Read olde english madrigals and folk songs at ely cathedral reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all olde english madrigals and folk songs at ely cathedral reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    John Rutter and The Cambridge Singers is always a safe bet with respect to attractive melody and vocals . This particular album is ,in my opinion , among the best they have recorded .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    Just attractive melody and pleasure for your senses . Need a lift ? Need to be inspired or calmed ? This can do it all . Unbelievable selections and no disappointments .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    It is a lovely recording and I am very satisfied with this purchase.

    0  


    Add your opinion on olde english madrigals and folk songs at ely cathedral or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    The splendor of these arrangements and the setting confer on all of these traditional madrigals (and some newer arrangements: Side B is dominated by twentieth century arrangements) a certain solemnity and a certain stately pace (so the lyrics are not lost in the echo of the cathedral).This leaves a strange result on some selections, such as "Now Is The Month of Maying," which is about, um, springtime urges and here sounds oddly like a mass.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    This CD gave me just what I was looking for, a superb recording of a dozens of madrigal music. Sung beautifully at the resonant Ely Cathedral. Exquisite!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    very enjoyable....but I overlooked the fact that there would be so a lot of folk songs; the album is great, just not quite what I hoped to purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    This disc is a bit various from a lot of of the Cambridge Singers' discs in that it is exclusively secular songs. They have retained one of their favourite recording spaces, the Lady Chapel at Ely Cathedral, a structure well atuned to a capella singing (it has a natural nine second delay in the cathedral). This recording was John Rutter's first album on American Gramaphone Records.--Music--Madrigals are songs that have different purposes. They can be for personal or public entertainment; they can be together with dramatic performances or played on their own. Petrarch is the inspiration of a lot of madrigal texts, and folk songs also feature significantly. The English Madrigal School took full bloom during the golden age of Elizabeth; by the middle of the seventeenth century, the era of composition of the madrigal was essentially over. However, they have remained a famous pieces for performance, and a lot of modern composers have arranged them, including on this disc Holst, Vaughan Williams and the Cambridge Singers director, drigals are often upbeat, happy, sometimes poignant, and lively. Some madrigals incorporate humour and jokes. There are exceptions to all of these, to be sure, including among the songs on this disc. Perhaps the best known madrigal in modern times, Greensleeves, is presented as the latest piece on this disc, here in an arrangement by Vaughan Williams. There are lively emotions and sombre tones here, all sung with grace and consistent quality.--Liner Notes--Unlike a lot of of the Cambridge Singers' CDs' liner notes, this one has a biographical sketch of John Rutter, a description of the setting at Ely Cathedral, a listing of the singers, and an essay about madigrals. Also unlike other CDs of theirs, this one does not contain the words to the songs, a missing piece that would be helpful for a lot of of the songs.--John Rutter--Rutter was born in London and educated at Clare College, Cambridge. This was where his career as a composer, arranger and conductor began. His early work was with groups at King's College Chapel at Cambridge as well as the Bath Choir and Philharmonic Orchestra. He has worked for the BBC providing melody for educational series such as 'The Archaeology of the Bible Lands', until in 1979 he began forming the Cambridge Singers, and has continued a remarkable career of performance and recording as their director ever since.--The Cambridge Singers--The Cambridge Singers are a mixed choir of voices, a lot of of whom were members of choir of Rutter's college, Clare College, Cambridge. While they specialise in English and Latin liturgical pieces, they have a wide range of recordings that span from modern compositions (including a remarkable requiem by Rutter) to English folk songs of the Middle Ages. A lot of are former members of the choir of Clare College and other Cambridge collegiate choirs (hence the name, Cambridge Singers). In the quarter-century since the founding, the Cambridge Singers have produced an impressive body of is is a fun and fabulous recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    This is a collection of delightful English choral melody chosen with insight by John Rutter and performed beautifully by the Cambridge Singers under Rutter's authoritative baton. The greatest bit of serendipity is "I Love My Love," the topic of the second movement in Vaughan Williams' Folk Song Suite, the gentle warhorse of wind ensemble melody every school musician encounters early in their career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    Without belabouring the details, this album is lovely and well worth the purchase. I feel that is is more than I expected when I downladed it, and I think that if you love madrigals, this is certainly one for your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Olde English Madrigals and Folk Songs at Ely Cathedral []  2020-5-21 18:52

    Was looking forward to this CD but it was sadly lacking in enjoyment. Not that it isn't done well, it's just not Baroque.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chinese Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:54

    Though the sound quality is just OK, I do enjoyed the music. My parents used to listen to the melody in 1960s. Probably not for anyone but those who have fun old-style singing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chinese Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:54

    If you are even considering buying this album, DO NOT HESITATE. I really like the songs, vocals and arrangements. The title of the review says it all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    Disliked. Wasn’t the folk songs I know and loved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    These cd's are full of so a lot of traditional songs - a lot of that we sang to our kids and a lot of I have never heard. I bought this set for my grandchildren so the tradition continues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    I bought this because I wanted to hear their rendition of "Ochi Chornya" (Dark Eyes). Let's face it: either you're into the sound of Russian folks songs or you're not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    I have listened to this lovely melody a lot of times since I acquired the album. Fine singers and choirs, perfect traditional accompaniments, and years of history. This disc is never far from my CD player!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    Purchased by mistake but gave it a test - songs are unremarkable and all sound the same. There are better collections of children’s folk melody out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    Forget about purple dinosaurs and inept adults dumbing down low quality melody to hyponotize kids with insincere emotion. This is the true stuff. This album is quality authentic melody that kids love! My children wear this album out and better yet I like it. Maybe a small to true for TV culture. Also check out woody guthries - "songs for mother and kid to grow on" and "the nursery years".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    2 1/2 year old Granddaughter loves this! We are singing together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    This recording must be a compilation of other very old recordings. I nevertheless enjoyed the very special arrangements and sounds. I want that the producer had included some sort of info as to when the recordings were made, where was the group based and the meaning of the songs, etc. There is very small info on the internet about the group. What a shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Croft at St Paul's - Te Deum & Burial Service (English Orpheus, Vol 15) /St Paul's Cathedral Choir * Parley of Instruments * Scott []  2020-1-23 3:7

    Most of us have grown up listening to the David Wilcocks/King'sCollege Choir recording of Croft's Burial Service (1972). The openingsentences are recorded as a processional chant where the choir slowlyapproaches from a distance. The choir then settles in the chancel tointone the "De Profundis" before continuing with "Manthat is born of woman hath but a short time to live . . .". Atthis moment one feels as though one is standing among the singers. Istill to this day keep my breath for those few moments before the"De Profundis". Its purity is startling, and it encapulatesall the easy beauty of Anglican chant. The rendition of Purcell'sincluded anthem, "Lord, thou knowest the secrets of our hearts,. ..." is particularly successful in this erecording under the direction of John Scott (1998) is quitedifferent. The choir is static during the opening sentences, and thereis, alas, no "De Profundis". The acoustics of St Paul'sCathedral, the phrasing and tempi, however, more than compensate forthese deficiencies. It reveals this incomparable homophonicmasterpiece in all its glory. Would it that all our public expressionsof grief could display such a attractive simplicity and be dignified bysuch ineffable solemnity and heartbreaking poignancy.Unfortunately,on this disc the Burial Service is sandwiched between two of Croft'sjoyous, floridly Baroque anthems. For me this is not an entirely happycombination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    This is an necessary CD to own as it preserves a lot of of the songs from our folk heritage that have been almost forgotten, and a lot of of them are impossible to search recorded elsewhere. Yes, some of the lyrics are a small raw, but they reflect life as it was around the turn of the latest century when most of these songs were written.I like the Seegers' voices. They are not professional singers, but I think that their voices have an earthy, natural sound and suit the material. The children love the songs too and I have adapted some of them to use with my preschool melody ey also have a CD called "Animal Folk Songs for Children" which my children love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    There are sixteen songs on this CD. Seven of them are very familiar to me. (I lived for almost half of my life in the USSR, and Russian is my native language.) One or two other melodies were also familiar, the other songs I do not remember I heard before. I evaluated each of the songs on this CD by a number, from one to five, with five being the best. Then I calculated the average, and it was four. So I evaluated this CD by four stars. The voices of the soloists on this CD are pleasant. However, one or two times, listening to the songs, I doubted that the native language of the soloist was Russian. Am I wrong in that? Maybe ... Also, sometimes I thought that the choir "stretches" singing of a certain sentence in a song more than necessary, or that singing of a soloist is a small mincing, but all this is the matter of private preferences. The songs on this CD are a amazing introduction to Folk Songs of Old Russia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    It helps me sleep. I sent one to my grand daughter who is a musician, to demonstrate it's soothing tones and she loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    Totally vocal in Russian language but no instrumental music. I wanted to hear Russian melody but not vocal. I was disappointed but I don,t speak or understand the Russian language. I wanted instrumental music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    I bought this, like so a lot of albums back in the late 70s in college, and though I can only understand a few words here and there, the sounds of these two choir groups is intense and evocative of Old Russia. For those who know the language, it would be a amazing present--for those who love the rhythms and sounds of choral groups, this is a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    The musical arrangements feel a bit stiff, but if learning old songs is what you are after, this is a amazing resource. The performers are not transporting in their voices or showmanship but it is a solid collection with hard to search songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    I love this cd. I had this on tape for several years and required to modernize to the cd version. My students love the folk melody on this cd and now my nephews have fun listening to it in my vehicle too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    This is by far the best and most thorough collection of American children's songs I've ever come across. I highly recommend this recording for kids AND adults!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Folk Songs For Children []  2020-1-3 23:52

    Our 3 year old grandson loves music. He especially loves bluegrass music. He loves this CD and dances to it. This CD is created for young children. It's absolutely fun & wonderful. We love all of the melody they chose for this CD. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    I love to listen to Russian music. This CD is epic! I listen to it again and again and I don't obtain tired of hearing it. A lot of years ago as a student at Oregon State, I found this treasure at the library as a vinyl 33rpm LP. I checked it out and upon listening to this epic music, I fell in love with it ever since then. I tried recording it on a cassette with a small portable tape recorder, but the background noise in the dorms and the not good quality of the recording created it impossible for me to have fun it as much as on the LP. For a lot of years, I wondered where I could search this LP and tried looking for it with no success. There was no Internet back then to search things with such ease as we can nowadays. After I had lost hope in finding it and not expecting to ever encounter it in CD, I stumbled on it here at Amazon and without hesitation ordered it. Now I am very satisfied to own this long awaited CD and am glad to have it amongst all my other collection of CDs and be able to call it my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    I bought an album a lot of years ago on a cassette tape that contained most of these same tracks. This was around 1976 as I was entering the US Army. I didn't know Russian but I had studied some Russian history. Maybe that was what piqued my curiosity. What I found was a collection of melody that ranges from mournful to playful and joyous, and is sung with amazing feeling. I fell in love with it. I am delighted to have found it reproduced in digital form. My cassette tapes entered the land fill a long time ago. Now I can share this attractive melody with my mates and family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of Old Russia []  2020-2-2 2:33

    My wife is Russian and she loves this recording. I listen to it and can not understand the words, but the melody is unbelievable to listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Croft at St Paul's - Te Deum & Burial Service (English Orpheus, Vol 15) /St Paul's Cathedral Choir * Parley of Instruments * Scott []  2020-1-23 3:7

    This recording could have been a true treasure, but, alas, it is e melody of Croft is of very high quality, and this Te Deum compares favorably with those of Purcell and Handel (the Utrecht), especially in the two exquisite alto solos. The performance is also excellent, with Ashley Stafford reigning among the soloist, but a lot of others making a valuable contribution. Even the choir is quite good, being a huge cathedral choir using boys on the top e main issue is that this huge cathedral choir has been recorded in a very huge cathedral; St. Paul's in London - one of the largest there is. Don't obtain me wrong, I love to visiting St. Paul's for looking around, but the huge reverberent zone obscures the melody to the point where the musical lines blur into one another. Had this exact performance been recorded in a smaller church, I would probably have given it 5 Judes-on-the-Hill in Hampstead, and All Saints in Tooting are both huge London churches used frequently for recording, but are little enough that the texture doesn't obtain so muddied. I don't know why they didn't take the choir to a building with a drier sound.I realize that the recorded sound is a matter of taste, but I search St. Paul's is just too resonant for me, and it mars an otherwise very amazing recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of England Ireland & Scotland 1 []  2020-2-2 0:51

    I love this CD. If you're looking for some fun melody to listen to, it's not for you. If you're looking to hear or learn some very traditional folk songs sung in a very traditional way, it's excellent for you. I love folk songs, but I like to hear them as they were originally sung (while doing housework, on front porches, unaccompanied, and by non-professional singers). The singers are definitely unconcerned with sounding "good"; they are merely sharing their songs with others. As an American, their accents can be hard to understand, but that's part of the appeal. There is small to no instrumentation, and it's wonderfully raw (one singer clears his throat loudly in the middle of a verse, another forgets the words but continues on, there is a song performed in a pub with the crowd adding a spirited background, etc.). You truly feel like you're there in their sitting rooms, having some tea, and spending the evening in y of the singers sound like your 80 year old grandmother who needs a nap, but a few have unbelievable voices. The young man who sings "The False Knight Upon the Road" and the man who sings "Broomfield Hill" are two examples.If you can't obtain enough of traditional ballads, this cd!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of England Ireland & Scotland 1 []  2020-2-2 0:51

    This CD is an interesting collection of field recordings done by Alan Lomax in Britain and Ireland. The singers are for the most part just regular, older people singing at their homes or pubs. If you are interested in traditional ballads, this is a amazing CD to check out. It has a lot of singers, singing traditional ballads in traditional styles, without that sense, I enjoyed the recordings, because I have read a lot of of the ballads on paper, but did not know how they were sung. But it's not something I'd place on for dinner music. The recording quality is patchy (these are, after all, field recordings), and some of the ballads are spliced together from several singers' renditions-- which is interesting for the subtle variations revealed in style and content from one singer to the next, but I really would have liked to hear just one person sing it all the method e liner notes are actually more like a little book, loaded with historical detail and info about the different singers. There are a couple of annoying transcription errors in the song texts (the sound of a cuckoo clock in the background is written in as part of the lyrics, a chorus is marked incorrectly), but the rest more than makes up for them. It's a fascinating collection, but only if you are interested in folk ballads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of England Ireland & Scotland 1 []  2020-2-2 0:51

    This CD is (unintentionally) the funniest thing I've heard in a long time! The recordings have almost no musical accompanyment and are very rough ... it is a bit like hearing your grandfather singing in the garage. The ballad singer aesthetic is almost diametrically opposed to the rock melody aesthetic - the older the singer, the more gravely and incoherent the recording, the better & more "authentic" the recording. The performers often do only snippets of ballads that create no sense at all unless you know the rest of the piece. For example in performing "The Douglas Tragedy" Henry McGregor sings only the part where Lord William is telling Lady Margaret that she has a choice to stay or ride off with him. Even this McGregor seems to have a hard time remembering. "Go saddle to me my ... (long pause) ... my amazing grey steed." The accents are so thick that it sounds like an entirely foreign language in locations (and in some places, like King Orfeo with its Ancient Norse chorus, it really isn't English). And the background sounds, like the cuckoo clock tolling mentioned by another reviewer, are great. I think I heard a cat at the beginning of one! Those familiar with Anglo-Irish ballads will search this collection fascinating. Others will simply obtain a amazing laugh out of it. Kids, play this, and your parents will REALLY begin to worry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of England Ireland Scotland & Wales: Songs of Seduction []  2020-1-16 23:25

    A title like "Songs of Seduction" conjures a lot of possibilities for music. What I didn't expect when I first place this one on was a quavery, old voice stumbling through a few verses of "Blackbirds and Thrushes" before chortling hoarsely. But that's precisely how "Songs of Seduction," a fresh release from "The Alan Lomax Collection," begins. And there's more of the same -- 33 tracks in all, most featuring creaky, timeworn voices eroded by years of work and whiskey. What a treasure!Alan Lomax is a beloved name in folk revivalism, capturing a dying style of melody before it vanished and, as a result, helping to bring it back bigger than ever before. This album, and others in the re-issued series from Rounder Records, is the product of several years in the early 1950s which Lomax and a few others -- Peter Kennedy, Seamus Ennis, Hamish Henderson, Wyn Humphries and Sean O'Boyle -- spent traveling through the countrysides of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, toting their recording equipment down country streets to search melody where it still rtunately for us, Lomax created these recordings before it was too late. Fortunately, too, Rounder Records hasn't allowed the melody to disappear into the archives of old and scratchy vinyl -- this CD is an awesome piece of musical e singers for the most part aren't professional musicians. They're laborers and craftsmen -- common folk. For instance, "Blackbirds and Thrushes" is sung by Dickie Lashbrook, a wandering chimney sweep who slept rough in Cornwall hedgerows. "The Foggy Dew" came from Major Philip Hammond, a Norfolk soldier. Tinker Jimmy McBeath contributed an "erotic fragment" of Scots diddling called "Toorn-a Ma Goon." "The Jolly Tinker" was from Thomas Moran, a 79-year-old Irish farmer, while East Anglian farm laborer Harry Cox, whose "repertoire of erotic lyrics was extraordinary," shared "The Long Peggin' Awl," "Firelock Stile," "The Maid of Australia" and "The Knife in the Window."Charlie Wills was a "jovial country Englishman ... with a cider mug in one hand and a lusty ballad on his lips." His lively rendition of "Up to the Rigs of London Town" is particularly delicious, sung with schoolboy enthusiasm despite his 80-plus years -- and with ample assistance from the crowd around him. Johnny Doherty, an Irish Traveler and peddler, played "Bundle and Go" on a borrowed fiddle because he had none of his ere are women represented here, too, like Irish tinker Annie O'Neil on "The Thrashing Machine" and Perthshire's Belle Stewart on "The Overgate." Aberdeen balladeer Jeannie Robertson supplies a few: "The Bonny Wee Lassie Who Never Said No," "The Cuckoo's Nest," "Never Wed a' Auld Man" and "She is a Rum One." An all-night session in Belfast produced 17-year-old tinker Lal Smith's performance of "The Bold English Navvy."You can hear generations in these songs. The voices are rough, unpolished, in some cases trembling with age -- but these are the songs they grew up singing and the words are worn into their souls like wheel tracks on a muddy road. Sometimes they cough, hesitate or stumble in the words. But there's also pride in the sound, and undisguised glee as they sing the bawdy modern melody standards, there isn't much here to raise even a blush. Today, singers describe graphically what once could only be hinted at. But give me subtlety every time -- these tunes are a treat, and every time I listen I can see their faces, eyes twinkling and grinning broadly as they belted out the old songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of England, Ireland, Scotland & Wales: Songs of Seduction []  2020-1-17 5:16

    A title like "Songs of Seduction" conjures a lot of possibilities for music. What I didn't expect when I first place this one on was a quavery, old voice stumbling through a few verses of "Blackbirds and Thrushes" before chortling hoarsely. But that's precisely how "Songs of Seduction," a fresh release from "The Alan Lomax Collection," begins. And there's more of the same -- 33 tracks in all, most featuring creaky, timeworn voices eroded by years of work and whiskey. What a treasure!Alan Lomax is a beloved name in folk revivalism, capturing a dying style of melody before it vanished and, as a result, helping to bring it back bigger than ever before. This album, and others in the re-issued series from Rounder Records, is the product of several years in the early 1950s which Lomax and a few others -- Peter Kennedy, Seamus Ennis, Hamish Henderson, Wyn Humphries and Sean O'Boyle -- spent traveling through the countrysides of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, toting their recording equipment down country streets to search melody where it still rtunately for us, Lomax created these recordings before it was too late. Fortunately, too, Rounder Records hasn't allowed the melody to disappear into the archives of old and scratchy vinyl -- this CD is an awesome piece of musical e singers for the most part aren't professional musicians. They're laborers and craftsmen -- common folk. For instance, "Blackbirds and Thrushes" is sung by Dickie Lashbrook, a wandering chimney sweep who slept rough in Cornwall hedgerows. "The Foggy Dew" came from Major Philip Hammond, a Norfolk soldier. Tinker Jimmy McBeath contributed an "erotic fragment" of Scots diddling called "Toorn-a Ma Goon." "The Jolly Tinker" was from Thomas Moran, a 79-year-old Irish farmer, while East Anglian farm laborer Harry Cox, whose "repertoire of erotic lyrics was extraordinary," shared "The Long Peggin' Awl," "Firelock Stile," "The Maid of Australia" and "The Knife in the Window."Charlie Wills was a "jovial country Englishman ... with a cider mug in one hand and a lusty ballad on his lips." His lively rendition of "Up to the Rigs of London Town" is particularly delicious, sung with schoolboy enthusiasm despite his 80-plus years -- and with ample assistance from the crowd around him. Johnny Doherty, an Irish Traveler and peddler, played "Bundle and Go" on a borrowed fiddle because he had none of his ere are women represented here, too, like Irish tinker Annie O'Neil on "The Thrashing Machine" and Perthshire's Belle Stewart on "The Overgate." Aberdeen balladeer Jeannie Robertson supplies a few: "The Bonny Wee Lassie Who Never Said No," "The Cuckoo's Nest," "Never Wed a' Auld Man" and "She is a Rum One." An all-night session in Belfast produced 17-year-old tinker Lal Smith's performance of "The Bold English Navvy."You can hear generations in these songs. The voices are rough, unpolished, in some cases trembling with age -- but these are the songs they grew up singing and the words are worn into their souls like wheel tracks on a muddy road. Sometimes they cough, hesitate or stumble in the words. But there's also pride in the sound, and undisguised glee as they sing the bawdy modern melody standards, there isn't much here to raise even a blush. Today, singers describe graphically what once could only be hinted at. But give me subtlety every time -- these tunes are a treat, and every time I listen I can see their faces, eyes twinkling and grinning broadly as they belted out the old songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    Reliably amazing Yiddish melody by the Master

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    Perfect Bikel...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    Delightful songs involving animals sung by the late, talented Pete obtain the small beasts volume and the huge 'uns. 28 songs in all, and each is a winner. Catchy tunes like "Mr Rabbit" are fun to sing, and ones like the fabulous "Alligator, Hedgehog" are pure virtuosity, by one of the greatest American folk singers, ew up with "Little" myself and I'm suprised I didn't play that lunch-plate sized 33 1/3 LP to death, the method I'd listen and listen to these rich songs. Method beyond the likes of Raffi and Disney, this is a collection of American folk treasures. Super bonus for kids.Warning: there's a few mentions of hunting, if you don't like references to that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    I was excited when I discovered that the Pete Seeger animal songs my children listened to in the 1960s on two LP records, released in 1955, were now available in a single CD, "Birds, Beasts, Bugs, and Fishes (Little & Big)" We almost wore out our two 1955 LPs, playing them on our phonograph at home while we sang along. Now in their 40s and 50s, my children still remember a lot of of those songs. I wanted their children (and grandkids) to have the same delightful experience, so when I found the CD on Amazon, I bought one for each family. And, unlike our old LPs, the CD can go anywhere; it's amazing for traveling. We couldn't take LPs along on street trips back in the 1960s, but we took the songs in our heads and sang them to entertain ourselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    I love Mameh Lashon (Yiddish) melody and Theodore Bikel's CD is a masterpiece, which quickly became one of my favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    amazing yiddish music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    For me, this is pure nostalgia - it brings back memories of the fifties. It seems from reading other reviews that today's young kids obtain as much pleasure from this melody as those of my generation did, although I can't imagine anybody recording melody this method now.I don't remember all the songs, but I recognise several of them. I know an old lady is immediately recognisable from the title, but I recognised others immediately upon hearing them again, including The keeper and the doe - it has the (for me) immortal chorus lineshey down hoe down derry derry downamong the leaves so green-o.Of course, in the age we now live, some of these songs are not politically correct and some may not appeal to vegetarians, but I don't ever remember hearing much about vegetarians until the eighties. Before then, there were very few of them around. I don't mind such people, but Pete could hardly have been expected to consider them when these songs were recorded.I read another review where somebody complained about Pete's imitations of animal noises. I'm sure that a modern recording of such songs would use authentic animal noises, but again, this melody must be seen as a product of its , this is a fun album, not to be taken too seriously, which can be enjoyed by young children, or by adults trying to remember when they were young kids themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    I bought this CD to listen to in the vehicle with my toddler. Although I have fun old folk music, beware that a lot of of the tracks are old-fashioned to the point that your kid might be weirded-out. One of the songs is about hunting down and eating groundhog for supper. LOL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ellie Mao: An Anthology of Chinese Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:54

    A lovely album. Mao's full, rich, commanding voice finds a fascinating counterpoint with the minimalist but very accomplished piano work. The mood ranges from romantic to whimsical to dramatic, and the melodies are often beautiful. This is one of the Folkways gems from the classic period of the 1950s and '60s. Mao lived into her 90s, in Walnut Creek, California.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    This is really a unbelievable collection of songs and a reminder about how amazing Theodore Bikel was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    One of these 26 songs played as background melody on a YouTube video of some kind of gymnastic or dance feat out of Russia. I hunted down the melody, read the English lyrics, then decided to see what else was in the album. Downloaded the full album for $15 via Amazon mp3 downloader, and now happily listen to the melodies (interspersed) on my iPod.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    This CD is so unbelievable you just wish to listen to it over and over again. It is truly a treasury.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    As a kid growing up in Fresh York Town I sat on the deck of Pete Seeger's boat "The Clearwater" and listened to him sing and play banjo to us (city kids). The memories of those sumer days and that unbelievable melody is still powerful for me more than 30 years later. When I purchased this CD for my seven month old son two weeks ago I was curious to see if I would have fun the melody as much now as I did as a child. Happily my son LOVES this CD, and so do my husband and I. The songs are playful and melodic in a method that most children's melody these days can't quite pull off. I recommend this CD highly for the whole family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    We love it! Amazing songs. My small guy loves to dance to it and I don't mind it myself either. Much better than the songs they have for kids now...I say skip the Raffi and obtain the folk stuff. Recommended !! It's a fun cd with small surprises here and there. Plus I love how long the CD is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ellie Mao: An Anthology of Chinese Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:54

    The traditional Chinese folk songs are beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    This is a amazing compilation for a wide dozens of age ranges 4-10 years old. You can use this through the years. Some songs are complex and quick paced while others are reminiscent of the earliest memory of singing. Pete Seeger is a master who never had a poor performance because he sings from the heart and sings what he loves and has a connection to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    I love it, and my children love it. Unlike most children's music, this one is not annoying at all. Pete Seeger is so nice to listen to, and his banjo playing is great. It is nice to hear the traditional folk type of melody with a nice voice and true instrument playing, instead of that annoying computerize karaoke-like children's music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    amazing shape

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    A masterful recording by one of the greatest Yiddish singers of all time. A must for your Yiddish melody library

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theodore Bikel's Treasury of Yiddish Folk & Theatre Songs []  2020-1-17 1:4

    Unbelievable reflections of the Jewish soul!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    My 5yo loves Pete Seeger and instantly took to this collection of songs. They're also beautiful catchy and will end up in your head too, but not in a poor way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds, Beasts, Bugs & Fishes Little & Big: Animal Folk Songs []  2020-1-23 3:27

    I was so enameled by this charming melody that I wish to own it and listen at home. I first heard it on You Tube. These are classics fort children too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    Really have fun listening to early Merle Travis. Amazing quality cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    I'm a guitar-picker, and just need to hear Merle Travis play to remind me of greatness playing guitar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    Too a lot of imitators and only one original. THE CATHEDRALS!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    This 2 CD set is some of the Cathedrals most liked songs over their 35 years. It's a must for the Cathedral Quartet Fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redwood Cathedral []  2020-1-18 22:47

    I have been a long time fan of Gaughan - heard him in concert several times - but I rate this album clearly as one of his best overall efforts. It is a must for anyone's collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    GOOD THE CATHEDRALS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    This is a CD worth having! It includes songs from all the various groups that were with the Cathedrals. You won't feel like you are wasting your money. I understand, that you might think " Well I already have these songs on some of their other CD's". Guess what? You may have them, but maybe not with the same people singing, or the same rendition. My children's favorite is the "Laughing Song." I don't know how George can hold it up for so long, but he does a amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    Classic and necessary record. BTW: it is NOT "Western Swing!". It is Travis picking -Folk songs -like the 1946 cover says! but the songs were recorded in '43, I think. Thank the lord above that the source lacquers survived (rare, and this is why the older record sounds so ke sure to split the reocrds up in the right and listen to them as intended. There are two albums in here. "Folk Sings of the Hills" released 1946, and "Songs of the Coal Mine", released/recorded 1963 (stereo) . This is a MUST BUY. I still cannot search amazing album art for the latter record (I like to see the correct art in my iPod). My 33 RPM copy is badly beat-up. Ironically, my 78 RPM copy of the first album is in pristine condition and sounds h of these records had a MAJOR influence on Doc Watson. Doc loved Travis and he named his son after Merle Travis. Hence "Merle Fest" ought to contain Merle Travis as an influence. The amazing thing about Travis pickin', just about any seasoned player can obtain started playing the style as a lot of of his songs were not technically difficult. However, I have found that playing the correct notes and rhythm, and sounding like Merle are two various things! OPne cannot ignore his unbelievable voice -both for singing and talking. Merle Travis is a GREAT American artist.If you play guitar with any serious intent or have any interest in coal mining, early union activity and Harlen County, BUY THIS CD! OR if you sinply wish to relax and here a master -alone with a guitar entertain you for an hour or so, this is WELL SPENT. God Bless!BTW: Before Merle's father went to work in the mines, he was a farmer, so Merle had a powerful agrarian roots as well as labor background.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    If you're fresh to Merle Travis or a long time fan, you should have this in your collection. The melody is as new and enjoyable as it was when I first heard Merle Travis back in the 1950s. His style of guitar picking is unsurpassed and has been an influence on so a lot of musicians over the years. His delivery of the songs from the Southern hills is so authentic and he had the ability to transport you to mining camps for a folk song or to a brush arbor for a hymn. You won't be sorry that you listened to these songs; you'll be signing along with Merle soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    After hearing Merle's "Dark As A Dungeon" on the classic "Will The Circle Be Unbroken" album I decided to this CD and I'm glad that I a lot of people, after I hard's day work I have often found myself singing "Sixteen dozens and what do you get? / Another day older and deeper in debt." But until I purchased this record I never knew that "Sixteen Tons" was a Merle Travis song. From the perfect liner notes, I also learned that Merle grew up in the little coal mining city of Ebenezer, Kentucky in the early 1900's. But he didn't follow in his father's coal miner footsteps. Instead he sought out a career as a professional musician. He played with Grandpa Jones and the Delmore Brothers at a Cincinnati radio station before finally heading to Hollywood where, in 1946, he was signed by Capitol pitol A&R guy Lee Gillette saw some potential in folk melody and had Merle record "Folk Songs Of The Hills", which featured the first 8 songs on this CD. But this record was a flop commercially and Merle returned to playing a more famous style of country music, with hits like "Smoke, Smoke, Smoke (That Cigarette)" and "Divorce Me C.O.D.". In 1956 "Sixteen Tons" was played on Tenneessee Ernie Ford's TV present and suddenly became a huge hit. So Capitol re-released Merle's 1946 recordings. But the fresh album included 4 extra songs and was titled "Back Home". Merle then became part of the emerging folk melody revival and even played Carnegie Hall with Flatt and Scruggs. In 1963 Merle recored twelve fresh original songs on a LP called "Songs Of The Coal Mines" and these create up the second half of this total this CD features 24 songs, with 19 originals and 5 traditionals. The songs contain humorous and clever tunes such as "The Courtship Of Second Cousin Claude" and "Miner's Strawberries" as well as more serious numbers such as "The Harlan County Boys", about the violent coal miner union strikes of the 1930's. A few tunes, such as "That's All", come across as easy minded and just don't work for me. But the vast majority of the melody here is excellent. Merle is a highly descriptive lyricist and really captures the beauty and essence of an earlier time in American history, of hard but glorious living in the hills of Kentucky. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    Amazing collection of folk/coal mining songs and of course amazing guitar

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    This is the Doc Watsons favorit Merle album,,,and now, after having it fore some time, it is also fact this is 3 original albums, all songs abouth the coalminers and the working man, and rle talking btveen each song, just makes it mor personal. He knows wat he is singing abouth. His guitar is at it's best on this albums. And his most popular songs are here. The linernotes are just greate, just like they allways are, , is is the one Merle travis album to obtain first

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    I could do without Merle's small spoken intros to each song. Hearing them once is great, after that they're just kind of annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folk Songs of the Hills: Back Home / Songs of the Coalmines []  2020-1-18 22:37

    If you have any appreciation whatsoever for traditional American music, this collection is absolutely essential for your collection. One of the best and most classic albums i've ever heard from one of the most profound song writers and guitar wizards of our time. I don't know if the melody was digitally remastered, but the sound quality is perfect and really adds to the feeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    It's a really amazing cd. anything by the Cathedrals is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    I really love these CDS from the Cathedral and also i have a mate and i believe she still have these cds and she had allow me borrow them latest 2 -3 years ago. I recommended these cds to Christians who listen to gospel music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redwood Cathedral []  2020-1-18 22:47

    @#$% Gaughan has the rare ability to combine a sense of justice with a sense of beauty. Most, but not all, of the songs on this album recall heros of the struggle for human dignity and justice, but realized in a method that eschews propaganda for full realization of the promise of both the topics and the music. "Thomas Muir of Huntershill" is a amazing example of this en there is Gaughan's cover of "Let it Be" on this album, a love song with no political content whatsoever, just to prove that he can frolic with the rest of erican counterparts are Woodie Guthrie and Pete Seeger. From a technical and musical perspective, Gaughan is more gifted, although Seeger has a more universal perspective, drawing from a wider set of traditions. Gaughan sings Seeger's "Turn, Turn, Turn" on the album, which makes the connection between these two l in all, this is one of those disks a Gaughan fan, or a fan of attractive melody that remembers heros, should have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    The Cd arrived on time and we love it. It is in very amazing condition...just like new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warrior in Two Camps: Ely S. Parker, Union General and Seneca Chief (The Iroquois and Their Neighbors) []  2020-2-1 1:19

    This was such an insightful book on sly Parker, the Native American experience, and the Cival War.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warrior in Two Camps: Ely S. Parker, Union General and Seneca Chief (The Iroquois and Their Neighbors) []  2020-2-1 1:19

    Arrived in excellent condition. I want I had Geaneral Parker's math engineering skills as well as his penmenship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warrior in Two Camps: Ely S. Parker, Union General and Seneca Chief (The Iroquois and Their Neighbors) []  2020-2-1 1:19

    Perfect book about an indivdual who was a young Seneca Indian that became a Chief and grew up in the Buffalo, Fresh York area. He became a lawyer and an engineer at a time when American Indians were discriminated versus by almost all white men. Ely became a mate of Grant's while in Galena, Illinois and became an aide and confidant of Ulysses Grant during the Civil War. Ely was at Lee's surrender at Appomatox and wrote the document defining the terms of Lee's surrender. Ely Parker is a must read for Grant, American Indian and Civil Battle Historians. Visit the Post Office in Galena, IL and you will be able to view some of his engineering work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warrior in Two Camps: Ely S. Parker, Union General and Seneca Chief (The Iroquois and Their Neighbors) []  2020-2-1 1:19

    Wanted to know more about his life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral 13 [App]  2019-5-30 13:36

    easy and straight forward with amazing music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    Although I bought it used, it was in amazing condition. I love Southern Gospel and these guys are my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cathedral Collection []  2020-1-18 22:35

    I love the Catherdals. Their melody is outstanding, especially Hallelujah Square, and Wedding Music. I would recommend this to anyone who loves to listen to Christian music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redwood Cathedral []  2020-1-18 22:47

    i liked his more traditional folk songs but still not a poor album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warrior in Two Camps: Ely S. Parker, Union General and Seneca Chief (The Iroquois and Their Neighbors) []  2020-2-1 1:19

    I first became interested in Donehogawa because of a chapter written on him in another book.Who was this person who overcame all these wonderful obstacles at a point in American history when we hadn't even freed the slaves? Native Americans weren't considered citizens of the United States until sometime in the early 20th is young man was determined to learn to read and write fluent English. He accomplished this quickly, impressed a few influential people, and then went on to become the first Indian political influence in the United States. He wrote out the surrender terms of the Confederate Troops for Grant, who trusted him implicitly. He became the commissioner for Indian Affairs under Grant and successfully stamped out the system of embezzlement and bribery that was ruining tribes from the Atlantic to the Pacific. Then he himself became a victim of the greed of others, and was ousted from office. Through all his trials, Donehogawa kept his optimism and his determination to do good. There are few examples like him anywhere in the human race. He is remarkable because he overcame extraordinary odds at a time when it was far more likely that he would be shot than that he would learn English. His success in the worlds of politics and polite society is truly is book is extremely readable. In fact, I could not place it down. That is probably due to Donehogawa, but a amazing writer also helps. This book appears to be well-researched. There should be plenty of info available on this character of American history. He was prolific and well known in his time. This biographer is objective and devoted to reporting the truth of his subject. One thing that is required is a psychological and somewhat more subjective portrayal of Donehogawa. I would like an author to obtain into his head and tell me more of who he was. That biography has yet to be the meantime, this is a amazing introduction to the life of a fascinating person who needs to be a more well-known topic in American history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    It is fine every one it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    I loved it very much 😘😘😘😍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    Boring

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    Very nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    I really like Christmas song but only few were provided. I give 5 star in hoping that for more updates of songs. Songs that are popular.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    I love Christmas songs with all passion so thank u guys for making this application available. but there is a small problem, u guys should test and increase the number because some of my songs are not there .thank u

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    so use full for x mas party dances

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    Love it so much because I love Christmas

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    Feels amazing with this app...thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Carols and songs with lyrics, in english [App]  2019-12-21 21:37

    A. Nice. Application

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386