Read negotiating rationally reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all negotiating rationally reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating the Sustainable Development Goals []  2020-8-8 19:42

    Felix Dodds has been a welcome fixture of the sustainable development process since the 1992 Earth Summit and Agenda 21. No author I know has the capacity and talent for yzing the agonizing negotiations over decades. His insight, contacts and ability to conceptualize created him the person to truthfully record the SDG history and intricate negotiations leading to the hopeful 2030s. In this recent coauthored book he transcends the stakeholders perspective and delves, as he always did, into the background of what governments decided, and why. I highly recommend this book for all those interested in following the process.Andrey Vavilov, Ph.D., formerly with the IISD Earth Negotiations Bulletin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    The book as a standalone is a amazing resource. Paired with the coursera course, it's a small redundant. I would say choose one over the other unless you are paying for the certificate. I enjoyed the book and felt like there were some great, high level ideas I can apply in business and in life. I just couldn't stand hearing it repeated at such a slow pace during the course. I actually sped it up to 2X the natural speed because I couldn't stand how slow he talks. He seems like a nice guy and knows his stuff, just talks to slow. So again, I give the book a five. I just think it drops in value if you are ALSO taking the course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    I really enjoyed this book. Amazing examples and simple to read. The book is text to speech enabled so you can listen to the book or read the book. This is an perfect useful book for almost anyone I feel. I recommend this book without qualifications. It is a amazing value for the cash too. Perfect checklists. Eldon Edwards

    0  


    Add your opinion on negotiating rationally or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    Whether you're in the business globe or at home, you can modify the concepts of this book to work out problems to your favor without being confrontational. Believe me, I have a teenage daughter and this book has helped me calmly deal with her and come out ahead without causing a bigger problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Physicians Comprehensive Guide to Negotiating []  2020-4-7 18:30

    first of all, i do think this is a valuable book--it is a valuable introductory primer for the art of negotiating a medical contract. it is not, in my opinion, worth as much cash as i paid for it ($125). it lays the foundation for what will be your negotiating strategies but it contains some rather unnecessary tip and imaginary situations that are more distracting than useful. in my opinion, and it is only my opinion and not gospel or anything, every physician should consult with an attorney in the state in which they want to practice and have the attorney review the proposed contract AND negotiate the terms for you. yes it will be more expensive but in my experience there are just too a lot of problems that can arise from an obliquely (or intentionally unevenly) written contract that can obtain a physician into trouble. look for an attorney IN THE STATE YOU WANT TO PRACTICE IN (this is critical) and create sure he/she is familiar with noncompete clauses/restrictive covenants, and other special elements of a medical contract. and, yes, have he/she negotiate for you, especially if you are a young physician new out of training. it will cost some cash but if you have competent representation it will be well worth it. if you are buying into a practice, HIRE AN ACCOUNTANT. period. i think this books tries to create a physician feel like he/she can do all this items themselves--you really can't. obtain professional advice. check this book out from the library or borrow it from your university library, but i don't think it is important to own it--put the cash towards the contract spet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    A very well written book for both primary level and more advanced level knowledge on M&A transactions explaining both the practices in the shop as well as the reasons behind them. The examples of each type of provision compliments perfectly the theoretical ysis, making it easier to comprehend in depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    This book breaks up the M&A process into bite-sized, easy-to-digest parts without being too lengthy overall. I found the shop practice statistics and battle stories very helpful. I will be referring back to this book after I begin practicing as a junior lawyer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    It’s not an simple read. It’s a bit slow but I would say that it is useful. A lot of concepts were taught to me in my MBA, so it’s like a mini mba for a lot less money. I recommend reading it a lot of times and putting it to practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Entertainment Law Mentor - Negotiating Exclusive Songwriting Agreements []  2020-7-28 18:59

    Unbelievable book. I purchased other books that claimed to break down melody contract clauses, but this book, despite only covering an exclusive songwriter agreement, was far superior to those other books. Mr. Weaver breaks each clause down into primary english, then tells you what it actually means, and then yzes what a writer would want, and what a publisher would want. For those who haven't been negotiating these contracts for years, this book is so very instrumental in making up for that. My only want i stat Mr. Weaver covered a greater dozens of contracts. Definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    This is a unbelievable book for understanding the fundamentals of M&A. Chapters are broken down into sections, which makes it simple to appreciate the different moving parts at each scene of the deal process. If you need to read up on a particular topic, the index does a amazing job referring you to the relevant sections. The book is replete of sample provisions, battle stories and charts, and the endnotes accompanying each chapter are an perfect resource for further reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    Create the Deal lays out a excellent outline for M&A dealmaking. The book overviews the seemingly complex deals and explains all parts with an admirably clear and easy language. All chapters contain precise examples, battle stories and sample provisions which are extremely helpful in understanding the conceptual terms and the corporate jargon. It is a must-have book especially for junior lawyers in the corporate sector.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    Negotiation is an ART. It aligns with counseling and one must be able to ask insightful questions on the spur of the moment to be successful and fully understand what it is that the person you are negotiating with, wants and what his/her boundaries are. The same is real for yourself. It is the clarity that you have in these situations that will support you succeed in negotiation or walk away from the negotiating is book is perfect at defining these parameters are. I recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Physicians Comprehensive Guide to Negotiating []  2020-4-7 18:30

