Read near to the heart of god reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all near to the heart of god reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    my heart transplant for your amusement []  2020-8-16 15:50
    [email protected]

    "My Heart Transplant for Your Amusement" by Vince Clews The essence of this book is Vince's story about his heart condition and the obstacles he had to overcome to create the transplant happen; but, it also a love story of Vince's love for his wife, Carol. That love is evidenced in his accolades describing her faithful attendance to his every need, demonstrating what it means to vow, "I will love you and honor you all he days of your life". This is a amazing read and makes one admire the Clews for the tenacity they demonstrated in overcoming the continued frustrations of this rollercoaster ride. I would suggest a various title ~ as I was not amused! I might suggest, "My Heart Transplant: A Good-Humored Look at a Life in Crisis". It is amazing read and I love a guy who watches The Meal Channel to see Barefoot Contessa and Giada with cleavage showing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    2  


    Add your opinion on near to the heart of god or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    go to this web-site [california superior court case search]  2020-8-21 2:59
    [email protected]

    see this website like it state of virginia case find henderson justice court case find hop over to here superior court of fulton county case find for beginners have a peek at this web-site

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    need pin to play rsweeps []  2020-5-22 6:38

    Lost my pin for RSweeps

    2  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what google did to me [york county civil case search]  2020-8-24 19:43
    [email protected]

    san diego county superior court case find obtain more here to search out more henderson justice court case find king county court case find mo case net litigant find the this article

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to lasix in Portland lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada lasix in Omaha where to lasix in Austria where to lasix in Detroit where to lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Omaha online can u lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to lasix in France lasix online india lasix per pill where to lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can lasix buying lasix in canada how to lasix in Norway best for lasix in Long Beach where to lasix in Washington how can i lasix best method to search lasix in Czech Republic where is better to lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    navigate to this site [Visit Website]  2020-8-27 11:0
    [email protected]

    pop over to this website missouri case net name find check this out like it more info washtenaw county court case find navigate to this www service hop over to this web-site

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to lasix in Tucson online best method to search lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to lasix in Austria best for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to lasix in Los Angeles where to lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to lasix in Greece online best for lasix in United Kingdom best for lasix in Austin best for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to lasix in Indianapolis best for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to lasix in Detroit where to lasix online canadian lasix online lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    For the logical mind, this book speaks to the deepest emotions a questioning Christian may face. Peppered with insights, the always challenging Ravi takes you deeper than perhaps you want to go and begs for answers to questions you may not have had the courage to ask. Like most of his books, it's a go-to. The ability to address LOGICALLY the idealogues of today and still search deeper answers and locations of thought perhaps not dug into previously. A book to have and return to often when your own heart's cry is one you may not fully comprehend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    Ravi is such a brilliant and Spirit-filled speaker and writer. The book is very wordy, and I'm having a hard time getting through it, even though I know it's worth the effort. I've been privileged to be show on three various occasions to hear Ravi speak when invited by Pastor Chuck Swindoll, and my heart is always immensely rewarded, and I leave wanting more. So thankful to call him "brother!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    It is one thing to regularly tune into Zacharias' podcasts, yet it does not take long before reading his books that he repeats a lot of what he says in only paraphrases from his books into his speeches. Regardless, I am glad to be familiar with the sound of Zacharias' voice, as imagining that voice speak the words of his books somehow makes them easier to understand for re along the lines of this particular book, I search the stories ever so heart breaking, while all the more meaningful with how Zacharias implements them alongside scripture and the Christian worldview. This is not a book of hopelessness, nor does it coddle. Any struggling Christian would do well to consider the thoughts this book provokes. This work is an extraordinary measure of which to equip oneself to handle life, while committed to or finding one's method of living in the ministry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    I really have fun Ravi [email protected]#$%! books. With the dictionary that comes with the kindle edition his books are very enjoyable. This particular book speaks to the individual on such subjects as love and worship. To test to describe Mr. Zacharias's books is like trying to describe the Bible. Yes there is a staring point but you just feel you would leave so much out that you would rather just tell them to read it as they surely won't be disappointed. What I can say is this is a very private book to the reader and Mr. Zacharias talks just to you unlike in some of his other books where it's about a particular subject. The topic in this book is you and your relationship with God. He does a unbelievable job and because of who he is and how he writes I could easily read it all over again and know I would obtain more out of it. Such insight! Truly a man of God with his understanding. I just appreciate Mr. Zacharias and his commitment to God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    Allow me first say that I have heard Dr. Ravi Zacharias speak in defense of the Christian faith. I consider him to be at the forefront of apologetics in providing logically constructive arguments for Christianity. So when I picked up this book I was looking to probe further into the philosophical foundations of the Christian faith.I commend Dr. Zacharias on delivering on what I had expected. There are just too a lot of treasure doves of insightful thinking found within the book. The illustrations and foundational thinking have impacted my view on problems of feelings, suffering, life, love, and e book attempts to cover a lot of various aspects of the human heart. Scripture is well versed and meaningful passages are extrapolated for the reader to ponder upon. Writers such as G.K. Chesterton and C.S. Lewis are quoted to provide correlating points of reference throughout the e problems are diverse but the author is able to connect all the points with a graceful flow. Of all the problems that Dr. Zacharias comes across, the cry for love is more prevalent. Far from being a romance, he is addressing the need of the human heart for a love beyond what most people even think about. Without giving out too much info I would simply like to say that I recommend this book to others looking into exploring the globe view of the Christian faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    RZ exposes the limited ability of the sensual to meet our utmost spiritual need. When the church focuses on feelings rather than God’s law or will expressed in his word she stumbles on and becomes ineffective in a globe that needs to search meaning and direction. As a believer my heart cries or struggles to integrate God’s express will or Law and Grace and reading this book helps me see how I must attention or obey everything God has commanded in faith. It seems to me that because GOD LOVES ME HE GIVES ME HIS WORD OR LAW for his namesake or glory for which I am. Praise be to God!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    One of Ravi's best! Cries of the Heart combines his deep grasp of Biblical truth with his understanding of primary human needs and the Bible's answers to those needs. I have almost worn out several hard copies through the years, and I am now glad to have it on Kindle so I can read it on my phone at any time. All topics are presented with excellence and grace. My favorites are about knowing God, pain and suffering, and loneliness (the story of Kathy at Covenant House rips my heart out every time). While I appreciate Ravi Zacharias as a person, one comes away from his writings and verbal presentations thinking how amazing God is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    It's not simple to respond the questions on pain, evil and suffering. A lot of aren't looking for answers as much as they wish excuses for private immoral behavior. Dr. Zacharias handled it all tactfully well. Anyone who cares to know the answers for themselves and to support others with these difficult subjects would have fun this read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    I bought this book before my greatest of pain and faith testing, but was lead to read it during this time. When we are going through trials, we are in the state of a yearning for absolute truth! Growing up in a culture that celebrates ambiguity, I found the words of this book give me "wings" to leave that dungeon of confusion,out of the muck and mire, to pursue solid truth and support others out of that globe of "false fun" to a globe of real joy and stability!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cries of The Heart: Bringing God Near When He Fells So Far []  2020-5-21 18:35

