Read numerical simulation of power plants and firing systems reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all numerical simulation of power plants and firing systems reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simulation of Dynamic Systems with MATLAB and Simulink, Second Edition []  2020-11-21 19:30

    MATLAB is the industry standard means to share dynamic modeling and simulation; tools, models, results... you name it. MATLAB is a standard as surely as IEEE-422 is a standard. The government specifies it as a means to deliver simulations and results. It's used by communities who don't know each other; aircraft simulation, automobiles and driving simulations, missile simulations, robots, ejection seats... again, you name - MATLAB is the true thing. It's a dominant standard. But the issue is how to learn to use it. We've had college interns who supposedly knew about dynamic simulation, but couldn't do any true work with the tool. In fact, we've found that some efforts to teach MATLAB and Simulink in college create students less capable. Children without training did better, because the basics are is book is the bridge between a lot of domains.A million years ago, we did dynamic simulations with slide rules - there are people alive today who remember this. Then we found computers. First og computers and then FORTRAN ruled for a long time. There were amazing duels among prime contractors; my proprietary simulation is better than is book is a bridge between the children who never saw FORTRAN, but (without knowing it) use notation and methods with its roots in slide rules and og 's a bridge between the simple basics of MATLAB and the hard parts that confuse 's a bridge between vendors who wish to sell control devices into a lot of various dynamic control markets that all speak various languages but use 's a bridge between theory and , like MATLAB, this book is the true thing - a bridge that helps convert MATLAB from shelfware to a working simulation. This is the Bible of Dynamic Systems , full disclosure, Dr. Allen, one of the editors, is a key contributor in our company - we are thrilled for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    Book Was in very amazing shape, as promised. Very small notes and comments created by the previous user, as materiel is very well written but the topic matter is still hard. I am using it for a PhD. level class so I did expect the topic to be somehow harder than my previous classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    The fresh edition was kinda pricey, but this was a very amazing substitute for it! The theory is the same, and most of the practice issues are, too.

    0  


    Add your opinion on numerical simulation of power plants and firing systems or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    Book is so boring, but it came in amazing condition and I got to use it twice because I failed the class. More for your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    This book is a comprehensive one full of usefull and practical technical info and applications. Nice and amazing work and Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    I received the book I ordered 6 days after I ordered using regular shipping and the book condition was fresh as they said it was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simulation of Dynamic Systems with MATLAB and Simulink, Second Edition []  2020-11-21 19:30

    I just finished up taking a class from Dr. Klee on Continuous System Simulation using this book. There is definitely good, accessible info in here. A plus is that a lot of the issues are given in terms of physical systems, instead of just equations, which makes it much more interesting (ie: submarine depth control).The only thing I didn't like is the notation he uses is a small various from the standard, but it's nothing major and you obtain used to it fast (ie: step size is given as T instead of delta t). We did not obtain to finish the book in this class, but I will definitely finish reading it on my own. I will be applying a lot of the things I learned from this book next semester in a controls project.If you wish to obtain a lot of hands on experience with continuous time simulations, this is an perfect choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    I purchased this book for work as a reference for modeling car ride characteristics. I had some background in bond graph modeling techniques, but required a refresher. This book provides perfect background and step by step methods for obtaining bond graph models of mechanical and electrical systems. These models can be readily converted to systems of differential equations (state-space equations), which is what I required for my project. This book describes techniques for both linear and nonlinear systems, more clearly than other references I had looked at.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    Just what I required for school. I used it and did well in the class so i guess it did the job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simulation of Dynamic Systems with MATLAB and Simulink, Second Edition []  2020-11-21 19:30

    Item was on time and as advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    Amazing book to start to understand the concepts of bond graphs. Also has chapters on deriving state equations. This book is definitely a "readers book". Its more of a book you sit down, read, and think about the material. Not so much a book filled with example problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Dynamics: Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems []  2020-5-5 18:17

    This is great. It is a brand fresh book without any markers or notes on, which is definitely beyond my expectation under such cheap price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simulation of Dynamic Systems with MATLAB and Simulink, Second Edition []  2020-11-21 19:30

    Amazing book. Very well organized. Just one minor complaint I have: I do better when there's color and more examples than just a generic case. I'm certain I'm not the only one however. Other than that, it's a nice method to learn advanced Matlab and Simulink simulations and how strong both suites are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Systems Biology: Simulation of Dynamic Network States []  2020-6-23 18:51

    it is very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Systems Biology: Simulation of Dynamic Network States []  2020-6-23 18:51

    Amazing ncise and covers wide range of topicsIt also includes practical introduction for web-servers and other free softwares.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems: Modeling, Simulation, and Control []  2020-1-14 19:9

    Amazing author. Amazing book. Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physiological Control Systems: ysis, Simulation, and Estimation []  2020-1-20 0:4

    This is an extremely useful text. I have been using it in a course in Physiological Control Systems that I have taught for 15 years. The models that the author develops are very informative and lots of fun to play with. The author assumes a rudimentary knowledge of solution methods and for that reason it is not amazing at the freshman level. I have found that Matlab, VisSim, Math Studio and other platforms work quite well with this text.I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems Biology Modeling and Simulation []  2020-4-25 18:12

    verygood

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physiological Control Systems: ysis, Simulation, and Estimation []  2020-1-20 0:4

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems Biology Modeling and Simulation []  2020-4-25 18:12

    Your book has enriched the course on modeling and physiology that I teach to our juniors. Latest year we were able to cover the first 8 chapters in a semester plagued by ice-days and closings. The treatment is coherent and blends biology, engineering and mathematics in a sound way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems: Modeling, Simulation, and Control []  2020-1-14 19:9

    Best textbook for the first course on modeling ysis and control of dynamic systems

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems: Modeling, Simulation, and Control []  2020-1-14 19:9

    Worth the price. Very helpful to refresh my knowledge in this area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems: Modeling, Simulation, and Control []  2020-1-14 19:9

    Unbelievable book. Amazing examples and explanations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems Biology Modeling and Simulation []  2020-4-25 18:12

    I had this book for a mathematical physiology course for my PhD in Biomedical Engineering. I loved this book even though some of the questions at the end had some grammatical errors. The professor that taught this course was familiar with the author of the book and actually got be interested in this zone of research. I honestly want I went further with this stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physiological Control Systems: ysis, Simulation, and Estimation []  2020-1-20 0:4

    I have been using this text for a class in Physiological Control Systems, but have been largely disappointed. One of my disappointing experiences is on p. 170-1, where Khoo shows how to obtain an RLC model transfer function out of MATLAB's ss(). Since the MATLAB doentation on ss() is skimpy, this is a put where Khoo could have added value, illuminating what the A, B, C, and D matrices represent to ss(), but Khoo simply brushes past the opportunity. Khoo also discusses bifurcation in the logistic map, but if you look for 'logistic' in the index, you won't search it. Khoo mentions Fitzhugh-Nagumo and Hodgkin-Huxley within the context of his section on Bonhoeffer-van der Pol, but those four authors are not in the index (Bonhoeffer and van der Pol are). I admit to not having created a comprehensive study of the MATLAB examples, but I downloaded his code for sensitivity ysis (sensanl.m and two supporting .m files) mentioned in section 7.3.2, and consider the code to be poorly written. If I didn't have Dorf & Bi's "Modern Control Systems, 9th Edition" to fall back on, I would have been in dire straights getting anything beyond a cursory reading out of Khoo's text. In short, this book should command a price in the $50 to $60 range, not the stellar $110-120 its priced at. Dorf & Bi is priced about the same and delivers three times the value that Khoo does. Every chapter where I created an effort to obtain to the bottom of some discussion, I found Khoo's exposition wanting. The index is exasperatingly useless. There are only two entries under 'H', one under 'K', one under 'W', etc. That's alarming for a book with 307 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems: Modeling, Simulation, and Control []  2020-1-14 19:9

    Quite possibly the best written textbook I've ever had. Plenty of thoroughly explained examples. 4 stars because I want they had solutions to the end of chapter problems

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dynamic Systems: Modeling, Simulation, and Control []  2020-1-14 19:9

    I have worked through most of the chapters of this book and found it to be an perfect self teaching book. There are numerous, fully worked out examples that support the reader understand how both the modeling and simulation aspects come together. The book has a number of example issues that build on themselves throughout the chapters of the book as one goes from system modeling to system simulation, culminating in complete issue and solution by the end of the book. What this book does best is marry together concepts of modeling, ysis and control into worked out examples. The reader would probably obtain the most out of this book after having been exposed to college level physics and college level controls ere are roughly two parts of the book, ytical modeling and simulation. The first five chapters pertain to modeling of physical systems and how to setup the system dynamical equations. The remaining chapters are dedicated to simulation and ysis, including Simulink simulation, ytical solution and primary PI and PID control. The latest chapter presents fully worked out case studies which ties together the methods from the other chapters. There are issue sets at the end of the book, but no solutions / answers, which would have been nice to support readers measure their understanding.Overall, this book provides an perfect introduction to physical system modeling, simulation and ysis and is replete with worked examples, making the book ideal for self study. The lack of solutions / answers to end of chapter issues is unfortunate, but the number of examples presented in the text makeup for this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    Solid. A bit too focused on specific cases, rather than on how you extend Modelica to fresh problems: what to look for? how to abstract? and so on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    This book is somewhat "too simple to read" and doesn't cover any advanced material or questions.I still need to explore by myself what I could expect from Modelica and its available remains nevertheless a first-hand reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    For the fresh Modelica learner . . . take a hint from someone (me) that started out in the wrong learning mode. In short, I recommend do NOT begin with this book. Rather begin with the electronic self-teaching program accessible and free via the Modelica companion website. When you have most of that under your belt, then begin up the "Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Physical Systems with Modelica" hardcopy text. It will feel much more comfortable at that point, and should facilitate a boost in your learning curve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    Very introductory, but a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica  has been a timely read for me. I have been working with more and more modeling recently. I am definitely not a power user when it comes to Modelica, so I thought this tutorial would be a useful aid. My main objective was practical help, and this book delivered on that and more. It is concise but very E BASICSWhile I expected a hands-on tutorial to Modelica, I was delighted to search this book also provides a amazing foundational primer on modeling and simulation in general. From the basics of system definitions to modeling experimentation, the review of primary concepts is concise but comprehensive. The reasons for, methods how and risks inherent with simulation are all covered in thematical models are reviewed and contrasted versus each other, from dynamic models requiring differential equations to different kinds of static models. In addition to covering the relevance of modeling for product development, three example scenarios of system models are included to bring the basics of modeling to life. These contain a thermodynamic system (part of a gas turbine), a 3D mechanical system (an industrial robot) and a biochemical model (TCA cycle).PRACTICAL TOPICSThe primer on Modelica is also well done, starting with an introductory section that simplifies the product's equation based multi-domain model. Because the product uses an object oriented language and has a powerful software component model, those familiar with C++, core Java or related OO programming languages will have an advantage following along. But the introduction really breaks it down so that anybody could follow it, including those fresh to l kinds of constructs and common situations are covered, including the ability to call external functions. And the current Modelica standard library is reviewed at a high level before being broken down in more detail. While there are not a lot of primary libraries, specialized libraries are available for app locations spanning from thermodynamics to power systems. The begin nature of the product and community around it ensure that a lot of more libraries will be available as time goes e appendices contain a primary glossary. They also cover different concepts relevant for using OMNotebook and DrModelica, including textual and graphical NCLUSIONWhile this text is introductory, it covers so much that anybody who fully reads it and works through the examples will actually be able to use Modelica when they are done. That's method above expectations for an introductory book. I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    First off, we clarify what we mean by 5 stars: you should buy this book if you are at all interested in the modeling and simulation of technical systems.I'm coming from the perspective of someone who needs a replacement for Matlab for a very specific reason. My institution will not purchase a Matlab license for our clusters, and wants to commodify and centralize data storage and CPU time, rather than buy workstations for those of us who need it. Numpy/Scipy is one solution, and will perhaps need to be the solution, but Python is weird for someone raised on C/C++ and Matlab. Moreover, like Matlab, it is slow if used in the most convenient ways. Perhaps Modelica will prove to be the solution I'm dreaming itzson's book is compact, yet includes the essentials of getting started with Modelica. It is well written, simple to read, and sufficiently edited to the point of being free of typos and the like. The examples in the book are helpful, and the Mathematica-style OMNotebook (freely available and containing a guide DrModelica) allows for simple copying and pasting of the textbook examples into Modelica. This is particularly convenient and enhances the interactivity of the introductory text since concepts are introduced through the milar to matrices in Matlab, equations are the fundamental building blocks of Modelica. This is natural and convenient for modeling physical and other true globe systems. The equation object has been developed well for ordinary differential equations, but, as mentioned in the text, including partial differential equations remains work for the future. Unfortunately, this prevents Modelica from being an immediate solution for me.Another challenge is that in section 2.1, we are introduced to a number of Modelica environments. We are left with the impression that these environments are simple to use, and small direction in the method of their use is given, but they in fact require a learning curve of their own.We did not look into using the block diagram features of Modelica to be able to comment on them; our interests weigh heavily towards PDEs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    Modelica is an intriguing pack that aspires to create modelling simpler than doing this in better known, more established languages. The key difference is the emphasis on equations, as opposed to assignments which are typical of languages from Fortran to C to Java. It is a completely various approach, that uses a declarative style that can preferably begin from scratch, from the equations of physics or whatever equations you use to model your system. The book terms this acausal modelling.His examples of electrical diagrams have some of the flavour of Spice. Both the text based way used in Spice to define a circuit and the autogeneration of these from a circuit built in a GUI. The book explains that connectors are a vital idea, and the defining of these classes appears straightforward, as least as evidenced by the examples. It also turns out that Modelica offers a method to do graphical editing to create circuits out of predefined ers versed in object oriented languages like C++ and Java will see familiar usages in the book. Modelica has an inherent OO base aspect. You just have to obtain used to the equations mindset. Though the book implies that this may be a case of you having to remember when you were first taught these in school. That the traditional computer syntax you later learnt created you cast aside that earlier pedagogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    I can just recommend this book for Modelica newbees or can have a very amazing overview of the capabilities of the tool:Also the book doesn't just mention features but gives a lot of examples on when and how to use them working through examples from true physical systems.Of the used physical systems I can mention: DC motor, tank system, electrical system, bouncing ball etc, you can search simple and less simple examples. The examples are explained first in equations and then explains how to build them in e book starts with primary concepts in the first chapter which allows you to have the huge picture of the tool. After that you have more info in the following the end of the book you search exercices which support you to test out your knowledge and build the physical models youself and simulate them.If you would like to learn modelica without a teacher, I think that this book is a amazing reference for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    At just 200 pages, this book is far smaller than a typical introductory text for a general-purpose programming language like Java, C#, or Scala. This in spite of the fact that it has some extra ground to cover, notably its declarative mathematical aspect and its component model for structuring programs. As such it felt a bit compressed and dry, but it does in fact cover the basics admirably in that space. The examples are good, although the book doesn't keep your hand here -- if you don't have much background in electrical circuits then you probably aren't going to obtain much out of a couple of those particular examples. But there are some which have to do with bouncing balls and filling water tanks, and anyone who has taken a bit of math and physics ought to be able to understand rhaps the best feature of the book is section 2.20, "Implementation and Execution of Modelica," which does a amazing job of showing what really happens when a Modelica program is executed, allowing you to see how the declarative descriptions you give it are place to use.If you are actually going to create use of Modelica, you will no doubt spend a lot of time learning about the component libraries for your domain of interest. This book makes no attempt to support you there beyond providing a useful list of the libraries available and information about what they are for. Probably there was no method to really dive into the libraries without the effect being useless for most of the book's target audience, since readers will be interested in various libraries.I can't escape the feeling that if the book were somewhat longer I would have liked it better, but what is there is amazing stuff. It will give you the basics you need to go off and discover the library or two that addresses your domain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Modeling and Simulation of Technical and Physical Systems with Modelica []  2020-12-23 20:19

    I'm not really fond of this kind of book, unless I've a huge fan of the environment, usually books that tie into software or in this case a modeling software language are fairly boring. The language itself reminds you of C++ for syntax and the method a class object is place together. There is a difference pointed out in that you are constructing models not class objects, which is the goal of the language. The book does some detail on the method models are represented, and once done so how they are simulated. There is a huge library of models or components of model object available as a supplement to the begin source th is key here for most of the model construction. Equations are treated differently in that they are not the typical assignment as in C or another language, both sides can be full expressions and the model description allows that construct. The modeling and math constructs look beautiful interesting and efficient to an engineer like myself. I would have to discover the language itself to create a deeper judgment. As an object language, it includes inheritance, and other object traits like overloading, how complete it be, I don't know. This is one book, especially since the language itself is open-source, that cries out to have a CD with the language, and some sample models to play with. Since it doesn't, and at this time I don't wish to deal with chasing this language any further, I'll stop and rate this three star rating means that is how I view this book, as something that teaches, or describes, a programming language. I should be beautiful accurate, because I've read 100's of such books, mostly for the C or C++, or embedded C, or assembly language, and this doesn't rate with the best of them. It is however, far from the worst, so assuming there may only be a few books out there today on this specific subject, you may have few competing choices. Download the language environment, if you've not already, and are interested, then peruse the Zon, and see what they have. If this is just par for the course, then it may not be a poor start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handbook of Sinc Numerical Methods (Chapman & Hall/CRC Numerical ysis and Scientific Computing Series 12) []  2020-11-5 18:31

    The book covers the subject of numerical methods using ytic function theory based on the "sinc" function, or the Cardinal Series, developed by J.M Whittaker in the early twentieth century. Franck Stenger has used the classical Cardinal series for solving partial differential equation and integral equations, and a lot of other classical issues numerically. The contents of the book is special and elegantly e book arrived two weeks earlier than expected. and in excellent physical condition. It was not used and the price was minimal for books of this quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handbook of Sinc Numerical Methods (Chapman & Hall/CRC Numerical ysis and Scientific Computing Series 12) []  2020-11-5 18:31

    Really?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I teach computers to do math, so-- disclaimer-- I'm on the applied, not pure math side of NA. I came across this text while compiling a Body of Knowledge entry on Spectral, Fourier and Chebyshev methods for IEEE and the International Association of Bodies of Knowledge (The 9bok dot org people who certify math BoKs). The usual "track" for advanced undergrads is Calc up to PDE's, some linear algebra, a small computer arithmetic (and maybe some of my field, Computer Algebra), then on to Engineering or ong the way, most of us will touch Numerical ysis. There are two distinct sides to NA-- pure, as a method of defining formal proofs with "results" as much as methods, and applied-- solving problems, especially using algorithms, via close approximation, guessing, brute force, iteration, and other "cheats." The issue with a lot of of the classic NA texts is that "applied" usually means, you guessed it, physics and engineering. Today, however, NA is as much at home with digital artists, android game programmers creating physics engines, animators, Maya programmers, etc. as with physicists!You'd think with that going on, there would be some rocking texts that are also fun. Not the case. Sadly, most of the "better" (read understandable) texts in NA date back to the late 1980s, when there was no internet (there were 50 www services in 1992 when Clinton took office). In fact, this author's book on Iterative Linear methods dates back to 1987, and John Boyd's classic on Fourier Spectrals to is text changes a lot of that! The authors use a LOT more current examples you're likely to search in a lot of other fields, from protein folding to NASCAR. Who uses computers to "guess" at difficult PDE solutions other than astrophysicists? Test Neurologists modeling cognition as Dynamic Systems! Yes, the applications today are method beyond what they were in 1987, and we finally have an NA text that covers not only the basics, but MANY cutting edge areas-- like fractals-- that weren't even taken seriously back be fair, some of the examples just give a "taste" of the field, and were filled in by experts, but not really used in the text, and apparently not really understood by the authors. For example, Dan Goldman was tapped to give some fun examples of collision detection for Yoda in Star Wars, but if you look up Inverse Kinematics or Kinematics in the Index, there is no mention. Lorentz transforms and dynamic ysis are not really covered, and when their NA engines are mentioned (Newton's Method, for example), they are in the context of Julia sets and fractals, not Kinematics.If you haven't taken linear algebra and aren't very familiar with matrices, there is "some" review here, but not enough to create this text fun and painless. You really need to brush up on LA before tackling this. Look at it this way: you can think of a lot of NA techniques as you would visual primary behind Excel. Your computer is using a lot of "spreadsheet" type crunching, only of functions, to "guesstimate" things like zeros/roots, parameters, etc. So what are these "spreadsheets" called by mathematicians? Right, Linear Algebra (on roids). Back in ancient times (the 90's) NA was considered the playground of mathematicians, engineers and physicists. Today, android game programmers, animators, digital artists and even programmers like yours truly need to understand it to know what's going on underneath the calculations-- namely, crunching, right down to the stacks and registers.Another group that will like this text are the embedded circuit folks-- instead of nail biting about on or off chip memory limits, a lot of of the newer memory limit "work arounds" are in NA functions, algorithms and shortcuts. Sure, we'll eventually have to SOLVE the memory issues, but for now, the true globe IS about working around with "close enough" solutions. You won't search any of these applications in most NA texts-- the show work is a gem, and special in being up to date on a lot of NOW applications, including several beyond the traditional physics and engineering examples. Oh, and yes, you do learn ysis here too, including the proofs and pure math sides if your track is math. I'm not qualified to opine in that "pure proof" track, but if you're on the applied side of NA, and wish to go deeper, you'll love this text.History note for a few emailers: Thanks for reminding me that 1987 is "recent" compared to a lot of NA techniques that adapt Euler to algorithmic form-- by "recent" I also mean that these authors use examples like web surfing and Google's (secret sauce) ytics. I'm talking examples too, not just the fact --which I'll gladly grant-- that much of NA stands on the shoulders of giants going back to the 1700s. I challenge anyone to present me an NA text that is this relevant to today's applications, however! If you're a student, you also won't feel like you're being forced to study items that will have no relevance to your future. If you're a prof-- don't you wish to orient your students via examples that are being used right now? They WILL thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Speaking as an undergraduate, I simply hated this book. It was very confusing to read because the material would jump all over the place. I had to use notes that were uploaded by other schools to obtain through my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Amazing delivery, not simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I am an undergraduate student in Applied Mathematics who just used this text in a course on Numerical ysis in one of the latest courses I'm taking before moving on to grad school for Computer a previous reviewer noted, this text really goes out of its method to motivate the reader with a bit of a firehose approach to introducing all the various ways in which this material can be applied to computing problems, from graphics processing to machining to airfoil simulation to web search. This field of study may have been developed centuries ago largely by astrophysicists, but the app goes method beyond that with the widespread availability of computers and their ability to implement algorithms that involve too a lot of steps to complete by e complete chapter list is1) Mathematical Modeling2) Primary Operations with MATLAB3) Monte Carlo Methods4) Solution of a Single Nonlinear Equation in One Unknown5) Floating-Point Arithmetic6) Conditioning of Problems; Stability of Algorithms7) Direct Methods for Solving Linear Systems and Least Squares Problems8) Polynomial and Piecewise Polynomial Interpolation9) Numerical Differentiation and Richardson Extrapolation10) Numerical Integration11) Numerical Solution of the Initial Value Issue for Ordinary Differential Equations12) More Numerical Linear Algebra: Eigenvalues and Iterative Methods for Solving Linear Systems13) Numerical Solution of Two-Point Boundary Value Problems14) Numerical Solution of Partial Differential EquationsAppendices:A) Review of Linear AlgebraB) Taylor's Theorem in MultidimensionsFirst off, the prerequisites review is not going to support you unless you already learned linear algebra and calculus (at least up to power series) in detail in the past. If you're purchasing this for a university course, they should be enforcing prerequisites anyway. If you're purchasing this for self-study, be aware that it's not teaching you much math. Finding polynomial roots, solving linear systems, solving least squares problems, differentiation, integration, and solving differential equations should be something you already know how to do. This text is simply showing you how to do it with a computer when an ytic solution is either not available or otherwise too difficult. Additionally, you'll probably be a small lost without a background in probability in the Monte Carlo chapter, but that chapter really does not tie in with the rest of the text and can be easily omitted (we covered it, but the professor didn't expect much and was clear in stating this is a non-traditional subject for a text in numerical ysis).The upside of this text is that it is extremely readable. Derivations, theorems, and proofs are integrated with narrative and are given a clear explanation. It came across a bit dense at first, but as the error ysis for each algorithm relies upon the order of the remainder term in a Taylor series expansion, the proofs should eventually click given the similarity from one to the next. For the most part, the algorithms themselves are not very complicated. Figuring out how to code some of the solvers for linear systems took me a few hours, though I think that had more to do with learning specific language features than anything about the algorithm itself. The harder part is the error ysis, and you really need to slow down, write it all down and figure out what's event before you move on. There isn't much complexity ysis, and what small there is should not be challenging if you have any background in more general algorithmic ysis/discrete a fast note for students who are not using MATLAB, beware some of the specific low-level features of the language you're using. Undergrad math departments like to use computer algebra systems, and these are very nice for symbolic computation, but they often don't work the same. We used Maple in my course, and by default, Maple uses software floating-point numbers and performs much of the computation in memory, not in the processor ALU, and this changes the error ysis as software floats don't adhere to the IEEE double-precision standard the text discusses and are not limited by machine precision. You can obtain identical results to those in the text, with identical error ysis, but only if you explicitly tell the software to use hardware floating-point representations. You may need to dig into the doentation to figure out how to do wnsides: This may or may not be a downside depending upon what you're looking for, but this is very much a university textbook. It's teaching you how to think like a numerical yst. The code snippets are nice, but this is not a reference or a cookbook. Much of the code is fragments. You can copy and paste it straight into a MATLAB script and it won't run. You're not going to pick up this book and instantly learn how to do something. You're going to struggle to learn something. But you will learn. There's a fair amount (arguably too much) of MATLAB-specific discussion: for instance, how to use chebfun to search Chebyshev nodes when interpolating high-degree polynomials. You're on your own figuring out how to do this if you don't have MATLAB or some comparable numerical computing software. Note that Octave and Numpy have much of the same functionality and are free, so if you can't obtain student MATLAB, you can still follow te that there is also no solution manual available yet and no answers to any of the exercises. This may or may not create a difference to you. If you're in a course being taught by a professor, the professor will grade and provide feedback and respond homework questions. If you're purchasing this for self-study, be aware. It's really simple if you have MATLAB or Maple or know how to use Numpy to use built-in functions to check for the real solution of a linear system or a least squares issue and then see if your code worked by comparison. If you don't have those tools or don't know how to use them, however, the text itself will not support e bottom line is I would not recommend this for self-study unless you already have a math, cs, or engineering background and simply never covered numerical ysis. You need to have the prerequisite background, which is at least a full year of calculus and a full term of linear algebra. Ideally, you've had calc III and some background in programming and algorithmic complexity ysis, but these are not completely necessary. The coverage of each subject is brief and you will not search it difficult if you have the background. You're not going to obtain very deep into how to search eigenvalues of huge matrices. This book is simply the next step when you've already learned calculus and linear algebra to start considering the engineering issues faced when you implement techniques on a computer and now have to worry about conditioning and stability and floating-point arithmetic. It gives you the tools to understand the sources of error and to properly weigh trade-offs using rigorous quantification.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modeling and Simulation-Based Systems Engineering Handbook (Engineering Management 3) []  2019-12-24 19:58

    English is poor. Reads like a random list of buzzwords. In the first chapter they say that this tome will eventually evolve into a handbook as the practice matures over time.I didn’t buy a handbook to hope that some future volume would be a handbook. I bought this because it calls itself a handbook!This book is crap, buy anything else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Perfect book! It's full of very useful and practical information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Smooth, quick transaction. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    good, as advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Modeling of AAR []  2019-12-24 19:42

    This book is a general review of the AAR modelling state of the art. It's a necessary contribution to all interested in research or in the management of constructions presenting the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Amazing for the kid's

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Doesn't have a table of contents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, ysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    This book is fine as a Matlab (or GNU Octave) guide but for numerical ysis I'd like to see some fairly rigorous proofs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    People don't realize how much plants all arond us have medicinal properties that can support a lot of aliments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Amazing for beginners and non beginners, it has a small of everything so is amazing to have in hand to consult . It is clear and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Lots of amazing information in this book on herbs and healing. Nice for both first timers and intermediates. Thanks for sharing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    The book went over very amazing information. i would suggest for anyone who is looking into going more natural sources with food

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    I am enjoying using the info gleaned within the pages of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Very helpful on healing plants, could read it only for a short time then digest d book to have around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing Plants: An Introduction to the Healing Power of Plants []  2020-7-2 19:42

    amazing to know

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ultimate Aptitude Tests: Over 1000 Practice Questions for Abstract Visual, Numerical, Verbal, Physical, Spatial and Systems Tests (Ultimate Series) []  2019-12-24 19:24

    It did not prepare me for my test

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dance of We: The Mindful Use of Love and Power in Human Systems []  2020-6-22 18:54

    Tuesdays with Morrie is one of my favorite books. It lays out how a highly pre-occupied journalist, Mitch Ablom, gets back in touch with his a humanity through a series of conversations with his old mentor, Brandeis sociologist, Morrie Schwartz. Tag Horowitz is a amazing mate and colleague of mine; so, my comments here are admittedly and joyously biased. That said, he's written a sort of Tuesdays with Morrie for systems, a highly private acc of what it takes to humanize people and systems that is also very solid on organizational theory.I believe it was from Abraham Kaplan's The Conduct of Inquiry that I first learned that amazing theory is known for its parsimony. Interweaving his ysis with a lot of anecdotes from his practice and his private experience, Horowitz accomplishes a lot with a small throughout his Part I, Human Systems and Their Dysfunctions, Mark:• defines systems and systemic properties (wholeness, mutual influence and relationship, design/order/rules, emergence)• shows that they exert force and pressure on their members,• describes how these forces are manifested in the unseen and unnoticed power that systems have over people,• demonstrates that people in systems that routinely exert "power over" their inhabitants objectify/dehumanize themselves and others and can, therefore, do anything to those who are on the bottom and will act ruthlessly to create sure that they aren't among them,• discusses the role that blame plays in magnifying separation between people in dysfunctional, power over systemsIn Part I, using his lens as a psychologist and psychotherapist as well as systems yst, Tag does a masterful job of exploring the "personality" of systems. His love and concern for people and his sadness over the the pain they endure in dysfunctional systems is palpable and create it clear why Part II of the book, Reclaiming Love, Power and Self in Systems, is so necessary to him rk identifies four key principles practiced by life-affirming systems in which people dance together vigorously and harmoniously:• Honoring Life• Interconnectedness• Respect and Inherent Value• The Double Golden RuleHe begins with the importance of "disidentification", i.e., taking a step back from systems in which one is embedded in order see, yze and alter it. Drawing on Assagioli's psychosynthesis approach, Tag asserts that "disidentification" is a critical step in discovering both one's " essential self":Through careful introspection, one can start to experience oneself as a contentless 'center of awareness and power' which is capable of unifying and directing all the different aspects of the personality toward one's chosen goals or purposes [freeing the self] from different limiting identifications with aspects of its owing that we are all selves and not simply automatons conforming to different systemic roles, the first step in creating life-affirming systems is to honor and love all life in general and, perhaps, that of other human beings in particular. As some long ago rabbis once said, "When two people meet it is like two universes merging." When we express ourselves fully, we encourage others to do so as well; when a lot of of us are expressing ourselves, we are creating systems that help our right to do so with all of the positive consequences that integrity of action ing ourselves reveals our interconnectedness. When we see our relatedness, we are needed to live in ways that respect that truth. Systems of blame that oscillate between winners and losers are, ultimately, perpetuating dysfunctionality, distance and pain. Taking a stance of love toward others, even when we strongly disagree with them and oppose them, demonstrates our awareness of our actual interconnectedness, no matter how powerful and permanent the temporary sense of separation that we may feel because of our illustrate the sort of love he is recommending, Tag quotes Bill O'Brien, the deceased president of the Hanover Insurance Company, who did so much to help the development of organizational learning:By "love, " I mean a predisposition toward helping another person to become complete: to develop to their full potential. Love is an act of will...you do not have to like someone to love him or her. Love is an intentional disposition toward another person.But, to love in this way, one must also deeply love and respect one's self. One must be willing to express one's own power. The principle of respect and inherent value is the underpinning of this kind of love:You are a special human being with inherent value as an expression of Life and I am a special human being with inherent value as an expression of is is how power and love are integrated into The Dance of We, when we "do unto others as you would have others do unto you yourself as you would have others do unto you."Obviously, I think that this is a lovely book. I do have a some quibbles, two little and one e first little quibble is that I would really like Tag to be more specifically sociological in his discussion of cults. He says that he was part of one, and I believe him. And by induction from the upsetting experiences he describes, one can infer the elements of being a cult. What can I say?! I like tables and checklists and models that say, "If a group or organization has got 8 out of these 10 characteristics, you got a cult!" The "routinization of charismatic authority" is an element of cult life, for example. Mark's discussion of his cult didn't give us much of an indication of this feature in the PSI group he other little quibble is similar: Horowitz lays out features of dysfunctional and life-affirming systems but he doesn't pull them together into a systems map. How do the four principles of life affirming systems work together? Give us a graphic. Ditto for the features of dysfunctional systems. Where and how do life-affirming elements enter into and mollify the nature of dysfunctional systems? Some inquiring minds wish to larger quibble may be characterological. As I say, I know Tag well and I may be more pessimistic about human nature than he. I also think he may be a more genuinely kinder person than I.When I look at human history and behavior and that of primates and mammals more generally, I see a amazing deal of aggression. Beauty, love, artistry, intelligence, technological skill, courage...all the qualities so a lot of of us admire: yes, absolutely! But there is also wonderful viciousness that may be significantly hardwired into humanity. It's not systemic; it's endemic.If this is an accurate statement, to me it means that there can be an extremely lethal dynamic interaction between systemic anomie and the kind of ingrained violence of mind, body and spirit for which the 20th Century was well-known for and the 21st Century is already demonstrating. When that kind of hostility kicks in, liberals like me (and maybe like Mark) have got to be ready and willing to "gird our loins" for life and death power struggles, and I'm not sure if those sorts of encounters are in the playbook Tag has given us rk calls on us to take private responsibility for the condition of the systems in which we search ourselves, in which we are embedded and which we hope to affect. Given the nature of the commitment and the multiplicity of fronts presenting themselves in our ever-more complex global society, the challenge can feel overwhelming to me.I was moved by this book, that I have just touched its surface. It is an intimate experience in and of itself, and that is one of its most endearing qualities. Read this book and you are going to obtain to know Tag Horowitz, and you're probably going to like him. You are also going to learn a lot about systems and how to create them locations you wish to be. And, finally, you are going to learn a lot about the larger consequences of the integration of the self and the systems that would effect from doing so:As part of Life, each of us is an organ of perception that provides data to Life through our special perspective. The more we can truly see each other, and thereby see more of what's real in ourselves, each other and life, the more info Life has to use in order to grow and evolve. Some people refer to this as Life knowing itself...our feedback to the Biggest Whole.Michael Sales, Ed.D., co-author of Life Sustaining Organizations -- A Design Tutorial and co-chair of the Society for Organizational Learning of North America

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dance of We: The Mindful Use of Love and Power in Human Systems []  2020-6-22 18:54

    I am very thankful to have been introduced to Tag Horowitz's book, The Dance of We! It was a rich and thoughtful work on the dynamics of organizations and how individual and collective mindfulness coupled with an understanding of human systems can transform organizations from life-deadening to life-affirming work environments. As a leadership consultant and coach, I'm adding this book to my core reference library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dance of We: The Mindful Use of Love and Power in Human Systems []  2020-6-22 18:54

    You don't have to be paying much attention to message that systems all around us are in trouble. From families, to schools, to governments and even to our own private internal systems, struggles abound. Horowitz, however, offers us hope, Not only hypothetical, but practical and applicable...immediately. There are no promises of saving the world, but there are strong methods offered for living in ways that honor oneself and change systems. Optimists and pessimists, and all the rest of us in between, will be challenged to become more. More strong and more loving! Now that's an unbeatable combination. And the writing is wonderful: strong, humorous, evocative. This book has now become needed reading for classes that I teach in psychology! Wish to be a better person? Take a break from whatever systems enfold you and read "The Dance of We". We are all in this together. Let's dance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dance of We: The Mindful Use of Love and Power in Human Systems []  2020-6-22 18:54

    Amazing foot for thought about systems. Reading it now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dance of We: The Mindful Use of Love and Power in Human Systems []  2020-6-22 18:54

    In The Dance of We, Tag Horowitz brings our human systems into focus, and discerns how we thrive, and how we don't. The author considers the Life energy always at work in the larger world, and our interconnectedness. He broadens our definition of love and power. He shows how, through reflection and integration of our experiences and missteps, we mature and grow from our former selves. And most importantly, he shows us that by learning to strike the right balance between head and heart, we can operate from a less-stressed, more centered put - better effecting positive outcomes for ourselves and our eve Jobs, the late co-founder of Apple once said, "We're here to place a dent in the universe. Otherwise, why even be here?" Thanks, Tag Horowitz, for your lovely dent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dance of We: The Mindful Use of Love and Power in Human Systems []  2020-6-22 18:54

    Read this interesting, illuminating and challenging book. Interesting because of how much Tag threads his own life experience through the work; illuminating because he does a masterful job of making the necessary connections between love and power, and the nature of systems, and portaying those connections with well chosen examples; and challenging because as a mature adult I am still seeking opportunities to be more mindful and the book has given me much to think about. This is a book that deserves reading if you care about the life you're living and those with whom you live it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Systems of Systems Engineering: Principles and Applications []  2020-1-11 18:35

    I was satisfied to keep this book quickly. I required it for work. I was dissapointed that the book was waterlogged when I opened it. Seems as though it was sitting in the rain, and was not packaged in plastic. After several days of letting the book dry, I finally got to read through it. I suppose this was more the fault of nature, but other book sellers packaged their products in plastic, now I can see how very necessary that is. Thanks for the book...use plastic next time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    Needed for course. Got the kindle version, think the hardcopy might have been easier to read but the find function was useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    Got the same that i want

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    Amazing for Electrical engineering diploma and bsc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    I took a renewable energy class that used this book. There are amazing textbooks and poor ones and this one is the latter. Mr. Masters attempts to cover too a lot of subjects in one book and does a not good job at describing any of these subjects in enough detail to be useful. The first chapter starts out with a review of the economics of the power industry. Our instructor for this section was previously the CFO of a huge midwest utility and he cautioned us that some of the data represented in the book was wrong. He also mentioned that some of the calculations were questionable. So that was the first e second chapter attempts to review / teach primary electricity and magnetic circuits. This zone of study should not be relegated to a single chapter in a book. I am an EE/Physics major and I was confused as who this book is written for after reading this chapter. If you don't know circuits, I'm beautiful sure this overview is frustratingly brief. If you do know circuits you are left to wonder why this chapter is included in the the chapters progress more and more material is introduced in a related way. If you know physics great, otherwise you are introduced to a lot of complex concepts like valence electrons and pn junctions in 2 to 3 pages, e issues are the worst, Mr. Masters wants his readers to create huge leaps to be able to solve the given problems. He figures that the reader is at the point, after being briefly introduced to topics, can then create the assumptions of a seasoned electrical engineer / physicist / CFO / contractor to work through his problems. He also enjoys asking questions where the data is not in the troops described in the text so the reader must first convert the troops before starting the problem. It would seam that in the least, this book would test to present the reader how to convert what one is left to assume are industry standard troops for renewable energy from one form to another but this is always left to the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    It's not too poor of a read. It includes amazing mathematical examples. It covers more solar power than expected. Covers most renewables used today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pulsed Power Systems: Principles and Applications []  2020-7-23 18:39

    This text is a amazing ground-up review of pulsed power technology. The text starts with a unified survey (~40 pages) of dielectric breakdown (gas, liquid, solid) in chapter 2, and continues with a brief review of energy storage capacitors, Marx banks, primary inductive pulsers, and rotating machines in chapter 3. Next, the author covers quite a wide dozens of opening and closing switching technologies. The author continues with fundamental information on PFNs, MITLs, and brief information on pulse transformers and HV switchmode power supplies. There's a chapter on power and voltage adding, one on diagnostics, and one on typical huge pulsed power systems (e.g., Z and Hermes III). I enjoyed the subject of ulative pulse lines, which I'd never heard of before. I didn't search the final three chapters too useful, which are on commercial and industrial applications, but they may be of interest to is book is quite expensive, but it fills in a lot of practical gaps that P. W. Smith does not cover in his book Transient Electronics, e.g., breakdown, switching, and diagnostics. Smith does, however, cover the subject of pulse generation in greater detail. The info in this book is better organzied and better presented than in Pai and Zhang's Introduction to High Power Pulse Technology, although the latter is so cheap you might as well own a copy. The literature references at the end of the chapters are quite useful (e.g., G. A. Mesyats cites a lot of Russian literature in his book that is not easily available) but they are not any better than Smith'e disk included with the book contains a transmission line simulation code LEITER which I found a small hard to only qualm with this book is the price, really I'm not sure there is any justification for the high price except that it's a amazing book in a field that doesn't have a lot of (any?) amazing intro/survey texts. Obtain your company or your professor to purchase I copy. Overall, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    wildi's book is the most comprehensive and best articulated book on electric power systems that i've ever read! the EE programs in present-day universities are derelict in calling their programs 'electrical engineering'; there are very few colleges today interested in teaching electric power engineering & technology: instead, the EE programs have become software, applications development and computer networking degrees: it's a sham to call such programs 'EE'. i have an 'electric power' degree and worked for 30 years in 'power engineering': thirty years ago, the power industry started complaining that the colleges no longer produce ELECTRICAL engineers: present-day 'EE' graduates can't even define a power factor or describe the purpose of a short-circuit try for transformers, or distinguish between electric power and electric energy! wildi's book addresses all the above and just about everything you'll need to know to start a career in the electric power business. he provides fundamental physics, electric circuit theory, profound descriptions on everything from switchgear, lightning protection, the per unit system, transformers, substations, motor/generator theory, generation/transmission/distribution systems and on and on and on! THERE IS NO BETTER BOOK ON ELECTRIC POWER... PERIOD!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    Is a must have for the PE exam

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Control of Fuel Cell Power Systems: Principles, Modeling, ysis and Feedback Design (Advances in Industrial Control) []  2021-4-6 20:34

    A complete book that give to the reader the methodologyto model and understand the fuel cell dynamics and e companion software allows deep insight of the modelling and control problem, and the "what-if" ysis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    If you're an engineer or an engineering student, this book is worthless. The math is fleeting and not calculus based, there are very few examples, and it is overall not intended for engineers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    It explains much better what others don't

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    Used extensively for studying for the PE. The book is well written and very detailed. I want the table of contents was more detailed (i.e. I [email protected]#$%! included subsections and their respective page numbers) and I want the index was better. Other than that, it is a solid book on motors and some power electronics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    A very solid book for understanding the basics of power systems, including detailed chapters and examples dedicated to the early basics (Ohm's Law, voltage dividers, motors, inductance and capacitance equations) of circuit and E&M theory. The examples presented are simple, but real-world applicable, including some nice forays into the economics behind the different power systems.I am a grad student focusing on optics and photonics, so power systems are completely fresh for me. I can't claim to have finished the book yet, but so far it's been a very comprehensible tool and I have learned a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    Not all of the charts match the printed ver of this book! My professor assigned HW based off of the printed text, and when I went to do the issues some of the charts didn't match his. So I had to go into his office and take pictures of the correct charts. And i'm sure It was the exact same edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pulsed Power Systems: Principles and Applications []  2020-7-23 18:39

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    I am so conflicted! The book itself appears to be great. I am 20ish pages in and have already had "Ah ha!" moments where things are explained so amazing in a method I want had been taught to me years at being said, the copy I have seems to be misprinted. Pages are missing and out of order, but not in a nefarious way. Really looks like I just got a poor copy that is the printer's fault. I have contacted the seller about it but couldn't attach any pictures to my inquiry, so I am posting them here in hopes that they see them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    I purchased based on a tread I read online for use with the Electrical Power PE exam. I am extremely pleased. There are parts of motors and generators I havent' been able to obtain for years because no one really gave a amazing explaination. THIS IS GREAT! I knew more 2 hours in then I ever did. Not a condensed ver of information, but also doesn't droan on- amazing information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    A amazing book that was so helpful in my PE test

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    One of the better engineering texts books. Lots of worked out examples in the book. However like all engineering texts there are a lot of issues in each chapter that are not discussed in text at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renewable and Efficient Electric Power Systems []  2020-1-16 10:12

    Very thorough, technical textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pulsed Power Systems: Principles and Applications []  2020-7-23 18:39

    This scholarly work has a amazing balance of the essentials of pulsed power components and techniques versus applications and possible uses of this technology. 99 % of the material on pulsed power topics is only available in I.E.E.E. Journal and proceedings, with some s over into the internet as Phd. work. A lot of the technology had been locked in companies like Physics international, Maxwell Labs. Etc. that had to change their direction when the Berlin wall came down because there was no longer a need for high power flash X-ray machines to simulate nuclear weapons effects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    I purchased this for the PE exam and it goes far more in-depth than you need it. But the necessary info is there if you take the time to look for it. When taking the PE practice exam I was able to respond 1-2 questions because of this book, and another question or 2 this book created me more confused than I required to be for a easy problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    I like the method this book is written. Reads easier than other texts. Generally simple to digest with beautiful amazing [email protected]#$%! covered more power system items than it does because I like the author's style. But best form motors and generators.Power System ysis by Grainger and Stevenson is better for some things than this, but this is better for motors etc..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electrical Machines, Drives and Power Systems []  2021-1-10 20:51

    Amazing book that goes over the app and theory side by side with clear and concise explanation. Bought this for my PE exam preparation, this book helped immensely on re-building the fundamentals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Power for Beginners: The Ultimate Guide on Mastering the Basics, Designs, and Installations of Solar Power Systems []  2020-12-20 20:25

    I was looking for primary info about home solar systems and seriously thinking to contract for an installation. This book was not adequate to install your own system nor did it provide much info about contracting for an installation. There are a lot of typos and not good grammar. I felt at times a point would be created in one paragraph and contradicted in the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of [ safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    god of pranks []  2021-1-17 19:25

    try

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    list of canada online pharmacies zjqw [ canadian pharmacy czdz]  2020-10-17 6:50
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacies canadian overnight pharmacy canadian online pharmacy from canadian pharmacies brand online canada pharmacy canadian online pharmacy reviews pharmacy canadian-pharmacy-online scam online canadian pharmacies canada pharmacies online prescriptions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Volume 2 of 4 - Commercial Refrigeration: Includes Commercial Refrigeration Systems, Cold Storage, Ice Plants, Special Application, and Vehicle Refrigeration Units []  2020-12-19 20:24

    This book is a complete waste of cash and e title as well as the description of its' contents are EXTREMELY MISLEADING. This book does NOT cover "commercial refrigeration" as it exists today. The content of the book covers primary domestic (home use) refrigerators and a few primary beverage coolers and such, but the technology it discusses is from the 1980's and earlier. The copyright is 2015, but the material is so outdated it's almost useless to anyone working in the refrigeration or hvac field an example, one section of this book discusses flushing a system after a compressor burnout- stating that R11 refrigerant is the choice of solvent to use for flushing because of its cleaning power and also because it is "inexpensive and readily available." That's amazing to know! I'm going to rush right down to the ole Freon Shop tomorrow and buy a few hundred pounds of it and obtain to flushing!I wonder if the publishers of this material realize what it is they are trying to sell?Silly me- I should have read the sample more thoroughly, but I got in a hurry trying to build up a little collection of reference tutorials for some of my trainees. Totally my fault for purchasing this without a more careful review of the "look inside" sample... but it's probably better for you (a potential buyer of this worthless material) to learn from my mistake rather than your is book should be sold as a collectors item, not as a technical reference or tutorial of any kind for equipment in the field today.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386