    I liked the format of this book, in that it is full of rather brief examples of negotiating conversations and what went right or wrong with each scenario. This format works well for me.I borrowed this book from a mate of mine. Although I really like the book as a primary primer on negotiations, I don't think it's worth the price as listed. Thirty or thirty-five dollars would be more appropriate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Entertainment Law Mentor - Negotiating Exclusive Songwriting Agreements []  2020-7-28 18:59

    When I came to Nashville in the mid 70's I had no idea of the songwriter and publishing contracts that I would be getting involved in. Luckily for me, I was running with, and dealing with songwriters and publishers that were honest and cared whether or not my interests were being protected when signing these contracts. That's not always the case for everyone that comes to Nashville. After reading Entertainment Law Mentor by C. Stephen Weaver I know I have found the excellent reference book for these contract situations. Weaver makes it plain and easy for anyone to understand the legal jargon of these contracts. This book explains all the how's and whys, and questions you are bound to have when negotiating songwriter and publishing deals. Want I had this book when I first came to Don Singleton.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Entertainment Law Mentor - Negotiating Exclusive Songwriting Agreements []  2020-7-28 18:59

    As a songwriter, publisher, law student or aspiring entertainment attorney, do you need guidance negotiating and drafting an exclusive songwriting agreement? If so, C. Stephen Weaver's Negotiating Exclusive Songwriting Agreements must be on your bookshelf or in your desk drawer. Whether you are looking in a textbook or researching online, you will not search a more comprehensive breakdown of an exclusive songwriting agreement. Drawing from his 30 years of experience as an entertainment attorney, Weaver does a masterful job of detailing agreement necessities from the perspectives of both the songwriter and publisher. Best of all, Weaver explains all key aspects of an exclusive songwriting agreement in terms that anyone can understand and he makes sense of legal jargon that inevitably clouds most agreements.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    I read this book 3x. It has so much valuable info and practical guidance that I could not stop on my first reading. It is a really an awesome book, and I'd say the best starting choice for anyone who would like to understand how the various clauses in an M&A contract can affect the whole agreement as well as learning what are the core points of each part. Really recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    This is definitely an useful handbook for law students who will become junior associate practicing corporate law. Christ gave a detailed yet well organized and concise explanation of terms in M&A transactions, which could be overwhelmingly complicated for junior associates. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    The content is great. However, if you have taken the Coursera course by the author on the same topic, the book doesn't add anything extra; just serves as class notes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    There is amazing content in this book, but you can obtain the same content from free by following the online course "Successful negotiation" -from the same author- at Coursera. Everything in this book is covered in the online course, and you obtain the gift of having Mr. Siedel explaining concepts and providing relevant examples. Mr. Siedel is perfect at this, and it is like having your own personal tutor instead of merely following along a book.I don't regret buying the book, I see it like a method to repay for the free online experience. You may still wish to buy it, too, but you will miss a richer experience by not trying the online class as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    Amazing tutorial on negotiations. Prof. Siedel takes you methodically through the negotiations process. Almost without noticing, you begin to understand the process, what is event in the mind of the other side, how to measure you odds, what to do to reach an agreement and what to avoid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    The book was good, includes amazing topic matter and stories to help in backing the meaning and memory retention. One item missing from the book that would have been useful would be an index. While the book is reasonably short and finding subjects isn't terribly hard the index would help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    Create the Deal is an perfect approach to the subject of M&A. The discourse, the 'war' stories told together with sample provisions are all amazing value adders. I bought the book after participating in a M&A training work - June in Fresh York. Christopher Harrison facilitated one of the sessions for the group of diverse specialists and executives from different countries . He is definitely a master of his craft.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Physicians Comprehensive Guide to Negotiating []  2020-4-7 18:30

    I agree with the previous reviewer that "every physician should consult with an attorney in the state in which they want to practice". But with that said, this book helped me enormously even in preliminary discussions with practices I was considering when looking for a position. I did hire an attorney when I was negotiating my contract, and he commented favorably on my understanding of the pertinent issues. I have also since been invited back recurrently to my former residency to speak to the graduating residents about contract negotiations and transitioning into a fresh position. I think this book is part of the reason I was so well prepared. I also think this is the most useful reference I have seen for the process, and it helped me to feel much more competent as I went through discussions with multiple practices offering me positions. This may not keep real for everyone, but for me it was an essential reference. The price is steep, but the pearls will probably impact the majority of one's career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Physicians Comprehensive Guide to Negotiating []  2020-4-7 18:30

    First, I agree with the preceding review in so far as contracts need to be negotiated with at least the support of specialists (attorney, accountants, etc.). Allowing specialists to perform 100% of the negotiation, however, may not be important or practical.What I like about this book is the insight into the PROCESS of negotiating as it pertains to physicians, or for that matter, any negotiation. Of course, everyone must decide for herself/himself to their comfort level their involvement in the negotiation, but I do not see how one can avoid it , I have no financial or other interest in this book or the authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    I used this book to gain a primary understanding of how mergers and acquisitions work and what the common contract provisions are that parties use to shift risk onto one another throughout the deal process. I really liked how Harrison explains complex transaction mechanics in easy language and clearly lays out the rationales behind every major contract element.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    Tremendous resource. Clear, crisp writing that deconstructs the M&A process doent by doent and provision by provision. Helpful sample provisions, shop practice statistics for certain provisions, and battle stories tutorial both junior associates and partners towards closing. The shop practice statistics are especially key in that they provide both a shop check and help for potential negotiating position(s). Want I had this book earlier in my career. Gifting it to a former colleague, current SEC OM&A staffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the Deal: Negotiating Mergers and Acquisitions []  2020-4-3 19:7

    I love how easy and useful this book is. I am not a seasoned corporate lawyer. In fact, I was transitioning from litigation to corporate law. This book is useful in understanding the basics of corporate transactions esp, what goes on during the negotiation of M&A deals. Battle stories were the most interesting approach. Makes the book interesting as well as simple to grasp and retain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating for Success: Essential Strategies and Skills []  2020-1-24 21:34

    This is an perfect negotiation book. I encourage you to read the book in conjunction with the MOOC that Professor's Siedel made on "Succesful Negotiation: Essential Tactics and Skills" in Coursera. Anyway, the book is a amazing read and of highly practical use by itself as e book is special in its organization by covering each step in the negotiation process chronologically from preparation through performance. Accordingly, the book is organized as follows:Unit I: Prepare to NegotiateUnit II: Use Key Tactics and Strategies During NegotiationsUnit III: Close Your Negotiation With a Binding ContractUnit IV: Complete Your End GameAppendix A: Negotiation Planning ChecklistAppendix B: Example of a Completed Negotiated Planning ChecklistAppendix C: Assess Your Negotiating StyleThe chronological order of the book created it simple to understand and each chapter has a "Key takeaway" summarizing the most necessary concepts covered. Further, the book provides concrete examples and case studies to present how the concepts are applied in practice and is written in a style which provides deep insights through plain language.I particularly enjoyed the Negotiation Style Assessment and the Chapter on the "Use of Psychological Tools" for negotiation. These set of tools are applicable to a lot of other locations besides negotiation, such as decision making and litigation.I highly encourage you to purchase this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Entertainment Law Mentor - Negotiating Exclusive Songwriting Agreements []  2020-7-28 18:59

    Attorney Steve Weaver translates his topic matter expertise in his recent publication,the Entertainment Law Mentor. The book is informative, thorough and a amazing resource to existing and aspiring entertainment lawyers, publishers and songwriters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    I've been in business for a lot of years and read several negotiating books. This one has the most usable, true globe items of any of them. This book should be REQUIRED reading for anyone who wants to obtain more from their regular dealings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    Being a true estate agent, I have to use negotiating all the time. This book is a bible on negotiating. It's impossible not to pick up negotiating hints while reading it no matter how long or how you are using negotiations. Strongly suggest that you pick this up. It's a fast read - not boring at all. If you haven't read it, obtain it and sit down and read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    This book covers angles of negotiating that I had never considered before. The amazing thing about this book is that it covers how to deal with a negotiation tactic from both the buyer and seller's perspective. I was amazed at how a lot of "tactics" are used in the negotiation process and how each can be instigated or diffused. The book also contains a lot of true examples of how these strategies have been used in history between countries to hammer out negotiations. We all negotiate during our lives and anyone would benefit from learning about how to do it correctly. Like the book says, any reduction in cost you can get in the negotiation process goes right to your bottom line. Negotiated savings is the quickest cash you'll ever make.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    A textbook for the Harvard Negotiation Project. This book is for too much for the average joe. It is more for people who must negotiate for a living - that's a lot of us. It is "Getting To Yes" writ large. Where the ground breaking "Getting To Yes" can support everyone, "Beyond Winning" is more aimed at people whose lives and careers require professional negotiation. The book is for serious negotiators, not amateurs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    nice book with amazing quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal Counseling, Negotiating, and Mediating: A Practical Approach []  2020-1-27 21:16

    If you are familiar with the primary jargon of Not Being a Jerk ("active listening," "developing rapport," "empathetic understanding"), then this book will add nothing to that knowledge. This book is also a not good incentive for professors, who render reading assignments superfluous if they discuss the selection for more than four mins in class, and thus will not teach anything in class.Just don't do it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Amazing book, and amazing stories to support explain the authors points.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Its a amazing book to be acquainted with general negotiating tactics. It is a better book to hold as reference for when you need to refresh or review before a negotiation and create sure you are going in with the best tactic for your desired outcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    Had to purchase this book for my negotiation class, while the info is quite technical and meticulous it provides amazing info and In depth info on how to reach your desired solution. While boring at times, generally provides interesting and well thought out examples. Highly worth the read for classes or for daily life

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    The title of Fisher and Ury's book is Getting to Yes - Negotiating Agreement without Giving In. It's a case where the title clearly lays out what the book is about. In Getting to Yes the authors present, step by step, how to search your method to a win-win solution that helps meet your goals while at the same time preserving the relationship so that future negotiations also go is book was the assigned textbook for a college course I took on negotiation, but it's one of those fairly rare cases where the material that's useful for a college course is also immensely useful for off-the-street people in a dozens of situations. This book avoids complicated jargon and long, droning background chapters. Instead, it plunges into helpful info to help people in negotiating for a fresh car, negotiating problems with their landlords, and all the a lot of ways we all negotiate for our position throughout gotiation isn't just for union leaders trying to avert a strike. All of us negotiate each day as we test to juggle our a lot of roles. We negotiate with our co-workers over assignments. We negotiate with our family members over chores. In an ideal globe all of those discussions would go quickly, smoothly, and with as small strife as tting to Yes provided numerous helpful examples which created their points more simple to understand. It is so real that people tend to remember stories where they might not remember dry text. When I think about this book I do remember several of the stories clearly, and those support to represent the points the authors were making. The stories support remind me to focus on the problems when negotiating and to look for objective standards to work e info presented is wonderful, and immediately useful in life.On the down side, this is a fresh ver of older material. The authors chose to hold the initial book in its original form and then add on extra info at the end. I appreciate for historical reasons why they wanted to do that. However, from a new reader point of view, I feel they should show an integrated whole which most clearly presents the full information. The method the book is laid out currently, you have to go back and forth to search all info on a given so, the format is not laid out for simple reference. If they went more for a "dummies" style with an simple to scan layout, graphs and charts to quickly search and scan, and fast end-summaries, that would create this more useful as a reference book to hold on a shelf. Right now if I had an problem to handle it would be less than fast to grab the book and search the answer. I would have to wade through the book to figure out where to obtain the help I ill, I do recommend that everyone read this book at least once, to build their skills in negotiation. It's something we all have to do!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Evil: When to Talk to Terrorists []  2020-9-27 18:46

    This is an outstanding, essential book. Reiss takes us deep inside one of the most crucial problems of our age - when and how to speak with terrorists. Must reading for all American citizens and globe leaders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Graduate School: A Guide for Graduate Students (Study Skills) []  2020-11-25 18:47

    Simple to read, but quite outdated in statistical info and scenarios. Author has a beautiful amazing sense of humor, so it's not painful to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collective Bargaining in Education: Negotiating Change in Today's Schools []  2021-1-25 20:3

    Since this book was published in 2006, a lot has happend that has not been addressed by specific instance. However, since much the seeds of what has come to fruition were being sowed more than a decade ago, this book does stand the try of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    This is a must read for anyone involved in drafting, reviewing, and negotiating contracts. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    This book is really informative and an simple read. It really gives you all the info you need to be prepared as a subcontractor. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    Simply Remarkable. Everyone should read this book, because it would create life simply better by helping to deal better with is is one of the best if not the best book on negotiating I have read. It's a book that I would be reviewing from time to time. Using the techniques, tools and skills I have learnt to create victory victory situations for my business and life. It can do the same for e book you don't read, won't help. Invest in this book today, you will be glad you did. You certainly don't wish be less skilled negotiator in a business deal.Go negotiate with power!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    This is the only book you will ever need to read in order to be a better negotiator than 99% of the population. Whether you are a millionaire CEO, entrepreneur, housewife or college student, you will search universal principles in this book that can create a profound difference in your life. Dawson discusses easy rules and techniques of negotiating that can give you the edge you need, whether it is in a high dollar business deal or simply getting your children to do their homework. Equally important, Dawson's theories and teachings will support prevent you from making critical mistakes in your negotiations. Most people violate the easy rules of negotiating and set themselves up to lose from the very beginning, without even realizing it. These easy mistakes can cost you lots of cash over the course of your life, and therefore this book is a critical investment in your financial future. I would go as far to say that it is costing you cash to NOT read this book. Even if you aren't a business person, this book will support you save cash on everything from buying a home to ping for furniture. I've read a couple other books on negotiation after this one, but they were not as helpful, and largely redundant and unnecessary. This is the book you want.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal Counseling, Negotiating, and Mediating: A Practical Approach []  2020-1-27 21:16

    Honestly this book in helpful in understanding how to interview And counsel clients.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    This is an perfect modern review and extended app of the principles included in the famous Getting To Yes.I am a lawyer, and this is the book we used in the PIL (for Lawyers) at the Program of Negotiation in Harvard. After reading it, I kept it for regular and constant reviews. It is a MUST if you are interested in developing your negotiation knowledge and skills. In my opinion, this is definitively Robert H. Mnookin's best book yet in the negotiation field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    Amazing resource for our business / marketing classroom - we are always looking for fresh resources for our students to have access to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    This book has been around for quite a while and is vaunted by a lot of as THE book on negotiation. I, like a lot of others, am unconvinced. If you have never negotiated anything in your life, this is the book for you. It's a amazing primer, but it's far from all-encompassing. The authors admit that it is not meant to cover everything, though. It teaches what's known as "principled negotiation," which is a non-adversarial style. It's particularly useful for business deals and private conflicts, since it emphasizes mutual issue solving and de-emphasizes taking positions, thus allowing everyone to "win."On the other hand, anyone who has successfully negotiated even the most minor of deals (i.e. haggling), won't search this as useful. In order to be effective, you have to convince all parties to accept the premise of principled negotiation. If they don't the whole system falls apart. Furthermore, if you are in an adversarial proceeding (lawsuit, arbitration, etc.), this is fairly useless. In those proceedings, the other party either doesn't care whether you "win" or actively wants you to lose. If you come up versus a manipulator, the practices in this book will prove to be more hindrance than help. I had to read this as part of a law school class. To place it mildly, other aspects of the class were far more useful than this tom Line: a amazing starting point. Just don't create it a stopping point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    This book is not about teaching one a bag of tricks or, acting unnaturally during negotiations. Rather, it informs on genuine, obviously well studied, techniques that refine natural interactions. It takes into acc that opposing parties may be genuinely convinced of being in the right. It is not about beating down someone, devious machinations, or the art of brinkmanship. The info and thought process discussed in the book is just as applicable to everyday interactions, as it is to significant and serious situations and formal negotiations. It provides easily adaptable techniques that enhance negotiation, while remaining respectful and considerate to oneself and the adversary. The reader is created to appreciate that there are two sides to a story and the solution most likely is to work to a third outcome, acceptable to all parties.While the lengthy preface and foreword etc. were off putting and the beginning of the book appeared unpromising, in the sense that it seemed to follow the typical pattern of a lot of such books by promising much. Therefore, I was afraid, related to a lot of it might turn out to be all smoke and mirrors. This book delivered. It is obvious that the authors have an impressive command of their topic matter, which is discussed in an interesting and easily understandable manner. It truly deserves its best seller status.I would highly recommend this book to anyone seeking proficiency in the art of negotiation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School []  2020-6-27 18:22

    This is an necessary book for anyone who cares about education. Jessica McCrory Calarco doents that by late elementary school years, middle-class kids have learned to badger their teachers so persistently that whether they wish to or not their teachers end up caving in to their demands, giving them additional time, answers to try questions, and exemptions from the consequences of rule-breaking. I knew that middle-class parents demanded all those things on behalf of their children, but I did not know that by 4th or 5th grade the kids could so effectively do this on their own.And the working class kids? Their parents felt equally strongly that they wanted their kids to be successful, but their ver of success valued more highly being of amazing character, being respectful, and being self-reliant. All this translates, in a busy classroom, to their struggles being overlooked in the cacophony of a classroom dominated by the demands of their more assertive it. Obtain angry. Demand better of your school for all the kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    This book changed my life. Absolutely would recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Evil: When to Talk to Terrorists []  2020-9-27 18:46

    This is not only an perfect book for academics who wish to truly understand the true globe of dealing with terrorists but a must read for diplomats all over the globe. Mitchell Reiss has demonstrated what it takes both by his previous involvement in Northern Ireland and by his insightful interviews with the key players in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Evil: When to Talk to Terrorists []  2020-9-27 18:46

    extremely interesting read, very timely with globe happenings today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quick Guide: Communicating and Negotiating with Debt Collectors []  2020-11-25 20:3

    A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Graduate School: A Guide for Graduate Students (Study Skills) []  2020-11-25 18:47

    Read the books of Dora Farkas, Dale Bloom, or Robert Peters instead of this one. Anemic, generic advice. The author assumes that everyone in graduate school is doing work in the social sciences, and spends too a lot of pages on the format of a study in the social sciences, instead of simply saying, "Follow the format that your department encourages". He completely ignores the true sciences and the humanities. He also uses the term "appendixes" - uh, Mark, the correct term is actually "appendices".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    Amazing book as a little business owner, I could have saved my self a few headaches over the years if I would have known so of this information. Very well written so anyone can understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    Informative, entertaining, and often funny, this is a must-read for all subs in the construction world. Quit Getting Screwed breaks out each part of the subcontract in an easy-to-read format. This info is crucial to understand before signing your construction contracts. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    Amazing Book to support subcontractors protect their legal interests when dealing with General Contractors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    I first read this in 1983, when my husband was in his first year of law school. I've remembered over the years and tried to apply some of the principles that i learned in my private and professional life. I recently attended some professional (non-legal) training, and one of the facilitators was a lawyer who led a discussion about how to negotiate when there is disagreement. As he spoke, I recognized the principles as the same ones I'd read in Getting to Yes so long ago. At the end of his presentation, he referred to this book. I decided to buy a fresh copy and read it again. It has been updated, and the fresh material is a amazing addition. Still a very handy tool for private or professional negotiation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    Getting to Yes by Roger Fisher and William Ury. I took the dispute-resolution Negotiation Project course at Harvard more than 30 years and it’s guided me ever since in communication strategies. The subtitle gives you the point: getting to “yes” (which I now translate as converting “me” or “I” to “we”) is about Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In. What’s this mean to the enterprise communicator? It cuts to the quick: stakeholder development means “yes” is the goal and best achievable outcome. The enterprise—put into result by the communicator—gets on the front line and gets rid of obstacles. She negotiates, maybe without realizing it, when she creates understanding of win-win values in the deals with customers, employees, investors and others (in fact, with media, competitors, families of employees, on and on). And as always, focus. Think and act with the end in mind: agreement. You can use the Getting to Yes principles every day, in the stakeholder ecosystem and at colleague C-level: disentangle people from problems, you know your interests but focus on the other’s interests (which reminds me of @#$% Martin’s Otherwise, discussed later). “Yes” means lasting leadership because it zeroes in on the practical bond of mutual gain. Penguin Books, revised with Bruce Patton, 2011

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    I got this book at the same time as "Stalling for Time: My Life as an FBI Hostage Negotiator" by Noesner, and it feels like the two books do a amazing job of complimenting each other.I like that this book focuses on only three core points - points you can easily hold in mind during any sort of negotiation without feeling like you're reciting "book knowledge". The lessons offered by this book are beautiful simple to understand, and it's very likely you'll recognize some of them as skills that you already have. For example the suggestion to "Focus on the interests, not the positions" is something we do all the time. Test to figure out why somebody is asking for something, not just what they are asking for. Because often these underlying reasons can be addressed with solutions other than what they have at said, any of the 1 or 2 page summaries on the internet will likely obtain you all the meat you need from this book. When the book goes deeper into detail and anecdotes, they are often contrived and unrealistic. Going back to the "focus on the interests" point - you're not going to use that approach when negotiating with somebody on a raise. "Yes Bob, I know you wish a raise. But why? Does Johnny need braces?" That's the kind of expanded detail you get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Brand fresh book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Graduate School: A Guide for Graduate Students (Study Skills) []  2020-11-25 18:47

    This book provides generic tip about graduate school, from the decision to pursue an advanced degree to choosing your committee and writing your thesis. However, the book is only 130 pages... quite little for its hefty price tag. Most of the tip also seems obvious, such as getting to know professors on your committee, and the reminders that graduate school is difficult and life-changing hardly support one feel more at ease.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Evil: When to Talk to Terrorists []  2020-9-27 18:46

    I am 58 and have lived through the times referenced. Awesome how small I knew or understood about these conflicts. It is clear that judging peoples efforts in these difficult situations needs time for a proper review. Immediate sound bites do no amazing for anybody, except for those who wish to promote their own agenda. Also interesting how, when the path and goal is not clear, the only method to obtain things done is through the small guys on the ground who are close to the situation. This is not so much various from what one encounters in business, that in confusing times the people close to the business probably have the best solutions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School []  2020-6-27 18:22

    I appreciate the author’s detailed classroom descriptions of how parents’ human and social capital is transmitted to children. These tactics will be beneficial and advantageous throughout their school years and in the work place. These tactics are ulative and will be reproduced generation after generation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School []  2020-6-27 18:22

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    Written for lawyers but something everyone involved with negotiation should read. Through his remarkable use of words metaphors and examples,Mr. Mnookin takes a potentially difficult process and humanizes it so that lawyer and layman, alike, can easily digest and employ the content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    Interesting well written book well laid out and a amazing instructional text. Can be too detailed but a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    The secret of getting what you wish is all about negotiation. The better negotiator you are the better chances you have at a positive outcome. Some people seem to be born with the ability to negotiate but that doesn't mean that others can learn the skills that will improve their abilities. This book is thus an perfect resources for those who wish to under the practicalities and winning tactics behind successful r those who are not born negotiators I think that it will take a few readings of this book to implement all the tactics covered. To improve any skill takes practice and this book gives you the guidance on the techniques to practice. Conversely, the book will also support you understand when these techniques are being implemented by opponents, which again will certainly give you a leg e book is simple to read, comprehensive and most necessary enjoyable. If you wish to improve your negotiating skills with practical hints and tactics then this book is certainly worthwhile. However, given the breath of material covered it is probably something that you are going to need to hold studying to assimilate all the techniques outlined by the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    This is the third time I purchase this material and currently have it on book and Kindle versions. I first heard the program "Secrets of Power Negotiating: Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator" by Roger Dawson over a decade ago on cassette format. It really opened my eyes about what others were doing to me every day. Once I understood it then, I could answer more appropriately and could also use the same approach to accomplish win-win results myself. Before being aware of this material I thought that there wouldn't be anything fresh in it since I was already in sales for another 10 years and had read a lot of books about the subject. Not so, this material is not covered on common sales or negotiating books as far as I know. I'm sure it is covered somewhere because I see it being used in all high level negotiations being it political, Union, International or even in public service. It doesn't matter if we negotiate with others or if we sale anything or not. Being aware of the material covered on this book is a must for everyone who wants to stay ahead of the masses. Regardless of your age, student or professional, I believe this book will change your view of the globe and perhaps even your future outcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Competing Conceptions of Academic Governance: Negotiating the Perfect Storm []  2021-1-23 19:54

    I am very satisfied the fact the book got here just in time - a lot sooner than expected. The product looked better than "like new." I will most definitely order from this lender, again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    has a lot of amazing info in it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    Perfect resource every subcontractor should have in their library. The construction industry is notorious for trampling on the lowest tiers on the job. This book provides the knowledge and tools important to protect hard earned money. Invaluable information!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    You are truly missing out if you are a business owner and you haven't read the book. Here is my story about the book:I purchased Roger's book "The Secrets of Power Negotitating" because a blogger I follow ( Ramit Sethi) highly recommended it. It was very interesting to read how people negotiated, I just couldn't place the book down.I run a children clothing boutique on etsy: all my sales and purchases are online, there is not much scope of applying a lot of of the techniques Roger taught in his book ( or so I thought). However, when one of my dresses sold after reading this book, I recalled one of the chapters - The best time to upsell something to a customer is right after they have created a purchase...a light bulb went off.I immediately sent my customer an email thanking them for the purchase and asking them if she would like to buy an accessory to go with the dress...and lo and behold! she said yes!I couldn't believe it!Since then I have sold a lot of accessories just by writing an email after the purchase. I created back the price of the book within 2 sales. I can't even imagine what people who are in a direct sales business would be doing with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    I bought this one for class, never really intending to actually read it. It turned out to be a better book then I imagined. Yes, it can be slightly boring at times, but it has some amazing and pragmatic tip for life. Amazing tip on persuading other, working with others, and becoming successful. Worth reading at least once,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    Unbelievable text on negotiation and its role in alternative dispute resolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    It could be just me. I like examples of people accomplishing their goals or failing as the other guy but I wish to learn about the mechanism behind it. This book doesn't talk about anything similar to psychology behind the process. I don't think I found more than 10% of the contents useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Each negotiating strategy and each example Johnston discussed triggered memories of past negotiations in my career - job offers, salary negotiations, business contracts, even past purchases and relationships - that went horribly awry and for which I felt I got the short end of the stick. And I realized as I read - and re-read - the examples Johnston provided what I might have done differently to have achieved happier outcomes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    As described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Fictional stories in tailored scenarios do not an informational book make. This book is weak on facts and massive on suggestion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Graduate School: A Guide for Graduate Students (Study Skills) []  2020-11-25 18:47

    Very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collective Bargaining in Education: Negotiating Change in Today's Schools []  2021-1-25 20:3

    I work in public education and just wanted some more background on collective bargaining to be ready for negotiations. Union

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    Amazing book for Subcontractors. It breaks out everything you need to know about the subcontract in an easy, quick, and even sometimes funny read. If I had known everything in this book at the beginning of my career, it would have saved me a lot of headaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quit Getting Screwed: Understanding and Negotiating the Subcontract []  2021-4-6 22:17

    Best, straight forward, to the point tutorial on how to protect yourself on construction contracts I have ever read. Excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    I listened to the audio book ver of this years ago. This book is a classic on negotiations. A lot of books talk about WIN WIN negotiating. The issue is that's like going into an MMA match knowing nothing more than Marquis de Queensbury rules boxing. It puts you at a negotiating disadvantage when you're up versus someone who simply doesn't care about WIN WIN. This books teaches you some of the primary techniques and maneuvers that people use so that you're prepared for the negotiations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Power Negotiating (Inside Secrets from a Master Negotiator) [Book]  2017-11-26 18:0

