Read murder by fire a gripping crime reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all murder by fire a gripping crime reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    A lonely religious man is found dead in his garden in the middle of what looks like a bonfire. Although a lot of disagreed with his lifestyle and harsh words, there is no-one who disliked him so much as to go as far as murder. What is going on? DI Hillary Greene and her squad are back in another unbelievable tale. I feel that I almost know these people and really wouldn’t be that surprised if I bumped into them in the street. They come across so well with rounded characters and backgrounds that they live on the pages. Faith makes every story page turnable with interesting plots and characters that you always know that you are in for a comfortable read. Oh the end! I won’t spoil anything but I very much look forward to the next in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    MURDER BY FIRE by Faith Martin. The opening is like a Sherlock book giving us amazing details,and we are now wondering who this woman was. We have her description, and could feel the despair, when not given the curtisty of her being present. A neighbor noticed an odd smell later that morning, and called it in. Hilary noticed all things pretaing to this man’s private items, books have been burned. She has a record of solving all her cases. This was another case with the info of how, and why it was done. Readers will once again, enjoy, and wish the answers. Given ARC by Net Galley for my voluntary review and my honest answer.

    0  


    Add your opinion on murder by fire a gripping crime or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    This is the 10th book in the DI HIllary Greene series and like those before I thoroughly enjoyed it.David Merchant a publisher and author is found burning in a bonfire in his garden. An autopsy shows cause of death as a massive blow to the head by a poker.Hillary and her squad explore that David`s pious and holier than thou attitude, although not endearing him to people, doesn`t seem to be an obvious motive for his murder.Hillary`s focus is divided during the investigation when her fresh DC becomes the target of a criminal gang and her old DS Janine Mallow`s involvement in the death of her husbands assassin looks like its about to be created public.Hillary is under preassure and there seems no shortage of issues with the other members of her team.Will she be able to solve the murder? Will she manage to sort everyone elses issues along with her own?The story kept me guessing and I certainly didn`t see the surprise at the end coming. Can`t wait for the next instalment.Another amazing addition to an perfect series, thanks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    David Merchant is not a very liked publisher and now his body has been found in his backyard burned with a dozens of his books and framed things from the house. His son, Victor has not gotten along with his father and now cannot be found. Then there is the tenant of his rental who he has told to move because of his painting e murder is not the only issue DI Greene's unit is dealing with at the time. She has a fresh detective Michael Chang who is having some issues with gangs. Then DS Fordham is getting married. Things seem to be changing and lots of pressure for Hillary. Solving the murder should be the simple part.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    5 starsDC Tag Chang is a fresh member of DI Hillary Greene’s team. He replaced the disreputable and obnoxious DS Frank Ross who (I’m glad to say), was finally forced to retire.DCI Paul Danvers still has a crush on Hillary. Superintendent Brian Vane is still plotting to obtain even with Hillary after his latest idea e squad receives a call out to a death in a nearby street. A man is burned in a yard fire, with different books scattered around him, also burned. Interviewing neighbors and acquaintances, the squad learns that the man was very strictly religious, had no sense of humor and was not well liked. But who would have disliked him enough to slay him? The pathologist Steven Partridge reveals that he was dead before he was place into the fire. The man was beaten. Dr. Partridge later confirms that the dead man’s identity was David Marchant, the owner of the residence where the murder anwhile, DC Chang’s parents are being terrorized by a vicious Chinese gang. And PC Keith Barrington’s lover’s father has died in rington, Fordham, Chang and Hillary are interviewing witnesses, acquaintances and those who knew any potential suspects. They learn that Marchant had a son named Victor who they cannot locate. In Marchant’s rental house lives an artist named Francis Whyte. His landscapes well, but not for much money. He likes doing nudes the best. This enraged landlord Marchant and he ordered him to move out of the eir case moves on slowly. It contains interviewing the trustees of David Marchant’s trust that was set up for his son Victor by Victor’s grandparents. She tells Gemma to pull out all of the stops and place Victor’s picture in the paper and obtain an APB out for him. It is shortly thereafter that Hillary gets one of her popular e identity of the assassin is kind of a is book is as well written and plotted as Faith Martin’s previous novels. Hillary Greene is a remarkable woman who is a amazing boss; being tough when she needs to be but compassionate as well. Her interview skills are legendary and her solve rate is second to none. I really like this series. Hillary and her ever-shifting squad are delightful, with their small quirks, weaknesses and strengths. Please more, Ms. Martin!! And soon!I wish to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this amazing book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    There are a lot of things going on in this story that are almost sub-stories within the main story. First,DI Hillary Greene has a fresh squad member now that DS Frank Ross was forced to retire. Then there is DCI Paul Danvers, who has a secret crush on Hillary and of course her boss, Superintendent Brian Vane is still trying to obtain her fired. All that and she has to work cases of murder. A man is found in a fire with books scattered all around him. The pathologist Dr. Partridge says the man was dead before being place in the fire. There is no shortage of suspects as the man was not well liked. Can Hillary's squad search the killer? Things are not working as well as they should with the team. A lot of things going on in this story. How it ends is anybody's guess. I received a copy of this book from Joffe Books, the review is my own opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    This is book 10 in the 'Murder' series. It would be helpful to read these in sequence as this book discusses the aftermath of Book 9 but it should work as stand alone.A bible pushing publisher is found burning on a bonfire of his own books in his own back garden and Hillary is on the case. Not a lot of clues and although the man was not liked by a lot of there are not a lot of suspects. The case becomes very tangled as the squad test to follow the few leads they d a fresh squad member being bullied into the mix along with the repercussions from book 9 and Hillary is struggling to cope with all the problems being piled upon her. Keith Barrington also has his issues and with Danvers keeping his distance it seems everything is falling ever, first job is to catch the murderer so onwards and upwards …..Very believable, flawed characters that develop very well over the course of the book with enough twists and turns to ensure the reader keeps turning page after page…Another brilliant addition to the series with an absolute shocker of an ending,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    This is not my favourite of the Hillary Greene series but is still head and shoulders above the rest. I think the reason it did not appeal to me especially was because there are so a lot of "dirty tricks" being played by characters on all levels – even a hero who supposedly "loves" the hero whom he's manipulating. Ugh! In any case (hoping this isn't a spoiler alert), this is an interesting resolution to one aspect of our intrepid heroine's life ... and a lead-in to further adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Netgalley for the advance digital copy of this crime fiction. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my EASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A NARROW POINT OF VIEW.”In this, the 10th book of the series featuring DI Greene and her team, she's called out to investigate a murder. A not so nice guy has been bludgeoned to death and his body laid on top of a fire started with his huge library of e's struggling with this case. David Merchant was a publisher and devout Christian who judged the moral of most people around him. Although the neighbors, co-workers all admit to not liking the man, no one seems to have a true motive to slay him.With all this playing on her mind, her squad is falling apart. One of the squad is being targeted by a brutal gang. Another of her squad has to decide between being a detective or following his lover to a various country. Her supervisor who has a thing for her has admitted conquer and has asked for a transfer. Hillary isn't quite sure what she thinks of that.Hillary’s under heavy pressure and will she finally crack? And if she does, where will she go from here? She's going to have to create a life-altering decision is is a well-written novel, as I've come to expect from this author. It's exciting, full of small twists and turns that hold the reader guessing... and a surprise ending that you never see coming. This has become a favorite series for me. I highly recommend starting at the very beginning. Hillary Greene is an exceptional hero and it's been a fun adventure seeing her grown and mature.4.5 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    A thoroughly enjoyable novel, not that Faith Martin writes any other kind. I picked out the assassin early but the info took me a while. As I have said before, I love the method the author takes her protagonists down rabbit trails like true cops before she reveals the real villain. I love the method she interweaves long plot threads in amongst the ones that will be exposed in the current book.Hillary has a fresh squad member and a boss that doesn't have her best interests in mind. Add in a difficult case and she has her hands full.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    First book in this series that disappointed. Method too much emphasis on the crime solvers and small insight into the actual crime. The previous book started the trend and this one had Hillary's police squad and her superiors disappearing under their own issues. It's an accident to lose one staff member, a calamity when a lot of of the crime team members appear to be leaving in one story. The concerns of a constable, chinese gang members attempting to enroll another constable, a senior officer looking for revenge and another concerned that love is misguiding his logic while marriage into the aristocracy gets a mention, provide a mishmash of too a lot of private stories and too small detecting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    These books are addictive. I stayed up all night reading this one as soon as it became available. The crime and the police work weren’t all that intriguing (the identification of the murderer was fairly obvious and it’s a wonder it took DI Greene so long to figure it out) but it was more interesting to see what happened with Hillary’s squad because so much was left unresolved at the end of the latest novel. Did waste of zone Ross really leave? Did Mel Mallow’s widow survive the investigation? What is the Yorkie Bar planning? What about Constable Barrington....will he create a decision? And what nefarious plan does Supt. Vane have in mind? All these questions were answered, more or less, but there were still some major developments left for the next episode, er volume, which I hope will come out soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    A thoroughly enjoyable novel, not that Faith Martin writes any other kind. I picked out the assassin early but the info took me a while. As I have said before, I love the method the author takes her protagonists down rabbit trails like true cops before she reveals the real villain. I love the method she interweaves long plot threads in amongst the ones that will be exposed in the current book.Hillary has a fresh squad member and a boss that doesn't have her best interests in mind. Add in a difficult case and she has her hands full.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    This is not my favourite of the Hillary Greene series but is still head and shoulders above the rest. I think the reason it did not appeal to me especially was because there are so a lot of "dirty tricks" being played by characters on all levels – even a hero who supposedly "loves" the hero whom he's manipulating. Ugh! In any case (hoping this isn't a spoiler alert), this is an interesting resolution to one aspect of our intrepid heroine's life ... and a lead-in to further adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    This book was not as satisfying for me as the previous ones in the series. Gone were the "characters" of the long boat, and the usual info about flowers and birds. The next book, introducing the next phase of Hillary Green's detective work is coming soon. I'm hoping this book was just sorting out problems to let fresh and exciting adventures as the series continues. Hillary Green remains one of my favorite investigators

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    This was,another perfect mystery from Faith Martin! Love her Hillary books! All I have to do is read a couple of pages and I am hooked! This was a humdinger of a mystery.... Kept me guessing.... It wasn't until very near the end that I figured it out. It was very cleverly done. I really enjoyed the book... Was worried about some of the characters though... But that is the sign of a amazing author, when you feel anguish for the characters as if they were true people!!!!! A FANTASTIC series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    Mrs Vivienne Chard went outside to hang up her laundry one morning and smelled a fire from next door. She calls neighbour, David Merchant, but he does not answer. She dials nine, nine, nine... When police respond, they search Merchant's body in the middle of a bonfire... DI Hillary Greene and her squad are assigned to investigate the murder...Detective Constable Tag Chang has been assigned to work with DI Hillary Greene's squad (DS Frank Ross was forced into retirement)...I read along and followed the investigation with Hillary and her team. I could not even come up with a suspect for the murder. There were the usual twists and turns and a few surprises in shop before the huge reveal. I never suspected the true assassin and that is what makes a amazing mystery!AfterThought: The end of the book was interesting and I am curious to see how that part of the storyline plays out...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    Another winner. I really liked that there is a fresh mystery, but also enough of the tension of the life of the main character. I read it in one day, and, boy, do I want the 11th book came out today. The mystery is amazing, and I believe the author gets better with each book, never losing her focus. Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    The books in this series are simply awesome. Each one is suspenseful, interesting and so well-written. This one, especially, is a surprise ending-read it! You will be glad and will wish to read the whole series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER BY FIRE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 10) []  2020-1-29 0:36

    You really need to read the series in to fully appreciate this series. So much in this book relies on an understanding of past events, such as Gemma's previous relationship with Hillary's ex-husband. But again, Faith Martin hits it out of the park with another winner. Hillary Greene is the one I compare other female police officers to, and she is the best, hands down. I would read this series again, it's that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Another exciting Hillary Green adventure. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the exploits of Hillary Green and her colleagues. The characters were interesting and well written. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Hillary Greene returns to action as a civilian consultant in the cold case division investigating a twenty-year-old murder. Working carefully to avoid ruffling feathers of the previous head of investigation on this murder, Hillary slowly untangles the web that ultimately led to the murder of a mother of three. Issues she encounters are that the wife was unfaithful on multiple occasions leading to various dead ends before the investigation focused on an unlikely suspect. Hillary also wars rising feelings for her fresh superintendent and a devious stalker who could be dangerous. Fascinating read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    These books are so entertaining to read. I love getting lost in them and following Hillary's life. There is always some turn in them that I didn't expect. Now that she is retired, I hope the rest of the series is just as amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I really have fun reading this series. Always assured of an interesting plot, perfect believable characters and at least one undercurrent to add a small spice along the way. DI Hillary Greene has handed her message in and is set to retire in a few short weeks. She is looking forward to taking the Mollern, her canal boat, along the unbelievable canal stretches of Amazing Britain. So why is she getting nervous about it all? When a person is found murdered and the nightwatchman is her ex colleague Frank, she hopes she can solve this one before she hangs up her boots for the final time. Superintendent Vane is still worming his method around trying to discredit both Hillary and Janine from the incident in the latest book. This novel does stand alone however some things won’t create sense unless you have read the others- why miss out on some cracking amazing reads?Another unbelievable read from Faith Martin and I look forward to the next ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Books n All Book Promotions / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my EASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A NARROW RETURN.”Her retirement has lasted all of a year and a half and now she's back. Although no longer a DI, she is working as a consult for the Police Headquarters. She has a fresh squad and she's being given cold, cold murder cases which have never been e wasn’t sure she wanted to go back. But solving crimes is irresistible for Hillary Greene. And it doesn’t damage that her fresh boss is devastatingly handsome.Her first case is 20 years old. Anna McRae was found dead in her home, beaten to death with a rolling pin. She was a wife and mother of three kids ... but since she was having an affair with her sister's husband, the sister was the prime suspect. But it could never be proven. After 20 years, whatever leads the detectives had once had have turned ice cold.While she and her squad begin painstakingly putting together a fresh case and re-investigating the mates and families of Ms. McRae, she finds that the victim had a lot of more secrets that were never brought to light.What also emerges is that Hillary has a stalker. First her locker is broken into and a comb goes missing. She receives roses hand delivered to her office. A Valentine and a book of poems are n Hillary solve a fiendishly complex case from the past while fending off unwanted attention?HIllary still has the same sharp, feisty edges she has always had. Famous with rank and file, she's no-nonsense and extremely competent in her job. Her fresh squad consists of an older retired Sergeant who has heard of Hillary's reputation and is eager to work with her. Because of budget cuts, the other two members are civilians ... they do the grunt work to up detectives to do the 'real' work. The young man is greener than green, but is promising in his eagerness to learn from Hillary. The other is a young woman who has designs on the boss and really doesn't wish another woman eat characters all around with lots of twists and turns create this crime thriller an exceptional addition to the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    While I did have fun reading it, I found the story not very engaging overall and the ending a bit abrupt. The cast of characters is various but the overall plot/construction is related to when she was on the force. I may be tiring of this series due to the sameness of plot, tension devices, chararacters that appear in each book: her on/off love interest; her little boat; her car; her red hair; her curvy body; her amazing and poor work colleagues; the likable desk sergeant etc...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Loved this recent instalment! Well written story, just complex enough to hold you guessing and now I'm wondering what's going to happen next! Can't wait for the rest of the series to come to Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Faith Martin consistently serves up solid mysteries based on logical deductions with fair clues for the reader, and this book is no exception. As Hillary approaches her retirement date, her boss Donleavy assigns one latest murder for her to solve in the hopes it will draw her back into crime solution and convince her to give up plans to retire. Alas, it is not to be, and Hillary solves her latest official crime before her end date and holds quick to her plan. The actual retirement plan is a bit vague--to travel the canals in her boat. Will she grow bored and return to solve cold cases as Donleavy expects or explore crimes on her travels? Thank goodness there are books ahead to respond that question for this is a series that never fails to satisfy, and I definitely look forward to reading more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Faith Martin you've done it again. I read this book in one sitting, as I have all her books. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my IS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A NARROW EXIT.”Almost impossible to believe, but Hilary has place in her resignation and is scheduled to retire in just a few weeks. Most of her squad have either left or transferred out. And since her best mate was killed in front of her, she just doesn't have the motivation to stay. She spends a lot of time pondering what she will do when she no longer has to chase the poor guys.Her bosses definitely do not wish to see her leave. Her superior comes up with an idea .... place her on a murder investigation. She won't leave in the middle of the case and that will give him some additional time to come up with something else to convince her to e murder victim, Michael Ivers, was brutally killed with a few bashes to the head. Known as a gambler and a philanderer, he wasn't much liked by anyone. The question is ... which of those who didn't like him actually killed him?Complicating the case is the return of ex-Sergeant Frank Ross, now a security guard and ultimately a prime suspect. Since he was forced to retire from the department, he has only become more surly and ere are a lot of suspects to look at. Ross, who may have been blackmailed by Ivers, any number of ladies he has dated and dropped, husbands who may have taken offense of Ivers messing with wives ... partners at work for any number of reasons.Every time I read one of Faith Martin's books, I'm amazed at how well written they are.. and each seems to be better than the last. The mystery is always a puzzle and so a lot of twists and turns with a dozens of suspects keeps me riveted to the story.Hilary is a terrific character. She's an older woman, approaching 50, who is well known for her dedication to catching criminals and finding justice for those left 's going to be an awesome ride when she retires (if she does) and goes onto something else. It will be fun following her adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Amazing to see Hillary Greene back to work again. She is back in her old nick going after an cold case twenty years old. If anyone can solve it Hillary can. The bet is on to how long it will take her. The case was looked at with a keen eye then but there was DNA not identified on the victim. She was a mother of three who was killed in her kitchen. Hillary and her group are going over it all again and looking at it just enough differently to see one or two things that need a follow up. Then Hillary has a secret admirer who is going through her boat after breaking in and sending flowers. That is a situation yet to be solved I love this series and this book was every bit as good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Read them all and looking forward to the characters journey in the future. Its a pleasure to hold reading about interesting people and the paths they follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    DI Hillary Greene has only a couple of weeks left to retirement and just cleaning up those cases still on her desk. Her bosses have another idea. Her group gets the next murder case up. Here we are at an industrial zone with Frank Ross, now retired with Hillarey's support as the night watchman who finds the body. Looks quite evident at first what happened to the victim but sometimes there is more to it than meets the eye. Hillary is as thorough as ever and will uncover the happenings to bring us to his death. She finishes in time to be off on her adventure seeing the canals. A few other things obtain cleaned up also before she leaves. What will being her back? We'll have to wait and see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES by Faith MartinOnce again we meet up with Hillary, living on her boat, and bored, wanting her job back. A step into the bosses office, and he hands her a file, and telling her. she is with Caryle’s , a Crime review Team. You have your own cases, to work on as you want, from startto finish. Meeting the boss, and her work area, surprised she didn’t walk out. He wants his name first, climbing the ladder for promotions, and giving her the coldest hardest cases. The bets are on in the station,would she hold her records of cases solved. A various approach, interesting of how she goes over the files, and know where lop holes maybe at. Another story that readers won’t wish to miss. Given ARC for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Another entertaining and captivating mystery, Hillary couldn’t stay away from the force, it was deeply rooted in her and on her return she is faced with a cold case that was twenty years old, how in heaven's was she going to solve that with most witnesses aged and died. This is what it’s all about for Hillary putting together those pieces of the puzzle that didn’t create sense. On top of that she picked up a stalker one on the force of all places, now that was another puzzle she required to solve and fast. Although Hillary was minus her old gang she was still able to do the job she enjoys with amazing results. A amazing storyline as is expected and the characters are awesome, my only regret is that I have to wait for the next book to search out how they with the scumbag who has decided to target Hillary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Hillary Greene, had enough of touring on her boat and retirement. She returns Toth Cold Case Department ,along the method she picks up a sexy younger boss and a stalker. Will her skills, kick back in,and will she be alert to her possible danger. A amazing read, watching Hillary establish her fresh method of life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Faith Martin's Hillary Greene stories are not flashy mystery stories with unrealistic, ultra clever plots, nor are they edge of the seat thrillers that will hold you awake at night. What they are is solid, well-written detection with fair clues, amazing logic, realistic and engaging characters and a satisfying this book, Hillary has tired of retirement and returned to her real vocation: solving murders. This time a twenty-year old cold case, the death of a mother and wife. Hillary sees the aftermath of the crime as she interviews the family and their associates in the find for fresh clues and a better understanding of old ones. Spoiler: her high success rate at solving murders continues in a fresh setting with a fresh squad and a fresh boss and the tip of the chance of a fresh romance in the future. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-5-29 18:0

