Read new orleans slave trade reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all new orleans slave trade reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Slave Trade [App]  2019-8-27 21:7

    I love Fresh Orleans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Slave Trade [App]  2019-8-27 21:7

    Best slaves in whole US

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Slave Trade [App]  2019-8-27 21:7

    Belle O'Neill

    0  


    Add your opinion on new orleans slave trade or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Slave Trade [App]  2019-8-27 21:7

    not opening

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlantic Slave Trade (New Approaches to the Americas) []  2020-2-4 3:52

    This book does an outstanding job achieving its objective--to illustrate the current turn in scholarship that shows the complexity of an exchange system predating the arrival of the European slave traders in Africa. It suggests that a lot of African societies were implicated in the slave trade internally, primarily shipping slaves to North Africa. Indeed, learning of the legality and normality of the system in Africa was enlightening to though some readers might be a small disappointed by the methodological and dispassionate tone of the author, they should know that the author aims a various tag and does an extraordinary job in discrediting the more polemical and famous accounts of the Atlantic Slave Trade. I am now very interested in learning more about the Atlantic Slave Trade and African history in general after reading this book.Highly recommended if you can stomach a tone disinterested in engaging with normative questions raised by slavery, imperialism, and their role in Africa generally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlantic Slave Trade (New Approaches to the Americas) []  2020-2-4 3:52

    The Atlantic Slave Trade is an necessary part of history of several nations: amazing part of Africa of course, the nations in America who were immmersed in this trade as buyers and those European countries who had control of the trade to its colonies. One necessary question that I had in my mind before reading this book was "why Africans were enslaved", curiously the first words of chapter 1, and why in this Fresh World, the American Indians were not used as workers? Seems that everything conspired for this trading to flourish, in particular the decline of native population and because those native became fresh Christians. But seems there is another reason, not named in this book, and is that those native american were not that productive than Africans or is is a short book and the author provide an insightful introduction, focusing especially in the economic side of this trade and its organization, showing a amazing of statistical information. There is not much of the people side of happenings -- I am referring to the sufferings stories of the Africans, but it does name the story of Igbo Equiano, an African slave that wrote a book about his experiences and I'm eager to know more about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlantic Slave Trade (New Approaches to the Americas) []  2020-2-4 3:52

    This text was needed for an upper level undergraduate course at my university. While providing amazing insight and info about the slave trade in the American world, there are glaring editorial oversights that are quite distracting to the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlantic Slave Trade (New Approaches to the Americas) []  2020-2-4 3:52

