my life so far (with bonus content)' Reviews & Opinions


Submit my life so far (with bonus content)' review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Interesting long book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Jane Fonda is a amazing soul. She goes after the things she believes in and although she had a troublesome relationship with her iconic father - Henry, she adored him and vice versa. She is a amazing voice for women and causes, and also a amazing author!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Well I love her ..good price amazing condition!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on my life so far (with bonus content)' or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch my life so far (with bonus content)' video reviews and related movies:

    See My Life So Far on youtube.

     related image

    See My Life So Far with Jane Fonda on youtube.

     related image

    See 2019 Was The Biggest Year Of My Life on youtube.

     related image

    See 2019 The best year of my life so far - The peoples journey on youtube.

     related image

    See getting my life together before 2020 *new year!* on youtube.

     related image

    See A Look Back at 2019 on youtube.

     related image

    See All About Ky - My LIFE so FAR! on youtube.

     related image

    See 2019 Was The BEST YEAR Of My Life! | #RealTalkTuesday | MostlySane on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    This is an perfect review of her own life - adventures, family life, and renewal - with a revealing of life through experiences and emotions set free. I always liked Jane's films, yet Creature in Law seemed fuller. Read the book, you'll search out why. Life's humor and acceptance shows itself in this book. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Awesome life - awesome woman - wonderful journey of self discovery that is easily similar to by any woman in a related situation by devoting ones life to ones partner and supporting them and their kids over all else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    If you've not followed Jane Fonda over the years, as I hadn't, you are in for a amazing candid story. I found it hard to place down. I have a deeper respect for this woman and for the a lot of things she's accomplished outside of theater.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Jane Fonda being one of the most visible and vocal celebrities of our time gives us a play-by-play of her life in words in vivid, sometimes shocking detail. And sometimes too vivid. She isn't afraid to reveal her desires and secrets and speaks about herself in excellent time with her up-tempo personality. We expect her to be begin and full-spectrum and she covers all the bases. "My Life So Far" is weighed down heavily in the political side of her life and created the rest of her existence seem secondary. On a side note, Jane's incessant, in-your-face need to showcase her fluent French by PRO-NUN-SEE-ATE-ING EV-E-RY FRENCH SEN-TENCE was so irritating, I just skipped the chapter and had to play it back in doses. But it was perfect. And Jane leaves you feeling like there is another fifty years to her life, the best being yet to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    I love reading celebrity autobiographies. This book was entertaining... sad, happy, informative. Everyone needs to lighten up about the Vietnam tank thing--it was not as it seemed. I was glad to read her take on that. She admits is wasn't the wisest thing she had ever done so forgiveness is in order. I love Jane.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    jane has always been my hero, her writing is clear, interesting, begin and honestI'm very satisfied I bought her book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Perfect autobiography of Jane Fonda's life

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I bought this as a stocking stuffers for my 8 year old budding gymnast. She was so excited about reafing it, tbat she started reading it from the moment it arrived and never place it down.I read several pages of it with her, and personally can't wait until she is done so I can read it too....lol.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    When you watch someone do something so well, it create your heart happy. Whatever the arena, excellence shows. To watch Miss Biles defy gravity is a privilege. To read the story behind the excellence was a distinct pleasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Such a unbelievable and heart felt book!! Comedy, intensity, and emotion all in one place. You never know someone’s struggle and this book shows that even the people we look up to have their fair share. Very inspiring to know that she always kept sight of her dreams even when everything wasn’t is story shows why she’s called the best gymnast in the world, It’s not just about her talent but it’s a testimony to the person she was raised to yond satisfied I took the time to read this masterpiece!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    My granddaughter loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    granddaughter read it loved it Simone is a amazing roll model for young ladies

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I liked so much this book because I'm a gymnast too so mostly I had already seen Simone in the TV or in the GK magazines I loved reading this and God bless you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    This is the best book I've ever read. It is also is interesting and makes me look up to simone bikes more than I ever had.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Well written. Granddaughters liked it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Amazing for my 12 yeat old who competes. Amazing encouragement

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Courage to Soar (with Bonus Content): A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Place your mind to and her dream will come real your dream already came real but I believe in her she awesome and I love her for her private I love your smile

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I’ve actually read this book twice, once when it first came out and now again. And again, I’m struck by Jane’s candor. Her childhood was traumatic. She constantly strived for her father’s approval but he only seemed able to access his emotions on screen. Her mother committed suicide and Jane suffered guilt feeling she’d allowed her father’s detachment to affect her relationship with her mother. She never felt amazing enough and wanting to be perfect, she became secretly bulimic for decades. Due to her complicated relationship with her father, she chose to marry men who were also emotionally unavailable and was easily manipulated in her desire to please. A lot of women can relate to this as we tend to think of others and nurture them before ourselves, which is the core of the maternal instinct. Her narrative reflects a lot of women’s in her conflict between her own needs and other’s and her path to feminism.I loved the stories about Jane’s career and films and how the fitness videos came into being and took off. Jane takes us along on her evolving path while her life played out publicly. The rest of us don’t have to deal with that. Some people don’t like her because of lapses in judgment which she readily admits. How a lot of of us have always created the excellent decisions? I believe her intentions have always been sincere and admire her activism with veterans and young women. She’s always striving to learn about herself and the globe and her heart is in the right place. I admire her honesty in admitting her weaknesses, mistakes and pain. It takes courage.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this biography. For some reason I have always identified with Jane maybe because she's only three years older than I am and I have fun her dry wit. Plus I think Barefoot the Park is the funniest film I've ever seen. I completely relate to her description in the book of how women stifle themselves to please men, and her insights on numerous topics she covers in the book. It's an informative, well-written, truthful story of Jane Fonda's extraordinary life. I highly recommend anyone who enjoys biographies to read this . You won't be disappointed, you'll be sorry it ended so soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I too grew up with the Jane Fonda Workout Videos. My mom and I would do the workout together. As I grew older I would hear snip-its of Jane's private life reported about in the media. When I recently learned of her fresh Netflix present Grace and Frankie, I resubscribed to Netflix just so I could watch. I felt she could be a role model for me as I grow older. Then I discovered she wrote this book, and I've been riveted ever since downloading it to my kindle. I LOVE this book. It's exactly what I required in my life right now. Jane's willingness to share her life experiences is touching, heart warming and inspirational. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    She stated she wanted to write a book to support women...well, that's her NEXT book. This book just talks about her life, and yes, if you wish to go by the don't-follow-this-example, sure, that's helpful. But at the end of the book, she makes it seems like the respond to solving her life was getting her breast implants removed and then becoming Christian, even though she knows full well Christians do not believe in equality--she tries to justify this, and fails hard.Oh, but it does contain an except from her NEXT book, which appears to be the "help" she promised. So, one star off for not giving the answers promised, and a second star off for it being an advertisement for another book.Her life is interesting, but those bothered by random name droppings (such as "My amazing mate Bonnie Rait..." whom she mentions in a sentence but never before or after) and those not interested in Hollywood trappings would do well to avoid this book. You see her lose herself over and over to men...but you never hear how she got out of that trapping--and you suspect she's alone at the end of it because she still doesn't know how not to lose herself to men.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    i truly liked the beginning and the end. She gets kinda' bogged down in the middle with all her "Daddy Issues" but I guess it was a very huge part of her development and why she was always trying to please him. So, while the knowing of the psyche was interesting, the going on and on, page after page got very redundant. Her Editor should have been more thorough in "their" job. All in all an interesting read and like how during her 20's and 30's she place it ALL out there and didn't test to frost over it and create excuses. She stood right up and admitted she was promiscuous for a period in her life and that also lead back to several early scene issues. She's a ballsy woman for sure, while still retaining her femininity. And all that Vietnam debacle was literally a media blow-up that kept perpetuating itself. And come on folks, haven't we all done something stupid in our youth?This is a solid, introspective and entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I am Vietnam combat veteran, who did not know about this book until recently reading an interview with Jane Fonda, which motivated me to download a free Kindle sample. Since I was a little kid in an abusive home, reading has been a safe refuge for me. I have read most of the classics, and was rereading Moby @#$% for the umpteenth time, as well as a book about the RFK assassination, when I ran across this book. I studied Dante’s Divine Comedy for a semester in graduate school at Yale. Yet, at age 72, Jane’s book is at the very top of my list for books that are hardest to place down. In Part 1, she reveals her pains from growing up, her brutal honesty in trying to understand the emotional brutality all around her through her father’s several marriages and his extended absences, and not only the tolls that it took on her soul, but also the challenges it brought that needed her to learn, forgive, and continue moving forward. Part 2 deals largely with her anti-Vietnam was activities, in which I also participated totally apart from her upon my return from serving in Tet ! & 2 along the coast and in the rivers of that country. When she visited North Vietnam, which unfortunately resulted in her nickname “Hanoi Jane,” she got into the info of the battle and got to personally know the people of that country. She also has worked closely with vets who were troubled about the a lot of atrocities committed by US servicemen - a lot of who witnessed them and deserted, others who committed some of those actions which troubles their souls to this day. She uncovered a lot of nefarious info of numerous POTUS administrations in justifying this battle to the American public. Those info were consistent with facts that I have also uncovered in my years of research. I also garnered some extra info that are troubling, to say the least, about America’s abhorrent battle behavior, that IMO violated a lot of of the terms of the Geneva Convention. Jane Fonda and I are in agreement: America owes the Vietnamese people a “yuge” apology. Lastly, I wish to thank Jane Fonda for telling the truth - something a lot of Americans refuse to hear as they wold much rather hear what they wish to hear. As much as any American I know or have read about, Jane Fonda is a real American Patriot. From the bottom of my heart, thank you Jane! Peace and love to you -

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I enjoyed this book very much. The life she has lived has been amazing. Talented, tender, brutally honest, self-obsessive, neurotic, broken hearted, compassionate, survivor, warrior for truth and justice...she puts it all out there and I thank her. Here's to a lot of more years of Jane being Jane!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    This is an awesome book, literate, sensitive, honest beyond belief, altogether a pleasure to read. What a difficult childhood she had, and her adult relationships with men were not so amazing either, as she candidly tells you. Her mother chop her throat when Jane was 12, but she had to search it out from a film magazine! Her father, Henry, was cold, yet she forgives him. This is a book of self-discovery and growth. The longer she lives, the more she gives to the globe -- and that is the achievement she most strives for. God bless her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I gained some respect for Ms. Fonda as I read her story, but already knew the positive impact she has had on the state of Georgia. In addition, she has apologized over and over for the Hanoi Jane debacle and has spent a lifetime paying penance. I think it's time for that era to be laid to rest and for her to keep forgiveness. She has given of her money, of her time, and of herself, and her generosity will create an impact for generations to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Life So Far review []  2020-1-19 21:42

    Very begin about her life, mistakes and success stories. I am of an age that remembers Ms. Fonda going to Vietnam and the tickets it caused in the USA.I was very glad that she gave the background of the trip including why she did it.We could certainly use her passion at this ry amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:57

    Actually, I would rate this book as a 6. Like a Russian doll, with multiple dolls within it, the book is really a lot of stories. For me, the most interesting was Sharapova's description of the elements in her hero which created her so successful: determination to win, persistence, focus. Second, the story is about a family faced with an exceptional child. Do you provide the opportunities to develop that exceptional talent. Do you insist that the child needs to live a balanced life. Third, the story is about an individual and a family who have sacrificed so much to achieve a goal. Mom is left at home because she cannot obtain a visa. The very young daughter writes emotional letters to her mom each day. A boy sees one of the letters and criticizes her for the emotional letters. "It's all well and good. You have a mom, I don't", Sharapova replies. This is a story about people pursuing an impossible goal, amazingly achieving it. Finally, the book is about a star tennis player that I have sometimes seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:57

    if you like maria you will have fun this book. The story of her childhood with her father is a very sad and lonely one as they had so small support from anyone - could hardly speak English, had almost no money, mother could not accompany them so it was very difficult. I thought her story was much more inspiring compared to the Williams sisters because the Williams sisters were Americans and I am sure they had a lot of support along the method whereas Maria and her father being Russian were always given a difficult time. I believe Maria could have gone on to victory a lot of more slams, but unfortunately once she had shoulder issue it took its toll on her career. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:57

    I am three quarters through this book so far, and I am impressed. It is very hard to place down as she describes her life in detail. From before she was born even ! To coming to America as a young kid with her father - starting with just a few hundred dollars in his pocket. This just proves for people that sometimes dreams come real I guess and you have to go with your (her father's) intuition. It tells so a lot of amazing stories on various levels - on how Yuri Sharapova quit his job of hard construction work - risking everything - to give his daughter the possibility to excel and become one of the world's greatest female tennis players. A amazing book for me so far and I'm sure it won't disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:57

    This is a beautifully written memoir that deserves recognition for Maria’s passionate portrayal of her life and her challenges along the way. From the very first page I admit to tears flowing regularly, so much so that I slowed down my reading to treasure every single page. A life lived without passion is no life at all. I admire her emotional strength and thank a very close mate for insisting I read about Maria’s journey. A must read for its lessons, not just on sport, but on living life to its fullest. Thank you, Maria, for sharing your heart and your spirit. As I said when I wrote my own story: when you write a memoir, there’s nowhere to hide.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:57

    Amazing read! Well written, awesome life story of a remarkable person. Would recommend to every young person with high aspirations, it is unbelievable to see how this remarkable young lady found a method to stay focused on only things that really matter. It is also a very honest and candid pick into a behind the scenes workings of a globe class athlete with all the help systems and squad work that goes into it. Highly recommend to everyone, very entertaining and eyeopening. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:57

    I loved her honesty. It was interesting to read, in her own words, about how she came to America and became the player, and person, she is today. I already admired her, this just validated my feelings even more so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    Interesting, but nothing really that was not known before. If there was something, the press picked up the extracts just before the book launching.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    If you like tennis and you wish to know the true Maria Sharapova and what makes her tick, read this book. You'll be glad you will be somewhat surprised by the full story of her life with it's a lot of struggles, victories and defeats. And amazed by her intelligent, down to earth writing ability.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    I follow tennis and the info about the doping helped to clarify the ill treatment Sharapova received from the Tennis Association. Sharapova's immediate victory was great!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unstoppable: My Life So Far review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    Maria's story is incredible. I learned about it in her interview with Tim Ferriss and had to obtain the book as soon as it went out. I love her voice and the method she tells her story is so attractive and begin and honest. Unbelievable book about focus and tennis and family and so much more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I received the Audible ver of this book this morning. Chip and Joanna are the narrators and it is positively delightful hearing this book "in their own words"! Learning about their early life and the method that they have dealt with their issues and how they have lived their lives has been uplifting. They have overcome adversity and have built a life full of love, family, talent, professionalism keeping their faith first and foremost. They never forgotten who and what is important. I have finished the book already and will listen to it again and again! I love their series and hope they will stay on the air for a long, long time!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Amazing reading couldn't place it down created me smile,laugh and see some things in life we all go through similar. My grandson asked if I could read him a chapter as a bedtime story and after, he said they are unique and funny Grandma can you read me more tomorrow .Thats a impact that I'm thankful for Thanks and have fun everyone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I have been a large fan of Joanna and Chip right from the very first show. I have watched every present a lot of time over and never obtain tired of it. When I saw that they had written a book I couldn't wait to down load it. It didn't disappoint. Like their present I only [email protected]#$%! were longer because I can never obtain enough of Fixer Upper. Amazing job Joanna and Chip!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    This is a must read for all Fixer Upper fans. I was surprised at how inspirational it is. And I love how their two voices are blended in the text. I am watching re-runs today with fresh appreciation for their authenticness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I love this couple so much and the life that they have created together. It was interesting to read their history and how they got to where they are now. I liked they method it went from Joanna's story and then to Chip's viewpoint of what was going on. They have worked very hard to obtain where they are but I think their personalities are what shines through and makes them so endearing. I really would like to meet them some day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    It was nice to read about people you see on television and learn more about them. This was a unbelievable story about how they met, the things they did before being on television and how incredibly humble they are. I love that Johanna explains how she believes to feel whats in your gut no matter the situation. Dont worry about being trendy or doing the recent fad just do what makes you happy. And love the life you have. Thrive in your life. Dont worry about what you dont have, search happiness in your life now dont hold hoping for the day its better...you might just miss out on the best part.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Unbelievable book. This book really brings their personalities to life. It is fun to read it and helps you understand why they do things they do on the show. It's amazing as a stand alone book, but is really fun to understand why the present works so well and why they work so well together. The book helps you realize that they truly are who they appear to be on tv. They truly love each other, their family, their jobs and their life. ! The book is simple to read as a sit down and read for hours or amazing to pick up here and there as you are able.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I gave this as a bonus and the receiver LOVED it. She read it in one sitting and was happily retelling funny anecdotes from it the next day. Appreciated that the authors did not test to paint themselves with the excellent brush, but instead presented a flawed but positive view of their unfinished commended to anyone who have fun their show. Their book is equally warm and witty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    My wife and I loved Jo and Chip the first time we saw them on HGTV's FIXER UPPER. They reminded us of our lives, always hustling with 4 kids - 2 boys and 2 girls also. In our early 70's, our u poo bringingWhat a amazing story. Loved Jo and Chip from the moment we watched FIXER UPPER at its beginning. Like them, we raised two boys and two girls who are now in their forties. They believe in bringing up their kids with values and character. Someday we would like to meet this unbelievable couple. God bless them always.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magnolia Story (with Bonus Content) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Enjoyed this acc of an extraordinarily accomplished family. These folks have earned their method into success by hard work, talent and perseverance. Recently visited their shop in downtown Waco and it was also a remarkable accomplishment. I can certainly recommend this acc of their success. It is a amazing read. Comments to the contrary by detractors on the Web are not to be believed. They are the usual fake anti-religious attacks by nut cases trying to destroy the successful Gaines family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    Most reviewers of "Life after Life" have taken the main character's multiple deaths and resurrections as evidence that the novel is about second chances, the option of having a fresh life after the previous one has been snuffed out. I read it differently. On one occasion Sylvie Todd, the sharp-witted mother of the protagonist Ursula Todd, calls her daughter "Cassandra," referring to the mythical figure who had the bonus of delivering dire prophecies that nobody listened to. Accordingly, I viewed the multiple calamities that befall Ursula - umbilical strangling, drowning, political assassination, rape, marital homicide - not as "what ifs?" imposed by a post-modern tease of a storyteller, but as projections of a mind uncannily attuned to the precariousness of living. How Ursula manages to make her own, authentic life in the face of such mind-bending catastrophes is the true story of Atkinson's oddly constructed ode to a very human heroism, and it is the beacon that leads the reader through the maze of dead ends. Set largely versus the two greatest (real) disasters of the 20th century - the two globe battles - Ursula's journey is an often scintillating one, deftly told. But, at some 500 pages, it's an awfully meandering trek, requiring you to maintain a balance between empathy for Ursula's trials and awareness of being manhandled by a relentlessly clever author. The experience is both exhilarating and wearying. Whether it's worth it in the end is a question that Atkinson leaves entirely up to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    Life After Life--wherein Kate Atkinson shapeshifts the life of Ursula Todd-- is a virtuoso performance. Other novelists--Virginia Woolf, Carol Anshaw and Ian McEwan have done so in earlier works. But none has done it with such flair and with so a lot of balls in the air, juggling so a lot of characters and tales, that are both various and similar. In every phase of Ursula's existence, over the course of a 60-year span, there are at times three stories existing simultaneously. Each existence is entirely plausible but little changes or decisions make entirely various outcomes. Three early childhoods; three 16-year-olds, three 20-year-old Ursula's and 3 adult versions. Readers familiar with Anshaw's Aquamarine will recognize the premise, but Atkinson's "Life" is far more ambitious in scope and more daring. The rewards, are greater too I believe.I've actually read God In Ruins and Life After Life out of sequence and regret having done so. They vary in perspective as one novel has brother Teddy living to a ripe old age, the other has him chop down in his prime an RAF captain flying raids over Germany. If Life After Life feels indebted to Anshaw and Aquamarine, then God In Ruins owes a hint of the cap to McEwan's Atonement. It is only how time and incidence impacts life that the four books have a convergence. Atkinson's two novels thus far (the third and final is in September) about a family living from the Twenties to modern Britain also reminds one of Anthony Powell's Dance To The Melody of e scope and techniques used to tell the stories of Teddy and Ursula are brilliantly managed and fascinatingly played out. Without sentimentalizing their lives she manages to search the heroic in two ordinary lives. Beautifully told and extraordinarily accomplished.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    This fascinating novel is based on the premise that death isn't necessarily forever. The central character, Ursula Todd, is born on a snowy night in England in 1910. In the first acc of this, she dies almost immediately, strangled by the umbilical cord with no doctor or midwife to support her mother through the birth. In the next account, the doctor has arrived, the umbilical cord is cut, and the baby lives. And so on and so forth -- Ursula's life follows a various pattern each time, which leads to her death but then to a fresh pattern. The book is full of philosophical questions, but they do not intrude; it works brilliantly as a novel. The narrative carries the reader right along with the strongest of hooks: what will happen next (time)? The descriptions of time and put are haunting, particularly those of Globe Battle II London. The characters are rounded, and some engaged at least this reader emotionally. And they are diverse -- Ursula, of course, is not the only one whose life follows a various pattern in her different iterations, and it becomes almost a android game to figure out what has changed for which character. The ending is mysterious, but that is appropriate a novel that explores so a lot of possibilities.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    Warning: here there be e early chapters were a bit of a slog - very domestic and sort of pointless. With the end of WWI, we finally understand what is going on, and her 'resets' become interesting.I'm fascinated by the Blitz and so I loved that part. Atkinson mentions that this was one of her main interests in writing the book, and it shows. I was less enamoured with the (very tedious) focus on Eva Braun. I would have preferred that Atkinson had stuck to portraying Germany under Hitler from Ursula's special point of view as an Englishwoman married to a German. (I also want that Izzie's son had been brought into the narrative other than as the rather pointless incarnation of Roland.)So, I'd come around to enjoying the book, and was waiting for the ending that would wrap it up. And that's where the author lost me. When she takes her own life in Berlin, Ursula has the feeling that she has somehow 'broken' something, but I don't see that demonstrated in the rest of the book - I kept waiting to see how this 'break' would play out, but the rest of the book was more of the same.I'm willing to concede that the attempt to slay Hitler goes beyond her precept. After that, the ending sort of peters out. Is Ursula meant to demonstrate that one can't manipulate everything, that others have their own free will and destiny? Is that why she's shuttled back to the beginning, to test all over again? It feels like Atkinson didn't really have an ending for the book, maybe because there is no overarching idea to tie all the restarts together. There is no sense of progress as Ursula lives her lives, and I felt like the author dropped the ball on too a lot of threads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    This novel is not for everyone. It does not follow a linear story line. It jumps from one period to another in the life of an English woman, Ursula Todd, from her birth in 1911, through WWII and into the post-war period. Moreover, it jumps not only from one period to another but from one ver of Ursula's life to another. In one version, she remains single and stays in England and spends the harrowing battle years in London. But in another, she goes to Germany, marries, has a kid and, victims of the post-war suffering and starvation in Germany, kills herself and her young daughter. The book, in fact, opens with Ursula in Germany. As a mate of Eva Braun, she is trusted by Hitler, and tries to slay him. There are a lot of examples of double, sometimes triple, versions of happenings in Ursula's and in her family's life. Everyone will have their own interpretation of the meaning of this book. It certainly precipitates thought and discussion. It's about possibilities, and the role of choices, and the role of possibility in life. It's also about the power of the novelist to lure the reader -- and perhaps herself -- into that "willing suspension of disbelief" that critics talk about. The interweaving of a lot of stories makes us understand the power that stories have over us. This all sounds very trendy, but the book is fascinating -- if the reader can tolerate some perplexity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    Kate Atkinson begins Life after Life with an apt quote from Nietzsche, a philosopher who often wrestled with free will and fatalism. So does Atkinson, but in a far more engaging way, both depressing and life-affirming. Although I would have ZERO desire to relive my own life, Ursula Todd’s repeated efforts to obtain it right are intriguing. In some cases, the re-write is a matter of fate (Ursula has small control over that umbilical cord around her neck as she exits the womb); in other cases, it’s a matter of making various choices. I particularly enjoyed the Ursula who was dimly aware of her past turns around the bend and would test to avoid the same pitfalls, not always in the most enlightened way. Ursula’s most ham-handed re-write has her pushing Bridget down the stairs to set off a convoluted series of happenings keeping the maid from dying of the Spanish flu. I cherish the whimsy in there. This is an author with an eye for life’s absurdities. As such, she has made a hero who is simultaneously absurd and noble. Like a lot of thought-provoking works, the book annoyed me a few times. I want Ursula’s mother were more sympathetic, but then I want a lot of mothers were, too. I could have done with fewer literary allusions, even though I love Donne. And I was initially disappointed by the ending, because I harbored the totally unrealistic hope that Atkinson would somehow explain the mysteries of the universe to me. Yes, she’s that amazing a writer that you think maybe she can. Instead, the book (just like the ouroboros to which one of the Ursulas refers) ends, quite appropriately, back at the beginning: in February 1910, when our heroine may or may not begin her life. A thought-provoking and entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    It's time travel. No, it's not that. It's science fiction. No, not that either. It's literary genius. Yes, it is definitely that. This is the (somewhat convoluted) story of Ursula Todd, who is born (and born again and again and again) on February 11, 1910. Ursula has the decidedly uncommon ability to be born again after e comes back as the same baby in the same family and with the same life, but a powerful sense of deja vu allows her to correct mistakes and avert tragedies that plagued her earlier lives--until she is finally able to do the ultimate deed for humanity. But does she really succeed and change history?This is an intriguing, very readable book that seems so true and actually feasible--even though you know it's absolutely not. (Or is it?) Best of all, it's funny! And that is quite a feat considering the bulk of the story takes put during the brutality of Globe Battle II, especially the Blitz in is book is a testament to author Kate Atkinson's imagination, storytelling creativity and literary genius. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    I am in awe of this book and Kate Atkinson. Because the plot has been described by the critics and other readers, I decided to refrain from rehashing it, other than to write the following. This plot is not new. Everyone from writers of science fiction to cheesy dime shop romance novels has used it, whether about time travel or lovers miraculously turning up alive years after they were assumed to be dead.What sets this book apart is the ingenuity of Kate Atkinson and her flawless writing. As I encountered snippets of poetry and excerpts from off-times obscure books; tenets and aphorisms from philosophers such as Nietzsche, Thomas Mann and Camus; bits of Latin; French phrases; and entire paragraphs written in German (sometimes loosely translated, sometimes not at all), I concluded, perhaps unfairly, that Kate Atkinson wrote Life After Life for an erudite audience. This is not to imply that readers need multi-discipline PhDs before opening the book, but I think those with more than a passing acquaintance with philosophy and history will better understand the story. A challenge for me was the vocabulary. Between Brit-speak and unfamiliar words, I created use of the Wikipedia dictionary on my Kindle more often than ne of these small roadblocks detracted from my enjoyment of and appreciation for Life After Life. I like to be challenged by a book, and I love learning from one. The writing alone is exquisite. I experienced every emotion. A better, more graphic description of the Blitz I cannot remember. I was in the bomb shelter with Ursula and digging through unimaginable destruction at her e characters were wonderfully drawn, and this Anglophile loved the descriptions of the British method of life. I also loved the subtle humor that frequently appeared. The globe could be coming to an end (which it almost was), but nothing stopped the afternoon tea break.What a gifted and talented writer Kate Atkinson is. I look forward to reading the sequel. I heartily recommend Life After Life to everyone who appreciates excellence in literature and welcomes a bit of a challenge. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    I have read this 3 times now; I obtain more from it with each read. It's a complicated story, at first found it a small hard to follow. It needs you to have an begin mind, because its unlike most novels, if your expecting a linear story, you'll be disappointed. The writing is beautiful, you can search yourself back there at Fox Corner, in London during the blitz, in Germany before the war. Its one of the most imaginative books I have read in a long time, created me wonder, think, dream. What more can you ask from an author?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Life After Life: A Novel review []  2020-1-13 19:12

    This book drove me crazy. I loved "A God In Ruins," but could not obtain through this one. Yes, I know. Amazing writing, unusual concept, etc. However, the unusual concept was, for me, impossible to slog through. I love amazing family stories, perfect writing and all the rest, and Kate Atkinson certainly has multitudes of talent. But tell me a story, allow it create sense, allow it progress in orderly fashion. I had to give it to the thrift sop before finishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    This book truly lives up to max Lucado's other books. Really enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Have read max Lucado books fir a lot of years, he has a God given talent to bring the words on the page to life. Love his work and I am blessed by the closeness I search my heart to my heavenly farther. I have been to Israel and knelt at the manger star in Bethlehem! This book is such a blessing to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I sat down with my iPad (kindle app) and couldn't place the book down. What a joy. Thanks for bringing the Christmas spirit to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I absolutely love the pictures in this book. It's really fun to color. It's a amazing mix of little and larger spaces. I also have fun dwelling on the meaning of the words on the pages. My only problem with the book is that the pictures are printed on both sides of each page. This means that I'm beautiful much stuck with using colourful pencils. I have a set of 72 pencils that is wonderful, but my hand and wrists obtain sore from using pencils for very long. I would love to use markers, but it bleeds through and ruins the picture on the back of each page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    This book is the excellent addition for Advent devotions. You will grow closer to the grace that God showers us with as we celebrate the birth of our Savior. This is a book I will create part of my Advent celebration from now on. Max Lucado is a real Christmas blessing!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Because of Bethlehem, Max enhances and stretches our Christian faith so that we grow in Christ. Wonderful, unbelievable a fresh Christmas Story for all of us. But my socks blew off with his small post script of another perspective as we read the seed of a Christmas Story found in the Book of Revelation. WOW. The Devil was also lurking trying to stop the the Christmas story. This story could have had a various ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    One of the best books ever written! Max Lucado is funny and has some deep insight about Jesus and His history . I will read again and again . Beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Excellent read during the busy holiday season to reflect on the bonus of Christmas, and how it applies to us all year. Max Lucado writes like he is having a conversation with you and makes everything approachable for those with small Bible knowledge and those much more experienced in reading and studying the Bible. I am taking several lessons learned forward throughout the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Fabulous, loved every min of it and the gift content, particularly the advent study is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Because of Bethlehem (with Bonus Content): Love Is Born, Hope Is Here review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    This was purchased for a gift. The recipient loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    No spoilers!I just closed this book, and I was actually sobbing From the start, it's a slow burn-- each hero gets their own chapter, part of it's in past tense to slowly fill in information-- and it doesn't take long to care deeply about each of them. I'd follow each of these characters off a cliff.Emotion aside, this was a fabulous read. The entire plot is heavily centered on elephants-- how they grieve and how scientists test to reckon what can be observed logically and what can be discovered by observing emotion. It ties in so well to the human drama, that the elephants aren't a background, but they're just as vital in their personalities as the people are. Family dynamics and their impact are the heart of the 's a very matter-of-fact book at the start, our character is an intelligent, funny young teenager named Jenna, who is a amazing mix of curious and stubborn without being annoyingly precocious. The book slowly starts descending into metaphysics/psychics, and one of the main characters is a disgraced psychic, so we are given tips at it. Still, bringing that element into a book centered around an endangered species and a skeptical ex-cop and scientists could have REALLY failed, if not for Picoult's deft touch. It really felt like she lived with her cast as she made them, and sometimes I was gripping the book hard, worried about them. As much as I love reading, that doesn't happen often.A mix of thriller, mystery, family drama, love story and more... if you're a Picoult fan, I can't imagine you'd be disappointed. If you're a fresh reader to her, this is a unbelievable put to start. Excuse me, now I need to go fix my mascara.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    This is a very unique, unusual and entertaining mystery thriller. Really unlike anything I've read before. At the base of it is a teenage girl(Jenna) searching for her missing mother. Jenna must puzzle out why her mother, Alice, disappeared from the Fresh England Elephant Sanctuary. What separates this mystery from others is that Picoult weaves the emotional lives of elephants with that of Jenna and Alice and other human characters. It's really haunting how she depicts grief and loss and can obtain to you emotionally at times. The hero study of elephant behavior was done deftly was very interesting, especially how intertwined with the d to that a amazing cast of characters and an perfect conclusion. Jenna is one of the best characters I've read in years. She's funny, sassy, and independent, but yet vulnerable. After reading Leaving Time if you haven't been changed or emotionally touched then you may not be human. I'm a huge macho weightlifter guy and it had me in tears at times. When a novel can affect me that much it indeed deserves high accolades. One of the best books I've read in ages! Admittedly, this book won't be for every one because it's an emotional roll-a-coaster of love and loss and it is different(much) from what most people have read. If you've read Picoult before or are fan I suspect you'll love Leaving Time. If you're fresh to her or you think this might not be for you, then I recommend you take the leap. You may search a gem!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Jodi Piccoult has the uncanny ability to obtain me swept up in any story she writes. When I read the summary about Leaving Time, I thought elephants-well OK. Her research and understanding of elephants was apparent and what was learned about elephants heartbreaking. Her descriptions of how elephants grieve and how they have emotion for each other and some humans was riveting. The story she wove around this subject was about Alice, a elephant researcher, and Jenna, Alice's daughter. Alice's life is looked mainly through Jenna's eyes as Alice is missing and presumed dead by an elephant. The story that unfolds is one part mystery, one part love story with the elephants, one part love story of Alice. Everything is humming right along with Jenna pairing up with a personal investigator and a psychic (both of these hero super interesting too) to search out what happened to her mom, but then the whole plot takes a major shift and one I did not see coming. The only reason I gave this a 4 instead 5 stars is because the ending got a small weird for me, but still very entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    I'm going along listening to this book for about 10 of the 12 discs and just thinking it was so so. Not bad, definitely not horrible enough that I would stop listening. Cute characters, an simple storyline to follow. Then BAM, disc 11. I. could. not. stop. listening. I was absolutely enthralled. I didn't see it coming, even though looking back I completely should have! Amazing one to read or listen to!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Definitely one of my favorite summer reads this year. There were a few times it dragged on just a bit but I still give it 5 stars for the characters, plot and twist! Also I will never look at an elephant the same again--EVER!! What awesome monsters they are and I truly appreciate being educated about them and their plight on this planet!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    I have been reading Jodi Picoult's novels for over a decade and her novels always impress me. Every time I finish a novel, I am stunned by how much of a reading experience she can package into a 400-page book. Her novels are thoroughly researched and leave me wondering how she can flawlessly bring so a lot of people together. She always has an awesome twist in her novels and this one is no exception. Her novels hold getting better and better. Whether you like elephants or not, I highly recommend picking up this book. It's a page-turner and will likely hold you up into the wee hours of the night.