Read november air reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all november air reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Loved Adriana Mather's fresh book Killing November! if you've read any of Mather's previous books you know to expect a amazing mystery and fun, dynamic characters. In this story the main hero November gets kidnapped and sent to an ancient school basically ran by a secret society. With November's globe gone "Kansas bye-bye" she has to figure out not only how to fit in with the fresh crowd of risky kids, but also how to not obtain murdered by one of them - what can one say - that's the life of a teenager nowadays!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Absolutely amazing! From the moment I started this book I knew it was going to be the best kind of page turner! I couldn't place it down. I had to force myself to sleep with only 50 pages left because my eyes were burning from exhaustion. The writing is absolutely attractive and brilliant! I hate to admit it, because I loved her first novel, How to Hang a Witch, but this one tops it! I love seeing the growth in Adriana's work. She is absolutely brilliant!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    In this sequel to The War of Jericho, November Nelson and Jericho Prescott with the loss of Josh Prescott in their own ways. But although November has lost a boyfriend and Jericho has lost a cousin, who was more like a brother, Josh left a part of himself behind. During her pregnancy, November faces emotional and physical difficulties, but not without the help of her friends, Dana, Olivia and om morning sickness to the delivery, the author gives a detailed, realistic acc of what a pregnant girl goes through. She also shows how a young man can regain his balance in life after losing his best e cover of this book caught my eye, and when I noticed it was a companion to The War of Jericho, I bought that one so I could read it first. After reading The War of Jericho, I looked forward to reading this one. I enjoyed the story, and the ending was very touching.

    0  


    Add your opinion on november air or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    Once again Adriana Mather delivers a masterpiece. Dare I say it's even better than the first November book. The story draws you in from the first sentence and takes you on a journey into the globe of the Strategia that you will obtain lost in! You will be craving more once you obtain to the end. Marvelous. Wonderful. Amazing. Genius. I can't wait to see what Adriana does next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    I loved this book! Amazing built up of characters and story line. Fun and mysterious with a tip of romance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November wallpapers [App]  2019-11-3 13:42

    Crashed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    My 12 year old daughter loves Sharon Draper and has read most of her series books as well as a few singles over the past year!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Unbelievable story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    5 hours and 17 minutes.... what a short time to be in the globe of Academy Absconditi, I was lucky enough to be part of the ARC for this book and what a amazing adventure ! I was drawn in within the first chapter, November is a amazing hero and I am so in love with Ash, no matter what ! As with her other books, Adriana Mather was able to make characters so relatable and believable they were like old friends. I search myself wondering who I would be in the Academy and what alliances I would form, I can’t wait for book 2 so I can catch up with November and friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    The moment I started reading this book I didn't wish to place it down! Adriana Mather is by far one of my favorite authors, and produces consistently amazing books. Killing November is full of action and there's never a dull moment. Its well written and you can tell she worked really hard to obtain all the info correct! I can't wait to read it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    Books must be read in as this one starts where the first book ended and there is no brief synopsis of what went before. November and Ash have left school and are hunting for her father who has disappeared, following his clues. They have to constantly be on guard versus the other Strategias who are hunting for her father, but search support along the method to their surprise. November was raised without knowing anything of her families’ globe until she is dumped at the Academy that trains all young Strategias in what amounts to a curriculum for spies and assassins. I felt that her parents wanted her to be taught a fresh method of reacting to conflicts rather than the usual lessons taught at The Academy besides experiencing a more normal childhood. They are going versus the most strong leader of the Lion guild who seeks to subvert the Strategia for his own gains. Really satisfied that this book ends the story that was begun in Book 1 when this ebook cost $10!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    A fitting continuation of November’s story. This novel keeps you reeling as the adventure unfolds. If you are looking for mystery, adventure, and action then look no further. Mather takes you into a globe of secret societies and killers with this thrilling novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    My daughter was in a huge reading mood and stuck on a series. Thank you for having this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Item as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    WOW! This book was something else. Adriana Mather really blew me away once again. I absolutely loved "How to Hang A Witch" and "Haunting The Deep", they were two books in a series about Samantha Mather and I 100% recommend reading those if you haven't already!! But "Killing November" gave me a totally fresh feeling while reading it, it was suspenseful and captivating while still keeping the elements of teenage life, family, and extraordinary storytelling by Adriana. It's every boy and girl's dream, excellent for all readers young and old. Each page keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more.I loved getting to know the hero Ash, he's such an interesting hero and I absolutely fell in love with him right away!The main hero November goes to an international academy that's far from the norm, and she has to search out how she fits into it all and why she's there. If you like drama, mystery and murder, this is the excellent book for you, and a small flirting and romance doesn't damage either! November faces a constant struggle trying to figure out who's amazing and who's bad, and it's becoming life or riana focuses on really letting her readers obtain to know the main hero November in this book and in my opinion, I feel like we really do know her. I feel like I can relate to her as a reader, and that's what makes a book great. This is a book that you just wish to read over and over again, and never place down! I definitely recommend this book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    First, I would like to express how honored I am to have been a part of Adriana Mather’s ARC tour for her book Killing is book was extremely hard to place down. November finds herself in what can only be described as a leadership battle she had no idea existed or that she knew she was a part of. She thought her father was sending her away for her own protection but found herself right in the middle of it all. She is brought to the International Academy Absconditi and is in even more danger that she ever thought she would be. This book is filled with danger and adventure, espionage and strategy, alliances and opposition, and most of all kinship. I already can’t wait for the second book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    Another page turning thriller by Adriana Mather! This book takes you into the deepest levels of Strategia all around the world. I was on edge reading this second story following November as she searches for her father! Leaving Academy Absconditi was no little feat, but along with familiar faces, this book took me on an emotional roller coaster of adventure. The detail and backstories draw you in until you feel as if you've known these characters for your whole life. I am already looking forward to re-reading this, and sharing it with my friends!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 1978 []  2020-1-17 5:7

    Original cover art for the aborted Posh Boy Negative Trend single release by Ginger Canzoneri, recreated by Robin expanded to a mini LP feat. 5 "Rik L Rik" Beach Blvd. mixes plus the 2 alternate mixes used for the "Tooth & Nail" compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Purchased this book for my daughter, who said it was wonderful. She said she liked the characters and how they dealt with their situations. She said the writer didn't talk down to her as a reader. She has loaned this book out a lot of times to her mates who all give it amazing praise. This book is for older teens due to the situational conflicts in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Okay so I can't even start to describe how much I love this book. I am someone who typically does not read thriller type books but "Killing November" has changed my mind. I was able to participate in the ARC of this attractive novel and now search myself so sad I must wait for the next installment. The hero development, the plot, the twists, and the romance create this a must read. I found myself thinking about the story and where it goes from here. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    >Book Review – Hunting November>I am an independent reviewer. This book is the 2nd in the Killing November series and ends with an HEA. Ash and November decide to leave the school to hunt for November’s father. They have to obtain unique permission to leave the school. As the story continues, 5 extra students leave the school to participate in the story. For a school that never lets anyone leave, they sure allowed a lot of students to leave.>Ash and November are being hunted by assassins, while trying to follow abstract clues to search her father. The story is fun with how Ash and November puzzle out the meaning of each clue, but super unrealistic. These clues are so off the wall, that it seems like dumb luck is the only method they are succeeding. The issues started with November’s parents marrying even though they were from various family groups. Apparently, this inter-marriage was outlawed, yet no one seems to care that Ash and November are together. They unite 3 various families; you would think this would be even more outlawed than her parents’ marriage.>The plot of the book is fun and moves the story along quickly. Danger is around every corner. Opponents become mates and secrets are revealed. I did like how November’s dad was so loving that the other students realized how cold their own parents were. This book is appropriate for a young adult (16+) audience. I am giving this book 4 stars. I would like to see Ash and November in the future, working together and changing history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    I wasn’t able to place it down!!! She a amazing book and just keeps you wanting more. The story line is well thought out and just amazing!!! Already ore-ordered my copy and waiting for it to come in the mail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    Killing November and Hunting November were both fantastic, page-turners. I wanted to rush through and read it all and slow it down at the same time. I truly hope we obtain more of these characters and this Strategia world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    I was hooked from the beginning. November is a Gryffindor I wish on my posse and guarding my back!We've all succumbed to the allure of the school for the chosen trope. But 98% of the time it's a school for wizards or soldiers. Not deceivers and connivers who control the fate of globe powers in a never ending android game of l of the students in November's fresh boarding school seem to have a ruthless hidden agenda. She feels inept and unprepared because she wasn't raised in their world. She must build alliances and forge loyalties based on snapshot hero assessments and her ad bodies start to fall across her path and she must prove her innocence as she thwarts whoever is trying to frame her. Every lesson she is exposed to holds a vital notice that will aid her quest. With the support of her roommate Layla, and Layla's enigmatic twin- Ash, she must expose the conspiracy that undermines the foundation of the school.4.5 Stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Such an awesome book. I love everything from Adriana Mather and did not think i could love a book more than her HTHAW, but this book has it beat. Adriana went to amazing books to absolutely outdoing herself with a unbelievable book. I cant wait to read more and really hope there will be another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killing November []  2019-12-26 19:0

    Like all of Adriana Mathers books, Killing November, was amazing. It is riveting and quick paced but well developed. It’s crucial to attention to the info or you might miss something. I have never read anything like it. It is special and confusing and mysterious and I didn’t wish to place it down. You do not wish to pass up the possibility to read this. If you have fun intrigue, mystery, romance, drama, friendships, and self discovery you should absolutely read this. You do not wish to miss Killing November.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November wallpapers [App]  2019-11-3 13:42

    Clear pics. Few choices. Simple to apply: use "paint roller" icon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    November Nelson is pregnant. Her boyfriend has just died in a hazing incident at school, her mother is planning her future and November just wants life to go back to the method it was before that night when she and Josh got “caught up in the moment”. November is learning that one night of fun can change your life in an instant. With the support of Josh’s cousin, Jericho, and her friends, can November handle the changes that that one night has brought about? And where does a baby fit into all of this? Read November Blues by Sharon Draper to search out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I love Sharon Draper and am AMAZED at how she is able to roll out amazing books. Young adults such as myself need a look into the true world, but amazing examples to lead them. Ms. Draper provides that. The characters are relatable, true, and multidimensional. Love this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Like the author and a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This story of the struggles of a teen who becomes pregnant just before the father of the baby dies is riveting. The characters are well delineated. I highly recommend this well written novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    I am extremely lucky to have been included in the ARC tour for this starts off where the first book left off with November and Ashai getting ready to leave Academy Absconditi to find for her father. They begin their journey by going back to where it began in Pembrook and from there they search themselves in the United Kingdom from Scotland to London. They are thrown into so a lot of various deadly situations to search more clues that her father left for her to find. On their method there are surprise allies that present up to support with the mission. They search themselves in deep in opponent location Where it comes to a very mind boggling, edge of your seat ending.I really love the chemistry between November and Ashai. It was very welcome surprise at how a lot of allies came to support them on their mission to save her father and was very excited at how it all just worked. I can not wait to search out how November's story continues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunting November []  2020-6-18 19:1

    Wonderful and you can’t place it down. I loved the first book and I’ve read it multiple times while waiting for this. Now I just want there had been an epilogue. Hoping for more to the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    On the 40th anniversary of its release, this album is as listenable now as it was then (yes, I bought it 40 years ago), and its importance can now be viewed in its historical context. Norman Blake has been described as a neotraditionalist; he plays both traditional and original tunes. His original tunes, however, such as "lord won't you support me", "billy gray", "church road blues" and a lot of others, while often addressing contemporary themes, clearly present their traditional roots and became instant classics. His influence in contemporary American roots melody is immense and his songs have been widely covered by other artists such as Tony Rice, Robert Earl Keen and Sara ere is an authenticity and warmth to Mr. Blake' singing and playing that is irresistible. This album includes some of Blake's best compositions. The performances are outstanding, and the arrangements innovative in that they employ instrumentation such as cello and dobro non-traditionally, and it actually rman Blake has never created an even remotely poor album, but this is one of his best and it is a classic, and so is he.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    As I delve into this most reasonably priced offering of the history of modern British "folke" music, I believe my review will need to be edited. As with most of the "old stuff" (i.e., historic recordings of the once-married Thompson's), I search my appreciation grows and my enjoyment increases with my repeated experiences with recordings suchb as these. Stay tuned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    While it would be preferable to have a high-quality legal release of a full present from the '82 "Shoot Out The Lights" tour, this performance is solid, with perfect sound. The covers are enjoyable but not definitive, and Richard is a bit too tentative in his guitar work here. Then again, the songs and the duo were the focus in 1975. The ver of "Night Comes In" here is fantastic, and shows lovely musicianship from the band as they move through the dynamics of this song in a skilled, cohesive manner... ending in near-silence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    This is a attractive story about two young people who aren't sure where they belong. Hector, escaping a difficult home life, plans to hide out on the deserted Isle Royale in Lake Superior for the winter time, biding his time until he turns 18 and can legally be of his uncle. On the supposedly deserted island, he finds Anda, who is there for an entirely various reason. Anda is only half human; she is a kid of the Lake and a human father. While these two teens are totally different, they search they have more in common than one would expect. As their relationship develops, they face the challenges of surviving in an inhospitable wilderness and coming to terms with living in two various worlds. While technically a modern fantasy, this book is unlike any book I have read before and completely enjoyable! I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    Awesome story of love, adventure and sacrifice. Family dynamics and relationships bring out the best and the worst in us. Always a treat when an author sweeps you up into the book. Well done Dr. Kang!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    I honestly did not wish this book to end. It was so beautifully written. Once again, Lou Berney takes his characters and just breathes life into every single one of e book takes put within the days of John Kennedy's assassination. Charlotte is in a claustrophobic marriage to an alcoholic. She has two delightful small girls and an epileptic dog. After gathering enough courage, she decides to package up children and dog and head West to begin a fresh ank Guidry has always been a smooth talking ladies man. He seems to search himself in a bit of a mess while working for a Mob boss that seems to be involved in the murder of the president. He changes his name and plans on getting as far from this mess as possible. He has some very poor guys on his ter meeting Charlotte on the road, Guidry figures out the excellent escape plan.Well we all know there is never a excellent plan in crime novels. Guidry never planned on falling in love with Charlotte and her ist and turns, that create you gasp and reread pages over and over .Lou Berney oozes talent for taking the reader to the exact put and time and you feel all those emotions and pain.Lou Berney just came out of that gate with his bull bucking and twisting, but Lou is sitting high and calm. No worries, Berney is the true deal. He has become that Autumn best-seller that we all count the days until his next novel.I hate this saying but I really could not stop reading it. I had it on Kindle, hardback book, and Audible. (Side note - The reader on Audible was fabulous!)This is a must read! The Godmother highly recommends it. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    I don't know how a lot of times I've listened to this album, probably on a weekly and some times everyday basis. I had forgotten, though, until I place on one of the vinyl copies I own about the two tracks they left off Fields of November so they could cram two albums on to one CD: Ruins of Richmond and Caperton Ferry. They are both instrumental tracks and are NOT filler. The vinyl isn't terribly hard to find; I wouldn't discourage anybody from getting the CD, but I strongly encourage every one to obtain a vinyl copy so you can have the complete picture. Old and Fresh has some amazing songs on it, but Fields of November captured a unique moment in time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    Amazing book with an interesting story. As a Michigander, I loved the take of the island and Lake Superior ships. This is meant for young adults, so it may not attract the attention of other adults like myself. Lydia Kang is a unbelievable author and I have read several books by her. Book is cloaked in mystery, fantasy and where is this story going? Does take a couple of chapters to obtain into.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    Thought provoking, amazing read for all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    During a port-call in Hong Kong in late 1975, I picked up a copy of the NME at an newstand. A short story told of Richard & Linda Thompson's November tour of the UK, AND, the shows were to be recorded for forthcoming live record. The record that was released in 1976 was called: "Guitar,Vocal" and it contained some of Richard and Linda's finest excerpts from that tour (three tracks: "It'll be Me" "Night Comes In" & "Calvary Cross") live electric Thompson...classic tunes...incredible guitar...amazing music. But, where was the rest?Well, It only took 31 years, but at last, here it is. The Thompson's were promoting their recent record: "Pour Down Like Silver" and, this 15 track CD of 78 mins of melody is the document. The band is Richard: guitar,vocals, Linda: vocals, John Kirkpatrick: button accordian & concertina and the two Dave's: Dave Pegg: bass guitar and Dave Mattacks: drums. To say this was one of the greatest live folk-rock bands of all time would hit the tag concerning this...They were!"I Wish To See The Bright Lights Tonight" is the opener and it's a lively rendition of this classic. Linda is a fine voice here. Mrs. Thompson sounds like she's having fun, and this dispells stage-fright myth that has been reported about Richard and her (at least for these recordings). "Hard Luck Stories" features some fiery guitar work by Richard, and the accordian adds much color, but never overpowers. There is amazing separation between ALL the insruments and clarity to this mix, everyone is heard clearly. The rhythm section of Peggy & DM are felt as much as they are heard. The sound quality from these tapes of 35 years past is very good, there is a 'warmth' that goes with multi-track recordings of this era."Night Comes In", is the first of the "epic" mumbers featured and it's awesome, 11 mins of subtle majesty, nobody else plays guitar like this! To me he is: "Sir Richard" and this chop will explain why. Next up, "The Morris Medley" is really fun and has a small little guitar solo built right in, this was a amazing surprise. This one is great. "A Heart Needs A Home" features Linda, and she really nails this one, a standout vocal."Now Be Thankful" gets a cheer from the crowd. And the unbelievable ver of: "Jet Plane" is next, a very amazing rendition featuring spot-on harmonies. "For Shame of Doing Wrong" is a showcase for Linda's singing, then the guitar takes off, and Richard plays like it's the end of the world. The mammoth entitled: "Calvary Cross", keeps on building & building, and in this fresh mix it's not as stark as the: "Guitar/Vocal" version, but it is just as spellbinding. "Hokey-Pokey" is the closer, and this song is spry & fun {psycho-circus music}.Back for the encores, the band delivers: "Things You Gave Me" and 'It'll Be Me" and then into: "Together Again" by Buck Owens and it's is is a amazing live CD, the band is top-notch and the sound quaility is remarkable. Do you like Richard Thompson? If that was a YES, this CD belongs in your melody VE STARS !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    It is as expected. And I expect great! Linda sounds great. Richard is Richard. This is vintage, best of, early Thompson. It's hard to search better. I want there was more. Why they were not superstars, I'll never know. Amazing material, amazing playing and amazing singing. 5 stars!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    A compelling story told from multiple POVs. I stayed up half the night reading because I simply couldn't place it down. What a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    From Gutshot Straight through The Long and Faraway Gone, Lou Berney has staked his claim as a writer to watch. With November Road, he not only delivers in spades but vaults into the ranks of veterans like James Lee Burke, Michael Connelly and Don Winslow, who have elevated crime writing to literature. I can't recommend this novel highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    I have it on vinyl somewhere but can't search it. this has the originals plus some extras. these are some of his best songs--Grey coat soldiers, uncle, Latest train from not good valley, etc, etc, etc.. gotta have it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Norman Blake is a very amazing guitar player and it comes through with all his instrumentals. Yet the song I like best is "Billy Gray" since Norman's voice for western tunes is so good. I would like more vocals on his CDs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    An essential part of the collection for anyone interested in folk or traditional American music. Sometimes Norman Blake can be a small off-putting because of his technical skills. Fans of the Harry Smith anthology might appreciate a small rougher sound. Fields of November exemplifies Blake's awesome licks without being too showy. It stays real to the old styles without wandering into Fresh Grass or Jam band hippie music. Especially the title track, with the cello and violin, sounds like down home. I have loved this album since I was a child in the seventies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    Very interesting of true to unreal, reflecting issues of those who are various and/or in difficult situations. Held my attention as an adult reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    This book was boring, predictable. Very disappointing. I did search her first book interesting but not this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    If you're an RT fan, you need this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    It's hard not to message a full-page ad for a book in the Fresh York Times Book Review. And when the title surfaces in publishing industry buzz as well, any reviewer would search it hard to avoid taking a look. Certainly, I did. Then, when I found out that the plot revolves around one of the seminal historical happenings of the past century, I had no choice. That book rose to the top of my "must-read" list. It certainly didn't hurt, either, that one of the author's previous novels won a slew of major literary awards. It's no mystery, then, why I rushed to read Lou Berney's November Street as soon as possible after its publication."It's a crime story, a love story, a deeply American story."What a delight to learn that the book is simply terrific! This goes a long method toward explaining the buzz in literary circles and at the publisher that placed the ad. Surely, it also reinforced word-of-mouth, which is the surest route to steady sales. Fellow author Megan Abbott noted that "It's a crime story, a love story, a deeply American story." She might also have mentioned that it's an historical novel. The story is built around one of the most prominent conspiracy theories regarding the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. And that's a topic guaranteed to capture a amazing of attention. Need I add that it got mine?Gangsters and JFK's assassinationIn the five decades since JFK's murder, a lot of Americans have continued to doubt that the Warren Commission got to the bottom of the story. The lone-assassin hypothesis stretches credulity in a number of ways. Among those who think about such things, the favorite alternative culprits are the CIA, the Mafia, the Russians, the Cubans, and Lyndon Johnson. In my own reading on the subject, I've come to believe that the most credible explanation is that men within the CIA are the most likely to have been responsible for the assassination. (See my review of Mary's Mosaic by Peter Janney, Why did JFK die? The most convincing explanation I’ve ever read.) But for Lou Berney the Mafia clearly makes for a better story.A thug with a heart of goldBerney's protagonist, Frank Guidry, is Carlos Marcello's man. Marcello ran the Fresh Orleans crime family for four decades. Wikipedia notes that "Credible investigators, mob figures, Robert F. Kennedy and the Federal Bureau of Investigation reportedly believed Marcello masterminded the 1963 assassination of President John F. Kennedy"—that gangsters killed JFK. In November Road, Frank is charged with helping Marcello to clean up after the murder, eliminating any evidence that leads back to him. The assignment sets Guidry off on a cross-country chase that threatens him and the woman he falls in love with. Charlotte is fleeing her feckless husband in Oklahoma with her two young daughters in tow. Their journey together with Frank is the central thread of the rney paints his characters with amazing skill and subtlety. These are not one-dimensional figures placed in the story to move the plot along but living, breathing human beings. And his pacing of the tale is flawless. November Street is a superior example of the thriller-writer's craft.About the authorLou Berney is an accomplished writer. He won several awards for The Long and Faraway Gone, a thriller published in 2015. He's also the author of numerous short stories in major literary publications and has published a book of short stories as well. Megan Abbott has called him "One of the most talented crime novelists working today."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    November 1963. Kennedy is assassinated and the mob in Fresh Orleans has a problem. Those who know what happened in Dallas have to be taken out so Frank Guidry, a mobster who knows too much, has to obtain out of Dallas and flee for his very life. He knows he can trust no one so he is on the run knowing that his days are idry knows people. Some owe him favors while others may or may not rat him out.A woman fleeing a failing marriage with two kids in tow are headed west. So is Frank. The connection they create will lead them west, but their journey will be one of fear, anxiety and despite it all...a hope for a better life and a fresh e book grabs you from page one and you can see the scenes...see the people in Fresh Orleans and Dallas and all points in between as Guidry is on the run and those who wish him dead are everywhere. This is a amazing read. I read it in two days and when the book was over? I realized that it is one of those books that I will remember for a while. Full of action, human conflict, tension, historical happenings and even romance as Guidry realizes that maybe he can begin a fresh life.I highly recommend this book. The book moves quickly along and the book has a amazing ending that worked really well. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    I've read all of his novels and Lou Berney has become one of my favorite authors. NOVEMBER ROAD cements that feeling. Using the period of time around the Kennedy assassination the story involves several characters involved in, or on the edges of the crime and persons unlucky enough to be acquaintances with those people. To be clear....this is not a story full of assassination details. It uses the JFK shooting as a backdrop for the story of the characters in the book. And they are a diverse and interesting lot. To me, he development of these characters is a major strength of the book. I found myself extremely interested in what happened to them. Some I learned to care about...others I learned to loathe. The epilogue was poignant and somewhat wrenching....and this story is one I won't soon forget.Writer/director Lawrence Kasdan (BODY HEAT...THE BIG CHILL...SILVERADO...THE BODY GUARD) has purchased the book rights so hopefully we will see the film in the near future. It's a terrific read and one I'm sure you will enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Early 1970s Norman Blake studio album. You can feel the love blooming between our favorite flattop picker and his cellist, Nancy, whom he would marry and with whom he has done so much splendid work over the e Cast:Norman Blake - guitar, fiddle, dobro, mandolin, vocalsCharlie Collins - guitar, fiddleRobert Arthur "Tut" Taylor - dobroNancy Short - celloThe Numbers:1."Green Leaf Fancy"2."Last Train from Not good Valley"3."White Oak Swamp"4."Ruins of Richmond"5."Graycoat Soldiers"6."Caperton Ferry"7."Southern Railroad Blues"8.."Lord Won't You Support Me"9."Krazy Kurtis"10."Coming Down from Rising Fawn"11."Uncle"12."The Old Brown Case"13."The Fields of November"This is the true deal; accept no substitutes. I burned it to my XBOX 360 hard drive so's i can send it to my son in Rising Fawn: a neighbor of the Blakes. I will play it every November for the rest of my natural life - once a year - for savoring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    One of the classics in traditional melody and a must-have for Norman Blake fans. That's the original "The Fields of November" I'm referring to. In this CD you obtain that album plus one called "Old and New." Whereas I give 4-5 stars for each track on TFoN, I would give 3-4 stars for tracks on OaN. Still great, but it's worth listening to the tracks for TFoN together, to obtain a sense of what a classic the original vinyl was. I only bought the CD because I've worn out the vinyl copy to the point that there are a fair number of pops and clicks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Really amazing two album set in one CD. Fields of November is a attractive tune, and a lot of amazing old Norman Blake tunes and songs. This one is a wow!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    This recording, actually a compilation of two records released by Flying Fish Records in the 70's, provides the bridge between Norman's early solo work and his later efforts with the Rising Fawn String Ensemble. A marvelous mix of original songs (Graycoat Soldiers, Old Brown Case, Billy Gray, Latest Train from Not good Valley) and traditional tunes (most interesting - a three-part Cuckoo's Nest) presented with understated elegance, mostly by Norman with Nancy Short (later Nancy Blake), Charlie Collins, Tut Taylor, and Sand Mountain fiddler James is one, by the way, drives guitar players crazy due to the fact that Norman doesn't always play in standard (A=440) tuning, preferring to tweak the strings up or down just a bit as it fits the song. Norman once said at a workshop "Sometimes I guess I just hear a song a small various than standard..."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    Loved this book. Special story entangling lake legends, the strong forces of nature and the human experiences of emotion. Lydia King has become my favorite author after reading just two of her books. She is intelligent and so very well written. I look forward to reading more by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    I am about half method into this book and love the writing and the story. The characters chemistry has a amazing dynamic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    Here are Richard and Linda in the prime of their partnership, having just dropped Pour Down Like Silver on an unsuspecting world. Along for the ride are the world-class rhythm section of Dave Pegg and Dave Mattacks plus John Kirkpatrick on squeezy things. Having heard bits of these live recordings sprinkled over different releases over the decade, it's amazing to have a nice huge slice of this superb material, beautifully recorded in all its raw immediacy by the amazing John Wood. So why is Island-Universal making it nearly impossible for American fans to obtain our hands on this gem? No wonder the major record companies are withering. They have cabbage heads for brains.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    I wasn't sure if LB could top THE LONG AND FARAWAY GONE, but he has. NOVEMBER ROAD is one of my favorite books of 2018 and a very likely Edgar award nominee. This is a quasi-historical street novel. Given its terms it risks becoming claustrophobic but instead stays on the suspenseful straight and narrow and takes you to a moist-eyed ending you will not soon is November 1963. Frank Guidry is a fixer for the Fresh Orleans mob. His boss has just conspired to slay JFK and Frank is dispatched to Texas to take out the SanFran hit man with the amazing rifle and bury his getaway vehicle in a Houston canal. The issue is that he will then become a loose end with an abbreviated life span. Charlotte Roy is an Oklahoma housewife with two daughters, an epileptic dog and a drunken husband. She wants to leave the husband behind and take her brood to L.A. where she can stay, for a time, with her aunt, before rebuilding her e two link up on the highway, Frank figuring that an instant family will make a far-more-plausible 'disguise' than the usual trappings of a solitary man on the lam. He is headed to Vegas, where, he hopes, an old mobster acquaintance can support him to leave the , off they go, with a hit man following them and who knows what awaiting them in Vegas. Ultimately, as we can expect, Frank and Charlotte will fall for one another, so that the historical/conspiracy/road/mob novel will turn into a shaky, very, very nontraditional e effect is crime fiction that is near perfection. LB is a superb writer and the dialogue and narrative are things of beauty. The suspense is unrelenting and the {who's really on our side?} entanglements unending. Prepare for multiple surprises and a very satisfying ending which still partakes of what James Ellroy calls 'tragic realism'.Bottom line: this is the true deal--a lovely book that is certifiably unputdownable. One caveat: the JFK dimension is a small more than incidental but not, ultimately, central. Do not expect something like DeLillo's LIBRA, Ellroy's AMERICAN TABLOID or Stephen King's 11/22/n't miss this one. (And if you haven't yet discovered LB's Shake Bouchon novels, obtain on to them right away.)And, BTW, if you know what happened to LB's novel, DOUBLE BARREL BLUFF, allow me know. It's difficult to track and it doesn't present up on the card page of NOVEMBER ROAD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Latest Train from Not good Valley is one of the best tracks on this awesome acoustic, folk, guitar album. The entire cd is amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    Truly a attractive story, one of sorrow and loss but ultimately of love. Kang captured the magic of Lake Superior with a stunning prose and vivid imagery. Absolutely loved!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The November Girl []  2020-6-30 19:17

    Amazing book! Couldn't place it down. The description created you feel like you were a spectator. A part of the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    Just wanted to add that there's a amazing performance of "For Shame of Doing Wrong" on this CD. Richard Thompson and the band turn the 4:43 studio ver of the song into an 8:16 live epic by adding 3 and a half mins of their classic guitar work and jamming at the end. I like it so much that I place it right behind "Sloth", "Calvary Cross" and "Night Comes In".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    huge fan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Concert November 1975 []  2020-7-5 19:44

    perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    I noticed this book on a number of best book lists for Fall 2018 reading. I wasn’t crazy about the plot link to the Kennedy assassination – I had read Stephen King’s perfect “11/22/63” and thought that was enough for me. But after scanning a couple of Nov Rd reviews I decided to give it a try; I’m glad I did and I will read at least one other Berney book, “The Long and Faraway ank Guidry works for the mob in Fresh Orleans, he’s one of Carlos’s guys. It doesn’t take a lot of pages to obtain a beautiful clear picture of Frank and where his loyalties lie. A former mentor is now in problem with the organization and contacts Frank for help. Frank agrees to a meet, though a bit reluctantly. But now what, does he support an old pal out at some risk to himself, or does he betray?Frank is a wise guy, in more ways than one. In fast succession, Frank hears of the JFK assassination, realizes he played a little though unknowing role, notes some players in the chain have been quickly eliminated, and quickly assesses his own future…..then runs. A amazing set-up. What next?All of a sudden we meet Charlotte, mom of two fascinating small girls, Rosemary and Joan (whom you just can’t obtain enough of), and wife of a not-so-secret drunk. On the spur of the moment, Charlotte flees, with the girls, the dog, an old car, and not much money. It takes a while for these on-the-run characters to hook up, but when they do they create sic. For the first time in his life, is Frank in love, or is he just using this family as a cover? Remember, this is 1963, no cells, no digital anything, but there are plants everywhere (no, not the potted kind). Where are they headed? “California!” Charlotte would say. Frank would add, “yeah, but we’ll stop in Vegas first”. Vegas in the 60’s – a amazing put for the climax to this story.Lots of tension, well written, interesting characters although a few are really over-the-top, enough action to create a very amazing movie. And although it's not about the assassination, it created me re-think a bit about my long held assumptions about JFK's murder. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    Lou Berney can really write. When I started this book I though, "Oh no, another Kennedy assination conspiricy tale." However, that's just the backdrop for a thrilling tale with rich characters and backgrounds. Loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Road: A Novel []  2020-11-23 18:0

    I purchased and read this one on the strength of all the five star reviews here. Yes, it was well-written and flowed seamlessly and provocatively throughout. Charlotte and Frank were rendered as three dimensional characters and I could empathize with each of their arcs (and TBH, the topic matter, a thriller, isn't exactly the kind of work I normally read, but the author won me over quickly with his rhythm and pacing. That was all real until I got to the latest chapter where, well, it all fell apart for me and I just couldn't connect back to Frank's journey. It all short circuited because (no spoilers here), I didn't believe he would do what he did given everything that had happened up till then. So, well-written, believable characters and amazing pacing, but the end, nope, not buying it because frankly it just wasn't where I thought it was going to end up. Otherwise recommended but for me the ending just didn't earn all the build-up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    This is truly a unbelievable book it shows that we must place are faith in God and he will support us through anything

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Air []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Its an awesome book with amazing hero development love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    It has been a long time since I have read a story that moved me as much as this one did. This book shows life's struggles in the true globe in an emotionally raw method that makes you see everyone is fighting a war but also that everyone has the opportunity to turn to God and rely on him to create it through the day with an addiction, grudges from the past, all of life's issues that we all face one method or another sometime sooner or later! What an inspiration projected from one book based on faith and God's love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    Jack and Vienna both have past sadness to forget. With God's support and forgiveness they are able to create fresh full lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    Jackson (Jack ) Linder is back in city after he went through rehab. Another old resident has returned home to Clayburn and turned her mother's restaurant into a coffee shop. Jack is very surprised to see Vienne Kinney back home and now opening a coffee called Latte Dah coffee shop..you will read how she came up with that name. This is the second book in this series and you are sure to like it with a few surprises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    Vienne Kenney is back in her hometown of Clayburn, Kansas - but not by choice. After investing years of time and energy, to say nothing of from a source she'd prefer to forget, she fails the state bar exam that would secure her future as a lawyer. But before she can fully absorb the impact this crushing disappointment will have on her life, her mother is struck down by a major stroke, and Vienne finds herself once again the resistant resident of a city filled with bitter memories.Jackson Linder returns to Clayburn willingly, but with no fewer shadows in his past. New out of rehab, he's determined to reopen his art gallery and create a success of his life - clean and sober this time. But he finds himself tempted by more than an alcohol addiction when the coffee across the road takes on a fresh look, a fancy fresh name - Latte-dah - and a fresh owner with mesmerizing turquoise eyes.Jack is the very kind of man Vienne has sworn to never love. Never mind the crush she had on him in high school. Never mind his heart-stopping smile and kind eyes. She's suffered the effects of alcoholism enough for three lifetimes, and is determined not to create foolish decisions that will force her to relive her mother's sad existence. So what is she to do with her overwhelming attraction to the handsome artist across the street?Second in Deborah Raney's Clayburn novels, Leaving November is yet another unforgettable journey into this charming city where everyone knows everyone else...or do they? Even easy folks have secrets, some of which have the power to shatter dreams, break hearts and destroy lives. This particular jaunt into Clayburn takes the reader on an exploration of heartbreak and healing, failure and forgiveness, and welcome redemption.Due in no little part to Ms. Raney's deceptively easy writing style and captivating storyline, it's hard to say good-bye to the residents of this lovely city after each sojourn down its sidewalks. Remember to Forget was a attractive introduction; Leaving November provides the reader a private "stake" in Clayburn. I plan to take a small room next door to Latte-dah and wait impatiently to see whose story comes to light in Yesterday's Embers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    A unbelievable read. Eve as I leave Clayburn Town limits I feel like I'm leaving renewed in my faith with God .and wanting to know Him better each day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    Vienne Kinney and Jackson Linder share a common opponent in each of their pasts. Vienne grew up with an alcoholic father and Jack is trying to with his own addiction. Deborah Raney realistically with the issues of alcoholism and how it affects both the families of the alcoholic and the alcoholics themselves. She shows how a dependence on God can overcome temptations and judgments, regardless of how much we with in our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    Enjoyed the book, it has been awhile since I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leaving November (Clayburn Novels Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-2 18:2

    Vienne Kenney has returned home after flunking the bar exam twice. Jack Linder has returned home also after completing a session in rehab. The two have plans to begin anew in their hometown. Vienne is opening up a fancy coffee house while Jack paves the method for a fresh art gallery. Both of them face the trials of running a fresh business in a city and search themselves migrating towards the other for company. A relationship begins to grow until Vienne finds out about Jack's past. She has wounds that run deep invovling alcoholism and and the relationship begins to fray. It takes a real act of forgiveness before all can be well ayburn is a city I would like to visit. I could see myself visiting both the art gallery and the Latte-dah. In fact I would probably be a regular visitor at Vienne's coffee house since I love frequenting locations like that. It sounds like a amazing put to hang out with a book and a cup of mocha. I understood her frustration at Pete's gang disrupting the ambiance of her put with their manure covered shoes and loud talking. It's tough to begin business with customers insisting on doing things their method and not yours. Both Vienne and Jack had secrets in their life they didn't wish to share. This was probably not the best method to begin a friendship because it kept leading to awkward moments between the two of them. This story shows the effects of what alcoholism does to not only the person who drinks but to other members of the family. Vienne's reluctance to obtain close to Jack is not at all surprising due to everything she went through with her father. It was interesting to see a recovering alcoholic's struggle with addiction and how prayer was the main thing that Jack could rely on. It was also painful to hear all the gossip that was being spread about Jack. It's sad that people will spread lies without knowing the whole story and then create false assumptions about others. I also felt touched by her relationship with her mother. It's not simple to have a stroke victim in the family and it can be very trying just to communicate with them. Vienne showed unbelievable patience and kindness toward her mother. It's refreshing to read about situations like this instead of hearing about adult kids who just leave their parents in the care of e story is not overly preachy but instead shows the power of forgiveness and the struggles that addiction causes. It's a really touching story that everyone should read. If this is your first Deborah Raney book, it will create you become a fan. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On a Knife’s Edge: The Ukraine, November 1942-March 1943 []  2020-1-19 21:59

    As always, Dr Buttar does not disappoint. He has provided a very readable acc of a lesser-known phase of the fighting on the Eastern Front: the immediate aftermath of the debacle at Stalingrad. The writing is even handed and fairly with both sides, Russian and criticisms: first, most of the action actually takes put in southern Russia, not the Ukraine, hence the title is misleading; second, the maps are inadequate. In particular, a map will often present corps dispositions, while the text refers to armies or divisions, or vice-versa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On a Knife’s Edge: The Ukraine, November 1942-March 1943 []  2020-1-19 21:59

    Third book read by Prit Buttar. "Battleground Prussia" and "Between Giants" were the other two. Author is an EXCELLENT story teller and SUPERB researcher. Highly Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red November: Inside the Secret U.S.-Soviet Submarine War []  2020-1-17 20:54

    This book consists mostly of fictional accounts of conversations the author pulled out of thin air and private detail about people the author never met. Some of these fictional conversations consist only of sailors quoting old Turkish sayings to one another, forty ways of saying "that dog don't hunt".The author spends a amazing of one chapter going on about the bear cub he had as a pedia has more facts about the development of sonar than this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red November: Inside the Secret U.S.-Soviet Submarine War []  2020-1-17 20:54

    Interesting reading by an author who knows that to write a amazing book you can’t allow truth stand in the way. Still it’s quite enjoyable. The inaccuracies are very minor. The things that go on underneath the sea would curl your hair if you knew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Official LSAT PrepTest 89: (November 2019 LSAT) []  2020-8-25 20:12

    Took this try in November. Awful, poor curve for the difficulty of this test.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SHELLY'S ADVENTURE: November 24, 2006-December 19, 2006 []  2020-8-22 19:10

    As I am the author of his book, this is not exactly a review , but I felt it was necessary to tell you who would have fun reading this book . If you have ever been to the Antarctica or want to visit some day, I know you will love reading this memoir. If you are an adventurer, love to travel and have fun hearing about other people's trips, you will have fun this book. If you used to travel but for health or age reasons are no longer able to, I feel you will have fun vicariously through my book, this unbelievable trip to the Antarctica. If you are a penguin fan, you will certainly love this memoir.I am sure there are a lot of more reasons to read this memoir, if only to look at the fabulous images of the birds, penguins. elephant seals, weaners etc, that's reason enough to this book , whether paper or digital....you will love it. Prove me right and read the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On a Knife’s Edge: The Ukraine, November 1942-March 1943 []  2020-1-19 21:59

    When you obtain one of the major characters (its Friedrich Paulus, he was never nobility) on the eastern fronts name wrong it makes me question the entire book. A easy Wikipedia find could have corrected this, how a historian can allow it go to publication with the wrong name is beyond me. I liked his previous works but this one seems rushed and sadly create me think twice about buying his next work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On a Knife’s Edge: The Ukraine, November 1942-March 1943 []  2020-1-19 21:59

    used for info and research

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On a Knife’s Edge: The Ukraine, November 1942-March 1943 []  2020-1-19 21:59

    This is a meticulously researched book which certainly comes across as though it would have taken a large effort and amount of time to compile. On the whole, this is a thoroughly engaging and in-depth exploration of the operations in Eastern Ukraine from November 1942 up to March 1943 – that is, from the Soviet Operation “Uranus” that trapped the German Sixth Troops at Stalingrad, until Manstein’s popular “backhand blow” at Pavlograd and Kharkov. It is highly detailed, complex and complicated but that is exactly what you would expect with the most astonishing situation ever presented on the Eastern ople with average knowledge about the Eastern Front will search the going rather difficult, but if you are a fan of that particular turbulent period of Globe Battle II I'm sure you'll search the book extremely interesting. The action described is little-known when compared with the rest of the fighting on the Eastern Front. The main theme is the desperate position of the German armies following the Stalingrad encirclement, and how they responded with an operational master-stroke of a genius. The author is clear and precise when describing the action (mostly on the operational level, but also on the tactical level sometimes) and he puts everything in regarding dates, names and locations – and in my opinion the campaign described is so complicated that there is not a single possibility for the reader to create sense of what was going on, where, when and why, if he doesn’t place the whole matter into a proper chronological and geographical order. Mr Buttar has done of course a few mistakes along the method - the Soviet 63rd Troops was renamed the 1st Guards Troops on November 4, 1942 (p. 60), Paulus was promoted to fieldmarshal on January 30, 1943 and not on January 31 (p. 277), Red Troops foundation day anniversary was on February 23 and not on February 18 (p. 338), the correct name of the city near the Dnepr bend is Sinelnikovo and not Siniskovo (p. 352) etc. Mr Buttar though has an impressive ability to instill a fluidity to his writing, meaning that you simply cannot place this book down, and there is also a multitude of first-hand accounts. An absolute must-read for anyone interested in the history of the fighting on the Eastern Front, and I can safely say that I will be purchasing any follow-up books from this author in the future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red November: Inside the Secret U.S.-Soviet Submarine War []  2020-1-17 20:54

    Interesting tidbits to a hidden subject. Based on my experience, interesting that Navy would let this story. Questionable how it could truly be anything but historical fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red November: Inside the Secret U.S.-Soviet Submarine War []  2020-1-17 20:54

    Much of the info about undersea espionage during the cold battle are presented in amazing detail including snooping on the Soviet subs, how American submarines operated, and the race to hold ahead of the Soviets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Official LSAT PrepTest 89: (November 2019 LSAT) []  2020-8-25 20:12

    Just a described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red November: Inside the Secret U.S.-Soviet Submarine War []  2020-1-17 20:54

    I didn't [email protected]#$%!. Things started to bother me almost from the very beginning ("iron gate across the Dardanelles", all the made-up dialogue between the Soviet submarine crews, etc). As soon as I saw the author was going to go with the old myth that the Soviets were responsible for the loss of SSN-589 Scorpion, I quit reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red November: Inside the Secret U.S.-Soviet Submarine War []  2020-1-17 20:54

    When I was freshmen in college the Cuban missile crisis was unfolding .I remember the fear throughout the nation and especially others my age. We had grown up with the fear of a nuclear attack in school since the early fifties. Reading the first fourth of the book scares me even more. How small did I realize how close we really were. The info of this happening and others during the cold battle are outlined in detail by a first person real story of the submarine serviceable with deep diving technology as a way of spying. This is very amazing and very re.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On a Knife’s Edge: The Ukraine, November 1942-March 1943 []  2020-1-19 21:59

    I was waiting for this book for a long time and the final effect is disappointment . To be honest I was expecting an epic saga about one of the most necessary period of fighting on the eastern front and instead this book is hard to read and is full of mistakes !!! I only went through 40 pages so far and I have had enough and I was wondering if I should even finish reading this book ! For example on page 32 the author is explaining how the Red troops was trying to include German during during the opening stages of operation Blau and in his opinion the popular counterattack by Lizyukov 5th Tank Troops was beaten of by 4th Panzer Troops 24th Panzer Div. The issue is that during that particular fighting 24th Panzer was in the vicinity of Voronezh quite far away from counterattacking 5th Tank Troops and it was 24 Panzer Korps 9th and 11th Panzer Divisions along with infantry of the 2nd Troops that stopped that counterattack !!!! Then on next page again the author is explaining how Vatutin's Voronezh front secured the northen shoulder of the Greman and they failure to complete the capture of Voronezh left the powerful point from which the Soviet forces could threaten THE ENTIRE FLANK of the German advance !! Here as well Vatutin"s Voronezh front was to late to secure anything because the Germans already reached their objectives by crossing the river Don and capturing in fact the town of Voronezh and while the fighting after it's capture was hard the German never had any intention of exploiting across the Don and most of all they retained Voronezh in they hands well into 1943 and Soviets while learning the arts of battle were never were able to break German held front lines during I think entire 1942 !!!! I think Mister Buttar should read a few Mr. rczyk's or D. Glantz's perfect works about eastern front fighting so he can learn some true history and Osprey Publishing should not let to publish this kind of misinformation for readers sake !!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On a Knife’s Edge: The Ukraine, November 1942-March 1943 []  2020-1-19 21:59

    Book is more than a retelling of the conquer before STALINGRAD, but info the destruction of Hitler's Italian, Hungarian and Romanian allied armies versus the backdrop of a brutal Russian winter. The Germans barely keep back the Soviet tide while evacuating the Caucasus, but.execute a miracle counteroffensive that sets the scene for Buttar's next volume on the conquest of the Ukraine.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386