new south Reviews & Opinions


Submit new south review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    South Sudan: A New History for a New Nation (Ohio Short Histories of Africa) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Small

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Women of the New South: The Leaders of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the Southern States review []  2020-1-23 1:57

    Most books on the struggle for women's suffrage in the United States are written by "Yankees", authors from north of the Mason-Dixon line, and from the point of view of the "Yankee" leadership that dominated the is book presents the suffragist struggle by an Southern author and from the point of view of Southern suffragists who deeply resented "Yankee" interference in Southern politics. Southern suffragists advocated a states rights solution to woman suffrage instead of a federal amendment (the 19th) so that states would have local control of voting qualifications. "Local control" meant being able to deny Black women the franchise as they had so effectively denied Black men after the passage of the 15th amendment.Of course, Southern suffragists were on the wrong side of history on the issue. But racism more than sexism was the greatest obstacle to passage of the 19th amendment. I recommend this book for anyone wanting to understand why it took so long, why Southern Congressman and Senators and Southern state legislatures fought versus the 19th amendment to the bitter end,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Women of the New South: The Leaders of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the Southern States review []  2020-1-23 1:57

    Required this book for a college course I had and it was just what I need. It was less expensive than buying at the bookstore. So I save alot of cash and was able to buy some other supplies.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on new south or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch new south video reviews and related movies:

    See New South on youtube.

     related image

    See PREMA KATHA CHITRAM 2 (2020) | New Released Full Hindi Dubbed Movie | South Indian Blockbuster Movie on youtube.

     related image

    See Dear Comrade (2020) New Released Hindi Dubbed Full Movie | Vijay Devarakonda, Rashmika, Shruti on youtube.

     related image

    See New south movie Hindi Dubbed south movie 2019, south movie, love story movie, south movie love story on youtube.

     related image

    See Satellite King New South Indian Movies Dubbed in Hindi 2019 Full | Vishal, Samantha, Robo Shankar on youtube.

     related image

    See 2020 ki new south love Story Movie in Hindi dubbed on youtube.

     related image

    See DHAAKAD (2020) NEW RELEASED Full Hindi Dubbed Movie | New South Movie 2020 | New Movie 2020 on youtube.

     related image

    See Latest Hindi Dubbed Full Movies 2019 | New South Indian Movie 2019 | Hindi Dubbed Full Movie HD on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Women of the New South: The Leaders of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the Southern States review []  2020-1-23 1:57

    Hazel Brannon Smith won the Putlizer Prize for editorial writing in 1964. Born in Gadsden, Alabama, she died nearly destitute in a nursing home in Tennessee in 1994. She not only spoke up for women's rights but for those of the not good South who could not speak for themselves. She exposed the Klan death threats and cross-burnings in Mississippi and suffered for her stand versus violence, and economic strangulation in the name of "telling the people the truth and defending their freedom."It was considered harmful for females to ride bicycles in case it might hurt their reproductive capability. They adopted trousers (bloomers) so that they could ride them freely. Through the suffragist press, women reinvented themselves as professional journalists, policy experts and savvy visionaries. Susan B. Anthony's 'Revolution' and 'Farmer's Wife' publications led the method for the women to demonstrate for the right to vote. They left a heritage of feisty optimism and stealthy radicalism which forced a nation to live up to its ideals of 'representative democracy.'More women in the South are becoming involved in politics. We even had a nominee for Mayor of Knoxville at the latest election. Louisiana has a female Governor. What's this globe coming to?The rose is a rose,And was always a rose.But the theory now goesThat the apple's a rose,And the pear is, and so'sThe plum, I suppose.What will next prove a , of course, are a rose --But were always a rose.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Port South review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Fresh Port South tells the tale of a student's rebellion versus authority and the effects it has upon others. Maddox, the protagonist in the movie, becomes obsessed with a former student named Stanton, who he believes was unjustly locked up in a mental institute after being expelled from Fresh Port South High School. We search out at the beginning of the film that Stanton has escaped the mental institute and is helping break others out from different facilities across the state. Maddox wishes to avenge as well as impress Stanton by making life difficult for the teachers and administration. Maddox's mates come to realize that Maddox is just as manipulative as he claims the staff to be. Will Maddox learn this lesson for himself before it is too late?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Part 5 - Pour me another rum - I’m going to sail the South Pacific and visit New Zealand, Tonga, Fiji, Vanuatu and New Caledonia. (“Pour me another rum ... around the World!” “The 5 year Voyage”) review []  2020-1-23 0:46

    I was expecting more info especially about Fresh Caledonia. So sadly a disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Part 5 - Pour me another rum - I’m going to sail the South Pacific and visit New Zealand, Tonga, Fiji, Vanuatu and New Caledonia. (“Pour me another rum ... around the World!” “The 5 year Voyage”) review []  2020-1-23 0:46

    A must read book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New York, New Jersey & Pennsylvania (LONELY PLANET NEW YORK, NEW JERSEY AND PENNSYLVANIA) review []  2020-1-7 19:19

    I BOUGHT THIS BOOK AS I WAS MOVING TO NEW YORK TO EAT BOOK FULL OF INFORMATION FOR ANY TRAVELER OR EVEN ANYONE LIVING IN THE UNITED STATES

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New York, New Jersey & Pennsylvania (LONELY PLANET NEW YORK, NEW JERSEY AND PENNSYLVANIA) review []  2020-1-7 19:19

    Lonely Planet Fresh York, Fresh Jersey, and Pennsylvania, is a amazing book to have if you intend to visit all three states. There info is second to none, except Fresh York Town (buy Lonely Planet's Fresh York Town Guide). The entire Pennsylvania chapter is perfect also, and the tutorials to specific locations like Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and the Lake Erie region is first rate! The only issue is that they skipped Meadville, PA, which is a perfect put between Erie and Titusville, and is near locations like Conneaut Lake and Pymantuning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New York, New Jersey & Pennsylvania (LONELY PLANET NEW YORK, NEW JERSEY AND PENNSYLVANIA) review []  2020-1-7 19:19