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    I love Jodi Picoult and have not been satisfied with some of her newer novels but I loved this book. I though Jenna was a amazing hero and I grew attached to her right away. I also loved that Alice (from the ebook Larger Than Life) was her mother. That tells the story of Alice in her childhood and college years and her decision to go to Africa to study elephants. You obtain a clearer picture of Alice's mother's (Jenna's grandmother) personality and the conflicts between the two of them. There is also a 2nd novella "Where There's Smoke", and it tells Serenity's story about the ruin of her career.I loved all the facts about Elephants that I learned and now have a amazing love for the awesome animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Intriguing novel that takes the reader into the life of an abandoned kid and the life of elephants in an American Sanctuary. This book is a page turner until the latest scenes of the book. The author seemed to lose depth and quality in order to wrap it up cleanly...it didn't ring real to me. I was very disappointed in the conclusion. I love all the in-depth info on the elephants and in Jenna's intensive find into her mother's disappearance. I was hoping for a more complex wrap-up and found the ending weak...hence the 4 star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    This is yet another Jodi Picoult book that was hard to place down. I totally was hooked right away. It's always a bummer when you arrive at the latest page and search you are not ready for it to end. Picoult does an perfect job of weaving a mesmerizing story with well-drawn characters, believable plots and insight into human foibles and weaknesses. This is one of her best. It was a attractive read and hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving Time (with bonus novella Larger Than Life): A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    This book by Jodi Picoult includes the development of interesting characters but the story evolved so that what had seemed true was not true at all. What I especially enjoyed was how the amazing elephants of the book were portrayed to possess real psychological and sociological qualities i enjoyed this book so much and recommend it to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    For the past several months, I've been attending a mom's group at church and one day they were giving away the Jesus Calling devotional by Sarah Young. I hadn't heard of this author before and I was very interested in the devotionals. When I started searching Sarah Young on here, I came across the Jesus Always devotional as one of the top results since it is a fresh release. Having no experience with this author, I decided to take a possibility and purchase it since I had heard amazing things about this sus Always: Embracing Joy in His Presence is a fresh devotional by missionary Sarah Young. The devotions included in this book and her other books are her private thoughts and reflections. She writes in this introduction to Jesus Always that this book was a "marathon" for her since she worked on it for several years while living in Australia. After traveling for awhile and dealing with illness, Sarah Young strives to search joy in her daily life so she wrote this particular devotional with that in mind. She writes these devotionals from the perspective of Jesus speaking to us as we read them. She also contains some Scriptures which are italicized and a few Bible references at the bottom so you can look those up if you'd sus Always is 384 pages long, with one-page devotions for every day of the year, including February 29th. The book measures 4 1/4 inches by 6 1/4 inches by 1 inch. It has a hard, yet puffy, purple cover and the pages are smooth and slightly glossy. Included with the book is an attached ribbon bookmark so you can hold your place.I love this devotional and search that no matter what my day is like, that particular day's devotion is so fitting and exactly what I need to hear. I might be having a amazing day or a difficult day and reading this seems to relax and refocus me. It also helps me to slow down and remind me of what's important. I do my best to read it everyday but it doesn't always happen. I love that I can read the devotion for one particular day or just flip it begin to whatever one I'd like. It's the excellent size to stick in your purse if you need something positive and uplifting to read when you are at work or out and about and it makes a amazing gift. I bought this for myself and purchased one for a amazing mate who loves it as well! I ended up purchasing Jesus Calling and Jesus Today, both by Sarah Young, because I love this book so much! Whether or not you are familiar with this author, this is a devotional I'd highly recommend if you are looking for one for yourself or a loved one!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Sarah Young has a very unique bonus designed to support & encourage others. This is the third devotional book I've read of hers, and it has enriched my devotional time, and given me more insight into the Bible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Perfect as always. A amazing method to begin your day, especially in time of troubles. I thought Jesus Calling was a amazing starter book and this was amazing for the next year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Jesus always is very inspirational with everyday devotion . I would recommend it for anyone . Jesus always will support you better understand your relationship with Jesus Christ .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Perfect everyday remind and encouragement to seek God.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Unbelievable devotional book. Plain language anyone can understand and backed up by Scripture reference . Sarah Young documents the "joyful" biblical teachings and how they support you through daily life - amazing bonuses for anyone also.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Another amazing spiritual book from Sarah Young.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I love Sarah Young and have read Jesus Calling many, a lot of times. I was so glad that she wrote another everyday devotional book. I am seeking joy this year, and I will begin every day with this book. She truly understands the word of God, and can support it relate to daily people in a mighty and strong way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Sarah Young has written yet another book that is so awesome! The method she puts the devotions as if God was saying the words is just wonderful. A lot of days it speaks to just what I am needing to read on a given day! This is also a amazing book to give as a gift!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jesus Always (with Bonus Content): Embracing Joy in His Presence review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I am really enjoying this devotional. Sarah Young has written yet another perfect book!! Very uplifting!! I highly recommend this one!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    Love this book. I gotta say though.. Just like Hunger Games, divergent, Maze runner etc... I had to obtain passed the whole, children killing kids.. adults killing children thing. I'm not sure that's a amazing thing to "get over" because of how the children are killed sometimes and treated-it's a bit brutal. This is going to be a film in late 2018, so I started reading it. Now that I've read it, I might not be able to watch the film depending on how real to the book it is. But that is just private preference. If you are a parent, wondering if its okay for your child to read, I would say definitely late teen. Its more violent than other YA books. I'm a parent and a teacher and I would save this book until they are a bit older. There's a lot of death, and a suggested/possible rape scene. No other sexual content so far, but lots of language from one hero in book two.If you wish an perfect read, by a unbelievable writer, this is the book. It definitely keeps your attention, has amazing hero depth, and is a special story. I'm on book two now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    A amazing series beginning with a uniquely developed globe and enticing characters, WOW!! This bleak yet secretly, versus all sorts of odds hopeful dystopian gem has been hyped to the umpteenth degree and frankly does not (completely) disappoint. Yes, the writing is not poetic (for the most part) and the Dystopian genre has been done...fried, refried, charred well done, over hard almost to the point of disgust. This opinion might be skewed a bit. My love-hate relationship with this genre is public knowledge, making me the unbiased, best suited person to review this....ANYWAY... the most stunningly poignant hero development has been made here! It stands up and DEMANDS the plot not only acknowledge but revolve almost exclusively around these uncommonly rich/dynamic, three dimensional characters. These characters are so deep that they, along with some seriously interesting and creatively special globe development, are what makes this undertaking anything more than a generic YA Dystopian knockoff. I know that that observation sounds a bit obvious but I cannot stress enough how the interconnectedness of these characters coupled with their complexity created this novel. The special and uncharacteristically immersive globe development was, of course, important yet merely an accompaniment. Otherwise, Darkest Minds is one huge street trip with damaged/misunderstood, subversive yet winning versus all odds teenagers vs poor guy adults/corrupt government ad nauseum trope after trope chase stage on loop. I am tempted to give this less stars but I fell in love (hate where compelled), attached and fiercely invested in each and every hero (secondary, tertiary and all).The MC, and sole POV, Ruby was a tad annoying. This detracted immensely from my private need for a kick @$$ heroine whom is also beautifully, yet not classically beautiful, humanly flawed. Her constant referring to herself as "a monster" and going along, falling in love so easily after being tortured for 6 of her most formative years was disconcerting (to say the least).All in all this was a amazing read and what appears to be an perfect begin to a much beloved series. Will I continue on to book #2 even though there is an extreme abundance of highly anticipated books on the stage right now, heck yeah?! I recommend you follow suit. This is fanatically revered and cherished by MANY of the Goodreads population. Go for it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    4-4.5 stars. Ruby has lived at Thurmond for the latest 6 years, a rehabilitation camp for people like her. It's bleak, depressing and controlling. There's an epidemic of children and teens dying. On the opposite side, there are children and teens with abilities that are deemed dangerous. Ruby falls in the latter category, only her abilities are even more threatening compared to her peers. The children in the camp are classified by their powers into colors and it's fascinating to figure out what each color represents and how the children utilize those powers. They're not supposed to, but harnessing those powers is a whole other problem punishable by force. When Ruby has a possibility to escape and meets some other escapees, she discovers a globe she has been out of touch with for the latest 6 years.I was intrigued by Ruby's powers because she's not aware of the full extent of it since she's tried so hard to hide and suppress it. On the run with others like her, but also different, Ruby has to figure out what it means to be normal, if there is such a thing, and to protect those around her from the danger she poses to them. Ruby is complex because there's so much she doesn't know from being imprisoned and yet she is very cognizant of her surroundings, picking up on info quickly. She doesn't trust others, including herself, but is very loyal to her friends. I absolutely loved Liam. His eternal optimisism offsets Ruby's and Chubs' pessimism and ere are so a lot of opposing forces out there who wish these children and teens for their own ulterior motives. The goals hold changing and if there's any