    Amazing insight into why life is worth living.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I never understood the full implications of the parable of the prodigal son. I appreciate getting the full story in a beautifully written book. The latest part is about the necessity of is is a small harder to like, because the author says that you cannot fully be a amazing person if you do not accept Jesus as your god. Perhaps this is real but if it is, than that's how it goes. In this case, I can not realize my full potential, since nothing but worshipping Jesus, accepting the Bible as the holy word of god, and belonging to a church can obtain you there.If you see nothing that you recognize as proof of something, than you don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    The parable of the prodigal son is oft explored as an affirmation of God's love, particularly toward those who have been reckless but now recognize Him as the source of salvation and fulfillment. Keller, then, opts not to repeat and rehash the exposition of other teachers. Rather, he looks at the hero often ignored: the elder brother. In his book, Keller makes the case that the elder brother necessarily deserves at least equal emphasis as the younger brother, particularly in light of the fact that with this parable Jesus was addressing the Pharisees, whom the elder brother represents. From this he teaches about the elder brother's role in the story, his heart, his response to the father, and the applicability of the elder brother to Christian ller spends the first five of seven chapters diving into the younger-elder brother contrast in detail. He shows the error of legalism, how it is a symptom of pride, and how it leads to a sense of entitlement. Elder brothers adhere externally and joylessly to the law in exchange for favors owed. But God is prodigal--that is, "reckless"--and He is merciful to save worldly younger brothers and moralistic elder brothers alike.But the final two chapters are where I think this book truly comes into its own. After talking about the problems--sins, really--of the two sons, Keller finishes his book with a look at the father. He looks at the parable's relation to the gospel, as well as a look at what a believer's life should look like in light of the gospel and this parable. God the Father sent His Son to the for our homecoming. He crushed His Son on the cross so that we might be welcomed into heaven, and eventually the fresh earth, to live in an eternal home with God. And in that eternity, there will be amazing feasting (Rev. 19, Is. 25, Matt. 8:11). His latest chapter, focusing on the "Feast of the Father," shows how we ought to live in experiential enjoyment of God. Keller does a amazing job of tying all the previous material back to applicability and how it works for God's glory. I found that these two chapters helped me understand more the grace of God, our subsequent gratification in God, and how they glorify God.Who is this book for? I think this book is best suited for non-believers and fresh believers, to correct any misconceptions they have about how to live the Christian faith. It clearly demonstrates the folly of legalism and introduces how we ought to live in enjoyment of God and the gospel. This book includes a amazing presentation of the gospel, which will be of amazing benefit for non-believers. For believers who are older and more mature in the faith, this book is a welcome reminder of why God does not accept legalism. I do have to note that I don't think this will be as substantive for older, more mature believers. Since the final chapter of this book covers, briefly, the same material as John Piper's "Desiring God," I search that they pair very well together. I happened to be reading "Desiring God" at the same time as "The Prodigal God," and I found this book's final chapter to be an perfect introduction to the principles explained in "Desiring God." More mature believers may benefit from the greater extent to which Piper discusses the enjoyment of God. Still, this book is helpful at causing us to find ourselves to see if we have become complacent and legalistic in our is book is not dense. It is not a multi-hundred page exposition and exploration of this parable. It is a concise look at the tale and its implications for the life of a real Christian. Neither is any of the material particularly groundbreaking, but it is solid teaching and a amazing reminder of the fact that elder brothers in the church, proponents of pride and legalism, are wayward sons. "The Prodigal God" is a fast and helpful read examining and denouncing pride and legalism and exalting the all-surpassing love of the Father.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    A lot of the books I read on here are for my private study, and my private interests, hence the chess books, but this book was for a sermon series that I have developed on the Prodigal Son parable. I have planned a years worth of sermons, so before I begin a fresh series of lessons, I start to read about the topic. This was why I selected to book. I wanted to blend something that was famous level with some scholarly reading on this parable. This book was insightful, and practical, and simple to read. I have never read any of Keller's material before, and left this book impressed. He is a amazing author, and does his homework in the text. The book tells the story of the Prodigal Son, though he notes that this is perhaps not the best title for the parable. The book looks at the major characters of the parable, which was helpful because that was the method I developed the series of lessons. He does a amazing job of highlighting the point of the parable within the attitude of the older brother, and using some of Willimon's material, of preaching to the baptized, this made a lot of connection to the text. A lot of the people in church will agree with the sinner coming home, but demonstrating the attitude of the older brother is the common sin in numerous church pews. The book does a amazing job of bridging the ancient social context with the modern world. This book helped with the sermon series and it would be a amazing book just to read on its own. It is short, interesting, and good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I can not recommend highly enough Tim Keller's The Prodigal God, which was just published this past week. The book is both simple on the eyes at 160 pages (an simple afternoon's read) but challenging to the heart. Keller takes us back to Jesus telling the story of the Prodigal Son, but he reminds us that "prodigal" does not mean "rebellious" or "wayward" but rather lavious and "recklessly spendthrift". As such that definition fits the father in the story as much as the son. Keller, helps each of us relate to either the younger son (as those who rebel versus God in outright and outward rejection of God), or to the older son (as those who rebel versus God by trying to manipulate Him by our moral behavior). As he does he shakes our understanding of what it means to be lost and helps us all see how we have run away from home. While we might not consistently express the attitudes and actions of one brother or the other, Keller explains: "Are we to conclude that everyone falls into one or the other of these two categories? Yes and no. A amazing number of people have temperaments that predispose them to either a life of moral conformity or of self-discovery. Some, however, go back and forth, trying first one tactic and then the other in various seasons of their lives. A lot of have tried the moral conformity paradigm, found it crushed them, and in a dramatic turn moved into a life of self-discovery. Others are on the opposite trajectory."Keller, thus, uses Jesus' story to support explain the culture battles we are experiencing today and to challenge each of us to examine how we approach God. His use of contemporary illustrations are remarkable, but most impressive is his helping us see the Gospel anew and know and feel the need for us to be refreshed in it continually. This book is a must read for both fresh and mature Christians as it does rediscover the heart of the Christian faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Amazing! I read this small book in an afternoon, and want I could convince everyone I know to take a few hours to read it too. I have recently been disillusioned with the view of Christianity that, as I've described, puts God "in a box" as this nice, neat small easily-defined idea that just needs a passing nod or an occasional "thanks!" or which does small to inspire awe and all-consuming love and humility. This book addresses both those Christians, as well as the wayward self-indulgent ones... how both miss the entire point of the Gospel, and how much life and joy and thankfulness there is when we break away from either of the sides we tend to lean. This has given me so much more insight into the Gospel, the entire story of the Bible and man's redemption from this one little parable, and the hope that God gives us to redeem us unto him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    A short