    I was impressed with Lonely Planet's tutorial to Texas, so I bought this one for a trip to Pennsylvania. It covers the major items --- Philly, Pittsburgh, Gettysburg, Hershey, Lancaster --- but doesn't have much more than these major areas. I got ahold of the Moon Handbook for Pennsylvania and was...impressed. It guided me to locations I never knew existed: Covered bridges dotting southwestern Pennsylvania, non-tourist infested Amish communities in central and western PA, winieries in North East, and the hiking paradise that I found in the Black Forest area. However, LP did a amazing job at the locations it did cover, and I used it to select accomodations. Guess I justed wanted something a small more in-depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Amazing book for those folks looking deep down inside and asking that there has to be something more than this. Especially amazing if you lost a job, or are changing careers, or starting a fresh job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    This book is a amazing starting point for career men and women of all age groups who are either looking to change careers, or who have been forced to re-evaluate their strengths in this not good economy. It's an simple read with engaging, relevant advice. I've shared some of Ms. Levit's other perfect career books on 20-somethings in the workplace with the 20-somethings who I manage at my firm (and the tip in the books have always helped them greatly), but I'm afraid to share this one lest they obtain any ideas about leaving for a fresh career!It's a fresh decade, so why not finally brush off the procrastination and discover the fresh career you've been looking for?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    If you're considering a career change or have recently lost your job & are looking for inspiration, this book is a amazing resource. It shares real-life stories of others who have created career shifts in different industries for 7 major reasons: family, independence, learning, money, passion, setback (i.e. getting laid off), and talent. If you're in your 20s or 30s, you'll relate particularly well to the examples. I think the latest economic downturn gives us all an opportunity to reassess what we're doing and what we WANT to be doing. It just might be the excellent time to create a change! Grab a copy of this book if you're with me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    The best thing about this book is that it focuses on the motivations behind career change because no one makes a major change such as this for the same reason as another. There are obviously a lot of books on career change, but I haven't seen one written quite this method and I appreciated the originality and the insights.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Having been a stay at home mom for some time now, I have been attempting to forge a fresh career path for the past few months. Despite endless hours spent brainstorming and searching, I had created no true progress in this journey. Then a mate suggested I read Fresh Job Fresh You. Although I had already read other similar self support books, I really respect this friend's opinion and so I gave it a shot. I finished this book in two nights and can honestly say that it was the most insightful, informative, well written book of this type I have ever read. And bottom line is that because of this book, I now know what I wish to do and have already begun to implement my career reinvention. While reading this book, the proverbial lightbulb went off in my head and all of a sudden the respond came to me. The writing is excellent; the info is straightforward, and the book truly accomplishes all that is sets out to do. I can't thank this author enough for guiding me in such a profound and substantive way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    thought the chapter about setbacks was helpful but generally, I thought the foreword by Stephen Covey overpromised, also it seems mostly about case studies of people who weren't that interesting, at least not to me. Also as a book from the 90s, it can only support so much and maybe it did?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Amazon as usual delivered prompt service and amazing prices. The book is a very interesting read. It opens your eyes to the possibilities of the changes you can create in your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    This book seemed very cursory and filled with nothing more than common sense. Guessing their are much better reads out there about executing a "new you".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    This book is just a lot of stories. How people were doing one thing then became dissatisfied with their job/life then created a change. There are "tips" / action stuff at the end of each chapter but who really does all that stuff? Maybe I just had higher expectations from this book after ALL the RAVE reviews. Really - 16 reviewers each gave it FIVE STARS? hmmmmm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Job, New You: A Guide to Reinventing Yourself in a Bright New Career review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    I have been a long time fan of Alexandra Levit's work, own several of her other books, and have recommended her books to specialists time and time again. In the book Fresh Job, Fresh You, Alexandra writes about seven reasons people obtain the itch to change careers. I used this info to evaluate a career change I am considering - going from the entrepreneurial lifestyle I've made back to the corporate globe to build my network, work with bigger clients, and take on an executive leadership role within a top marketing st people who are able to quit their jobs and become entrepreneurs don't create the switch back - so I had my doubts about whether I could create the transition. Fresh Job, Fresh You showed me that I was ready for this career change and gave me dozens of amazing ideas to create the transition happen, and create it a successful one too!I am confident that the insights I found in this book will support me reinvent myself and my career as I take on fresh opportunities!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa review []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A well written and informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa review []  2020-1-17 22:42

    Really long winded

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa review []  2020-1-17 22:42

    I found this a very disappointing piece of work and possibly one of the dullest works about Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa review []  2020-1-17 22:42

    I was a Boy Scout, so I researched Lord Baden Powell, the founder of the Scouting movement and learned a bit about the Anglo-Boer War. Later, I read a number of Winston Churchill's books on the battle and amazing fiction stories written by G A Henty about the Boer War. On Amazing Reads, I saw this book and purchased it in the Kindle ver to learn more about the Canadian soldiers who fought in this war. When I started reading, I discovered that this was not just a history, but an in-depth review of the political situation in South Africa up to 2010. It is also a journey of remembrance of the author who grew up in South Africa and retraced some of his boyhood memories. It is also a picture of the decline of South Africa due to government corruption and incompetence under the fresh regime. It is a view through the eyes of the citizens currently living and working there. This book is troubling, informative, educational, entertaining, and an perfect read! I found an perfect website, anglo-boer war, and used the maps of the country in 1899 to 1902 as well as google maps to follow the travels of the author and his son. This is not a history, a travel guide, or a rememberance, but all of that and more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa review []  2020-1-17 22:42

    African travelGreat book on African adventure. If you like this book you will wish to read the following 99 cent classics of African travels:1. Alone Among the Zulus: The Narrative of a Journey Through the Zulu Country, South [email protected]#$%!&[email protected]#$%!&[email protected] Footsteps in East Africa or, An Exploration of Harar [Illustrated] (1856)3. Tropical Africa (1889)4. A Camera Actress in the Wilds of Togoland (1915)5. The Life and Exploits of Hugh Clapperton the Distinguished Voyager, Adventurer, and Discoverer (1840)6. Scouting for Stanley in East Africa (1890)7. Through the Kalahari Desert (1886)8. Lassoing Wild Animals in Africa (Illustrated) (1911)9. Stories of the Gorilla Country (1870)10. The Unknown Horn of Africa (1888) (With active table of contents)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa review []  2020-1-17 22:42

    In "Searching for the Queen's Cowboys" Tony Maxwell takes the reader on a journey as he and his son travel across South Africa documenting the role of Strathcona's Horse, a Canadian Regiment in the " first large- scale modern battle between an advanced military power and a little backward nation of people of European descent." Intermingled with info of their journey and descriptions of major wars are Tony Maxwell's private experiences growing up in South Africa.Fascinating and often filled with humor, "Searching for the Queen's Cowboys" gives a special insight not only into the exploits of the Canadian squadron but into the modern-day issues of South Africa, a country still impacted by its violent and turbulent past.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa review []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A history of the Boer Battle one can understand without going to sleep. An unvarnished non politically correct real view of SA today. Black rule ruins the best country in Africa. Just like all the rest have gone down the tubes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New York City Travel Guide: 2018 Top 50 Things to Do & See in New York City (New York Travel Guide, NYC Travel Guide, Site Seeing New York, Backpacking New York) review []  2020-1-25 6:15

    I sent this to my granddaughter to prep for our trip in August. Love the suggestions for restaurants and bargain shopping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    This cookbook is fun and informative, and every recipe works. The hand written, and often whimsical, notes in the margins are instructive and personal, as if written by someone you know, and who really knows what he's talking about. Hugh Acheson gives home chefs a rare insight into the art of cooking well while being responsible toward the environment. I just love the experience of working with the recipes in this cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    I love this book and I love Hugh Acheson. If you don't have a lot of time on your hands, it will be difficult to fix these meals. They involve a lot of work. I did create the boiled peanut hummus. It was fantastic!!! Hugh is definitely a visionary with food!!!! Even though I haven't had enough time to prepare these dishes, I have fun reading it and learning various techniques.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    Amazing book about southern cooking. Was recommended by a chef for a chef. Both love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    This is a bonus & I hope my son, who moved to the South, will have fun it. I liked that the author was from the North & went South & enjoys creating recipes there. I have noted a few recipes I hope my son will test & I will sample on next visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    This is a amazing southern cookbook. To me in a lot of ways it reflects the Fresh South. Yet, it does manage to capture a lot of the essences of the cooking of the South. The method the recipes are presented are a bit various than I am accustomed to in some Southern cookbooks, but it had a lot of amazing recipes and is an asset.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    Love it, lots of amazing recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    This is a delightful cookbook with various and inspiring recipes. The flavors are often unique. The chef that wrote it has a very famous restaurant in my home town. The proof is in the eating..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    A special approach to Southern Cuisine. A gift, so I can't really tell what the final results will be, but is was everything and more than I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    Some interesting spins on southern cooking, but maybe a small bit more complicated than necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A New Turn in the South: Southern Flavors Reinvented for Your Kitchen review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Zealand Tides: North Island & South Island review [App]  2019-1-29 13:17

    easy and simple best marine application yet

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island (Travel Guide) review []  2019-12-29 18:45

    My largest complaint is that this book is almost completely lifted, word-for-word, from the more complete companion "NEW ZEALAND" tutorial by Lonely Planet. Here and there, there are a few additional items, but don't waste your cash on this book if you have, or plan to buy, the larger book that also includes the North Island. The only reason to buy this book is if you are ONLY touring the South Island. I will test to obtain my cash back from Amazon for this book, as I bought both, thinking I'd obtain a lot more detail on the South Island here. I think they should disclose the duplication in the description, so you don't buy both books as I did. The other problem with both books is that the huge fold-out map is inferior to most of the other tutorial books. It has small detail of smaller roads, and a lot of of the streets it does have are not labeled with route numbers or names. Prepare to buy a separate amazing quality map if you buy either of these books. Once you obtain into the info provided, its a beautiful amazing guide. One other thing: there's a powerful bent towards backpackers. If you're a senior citizen using hotels and motels, you may obtain more of what you need from other guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island (Travel Guide) review []  2019-12-29 18:45

    Amazing presort information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    This is a amazing charging stand for the Nintendo 2DS XL. Note, that before I purchased, I asked question about whether or not you could fit your console in it with a skin. I was told NO by several persons who had bought this - that you had to remove your skin! I found this quite odd and contacted the seller directly. The fact is, is YOU CAN USE A SKIN ON YOUR DEVICE AND CHARGE YOUR CONSOLE - BUT YOU CANNOT USE A CASE WITHOUT REMOVING IT!!!Note, this does not come with a power supply (just a USB cord), but you can use any power supply you have (phone brick, etc.) The best part about this charger is that it is a USB cord, so that means you don't have to take the power brick that comes with your console in order to charge eat product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    So I wasn't expecting a whole lot when I purchased this. I wanted a soluy that was easy to dock the Fresh 3DS without having to place wear on the charging port because it's notorious for failing. I am 's small, so it won't take up alot of room and it just works. It's two prongs that the system sits on that are guided by plastic inserts that the port sit e included USB 3DS cable is a large gift for me, and I want I had more for the vehicle and around the house without Nintendo's only complaint is that it's light, I [email protected]#$%! had more weight to stop it from slipping or moving when docking the system.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    Works very well, is a bit hard to obtain the 3ds XL into the stand because you have to line everything up, but I doubt it could be created better. I wave the same issue with the wii u stand from Nintendo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    Bought this for my girlfriend since she only had one charger and we both have 3DS's. She says it works perfectly with her Fresh XL 3DS: Majora's Mask Edition. The product itself is plastic and lightweight. Does not come with a plug in for the wall. It's only the dock and the usb cable. Luckily, she had a spare plug in so it worked.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    Works amazing so far. Simple to use (although I expect you couldn't use this with a case on your DS, but I don't know for sure). We've only been using it since after Christmas, but in Feb, it is still working as expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    The good: Amazing value, you obtain a USB cable with it. Very e bad: Sketchy to obtain it to create contact with the 3DS and charge properly. You must concentrate, tom line: A convenient, no-plug option that's a small janky to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    It's a bit flimsy, light weight, but... it does work. So that's neat. I use it with a retail power adapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    This does what I wish it to do: charge and display my consoles. It’s got a sleek appearance and it’s functional, my two requirements when buying items like only gripe is I [email protected]#$%! came in other colors besides black. I’ll have to custom paint the one dock to match my limited edition console, but I understand why they don’t cover the more strange color variants. Still, a white color would be nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    Be aware this is just a SUPER CHEAP THIN PIECE OF PLASTIC.... it's has no mass or weight to stand up vary well on Its own. It's also not very simple to line up the connectors with the 3DS and this base. There are no guided slots or anything. Basically this is a waste of cash all the method around. You basically will obtain a charging cable out of the deal. I guarantee you will not use this product beyond a week at the most..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Nintendo 3DS & New 3DS XL Charging Stand- Younik Charging Dock with USB Charging Cable for New 3DS & New 3DS XL/LL review []  2020-1-13 20:16

