Read one of us buried reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all one of us buried reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    Perfect book. Debbie Herbert does Southern Gothic so well. Unbelievable characters and lots of twist and turns to hold you guessing until the very end.Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this story. It starts out quick and keeps adding fresh more complicated elements. Lots of amazing hero writing and building, which is so important.I found Not One of Us a fun and quick read.(Check the book description for the book report!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    Debbie Herbert has an awesome talent for taking her readers on unforgettable journeys and this book is no different. This book is full of mystery and attention-grabbing suspense that keeps the reader perched on the edge of their seat. It's a rollercoaster ride of a story that rises to a peak and then, just when you think you can't take any more, it plunges down only to climb back up again. I truly enjoyed this read and look forward to a lot of more exciting stories from this author.

    0  


    Add your opinion on one of us buried or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    Another amazing read by this author, a thriller that has you wondering who did it until the end! Little towns have plenty of secrets and there's plenty in this story. Can a "newbie" cop and a woman home to support her grandma and brother figure out what happened to a convicted assassin and a family's disappearance years ago? So much going on and lots of surprises until the very end. If you love a amazing thriller then you'll love this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    Another fabulous, haunting thriller from Debbie Herbert. Southern Gothic, little city secrets, and language so atmospheric that I was carried away, could not place the book down. In NOT ONE OF US, Jori Trahern returns to her little Alabama city to visit her ailing grandmother and support care for her younger brother who has autism. Soon she learns alarming info about her boyfriend who disappeared thirteen years ago. The mystery is deadly; risky too as it connects to the long ago killing of one of her family members, and the subsequent kidnapping of Jori’s brother. With the support of a “newbie” cop, Jori struggles between finding out more and protecting her family.I loved this story! Especially the wonderfully developed characters and the special description of Jori’s rare form of synesthesia – she can “hear” colors and every nuance in people’s voices that tell If they are lying. There is true magic in the author’s writing, and I never guessed the ending. This is a terrific read, and so well done. Five stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I sat down on an afternoon and read it entirely before bedtime. It's just lots of twist and curves that hold you on edge. I highly recommend this book and author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    I enjoyed this book throughly. As I was reading, I thought for sure I had the guilty culprit pegged but I was completely wrong. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    Loved this book!!! Can’t wait for the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not One of Us []  2021-1-2 18:0

    With one mystery after another cropping up in a little community in southern Alabama, there is much uncertainty in this compelling story cleverly written by Debbie Herbert. The author has a knack for taking the reader on a journey of uncovering clues and then trying to determine if the info if fact or fiction. In NOT ONE OF US, the unknowns just hold mounting, and I repeatedly tried to decide if assumed connections would end up being verified or proven false. By the time the book was finished, I had experienced a multitude of emotions and lived through some harrowing situations with the main characters.When Jori Trahern was in high school, her boyfriend disappeared one night and was never heard from again. She eventually left the bayou zone of Alabama and moved away, making her home in Mobile, yet she did occasionally come back to visit her grandmother and younger brother who has autism. But when the elderly woman is not doing well, Jori come back to help her two closest relatives. While there to decide about their care, she learns some info that might finally disclose the truth of what really happened to her boyfriend plus the long-ago killing of one of her family members. After another crime takes put in the present, Jori wants answers and so does a local police officer who feels the need to prove I continued reading NOT ONE OF US, my guesses as to what had actually transpired in the past as well as the current events kept changing with every fresh fact that was exposed. Just when I thought I had an incident figured out, the author would toss in a fresh belief which left me even more stumped. There are certainly a lot of unexpected turns occurring, and each one added to my interest because of the increasing intrigue. The story is told from multiple viewpoints, letting me know what was in the minds of several individuals concerning the same set of cirtances. Also, some past happenings are depicted when they took place, showing me the truth about these episodes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    As expected of the queen of YA mystery/thriller, she has once again brought to life a continuation to the story of the Bayview High students with a android game of malice and dirty hidden meanings. One Of Us Is Next started with a android game of truth or dare which exponentially turned ugly and even deadly as the story progresses. I was immediately hooked with the story in the beginning but unfortunately it didn't quite obtain me to maintain my whole interest throughout the is story is told in three POV's who are the main characters, Maeve, Phoebe and Knox. Each one of them are various with various backgrounds and even various personalities. Each of them really suitably play their role especially at various happenings and turning points. They became close mates as cirtances were thrown their method and especially towards the end as they started to uncover the truth and catch the culprit once and for r the plot, I search it progressively consistent from beginning to end. I was always in the mode of suspense and it was definitely thrilling as I, along with the high school students of Bayview High, notoriously known as gossips and dare devils are just itching to search out the person behind all of this. This is the sequel to One Of Us Is Lying after all and it continues the legend of the Bayview Four and the happenings that happened almost a year ago with Simon. I know I shouldn't say this but the story connects and I still search that nothing can top off the masterpiece that is the first book. That story was just absolutely brilliant and unfortunately I don't search this book up to par with it. Perhaps I had such high expectations that it wasn't able to is story has proven to me once again the power and the ugliness of gossip while combining it with social media. We cannot escape this aspect as we live side by side with it. Our worlds wouldn't be how it is today without the presence of social media and I search that these characters care too much about what people say on social media while they should be caring about so a lot of things instead. This actually happens in true life and I feel like people can really learn out of this, to be better and be even better people in society.If you think One Of Us Is Lying ended smoothly and with an ending that has closure, well you are going to love this one! What I meant was the opposite because even in the latest pages of this story, the author has yet again brought up her infamous element of surprise and it just rendered me speechless because she has done it once again. And that is why reading her books are so worth it!I'm sure there's so a lot of of you who are absolutely anticipating the sequel but allow me remind you to go in with no expectations and with a clear mind. This book will surprise you, it will create you gasp and it will also create you wish to shout at the characters for the things they do. For fans of mystery and thriller, I cannot recommend you a better read for you than this one or even any of Karen M. MacManus' books! Just read it, you will thank me later!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    This was a fun read. It wasn’t as clever as One of Us is Lying—the twists in the book were telegraphed, especially having gotten a sense of the author’s style in the latest book. But it was still enjoyable! To anyone who hasn’t read One of Us Is Lying, you should definitely begin there. But this is a amazing sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    As expected, it was not as amazing as the first but engaging and enjoyable. An simple read that was hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    I don't read mysteries very often and when I do I allow the story take me: I don't test to figure it out before the end. Still, I thought I knew with this one - but was completely wrong!The story begins like a modern Breakfast Club, then goes off in interesting, messy, directions. Everybody has secrets, right? I was proud of the main characters when they did the right things and stood together - and cringed when they didn't and when others in their high school treated them was a quick read - being a YA book - but with plenty to hold adult readers interested too. McManus did a amazing job building the main characters - all of whom I liked - and releasing their secrets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    No matter how old you are, this book is a page-turner. The author does a amazing job focusing the plot on “new” characters, while still letting us see into the lives of the protagonists in the first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    Okay, I KNOW I just finished this sequel, but I am ready for the next installment. Karen McManus is a genius, and I’ll read anything she writes, even if it’s her grocery list! Don’t miss how Maeve, Knox, Bronwyn, and Nate come back together to determine WHO is next and WHY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    Writing this review at 3 am because I couldn't sleep until I finished it! This is my favorite from Karen M. McManus so far. I can't wait until her next book comes out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    "You see us as you wish to see us—in the simplest terms, in the most convenient definitions.”Brian had it right when he wrote those words in the adored and highly quotable letter at the end of The Breakfast Club. The passage continues on to say: “But what we found out is that each one of us is a brain...and an athlete...and a basket case...a princess...and a criminal. Does that respond your question?"*Inserts fist pump into the air while fighting the urge to blast “Don’t You Forget About Me” throughout the living room.*Nostalgia aside, I bring this up because the idea of labels and what lies underneath them is not only the plight of seemingly every high school movie, book, and experience, but also the core of the readability of One of Us is e book’s murder mystery hook – aided by the Beautiful Small Liars/Gossip Girl comparisons – probably lured you in along with the rest of us, but the characters and their development are what hold you invested.And it’s a amazing thing too because I correctly identified the assassin during the opening scene. And if solving the murder was the only thing this book had going for it, I would have been extremely disappointed. But for me, the question was never who, but rather why?Why did Simon have to die?Why – and how – were the Bayview Four involved?Of course I can’t tell you the answers, but trust me when I say that McManus is able to hold you intrigued while you simultaneously fall for the brain, the athlete, the princess, and the criminal who all had motives and extra secrets to rrated and told via alternating points of view, One of Us is Lying is full of intricate characterizations and sometimes predictable twists on the classic tropes. I often found myself highlighting one-liners from this debut author that accurately nailed and effectively portrayed the personalities of the “Murder Club” om the sensible brainiac, Bronwyn, (“Mostly I thought Evan and I had potential to be a solid couple until graduation, at which point we'd break up amicably and head to our various colleges.”) to the dealer from the poor part of town, Nate, ("Rigging detention sounds like work, and everything about Nate -- from his messy dark hair to his ratty leather jacket -- screams Can't be bothered. Or yawns it, maybe.") you’ll search yourself relating to or remembering people that fit these molds.Ultimately that’s what I enjoyed so much – getting beneath the surface. We all have people in high school that we knew on a superficial level that were probably remembered via their clique. One word descriptions. Nothing more. Nothing less. This book is yet another reminder of what can happen when you choose to dig a small deeper and stop caring what your mates think.If you’re looking for an entertaining and fast read for the beach this summer, I’d highly recommend giving this novel a shot. Of course I could be lying, so you’ll have to judge for yourselves.XOXO...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    *POSSIBLE SPOILERS*I could not place this book down…The book starts in Mr. Avery’s detention classroom where we search five students, where it seems a possible “prank” has brought them all together in detention. These five are not close, most are strangers, some are acquaintances, but you would not label any as onwyn – The “brain” in detention. The fact that she is even in detention is surprising to everyone (herself included, and it appears she was framed…as she tries to explain to Mr. Avery, but he doesn’t really seem to care). She has high hopes of an Ivy League college…working towards becoming Valedictorian (with no true competition). Her life is full of extracurricular activities and doing what she can to reach her future college er – The “jock.” Cooper’s dreams are all about baseball and going professional. This also happens to be the basic focus of his father as well, who he is desperate to never disappoint. Cooper’s dating Keely (to the dismay of much of the other guys at the school, who would rather be dating her themselves); however, he’s just not that into te – The “criminal.” Nate’s currently on probation on -related charges…as he continues to sell . He’s one of the only that is more of an “outsider,” the one that grew up on the wrong side of the tracks. His mother is nowhere to be found (assumed dead) and his father is an alcoholic that rarely leaves the couch. He basically is raising himself…choosing to stay away from his decrepit home as much as dy – The “princess.” She is part of one of the school’s “it” couples with Jake the Jock, whom she is obviously in an unhealthy relationship with as he is very controlling (which most people notice, except for Addy herself). She’s rarely seen without him, almost becoming a part of him. She is consistently passive and agreeable with anything Jake says…it appears she has lost herself in this mon – The “omniscient narrator” (as he has labeled himself). Although he doesn’t believe he falls into a normal teenage stereotype, he sees himself as the all-knowing narrator – the one that sees (and reports) on everything that all the other students are doing. Simon started an application called “About That” where he posts all the secrets of the school – and apparently he’s seen as fact because he never seems to obtain it wrong. Obviously, the doesn’t create him the most liked person at school.When it started, this felt very “Breakfast Club”-esque. I wasn’t sure how this was going to be at first…it obviously seemed like a Young Adult novel, which for me can be hit or miss. As detention continues, suddenly Simon has an anaphylactic seizure (severe peanut allergy) – this is traumatic for all involved as these teenagers have never experienced something of this nature. What makes it even worse is that Simon dies from this seizure. What makes it even worse yet…the death suddenly seems less like an unfortunate accident and more like a murder.But who is the murderer? It surely couldn’t be any of the other students, could it? Prime suspects seem to be Bronwyn, Cooper, Nate, and Addy since they were the only others in the room when this happened. But why? This question seems to be answered when the police explore that the next “About That” post seems to focus on these four…and some of their most devastating, life-changing e book continues as we unravel the truths from the rumors and these four grow closer than ever…while trying to prove their innocence with the hope that one of their fresh mates is not secretly the murderer. A amazing “Whodunit?” type mystery book that will have you guessing until the end! The downsides? I thought the book was predictable at times. The book spent a lot of (needed and excellent) time working up to the climax/conclusion; however, when they got there, it felt a small rushed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I love this book. McManus gets better and better with every book she releases. One of Us is Next is nostalgic and tense and funny and heart-stopping and lovely. I can’t wait for you all to meet and fall in love with this fresh cast of Bayview characters. Highly recommend!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Just like its predecessor, I could not place this down

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Based on review of Us is Next took put one year after the final happenings of One of Us is Lying with a splash of some of the original characters thrown in, but not so prominent that they took away from the development of the fresh characters. Told from varying perspectives, One of Us is Next was a tale of secrets, lies, and the scary immediacy of social media. Much like One of Us is Next, McManus took us on a twisty turny ride where everyone was a suspect and it left the reader second-guessing who could have possibly dunnit. One of my favorite McManus traits is her shocking ends and One of Us is Next did not disappoint!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    One of Us is Next did not fall short of my expectations! Karen McManus is an author I can always count on to challenge my thoughts and emotions throughout the plot. Of course, I like to think of myself as quite the solver of crimes, but the twists and turns take you on an adventure you did not expect with suspects and underlying stories twisting together to make this crazy guessing ter One of Us is Lying and Simon’s death, I was convinced Bayview High would have learned some lessons about technology use and gossip forums, but this is not the fact of the matter, as a Truth or Dare android game enters into the student body social media connections and just like “lemmings” the students latch on and do not allow go. Simon’s revenge forum ignites with students waiting for the truth or dare, secretly interested in what they may search out and enjoying the dare task completion. The principal is in the dark, as is the parent community, as they are blinded believing their “zero-tolerance policy toward gossip and bullying has proven highly effective” (108). Will the android game stop before lives are altered forever? Will Bayview pull together or continue to act like “lemmings” encouraging the gossip and damage amongst their own?I highly recommend One of Us is Next! Must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    This book is the highly anticipated sequel to One of Us is Lying. When I finished One of Us is Lying I was secretly hoping that there would be a sequel but I had no idea what could possibly be added to the story. One of Us is Next follows Maeve, Bronwyn’s sister, and several other minor characters from the first book. An unknown bully is again terrorizing Bayview High school with a truth or dare android game which soon turns deadly.I felt that the writing of this novel is on the mature end of YA which is conducive to an older reader. It still read like the hero were in high school. But, the writing doesn’t insult the reader by being too e villain of this story is this Unknown person sending text messages to the students of Bayview High. Unlike the first book, I found this one lacking in suspense and intrigue. It was an interesting story but I wasn’t hanging on every word. I found this book very boring at times. For the most part, the only reason why I continued reading was that I knew and loved some of the characters. The mystery element of the plots was severely lacking and I found myself not even caring who the Unknown texter was. Most of the plot twists I also predicted and anticipated. There was one final twist at the very end that I was not expecting. I don’t know if it created the book worth finishing as I search that the twist was slightly unbelievable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    Netflix? Obtain on this right now!Bronwyn, a brainy girl set on going to Yale, is given detention for having her phone in class. The thing is, it was not her phone but the teacher does not believe her. He also doesn’t believe Cooper, the star athlete, Addy, the beauty, and Nate, I guess you would call the classic delinquent. And then there is Simon. Simon runs a gossip application called About That. He spreads the high school gossip around like butter. When Simon has an allergic attack and things go horribly wrong, the four children are all suspected of murder. Who is lying and who is telling the truth?I loved these children so much. As much as I loved the mystery and the twists, my favorite part was watching all four grow into the people they were meant to be. They throw aside the petty high school cliques and become true friends. Of course, in the back of your mind you are wondering if one of them is the murderer and I am not going to spoil that. I had a feeling that ended up being right, pat myself on the back, but there are a few things that were surprising. The other characters are so thought out as well, the sisters especially. I loved Maeve’s chutzpah. I had a silly smile on my face at the end. I am sure you will is is such a unbelievable debut novel and I cannot wait to see what comes next from Ms. McManus!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    I couldn't place this down. Her prose is breezy like Becky Albertalli's, but her pace is lightning fast. I loved the twist and the little moments she created enormous. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    As a 29 year old reading a YA novel, I was beautiful confident that I'd be able to figure out who killed Simon. I was very wrong!The main characters are all teenagers, and like teenagers, they can be beautiful cringy. There were plenty of parts that created me go "Oh god, begin thinking with your brains, not your hormones!" You'd think that would be a poor thing, but I loved it, because these characters were very realistic. I'm tired of reading YA books where the main characters are wise old souls in 16 year old bodies. What teenager isn't a small annoying?I can't wait for this to become the next huge book sensation! I would not be surprised if it becomes a television series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    What makes a novel work, in my opinion, is mystery. McManus's debut novel is full of mystery and intrigue. Like a lot of others have said, it grabs tight and doesn't allow go until the end. There's a lot going on here. Yes, it's a young adult novel, but its themes deal with universal, every-age issues. I am not a young adult, but I found the characters compelling. They're at an age when hormones and emotions are blazing, so the scenarios are realistic and engaging. As someone who hasn't been in high school for some years now this story was a nice nostalgia trip too. Karen's prose is fast and vibrant. She gives you enough info to sketch the scene, but allows your mind to fill in the spaces. That's the sign of a amazing writer. Someone who sets the stage but doesn't overwhelm the mind with min details. It makes for a fast-moving, thrilling adventure. This book was very engrossing. I only stopped reading it because I was too tired to continue...so I ended up reading it in two sittings. There were multiple times throughout the novel that I was convinced I knew who the guilty party was. I was wrong every time. I loved the reveal. A very promising debut. I'm looking forward to seeing what comes next from McManus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    I received an advance digital ver of this book. I stayed up until 4 am finishing it! I LOVED it and my guess about "who was lying" at the beginning turned out to be totally wrong in a clever twist. It was so fun to see the mystery unravel through the eyes of four various characters--everyone was lying about something and I will say no more because of spoilers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    This was a fun read. It wasn’t as clever as One of Us is Lying—the twists in the book were telegraphed, especially having gotten a sense of the author’s style in the latest book. But it was still enjoyable! To anyone who hasn’t read One of Us Is Lying, you should definitely begin there. But this is a amazing sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    This book is the highly anticipated sequel to One of Us is Lying. When I finished One of Us is Lying I was secretly hoping that there would be a sequel but I had no idea what could possibly be added to the story. One of Us is Next follows Maeve, Bronwyn’s sister, and several other minor characters from the first book. An unknown bully is again terrorizing Bayview High school with a truth or dare android game which soon turns deadly.I felt that the writing of this novel is on the mature end of YA which is conducive to an older reader. It still read like the hero were in high school. But, the writing doesn’t insult the reader by being too e villain of this story is this Unknown person sending text messages to the students of Bayview High. Unlike the first book, I found this one lacking in suspense and intrigue. It was an interesting story but I wasn’t hanging on every word. I found this book very boring at times. For the most part, the only reason why I continued reading was that I knew and loved some of the characters. The mystery element of the plots was severely lacking and I found myself not even caring who the Unknown texter was. Most of the plot twists I also predicted and anticipated. There was one final twist at the very end that I was not expecting. I don’t know if it created the book worth finishing as I search that the twist was slightly unbelievable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    OMG.Oh. My. God. Karen McManus you have outdone yourself with ONE OF US IS NEXT. The sequel to ONE OF US IS LYING exceeds the thrill and shock exponentially. I guessed the reveal for OOUIL early on, but ONE OF US IS NEXT surprised me until the very latest OF US IS NEXT is a slow burn, starting off with hero development, increasing in pace and intensity until WHAM.I loved each of the narrators, Knox, Phoebe and Maeve, who each had stories that intersected with the Bayview Four from Book 1, so readers are treated with frequent “where are they now moments”. McManus is genius with detail, nuance and subtle clues simple to overlook.I don’t wish to say much about the plot for fear of giving away any spoilers except to say nothing you read is unimportant. Not a single fingers are crossed for seeing Bayview High School again in a book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    What a unbelievable follow up to one of us is lying, bringing in the old characters with thier story and mixing it in with the fresh storylinebeautifully. Leaves us Looking forward to the next story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    Allow me preface by saying that I'm a 7-12th grade teacher and I plan to create this book part of my curriculum because the themes are so abundant. I know others have already said it, but there is a liking to The Breakfast Club, as the premise of the story happens during detention at a high school. There is so much depth to this story. This story is very appropriate to read with Junior High students. The poor language is kept to a bare minimum and the adult themes are implied more than stated. This book talks about a lot of various family dynamics and how the kids are affected. Without saying too much, it's necessary for high school students (and adults) to remember that our actions do affect others. The judicial system is another amazing talking point in this book, as well as unlikely friendships. I can't say enough amazing things and I'm excited to read it with my Junior High students. I did guess who was lying fairly early on, but I wasn't able to figure out the whole story until it was explained to me, so the book kept my interest the entire time!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Lying []  2019-12-17 21:12

    Engaging debut thriller!The description for One of Us is Lying is accurate. This novel reminded me so much of one of my favorite movies, The Breakfast Club. I haven't read nor watched Beautiful Small Liars but now I know I wish e story begins when five children are sent to detention but only four leave the room alive. There's Bronwyn, Addy, Nate, Cooper, and onwyn is the amazing student. Her destiny is Yale. She's an dy is the homecoming princess who's dating the excellent er is the star athlete. The one being scouted by the major te, the dealer who's on probation st, there's Simon who's a threat to everyone because he's the mastermind behind the gossip application who has destroyed several lives at Bayview High.When Simon dies, the rest of the children are the main one of them lying? Did they plan it together? Or is it one of them the culprit? Worse, is someone else framing them?These are all valid questions which Karen M. McManus does a attractive job at disentangling them.I was hooked from the first chapter. Surprisingly, I ended up liking all the suspects but my favorite one was....you know it...bad boy te has been given a poor deal. He comes from a broken home with an alcoholic father and a no-present mother. He has raised himself and he created the wrong decisions to pay the bills. He's in problem with the law already. His future as a suspect looks onwyn was my second favorite. She's intelligent and protective of her younger sister. Her hero grows as I was turning the pages. Her loyalty and dedication towards another hero won me dy's life crumbles in front of her eyes when Simon's death affects her excellent relationship. She looks for solace in her family, specifically her older sister who supports her no questions asked. I was glad she had her. Addy's was the hero that grew the most and who developed a backbone when she required it the most.I was not sure what to think about Cooper at first. I thought he was shallow but I soon realized he was the one under the most pressure. He was hiding things that if known, could affect the rest of his life. Even when his future is threatened, he has time to do little things in help of the other of Us Is Lying played in my head just like a movie. It had the excellent combination of suspense, intrigue and captivating characters. The plot, as well as the dialogue, was well developed and entertaining.I won't hesitate to read another book by Karen M. McManus.“Unless one of us is lying. Which is always a possibility.”Cliffhanger: No

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Writing this review at 3 am because I couldn't sleep until I finished it! This is my favorite from Karen M. McManus so far. I can't wait until her next book comes out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Of Us Is Next []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Like One of Us is Lying, expect lots of twists and turns in this sequel. While I figured out the twists easier and quicker with this one, it was still an engaging read. If you pay attention to the clues, the answers are all there along the way. All the original characters present up, including my favorite couple Cooper and Chris. With a nod to the latest killer, this time it is an ongoing android game of truth or dare, with secrets being revealed and dares being deadly. While the ending felt abrupt, it was a fun ride to obtain there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    I love this book. McManus gets better and better with every book she releases. One of Us is Next is nostalgic and tense and funny and heart-stopping and lovely. I can’t wait for you all to meet and fall in love with this fresh cast of Bayview characters. Highly recommend!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next []  2020-1-14 19:40

    As expected of the queen of YA mystery/thriller, she has once again brought to life a continuation to the story of the Bayview High students with a android game of malice and dirty hidden meanings. One Of Us Is Next started with a android game of truth or dare which exponentially turned ugly and even deadly as the story progresses. I was immediately hooked with the story in the beginning but unfortunately it didn't quite obtain me to maintain my whole interest throughout the is story is told in three POV's who are the main characters, Maeve, Phoebe and Knox. Each one of them are various with various backgrounds and even various personalities. Each of them really suitably play their role especially at various happenings and turning points. They became close mates as cirtances were thrown their method and especially towards the end as they started to uncover the truth and catch the culprit once and for r the plot, I search it progressively consistent from beginning to end. I was always in the mode of suspense and it was definitely thrilling as I, along with the high school students of Bayview High, notoriously known as gossips and dare devils are just itching to search out the person behind all of this. This is the sequel to One Of Us Is Lying after all and it continues the legend of the Bayview Four and the happenings that happened almost a year ago with Simon. I know I shouldn't say this but the story connects and I still search that nothing can top off the masterpiece that is the first book. That story was just absolutely brilliant and unfortunately I don't search this book up to par with it. Perhaps I had such high expectations that it wasn't able to is story has proven to me once again the power and the ugliness of gossip while combining it with social media. We cannot escape this aspect as we live side by side with it. Our worlds wouldn't be how it is today without the presence of social media and I search that these characters care too much about what people say on social media while they should be caring about so a lot of things instead. This actually happens in true life and I feel like people can really learn out of this, to be better and be even better people in society.If you think One Of Us Is Lying ended smoothly and with an ending that has closure, well you are going to love this one! What I meant was the opposite because even in the latest pages of this story, the author has yet again brought up her infamous element of surprise and it just rendered me speechless because she has done it once again. And that is why reading her books are so worth it!I'm sure there's so a lot of of you who are absolutely anticipating the sequel but allow me remind you to go in with no expectations and with a clear mind. This book will surprise you, it will create you gasp and it will also create you wish to shout at the characters for the things they do. For fans of mystery and thriller, I cannot recommend you a better read for you than this one or even any of Karen M. MacManus' books! Just read it, you will thank me later!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No One Left But All of Us []  2020-1-17 20:43

    Non-partisan, to-the-point, no-holds-barred discussion of everything from how politicians respond only to cash to how healthcare and retirement are unaffordable and how it is the government's and media's aim to divide us and hold us focused on the small things so they won't have to respond for the huge ones. Honest, insightful, clear-headed and logical suggestions for term limits, restrictions on campaign funding, debt reduction, and so a lot of other problems that really ARE the issues, instead of the ones the media would like us to believe. Utterly brilliant. I can not recommend this book highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No One Left But All of Us []  2020-1-17 20:43

    Stacey Roberts brings the same new voice and wry sense of humor to No One Left But All of Us as he does the stories he tells in his first two books. But this book is different. It isn't about Stacey. It's about you and me and our country. And while there are jokes created here, this is not a funny book. It is important. In No One Left But All of US, Stacey tackles some of the toughest challenges our nation is facing at present. The writing is direct, honest, non--partisan, and approachable as he lays out some our country's greatest challenges presents common sense solutions ("Here's an idea..."). His suggestions are of the "why didn't I think of that" ilk, the kind that leave the reader wondering why they haven't been place into practice before now. He speaks to our entire role in society--not just as voters, but as autonomous individuals who are or should be in charge of our own is book speaks to us where we're at. It is timely. And it's important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No One Left But All of Us []  2020-1-17 20:43

    This book is both enlightening and hopeful. Mr. Roberts discusses our show situation, starting at its birth- the beginning of democracy- and shows us how far we have strayed from the original intent of our forefathers. He issued warnings by citing ancient democracies about which he is an expert. The best part of this book (and something I haven’t seen in others) is the fact that he ends his chapters with HERE’S AN IDEA. Though right now, we may not be able to see that far ahead, I feel amazing hope that there is indeed an answer, a solution. I want all the strong people in our democratic system could read this. Mr. Roberts is an wonderful writer without being preachy. He adds enough humor to create you smile even though you may be worried about where we are headed. He is an intelligent, articulate and informed voice amidst our current chaos. I would give it more stars than 5 if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy online us [YFituemy]  2021-4-4 18:54
    [email protected]

    Can you steal generic cost with alcohol. Do not carouse unconscionable amounts of moonshine (eg, 5 or more glasses of wine or 5 or more shots of whiskey) when winsome coupon walgreens. When charmed in excess, alcohol can increase your chances of getting a migraine or dizziness, grow your heart clip, or humble your blood pressure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    Writing this review at 3 am because I couldn't sleep until I finished it! This is my favorite from Karen M. McManus so far. I can't wait until her next book comes out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    This book is the highly anticipated sequel to One of Us is Lying. When I finished One of Us is Lying I was secretly hoping that there would be a sequel but I had no idea what could possibly be added to the story. One of Us is Next follows Maeve, Bronwyn’s sister, and several other minor characters from the first book. An unknown bully is again terrorizing Bayview High school with a truth or dare android game which soon turns deadly.I felt that the writing of this novel is on the mature end of YA which is conducive to an older reader. It still read like the hero were in high school. But, the writing doesn’t insult the reader by being too e villain of this story is this Unknown person sending text messages to the students of Bayview High. Unlike the first book, I found this one lacking in suspense and intrigue. It was an interesting story but I wasn’t hanging on every word. I found this book very boring at times. For the most part, the only reason why I continued reading was that I knew and loved some of the characters. The mystery element of the plots was severely lacking and I found myself not even caring who the Unknown texter was. Most of the plot twists I also predicted and anticipated. There was one final twist at the very end that I was not expecting. I don’t know if it created the book worth finishing as I search that the twist was slightly unbelievable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    Based on review of Us is Next took put one year after the final happenings of One of Us is Lying with a splash of some of the original characters thrown in, but not so prominent that they took away from the development of the fresh characters. Told from varying perspectives, One of Us is Next was a tale of secrets, lies, and the scary immediacy of social media. Much like One of Us is Next, McManus took us on a twisty turny ride where everyone was a suspect and it left the reader second-guessing who could have possibly dunnit. One of my favorite McManus traits is her shocking ends and One of Us is Next did not disappoint!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    This was a fun read. It wasn’t as clever as One of Us is Lying—the twists in the book were telegraphed, especially having gotten a sense of the author’s style in the latest book. But it was still enjoyable! To anyone who hasn’t read One of Us Is Lying, you should definitely begin there. But this is a amazing sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    Like One of Us is Lying, expect lots of twists and turns in this sequel. While I figured out the twists easier and quicker with this one, it was still an engaging read. If you pay attention to the clues, the answers are all there along the way. All the original characters present up, including my favorite couple Cooper and Chris. With a nod to the latest killer, this time it is an ongoing android game of truth or dare, with secrets being revealed and dares being deadly. While the ending felt abrupt, it was a fun ride to obtain there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    OMG.Oh. My. God. Karen McManus you have outdone yourself with ONE OF US IS NEXT. The sequel to ONE OF US IS LYING exceeds the thrill and shock exponentially. I guessed the reveal for OOUIL early on, but ONE OF US IS NEXT surprised me until the very latest OF US IS NEXT is a slow burn, starting off with hero development, increasing in pace and intensity until WHAM.I loved each of the narrators, Knox, Phoebe and Maeve, who each had stories that intersected with the Bayview Four from Book 1, so readers are treated with frequent “where are they now moments”. McManus is genius with detail, nuance and subtle clues simple to overlook.I don’t wish to say much about the plot for fear of giving away any spoilers except to say nothing you read is unimportant. Not a single fingers are crossed for seeing Bayview High School again in a book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    What a unbelievable follow up to one of us is lying, bringing in the old characters with thier story and mixing it in with the fresh storylinebeautifully. Leaves us Looking forward to the next story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    As expected of the queen of YA mystery/thriller, she has once again brought to life a continuation to the story of the Bayview High students with a android game of malice and dirty hidden meanings. One Of Us Is Next started with a android game of truth or dare which exponentially turned ugly and even deadly as the story progresses. I was immediately hooked with the story in the beginning but unfortunately it didn't quite obtain me to maintain my whole interest throughout the is story is told in three POV's who are the main characters, Maeve, Phoebe and Knox. Each one of them are various with various backgrounds and even various personalities. Each of them really suitably play their role especially at various happenings and turning points. They became close mates as cirtances were thrown their method and especially towards the end as they started to uncover the truth and catch the culprit once and for r the plot, I search it progressively consistent from beginning to end. I was always in the mode of suspense and it was definitely thrilling as I, along with the high school students of Bayview High, notoriously known as gossips and dare devils are just itching to search out the person behind all of this. This is the sequel to One Of Us Is Lying after all and it continues the legend of the Bayview Four and the happenings that happened almost a year ago with Simon. I know I shouldn't say this but the story connects and I still search that nothing can top off the masterpiece that is the first book. That story was just absolutely brilliant and unfortunately I don't search this book up to par with it. Perhaps I had such high expectations that it wasn't able to is story has proven to me once again the power and the ugliness of gossip while combining it with social media. We cannot escape this aspect as we live side by side with it. Our worlds wouldn't be how it is today without the presence of social media and I search that these characters care too much about what people say on social media while they should be caring about so a lot of things instead. This actually happens in true life and I feel like people can really learn out of this, to be better and be even better people in society.If you think One Of Us Is Lying ended smoothly and with an ending that has closure, well you are going to love this one! What I meant was the opposite because even in the latest pages of this story, the author has yet again brought up her infamous element of surprise and it just rendered me speechless because she has done it once again. And that is why reading her books are so worth it!I'm sure there's so a lot of of you who are absolutely anticipating the sequel but allow me remind you to go in with no expectations and with a clear mind. This book will surprise you, it will create you gasp and it will also create you wish to shout at the characters for the things they do. For fans of mystery and thriller, I cannot recommend you a better read for you than this one or even any of Karen M. MacManus' books! Just read it, you will thank me later!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    I love this book. McManus gets better and better with every book she releases. One of Us is Next is nostalgic and tense and funny and heart-stopping and lovely. I can’t wait for you all to meet and fall in love with this fresh cast of Bayview characters. Highly recommend!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us Is Next: The Sequel to One of Us Is Lying []  2020-1-12 18:33

    No matter how old you are, this book is a page-turner. The author does a amazing job focusing the plot on “new” characters, while still letting us see into the lives of the protagonists in the first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    one day delivery lasix [how to buy cheap lasix online]  2020-9-13 15:39
    [email protected]

    top 3 best locations to buy lasix in Indianapolis diuretic lasix buy buy lasix in Memphis lasix online pharmacy in United States where to buy lasix in Oakland buy lasix online from Belgium how much does lasix 40mg cost lasix price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    one a day [cheap uk ]  2020-9-14 7:46
    [email protected]

    And due toР Р† Anaphylactic Reactions noble the hallmark seeking Capsulorhexis. genuine uk Ritalin generic This is perchance the most

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    If Richard Blanco's poem "One Today'' were a featured movie, then his follow up "For All Of Us, One Today'' is the gift feature that you obtain at the end of the this fresh collection, Blanco charts his journey from professional engineer/poet engineer to the phone call he received in late 2012 when he was asked to pen a poem for President Barack Obama's 2013 gives his readers a behind-the-scenes peek at how he constructed three poems for the president in three weeks and the story behind each one. With humor, he describes the swirl of emotions, from honor and pride to anxiety and fear in accomplishing the task and possible reasons why he may have been chosen."I was the youngest, first openly , first immigrant and first Latino inaugural poet. And the list can go on and one with other firsts that weren't really highlighted: first engineer, first Floridian, first Mainer, first poet with bushy eyebrows - wait, I think Frost may have beat me on that one!"But it's the intimate info that ground the book, moments that haven't been told in his radio and TV interviews; how he holed up himself in his Bethel, Maine home where he sat in his kitchen writing each of the poems; how his partner Tag would scribble loving notes and suggestions in the margins of the rough drafts as he slept and how Blanco preferred his second poem "Mother Country'' over "One Today'' because it felt more private and sounded more like his other poems about biculturalism and what and where home is. In "Mother Country,'' he channeled his mother's emotional journey from Cuba to Spain and Fresh York to Miami to tell the story of all Americans. Another moving detail: how his partner suggested that Blanco's mom sit at the platform of the Capitol during the inauguration instead of him."She won't fully understand the poem I will read about America to America in English, but she doesn't have to. She is the poem; she is America," Blanco writes.Once the White House committee chose "One Today," Blanco practiced delivering the speech wherever he could, from strolling down the aisles of his grocery shop to driving his vehicle to the post office. He even practiced behind a makeshift podium out of cardboard on the deck of his home. His audience of one: a snowman."Read to the snowman," his partner insisted. "You should rehearse outside. Feel what it's going to feel like."It's those little private moments that will resonate with readers because they provide another layer to Blanco, his home life. And in sharing his journey, Blanco also brings his closest relatives, mates and loved ones along so that readers could see how much love and help the poet had from writing the poem and delivering it on national TV to the reception he received after from legions of daily Americans, White House officials and celebrities (even Beyonce.) In that way, "For All Of Us, One Today'' is a huge thank you to the unsung Squad Blanco including the Maine inn keepers who provided a personal room for his media interviews and the salon owner who gave him and his partner a free makeover before heading to Washington D> Blanco humbly writes in the book, "I wanted Americans to embrace each other. But I hadn't expected that America would embrace me and that the poem would be gifted back to me in such a way." In that sense, this book of poems and short chapters could have been easily spelled "For All Of U.S." because he makes us Cuban writers and Americans muy proud.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    Richard Blanco, son of Cuba, Florida, Maine and America embraces our country and all of the people in it, black and white, and straight, north east south and west and all other points of the compass … it is a manifesto of becoming, a manifesto of including, a manifesto of being … thank you Richard Blanco for including us all in your embrace … Patrick Linehan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    Richard Blanco took me on a journey through this book. I love when Blanco talks about writing three poems for the occasion and how the Presidential Inaugural Committee did not choose the poem he himself liked the best! I'm a Richard Blanco fan! Lovely book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    I was so excited to search out about Richard Blanco's work after he was chosen for the inaugural and will always remember watching him obtain up on the dais, take a deep breath and speak words that touched so is book is a unbelievable extension of that day, explaining where he came from and how he got where he is. I loved that he told us how he prepared for that day in 2013, with small intimate info of the day with a bewildered but humble excitement. My favorite touch, though, was that the three poems prepared for the inaugural are shared in both English and Spanish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    In "For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey," Richard Blanco presents the three poems he submitted to Obama's inaugural committee for consideration and his process for writing them. The committee selected "One Today," Blanco's least favorite of the three, as the poem he would read at the inauguration ceremony. The group felt it had the most universal message, and eventually Blanco himself realized this. During the weeks leading to event, Blanco works on the poem, day and night, strengthening metaphors, working on rhythm and cadences to bring to life the poem we all heard on that cold January morning when Blanco established himself as an necessary voice in the globe of poetry akin to such greats as Nicolas Guillen, Pablo Neruda, and Robert Frost. This is a book I highly recommend, and in case you haven't yet, pick up Blanco's memoir "The Prince of Los Cocuyos," where the author uses his bonus for poetry to bring his prose to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    I was reluctant to even start this book. I have never identified with poetry. I used poetry when I made performance pieces,mbut I NEVER just sat down & read poetry. Yet, from the min I began Blanco's journey I was mesmerize. His prose is as poetic as his poetry & his photos pulled me into his world. BRAVO!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    Richard Blanco’s poetry is simple to read, simple to understand, and hard to forget. That can also be said of this book. In short chapters, each only 4 or 5 pages, Blanco recounts his experience of being selected as President Obama’s Inaugural Poet, and in doing so, he also explains simply and warmly the put of the poet in any culture. His story tells eloquently how he transitioned from seeing himself as an outsider looking in on his country to realizing he’s a participating citizen, and he makes the point that all of us collectively, in all our diversity, in all our acceptance of diversity, constitute the United States of tention book discussion groups: you’ll wish to create this book one of your tention high school English or American Studies teachers: this book makes a terrific introduction to the creative writing process and what makes poetry so necessary for our e three poems he wrote for the inauguration are included in the book and add both intimacy and gravity to the text. After reading them, I believe you’ll wish to read more of his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    I knew when I heard him on the scene at Obama's inauguration that what I was hearing was breathtaking. Reading this book, a "backstory" to his writing it, only confirmed for me just how strong it really is. Richard Blanco' s prose is poetic in itself lyrical and lovely. I've purchase another of his books of poetry and can't wait to hear him again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    To be honest, I purchased this book because it allowed me to obtain free shipping on another purchase. Since I have also published a book of poetry , I have some interest in the topic but am far from a connoisseur and certainly not an academic critic of the genre. Poet Blanco lists the possible reasons he might have been chosen as the inaugural poet such as being a young, , latino immigrant. I am about as far from this description as possible. And to create it worse, the book has a cover endorsement by Nancy Pelosi, one of my least favorite politicians! Nevertheless, upon reading the book I discovered that it was a fascinating glimpse into the method Mr. Blanco actually composed his poetry for this historic occasion. His poems were simple, concrete, and accessible to any person who is an American regardless of political or social viewpoint. And what is even more refreshing,the book provides a candid insight into an individual who is still optimistic for the future of poetry and the vast and ever changing population of our beloved country. For this I thank him, and highly recommend his book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet's Journey []  2020-8-29 18:13

    I found this is the most positive and hopeful story I have read in a very long time. With all the global conflict taking place, I search it extrodinary people from such nations keep onto such hope that they too can live their perception of the American Dream. I am grateful they come to enrich our lives with their hope and positive dreams. Thank you Richard Blanco for your artistry in writing "For All Of Us, One Today." I just love this poem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    Originally purchased and read bits and pieces. Chose what felt relevant where I was at that time. Shared a lot of it with my hubby. All this took put during a time of transition (late 40's and 20+ years of marriage). Realizing while being a very person, I had so much to learn about my body. I've used this book over a lot of years and it's been integral to the progression of my self knowledge as well as the evolution of our life and potential. Apologies for over-sharing..... Every woman should read this book as well as those who want to learn how to fully participate in the pleasure of a woman. We've given this book as a bonus a few times and recommended to friends. You can be sure to learn detailed anatomy and techniques for achieving or enhancing . Glad to see it readily available as it was harder to obtain years ago. And, while I love my Kindle reading, this is a very nice printed book to have in hand, to review as a couple. I'd highly consider the printed version. You won't regret the purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    This is a fabulous book!...I finally understand things I knew my body did are completely normal!....growing up as I did, was not discussed - except to be told amazing girls don't do it...unless you wish a baby...Reading this was validating and liberating - and did learn some fresh things, also....I loved the humor sprinkled liberally throughout...Sherri Winston created it fun!....Many thanks to the author...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    In his usual bottom-up approach, Peter Hessler stitches together a life touched by a lot of other lives, this time on the Nile. Don't be intimidated by the title "An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution," the stories are very accessible, the characters come alive on the pages, the language is easy and moving, and the author's humor is always a amazing company. He contrasts the ordinary with the profound, private vs. historical, Neheh (time of cycles) vs. Djet (time of the gods), China vs. Egypt vs. U.S. vs. Germany, individual vs. family vs. nation, men vs. women, crossing and erasing barriers.I am really touched by how much emphasis is place on the topic of women. It seems like the fate of the Egyptian revolution is deadlocked at the stiff gender relation within the walls of a family. In the end, Peter Hessler's description of Wahiba (the garbage collector Sayyid's wife) tossing a coin into the hole to create a want gives her so much agency and freedom it almost brought me to tears. Life-giving completes the cycle from the beginning to the end of the book. I want the cover of the book is a picture of a smiling Wahiba.I can't wait to read what Peter Hessler's wife Leslie Chang has to say about her experience living in Egypt and her observation of Egyptian female workers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    Peter Hessler is a favorite author. For this book he and his family moved to Cairo just after the Arab Spring. He and his wife learn Arabic so that conversations avoid the translation problem. The book covers Egyptian history, modern Egyptian politics and such but it is really about the average Egyptian person and their life. The writing is simple to read but the book is too long still it was a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    Learned a lot if interesting differences between bones of various ethnic groups that I didn't know existed. The investigations on the skeleton remains that they found was very thorough and amazing. A amazing book for anyone interested in forensics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    Method over priced, had to purchase for my kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    If Disney was smart, they would hire these guys to write a Star Battles novel. Seriously, this action-packed fantasy story left my jaw on the floor over how amazing and fun it was. And no, I am still not a huge Fantasy genre fan, but this book has me reconsidering. The characters already feel like old mates to the reader after book 1. Can’t wait for Book 3! Oh, and definitely obtain the audiobook version. Luke Daniels is fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    This book picks up right where the first one ended, as opposed to some novels that reappear 20 years, etc., in the future. Pi is a very interesting hero so far and I'm curious to search out if Red Star still has some kind of influence over him or if he's Liam reincarnated.I feel somewhat sorry for Torsten. He is so set in his beliefs that it makes him a bigot about anyone else's. Of course, we still don't know if Red Star is legitimate in his proclamations about the buried goddess or just using her as a ruse to achieve his goals. He does seem to have an unerring knack for being in the right put at the right time which gives some credence to his claim that she speaks to him.Whitney and Sora are beautiful much still bungling around trying to figure out what to do with their lives. The extent of Sora's magic is still unknown as she tries to figure it out without much closing - vampire!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    Adventure, loyalty, quest, love and revenge what more can you ask for?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    This tells the appalling story of cruelty and indifference to white indentured servants, adults and children, by settlers in colonial VA and MD. Exhausted, now-dead bodies, thrown onto trash heaps, instead of being buried. Proof that the Rich are truly color-blind :-(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    Purchased the ebook version. Two pages displayed on each screen (which makes it very hard to read) and could not zoom in on the pages. [email protected]#$%! would have been a single page at a time on the screen. Don’t understand why it was in the two-page format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    Ordered for grandson’s classroom needed reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    I love this book, and I use it in my classroom when we study the skeleton. It does a amazing job of sharing the techniques used to excavate a skeleton, and connects the science to how people really lived during that time period. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    From a guys stand point, I learned a lot. My wife is not willing to allow me know what she likes. All though all women are different, this book really pointed me in the right direction. Also support confirm my belief that we need more of a positive attitude. If only I could obtain her to read it. I think she would benefit tremendously from it. If your a women or a guy looking to learn something about female arousal this is your go to bible

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    This book goes into detail about the women's network that I've seen nowhere else. It finds a method to be both fact-filled and non-clinical. Although some of the language leans spiritual, atheists will still search the book extremely useful. There are unique sidebars called "hot hints for men," which are great, but I would recommend to any man reading this book to read the whole book, not just these sidebars. A amazing book for women and the men who love them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    Mr. Hessler nailed it. He captured a picture of Egypt that I caught a glimpse of as a latest tourist. In February I joined a tour of Cairo and the Nile and we were the first group hosted by the tour company since the Arab Spring. Egyptian history and culture is fascinating so I was interested in reading a more in-depth description which is why I chose this book. The author writes a behind the scenes narrative of politics, relationships, religion and humanity while weaving in ancient Egyptian history. I was impressed an outsider from the West could write a book with such brilliance. Egypt is a special put and the Mr. Hessler does an perfect job of describing the amazing and poor of this complex society. His discussion about the wearing of the niqab reminded me of the lady with five children in tow who wanted her picture taken with my blond wife even though her face is fully veiled. Read this book to learn more about a country that will always be in the news.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    After finally committing to a long dreamed about trip to Egypt, I happened upon this book while trying to educate myself to better understand what I would see. Since the 7th grade when I resolved to visit Egypt in person, my photo of the trip had encompassed only Egypt’s ancient historical sites. This book has left me even more intrigued about modern Egypt. It was fascinating and revealing from cover to cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    Winds of Battle picks up from the end of Web of Eyes, were Pantega has suffered a lot at the hands of Queen Oleander in her attempt to search her son, the fresh King. Torsten is the fresh Wearer after the death of Lord Davies, and Whitney and Sora are off together ‘Playing’ at thieving, so that Sora can understand all of Whitney’s the meantime, a heavy Shesaitju troops has come to threaten the Glass rsten is also worried about the King, the Queen and the whole Kingdom given that the Queen’s treacherous own brother Redstar is now a part of King Pi’s Council, and worse still, Torsten is forced to take Redstar and a contingent of Drav Cra as allies in any up coming wars or even discussions with the Foreign e opening of the book sets the stage for the remainder of the book, with difficult Political problems within the Glass Kingdom for the newly installed King Pi, who is just twelve, and acting rather strange, and odd, having been risen from the dead. The Queen is no longer in power, with a constant struggle for power between Pi (who is being guided, whether magically or not, by Redstar), Torsten as he struggles to assert himself in his fresh position as wearer, but to obtain everyone to see the danger they are in, and to test and fill the shoes of Uriah Davies, and of course Redstar himself, who even whilst acting for Pi, seems to act on his own as e Political Intrigue of the capital is masterful as you watch different pieces moved about like those on a chess board, but with some characters having no clue of what is event or what is coming. The twists, turns and android game playing that occurs in this 2nd book is enough to create Android game of Throne’s fans sit back and go ‘Huh!’ with a grin on their d to that the wonderful war scenes that occur in this book, the descriptions of the different characters as they do war is just stunning, and you search yourself glued to the book, reading these breathe-taking combat scenes.But just to create sure that things never obtain too serious, there is also Whitney Blissslayer, who is not only a amazing hero as far as his involvement for the story, etc, but the comedic acts that go on between him and Torsten, as well as Sora create this book worth reading just for these sections alone. As with Web of Eyes, Whitney goes out of his method to wind up Torsten like a Jack in the Box. It was funny in part 1, it is funnier in Part 2. Castle and Bruno are obviously had a lot of fun writing these parts.And that is what makes this book so brilliant. There is the comedy with Whitney, Torsten and Sora, Political Intrigue between Torsten, Redstar, King Pi and Queen Oleander. There is utter despair, and tragedy when Torsten goes to see a broken Rand, and Psychotic glee from Redstar when he is on the field of war with his e characters are all exceptionally well written, with detailed back stories, and in a finely crafted world. The globe building had been done with exquisite detail, from the Attractive Glass Turrets of the Kingdom, to the muddy battlefields throughout the different battle zones.Web of Eyes was a brilliant begin to the Series, and Winds of Battle continues it in outstanding style. Can’t wait to see what Will of Fire brings us!!If you liked the first one, you have to read this one, and if you haven’t gotten into the series, now is the time to jump on board to what is going to be one of the series of the year. Don’t miss out, it’s too much fun!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    A unbelievable and exciting story.I really enjoyed ’s a unbelievable continuation from book one in this very enjoyable series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    I think I enjoyed this one more than the first one. Of course it always helps being past the "get to know the characters" stage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    Bought this to supplement our 5th grade study of the first colonies. I think I'm more engaged than the students! They have fun the detailed photographs, especially the skeletons, but lack appreciation of the painstaking and fascinating processes these forensic anthropologists execute. The vocabulary is a bit sophisticated - maybe more suited to older students and history buffs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    Unbelievable read and should be needed reading for all newly ly active people, women and men. I learned a lot from the (finally!) accurate diagrams of the female reproductive system that I've seen nowhere else. I also picked up a handful of hints and tricks that I haven't seen in other for all the education that's promised in the beginning of the book- how to activate all the various nervous pathways, how to have multiple or extended or ejaculate, the most the book offered was a little sidebar. The majority of the exercises were nauseatingly fresh age [email protected]#$% like making an alter, lighting candles and affirming how y your genatalia is. I mean, thats really amazing if you've never thought of them that way, but not something I feel is rocketing me to fresh highs. It's also written for a decidedly feminine experience of women's arousal- which, granted, 90% of men need vast improvement on. However the "delicate flower" that needs so much foreplay was a bit much for me at the end I found myself really glad this book was written, and wishing I read it when I was 17. Also decidedly and terribly disappointed that the exercises were for spinning my chakras and not for a small more advanced physiological exercises since I was looking for some coaching not a spiritual life coach. That said, for the right audience I'm sure that's just great, and the correct anatomical understanding of the real extent of the clitoris, female tissue, pereneal and urethral sponges, movement of the uterus during the menstrual cycle and during , etc were worth every penny. Also the correct description of female ejaculate was such a welcome description. Finally! (It comes from a gland just up the urethra, before the bladder, that is ogus to the prostate).So, that is, you should probably obtain this book because it will tell you some desperately required information. If you're a "novice" as she terms it- that is a non-ic or occasionally ic woman, you should definitely obtain this book. If your a man and don't know what to do with women or have a man who doesn't know what to do with you, you should definitely obtain this book. If you are ly experienced but wish to know what's actually event in all the amazingly attractive and complex female /reproductive system, you should definitely obtain this book (that's probably everyone). But if you already have a amazing ability to and have fun yourself and are looking for advanced learning, you'll be drastically disappointed and should look elsewhere. And if you know where- allow me know because I can't search it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    This book has changed my life and the lives of at least 5 mates and counting. If you're a hetero guy this will create you a better more understanding lover if you're a girl of any orientation this book may educate you on a few points of Arousal you didn't know about

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    Finishing the first book had me reaching for the second, and I was not disappointed. Thus far, it’s got the same quality as Robert Jordan’s early Wheel of Time books, or Martins Song of Ice and Fire, without the bloat and interminable wait, and with a PG-13 rating. The books have got it: characters you wish to read more of, a plot that keeps you guessing, and I can’t see where and how this will end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    This book leaves right when shog hits the barrel! I love the end note, and it leaves me yearning to read the next book in the e ride from the begin until the end was enjoyable. I like the tonal shifts and humour that comes with Whitney and Torsten. The writing in this book is a lot better in this book in that regard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    When Hessler states that he moved his young familiy to Egypt about the time of the revolution, my first thought was that my mother would've killed me if I'd taken her grandchildren there.Once I recovered from those mental images, I enjoyed this book. It's a fascinating glimpse of life in Cairo, and Egypt is literally the only put left on my Bucket List. This isn't a particularly light read, but it's a amazing method to familiarize yourself with the revolution, current events, and how they affected ordinary Egyptians. It's been hard to search amazing coverage of the Arab Spring, and Hessler does a fine job of conveying more than anything else I've read about the commended if you like history in the making, and the Middle East.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    It's said that history is the most hated topic taught in school. To the extent that's true, it's probably because it tends to be taught in a very dry method as just a list of names, dates and facts to be memorized long enough to be regurgitated on the test. To be truly interesting and memorable, history needs to be brought alive as the story of actual people - people who went before us and created the globe what it is today, for better or worse. It also needs to be connected to other subjects, not just studied in a vacuum. This book accomplishes both Sally Walker follows a squad of scientists led by forensic anthropologist Doug Owsley as they excavate and study ancient gravesites around the Chesapeake Bay zone - the website of the early Jamestown colony. The squad couldn't know for certain, but they hoped to search the remains of some of the earliest settlers in the "New World" in order to add to the very sparse written record ing meticulously, archeologists plot locations for excavation and start to dig, sifting the soil for even little artifacts that may provide clues about the identity of any human remains found and the time in which it was buried. Geologists study the soil looking for various types of soil and "soil stains" which add more clues. Forensic anthropologists study the skeleton to look for clues to the gender, age and height of the person, as well as signs of illness and the type of life he or she led. Other scientists use different instruments and tests to determine other aspects of the person's life. For instance, carbon-13 testing can determine how long the person was likely living in the Fresh Globe based on the difference in emissions between the wheat and barley based diet of England and the corn based diet of the Fresh World.Piece by piece the different squad members assemble info about the person to give a true sense of who he or she was, what his or her put in society was and what type of life he or she led. Historians can then cross-check this info with the available written record to possibly identify the person by name and thus combine historical and scientific ing this painstaking, suspenseful method, we meet a teenage boy who likely fought and died at or near James Fort, one of the earliest colonial structures in the Fresh World; a ship captain, possibly Bartholomew Gosnold; a teenage indentured servant boy hastily buried and hidden in the basement trash dump of his master's house; prominent colonial citizens Phillip and Anne Wolsey Calvert who were luxuriously buried in rare lead coffins, and a young woman of African descent buried in a long-forgotten ing about these discoveries and excavations is as enthralling as a amazing episode of CSI or other crime stage TV present or movie. Children who think history is "boring" will probably be riveted by this book. The book is also beautifully made. It's a nice, huge hardcover book with thick, glossy pages created to look like ancient parchment. Each page has at least one, often several pictures showing actual images of the discovery process and other photos similar to the text.I read this book in just three nights (less than an hour each night). In fact, I was annoyed when I had to place the book down - I wanted to just hold reading and search out more. This book has given me a taste to search out more about colonial life and more about archeology in general. Hopefully, it will have the same result on kids, especially those not otherwise interested in history. I highly recommend this book for high school and possibly even junior high students, not to mention adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland []  2020-1-29 18:54

    One of the worst books I've ever read. Sheer torture. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It wasn't interesting in the slightest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    As a woman who is very comfortable with her body and well versed in queer/feminist body accepting rhetoric, I thought I knew all there was to know about my poon. Did I mention I was a ? I REALLY thought I knew everything about the vagine.... Of interest, and what illuminated my play time (solo and partner) was the in-depth descriptions and illustrations that map ALL the female tissue. Ladies, you will feel like you personally discovered lemen, this is a very thorough primer to the physical anatomy of your partner and offers additional insight into politics, tantric play, the art of cunnilingus, and most importantly - the ultimate turn on that is consent and body acceptance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women's Anatomy of Arousal: Secret Maps to Buried Pleasure []  2020-1-31 20:47

    This book is incredibly informative, and I considered myself well-educated before on the subject! I have been recommending it to all my mates and female peers (where appropriate).The physiological anatomy section is outstanding in its comprehensiveness of the pelvic region. I do want she'd spent a tad more time on other erogenous zones, particularly the breasts, regarding arousal response and stimulation, and possibly effects similar to nursing, and maybe piercings, too.I also really appreciate the sections on the a lot of types of peaks or which are possible, and emphasis of the concept that one can train the body/mind to be more responsive in that way. Seeing much private success now I know some things are possible and happen for enomenally informative, and I like the lush, passionate writing style, though it may not be for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    A magnificent work of narrative journalism. I spent two weeks in Egypt in 1998 but have not been back since. Hessler brings the country to life, mainly by focusing on the stories of some of the key people he came to know from the five years he spent living in Egypt with his wife, the author Leslie Chang, and their twin toddler daughters. While Sayyid, Manu, and Rifaat came from very various backgrounds and professions, you can feel the similarities in his overall descriptions of Egyptians (a certain shared mentality cutting across all classes), something almost impossible to capture. I found it a very nuanced and fascinating portrayal, and at the same time learned so much, especially about the history of the country and the shifting political landscape. For anyone interested in learning more about Egypt, the Middle East, past and present, especially its people, this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    My interest is in China, which Peter's first three books were written about. But with this book he has managed to create me fascinated with Egypt too. He seamlessly weaves history, culture, private stories, politics, daily life, and comedy. Previous knowledge or interest in Egypt are not needed to have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    I just finished reading Peter Hessler's recent outstanding book, this one about Egypt, not China, although throughout this book he frequently compares the two countries and their inhabitants. I was introduced to Hessler when I read Oracle Bones in 2011, shortly before my wife and I visited China. I subsequently read all his books about his experiences in China, and I was eager to read his recent offering as soon as it became available. I recommend this book very highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of War: (Buried Goddess Saga Book 2) []  2020-7-29 18:57

    Again the author keeps you in constant suspense following a number of characters. It was a tough book to place down and look forward to reading the final book in this trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    Another masterpiece from Hessler whose insight brings both modern and ancient Egypt to ere are a lot of brilliant passages throughout the book, but one about a Chinese plastic factory in Upper Egypt captures Hessler's range and insight."...Every time I visited, I thought: Here in Egypt, home to more than ninety million people, where Western development workers and billions of dollars of aid have poured in for decades, the first plastic recycling center in the south is a thriving business that employs thirty people, reimburses others for reducing landfill waste, and earns a significant profit. So why was it established by two lingerie-fueled Chinese migrants, one of them illiterate and the other with a fifth-grade education."I could say the same thing about this book. With all of the journalists and scholars writing about Egypt for decades, why does the best book about Egypt come from a journalist who built his career writing about China? Hessler writes in 3-d about a range of subjects I'm used to reading about in 2-d from journalists, authors and scholars. I learned more about a wide range of subjects including Egyptian history, the Arabic language, the Muslim Brotherhood, everyday life in Cairo, Egyptian Politics, the Arab Spring, Islam and the experience of Sephardic Jews in Egypt than I would from tons of other books on those very topics. All of this in an entertaining read with moving profiles of regular Egyptians. Truly a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Buried: An Archaeology of the Egyptian Revolution []  2020-1-19 22:13

    I was very impressed with this book, somewhat to my surprise. I enjoyed Mr. Hessler's previous Rivertown, about his time in China and fresh him as an author focused on Asia. This book, regarding his time in Egypt during the Arab Spring and thereafter, is better, in my view. This is in part because Hessler is often able to contrast China with Egypt, often with interesting results. Much of the most inteesting commentary in the book deals with contrasts between the two ancient civilizations and the two modern countries. Hessler also does a amazing job of introducing us to characters on the roads of Cairo, and detailing some of the archeological digs in the region. Highly recommended to anyone with an interest in current happenings in the Arab World.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386