read. Gives you a fresh perspective on the classic parable of the Prodigal Son. There is nothing in my opinion that is "groundbreaking" about this book. It is certainly worth reading for any Christian, but I wouldn't group it with the likes of "The Cross of Christ" (Stott), "Knowing God" (Packer) or "Mere Christianity" (Lewis) as Christian theological staples. Still, give it a read: You might learn something new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Yes, if you are a Christian. Yes, if you are not and are philosophically inclined. The parable of the prodigal son is well known: A son wants his inheritance and asks for it while his father is still alive. Even in our days, inheritances are received after the death of the parent, so asking for it before its time is at least disrespectful. The son goes on to squander his wealth and ends up taking care of pigs and desiring to eat the pigs' food. That is to say, he went low. He came back to his father with a humble attitude but from afar, his father saw him and run to him and threw a e analysis of the love and forgiveness that God has for those who want to come back to him is the main point of this parable. Or isn't it?Timothy Keller, who gets his theology from a very solid tradition of Biblical study, makes the case that sure, for all the ones who had gone the street of obvious and maybe degrading sinning, the notice is clear, come back and God will have no reproaches, but relief and begin arms, He loves you.But here comes the brilliance (Thimoty Keller's or other scholars I do not know), the parable tells a LOT about the older son, the one who stayed with his father, the one who obeyed, the one who "didn't sin" (in his own eyes), the religious, rule obeying one. Read the book to search out who is more lost, the lost sinner or the obedient religious son?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    "This short book is meant to lay out the essentials of the Christian message, the gospel." So begins Timothy Keller's fresh book The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith. Keller targets both seekers who are unfamiliar with the gospel and longtime church members who may not feel the need for a primer on the ller's book, as the provocative title suggests, is built on one of Jesus' most popular stories: the parable of the prodigal son (Luke 15). Keller consents that "on the surface of it, the narrative is not all that gripping." But, he contends that "if the teaching of Jesus is likened to a lake, this popular Parable of the Prodigal Son would be one of the clearest spots where we can see all the method to the bottom." Keller has taught from this passage a lot of times over the years, and says, "I have seen more people encouraged, enlightened, and helped by this passage, when I explained the real meaning of it, than by any other text."The book is laid out in seven brief chapters which aim to uncover the extravagant (prodigal) grace of God, as revealed in this parable. Keller shows how the parable describes two kinds of "lost" people, not just one. Most people can identify the lostness of the "prodigal son," the younger brother in Jesus' story, who takes his inheritance early and squanders it on riotous living. But Keller shows that the "elder brother" in the parable is no less lost. Together, the two brothers are illustrations of two kinds of people in the world. "Jesus uses the younger and elder brothers to portray the two primary ways people test to search happiness and fulfillment: the method of moral conformity and the method of self-discovery." Both brothers are in the wrong, and when we see this, we explore a radical redefinition of what is wrong with us. "Nearly everyone defines sin as breaking a list of rules. Jesus, though, shows us that a man who has violated nothing on the list of moral misbehaviors may be every bit as spiritually lost as the most profligate, immoral person. Why? Because sin is not just breaking the rules, it is putting yourself in the put of God as Savior, Lord and Judge just as each son sought to displace the authority of the father in his own life." As these quotes hint, Keller's exposition of the two sons lays the groundwork for a penetrating analysis and critique of both moral relativists on the liberal left and religious moralists on the conservative right, showing that the latter are just as lost as the former. What both need is Jesus, whom Keller presents as "the real elder brother," the one who comes to our rescue at his own expense. Through his grace, we are given hope and invited to the amazing feast of the with Keller's preaching, this book is smart and winsome, combining thoughtful reflection on both text and culture with searching heart application. Keller's book is effectively illustrated with a liberal use of stories and quotations from literature, movies, and the arts. Most imporantly, the book orients the reader's heart to the hope of the gospel of God's grace revealed in more note: for readers who may have felt intimidated by Keller's latest book The Reason for God, don't shrink away from The Prodigal God. It is probably only 1/3 of the length and much easier to read. I highly recommend it to unbelievers, seekers and established Christians.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Book HighlightsThis book is an exposition of sorts centered around the Parable of the Prodigal Son as it is comonly known (or the Parable of the Two Sons as Keller likes to name it). The parable is only found in Luke 15:11-32. It is a familiar parable to a lot of Christians, being found in works of literature, scene productions, art and famous e primary story is that of a father and his two sons; and the younger son decided to ask for his share of the inheritance and decided to go and create a life on his own. He ends up squandering everything and eventually comes back to his senses and returns to his father. The father forgives him, but the older brother who did not rebel, does not. The story illustrates both the futility of sin and the futility of unforgiveness.Tim Keller does an awesome job of explaining the meaning of this parable. He teases out the nuances of the story and helps the reader face the story on a private level. One of his main points is that there are a lot of "older brothers" in our churches today, just as there are a lot of younger brothers who are estranged from the church. They stay away because they wish to avoid the older brother and reject his judgmental attitude and lack of ller helps the reader to see themselves in the story. He writes that a lot of of us are close to the older brother in our attitudes. What keeps us separated from God is not so much our moral failures, but our self-righteousness. We think that by "being good" that we deserve God's blessings and a relatively problem life. What we need to realize is that we are just as poor off as the younger brother in the the context of when Jesus originally told this parable, he was probably referring to the Pharisees. They were like the older brother in that they looked down on others and did not care for the lost sheep. The parables of the lost coin and the lost sheep present the priority of Jesus. Unlike the Pharisees, Jesus cares for the lost one. He seeks to save them from eternal death.EvaluationI thought that this was a unbelievable book. Tim Keller is a talented writer. While the book is based on a sermon, it certainly does not read like one. It flows very well and tends to draw the reader into the story. This book created me think more deeply about a very familiar parable. In the end, Keller encourages us to appreciate the importance of the gospel every day. We are all sinners in need of the grace of God. We will not experience freedom from sin through our own efforts, but only as we are transformed in our thinking by the gospel. God's undeserved grace towards us and the high that he is what motivates us to live in gratitude to God.I would agree with Keller's assertion that "Jesus is pleading not so much with immoral outsiders as with moral insiders. He wants to present them their blindness, narrowness, and self-righteousness, and how these things are destroying both their own souls and the lives of the people around them. It is a mistake, then, to think that Jesus tells this story primarily to assure younger brothers of his unconditional love...Jesus is saying that both the irreligious and the religious are spiritually lost, both life-paths are dead ends, and that every thought the human race has had about how to connect to God has been wrong." (page 11)In the end, I found this book very helpful. I was challenged and encouraged at the same. Any book that can do that is definitely worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Amazing book. Author pulls much more out of the passage in Luke often titled "Parable of the Lost Son" or "Parable of the Prodigal Son" (Luke 15:11-32) than the common interpretations we usually hear. I won't give away all the insights but there are two "lost" sons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enter the Kingdom of God: Find peace within your heart []  2020-7-28 19:40