    Detective Hillary Greene is helping the Thames Valley Police HQ, acting as a consultant for the Crime Review Team, looking into murders which the police have never been able to solve. The case is of Anne McRae, a young mother who was found beaten to death by a rolling ey did search out that she was having an affair with her brother in law, but couldn't search any evidence versus her sister, Debbie. As Greene digs deeper into this unsolved murder, she also has another problem.....an unknown admirer who is turning into a stalker. Can Greene search out who killed Anne McRae and fend off the unwanted attention from her unknown suitor/stalker? I would like to thank Joffe books for the copy of this book, I voluntarily reviewed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I always have fun reading the exploits of Hillary Green and her colleagues. I can't wait to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT WORK a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Another amazing book from FAITH MARTIN. It was very amazing from the first page with a very satisfying ending. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    Amazing read...very clever retired detective. Cannot wait for the next book. Love how there is more than one mystery too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    4.5 StarsHillary Green may no longer be a busy DI, but she is quite busy nonetheless. She is now a member of the Case Review Team, and is investigating cold cases. Having successfully solved the case in her fresh job as a civilian consultant, she is now investigating the murder of Rowan Thompson, a twenty-year-old killed ten years ago. Rowan had a reputation of being quite the Lothario. Could one of his previous partners been disgruntled enough to have found cause to brutally slay him?Also, Hillary's stalker is still looming, and he is becoming far more aggressive with his messages and flowers. Her fresh boss, the ultra yummy Steven Crayle, has devised a plan to pretend that they are a couple to see if a bit of jealousy will draw the stalker out. This proves to be more of a challenge for Hillary because she is quite drawn to Steven. The feeling proves to be mutual. It is at this point that I realized that I should have read at least book twelve in this rder of a Lover, previously released as A Narrow Margin of Error, is book number thirteen in this series by Faith Martin. I am a voracious reader who especially likes to devour entire series. Although I jumped into the middle of this one with this book, it read perfectly well as a standalone. There was just enough said about Hillary's past to understand her motives and her approach to the situations faced before ever, Faith Martin has left us with a cliffhanger. I really NEED book 14, and cannot wait to read it to see what happens next. Thankfully, we do not have long to wait. A side note: the author has begun a fresh series, with a young fresh policewoman. This author is a definite autobuy for me now. I missed this series first time around, and it is really amazing to obtain a possibility to read this now, and I will also test and read the previous y thanks to Joffe Books and to NetGalley for this ARC in exchange for an honest

