nickel mountain Reviews & Opinions


Submit nickel mountain review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    This book provides a glimpse not only into the medical and sociological challenges of Haiti and other impoverished regions, but into the culture of those who serve, help those who serve and in a lot of cases obstruct those who serve. Mr. Farmer's view of all human life being worthy of an opportunity to live is refreshing in an era of global narcissism. Mr. Kidder did an exceptional job capturing Paul Farmer's character, dedication, commitment and single-minded focus, but I still came away not fully understanding what drives him at his core. This lack of understanding my be my fault as I've been trained to seek a "root cause" when I analyze a situation, in a culture where everyone has an agenda. Regardless, I applaud Mr. Farmer and the thousands of other unnamed global servants who engage on a life level helping those who most need help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I had this book for a long time before reading it. When I would think of reading Mountains Beyond Mountains, I felt challenged. Actually that is a amazing thing as I understood how difficult Dr. Farmer's causes were and how dedicated and influential he was. I learned a lot about TB and other diseases prevalent in other locations and how difficult but important the treatments are. The broad funding requirements, the political dance, the education of others besides caring for patients created the PIH so crusty and difficult. Still with dedication and energy much has been accomplished is several critical places. The globe owes a amazing debt to Dr. Paul Farmer and others who dedicate their lives to caring for those who don't have the means or ability to support themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I finished this remarkable book a couple of weeks ago and have been too busy learning more about Paul Farmer and others who have been working for decades to improve the health, well-being, and living conditions for people in Haiti, Peru, and Russia to write a review. A co-founder of Partners In Health, Dr. Farmer and his cohorts continue to give of their time, money, talents, and just about all of their resources to support ease the suffering of the poor, hungry, sick, imprisoned, and dying.Until reading Tracy Kidder’s book, I didn’t know men like Farmer and his ilk existed. Someone asked me if he was a Christian, and I replied that he doesn’t talk much about his religious beliefs except for a frequent reference to the 40th verse in Matthew 25: “Verily, I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” Farmer definitely walks the is is the second of Kidder’s books that I have read, the first being Strength in What Remains. His books are filled with fact after fact about things I’ve never considered. For example, I now know about Burundi and the genocide there, but until two years ago I had never heard of this small, incredibly not good country and Deo, one of its citizens who escaped the genocide and became a doctor after living as a homeless man in both of these books, Kidder’s stage descriptions of Haiti, Cuba, NYC, Burundi, and several other locales are so realistic that the reader can see, hear, and smell the environments. He’s also a master at hero description and in adding an encyclopedic array of facts while holding the reader’s interest (mine anyway). Although I knew economics and medicine were related, I now have a deeper understanding of the interplay between politics, poverty, wealth, and healthcare.If you wish to obtain out of your comfort location and learn more about the globe and some of its people, read Mountains Beyond Mountains.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on nickel mountain or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch nickel mountain video reviews and related movies:

    See Nickel Mountain Pt 2 on youtube.

     related image

    See Nickel Mountain Part 4 on youtube.

     related image

    See Nickel Mountain on youtube.

     related image

    See Nickel Mountain on youtube.

     related image

    See HEATHER LANGENKAMP TRIBUTE / NICKEL MOUNTAIN on youtube.

     related image

    See NICKEL MOUNTAIN[4] on youtube.

     related image

    See Setup For A "Monster" Hole At Nickel Mountain on youtube.

     related image

    See Nickel Mountain on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Thank you Tracy Kidder. It was hard to place this book down. I felt as if I'd walked every mile with Paul Farmer through remote mountain villages where he helped people suffering from maladies that took root in the midst of poverty, isolation and lack of knowledge. Reading this story, my takeaway was this: When we do have occasion to meet people like Dr. Farmer, we are fortunate if we recognize we are in the presence of someone who is living out his or her mission without holding back. Passionately, tirelessly and with perseverance. Deserving of our gratitude and support. Kidder does an admirable job by providing an accurate and respectfully written portrayal of Dr. Farmer with the power to inspire others to follow in his footsteps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I had to read this book for school summer work so of course I went into it not having high hopes, but it ended up being one of the most educational and eye opening nonfiction stories I ave ever read. There were a lot of life lessons that I learned throughout the novel and a lot of lessons dealing with globe medical history, racism, diversity, politics, and the problem of poverty in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Tracy Kidder is the master journalist, like a clear window on the world. Long ago I read The Soul of a Fresh Machine and liked it, but didn't think too much about it. The brilliance of Kidder's style is so create you feel like you are there, really feel what the topic is about, without any distortion positive or negative.What an awesome topic for this work: Dr. Paul Farmer. This guy is just amazing! As a college student, he travels to Haiti to dedicate himself to the poor. He attends Harvard while spending 8 months a year in Haiti building his own hospital there. He gets a PhD in Anthropology at the same time he gets his MD, the latter not surprising given that he already has 6 years of intense clinical experience dealing directly with life and death situations. You would expect such a person to take on airs, maybe be a huge proud of himself, maybe even be motivated by the 'big bucks' so clearly available in a rich city. Dr. Farmer appears to be vying for a "saint" award. Kidder makes you feel like you are there sitting in the same room, and it is no huge say this book is inspiring is badly understating it. Look at what you can do if you keep real to your ideals! It is humbling as well. Dr. Farmer is my age, and I can't support drawing parallels with my own life, and there is no method I could do a fraction of what he is done. Yet I don't need to: it is satisfying to know that there are people like him in the ere is so much to learn from the book. Never give in, and never give up! His everyday accomplishments are so small, and yet at the same time so profound and consistent. It is all about "caring". If you care about your friends, your neighbors, your family, and - yes - the rest of the world, how can you not love a person who literally saves people on a everyday basis? Are we seeing a saint walking among us? One has to is is a story that needs to be told. It reminds me a lot of Three Cups of Tea. If only we could motivate others to do the same -- if only we could motivate ourselves to do the same -- the globe could be a better place. How refreshing to read about a true superhero.While continuing to work in Haiti, he started to investigate Lima Peru, where there was a disturbing trend: people with Tuberculosis that was resistant to 4, maybe even 5 of the top antibiotics. He goes there and finds that in general Peru is competently following a program in strict accordance to WHO standards. The issue was the WHO guidelines! How to raise this problem without alienating the world's most necessary health organization, or the officials in Peru. At the same time, what can be done about drugs with inflated costs putting them out of reach of these not good patients?His travels take him to the prisons in Russia, which has a an extreme issue with TB as well. Prisoners are simple to study and monitor. He points out that the prisons are like a pump that cycles TB into the general population with prisoners who stay a few years and bring the disease back with him. You almost cheer when he gets a grant from the Gates foundation to develop a modified procedure to war MDR-TB.He does not do any of this all by himself. There are a lot of truly dedicate people who recognize his talent and follow/help him all along the way. Kidder manages to capture a lot of of these people as well. At still, Farmer's true talent is to be the catalyst that makes it all come together. It might be better to say it all flows around him...In the end, his success is due to one easy talent, and he says it best in his own words: "I like people." It is hard not to like him back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Read either this book to understand why so a lot of Haitians have migrated to Chile! Read this book to understand how one person really CAN change the world. Read this book to see that there really are selfless people in the world. John Farmer has changed so a lot of people's lives, in spite of his modesty he had Tracy Kidder for follow him around the globe for about 3 years, that in itself must have taken a amazing deal of tolerance. The author portrays John Farmer as an inspirational driven figure that you would just love to meet. His way of dealing with the not good and sick people of central Haiti, is to improve their lives not only their health, facing up the world's health authorities methods and getting them to understand what is important to tackle not only TB and AIDS, but drug resistant TB. My only question is, why did not they not vaccinate the healthy Haitians versus TB? I know it is not one of the best vaccines, but it could have reduced the number of fresh cases. PIH does seem to have a vaccination programme now, though I am not clear as to whether this is versus TB. Having seen in Uganda, where AIDS was so rampant in 1992 and because the symptoms of the 2 diseases are so similar, people with TB would just give up as they thought they had AIDS. Haiti's issues come from being a French slave colony, Papa Doc's Tonton Macoute and the US building a dam, flooding the interior fertile valley, to suite US investors, and of course the usual corruption. John Farmer sees the reality but it does not stop him from dedicating himself to the lot of the poor. I loved the first half of the book, but got a bit bogged down with the large number of projects that he tries to cover, in the second half, but this is important to cover the number of projects that Farmer got involved with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Let's begin by saying that the author is a Pulitzer-prize award winner. He's a journalist who writes the most wonderful and inspiring works of non-fiction. So, it shouldn't be a surprise that Mountains Beyond Mountains fits this description. Tracy spent years following the works of Dr. Paul Farmer, focusing on his work in Haiti and the development of Partners in Health. This man has dedicated his entire life, so far, to serving the not good and medically underserved. Despite the consequences that his work has caused in his private life and the lack of sleep he gets, he gives unreservedly to others. Although Kidder often portrays him as a "saint", he ensures that the reader is also aware of Farmer's flaws. However, these flaws often spur him on to do even more for others. Once Farmer reaches a goal, he strives toward the next one, living out the Haitian proverb that "beyond mountains there are mountains". Mountains Beyond Mountains is a amazing read that flows well and takes the reader around the globe to locations where people struggle to get the easy necessities of life.... reminding us that there is much work to be done in terms of equality and health world-wide.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Tracy Kidder's "Mountains Beyond Mountains" is the remarkable story of Paul Farmer. I knew nothing of Farmer before starting this book and left with a sense of awe and inspiration both for he has accomplished and how accomplished it. In an era where people bandy about the word character fairly freely, Farmer truly deserves that moniker. His selfless devotion to the health of those in extreme poverty and the work he and his organization, Partners in Health, has done in Haiti, Russia and Peru (what Kidder covers in this book) has saved countless lives of nameless and faceless people in environments words could hardly do justice. Kidder strikes the right balance about Farmer in this book. He doesn't exalt him to saintly status. He is able to marvel and chronicle the relentless work and insane pace that Farmer keeps while not glossing over hero traits that undoubtedly often frustrate Kidder and probably create Farmer challenging in the eyes of a lot of that deal with him. For instance, despite Farmer's success with Partners in Health, Kidder wonders whether it is sustainable without him and his force of will, perseverance and personality. Regardless of your political leanings, only the most jaded and negative person could read this book and not come away somewhat mesmerized by Farmer --- and feel a bit inferior at the same time. During this era of film star and athletic worship, Farmer is the type of individual we should be celebrating and exalting as a real character and I'm glad someone as accomplished as Tracy Kidder wrote such a compelling book about him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    It's rare that a book of nonfiction can keep my attention in the same method as fiction, but this real adventure had me enthralled. And even better it was full of hope and joy! And an audacity that got the impossible done! The globe needs a hundred, or thousands of Paul Farmers. Hopefully this book will search its method into the hands of those thousands of young people who wish to chsnge the globe but don't know how. Paul Farmer will present you the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    A truly amazing ere are four absolute classics here, songs and performances so amazing that it just gives you chills: "I'm Still In Love With You," "The Mountain," "Dixieland," and "Pilgrim," along with two very amazing instrumentals and a batch of other fine tunes.Earle has said this was a work of inspiration, and it is a sustained inspritation at that. Like the best of Springsteen or Tom Waits, THE MOUNTAIN speaks of put and time without being a hokey concept album. The characters come from hard times and, like those on Springsteen's NEBRASKA, they sometimes fall--into dispair, drunkenness, jail.But unlike NEBRASKA, where some characters seemed to search no method out, Earle's coal minors and irish immigrants see a light on the horizon. They search pride and honor in their hard work, in their civil battle soldiering, in their lost e Del McCoury Band is rock solid, swingin' and singin' with a confidence you only search in a band that has played together for a thousand years. Iris Dement is perfect; her duet with Earle on "I'm Still In Love With You" is achingly sweet. Emmylou Harris appears here and there--I think there is some law that says Emmylou Harris must sing backup on every bluegrass record now--and a whole host of country singers join in the chorus of "Pilgrim."But this is Steve Earle's record. I had a lot of problem stomaching some of his earlier records, but THE MOUNTAIN is so amazing that I'm willing to rethink it all. Nobody could create a record this amazing unless they have real heart, real soul, and a real love for bluegrass, country, blues--American melody in is is, without a doubt, one of my absolute favorite records of the latest 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Though billed as a bluegrass album, The Mountain just as prominently showcases Southern string-band styles older than the melody Bill Monroe invented in the 1940s. "Harlan Man" sounds like an especially rousing agit-prop anthem from the labor battles that raged in the Kentucky coal mines in the 1930s (which produced the classic protest song "Which Side Are You on?"), and "Dixieland" could easily pass as an authentic Civil Battle ballad. "Carrie Brown" takes its inspiration from the Appalachian folk standards "Cindy," "Wild Bill Jones," and "Tom Dooley." The CD's most moving cut, the extraordinary "Pilgrim," weds a hand-me-down music to photos from a body of traditional songs and hymns, among them "I Am a Pilgrim," "Wayfaring Stranger," "This Globe Is Not My Home," and "Long Time Traveling." The bluegrass selections here mirror a sound more often heard in the 1950s than in the 1990s. This charmingly backward-looking collection underscores the genius of Earle's singing/composing and the McCoury Band's playing, of course, but it also reminds us that the well of American roots melody is well nigh inexhaustible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Unless you have never heard of Del McCoury or Steve Earle would probably not am appreciation for this kind of bluegrass/thumper/folk music. I've worn out one CD working on #2, amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    The combination of Steve Earle's songwriting and singing with the instrumental and vocal talent of the Del McCoury Band has produced a truly remarkable CD. As a longtime bluegrass fan, I was a small leery of this "bluegrass" CD with Steve Earle as the focus, but there are so a lot of amazing cuts here that it's hard to praise it too much. The mandolin and banjo work is first rate and never sounds out of put or cliched, but it's ultimately the songs themselves that create this CD great. Steve Earle really shines as a songwriter and plays and sings with amazing energy and enthusiasm. Del and Ronnie McCoury's harmony singing sounds just right with this varied but cohesive group of songs. This ain't all traditional bluegrass, but whatever you call it, I like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I bought this album after seeing it ranked #2 on Amazon's list of the best of 1999. I'm a large bluegrass fan, and was amazed I hadn't heard of it before. I listened to 5 seconds of the online clip from "Texas Eagle" and was immediately sold. The songs are, without exception, amazing bluegrass compositions, about trains and heartbreak and battle and poverty and coal-minin' and all that amazing stuff. Steve's voice isn't beautiful at all, which is as it should be -- his raw vocals fit the emotional content of the songs. Del and the band provide outstanding instrumental and vocal accompaniment for that true, high lonesome sound. Standouts contain "Texas Eagle," "Carrie Brown," "Harlan Man," "Connemara Breakdown," and "Dixieland." If you like bluegrass music, you will absolutely LOVE this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Most likely the best Bluegrass Album/CDEver made!! I have on e every this as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I like this album so much...and have for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Had this album on CD. Wore it out. Nice to have a digital copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I listened once while I was working on something and it stopped me _ it was far more than background music. I listened again and loved it. And I've kept listening. Full of gems, not the least of which is a rare (only?) country ballad (OK, create it Irish), about a northern Civil Battle regiment, the 20th Maine, and Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain. And ... I was reluctant to buy it because it was advertised as bluegrass, a form I search monotonous. It's surpasses bluegrass, just as Alison Kraus does. Just amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Genius. Even got to see the tour for this record. Amazing. Do yourself a favor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    Welcome back to the little city of Liberty Utah where everybody knows you and your business. This story is about Felicity James, chef and diner owner, and Dr Abel Hammond. At forty eight Abe it's thinking of slowing down and having a kid through a surrogacy agency since he has no trust due to past relationships, but damn Felicity sure gets his pulse racing and blood flowing south. Felicity loves her diner and the people of Liberty but she won't ask for support if she can't pay for it and boy does she need help. There is definitely sparks flying between these two but there is also a twenty year difference. Abe has a solution to both of their problems, he'll pay Felicity to be his surrogate through clinical terms of course. She resists the cash and resents his offering and a heated argument becomes heated passion and...ohhhh noooo !!!! Now pregnant with triplets and falling for Mr. Hot and Cold, will she be able to give up the babies she already loves?? When a threat comes to Felicity and the babies, Abe realizes he needs Felicity in his life and the babies, and he will present them that you don't mess with his family. Will he create it in time to save them all??? Will he convince Felicity they can be a family?? You definitely need to read this amazing book from K. C. Crowne and fall in love with a hot mountain man doctor and curvy chef!!! Can't wait to see what K. C. has in shop next!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    Abe, a Dr. in a little town, single, hard working, very amazing looking, a mother who keeps reminding him she has no grandchildren. Felicity has her own diner, is a chef by trade, struggles with all the upkeep in an old building, maintenance issues, just the usual things that come up when you own property. One of her regular customers happens to be Abe. He has always admired her, but has been burned previously, not willingly to take that possibility and ask Felicity out. Amazing story, loved it, hope you will too.❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    A wellwritten book that held me captive from the start. I love the storyline and all the unbelievable characters. A true gem!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    Felicity owned the local diner that had repair issues, based on lack of funds. Abe was a local doctor and was 20 years older than Felicity. He ate at the diner often and enjoyed conversations with Felicity. He proposed an idea to Felicity that he would pay her to be a surrogate and she would have the cash required to create repairs. HEA does happen eventually. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    This is really a wonderfully well-written story The storyline is sweet, steamy, emotional and intriguing. The well-crafted characters have a unbelievable chemistry between them. Their romance is a true roller-coaster with a lot of ups and downs. Loved it. A must readI received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    This tale gets you thinking about first loves and crushes. In this case feelings grow and mature, into a lasting and romantic relationship. Liberty is a amazing put to live and develop your dreams. Overcoming hardships powerful men and the women they love build futures for their children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    This is really a unbelievable story, the storyline is sweet and steamy, emotional and intriguing. Abe and Felicity have unbelievable chemistry between them, their romance is a true rollercoaster of ups and downs. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    I totally enjoyed this perfect book. Loved the drama, suspense, and overall enjoyable characters. I loved how intelligent and talented Felicity is. Never a dull moment, couldn’t place it down, didn’t wish it to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    Not at all what I expected. A very nice love story set in a very little town. I could say not meets girl but that would not be right. Well written. Obtain the book and wrap yourself up into Liberty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 5) review []  2020-2-6 20:12