possibility for a life outside of confinement, Ruby will do whatever it takes to obtain her mates to safety first. This book has a darker and mysterious feel to it as the globe building unravels because it's all through Ruby's POV and her secrets are tucked very close to her. I am definitely eager to search out what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    This book is absolutely awesome and a total page turner! The story line is amazing and the characters are some of my favorites. Ok so this book has a cool concept of some type of virus or disease that gets released and affects children about to enter puberty (mostly around age 10). On their tenth birthday they either obtain sick and die or develop some kind of power. Unfortunately most of the children die but the ones that obtain powers are sent to camps for "rehabilitation" and categorized by color - green, blue, yellow, orange, and red. Ruby is picked up by the officers after she accidentally erasing herself from her parents' memory. She is able to see memories and obtain into people's minds by touch and this is how she lies her method into camp as a green. They live in this camp and go through the abuse from the guards when Ruby and another guy Martin are rescued from the camp. Ruby touches her rescuer's husband's hand and sees that he has actually killed the 2 children he was supposed to rescue and she makes a run for it. She finds a girl, Zu, and she helps Ruby hide in a van to escape. Two boys, part is Zu's group, present up and they all begin on this adventure to search this secret safe camp. As they test and create their method to East River, their relationships all begin to grow stronger, but are solidified when Ruby has to use her power to save the 3 others. Once they realize she is an orange and now green, their friendships completely bond. Finally they search East River, where they start to create their own home. Zu finds her cousin and decides to leave with her in an attempt to obtain back to family in California. Liam works in the guard and befriends everyone. Chubs is miserable (which he seems to be most of the book but he's probably one of the best characters). Ruby trains with Clancy (son of the President, leader of East River, and another orange) to test and gain some control and understanding of her abilities. Well, of course, turns out Clancy is evil and repulsive. He betrays them to test and force Ruby to his side after his total violation of everything in her privacy and being. When the camp gets raided by officers, Ruby, Liam, and Chubs escape and come back together to test and leave for amazing and search their homes. With a long promise to one of their dead friends, Chubs delivers a letter to his friend's father who ends up shooting Chubs (seriously the only part I absolutely hated in this book) forcing Ruby to call upon the League to come and save them. They answer and their exchange is for Ruby to join their cause and for Liam to go free. In order to release him from their love, Ruby erases herself from his memory. Now on to book 2!! This book has a excellent amount of plot twists that most can't see coming. There were plenty of parts that I felt I wasn't expecting to happen and parts that I knew weren't amazing but still didn't play out how I imagined. I love this book and I can't wait to begin book 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    This book is one of the few in my life that created me cry. It was so beautifully written, and so heart wrenching. I bought the second book in the series before I was even half method finished with the first. The only other books I have read that even come close to these books are from The Court Of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas. They are various in a lot of ways but the writting, the method the author makes you feel like you are Feyre, is the same method Alexandra Bracken created me feel like I was Ruby. I can totally see why The Darkest Minds is getting created into a movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    It took me a couple of trips to Barnes and Noble to finally convince myself to pick up a copy of this novel. I hadn’t heard anything about it at the time and was unsure of whether or not I wanted to read it. I knew after reading The Hunger Android games and the Insurgent series that I liked dystopian novels a lot. I’m really glad that I decided to finally pick up this first novel in The Darkest Minds series.Going into this novel I really appreciated that Alexandra Bracken showed us her globe rather than tell us about it. Some authors can obtain so caught up in telling readers about their globe that before they know it they’ve spent have the book telling us about the globe rather than telling us the story. Readers do have to pay attention when reading Bracken’s novels, but as long as you are it’s simple to follow along. What I love most about the globe that Bracken has built is that it isn’t all rainbows and unicorns. It is dark and violent and various from most YA e story is told from the POV of the main character, Ruby. She is simple to identify with and very engaging. She has been through a lot and grown from her experiences. She is powerful and determined to do what she thinks is right. I absolutely fell in love with Liam right from the start. He has a amazing sense of humor and an awesome personality. He felt real, not just a hero in a book. I also loved the rest of the secondary characters. Without them, the story that Bracken is trying to tell would have fallen flat.I highly recommend this book if you haven’t read it yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    I’ve had The Darkest Minds sitting on my Kindle since it was free on Amazon back in November, and I had totally forgotten all about it until my partner for a TBR Pal group chose it for my April read. I’m glad someone nudged me in its direction because it turned out to be a amazing e Darkest Minds reminds me a bit of a darker, grittier ver of X-Men, where instead of having someone teaching you how to use your bonuses people fear you and choose to imprison you (which does happen in X-men on occasion). Ruby is one of those with gifts, and at the begin of the book she is stuck in one of those imprisonment camps, where she has learned to go unnoticed as much as possible in order to survive. I really love the whole idea of powers and that instead of their being a ton of various abilities there are about 5 types that manifest, and though they are primary in ideas the characters create them seem incredibly cool. I really love the struggle Ruby has with her powers, and how instead of completely feeling at ease with them she sees it as something to avoid using. I know I personally would be ecstatic, but it’s amazing to see a hero who actively wars it but has to come to terms with it eventually. Despite her willingness to stand out or use her powers Ruby is still a warrior and purely independent , and I liked that she felt confident in her ability to protect herself and others.I fell in love with the other three main characters as well. Suzumae (Zu) with her rubber gloves and infectious personality, Liam with his upbeat and quirky conversations, and Chubs…who is basically me in book form. He’s probably my favorite in fact. I love his intelligence and his sarcasm, I’m even fond of his lack of trust in others…because I totally understand that. There was one hero I hated immediately, but I won’t say his name because of the risk of spoilers. I wanted to kick him…hard…probably numerous times just to obtain the point across…such a e pacing of this is fairly fast and quite the page-turner, with only a few slow moments here and there to support set a stage or give the characters a bit of time to breathe and recoup. I really like the method the story is going, though oddly enough I don’t really know what the overarching story is going to be for the series, so it should be a lot of fun to continue this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    This book is dripping with excitement and fantasy. Ruby lives in a globe where kids are dying a mysterious death. Those kids that live are viewed as dangerous. Is it a curse or a gift? Are you a green, yellow, orange or the very worst a red? Search out!They took the surviving students and placed them into schools for "Rehabilitation". Ruby ends up at Thurmond a cruel school that brutalized its children. She befriends a person there with her support they scantly obtain out alive. She sets out on her own to search the promise land, East River. It is the Promised Land for kids with "abilities."Ruby's ability is one of the most risky and she can't control it. Anyone near her could be in danger and if they search out they will fear her. She meets a little group of kids being led by Liam. They too are looking for East River. She dangerously deceives the group making them believe she is not who she really is. Then he falls and she fears what might this action filled story you have the protagonist, Ruby with her mates and opponents along with her internal struggles. You meet mates along with their abilities and difficulties. You will pick, choose and then be surprised at the outcome. The hero building is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    Trigger warning of a mind-controlled sexual assault attempt in this book. If you're uncomfortable with that, I suggest not reading 's a beautiful okay story. Kids begin dying. Surviving kids have cool powers. Super-Children obtain locked up. Main-Super-Child escapes. Meets other Super-Children. They're on the run. The beautiful traditional escape-from-prison story but with superpowers.But they never quite explain the powers. The kids are color coded based on their powers. Apparently Greens are amazing at puzzles. Oranges have got some mind-control thing going on. Blues are telekinetic. Yellows have some electricity thing going on. And reds are dangerous. Ruby, the main character, is an Orange mislabeled as Green. She meets up with two boys, Liam and Chubs, are blue, and the young, mute Japanese girl, is a e love story subplot is rather predictable, because what's a YA book without some sort of love subplot? Main hero meets cute boy. Cute boy and main hero spend time together and then fall in e story does have an interesting discussion about death because it starts with millions of kids dying. The book brings the extremely difficult topic of death and dying to a level in which kids need to understand. It doesn't bring complex metaphysical theory or religious aspects of an afterlife, but puts death simply as a state of "not being."Overall, it's an entertaining book, but it's an average book, really.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkest Minds, The (Bonus Content) (Darkest Minds Novel, A) review [Book]  2018-5-20 18:0