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    Detective Hillary Greene is working another cold case at the Thames Valley Police HQ. She is a consultant with the Crime Review Team. Ten years ago, Rowan Thompson was found stabbed to death with a pair of scissors in his student house. Rowan was known for being quite the ladies man, and not one at a time either. Is it possible that one of his scorned lovers is the murderer? Meanwhile, Greene's stalker is becoming more aggressive with the notes and flowers. Maybe she should re-think how she is handling this person. Can the Crime Review Squad and Greene search the assassin of Rowan Thompson after all this time? Greene better watch herself, because her stalker certainly is. I would like to thank both Net Galley and Joffe Books for a copy of this story. I voluntarily reviewed it and this is my opinion of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    Hillary Green is a sympathetic protagonist and a excellent car to move Faith Martin's clever plots along. In 'Murder of a Lover', she becomes more directly involved in an interesting sub-plot, which in no method detracts from her consideration of a cold case - the murder of a student which had been committed years earlier. The red herrings and gentle tips with which she peppers her prose are page turners which hold the reader guessing to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    Amazing read...very clever retired detective. Cannot wait for the next book. Love how there is more than one mystery too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    Another brilliant Detective Hillary Green book this time with a cliffhanger ending, I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    I've read all of Faith Martin's books and have really liked all of them and this book is one of her best! Be warned though, the end is a cliff-hanger and you will have to wait for book #14 to search out what happens to Hillary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    Read this in two days. Was hoping both cases would be solved and now looking forward to the next Hillary Greene mystery. Have fun the hero descriptions..makes the reader feel part of the story. Looking forward to the next Hillary Greene mystery....I have enjoyed every one so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    So glad to read another Hillary Greene mystery! Amazing read and I cannot wait for the next one. I highly recommend this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    The book was grand, but oh the cliffhanger. I hope Joffe Books publishes vol 14 soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    What makes a amazing detective? A amazing murder mystery? A amazing story? The author. Faith Martin keeps outdoing herself with each subsequent book in the Hillary Green series. Each book just keeps getting better and better, if that's even possible. As I finished the final page, I was stunned that the story ended the method it did - a cliff-hanger if I ever read one. I screamed out loud to no one in particular, because what I wanted to do, was immediately begin Book 14, but it's not out yet, so I can't. And once again, I'm left wanting more of Hillary Green. Few characters leave me with such respect and admiration for someone who doesn't really exist, but I feel all that, and more, for Hillary Green. It will be a sad day if the Hillary Green series finally comes to a halt. I'm thrilled there are at least 3 more books in the future, and I can't wait to begin reading them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    5 starsFormer DI Hillary Greene’s stalker from the latest book is getting more brazen. Her boss Superintendent Stephen Crayle and Hillary believe that he works at the station, either as a civilian worker or as a police anwhile, Hillary and her little squad take on the case of Rowan Thompson. He was a young college student who quite fancied himself as a ladies’ man and was very successful at it. He was found stabbed to death with a scissors in his room which he shared with four other college students and the home’s owner.Early on in the book, the identity of Hillary’s stalker is given. He is truly a twisted individual. Stephen and Hillary’s plan to bring her stalker into sight is working beautifully. The stalker goes into a rage after hearing office gossip about Steven and Hillary being an item. As the book goes on, the reader discovers some horrifying things about him.Hillary and her squad of Jimmy Jessop, a retired sergeant, Vivienne Tyrell who has a major crush on the boss Stephen Crayle and Sam Pickels begin investigating the murder of Rowan Thompson. They are checking backgrounds and interviewing witnesses. Vivienne turns down Hillary’s to go along to an interview because she wants to hang around the office to hold an eye on e interviews with the roommates, family and mates of Rowan’s give small extra info beyond the initial interviews of ten years earlier. But some fresh interesting small factoids do come to light. The squad keeps plugging away at the facts of the case. Meanwhile, Hillary’s stalker has upped the ante. Hillary and Steven’s find for him steps up as do the stalker’s threats. Jimmy is allow into the plan and he arranges for some other retired coppers to surveil Hillary’s narrow boat and car. One of them manages to see the stalker do something inside her car, but he gets away before the retired copper can obtain a look at his face.Hillary has one of her epiphanies and they arrest the main suspect in Rowan’s murder. The identity of the assassin came as a total surprise to is book is well written and plotted, as are all of Faith Martin’s novels. It is full of twists and turns and keeps the reader on the edge of their proverbial seats. It was very well done. Ms. Martin keeps getting better and better. Jimmy has turned out to be a solid sidekick for Hillary. Sam is trying hard and learning very fast. He is smart and tries very hard. Vivienne is a waste of space. Other than Vivienne, the squad gets along well together and respects one another. I like this about Ms. Martin’s novels.I wish to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this absolutely amazing book to read, have fun and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    As usual I loved the Hillary Greene book right up to the end BUT I hate cliff hangers. I think they are a ploy to obtain people to the next book which if it's a amazing book they will do anyway. I have loved all of this author's books right up to this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    I HATE. HATE. HATE books that without giving you a clue do not have an ending. THE END is not a resolution. And as I did not sign up for a cliff hanging series ( of who knows how a lot of parts) I will NOT waste my time on the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    I'm obsessed with this author. Her books are predictable but they're addictive. I think part of the attraction is that they ARE predictable, but in a amazing way, yet with always a few curves thrown in. The main character, Hillary, is so appealing. Not young, not perfect, but beautiful and smart. She's relatable to those of us of a certain age! I look forward to the author writing many, a lot of more. As long as she writes, I'll read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    I like all of rtin's books. Perfect main character, supporting cast, REAL mystery and plot. I've read all the GREENE series and looking forward to the next ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    LOVED THIS BOOK! Love all the characters in it! It was a fascinating, engrossing and intriguing mystery! Faith Martin is a unbelievable writer..... I really have fun the method she weaves both mysteries together; and also the personalities and motivations of the different characters, law enforcement and suspects, in such a masterful way. She grabs your attention and keeps you riveted throughout the book!!! Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    Read this in two days. Was hoping both cases would be solved and now looking forward to the next Hillary Greene mystery. Have fun the hero descriptions..makes the reader feel part of the story. Looking forward to the next Hillary Greene mystery....I have enjoyed every one so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    In MURDER NEVER RETIRES, readers found out that Hillary Greene had a stalker (readers are told the stalker is PC Tom Warrington, but no one in the story knows who it is)... Hillary is working with Detective Superintendent Steven Crayle, her boss, to identify the stalker before things obtain 'really out of hand.' Will their plan work — or will it backfire?Hillary and her CRT squad investigate the ten year-old murder of student, Rowan Thompson. Rowan was quite the ladies man and he left unhappy women behind. Who wanted him dead — and why?I read along as Hillary and the squad investigated Rowan's murder. I picked the person I thought was the most likely suspect early on. The suspense of whether I was right kept me turning the pages far into the night. I was relieved to search out that I was right about the who and why (which was revealed later in the story)...Hillary's stalker is growing more possessive and aggressive — you really wish him caught and brought to justice...This was another 5 star read from author Faith Martin. The ending was excellent!AfterThought: The storyline about PC Warrington is very well written — that hero creeps me out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF A LOVER a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 13) []  2020-2-6 20:57

    I really like Faith Martin books, but I must say that I don't like the bait that has been added to her latest two books "murder never retires" and "murder of a lover". Granted, they're only $2.99 fora kindle book but if one is going to write a story, then please write it. It's just bait to another book and that smacks of commercialism. Very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This is the fourth book in the DI Hillary Greene series, it could be read as a standalone though I`d definately recommend reading them in as then you can hold up with the private stories of Hillary and her squad which run in the this offering we have the investigation into the murder of the local political candidate, which throws up plenty of suspects and the killing of a local drug dealer, Lee Fletcher, who in the past has always managed to evade prosecution.Lee was the topic of a police raid involving Hilary`s Superintendant Raleigh, a man she has had a poor feeling about since his arrival. As it turns out rightly seems whatever could go wrong on the raid did and in the process Hillary is shot. Whilst on sick leave she determines to explore the truth about Superintendant is is a well thought out plot and moves along at a quick pace, holding the readers interest and is a amazing addition to what is quick becoming one of my favourite series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE by Faith Martin. Joffee Publishers.DI Hillary at forty four , was she to scared of boredom, and loneliness to retire from being a cop. Another murder, 2 women with alibis full of holes. Raleigh could have figured out she was digging up information. He had something of hers she valued. Would the be there, at least she still had a job, for now. Readers will have fun this fourth book by her. Amazing mystery from the beginning. Given ARC. for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Faith Martin is a amazing mystery writer! And this series is my current favorite of this type. Only Colin Dexter and his Inspector Morse books top her....and not by much. Both authors take me back to Oxford in the first few pages and hold me there until each book ends. Now, I'll wait impatiently for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Another amazing story which I read in one sitting. I can't wait for the next book,the author Faith Martin writes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    The force is under attack by an unknown sniper, officers have died. Hillary and her squad along with the rest of the force are nervous.A woman has been been brutally stabbed to death in the hallway of her home. Hilary starts the investigation e woman, Matilda Jones,is in the processs of divorcing her husband Barry and at first he becomes the prime ever when the investigations throw up evidence of sibling jealousy and secrets from Matilda`s past the pool of suspects is is a well plotted murder mystery and I think one of the best in the DI Hillary Greene ere are twists and turns aplenty and just when the officers think they are safe following the snipers capture another would be assassin has an officer in his sights.I can`t wait to read the next book in this series after the shocking end to this anks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.I would definitely recommend it, you won`t be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Amazing series! Why all the name changes? I've purchased and read books 1-8. Book 9 was supposed to be Across the Narrow Blue Line. But wait, it's not. Book 10 is listed as A Narrow Point of View. I can't search it. Why? I'm just going to give up soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Very suspenseful on several levels. Was the house wired with a bomb, or wasn’t it? Who was the killer? What happens to Janine? A amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT MIDNIGHT a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 15) []  2020-1-22 19:18