    This book describes slave ships with admiration for their added ventilation in cargo holds, as if it wasn't the absolute bare minimum to prevent loss of profit through suffocation. In describing these ships the book doesn't mention how the people who were chained up in those holds had to literally sit or lay in their own waste because there wasn't room to move and no provisions were created for cleaning up. It doesn't mention the vast death toll from the journey alone in those floating coffins. In the entire book there is not one single mention of rape. It's all written as if the people enslaved were actually just objects.Any book about slavery that doesn't contain the experiences of enslaved people is irresponsible and poor scholarship at best. This is decidedly worse than mediocre. Zero stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    John Bailey's book reads like a mystery novel in some ways...but even better. He has collected not only the info of a popular court case form the early 19th century, but combined it with a story of German immigration and the sociology of Fresh Orleans as a repository for a lot of diverse cultures. I've recommended this book over and over again to mates who are interested in both Southern US American history and European history. It's a cracking read, full of twists and turns, with one indelible hero at the center who cannot support but fill the reader with admiration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    I only gave it 2 stars because, while it started out OK, it dragged on and on with the name variations and conjecture of what could have happened - with no true conclusion. I stayed with it, because I was sure something would come to light and it would be a true revelation, but the book just sort of ended. It was a disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    Bailey has written a very well documented book. He tells the story of a white woman, Salome Muller, sold into slavery as a child. As an adult, she is discovered by an acquaintance of her parents in Fresh Orleans. She is told she is the daughter of German immigrants brought to America and pressured into signing documents binding them to serve as indentured servants upon arrival in the time, these immigrants were bound to service for varying lengths of time and were called "Redemptioners." Since they were of the white race, they had the hope of being once their term of service was completed. However, it was believed by Salome's family and lawyers that she had unlawfully been sold as a slave without any hope of ever being st of the book is a review of the a lot of twists and turns and ups and downs of the legal war that ensues. Since this is a real story, and not a work of fiction, there is no method of hiding the ugliness of slavery, and the insidious method the law ensures that people of color remain forever in roughout the book I was rooting for Sally, no matter who she was, because ai so wanted her to be victorious versus a system that was skewed in favor of slave owners. Bailey does a amazing job of keeping us in suspense till the very end. The only reason Indid not give this book 5 stars was because of the Kindle format. It was at times hard to separate the a lot of footnotes from the narrative. This was distracting. Overall, however, this was an interesting and engaging read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    This was a fresh look at slavery for me. I knew that immigrants were often indentured for a period of years to for their boat fare, etc., but I did not know that some of them actually got caught in the slavery cycle and could not extricate themselves. If there was one drop of negro blood in them, proven or unproven, they were considered slaves and could only be freed by proving their pure whiteness, buying their freedom, or having their masters grant them their freedom. The girl in this story came to American aboard a German vessel that lost almost half their passengers to famine and illness, including her mother. Her father died soon after landing and someone took her in and sold her as a slave. Although kind people tried to rescue her from her circumstances, went to court on her behalf, raised from the German community to say for costs, none of it worked or was successful. It was a sad, sad story and to complicate things, there was another German girl also claiming to have been the person on the immigration vessel from Germany. It was heart wrenching, as slavery always is. It was a amazing read and gave me a glimpse at a branch of slavery that I did not know much about before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    This is the story of a court case that created its method through the tangled legal system of Louisiana for over four years before both parties had exhausted their will or ability to continue. It covers not only the twists and turns of the case of Salome Mueller aka Sally Miller, it also reprises the significant legal statements that supported the decisions by various jurists over the several years of trials that finally resolved a lot of of the problem brought up.I must say I found the book engaging and simple to understand, and the frustrations of all the parties at the speed and consequences of seeking redress of grievances in court were portrayed in a believable manner. Not until the latest page of the book does the Author tell you what conclusion he came to about the validity of the case. While I disagree with his opinion the rest of the book lays out the case clearly enough that I understand why he came to that conclusion even though I myself reached a various one..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    I read George Washington Cable's Creole Stories recently, one of which dealt with the lost German slave girl. I was intrigued to search an updated ver of this story written by John Bailey in a Fresh Orleans book store. Bailey does a first class job of analyzing this case, much of which revolved around extensive appearances in Louisiana courts. The case (and the book) seems to go on and on, like a tennis match in which first one player has the advantage then the other. Bailey comes to his own conclusion about the "winner", but the bottom line is that defining who was black (and potentially a slave) and who was white (thus excluded from slavery) was a tricky business in the pre-Civil Battle South. This was a fascinating case illustrating the dilemma.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    A thoroughly researched and well written iley’s book approaches an often forgotten part of our history. That there were occasionally white slaves. His endeavor to present the history of this unfortunate white German immigrant child’s trials, and even tribulations of being a white slave of The Peculiar Institution, is surely a success.Well researched with much ers who have fun history, particularly history of the south and history of slavery, will search much to have fun and learn in Bailey’s book .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    Happily the author supplied lots and lots of context for the happenings beginning in 1843 and continuing until 1849 in Fresh Orleans. The convoluted method in which the law profession and jurisprudence in the antebellum south dealt with such matters is awesome and dismaying. They were tying themselves in crazy knots to justify an institution (slavery) that couldn't be justifed. As for white people being classified as black, and vice versa, it reminds me of how nazis went after blonde, blue-eyed Jews: all that mattered was what was written on the birth certificate regarding y congratulations to the author for unbelievable levels of illuminating research

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    Can't understand why I had not heard of this book before. It was published seven years ago and I was in the dark regarding this amazing work. John Bailey, doing research for another type of book, happened upon the real story of a young German girl, Sally Miller, aka Salome Muller, who is discovered by relatives in Fresh Orleans, after which ensues a long legal saga of trials and appeals with the goal of freeing her from lome and her family came to America in 1818 as indentured servants or redemptioners. She was estimated to be three years old at the time. Her mother died during the passage, her father and brother died after arrival and her sister's whereabouts were unknown. She was never released from servitude. Members of her extended family claim to recognize her as an adult and provide considerable evidence that Sally is, in fact, Salome. The court case disparages a prominent citizen of Fresh Orleans who had owned the girl, and he begins a vendetta to prove them fools and hold Sally a ere is amazing detail contained in Bailey's rendition of Sally's story. Court documents were plentiful to research. The case was also spectacularly covered in the newspapers and talk amongst the citizens at every opportunity. Well-known gentlemen testified. The German community in the town rallied to her cause and contributed to war for iley's writing is superb and well-paced. The town of Fresh Orleans, during this time frame, also comes to life in this book, and is, in every way, portrayed accurately based on my experience with other history I've read. You feel you are , is Sally the German Salome?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost German Slave Girl: The Extraordinary True Story of Sally Miller and Her Fight for Freedom in Old New Orleans []  2020-7-28 19:2

    This book is one of the most interesting narratives of slavery I have ever read. It takes you through the extraordinary case of Sally Miller. Sally Miller (as she is known by the end of the book) is a female slave working in a Fresh Orleans Cabaret in 1843 when she is found by an old German immigrant. The old woman recognizes Sally as a young girl she traveled to America with from Germany. Thereafter follows a series of happenings in which all Fresh Orleans chooses a side in Sally's war for ever the most interesting part of this book isn't Sally, its Fresh Orleans itself. In this book you learn this history of slave law in Fresh Orleans and the customs which dictate its put in society. In Fresh Orleans color did not necessarily guarantee slavery but neither did it ensure freedom. The mixture of races within Fresh Orleans blurred the lines between slave and master. Here we search that indeed color truly is only skin deep and people are people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gangstar New Orleans OpenWorld [App]  2019-7-4 13:41

    There is one issue in this android game that is you should create a amazing source to earn because in this android game we will only obtain more from high value target or we have to wait two to three hours for spirit jars which also gives us a little amount of money. If you will give some for completing missions then this would be best. And gameloft please add some happenings to earn money. Other than that the android game is awesome. The graphics are superb and story is also nice. Please add source of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gangstar New Orleans OpenWorld [App]  2019-7-4 13:41

    The android game is a nice roam like game, it's like GTA bit not as good. I do have a bug, on the "Ronnie better run" mission, at the sewer chop stage when the screen goes black, it just stays black and nothing happen so i have to abort the mission. On mobile the graphics are miserable but not to the point where you cant see a thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gangstar New Orleans OpenWorld [App]  2019-7-4 13:41

    its fun i would it but is a bit hard to obtain but not that much just hold playing and it will reward you but with the trophy with you have to obtain with 200 diamonds you have to obtain it later when you obtain more trophy because it won't give you 5 star thing but the android game is fun and you won't regret it so play and its 4 star because it needs work with the unlocking system its hard to obtain fresh guns or cars but you just have to hold getting reward trophy but thats it it now

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gangstar New Orleans OpenWorld [App]  2019-7-4 13:41

    android game sucks!!!!!! after i finish "marie warm reception" mission it shows black screen with melody playing and i have only option that is to use "abort the mission" option please fix this bug in next ve modernize as soon as possible..!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gangstar New Orleans OpenWorld [App]  2019-7-4 13:41

    I test to play and it says check your connection and test again later but i have excellent wireless connection and connection so now i cant play my favorite game. PLEASE RESPOND!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gangstar New Orleans OpenWorld [App]  2019-7-4 13:41

    I hope devlopers will read this sure, everything is very amazing in android game but how I obtain experience, I am stuck on lvl 15 and I got experience from everyday quest only, l completed all missions but now it is very boring to play because there is no more happenings and missions, please support me in this situation, I hope devlopers would answer to me as early as possible. 😔😔😔

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gangstar New Orleans OpenWorld [App]  2019-7-4 13:41

    I would have given it more stars if it wasn't so glitchy. Also my android game is stuck on the "warm reception" Mission and the screen goes black. I have to hold on hitting abort Mission even though I've completed it a million times. So I'm stuck there and I can't go any further because of that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    im a pelican fan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    Large Fan,thank you for making this application amazing for someone not as computer savoy @all. Again amazing app!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    Isn't working on my phone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    Cool application It's a amazing application because if you like the pelicans like me you can just go on the application and look at the score of the pelicans android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    Keeping up I like that I can hold up with games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    Love it.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    Hollywood Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Pelicans [App]  2019-6-23 13:44

    Amazing application Really do love the app. The only thing I would change is to give the option to dismiss all notifications. Time consuming to do it the night after a android game you couldnt follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Need 2019 modernize ASAP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Has all the information I need with alerts. Minus one star for having a bug that won't allow me login with my jazzfest www service acc and import my schedule.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Need the modernize I absolutely loved this application in 2014 at the festival. I'm coming back this year and need to know it will be there for me again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Functional Shows the schedules, tries to do more with alerts and such.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Intrusive is right. I will not grant that much authorization to an application like this one. I'll print out what I need and take it with me to the festival grounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    When will it be updated to the 2015 line up? The first weekend begins April 24th. Come on!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Incomplete Schedule? Granted I've only had the application for 30 mins but I'm not sure they've included all the acts on the schedule. Example: Sunday the 28th on Allison Miner stage. Where's Earth Wind Fire Don Vappie and more. What gives?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    It does take a small longer to obtain the reward you like...I don't mind playing android games for to obtain something amazing...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    Application is pointless if you cant even obtain the merchandise you are working towards getting. Everytime I place the address it says its not a valid shipping address. If you contact help they are no help. Guess Im deleting the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    I'm loving this app! Fun android games you victory actual for, just for playing while u are waiting somewhere or relaxing. It's great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    This application is the best I have ever had !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    got one already

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    Search myself lost in this application all in the name of the Saint's

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    I like this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Very useful app. I LOVED it latest year with the audible score notifications, "Touchdown Saints" and "It's Good", but this year the notifications seem to be gone. I'm sadly bummed. I guess I still LIKE it but BRING THEM BACK...please. 😟

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    please create the Touchdown Saints announcement available for a notification tone for my phone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Amazing application squad Saints all day that my favorite football squad

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Does the application only give verbal updates on iPhones?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Nice to the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    One of the main reasons I downloaded this application was for the scoring notifications if I was not at home to watch. Please bring that back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Not the same without the "touchdown saints" notification ☹

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Who Dat with a better app?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In New Orleans []  2020-1-17 1:4

    I was a fresh graduate student at UCB, and one Saturday evening I was wandering about the campus, (tripping?), when I heard some unusual sounds coming from Pauley Ballroom in the student union. I went in to search a band playing melody that was completely fresh to me, singing in a language I couldn't understand, with an odd collection of instruments including an accordian and a washboard, playing a weird synchopated waltz rhythym .... and the put was rocking. An alternate universe? I learned it was Clifton Chenier's band playing zydeco music, Clifton on accordian, his brother Cleveland on washboard, with bass and drums. I'd never heard anything like it. I've been a fan of CC ever since.I subsequently moved to Baton Rouge, La, living in an apartment and CC and THIS BAND used to play in a small club less than a block away. This is CC at his best, and his band features the amazing blind sax man, John Hart. John Hart's playing is so sweet...and driving. How amazing is he? Check the small sound snipped of "Boogie Lousiane" provided. Clifton at his best, the band rocking, and then over the top with John Hart. This is a amazing CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In New Orleans []  2020-1-17 1:4

    THIS CD FEATURES THE ORIGINAL RED HOT LOUISIANA BAND WHICH INCLUDES 3 VERY GOOD INSTRUMENTALS. JOHN HART DOES A GREAT JOB ON THE SAX, AS HE ALWAYS DOES, AS THE OTHER MEMBERS ALSO DO! HE SINGS 4 SONGS IN CREOLE FRENCH AND SOME BLUES LIKE,CRYING MY HEART OUT TO YOU, TOUS LES JOURS AND COTTONPICKER BLUES!HE ALSO HAS SOME WALTZS ON THIS CD WHICH ARE GREAT! ANOTHER GREAT CD BY THE KING OF ZYDECO, IFTON CHENIER!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Playground []  2020-1-17 1:26

    UP beat amazing for children to move and dance to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Playground []  2020-1-17 1:26

    I bought this CD for the track "They all asked for you," but I also got Kermit Ruffins, Charmain Neville, and Dr. John. What's not to like? I guess it appeals to the child in all of us, but it's solid, amazing jazz and rock-n-roll, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down in New Orleans []  2020-1-17 2:39

    Had to give a shoutout to the amazing cover art, which looks like a weathered sign, and matches the rugged red clay harmonies on the record. Backed by the best musicians you'll hear anywhere (as a keyboard player, I would my soul to the devil for Allen Toussaint's skills), the Blind Boys deliver a strong gospel record. I had initially feared that the record would consist of overly-familiar songs and arrangements, but everything here sounds fresh, even "Down by the Riverside." Their ver of Toussaint's "Make a better world" is a highlight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Down in New Orleans []  2020-1-17 2:39

    As a Blind Boys fan, it's not surprising that I have fun this CD but having their vocals combined with Fresh Orleans-style melody makes this special. I highly recommend this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete Fountain's New Orleans []  2020-1-18 23:29

    When it comes to Fresh Orleans Jazz, no one can top Pete Fountain and the method he can obtain those tunes jumping--then again, and mellow. Old favorites with his special style is unbelievable and one can hardly hold from dancing along. Very amazing music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete Fountain's New Orleans []  2020-1-18 23:29

    This is a amazing album.....but then I love all of his albums! He's the best in my book. Test it, you'll like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    Tom Piazza wrote a very touching book about being away from Fresh Orleans after Katrina. It is a heart felt written book. I admirehis honesty about how he missed his attractive town NOLA!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    I got this book for a trip to Fresh Orleans I'm taking. The travel group recommended it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking To New Orleans []  2020-1-28 1:14

    I happen to like just about every song George Benson has ever done and was excited to learn that he did a tribute CD to maybe the greatest rocker 'n roller of all time, Chuck Berry. This CD is amazing and I will listen to it often, but I do think the selection of Chuck's melody could have been a bit better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Orleans Cookbook []  2020-1-23 20:3

    My husband and I lived in Fresh Orleans when we were first married in 1979. The "locals" recommended this book because it is very authentic. I found that to be absolutely true. The recipies require a lot of spices, which is why they are so good. They are not difficult, but do take time. We have some recipies we create frequently and just latest month I tried one for a dinner party I had never created before. Always rave reviews from the diners. The section on fish fish substitutes in case you live in a part of the country where your choices are more limited. The recipies contain a lot of history about where they came from. I bought three of these for my adult sons for Christmas because they grew up on it and now cook the family favorites regulary. I wanted to give them the opportunity to expand their repertoire. I was very relieved it is still available in paper back (ours is hard cover). I highly recommend this book if you know what it means to miss Fresh Orleans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snippets of New Orleans []  2020-1-23 0:20

    I originally bought this book because someone posted a snapshot from it on a social media page. Researching family history I had come across a census listing for my relative on Craps Street. Never heard of a Craps Road in Fresh Orleans. Ahhh, but Ms. Fick had it in her book! This book is an simple read, very enjoyable and loaded with her unbelievable illustrations. It also has dozens of info about Fresh Orleans history and current info as well. I recommend "Snippets of Fresh Orleans" to anyone interested in Fresh Orleans!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snippets of New Orleans []  2020-1-23 0:20

    I didn’t realize how amazing this was when I bought it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rebirth of New Orleans []  2020-1-22 2:6

    Saw them live in Fresh Orleans a few years ago and bought their CDs as soon as we could. Amazing music, fun to listen to. Despite the Grammy, they're not as well known as they should be. If you ever have the possibility to see them live, just do it. You'll never regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rebirth of New Orleans []  2020-1-22 2:6

    Amazing album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rebirth of New Orleans []  2020-1-22 2:6

    This is a amazing Fresh Orleans brass-jazz band and they place together a amazing list on this release.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rebirth of New Orleans []  2020-1-22 2:6

    Amazing album, reminds me of being in Fresh Orleans, which is truely one of the highest complements I can give!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Party Classics []  2020-1-23 3:8

    I've been playing this CD nonstop since I got it latest week. It's so upbeat and energizing. The liner notes gave me a small mini-history course on Fresh Orleans music, too. It's got some amazing classics, and has introduced me to some items I never heard of that I love. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Party Classics []  2020-1-23 3:8

    Party on!!!!! The best in Mardi Gras Classics!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putumayo Presents New Orleans []  2020-5-7 18:36

    I received this CD but it’s for a bonus so I can’t give you a review. This pack was not lost as indicated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putumayo Presents New Orleans []  2020-5-7 18:36

    We got this CD for a Mardi Gras party. It is very amazing and now I listen to it periodically on my iPod. You will like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Access New Orleans 6e []  2020-7-17 20:45

    I didn't see the publication date- pre- Katrina

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Suite []  2020-7-14 19:40

    This is not your usual Ellington LP. It is more like a concerto with 9 movements, from 3 to near 8 mins each. Ellington attempts to give a musical potrait of Fresh Orleans , the atmosphere, the traditons, and the music.... especially the music. Starting with "Blues for Fresh Orleans"he goes to "Bourbon Street" and from there to "Portrait of Louis Armstrong", and then on to "Thanks for the Attractive Land on the Delta"gives a "Tribute to the Second Line", "Portrait of Sidney Bechet"and others for a total of is very listenable music, but is diffent from what people expect from Ellington, and so has never been given the popularity it deserves. Melody like this is not going to be played on disk jockey radio shows with their three min tunes between commercials.If you like Jazz in general and have a reverence for the history of Jazz you will likely have fun this LP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Suite []  2020-7-14 19:40

    The melody is 5 stars. The record, unfortunately, is scratched all the method through the first side. Very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Suite []  2020-7-14 19:40

    It was there from the very beginning--the Cotton Club orchestra with Miley and Nanton through the 40's orchestra with Blanton and Webster through the 50's aggregation with Hodges and Gonsalves to the final days with Carney and Procope still with him. A lot of younger musicians (and some educators) who "got" Basie, Maynard, Rich, Kenton and Woody during the "school days" revival of the huge bands in the '70s dismissed Duke's band as being insufficiently disciplined and tight. But those who mattered--Mingus and Coltrane, for example--understood that Ellington's bands had a direct connection to the source, to Congo Square and the spirit of collective creativity celebrating the birth of a glorious fresh thing at the turn of the ter hearing the melody of Fresh Orleans, especially before the noise generated by the dispiriting monster, the Super Dome, muted much of it, I understood the significance of Duke Ellington. The pulse of the melody was human and shared, not a well-oiled mechanism; the spirit was celebratory, speaking to the strengths of a democratic community but also of each individual's contributions to its life; the personality of the band emanated equally from the leader, each soloist, each section, and of course the band as a whole. The band was at once a human organism and a flowing stream--you could drink from its mouth if you chose or follow it all the method back to the vital e melody of Fresh Orleans and the melody of Duke Ellington. Less a complementary pairing than synonymous, interchangeable parts. At least before the Super Dome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Piano Rolls []  2020-7-28 21:44

    Another perfect Blues artist! It is so awesome to listen to!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Our New Orleans []  2020-7-28 21:37

    Nice mix of Crescent Town melody from a dozens of artists. Buckwheat Zydeco contributes a powerful performance on a chop that does not seem to be on any of his other albums. The range of songs runs from powerful up tempo "Second Line" type pieces, to bluesy ballads, both fresh and traditional pieces.I do not rate this as a "stellar" collection of Fresh Orleans , but it is very good, and a worthy addition to the collection of anyone who enjoys the Nawlins' vibe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Our New Orleans []  2020-7-28 21:37

    I just found this CD recently and was surprised that I had never heard of it or seen it before. It's a fine representation of a lot of Fresh Orleans styles. For me, the Allan Toussaint ver of "Yes We Can Can" is worth the of the CD and everything else is icing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    I was raised all my life in Las Vegas but I was lucky enough to have been born in super sweet & ooohhhwweeee spicy fresh Orleans Breaks my heart never having been to that smooth town but at least I have my saints who-dat saying anything about my saints if they know better then they datted out

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Love the N O Saints. Love this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Amazing App.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Bring back touchdown saints and it's amazing notifications

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Saints Mobile [App]  2019-1-22 0:14

    Love this application Who Dat

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    amazing application so far and ive been receiving my rewards prob better then swagbucks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    I'm a huge Saints fan .I'm from Fresh Orleans Louisiana I've been a Saints fan from the womb. I just loving the stuff. amazing app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    I love everything

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    THE APP WON'T LET ME USE MY APP IT KEEPS TELLING ME TO USED THE INSTALLED APP ON THE ONLY INSTALLED APP....IF I DELETE THE REWARDS APP WILL IT RESTART ME POINTS?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Football Rewards [App]  2019-4-30 13:41

    I just have fun the rewards !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    wrong year

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Blah! I found this application to be close to useless. The map is horrible. Would be much better with a easy PDF map instead of a Google map that gives you no details. The grid view of the melody is unreadable with the pictures taking up too much space. Overall, barely helped at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Gives me all the information I'll need. Now to hold my phone from dying while being out all day. :p

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Orleans Jazz Festival [App]  2019-4-19 13:41

    Can't sync with online schedule

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386