Read new south reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all new south reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    south carolina judiciary case search [adams county case search]  2020-8-27 0:2
    [email protected]

    ocsn case find i loved this riverside county case find here to read reno municipal court case find sneak a peek at this website king county district court case find nc case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    new jersey criminal case searchfg [cases of illegal search and seizureww]  2020-9-7 20:3
    [email protected]

    xnfjcusdeozy dekalb county magistrate court case find district of columbia court case find ny court case find fulton county state court case find ohio judiciary case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    new jersey case searchsq [pennsylvania judiciary case search namejj]  2020-8-21 20:13
    [email protected]

    arfzuokitmnt missouri name find juvenile case find maryland maryland case find com marion county fl case find fresno county superior court case find

    0  


    Add your opinion on new south or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix online from New Orleans [best price for lasix in San Antonio]  2020-9-14 7:48
    [email protected]

    lasix in Hungary usa lasix lasix cost furosemide 20mg how to lasix in Switzerland where to lasix in Memphis cheap lasix in Minneapolis lasix 40mg smartphone online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Port South [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Fresh Port South tells the tale of a student's rebellion versus authority and the effects it has upon others. Maddox, the protagonist in the movie, becomes obsessed with a former student named Stanton, who he believes was unjustly locked up in a mental institute after being expelled from Fresh Port South High School. We search out at the beginning of the film that Stanton has escaped the mental institute and is helping break others out from different facilities across the state. Maddox wishes to avenge as well as impress Stanton by making life difficult for the teachers and administration. Maddox's mates come to realize that Maddox is just as manipulative as he claims the staff to be. Will Maddox learn this lesson for himself before it is too late?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New South CU Mobile [App]  2020-8-14 13:13

    I'm so satisfied NSCU made a banking app! It's worked amazing for me so far- it's even easier than their website. The only other thing you might need is their remote deposit app, which lets you deposit checks into your acc by taking a picture of them. Both apps are great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New South CU Mobile [App]  2020-8-14 13:13

    Amazing app! Very useful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New South CU Mobile [App]  2020-8-14 13:13

    I don't really care for the fresh format...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New South CU Mobile [App]  2020-8-14 13:13

    Love this App,It's more convenient than calling everytime info is needed,Especially if we just need to know something simple.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New South CU Mobile [App]  2020-8-14 13:13

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    When Frank Hurley loaded his cameras onto the Endurance in August 1914, ready to set sail with Ernest Shackleton's Trans-Antarctic expedition, he had no idea of what he would end up filming. This silent movie, released in 1919, includes Hurley's record of the expedition, and of what happened when the ship became stuck in the ice, leaving the explorers with small hope of rescue. Of course, we know that they were eventually saved, almost two years after setting sail, thanks to an astonishing 800-mile voyage by Shackleton and a handful of men in a little boat, but this movie shows the resilience of these stranded men, even when rescue seemed impossible. The opening title card describes what follows as a tale of British pluck, and it's remarkable to see how the explorers maintained their amazing spirits even when things were at their bleakest: training dogs, learning to ski, and continuing their scientific research. Hurley even filmed the moment when the ship, crushed by the ice, finally sank: a few seconds of movie that are agonizing to watch even now. And when the ordeal ended, when lesser men might be resting and recovering, Hurley took the time to movie the wildlife of South Georgia and the whaling station to which the exhausted men were taken. This freshly restored print is in unbelievable condition and allows us to see, for the first time since the film's release, an wonderful adventure brought to life. --Simon Leake

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    The original cookbook by Sean Brock "Husk" was, at the time of it's original publishing, above my capability. Time has passed and my capabilities have improved and although most of the recipes in Husk remain too specific in terms of the ingredients, South has a various feel to it. I don't think the author is writing down, but he is writing about cuisine as opposed to what he served in his restaurant. Much of what is in this book can be made with only a few stretches of the pantry and that makes a large difference. Maybe my skills have improved, or maybe Sean Brock is speaking more directly to cooks like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    Loved the book, but was disappointed the edges of the hard cover were crushed a bit in mailing. Quick delivery though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    Awesome look at Nashville through words and photos. A look at the real roots of Nashville. The images are awesome and so moving. The descriptions do so much to enhance the photos. This is a book to treasure and enjoy. I won this book in a GoodReads Giveaway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    Amazing perceptions to a long, long issue. Tracy takes today's slants and makes a murky theme more clear. There are no simple answers, only an awareness of what got us here today. All in all, she gives value to "being Southern...even warts and all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Zealand Tides: North Island & South Island [App]  2019-1-29 13:17

