Detective Hillary Greene is helping the Thames Valley Police HQ, acting as a consultant for the Crime Review Team, looking into murders which the police have never been able to solve. The case is of Anne McRae, a young mother who was found beaten to death by a rolling ey did search out that she was having an affair with her brother in law, but couldn't search any evidence versus her sister, Debbie. As Greene digs deeper into this unsolved murder, she also has another problem.....an unknown admirer who is turning into a stalker. Can Greene search out who killed Anne McRae and fend off the unwanted attention from her unknown suitor/stalker? I would like to thank Joffe books for the copy of this book, I voluntarily reviewed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I always have fun reading the exploits of Hillary Green and her colleagues. I can't wait to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Another amazing book from FAITH MARTIN. It was very amazing from the first page with a very satisfying ending. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Netgalley for the advance digital copy of this crime fiction. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my EASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A NARROW POINT OF VIEW.”In this, the 10th book of the series featuring DI Greene and her team, she's called out to investigate a murder. A not so nice guy has been bludgeoned to death and his body laid on top of a fire started with his huge library of e's struggling with this case. David Merchant was a publisher and devout Christian who judged the moral of most people around him. Although the neighbors, co-workers all admit to not liking the man, no one seems to have a true motive to slay him.With all this playing on her mind, her squad is falling apart. One of the squad is being targeted by a brutal gang. Another of her squad has to decide between being a detective or following his lover to a various country. Her supervisor who has a thing for her has admitted conquer and has asked for a transfer. Hillary isn't quite sure what she thinks of that.Hillary’s under heavy pressure and will she finally crack? And if she does, where will she go from here? She's going to have to create a life-altering decision is is a well-written novel, as I've come to expect from this author. It's exciting, full of small twists and turns that hold the reader guessing... and a surprise ending that you never see coming. This has become a favorite series for me. I highly recommend starting at the very beginning. Hillary Greene is an exceptional hero and it's been a fun adventure seeing her grown and mature.4.5 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    A thoroughly enjoyable novel, not that Faith Martin writes any other kind. I picked out the assassin early but the info took me a while. As I have said before, I love the method the author takes her protagonists down rabbit trails like true cops before she reveals the real villain. I love the method she interweaves long plot threads in amongst the ones that will be exposed in the current book.Hillary has a fresh squad member and a boss that doesn't have her best interests in mind. Add in a difficult case and she has her hands full.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Books n All Book Promotions / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my EASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A NARROW RETURN.”Her retirement has lasted all of a year and a half and now she's back. Although no longer a DI, she is working as a consult for the Police Headquarters. She has a fresh squad and she's being given cold, cold murder cases which have never been e wasn’t sure she wanted to go back. But solving crimes is irresistible for Hillary Greene. And it doesn’t damage that her fresh boss is devastatingly handsome.Her first case is 20 years old. Anna McRae was found dead in her home, beaten to death with a rolling pin. She was a wife and mother of three kids ... but since she was having an affair with her sister's husband, the sister was the prime suspect. But it could never be proven. After 20 years, whatever leads the detectives had once had have turned ice cold.While she and her squad begin painstakingly putting together a fresh case and re-investigating the mates and families of Ms. McRae, she finds that the victim had a lot of more secrets that were never brought to light.What also emerges is that Hillary has a stalker. First her locker is broken into and a comb goes missing. She receives roses hand delivered to her office. A Valentine and a book of poems are n Hillary solve a fiendishly complex case from the past while fending off unwanted attention?HIllary still has the same sharp, feisty edges she has always had. Famous with rank and file, she's no-nonsense and extremely competent in her job. Her fresh squad consists of an older retired Sergeant who has heard of Hillary's reputation and is eager to work with her. Because of budget cuts, the other two members are civilians ... they do the grunt work to up detectives to do the 'real' work. The young man is greener than green, but is promising in his eagerness to learn from Hillary. The other is a young woman who has designs on the boss and really doesn't wish another woman eat characters all around with lots of twists and turns create this crime thriller an exceptional addition to the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    While I did have fun reading it, I found the story not very engaging overall and the ending a bit abrupt. The cast of characters is various but the overall plot/construction is related to when she was on the force. I may be tiring of this series due to the sameness of plot, tension devices, chararacters that appear in each book: her on/off love interest; her little boat; her car; her red hair; her curvy body; her amazing and poor work colleagues; the likable desk sergeant etc...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    This is the 10th book in the DI HIllary Greene series and like those before I thoroughly enjoyed it.David Merchant a publisher and author is found burning in a bonfire in his garden. An autopsy shows cause of death as a massive blow to the head by a poker.Hillary and her squad explore that David`s pious and holier than thou attitude, although not endearing him to people, doesn`t seem to be an obvious motive for his murder.Hillary`s focus is divided during the investigation when her fresh DC becomes the target of a criminal gang and her old DS Janine Mallow`s involvement in the death of her husbands assassin looks like its about to be created public.Hillary is under preassure and there seems no shortage of issues with the other members of her team.Will she be able to solve the murder? Will she manage to sort everyone elses issues along with her own?The story kept me guessing and I certainly didn`t see the surprise at the end coming. Can`t wait for the next instalment.Another amazing addition to an perfect series, thanks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    David Merchant is not a very liked publisher and now his body has been found in his backyard burned with a dozens of his books and framed things from the house. His son, Victor has not gotten along with his father and now cannot be found. Then there is the tenant of his rental who he has told to move because of his painting e murder is not the only issue DI Greene's unit is dealing with at the time. She has a fresh detective Michael Chang who is having some issues with gangs. Then DS Fordham is getting married. Things seem to be changing and lots of pressure for Hillary. Solving the murder should be the simple part.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Loved this recent instalment! Well written story, just complex enough to hold you guessing and now I'm wondering what's going to happen next! Can't wait for the rest of the series to come to Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Faith Martin consistently serves up solid mysteries based on logical deductions with fair clues for the reader, and this book is no exception. As Hillary approaches her retirement date, her boss Donleavy assigns one latest murder for her to solve in the hopes it will draw her back into crime solution and convince her to give up plans to retire. Alas, it is not to be, and Hillary solves her latest official crime before her end date and holds quick to her plan. The actual retirement plan is a bit vague--to travel the canals in her boat. Will she grow bored and return to solve cold cases as Donleavy expects or explore crimes on her travels? Thank goodness there are books ahead to respond that question for this is a series that never fails to satisfy, and I definitely look forward to reading more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Another exciting Hillary Green adventure. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the exploits of Hillary Green and her colleagues. The characters were interesting and well written. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Hillary Greene returns to action as a civilian consultant in the cold case division investigating a twenty-year-old murder. Working carefully to avoid ruffling feathers of the previous head of investigation on this murder, Hillary slowly untangles the web that ultimately led to the murder of a mother of three. Issues she encounters are that the wife was unfaithful on multiple occasions leading to various dead ends before the investigation focused on an unlikely suspect. Hillary also wars rising feelings for her fresh superintendent and a devious stalker who could be dangerous. Fascinating read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    A lonely religious man is found dead in his garden in the middle of what looks like a bonfire. Although a lot of disagreed with his lifestyle and harsh words, there is no-one who disliked him so much as to go as far as murder. What is going on? DI Hillary Greene and her squad are back in another unbelievable tale. I feel that I almost know these people and really wouldn’t be that surprised if I bumped into them in the street. They come across so well with rounded characters and backgrounds that they live on the pages. Faith makes every story page turnable with interesting plots and characters that you always know that you are in for a comfortable read. Oh the end! I won’t spoil anything but I very much look forward to the next in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    MURDER BY FIRE by Faith Martin. The opening is like a Sherlock book giving us amazing details,and we are now wondering who this woman was. We have her description, and could feel the despair, when not given the curtisty of her being present. A neighbor noticed an odd smell later that morning, and called it in. Hilary noticed all things pretaing to this man’s private items, books have been burned. She has a record of solving all her cases. This was another case with the info of how, and why it was done. Readers will once again, enjoy, and wish the answers. Given ARC by Net Galley for my voluntary review and my honest answer.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386