nightjohn Reviews & Opinions


Submit nightjohn review or read customer reviews:

10 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    Written by Chyna, age 11The book Nightjohn by Gary Paulsen is about a girl named Sarny who is enslaved on a plantation. She is raised by Delie (Mammy). A man named NightJohn who is also enslaved on the same plantation started to teach Sarny how to read and write. This was necessary to him because he wanted enslaved people to be able to write about their slave experience. Even though educated slaves aren’t supposed to teach others, NightJohn took that risk and taught her secretly. I gave this book five stars because this book teaches you about slavery and about what enslaved people had to experience and go through. Also, I felt intrigued reading this book because it taught me about my ancestors in an entertaining way. It was entertaining because Gary Paulsen created up fictional characters to excite children or other readers through the characters’ charismatic personalities. 5th graders or ages 10 and up should read this book because they are able to handle the shocking and disturbing happenings properly. Also, students this age are able to hear and visualize challenging things. Younger children would not be able to handle the disturbing or shocking events.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    One of my favorite ways to teach history is through making connections between historic fictions and non-fiction books. Gary Paulsen has done an perfect job with drawing the reader in and holding their attention. This is one of the most moving books for this time in history. The children obtain totally involved emotionally as I read it aloud. Amazing class discussion pursue with lots of critical thinking. This is a must have book for a classroom library but of course beautiful much all of Gary Paulsen books are.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    My kids are in their 30/s now and I discovered the film on VHS when my kids were preteens. This was my youngest son favorite film as a kid and he still love it to this day. And he now shares this film with his 6 year old son instilling in him the love for reading. Now, when i explore the book, I just had to obtain it, read it in one day and it was exact onpoint like the movie. Every household should have the film or the book or both as I do. It truly points out the importance of a MUSt for reading and having an education.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on nightjohn or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch nightjohn video reviews and related movies:

    See Night John Trailer 1996 on youtube.

     related image

    See NightJohn by Gary Paulsen on youtube.

     related image

    See Nightjohn - Chapter 1 [audio reading] on youtube.

     related image

    See Nightjohn - Chapter 3 [audiobook] on youtube.

     related image

    See Nightjohn - Chapter 5 [audiobook] on youtube.

     related image

    See NightJohn movie on youtube.

     related image

    See NightJohn Book Trailer on youtube.

     related image

    See Nightjohn book trailer on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    This book was surprisingly short, finished it in one day, unusual of me, but the story I'll never forget, bringing back the title, it is verrrrry terrifying and very dark. Highly recommended PG13 though I'm 12 and reading this as a summer book, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    I first read the book in middle school and never forgot it! Eventually I bought this book along with the sequel that I also read in middle school to reread and hold for my collection, Unbelievable book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    This is an emotional book but very captivating. It's amazing for upper middle school and high school e author shows us the bond and love between the slaves. We had to buy the 2nd book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    This story was assigned to me in a college class. It's content is no holds barred, graphic, and intense. I would not suggest kids under 12 reading, and some would probably go with a higher age than that. The endearing story of a small girl wanting to learn to read, as taught by a heroic slave is the items amazing stories are created of. Is this a amazing book? Yes, no doubt. But, again, I caution the age it is ready for-do not be fooled by the little book with few pages. It says lots in few words.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    Every person, 10 years and older, should read this book. It helps you understand how really rough slavery in the USA really was. And although it's a novel, it's based on a real incident. Please read this one, and the novel Sarny, also by the same author. The book, Sarny, is a sequel to Nightjohn.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    Nice to be able to obtain actual books on CD for a decent price. We listen to this in my 7th grade ELA class. Great, strong (and short) book, and unbelievable narrator

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nightjohn review []  2020-1-14 19:30

    One of the first novels written by Gary Paulsen and it addresses slavery.Well written story,Iwould recommend ng reader should read it .

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter