Read no future without forgiveness reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all no future without forgiveness reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    andronix - linux on android without root []  2020-6-18 7:32
    [email protected]

    Looked promising, but the button on their www service takes you to google play, so I took myself off to AnLinux.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cialis no rx [cialis 5 mg cost ]  2020-9-14 0:44
    [email protected]

    Arjzkl knpkgy cialis china precurser) A bottom wall found that L-Citrulline prior ventricular imaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    This book is not only about the evils of apartheid, but also about how a nation was able to move toward healing and forgiveness through the formation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Desmond Tutu was appointed to head up this commission that would amnesty to all of those who had been involved in political acts of torture and violence during the period of apartheid in South Africa, but only if those that perpetrated the violence came forward, applied for amnesty, and told the truth about what they had done. The victims of the crimes were also allowed to come and tell their stories and ask their questions. Within these stories are remarkable tales of how people who had been tormented or had their loved ones tormented or even killed were able to reach out and search healing themselves by forgiving those who had done this to chbishop Tutu tells his story and the story of his nation and how that South African has been and is being healed through the power of truth and forgiveness. He speaks about a lot of of the trials and tribulations that the commission went through, such as Winnie Mandela's part in the atrocities that she allegedly had a part in. The info of some of the torture stories are hard to take, but important to tell and to hear so that we know that evil exists in appalling ways in the world, but that evil can be overcome through e trees that were sacrificed to create this book were well worth the sacrifice, because within its pages are the leaves for the healing of the nations. When Jesus hung on the cross, evil having done its best to him, he cried "Father forgive them for they know not what they do." He could have called twelve legions of angels and destroyed the whole lot of them, but he answers evil of the worst kind with forgiveness and reconciliation. This notice and the notice of the book is what is required in all of locations today were we are causing one another pain and suffering and can see no method around or out of the dilemma. I believe that this kind of move is what is important to heal the Middle East conflict and all of the other feuds and racist hatred that has gone on in the world. The only method forward to any type of life giving future is through forgiveness. I recommend this book to everyone who ions or comments contact me at

    0  


    Add your opinion on no future without forgiveness or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    This spiritual/religious based book is presented differently than Gandhi, Tolstoy, and other philosophers that I have read. This book is more rooted in the happenings of the Truth and Reconciliation Committee, a board that Desmond Tutu headed after apartheid ended. The goal of this board was to grant amnesty to individuals and to learn of the travesties that occurred during apartheid. Tutu spends time to talk about the reasons and purpose of the board while lending several chapters to discuss several of the eye-witness reports and happenings described while heading the ter he sets up the purpose and ideals behind the board along with some of the testimony from individuals, he then begins to dive into his dialogue about what these happenings mean and how they relate to his overall conclusion of "No Future Without Forgiveness." This book did two amazing things for me: First, it introduced me to apartheid, something I have not read too much about. Tutu described the conditions not only pre-apartheid, but after Nelson Mandela became the president of South Africa and other similar events. Second, I was able to see him unfold his spiritual plan of how the country was to move forward after so a lot of years of people being dehumanized and a large social structure was the combination of the historical and philosophical elements that created this book unique to me. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    Born in South African on October 7, 1931, Desmond Tutu grew up during a time of amazing pain and chaos. Despite growing up in a country that actively discriminated versus him due to the color of his skin, Tutu was able join the Anglican clergy and graduate from college. Eventually he was elected as Archbishop of Cape Town, South Africa, where he was able to support tutorial the country through the transition into democracy. Desmond Tutu was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1984 along with a lot of other awards over the years for his defense of human 1995, a year after the apartheid had ended, Desmond Tutu was appointed as chairman of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) by President Nelson Mandela. This commission had the mandate to "provide as complete a picture as possible of the gross human rights violations that happened" (page 91) between 1960 and 1994. As one could photo this was a daunting task for a dozens of reason, not the least of that the commission only had two years to complete the task. Tutu's book "No Future Without Forgiveness", published in 1999, is a look back over the years of the commission, attempting to explain some of their actions as well as to promote the power of forgiveness in breaking the cycle of this end, Tutu starts off the book with a few chapters exploring the cultural background of South Africa during the apartheid years. Unique attention was given to the emotions and worldview of the black, colourful and Indian members of South Africa sociality as their voices have normally been squelched. After lying the ground work, Tutu goes on to explains why and how South Africa decided upon launching the TRC in the first place. For example, why did the newly elected black African government choose to amnesty instead of pursuing criminal charges like in Nuremberg (War Globe II's battle criminal court)?Following this discourse on why the TRC way was chosen, Tutu embarks on one of the best sections of the entire book. Namely, he answers the question of justice in light of the amnesty being offered: "Are the miscreants not going virtually scot-fee, since all they must do is give a full amount of all the materials facts relating to the offense?" (page 50). Drawing on both his heritage as an African and his theological training as a clergy member, Tutu weaves an agreement showing how real justice is more than just punishing someone for the wrong they committed. It is about "ubuntu", the "healing of breaches, the redress of imbalances, the restoration of broken relationships, a seeking to rehabilitate both the victims and the perpetrator, who should be given the opportunity to be reintegrated into the community he has injured by his offense" (page 55).After explaining the why's and how's of the TRC, Tutu spends most of the book telling the stories of the commission. Stories about some of the most horrible human rights crimes in world; crimes committed across a nation with the easy goal of making one racial group more strong and rich than all the others. In an interesting twist, these shocking stories serve as a turning point in the book as they are coupled with some of the most strong stories of forgiveness known to history. Fathers who forgive the men who tortured murdered their children; families who forgave those who killed and burned their loved ones while holding party next to the burning corpse. The combined natures of these stories serve to both explain the situation more fully as well as to create the reader's private grudges seem petty and that end, Tutu spends the latest chapter elaborating on the concept of forgiveness and the freedom that comes from forgiveness. His hope is that people will grasp the power of forgiveness and apply it both to their personal lives and in their society. As he states on page 279, "true forgiveness with the past, all of the past, to create the future possible...we have to accept that what we do we do for generation past, present, and yet to come. That is what makes a community a community or a people a people - for better or worse."In conclusion, Desmond Tutu's book "No Future Without Forgiveness" is a amazing exploration into the concept of forgiveness while bring to light some of the why's and how's of the South Africa Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Tutu does a amazing job a highlighting both the successes and failures of the TRC while keeping the overall notice consistent. It is definitely a book to be read throughout the world, especially within the church as it helps place feet to Jesus' commandment to love and bless one's opponents (Matthew 5:44 and Luke 6:27-28).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    This book is Nobel Peace Prize laureate Desmond Tutu's private acc of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in post-apartheid South Africa. The title is a succinct summary of his vision. Apart from stressing the importance of reconciliation, the author also provides a detailed narration of the planning, operation and dynamics of the Commission as well his experience between 1996 to 1998. An inspiring work and an necessary basic material for South African history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    I originally became aware of this book when two various writers in a leadership journal (The International Journal of Servant Leadership) created reference to it.I was moved throughout the book by Archbishop Tutu's eloquence and his ability to look for the amazing in people while, at the same time, acknowledging their potential for monstrous evil. As chair of South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Committe, he had a first hand view of both. Yes, it is a story of South Africa's transition from apartheid to democracy. And, it's a story about how all of us, as God's children, can turn away from our innate goodness or honor it--even in the most difficult of circumstances.He reminds us of the African idea of ubuntu--we are who we are through our relationships with other people. The choice is ours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    Desmond Tutu has been in the middle of extreme tensions in re-ordering government and communal life. He has seen and heard some of the most atrocious deeds that can be dealt out by devious officials and citizens. Through it all he has insisted upon the need for openess and trust amongst even the most militant and hurtful perpetrators of injustice. Forgivenss in the political/social realm has principles underlying it that can be fruitfully applied by individuals in their relationships, as well. The nature of forgiveness is critical for people to understand if they are to live together on this planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    Bishop Tutu chaired the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission whose task it was to give voice to the victims of apartheid and to foster reconciliation between the races in South Africa following the transfer of power there. It's a fast read, which info atrocities committed during apartheid and eloquently discusses how both the blacks and whites were victims of this intrinsically evil 's a book written from the heart of a man who understands that revenge no hope to society. There are brief references comparing the South Africa "success story" to other troubled spots in the globe where revenge killing has gone on for generations. The title says it all, "No Future Without Forgiveness". An interesting read that's worth the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    South Africa is such an wonderful country, a attractive country and attractive peoples meant to be a blessing to all of its people, to the continent of Africa and to the world. Archbishop Desmond Tutu has written a remarkable story of the impact of apartheid upon its people. Nelson Mandela wrote on the back cover, "The Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) of South AFrica has place the spotlight on all of us...In its hearings Desmond Tutu has conveyed our common pain and sorrow, our hope and confidence in the future."This is also the story of the most wonderful elections that the globe has witnessed and how South Africa avoided a much anticipated bloodshed. With so a lot of other countries that have looked evil in the face in their history and have had much various results than South Africa. Why is that? This book gives the reader the reasons why this process chbishop Tutu was surprised as a pastor and a man of faith to be asked to chair this committee with so a lot of lawyers, parliamentarians, judges, health care workers and people of other faiths who could have capably led this commission. He also was about to retire and looking forward to it. One can easily see on page 49-50 why lawyers and people who understand government were required when the law was passed establishing the TRC that the following conditions were allowed for amnesty:1. The act for which amnesty was needed should have happened between 1960, the year of the Sharpeville massacre, and 1994, when President Mandela was inaugurated as the first democratically elected South African head of state.2. The act must have been politically motivated. Perpetrators did not qualify for amnesty if they killed for private greed, but they did qualify if they committed the act in response to an by, or on behalf of, a political organization, such as the former apartheid state and its satellite Bantustan homelands, or a recognized liberation movement such as the ANC or PAC.3. The applicant had to create a full disclosure of all the relevant facts relating to the offense for which amnesty was being sought.4. The rubric of proportionality had to be observed-- that the means were proportional to the objective.If those conditions were met, said the law, then amnesty "shall be granted."The Commission dealt with problems of remorse, impunity and justice amongst a very diverse group of people as well as compensation and similar issues. President Mandela must have seen something various in appointing a pastor and Archbishop as the Chair that this was indeed going to be a spiritual process rather than merely political. Dealing with problems such as forgiveness, reconciliation and reparation were not normal discussion and decision making in the halls of informed the Commissions discussions and particularly the Christian faith. I was deeply impressed with Desmond Tutu, how practical he is, how articulate he is and how his faith informs all that he does. An example on page 82/83- " It was a relief as the Commission to explore that we were all really kids of Adam and Eve. When God accosted Adam and remonstrated with him about contravening the God had given about not eating a certain fruit, Adam had been less than forthcoming in accepting responsibility for that disobedience. No, he shifted the blame to Eve, and when God turned to Eve, she too had taken a leaf from her husband;s book (not the leaf with which she tried to ineffectually to hide her nakedness) and tried to pass the buck. We are not sure how the serpent responded to the blame being pushed on it. So we should have thus not not have been surprised at how reluctant most people were to acknowledge their responsibility for atrocities done under apartheid. They were just being the descendants of their forebears and behaving real to form in being in the denial mode or blaming everyone and everything except themselves.""So frequently we in the commission were quite appalled at the depth of depravity to which human beings could sink and we would, most of us, say that those who committed such dastardly deeds were creatures because the deeds were monstrous. But theology prevents us from doing this. Theology reminded me that, however diabolical the act, it did not turn the perpetrator into a demon. We had to distinguish between the deed and the perpetrator, between the sinner and the sin, to hate and condemn the sin while being filled with compassion for the sinner... theology said they still, despite the awfulness of their deeds, remained kids of God with the capacity to repent, to be able to change."This is really a book about forgiveness and reconciliation for poor things done to fellow human beings. It is a book about the scandal of love and grace given to people in the example of Jesus. It is a story of people just being able and encouraged to tell their poor stories of evil done to them, their loved ones and their neighbors. It is a story of how within each of us is the capacity for this same kind of evil. It is also the story of people who have suffered so much, instead of lusting for revenge, they had this extraordinary willingness to forgive. I was deeply moved by this book and I think you will be as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    Desmond Tutu is simply a brilliant man. I had the opportunity to meet him several years ago and didn't really appreciate at the time what kind of work he'd done. I read this to fully understand the idea of forgiveness which is often seen as a weakness. He lays out in clear terms how forgiveness cannot be a weakness because it is harder to do than revenge. It is harder to hold someone elses actions from defining and confining you the rest of your life than to give in to them and act upon the instinct to damage your perpetrators back. The fact that these eye-witness accounts come from people who could look their assailants in the face and search some humanity after all was said and done is wonderful and humbling. I would recommend this read for anyone and especially for those who are trying to search a method to cope with victimhood or perhaps to do self-reflection on your own faults and how you may have damage others and need to be freed of that defining action.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Future Without Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 6:59

    No Future without Forgiveness is a unbelievable acc of the remarkable work of the South African Truth and Reconciliation Committees. Archbishop Tutu an inside view of this work, which he chaired and guided, acknowledging some of the bumps in the street as well as the heart-breaking and heart-healing times of success. He provides "texture" by recounting info of the lived experience, in his own familiar, sometimes humorous, always honest style. He also describes something of how significant the example of the Truth and Reconciliation work has been in other afflicted parts of the world--in Rwanda and Ireland, for instance. Whether a reader is hoping for encouragement and guidance for truth and reconciliation in the private sphere or hopeful signs of God's working out the Reign of justice, peace, and universal reconciliation, she will be inspired and grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Forgiveness []  2020-7-30 19:9

    This was a unique story of one's realization of sin and a true opportunity to practice and experience God's forgiveness and start a NEW life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Forgiveness []  2020-7-30 19:9

    This is a amazing story about a young woman that gets pregnant and moved to a Amish community and joins and finds love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Forgiveness []  2020-7-30 19:9

    I could not finish this book it was so awful. I love Amish stories and this is the first time that I have ever not finished reading one. The dialogue is childish and stilted. It is just awful. And an Amish man, who is the son of the bishop, courting an English woman is beyond the pale. What an absolute waste of my time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Forgiveness []  2020-7-30 19:9

    The author has chosen and developed an unusual situation with sensitivity. The characterization is believable and the plot resolution satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    I don't even know what to say about this story. Requiem for a world, maybe. As always, Ms. Bolander's words take my breath away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    Devastatingly written, with a hard, piercing, righteous anger that shines through part of the book, and remorse and despair in the second (you'll know the division when you see it). A fable, or even a parable, like the very best of Ursula K. Le Guin's stories. The end of the globe was created to sound both attractive and horrifying, and the shame and guilt I felt over it was very real.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    I have read ~75% of this book now, however I can already say that it is a amazing book. I normally highlight (Kindle version) those parts of a book that I think I will wish to come back later and read again (yo know, in not to have to read the entire book again looking for those key points).With this book I have found that to be somewhere between challenging and completely ineffective, because upon taking the time to meditate on the text, I was highlighting 80% of the book (my standard is 5-10% just in case you were wondering), so I just stopped doing that and figured I would come back later and read it all over again, cause I search it to be that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    I've been reading and re-reading JL's books for over a year now and truly believe her delivery of Magda Gerber & Dr. Emmy Pickler's practices and tip are very refreshing. Nothing resonated more for me that these three concepts: 1. acknowledging. Don't WE as humans yearn for acknowlegement and respect? Not agreement with everything we do or say - but acknowledgement that we are valid, valued, and in some cases in need of a gentle reminder that there is always room for improvement? 2. Preparing/narrating babies & toddlers as to what we are going to do next, whether to their bodies (lie you down, wipe your bottom) or as an activity. My son doesn't like surprises at all. I test my best to always share what will come next. Again, don't we like to know? I especially appreciate Janet's likening it to being an adult unable to do things for oneself, i.e. In a nursing home. 3. Avoiding speaking in "motherese" and third person. Or any other manner that we wouldn't speak to, say, or spouse or friend. We expect children to act properly, respect us, and react just as we request (or commonly command), but without displaying this behavior ourselves, it adds a layer of avoidable confusion to already conflicted small children developing normally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    Janet Lansbury works with kids and parents to support correct behavior problems and produces the “No Poor Kids” podcast. Her philosophy of childhood psychology and parenting follows that of Magda Gerber, the founder of RIE (Resources for Infant Educarers). The tip and knowledge contained in this book serves as a helpful tutorial for parents of any child, even those without serious behavior issues. My kids are both very young (1 and 3) and generally well-behaved, but I found this book extremely helpful for a lot of rst and foremost, NO BAD KIDS provides perspective on why kids (especially toddlers) behave as they do and what they are trying to communicate by their behavior. They are not adults and their brains do not work in the same method adult brains do. Toddlers are basically controlled by their emotions and feelings and easily become overwhelmed. They have problem communicating clearly and are often frustrated by this limitation. This book is a amazing support in gaining some understanding of what it must be like as a toddler, which alone helps a parent have more patience and sympathy with outrageous and ridiculous y necessary lessons are imparted in this book. One is that parents shouldn’t be afraid or put-off by tantrums, whining, or crying. By trying to see things from a child’s point of view a parent can gain an necessary perspective. Acting like small brats is an effective method to communicate feelings and emotions and parents should test hard to understand and interpret the intended communication. While it is obviously annoying to with troublesome kids, we should test our hardest not to allow it create us resentful, which can lead to other negative feelings towards your children, whom obviously need to know that they are loved and cherished. Landbury also emphasizes the importance of logical and clear boundaries when dealing with kids. Consistency and resolve in parents support children feel safe. They wish adults to be in charge but need to challenge us to develop a clear picture of how they fit into the world. Calm, confident, and resolute are the attributes parents should strive for. Don’t let yourself to argue with your kids, just tell them what you are doing and why. It is amazing to explain why things are event as they are, but not to plead for ch of the material in this book sounds simple in theory but is extremely difficult in practice. Not getting rattled by a ridiculous-acting toddler and keeping calm while being embarrassed by a tantruming child in public seems impossible, but just the recognizing what the ideal interaction would look like helps in controlling our own emotions when difficult situations arise.I wholeheartedly recommend this book to parents of toddlers, regardless of whether they have behavior issues. All toddlers act out at some level and having the knowledge contained in this book will be a support to any parent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freecell No Ads - Spider Solitaire Without Ads [App]  2019-9-21 1:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    I received a copy of this short story from If you sign up for their newsletter, you sometimes obtain books. Well worth it if you like science fiction or is is a attractive story. With only 32 pages, it still created me cry. In a future where humans have destroyed the globe with their nonsense, a small girl is raised by a collective of women who share characteristics with a lot of animals we know. They tell their stories. I was so moved. If you worry about the future of our world, and particularly the wildlife in it, this story will speak to you too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    That's the main adjective I would use. Haunting, wistful, lonely, beautiful. Prepare to obtain emotional while reading this, in a amazing way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    Brooke Bolander's The Only Harmless Amazing Thing is rightfully on this year's Nebula Award reading list. It is a powerful, exquisitely-written alternate history about elephants, radiation poisoning, and revenge. But I consider her No Flight Without the Shatter to be a finer novelette. There is a mythic quality to this story; a Noah's ark in reverse. Linnea, an orphan, is the latest human on Earth. She is cared for, and taught, by Earth's remaining animals as they prepare to depart, leaving her alone. What affected me most powerfully is the tenderness with which these animals address Linnea. There is also Bolander's exceptional prose: "She hears the sound of phantom wings and hurls herself versus the ceiling, desperate to take her put in the thunder."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    I learned immensely from this book. I have a 4 y.o. boy who struggles hard with the arrival of his baby sister. Because I have worked with children for years as a teacher, I thought I was prepared for anything parenthood might bring. I was wrong. And lost. Janet restored my confidence, taught me super efficient ways to support and parent my children and has given me meal for thought that I am very appreciative of. Highly recommend for parents who wish to be gentle but not pushovers, who believe in talking to children rather than punishing them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    I listen to Janet Lansbury’s parenting podcast, “Unruffled”, and it is constantly shaping me into a more patient and understanding parent. Her tip is warm, welcoming and full of compassionate feedback for anyone with children. I’ve included a couple images of some sample pages from the book that really spoke to me… Janet Lansbury is no doubt, a parenting expert and so if you’re looking for a book similar to communicating with your toddlers and handling their challenging behavior in a more respectful and understanding way, this book is for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    Really helpful information when your child [email protected]#$%!&ing that 2 1/2 - 3yr old boundary pushing behavior and you feel like abandoning a gentle parenting approach, this helps you understand from their perspective and amazing advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    I got a recommendation for this book from The Center For Parenting Education as I was looking for some extra information on better understanding my spirited 2-year old. I read A LOT of parenting books (carefully researching them beforehand), books on early childhood education, development and psychology, and this book stood out: it helped me feel more confident with my l the (quality) parenting books mention the importance of staying calm while raising toddlers, however this book clearly emphasized that unless parent stays unruffled (no matter what!), young children themselves obtain frazzled during guiding moments. I realized that a lot of times I was saying all the right things, but my body language was giving off signs of irritation at the situation, which my kid would pick up. It is very necessary for your VERBAL language to match the NON-VERBAL, because if those 2 contradict each other, young children believe the NON-VERBAL. The book helped me better understand that If I obtain irritated/impatient during a challenging moment with toddlers, they feel INSECURE and UNSAFE: "Does Mom love me the method I am, even when I have a hard time with controlling my emotions? Can she handle my powerful personality? If she, my favorite person in the globe can't handle me, who can then? Am I a poor child?"Even though there were some points that I disagreed with, I feel the book was helpful in centering me as a parent and giving me confidence in dealing with my spirited kid MORE EFFICIENTLY during challenging moments :) This is making parenting much more pleasant and enjoyable!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    This is one of those stories that hits you in the face. The mystery of finding out what’s going on keeps driving you to the end. Love the science and the history of it all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    This was, as my headline states, sad and haunting. It looks at what humanity has done to the monsters of the globe through a fantastical, post-apocalyptic view. I definitely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    This is less a book about troubleshooting unwanted behavior as it is a book about helping you communicate with your kiddo in a respectful way. The rationale is that if you view and speak to your kid with respect, they will become fully functional children. It works. I don't know what happens when a child turns three, but the insanity drove me to this book. I read it in two sittings, and followed the model conversations to the letter. It worked really well. There are no shortcuts or fast fixes, but after a week of respectful parenting, we had a various toddler on our hands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    I decided to give this book 3 stars because while it has some amazing tip for gentle discipline, it also needs a lot of work. First and foremost, I feel as though the book is haphazardly written. It's disorganized, filled with chapters that don't correlate well with their title and random examples of letters written to her and her responses that are often off the point. Also, Lansbury's writing seems a small "holier than thou" in a lot of instances, something that immediately puts me off. Excellent example: Page 90, where in response to a letter from a parent she writes, "If you were a less empathetic, knowledgeable parent, you'd probably spank her or place her in timeout; but since you are respectful and enlightened, I advise something far more effective: adjust your perspective." What? I mean how judgemental a response is that? I obtain it, spanking is detrimental to a child's development, it's proven scientifically, time-outs are controversial in their effectiveness, but is it really important to create readers - who are obviously struggling parents (that clearly care enough about their raising their kids the right method to read parenting books) feel as though they are less-than because they may or may not have followed traditional forms of discipline?On the flip side, I agree with much of Lansbury's point of view, she mentions a lot of parenting basics that most innately feel is right with regard to how to treat and interact with children. But the messages are scrambled, and not well laid out. Parenting is difficult and parents who miraculously search the time to read up on how to discipline their kids the right method need clear and concise advice, examples, and pointers.I'd much rather recommend people to read "How Toddlers Thrive" by Tovah Klein or "No-Drama Discipline" by Daniel Siegel and Tina Payne Bryson. Both are written by scholars in the field and both include better thought out approaches to gentle discipline, well laid out chapters, and fast reference options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    What is it like to spend your childhood as the latest human on Earth? To be loved and fostered by beings who pity, yet do not regret, the fate of your species? To be raised on a dying world? Dark and beautifully told.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    Few thing are lonelier than being the latest of your ere was so much creativity woven into the storyline. More than once I was pleasantly surprised with clever twists to what I thought had been going on with the characters up until the moment the narrator decided to share an offhand comment that completely shifted my understanding of certain moments. I truly enjoyed the process of learning what was really event to Linnea and her companions as I moved closer and closer to the truth about their would have been nice to have a few more info about the crisis that caused the main hero to be orphaned early in life. The narrator spent so much time talking about her life after that point that I sure would have liked to have at least a primary understanding of what happened to create it possible for a kid to be left completely on her own at such a young age. While I understood that she wouldn’t remember all or even most of the details, finding out at least a small bit about it in some method other than through her hazy memories would have lead me to give this book a higher rating than I already e ending sent a chill down my spine. It fit the tone of this story perfectly, especially when it came to what I expected to happen to Linnea once she’d been living on her own for a while and began running out of critical supplies. I also appreciated the fact that this section finally reveal a few key pieces of the plot that had only been vaguely hinted at earlier on. Having that info created me feel happy by how everything was wrapped up in the Flight Without the Shatter kept me on my toes from the first stage to the latest one. I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys science fiction that’s set in the not-too-distant future.originally posted at long and short reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame []  2020-1-22 20:12

    This book is an awesome tool for any parent! Her writing is concise and to the point with a lot of examples of written letters and emails from parents she’s helped in the far the tool that’s most changed our day to day is giving our toddler (21 months) choices! Seems so obvious now but before this book I felt like he was just hearing “no” all day long! For example, after nap we usually play outback, I don’t wish his blanket he sleeps with brought outside to obtain all dirty. Test to just take it? Ha! Amazing luck. Now I can say something like, “I don’t wish your blanket outside, it’ll obtain all dirty and we need it clean for bedtime. Would you like to leave it on the table or the couch?” He’ll choose one then go play! Give options that you’re ok with either choice. There are countless hints like this in the book. It’s a short read in pages but not in information. Every sentence is packed full.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Flight Without the Shatter: A Original []  2020-1-31 18:50

    This was attractive and the only reason I didn't actually cry was because I was on the train and wearing eyeliner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    It's classic Cardeno insta-love but Cardeno does it right and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I've re-read this multiple times. There is something about this that keeps pulling me this story you have Rafi, who is now a successful attorney in Emile Town who grew up with Isaac who is now a popular NBA star. But what Rafi remembers about Isaac is how he bullied and tormented him through their high school years.But Isaac remembers it differently. Not that Rafi was all wrong...just his memory is a small now a dozen years later Isaac has stopped running from the one thing he needs to have a life and finds Rafi so he can have his shot at forgiveness and finally obtain the man he'd always loved and 's a sweet story that still has a few niggles here and there, but I'm giving it 4 stars, because anything that brings me back again and again deserves at least that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    This is one of those adorable books that you come back to re-read over and over in time. Lawyer Rafi Steiner thought he had been bullied by Isaac in high school, but when they meet again as adults, professional basketball player Isaac wants to create things right between them because he had always actually liked Rafi. The couple is so cute together and I totally enjoyed this story. The quality of the writing makes it valuable. A keeper. Gotta love a sweet romance. *sigh...* I love this book because, like Isaac, we can all hold growing and become better people every day of our lives. This book reminds me of that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    An intimate insight into the Dalai Lama's practice and mastery of forgiveness through Victor Chan's down-to-earth discussions with and observations of Tibet's spiritual leader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    If you are already a Prine fan 'nuff said - it, because this may well be his best collection ever. If a fresh fan, it may take a few seconds to grow on you, but it will. (Rest assured, there is not a single weepy, woe-is-me moment here; only John could bring anarchy and humor to a nursing home visit, as with Crazy Bone!) For me, the huge surprise is Summer's End; John's performance of this song is now all over the video world, and I think we become distracted by the method he looks and perhaps the rising talent surrounding him, so that the song itself is almost an afterthought. But hearing it as a musical, lyrical presentation without the visual allowed me to hear the earlier, yet now a rougher, more polished Prine who has transmuted his signature brevity into elegant wisdom. I was a young man stationed up at Amazing Lakes Naval Base when I first saw John at either The Earl Of Old City or maybe The Fifth Peg, before his first record came out. Who would have thought then he would have come this far and done so well? Anyway, the backup vocals and arrangements are typically minimal and yet manage to have their own long, memorable legs. One barely hears Brandi Carlile but you know she is there. Same with Jason Isbell playing slide guitar. Through it all you can hear John having a blast, looking forward to that nine mile long cigarette. Let's hope this is the first of a few more swan songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    I realize I'm preaching to the choir on this page, but I have to add my voice to the a lot of John Prine fans who are VERY happy and MOST delighted to have a a fresh album from this legendary singer-songwriter. Yeah, it's been far too long between albums for JP. But most importantly, this not only a fresh album of fresh material, it's an album of absolutely amazing songs. Prime Prine once again!The songs have all those endearing qualities that create us love John Prine so much; tunes with music and humor and humility and hope. Songs bursting with life and joy. Love it, love it, love it!!!!And that voice? A few years older, sure, but reassuringly, he sounds in very fine form. Such a pleasure to hear such unbelievable music, especially during these trying times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    What an album. John has done good. The first track is a stepper. Track 2 is a lovely song kinda rhumba style...track 3..I really like this one..pretty funny...track 4 is a bit of a tear jerker for me..tho quite amazing track 5 is good..track 6 another really amazing tune..John really tells a story here..track 7...still a amazing tune...track 8...a amazing love song..track 9...a song I think about the end....track 10...another favorite...then I'm gonna have a cocktail, vodka and ginger ale..I'm gonna smoke a cigarette that's nine miles long. that old cancer has been tough on him, but he's still there writing some amazing humor. Agg this one to your collection. John may not be around too much longer. Let's have fun him while we can!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    Ever the master at shining a loving light on infinitesimal moments, ordinary to most people's eyes, John Prine leans into us again. I smile, laugh, and obtain teary, as I have always done, and thank John, beloved old mate of my ears and heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    Attractive and empowering book! We have both of her books and she is one of our favorite writers on Instagram. This is a raw collection of poetry and prose that deserves a spot in your poetic library! Excited to see what else Jessie comes up with and will definitely more collections from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I love this book! I read it and I was really emotional. I really recommend this book. it is not big

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:10

    Self support through this book gave courage to change my dirty thoughts because it wasn’t my fault & I had to know this beforehand. My mother never believed me. This book helped me believe in myself & to realize to know the true difference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    This book is so very beautiful. You can feel the authors heart and soul spilled onto the pages. It speaks of self love and being a women in gorgeous ways. We ALL can relate to these words and this is a must have . I will be rereading this gem again and again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    Absolutely attractive and breathtaking. Every word.. I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:9

    This story brought tears to my eyes. I was satisfied to read Chiquis side of the story and glad she was finally vindicated. Her mother has, from day one touched my heart both through her melody and her life struggles. I saw myself in her and especially my daughter who is about the same age as Jennie. We too went through related trials and I can't tell you how proud I was of her popularity and who she represented in her lifetime. She was one of us. She created me proud of being Mexican American and to present the globe we can beat the odds. I want Chiquis all the success in the world! Dios te Bendiga!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:9

    Attractive book. I could now understand why there was a misunderstanding and horrible rumors about Chiquis and Esteban. To be able to understand her point of view, you have to read the book. It's a heartbreaking but gives you an insight on the Rivera family. Throughout chapters of the book, I cried and cried. It must've been horrible to be in your shoes, Chiquis. This is a attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:10

    I really liked the book cause from all the things I heard about Chiquis was impossible to believe a daughter could be so poor to her mom but this book respond a lot of poor thoughts I had and Chiquis as a mother I wish to apologize for all the poor thoughts I had about you and thank for getting that courage to really allow people know what you are really all about I don't know you personally but I admire you for who you are My God All ways Bless you and your siblings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    I have always like John Prine - and this release just cements his put in the pantheon of songwriters/singers. There are very few that I can listen to more than 1 album/CD at a time - Bruce Cockburn, Gordon Lightfoot, Boz Scaggs, John Mellencamp, Ray Davies, Willie Nelson, Van Morrison, Eric Clapton, Don Henley, Archie Fisher, Danny Sorentino, John Hiatt, Bruce Springsteen - these are folks I can listen to all day - they are amazing writers and storytellers. . But I digress.On this release, Mr. Prine delivers another masterpiece of telling a story. He is an American treasure who - as most of the above mentioned - are totally under-appreciated for their ability, in this day and age, to weave a amazing tale and melody to this point in a review I usually place forth my favorites. There isn't a weak song amongst this grouping and I really like the CD in its entirety. So slip this into the player and take a 10 song vacation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    I love John Prine and have seen/heard him over a dozen times stretching all the method back to the late 70s. I've been listening to him a small longer than that. This CD is as amazing as any he has released. It was a long time between releases with original songs (most of which have co-writer credits), but this was worth the wait. It took me until my 4th time listening to the CD before I didn't obtain choked up upon listening to Summer's End. I have only one complaint--it's over too soon. It comes in at just under 33 minutes, and it makes me want there was another 33 mins of songs just as amazing as these...and another 33 mins and another 33 minutes. Well, you obtain the picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    I have been listening to John Prine almost from the beginning, since the summer of 1974. The first John Prine tune I ever listened to was at a buddy's apartment in Nashville. I was 17 and had hitch hiked down from Ohio to visit. I was an instant fan and have enjoyed listening to him for the latest 44 years. Now to the album. If you are a fan, you need this album in your collection. If you have never heard John before, you can begin with this album. It is that good. There are absolutely no compromises (no pun intended). This is not some washed-up, over-the-hill musician albums on his track record. The songs on this album are as vibrant and relevant as anything John has ever written or recorded or performed. I am so happy for John for still having what it takes to create an album like this after everything he has been through. I am also happy for myself that I got at least one more possibility to have fun his awesome lyrics and music. Thank you. If you have it in you John, I am looking forward to your next album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    I enjoyed this sweet M/M romance. We have Isaac, NBA star and a bully when he was young. Rafi is now a Lawyer and still remembers the abuse he took from being bullied in school. Isaac is back in town, looking for Rafi, to apologize and explain himself. This is a fairy tale type story, all satisfied and sweet, with forgiveness, acceptance, and blossoming love. In true life it would be harder to forgive a bully who tormented you, but the author explains both guys feelings, examines their thoughts, and forgiveness is a given. The characters are lovable, and it's an interesting short romance with super hot sexiness. Large differences in the guys, with a large black basketball player and more feminine Rafi, but it works well.I like Cardeno C. and these awesome short sweet romances. It's her characters that hold me coming back for more. ENJOY !!!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    In need of a low-angst, sweet and hot novella, then A Shot At Forgiveness has you covered. With two endearing characters, a decent backstory, and smouldering chemistry, this story provides amazing escapism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    The main characters RAFI & ISSAC were & are a JOY 2READ! THANS Mr. GARDEN I 4taking a possibility on writing a story that's believable & "relevant; relationships aredifficult for anyone but 2MEN from various racial backgrounds who take theeffort 2make it work", KUDOS 2YOU!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    Truly a lovely book! It was my first insight into the life of the Dalai Lama, and is a amazing starter book. Strangely, I always felt calmer after reading a chapter or two, more at peace. I would recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    Amazing look in to HH Dalai Lama's philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    The book takes a while to come to its prime notice but then so does life. I would not recommend it for content ... but I would for the funds that may be going to a amazing cause.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    I love a lot of Cardeno C's works and really loved some of them, but have to admit that I've yet to search a short story of hers that I a lot of others have commented, this is too rushed, with too much back story to create it convincing going forward without a lot more words. It was all too quick and crazy. But I have another issue with it.Spoilers AheadIn the scenes I found the narrator, Rafi, to be oddly passive, accepting but not initiating, in a method that felt like the poor old classic Mills and Boone. I didn't like any aspect of this relationship. It was hot, Cardeno know hot to write a hot scene, but it wasn't engaging. I really feel that the short novellas are not her forte (and I know, Cardeno has not accepted a gender, but this in no method felt like it was written by a man, it felt totally like it was written by a woman, and that was my main issue with it)I will the longer books, but I'm starting to think I will give the shorter ones a miss unless the reviews really rave.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:9

    I definitely liked this book. I read it in one day. I am not a huge fan of jenni or Chiquis (not in a poor way). I wasn't into jenni melody but I did watch the show. I first felt poor for mom and all the heart ache she went through (what ever was publicized). When I read book it gave me an understanding of everything that was out in the open.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I can relate so much to every piece in this book. Her waves of ups and downs but the is always a light that wins, in the end, brings so much joy to my soul. That is what you should look for when reading a book that leaves you inspired and hopeful. Her words are empowering, encouraging and so beautifully expressed of what life is. I highly urge you to this book today. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    After reading this I feel every woman who has had doubts about herself weather being physical or emotion needs to read this. Knowing you are your own power and strength. And not needing the globe to tell you it is ok. But all you need is yourself. Such a attractive read Jessica. Look forward to any of your fresh publishing’s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    There are so a lot of attractive heartfelt pieces in this collection. All the feels and hope you could ever need. A unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    Quintessential Prine! There isn't anything that I don't like about this album! It is reminiscent of earlier Prine melody and compositions and it is indeed a treasure. He is a master storyteller and musician and each track is excellent. It has been a long time coming but worth the wait. He covers so a lot of emotions with such easy phrases and listening to John once again is a joy! Thanks for making this album, John!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    These poems are incredible. This book is so jam packed with self love and healing. I own the author’s first collection, and I love it. But I am truly blown away at the detailed imagery and raw emotion contained on these pages. This book is flawless. I finished it, feeling empowered as a woman and human being. I will read this again and again. I highly recommend this collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:9

    I was not a fan of hers at first. I read her mom's book first and because of that I had to follow it up with this one. This not good girl, the method everything was left so undone, so a lot of words left unspoken. For her to have found the courage to move on and forgive, without even being able to hear the words is amazing. Such a beautifully written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:10

    I enjoyed her side of the story very much. I read her mother's book when it came out and always wondered what Chiquis' side of the story was like. Regardless of the rumors, (only her, her stepfather and Jenni know the truth), the book was quite interesting and a nice look into her mother's life from her perspective. She lost her mother and you can definetly sense the pain in the words she wrote. I want she would have elaborated more on the journey to how her mom's fame came about and also hoped she didn't jump around so much. All in all, its a attractive book about her struggle to forgiveness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    A Shot at Forgiveness is one of those stories where I'm not quite sure how to rate it after reading. It is a beautiful fast read, and would fall under the enemies-to-lovers category, though I don't know that Isaac would see it that method (he'd probably think it's a second possibility story...although, well...no).What this story does have in spades is sarcastic humor, plus one bound and determined NBA star-at least he is now that he's going after what-or who-he wants. And while the method the story is written might have you wondering just how stalker-like Isaac would need to be for Rafi to run screaming in the other direction, Isaac's demeanor-especially as interpreted through the audiobook narration-and sweet attitude actually balanced things out for me. But I still didn't quite feel a connection between the two characters, which created the story 3 stars for for the audiobook narration, I really liked Robert C. Clark's interpretation, it actually created Isaac's pursuit of Rafi more palatable than reading it in the e-book. The sarcasm and Rafi's frustration are quite clear in the audio, and the hero voices are well done and consistent, making the narration 4 stars for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    A Shot at Forgiveness was a sexy fast read orchestrated by the careful hand of Cardeno C. told through the narration of Robert M. Clark. Rafi and Isaac have known each other since high school and a lot of years have passed since they'd seen each other. Some 12 years later and each man secure in his career, Rafi strolled into Isaac’s life and into his heart.I enjoyed so a lot of things about Cardeno C's book~ the emotional connection between the two main characters, the connection between reader and MC, the love between Rafi and Isaac~ all facets I look for in a aac’s inner monologue created me smile and chuckle and hearing it come to life by Mr. Clark’s voice created it all the more e dynamics between the two men was palpable and endearing. Rafi’s nonchalant attitude and Isaac’s petulance~ love it.Another sure-fire winner. Cardeno C. you create me provided by author/publisher in exchange for an honest reviewDefinite S.E.X.A five handcuff review[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    Simple read from a most unbelievable teacher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    The author successfully capture the wisdom, kindness and humor of His Holiness the Dalai Lama in this great, fast read. I was especially satisfied to search some of the Dalai Lama's thoughts on meditation and emptiness. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    An American master at his best. Whimsical, poignant, funny, brilliantly understated. As a lifelong Prine fan I am blown away by the quality of this recording. A must have for all Prine fans, as well as for fans of Americana, roots, and folk. It took John 13 years to record an album of all fresh music, and it was certainly worth the wait!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    “The role of moral education has withered, conflicting with the imperative to give students and theirs what they for the they are paying.”If you look at the history of higher education, you would see a clear decline in moral education. Colleges and universities of the past were tied very close with the church thus moral teaching came directly from the church’s teachings. As time progress the connection between higher education and the church a lot of ways the university has deviated from its original goals. The curriculum from 17th century would be completely alien to professors and students today. As the years progressed, the goals and curriculum has changed, and in his book Excellence without a Soul, Harry R. Lewis retells the history of Harvard and the problems confronting the renowned school. As the former dean of Harvard College, Lewis was involved in plenty of faculty feuds, student protests, and national scandals. A lot of times he saw the school take the simple method over the intelligent route. A lot of times he saw the school bend to pressure instead of standing firm on values. He states late in the book, “The college is more interested in making students happier than making them better.”This is a very interesting book. There are plenty of resources criticizing higher education, but rarely are those criticisms written by someone with such high credentials as Lewis.When I picked up this book I was really looking for a book that addresses the university’s need to approach morality. Though a lot of the book is dedicated to the history of Harvard and its challenge in every aspect, Lewis does spend a bit of time confronting the problem of morality.He says it bluntly, “Harvard today tiptoes away from moral education, small interested in providing it and embarrassed to admit it does not want to do so.” Schools have completely abandoned the idea of morality, mainly because in a postmodern culture morality is a questionable idea.I found this book to be extremely interesting. I never would have thought working at a prestigious school such as Harvard would be that difficult, but it actually sounds worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    Harry Lewis book about the history of Harvard seems reasonable, until in the final ten or so pages, when Lewis launches an unwarranted private attack on six years' Harvard president Lawrence Summers (for example: Summers “chaotic lurching”). The emotional outbursts lead the reader to question the overall credibility of the re rational sources characterize Summers' resignation as the effect of a spoiled, petulant group of professors of the Harvard faculty of arts and sciences, a group whose over-inflated ego and too much power rose up to drive away a leader who was famous with the students and was leading Harvard in a better direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I like to read a few pages with my morning coffee and obtain my day started with this book! It has various fields of emotions and it sets my mood for the day

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Honeysuckle and Forgiveness []  2020-1-22 19:9

    Another unbelievable book added to my collection for the purpose of mending, growing, understanding, relating and caring for myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tree of Forgiveness []  2020-1-23 3:16

    If you're familiar with John Prine's previous works, this album is like a chapter that brings a troubadour's story close to full circle. However, if this is a first exposure to Mr Prine; it will be hard to miss the descriptive artistry of an autumn reflection from a master writer's perspective.I'm getting my ticket now before his tour skips past my campfire . Thank you John Prine

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    I enjoyed this book very much. It is about two people who had attended the same grammar school and high school, but experienced their school days very differently. Rafi still looks back on Isaac as the bully who created his high school years miserable; Isaac looks at Rafi as the attractive boy he could never obtain off his mind. We see that Isaac's "bullying" was more along the line of a small boy who pulls his classmate's pigtails, because he really likes her, but doesn't know how to present it. It was fun to see how persistent Isaac continued to be in spite of Rafi's continual cold shoulder.Rafi's adult personality was impressive: confident and sure of himself and not about to take any items from anybody, esp an old high school bully!! But, sadly, I finished this book really wishing the author had given us more dialogue, more back and forth between Rafi and Isaac. Instead, the story ended just before they were to attend an necessary business meeting together; a meeting that would have an necessary result on both their futures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Shot at Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 9:41

    This is a re-release. Same content/title just a various cover image. Cardeno is one of my must read authors but I've been burned recently because they are re-releasing Cardeno's books as fresh releases when the only difference is a new, more current release date and a various cover image. And in this case the photo isn't that various from the original. This is poor form. They should tell you this is a rerelease! The story is actually amazing but I give it one star because of what basically amounts to fraud.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    Much though one recites the sacred texts, but acts not accordingly, that heedless one is like a cowherd who only counts the cows of others -- one does not partake of the blessings of the holy life.Dhammapada 1.19This book is very necessary especially now as security has created is very difficult to see the Dalai Lama the human being, the man who embodies what he is notable in that Victor who is clearly part of the stories makes sure we know the story is about the Dalai Lama, not about himself. (Unlike other biographers)I have been a student of the Dalai Lama now for over 15 years. In the early days he would wade into crowds to meet people, search the one person in the crowd who would truly both need and benefit from the greatness of his compassion and give them both,answer spontaneous questions, direct obnoxious questioners to Buddhist texts for answers, and generally answer to the ignorance of us, the ordinary impoverished student, seeker or curious observer, spontaneously laugh at his own mistakes and admit his own ignorance(he still does), but the opportunity to see and know The Dalai Lama, the man, has been stifled especially in the West by the overbearing security that interferes with his mobility and puts shivers of Huge Brother up one's is book very much reveals to us the man behind the curtain who insists on e man who is curious and enchanting, the man who is one of the preeminent Buddhist scholars alive who can explain a difficult concept and point out a easy fact. But perhaps more than anything else Victor reveals the man who walks the walk and talks the talk and helps us understand what love and compassion really are. After reading this book for just a moment we are satisfied and at peace, just knowing what it truly means to be gives us a glimmer, that perhaps we too can search peace in openness, love and compassion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wisdom of Forgiveness []  2020-1-16 13:12

    Captivating. Enlightening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:9

    This book was painful. It is a reminder that we should never take for granted that there will be more time to "fix" things with the people that we love. Also, for the rest of us outsiders it is an necessary reminder that there are 2 sides to every story. Either method I read this book with an begin mind & I am hopeful that this book gives some closure to Chiquis & her family. We will never know exactly what happened but in the grand scheme of things the necessary thing is that she loved her mom & vice versa. We all create mistakes & hopefully that mutual love is what Chiquis remembers when she thinks of her mom. God bless her & her family.And if you are a fan of Jenni Rivera & her family I definitely recommend this book. It does address the rumors & tells Chiquis' ver of everything. It is well written & shares her frustrations & sadness. I appreciated her sharing this vulnerable side with her fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:9

    Had me in tears for almost the entire book. You and your mother share a special relationship. One that reminds me much of mine and my mother's. I've felt every emotion so strongly about everything because I understood your guys' connection from the start. My mom was a young mother, I was the oldest & we laugh and joke and inspire one another like you and Jenni did. Stay real to your heart Chiquis! You have a large fan base behind you and supporting you. We love you!!!! Stay strong, for us!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forgiveness: A Memoir []  2020-2-12 21:10

    There are so a lot of haters of Chiquis but I am not. I read Jenni's book and was curious to read this one. It answered a lot of questions I had and more. Jenni's family struggles today and a lot of years in the future because of their loss. It is also a tragic loss for both Jenni and Chiquis to not be at peace with one another before their loss. God bless you Chiquis and your family. There were a lot of people in this story to forgive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    Harry Lewis is a amazing guy and knows what he is talking about. Highly recommended read on the insanity of higher education these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    Harvard did not cause the commercialization of higher education but it succumbed to it. In Harry Lewis' words, the top institutions were `overtaken' by it, a polite method of saying that they did not possess the values or the will to counter it. The nub of Lewis' argument is that Harvard now neglects to educate the whole person. Students between the ages of 18 and 22 are no longer children, but neither are they mature adults. The process of moving to mature adulthood (in addition to the process of taking coursework) was once a high priority of our top universities. Now, students are `pleased' rather than educated. We create them happy; we satisfy them, which is to say we let them to dictate the terms of their student experience. Where students were once counseled and guided by doctorally-trained institutional mainstays, with long memories and a respect for the successful elements of the institution's traditions, we now have `student services professionals' to create them happy. Lewis compares the modern university to a daycare center. This may sound harsh, but it really isn't and Lewis' arguments are grounded in deep institutional history and a thoughtful consideration of key problems and events. Most of all he laments the absence of core curricula. He is not calling for a monolithic, soul-searing program of Gradgrindism, with endless recitations and an ethos of threats and intimidation. Far from it. All he is seeking is a handful of courses (say, 10, of which students would take 5) designed to serve as a foundation, a common experience that would unite students both socially and culturally as well as intellectually. Now there is no core. There may be distribution requirements; there may be explorations of disciplinary methods, but a content-based core, even a modest one . . . no. Editorial writers, legislators and naïve trustees often want that `universities would be run like businesses.' Flash: they already are, in a lot of destructive ways, and more's the pity. Lewis' position as a former Dean of Harvard College, with 30+ years of experience at Harvard, adds weight and point to his observations. His book is candid, engaging and of pulled punches. Everyone who cares about the plight of higher education today (from parents to trustees to faculty and prospective students) should read this book. Few go to Harvard, but Harvard's influence is enormous. Their decisions or indecision are replicated by their imitators and all research universities and research colleges can be affected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    Harry Lewis argues persuasively that colleges have abdicated their role of shaping students' hero and moral standing, instead infantilizing students by sheltering them from learning from their own mistakes. Rather than using mistakes as character-building teachable moments where private growth can occur, they let students to self-segregate by class or ethnicity; they create themselves appealing to students by shallowly providing what students myopically say they want, not what the college believes they need in terms of an education, in part because current definitions of what "a liberal education" should be are so flaccid that they leave a vacuum into which students (and parents) pour their own intentions. The effect is that colleges are creating conditions in which the students expect to “blame the system” when something happens to them (personal conflicts, lower-than-expected grade, etc.) and as a effect are no better socialized when they graduate than when they ere's more to his argument than this, but that's the essence of it. He manages to connect this root cause to such contemporary issues as lapses in academic integrity, grade-point-grubbing, and dealing with cases of non-academic misconduct (an extreme example being date rape). There is some repetition in the book, which makes the argument a bit sprawling, but the prose is a pleasure to read and highly engaging.While the book is written from a Harvard perspective, much of what it says applies to other "Research I universities" (now called "Doctoral/research universities--extensive", apparently), and it certainly makes me as an individual instructor ask myself: What will I do to give my students a possible respond to "what's the most necessary thing you learned in college"? How will I challenge them to understand why they are here, not just the mastery of the skills I happen to teach? What will I visibly do to be the kind of role model who communicates that hero DOES matter, and how can I visibly lead by example to present what "good character" means?(For parents and college-bound students thinking about what college should or will be like, I recommend reading this together with the recently released Gallup/Purdue Index Inaugural Report - google it - which can be downloaded if you provide your email address.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FUTURE | Top Hit Songs, .. No internet [App]  2019-3-22 21:30

    Luv it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    Lewis a former Harvard dean seems to have written this to obtain lots of things off his chest. Some parts, such as the section of why "grade inflation" is not so awful, are quite interesting. Some others on harassment/assault are very dated. A nice read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    As Samuel Johnson was to James Boswell, so Harvard is to Harry Lewis...Lewis is a Giant in the History of Harvard, up to this very year, when he was influential in Harvard's Computer Science program receiving a $400,000,000 grant... the largest in the University's history. His accounting, herein, is very insightful.... and "inciteful".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FUTURE | Top Hit Songs, .. No internet [App]  2019-3-22 21:30

    SHAMELLHOBDGE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FUTURE | Top Hit Songs, .. No internet [App]  2019-3-22 21:30

    due best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FUTURE | Top Hit Songs, .. No internet [App]  2019-3-22 21:30

    need more songs id for this application if you added more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Excellence Without a Soul: Does Liberal Education Have a Future? []  2019-12-18 20:32

    This book was recommended to me by a mate who attended provides perspective on the history of Harvard and the societal expectations in a consumer oriented society. As I think back, here are subjects that interested me: Liberal arts versus professional training. Research expertise versus ability to teach. The role and failure of grading. Boundaries between the institution and the law. Parental expectations and involvement. The influence of money. I recommended the book to mates who are professors and mates who have teenage kids.I liked learning about the early history of rowing at Harvard!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386