Read of catastrophic proportions reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all of catastrophic proportions reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    Mount Drageon is an isolated high security GeneDyne laboratory in the middle of White Sands Fresh Mexico. The scientists there labor over conundrums that may alter the lives (and the genes) of future human beings. When Guy Carson, a brilliant albeit grunt scientist from another GeneDyne Corp facility, is suddenly and finally singled out by GeneDyne's prodigy founder and leader, Brent Scopes, to leave immediately for White Sands, he finds himself puzzled by both the X-FLU project he is given to tackle and the cabin-fever-effected personalities of his colleagues. In time, as he plummets through the highs and lows of hopeful success and frustrated failures, he discovers that his predecessor, a globe renowned geneticist went out of his mind . . .At Harvard University, Dr. Levine, human DNA preservationist and former mate of Brent Scopes, plans both legal and illegal ways of impeding the progress of the Mount Dragon work. Of course, megalomaniac genius Brent Scopes is not about to allow this happen.Each chapter showcases either the handful of quirky scientists, the hell-bent activist or the eccentric CEO in a marvelous mix of cutting-edge science, huge business, media manipulation, and computer tampering. This high-tech effect is alloyed to the pulse-quickening devices of the classic thriller: the discovery of a secret diary, a chase over treacherous terrain, a android game of hide and seek with a assassin and even a find for an age old is novel crams as a lot of thrills as a 400 page volume can keep and is guaranteed to hold the reader glued to his/her seat, with each of those pages turning as rapidly as the eyes can scan.

    0  


    Add your opinion on of catastrophic proportions or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    What is “Seed”? Seed is an alien cosmic warrior. Seed destroys most of the planet and humans, but there are still little groups of humans that somehow have survived. Sal is one human who lives in what was a military camp. There is one human fighter named Sal who follows his adopted father and brother. One doesn’t o outside the walls by themselves due toe risky Seed. If Seed is killed, it has the ability to come back to life and heal. Sal is an angry, young fighter who goes his own method even when it’s opposite of orders given. He owes out alone and survives bringing back useful things and/or food. Other human fighters follows Sal’s example. People from the camp will ask individual fighters to go and obtain various stuff for them. Sal is asked to search someone’s daughter who is special. The mother less than say what is unique about her daughter. When Sal finds her, he discovers what is unique about her. What is unique about her?This is a dystopian novel. It fascinated me to watch Sal as he goes on his various adventures and survives. I gather that this is the first book of a series due to the method it ends. I hope I become aware of it when it comes out as I will wish to read it!Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book from the author/publisher from Netgalley. I wasn’t obligated to write a favorable review or any review at all. The opinions expressed are strictly my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    This is more than a amazing story, though it is definitely that. It is a story packed with deep meaning, which Joshua David somehow manages to ingrain deep inside the story instead of by being preachy. It is a well-crafted work of art. The narrator voice is consistent and interesting. The characters spring to life. The hero arcs are beautiful. The escapes are clever and unique. The pacing is quick and the tension is high. Everything is well thought out: the villain, as it were. The science and spirituality behind everything. But again, my favorite element is how he infuses deeper meaning in the story. If I read a book that is a amazing story, but nothing else, I feel a small hollow afterwards. A much worse offense is when the writer preaches at me through his characters or narrator. After reading ‘Seed: Judgement,’ I feel happy after watching the characters grow, and seeing Jesus in the characters. You will not regret reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    I've been playing catch-up on the older books by these authors, and have just finished Mount Dragon. I don't know enough about genetic research to question the techniques used here, but it was fascinating reading, even if not feasible. I did search just about all of the characters, with the exception of the OSHA investigator, to be morally challenged to lesser or greater degrees. Brent Scopes is especially troublesome, veering with startling suddenness from the kindest of acts to the most cruel. Maybe he is the prime example of the underlying qualities of amazing and evil in all humans, but I found his abrupt switch to his better angel when he learned he was dying to be self-serving and unconvincing. I have found that the older books by this duo are more carefully written overall than their later efforts. This I would recommend just for the ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    Enjoyed the hunt and chase in the desert, the technical work on the deadly viruses and the main e chief villain was hard to decipher, both selfish and y thing I did not like was all the comments on the nasty woman who was overweight. Somehow, her being fat should not be factored in to her obnoxious personality.I especially liked the desert scenes and reading about the survival techniques used by the protagonists to obtain through it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    Seed Judgement has so a lot of parallels to the terminator films it is really intriguing. I read a lot of sci-fi and it is hard to write something that others haven't touched on. but this book paints a special and fascinating plot with strokes that a lot of of us are familiar with and enjoyed when we first saw them. amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    Joshua David is a very talented writer. He is engaging and writes in such a method that you are hooked into the story instantly. I hope to see a lot of further books by this ings I liked about this book1. The renewal of the relationship between a father and son.2. Some of the allegorical allusions to Christ - some were quite attractive and profound (spoiler alert - such as the blood of Jess (character representing Jesus) protecting and defending people and the physical toll it took on Jess to heal what represented sinners).Things I had a hard time with and this is MY opinion and most likely will not match the masses.1. This book reminds me quite a bit of The Maze Runner series so again appeals to a lot of but is hard for me. There are many, a lot of gory zombie wars in this book. I search these scenes in any book and any film disturbing and most often choose to avoid the book or film with those kinds of scenes.2. As this is an allegory, we need to remember to not take everything written as literally representing Christ or the Bible. But with this being said, there was one thing in particular that still didn't sit well with me even with keeping that rule in mind. Spoiler alert for the rest of this paragraph - the hero representing Jesus sleeps with the main hero of the book (I think the main hero of the book may represent Peter?). Sal - the main hero of Seed Judgement - often refers to Jess' body in a method and talks about the curves of her body, etc. Sal sleeps with Jess and there is no commitment between them and they have only known each other for a few days. This did not bide well with me. I felt like it lowered the profound role of and it tarnished the hero of Christ.3. There is quite a bit of swearing or crude language throughout this book. Again this probably wouldn't bother most people, but it did bother far as my negative comments go, one should probably hold in mind that they are coming from me. Me - who doesn't watch zombie or horror movies, me - who still skips all scenes in films or television shows (even though I'm 30) and me - who doesn't swear because I search it distasteful (not because I judge everyone who does, but simply because I think there are other words to use in a crude word's place).Joshua has so much talent and is brilliantly creative. I deeply hope he continues to write and excellent this craft - he can and will have a amazing impact on the globe if he sets his mind to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    This is one of the early novels written by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. It's about a nuclear reactor situation out in the southwestern zone of the United States (desert), and how this one person handles it. I read this years ago, and in rereading it, it had all the excitement the second time around! This was a amazing fine. It is a first edition, but hasn't been available for several years. It is in amazing shape, and you should grab one whenever you search it. It's a rare find!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    When I first read this book in 2003, I remark and laugh to myself at the "facility" that doesn't let a single scrap of paper to be use as "ridiculous". To search out all along that "someone" is reading your notes, idea or doodling is far fetch. Now after major globe happenings "World Trade Center", Katrina and Boston Marathon, my job is inching their method into "send emails of your thoughts" or use your ipad that was given to you to jot down your ideas. Or by using GPS in the ipad, your boss says, you shouldn't have stopped at Starbucks because you are late to a is book is ahead of its time and scary. Biohazard and the common flu? They must have a crystal ball to look in the future!The Relic is my all time best L/C book and I will be a fan for life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    The characters (protagonists and antagonists) are a bit stereotyped but the plot moves along in the best thriller tradition. This one is not as far out as The Relic and Pendergast is not present. Moreover, it panders to the Frankenstein complex possessed by too a lot of people where all genetic engineering and resultant GMOs are bad. We've been genetically engineering for thousands of years (just consider all the various breeds of cats and dogs) and latest cancer research using training viruses shows the amazing GMOs can perform when amazing people set out to support other people. Like a lot of discoveries, GMOs are not inherently bad, but here again we see the poor comes from humans and how they use the science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    I've enjoyed reading the book. The sci-fi and Christianity parallels are very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    First, me: I usually don't care enough to review something, so that should tell you something. This book is various - a small odd - but mostly in a amazing way. I'm Christian and I love michael crichton so when a fresh Christian sci-fi popped up, I went for it. It’s free, so why not?2) the plot. This story is amazing science fiction at first. There’s tips of more, but I was already caught up in it so just enjoyed. Then it’s kind of military/action for awhile, which was amazing - but not really my thing. Then it gets crazy! It will blow your mind again and again and again! Really, you’ll be thinking about it all after the fact because it’s presented in such an interesting way. Method more here than “normal” fiction.3) the characters. I just have to say this is the most engaging book on a hero level I have read in a long time. I cried. I won’t spoil with why, but there you go.4) the religious point of view. I’m religious, so I caught on to what the author was doing with the story, but it wouldn’t have mattered if I wasn’t. There’s no preachers, no churches, no Bibles really, no huge crises of faith, none of the usual stuff. That’s why I say fresh genre. It’s religious mostly because one of the characters is -in her own way- but again it doesn’t affect the story. That’s what’s so awesome about it. All the rest of the religious items is so subtle that I think people will be impressed by how it’s place together.Hope this helps! God bless!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    Very entertaining book. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The ending was unexpected, which is always a pleasant surprise. I look forward to David's next novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    Preston and Child's MOUNT DRAGON suffers from clichéd characters, too a lot of side plots, and a failure to ever actually with the ethical problem on which the novel was supposedly based. The story focuses on a young geneticist, Guy Carson, who is recruited by GeneDyne, a medical research company, to support develop a cure for the flu through genetic engineering. The controversial problem here is whether scientists should ever consider altering the human genome, even if such alterations could potentially create all future generations immune to the flu virus. Is this "tampering with God's work," or is it a fresh form of human-engineered evolution? Preston & Kid show both sides of the argument through two competing scientists, Brent Scopes (president of GeneDyne) and his former partner, Charles Levine - Scopes is a megalomaniac who will do anything for money, and Levine is the do-gooder Holocaust survivor who believes that tampering with human DNA is unconscionable.I like the premise here, but unfortunately Preston and Kid never go any deeper than the surface in exploring the controversy. Instead, the novel reads like yet another anti-science horror story where super viruses threaten the human race and greed and stupidity lead to the ultimate failure of any so-called scientific advancement. On top of the flu storyline, there's another involving the development of a genetically engineered artificial blood (which is set to be released in a few months) - this takes the novel in a completely various direction, so that the original story gets virtually forgotten. Then there's a hunt for hidden treasure in the desert, which created me think Preston and Kid couldn't remember which book they were working on here.On top of that, the characters in MOUNT DRAGON are a frustrating collection of clichés and stereotypes which are neither interesting nor original on any level. Protagonist Guy is a geneticist in cowboy hat and boots - his dialogue is a combination of prairie jargon and colloquialisms. His assistant is a gorgeous Mexican woman with a large chip on her shoulder and hot Spanish blood (she calls him "cabron" and hisses at him like a snake, but you know they're going to end up with each other by the end). There's a fat @#$%!y woman who gives Guy grief and pays a huge for it (nothing fresh there!), an ex-military hard-case with a quick horse and huge gun, a wheelchair-bound computer genius with a grudge to settle, and a bevy of other caricatures to fill out the plot. Never once do any of these people seem real. Never once did I search myself caught up in their create matters worse, the computer items in this novel is absolutely ridiculous. The book came out in 1997, which was admittedly a very various globe technologically speaking, but even so the computer scenes seem incredibly sketchy. For example, there are long chat-dialogues between Levine and the computer geek where they are typing to each other over the Internet, but it never reads like messaging or chatting at all. They type heavy paragraphs of info to each other, in full sentences, with full capitalization and punctuation. It was impossible to imagine these two men doing this. It was just silly. And there's a convoluted virtual reality segment at the end that is almost impossible to follow (and makes almost no sense at all).I have been fans of these writers for a very long time. I loved RELIC (as well as a lot of of their subsequent novels), but MOUNT DRAGON was a disappointment. It's not a poor beach read, and the story moves along fairly quickly, but don't expect to obtain attached to any of these characters and don't expect to care all that much about what happens to them. This is the kind of thing you'll read and forget the min you've turned the final page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    Given that this book was written in 1996, one might think it a small dated in 2015.....they would be wrong. In every method it is contemporary: it is current today. The authors weave a complex story, highly technical, easily fitting into today's scientific activities. I marveled at their grasp of terms, their comprehension of today's science, yet the story is clear, fast-paced, easily understood as they describe happenings on the edge of belief. Anyone who likes science fiction will read this novel with amazing pleasure, well within the boundaries of possibility. The characters are sharply etched even in their grotesqueness. The resolution is reasonable and satisfying. 5 stars for a compelling story and amazing imagination!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    I liked it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    A quick and glorious read. I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seed: Judgment - Science Fantasy of Biblical Proportions. []  2020-2-6 22:22

    Joshua David’s book was enjoyable and fascinating all the method through. It was a read full of laughter and tears. I hadn’t read a fiction book in years but I loved the story of this and didn’t wish it to be over. I was so curious about the underlying message. For me, that notice was never something that was simple to pick up and hold, it was something to feel my method through. I wasn’t always sure about where the book was going, but by the end of the book I very much appreciated the journey it took me l’s hero was wonderful to watch and there was a line that Mary spoke to him towards the end of the book that completely got me. It was a pause in the lengths God goes to, and the unexpected means He uses, to walk us through the put that will begin up our hearts to his challenged me in the method I view myself and my battles. It stretched me in the trust of who is inside me and his invisible kingdom around me. And it was rich in its journey through love, grief and e read was beautifully different. It’s not a normal Christian book at all; I imagine several people I know would struggle to welcome its story, and a year or two ago, I think I would have struggled to welcome it myself. But, overall, I believe it’s a attractive notice for seeking hearts and that those who read it looking to search the beauty in it will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    Allow me say that for me to give a five star review is practically impossible. I do sincerely save that for the absolute pinnacle. But that doesn't mean that I don't really like ALL of Preston and Child's work. So, in short, a 4-star is my top rating in most circumstances. I have bought a lot of of their books and have enjoyed them all; meaning I will continue to do so. I highly recommend all their work. You'll be entertained. Promise! Daniel Lance Wright, Author. Annie's Globe 2: Fresh Beginnings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mount Dragon: A Pandemic of Apocalyptic Proportions []  2020-7-20 18:0

    This book was written by two of my favorite authors. The book was written seemingly for molecular biologists and computer finite detail about genetic engineering on a molecular level to the tenth degree. I found it difficult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    This is such a amazing reference for the artist. The illustrations and descriptions are clear, and there are amazing quotes from popular artists. A must-have for any artist studio.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    Amazing resource book for sculptors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    This is a book by a sculptor by a sculptor.....get it as you know you wish it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    I am fortunate to live close enough to Marilyn's San Francisco studio to be able to take a sculpture workshop with her. But when I'm not in one of her classes, reading this book allows me to access her insight, perception and experience in sculpture and proportion any time I want. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, whether a novice like myself or with more experience, who wishes to make figurative works of art that just look "right."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    I have a lot of books on both Anatomy and human proportions, but this one blows them out of the water. It is definitely going to be my favorite reference book in the studio.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    Amazing book for learning the a lot of relative proportions between different parts of the body.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    I love this book. Amazing detail instruction. Appropriate and clear images and drawing. A amazing addition to my sculpting resourse library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    A amazing primary book for proportions with some anatomy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    A must have for any artist or illustrator that's interested in drawing the human figure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Artist's Guide to Proportions & Measurements of the Skeletal System []  2020-1-29 17:18

    I have been anxiously awaiting the completion of this unbelievable book, and as I was reading it, and viewing the illustrations I was jubilant. It was even better than I could have possibly have hoped for. Any and all questions that a student would ask, and need to know are thoroughly explained. I was a very fortunate guy to have participated in a lot of hands-on courses taught by Madeline Rodriguez in sculpting the human body. I am now aware that there are measurements and ratios demonstrated in this book, of one part of the body to another, when used, will help you to make a attractive piece of art. Dr. David Barrelier

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    We are accustomed in the West to "conservatives" on tv who are basically liberals who really love capitalism and wish us to defeat most of the globe to "spread freedom."This situation exists because, since 1945, conservatism has been in disarray. Its fundamental idea is to learn from the past and what works (e.g. ends before means) instead of what is morally or politically correct, which is the foundation of a result, conservatism endorses some things that are not very polite. It endorses nationalism, or delineation of nations by self-ruling ethnic groups; it supports a caste or class hierarchy; it endorses social Darwinism, or giving more wealth to those who are more competent; finally, it denies social equality, that "freedom" is a definable goal, or that we can all obtain a modern person, conservatism is apostasy and a denial of all the television, rock stars and Hollywood stars, writers, mates and gurus tell us is true.While we might see modern tv conservatives as essentially liberals with the methods of the right, the Fresh Right is an attempt to create conservatives with the values of the right and the methods of the liberals. However, it has taken a lot of years to flower and even be defined; Guillaume Faye's "Archeofuturism" is an attempt not only to define it, but to give it a creative ideal toward which to e book starts by re-capping the history you will not search in textbooks, namely that liberalism started in 1789, causes two centuries of battles trying to establish the nation state and now, thanks to atomizing individualism, has made societies where no one has anything in common and so chaos is the norm and massive Nanny State enforcement is necessary.Faye posits that as ongoing time proves that liberalism has not delivered on its promise of a globe of peace and equality, and this causes further inner instability, we will face a "convergence of catastrophes" in which the ill-guided policies of liberalism present their consequences. For example, overpopulation, pollution, climate change, racial strife and proliferation of nuclear weapons will, in Faye's view, come due at about the same ainst this Faye posits "archaeofuturism," or a belief system that applies the values of the past to a forward and creative goal. This in itself is a huge step for conservatism, which has essentially been a rearguard action since 1789 when politics fragmented with the French is book is an engaging read and, while it will offend most modern readers, is hard to deny as far as a realistic look at politics on the one thousand year scale, instead of the four-year election cycle. It is engagingly written, thoughtful and witty, as well as being informative to those of us who grew up on the filtered pro-liberal media.Whether you're left or right, this is a "different" view of history that does not have the failings of the official-and/or-popular view. It may even portray a globe we'd rather live in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    any real person who values any of their roots and wish to move on in an life with their bloodline going strong.... this is the book for them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    Written for Europeans by someone who looks to Moscow for the future creation of what he calls "Eurosiberia," Faye paves the method for the liquidation of the nation state, and the emergence of a fresh European empire capable of repulsing the "Afro-Asian Muslim invasion." In this scheme France would be reduced, as it was under Julius Caesar, to the province of "Gaul." Faye is correct in a lot of of his assessments of Europe's sickness, whereby Europeans no longer care about having babies and perpetuating their culture. From the look of it, however, Faye doesn't care for this himself. His nihilism is thinly disguised behind slogans manufactured for the young and the ignorant. He continually harps on the need for a "will to power." It seems, at moments, that Faye has no soul, no authentic substance of his own. It is obvious he has traveled to Moscow, that he has seen the "lights" burning in the Lubyanka, and has realized that here is the most likely center for the kind of imperial power he dreams of. The fact that modern Europe was built on a nation-state foundation he ignores and eschews. His ideal is the stagnant old Roman Empire, along the lines of Diocletian (or perhaps Nero). Faye approves of the biological creation of animal-human hybrids, the creation of a race of subhuman slaves and superhuman masters. He quotes Nietzsche often, but clearly does not understand Nietzsche's teaching. Being a nihilist himself, Faye masterfully pronounces on the need for slogans. His writing is a slogan writ large. It gains ground only because the majority of intellectuals today are half-educated, even as he denounces the egalitarian ethic that has sealed civilization's doom. In the end, Faye is a minor pawn in Russia's android game of influencing the European Right to accept, as Gorbachev once suggested, "Europe from Brest to Vladivostok."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    I love metapolitical thinking, but metapolitical writing can can be boring. I really enjoyed both the easily digestible organization of Archeofuturism and Faye's bold, dynamic writing style -- perfectly suited for a futurist manifesto.Faye tells us we should dream of the future and plan for the future, but temper this futurism with archaism, which he defines not as backward-looking nostalgia, but an understanding of and respect for the “founding impulses” of human social ing what is known about evolutionary psychology and tried forms of human social organization to inform humanity’s march into the future corrects the built-in mistake of modern life — which is truly driven by greedy commercialism and merely rationalized and pseudo-sacralized by “progressive” neophilia. In what passes for “social science” today, there is a tendency to throw out any traditional idea about human nature which cannot immediately be explained by scientific inquiry — some fast “study,” or the current perception of the barely understood brain — in favor of some theoretical form of social organization completely untried and unknown to our species.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    Using the latest as inspiration, not a blueprint

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    Archeofuturism One of the leading proponents of the European Fresh Right, Faye has never before been published in English. Because of this, it is certainly interesting to see someone getting around to making his work available to the English-speaking world. The book is a mish-mash of analysis, points-of-view, criticisms and suggestions for the future. Faye has a sharp eye, and is certainly creative. Sometimes he seems to go a bit overboard in different directions - possibly the one pays for an imaginative mind - but even this contributes to making Archeofuturism a worthy read. One may question Faye's views on biotechnology, futurism and (perhaps especially) love and sexuality, but this also makes for an active reading. This is not written in that politically inclined groups or individuals can agree with it wholeheartedly, it is written to spark discussion and engender thought. Faye's vision for the "post-apocalyptic" age is at once compelling and disturbing. It is summarized in the latest part of the book in the form of a fictional short-story, which paints a picture of the globe not as Faye thinks it would be, or perhaps even as he would wish it to be, but as it could becpme - should disaster strike, and the Archeofuturistic ideals be implemented in full. A worthy read, to say the least.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    Guillaume Faye is a poet of political theory. One can almost hear the Centurion trumpets blaring in the background as his sentences and paragraphs march forward into the landscape of his imagined future.I hesitate to describe Faye as a political philosopher because political philosophy is more concerned with theories of justice rather than soothsaying about the dynamics of the 21st Century. ArcheoFuturism isn't animated by concerns with distributive justice but rather with a prediction about the future. Equity, it is said, depends upon ample natural resources. Once physical resources are depleted, equity becomes an absurdity. The future, Faye argues, demands a reasoned way for an un-equal distribution of the world's resources so that a breakaway subset of Man can proceed forward both spiritually and technologically while the masses are consigned to live cyclically in a repetition of traditions that lock them in a contented, innocuous whirlpool that drives in the opposite direction; that is, backwards, into the past, then finally into an oblivion with more simian than human qualities.Justice, as it is normally conceived of, plays no part in the fresh ArcheoFuturistic distributive model because the dynamic force is simply the Will to Power. The mandate to proceed forward to the highest destiny of Man justifies a partition of resources that is unequal. And as this dynamic plays out in the 21st Century, Faye envisions institutional collapse and widespread ethnic warfare, with a Balkanization of the planet based on race. Europe expands to Euro-Siberia. China in cooperation with Japan controls California. Africa, I believe, is partitioned between Asians and Europeans. Similarly, the resources of the balance of the solar system, particularly Mars, fall to a negotiated split between Asians and Europeans.I suppose that in the ArcheoFuture Europeans and the quasi-Europeans of America will no longer watch television, in as much as it is well known that only the Japanese and Koreans are able to manufacture televisions worth watching at all. So, in the future, Europeans will have to watch other white goods, such as the Electrolux washing machine or, perhaps, their Phillips vacuum cleaners. Similarly, Asian women will have to carry their secret caches of cosmetics and other necessities in pockets or in their bare fingers, in as much as they will no longer have access to the Ferragamo and Chanel handbags of Italy and e ArcheoFuture is a catastrophe. Faye describes a dystopia. There is nothing that is normatively desirable in his universe. It is likely that models of distributive justice will have to be devised for a future that will be frustrated with increased resource constraints. And the Will to Power will continue to operate as it always has to the distribution of resources among individuals within the box we call civilization. However, to PROPOSE that we abandon justice is various from recognizing that justice will become more difficult in the 21st Century. In fact, it should be conceded that we do not today live in a system in which serious effort is created towards distributive equity. We live in a globe of slogans and dreams. Faye suggests that we should WANT to abandon those deed, it is my experience that we have abandoned justice already in too a lot of sectors and for too a lot of varieties of people. Visit any jail in America or attempt to walk through a poorer neighborhood in Southeast Asia. The dreams of distributive justice that have been knocked about and discoursed upon in classrooms in the major capitals of the planet have failed to achieve practical result in reality. How is it that we can be exhorted to abandon what we have barely even begun?Nonetheless, this is an necessary book, not because of its prescriptions, but because it may, in a positivistic way, amount to an accurate description of the developing mindset of a lot of Americans, Europeans and even East Asians. The 21st Century, I believe, will start to advance towards the resource choke points that were imagined in "Soylent Green" and related works. Inequality will once again attempt to achieve conventional legitimacy. However, even in the midsts of catastrophe, one would hope that some communities would persist that continue to believe in the chance of illaume Faye postulates that the current iteration of civilization will fail within our lifetimes. He describes a "jump" phenomenology consistent with chaos theory: once acceleration and velocity reach zero, degenerates into chaos. The parabola of the rise and fall of society isn't symmetrical. After the sluggish rise from the left to the very pinnacle, the plunge to the right is more or less vertical, from the grand dream of an equitable civilization to the reality of the rocks in just a few cycles of hyperventilation. Angry Max is waiting for us, and no one in our vicinity looks much like Charlize Theron.We've all heard the peak oil theory; and after a few runs through it, we've dismissed it. But now, I've begun to reconsider the validity of the peak oil hypothesis. USD as the reserve currency is simply a restatement of oil. Once oil as a control mechanism begins to fail in a sort of Green Crisis, Guillaume Faye's ArcheoFuture may start its march towards a horrific realization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    Dark and disturbing but not well thought out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archeofuturism: European Visions of the Post-Catastrophic Age []  2020-7-26 20:11

    Guillaume Faye's prescience is often more impressive than his understanding of history and the present. He appears to have it right so far, and with Archeofuturism may just have a solution for the West as well as the rest of humanity that reconciles nature and our different globe cultures and heritages with the technology that has so far caused war, destruction, pollution, and unhappiness under the false song of globalism and misplaced egalitarianism. Whether you agree or not, this is a must read for understanding the issues and eventual correction of modern, universalist progressivism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    Much like the premise of this story, I feel as though I have re lived P&P variations over and over (and over) again. Some are terrible, most are decent, and a few are positively magical. This story falls in the latter category. The plot device itself may not be wholly special but the authors varying interpretations of the days give the story a new fresh perspective page after page. I loved Elizabeth, how very much like the real Elizabeth Bennett she was! And Mr. Darcy, with his staid countenance and deep and abiding love for the country miss from Hertfordshire, was heartbreakingly divine. Elizabeth Adams is one of my favorite P&P authors and with this book she has turned me into an auto-buy-reader. Well done, madame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    I almost didn't this - I just thought, "Oh, no, another Groundhog Day", and thought it would be trite. Fortunately for the sample, I enjoyed it and bought it and I'm not sorry. The repeating day story was handled well, and it was fun to see Lizzy's managing of the repetition, and her gradual understanding of Darcy's personality and how much she had been wrong about him.Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    I loved this story. It is short, sweet, romantic and sometimes funny. Elizabeth Bennet keeps repeating the day of the Netherfied ball. She attends the party and then wakes up to attend it over and over again.. Initially she thinks the repetition is about Jane and Charles Bingley’s relationship. She soon realizes that relationship is not the answer. Her process of figuring out how not to end the repetitive cycle is both interesting and highly entertaining. We see Elizabeth Bennet grow in this story. This book is well worth it’s inexpensive price. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Highly recommend this book. I am well informed on this subject, and Dr Horn has done a unbelievable job presenting the material. Recommend to anyone wanting to understand Revelations prophesy in a practical way! Simple to read, found difficult to place down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    Beautiful decent for it's size which there was more examples in it though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    I read this light novel in the span of two hours or so. It was truly fantastical. I loved the idea of Eliza waking up and repeating the Netherfield Ball (and sometimes the following day, with Mr. Collins' dreadful proposal) over and over again! That'd be enough to drive anyone mad.I liked watching her hi-jinks in attempting to solve the problem, thinking if she fixed everyone's behavior, or got Bingley or Caroline or Darcy to agree to stay in Hertfordshire, things would reset. It was delightfully funny and frustrating, and sometimes, swoon-worthy, depending on which ver of Darcy she draws out that night.I loved all the a lot of various versions of how the night had gone, and the lengths Elizabeth went to get her objective. You begin to realize towards the middle what exactly it is she needs to do, but it's quite fun watching her muddle through it all. I almost want she'd gone a small crazier! Granted, dumping a drink on Caroline Bingley and refusing to dance with Mr. Collins - ever, under any circumstances - was beautiful ballsy, but I might have enjoyed even more anarchy. It was very much like those 'choose-your-path' android games catered to girls, mostly, where you test to create the relationships end happily without choosing a "bad ending"!The story wrapped up sweetly, though a small fast, for me. It's not quite the most detailed, drawn-out variation you'll ever read, but it's amazing for a fast pick-me-up. And with the theme, that might have been best. Too much info-dumping may have broken the spell that created this novel so charming in the first place. The Darcy-Elizabeth romance is there, of course, though not an all-consuming lovefest. It was sweet. Would recommend to anyone who wants an simple read, and unique, magical retelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    This is a amazing book. I love these pride and prejudice variation books. I obtain so wrapped up in the personalities of the characters that I laugh out loud when they tease each other. I laughed out loud through it, what Lizzie did when she was stuck in her Ground Hogs day experience was funny. I have fun books like this about ODC, they can obtain some of their resentment out of their system knowing it will not matter since tomorrow will be the same day again and nothing is remembered by others just by Lizzie. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    I rarely write reviews because I'm an author in this genre and the seller frowns on me doing so. However, for as long as the 'Zon leaves this up I wish potential purchasers to know this short book is simply fabulous. The blurb created it clear this was a take-off on Groundhog's Day which is not a favorite trope I typically read. Nevertheless, I have fun what I have read of this author's work so I took a possibility on using my bits of time to read this. I'm very grateful I did.Oh, my word! The growth of Elizabeth's appreciation and affection for Mr. Darcy is brilliantly done. I was absolutely enchanted to read how the author developed our heroine's character, where Elizabeth started looking to create changes in her family and others only to realize the need to adjust her own attitude and outlook. In doing so, we watched her mature right in front of our eyes. The author did all of this in a short story. Did I mention brilliant? The lovely addition at the end where we obtain the hero's POV is exquisite. Yes, this is a book well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    Rating: clean with a bit of suggestive language [hey, we’re dealing with Lydia]. Someone had to check her and it would take strong, blunt language that would chop through her stubborn attitude.I loved this story. I’ve read a ‘Groundhog Day’ experience where it was Darcy waking to the same day. This time it was Elizabeth’s turn to experience her day over and over again. And what day did Fate choose for her? The day of the Netherfield Ball. The most humiliating, embarrassing and stressful day of Elizabeth Bennet’s e author Elizabeth Adams did an perfect job in carefully choosing Miss Elizabeth’s experiences. With each subsequent replay of the day’s events, our dear girl would change her attitude and her tactics to change Fate. Nothing seemed to work. As her distress increased, we could feel her resolve, and courage ebb as she approached the point of heart went out to her as her attitude toward Mr. Darcy slowly changed over time. This was so well done. I loved it. My heart damage as our dear couple worked through their feelings and emotions. It was swoon-worthy. I heartily recommend this story. I wanted to read this on 11-26 but couldn’t wait and so read it a few days early. I enjoyed it tremendously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    Definitely a scream out (in my opinion) to the film Groundhog Day. I really enjoyed this story. I knew not to expect it to be completely real to the original, which is fine with me. I have read somewhere between 50-75 variations/continuations and fan fiction stories similar to P&P specifically. This was one of my favorites ever. I really enjoyed how Elizabeth dealt with each "new" day as her mood and opinion of others slowly changed. I was wondering each time which happening would trigger the day to continue into the day after the ball, all the while hoping that Elizabeth would be able to create a amazing impression on Darcy, as well as place into motion some other happenings to the private favorite part was the "incident" with CB and the glass of wine!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    This story immediately reminded me of Beau North’s “The A lot of Lives of Fitzwilliam Darcy.” In that story, Darcy also has to relive a certain day over and over again. In this story, as the title suggests, Elizabeth has to relive the day of the Netherfield Ball.I became frustrated just as Elizabeth did, wondering what exactly she required to do to continue living her life. And this not good girl tried everything!! I laughed at those days where she just didn’t care for the consequences of her actions (knowing her life would restart in the morning) and was downright devious to her family. That led to some humorous scenes.Eventually she does come out of it, and though the author isn’t explicit in what brought about the progression to the next day, I think one can tell what roughout the endless days of November 26th, I enjoyed seeing Elizabeth and Darcy’s relationship evolve. Though it was mostly one-sided (again, that reset...), it was nice to see Elizabeth overcome her pride and prejudice towards him.But lo and behold, we do obtain our hero’s POV at some point. And though his epiphany is delayed, he also overcomes his own pride and sort of prejudice. I’m so satisfied the author gave us Darcy’s perspective.I greatly enjoyed this story but this author is always writing awesome stories so I’m not surprised. Would definitely read again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The 26th of November: A Pride and Prejudice Comedy of Farcical Proportions []  2020-1-17 22:21

    This story is everything I've ever wanted in a Pride & Prejudice variation! Everything Elizabeth did in each ver of the Netherfield ball was something I've wanted to see happen at some point in my a lot of readings of the original. Who hasn't wanted someone to speak bluntly to the characters about their behavior? Especially when it comes to Mr & Mrs Bennett, Lydia, and Caroline Bingley!There were so a lot of moments that I laughed and just as a lot of moments where Elizabeth and Mr Darcy created me wish to cry. Easily one of my favorite moments is them making faces to each other behind their dance partners' backs through the evening.Exceptionally well written with lots of humor, love, and poignancy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Tom Horn is an perfect storyteller. A fictional narrative bookends the text which is an interesting method to show a “ what if...”. Lots of detail to obtain through but I’m really enjoying it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Received the book no issues as advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    This is one of my favourite books in my art studio. The drawings are simplified for better understanding but without being immature. I bought this a second time to give a fellow artist. I believe it is perfect for any level artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    My granddaughter is a amazing drawer, but she has problem drawing hands, so I bought the book for her. She is 13 and really loves the book. It will support her a lot. Thanks,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    Not simple to search what I wanted in a drawing manual. The positions and the actions are very amazing for copying until your hand and eye obtain the gist of representing hands and feet. I thoroughly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    I really like Tom Horn and his ministry at SkyWatch TV. However, I cannot recommend this book. Tom takes Scripture out of context as he forces it to match a dream that he had about an asteroid. For anyone who understands how to read the Bible and has studied Revelation, we know that Wormwood in Revelation 7 is something that doesn't happen until after the first 6 seals have been opened. Why is this important? Because there is a timeline in parts of Revelation which are clearly evident. The opening of the seals is one of those parts that occur in chronological order. Furthermore, believers in Jesus Christ are before the heavenly throne during the time that the 6th seal is open. Only at the time of the opening of the 7th seal is the wrath of God poured out on the wicked. So, there may possibly be another asteroid that's coming to hit the earth, but it's definitely NOT Wormwood. Finally, how are we to prepare for such a thing whether we're warned or not? My point is that this book leads its readers to be filled with fear -- yet, God has not given us a spirit of fear. His Word constantly tells us to "Fear not!" Long story short, I can't recommned this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Very necessary info everyone should know and he explains it so a regular person can understand!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    This book is one of the better ones I've seen on hands and feet. Especially feet. Many, a lot of poses that give any pro artist an perfect visual aid. It's a book you should have in your studio. This would also be a very valuable book for an art teacher, and I'd highly recommend it for a high schooler who wants to better their drawing skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    Gift, he liked a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Reading books is a dying art. Everything is youtube, image-driven. Nevertheless, Tom goes into amazing depth probing the different interpretations of what Wormwood could signify. For many, it may be too much. "Cut to the chase," they'll say. But I like to know how an author arrives at his conclusions. Horn leans on respected scholars such as Dr. Michael Heiser for much information, as well as informants from NASA who have top-secret clearance (demanding at the latest min that their name be removed).To me it's comforting to know the Bible always proves correct. God will bring about the happenings of Revelation whether by natural or supernatural means. Perhaps Wormwood has a dual purpose, both motivating antichrist to form his one-world government quickly and also driving lingering, laggard, lethargic, smartphone-addicted believers to their knees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Another reviewer says Tom takes Scripture out of context, but this reviewer supports that claim by giving one, narrow interpretation of Revelation. EVERYBODY knows that Revelation has as a lot of interpretations as there are in the sky, and it shows a sharp lack of decorum to say that Tom's private interpretation--which is only "bolstered by" (not "defined by") a private dream about an asteroid--would be taking any verse any more "out of context" than any other theologian who sees it differently. This reviewer also used their own timeline ideas to prove Tom guilty of twisting Scripture, which I found seriously questionable since the most brilliant scholars in the globe are still settling on vastly various timelines.FURTHERMORE, Tom quite openly talks about other famous interpretations (Dr. Michael Heiser, Dr. Gregory K. Beale, etc. etc.) as true possibilities, so the only "context" here is a fair and begin discussion. Well done, Tom! :)As for the value of the book, Tom gave some insight to some things the Word of God says that I have NEVER heard or seen before, and actually, he created the book of Revelation FRESH to me again. His "As It Was In The Days Of Pharaoh" chapter was a serious page-turner. Even if a reader doesn't agree with Tom's (seriously convincing) asteroid theory--WHICH AGAIN, he admits is only a THEORY--I promise the reader will walk away feeling like they understand that Attractive Book a LOT more than they did prior.Absolute, 5-star, [email protected]#$%!-would-be-ten-star, highest recommendation of all time for any book on this subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    I thought it would be more detailed on drawing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    Purchased as a reference for art. Serves that purpose well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    The book does a Amazing job I'm breaking down info and showing angles and proportions of the hands the shading definitely comes in handy and then it shows artwork previously done and what materials to create to do it as a amazing practice so satisfied I got this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of Drawing: Drawing Hands & Feet: Form, Proportions, Gestures and Actions []  2020-2-12 20:50

    Note that this isn't a step-by-step book for beginners but it's a amazing reference of hands and feet with lots of sketches that may create drawing these complicated anatomical parts a small easier. It's amazing for the but I want there were some images to reference and it's a beautiful thin book that could have had more in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    I knew when I purchased this book that it wouldn’t be about the dream/nightmare, vision that Mr Horn had, that being said I have to say he did a amazing job on all his various interviews convincing you that you required to read this book and to obtain it into the hands of as a lot of people as possible, well I read it and I have to say it was ok some parts were a small thought provoking, but it didn’t create an impact on me in the sense of a huge method and a few parts I ended up skipping over because they did not keep my interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    I love this Book! Very packed with Info and Necessary to have in your Library. If you read Tom Horn Books, then you will definitely! Wish this in your collection of Tom Horn Books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wormwood Prophecy: NASA, Donald Trump, and a Cosmic Cover-up of End-Time Proportions []  2019-12-19 18:53

    The first 3 chapters, as well as the latest one, were great, but considering how the author says the inspiration for this book came about, the rest of the chapters were unnecessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    The title alone is worth the cost. Amazing experiments with household items. Simple read for your budding scientist, my Scouts loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    Amazing book. My 10 year old son has carried this book around with him ALL summer long. If you have a boy who is into making "dangerous" ;-) things, this is the book for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    This is a book every fair minded person who is willing to learn the truth about "Palestine" should read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    Robert Spencer is an perfect and honest researcher. He runs a www service called jihad watch and is a keen analyst and historian of middle east affairs and terrorism. I've read several of his books and can say he doesn't pull any punches. His recent treatise addresses the false narrative of a "Palestinian" people, which never existed until 1964 when Yassar Arafat invented this "nation." He demonstrates how the conflict has never been about land, nor the quest for a state by the Arabs, a lot of of whom were nomads who immigrated to the former British mandate to search work made by the Jews who cleared the swamps of malaria and truly created the desert bloom again. It's always has been a religious battle versus the Jews, who the Arabs believe should be Dhimmi 2nd class citizens. If you like this book, I also recommend "Phantom Nation" by Shai Ben-Tekoa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    I enjoyed reading Prothero’s “When Humans Nearly Vanished,” but I’ve given it only four stars because I feel the book is not all that it could be. The premise is that a super volcano erupted in Indonesia roughly 74,000 years ago, an happening confirmed by ice cores, ash deposits and studies of the caldera itself. The eruption was enormous, dwarfing historically latest eruptions like Krakatoa (1883), Pinatubo (1991) and Tambora (1815). The resulting volcanic winter and acid rains decimated life on the planet, an outcome that is supposedly reflected in a “genetic bottleneck” that appears in the genome of pandas, tigers, amazing apes and humans, among others. The hypothesis is that we humans, as a species, almost went extinct because of that e subject is a amazing excuse for digressions into geology, paleontology, volcanism, the five Amazing Extinctions, genetics and the prospects for future super volcanic eruptions that might upend human civilization, or worse. It’s all very interesting, but these topical surveys are necessarily high level and they cover familiar ground for those who have explored these topics , in sum: an enjoyable diversion and worth reading, but it could have been told as an exciting story and its thesis advanced more effectively. I was hoping for something more along the lines of “T-Rex and the Crater of Doom,” but this book isn’t quite in that league.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    A very amazing book, it ties a lot of various disciplines together to create amazing story. I thought I was fairly well versed on the subject, but learned a lot of fresh information. Kudos to Donald Prothereo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Supervolcano: The Catastrophic Event That Changed The Course Of Human History []  2020-1-29 2:6

    Barely worth the $2 for it. Preachy, poorly edited, frequent factual errors. No info not already available in better work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    Gifted this book to my eight year old nephew who loves science. I must say the moment he started to read the book he was hooked on to it. A amazing at a amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    My grandson couldn't place it drown!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    my nephews loved this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    I'm glad we created it through the storm 74,000 years ago so I could live to read this fine book. This is a fun, well written overview of an awesome moment in prehistory. Highly recommended. Read it fast before the next supervolcano goes off!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Supervolcano: The Catastrophic Event That Changed The Course Of Human History []  2020-1-29 2:6

    Psuedo science, should be disregarded. From easy errors (e.g., unit conversions) to largely debatable subjects like cellular imprint theory, this is not a scientific text. Even the entire theory of the human bottle neck is being questioned. See Lane et Al 2013.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    First, one has to have read the Bible. Next, one has to be up on latest history, especially Yasser Arafat and the role he played in the formation of the PLO. This book covers that in spades. The latest thing that is important is to not be bias versus Israel. This book covers a amazing of how that bias has come to be. It confirmed my belief that there is no such people as Palestinians. It is really a amazing read and supports Biblical history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    Well written. Exposes the delusion and the hypocrisy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    These are really interesting books. My daughter is really having fun learning about these various things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    This was a amazing purchase, quick shipper and am glad that I purchased, but should not have to write so a lot of words

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Supervolcano: The Catastrophic Event That Changed The Course Of Human History []  2020-1-29 2:6

    I am enjoying this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    What a disappointment. I bought this (at a high Kindle price) and expected an explanation of the eruption of the Toba volcano with a followup of the result on homo sapiens. And I expected a book longer than 180 pages. What I got was the equivalent of a high school, or at best college sophomore, research paper. There was a lot of discussion about volcanoes and some about genetics and a number of quotes from people like Charles Darwin and Pliny the Younger. But almost no true description of the actual eruption beyond a brief listing of the info of the amount of ash, lava, etc. And more important, an hypothesis about the effects of the proposed bottle neck and how humans could have survived and, eventually, had an explosion of generations from a possible 10,000 breeding pairs. Pathetic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    Very informitive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    Donald Prothero, the author of When Humans Nearly Vanished, brings us two stories in parallel. Both stories are equally e first is the history of catastrophic volcanic explosions. Geologists have been successful in locating the website in Indonesia of a heavy volcanic explosion, Toba, which occurred over seventy thousand years ago. The magnitude of the explosion was a lot of times greater than those in recorded history, e.g., Mt. St. Helens, Vesuvius, and Krakatoa. Each of these gets their own description. I found the description of the happenings around Vesuvius by Pliny to be absorbing. I am sure that the people who were show for the happening were not as thrilled.I was especially interested in the mention of the La Garita eruption in southwest Colorado, twenty-eight million years ago. I have done some hiking in the La Garita area, climbing San Luis Peak, one of Colorado's more isolated 14,000 ft peaks. The trailhead is sixty miles from the nearest paved road. On the way, we passed through a canyon with amazingly configured vertical walls. I wonder if these formations were a part of the e second story is that of a genetic narrowing of the human species to just a few thousand individuals, also about seventy thousand years ago. Prothero makes the case that the two happenings are linked. He goes into amazing detail in describing how geneticists were able to deduce the narrowing. Some people may search that the amazing detail of genetics that the author goes through is a bit e book is well written. The arguments are created along scientific lines. However, the amazing explosion and the genetic narrowing may or may not be cause and effect. There needs to be more evidence to establish the link between Toba and our human genetics. However, there will be scientists looking for the evidence. It may be difficult to convince the geneticists, if only because the arguments are created by a geologist. People tend to defend their turf. For example, when a geologist and a physicist postulated that the KT extinction was caused by a huge meteor impact, the paleontologists were not fast to accept the explanation. Then the crater was located.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    Another perfect book by Robert Spencer. It brings together info he has been providing in articles and public speaking for years. If you believe that Israel is "an occupying power", or that the Palestine-Israel conflict is anything other than an ongoing attempt to destroy Israel, you need to read this book. For decades now, the West has been almost refusing to take a realistic look at the roots of the problem. This book would be an perfect kickstart for a much better understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    Mr. Spencer traces the history of the development of modern Israel and the development of the “Palestinian People” and in so doing debunks the commonly held notions of our day. The book both covers and extends the work of Joan Peters in “From Time Immemorial” (a title selected to mock the use of the term by “Palestinians” that they are the descendants of the ancient Canaanites and therefore the indigenous people of the land who have been show there “from time immemorial”). The reality (well documented in both the work of Peters and Spencer) is that the backwater of the Ottoman empire called “Palestine” was an zone of desolation and had a minimal population. Both authors demonstrate that Arab populations were drawn to the zone once Zionist Jews began reclaiming the land and required workers at a time when Jewish immigration to the zone was actively thwarted by the British despite a mandate to facilitate such immigration (and the fact that what is now Jordan was originally supposed to be part of the fresh Israel per the mandate). The conscious decision by Arab leaders in league with Russian supporters in the early 1960's to make a people that would see themselves as “Palestinian” instead of Arab or Syrian or Egyptian for the purpose of eliminating Israel is discussed and documented in detail. Peters published in 1984 and so her history ends at that point. Spencer continues the story to the show day and documents the actualization via “negotiations for peace” of Muhammad's dictum that “war is deceit” ( see Bukhari Volume 4, Book52, Number 269). He clearly shows that all motions towards “peace” by the Arab side have simply been battle by other means with the ultimate goal of destroying Israel (copious first person statements to this by Arab leaders are provided). Spencer also debunks the notion that this is a conflict over true estate and property lines. He brings to the fore (unlike Peters) that this is a fundamentally religious conflict in that per the teachings of Islam there can be no Jewish state in a land that at any time was ever controlled in any method by Muslims. Copious quotations from the foundational materials of Islam and the statements of Islamic leaders are presented to help this conclusion. Spencer concludes with an ugly truth: That there can be no “negotiated peace” and that Israel is dealing with a foe that only respects force. Western and Israeli leaders need to come to the same conclusion and not continue to exist in a state of wishing and willful denial.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science: 50 Experiments for Daring Young Scientists (Irresponsible Science) [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    My nine year old son bought this for his 11 y.o. brother for Christmas. The book has a fun and playful layout which my son loves. The explanations that come with the experiments create me satisfied (Dad) and the experiments' fun factor create the boys happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Supervolcano: The Catastrophic Event That Changed The Course Of Human History []  2020-1-29 2:6

    The topic matter for this book is so interesting. Unfortunately, the writing is so not good that it's hard to have fun it. The authors can't seem to decide if they are writing for adults or juveniles, so the writing style waffles back and forth in an irritating fashion. Sadly, this appears to be the only kindle book available on this specific subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    This is an perfect well-researched book. It's clear from the a lot of quotes by Muslim leaders that there was no Arab ownership of the West Bank (Judea and Samaria) prior to the 1967 battle - when Israel won it. The book makes it clear that there can be no two-state solution unless and until the Muslims give up jihad - and they won't ever do that. There there can be no one-state solution either, because the Muslims would outnumber the Jews - the end of Israel.I am not a Jew by the way, but I am a Christian and have been to Israel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Palestinian Delusion: The Catastrophic History of the Middle East Peace Process []  2020-1-17 21:6

    Extremely well written and truthful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    I love this author, After The Dinosaurs is one of my favorite reads. The mammals are much more interesting that the dino's, but this book has a fascinating premise with no actual info of what happened at the 74,000 yr bottleneck. Where did the survivors live? Who and where didn't people survive? I love the geology story, the history of giant eruptions and all, but who, how many, where, and under what conditions did people live or die I guess remains unknown. Not his fault that these answers are beyond his reach, but the title is a bit of a tease . . .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    As a reader who is interested in science but yet finds science quite the intellectual challenge(B.A liberal arts) I found this to be a fascinating read. Our ancestors almost did not survive the Toba volcanic eruption c.a. 74,ooo bce. This book describes a convergence of human origins and the geological forces that shape the planet and Donald Prothero info it in amazing detail. He blends geology, anthropology, paleontology in clear writing style that is excellent for the educated general reader who wants more science education. I especially was fascinated by his description of the year without a Summer of 1816 when volcano debris literally blotted out the Sun and resented humanity with a year of darkness. If you are interested in geology, human origins, or biology and are not a scientist,read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Humans Nearly Vanished: The Catastrophic Explosion of the Toba Volcano []  2020-1-22 22:20

    "When Humans Nearly Vanished" ostensibly presents the case for the hypothesis that anatomically modern humans experienced a catastrophic drop in their population about 70,000 years ago, which was caused by the eruption of Mount Toba in modern Indonesia between 74,450 and 74,050 years ago, creating a genetic "bottleneck" because only 4500-5000 individuals were left alive. We would all theoretically be descended from them. In practice, however, Donald R. Prothero, who seems to specialize mostly in geology and geobioloogy, doesn’t create much of a case for his hypothesis. Most of the book is about tangential subjects and the case for Mount Toba as the cause of a genetic bottleneck is flimsy and thero begins by painting a bleak picture of the aftermath of the Mount Toba eruption. It spewed thick ash over the surrounding islands and parts of Asia; it caused sulfuric acid rain to fall in a lot of parts of the world; it may have caused air temperatures to drop for ten years. This is followed by a chapter on how this eruption was discovered, but it is mostly filler about serendipity in science and ice cores not relevant to this issue. Another chapter talks about historical volcanic eruptions, including a quotation of most of the text from Pliny the Younger's letters to Tacitus in which he recounted the circumstances of his Uncle's death near Pompeii in 79 CE. Another chapter recounts the history of major volcanic eruptions in thero puts forth the idea that humans experienced a genetic bottleneck about 70,000 years ago in a chapter dedicated to genes, but the chapter is mostly about the discovery of DNA in the mid-twentieth century. There is a chapter about archaic human populations in which the author goes on for several pages about how closely we are similar to apes and several more about the Piltdown Hoax in 1912. A chapter about human ancestry in Africa follows the career of Louis Leaky for no particular reason. Prothero considers archaic humans, including Neanderthal, Denisovans, and the "Hobbit" people of Flores Island, to be distinct species from anatomically modern humans, which geneticists typically do not, as these groups could is in Chapter 7 that Prothero makes his case, such as it is, for Mount Toba as the cause of a genetic bottleneck. He points to other animals that experienced genetic bottlenecks at this time, but this does not imply that humans did, as modern humans were spread out over Africa and the Near East. He repeatedly asserts that the absence of archeological evidence of disturbance in cultures in southern India and southern Africa during this time don't prove that he is wrong. He states that a population crash wouldn't necessarily cause any change in the artifacts. Why not? He refers to populations being "decimated", which would not cause a population crash. He claims that the Toba eruption could have triggered the Greenland Stadial 20, which lasted 1,000 years. How?There is a chapter about the five amazing extinction happenings of the past and the possible roles of volcanic eruptions in three of them, including the Cretaceous-Paleogene extinction that place an end to the dinosaurs. The final chapter is about the volcanoes of North America.If you're interested in this topic, I suggest using Google. It will turn up a plethora of scientific papers and blogs that discuss the Mount Toba hypothesis. This book is overwhelmingly filler and it seems to be written for an uneducated audience; it's dumbed-down. Prothero is writing outside his field when he talks about genetic bottlenecks. As far as I know, the genetic bottleneck that Prothero refers to took put 50,000-90,000 years ago and occurred exclusively among non-Africans, not the entirety of modern humans. Prothero also claims that all Native Americans descended from about 70 individuals who came from Asia 11,000-13,000 years ago, the "First Americans". While it is real that all Native Americans are descended from First Americans, they are not exclusively descended from that group. There is a ghost population labeled "Population Y" that is believed to be older than the First Americans and whose genes are found in the peoples of Amazonia. Two later migrations from Asia left their tag on Aleut-Eskimos. You obtain the picture. This book wasted my time.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386