    Came in the pack like it said it would! I have a charger that wouldn't charge the 3DS right unless it's at a right angle, making it difficult to pinpoint to charge. With this charging stand I don't have to worry about that. 😁The only complaint along with what (other than the customers already pointed out about how tricky it can be aligning the 3DS onto the stand) is that I can't charge it with my Pikachu 3DS case on it, as I would have to take it apart to fit onto the stand. Other than that it works like a charm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    We are just back from a month in Fresh Zealand, all South Island, and HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book for trip planning and as a resource while there. South Island is all about awesome nature and that's the focus of this book. Who needs another book with restaurant and hotel recommendations when there are amazing resources for those things online? This book tells you what you REALLY need to know. Some things I love about it:- that focus on nature, hikes and sights- the book's overall organization and bite sized sections for each sight listed- the associated www service / blog with extra images and latest updates which can't be done in print every day- GoogleEarth map coordinates for navigating to the right starting points for every sight- the author's conversational (and enthusiastic) writing style- the Obscure-O-Meter which sets your expectations for crowds versus solitude at the sights- time estimates for hikes, seeing the sightsIn short... everything about it that it does various than standard "travel guide" books! It's just what we needed.I was so enamored and appreciative of the book that I also just sent the author a "thanks" email. In it I listed some of the locations we went that we likely would have missed if we'd stuck to the usual information sources. I just jotted some down quickly and suddenly realized there were 13 of them! All of them were unique and made amazing memories. Think about that. You're likely going to spend several thousand dollars for a trip to Fresh Zealand from the US. So spending $20 or whatever to search those unique locations that make really unique memories?.... a no brainer.I might be gushing here a bit more than normal but just reliving the awesome trip and keeping it true about this book's part in that. I hope this review prompts you to obtain the book and enhance your trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Even as Scott would say in the book about an awesome obscure trek, shhh don't tell anyone about this! All kidding aside, this tutorial book is a MUST have for anyone visiting Fresh Zealand. No need for any other tutorial books that are just going to take you to the locations and tours that paid them to obtain into their book. You can obtain all that info through a google search. Scott writes everything from first-hand experience and it is all extremely detailed. I promise you can feel comfortable ignoring the poor reviews on this book because "it is not in color" and "it doesn't have maps." The book being in black and white makes no difference and maps are not important in the book (even though he does have primary maps showing approximate zone of each trek in each region).Scott lays out dozens of various treks around the island and breaks them down by region. He then also breaks each region down by giving you which ones are treks you can't pass up. Even more helpful was that he describes both how to obtain to the trailhead and what to expect on the trail in amazing detail. Scott also gives you an idea of how crowded the trek typically is and there are exact coordinates for each trailhead. This is where not needing detailed maps in the book comes into play. Instead, download the application to your phone before your trip and place in the coordinates for the treks you wish to do, then save the areas as a favorite. When you arrive you will have a GPS application for driving that will take you to all the areas and it does not require any data from your plan to work. Oh and guess what, you can then see the sight for yourself.....in color!I can't tell you how a lot of times we passed up the jam packed parking lot for a famous trek to instead opt for one that Scott suggested and had our minds blown by how attractive it was and how few people we encountered. This book is worth its weight in gold, it did not leave our side the entire trip

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    We used this for our 3 week trip to NZ. We hiked the Milford and the Routeburn (both fabulous) and then rented a campervan for 2 weeks which is where this book came in. This MADE our holiday. We took lovely drives, saw wild penguins and fur seals on nearly deserted beaches, free camped on the beach and more, all because of the awesome tip in this book. The authors enthusiasm for NZ and the outdoors clearly shines. Thanks, Scott!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Probably should've given it 2 stars, but it's Cinco de Mayo...Found errors with a lot of of the hikes, and we only did a handful so that's not stresses that the book s/b used in conjunction with the website, but glaring gaps still has amazing content, and if things were tighter it'd probably obtain a 4-star rating. However, you wish something you can throw in the backpack and go. I don't wish to have to link with a www service in order to obtain a full picture. And the errors...Given some of the errors we encountered, I wonder if the author has actually done the hikes listed. He often talks about drinking beer during his work; maybe a few less would be amazing - he can party when his product is complete and tight, rather than getting items wrong in the book.Anyway, amazing value in listing off the beaten path places, but come on man. If you're sending folks off the beaten path create sure they have amazing instructions/details/directions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    I'm writing this on my final night in the South Island sitting in a rainy hotel room in Wanaka, but I'm all smiles. I just had 10 days of awesome weather, hikes, animal sightings, and food. This book created the trip. If I could hug the author I would. It's such a daunting task coming here and figuring out how to spend limited time and maximize everything. Just obtain this book and follow it based on your private interests/physical abilities and you'll have the trip of a lifetime. We're not like 6+ hour hikers, we hold things to 2-3 hours and are most interested in finding wildlife and getting the jaw dropping sights. We would have been lost without this book. I could write on and on about how awesome it is, but look, you obtain true descriptions (not some bought and paid Lonely Planet crap) and exact coordinates you can plug into Google Maps so you never miss a trailhead/parking lot. We saw penguins, seals, and dolphins in the wild and natural beauty unlike anything I've ever seen. Thank you for writing this book and making this wild trek around the South Island so great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    We have been living in NZ for the past 9 months and were lucky enough to be recommended this book (along with its North Island compatriot) early on. We love being outside and adventuring around our fresh country and this book is ALWAYS our guiding light on what to do. We have been utterly astounded with some of Scott's entries and have loved every tramp, waterfall, lookout, beach, blowhole, etc. that he has ever led us to. Scott is very clear in his writing, directions, times, difficulty, etc. and adds the excellent amount of humour. We just finished a 10-day trip around the South Island over the Christmas and Fresh Years holidays and used this book to tutorial our entire trip. Scott, thank you for writing this book, we will continue to buy every fresh edition that you release!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Amazing book! Super helpful and honest. I just returned from a 3 week campervan trip to NZ and used Scott's book as my basic guidebook. Scott's reviews of off-the-road sights were spot on and his humor and writing style provided us with an honest overview of the various stops along the road. Note: NZ has little-to-no internet available in remote locations so the book's references to the online maps & hints that accompany the book are not helpful once in NZ. However, his brief directional descriptions were usually adequate enough to search the point of interest. Scott focuses on obscure and interesting sights, not so much on the well known or difficult Walks. As an avid long distance hiker, I found that combining Scott's book with info at the local I-Sites or DOC offices was the best method to obtain the most out of my trip. I was very glad I purchased this book over a Lonely Planet tutorial or something. Since I was campervaning, I had no use for a guidebook focused on hotel or restaurant recommendations. NZ Frenzy was excellent for a no-frills traveler who wanted the truth about where to stop and visit along the (narrow!) streets of the South Island!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Frenzy provides some amazing hints and things that you just wouldn't know as a visiting tourist. His choices are somewhat idiosyncratic, but if you align with his outlook, it's perfect. In other words, if you dislike crowds, and prefer deserted second-rate attractions over crowded first-rate ones, he'll tutorial you there. When something is 'worth' the crowds, he'll tell you that n't create this your only guidebook - it doesn't have any info on accommodation, dining etc. Rather, it's a companion to your journey that will be responsible for some of your best and most special memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    This is a fabulous book. It is the ultimate “insiders guide.” It gives good, succinct, descriptions of all the really interesting locations to go in Fresh Zealand. Having this tutorial created our trip SO MUCH better. The book gives no tip on lodging or restaurants but that doesn’t matter because that information can be found at a lot of online sources. It does tell you about all the best outdoor adventures you can have (most of which are free or have very minimal charges). The author provides GPS coordinates for all of the websites he describes which we found to be highly accurate. It is far and away the BEST guidebook on travelling in Fresh Zealand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NZ Frenzy South Island New Zealand 3rd Edition review []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Awesome book. We used it every day and were able to search the most unbelievable hikes. We are a middle aged couple and we loved going beyond the crowds and being able to see things that were a small off the beaten track. We highly recommend this tutorial for anyone who has a small bit of an adventurous spirit and wants to obtain the most out of their trip to the South Island. If you aren't adventurous, his hints on the more touristy sights are also great, like telling us to view the Pancake rocks during high tide. Take the book with you- you won't regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Planning Map review []  2020-1-23 0:45