    Roger Dawson is the undisputed master of negotiating and this book is known throughout the globe as THE go to text for all things negotiation. If your book budget allows only one purchase, this is the one to get! HUGE 300+ pages, professionally written, expert knowledge, simple to follow concepts and a winning attitude all go together to create this book worth thousands of dollars to those who wish to learn the art of negotiations. Are there any "secrets" revealed?? No, not in the strict sense of the word, but most people will learn fresh strategies and tactics from the master of power negotiations, Roger Dawson. $1.99 on Kindle is an wonderful deal!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    It is focused on lawyers, looking into agency and ethical rules that lawyers are bound by. Must have for law students and young associates!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond Winning: Negotiating to Create Value in Deals and Disputes []  2020-1-28 21:36

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    Having been a startup entrepreneur and tried to convince huge companies to invest/partner/become a customer, I can relate to a lot of of the lessons in this book and want I had read it then. It is somewhat repetitive and some of the examples chosen aren't quite apt, but a lot of of the insights similar to business negotiations are spot-on and useful. Not that they are simple to place in practice necessarily --- that is a various ball game. Overall a amazing read, definitely worth it --- it'll likely create you think, and has insights that I don't recall reading/seeing in other books on negotiation. The anecdote on the photographer and the US government was particularly well chosen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating with Giants: Get what you want against the odds []  2020-1-17 22:5

    This is a amazing book that a lot of will appreciate and learn from. The author uses examples from history (Canadian, American, and International), politics, famous culture, private vignettes, and of course, some business examples. This isn't your typical dry business book. Johnston is a witty story teller and I found myself wanting to finish the see, I've started a lot of business books only to place them down. I am not the usual target shop for this genre of books, but my husband is and so occasionally I'll grab the book (or the different business magazines that we subscribe to) and read it (them).This book had me thinking about negotiating deadlines with colleagues and even the chance of impending salary negotiations. What I found really useful: the inclusion of chapter synopses that I think business types will love. I also read through all the footnotes, hey, I am an academic afterall, and enjoyed his concise, yet informative notes.I was really impressed with the amount of research that was undertaken with this book. At times it read like a story, which I think is useful for most readers. The bulleted locations explaining the notice or key points of each chapter were useful. I'm still thinking about the book and the shared stories.Overall, this is a amazing book and I look forward to talking to others about it. I think some of my students who are close to graduating and thinking about full-time work would benefit from reading the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    The book has opened a globe of opportunities that I could not see before. It is practical. Everyone can benefit by reading it. The way that the authors describe can be used for any negotiations, from little to big: settling differences in views with your colleagues, talking to your family members, not giving in when a client asks you for an unjustified discount, when your house contractor doesn't wish to do the proper job, managing a hostage crisis and even negotiating a nuclear arms deal with another, perhaps narrow minded country. I want I have read this book 20 years ago. I would have handled a lot of critical situations differently. I highly recommend this book for everyone to read. Moreover, if you have kids who are ready to fly out or recently left your nest- create them read this book because it may change their lives, in a amazing way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In []  2020-1-16 14:48

    The world's authority and android game changer on achieving negotiations that lead to lasting results. Negotiations aren't a win/lose war if you can figure out creative ways to meet your counterpart's needs that are various from yours. Don't underestimate the power of learning contained in the relatively short length of the book. Worth re-reading and absorbing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School []  2020-6-27 18:22

    Repetitive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Opportunities: How the Middle Class Secures Advantages in School []  2020-6-27 18:22

    This book really takes you inside the classroom. The stories are vivid and upsetting, in a compelling way. They clearly present how and why middle-class white kids are able to obtain teachers to give them unfair advantages in school. The book is also so compassionate in its treatment of the people in the book, especially the teachers and the working-class students and parents. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in education and inequality. It would also be amazing for teachers and for parents who wish to think critically about their own choices. The methodological appendix is also really useful for students learning to do ethnographic research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Graduate School: A Guide for Graduate Students (Study Skills) []  2020-11-25 18:47

    The price was a bit higher than expected. When I started reading it some of the items was very helpful, but some of the info was delivered in a style that created it a small boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Negotiating Graduate School: A Guide for Graduate Students (Study Skills) []  2020-11-25 18:47

    Are you a beginning graduate student who is a bit overwhelmed? This is a amazing book for you! This book includes amazing tip about how to balance a busy home and work life with the demands of graduate school, as well as practical hints about how to complete all the major components of graduate school programs. The author takes a very realistic approach, too. This is a useful tool!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collective Bargaining in Education: Negotiating Change in Today's Schools []  2021-1-25 20:3

    This is certainly a wonkish book; when you have chapters with more than 100 citations, you've almost certainly written something scholarly. For anyone interested in in teachers unions and collective bargaining, though, this is a very necessary book. The chapters by Frederick Hess and Dan Goldhaber especially add necessary elements to the discussion, and the flow to the book as a whole makes sense. I tag it down slightly because of some dull spots (the chapter by Paul Hill, for example, isn't needed), but it's still recommended.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386