    Hillary returns after annual leave and meets her fresh squad members: Wendy Turnbull and Jake Barnes. Their first cold case together is eighteen years-old. The victim, Felix Olliphant, was murdered at a Fresh Year's party in 1999/2000...It was costume party with 100+ guests... Everyone was drinking, the melody was loud... Everyone liked the murder victim, there seemed to be no motive to slay him... There was one suspect, but no evidence versus him...Hillary, Wendy and Jake go over the old files from the original case. They begin their investigation by interviewing Felix's father and his friends. Who was Felix Olliphant? Who wanted him dead — and why? I followed along as they developed fresh leads and followed fresh clues. I chose my suspect after a small while and eagerly read on to see if I was right (I was wrong). I did not guess the whodunnit or why so the huge reveal was a surprise...There were two interesting interwoven subplots: one involving Wendy and Jake, the other involving Steven Crayle. Wendy and Jake worked on the murder case, but while she was enthusiastic and wanted to solve cases, he seemed to have ulterior motives for being at CRT. And, Commander Marcus Donleavy Detective Superintendent Steven Crayle a fresh job away from CRT. Will Hillary lose him? Read the book to search out the answers to these questions and more!AfterThought: Jimmy and Sam were working on another case so they were not "featured" characters in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT MIDNIGHT a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 15) []  2020-1-22 19:18

    I'm enjoying this series, although the soap opera aspects may overtake the mystery beautiful soon. Hope the powerful investigation stories continue to take the lead over the private life of Hilary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF THE BRIDE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 3) []  2020-1-22 19:59

    It's a amazing story but the issue is that if you have read previous books in the series it really is getting too repetitive. I don't mind the same characters, but we are getting the same phrases which were comical in book one but now produce an urgh. The other point is that the author then reminds us or for fresh readers recounts history from the previous books. This is the issue if the author leaves questions unanswered in the previous novels. At the same time we also don't need to be reminded as to how amazing she looks etc. I think I will leave the next book for now, which is a pity as the story lines are amazing reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    This is a amazing series. If you have started reading them, go back to the beginning and obtain them all! And they're reasonably priced so you won't feel too guilty about spending on books. Faith Martin has made people that feel like your friends; you just wish to hold finding out what's going to happen with them next. Plus each book has a amazing plot line and terrifically true police involvement. I just can't say enough about them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE FAMILY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 5) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    Unbelievable series! So glad I discovered Faith Martin’s Hillary Greene series. I’ve read 8 so far, and can't wait to read the rest.Rather than commenting on each book individually, I’ll just say that it’s a amazing collection of police procedurals, set in Oxfordshire. They're not at all cosy, but there’s no superfluous gore, either.We meet intriguing people, glimpse gleaming spires, picturesque landscapes and down-at-heel housing estates, and search ourselves bouncing along with Hillary in her “Tragic Wagon” in find of villains and the answers to more private mysteries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT HOME a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 6) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    In the sixth book of this series, DI Hillary Greene's squad investigate the murder of Florence e main plot in this book is the murder of Flo Jenkins and investigation. Who would murder an old woman who was dying and why? There are several interesting subplots woven into the storyline...I figured out the whodunnit and why in the main plot: I knew the why very early on and worked out the who beautiful soon after. I still enjoyed reading the book — it was well thought out and cleverly written. I enjoyed reading about the professional and private lives of characters I feel like I know. There were intriguing twists and turns. I did not figure out the other stories that were woven into main plot, so there were still a few surprises in store.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT HOME a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 6) []  2020-2-2 21:46

    I give five stars for this book owing to the unbelievable imagination of this talented author. I can sometimes guess the murderer in a book but this one a total surprise. The characters in this book are such individuals and all have a lot to to create the story such a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 12) []  2020-1-21 20:37

    ...but it's not.I've read and obviously enjoyed the entire series. So when I saw this book release I was all over it.But it wasn't the same. It's a fresh cast of characters that I don't think measures up to the old , and admittedly comfortable one(Hence the four stars.)Hillary is still Hillary. The super detective that always solves the case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 12) []  2020-1-21 20:37

    This one was sooo obvious there was almost no mystery involved. And the secondary plot is unresolved. So up and the next book? No not this reader. This series was mildly pleasant up to this point but this episode was really subpar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 9) []  2020-1-27 23:2

    The astonishingly repetitive use of the word "grimly" - and variations thereof - was so distracting I almost quit reading the book about midway through but, then, I became curious as to how much more the author could possibly use it. I wondered if it was a dare. How a lot of times could she use the word grimly (or grim or grimace)? I've not read any other books from this series so I don't know if this is just the author's signature word for the series, and it's just not my cup of grim tea. I can't speak to the merits of the book because, honestly, I was so distracted by this word that the import of the story grimly faded away. The following are just some - SOME - of the usages of grimly starting about midway through the book:“Grimly now…”“… thought grimly…”“…smiled grimly…”“…carried on grimly…”“Grimly, she jogged down the path…”“Grimly, they reminded her…”“…watched grimly…““…snapped grimly…”“…sighed grimly…”“…broke in grimly…”“…said grimly…”“Grimly, Davis relayed…”“…nodded grimly…”“…bluffed grimly…”“…all too grimly…”“Grimly she walked…”And there were variations....“…first grim tingle…”“…a disgusted grimace…”“…grim-voiced…”“…grim smile…”Another favorite word was tight and variations thereof...“…a tight look of apprehension…”“…stomach felt tight…”“…voice, tight with tension…”“…thin lips tightened…”“…lips felt tight…”“…a tight smile…”“…said tightly…”And then sometimes the twain would meet...“her face was as tight and grim as…”If you're not bothered by the repetitive use of the word grimly, this may be a fabulous book. I see very positive reviews for it, so you might wish to rely more on those. But the use - and abuse - of the word grimly (can you jog grimly?) was so abundant, I just felt compelled to review. Some might say I did so grimly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 2) []  2020-1-23 18:55

    DI Hillary Greene is sour on everyone, including her own colleagues on the team. She apparently has no respect or compassion for anyone. This is my second book in the series and definitely the last. Half of these books are devoted to the backbiting rivalries in the squad rather than coming together to solve the crime. Instead of bringing her squad together, DI Greene simply sits in judgment (silently) on each of them with no evidence that she would be disturbed if any of them were killed or injured in the line of duty. She evinces only scorn for everyone except herself. And again, half the book is devoted to this squad drama and Hillary’s judgments instead of the murder at hand. I’m definitely finished with this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 2) []  2020-1-23 18:55

    I do agree with some readers that it is tiresome to hear repeat comments over Hillary's admirers. However, apart from that and one serious error by forensics squad (wouldn't they check waste paper baskets first) it was a amazing story. As for the obvious rivalry in the force this seems understandable as with any public department where higher positions mean higher wages, of course there will be some favouritism. All in all I like the police procedures and at least the characters are well formed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 2) []  2020-1-23 18:55

    This is my second Faith Martin book and it was a small better than the first one which I also enjoyed.. One of the best things about her books is that the endings create sense. There's also an ongoing story about her rotten dead husband and the same coworkers and friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER MISSES a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 14) []  2020-1-23 18:57

    I have read the whole series so far and I am very happy with it. Sometimes in a series the characters seem to repeat the same story with no changes in the hero -- not so with Hillary Green. She has grown as a person, created mature decisions, and accepted her own flaws and strengths. The murders are each unique, tips dropped so you will probably solve them before the reveal, but you still wish to read more. Well written books with enough carry over in the private zone that you obtain hooked. However that part is not dragged out so you feel like the author is taking advantage of the reader. I like the parts where the point of view changes and I like the method Hillary's thoughts can be kept from the reader. I am looking forward to the latest 3 being published under the fresh names. I highly recommend the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER MISSES a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 14) []  2020-1-23 18:57

    I enjoyed the plots, the characters and their interaction with each other. The only issue I had, as an American reader, was understanding some of the British slang used. It might be helpful to have a short dictionary in the back to explain terms.I appreciated the ending of the Hillary Green series. So a lot of authors feel they must add a gratuitous death for one of the main characters to add a touch of realism. It really does just the opposite since life, for the most part, doesn't end violently. She ended the series with just enough detail to let the reader to fill in the ending that the reader prefers. I'm hoping she is working on another series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER MISSES a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 14) []  2020-1-23 18:57

    I like the consistent method her characters behave. This is very cleverly intertwined with their human abilities to follow their heart while thinking criminally with their brain to give justice a chance. WONDERFUL series, a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I am so happy that the “missing” volumes in the Hillary Green series are being released. It was so frustrating to have four of the middle novels unavailable. This murder case is gripping and demonstrates Green’s mastery of procedure, plus an ounch of intuition. The final ending was expected since faithful readers of the latest books in the series knew what was coming either in this novel or the next, but it was still a shock. I can’t wait for the next novel to be released.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    DI HILLARY GREENE and her squad will investigate the death of Mrs Matilda Jones. Mattie was stabbed to death in her home. She was going through a divorce and was having an affair. Her attitude has created her a few enemies. Meanwhile, a sniper is setting up outside police stations and shooting cops...The main storyline was woven with several subplots and all of them were interesting. I followed the investigation as I read and tried to figure out who murdered Mattie. I also hoped they would search the sniper who was shooting the cops. The person who was guilty of Mattie's murder was a surprise to me. I did not suspect that hero once he/she was introduced. The end of the book (one of the subplots) was a complete shocker and totally unexpected!AfterThought: I enjoyed this pleasant afternoon read and highly recommend this series by Faith Martin!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 8) []  2020-1-23 18:58

    I am so glad I found this series - they are prefect commuter reading for the train. They are well-written and, while the central hero is a likeable, intelligent, feisty and independent women, the other characters are a mixed bag. One reviewer wrote that the other characters aren't fleshed out but I disagree; their characters unfold as the books progress. I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series. The kindle editions are very affordable which is also amazing as I am getting through them quite quickly. Hold 'em coming Ms. Martin!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 4) []  2020-5-15 18:28

    DO Hillary Greene is back in the next book in the series by Faith Martin. Again Martin delivers an perfect mystery and police procedural. It is full of twists and turns and an unexpected and excellent ending. The characters are quirky but true and the mystery is one that keeps a reader's attention. I think this series is a must read and I assign the next book with anticipation!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    5 starsDI Hillary Greene gets a case involving a minor politician who has been murdered. The man’s name is Malcolm Dale and he was battered to death with a blunt object. He lived in an affluent section of Oxfordshire. The body was discovered by his secretary. His wife is not at home at the time of the the same time, her fresh boss’ boss Superintendent Jerome Raleigh has his sights set on capturing one of Oxfordshire’s major crime bosses, Fletcher. He will go to almost any lengths to catch him. When his raid on Fletcher’s put goes sideways, he scrambles to create it look right.Hillary and her squad interview possible witnesses, friends, acquaintances and relatives of Malcolm Dale. They learn that Mrs. Dale’s alibi does not keep water. They also interview the victim’s political rival George McNamara. He seems a amazing suspect. The assiduously follow the clues and work the case very e identity of the murderer comes as a true surprise, but not near as surprising as the killer’s is remarkable novel is both well written and plotted. It has just the right amount of action. I like DI Hillary Greene very much and I appreciate the method she gets along with her team. Her relationship with her boss, DCI Mel Mellow is solid and professional. Hillary has both compassion and empathy, not only for the victims, but also for her squad members. She suffers DS Frank Ross with amazing humor and works well with squad member Janine, even though Janine’s relationship with Mel is ill-advised at best. I like the method Ms. Martin injects small bots of humor here and there: “Puff the Tragic Wagon” is her nickname for her older VW Golf. Faith Martin is a brilliant writer and I can hardly wait for the next novel in the series to come out.I wish to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this amazing book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    DI Hillary Greene is called out to a murder of a local candidate for office. Hard to see who could be responsible. Her squad is working every angle but coming up with nothing. In the mean time Hillary is called out to a raid on a drug dealer. Those armed are to go in first and then when clear the unarmed go. The squad leader has decided to go before the coast is clear. Out comes an armed suspect and Hillary is shot in the hip. The more she thinks about it as she is recovering the more she wonders why they went so soon. With time on her hands she starts to investigate. Can Hillary solve this point that keeps bothering her and solve the murder as well? Interesting how she is able to do her elimination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book, this is certainly a series I am thoroughly enjoying and was delighted to search out that hot on the heels of this book, the next one is due out very soon!The plot was amazing in this book as normal and I loved the hero development in this book and Hillary is an perfect hero with a lot of baggage!The book has plenty of twists and turns, a amazing pace for the plot and it is a gripping story - 5stars from me for this one and looking forward to book 5!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Once again the author has written a amazing book. The tension builds slowly and the twists really pull you into the story. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a really amazing mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Book DescriptionMeet DI HILLARY GREENE, a policewoman struggling to save her career and catch ttie Jones is found brutally stabbed to death in her palatial home. Hillary Greene is called in to investigate the murder of this wealthy woman. Who wanted her dead and why?Hillary discovers that Mattie’s snobby attitude had created her a lot of enemies. Mattie was also going through a messy divorce and had a secret anwhile, in a terrifying turn of events, police officers are being gunned down outside their stations. A sniper is on the loose. Who will come under attack next?Can Hillary cope with the opponents within, a complex case, and the whole force under attack?My ThoughtsMurder in the Mansion was my introduction to DI Hillary Green and author Faith Martin. There are two main plots as well as several minor ones that unfold over the course of the book. Who killed Mattie Jones and why is a sniper killing seemingly random police officers?My favorite mysteries are well-crafted stories with a lot of layers and enough suspects to hold me guessing “ who done it” until the end. Faith Martin did not disappoint as the characters had enough backstory to ensure I understood why they acted the method they did individually and as a team( DI Green's team). There were quite a few twists and turns and while I did figure out certain aspects of the story, the ending took me by surprise. This was an enjoyable read and when I finished, I wanted to read more books in the series, which is always a amazing thing to ank you, Faith Martin, Joffe Books and NetGalley for the digital copy to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    An awesome series with a powerful female character. An inspector in the Thames Valley Police, Hillary Greene has in impeccable record of solved cases. It hasn't been simple for her since she's had to defend herself in an investigation of her husband , a bent police officer in the department. This series sees Hillary and her squad members who all have private issues, as they work the cases and arrive at solutions. All the books are hard to place down and are highly satisfying reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    DI Hillary Greene is known for her ability to focus on info others miss, her skill in leading her squad and the mentoring she provides to her younger colleagues. Murder in the Garden does not start on a amazing day for Hillary. Two months have passed since her close mate Mel was murdered and while the police believe they know the identity of the killer, without evidence connecting him to the crime, a lot of fear this will become an unsolved cold case. Hillary is grief-stricken and her usual razor-sharp focus wavers as she attempts to solve her current assignment while trying to help Mel's pregnant widow, who is determined to unmask her husband's assassin even if the police cannot.Hillary and her squad are tasked with investigating the murder of an elderly gentleman in his garden. He seemingly has no true opponents and yet he was killed by a blow to his head with his own shovel. Figuring out the killer's identity is normally what DI Greene does best, however she has returned from leave full of self-doubt and is afraid that she has lost the ability to lead her squad and solve this crime. The story alternates between the movements of Clive Myers, the man believed to have killed Superintendent Philip “Mellow” Mallow(Mel) and the current murder of Edward Philpott. Hillary is constantly drawn away from her case as Janine, Mel's widow continues to disregard instructions to stay out of the Myers investigation. Will there be justice for Mel as well as for Edward?The answers to those questions are what propel the story along and I have to say I was rooting for both murderers to be exposed as well as for DI Greene to search some is is the second book in this series that I have read and DI Greene's hero continues to grow on me. Sometimes I am in the mood for a superman or woman type detective, and sometimes I am enamored by a flawed human being who is amazing with people and cares about those around her. That to me, is Hillary, a amazing detective, and a amazing person. I am looking forward to spending more quality time with her as there are more books in this ank you, Faith Martin, Joffe Books and NetGalley for the digital copy to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER IN THE GARDEN a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    This book is set 2 months after the tragic end of the latest book, with DI Green returning to work after slowly getting over the death of her boss, the much loved Mel.  Hilary is then thrown straight into the deep end of a murder investigation when a man is found dead in his back is book is a brilliant one based around two completely various investigations, on the one hand you have a murder story based around a flower show, with all the drama and vicious back stabbing that goes with it, and the other story is the investigation into who killed Mel, whilst stopping his heavily pregnant widow also trying to search out what happened and turning into a e main plot is great, where we are taken into the dark underground of flower shows and trying to search the assassin through all of this was a amazing read, I really didn't work out who the assassin was throughout until the heavy reveal on the latest couple of pages.  This was almost overshadowed by the shocking conclusion of the other investigation involving Mel, which was a very apt if unexpected ter reading this book I can't wait for the next one, which if Joffe and Faith continue as previous then it should be a couple of weeks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 12) []  2020-1-21 20:37

    Once again, a well written quick paced story featuring one of my favourite characters and her supporting cast! I love these books, I search the characters really believable, the story nice and complex but not too convoluted and I just really have fun them!Would recommend starting at the first book, you'll search yourself hooked too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER NEVER RETIRES a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 12) []  2020-1-21 20:37

    I have all of the Hillary Greene series, and was delighted with them, however, this book was predictable from the beginning, but nevertheless an enjoyable adventure into British crime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER AT MIDNIGHT a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 15) []  2020-1-22 19:18

    Another cracker of a read, I love Hillary and her team. The story was well written, had a amazing pace to it and some amazing twists along the method too. I just loved the ending! Can't wait to begin the next one. If you're looking for a amazing UK policing series, I'd recommend starting this series from book 1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MURDER OF THE BRIDE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (DI Hillary Greene Book 3) []  2020-1-22 19:59

    D.I. Hillary Greene seems to be coming into her own as a series hero in this third of the series of cases. In fact the whole "bullpen" of those characters close to Hillary (Mel, Janine, Tommy, and the inimitable Frank Ross) are becoming more fully rounded also. This book itself was very readable and although set in England, the locals connected to the crime could have been found in the U.S. also. I did not know whodunit until I believe I was meant to know. I found this case and story to be well plotted and enjoyable as well as being appropriately sad for several of the characters and not just the victim. The only slightly jarring note was the introduction of the fresh D.C.S. Jerome Raleigh with his deliberately hidden back story waiting to be revealed! An unnecessary distraction, in my opinion.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386