    My largest complaint is that this book is almost completely lifted, word-for-word, from the more complete companion "NEW ZEALAND" tutorial by Lonely Planet. Here and there, there are a few additional items, but don't waste your cash on this book if you have, or plan to buy, the larger book that also includes the North Island. The only reason to buy this book is if you are ONLY touring the South Island. I will test to obtain my cash back from Amazon for this book, as I bought both, thinking I'd obtain a lot more detail on the South Island here. I think they should disclose the duplication in the description, so you don't buy both books as I did. The other problem with both books is that the huge fold-out map is inferior to most of the other tutorial books. It has small detail of smaller roads, and a lot of of the streets it does have are not labeled with route numbers or names. Prepare to buy a separate amazing quality map if you buy either of these books. Once you obtain into the info provided, its a beautiful amazing guide. One other thing: there's a powerful bent towards backpackers. If you're a senior citizen using hotels and motels, you may obtain more of what you need from other guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Planning Map review []  2020-1-23 0:45

    Amazing presort information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Planning Map review []  2020-1-23 0:45

    Excited about our upcoming trip. This book makes the travel easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    As with any interesting journey, what the author actually intended to do and what he actually found most interesting, isn't all that interesting. What actually happened, though, is a amazing read. The first 3 or 4 days of the journey are by far the best. Gives you a feel for cycling in Fresh Zealand and isn't a poor intro to long distance cycle touring in general. The writing is amazing enough that it's fun to actually complete the journey, but the value is in the description of those first few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    Three Weeks on the Mainland needs editing. His "craziest collection of crazy crap" descriptions, the more-than-I-wanna-know reports of alcoholic excesses, and the juvenile pranks played on his riding buddy leaves the reader with small reward for the time spent reading. This author may obtain better with time and significantly more travel . . . . or maybe not. I won't be searching his name for another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    It is really only of interest to those planning a related trip. Not noteworthy in terms of writing or dialogue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    I started to read the sample and had to buy the book to search out what happened. I was hooked. A detailed story of bike touring in Fresh Zealand that will likely inspire you to hit the streets and trails yourself. All aspects of the journey are covered, from the exhilarating scenery, terrifying weather, physically challenging riding and the comparatively claustrophobic hostel r anyone thinking of bike touring in Fresh Zealand this book is a amazing introduction which will surely inspire you to create the trip yourself. For anyone else this is a amazing insight into the journey of an unconventional tourist.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    On the one hand it was nice to see a bit of NewZealand and this has given me an appetite to visit.. but I have read better writing.. for thew price I would say it is Worth the price of admission..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    It is a typical case of "neither/nor". The book does not provide much useful information, it does not create you smile once, but it is not annoying either. It is all just a bit bland.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    I'm rating this prematurely, but I am sucked into the book and love it so far - so I can't imagine it going downhill. I'll be following Leon's path more or less on my trip - for some of it. I love the detail, accounts, and am picking up small hints about the locations he biked. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    A amazing story, especially looking at my hometown, and the stunning South Island. For anyone contemplating cycle touring through the South Island, a must read with a lot of moments of self realization and 2 friends exploring. Absolutely recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    Perfect read!! Definitely have Fresh Zealand on the bucket list, Thank You Mr. Hill

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Three Weeks On The Mainland: A bicycle journey through New Zealand’s South Island review []  2020-1-19 21:31