    easy and simple best marine application yet

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    I have to say this: Been there – to Nashville – done that, got the tee-shirt. As well as a huge coffee mug from Opryland. But that was a long, long time ago when I was living in Kentucky and ventured further south with fifty or so Girl Scouts. As we toured the city, attended the Ol’ Opry, ate ice cream at Bobbie’s Dairy Dip, a lot of memories were made. And many, a lot of times since then I’ve often thought I’d like to return to once again savor the special flavor of an atypical American city.With a forward by historian Jon Meacham and text by award-winning novelist Ann Patchett, "Nashville: Scenes from the Fresh American South" is essentially a picture-book. No, it is not for children. Far from it. It is, however, yet another stunningly crafted publication by Harper Design [an imprint of HarperColins] that features the current essences of Nashville, Tennessee, an historical Southern icon that was, is, and forever will be a mecca for artists, filmmakers, and, of course, musicians.A picture, as the old adage goes, is worth a thousand words. With 174 black and white and full-color photographs by Heidi Ross, there are more than enough to depict Nashville in all her glory. Slowly sifting through the book, they brought back memories of my one and only visit there. But, more importantly, the photographs delve into the heart and soul of a town that is both old and new. Add Patchett’s captions that contain unbelievable tidbits, and you have the epitome of an armchair traveler’s delight. Nashville at your fingertips without having to leave the living ever, let’s go back to Meacham’s introduction. In it, he focusses upon John Lewis, a civil rights leader and Congressman from Georgia, who, while in college in Nashville, learned patience while to endure unimaginable hate for a huge cause. Lewis, the youngest speaker during the March on Washington, helped to end Jim Crow, thus desegregating Nashville, once a bastion of bigotry and racism. Meacham notes that during a latest visit, Lewis couldn’t support but wonder at how the town has changed. For the better, of course, as the historian goes on to explain. His eloquence expounding upon the old meeting the new, is a must-read; best not cited here.A fan of Ann Patchett, I was intrigued by her crisp commentaries that noted trivia that capture the subtleties of life in a town filled with diversity and commonality. As only a native-born and current resident of Nashville could write. Huge Al’s Deli & Catering, “a classic spot for Southern cooking…” juxtaposed with Al Gore at the Battle Memorial Auditorium where he heard the results of the 2000 presidential election; some of the two-million visitors in Cleveland Park who came to see the 2017 solar eclipse path of totality; the history of the Fisk Jubilee Singers; as well as that of the Woodland Studios…It’s all here. Nashville in all aspects of her glory, uniquely celebrated by the talented triptych of Meacham, Patchett, and Ross. A fitting tribute to and for a special treasure of the fresh American South.Enjoy the read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    I grew up with close family in Tennessee, so I have always been fascinated by the South. While I despised the views expressed by my uncle, I learned from my cousins in long discussions. Now, with the rise of political rage and cultural tensions that I sometimes search incomprehensible, I was looking for an in-depth explanation of what if anything has changed in the South. I did not search all of what I was seeking here, but it was worthwhile ompson starts out with long explanations of the warped ver of history - that states' rights and not slavery were the cause of the battle - and the region's intense religiosity. As a history buff, I felt that I learned very small here and for the most part skimmed the first 150 pages. There were also a lot of descriptions that I found too lengthy, such as the operation of a capitalistic church. While she mentions the hypocrisy and tendentious nonsense of much of this, I feel she should have offered more perspective and detail. Nonetheless, if not hard hitting enough, she never crossed the line of appearing apologetic or obtuse; for that, I respect her courage as a lot of from her region will be alienated and was in the latest 100 pages - on Atlanta as a town and the socio-economics of the region - that I learned the most. First, the South is becoming far more diverse than it has been, with Mexican and Asian immigrants as well as blacks in "remigration". Second, the rural locations are progressively becoming de-populated, a brain drain to the cities that is decimating the traditional society. Third, and most interestingly, she explains the Southern notion of community in a clearer method than I have yet seen. It is a masterful performance, with much moving, private detail. Fourth, she looks at a town that is dominated by business-oriented ideology, which is growing haphazardly out of control in a dozens of unsustainable ways; even in the face of the evidence, its politicians resist the notion of some guidance of the e most significant failure for me is Thompson's insufficient examination of what has happened to entrench Southern conservatives into believing in the Tea Party and candidates like Donald Trump. Southern politics seems to me excessive and wildly unrealistic, unable to distinguish between opinion and fact, just blindly ideological and absurdly entrenched. I do not mean to judge them here or create a political argument versus them, but I did wish a better understanding of what is spawning their rage. I will have to seek it is is a amazing book, but I was hoping for more. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    As an ex-pat southerner I learned a lot about the old south that I had never known and more about the changing south that I had never realized. The south in which I grew up in the '40s and '50s was white, religious, static and happy with itself. In the latest 50 years since I left, it has become diverse, ecumenical, dynamic and striving. Thompson traces the a lot of factors, including immigration and integration, that acc for the changing dynamic. The 'new mind of the south' is far from pure, but is a mix of old and new, a clinging to a mythical past and the embracing the forces of change. It's not the south in which I grew up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    This is a cookbook that will become a classic. I'm addicted to cookbooks, which I read from cover to cover--and to cooking. I also happen always to have lived in the far North--currently in the middle of nowhere--but love Southern cooking, own quite a few Southern cookbooks, know Chef Brock's reputation, and have read his "Heritage" (2013). And so I didn't expect to search a lot of recipes with ingredients that would be simple for me to find, nor techniques that might be simple for me to execute. However, I bought the book because, although we cook more than a thousand miles away, I really wanted to know more of what Chef has to say about Southern high expectations were exceeded. Chef's obsession--to use his own word--for the heirloom ingredients, and techniques of the South shines through on every page. This is why I bought the book: I wasn't looking for mere recipes. I didn't expect to search a lot of recipes with ingredients that would be simple for me to find, nor techniques that might be simple for me to execute: for example, grilling--featured in so a lot of recipes--is illegal on my condo deck. I appreciate that the author's editors have given him enormous leeway to show his dishes precisely as he wishes to do: with his preferred ingredients, whether simple to get in other regions or not; and with his preferred technique--regardless of how a lot of pages it takes to show a recipe. Every recipe has an informative headnote explaining why Chef appreciates the dish, the recipe's history, why specific ingredients or technique matter, or more.I've actually placed a number of Post-It's on the pages. For example, I know how to cook grits, but I wish to test grits Chef Brock's two ways (one of which uses an electric pressure cooker, who knew?). And I've flagged several recipes that will have to wait for the incredibly short season in which my Farmers' Shop will provide some of the author's favorite ly, the book's design is gorgeous. Most recipes have a color photo, and there are several image vignettes demonstrating technique.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    Attractive cookbook, my husband is over the moon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    As a life-long Southerner, this was a must read for me, and I think it will be for any reader who seeks an understanding of what is the REAL reason for the "differences" between the North and the South. Quickly, allow me assure you that there is no ONE reason, but a number of suggestions are set forth. From the "real" reason for the "Civil War" or the "War between the States" to architecture and food, the author sets out definitions and examples that inform or confirm the reader. Choosing to peruse culture in 11 "Southern" states, she has done her homework rather well! Interviews with citizens of rural and urban locations in all states give an authenticity to the work. While not setting forth her own opinions, she does use MUCH of her own experience in her Southern upbringing to illustrate points and emphasize differences. The book is simple to read and might be considered simplistic by some readers because it is not difficult. The research is thorough and some of the conclusions are surprising. For anyone who is a native of one of these 11 states, this will be an interesting read. For the reader who enjoys history and the social aspects thereof, this will be most enjoyable. For the native-born Southerner, the prospect of "new" info is slight, BUT, reading this work will strengthen memories and even appreciation. There were certain parts where I might quibble, but on the whole I found it a pleasant read. I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    As a college freshman, Mind of the South by WJ Money was needed summer reading. I was intrigued by the idea of updating the book so a lot of years after its initial publication. I was not disappointed. Mrs. Thompson did a unbelievable job of instilling fresh life into a book that has been a classic for so a lot of years. I am a son of the South by birth and the grace of God. Mrs. Thompson did a amazing job of dispelling some myths about the South. Her research about things event in the region over the past several decades was obvious and convincing. The author's narrative about how the region abandoned the democratic party and swung politically more conservative into the hands of republicans was well documented. The author did not neglect or avoid the problem of race and racism that lingers in the background of all things Southern. Racism was a major problem of WJ Cash's reflections on the Southern landscape. Mrs. Thompson points out the strides the region has taken, particularly the number of blacks elected to public office from school boards to governors. This book is comprehensive, well researched, and clearly written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    If you live in the South, and are watching a lot of change happen right under your eyes, this will explain everything. Amazing reading, butsomewhat depressing for future members of the D.A.R.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    Fast service, perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    Nice book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    Fast and enjoyable look at my adopted city. Loved the photos that create Nashville exactly as it is, a put that knows who it is, A town that will always retain it's heart, no matter how a lot of condos & high rises are built.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    This is the definitive modern southern cookbook. If you don’t likes sourcing ingredients I would look elsewhere. Pimento Ranch requires two various cheese powders that cost a combined 75$ from the source provided. I’m totally fine with that and you need to be as is is a well written, thought out Rhône to southern eat addition to my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    Another hit from Sean Brock. His focus to detail and history leads you to the truest form of southern cooking. His recipes are great, accurate and even improve on some of his older recipes. (changing salt content on cornbread for example) Brock also provides amazing resources with accessibility to ingredients and some substitutes. Overall another hit by this amazing chef.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    Thompson comes from Georgia Piedmont stock but now lives in a Virginia suburb of Washington. This makes her well-suited to understand both the “old” South and the “new” South, and she has had enough years on the planet to appreciate how things change. The effect is a amazing book about the American South, one that appreciates its traditions and how it is ompson writes very well, and deftly combines traditional journalism with both data and some archival research into her own family and home region. You’ll search expected subjects such as evangelical Protestants or the legacy of the Civil Battle as well as problems such as immigration from Latin America and southeast Asia. Unlike some others, she explicitly treats black Southerners as Southerners, and examines their role in Southern culture. She explores how both diversity and change assimilate to “the South” while changing the South at the same time. To take one example, imagine the identities that kids of Mexican immigrants in North Carolina might bring to school, and how they contribute to whatever school culture they join.While wiling to be critical of her region – notably, its refusal to acknowledge the legacy of slavery and the Civil War, Thompson clearly loves the South in both its old and fresh forms. She has written a very effective overview of the South today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    A modern take on an old topic (despite the adjective "new" in the title): what is it that makes the South unique, that makes it "the South" of the famous imagination? Journalist Thompson does a fine job throughout. She begins with a question about a Georgia ancestor who supported the Union during "the War"--could that man really be considered "a Southerner"?-- then sets out to discover the region, its people, and their values, trying to identity what constitutes the "mind of the South" today. (A side note--still worth reading is W. J. Cash's "The Mind of the South" [1941], which continues to be in print, a pioneer work in the genre and Thompson's model.) Her journey takes Thompson from little towns to the region's megalopolis, Atlanta, from meetings of Confederate "worshipers" to mega-churches, and her prose, wit, and insight carry the reader merrily along. Of course the work often is self-referential; how could it not be, given the author's Southern birth and the initial question that led her to undertake the project. Yet Thompson doesn't simply transcribe interviews or a kind of "Intellectual travelogue"; she also makes effective use of statistics to bolster her conclusions, tries to remain mostly objective, and succeeds more often than not (or, if she doesn't, I share her biases!). Among the best chapters are the one on Atlanta (it helps to live here to be able to wallow in Thompson's description of the place, which she knows well from growing up here and working on the local paper for several years); and her concluding essay, comparing Money and his book with her career and the show work. She believes that, while of course there have been changes in the South over the past 75 years, if Money could somehow be brought to the South today, he would recognize the put and understand its "mind." Just below the surface of Thompson's analysis of Money lurks a larger point that she might have elaborated on: in Cash's day, the South was a bizarre corner of the U.S. that stuck out like a sore thumb to the bulk of non-Southerns; today, in significant ways, the nation as a whole shares the "new mind of the South." The U.S. has become "southernized," for better or for worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    Interesting first-person acc of how the legacy of the Civil Battle and Jim Crow era shapes the modern South... especially for someone who grew up north of the mason-dixon line and was largely unfamiliar with and prejudiced versus Southern spite Thompson deriving weaving a narrative founded on anecdotes as opposed to extended academic research, this is an informative an easy-to-read account.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    Paints an accurate picture of the city

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    What a attractive collaboration! The whole country knows that Ann Patchett and Jon Meacham are institutions in this town, and Nashvillians know that photographer Heidi Ross is, too. Heidi's Nashville is inclusive and creative, generous and empathetic, like the artist herself, and we are the better for seeing our city through her eyes.I've bought several copies of the book—they create a attractive bonus (but NO one's getting my signed copy).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    I received this book today and within a few hours had tasted Sean Brock's recent work. The recipes contain a lot of traditional Southern classics like buttermilk pie, fried chicken, she-crab soup, and fried green tomatoes, but there is also the inclusion of more creative directions for blending of the geographic flavors of the south such as heirloom tomato and watermelon salad, asparagus "capers", and potato and ramp puree. Some will say that there the recipes aren't exactly like the ones they had growing up, but they would be mistaken like so a lot of in believing that southern meal is uniform. It is not. The "country ham roadmap" is a amazing example of how one product in one state can be both related in evolution but have extreme variations in taste and smoke. There are a lot of amazing cookbooks out there but I believe this one will be one that you will search both attractive and practical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    This cookbook is more approachable than the chef’s previous cookbook but there are still a lot of recipes that require ingredients you would have to online or require you to create another recipe first. I do like that recipes list other recipes that would go well e Kindle ver is difficult to use. Recipes run one after another. Spacing between sections of the recipe will create it difficult to use while cooking as nearly all recipes have ingredients well before directions and will require lots of page flipping. Last, you cannot on recipe titles to jump to that recipe, even in the index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    I’m so glad I bought this book! I’ve lived in Nashville most of my life and still learned a few things I didn’t already know about my hometown.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nashville: Scenes from the New American South []  2020-1-30 20:59

    What did I love about it? Everything. I've lived in Nashville almost all my life. I bought this as a Christmas show for my mother, who was born and raised and still lives here. It's a excellent small snapshot of Nashville, all of Nashville. It created my heart so full. And who here isn't a sucker for Patchett? It's smaller than I thought it would be, but I honestly liked that more. Sometimes large coffee table books are just that: huge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Mind of the South []  2020-4-3 18:46

    I found the analogies between southerners and the Jewish experience to not create much sense. Jews are not self annointed chosen people . There is no put in the united states where Jews are a majority culture as southerner whites are in the south and the difference between the two ethnic groups of Jews don't represent a dominant culture and former e two Jewish cultures represent a physical, language and geographic separation for hundreds of years, AS a northerner who belongs to a civil battle round table in Arkansas, I found a amazing of enlightenment in the book as too southern attitudes. The southerners in the group test to ignore the problem of slavery as a cause of the civil battle even when confronted with the words of the articles of secession as discussed in the book. and think that slavery was benevolent and not the not good institution it was. They also seem to think that the KKK was and is a benevolent group and was justified in aiding the planters and southern elites to return to power using violence and intimidation. 100 plus years of segregation and terror are also ignored. racist jokes are common at the ey also tend to overlook 100 years segregation as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    Not as enjoyable as expected. Recipes are not appealing.I have fun reading cookbooks for information and ideas more than for recipes to follow. Didnt search this book as informative as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    Increíble! Gracias

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South: Essential Recipes and New Explorations []  2020-6-6 18:50

    No one could question the beauty of what Sean Brock has done with South. I do wonder how a lot of will be disappointed to see almost all recipes require ingredients that require ordering, expensive or having to create as a separate ingredient for the recipe. This is a book that truly represents the South and its heritage. I likethe method he contains recipes for Shrimp and Grits. One traditional, the other an alternate.I remember the late Charlie Trotter of Chicago’s books had recipes that needed ingredients not readily accessible. Definitely a book that needs to be read to appreciate the culinary South and its traditions, varieties and amazing recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island (Travel Guide) []  2019-12-29 18:45

    My largest complaint is that this book is almost completely lifted, word-for-word, from the more complete companion "NEW ZEALAND" tutorial by Lonely Planet. Here and there, there are a few additional items, but don't waste your on this book if you have, or plan to buy, the larger book that also includes the North Island. The only reason to this book is if you are ONLY touring the South Island. I will test to obtain my back from Amazon for this book, as I bought both, thinking I'd obtain a lot more detail on the South Island here. I think they should disclose the duplication in the description, so you don't both books as I did. The other problem with both books is that the huge fold-out map is inferior to most of the other tutorial books. It has small detail of smaller roads, and a lot of of the streets it does have are not labeled with route numbers or names. Prepare to a separate amazing quality map if you either of these books. Once you obtain into the info provided, its a beautiful amazing guide. One other thing: there's a powerful bent towards backpackers. If you're a senior citizen using hotels and motels, you may obtain more of what you need from other guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    We are just back from a month in Fresh Zealand, all South Island, and HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book for trip planning and as a resource while there. South Island is all about awesome nature and that's the focus of this book. Who needs another book with restaurant and hotel recommendations when there are amazing resources for those things online? This book tells you what you REALLY need to know. Some things I love about it:- that focus on nature, hikes and sights- the book's overall organization and bite sized sections for each sight listed- the associated www service / blog with extra images and latest updates which can't be done in print every day- GoogleEarth map coordinates for navigating to the right starting points for every sight- the author's conversational (and enthusiastic) writing style- the Obscure-O-Meter which sets your expectations for crowds versus solitude at the sights- time estimates for hikes, seeing the sightsIn short... everything about it that it does various than standard "travel guide" books! It's just what we needed.I was so enamored and appreciative of the book that I also just sent the author a "thanks" email. In it I listed some of the locations we went that we likely would have missed if we'd stuck to the usual information sources. I just jotted some down quickly and suddenly realized there were 13 of them! All of them were unique and made amazing memories. Think about that. You're likely going to spend several thousand dollars for a trip to Fresh Zealand from the US. So spending $20 or whatever to search those unique locations that make really unique memories?.... a no brainer.I might be gushing here a bit more than normal but just reliving the awesome trip and keeping it true about this book's part in that. I hope this review prompts you to obtain the book and enhance your trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Amazing book! Super helpful and honest. I just returned from a 3 week campervan trip to NZ and used Scott's book as my basic guidebook. Scott's reviews of off-the-road sights were spot on and his humor and writing style provided us with an honest overview of the various stops along the road. Note: NZ has little-to-no internet available in remote locations so the book's references to the online maps & hints that accompany the book are not helpful once in NZ. However, his brief directional descriptions were usually adequate enough to search the point of interest. Scott focuses on obscure and interesting sights, not so much on the well known or difficult Walks. As an avid long distance hiker, I found that combining Scott's book with info at the local I-Sites or DOC offices was the best method to obtain the most out of my trip. I was very glad I purchased this book over a Lonely Planet tutorial or something. Since I was campervaning, I had no use for a guidebook focused on hotel or restaurant recommendations. NZ Frenzy was excellent for a no-frills traveler who wanted the truth about where to stop and visit along the (narrow!) streets of the South Island!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    This is a fabulous book. It is the ultimate “insiders guide.” It gives good, succinct, descriptions of all the really interesting locations to go in Fresh Zealand. Having this tutorial created our trip SO MUCH better. The book gives no tip on lodging or restaurants but that doesn’t matter because that information can be found at a lot of online sources. It does tell you about all the best outdoor adventures you can have (most of which are or have very minimal charges). The author provides GPS coordinates for all of the websites he describes which we found to be highly accurate. It is far and away the BEST guidebook on travelling in Fresh Zealand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    African travelGreat book on African adventure. If you like this book you will wish to read the following 99 cent classics of African travels:1. Alone Among the Zulus: The Narrative of a Journey Through the Zulu Country, South [email protected]#$%!&[email protected]#$%!&[email protected] Footsteps in East Africa or, An Exploration of Harar [Illustrated] (1856)3. Tropical Africa (1889)4. A Camera Actress in the Wilds of Togoland (1915)5. The Life and Exploits of Hugh Clapperton the Distinguished Voyager, Adventurer, and Discoverer (1840)6. Scouting for Stanley in East Africa (1890)7. Through the Kalahari Desert (1886)8. Lassoing Wild Animals in Africa (Illustrated) (1911)9. Stories of the Gorilla Country (1870)10. The Unknown Horn of Africa (1888) (With active table of contents)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    I found this a very disappointing piece of work and possibly one of the dullest works about Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    I'm writing this on my final night in the South Island sitting in a rainy hotel room in Wanaka, but I'm all smiles. I just had 10 days of awesome weather, hikes, animal sightings, and food. This book created the trip. If I could hug the author I would. It's such a daunting task coming here and figuring out how to spend limited time and maximize everything. Just obtain this book and follow it based on your private interests/physical abilities and you'll have the trip of a lifetime. We're not like 6+ hour hikers, we hold things to 2-3 hours and are most interested in finding wildlife and getting the jaw dropping sights. We would have been lost without this book. I could write on and on about how awesome it is, but look, you obtain true descriptions (not some bought and Lonely Planet crap) and exact coordinates you can plug into Google Maps so you never miss a trailhead/parking lot. We saw penguins, seals, and dolphins in the wild and natural beauty unlike anything I've ever seen. Thank you for writing this book and making this wild trek around the South Island so great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Planning Map []  2020-1-23 0:45

    Amazing presort information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Probably should've given it 2 stars, but it's Cinco de Mayo...Found errors with a lot of of the hikes, and we only did a handful so that's not stresses that the book s/b used in conjunction with the website, but glaring gaps still has amazing content, and if things were tighter it'd probably obtain a 4-star rating. However, you wish something you can throw in the backpack and go. I don't wish to have to link with a www service in to obtain a full picture. And the errors...Given some of the errors we encountered, I wonder if the author has actually done the hikes listed. He often talks about drinking beer during his work; maybe a few less would be amazing - he can party when his product is complete and tight, rather than getting items wrong in the book.Anyway, amazing value in listing off the beaten path places, but come on man. If you're sending folks off the beaten path create sure they have amazing instructions/details/directions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    Really long winded

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A history of the Boer Battle one can understand without going to sleep. An unvarnished non politically correct real view of SA today. Black rule ruins the best country in Africa. Just like all the rest have gone down the tubes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Planning Map []  2020-1-23 0:45

    Excited about our upcoming trip. This book makes the travel easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    In "Searching for the Queen's Cowboys" Tony Maxwell takes the reader on a journey as he and his son travel across South Africa documenting the role of Strathcona's Horse, a Canadian Regiment in the " first large- scale modern battle between an advanced military power and a little backward nation of people of European descent." Intermingled with info of their journey and descriptions of major wars are Tony Maxwell's private experiences growing up in South Africa.Fascinating and often filled with humor, "Searching for the Queen's Cowboys" gives a special insight not only into the exploits of the Canadian squadron but into the modern-day issues of South Africa, a country still impacted by its violent and turbulent past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Even as Scott would say in the book about an awesome obscure trek, shhh don't tell anyone about this! All kidding aside, this tutorial book is a MUST have for anyone visiting Fresh Zealand. No need for any other tutorial books that are just going to take you to the locations and tours that them to obtain into their book. You can obtain all that info through a google search. Scott writes everything from first-hand experience and it is all extremely detailed. I promise you can feel comfortable ignoring the poor reviews on this book because "it is not in color" and "it doesn't have maps." The book being in black and white makes no difference and maps are not important in the book (even though he does have primary maps showing approximate zone of each trek in each region).Scott lays out dozens of various treks around the island and breaks them down by region. He then also breaks each region down by giving you which ones are treks you can't pass up. Even more helpful was that he describes both how to obtain to the trailhead and what to expect on the trail in amazing detail. Scott also gives you an idea of how crowded the trek typically is and there are exact coordinates for each trailhead. This is where not needing detailed maps in the book comes into play. Instead, the application to your phone before your trip and place in the coordinates for the treks you wish to do, then save the areas as a favorite. When you arrive you will have a GPS application for driving that will take you to all the areas and it does not require any data from your plan to work. Oh and guess what, you can then see the sight for yourself.....in color!I can't tell you how a lot of times we passed up the jam packed parking lot for a famous trek to instead opt for one that Scott suggested and had our minds blown by how attractive it was and how few people we encountered. This book is worth its weight in gold, it did not leave our side the entire trip

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    We used this for our 3 week trip to NZ. We hiked the Milford and the Routeburn (both fabulous) and then rented a campervan for 2 weeks which is where this book came in. This MADE our holiday. We took lovely drives, saw wild penguins and fur seals on nearly deserted beaches, camped on the beach and more, all because of the awesome tip in this book. The authors enthusiasm for NZ and the outdoors clearly shines. Thanks, Scott!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Frenzy provides some amazing hints and things that you just wouldn't know as a visiting tourist. His choices are somewhat idiosyncratic, but if you align with his outlook, it's perfect. In other words, if you dislike crowds, and prefer deserted second-rate attractions over crowded first-rate ones, he'll tutorial you there. When something is 'worth' the crowds, he'll tell you that n't create this your only guidebook - it doesn't have any info on accommodation, dining etc. Rather, it's a companion to your journey that will be responsible for some of your best and most special memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Awesome book. We used it every day and were able to search the most unbelievable hikes. We are a middle aged couple and we loved going beyond the crowds and being able to see things that were a small off the beaten track. We highly recommend this tutorial for anyone who has a small bit of an adventurous spirit and wants to obtain the most out of their trip to the South Island. If you aren't adventurous, his hints on the more touristy sights are also great, like telling us to view the Pancake rocks during high tide. Take the book with you- you won't regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Road Trips (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-21 22:36

    I have to say that this Lonely Planet book is absolutely useless. I just took it to Fresh Zealand and it was a waste of space, despite being incredibly compact. All it does, really, is list a few restaurants and a few locations to stay in SOME of the towns/cities in South Island (amazing what they leave out), along with the most obvious things to do, like hey, take the gondola in Queenstown. The fact is that this information is widely available in other places, but much more extensive lists that are better researched. Say, for example, you wish to know about campgrounds or hotels. Why ever would you look in this book to see the measly amount they list, when you can google an enormous campground or hotel list and reserve or inform yourself in advance?I'm not saying that there's no room for a book like this in the internet age. I would certainly welcome a handy-dandy guidebook chock-full of helpful info. It's just that this book IS IN NO WAY IT. It feels like a regurgitation of the most obvious things you can imagine, except so tightly edited and limited that it's utterly useless. Besides which, most of the "cities" or towns or villages in the South Island are so small, that you see everything there is to see on the ONE SINGLE MAIN STREET as you drive in. Of course there's also the government-sponsored INFORMATION place, also on the main drag, that can give you everything you need, clearly this brings up the question -- what's the purpose of a guidebook anyway? In my opinion, it should be to ENRICH your experience of travelling in the South Island of Fresh Zealand, if that is indeed the topic. This book is an epic fail in this -- I literally looked at the pictures of the "staff" and thought, what in the globe have you guys been doing with your work hours?? In any case, on the opposite end of the spectrum I happened to be lucky enough to have a book called NZ FRENZY in the camper I rented. This book is absolutely wonderful -- it sends you to literally tons and hundreds of absolutely awesome and original things, that you never would have discovered if you hadn't read it. I can't recommend it highly enough.I have no connection to either of these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition []  2020-1-23 0:21

    We have been living in NZ for the past 9 months and were lucky enough to be recommended this book (along with its North Island compatriot) early on. We love being outside and adventuring around our fresh country and this book is ALWAYS our guiding light on what to do. We have been utterly astounded with some of Scott's entries and have loved every tramp, waterfall, lookout, beach, blowhole, etc. that he has ever led us to. Scott is very clear in his writing, directions, times, difficulty, etc. and adds the excellent amount of humour. We just finished a 10-day trip around the South Island over the Christmas and Fresh Years holidays and used this book to tutorial our entire trip. Scott, thank you for writing this book, we will continue to every fresh edition that you release!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Planning Map []  2020-1-23 0:45

    My largest complaint is that this book is almost completely lifted, word-for-word, from the more complete companion "NEW ZEALAND" tutorial by Lonely Planet. Here and there, there are a few additional items, but don't waste your on this book if you have, or plan to buy, the larger book that also includes the North Island. The only reason to this book is if you are ONLY touring the South Island. I will test to obtain my back from Amazon for this book, as I bought both, thinking I'd obtain a lot more detail on the South Island here. I think they should disclose the duplication in the description, so you don't both books as I did. The other problem with both books is that the huge fold-out map is inferior to most of the other tutorial books. It has small detail of smaller roads, and a lot of of the streets it does have are not labeled with route numbers or names. Prepare to a separate amazing quality map if you either of these books. Once you obtain into the info provided, its a beautiful amazing guide. One other thing: there's a powerful bent towards backpackers. If you're a senior citizen using hotels and motels, you may obtain more of what you need from other guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A well written and informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    I was a Boy Scout, so I researched Lord Baden Powell, the founder of the Scouting movement and learned a bit about the Anglo-Boer War. Later, I read a number of Winston Churchill's books on the battle and amazing fiction stories written by G A Henty about the Boer War. On Amazing Reads, I saw this book and purchased it in the Kindle ver to learn more about the Canadian soldiers who fought in this war. When I started reading, I discovered that this was not just a history, but an in-depth review of the political situation in South Africa up to 2010. It is also a journey of remembrance of the author who grew up in South Africa and retraced some of his boyhood memories. It is also a picture of the decline of South Africa due to government corruption and incompetence under the fresh regime. It is a view through the eyes of the citizens currently living and working there. This book is troubling, informative, educational, entertaining, and an perfect read! I found an perfect website, anglo-boer war, and used the maps of the country in 1899 to 1902 as well as google maps to follow the travels of the author and his son. This is not a history, a travel guide, or a rememberance, but all of that and more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island (Travel Guide) []  2019-12-29 18:45

    Amazing presort information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bruce Moffett Cooks: A New England Chef in a New South Kitchen []  2020-6-26 19:16

    Bruce is an exceptional chef. I’ve dined at Barrington’s for almost ten years. This cookbook is so perfectly composed. I’ve already cooked 3 dishes and each has been phenomenal. Thank you for putting together a collection of awesome recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bruce Moffett Cooks: A New England Chef in a New South Kitchen []  2020-6-26 19:16

    A Fresh Englander moves to the South and creates rich, delicious foods. The book is inspirational the foods and artwork are lovely. A book to add to your cookbook collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bruce Moffett Cooks: A New England Chef in a New South Kitchen []  2020-6-26 19:16

    Bruce Moffett Cooks by Bruce Moffett is a NetGalley ebook that I read into early February.With very small preamble (outside of a little bio), Moffett goes straight into recipes for pantry items, appetizers, soups, salads, veg, fish, meat, game, pasta, pizza, bread, and desserts with a style informed by his restaurants’ recipes, his grandmother, classic training and spending time in the American South (though his own recipes don’t necessarily announce that; there's subtle reference to ramp onions, chowchow, and huge worldly view of meal with dishes from China, Korea, and Italy, and some off-beat, loosely assembled salads). Some inside stories are scattered throughout of his experiences and others' (usually members of his staff and/or purveyors) experiences with him. My favorite recipes contain fresh South collards, tilefish schnitzel with poached egg and shaved fennel, chicken cacciatore, seafood cannelloni with lobster sauce, and biscuit breakfast pizza.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bruce Moffett Cooks: A New England Chef in a New South Kitchen []  2020-6-26 19:16

    Amazing cookbook with awesome photos. A must have!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Sudan: A New History for a New Nation (Ohio Short Histories of Africa) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Small

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bruce Moffett Cooks: A New England Chef in a New South Kitchen []  2020-6-26 19:16

    Love the cookbook! Amazing recipes, images and interesting narratives!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bruce Moffett Cooks: A New England Chef in a New South Kitchen []  2020-6-26 19:16

    Bruce Moffett, celebrated chef and restaurant owner, is from Fresh England, but has branched out and released an perfect cookbook, Bruce Moffett Cooks: A Fresh England Chef in a Fresh South Kitchen that includes innovative and special recipes, all with a southern twist. It seems everyone loves southern food, and this is a amazing book to gives cooks a primer on amazing southern recipes. The featured recipes aren’t all southern; rather they are inspired by countries all over the world. There are Italian, Thai, Korean, Middle Eastern, and European recipes, as well as ere are also basics like an perfect Pimento Cheese, grits, and primary sauces. Moffett also features mouthwatering pizza recipes like they serve at his restaurant, Stagioni (located in Charlotte, North Carolina). Interesting ones contain Arrabbiata Pizza with Prosciutto and Local Egg, or Tartufo Pizza with Mushrooms, Caramelized Onions, and Arugula, and also a Brussels Sprouts Pizza with Parmesan Cream and Smoked Pancetta. Moffett also contains his restaurant’s signature pizza, Pepperoni and Sausage Pizza for those who aren’t quite as adventurous. He contains a tasty risotto, Sweet Pea Risotto with Pea Butter and several recipes for vegetables to be served on the side of tons of wonderful fish and seafood recipes; a favorite is the Cornmeal-Dusted Catfish with Black-Eyed Peas, Collards, and Red Pepper Broth – southern and fabulous. Fried Chicken Plate with Collard Greens and Warm Potato Salad is next in the queue, along with Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Salsa e photographs are gorgeous; unfortunately there aren’t images of every recipe, which may be the only negative about this e recipes are inspiring – most readers will wish to create almost everything, and the recipes are so appealing that cooks will be inspired to spend some quality time in the kitchen. Some of the recipes are fairly involved, and have several steps for accompaniments, so it may throw some beginning cooks. However, the instructions are easy-to-follow and concise, so almost anyone can turn out picture excellent dishes from the ere are tons of recipes in this cookbook that will appeal to almost everyone. Highly Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bruce Moffett Cooks: A New England Chef in a New South Kitchen []  2020-6-26 19:16

    The author is a chef from Fresh England with Restaurants in the South, Charlotte North Carolina, and this cookbook features a lot of favorite recipes. I enjoyed reading this book as much as trying some of the recipes. The recipes are not just southern but do focus on local new ingredients. He also contains some cooking and pantry basics. There are also sidebars from people who have worked with Bruce. Have fun reading and cooking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    This cookbook is fun and informative, and every recipe works. The hand written, and often whimsical, notes in the margins are instructive and personal, as if written by someone you know, and who really knows what he's talking about. Hugh Acheson gives home chefs a rare insight into the art of cooking well while being responsible toward the environment. I just love the experience of working with the recipes in this cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    A special approach to Southern Cuisine. A gift, so I can't really tell what the final results will be, but is was everything and more than I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South American Battleships 1908–59: Brazil, Argentina, and Chile's great dreadnought race (New Vanguard Book 264) []  2020-2-10 18:45

    I liked how all 3 country's battleship programs were treated separately, rather than in an all inclusive timeline as I've seen in other publications. For me, each nation's experiences being treated one at a time is easier to e only true drawback of this book is it's brevity. I feel this is, unfortunately, a common weakness of all of these short treatments of the Osprey Press sort: the info presented is accurate, but for a "nuts and bolts" kind of guy such as myself I prefer more depth. That costs this book one star. Very amazing as far as it goes, but if you wish more in depth detail you'll need to look elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South American Battleships 1908–59: Brazil, Argentina, and Chile's great dreadnought race (New Vanguard Book 264) []  2020-2-10 18:45

    A amazing but technically light introduction to South American dreadnaughts. Since these battleships never foug9 an opponent under their country's flag, war performance islimitef. ( theywere involved in numerous rebellions, and got to be necessary domestic political forces)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South American Battleships 1908–59: Brazil, Argentina, and Chile's great dreadnought race (New Vanguard Book 264) []  2020-2-10 18:45

    I LIKED AS I LEARNED SOMETHING I DINT KNOW.(NEVER TO LATE TO LEARN)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Encore Provence: New Adventures in the South of France (Vintage Departures) []  2020-6-11 19:24

    For those who have enjoyed Peter Mayle and his benevolent observations of his Provence co habitants, this continues the delicious wallowing in the slow paced but fascinating glimpse into the daily lives of the Provencals. I thoroughly recommend it to those addicts of french life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South []  2020-1-21 20:59

    Here is a book for our times. Pam Kelley's Cash Rock: A Family's Story of Cocaine, Race and Ambition in the Fresh South tells the story of Belton "Money Rock" Platt, a young drug dealer struggling to succeed in Charlotte, North Carolina, a town riven by segregation, redlining and a judicial system that disproportionately punishes non-white citizens. Kelley is a gifted writer and reporter, and her careful and empathetic writing about Platt turns this story of one man in one southern town into a microcosm of the racial and economic divides that challenge the country nationally. A book well worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South []  2020-1-21 20:59

    It is an exceptional feat to seamlessly weave an intimate biographical narrative with a treatise on modern-day social commentary. Such is the achievement of Pam Kelley in Cash Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the Fresh South. Her captivating acc of the criminal exploits of Belton “Money Rock” Platt simultaneously provides a nuanced portrayal of a successful but morally conflicted drug dealer, while providing insight into the persistent social and economic context that contributed to the seemingly inevitable fate of three be clear, Belton Platt—gifted with charisma, an innate sense for business, and a penchant for hustle—had positive influences in his life in the forms of his stepfather, Boy Scouts, and high school ROTC. Even so, an unresolved relationship with his domestically abusive father, the lure of women, and the financial demands that accompany teenage fatherhood proved to be the powerfully seductive cocktail that launched his foray into drug documenting Platt’s exploits, Kelley takes the reader on a ricochet ride, from head-scratching incredulity at Platt’s irrational choices and private indulgences to his community altruism and empathic treatment of his rivals. Her portrayal captures the complex and nuanced maturation and spiritual evolution of a man who comes to view his incarceration as life-saving and spiritually redemptive. Throughout, Kelley manages to peel back the layers of Platt’s persona in a method that draws the reader, unwittingly, deeper and deeper into relationship with ermittently, in the background and the foreground, Kelley documents the historical and present-day social, racial, political, and economic contexts in Charlotte, NC that foment systemic inequality. Think The Color of Law meets The Warmth of Other Suns, in which private narratives of families are disclosed in the context of systems that are explicitly and implicitly designed for their failure. Kelley insight and understanding but not excuses for the fate of Belton Platt and his lley’s compelling recounting of the roles of individuals who remain high profile leaders in Charlotte’s legal and criminal justice community created this book all the more fascinating. Cash Rock is a amazing read and is sure to feed the ongoing conversations, locally and nationally, about the systemic inequities and the extent to which they contribute to mass incarceration and intergenerational crime and poverty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South []  2020-1-21 20:59

    This is an interesting book, especially for people interested in urban development and the history of cities in the U.S. The book is called "Money Rock" the nickname of a popular cocaine dealer in Charlotte in the 1980s and it tells his story, but more than that it tells the story of Charlotte, NC, it's drive to be a globe class town and how local and federal policies affected poverty, crime, drugs, segregation, etc. Honestly, it tells the story of a lot of cities in America--I'm from a suburb of Milwaukee, WI, and most of the same items happened here. Redlining preventing African Americans from moving out of certain areas, urban renewal and highway building destroying tight knit communities and black owned businesses, factories leaving downtown for the South or Mexico and no employment opportunities developing to take their place, no/poor public transportation to obtain people living in the "inner cities" to job opportunities in the tonier suburbs/exurbs, drug use, increasing crime, mass incarceration taking so a lot of young black men, etc. I imagine you can search a beautiful related story for most huge cities in ere are a lot of books tackling these complex problems (indeed the author quotes from several in her book) but this one is various in that she goes into a lot of these problems but all through the lens of one family. Belton Platt, aka "Money Rock", is the center of the story but Kelley uses his and his family's story to talk about these problems and how they affected Belton, his mother, his children-- to give a face and a heart to what could be dry policy examinations and discussions.I think the beginning of the book weaves the two things together well, discussing segregation, bussing, domestic violence both policies about these things and Belton and his family living through them--tying Charlotte's growth and progression through with Belton's rise and fall and post incarceration life. Though once Belton is in jail and preaching the story tends to focus on him for several chapters in a row, getting away from that interweaving of sociological items with Belton's story. Belton's conversion and post prison life give hope to people caught up in the drug android game that they can change and obtain out and lead a amazing life (it's beautiful massive on the religion items which might not be for everyone, but it worked for Platt.) I teared up at the stories of several of Belton's sons and how they got caught up in gangs and drugs and crime and ended up dead or in jail, perpetuating the cycle. I like that Kelley can humanize the people without whitewashing them or lessening their crimes. We also meet a prosecutor (who prosecuted Belton) turned Judge who grows weary of putting black men in jail and works to change the system. Several of Belton's sons end up in her courtroom as they grow as well, emphasizing the vicious cycles generations obtain stuck e latest few chapters of the book sort of obtain away from the Platt family, except for occasional appearances by Carrie (Belton's mom) and delve into Charlotte in the latest past with the riots that stemmed from a police shooting and the community dialogue it sparked to test and finally with the systemic issues contributing to high poverty rates, among other things, for the city's African American residents. It ends on a hopeful note, with a fresh election of young, diverse council people determined to fix the city's problems.Overall the book is engaging and well written. Kelley does a amazing job of making the reader care about the characters and their story as well as give an understanding for a lot of the problems plaguing African-American neighborhoods in cities today. It's a amazing introduction to a lot of these sociological subjects (segregation, redlining, mass incarceration and the drug war) through a narrative of people living in the environment. Kelley can't obtain too in depth about any one topic, but that's okay. It gives a fresh reader a primary understanding of these complex problems and some suggestions on where to go to read more about various subjects ("The Color of Law" about redlining, "The Fresh Jim Crow" and "Locking up our Own" on mass incarceration.) I gladly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Charleston Chef's Table: Extraordinary Recipes From the Heart of the Old South []  2020-2-1 7:45

    I just wanted to give it a star ratings and not write a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Charleston Chef's Table: Extraordinary Recipes From the Heart of the Old South []  2020-2-1 7:45

    So special. Recipes from all my favorite Charleston restaurants. Amazing photos. Super history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Telescope in the Ice: Inventing a New Astronomy at the South Pole []  2020-7-17 19:5

    The Telescope in the Ice by Tag Bowen doesn’t quite delve as much into the science as I was hoping, but it is still a solidly informative and highly engaging work that tells the story of how the Icecube Neutrino Observatory (set at the South Pole) was conceived and built and how it was immediately successful. The powerful personalities (often outlandish ones) create for interesting reading, but it’s the incredibly difficult conditions and engineering issues that make a compelling story.Unfortunately, my usually trustworthy Kindle lost all my notes, so I’m working solely from memory here and won’t be quoting any passages. The book opens with an introduction into primary particle physics with an appropriate focus on the neutrino. That’s a focus Bowen keeps to throughout, though he of course needs to delve at least briefly (and sometimes more than that) into other locations in the field: the standard model, the difference between the neutrino and the neutralino, solar physics, wave-particle duality, etc. Bowen moves concisely and clearly through the early days of particle/quantum physics, spending a amazing amount of time on Pauli in particular (for amazing reason). He eventually hits the theories regarding muon decay, neutrino “flavors,” and oscillation. All explained quite lucidly with a few simple-but-helpful illustrations. Once the existence of all this is theorized, he dips into the issues with trying to detect the particle. This first section, roughly 15% of the book, is probably the longest bit of sustained science, so if one gets through here (and Bowen makes that quite easy), it should be smooth sailing the rest of the om there it’s onward and Southward to the different early attempts at constructing a neutrino “telescope,” including AMANDA, the direct precursor to IceCube, one in Russia, and a long-running but eventually futile attempt to build one underwater (as any movie director could have told them, the ocean is a horrible put to do just about anything requiring a budget and smooth operation).While Bowen had given us nice sketches of several of the scientists involved in early discoveries, such as Pauli and Fermi, it’s with AMANDA and its contemporaries that he really hones in on the often outsized personalities involved, some for amazing and some less so (for instance, George Smoot, certainly one of the names most likely to be recognized by lay readers, does not come off so amazing here). There’s still some science here, but along with focusing more on the personalities involved, we also obtain some wonderfully vivid info of what it’s like to live and work at the South Pole (though some info remain hidden in a long-standing tradition of what happens on the ice stays on the ice). And while the science is obviously difficult, it’s the engineering that often takes center stage. How does one drill a hole into the ice 1000 meters (and then even deeper when a 1000 turns out to not be deep enough)? How does one build a hose that is able to heat its method down the hole but not obtain frozen in it as it continues to descend or on its method up? How does one hold the workers from freezing? How does one save the data and then obtain it to the people who need it? How does one do all of this in the very short transportation window available to ferry equipment and people to the site? And with regard to “human engineering,” how does one navigate all the egos involved, not to mention different institutions, so that they work together rather than at odds with one another?These are not simple problems, which is why they didn’t always succeed the first (or second) time around and why it took decades of work before first AMANDA and then IceCube were built. Once there were completed, their usefulness became evident almost immediately. The scientific discoveries (pinpointing a nova for instance) are covered almost as an epilogue, though as with the earlier science, Bowen is consistently lucid in explaining both the underlying science and the importance of the discoveries, such as what they might mean for the theory of supersymmetry or the find for dark matter. He is particular amazing about noting how the absence of a effect can be just as useful as a result, and does a nice job of explaining the benefits of being able to “limit” theories. He ends with some discussion of the next iteration of IceCube, termed IceCube-GEN2, a brief review of the latest LIGO discovery of gravitational waves, and an excited look into the future of “multi-messenger” astrophysics.I wouldn’t have minded a bit more science, but Bowen’s focus and concision are hardly faults. Informative even if more human-centered than most famous science books, The Telescope in the Ice is an inspiring and enjoyable acc of our continued attempt to understand the universe around us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island []  2020-1-19 21:31

    As with any interesting journey, what the author actually intended to do and what he actually found most interesting, isn't all that interesting. What actually happened, though, is a amazing read. The first 3 or 4 days of the journey are by far the best. Gives you a feel for cycling in Fresh Zealand and isn't a poor intro to long distance cycle touring in general. The writing is amazing enough that it's fun to actually complete the journey, but the value is in the description of those first few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island []  2020-1-19 21:31

    Three Weeks on the Mainland needs editing. His "craziest collection of crazy crap" descriptions, the more-than-I-wanna-know reports of alcoholic excesses, and the juvenile pranks played on his riding buddy leaves the reader with small reward for the time spent reading. This author may obtain better with time and significantly more travel . . . . or maybe not. I won't be searching his name for another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island []  2020-1-19 21:31

    A couple of guys cycling across Fresh Zealand's south island. A bit slow in parts, but a generally enjoyable read. I appreciated the honest opinions about the towns and accommodation. The author seems fair and even handed in his appraisals. I am not a cycling enthusiast, but didn't search this book too massive on jargon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South to Barcelona: A New Life in Spain (Barcelona Series Book 1) []  2020-7-29 19:22

    I'm sorry, much as I like travel memoirs, this one failed to entertain me. Subjectively speaking, It lacked a certain "lightness of being". It seemed somewhat self-centred, and there was nothing much about mates and flatmate. The endless, detailed descriptions of locations in Barcelona became merely boring to me. I missed something in Lacey's writing but it's hard to pin down exactly what. It did not keep my attention. I did not finish the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South to Barcelona: A New Life in Spain (Barcelona Series Book 1) []  2020-7-29 19:22

    I loved the method the author writes. His words connote pictures. I’m an avid reader of ex pat tales and loved the Barcelona setting. Can’t wait for the next installation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    The application was much more user friendly prior to the recent update. It used to save my schedule information (departing and arriving stations) and all it took to check eastbound schedule was to hit the reverse button between the saved stations. Now you have to go into the menu and select the station stops you need in to generate a schedule. May seem like a small thing, but when ur looking for the next train out of Chicago, sometimes those precious seconds can cost you an hour or more of your time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    The latest modernize changed everything, I search it overcomplicated and more difficult to use than the previous version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    So this recent modernize just cost me my saved tickets and it crashes upon opening. It's unstable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    The recent modernize has removed awesome features for people who just wish to view train schedules. The current method to view a schedule requires you to select a departure and a destination and then it will generate a giant table of all trains. This might be a "so what?c moment until you realize they had it better before this update. You used to be able to select a departure and destination. And it would automatically generate the table, focusing on the NEXT available train. You could also push ONE button and it would reverse the two, you know, in case you wanted to see what time you had to be at the exact same station to go back home. You have to go back and regenerate a giant table (after reelecting the departure/destination again), and then sort through every train to search the one you want. For people who just need to know when the next train is, they certainly created the schedules harder to reach within the application and less user friendly. This is the only feature I care about and I might as well just go print out the table at work and carry that around now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    Please bring back the ability to stay logged in

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    I do want that there is a picture map instead of the names. It's really helpful for people that have lived here for a while but for newbies it would support

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Shore [App]  2019-2-12 13:36

    Works well. I like the cloud saving option. Want they offered a round trip ticket instead of 2 one-way. Amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Pacific []  2020-2-2 3:24

    I saw this film a lot of years ago when it first came out. One day a few months ago i started huming a tune in m y head; golly could I still remember the words? Some Enchanted Evening, Bali Hai , Dites-Moi, Younger than Springtime, Im I, I'm Gonna Wash that Man Right Out of My Hair, Satisfied Talk, Cock-Eyed Optimist. Come on is there another musical with so a lot of unbelievable songs? I THINK NOT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Pacific []  2020-2-2 3:24

    Maravilloso

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386