Read object oriented programming in swift reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all object oriented programming in swift reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    Allow me begin off by saying that I have a degree in fine art and NOT computer science or anything else that's similar to computers.With that out of the way, I can honestly say that the author of this book is methodical, concise, and complete in his descriptions. If you're looking for a picture book with drawings and diagrams you may wish to look somewhere else.I will say that I approached this book with an absolute primary understanding of the concept of a variable, a string and that was about it. I had tried to read/surf the net about functions, classes, and loops but never really found a definitive source that could explain the concepts for my "art" brain to digest. This book has answered the call. I'm sure you've read related statements but I'll say it again, don't expect to learn a programming language after reading a couple of pages and copying some code. I'm starting chapter 3 after having the book for approx. 1 week and I have a solid understanding of variable types, cout, cin, how to perform primary arithmetic in C++, calling functions, and parameters just to name a few. For a person with a creative and not-so-computer tech mindset, this is a major e pacing is nice if you're willing to read the material, review, and actually do the exercises at the end of the chapters. Overall, I'm satisfied with this purchase and confidently learning C++ thanks to this book.If I have just one criticism I would say that I want there were answers for every exercise question. I understand the reasoning for not having answers to all of the exercise problems(the amount of pages it would take to make the answers would be insane). Still, there is an respond key for the review questions and some of the exercises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    I took several C++ Program In Computing courses while in college, and I must say, this book did a unbelievable job of turning the what was then "clear as mud" concepts to something I could nce those courses, I've learned C and a few other languages, but this book does a unbelievable job of introducing OO concepts to a programmer, or a beginner who was otherwise doing procedural programs, or was just starting fresh. Lafore goes over the benefits of OO, and slowly builds on top of concepts throughout the book until you obtain a amazing overall understanding of the theory and the o things I didn't like about the book:1. There was very small discussion about doing things the "right way". By this, I mean, Lafore didn't really mention how certain methods of writing programs were less efficient than others. It looks like he was using the best practices in the book, so maybe that would have been overkill, but going a bit more in depth about why to do certain things certain ways would have been nice. While this is a beginner book, it certainly doesn't damage to have sidenotes of this nature for those interested.2. While the majority of the code in this book was portable to most platforms, it's still assumed that you're going to be on a Windows plaform, and Lafore uses several Windows-only graphics libraries to illustrate some points. Being a UNIX guy, I would have preferred that he stick to a platform neutral explanation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    Robert Lafore is the best C++ teacher ever. I Have used his books since 1993, and would be at a loss without them. I read the chapter then copy his examples and work with them until I obtain them to run successfully. Finally working the exercises at the end of each chapter puts the iceing on the cake. I have tried other authors, but they don't come near presenting the material as clearly as Robert.

    0  


    Add your opinion on object oriented programming in swift or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    helped through my dark days in programming still in amazing shape even though used

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    The writing is thorough and simple to read. The book has helped iron out the wrinkles in my patchwork C++ knowledge. However, the book is written with frequent examples of code to illustrate the points being made. These code sections are very difficult to read because the lines wrap around due to the book page being wider than the Kindle screen. Computer code, of all things, has to be very precise, and the unfortunate formatting harms the readability and prevents the reader from being able to develop a feel for what amazing code should look like. Still, the book has been helpful in spite of the examples, and I would recommend - Setting the Kindle to display horizontally and shrinking the font will beautiful much eliminate the wrapping problems. This is a amazing solution if you can tolerate reading the rest of the text in this mode as well. Changing the settings for every example would be tedious at best because the examples are so frequent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    I bought this book long time ago when I was a student, but had not read it seriously. However, I started to read this book a month ago because of my job duty. Then I found that this book is perfect in helping readears understand essenctial conepts and principles which are needed for C++ programming. The reasons why I am thinking like that are as below. This book explains 'why' as well as 'how', describing what's event inside of system or C++ compiler. Each chapter starts off with some possible real-programming problems that we may face, then moves to fundamental and essential concepts, which create me think about some applications of the contents. Example codes which are shown in this book are very simple and clear, but very helpful for understanding concepts and principles which are very essential.I strongly recommend you to read this book to be an expert in C++ programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    If I had read this book years ago, I'd have dropped everything to go for a career in programming/software engineering. A lot of thanks to the author for sharing his gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    Had to buy this book for a programming class. Still useful today since i forgot a lot of things. AWesome book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    A C++ Programmers "Bible", at least for one that's in college.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object-Oriented Programming in C++ (4th Edition) []  2020-10-7 18:56

    Good, but has typos and mistakes in code samples, sometimes you'll see things like char * str = fresh char[length + 1]; but then author does delete str; instead of delete [] str; so watch out for those things and read everything carefully! Other than that it's a really amazing book, if you read this book to the end, I strongly suggest you read Scott Meyers' Effective C++ series (Effective C++, More Effective C++, Effective STL), I personally ordered those 3, and also The Boost C++ Libraries: Generic Programming by Sergei Nakariakov and C++ Templates: The Complete Tutorial by David Vandevoorde after I read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    As a seasoned programmer in other languages with decades of experience, this book was an perfect choice in transitioning to C#. It filled in the gaps in OOP theory, C# syntax, and C# programming styles with practical examples and exercises to re-enforce concepts. If your transitioning to C# from another language - even VBA, consider this book as a must have in your programming library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Yep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Amazing book, but a bit hard to follow along. Nothing wrong with it, just wished it was indexed and wrote a bit easier for some audiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Perfect book! It's full of very useful and practical information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    A very amazing clear concise book on the subject. I would definitely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    (I have a lot of years of C# experience and skimmed this book to see if it would be amazing for someone fresh in my team, and as a refresher.)This book gives an ok introduction to C#, but it is somewhat shallow and leaves a lot of items unsaid. I would have chop down on some of the excercises and filled up with more details, but that is my preference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning C# Object-Oriented Programming (Expert's Voice in .NET) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Just finished this book. As an experienced object-oriented programmer in another language, I was looking for something that would obtain me jump started in C#. I found this book to be a rather short on actual C# syntax exploration and explanation. It began with UML modeling, a lot of theory, and eventually a grand exercise in beit, about half method through the book, I was able to figure out the syntax pieces I was looking for but it just seemed to be a bit outside the realm of what other "Beginning" books I have read were. Nonetheless, it was well written and would suffice as a amazing starter book for someone looking to obtain started in C# rather quickly without needing or wanting to know the "why" in addition to the "how."In all fairness, I did take away several bits of useful material from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    This is a true mega-work on advanced subjects and implementations in Python. A only reservation is one I have about all his books, that language gets very contorted and unclear in the middle of things that need elucidation. Sometimes I'm unsure I've read something more than gibberish. Often he could explain things in a far simpler way. His drive to appease various computer-language religions and Python versions generates a lot of clutter in the learning process. He also doesn't bother the explain easy things that people will need if they are to use Python, such as how to obtain something as easy as the time and date, or how to use the pickle/shelve processes, which are really foundational and deserve some clarity and exposition. Drive-by explanations for basics are not useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    Have and use this book only if you've become or are very proficient at Python. Not a beginners book. This may be a 2nd or 3rd book one moves on after getting a very amazing baseline on how python works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    I read the first book, learning Python, and contrary to a lot of people's negative comments, I believe that if you take the time and work through his scripting rather than simply read it, you will have a very amazing grasp on the fundamentals of ever, I am currently on p.125 of this book, and so far it is an exercise of reading a small about some functionality in Python, and then reading his script that never in a millions years would I have come up with on my own. To this point, there has been no exercises. I simply copy his code, run them, and hope that I obtain the same results (I say hope, because I have a Mac and he uses a Windows computer. See p. 120 for a specific example where he writes code specifically for windows). Anyway, I don't feel like I am "Programming Python."Personally, I can obtain past his continual references to what is going to be covered in later chapters, because I have learned to breeze by those sections. However, I don't personally learn well from simply copying someone's code and then moving on. I will see how this pans out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    If you've read beginner-level books and have a decent grasp of the Python basics, this is probably the next book that you're looking for. I spent hours trying to search a decent text to figure out things like tkinter (most of the web resources are outdated), which is really how I came across this title in the first place, but it covers a lot of the other "in-between" topic matter as well. The author does well with comments and explanations. Kindle formatting has been simple to read and follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    Large book - could be used for Python reference

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    Amazing book, it's for intermediate to advanced users. I can't place it down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    Over 400 pages on classes. Very good! I bought Learning Python, Programming Python, and the Python reference by this author. Haven't really used the reference yet but he recommends one and so I got it to complete the trio.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    very detailed, amazing reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    Once you have complete Crash Course or some other intro book, this is almost needed reading to really learn Python

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming []  2020-6-22 19:52

    Wow, does the author waffle on! Could have chop out two thirds of the book and created it 500 pages full of fast, concise facts. The info is there, but reading through the waffle to obtain there place me off from ever going back to this weighty doorstop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visual Object-Oriented Programming Using Delphi With CD-ROM (SIGS: Advances in Object Technology) []  2020-11-18 19:54

    I tried to buy this book a while ago. It went out of print or I couldn't obtain it. It has been a while since I've seen a Delphi Book by Mr. Weiner. I'm shocked that it's here. Mr. Weiner is a perfect writer of computer books. He always covers a computer language in amazing detail. I was impress with seeing his coverage of Delphi before the book went out of print. Then I bought his Eiffel Book and was blown away. So I know this book is going to leave a mark. Warning! This book may be a hazard to your social life. I wish it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    While reading the book, a lot of times I hear myself saying, "didn't he say that a few times already, or was that about something different?" In general, the author does a amazing job teaching me Python. But I found I had to drink a lot of coffee to plow through. What I found most frustrating is that once I am done with my read through, then I wish to use the book as a reference. And the book is both wordy and does not have as extensive an index as something like Stroustrup's "The C++ Programming Language." So I have to believe there could be a much better reference, but I don't wish to fill up my bookshelf with additional books. I tried to save a few bucks by getting one less than the recent edition -- perhaps he has done better in that. I don't know why he cannot have a "Learning" book that is on the order of 300 to 400 pages, like Learning Perl. Anyway, I probably thought a longer book will support me more, so it was a selling point -- so you see, people who think like me are catered to by ending up with a book that is too long so that the author will not lose sales to someone else! I created my choice and now it is the reference book I am stuck with: the facts are there, but I have to use my internal Google to search them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    BACKGROUND:Although I felt quite comfortable using Python; I had purchased this book in hopes of getting a more thorough walkthrough of the language itself.I'm very happy to say that I got a lot more than I asked for.WHAT IT'S GOT:This book is extremely comprehensive, and reading it from end-to-end is probably the best head-start anyone could obtain when it comes to learning e contents goes very in-depth on everything from very specific string formatting codes to the more advanced concepts such as contexts and metaclasses. Everything is presented so smoothly though, that the read feels very light despite the enormous volume of topic matter.WHAT IT LACKS:The only mention I would have is that the book does NOT include any theory regarding architecture and design of systems, and NO references to anything beyond the language and frequently-used standard library modules. The book is more about the language itself than what or how you can/should do with NCLUSIONS:I wholeheartedly recommend this book to everyone wanting to learn the ins-and-outs of the Python language, with the mention that the content is plenty so a full readthrough would take a month or two depending on how much spare time you 's also really useful for re-reading chapters you might feel you have forgotten if you wish a gentler read that what the Python manuals have to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    Wow. What can I say? This book is massive. It's huge. There's a reason its so big. Tag Lutz created a clear, simple to understand, comprehensive look at Python. The examples are clean, easy, and well thought out to demonstrate and teach how to program in Python. After reading the first few chapters and bouncing around the book as a reference, I started using Python at work for System Administration tasks. It's great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I am an experienced Perl programmer and I am quite familiar with the primary tenets of programming. I decided recently it was time to learn Python and so I purchased this book due to the overall positive reviews. I knew the book was kind of huge (over 1500+ pages) but this didn't bother me. I figured it was probably full of amazing examples and covered more advanced subjects in detail. Not so. This book is exceedingly verbose, unfulfilling and essentially empty. The examples are scattered and never quite stitched together to give you a sense of actual programming in Python. For example, I learned Perl with the book "Learning Perl in 24 hrs". This book gave ample page long examples of actual programs that were numbered by line. The next page or two would then have explanations for each line of code -- mostly a review of what you have already learned but also introducing fresh concepts. This book would be served well by such so, I was interested in regular expression/pattern matching in Python. Despite the hundreds of pages waisted in this book the author dedicates only half a page to the 're' module claiming it's "an advanced tool outside this book's scope." What!!! Further, the section on loops is also poorly organized and filled with fluff. I could go on but i think my frustration is evident. Read the other reviews and you will see a trend. Avoid this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    Takes too a lot of pages to explain even the most simpliest things. This book could be shortened to 500-600 pages without losing anything important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I know a 1600 page book seems almost crazy but, before you begin looking elsewhere (as I did) for something shorter, allow me test to explain why this 1600 page book may actually end up saving you a lot of time and making you a better Python programmer in the rst of all, I've read a lot of of the other well reviewed, up-to-date, Python books (yes, all of them were shorter), and being fresh to Python, I ended up spending most of my time searching online trying to fill in the gaps that the other authors failed to fill in. With this book you don't need to reference anything else because the author does a amazing job of answering every question. You can tell he's dedicated his life to teaching Python and knows what issues his readers will run into.While this books is long, it doesn't feel long. It's not just page after page of code samples. Each concept comes with a few code samples and is followed up by very well-written, clear explanations so it's actually a fairly fast read (for a 1600 page book). Does he repeat himself as other reviewers have noted? Yes, but it feels like when he does it's purposeful.Even though you often hear that Python is simple to learn, it's an incredibly deep language that requires time and effort. I believe that by having read this book that I'm starting out far ahead of other fresh Python programmers, I appreciate the language even more and I'm very comfortable even with Python's advanced topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    The book "could" be for beginners, but it reads like it's targeting late-beginner/early-intermediate Python devs. I fit in that category. While it's occasionally nice to have a book this large, O'Reilly provides access to the online ver which is constantly updated. I search this one to be more portable (obviously) and up-to-date. High marks on this as a Python reference, history lesson and architecture guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    Learning Python 3rd edition.I bought this book in 2009 because I had been using python at work and still do, every day.I have two various versions of another python book, "Python, Essential Reference", and frequently turn to them when I forget, for example, how one of the string functions work, or when I wish to know the info of a way in the os or th ose books are excellent for that purpose, but you could use a web resource just as is book is different, as it teaches about the python language, and it absolutely excels in that task.I would recommend it for any level: beginner, intermediate, or advanced.Oh how I want that I dove into this book earlier, when I first bought it.I consider myself an expert in the language, and so thought I did not really need it.What I found out when I spent some time with it, is that the author is not only an expert in python, but also an expert in teaching it.I ended up understanding some things much better and more thoroughly that I had before, and learned lots of fresh things along the e author explains an aspect of the language and then gives examples that are simple to understand and solidifies the at pattern repeats throughout the e book is structured in a method that lets you jump around if you wish.But after I did this for a while, I went back and took the time to read it from the beginning.I did not regret spending the additional time doing this.I ended up marking some locations in the book with post-it markers for later is book has to rank near the top of my technical book collection.I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I am fresh to Python, but my company uses it in a lot of of our products. Since I provide help for those products, I feel compelled to learn Python thoroughly, even though my help role does not require any programming expertise. This 1400+ page book is really everything one can ask for if the goal is to really "learn" Python.I have taken a programming course or two without gaining an understanding of what the next steps would be to become a programmer or developer in that language. With this book, Mr. Lutz explains exactly what I will learn if I fully commit to reading and understanding this book. I am glad that I read the preface as well as the first chapter before deciding whether or not to commit to reading the whole, darned thing. The reward for doing that is to achieve an understanding of what it will really mean to learn Python; what exercises I will need to complete, and what other steps I should take on my journey to fully understand how to program in Lutz' writing style is clear, insightful and methodical without being tedious. I cannot say I am excited to read 1400+ pages. But I am looking forward to trusting this author as I journey towards becoming a Python programmer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I've been working with python for a couple years, and this book goes through the info in an orderly fashion. Really fills in the gaps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Im a huge fan of Alvin Alexander's blogposts where he illustrates how to do primary tasks in scala and are some of the first to appear in most find enginers. I purchased the book both out of solidarity and help for his work as well as a general curiosity for what the book would offer. I was not disappointing. The book presents common tasks and illustrates how to do them properly in scala often times using functional programming. Unlike the classic Odersky book, this book has more to offer as it really focuses on solving issues that a developer can face on an daily is is by far my favorite book for properly learning what Scala has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Amazing book for those entering the scala world! Learning through use cases is a amazing method to obtain your feet wet. Alvin touches a ton of broad locations in the language without going too deep into design decisions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    I am an expert software developer in C/C++/Python/PHP, but not in Scala. I purchased this book to improve my Scala skills. This book is one of those books that I just love to read and reference. Very amazing writing style, concise and clear. Large number of well explained examples. If you are learning Scala place this book on your ping list. This book is a amazing learning tool and reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    I chose the highest rating for the following reasons:(a) the content fully justifies the title (cookbook recipes): all recipes there are illustrated with lucid and relevant pieces of code.(b) the content exceeds expectations: not only you can search numerous practical recipes; they are also augmented by discussion, which attempts to pour light on why the code is written the method it is, and this discussion is almost always helpful, sometimes even beautiful deep as for the book that is supposed to provide... well - can't use the book to start studying Scala - you have to be introduced to the language by some systematic approach first. But, if you already read about Scala just a little, and used it just a little, then it is a very useful reference book and also text enriching your horizons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    This is a amazing book for when you know a small bit Scala already, but you're looking for some best practices and practical solutions when building an e book is more of a reference manual than a reading book. It consists of a huge number of practical issues and their solutions. But what I liked is that for every subject there is not only a solution, but also a paragraph called 'discussion' which goes a small deeper into the could wonder why one would need such a book if you could just Google your question and search the answers on the Internet. But the problem with that approach is that, in particular for Scala, for each issue there are a lot of possible ways to solve it. And some of them might not be amazing practice, might be deprecated or just plain is book gives solid answers, teaches about best practices and tries to tell you where to apply to solution and where not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Really awesome book, my favorite Scala book thus far. Although I'm tempted to give this book 1 star because Alvin Alexander (the author) has 95% of this book available online for free at scalacookbook dot com. So I don't see the value in buying this book at all. I intend on returning it. However this is a review of the book itself, so leave it at 5 stars. A lot of other books are dense and poorly constructed with overly complicated examples. This book so practical, concise, and uses examples that are more complicated than necessary

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    "If fresh programmers have time to learn only one language this year, it should be Scala." That's a quote from a top MIT engineer and professor and Google employee, from a conference I attended on "Most likely successors to JAVA." Say what? I'm a roboticist and engineer, and to look absolutely idiotic, I'd never even HEARD of Scala until that moment!But I HAD heard of LISP, Haskell, C#, Java and my beloved Python. Small did I realize before the conference (3 years ago) that Scala actually COMBINES the best of all those, runs on the Java JVM, uses tools like Ant seamlessly, and has non-glue access to ALL the Java libraries.But that's just the beginning. Scala is niether purely functional nor purely imperative, is static typed, yet works wonderfully in my true time robotics applications. Unlike even C#, allow alone Java, you can do "quick" object compile commands without statics or class declarations, just like a script! You can access the JVM compiler, or .net. or scala's own interpreter, depending on your need. WOW. Scala has the functional bennies of pattern matching, macros, currying, tail recursion, immutability, algebraic types, lazy evaluation, pattern matching and a lot of more; fixes the non unified type and type erasure as well as checked exceptions issues in Java (and a lot of others); Scala has a unified type system (like C#) unlike Java, even though it is Java seamless!So what do all these unbelievable things have to do with this gem of a book? Easy: what amazing is a book if it just rehashes the Java features and misses the special wonders of Scala? THIS TEXT DELIVERS! By that I mean it gives examples of ALL the differences, in English and code, that create this language a champion among over 700 pages, you can frame this awesome book as a learning text, a reference, a cookbook, an encyclopedia, and for sure a valued mate for the library of every Java and C# jock. Because of parallel, concurrency and run time features (dear to the heart of roboticists, circuit folks like me), I believe that this text gives strong evidence that Scala could not only be the next Java, but next C in circuits, Erlang in parallel (Early Scala used the Actor model, but that is being phased out for AKKA in the next few releases), and Lisp in functional!You don't need to know Scala to benefit from this book, and in fact you CAN LEARN Scala just as well with this book as any of the intro Scala texts, and save yourself a ton of cash and duplication, BUT like those a lot of fine intro texts, you still have to understand primary OOP/ functional or both (in other words use it to learn your soon to be favorite language, but not to learn primary programming). In other words, if classes, functions, types, recursion, objects etc. still confuse you, this isn't the put to start. Another cool thing about both this text and Scala is that they obtain rid of the very silly "never use go to" that was supposedly the hallmark of imperative, and chop through all that baloney (can you say jump statements?) with very clear and easy switch and other alternatives. Both day to day coders like myself will love this cookbook, as well as "purists" who look down their noses at Java itself due to Prolog or Lisp. THIS TEXT AND THIS LANGUAGE truly blend all the best features of both worlds!Highly recommended for coders of all skills, even advanced pros, and of course oddballs like me who are more into circuits, embedded and run - true time monsters, robotics, etc. If you're just getting out of High School and are considering which language to obtain started with, I'm not trashing Java (and still LOVE Lisp and Python), but I've got to say I want I'd read this text when making those decisions! Due to being an O'reilly tome, the code also is relatively bulletproof and most of the snippets I tried ran flawlessly, but out of nearly 1,000 yummy pieces of this pie, I've only tried about 100, so take it in that context. Most authors (including this text) don't consider Scala a amazing language to use to "learn primary programming" -- but also concede that since Twitter, Netflix and LinkedIn run on it (among a lot of others) it IS worth eventually BOTICIST/ INVENTOR EMAILER ANSWER: YES, I do think this also could be a C or C++ successor, including in embedded. Surely not as a "spice" circuit compiler, but more for very large, data intensive applications just as when you move from Arduino schemes to Linux as you evolve. If I were Apple, I'd be eyeing it in lieu of C++ right now. I mean, think about it, both .net and JVM are used in embedded bricks today. One of our most complex, 60 degrees of freedom pick and package machines contains the JVM. There are Haskell and Scheme solutions that would create the Java used MUCH better, and Scala allows that "big data," parallel combination to happen ON the JVM, while adding the wonderfully robust Matlab/simulink like libraries of functional CAS approaches, and soon, uly next decade's language in my opinion, granted after only using it for a few years (remember, fully stable versions are still coming out as this review is being written! If you're a patent type or circuit/ software developer, N.B.). If you also think the relatively fresh Oracle/Sun thing might mean bye bye Java innovation... well, here's a put to turn! We obtain a lot of requests to review books, and there seems to be a fresh Scala book coming out every month, so if that's any indication, here's a language that looks like a clear frontrunner for the Java brary Picks reviews only for the benefit of Amazon pers and has nothing to do with Amazon, the authors, manufacturers or publishers of the stuff we review. We always buy the stuff we review for the sake of objectivity, and although we find for gems, are not shy about trashing an item if it's a waste of time or cash for Amazon pers. If the reviewer identifies herself, her job or her field, it is only as a point of reference to support you gauge the background and any biases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Although the author has powerful consulting background the view on the bookis more on the object-oriented programming side rather than the functionalprogramming side. If you are looking for functional programming recipes withgood argumentation, this book is not the method to go ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Of the several Scala books I own, this one is the clear winner. Mr. Alexander's presentation is very clear throughout. Every recipe is thorough, not only in its explanation, but also in its fine details. In following any recipe, one never has to ask either, "hmm, what's missing here, because it won't work as advertised," nor, "why did I have to do that; it isn't clear?" What's truly impressive is the breadth of coverage. Wish to use Akka? No problem: Mr. Alexander has the best doentation of that widely-used and justly-popular framework. Wish to use JSON? Covered. Wish to build a Web service? Multiple recipes covering multiple alternate frameworks with the pros and cons of each one. O'Reilly is killing it lately, and this book exemplifies the quality of its library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    While ultimately you learn from doing; this book gives you dozens of clear applicable examples, allowing you to begin picking apart issues and solving for them individually.I would love to see him included examples in the future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Access Patterns: Database Interactions in Object-Oriented Applications []  2020-1-8 19:44

    The book presented 25 patterns grouped in 5 areas, decoupling (conceptual and architectural level), resource, input/output, cache and e most interesting patterns are in resource and cache. Decoupling and concurrency patterns (e.g., data accessor, active domain object, layers, transactions, optimistic/pessimistic lock etc.) are well known and the contents are a bit too light to be very useful, yet the concepts are giving readers some resource patterns, some interesting patterns are presented, particularly resource timer automatically releases inactive resource, retryer enables fault-tolerance for data access cache patterns, cache collector purges entries whose presence in the cache no longer provides any performance benefits; cache replicator replicates operations across multiple ere are some locations to be improved, first, author should consolidate pattern names with other pattern authors, e.g., data accessor is also known as data access object, active domain object is related to active record, paging iterator is close to value list handler (though value list handler is more decoupled from underlying data store), the point is, one of the necessary benefits and purposes for doenting patterns is to build common vocabularies among designers, using various names for same or related patterns is defeating this purpose. The same pattern name should be used and may be presented as a variation of the original condly, the examples given in the book is a bit too simple, sometimes, the examples might not justify or validate the interface abstraction is generic enough to handle true globe problems, so some tweaking and modification to the pattern would be expected.Overall, the book is well organized, and contents are simple to follow, most patterns come with class diagrams and sequence diagrams. Amazing for designers who wish to decouple data access from rest of the application, utilize cache to minimize data access and thus boost app performance, manage resources in an efficient and leaking-proof way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Access Patterns: Database Interactions in Object-Oriented Applications []  2020-1-8 19:44

    Having read GoF's "Design Patterns" and "Design Patterns Smalltalk Companion" in the series, I grabbed this book as soon as I see it in store. But this book leaves a lot to be ere seems to be the issue of having patterns just for the sake of having r example, why do you wish to create queries and database updates into factories? Looking at the sample code, does it really support decoupling?To reviewer zhanggoo> The primary idea of "design to interface instead of concrete implementation" of course is always correct. I actually took the time and tried out the sample code of "input and output patterns" and got those working. However, you must realize that these patterns need a lot of re-thinking, redesign and refactoring once it's outside the realm of toy examples - How to handle domain object or selection criteria based on multiple-table-join (very common)? How to handle database generated identity? What if there needs to have a couple of selection factories for one domain object? Not to mention these patterns are all based on SQL string manipulations, static typing of the parameters all come you can only obtain the first page from the "Paging Iterator"? Besides giving tips to JDBC, the pattern gives no control over the rows actually returned from the e "Cache Patterns" does not solve the issue of preventing stale entry or even attempt to describe how to invalidate cache entry, so no matter how efficient you get, the cache is not guaranteed to be up-to-date / reviewer zhanggoo> The author only talked about cache expiration - purge cache entry to enhance performance, but not invalidation (to prevent cache from getting inconsistent). Experienced database developer knows that query tuning is the first thing to look at to improve performance, one should take advantage of db server cache and application server cache as much as possible, as a latest resort when you really need to roll your own cache, you need to create sure you obtain it right.I'm surprised "stored procedure" is not mentioned at reviewer zhanggoo> There're certainly various opinions on "stored procedure". SP is definitely not OO, RDBMS is not OO at all - as long as you're using RDBMS, you have to face the fact that OO cannot be applied everywhere. On the other hand, SP helps greatly in decoupling, since query logic are not embedded in java code, application code and db code have clear interfaces, query optimization usually is easier to do with SP. These are amazing practices and patterns in my e overall organization and format of the book is good, but for experienced database app developers, you might learn more by studying mature object/relational frameworks like EOF (Apple WebObjects) or TopLink.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Access Patterns: Database Interactions in Object-Oriented Applications []  2020-1-8 19:44

    Test Martin Fowler's Patterns of Enterpise App has much better coverage in more useful so you can look at Hibernate or iBatis project for true applicationof these patterns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Access Patterns: Database Interactions in Object-Oriented Applications []  2020-1-8 19:44

    I am in the process of writing a thesis proposal that utilizing JDBC and TableModeler to access different database platforms as a prototype.While prototyping the model, I encountered a lot of consideration of what is the best approach for certain implementation (mainly on JDBC). While looking into a few of designing books, I found this Data Access Patterns book that fits into my research needs. I have read other book such as Designing Flexible Object Oriented System with UML and not able to apply the concept or see solution in it. It is simply a conceptual book. No practical examples at Nock has explained the design patterns very clearly in each chapter by using JDBC as a media. The examples are very simple to understand as compared to Design Patterns Explained. I am not able to understand codes that implementing graphics in that Nock addressed the pros and cons of the patterns. A lot of techie books do not even bother to talk about pros and e author has chosen the right title for the book, I realized that a lot of times author received a not good rating because reader expect various contents based on the title of the e feature I liked the most - the ¡§Applicability¡¨ section on each chapter. Unlike other patterns book, the author explains the concept and gives example of "what" and "when" to use certain design pattern. This section is beautiful much the respond for my thesis obstacles. The respond is in this book!!Minor typos do exist such as in page 390 roll back instead of concurrency chapter, author may have mis-used the term of updates locking. It should be Lost Updates instead of Missing updates. Concurrency chapter looks like UDB Lock Concurrency ditional note - would like to see the quality aspect in each of the patterns.Overall, the book is very well structured, explained and ank you Mr. Nock !! This is a excellent book for my thesis.Looking forward to read your future gards,EQ

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Access Patterns: Database Interactions in Object-Oriented Applications []  2020-1-8 19:44

    I have to disagree with the previous review. I will test to explain why I think 'b88zhou' review is inadequate after presenting my overview of this ter reading numerous pattern books, it is nice to see a pattern book with very amazing organization.Each pattern is presented with the following subsections.* Description* Context* Applicability* Structure* Iteractions* Consequences* Strategies* Sample Code* Similar Patterns and Technology.I specifically like 'Consequence' section because it outlines the 'bad' consequence of adopting the patter. This goes with the mantra of design patterns - there is no one amazing pattern. You trade off one design for another depending on the context of your so each pattern is accompanied by UML class diagrams and UML sequence diagrams - this is a huge plus in understanding e sample code is written in Java/JDBC so you may need to understand Java but I believe this pattern is still relevant to and C++. [ does offer connected and disconnected database operation so some patterns may not be relevant - plus, event/delegate will aid in some patterns.]Specific to what the previous reviewer say - here are my rebuttals.>> Why do you wish to create queries and database updates into factories? Looking at the sample code, does it really support decoupling?The previous reviewer mentioned as 'factories' is the derivation of 'AbstractFactory'. If you do not understand why AbstractFactory aids in decoupling from the concrete implementation, I think you should re-read GoF book. The author uses AbstractFactory pattern extensively in context of "Input and Output Parameter" and "Cache Patterns". I do admit that sometimes "Input and Output Parameter patterns" may not need to use AbstractFactory but if you read 'Domain Assembler' pattern you will understand why. From Domain Assembler, you can see the benefit of having AbstractFactories for Selection, Domain Object, and Modernize -- assembling all these factories via interface not concrete implmentation - a primary idea of design to interface instead concrete implementation.>> The "Cache Patterns" does not solve the issue of preventing stale entry or even attempt to describe how to invalidate cache entry, so no matter how efficient you get, the cache is not guaranteed to be up-to-date /ease re-read 'Cache Collector'. The pattern could have various name like 'Cache Garbage Collector'. He talks about how you can 'purge' old data. Also re-read 'Cache Replicator' for how to sync the cached data in distributed system.>> I'm surprised "stored procedure" is not mentioned at all.I guess you have not done too a lot of DB oriented projects. The stored procedure is evil and add small value to OO programming. But if you wish the stored procedure, just replace 'SELECT' or 'UPDATE' statements to whatever stored procedures you wish to call. So I don't think you can add much with SP.>> mature object/relational frameworks like EOF (Apple WebObjects) or TopLinkThis book is not about Java Data Object or OR mapping. Object-Relational mapping tool is another beast.I would recommend this book highly to anyone doing DB app development.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Access Patterns: Database Interactions in Object-Oriented Applications []  2020-1-8 19:44

    I'm in the middle of developing yet another persistence framework for a client, having done it a couple of times before. Each time I refine my ideas about how to do it. I must say that this book has a thorough examination of problems and certainly meal for thought as well as answers to a couple of questions I've ever, I wouldn't say it's a complete design (which it doesn't claim to be). I still found myself picking and choosing which patterns to use as is, which to modify to my liking, and which to so, I was left with the impression that the book didn't give enough coverage to handling collections of objects. The material is mostly geared toward working with a single object, which is understandable. I just think it would have been helpful to have more discussion about handling collections. For example, what should happen when you request to load an object, but the criteria you passed to the loading mechanism results in data for more than one object being retrieved from the database? Hand back the first object? Raise an exception? If it's covered in the book, I missed it.Further, I would like to see more discussion about WHEN to refresh an object from the underlying database and when to save to the database. I always struggle with that timing issue. Having studied EJB, I like how entity beans hold your bean in synch with the underlying database. But the EJB container intercepts calls and makes those things happen. When coding the persistence layer myself, that's not an option. So, again, this is something I'd like to see some light shed on.Overall, though, a amazing book if you're interested in reading up on persistence layer patterns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Access Patterns: Database Interactions in Object-Oriented Applications []  2020-1-8 19:44

    First of all this book is not about object relational mapping (ORM) tactics or patterns, the author provides a pattern that is the interface to a object relational mapping layer and that's it. This book is about traditional input output tactics to relational databases i.e. the layer under the object relational map if you were to build your own. However, if you were to build the data access object with traditional stratergies to the relational database you could use the patterns in this book, especially the cashing patterns which are sophisticated. I search the other patterns in connection pooling, I/O and transactions customary and should be known to most intermediate plus architects or programmers. The book is well doented in the UML with clear writing, amazing examples (case study) using Java JDBC. The patterns are generic, could be used in both .Net and J2EE. A fourth of the patterns come form Core J2ee or Fowler books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microsoft Visual C#: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming (MindTap Course List) []  2020-2-1 12:20

    Very informative step by step instructions for beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    I’m glad I didn’t paid attention to the negative review and got the book. Throuthout the years, I have observed a pattern when a programming book have some poor review it is because it worth to buy it. I used to have experience in PHP procedural programming, but after realized that most of the current PHP literature is based in PHP object-oriented language, I decided to create the transition. It was a small tough to me, but after finished this book , I feel I accomplished a very necessary miles stone in my programming career. For anyone who wish to learn PHP 7 object-oriented modular programming, forget the poor review, obtain the book and read it completely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    This book walks a beginner thru PHP from the beginning with lots of coding examples and explanations. It would work well as a textbook in a class or for a person learning on their own. It presents the code in a readable format and uses clear variable names. (some organizations and books come up with contorted variables that define it in a number of ways but not simple to understand to a layman and this book stays to beginner.). Used as a textbook there are amazing resources at the end of each chapter. The book shows how PHP fits inside other languages and not limited to HTML as in a lot of books but shows how fits with CSS and AJAX and JavaScript too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microsoft Visual C#: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming (MindTap Course List) []  2020-2-1 12:20

    Page xxv states "To complete the steps and projects in this book, you need data files that have been made specifically for this book. Your instructor will provide the data files to you. You also can get the files electronically from Search the ISBN of your title on the back cover of your book, then enter the ISBN in the find box at the top of the CengageBrain home page.Farrell, Joyce. Microsoft Visual C#: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming (Page xxv). Course Technology. Kindle Edition. "1: Your instructor will provide the data files to you.He did not.2: Search the ISBN of your title on the back cover of your ere is no back cover.3: Enter the ISBN in the find box at the top of the CengageBrain home is find box does not exist, unless you mean the one in the center of the page. I entered two various ISB codes provided by the shop page here, and Cengage does not recognize what those codes are. They also have the same codes for the book on their shop page, but I still can't obtain these data files.4: To complete the steps and projects in this book, you need data files that have been made specifically for this , I guess I just wasted my cash on an incomplete product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microsoft Visual C#: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming (MindTap Course List) []  2020-2-1 12:20

    This book was a amazing resource for object-oriented programming. It is very organized and gives useful examples in every chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    The worst PHP book I've ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    After more than 2 chapters into this book, I think it is time Amazon begin allowing 7 stars like fresh the 7 star Huwain beach is is the only book among the tons of book, I have read about PHP that takes me into the behind the scenes intro to not only tells you how to but how it came is book also shows how to interface PHP with other web technologiesRead through the first free chapter provided by Amazon, and you will see the wisdom of immense knowledge in print. The first Chapter shows you the proper method to develop a PHP application. Have you ever seen this in other books? NO. this is the only book, that does thatIs the author a non profit author?, I would have charged more for this invaluable resource === He even gives readers links to free video tutorials

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    I am a blogger, writing reviews about IT books, IT articles and anything I search interesting. I have received the book "Learn PHP7" from the publisher for a review, upon a request of my , let's begin with the review - I liked reading the book. In the first chapter, an introduction to PHP is presented, where the PHP environments are explained with screenshots and a easy PHP program is ran. The second chapter puts you a small into the MVC model, which is quite needful for a PHP application. The third chapter is probably the gem of the book - it is the OOP basics in PHP. It is quite nicely explained, I liked it. Chapter 6 was for data objects, starting the true fun with DBs and files. The latest two chapters concern authentication and multifunctional interfaces. Beautiful much anything you need to build easy PHP applications.Every chapter finishes with a little try of questions, where you should select the correct ones, true/false questions, projects proposal and a term project proposal. E.g. the third project of the second chapter looks like this - "Adjust the Hello Globe program to display your college/university name, address, main phone number. With the time, the projects obtain tougher, of course.Minuses:1. Could not search a true minus, it goes step by step into the technology. However, the book is really much into PHP7, but you probably need to be well-informed with the primary principles and techniques of programming in advance (e.g. loops, methods, arrays) in order to obtain the most of it. Probably a bit more information on DBs and primary SQL commands would have been es:1. The book gives access to the code online for anyone, without even a need to buy the book. Thus, you can go on the website and check for yourself, whether it would be useful.2. I liked the questions and the projects at the end of each chapter.3. Nicely written, step-by-step e verdict - I liked it, I give it 5 stars :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microsoft Visual C#: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming (MindTap Course List) []  2020-2-1 12:20

    The text book includes complete tables that cannot be found in the online version. I used this book for C# Programming 1 at Columbus State Community College, and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    The title of the book is Learn PHP 7. My expectation was that it would cover all the fresh PHP 7 features in detail. That was not the case. The book walks through an example app which is interesting and I did learn some amazing items along the way. The book also has SQL on the cover but once again it is used in the sample (briefly). I will have to search a guide online or buy another book to obtain a more thorough understanding on how PHP 7 and SQL should be used together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    To much almost-off-topig page filling before the first PHP teachings. Unclear presentation of easy (although unrelated to PHP) concepts. Poorly written. Powerful tendancy to mention accessories info before fundations.I almost "rage-quit" the book at 30% (page 79) when the author introduces the first non-trivial PHP concept (object-orientation class) and quickly writes "for more info on classes [...] visit at [...]"...Classes are described in more detail in the next pages, but this example shows that the author just throws items in random order.If you're looking for substance, don't read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microsoft Visual C#: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming (MindTap Course List) []  2020-2-1 12:20

    If you know another language and just wish a book to ease you in, this is a amazing book. The book is very well written, and is simple to follow along. But, at the end of each chapter is a small review question test, programming exercises, videos and the like, that require files. The only method to obtain the files is from a professor, or pay about the price of the book to access them from Cengage. Incomplete product in my eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    Meh! While I appreciate the clear separation of tiers, and to some extent his subject order, the book has some serious flaws:The referenced videos frequently use code in a manner that is inconsistent with what the author has just talked about. For example, one showed class properties as public right after the author says they should be e author dismisses typos that anyone with experience with php MIGHT catch, but a novice would not, as being introduced during the printing process and oh well. I kind of thought that items was what editors did for a e title of the book is Learn PHP 7, but PHP 7 techniques are essentially a side note "here's what it might look like if you were to use...but I'm not going to bother to build a fully PHP 7 fleshed out example for backward compatibility." Yeah, thanks for advertising that the book teaches PHP 7 then. You may as well have called it "Learn PHP With a Smattering of PHP 7 (thrown in to confuse you)."The AJAX techniques were from what decade?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    I rarely write reviews. But this time i feel like i need to. I do NOT recommend this book. Especially not to e formatting of the text makes it hard to read. The authors attempts to explain too a lot of various topics in the book, which means that none of them obtain any true thorough so, which is most concerning, the coding style of the author is very confusing and uses very confusing naming conventions for variables etc. Also there are numerous typos and mistakes in the code. Also the author uses outdated coding when it comes to e author also uses very strange coding techniques to achieve some results, which in my mind are completely counter-intuitive.I stopped reading the book, because 90% of my focus had to be on trying to understand what the author is even doing in the my opinion authors should display amazing structure and standards in their examples, and this book does not.EDIT: to author: I deleted my latest line. My intention was not to offend you Im sorry if I opinions on the book stay unchanged however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn PHP 7: Object Oriented Modular Programming using HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, XML, JSON, and MySQL []  2020-12-5 19:40

    I highly recommend this for a complete beginner to PHP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    The overwhelming number of 5-star reviews for this book has really shaken my confidence in Amazon's rating system. This book is riddled with typos, as anyone who actually read it would explore immediately. I'm fresh to Python, not to programming, and my largest gripe is that the explanatory text often doesn't match the examples. It makes learning quite a challenge when Step One is to figure out what the author "meant" to say, instead of what's actually printed on the page.I'm sure the author is a fine human being, maybe even a decent coder, but he should have had a qualified proofreader review his manuscript before publication.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    I am very much a greenhorn when it comes to Python—in fact, when it comes to ANY programming language. It’s always been such a mystery to me, although I do know that learning how to use a programming language could be an incredibly valuable skill. When I was looking into programming languages, Python seemed to be one of the most widely-used and, supposedly, more user-friendly than Java. When I found this book, which claims to be a comprehensive tutorial to beautiful much everything Python, I decided I would give it a chance.I can gladly say that this tutorial is, indeed, thorough. It covers everything from simply how to install Python onto your computer depending on the system you’re using to sorting algorithms to machine learning (including what machine learning actually is). My interest was especially piqued during the section on using Python integrated with ArcGIS. I took a one-unit college class in high school about this geographical software, and I was, admittedly, a small excited just to see something I recognize in this tutorial when I fully expected having to learn everything from scratch.Overall, the language is simple enough for beginners to follow and the author never assumes that the reader knows anything about this topic. In fact, he seems to go out of his method to create sure that any concept which would probably be foreign to the average reader is explained in detail. At times, the depth of this knowledge slowed the pace of the writing down and I honestly got bored. However, what the author covers is crucial for using this programming language; it just takes multiple readings to fully comprehend it. Don’t expect a passive read, either. From page one, readers need to engage with the text and their computers in order to follow along with what the writer is conveying.Even though the writing can be followed by the average reader, I would recommend starting with a shorter, more primary book on Python before tackling this one if you have no knowledge of the topic whatsoever. At 607 pages, this tutorial can be intimidating, and it is probably easier to isolate the basics first and then move on to this more in-depth tutorial if you are completely fresh to it like I am. However, if you have more intermediate knowledge of Python, this book is a amazing method to reinforce your primary knowledge and learn fresh ways in which to implement the Python programming language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    I suggest you not to buy this book. It is barely a book. I haven't seen even 1 graphic or picture in the book. Mono-color print of text with huge fonts and a lot of white spaces. A book should have organizations, graphical tips that can inspire the reader and support them through the text. But this book seems mostly like boring weblogs with no graphics. I am surprised that there is not even 1 flowchart in this book. How is it that a programming book doesn't have even a flowchart to convey an algorithm.I took a look at first pages and it seems that the writer tried to place all the material together and rush to the end without enough elaboration or giving intuitive examples. I am returning this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    As a current Python user for my web development classes in college, I am very familiar with the coding of Python, and because I required some additional support without wanting to pay those unnecessary school book prices for python, I decided to look to Amazon for help. And long and behold, I found a copy of Mastering Python. This digital copy is a must have for both beginners and advance Python users. As a beginner, in this book, you will learn and understand what Python is, by learning the differences between Python 2 and Python 3, Learning syntax through varies modules as well as familiarizing yourself with the basics of various databases that you will use Python with. As an advance Python user, this book will already familiarize you with the Python coding language in a more advance concept with Javascript as well as it will go into further info within web development and application development using the python coding. I am very happy with this book and satisfied to say, with this book, I saved 200 dollars by not purchasing the college edition from my university and instead bought this digital copy that gave me all the info I required to pass my course. Will refer all my fellow students to this amazing copy. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    Reading this book has really taught me a lot. Trying to learn a computer language from scratch is hard especially if you don't dedicate yourself to learning and interacting as much as possible. The book was comprehensive and gives solid foundations on Python. Teaches you the basics but it is not afraid to cover some useful info of the language. A few things you learn about includes: Data structures and Algorithms, Machine Learning, Django,ArcGis Programming, and Software Development and testing. Those info and the fact it covers all primary aspects of the language (and some not so basic) really makes this book very complete and stand out from easy "tutorial" books that teach you the basics of the language but don't place you on the spirit of the language. I felt like i had a amazing grasp on how python worked after reading it. Overall I would definitely recommend this book to a beginner who just started their computer coding journey. They say python is one of the easiest computer languages to learn and I agree. Thanks to this book I am well on my method to becoming a amazing coder. One latest thing I think the interview questions are quite interesting. Just something to be mindful of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    The two coding languages that I have heard of most often are Java and Python. After reading Michael B Whites, Mastering Java, I decided to give Python a look. Whites book, Mastering Python, is a clear tutorial to approaching the language. Whites mastery of both programming languages works to the benefit of the reader. I understood (almost) all of the coding terminologies. And, it helps that Whites descriptions and walk-throughs approach it from a beginners st fascinating was Whites explanation into how machine learning and Python programs interact. Later on in the book, White reveals how Django is utilized by professional developers for creating Python web applications. The method in which White describes the “Zen” of Python illuminated me to the psychology behind using Python tools for development.Learning that the essence of Python development centers around simplicity and elegance transforms my approach to coding.I think that Michael B. White should write his next book on Zen in the Art of Coding. I would read it! I am no expert at coding in Python, but after reading through Whites book on it, I can honestly say that I am no longer a layman. Mastering Python serves as an introduction to the language, and I will continue to work through the more complicated sections into the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    This book is not for beginners. Experience and knowledge from other languages support to message when the book misleading because of a not good neral issues:1. The formatting is messed up in too a lot of places. As result, I often begin the Kindle Application on my cell phone when cannot show the content properly in Chrome.2. Somewhere between 1/3 and 1/4 of the examples are poorly written or outright incorrect. The author clearly knew how it should work but did not try the examples. When I read something I go and try it before writing it in my notes. A lot of tech books have untested examples. In this book, however, they significantly exceed the average. The sorted example in the book is: print(sorted(list(d), key=d.__getitem__)), which on Python 3, but not on Python 2. The example should have been: print(sorted(d, key=t)), which is shorter, preferable (does not use a unique function), removes a needless conversion and works on Python 3 as well on Python 2.3. The descriptions of a number of functions are incomplete, thus leaves zone for misinterpretation of the edge cases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    I've programmed in a lot of various languages over the years and now wish to give Python a try. Wanting to obtain up and running quickly, I looked for a book that skipped non-programmer introductions and got straight to introducing the language. What attracted me to this book is the coverage of Python's data structures and designing algorithms in Python. The other interesting part to me, prior to purchase was the section on testing. The programming interview questions were a gift even if you aren't planning on applying for a job as it checks your knowledge and summarizes key points in Python. Now that I've been reading the book, I'm getting more interested in learning about Machine Learning using Python. I'll be taking this ebook on a long plane ride soon hoping to create better use of my time. In my opinion this book fits between beginner and advanced and is a amazing introduction for a seasoned programmer wanting to check out Python.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    This book is all about learning how to use Python. Python is a language that is used in the globe of computers. This book explains ways to use Python in an simple to read, step by step way. There are instructions on how to set it up on Windows computers and Macs that are beautiful simple to understand too. Python algorithms are explained in the book as well, along with various data structures. You will learn about chain maps here and arrays that you can use when you are using this program. There is not one step that is left out, so you will obtain plenty of knowledge from this book. The book may obtain a bit overwhelming because of how much info is in it, but take it slow and soon you will learn all about using Python and how you can be successful at using it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Python: Machine Learning, Data Structures, Django, Object Oriented Programming and Software Engineering (Including Programming Interview Questions) [2nd Edition] []  2019-12-8 18:1

    I've always been interested in programming, but found it hard to really "get into". I've tried so a lot of various books on Python that I had nearly given up. As a last-ditch effort, I decided to rent this book (thank you, kindleunlimited!) and give it a shot. What did I have to lose?To my surprise, the book is actually very simple to follow. This is done without watering down the amount of content, but rather through taking the time to actually explain everything in detail rather than assuming the reader understands.I would definitely recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Using Crc Cards: An Informal Approach To Object-Oriented Development (SIGS: Advances in Object Technology) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    Perfect read! I hold re-reading this book. Outlines the core concepts of OOD so clearly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Using Crc Cards: An Informal Approach To Object-Oriented Development (SIGS: Advances in Object Technology) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    This is my first book on Object Oriented Design and coming from procedural background, it was hard to obtain rid of that tatoo. Slowly but gradually I am hoping to create progress and this book is the first step. Amazing read so far. This wouldn't create you a OOD expert but it will present you how to approach/start thinking in OO way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++: Object-Oriented Data Structures []  2020-7-14 19:31

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns in .NET: Reusable Approaches in C# and F# for Object-Oriented Software Design []  2020-5-22 18:29

    Everything you need to know about design patterns in nicely presented form. Superb refreshed, .NET orientated GoF original book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    The powerful code conventions in Rails create intentional software design unnecessary on a little codebase. Not unuseful - but unnecessary. You can obtain by without it for a while by leaning on those conventions. Maybe that's why "software design" sometimes gets a poor rap in the Rails community.Unfortunately, with a codebase of any interesting size, those conventions aren't sufficient for preventing chaos. Large helper files? Huge junk drawer, er, lib directory? For projects that come in at that stage, I've started recommending that the developers all stop coding for a day and read Sandi Metz's book. Learning how to make the right objects that send the right messages is a crucial skill for moving your Rails application into the huge ndi has an awesome method of picking out the parts of Design-with-a-capital-D that are actually useful in a modern agile process, while leaving aside the waterfall trappings that typically accompany them. If you've ever read an article about software design and thought, "That's a nice theory, but these people have no idea how modern software is actually written" - then this book is for you. It's what happens when design intersects practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Python for Beginners: The Absolute Beginners Guide to Python Programming, Data Science and Predictive Model. A Practical Introduction to Object Oriented Programming Language. (Essentials Cookbook) []  2020-2-2 16:57

    This guidebook is going to take some time looking at the Python coding language and all of the cool things that you are able to do with this along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    I read this book after hearing the author talk on a "Ruby Rogues" podcast a few months ago. It was apparent that the attendees were all quite impressed by Sandi Metz's book and they all recommended it. I bought the book based on this recommendation, read it and I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed it. The book focuses on the "art" of design in the Ruby world. That being said, the concepts, ideas and techniques describe in this book can be applied to most dynamically typed languages.What was most interesting (and something you don't see in a lot of software book) was how Sandi describes how a senior software designer will create decisions, while considering the technical debt that comes with those decisions. I have been working in software for over 20 years and this is what I search is missing when it comes to a lot of books out there. There's the idealized view of what software is, and then there's reality. In "real life", you have a limited amount of time to do your job and you only have a portion of the true system requirements. The question is how do you make your software so that future refactoring will be easy... this is what design is all about. The best method to create sure your software is refactorable is through the "micro" level design decisions you make, it's by making sure that you have single responsibility classes, it's by reducing coupling, etc. (I don't know of any amazing software that came out of an ivory turret architecture, amazing architectures that I have seen usually migrate from bottom-up).This book is bang on with regards to this. It goes over the "micro" level design decisions that you have to make. It gives practical hints on how and why you would create these ere's also a very amazing chapter on testing, which explains some of the issues you'll search testing with dynamic languages. I especially like the method Sandi describe the "false positive" that can happen in the BDD and TDD worlds. It's created very clear and I like the solution that she describes to this the latest couple of years, I have read a number of books on Ruby and Rails. There's two that stand out... Eloquent Ruby and this one. I would recommend this book to anybody starting out in Ruby (junior or senior).One caveat though... The ideas described in this book can be applied to most dynamic languages but some of the concepts might be counterintuitive if you come from a statically typed language. (For example, the use of duck types is not something you see in Java for example. In static (compiled) languages, you are trained to extract interfaces and to create things as strongly types as possible. This doesn't create sense with dynamic languages).In any case, I highly recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    I've read a amazing a lot of books on object-oriented programming over the years. I have my favorites, but "Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby" (POODR) by Sandi Mentz has just shot to the top of the list. I can't say enough amazing things about this unbelievable contribution to the code craft literature. Sandi has a unbelievable writing style and a real bonus for explanation. Her examples are imaginative and brilliant cars for illustrating each concept. At just 241 pages (not counting the extensive index) this book is easily readable in just a few afternoons, yet it includes surprisingly complete coverage of both classic and contemporary software design principles and practices without ever even coming close to feeling academic or n't be mislead by the title. This is not a book about Ruby. This is a book about object oriented design. Its example code happens to be written in Ruby - a language I've never programmed in but found very simple to comprehend nonetheless. The author demonstrates some practices that take advantage of Ruby's dynamically-typed nature. This is particularly valuable to JavaScript developers who will be able to apply these same techniques in their own applications.I started reading this book through my Safari Bookshelf subscription but found the content and delivery so compelling that I ended up buying the Kindle edition so that I could add notes and highlights.When asked to recommend a single book to enhance the skills of an object-oriented programmer fresh or old, I will be recommending POODR without hesitation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    This book is aimed at a developer at an intermediate skill level who wants to take it to the next level and master the y books like this are deeply technical and difficult to read. In this book, Sandi expertly tutorials the reader through the process of uncovering both the what and the why of Object-Oriented software design and testing. It was a joy to read and will be something I refer back to often as I integrate this wisdom into my own development experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Python for Beginners: The Absolute Beginners Guide to Python Programming, Data Science and Predictive Model. A Practical Introduction to Object Oriented Programming Language. (Essentials Cookbook) []  2020-2-2 16:57

    So I do have a bit of non-professional programming experience and I do have a very technical background (20 years in help and now 8 as a development PM and Scrum Master). The book itself is written well, I like how it does obtain into the meat of python and how to use it. The problem is "The Absolute Beginners Guide......"; it is not, it starts at a higher level than, lets program 1 + 1 = 2 and then when you do test to use the code in the book you need to use other sources to obtain it to actually work, as you cannot just copy what is written, that are things missing like proper indentation which is necessary with Python. It does a amazing job of telling you what an Object and a Way and a Class are but it does not do a amazing job teaching you how to actually code it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Python for Beginners: The Absolute Beginners Guide to Python Programming, Data Science and Predictive Model. A Practical Introduction to Object Oriented Programming Language. (Essentials Cookbook) []  2020-2-2 16:57

    This was amazing informative book to the beginners. In this book you will obtain all useful info step by step.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Python for Beginners: The Absolute Beginners Guide to Python Programming, Data Science and Predictive Model. A Practical Introduction to Object Oriented Programming Language. (Essentials Cookbook) []  2020-2-2 16:57

    Poorly written, poor grammar. The presentation of the programs caused syntax errors. Perhaps that was formatting, but it did place colons and locations in the wrong locations in some of the commands. There wasn't substantial explanation of the language/syntax before presenting examples. It also jumped right into asking the reader to make programs w/out adequate prep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    I have programmed in Ruby for a number of years now and still found this book of value. I would not recommend it for absolute beginners because it assumes knowledge of the language, though you will learn general principles. I would recommend it for anyone wanting to obtain a better grasp of writing amazing object oriented code, especially in Ruby. I found it helpful to think of Messages sent instead of just the class hierarchy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    I have watched Sandi's conference talks on YouTube and I knew this book would be great.I'm only two chapters in and I definitely feel as if this book has already paid itself e book starts off with plenty of insight on OOP and delivers direct and immediately actionable ank you Sandi Metz for this awesome book!I paid for this book and was not compensated for this is notice was approved by me... Because I wrote it; just now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    I hate bronchitis! Reading "Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby" was a blast. Reading it while ill was frustrating! Lots of thought provoking ideas written in an simple to read style. I kept falling asleep due to sickness and my brain kept yelling "This is cool! Stay awake!" Still, Sandi achieved her goal even through my fog of exhaustion; I now see objects very differently and will happily refactor my code to create it e only true ding to the book is Chapter 8's references to Enumerable and Forwardable. Everything else in the book was either simple to read or well explained. These two characters seem to have slipped in without fanfare or explanation. I don't understand them and thus probably missed some of the book's goodness. Perhaps I'll obtain it later. I still rate this book a 5 star buy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    I bought this book for work, but it was also extremely well timed as I am helping to lead a development squad that is looking for reason-based arguments for maintaining code quality, rather than a long list of someone's private preferences. My favorite part of this book is its focus on lowering the maintenance costs of codebases by reducing dependencies and the surface zone of module and class interfaces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Python for Beginners: The Absolute Beginners Guide to Python Programming, Data Science and Predictive Model. A Practical Introduction to Object Oriented Programming Language. (Essentials Cookbook) []  2020-2-2 16:57

    The best developer I know recommended this book to me --I'm a complete beginner with a short attention span, so this fun, challenging book is excellent for what I need! Each lesson is a android game to be built and then tested! I could not be happier with this book and I am tearing through it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    Despite being almost 7 years old at the time of this review, it's still a very relevant book. If you're an experienced Ruby developer, a lot of of the concepts described in this book may already be familiar. But I think there's amazing value in having these ideas described clearly and with amazing examples. The book gives info on when to use and when not to use certain techniques. You may also search this book fill in some gaps in your knowledge as a Ruby developer.Tip: Watching Sandi Metz' presentations at conferences which is readily available on YouTube is a amazing complementary material to this book.On the other hand, for an experienced Ruby developer, this book can also be a small boring if you're already familiar with a lot of of the ideas. You still gain better understanding of the concepts but it can feel a small slow.I'm also not a fan of the Kindle format in general and this book is not an exception. I'm beautiful sure the physical book has a much better formatting, but I test to avoid having too a lot of physical books at home. If you're undecided between getting the physical or digital copy and you don't have a powerful preference, obtain the physical book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby Series) []  2020-12-5 19:39

    I wished this was the first book I read before I attempted to write any ruby code. My opinion is this book really is for ruby ter I read this book it totally changed my thought prcocess for writting fresh code and answers to fixing poor code. A I went through the book I ran into every tricky, paint yourself in a corner no,no. in our work code and understood why it was so hard to fix. Some of the code I trashed and wrote it the correct way. Thank You for this book and making it so clear. There are 2 coding example errors in the code but I know ruby so I saw them immediately. Still those errors are little change, this book is about understanding OOP concepts.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386