    A couple of guys cycling across Fresh Zealand's south island. A bit slow in parts, but a generally enjoyable read. I appreciated the honest opinions about the towns and accommodation. The author seems fair and even handed in his appraisals. I am not a cycling enthusiast, but didn't search this book too massive on jargon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    Our reading group just finished reading and discussing Cash Rock, and all of us found it helpful in understanding the connections between segregation, race, and generational poverty in urban America. Kelly is a gifted writer and her journalistic narrative (she is a former reporter for the Charlotte Observer) tells the story of Belton Platt, aka, Cash Rock, one of the participants in the infamous mid-1980s gun war at Charlotte's Piedmont Courts housing project. But she tells the story in the context of decades of organized racism and segregation propagated by the notorious Jim Crow system that predominated the American South well into the 1970s. A lot of argue that with the eradication first of African Slavery and then of Jim Crow, that all is well and that African Americans, in their words, should just "get over it." But Kelly puts the lie to that method of thinking, and documents how Charlotte's housing patterns, educational system, urban poverty, and political/economic system continues to be shaped by this long-standing discrimination based on race. Two-hundred-and-fifty years of slavery and Jim Crow have made a town where thousands are trapped in urban and generational poverty to the point where in a latest Harvard study Charlotte is the least upwardly mobile major town in America where if you are born into poverty, the chances of you ever getting out of it are extremely is writer moved to Charlotte from San Francisco in 1982 and while I was aware of a huge racial divide in Charlotte as well as generational poverty, Pam Kelly's book gave me a much larger context through which to view it. There really are two Charlotte's--one the rapidly growing can-do town that attracts so a lot of newcomers to its constantly changing skyline, and the other where thousands of its residents are trapped by long-standing educational, housing, and economic patterns that limit their choices and suck the very life from them and their communities. Wish to know why American continues to struggle with race and poverty. Read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    While the private story of Cash Rock, and even more to me, his mother, are compelling on their own, interspersing their stories with background info about segregation and housing policy in Charlotte created this book even more interesting. As someone who grew up in Charlotte during the city's boom in the 1990's, I learned method more from this book than I ever did in any history or social studies classes we had in school. I don't know if anyone will walk away from this book forgiving Lamont, or any of the city's drug or crime lords, but you will certainly understand how one could fall into those ways of life, and hopefully be compelled to advocate for change in our communities, so that the youth of today do not have to suffer the same fate. It is clear the author committed a lot of time to not only researching history and policies, but in interviewing and getting to know the topics of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    Here is a book for our times. Pam Kelley's Cash Rock: A Family's Story of Cocaine, Race and Ambition in the Fresh South tells the story of Belton "Money Rock" Platt, a young drug dealer struggling to succeed in Charlotte, North Carolina, a town riven by segregation, redlining and a judicial system that disproportionately punishes non-white citizens. Kelley is a gifted writer and reporter, and her careful and empathetic writing about Platt turns this story of one man in one southern town into a microcosm of the racial and economic divides that challenge the country nationally. A book well worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    This compelling chronicle draws you in immediately. This is not only a family's story about race, drugs and tragedy, but also a tale about an growing American city. The author's acc weaved a tale about the social changes event in the growing town but also the strong ambition of one man who wanted to create his tag and strive for the things that mattered most to him, at all costs. Remarkable and unforgettable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    Veteran journalist Pam Kelley deftly delivers the story of a charismatic drug dealer who turns his life around, set versus the backdrop of a booming Fresh South town still coming to terms with its past. Belton Platt is an iconic character. His story of drugs, women and God jumps off the page. You don't have to be from Charlotte to search this book fascinating!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    You don’t have to live in Charlotte to obtain drawn into this nuanced exploration of one family’s journey in segregated America. When talented journalists go deep, amazing things happen. You’ll be glad you read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    You will love this book! Its raw and a true look at life in the too quick lane.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    “Money Rock" is about the rise, fall, and redemption (if you choose to call it such) of Belton Lamont Platt. Platt sold cocaine in Charlotte during the 80's, just as crack was becoming an epidemic, and created a name for himself as a dealer and mate of the community. It wasn't unusual for him to use his cash to support those in m Kelley tells the story of Platt (nicknamed "Money Rock") using the political, sociocultural, and historical realms, as all contributed to his decision to enter the drug trade. She doesn't attempt to create excuses for him, and he doesn't create any for himself, rather both show the facts of the times and create it clear the opportunities offered to inner town youth, at that time, weren't great. If you were looking to survive, your eventual profession would likely contain one of these three things: drugs, music, or lton didn't see a future as a musician or an athlete. Drug dealing was his only viable lley makes sure the reader understands there could have been more legitimate options, but that's where she introduces the historical and sociocultural background. Both offer greater context to the odds young men like Belton e environment in which they were forced to thrive didn't leave much in the method of options. A lot of were pigeon-holed into lives of criminality based on their address since no one expected much from a child "from the projects". As such, alternatives for success weren't offered--neither by the government nor those residing within their own ey were left to navigate those streets alone, mostly, and a lot of chose to do so by any means l of the evidence and first-hand accounting offered by Kelley, via those who bore witness (judges, jury member, community leaders, residents, reporters, etc.), granted the huge picture as to how men, like Platt, succumbed to the high risk life of drug one whose read a lot about Mass Incarceration, the Amazing Migration, and racism over the latest few years, there wasn't much here that surprised me. However, it was still an interesting look at how damaging systemic racism was and continues to be in this r that reason, more than any other, I rated this book high. If I'd rated it based on Platt alone, I would have given it two stars. I didn't like e philandering (which produced multiple kids out of wedlock), his need to maintain a relationship with the piece of trash that was his father, and the method he later used religion to continue being an absentee father were all despicable to me things are inexcusable and, his selfish behavior, throughout the course of his life, qualified as one of those at said, Kelley did a amazing job not making it only about him, so much as telling the story of how mass incarceration, racism, and the effects of poverty can destroy a family, generationally. In that regard, she did a amazing job, and that created this a worthy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    It is an exceptional feat to seamlessly weave an intimate biographical narrative with a treatise on modern-day social commentary. Such is the achievement of Pam Kelley in Cash Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the Fresh South. Her captivating acc of the criminal exploits of Belton “Money Rock” Platt simultaneously provides a nuanced portrayal of a successful but morally conflicted drug dealer, while providing insight into the persistent social and economic context that contributed to the seemingly inevitable fate of three be clear, Belton Platt—gifted with charisma, an innate sense for business, and a penchant for hustle—had positive influences in his life in the forms of his stepfather, Boy Scouts, and high school ROTC. Even so, an unresolved relationship with his domestically abusive father, the lure of women, and the financial demands that accompany teenage fatherhood proved to be the powerfully seductive cocktail that launched his foray into drug documenting Platt’s exploits, Kelley takes the reader on a ricochet ride, from head-scratching incredulity at Platt’s irrational choices and private indulgences to his community altruism and empathic treatment of his rivals. Her portrayal captures the complex and nuanced maturation and spiritual evolution of a man who comes to view his incarceration as life-saving and spiritually redemptive. Throughout, Kelley manages to peel back the layers of Platt’s persona in a method that draws the reader, unwittingly, deeper and deeper into relationship with ermittently, in the background and the foreground, Kelley documents the historical and present-day social, racial, political, and economic contexts in Charlotte, NC that foment systemic inequality. Think The Color of Law meets The Warmth of Other Suns, in which private narratives of families are disclosed in the context of systems that are explicitly and implicitly designed for their failure. Kelley offers insight and understanding but not excuses for the fate of Belton Platt and his lley’s compelling recounting of the roles of individuals who remain high profile leaders in Charlotte’s legal and criminal justice community created this book all the more fascinating. Cash Rock is a amazing read and is sure to feed the ongoing conversations, locally and nationally, about the systemic inequities and the extent to which they contribute to mass incarceration and intergenerational crime and poverty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Money Rock: A Family’s Story of Cocaine, Race, and Ambition in the New South review []  2020-1-21 20:59

    This is an interesting book, especially for people interested in urban development and the history of cities in the U.S. The book is called "Money Rock" the nickname of a popular cocaine dealer in Charlotte in the 1980s and it tells his story, but more than that it tells the story of Charlotte, NC, it's drive to be a globe class town and how local and federal policies affected poverty, crime, drugs, segregation, etc. Honestly, it tells the story of a lot of cities in America--I'm from a suburb of Milwaukee, WI, and most of the same items happened here. Redlining preventing African Americans from moving out of certain areas, urban renewal and highway building destroying tight knit communities and black owned businesses, factories leaving downtown for the South or Mexico and no employment opportunities developing to take their place, no/poor public transportation to obtain people living in the "inner cities" to job opportunities in the tonier suburbs/exurbs, drug use, increasing crime, mass incarceration taking so a lot of young black men, etc. I imagine you can search a beautiful related story for most huge cities in ere are a lot of books tackling these complex problems (indeed the author quotes from several in her book) but this one is various in that she goes into a lot of these problems but all through the lens of one family. Belton Platt, aka "Money Rock", is the center of the story but Kelley uses his and his family's story to talk about these problems and how they affected Belton, his mother, his children-- to give a face and a heart to what could be dry policy examinations and discussions.I think the beginning of the book weaves the two things together well, discussing segregation, bussing, domestic violence both policies about these things and Belton and his family living through them--tying Charlotte's growth and progression through with Belton's rise and fall and post incarceration life. Though once Belton is in jail and preaching the story tends to focus on him for several chapters in a row, getting away from that interweaving of sociological items with Belton's story. Belton's conversion and post prison life give hope to people caught up in the drug android game that they can change and obtain out and lead a amazing life (it's beautiful massive on the religion items which might not be for everyone, but it worked for Platt.) I teared up at the stories of several of Belton's sons and how they got caught up in gangs and drugs and crime and ended up dead or in jail, perpetuating the cycle. I like that Kelley can humanize the people without whitewashing them or lessening their crimes. We also meet a prosecutor (who prosecuted Belton) turned Judge who grows weary of putting black men in jail and works to change the system. Several of Belton's sons end up in her courtroom as they grow as well, emphasizing the vicious cycles generations obtain stuck e latest few chapters of the book sort of obtain away from the Platt family, except for occasional appearances by Carrie (Belton's mom) and delve into Charlotte in the latest past with the riots that stemmed from a police shooting and the community dialogue it sparked to test and finally deal with the systemic issues contributing to high poverty rates, among other things, for the city's African American residents. It ends on a hopeful note, with a fresh election of young, diverse council people determined to fix the city's problems.Overall the book is engaging and well written. Kelley does a amazing job of making the reader care about the characters and their story as well as give an understanding for a lot of the problems plaguing African-American neighborhoods in cities today. It's a amazing introduction to a lot of these sociological subjects (segregation, redlining, mass incarceration and the drug war) through a narrative of people living in the environment. Kelley can't obtain too in depth about any one topic, but that's okay. It gives a fresh reader a primary understanding of these complex problems and some suggestions on where to go to read more about various subjects ("The Color of Law" about redlining, "The Fresh Jim Crow" and "Locking up our Own" on mass incarceration.) I gladly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    South review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    When Frank Hurley loaded his cameras onto the Endurance in August 1914, ready to set sail with Ernest Shackleton's Trans-Antarctic expedition, he had no idea of what he would end up filming. This silent movie, released in 1919, includes Hurley's record of the expedition, and of what happened when the ship became stuck in the ice, leaving the explorers with small hope of rescue. Of course, we know that they were eventually saved, almost two years after setting sail, thanks to an astonishing 800-mile voyage by Shackleton and a handful of men in a little boat, but this movie shows the resilience of these stranded men, even when rescue seemed impossible. The opening title card describes what follows as a tale of British pluck, and it's remarkable to see how the explorers maintained their amazing spirits even when things were at their bleakest: training dogs, learning to ski, and continuing their scientific research. Hurley even filmed the moment when the ship, crushed by the ice, finally sank: a few seconds of movie that are agonizing to watch even now. And when the ordeal ended, when lesser men might be resting and recovering, Hurley took the time to movie the wildlife of South Georgia and the whaling station to which the exhausted men were taken. This freshly restored print is in unbelievable condition and allows us to see, for the first time since the film's release, an wonderful adventure brought to life. --Simon Leake

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lonely Planet New Zealand's South Island Road Trips (Travel Guide) review []  2020-1-21 22:36