    Enjoyed reading this book and reading about the characters and their story. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    This is Leah Barnes and Kellen Mayberry 's story, where two people have been through some rough experiences, yet they are both attracted to each other and not so broken that they won’t eventually take a possibility on love. Kellen, a firefighter/EMT, has lost his best mate and blames himself somehow for not being able to save his friend. His friend’s pregnant wife is ready to deliver her baby and more tragedy strikes as she dies in childbirth. The blessing to come out of that sorrow is that the baby, Matilda, now has Kellen, the named guardian, as her daddy. Being alone and isolated is no longer what he needs, and changes for the better are inevitable.Leah is busy struggling with running her hotel with never enough cash to do what needs to be done for it. She meets Kellen initially under poor circumstances, yet realizes she otherwise could have found him interesting. But she has someone else watching her, waiting for his opportunity, and this stalker won’t back off. In addition, the city is experiencing an arson outbreak which could endanger everyone. Can Leah and Kellen have a possibility to obtain to know each other with so a lot of distractions? Can they search their HEA and have fun the family they were meant to have?There are so a lot of things going on in this book. The story line is well-paced, and the characters are likable. There is definitely suspense coming from multiple sources. Grab your copy and navigate the twists and turns as the mysteries finally resolve!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Two people, Kellen and Leah, living in a little town, Liberty, Utah, meet for the first time during a fast dispute in a parking lot. Leah has lived there all her life. Kellen is hiding out from life for different reasons. This steamy romance has some suspense, a stalker, and an unscrupulous developer, neither story thread that well developed. Most of the characters are likable. I’m a sucker for a baby-gets-saved story, so I enjoyed this fast read. But it really needs another editing for errors and story threads left hanging. It just leaves me with the impression of a rushed writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellan meet Leah on his method out of town, not knowing she would become the love of his life. Kellan became a parent with in hours of leaving town. Kellan did a lot of growing up in a matter of a few weeks. If not for Matilda, Kellan would still be wondering if he deserves to love again. This was such a unbelievable storyline it kept you going from the beginning to the end. It also should you that no matter what you go through that you still deserve to love. I was gifted this unbelievable Arc. So I voluntarily decide to a leave a review. I loved it.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Wow searching for something to read and I can across this series. I read book 2 before book 1. Didn't realize it was a series. Was simple to follow the characters, but I would suggest you read it in order. 😉😉. The is Kellen and Leah's story. Kellen moved to Liberty to obtain away from all the pain and damage he caused, Leah had lived in Liberty all her life and her first time meeting Kellen had her seeing RED. This book had shady business men, vandalism, stalking, arson, kidnapping, this is a love story with a small bit of a twist. Kellen is a total poor a$$ when it comes to the people he love. Total sexy Alpha. Sex scenes between him and Leah. Wow!!!🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 oh and there is a HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellen is basically hiding out in this little mountain city with his woefully heartbreaking memories of the death of his firefighter friend. Unfortunately, the widow passes after baby Matilda’s birth. The couple had no family and named him guardian if anything ever happened to them, and it did. Now he returns home with an infant and no clue what to do with her. He has created a few mates that jump in to support him. Leah and her brother own a local hotel that they are renovating. Things are clicking with Leah but not without having to deal with a stalker and a pyromaniac developer. Nicely written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellan couldn't lived in the city where his best mate died but he would be there for his pregnant widow. He moved to Liberty, Utah and created a amazing mate and business partner in Grant. But when he was on the phone with Alice when she was in labor he got in the first plane to help. Not he was a guardian to her small girl. Mom got to keep her once before she passed. Now Kellan is back and needs to obtain himself together. Thank goodness for Leah and everyone else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellan and Leah's story is filled with drama, twists and turns, a attractive baby and ultimately their HEA. These two have both been through hard times and are immediately attracted to each other. There are a lot of obstacles in their method - a stalker, someone setting fires, their pasts, I could go on and on. Kellan and Leah's story is one that will grab you from the beginning and keep you until the very latest word. I received an advanced readers copy of this book and purchased it for my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    This was a very enjoyable story. The characters were interesting and kept my interest from the very beginning to the very end . The story was emotional and shows there’s someone for everyone. I loved the ending!I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellen is filled with guilt over his mates but he has to push forward for their small girl Matilda he gets to raise. She is only a few hours old when she is entrusted to his care for life. Leah has her hotel and charity she runs in honor of her departed sister. Then she has a poor encounter with Kellen, that turns into a true thing. He is also her brothers only friend. Add some fire and stalking drama and the scene is set for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Leah and her brother Grant ran a hotel in town. Kellen was in a cabin in the mountains, an ex firefighter, who lost a mate that died as a firefighter. Grant was helping his mates widowed wife that was due any day. He got the call the baby was on the method and off he went to be by her side, only to obtain there and she died shortly after childbirth. Matilda, the fresh baby was now his to raise. So much more amazing story to enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountaineer review [App]  2019-12-16 13:41

    Promising start-up service. Slightly under-capacity for massive holiday crowds, but a small advanced (rider) planning solves this. Driver/owner Steve(?) is a super-nice guy. This Mountaineer is a capital idea and an indispensable service to the Valley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountaineer review [App]  2019-12-16 13:41

    Awesome. Thanks @#$%!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    A truly amazing ere are four absolute classics here, songs and performances so amazing that it just gives you chills: "I'm Still In Love With You," "The Mountain," "Dixieland," and "Pilgrim," along with two very amazing instrumentals and a batch of other fine tunes.Earle has said this was a work of inspiration, and it is a sustained inspritation at that. Like the best of Springsteen or Tom Waits, THE MOUNTAIN speaks of put and time without being a hokey concept album. The characters come from hard times and, like those on Springsteen's NEBRASKA, they sometimes fall--into dispair, drunkenness, jail.But unlike NEBRASKA, where some characters seemed to search no method out, Earle's coal minors and irish immigrants see a light on the horizon. They search pride and honor in their hard work, in their civil battle soldiering, in their lost e Del McCoury Band is rock solid, swingin' and singin' with a confidence you only search in a band that has played together for a thousand years. Iris Dement is perfect; her duet with Earle on "I'm Still In Love With You" is achingly sweet. Emmylou Harris appears here and there--I think there is some law that says Emmylou Harris must sing backup on every bluegrass record now--and a whole host of country singers join in the chorus of "Pilgrim."But this is Steve Earle's record. I had a lot of problem stomaching some of his earlier records, but THE MOUNTAIN is so amazing that I'm willing to rethink it all. Nobody could create a record this amazing unless they have real heart, real soul, and a real love for bluegrass, country, blues--American melody in is is, without a doubt, one of my absolute favorite records of the latest 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Though billed as a bluegrass album, The Mountain just as prominently showcases Southern string-band styles older than the melody Bill Monroe invented in the 1940s. "Harlan Man" sounds like an especially rousing agit-prop anthem from the labor battles that raged in the Kentucky coal mines in the 1930s (which produced the classic protest song "Which Side Are You on?"), and "Dixieland" could easily pass as an authentic Civil Battle ballad. "Carrie Brown" takes its inspiration from the Appalachian folk standards "Cindy," "Wild Bill Jones," and "Tom Dooley." The CD's most moving cut, the extraordinary "Pilgrim," weds a hand-me-down music to photos from a body of traditional songs and hymns, among them "I Am a Pilgrim," "Wayfaring Stranger," "This Globe Is Not My Home," and "Long Time Traveling." The bluegrass selections here mirror a sound more often heard in the 1950s than in the 1990s. This charmingly backward-looking collection underscores the genius of Earle's singing/composing and the McCoury Band's playing, of course, but it also reminds us that the well of American roots melody is well nigh inexhaustible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Unless you have never heard of Del McCoury or Steve Earle would probably not am appreciation for this kind of bluegrass/thumper/folk music. I've worn out one CD working on #2, amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    The combination of Steve Earle's songwriting and singing with the instrumental and vocal talent of the Del McCoury Band has produced a truly remarkable CD. As a longtime bluegrass fan, I was a small leery of this "bluegrass" CD with Steve Earle as the focus, but there are so a lot of amazing cuts here that it's hard to praise it too much. The mandolin and banjo work is first rate and never sounds out of put or cliched, but it's ultimately the songs themselves that create this CD great. Steve Earle really shines as a songwriter and plays and sings with amazing energy and enthusiasm. Del and Ronnie McCoury's harmony singing sounds just right with this varied but cohesive group of songs. This ain't all traditional bluegrass, but whatever you call it, I like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    I bought this album after seeing it ranked #2 on Amazon's list of the best of 1999. I'm a large bluegrass fan, and was amazed I hadn't heard of it before. I listened to 5 seconds of the online clip from "Texas Eagle" and was immediately sold. The songs are, without exception, amazing bluegrass compositions, about trains and heartbreak and battle and poverty and coal-minin' and all that amazing stuff. Steve's voice isn't beautiful at all, which is as it should be -- his raw vocals fit the emotional content of the songs. Del and the band provide outstanding instrumental and vocal accompaniment for that true, high lonesome sound. Standouts contain "Texas Eagle," "Carrie Brown," "Harlan Man," "Connemara Breakdown," and "Dixieland." If you like bluegrass music, you will absolutely LOVE this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Most likely the best Bluegrass Album/CDEver made!! I have on e every this as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    I like this album so much...and have for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Had this album on CD. Wore it out. Nice to have a digital copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    I listened once while I was working on something and it stopped me _ it was far more than background music. I listened again and loved it. And I've kept listening. Full of gems, not the least of which is a rare (only?) country ballad (OK, create it Irish), about a northern Civil Battle regiment, the 20th Maine, and Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain. And ... I was reluctant to buy it because it was advertised as bluegrass, a form I search monotonous. It's surpasses bluegrass, just as Alison Kraus does. Just amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Genius. Even got to see the tour for this record. Amazing. Do yourself a favor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    These are very informational and excellent for kids. My 9 year old absolutely loves them! Some of the medical books (heart, bones, brain) are a bit out of reach for my 4 year old and 6 year old, but they still listen and love looking at the pictures. Great, great, amazing books!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Informational books—grandson loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Seymour Simon has a lot of very nice small books for children. This is one about Mountains. The images are stunning, well-chosen, and the lessons can be digested by early childhood children. It prepares them for 8th grade science, earth science/geology, and helps built in them appreciation for the earth, its formation, giving them insight into volcanoes as well, something most kids are fascinated with. It is a book that kids can read or just thumb through he pictures with. Recommended supplementary science book. Most of Seymour Simon's books are very good, as is this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Amazing book, containing quality photos. If you have interest in photography and nature scenes ( mountains ) buy this book. The hardcover have a lot of quality , a must buy !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    Smoot bills his book as a "Selected Climbs" for the rest of us. I'm not quite sure I buy that, but I do think this book deserves a spot on the shelf nestled in between "Selected Climbs" and d to Goldman's "75 Scrambles", it is noticably better in some respects: it covers a wider range of climbing (all the method from class 2 to simple class 5); it covers a wider dozens of climbing (more snow routes); and it does a better job at providing and describing options beyond just the most famous route.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    Smoot's "Climbing Washington's Mountains" is still the best guidebook available for a wide dozens of climbs across Washington state. The routes are thoughtfully chosen to provide a wide dozens of climbs from simple to very challenging, from afternoon jaunts to multi-day marathons in all regions across the state. I've done about 20 of his recommended climbs, and regularly climb with mates who have done more than half of his recommended climbs.Unfortunately, the book was published back in 2002 and is beginning to present its age. For example, I departed on his recommended route for Mt Hinman, only to drive three hours from Seattle to search the forest street permanently closed years prior, ruining my planned weekend ascent. My climb of Mt Chikamin was *much* longer than he described as it's degenerated into a 6 mile bushwhack (instead of the smooth approach hike he described). The approach street to the Monte Cristo peaks that he describes has been washed out for years that adds significant approach difficulty to the routes he describes.With that said, there are no guidebooks for Class 2-5 climbing printed more recently than 2003, so this is unfortunately a issue with any climbing tutorial currently available. Smoot's recommended climbs have given me a amazing smattering of adventures in all regions across Washington, his writing style is clear, and his descriptions (and alternate routes) are generally accurate and trusthworthy. A photocopy of his route description has become a 10th essential for all my Washington climbing.Another downfall of this tutorial is the lack of an index or info charts for quickly categorizing climb difficulty and ggy Goldman also has a very amazing book on Washington scrambles. I would recommend owning them both, but if I could only own one, I'd take Smoot's as it is more straightforward.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    This is a comprehensive and accurate book on climbing the mountains of Washington State. I was however a huge disappointed by the lack of color pictures and current hiking trails.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    Has gotten me up quite a few to contain Rainier and Baker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    The author is somewhat popular for his arrogant disregard for the traditional standards of nonfiction that have given us works like IN COLD BLOOD and INTO THE WILD. Most of the quotes in ABOUT A MOUNTAIN have been altered, most of the statistics are misreported and/or misrepresented and the number of factual inaccuracies in this book run into the hundreds. I don't understand how D'Agata is able to keep down an academic job at the University of Iowa when he's violated and even mocked the primary ethical standards of nonfiction. His disregard for the facts, sophistry and general disregard for other people's stories are a matter of public record. In short, John D'Agata is a charlatan, a fraud, a writer who's been running a long con on American academia and publishing for a lot of years--just read The Fresh Yorker's review of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    It's about a mountain. It's about Las Vegas. It's about language change and nuclear waste and semiotics and traffic patterns and Senator Harry Reid and disaster preparedness. It's about living in a fresh city and Mayor Oscar Goodman and Edvard Munch's The Shout and building demolition and bringing water to the 's about a boy. A 17-year-old boy who jumps off the tallest building west of the 's not simple to pin down what About a Mountain is about, despite the name. It moves quickly and covers a lot of ground. It never drags and I found that I was interested in everything author John D'Agata had to say.His explanation of the Yucca Mountain controversy was the most enlightening I have read, making a complicated political football perfectly understandable. The proposed nuclear waste website is about 90 miles from Las Vegas. The issue of storing nuclear waste safely is difficult, maybe impossible. In addition, transporting all the country's nuclear waste, a heavy amount, probably by truck, would keep its own set of dangers.But even if your eyes glaze over at the prospect of Yucca mountain, you might be interested to learn about the culture of building demolition as spectator sport in Las Vegas, and the unique complications of imploding a tall building like the 1,149 foot high Stratosphere. You might be fascinated to learn about the Boneyard, the dusty lot in Las Vegas where historic and not so historic neon signs are stored. Or about the remnants of the early days of Las Vegas that are being revealed as Lake Mead, the city's major source of water, drops to lower and lower levels.And then there's the boy (the title evokes that of Nick Hornby's book About a Boy), whose suicide D'Agata can't obtain out of his commentary, literary nonfiction, or Las Vegas memoir? In addition to not being able to pin down what it's about, I can't pigeonhole it into any one category. I don't even know whether it's a short book or a long essay. Never mind, it's a fast read that's fascinating now matter what you call s Vegas: The Social Production of an All-American CityNeon Metropolis: How Las Vegas Started the Twenty-First CenturySuburban Xanadu: The Casino Resort on the Las Vegas Strip and Beyond

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    The author combines a lot of unexpected topics that somehow all work together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Quite a feat of virtuosity, D'Agata managed to capture disparate parts of Las Vegas like in gossamer prose and instill a wonder for the town that is at once mysterious and haunting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Perfect writing and purchased as a bonus for a mate who asked about it. He too enjoyed reading it and told me so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    The beginning of the book is slow and overwhelming with statistics and seemingly unneeded information, but a masterclass of truth and false truths brings it together in the end with a powerful message.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Challenging. Reads extremely well and questions our reliance on science to explain what may or may not be safe, or even true. A book that is useful to experience and fascinating to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Fantastic, despite the disputed facts. Beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Came just as expected and very fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Everyone should read this book in order to understand the unintended consequences of our actions (particularly similar to nuclear energy). An engaging and fascinating story that really gets you thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    So I had this amazing vintage necklace.... after wearing it for 4 hours, I took it off to search a little rash. Well the rash grew all over my neck, up my face and was immensely itchy and painful. I ended up going to urgent care and after having to obtain 3 various medications for a nickel allergy, I decided to purchase this kit to try the necklace just to be sure (because it is really cute). I got it today and tested the necklace. The white swab part didn't just turn red, it immediately turned red. The whole necklace is loaded with nickel. I'm really satisfied to have a kit now to allow me know before I go and buy any more vintage jewelry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    Son has a servere nickel allergy. I use this everywhere I go. One package for the vehicle and one for the house for any fresh stuff entering! Method more convient then the kind you need a q-tip for. I can obtain multiple uses with just one stick.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    This product didn't work at all.. I tested it on my jeans' zippers which noticeably have nickel and they've been causing me a rush and it didn't detect anything. Then tried again with my keys, which needless to say, and same results: the try showed there was no trace of nickel... Totally useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    It works as it described it would. The price was quite steep as there is so a lot of things that need to be tested and you only obtain 10 testers and can only be used once each if it turns pick when nickel is detected. Nickel shows up on quite a few things.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    It works! Helped me identify what was causing my allergic reactions. Smells not good just fyi

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    Works very well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    Simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    You can instantaneously, accurately and safely check for nickel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    It does works well simple to use, has a powerful smell at first but worth it, I even checked a nickel to create sure it worked.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reveal and Conceal Nickel Allergy Test Kit by Smart Practice - Detecting Nickel is a Snap - Test for Nickel in Your Jewelry and Prevent Skin Exposure With Liquid Clear Coat - Includes 10 Test Swabs review []  2020-1-20 2:19

    This product is just as it appears online. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain Biking Missoula (Regional Mountain Biking Series) review []  2020-1-13 19:39

    Amazing book... a small outdated but still a amazing book for anyone wanting to ride around Missoula and the surrounding area

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    Why do we humans think we are so unworthy of our Grand Creator, Jehovah God's love?He and his Son, Christ Jesus made us all, he made us in love. If not then Jesus' selfless sacrifice was for nothing, he left his father and other spirit monsters in heaven to voluntarily give his life as a ransom for all of us so that we could have everlasting life here on the earth they made for t as the globe is now, but free of violence, badness of all kinds, sickness and the latest opponent of mankind, Death. We were meant to live forever in paradise conditions right here on earth. It will happen, and sooner than anyone thinks. I pray we are all ready.Misty this book was just fantastic! So very touching indeed. I'm on to the fourth book now, The Lady And The Mountain Promise. Oh I already know that Marcus and Lilly will fall in love and marry, so now I'll begin reading and search out if I'm right, oh by the method ... Claire is a much better match for Bryan, you chose well!Starr

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    Claire comes to Butte Town to support her grandmother, gets a job at the café, and has some heated encounters with Doc Bryan which turn from dislike to bits: Much of life in Montana is not what Claire expected, but she does a decent job of rolling with the punches and making it work. Claire has a need to create sure she’s always helping everyone, and Bryan similarly has a sense of always being found less than his brother or anyone around him. He has to learn that God wants him just as he is, and he doesn't have to change himself to create people appreciate and value him. Confirmation of this truth from several sources rings freedom through his soul. I love how independent and capable Gram is, and that she's courting. Lessons in forgiving ourselves, and surrendering who we are to God. We don't have to do everything, just the things God asks of us, and we don't have to prove ourselves to anyone but sues: Some typos and word errors. Again, specific dates and times are few and far between. I'm a bit disappointed that the "Gram is malnourished" conclusion is never reached, when it is set up when the docs wonder why she's healing so slowly. Bryan’s low self-esteem seems a small odd, since he comes off as the more put-together of the brothers in book 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    I am enjoying this series and the info of Gods touch in the lives of these characters. The setting my present a simpler time but God is always real to his people, even today. In this story, Claire shows her unwavering faith in God. This pulls others to see her value and how attractive her spirit truly is on the inside. One such individual, Doc Bryan, finds himself thinking of Claire long after their encounters. Finding love doesn’t have to be difficult. Boy meets girl, gets to know girl, falls for girl, marries girl. This is how life should be, easy simple love. Can’t wait to dive into Marcus and Lilly’s story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    Book 3 in the series; I would recommend books 1 and 2 first though it is not important as there is enough background to know the characters and what is going on in Butte Montana. Some of the characters that figured prominently in the first two books are in the background in this one. We obtain know some of the minor characters from books 1 and 2 and also some newcomers to enty of action and some suspense keeps the reader engaged through the whole is refreshing to read good, clean romances with the bit of intrigue included in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    The Lady and The Mountain Fire is another amazing book by Misty M Beller! She writes with such depth and understanding of her characters that you feel you really know them. Bryan and Claire's story shows that God has a method for true life to victory out over life and death obstacles. I also loved her grandmother's view of life.I would recommend any of Misty Beller's books. She depicts how God's love is true for all of us. Every book I have read so far has encouraged me to fully have fun God's grace and love!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    SWEET, LIGHT-HEARTED STORY. BEAUTIFUL USE OF SCRIPTURE AND CHRISTIAN LIVING IN THE LATE 19TH CENTURY. STEADY PACED BOOK THAT CAUSES AN EAGERNESS TO RETURN TO YOUR NEXT READING SESSION. APPRECIATE HOW EACH BOOK OF THIS SERIES PLAYS OFF THE CHARACTERS, SETTING, ETC... OF THE PREVIOUS STORYLINE. YOU COULD READ JUST ONE BOOK OF THE SERIES AND STILL FEEL SOMEWHAT INFORMED ABOUT WHAT YOU'VE MISSED NOT READING THE OTHERS. MY FIRST MISTY M. BELLER SERIES. WON'T BE MY LAST.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    I absolutely adored this book! One of my favorites of Misty Beller's books. That is saying a lot because I love all her books. It really is a attractive romance of Claire and Bryan and that God really does love us just as we are. I can't wait to begin the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    This exciting western adventure is set in a little Montana mining town. There was very small violence, and the only sexual content is one or two kisses. The story is about a young woman who comes to city to support out her grandmother who is blind. Her grandmother is a bit of a hero and probably perfectly able to take care of herself. The main hero interacts with grandmother's love story as well as her own evolving relationship. I enjoyed this title so much that I have purchased the other books in Misty Beller's Mountain Dreams series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    I enjoyed the initial clash and the gradual deepening of Bryan and Claire’s relationship as the story progresses, and they explore one another’s heart. I also love the relatable notice about guilt, and God’s truth on the matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    This is the third book in Ms. Seller's Mountain Dream Series, and the books only seem to be getting better with each installment. You certainly don't have to read the books in order, but it is slightly more enjoyable as characters from the previous novels do create some cameos.If you're looking for fast clean romance set in the old west (and seriously, what hopeless romantic isn't?), then you should definitely place this one on your shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inner Ranges: An Anthology of Mountain Thoughts and Mountain People review []  2020-1-25 19:6

    Geoff knits together insight into the human condition with a deep mountain knowledge and joy. This collection was an absolute pleasure to read. I look forward to revisiting it throughout the years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inner Ranges: An Anthology of Mountain Thoughts and Mountain People review []  2020-1-25 19:6

    I really enjoyed this collection of stories and I would highly recommend "Inner Ranges" by Geoff Powter to any reader who relishes amazing storytelling . The accounts of the author’s own adventures climbing in the mountains over almost 50 years are entertaining and thrilling; his profiles of Canadian explorers and virtuoso climbers such as Barry Blanchard, Sonnie Trotter and Earl Denman provide fascinating insights into their motivations and accomplishments; and his accounts of tragedies and controversial events, such as in “Death on the Wapta”, and “A Herd for the Killing”, are respectful to those involved while not backing away from potentially contentious e author’s introductory or concluding comments accompanying each story are almost as interesting as the narratives themselves. In his preface to "The Truth on Everest", he acknowledges that his interview with the Canadian member of one of the ill-fated 1996 Everest expeditions challenged his understanding of the happenings on the mountain, and that the story was one of the most difficult he had ever written. In "A Higher Education", he again shares with the reader the power of a story to alter preconceived notions, in this case of the process by which young men and women become professional mountain guides. His reflections on the difficulties of writing about complex issues, people and his own changing approaches and motivations are an intimate and refreshing addition to an already perfect compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inner Ranges: An Anthology of Mountain Thoughts and Mountain People review []  2020-1-25 19:6

    “Inner Ranges” is the effect of a lifelong love affair between the author, Geoff Powter, and the mountains. It is a compilation of both autobiographical stories and articles Geoff has published about fascinating people and topics over the years, all of whom have had special relationships with the mountains and nature. Although much of the book focuses on climbing and climbers, to label it as just another climbing book would be a large disservice to both the author and the potential readership of this outstanding collection of thoughtful, reflective, passionate and often humorous stories. Several of the articles in the book have small or nothing to do with climbing, as other diverse necessary problems are addressed: the protection of our national parks and wildlife; the dangers and sometimes tragic consequences of outdoor adventure; and the inspiration of adventurers recovering from serious injury versus all odds. In the case of articles the author had written several years ago, he adds commentary about what transpired after the article was first published and updates his thoughts about a given story or subject. In several of these cases it is highly entertaining to search out who Powter angered as a effect of his writing (e.g., Jon Krakauer) and what dialogue ensued!As with any love affair between an author and his/her topic matter, the stories evoke a wide range of emotional outcomes, from the tragedy of death in the mountains to the exhilarating feeling of a successful climb and/or adventure in the for the stories and articles relating to climbing in this book, Powter focuses on several recurring themes. In several of his articles he tries to respond the question as to how and why some people can earn their put among the highest echelon of climbers in the globe (e.g., Sonnie Trotter, Barry Blanchard, Raphael Slawinski) and what distinguishes them from the masses of less-talented and less ambitious climbers. Climbing ethics/protocol is a theme that Powter confronts with tremendous insight, candor and clarity throughout the book, especially in his articles pertaining to climbing in the Himalayas. He suggests that finishing a difficult route and/or reaching a summit is not the most necessary aspect of climbing. Far more necessary are the manner and style in which one climbs and how one represents one’s climb to peers, the climbing community and the general is necessary to note that Powter chooses his topics carefully; the people he writes about are genuinely interesting characters. From self-taught climbers like Barry Blanchard to dreamers like Earl Denman hoping to be the first to climb Everest, Powter writes about people we either start to care greatly about and/or are just plain fascinating to us!In conclusion, I highly recommend this book! if you are interested in what motivates a fascinating group of diverse people to frequent the mountains and wild locations and embark upon varying types of adventures and activities (some of which are of the high-risk variety), “Inner Ranges” is for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Man (The Mountain Series Book 1) review []  2020-2-1 3:45

    No foul language, no bed hopping, no cynicism. Just the story of a young woman, Leah, who finds herself in a risky situation and puts her trust in God to carry her through a time of trial. Fleeing her pursuers she faces her fears with courage and determination and, believing in God's plan for her, she travels across country to respond a newspaper ad for a mail-order bride. Each roadblock faced by prayer and the inner strength her faith provides, she arrives at her destination only to learn of the untimely death of her intended. Taken in by his younger sister Miriam and older widowed brother Gideon, she falls in love with the beauty of the fresh country surrounding her, the hard life on a frontier ranch and with this fresh family that adopts her. In Miriam she quickly finds the sister of her heart but Gideon is broken in spirit and has closed himself off to any more pain in life. He wars to hold Leah at arms length almost to the point of losing is is a sweet and unbelievable story for anyone who wants to read about the power of faith in the face of adversity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Man (The Mountain Series Book 1) review []  2020-2-1 3:45

    Leah Townsend is an heiress. She's also only 22-years-old and, before her dad passed, he'd signed a contract for her to wed Simon Talbert. At an elegant Richmond party, returning from the powder room, she overheard him talking to his brother about "dispensing with her" when he was tired of her and she'd come into her inheritance, which she'd do as soon as she turned 23. When he could legally claim her estates, that was the end of ightened for her life, she left Richmond behind after praying to God about her dilemma the night before. Her companion and friend, Miss Emily, encouraged her to go to St. Louis where Emily had family. On arriving there, Leah settled into a hotel and looked into a method to learn how to provide for herself. However, an ad she'd read in the Richmond paper haunted her. It was a request for a God-fearing woman willing to travel to Montana to marry a young cattle rancher.While sitting in her hotel, nursing her sore feet from her fruitless find for a job, she overheard a conversation at the front desk. A man was looking for her. Seeing him pass, she recognized Simon's brother. Knowing she wouldn't be safe there any longer, she left a few days later after finding herself sending a telegram to Montana agreeing to the marriage proposal. She then bustled onto a ship, using most of her cash to pay the passage, to riving in Fort Benton, she promptly lost all of her cash and found herself stranded. In asking for jobs around Fort Benton, she became discouraged and sat down to rest. Deciding she wasn't going to move until God showed her what to do, she was joined by an elderly man who went by the name Ol' Mose'. He turned out to be God-sent indeed. He offered her free passage to the ranch she was to meet Abel.Unfortunately, when they arrived, they learned Abel had been killed by a grizzly bear two weeks before her arrival. The telegram his brother, Gideon, had sent never reached her. Ol' Mose' left her there for the time being so she could stay with Miriam, the brothers' younger sister. Leah swiftly started to learn everything she'd always wanted to, but had never been allowed to back in her home in Richmond. She realized it wasn't fair to remain there any longer, and when Gideon offered to refund the passage price from St. Louis, she agreed to it. However, she had a nasty accident right before she was to leave and was forced to remain longer. One thing to remember is God never lets anything happen by chance. Everything had brought Leah to this point for a reason.I found this to be a grand read. It's set back in the late 1800s and, as far as I can tell, showed everything brilliantly and was real to the time period. It didn't keep back from letting you know that trying to create it in the "wild west" wasn't easy. I enjoyed the book a amazing deal and didn't place it down until it was finished. There was absolutely no hiding that this was a Christian book. If that makes you uncomfortable, then I'd definitely avoid it. However, the story told was a terrific one, so if you're willing to accept that God can and does support those who ask for it, then you will have fun it. It also appears this is the begin of a series and I will definitely be looking into the others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Man (The Mountain Series Book 1) review []  2020-2-1 3:45

    “Your assumptions are your windows on the world. Scrub them off every once in a​while, or the light won’t come in.” Isaac Asimov. Shortly before his sudden and unexpected death, Simon Talbert a wealthy Virginian arranged the marriage of his only daughter, Leah to a Richmond neighbor, Simon Talbert. Twenty-two-year-old Leah wasn’t attracted to her intended and for amazing reason. Simon was also very wealthy, quite a bit older than Leah and not at all friendly. His only concern was adding her family’s fortune to his own. She turns to the bible for answers to her dilemma. The page she read at random warned her to run and for lack of any other alternative left Richmond and headed west. Her travels take her all the method to Butte City, Montana. She uses her bible like a gypsy uses tarot cards to point her to her future and she follows it without thought or reservation. She finds herself at the Bryant Ranch, owned by two brothers, Gideon and (recently deceased) Abel. Their younger sixteen-year-old sister, Miriam was the only other inhabitant of the ranch. The two women instantly form a close relationship and maybe, if her bible points the way, she might have found a put she could belong. Gideon is a man of few words but Leah soon found her method around this malady and soon has him talking more and more. Life at the Bryant Ranch soon improved even making the severe hebetudes of the Montana winters are a this day and age, when religion seems to be waning, it is refreshing to read a book that goes back to the basics. Religion and family values play a huge role in this story, painting a picture of the past that is all but forgotten. Biblical platitudes are served up as a feast after a long fast. I do view their Richmond wealth skeptically so soon (1874) after the end of the Civil Battle but accept it for the sake of the story. Wholesomeness and innocence create this plebian tale a welcome change to the erotica that dominate the current reading lists. It is interesting, although sometimes a small overbearing but I enjoyed it and a lot of are sure to agree.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Man (The Mountain Series Book 1) review []  2020-2-1 3:45

    Leah Townsend overheard the man her father had wanted her to marry tell his mate that if Leah was disagreeable that he would wait until after her twenty-third birthday to arrange an accident so he could search someone more agreeable and mentioned that it had worked well with his first bride.Leah was upset about and went to her companion and allow her know the situation. Emily told her they would search a method to prevent this. Emily suggested that Leah travel somewhere and stay until her twenty-third birthday and then notify her father's solicitor the reason for her departure and she would be able to have her inheritance sent to a bank where ever she was living. But first she would have to obtain away from the man who wanted the money.Emily suggested she travel to St. Louis. Leah had $500 that she had saved from her allowance she received. Leah took the train from Richmond to Washington, D. C. and then on to St. Louis. When she arrived she had to take a ferry across the Missouri River. She learned from a passenger that he was going to the same zone where she intended to go. He told her that he was going to take a river boat to Montana because train rails did not extend past the river.Leah found traveling by riverboat to be relaxing-everything she required was included. The fare @#$%!200 but she had a personal cabin and meals were included. After she got to the dock in Montana, things were other so hospitable. There was no method she travel to her final destination at the time. Scene coaches were full. An old peddler named Mose offered her ride on his cart at no cost. She only required to support out. He knew where her groom, Abel Bryant, lived. Leah spent three months helping Mose by gathering wood and carrying water. When Leah and Mose arrived at the Bryant cabin, Leah learned that Abel had been mauled by a grizzly bear and died. It was then she learned of another brother, Gideon, and a sister. The sister wanted Leah to stay and she did they obtain along? Was Leah able to search a husband so she could hold her inheritance? Read the book so you will have all the answers. There is so much more in the book. I first read this book soon after it was published and it has been on my read again list since then.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Man (The Mountain Series Book 1) review []  2020-2-1 3:45

    The Lady and the Mountain Main by Misty M. Beller1860's She was to be married and then her father died. Her fresh to be husband she finds with another man discussing old info and she hears he wants to slay her like he did his latest ey are to be married and he will take over everything-she was to inherit the following February as her father's will stated. She takes off and with support ends up traveling by train to St. Louis where she sees advertisements for brides to head to the e loses her purse, all her cash and unless she finds a job she's stuck there and she knows Simon, her intended will be hunting her down. She travels with others and ends up in Butte, Montana but the man advertising for a bride is dead. She's left at his brother and sisters house for a few occur that hold her there and I love the parts where she learns about taking care of people and the animals. Love the travel and how she even learns to cook. She's always thinking of others and Gideon is always doing things for others. After the health emergencies she heads to city to search a job to earn deon stays in city til the next day waiting on supplies when he figures out Simon has hired hands there to kidnap her but he's too late.. God is show when he is called about to support them with troubling decisions and hope they are on the right paths. Love the herbs and how they are used.Have had this book for a while and glad I finally read it. Other works in this series, are also highlighted at the end.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter