Read oracle debugging reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all oracle debugging reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    Douglas E. Richards is one of my favorite authors and one of the few I actually read "the old fashioned way" (on my Kindle :-) ) because I can't wait for the audiobook to come out. I was a bit nervous when I read the synopsis and saw that aliens were involved, as that type of sci-fi isn't one of my preferred genres. However, this book had a amazing storyline with a lot of hard science underlying the fiction. I truly enjoyed it and would be first in line to buy the sequel if he chooses to write one. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    I'm a fan of the author, and have read a lot of of his technothriller books. This one isn't, but it is still beautiful good. But the very nature of a lot of of the plot devices (which I'd rather not mention because they are spoilers) create them feel a bit contrived so that they can do whatever he wants and still be within the rules. Granted, this is better than pulling a Deus Ex Machina without preparing it ere are the usual author notes in the end, which I always W, if you read Childhood's End by Arthur C. Clarke, you will message something similar, although it wasn't part of the notes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    Unfortunately this book is not living up to the high ratings and the NY Times Bestseller e writing is lazy and pedestrian - e.g. the love story in the book develops within hours and the two adults in the relationship are acting like teenagers who are in love for the very first time. Or the constant explanations of what is event are covered as conversations of the protagonists, but nobody would talk like this (e.g. the villain sing his whole master plan like in a poor 80s comic).Somehow the science of science fiction got completely lost. There is plenty of examples, but let's just focus on one here. The aliens are coming from a planet that is in a dual star system - according to the author that means that they do essentially not experience night on their planet... This is just outright wrong - even with dual stars the stars would be very close to each other and therefore only cover a very little portion of the sky, not significantly reducing the duration of the st but not least the characters are completely black and white. They are a caricature of what true people would be. To me this was the most annoying part. The protagonist is this excellent human with completely superhuman powers who can just resolve any situation - taking all suspense from the story.Overall one of the worst books I have read in the latest few years.

    0  


    Add your opinion on oracle debugging or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    This is a amazing science fiction book. The science behind this is fascinating. It has the amazing vs evil in a whole fresh way. You have outdone yourself Mr. Richards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    First, the description doesn't match the plot. The super race is only hypothesized, off stage, and never takes any action versus Earth. In fact protects Earth by limiting portals there. If they even ards attempts to "rationalize" the sort of universe in which a lot of SF takes place, with a bunch of nearly equal species fighting over the universe and some rarely or never seen super strong referee setting rules for unknown purposes. So write that part of the book off as a seminar brochure you have to read to create sure you don't miss en there is a bunch of over-the-top action which is typical of Richards' e true adversary is just another one of the twenty-something races acting based on the android game theory you might have studied in business school. They constantly test to wipe one another out because no one can be sure they are not next to be wiped out. And of course there is an ally species who is initially clueless but eventually catches en we are treated to a contest of how do you war someone who can see the future. Sometimes. And Richards resorts to two cheap tricks. He dumps in more manpower on one side by arbitrarily opening a portal. And he conceals the actual tactic being carried out by the heroine. This trick is used a lot in detective mysteries. Simply conceal things from the reader. In an SF novel, it is not appreciated. Neither is a lack of full explanation of the use of a key strategic advantage, like being a seer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    Almost never stops. The science fiction is believable and the story line is plausible and reverting. There are a few plot twists that create it that much more exciting. The characters are true and fun. My only minor negative is that it wrapped up so quickly and cleanly that it was a bit of a allow down. I do hope there is another book following.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    I'm not a huge fan of science fiction. But I like Richards' novels because until now he has always written near-future science fiction or what I call "feasible" sci fi. But in Oracle, Richards suddenly cheats and starts to write what he calls "space opera" or what I call "science fantasy". Instead of just extrapolating from current science with, for example, an enhanced subconscious mind that allows strong intuition and clairvoyance, he decides to let aliens to travel 25,000 light-years almost instantaneously. He explains that he had to do that because in the distant future, humans will have become omniscient and immortal, so stories about their relationships would be boring. Apparently, Richards coverts the popularity of unrealistic zone operas like Star Battles (which are really just westerns or soap operas in a futuristic setting). To Richards' credit, he avoids post-apocalyptic dystopia, which would be the only major alternative to his "boring" vision of the far future. But why does he feel compelled to write about the far future? He could just extend his current near-future hypotheses a small further into the future. For example, he could extend time travel from a few seconds to several hours. Also he could have just a few humans who are omniscient or immortal, instead of the entire population--thus increasing the probability of conflict. In his essay with the book, Richards asks us not to judge him too harshly for his tactic in Oracle. To which I would quote former VP Joe Biden, who said in a latest speech: "We choose science over fiction."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    I’ve enjoyed every one of Douglas E. Richards’ books, and Oracle is no exception. His writing skills are unmatched. It’s no wonder that he’s had over a million ancient Greek mythology, Oracles were priests or priestesses acting as mediums through whom tip or prophecy was this book, extraterrestrial visitors from the planet Vor, at the core of our galaxy, come to Earth via a “portal”, a hole in the fabric of the cosmos, looking for an Oracle. Their leader, Vega, finds and befriends a detective, Anna, who exhibits amazing potential with her very rare ability. Anna’s subconscious mind, superior to her conscious mind, is able to give her extraordinary intuitive powers. But visitors from another planet, Tartar, at battle with Vor, arrive via their own portal and test to wipe out Anna and to destroy all mankind on Earth. Deadly gunfights ensue between Tartarian groups and Anna.Anna’s subconscious mind then proves to also be clairvoyant. Her precognition allows herself and Vega to mount a defense.A few things the rest of the book’s first part contain (i) extra vicious encounters accompanying Anna’s and Vega’s attempts to save mankind, (ii) provocative speculations by the Vor aliens of the difference between consciousness and advanced computers and examples of quantum entanglement and its possible relationship to a self-aware consciousness with clairvoyance via quantum retrocausality, (iii) Anna’s enhancement of her clairvoyance by Vors using gene therapy, and (iv) Anna’s teaming up with Col. Redford who leads the military watch for aliens.Just generally, the rest of the book involves the Tartarian’s attempt to take over the U.S. military by forcing the Secretary of Defense to comply; Anna’s agreeing to go to Vor via its portal to tutorial their zone fleet versus Tartar; the Tartarians massed to slay Anna and Vega as they approach the Vorian portal; a high-level traitor in the Vorian ranks; an all-out war with the Tartarians; and a lot of more episodes that will hold you glued to this book. And, there’s a very clever rtini Fricke, Ph.D., physicsSan Diego

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    This one has aliens! I love the method Doug does aliens! They have a sort of “uncanny valley” feel: very human-like, but just various enough to be creepy. He also tips at branching out in fresh creative directions. As usual, his exploration of controversial scientific research is fascinating. Thank you, Doug, for another amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oracle []  2020-1-6 18:53

    This is a amazing read. Hero development is amazing and the story will suck you in with the first few pages. Say by by to the next few hours when you begin the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    WPF Debugging and Performance []  2020-11-17 19:51

    The book is printed in additional huge type, like first grade readers. Other than that it is very to the point. If you've ever been stumped trying to debug binding or anything else in WPF, this is the book. Nothing else like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Embedded Microprocessor Systems []  2020-1-31 3:51

    One thing I really like about this book is that the author contains a lot of of his experiences debugging issues in the true world. Only a few textbooks include these interesting and informative vignettes, but I think they are incredibly helpful in driving a point home. (They also create a textbook a lot more interesting!)He emphasizes a few gems that we're are guilty of at one time or another...."don't ignore symptoms!" Sometimes those symptoms seem to have NOTHING to do with the issue at hand! He contains several sources of error with examples that are often overlooked - things as obvious as boundary conditions and timing errors. While it is simple for an instructor or colleague to say, "did you check the boundary conditions?," really understanding all the permutations of functional testing is often me of the specific info is a small dated, but that doesn't invalidate the usefulness of a lot of debugging techniques that transcend advances in the technology sa Simone, If I Only Changed the Software, Why is the Phone on Fire?: Embedded Debugging Methods Revealed: Technical Mysteries for Engineers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Embedded Microprocessor Systems []  2020-1-31 3:51

    Having being inolved in debugging embedded systems from a hardware and software perspective for a number of years, I found it amusing that someone else out there shared my Ball has a amazing logical approach to fault finding and these techniques can be learnt saving years of 'doing it the hard way'.As for Mr. Ball's attitude towards marketing\management, well I found it amusing and unless you are very lucky, always show to some extent in the workplace.I would strongly recommend buying this book as hardware and software are so closely similar in an embedded system that coverage of both disciplines in extremely valuable.Learning about the stunts that Management can pull is generally not covered outside of a Dilbert strip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    This is a very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    When I first heard John Robbins was writing a book on Win32 debugging, I was delighted. I've been a fan of his MSJ Bugslayer articles since the beginning, and John's debugging knowledge, displayed in those articles, has helped me ever, for someone who has read all his MSJ work, this book is a bit of a disappointment. The reason is that the second part of the book is a collection of his (slightly-rewritten) MSJ articles, with almost no fresh content added as far as I can e first part of the book, however, is worth every dollar, as other reviewers have already mentioned, even though I was missing coverage of the WinDbg debugger, and MS tools such as userdump. Maybe in a second edition?To summarize, I suspect this book to be a 5-star for anyone who is fairly fresh to debugging and has not read John's MSJ columns. For others, who have been exposed to his columns, and have some experience, I'd rate this book 3-stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Since most of the core/kernel elements of Windows haven't changed since NT in the late 80's, most of the "new" items is in the form of API's. Soulami assumes a primary working knowledge of C/C++ or C#, but doesn't begin at such a high level that you obtain lost in either the debugger or the tracer. This book is REALLY up to date on windows, and will catch you up even if you are still working on an NT apters include: 1. How to develop software for Windows 2. Getting started (debugging for fun and profit section) 3. How debuggers work (pretty primary but very complete, covers both User and Kernel modes) 4. Postmortem Debugging (JIT vs. dump techniques. Goes much deeper than the day to day systems engineer will usually go) 5. Beyond the Basics (the true meat of the book-- awesome-- data vs. code breakpoints, scripts, etc.) 6. Code ysis tools (fair to C/++ and sharp, with a lot of actual/not just pseudo/ code examples that are well thought out and RUN); 7. Expert Debugging Tricks (we finally obtain to the fun and profit piece-- a lot of techniques that are effective but unusual, and probably wouldn't be attempted by the usual coder without this book's support on avoiding potholes); 8 and 9 are a whole collection of very cool "scenarios" covering all the NIGHTMARES made by threads and multiprocessors such as race conditions, deadlocks, stack/heap and access problems, etc. These two chapters are worth the price of the whole book; 10 gets into the console subsystem and concludes this ction two (about 120 pages) switches themes with three chapters about Xperf. In short, if you test to run traces as you develop your software using just ETW (event tracing for Windows), you'll soon obtain overwhelmed and give it up. This means you're losing one of the best "secret sauces" of the Windows 7 SDK (a method to integrate what's already been perfected, instead of reinventing every wheel, with proven code connected with an already debugged ETW web). The method to tap into that secret sauce IS e two perfect appendices give user and kernel debug fast begin examples that create this book as much as a reference and guide as a step by step learning yond debugging, there is a LOT of info on how to develop superior software USING the debugger, not for debugging, but for software ysis, code vs. operating system, security, and development cycle problems like static vs. runtime ysis. Any amazing or prospective windows developer will benefit from this wealth of info. This is over 500 pages PACKED with wisdom and experience, well worth the price as a career enhancer or builder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Amazing reference for windbg or amazing for people getting started in Reverse engineering. I would for sure suggest this for people fresh to this subject and veteran Reverse engineers for a reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    There is nothing in this book that is surprising it covers the usual things, stack tracing, heap corruption etc.,.The obvious things are covered, but I hoped for more detail 'inside' debugging for windowsIt could also do with a better explanation for how a process is place together, the info is all there, but scattered around the place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    You deliver a product. Soon an e-mail arrives - its crashed. "The register are .., the stack (and values) is .., the process address zone is partitioned as follows (with values) .., the OS is ...". Now obtain true !! This book will give you the full information on how to obtain all that information from a crash (ie. to **write your own "core" dump**), and the user can send it to you - then you can hopefully backtrack to its origin. It gives you all the important information on assembly language (the book is worth getting just for this), but also the deep knowledge required to track down almost any bugs - this is because it **actually shows you how to write a debugger**, and this imparts to you the "deep" information you need to know. Normal debugger usage is covered, but I regard this as trivial compared to the rest of the book. Compared to McKay's book, it is much deeper and goes into the "dirty stuff" that a "real" app programmer would need. An earlier review stated "why would anyone wish to know how debuggers work"; all I can say is that anyone who thinks like this should not obtain this book (and should not be coding either). Oh yes, I am sorry to say I am also not going to give any petty criticism about something missing off the CD. But I will say that .COD files should have been mentioned. You can obtain these by setting the listing option on the VC++ project/options/C++ tab to source/assembly/machine_code - these are indispensable (with or without a .PDB - look at them and you will know why), but this is forgivable considering how amazing this book is. Obtain McKays book as well - it is still a very amazing book but the focus is at a higher level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    This is a very amazing book which teaches one necessary lessons on window app debugging. Debugging is used to be a black art. Personally, I learnt in the hard method i.e. using the "pull you hair off" approach, :(. However, John Robbins focus on the problem on understanding the project scope, learning the sofware technology and using proper debugging tools. It makes the debugging a process which we, the developers, can thought, the book is focused on Windows app debugging but the principles and the rationale can be applied to other environment, e.g. so the John Robbins writing style is fun and friendly. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    very amazing tips. it is always amazing to have insider info from Microsoft.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    The author of this book is obviously an experienced programmer who is very familiar with both the sorts of issues that people are likely to encounter that they will need to debug and also an in depth knowledge of how Windows works. This combination makes the book more than just a reference to how the debugger works, it makes it a practical tutorial to how to debug true globe e book is a practical tutorial that allows you to test things out for yourself and the book then explains what it all means. It uses clear examples of the types of situations likely to arise in the true globe and shows you how to best utilise the debugger to resolve those types of e book concludes with a section on testing your programs performance and a quickstart tutorial to debugging in the appendix.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    I have four debugging books on the shelf above my monitor. This is the one I refer to most. I have over 30 years programming experience, about ten in C and C++, and I search that this book is an perfect resource. I still haven't read it cover to cover, and the CD is still sealed - much of it is on MSDN in some form anyway - so some of the other review complaints may have merit. Notwithstanding all of those, this is an perfect book, and you will probably obtain a amazing return on your investment in time and r the record, the other three books are:- Windows 2000 Kernel Debugging - may be more useful for device driver debugging- Debugging Windows Programs - not bad, perhaps a small less intense than this book- Debugging C++ - This is probably a small light for me, but I have a lot of background in debugging from other platforms. If you search the John Robbins book too challenging, this may be a amazing startAnd this latest brings up the only possible shortcoming of this book. I think the reader needs a certain level of knowledge, experience, and commitment to being a professional Windows programmer to obtain the most value from it. If you have these qualities, this book is invaluable. If not, you may search it very useful as you obtain more experience. Perfect choice in any event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    For context, I am a Sr. Engineer with 4 year's experience in Window's application development, mostly (80%)in MFC and 20% in SDK.I found that this book wanders somewhat aimlessly around the debugging landscape, taking detours that are substantially outside the scope of the book as indicated by the a 431 page book, 60 pages are devoted to "how do debuggers work", replete with substantial code examples. Another 50 pages are an introduction to assembly language debugging. Neither subject is germane to debugging applications software except in the rarest of cirtances. I suspect we were told about these topics because the author knows about them, not because they are particularly useful. By including this material, the author seems to suggest that you have to know how to build a debugger in order to use bstantial portions of what is left over are also tangential to applications debugging - Crash Handling, Multithreaded deadlock debugging. automated debugging are useful topics, but are outside the locations where most of my bugs y one chapter (Power Debugging with the Visual C++ Debugger) addressed my day-to-day debugging concerns directly. I want much more time were spent on this area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    A Programmers toolset is important, and what's more necessary is knowning how to use the toolset. Windows Debugging, and debugging in general was not something that I every learned in school. The windows Debugger is strong but some complain there is a learning curve to it. The author takes you through very practical true globe problems, with accompanying examples to teach the reader how to not only use Windows debugging tools mainly windbg, but also to teach the reader how to debug.Overall perfect book, well worth adding to the library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Unfortunately, on x64 Windows versions a lot of exercises doesn't behave as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    John Robbins did a amazing job on this book. I was very impressed both on the depth and breadth of the problems first, I though on skipping the chapter on Visual Primary debugging, since I am strictly a VC++ developer, but I am glad I did not. Even that chapter gave me insights that I can use on my day to day, for example, when he runs the VB compiler while in the debugger and is able to see how VB uses the C compiler's code generation (second pass).Some amazing insights and lots of amazing example on how to resolve issues and how to use all the capabilities of the debugger to ones best will teach you what to do when the debugger gets you to a source line that before that line, everything is working properly, after that line the globe has turned upside down. It will teach you enough X86 assembly to create you risky and be able to read between the (source) lines in the process. Even if you thought you knew it uld it be improved ? Yes, can't it always ? Coverage on tracking memory leaks could be expanded, for example, to cover MFC's shortcomings when reporting them, but this book is a close to perfection as I have seen them.And it is a amazing read too. His style is simple to follow, even though some of the topics are deep and complex, but John transfers the knowledge so easily, it is amazing.Once I completed my first read, I really felt like I had just finished listening to a very amazing rendition of a Beethoven or Mozart simphony.Every developer that aspire to be a serious developer should read it and reread it.And thank you, John Robbins. I will be buying every book you write.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    John Robbins book is clearly written and simple to follow. He has valuable insights and provides unbelievable examples and utilities. His BugSlayerUtil has been extremely useful in tracking down bugs within my software. Such a useful tool should not go hn has taken some hits becasue he was not able to contain several .lib and dll files on his CD. This is not his fault but rather Microsofts licensing agreement. He goes out of his method to explain this and point you in the right directions to get the is book is a must have among serious H

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Prompt delivery and amazing content. Recommend if you are involved with troubleshooting Windows operating systems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Inside Windows Debugging is the recent book on in-depth debugging and tracing tactics written by an author with an inside look into core techniques of Windows; some of which he worked on directly.With all the recent programming languages and integrated development environments aimed at making writing software applications more accessible, creating applications has never been easier than today. Unfortunately, creating an app is only one part of the equation, getting it to work correctly is the other - usually much harder - part. This book focuses on exactly that harder part; identifying, tracing and resolving bugs in your app as well as preventing them in the first y still think of debugging as an activity after a software app has been finished and users begin to experience problems that require investigation. This, however, is far from the truth these days since a lot of development idioms such as test-driven development (TDD) actually promote debugging during development e book is divided into three parts, the first providing a bit of background about the evolution and architecture of Windows, the Windows Developer Interface as well as the Microsoft Developer Tools. The second part introduces the basics of debugging, how the Windows debuggers actually work and debugging your app after a crash (postmortem) before moving to more advanced techniques such as scripting the debugger, debugging the WOW64 environment, code ysis tools, debugging system internals as well as looking at common debugging scenarios. The third part introduces tactics to trace and yze app behavior using various mechanism and tools such as the Happening Tracing for Windows (ETW) and the accompanying Windows Performance ysis Tool (Xperf). Finally, two appendices provide a fast begin on how to use the WinDbg debugger to accomplish both user-mode and kernel-mode debugging is book is not aimed at the novice developer by any means since a general understanding of C++ and/or C# as well as the Win32 platform and/or the .NET framework is required. The author does provide an perfect job by introducing primary concepts prior to moving to more advanced subjects so that nobody really should obtain lost while moving from chapter to chapter. By not just preaching the theories but also presenting real-world debugging scenarios, the author also manages to provide developers with methods and tools they immediately can use in their everyday routine.I have always been a fan of most books coming from Microsoft Press and this one is no exception: a wealth of info using an inside look into the underlying mechanics and paired with an engaging writing style makes for another book every serious developer should have on his/her shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    This book is the final word on windows debugging. Not surprising since it comes from one of the authors of the award winning software: "Bounds Checker"I really enjoyed the chapter on x86 assembly. It covers what needs to be known to read through assembly code when the debugger tosses it at ying to list all the amazing items in the book will take more time than I can devote right now. What I don't understand is why the book is now out of print. I'm sure some people out there still wish to stick to native code and these people deserve to have this book. I'm satisfied I got mine before it went under.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    I guess the title says it all. I've been waiting for a book to that demystifies the debugging process, and this is the one that does. With this book, John Robbins' teaches you a part of software development that is key to career success and he does it with a writing style that makes the topic matter simple to digest.I've always enjoyed John's MSJ BugSlayer columns, and now he's once again taken his vast development background and shared it with his readers. He shows you how debuggers work and then goes on present you how to effectively use them in your day-to-day work.If you are a serious Windows developer, you should read this eat job, John!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Applications (DV-MPS Programming) []  2020-11-14 19:24

    This book is excellent. John robbins is a seasoned professional who's been through the debugging battlefield a lot of times, and it shows.His approach to teaching the user to become a more efficient debugger is very effective, and you will walk away a better programmer after completing this will learn how to use the powerfull debugging tools, enough ASM to enable you to understand the disassembly window. A lot of usefull tools, and amazing source code on the CD.Highly recommended, especially for those just getting into C++ and ready to take the next step in the learning cycle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    This book explained a number of debugging techniques, but most importantly it explained when and why to use each e instructions were sufficient for me to obtain started, without too much detail to slog through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    I enjoyed this book so much that I created a somewhat impulsive decision to create it needed reading in my software architecture class. Each semester a percentage of my students consistently struggle to work successfully in ad-hoc teams. This book is the antidote. It empowers them with specific approaches to dealing with nearly every common teamwork malady. Amazing work by both authors!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    I especially have fun the HRT principle - humility, respect and trust. The authors explains those principles in terms laymen can understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    This book is hard to read; it's like the author is trying to write an instruction manual in undeciperable code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I thought this was a amazing overall book on debugging. The kindle ver has some quirks with spacing but is okay

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deductive Debugging: How to Solve Bugs Quickly []  2020-11-30 19:48

    As programmers, we are capable of writing very efficient and creative solutions to problems, yet when it comes to debugging we can spend days scratching our heads and not sleeping trying to locate an obscure bug. The approach we take to debugging is far less efficient than the solutions we are used to writing every day. This book helps remind us to take a step back, yze the problem, and devise a strategic plan of attack before chasing a bug. It is a well written read and I would recommend it to any of my coworkers who have had troubles with debugging. Non-programmers or project managers could benefit from this book as well, in order to offer tip to squads struggling with issues like these.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    Amazing book thats not only talking about Squad work but also how to exercise primary social traits like humility