    I have to say that this Lonely Planet book is absolutely useless. I just took it to Fresh Zealand and it was a waste of space, despite being incredibly compact. All it does, really, is list a few restaurants and a few locations to stay in SOME of the towns/cities in South Island (amazing what they leave out), along with the most obvious things to do, like hey, take the gondola in Queenstown. The fact is that this information is widely available in other places, but much more extensive lists that are better researched. Say, for example, you wish to know about campgrounds or hotels. Why ever would you look in this book to see the measly amount they list, when you can google an enormous campground or hotel list and reserve or inform yourself in advance?I'm not saying that there's no room for a book like this in the internet age. I would certainly welcome a handy-dandy guidebook chock-full of helpful info. It's just that this book IS IN NO WAY IT. It feels like a regurgitation of the most obvious things you can imagine, except so tightly edited and limited that it's utterly useless. Besides which, most of the "cities" or towns or villages in the South Island are so small, that you see everything there is to see on the ONE SINGLE MAIN STREET as you drive in. Of course there's also the government-sponsored INFORMATION place, also on the main drag, that can give you everything you need, clearly this brings up the question -- what's the purpose of a guidebook anyway? In my opinion, it should be to ENRICH your experience of travelling in the South Island of Fresh Zealand, if that is indeed the topic. This book is an epic fail in this -- I literally looked at the pictures of the "staff" and thought, what in the globe have you guys been doing with your work hours?? In any case, on the opposite end of the spectrum I happened to be lucky enough to have a book called NZ FRENZY in the camper I rented. This book is absolutely wonderful -- it sends you to literally tons and hundreds of absolutely awesome and original things, that you never would have discovered if you hadn't read it. I can't recommend it highly enough.I have no connection to either of these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    I hate to give poor reviews but really there is nothing impressive about this cookbook. If you love pictures to look at with the recipes, this book is not for you. There is not one picture in this cookbook. (except the front cover) It is a soft cover book which is fine but the quality of the book is cheap paper. OKay Okay lets obtain to the recipes.. It's a beautiful primary boring cookbook, nothing you probably can't find on pinterest for- at least you will obtain a picture of what it may look like. This is the worst 18.00 bucks on a cookbook I think I'v ever spent. BTW, I'm a cookbook hoarder. It does have the point value for each meal, that is a plus!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    This is a very helpful tutorial for weight loss. There are so a lot of fresh recipes in this book, I can easily create. Everyone who has ever created any kind of meaningful change to their life has started by choosing their attitude and mindset. The same principle applies to anyone who wants to lose weight and improve their health. The war may be to change the method your body looks and functions, but your attitude will definitely play a large role as well. If you have the right mindset, you will search it much simpler to successfully implement the WW freestyle into your lifestyle and achieve your goals. I like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    This book's step by step tutorial very useful. Excellent! The instructions are clear enough that even a novice instant pot use can follow. It's so simple to have fun meals with family and friends-holidays or everyday-with these tempting recipes. Everything is various now - this cookbook on the contrary is a true keeper!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    This arrives damaged. It has a chop on the cover that impacted several pages and it is created of very low quality paper. Returning!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    Finally reached the point to join Weight Watchers. Love how the program works with the various color choices. This book is NOT a 2020 version. Lists Intelligent Points only. Doesn’t even deserve 1 star ame on you Amazon. This is a scam.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    I would have expected pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    Nice! This book will be useful for meI will be trying for the next 2 months with all these weight watchers freestyle recipes in this book. They look simple and delicious by the method the author write it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    Not good recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    This book is awful! There are numerous typos and the calculations don’t add up. Here’s an example: a beef recipe calls for 2 pounds of beef, will serve 3 ppl, and states 100 calories! What? Save your cash and buy from the official WW books. Want I could send this back. Will never use it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Weight Watchers Freestyle 2020: New Year And New Weight Watchers Freestyle Recipes For A New YOU! review []  2020-1-18 0:16

    the illustrations are very unappealing...all black and white. There are very few pictures of the recipes and it appears cheaply produced! If I could send it back, I would....Don't buy it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Racists: The Socialization of White Children in the Jim Crow South: New Directions in Southern History review []  2020-1-19 22:13

    White America, eat your peas. Raising Racists is the vegetable we all need, but wish to wrap in the napkin when Mom is away from the table. If white men are willing to be honest with themselves, we have all been exposed to racist socialization in some measure, however slight or heavy-handed. The imprint it leaves on us is a major element in keeping racism alive in American society. A lot of white women, if willing to commit to serious self-examination, will wish to acknowledge the same thing. This book will not be as widely read as it should be, but it definitely needs to be read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Racists: The Socialization of White Children in the Jim Crow South: New Directions in Southern History review []  2020-1-19 22:13

    I really enjoyed reading this title as it provided a glimpse into history from WW1 up until then end of the civil rights movement of 1964. It gives you a look into race relations in the south and how a lot of southerners viewed and interacted with African Americans, how media manipulated the minds of Europeans and how through these mediums were able to maintain the ideology of white supremacy. In all it's a amazing read if you are looking for that missing link between emancipation and the civil rights generation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Racists: The Socialization of White Children in the Jim Crow South: New Directions in Southern History review []  2020-1-19 22:13

    A must read... very insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Racists: The Socialization of White Children in the Jim Crow South: New Directions in Southern History review []  2020-1-19 22:13

    Durocher approaches the topic of racism in the Jim Crow South from an undeniably necessary angle - through the upbringing of white children. What she presents is difficult to swallow because it reveals a culture that permeates the sensitive minds of kids in a profoundly harmful manner. It is a culture that glorified lynching as wholesome, family fun on a attractive Sunday afternoon. Kids could even go home with a souvenir: a finger or ear, perhaps. When we learn about lynching, we often neglect to think about kids in this regard. Yes, grown-ups were intolerant and violent, but it is not common to think that there were kids tugging at their pants, curious to learn what it is that their parents were so excited about.Unfortunately, the pervasiveness of the racist culture ran deeper than Sunday afternoons in the park. Every aspect of a child's life was controlled by white grown-ups: at home, in schools, in advertising, etc. This system served to perpetuate racism through generations of white children. White southerners were perfect at controlling this system and used it to manipulate the minds of their youth in an effort to cling to a culture of white supremacy.Durocher delves into all of these subjects and allows the reader to peer into a globe where we are forced to consider the repercussions of such a society and the hurt that it caused not only to white children, but to the nation as a whole. She has presented a thorough and evocative case study that will leave the reader surprised, repulsed, and, most importantly, reflective.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    baby nasal aspirator nosefrida the snotsucker by frida baby reviews baby nasal aspirator 20 hygiene filters for nosefrida the snotsucker by frida baby reviews baby nasal aspirator nosefrida the snotsucker with 20 extra hygiene filters by frida baby reviews aquaphor baby healing ointment advanced therapy skin protectant reviews double stroller organizer for bob duallie and baby jogger city mini gt reviews infantino hug and tug musical bug reviews sassy ring o links 9 piece set reviews vtech baby rattle and sing puppy reviews baby gift set with praying musical lamb and prayer book in keepsake box for boys and girls reviews manhattan toy skwish natural rattle and teether grasping activity toy reviews bright starts oball rattle easy grasp toy reviews fred buff baby dumbbell baby rattle reviews the first years first rattle reviews beespring kid baby crib cot pram hanging rattles spiral stroller car seat toy reviews magic bullet baby bullet baby care system reviews the first years mickey soft potty seat reviews the first years disney baby minnie soft potty seat reviews pregmate 40 ovulation and 10 pregnancy test strips predictor kit reviews ppogoo nursing cover for breastfeeding super soft cotton multi use for baby car seat covers canopy shopping cart cover scarf light blanket stroller cover reviews nenesupply compatible pump parts for medela pump in style breastpump 24mm breastshield valve membrane tubing not original medela pump parts replace medela pumpinstyle parts replace medela accessories reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter