Read must of got lost reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all must of got lost reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I've got a Home in Glory Land is well researched. Karolyn Smardz Frost writes in a very readable form which is necessary for an academic history book. As we watch the 150th anniversary Civil Battle happenings this year, the topic of slavery in the United States is even more important. This book chronicles this dark and shameful chapter in our past. The author uses true stories debunking the myths of African-American inferiority. She tells part of the untold story about what happened to slaves who did escape to Canada. We all know Freedom Seekers followed the Drinking Gourd north, but what happened when they got North? This book answers that question. For more about the life that caused slaves to "Follow the Drinking Gourd",See Negroes To Hire

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    My amazing grandmother Anna Maria Jackson a slave (mentioned in my mate Karolyn Smardz Frost's book) came through the UGRR with her 7 kids from Milford, DE..William Still documented her journey...she eventually ended up living in Toronto with the Blackburns until the end of her life..I have much info about her and one of her sons Albert Calvin Whitley Jackson who will be honored in Toronto in March 2013 by the Toronto postal Union as he was the first black postman in Toronto amid much racial tension there back in the late 1800's. There will also be an happening in April 2013 where he is being honored with a lane in Toronto being named after him. There are a few of us black Canadians that have stories and pictures of our ancestors past lives as slaves, their journeys thru the UGRR and settlement in different parts of Canada. My ancestors settled in the Toronto Dowell

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I didn't purchase this book.

    0  


    Add your opinion on must of got lost or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    Awesome read. Deeply researched. While it is factual, it reads like a novel. A must read for anyone trying to understand this era in time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    Even tough it's a used audiobook, it's in amazing shape. The story is compelling as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    Although there was sometimes too much background information, the story was compelling and interesting. Two "ordinary" people whose actions and the consequences of those actions helped shape the future of sanctuary for former slaves in Canada. The story is really pre-underground railroad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    As a young person, I would often ask "what happened to the people who took the Underground Railroad"? Frost's splendid book provides one of the answers. We are indebted to her years of research and writing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I this book is a unbelievable addition to my African-American history book collection. I have not read it yet, I am looking forward to reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I must say that this is a attractive book; well researched and very well documented. A moving story of almost lost history unbeknownst to most Americans and Canadians in today's world."I've Got a Home in Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad" is the historical record of Thornton Blackburn, a slave who belonged to a amazing grandmother of mine, Susan Talbot Brown. This is the actual story of his escape to Canada with his wife, Ruthie (later Lucy).Needless to say, finding out that one of my relatives owned slaves in Kentucky created this story even more relevant and poignant for me. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the history of slavery in ncerely,Victoria Chapman

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I've Got A Home In Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I just started reading the book this week. It's true page turner, chocked full of detail, but not boring as one would expect. Although I knew about the Blackburns, I can't wait to move on to the next suspenseful chapters. A book well researched.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost []  2020-1-15 22:8

    This Patterson-Born collaboration works well. I couldn't place it down once I started. Wow!Detective Tom Moon is a likable cop, flaws and all, attached to an inter-agency crime taskforce in Miami. This fast-paced crime suspense focuses on a human trafficking scheme, linking Dutch smugglers and Russian mob forces in Amsterdam and Miami. Moving but tterson's short-chapter format keeps this thriller focused and intense, while developing the human side of the believable characters and plotline. The storyline is edgy enough to hold things interesting, while following Patterson's successful crime formula. The book's storytelling works well the right balance of narration and dialogue with a first-person focus emphasizing Tom Moon's perspectives for about half of the storyline---the rest being third-person accounts of basic characters. I don't wish to reveal too much. It's a amazing escape read!This satisfying novel could be a standalone or the beginning to a solid series. I loved the Audible narration that enhanced hero dialogues, making my reading experience even more enjoyable.I usually don't care for author collaborations, but this short and fun read was not disappointing at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost []  2020-1-15 22:8

    It was great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Pet — find my lost pet [App]  2019-3-19 13:23

    полезный сервис!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    I've played this android game before on iOS and fell in love with the gameplay, the artistry of the animation, the whole deal. So satisfied to be reunited with this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    repeating same task.. nothing new, what i expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Foursaken Media knows how to bring the action in their games. This time around, in a sci-fi setting, you are tasked with saving individuals trapped in a huge vessel. Through key commands indicating when to jump and in which direction to swipe, you navigate a visually impressive environment, running for your life. Will the ship's obstacles be your doom?Glad the android game finally created it to Android. It is well worth the wait and at a amazing price point too! Don't miss it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Can't play past the first round of runs, screen freezes then whole android game stops at the begin of the second round, shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Requires coordination 90 percent of you don't have for a pointless android game with nothing to hold you coming back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    All is lost looks and plays amazingly. This android game really deserves more attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    One classic game....brilliant work!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Love it. But keeps crashing when I begin mission 3. Can't play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    It won't play the main missions when I obtain to station 3

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    It's amazing to pass the time while waiting for something.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Add fresh updates android game has potential

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Amazing but very costly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    One of the best mobile android games in a while! Very well created and challenging! Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    I love this android game it is a amazing time assassin and very addictive

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Just started. Beautiful damn cool so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    It's an amazing science fiction android game 👌🤟😀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Amazing android game play all round

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Love it !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Really amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Challenging and handsome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Addicting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Title

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Superb

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    The graphics are amazing but Google play SCAMS you even after you buy it they still wish control of all your private info and phone access or you can't play the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All is Lost [App]  2019-9-21 2:12

    Crashes during mission three.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    I bought this book because it sounded interesting and it had amazing ratings. The writing isn’t not good but the actual storyline seemed repetitive and predictable and beautiful much followed the stereotype of every other book that includes a sociopath. I was hopefully the beginning, that it would include more storyline with the two friends- maybe have them stumble upon the compound? I guess the direction it took was just kind of a dud for me; since it led to a bunch of repetitive thought/action that stalled the book significantly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    My husband pre ordered this for me 2 months ago and I couldnt wait for it to arrive. Natasha is one of my favorite authors already and this book left me wanting more and more. The Lost is well written and allows the reader to envision the setting easily. It is both thrilling and captivating leaving you on the edge of your seat the whole time. Natasha always has a unbelievable method of throwing in an unseen twist in the mix that leaves the reader craving another chapter. It's hard to place down. Definitely worth every second!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    Hands down my favorite book by her since the Cellar! After being disappointed by you will be mine I was hesitant to buy this one but it was so amazing I couldn’t place it down! I really really hope there will be a second book to this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    I had preordered this book when it went up. And I am so not disappointed! I was hooked from the very first page. I soooo hope that there is another book becuase it can't be left off like that!A amazing dark and twisted YA read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    Even though these were teens in the story it felt that now a days no one would be this naive to place themselves in such peril to start with then realizing that they are more than one person, why they don’t war as a unit earlier was baffling to me. Just didn’t work for me overall

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    What an awesome read. I finished it in less than a day, reading it every possibility I got. It hooks you right away and never lets go. All of her books are unbelievable but this might be my fresh favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    Just finished reading The Lost and once again, the author has completely surprised me at the end! This story will take on a serious rollercoaster ride!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    I preordered this and read it and loved it . My mates read it and really enjoyed it as well. It was action packed throughout the whole book. When you read this you really feel what the character(Piper) is going through. It has lots of twist too. I enjoyed this book soo much!! 10/10 recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    Really enjoyed this book. I really would love a follow up. Left me hanging and wanting more. I finished it in two days I couldn’t place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost []  2019-12-26 19:2

    There were some plot holes, but overall a compelling read. I hope to read more of this author's work as they progress

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    GRADE: BElizabeth's involuntary stay in an eating disorder residential facility begins with typical resistance. As she befriends other patients, she begins to take steps toward recovery. She continues to keep bonuses from a secret admirer who may or may not be her ex.Unlike most eating disorder books, WHAT I LOST delves more deeply into Elizabeth's mother's undiagnosed eating disorder. Alexandra Ballard does a amazing job balancing friendship, therapy and family dynamics. Her writing style flows unobtrusively without my needing to stop and shake my head at not good wording. No sentences were that well-written that I paused to reread because of their llard' major and minor characters had depth and special backstories, some interesting enough for their own novels.Elizabeth's linear recovery was somewhat unrealistic, most patients have a lot of more ups and downs, often progressing two steps forward to take a step back. Her 40 day stay in the program was also out of reach for all but wealthy families. The program didn't have anyone leave because insurance ran out due to the abundance of scholarships. If only this were real in true life.While WHAT I LOST is predictable, I still recommend this optimistic story as better than most books on eating disorders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    I have been meaning to review this book for sometime, but somehow, struggled to search the words. Elizabeth's journey is one that I have heard all too often and battled with, though not nearly as severe. So a lot of related stories abound. Ballard draws us in quickly. We are already in recovery and wondering how on Earth Elizabeth got there. We start wanting to understand and to uncover. The cast of characters, no matter how small, are delicately and vividly drawn. You feel for each and every human in this story, no matter how frustrated you obtain or no matter who lashes out, the core is compassion. This book is a must. To shed light on this insidious disease, that comes in a lot of forms and stems from a lot of places. Attractive book. Nothing is tied up in a bow...it's all in the journey. Truly wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    I've read a lot of books on this subject, and this one was beautiful entertaining. It's not my all-time favorite, but it was very good. It was interesting to see the dynamic of a messed up mother-daughter relationship, where she wanted to be supportive, but instead became an enabler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    I found myself spending the better part of a weekend reading this book because it was so engaging. Whereas some YA literature focuses on plot at the expense of amazing writing, I found that What I Lost gave attention to both. As a therapist who has worked in a residential facility, I felt like this book did justice to the experience. It might sound a bit funny to say that a book about eating disorders was entertaining, but it was a amazing read and one that I'd recommend both to mates and to patients.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    What I Lost is a compelling and articulately written novel on the struggles of a young woman with anorexia. In a style that is equal parts raw and heartwarming, author Alexandra Ballard captures the hero of Elizabeth in both the normalcy of her adolescent reality and the pain of her psychiatric struggle with anorexia. I appreciated the method in which she was able to captivate the reader with a subject that is intensely painful and private as well as how she was able to capture the complexity of the disease. I found myself thirsting to read more about Elizabeth's life after the book ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    I really enjoyed this book and felt invested in the main character's journey. Reading this book was an perfect method to gain understanding of eating disorders, when I previously had not much knowledge of these. It was well-written and kept me turning the pages. It contains positive messages and themes for young adult readers, but would also hold them entertained. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    Beautifully written, told with humor and heart. I loved this story and its deeply honest and authentic characters and never wanted to place it down. An perfect read not only for older teens and young adults, but for grownups, too. It never speaks down, or becomes pedantic, but teaches us so much. Can’t wait to read more from this debut author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    I have a weakness for YA literature. So I'm obviously excited to have found a fresh author contributing well written, realistic stories to the genre! I was totally sucked into Elizabeth's struggle. I thought the depiction of group therapy was really powerful. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    Beautifully painful and honest! Not a subject I would energetically dive into but this had me within the first couple of chapters. Ballard had a method of creating compelling characters that seemed like "people" that live next door...so a lot of unique moments I won't forget reading. Thank you for sharing their stories...Kim

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Lost []  2020-1-11 19:23

    Not a huge consumer of YA lit and I'm not particularly attuned to the globe of eating disorders but I found this book thoroughly interesting and enjoyable. It deals with an necessary and difficult subject in an honest way. The characters are well written. Perfect all around!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    The author did a phenominal job telling her grandmothers story. The imagery and characters captured me immediately. Nothing was toned down, just completely raw and emotional memories that lead me through a journey from childhood to womanhood during one of histories most tragic moments in time. We see not only what she lost, but what she gained after overcoming unimaginable odds. Definitely plan to reccomend to everyone I know!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    I loved this book-what an awesome woman who experienced such evil and to come out the other side such a unbelievable and loving person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Really enjoyed the book. I especially like the focus on after the camps. So often the story ends at liberation, it was an interesting experience to see what life was like after the camps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    With interested learning how German Jewish lived in these little cities bordering Poland speaking only German and Yiddish well written biographies W

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    What She Lost tells the story of Sarah, a typical teenager growing up in Poland at the height of the war. When things begin to obtain bad, her brother urges them to leave, but their parents know this is their home, and instead, they obtain torn apart. Told as a memory for Sarah's granddaughter, the story ranges from hope to despair and everything in between. What Sarah and her family went through was sadly typical of the terror of those years for Jewish people and anyone Hitler deemed different.I feel Hunter glossed over some parts of what Sarah went through and then went into detail surrounding small things that probably didn't need as much detail (conversations that didn't move the story forward). I felt the ending was incredibly rushed, a bit of, oh remember how in the prologue I started the story with a grandmother getting on a plane to visit her family? It seemed that the prologue and ending were added as an ide from what I didn't like about the book, there was a lot to like and I think the notice is still powerful and relevant today. What She Lost goes into detail of what happened for a lot of after the war, they were displaced with no homes to return to and the likelihood that they would have no family to return to either. This is marketed as a YA and while Sarah and her siblings were teenagers, I think this could very easily be a genre for all ages. It's never simple reading about Hitler's reign, but it's a time in our history we must not forget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    A gripping acc of one woman’s strength, courage and survival that was both captivating and difficult to imagine at the same time. What She Lost Is a triumph and a sober reminder of what was and must never be again. Loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    What She Lost by Melissa Hunter is part memoir and part a fictionalized acc of the life of the author’s grandmother, Sarah Waldman, who survived Nazi concentration camps and her life after. We go with Sarah as she goes from being a carefree young girl to a teenager amidst battle and removal to a concentration camp. Then we journey with her as a young adult freed from the camps and finding those she loves after. I had never read about how soldiers were after the battle and how they just sent survivors to towns basically telling them to create it on their own after the horrific happenings they had been through. I liked learning about this as it was an zone I haven’t read much about, most books don’t go into much detail about it, but I felt this one did and was glad it is book makes you feel everything. You will cry and you will smile. It will create you question your faith in humanity and restore it as well. Above all it will give you hope and present you the strength of the human spirit. This book is a attractive tribute to her grandmother and all those who survived as well as those that were lost.We must never forget the horrors of the Holocaust or those that were Yisrael Chai.I would like to thank the author and publisher for providing me a free copy of this book. This is my honest and unbiased opinion of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Sarah’s story grabbed me from the beginning. From the early pages we learn battle is brewing, and the tension mounts as the Nazis obtain closer and invade Sarah’s little town. What created this novel so poignant for me was the author’s method of letting us see Sarah first as a naïve thirteen-year-old with the hopes and dreams of an ordinary teen and how, over time, as Sarah grows older and is swept up in the machine of war, we see her as a young woman, doing her best to stay powerful and resilient as the globe as she knows it shatters and reshapes itself. That this story is based on the life of the author’s grandmother created the story even more true and heartbreaking. The story moves along at a amazing pace, the characters are wonderfully vivid, and Hunter’s prose is flawless. An impressive debut.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    A captivating story about a Jewish girl coming to age in the midst of the Holocaust. Beautifully and sensitively written in a method that makes the horrifying stories an easy, although certainly not a light read. I was so wrapped up in the characters and Hunter's writing that my first tears were shed before page 25. Based on the true life experiences of the author's grandmother, she brings honor to her families legacy and brings a fresh voice for the globe to hear and we must never forget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What She Lost []  2020-1-11 19:29

    This book kept my attention and was a amazing read! It does a amazing job showing the trying time period without being too horrific. If you enjoyed the Nightingale or Lilac Girls, you will love this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:27

    The story keeps you reading, but the ending is not complete. Everything that happened could happen up to a point, but he left things unsaid. There are a lot of Joel's out in the world, but few Tom's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I had read all of Kevin Wignal's books and, even though this is for young adults, everyone should have fun the pace and story. I read it in one day. Highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Really excellent, children having to survive and cooperate in an unnamed South American wilderness. Plenty of suspense, amazing characters, the idea of heroism comes up. Who are the true leaders and who just wants to be seen as a leader. Highly recommend for both middle school and high school boys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    This author has done an awesome job of writing with teenagers as his e suspense is palpable and the effect amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I bought this for my grandchild and then I sat down and read it. It really caught my attention. I recommend it for all ages!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    This is one of the best books ive read in a while. If youre looking for an action packed, suspenceful, entertaining, heart stopping book to read, than this is the right one for you! I enjoyed every second of this book, and believe that it was 100% worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I bought this for my granddaughter, age 14, and read it to be sure. Written well for that level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I thoroughly enjoyed lt..Well written and full of salient advice, especially for younger people who need tip at formative ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Amazing story well written amazing characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Lost []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Perfect topic matter and totally enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    Bought this for my mother who doesn't ever "understand" poetry. I read the entire thing as soon as I peeked in it. I cried. I laughed. I thought of mates and family and I thought of myself. Very relatable for ANYONE and none is over your head if not used to reading poetry. Will stay on my bookshelf. Ordered my mother another copy. Lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    A very fine poet. I had thought I'd be reading a whole book of Naomi Shihab Nye's poetry. Instead, she curated this collection. A worthy effort including poetry from around the world, relative to Loss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    I read this book in 9th grade and the poems resonated so deeply with me that I had certain lines in my head for years. I finally bought the book over 10 years later when I required the comfort of words again to support me with a difficult loss. Will always be one of my favorite books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    Need to read it for school - seems like it would be amazing poetry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    I love this collection from different poets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    I bought it thinking she'd written the poems but she selected them. At first I was going to return the book, but then I ended up liking a lot of the poems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    Everyone can relate to at least one of the poems in this book. The author takes a common thread (loss) and puts it between the cover of a very well compiled book. This is a unbelievable book to have in your collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    Amazing read and best price I could find. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    I love this selection of poetry. The selections are attractive and thoughtful. There is no vulgarity. She chooses authors from around the world. My 13 year old daughter fell in love with the book, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Have You Lost? []  2020-1-16 11:16

    I love this poet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    In this review, I’ll be more circumspect in describing specifics of the story than I have in past reviews because of my appreciation of how Truk unfolds the plight of the protagonists of Lost Reavers, with a lot more Present (revelation through action), and a lot less Tell (explanation through exposition) than I am used to in independent-published fantasy. There’s no M. Night Shamalamadingdong-esque “tweest” to spoil (or is there?), but I do no wish to interfere with the potency of a amazing a Kindle Unlimited subscriber, I have explored the genre of that most guilty of pleasures, that ultimate man’s romance of want fulfillment known as “harem fantasy,” because, hey: free cheese. A precious handful have earned the dubious distinction of me forking out money to purchase digital copies (whatever that means) to send a clear signal of “MOAR” to the author, because their cheese is *choice*.Let me just say, Mr. Truk: MOAR cheese, if you e Lost Reavers is Truk’s best book to date, and if you’ve read his other wok, you know that’s saying something. Like the other rare gems of this genre, the want fulfillment treacle here is tempered with the magic ingredients that create any fantasy story truly memorable: an engaging protagonist with motives both heroic and selfish, with foibles and flaws to counter his superlative virtues (and his magic dingus); a compelling plot that unwinds its method through an intriguing, well-realized (but not overdesigned or overexplained) setting; female leads with (gasp!) agency (one of these female leads actually speaks the word “agency,” using it in its modern sense, and while it is a very broad wink from the author, the anachronism works thanks to the character’s established anachronistic persona); romantic arcs between the protagonist and his coterie of ingénues and femme fatales (T-plus 3 and counting); relationship arcs between the female leads themselves (and not just the kind of relationships you are thinking of), and, most necessary for my private enjoyment; broader themes and metaphors, so it’s not just Pron with a Plot, it’s Pron with a Point. (Misspelling deliberate to avoid the Unblinking Eye of Bezos.)Oh, and the pron? Wow. Truk pulls off quite a trick, starting with the perfunctory sexytime needed of the genre: the hero, indefatigable; his dingus, magic; his women, overcome. But as the story progresses and his relationships with the objects of his affection deepens, so does the sensuality of the intimacies the reader is privileged to witness. It’s almost as if Truk is making a point of showing how much hotter sexytime can be when all the participants obtain there through agency and emotional growth and bonding. (It’s almost as if I’m being sarcastic.)Why have fun Pron with a Point? What makes fantasy and science fiction my go-to genres for reading pleasure is my enjoyment of unsubtle metaphor. The pinnacle example of unsubtle metaphor is the orc: when we first met them as foot-soldiers to a Dark Lord who really wanted his precious ring back, the orc was an unsubtle metaphor for the brutal ugliness of the industrialized world’s battle machine and what it does to the daily soldier. In latest years, the orc has become an equally unsubtle metaphor for a lot of things, from the Noble Savage and the inherent racism of such an archetype, to representing both the positives and negatives of the human instinct for clannishness. Mike Truk’s Shadow Rogue books includes a captivating hero of an orc virago with unsubtle metaphors all her own. (Yes, this entire paragraph was one long plug for one of Truk’s other books.)The Point of Lost Reavers, it seemed to me, is the trauma battle inflicts on its most tragic of victims, the veteran. The metaphor Truk employs to discover a veteran’s survivor-guilt is gloriously unsubtle yet did not feel preachy in the slightest. I don’t think it spoils anything, considering this is a fantasy story of spirits and magic, to say the main protagonist of Lost Reavers is literally haunted by his survivor’s guilt. I took pleasure in researching the symptoms and psychology of PTSD and ticking through them as I spotted them during my second read of Lost Reavers for this review. For example, I think my fellow readers will truly appreciate the unsubtle metaphor Truk wields for the symptom of hyperarousal (which may not mean what you think it means.)I’m giving Lost Reavers Five Stars because it is one of the very best of its genre, harem fantasy, with enough serious storytelling to enrich the want fulfilment and power fantasy. That’s not to say that Lost Reavers is without flaw. Two scenes are very talky, although perfectly in-character, as the female lead infamous for her silver tongue talks the other leads’ ears off, to no one’s surprise. And the climax of the story is very reminiscent of the climax of Truk’s first Shadow Rogue novel, although considering both Lost Reavers and Shadow Rogue take put in various corners of the same world, this may be no coincidence. These flaws did not truly detract from my reading experience but tantalized for Truk’s future works as he hones his craft.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    To be honest up front, I got an ARC of this book a couple of months ago. I've been a fan of Mike's since I read his first book, and so I may be a bit biased. That said, here's my review of the book. The Lost Reavers is an awesome story set in the same globe as The Shadow Rogue, just on a various part of the planet and with a more medieval northern European feel. Centered around a tortured soul, Hugh, the titular Reaver. He's a man thats been to war, and seen the elephant and is now paying the price of his experience. When we first meet him, he is consumed with what appears to be the demons we see a lot of vets struggle with, and uses mindless sex, blind drunkenness, and gambling to lose himself for years. Having lost a part of himself, and struggling to search his put in the world, Hugh is called back into service by his older brother, and Lord. He is sent to a remote outpost/town to bring it to heel but given only minimal help staff. Morywyn is a deadly woman who has honed her skills as a fighter while hiding her soul behind a shield of violence. Anastasia, a naive, but strong sorceress, and Elana, a bar wench, who tags along for her own reasons, and harbors a secret. I won't rewrite the whole synopsis for you, but thats the gist. Like his other books, Mike has a knack for creating well flushed out characters that you actually have some feeling for one method or another. The Lost Reavers is his best book to date, and I look forward to reading more in this world. If you like high fantasy, you will most likely have fun this book. *Edit* Though Mike started as a pulp fantasy writer, his stories are more than that. You could take away all of the elements that garner the 18+ warnings, and it would still be an awesome story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    I tried the Tsun-Tsun TzimTzum series and couldn’t obtain into the main character. That said I thought Mike’s writing was beautiful amazing and picked up his Shadow Rogue series and found them very s:Mike’s writing is getting better with every book. His characters feel special with their own identities and thoughts.His globe feels fairly well developed and I have fun learning more about e main hero is OP, but I don’t mind that when they have other flaws, which he does. Honestly that is where I think Mike writing stands out, his characters aren’t excellent dolls written just to have sex-time with. Each one comes with their own flaws, even if they are usually still ns:I have fun sex in books but only to a point. The sex scenes weren’t overbearing, but they came close for me.I [email protected]#$%! didn’t turn into a harem as quickly as it does. I would rather have learned more about each love interest over several books as I found them interesting. Mikes’ writing makes me wish to learn more about the characters before they begin screwing. If he doesn’t add any knew love interest for a book or three then this complaint will become null, but it’s the harem genre and that never seems to be the case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    Another awesome fantasy series by Mike Truk! This is the first novel thats in the same universe as another one of his works shadow rouge so you will see some of the same terminology in this book just like that novel. All characters are beautifully flawed, have their own dislike and likes they feel true with substances, MC is "OP" in the sense that he has overwhelming power but at a cost, he's depressed, he's close to killing himself but you can't support but hope the MC recovers for the tragedy that is his past. This is NOT a novel that has a harem just cause. all characters have substance not just chasing after the MC for his body. This is my honest review thanks for reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    There are not a lot of authors that I will buy their books sight unseen; however, I recently added Mike Truk to that elite list after reading his Shadow Rogue and Shadow Rogue Ascendant books, whose globe on which The Lost Reavers is based. This story is about Hugh, who is seriously overpowered but this power comes at a amazing cost so he rarely wants to use it. Without any spoilers, this story is filled with action, adventure, romance and everything in between. However, this book is aimed squarely at adults as the situations depicted within are very intense and not for the feint of heart or the easily offended. If The Lost Reavers was a movie, it would be rated NC-17. This book was a blast to read and I found myself unable to place it down once I started. And, you don't have to have read Shadow Rogue series in order to read this book as this book is part of its own standalone series. So, go ahead, give it a try. You won't regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    I read in a review that this book combined high fantasy, harem novel, and high quality writing. I ordered with amazing disbelief and faint hope; the cover does not support in that regard, and does not convey an accurate sense of the story. The review was correct. Not quite Witcher, but not far from it, and I expect it to hold getting better. Characters are well drawn and interesting, even some short lived ones. The plot is compelling. The erotica is well written and contributes to the story. Magic in this globe is quite intriguing, especially with the "primitive" fae. I'm looking forward to more. I haven't quite finished the first one but am committed to the series. There are passages of extreme violence and candid erotica, both of which are notorious pitfalls, but which the author handles quite cond edit, apologies to Amazon review reviewers, and I promise it is the last! Looking at past orders, I see that I started a various series by Mike Truk a while ago, and did not continue it. The book was OK, but didn't keep me for a series. I have to say this fresh book is much better written IMO. More convincing, stronger characters, more elaborate globe building and plot. If you've tried Mike Truk before and weren't won over, test this book. This author is getting stronger!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    As a first book in the series, I would have to rate it as probably one of Tuck’s best.A noble, with a less than stellar reputation, who might have a destiny.A relatively young kitchen maid, that is more than what she first appears to be.A female fighter of amazing skill, with darker secrets.A somewhat inexperienced bookworm, with a streak of rebelliousness, that her academic instructors are not aware of.An adventure that spans across, magical, racial, and dukedom boundaries!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    A disgraced noble must test to regain what small honor he has while fighting along side a captain loyal to his duke of a brother, a sorcerer also loyal to his brother, and an ancient opponent while trying to support a border city left forgotten. He wars bandits, evil spirits, and a warlord intent on ruling the city while trying decide who he should love and whether he should forgive himself for his own not good past. I can't wait for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    The begin was beautiful cool, and kind of unique. It really got old though hearing again and again how damaged everyone was and how they had to work through their problems together and begin ere’s a small fighting, which is done generally. The protagonists powers are beautiful cool, but he’s super whiney about the ere’s lots of harem stuff, which gets a bit repetitive. All the women are super hot. had potential, but just turned into work wading through the above to obtain to the thin plot and sparse action.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Reavers: Lost Reavers, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 20:25

    This is a amazing book the characters are interesting,their secrets aren’t the only facet to them. Some humor lots of gore a small sex ,throw in a dash of intrigue and you have a amazing book... highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who We Are and How We Got Here []  2020-1-19 23:55

    Human beings have always felt a need to understand our origins. In premodern times we had to rely upon myths and traditions handed down by our ancestors. In the West, we are mostly familiar with the stories in the Bible but of course other peoples and cultures had their own myths about the creation of the universe and ginning around the time of the French and American revolutions, archaeology started to help in explaining the distant past. Ancient languages were deciphered, literatures were compared and scholars were able to speculate on the nature of human cultures both before and after the invention of ever, the technologies which let ancient human genomes to reveal the origins and migrations of peoples are, as Dr. Reich describes, comparable to the invention of the microscope in the amount of light that can be shed on human history and prehistory. While still in its infancy as a science, the genomic research performed by Dr. Reich and his colleagues has already upended theories of human origins from Europe to India with scientifically grounded e emphasis here is on scientific, in that, unlike debates over literary composition of ancient texts, the accounts of history derived from the genome are falsifiable. One could always sequence the genome of another ancient human and provide evidence that, say, Dr. Reich’s acc of a population from the Eurasian steppe invading India around the time of the Vedic writings is not can read this book simply for its insights into prehistory as it supplies theories, some provisional, to acc for all the major peoples of the world: European, South Asian, East Asian, Polynesian, African and Native Americans from North and South America.But one can also read the book for the excitement at the birth of a fresh science that promises to be as revelatory as the observations from satellites scanning distant galaxies for the origins of dark matter. Not since reading The Double Helix by James Watson, one of the discovers of DNA, have I been so captivated by the story of a fresh branch of knowledge coming into e book is written with a minimum of jargon and is accessible to the scientific laymen. Because of its captivating story and style I would strongly recommend this book to all mature readers. Just as understanding Darwinian evolution is essential to understanding human nature, so too understanding the prehistory of humanity as revealed by our genome will become an essential part of our global modern civilization’s self understanding.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386