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    These guys are as insightful as they are efficient, as good-humored as they are pragmatic.I'm a communications person and I learned some amazing things from this book. Plus which it's always diverting to see into the engineering mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I like this book so much that I've given copies of it to my close friends. The Developer's Tutorial to Debugging is a unbelievable small book. This book focuses on the general subject of debugging C and C++ code; however, much of what is said can be useful for other programming languages (e.g. ObjectiveC or C#). Although others have written books on debugging, this book really got to the heart of the matter for me. The focus of the book is software development, but since modern digital design is really software design also, I feel this book should prove equally useful to those doing hardware design also. Of course my specialty, Electronic System-Level design using SystemC, fits of the things I like is that the book is not overly long, and each section has a nice summary of key concepts at the end. I also like that it covers subjects for debugging code without debug info and provides tactics for trying to finding hard to repeat bugs. They also point out how debug tools can affect the bug, which brings up the "Heisen bug".Chapter 2, A Systematic Approach to Debugging is the most necessary chapter of the book. If you don't read anything else, read this chapter...twice. Viewing debug as a process is very important, and I think any engineer, whether hardware or software, will benefit from this insight. We apply rigorous processes to most everything we do in engineering until we obtain to this. I cannot recall the number of times I've seen engineers pull up a waveform or dive into GDB before they've really considered where the problems are. What usually follows are hours of wasted forays until they stumble on the problem. Follow the systematic approach shown in this book and you will obtain to the root of the issue much quicker. This chapter covers both tactic and provides a classification system for bsequent chapters provide insights into specific locations and provide valuable hints and approaches to recognizing and solving issues in this area. After reading Chapter 2, you don't have to read the book sequentially, but can go directly to any area. I recommend reading chapter 11, which will support you to write code that is easier to debug. The table of contents is a amazing method to look at this book. In the following, I have added my own comments following a hypen (-) after the chapter titles. 1. You Write Software You Have Bugs - even Hello Globe has bugs 2. A Systematic Approach to Debugging - Golden Rules and a must read for all engineers 3. Getting to the Root - Source Code Debuggers 4. Fixing Memory Issues - finding memory leaks and poor pointer issues 5. Profiling Memory Use 6. Solving Performance Issues 7. Debugging Parallel Programs - a subject not often dealt with in other books 8. Finding Environment and Compiler Issues 9. Dealing with Linking Issues 10. Advanced Debugging 11. Writing Debuggable Code - this is invaluable and should be needed reading 12. How Static Checking Can Support - finding bugs before you execute a line of code! 13. SummaryA. Debugger Commands - a short list of key GDB and Visual Studio commandsB. Access to tools - an perfect list of tools you might not be familiar withBecause debugging is an ageless subject and because this book looks beyond specific tools, I feel this book will continue to be useful for a lot of years to summary, I highly recommend this book for software developers, verification engineers and system-level designers using SystemC (or any standard programming language). RTL designers might not benefit quite as much, but chapter 2 is worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    The focus of the book doesn't seem to be helping managers or tech leads to improve teams, but rather a range of tip for anyone working in technology e book discusses wide range of useful topics, but not in a meaningful or helpful way. The writing is engaging and enjoyable, it's a pleasant read, but at the end I did a double take and realized that it was over and I had not learned anything new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    Loved the format and simple going writing. Underneath that glossy surface is a book packed with solid tip for any person leading one or more software team.If I should list anything negative it could be that the open-source example situations might be a small bit hard to translate into context for the enterprise developer. That's compensated with a fair share of enterprise stories too so there's no huge ank you for a amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    Honestly, there wasn't anything here that was 'Wow, I didn't know that', but I want I had read something like this 10 years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deductive Debugging: How to Solve Bugs Quickly []  2020-11-30 19:48

    Not only is this book full of perfect hints & advice, it is written in a method that any layman can easily understand. Kudos to the author & encouragement that he continue writing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I've been programming as part of my job for a lot of years and this book expanded my horizons, must read for any systems NOTE:[soapbox] Kindle ver is OK for this book if you are reading cover to cover but it shows the usual artifacts of an automatic conversion without a human editor reviewing the output and fixing things like chapter headings typeset in the same font/size as the body text. IMO kindle is generally worthless for textbooks, technical manuals and references because of its naive implementation and lack of features including syntax high-lighting, linking words to glossaries, complete navigational interface, scrolling text one line at a time (to align an photo with its caption on the same page for instance), inline mathematics that respect background colors and alignments, and a full text / full notes boolean find that [email protected]#$%!s for individual review. [/soapbox]Languages: C/C++ centric (all examples), most of this book applies to ALL imperative languages.Operating System: It is UNIX centric but contains info for MS Visual Studio.Full Disclosure:I don't even know what VS looks like, The only time I ever use windows is fixing it for a friend, so my opinion could be worthless on Visual Studio, but the info is there. I use Macs but don't program with XCode so I can't give you any information on that specifically at my experience Debugging is both an intuitive art (gained by years of experience working on true machines with true code) and a very demanding science (making observations, taking notes, well-formed hypotheses, careful testing one step at a time) My favorite quip is in section 2.1 where it mentions a issue solution way suggested by R. Feynman: "Write down the problem, think very hard, write down the answer." which is of course an "always true" statement. What this book does is support you to understand how to identify the issue so you can write it down (understand it) and then expands on the "think very hard" clause and makes numerous suggestions of how to go about that (solve it). This leads us to another statement of Feynman: 'The key to solving any issue is in looking at the issue in such a method that the solution becomes obvious.' If you obtain the depth of that statement, allow me say: this book is that SO:Gives a guide on GDB using a subset of commands to obtain you started with GDB - This guide assumes you are learning GDB - not basics of debugging, machine organization and memory cludes an extensive listing of up-to-date development tools, build tools, and testing several insights on debugging library code. (The part I required most! - very amazing stuff)Up-to-date Bibliography references as late as 2009, all refs are in 21st cludes a xref between primary GDB commands and Visual Studio debugging commands. (Appendix A)This book has increased my skill level and enhanced my understanding of debugging - perfect work by T. Grötker.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    Best tip for most engineers, leaders and individual contributors, I know. This book is worth its weight in gold. Glad I bought the electronic version. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I like the book because most of my computer courses taught very small about debugging and how to use a development environment like Microsoft Visual Studion. This book does an perfect job at explaining debugging which is essential to doing a amazing job at programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    Technical information is perfect and concise. But all controls except moving one page forward or backward do not work on Paperwhite. Recommend you order the book instead of ebook. The book will be excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deductive Debugging: How to Solve Bugs Quickly []  2020-11-30 19:48

    This is a amazing book on how to break down a issue and narrow down to the root cause! As an EE I’d follow this same type of issue solving from electrical to mechanical and both work.I have stepped in on a machine that has been problem shot for three days and have a fix in 4 hours using this very esome read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Teams: Better Productivity through Collaboration []  2020-11-14 19:24

    Full of insights, and clear definitions and tutorials on common situations. A must read for those who are individual contributors as well as those in management.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Love this app!!! By far the best free tarot app!!! I use it all the time. Highly recommend!!! I've only used it once but a positive reading all the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Nice application but its pricey! I really have fun the various tarot decks avaliable, and differnt spreads, but nothing is complimentary. So far i have spent $11 bucks and i like what i have but i am used to getting more for my cash on most apps, and no discounts for buying multiple decks or a method to buy it all at once for a reduced amount! But on a plus it is spot on, has lots of dozens and simple to use, just think the customer relations could be improved!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    I love this app! I can do a reading on myself or someone else at a drop of a dime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    It's amazing and I love it!! Hold up the amazing work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Very attractive tarot card deck, colourful and with lovely themes (fairies, dragons, mermaid, unicorn and angels). The messages are said in a thoughtful positive method and clear. So there are a sentence written on each card. The size of the card in the true is method too huge so using the application I don’t have to worry about that anymore. Highly recommend this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Insightful, encouraging! Loved the free version. The inexpensive purchase of the full ver was well worth it. I love this application because it is so convenient and attractive method to obtain insight and encouragement in life on a everyday basis! Attractive pictures easy yet relaxing. I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Love it so far its the propa tarot but better because I usually search some words in other tarots that seem like they've gone out the method to create arkward and I have no idea what they mean,but this is amazing so a lot of options n well...spot on.!! cudnt wish any more from it if I'd played,n iv not had 1 ad thanku oh and gud things ahead :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    This is by far the best tarot reading application I've ever used so far. Everyday, I wake up, look to it for guidance all through the day and can't go to bed without one latest reminder of the days happening and how I handled them. I'm truly grateful to have this application on my phone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Love it! Love it! Love it! It feels amazing to be reminded that we are all surrounded by so much beautiful, divine, angels, and fairies which can be accessed at any time! It was a amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    This is the most stunning, incredibly accurate tarot application I've ever seen. It's purely captivating. I am awestruck every time I pick up my decks. I like the direct approach they take

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    I love this application after getting the accurate predictions since my first experience. Anyone could use this application to obtain predictions about their life through Tarot Readings which is free and much helpful in some difficult situations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    It is an absolutely fine application especially given it is free but... it would be a whole lot better if there was an explanation of position of cards in celtic cross.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    I love my Angel cards in this app, the graphics is amazing. I have dealt them every night and once in the morning for guidance. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    The readings are well presented with amazing clear content. It gives me an idea how I'll be able to handle the cirtances in my life. Love it so much

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Each reading reflects the true situation in my life and also gives some solutions to handle the problems. I'm enjoying this application beyond my expectation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    For getting helpful guidance from my everyday tarot reading. I like to begin a day with this app. It helps me to hold emotions in poor days and be positive in other

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Helpful guidance, especially when you take the time to quiet the mind before asking your question. Worth the little investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Well I must say I am a small surprised. I asked only 2 questions, an it was beautiful much on point. I have only used the Gypsy Tarot option, I'm going to have fun using the other ones. 😁😘

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Draft Oracle [App]  2019-8-25 13:36

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Oracle [App]  2019-9-25 13:57

    Amazing deck and simple to use. But, its missing the rituals, incantations etc. Hope that there would be a modernize for that. 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Odessey Oracle []  2020-1-23 3:20

    This was a fresh album for me and it has been in massive rotation since it arrived. Amazing psych pop with Rod Argent's technical and driving keyboards along with Colin Blunstone's soaring tenor. Nice, complicate melody that still has some soul. Not hard rocking psychedelia, but amazing pop with a psychedelic kiss. Heartily recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Draft Oracle [App]  2019-8-25 13:36

    Easy and Simple method to do your own rankings. Please modernize to 2019 on Android device

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Draft Oracle [App]  2019-8-25 13:36

    Unbelievable app. So helpful. Amazing layout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Draft Oracle [App]  2019-8-25 13:36

    Nice small application A amazing application to have on hand while drafting. As to the player ratings we shall see as my season progresses:) hold up the amazing work! Edit: after using this application for my draft, im in first put in one and 2nd in the other, and have long been secured a playoff spot. Two enthusiastic thumbs up to the dev. Edit: once again this application comes through. Dominating my office league with the few hidden gems this application reccomended. Edit for 2015 season= CHAMP. again a few key picks by Draft Oracle place me over the top!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Oracle [App]  2019-9-25 13:57

    I really like this app, but it is incomplete. The rituals and meditations that it references are nowhere to be found.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    It's ok.. not amazing u begin with 0 points or whatever it's called u have to watch a few videos to do anything but if u don't buy the full card set then u only obtain a few sentences but not the full card .. I already have a few of the decks so I know what they say but if u don't know ur left like ummm what? It's very beautiful setup. But a least it would be amazing for at least 1 free deck to begin out.. so far I've seen it's $9.99 each deck for a month.. not really impressed on that eather..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Unbelievable app! The squad works hard to fix problems and really seems to care about their product. It's become my go to application for card draws. Hold up the amazing work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Amazing decks and right on the tag insights.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Very very attractive interface. Simple to use. A lot of decks to choose, contain tarot decks also. I love this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Unable to enter the app, "Force Stops"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Can not download any of the decks I've purchased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    I have been using this application several times a day and it has been consistently helpful. The ads aren't as annoying as on other free apps. My only complaint is that in the description of your cards it often reads 'depending on the cards around it' which is frustrating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Attractive and easy to use. My first messages were powerful, uncannily meaningful and immensely helpful. You need to have an begin mind, begin heart and a degree of self-reflection to appreciate and benefit from these. Fall in love with this app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    No kinks, just straight to the point on each card. I love how the application tells me how my life happens. It's hard to imagine a better tarot app, whether you are skilled or just a beginner. So much appreciation for this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Its various from the other cards I like the idea of pictures of gives various options for the meningsIt is helpful to have various area's to choose from , like money, love ect. I'm enjoying your app. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Very fun and the whole application looks gorgeous. Sometimes it gets things so right and a bit creepy. Convenient and sleek design of the card photos and interpretations makes it simple to understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    I did a few readings, and all were correct with what I'm going through. Each card was in full detail. The questions were answered with the info on the card. I highly recommend this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    A spiritual app. It's crazy accurate telling me things that happened moments after or was going in right then. It totally freaked me and my mates out in a amazing way. 100% recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Its awesome how on point these readings are. Electronic tarot is as amazing as any tarot youve used if you call on your guardians and angels to support tutorial the process of answering your questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Love that I feel humbled by the notice of my everyday card. I've been using this application for a few months and it's been a nice begin to the day as I use projections of positive vibes to hold me on track of my everyday self lessions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    This application has SEVERAL amazing various kinds of readings-all in one! I love it! Accurate&fun!!!💋💋

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    Wow that is such a attractive surprise for me. You created my day! I use it several times a day and I feel excited about this best modernize Thank you so much for your kindness and your work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Divine Oracle [App]  2019-12-21 13:22

    I love this decks, it is attractive as well as informative amazing job

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Odessey Oracle []  2020-1-23 3:20

    If you are old enough to remember them, you know that this was one of the most under rated groups in 60's era Rock music. Everything they did was both cutting edge and superb. In the melody industry everything is about timing and presentation. Sad to say this group was not well presented in the industry and by time they became known they were already history because the group had split up. This pressing is fully up to presenting the material covered with superb accuracy and the wonderfuls sounds presented by the Zombies. Gotta obtain you some!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Odessey Oracle []  2020-1-23 3:20

    Amazing album and brought back a lot of Memories not to mention a amazing pressing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Draft Oracle [App]  2019-8-25 13:36

    please modernize for 2019. will give 5 stars when updated

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386