    Jesus taught about the Kingdom of God, but what exactly does that mean? Some think that if you've found peace, joy and love, you've discovered what it is all about. Needless to say it can be a very mysterious subject so I'm interested in looking at it from different v J Martin has a special method of viewing things and I think he is accurate when he says that the Kingdom of God is God's presence inside of you. Basically letting God be in charge and being is book also has a lol funny story that anyone who has flown in a plane will relate usual, I enjoyed this book by Rev J Martin. He is a very talented author who speaks to the heart and soul in ways you can understand. As a natural Irish storyteller he entertains you while he teaches you biblical principles.~The Rebecca Review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enter the Kingdom of God: Find peace within your heart []  2020-7-28 19:40

    This is not among the better of the author's books. Although easy truths of faith are mentioned, they are too brief and didactic to really change the seeker. The stories are not that inspiring, as if coming from some other books rather than the author's own least to me, the author doesn't connect to my spirit. For instance, this standard "positive thinking" or new-age dictum doesn't ring tru-- example: "It's necessary that you realize that everyone was created perfect." As we look about the world, we see this isn't true. If it were, then we wouldn't need "corrective teaching" as found in this o much telling what to do, and not showing. "We must...we should...it is imperative to--" I've read some of the author's other booklets, and they are worth the reading. I feel this one isn't one of them. Judging by key words and phrases, it seems to me that the author is aiming for "search engine optimization" and not for the heart of the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enter the Kingdom of God: Find peace within your heart []  2020-7-28 19:40

    I always love Rev J Martin's books and this one is no exception. Here he talks about where the Kingdom is. In overcoming our fears and worries, we can enter it and we should persevere when people test to discourage us or circumstances test to obtain in the way. Fear and worry do that. This short book teaches you how.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enter the Kingdom of God: Find peace within your heart []  2020-7-28 19:40

    This book helped my anxiety greatly. I will read it over and over again. I have read a lot of of his books. He’s inspirational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enter the Kingdom of God: Find peace within your heart []  2020-7-28 19:40

    This is a simple, down to earth reading on the Kingdom of God and how we can gain access to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    There is something special about this prayer CD .It carries the anointing of God. Grab your copy now and the peace and power of God shall visit your homes all the days of your lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    The peace of God shines through this prayer CD! It is powerful, impactful, and edifying! I listen to it very often, even yes cry out to God! May His presence favor you as you listen to it also!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    Recommend this as a method to touch and agree. I love the Anointing on this Ministry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    This Prayer CD ushers me directly into the Presence of God!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    This CD is a special and distinct method to revolutionize your prayer life. With strong declarations you can guarantee prayer will never be the same for you. You are guided through intense warfare prayers that will support you increase the temperature of your own private prayer life. I urge everyone to purchase. It's definitely beyond average it's LIFE changing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    This prayer cd is amazing! I listen to it almost every day in my vehicle and feel blessed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    If you are depressed, sick or you are going through some tough times this CD will transform your life. I recommend....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prayer: My Heart to God []  2020-7-28 21:24

    A truly glorious method to praise the Lord. What a blessing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    I soooo enjoyed reading Anita’s story and learning from her. I have some mother-wounds of my own and it was helpful and encouraging to read her story and all that God has taught her throughout the journey. I loved how she included reflection questions and final thoughts (words of encouragement) at the end of each chapter. It really added a richness to the book. I appreciate her boldness and honesty. So much of her life would be hard to verbally tell. But through the written word, Anita has beautifully communicated aspects of her life and how they impacted her. But she didn’t stop there. She tells the reader how she has healed and how we too can search healing. What a gift! – nders

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    I was drawn to this book because I have wounds from the relationship I had with my mother. I wish to heal so I can improve my relationships with women in general. God fills a lot of the void in my heart. Anita makes herself vulnerable in her story. She contains deep reflection questions. She wrote, " You can subconsciously sabotage yourself through the words you choose to speak to yourself." She provides paragraphs of words of encouragement in her book. She expresses that she developed "shutting inward". I went through that too. The statement," Perhaps the river of Mother's love was flowing upstream versus resistance and withdrawal as I wasn't fulfilling the role of "scapegoat daughter" or "fantasy daughter". This latest quote resonates with me. She calls herself the black sheep of her family. That resonates with me. She defines emotional abuse as, " Real emotional abuse brainwashes the victim to systematically wear at the core of a person's self-confidence and self-worth, to where he or she develops mistrust in his or her perception of self-concept." "Gaslighting is a term used to describe when the abuser makes another person doubt her character, her perceptions, her memory, and her own sanity." This resonates. She writes about the four various attachment styles. They are secure, avoidant, ambivalent, and disorganized. She quotes Scripture throughout her book and refers to the feminine side of God. Another quote that resonates is, "God's ways and God's timing are amazing!" I call it Divine timing. She refers to forgiveness, "If we give it all to God it allows us to become all God create us to be - authentic, free, transparent, and not stuck in the wounds of the past."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    The author has written her deeply private story with intense honesty. She bravely recounts her history of attachment disorder, emotional abuse, physical and abuse. Her acc of finally recognizing the affects of her story on her adult life, resulting in her pursuit of professional help, is inspiring. I appreciate her understanding of brain development and neuroplasticity, and it’s role in her recovery. She weaves a story of healing that involves brain science, therapeutic treatment, and the love of God, a rare but important combination. I love how she makes available to the reader her own knowledge and experience of very private healing and recovery, including her thoughts on the need for forgiveness. The author’s visions of God’s mother love are profound. This book can be the catalyst for a lot of more healings/recoveries!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    The writer dives into painful childhood growing up that she place into play with a dream and a therapist. You can definitely tell that it was very painful to retell this whole entire story from begin to finish. Sometimes as one writes their story, it is a method of therapy, a method of healing of some sorts. The writer paints a picture of a difficult childhood but she wants her readers to know that you can in fact live through and obtain through a difficult situation that will in fact create you a stronger person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    Kicked to the curb by an emotionally abusive mother, the author loses her sense of private identity as a child. Like most abused children, the wounds linger into adulthood. Anita’s extremely well-written memoir shares her Christian path to healing. She faces her darkest emotions and ferrets out the limiting conclusions she drew about herself as a child. She adamantly calls for the Truth of her God-given identity to be restored. I love the method Anita formatted the book. Reflection Questions and Words of Encouragement at the end of the chapters provide a summary and clear guidance that every abused person can use to heal. Kudos to Anita Oommen for doing the rigorous work to restore her Authentic Self and deepen her relationship with God. Her attractive voice, which she shares so eloquently in this book, is a reflection of all the healing work she’s done. Thank you for giving the globe another solid demonstration of how we can rise above the pain of our past. I'll be recommending this book to my Christian clients with a mother-wound. – Review written by a licensed professional counselor and bestselling author of The Gifted Highly Sensitive Introvert: Wisdom for Emotional Healing and Expressing Your Radiant Authentic Self

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    Grabs you from the very beginning and keeps you following till the end. The author shared her hurts and scars and did not leave the reader, asking what the point was for the experience. The lessons learned from the experiences was clear and relatable. One doesn't have to experience what she went through to appreciate the lessons learned and how it can apply to everyone's life. It was sad to read about all the poor experiences she had growing up, but it was also refreshing to see how it all turned out. I like how she shared her faith and how integral it was in helping her obtain through it all. It led her to forgive all who had a hand in what happened to her. She went from being a victim to being a victor. Packed with gems and faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    I was immediately attracted to the book title and sub-title, because my own mom was the largest pain and abuser in my life. While reading author’s memoir, I felt her stories resonate so much with me, and it stirred massive emotions in me. Most importantly, it helped me recognize those deeply-hurt feelings and set them free. It was very healing for me. I am very grateful that the author shared her private stories and her vulnerability with us, so we can heal together with y of us carry some kind of emotional abuses from parents. Like the author, I had a broken childhood. My mom left me with my aunt when I was six months old. My aunt is a kind person with a golden heart, but she had six kids of her own, and a husband who abandoned the family. She tried her best to take care of me, but she didn’t have the education nor the time to nurture me. To create things worse, I was taken out of my aunt’s life completely when I turned nine years old. I returned to live my parents so I could walk to school with my younger sister when she reached school age. In my mom’s 30s and 40s, she was facing health challenges, a boss that created her life miserable, and she did not have emotional intelligence to handle the challenges. She accused me causing all the troubles in her life. She constantly points out my weaknesses and everything I did was wrong in her eyes. She repeated told me that I couldn’t search a husband and she had to take care of me until I am old. It gave intense insecurity later in life. Seeing the author going through related situations and created me realize that the mothering issue is extensive. The childhood feeling of abandonment, neglect, insults and punishment went with me well into my adult life. I too, questioned about my self-worth and took me a lot of years of self-discovery, learning and healing to finally able to build loving and trustworthy relationship with my husband and children. I also believe spiritual healing is the highest level of healing, and I am grateful the author uses her Christian faith to teach and heal. The best part I love is “forgiving the unforgivable” message, it is very strong and it speaks directly to my heart. I also love the reflection questions and words of encouragement at the end of each chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    Mum's voice becomes a child's inner voice. Truer words were never spoken. And this kid will grow up and will act according to these labels and will live up to what this voice told them. This entire book has words of wisdom like this in it.Every mother should read this book 'before' they raise their children. I want I had. Because even when we test our hardest and do our very best, we often enough just act from our own pain and wounds. Must read for all mums.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    This is a well written story and blueprint to healing deep wounds from childhood. Probably the toughest is a broken mother relationship. It created me realize more of the hurt that my inner kid required to heal from my own e thing that surprised me was how I digested the scriptures and stories from the bible. Because my father was a Christian hypocrite - I shy away from preachy bible toting people. But that is not the case here at all. The author makes bible stories understandable and relatable to the topic. It created me realize that God is my protector and that he can be a mother/father entity. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Up The Shards: Healing the Pain of Mother-Wounds, Discovering the Mother-Heart of God []  2020-1-21 20:48

    If you have ever suffered rejection, abuse, or mistreatment that left you broken and wounded, you need to read this book. The author faced rejection, manipulation, and deep wounds at the hands of her mother and other women in her life, but she overcame by finding her identity in the Lord and His love for her. Her story is one that will stay in my heart for a long time. We don't have to let the words and rejection of others to define us. We can pick up the shards of brokenness and put them in God's hands. He will restore and use the story to be a blessing to someone else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    Every amazing library should have this book of a sample from memory . . . "let your love play on my voice and rest on my silence, allow it pass through my heart into all my movements" . . . then it gets better and better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    very calming and encouraging read especially before going to bed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    Love this book. Condition of book just as descrived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    This book is so beautiful. The poems feel so contemporaneous, they are everlasting. Experiencing God's presence is timeless. This book is a amazing companion for everyday prayer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    This is my most treasured collection of prayers by Rabindranath Tagore. The prayers, which read like poetry, are ecstatic and inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    I enjoyed reading this very much. The language is heady and the points he wants to create are strong and full of love. I read it all in one shot and then started it over. Very nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    Spiritually moving

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    This is one of the most awesome books of spiritual reflections and prayers that can touch people of almost any faith tradition. The prayers are poems that are deep, beautifully and refreshingly poetic, insightful, authentic, and human. I continue to be stunned by the depth and beauty of the pieces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    Unbelievable book. Very "real" about what it is like to be on a spiritual journey. Also - simple to read, a + as far as I am concerned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore []  2020-1-28 23:6

    I love r me,It is a must to begin a page and read one or two, daily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    I've been on a Ravi spree. I've read 11 of his books in 3 months. He's an intelligent, inspirational, and humourous author. I also have fun watching his speeches online. We all faulter in our faith. And when I do, all I need is to pick up a Ravi Zacharias book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    I admire Ravizacarias. He is a Christian apologist and not for everyone. I bought this book for my morning devotions for the year. It has 52 devotions beginning each week with a Bible verse. The author discusses the logic of the idea presented in the verse in a couple of pages and then gives probing questions for the reader to consider. There is room for comments in the book. It has an introduction by the author at the beginning and and notes on the quotations at the end. I write my thoughts and meditations in a journal each day. I am very happy with the content and organization of the book; however, I am very disappointed in the book itself. As I began to use the book, each page began to separate from the binding. At three weeks each page that I have used has separated from the binding, and I expect it to continue. I have written to the publisher, Zondervan, concerning this problem, but have not received a answer thus far. I give the content five stars, but I advise you not to the book until the issue with the binding is corrected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    I was so looking forward to reading this, but two pages into the Forward and the pages are separating from the binding :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    User-friendly and very helpful. Helps place the pieces together into a clear, coherent picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    I was so looking forward to this book. I’d read the first reflection (to page 4) once when the binding started to split and the first section of pages fell out. I don’t wish to give the content of the book a poor review since I’ve barely begun it, but it seems I should not already be having this problem. Maybe kindle is a better option for this one. I’ll certainly edit this review once I’ve completed reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    I love reading how Ravi answers questions I’ve been attempting to respond for someone who is questioning things of God. Although I’ve felt mostly solid about a lot of theological problems for a lot of years, someone who doesn’t see my qualifications to respond these large questions of life and faith as can perhaps listen to the answers that Ravi has included in this book, someone unlikely to read through much of the Bible itself, and hopefully God use this to begin the eyes of a this person, a skeptic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    I just started my reading latest night. Everything else seems to be amazing except the quality of the book.5 stars for Ravi’s book. But One star off for the not good binding which really hurts my heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    I received a copy of this book to review and I loved it so much that I bought another copy for my BFF!I had heard of Ravi Zacharias, but I’d never read one of his books before despite my best mate being a large fan. I knew he wrote on apologetics, but that was about it. After reading this book, I am now a large fan myself.I zipped through this book in a matter of days—I just couldn’t place it down for long. Zacharias helps us create sense of the truths about God and how to practically apply them through his words and the reflective questions at the end of each roughout my journey in this book, I felt overwhelming encouragement to live a life for Christ and private conviction in locations of my life that I need to give to Jesus. Some people look for self-help, this book is sanctification help at its best. Jesus doesn’t leave us where we were when we first met Him, He pushes us to grow. This book supports spiritual growth and maturation as we apply God’s wisdom to our lives.What I love most about this book is that it clearly demonstrates the timelessness of our Lord God and His Word. Every chapter proves relevant to our culture and society today. I appreciate so much the wisdom to navigate a time where everyone can so readily be influential via the internet and social media. We are called to be various and Zacharias clearly outlines how God’s Word says to do it with Jesus and the Holy times, the language is quite academic, so be prepared to read and reread while taking breaks to ponder and relish the lessons. In those moments it makes sense that the authors himself recommends reading a chapter a week to savor and dwell in the truth ere were moments of clarity, moments of challenge, and truth after truth about the awesome God who loves us so much that He sent His Son to die for us. There’s so much encouragement in faith and in growth. You will be convicted as you reflect and consider how you can apply the lessons and truths to your own life.Go obtain this book! You won’t regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    This book is formatted into 52 chapters with questions to meditate on for a week. If you have gotten a headache from his books in the past - this one is easier to digest as you spend the time meditating on the questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Logic of God: 52 Christian Essentials for the Heart and Mind []  2020-1-22 22:42

    Ask students of apologetics, “Who has wielded the weightiest influence in the 20th century?” There may be a dozens of responses, and will, no doubt contain the well-known names of Francis Schaeffer, Gresham Machen, and C.S. Lewis. Each of these influential thinkers are with their Savior in heaven.Who has stepped in to continue the legacy of these titans of the faith in our generation? In my mind, Ravi Zacharias must be included in that list. While his first book, A Shattered Visage: The True Face of Atheism was largely unrecognized, it came at a crucial juncture in my Christian journey and continues to serve me over twenty-five years later. Since that day, Zacharias has continued to write in the field of apologetics and has influenced thousands of students around the world.Ravi Zacharias has encouraged Christian thinkers to craft careful biblical arguments and equipped them to engage people in the marketplace of ideas. But he has also challenged the skeptical mind with his brilliant intellect, keen insight, and winsome e Logic of God is the newest offering by Zacharias. This book includes 52 Christian essentials for the heart and mind. The book is targeted to Christian readers but it would be an perfect resource for skeptics to consider as well.Each chapter follows a predictable pattern. A subject is introduced, a Scripture is offered, and a brief 2-3 page discussion ensues. At the end of each chapter, readers are invited to consider a series of reflection questions and to walk down a path of private an avid reader, I must say that Zondervan has gone to amazing lengths to create this a attractive book. The hardback edition contains high quality glossy paper. The writing style is engaging and lucid. The person and work of Jesus Christ is celebrated. The Word of God is treasured. And readers are challenged to think through the exclusive nature of truth. Indeed, as the author notes, “Truth by definition is exclusive … The law of contradiction does apply to reality: two contradictory statements cannot both be real in the same sense. Thus, to deny the law of noncontradiction is to affirm it at the same time.” Such a statement reveals how Zacharias alerts readers to the importance of philosophy and how amazing philosophy contributes to effective of the things that emerges in this book is Ravi’s passion to wed reason and faith. This makes his style special and resembles the pattern that Francis Schaeffer popularized in the twentieth century. Zacharias writes,“The connecting of faith and reason is the unbelievable journey of the soul. When one’s thinking is set aright again and when the flesh has its shackles broken, the mind and body come under God’s liberating and fulfilling plan. Then we see as He designed us to see. When we come to know our Creator, the questioning is not for doubting but for putting it all together and marveling at His wonders.”Zacharias has a bonus for blending rationality and experience and wouldn’t think of having it any other way. His approach is desperately required in these postmodern times.I received this book from the publisher. I was not needed to write a positive review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Heart of Consciousness: A Brief Introduction to Heart Intelligence []  2020-6-26 18:46

    Amazing book that provides a foundation for further reading and exploration of heart intelligence. It is written in plain language and imparts valuable fundamental knowledge similar to a "thinking heart."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    An intensely personal, and at times soul-bearing acc of the writer's Vietnam Battle experiences, and beyond. Spanning from the mid-1960s up through the present, "Back to Vietnam" is not your typical American soldier's story. Penned by retired troops LtCol Bruce Logan--a man who survived two Vietnam tours--and his wife Elaine, the book takes you from Logan's first combat tour as an infantry platoon leader thrust into all the horrors of battle followed by the private dealing with the range of emotions fighters everywhere need to contend with, up until the show day as husband and wife search fresh purpose in philanthropic-type work in the country's nether reaches."Back to Vietnam" is as much a rite of passage book for a young combat leader as it is the reflections of an older, mature and introspective man certainly comfortable with himself and accepting of his own humanity, however imperfect.Elaine's contributions round out Bruce's experiences, not that either of them can be easily place into male or female roles; but together they produce a synergy that is greater than the sum of their parts. Their combination is enjoyable, refreshing and compelling. Stories of their philanthropic work there had me actually weeping at times; but I was always moved along by the goodness they seemed to magically uncover or parcel out. Certainly there is joy in reading of the amazing being done and the resilience of the people over whose land such a brutal battle was waged."Back to Vietnam" will be most meaningful, in my opinion, for people going to Vietnam for the first time, or for returning veterans, and those unique folks likewise interested in doing humanitarian work there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    Richard Botkin said it well: soul searing. This is a “must read”, but it is not an simple read. It rips right into your heart even if you were not one of the people intimately involved in Vietnam. Bruce has touched my soul over and over again. Bruce says he wanted us to remember Vietnam is a country, not a war, and he makes that intimately real. He also wants us to remember governments wage wants, not people. Thanks to Bruce, I will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    I loved this book. Its first-person acc weaving together a gripping narrative from a soldier who actually fought in Vietnam years ago and from his lady, who had never been to Vietnam. Their differing impressions and reactions create this book truly gripping. I read a lot and I don’t recall anything quite like this. I found the method the authors describe the culture and the day to day in a very foreign land is mesmerizing and clear. The authors relate how they fell in love with a people and culture which differ greatly from “western” experience, and a people the USA spent a lot of years fighting. There’s no preaching here, just a moving presentation of the effects of both the past on all involved and show day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    It is a memoir and a journey. Bruce and Elaine bravely share with us their innermost feelings and experiences of their relationships with Vietnam, it's attractive people, and culture that spans over 47 years. It is a story of war, healing, and moving forward that has a notice for all of us that we are all alike and are here for the purpose of helping each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    Attractive writing that captures the real essence of Vietnam - the fascinating culture, the unbelievable people, the contradictions and the challenges. I read it on the plane on the method back to Vietnam and felt like I was already there. This is an necessary book and moving memoir filled with necessary lessons about resilience, hope, and the journey of reconciliation. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    As a 66-year old woman who witnessed the Vietnam Battle as a teenager and beyond, this treatment of an extremely unpopular battle - not that any battles victory popularity contests - grabbed me from the first page. Through a US Veteran's accounting, the reader is plopped right into the action - and the emotions - that both Americans and Vietnamese experienced. But this very worthwhile read is more than that: it shows what battle does to the soil in which battles take place, and to the hearts of those who by duty or happenstance were thrown into battle. For those individuals who survived, Back to Vietnam exposes the rawness - and the redemption - that can occur in those survivors so many, a lot of years later. Thank you, Bruce and Elaine, for crafting such an extraordinary book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    Perfect reading - I was part of Bruce's baptism of fire. He articulated the situation better than anyone I have known. Very therapeutic for all Vietnam only disappointment is that I could only the book as an e-book. I wish a hard copy of the book. I would also like his mailing address so that I may personally acknowledge his/my experience of 22-23 October ank you for the opportunity to express my arles Larsen, former squad chief/door gunner with the 116th Assaults Helicopter Company RVN. 66-67.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    This was a unbelievable that book and as a Viet Nam veteran it created alternately laugh and cry, be sad and be happy. Much thanks to Bruce and Elaine for their unbelievable memoir and for all the work that they are doing to support the Viet Namese people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    Loved this book! Vietnam has struggled with occupation for hundreds of years. The strength, endurance and resilience of the Vietnamese people is the backbone of Vietnam. This book captures the very heart of this attractive country, the awesome people! Thank you Elaine and Bruce for sharing your wonderful adventures!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart []  2020-9-12 19:10

    In Back to Vietnam: Tours of the Heart, Bruce Logan and Elaine Head have written a book that recounts Bruce’s battle experience and the humanitarian work Bruce and Elaine have done and continue to do in over ten years of travel to Vietnam. Occurring from 2006 to the present, their extended stays have enabled the couple to build relationships and result healing for people on both sides of the war. The vivid verbal descriptions made by Bruce and Elaine--sometimes powerful, sometimes colorful, sometimes humorous, always enlightening—transport readers to people and locations otherwise beyond reach.A Chinese proverb cited at the beginning of one of the latest chapters of the book reads, “He who returns from a journey is not the same as he who left.” The wisdom of the proverb can be applied to readers of this urneying through this book will give fresh insights into the war, into Vietnam today, and into the meaning of reconciliation and healing. I am in awe of how much change for amazing can be brought about by two retirees who their private and professional skills for the betterment of people in a faraway place. Turning the pages of this book allows the reader to enter into the country of Vietnam, into the hearts of its people, and into the hearts of the authors who love the country and the people there. I am not the same after reading this book, and I highly recommend the book to those who wish to broaden their perspective on happenings and people of another time and place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Experience of God []  2019-12-20 18:37

    Seriously, I search this book labor intensive to read. I often search it difficult to finish a sentence with my eyes rolling backwards into the recess of my skull. You have got to be kidding me. Dude, seriously, I’m sure the gentleman knows this subject, but honestly, it’s just written in a manner to prove to you just how damn well he knows his material. Tout Court, did the guy really need to write tout Court in a sentence that was already seven lines long. I mean I understand it, but seriously, talk about overkill. This book was recommended to me by a stranger. I’ll hold reading. I’m early into it, but wow, it just seems verbose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    Wright's introduction, Afterword, and Appendix highlight this book for me---and throughout, the vital evolution of non-zero-sum awareness, with its potential to reconcile religion and science---which the future of human civilization on the planet may depend on. His candor, clarity, and keen historical insight are truly refreshing, even when the history is truly god-awful. Rigorous scholarship, massively footnoted, can create for tedious reading, but his wry humor and colloquial phrasing ease the way. He does not cite current developments in Jesus scholarship, however, which disappoints me. Whether he's unaware of the Jesus Seminar, and work by folks like John Dominic Crossan, Marcus Borg, and John Shelby Spong, or knows and discredits them, I found no clue. Regardless, this is the most objective and thorough consideration of God up to now, and maybe for a long while yet to come. It challenges true-believers and rabid disbelievers, alike. It's a keeper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Evolution of God []  2020-1-18 20:30

    This long book is quite an achievement. Wright presents a very plausible scenario for how the monotheistic God of Abrahamic religions evolved. It clearly won't appeal to most adherents of those religions or any religions for that matter. However it is very well written, fairly compelling, well researched and very thorough. Highly recommended.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386