    This is another dystopian book and OMG, I am so glad I picked this up. I am going to stop rambling and begin this by is our main character, the day after her 10th birthday she is taken to a camp where children with abilities are been taken too for "rehabilitation". The abilities are distinguished by colors, there are Red, Orange, Yellow, Green and Blue, each with various abilities. Ruby is an Orange and without knowing she uses her abilities into making the doctor think that she is a Green and because of that she stays at the Thurmond Camp while all the Reds, Oranges and Yellows are taken by is now 16 years old and escapes Thurmond with the support of a doctor name Cassie who is part of a League that "helps" children like Ruby. However, Ruby doesn't trust her and when she gets the opportunity she runs away and while she does she meets a trio of children that have abilities. They at first don't trust her and don't wish her to stay with them, but with time she wins them all and they all realize that they can trust her. Liam a Blue, Chubs also a Blue and the youngest of them Zu who is a Yellow, they escaped their camp too and are looking for East River; a put where children like them are welcome and live in a community. Their leader an Orange himself helps children communicate with their families.When they obtain there, East River is not what they were expecting, their leader is Clancy, the President's son who is supposed to be "cured", there they realize that he is not "cured" and is not what he portraits to be. He is mean, manipulative and plays with everyone's minds. Zu is given the okay to leave East River with a few of Yellows and a Blue kid, Liam, Chubs and Ruby are not satisfied but they respect her decision. Chubs doesn't trust Clancy and he is right about spoilers, but while at East River something not good happens; Liam, Chubs and Ruby hide and escapes the tragedy. They all agree that first they should deliver the letter of one of the children that escape Liam, Chubs and Zu's camp. Chubs is able to contact his parents and plan a meeting with them but when he goes to talk to his friend's father, his reaction and actions was not what they were a moment of despair Ruby activates Cassie's panic button and that's were the book 1 ends, with Ruby and Liam taken to the League.I hope I didn't give too much out, but to [email protected]#$%! off, I totally recommend this book and give a 5 out of 5 starts, the writing was amazing, the kind of writing that anyone can follow including kids. Once I was done reading I had to obtain the 2nd book right away and read to know what happens next. So, if you haven't read The Darkest Minds series, go ahead and do because you will not regret.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter