Read norwegian wood reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all norwegian wood reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    “That song can create me feel so sad,” said Naoko. “I don't know, I guess I imagine myself wandering in a deep wood. I'm all alone and it's cold and dark, and nobody comes to save me.”3.5 really. I always confuse this Haruki Murakami with Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Allow Me Go. The very pastoral feeling to a lot of it, the woods, the walking, the solitary Toru Watanabe and his broken heart... I realize the stories are dissimilar, but this is not your average Murakami fare. It was one of his earlier works, and while nothing is wrong with it in particular, it's just so various from everything else I've read from him that it really is not the items one imagines when reading Murakami. I've seen it suggested so a lot of times as an introduction to Murakami's work, but I doubt you could know if you'd like much else after reading this because it is so various (with the exception of South of the Border,West of the Sun -- another early work.)Putting that aside, I wondered what was making all of these tragic happenings happen. I sort of hoped for magic, which we do obtain a tip of at the very end. All of the characters are unmoored - floating around in the globe without a tether. The Beatles song from which it takes the title is perfectly suited. "I once had a girl, or should I say she once had me." And the jangly guitars along with the beat belie the sad story the lyrics tell. That's how this book feels. Surrounded by and funny characters/scenes, tragedy takes over everyone, characters are alone - wandering in the wilderness, as it were, and while I wouldn't suggest this book could tell anyone if they'd like any other Murakami novel, I think it's well worth a read. It stayed with me for a long time, in detail.(I've never seen the film - or for that matter, any of the films created from his books - anyone have thoughts on this one?)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    I am so glad that Norwegian Wood was my first Murakami book. It is one of the "realistic" novels that he has written and is a amazing method to ease into his globe and familiarize yourself with his style of writing. There were times when I could tell that the translation created certain dialogues or sayings awkward, but it somehow added to the a lot of idiosyncrasies of the characters. That being said, I loved all the characters so much. And all the relationships, between people alive and dead, were so well established, it amazed me how much Murakami was able to accomplish in less than 300 pages. Of course I wasn't expecting there to be so much mention of and sexuality in the book, but it did support pass the time. I didn't realize it before but Midori evoked a fresh curiosity in me and I admired how clumsy and true every encounter in the novel was - not a single one romanticized or glamorized. All in all, I was every bit surprised and impressed with this book, and I love it far more than I expected to. I'm almost hesitant to read another book by Murakami because I'm afraid it won't live up to Norwegian Wood. Nonetheless, I'm sure one lazy Sunday morning, I'll pick up Kafka on the Shore from my shelf and indulge myself on his attractive writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    If you are a fan of Murakami, you know he has the ability to create you live in his books, Norwegian Wood does this more so than most. For anyone who has experienced the pain of losing a loved one, the awkwardness of being a teenager, and the pain and heartache of love, this book will take the thoughts that you never had the courage of thinking or saying and read them back to rwegian Wood is a masterpiece of the inner mind and will bring you back to locations and feelings that you thought only you had ever experienced. Joy, pain, sorrow, loss, love, and death are intertwined with life and those of us who choose to go on living and feeling.A must read for anyone still living.

    0  


    Add your opinion on norwegian wood or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    It's the first time I read a Murakami and the style was very strange at first. It wasn't straight sailing for me and I had to push myself to hold on reading at first. Then, you not only obtain used to it but learn to have fun its simplicity. This is weird, but it was somewhat relaxing to read. It's not simple to e main hero seems very numb towards everything making reactions feel bizarre. This brings up something interesting about the approach towards the story events. Some very deep emotions & situations are then brought though I'm not sure it's a book I would strongly recommend to anyone , I did actually have fun reading the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    I should have done more research on this book before buying it because this is definitely one of the worst books I have ever taken the time to read. I never leave reviews but I have to warn y'all. First off, the main hero is an insufferable small rapist who fetishizes mental illness. He raped Naoko and the author writes about it as if it's totally normal and is consensual, but Naoko was having a full breakdown. Second off, the method the women are written is completely unrealistic; it's as if the author has never actually interacted with true women in his life. And finally the part that created me wish to burn this book, Naoko's roommate and the main hero start to have a conversation about the roommates first encounter, which happened to be with a THIRTEEN YEAR OLD GIRL!! And it just gets worse from there! The stage created me sick to my stomach because it's written as SMUT with so a lot of info as if it's meant to be a turn on to the reader?? I don't even wish to donate this book to my local thrift because I don't wish anyone to have the possibility to read this absolutely disgusting book. It's very clear that this book could only be enjoyed by a man who do not think of women as true people, just dolls. Because that's exactly what the author thinks. I'm very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    I enjoyed this. I'm not an English professor and I don't play one on TV. There may be a lot of layers I didn't obtain but one doesn't know what one doesn't know. I found the story interesting and enjoyed his simple style of writing (it's translated which must be taken into account). Perhaps most interesting to me was that it's set in Japan of the early 1970s - an interesting period in the USA and, apparently, in Japan as well. Murakami is highly introspective and I found being in his head to be immensely interesting. Of course, he's a young man in 1970, so his thoughts are naturally centered on young women. Interesting. In any language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    It took me a while to obtain over all the depression in the story and have fun it for its love and passion content. It’s a struggle for love, full of sadness and heartache. Lucky two characters brought a new air of life and created reading this novel worthwhile. *** Not recommended for individuals with suicidal thoughts (in my opinion).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    Murakami has a method of spotlighting each hero through the narrator. The feelings, strengths, weaknesses of each hero become so apparent to the reader that we can anticipate how they feel about the situations that they encounter. Each Murakami novel tackles a psychological concept (or 3 or 4) and delves deep into the characters to give it resonance. Norwegian Wood depicts grief, suicide, and the resounding effects that it has on the victims of the suicide which are the ones left behind. This book was touching, emotional, sometimes visceral and overall both heartbreaking and joyful. The erudite ways of this author leaves us listening to the Beatles and Thelonius Monk while raising a glass of sake, wine or whiskey to those who departed and those left behind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    Having loved some of his more latest books, I was interested in checking what was described as his breakout book. I'm quite the opposite of a prude, and as mentioned I loved his other stuff, so when I describe this as terribly written smut I hope you understand it is not borne of other prejudices. The oddest part is I don't understand how this can be the same author as The Wind Up Bird Chronicle. My ah ha moment was that perhaps it was a various translator, and he has used various, but then the translator for this book was the same one as Wind Up! Very confusing, no idea how anyone could think this was a amazing book, please read his others if you are going to explore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Wood (Vintage International) []  2020-9-6 18:0

    The book goes by quickly. It pulls you through. This was the first book I've ever read by Murakami. I hear its a bit various than his other works. Its definitely very emotional (and also surprisingly sexual), and as someone who suffers from depression I could relate to a lot of it. I could also relate to the feeling of not having the same interests as "mainstream people", although he doesn't use that phrase in the book, the main hero is a bit of a loner and a very special person.I've noticed some people saying that if you're depressed you shouldn't read this book. I'm not sure that's true. Its possibly real for some people, but for others it might be relatable and support you understand yourself a bit more. Who knows, I'm not a doctor, or an author.. but I am a reader, and so are you.Have a amazing day everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian by Night [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    82 year old Sheldon Horowitz can't believe he's living in Norway. Hell, he can't even speak the language. The thing is: He's outlived his wife and all his friends. What else can he do but move in with his granddaughter Rhea and her husband Lars? Everything is going well until he interjects himself in a domestic disturbance and shelters a young Serbian boy and his mother. When the boy's mother is murdered, Sheldon and the youngster go on the lam. Neither speak Norwegian or each other's language. Yes, the situation becomes eldon's Korean battle sniper training comes into play when they test to avoid their pursuers--both the murderers and the Norwegian e book is powerful on voice. It flashes back to Korea and his son who was killed in Vietnam. It with the trials and tribulation of old age and even survivor's ever, I did not like the ending. Otherwise, I would have given it five stars. Derek Miller says the ending came to him moments before his son was born. (Maybe in a flash.) I would have taken more time; I came up with 3 endings that were more satisfying than the one he settled on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Zero stars in true life. Application won't work on my pixel2. says there was an error getting configuration and I'd need to reinstall. Did that twice and still nothing. Please fix.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    The application works beautiful decently but there's no option to save your private info for future use which makes concurrent ticket a bit tedious. Unrelated to the app, their baggage fees if your bag is over weight can cost more than the of your ticket. At the time I'm writing this the allowed combined weight is 10kg for any ticket except their most expensive option. The thing that created me mad was that I was stopped as I was about to board the plane and forced to pay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    everything straight forward, simple to navigate and enter data

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    "Technical error, we have problems with this service..." == 1 🌟 (works on th website tho, so not backend issue)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Best UX among air transportation apps i have used so far. I may not like customer service of N but the application is good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Fast simple checkin but no option to print boarding pass

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Usually met with technical error at every turn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    fast , helpful , for under 26

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    clear and simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Fast and simple to check-in

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    check-in fails 90% of the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    This airline is a fraud. They book your flights and consistantly cancel latest minute. The application doesnt work in to rebook the flight and customer service is rude and I'll trained. I never reccomend flying this airline. There are better companies than one that does not care for customer service. They do not deserve any stars but I need to voice my discontent to anyone with options to fly on any other airline. Must also be aware that Norwegian does nothing to communicate and fix their issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    There is a fault both with this application and the mobile web page, that doesn't occur on the main computer web page. If you test to change a flight it does not let you to select a date earlier than the date you have booked. For example I have a flight booked for Dec 14th but need to change it to Dec 1st. However on both the application and Android device www service it will only let me to book dates after the 14th, not before. Days earlier cannot be selected. However, using the www service on a computer this isn't an issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Very well designed app which does what is intended for. Highly recommended if you you're a Norwegian frequent flyer. The only annoying is that if you create a flight search, switch to another application and return back again to the Norwegian app, it will clear the latest find effect and will return you back to the initial find page. If they fix that, it will become an perfect app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Have had absolutely no issue with this app

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    its a a handy tool, even tells me my seat number Anything that removes the stress and hastle of airport check in is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    The application is fine. I am missing the ability to pick the currency of choice. The system forces me to choose between currencies that are similar to application language. I would like to use the currency of my Credit Card.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Perfect application very well designed. No frills and very simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian for Perfect keyboard [App]  2019-10-18 13:6

    التطبيق مش شغال اصلا 😒

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian for Perfect keyboard [App]  2019-10-18 13:6

    موسی

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian for Perfect keyboard [App]  2019-10-18 13:6

    janwar

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian for Perfect keyboard [App]  2019-10-18 13:6

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian for Perfect keyboard [App]  2019-10-18 13:6

    جامد

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-12-9 13:18

    Perfect app, it will cover all your primary needs. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-12-9 13:18

    This is a unbelievable app. Anyone who complains about having to for the full content need to hold a couple things in mind. 1. It's inexpensive to unlock the full version, especially in comparison to other language software with related functionality. 2. It takes time and to develope any and you obviously don't have the drive to research and translate yourself. That being said, it is very user friendly and thorough for anyone looking to learn Norwegian. One of my better application purchases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-12-9 13:18

    This is a amazing application for on the go and it actully helps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-12-9 13:18

    Viele Kategorien für alle Lebenslagen und mit einer sehr deutlichen Stimme übersetzt. Super um die wichtigsten Grundlagen zu lernen!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-12-9 13:18

    This application is great. clean and clear, simple to understand the pronunciations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-12-9 13:18

    I would like it to be easier to

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-12-9 13:18

    My Comodo Anti-virus said this ap is malware

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Amazing app, I've learn a lot in 10 Minutes, you can hear and write at once, and it is on my motherlanguage also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Fun and simple to learn. Fresh words gets into the head easily... cool!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Perfect for developing a primary vocabulary; less so with respect to grammar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Amazing app. amazing value with decent voice recognition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    very amazing for the beginner' it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    I think its very helpful when you wish to learn a fresh language instead of just learning just French and English! So I recommend this for people who wish to learn Norwegian! So this is a 5 star

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    I install this back in April 2018 it then started charging 9.99 a month as I didn't use the application much I never noticed end of application for me be Careful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Very amazing app, convenient and I'm making amazing progress. I'd definitely recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Really nice application to learn some basics!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Download twice. Failed to begin so uninstalled again and found another application that opened. Hard to review if it doesn't work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    it's worth your time. a amazing app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Very useful to learn Norwegian language...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    It's very helpful and i like the method the application was designed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Solid app, fast and simple

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Not as is advertised so removed ASAP

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    very helpful app😊😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    the best i can recommend to anyone willing to learn norwegian. mondly do the magic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Very effective app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Norwegian Free [App]  2019-11-29 21:14

    Enjoying to learn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Provides different accents to hear which is very necessary in Norwegian as each town pronounces things very differently

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    No longer works, does not begin and crashes upon opening. No response from developers. Very not good attitude towards a paying customer. AVOID.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    It's a very helpful and user friendly app. I liked it so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    simple to use, lessons are short but not too short. fairly simple to search lessons you wish to repeat. a few quirks like an occasional word in German (in the support notes) or a word in the audio that doesn't appear in the text. also this is bokmål and doesn't contain dialect variants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    As a mobile platform to learn, its good, but it doesn't sync up with your computer babbel acc so you are stuck redoing lessons to obtain to your current spot inn any given course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    A really amazing and simple to use program

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Perfect App, lots of info

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    it's exciting, i can greet in the Norwegian language now. Takk skal du ha.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    my child loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    im here for my norsk bab tord

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    So easy?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Hopefully this really helps! So far I've learned quite a bit!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    The application is very simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Paying? No.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    I just had a go and I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Recent ver does not work offline,which is a large drawback as I like to use it on the train in Norway, which has loads of tunnels with no connectivity. Review manager doesn't remember where you left off and with 1263 stuff in my list it takes forever to scroll through. What were you folks thinking with the recent changes? Recent ver brought back offline use! Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Nice app, would be nice to be able to go one step back, because I like to hear the pronunciation a lot of times to obtain acquainted. At first I couldn't search a keyboard, but I found out you can keep the desired key and the alternatives pop up above so you can select öäå. Thanks for your service, I really have fun it :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Amazing learning aid, organised into short module (based on context) with native audio and amazing speech recognition, highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babbel – Learn Norwegian [App]  2019-11-19 21:14

    Very useful application with lots of info to learn, and hold remembering!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Norwegian Black Metal []  2020-2-12 21:4

    Attractive pictures of a disturbing and dark culture. This is a amazing book that paints a vivid picture of the sub-genre known as "black metal" more with pictures than words. The few pages that have text are informative and interesting. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about the lives that contributed to the mysterious nature of this sub-culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cruising:The Norwegian Fjords []  2020-2-9 18:45

    Very helpful book on main ports of call for cruise ships. We haven't taken our cruise yet, but this book has been very helpful in making plans. We found the descriptions of cruise ship offerings in general to be close to what Holland America is offering on our cruise. It is helping us create informed choices of which land tours to take and which ports to see on our own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Norwegian Fjords (illustrated) []  2020-2-2 1:29

    Needs a amazing editor. A few irritating things contain chapter sub headings in line with the texts and in same font as texts. I did learn a few things but another issue is that terms are often not explained. There seems to be an assumption that the reader knows where locations are located. I had to look at a map just to follow the text. I bought the book to support prepare for an upcoming trip to Norway. Really didn't support much. A disappointment..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Pick-Up Bandweaving []  2020-7-21 20:38

    Amazing detailed illustrations, step by step. Really appreciate the history section and the honesty detailing when and where these patterned bands can be documented in the historical stream. Amazing for a beginner who needs to setup a band from scratch. I also loved the practical use section of patterned bands and the Vesterheim museum examples and documentation. The author/weaver has a lot of teaching under her 'belt' and it shows in her presentation of the ly book, lovely pictures, lovely patterns. Glad I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Pick-Up Bandweaving []  2020-7-21 20:38

    I received an inkle loom for Xmas and was looking at band weaving to adapt. This is a unbelievable book about both the history of bandweaving and unbelievable examples plus patterns. Anyone interested in this type of weaving would be well advised to it. I am only a beginner and this has greatly increased my understanding of this traditional craft.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucie (Norwegian Edition) []  2020-9-22 20:46

    Most of the novels of Norwegian authoress Amalie Skram served to expose the plight of women caught in the web of male dominance in the Victorian Age, the latter half of the nineteenth century. She was a contemporary of the dramatist Ibsen, author Bjørnson and painter and author Krogh who all strove to winner women’s rights. Krogh wrote a novel ‘Albertine’ in 1986 about a not good young seamstress who was driven to prostitution in to survive. The book was confiscated, he was place to and had to a fine. Those were times of nascent social, political and religious nonconformity. Skram wrote ‘Lucie’ in 1988, having been inspired by Krogh’s ‘Albertine.’ Although Skram was not a social radical she wrote novels that included liberal and progressive ideals to awaken the establishment to principles of women’s equality. Principally she did this by relating stories about women who were moulded, controlled and subjugated to serve and please the needs and priorities of men in all stations of this is the story of Lucie, a woman with a “past.” This term was most often used to categorize women who had failed to conform to the standard of being chaste and proper. Although Lucie had not been a prostitute, she had created “mistakes” in being attracted to and being used by men until she no longer served to fulfil their needs. She became a “kept” woman of Gerner, a respectable lawyer. He loves her for her beauty and sensuality and decides to marry her so she won’t stray to other men. He implements strict controls on her behaviour and attempts to reform her attitudes and manners to conform to his straight middle class standards. She tries her best to change but feels trapped in the relationship, not being to act her normal self in company of his friends. He constantly nags and berates her. It quickly becomes a strife-torn marriage without joy. She escapes to the familiarity of her lower class mates and also visits a bohemian enclave but can not achieve compatibility. She is a lost soul and seeks solace in religion but even that cannot in the end sustain ram was brave to tackle forbidden location in this book—especially after what happened to Krogh—and she had amazing difficulty to search a publisher. It should be read with awareness of social conditions and moral attitudes as they existed in the 1880s. It was acceptable for men to play the field but women were condemned for desiring freedom. This is an emotional and serious study with sociological and psychological underpinnings. This edition published by Norvik Press was recently translated by K Hanson and J Messick who provide a comprehensive Afterword (twenty pages) which helps the reader to place everything in perspective. This tragically gripping short novel should be on the reading list of anyone interested in women’s studies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plant-Man (Norwegian Edition) []  2020-9-22 20:46

    Festlige figurer, flott skrevet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian by Night [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    This was a fascinating and intriguing story that blended a mix of cultures. The Norwegian lifestyle as presented in the novel was fresh to me. I enjoyed how Miller led up to the find for Sheldon and the boy, and the novel use of the old man's long-buried military skills in the emergency situations. The introduction was slow and I almost stopped reading, but a twist in technique kept me going. The reader needs to be alert to shifts in Sheldon's thinking -- dementia? fantasy? hallucinations? recall? This and the ending create this a amazing read for a book club. I'm still not convinced about the exact happening that occurred in the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian by Night [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Totally out of left field. Mr. Miller incorporates so much history into his story. Bits and pieces that create you think. I never knew where the story was going, well ok I did, but there were so a lot of twists and turns to obtain there it kept me on my toes. Is Sheldon losing his mind? Is he just distraught over the death of his wife? Was he a killer? Can a move around the globe place things right? A murder, the mob, a determined policewoman, a scared small boy. How does it all fit together? An amazig novel, loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Check-in feature not working at all. Buggy and unstable when entering private information. Otherwise fairly simple to obtain around, but do fix features before publishing!...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Otherher airlines can learn how the app should looks like and work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Nice application but you should really be able to swap currency without needing to swap the language. For me this is a primary function that should be available from the begin - hence the 2 stars only. Disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    tells me I have no trips....I have 2 trips booked for today why not evident on this application ?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Works fine for flight info, check-in etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Fix the check in feature

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Very good, quick and simple!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Useless App. You have to manually add your trips which is a hassle or risk signing up and getting overwhelmed with email. Notifications for your flight are late or non-existent. And worst of all it is extremely difficult to check into your flight on this app. Don't bother downloading this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norwegian Travel Assistant [App]  2019-9-21 0:49

    Dates scrolling is annoying otherwise amazing application

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386