Read philosophy of law reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all philosophy of law reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    search and seizure case law [collin county case search]  2020-8-23 16:35
    [email protected]

    pacer case locator find agree with what google did to me fairfax county case find dc court case find my find the original source he has a amazing point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


    Add your opinion on philosophy of law or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law []  2020-8-16 19:45

    I recommend to anyone interested in problems of law to read this book completely as I am planning to e articles in this text let one to have a multifaceted view of the law, its theory and its app to the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law []  2020-8-16 19:45

    This is a amazing Introductory book on the Philosophy of Law. It is one of the books used in the 2012 MIT begin course on the Philosophy of law. is and is used in conjunction with a course. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law []  2020-8-16 19:45

    Unbelievable smattering of different philosophic-legal matters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law []  2020-8-16 19:45

    Thank you for sending me this book . It arrived on time and the info is very helpful for my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Introducing Jurisprudence []  2020-7-27 20:22

    My professor assigned my class to read pages 30-34 and this wouldn't be so much of an problem if the author actually offered page numbers for his digital copies... Zone does me no good, give us page numbers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Introducing Jurisprudence []  2020-7-27 20:22

    Just what my son required for school at a fraction of the price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Introducing Jurisprudence []  2020-7-27 20:22

    This is truly a genuine first introduction to jurisprudence: read this before any other 'introduction'. My students with zero (fore)knowledge of jurisprudence or philosophy, found this accessible, helpful, and intelligibly written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Introducing Jurisprudence []  2020-7-27 20:22

    Wase of getting a extended warranty

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law (Oxford Readings in Philosophy) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    The book was a bonus for a student, and he stated that it was what he needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Law (Routledge Philosophy Companions) []  2020-8-17 20:9

    Amazing book, very up to date and simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Law (Routledge Philosophy Companions) []  2020-8-17 20:9

    TO THE PHILOSOPHY OF LAW - AN ACCESSIBLE, FOCUSED ANDTHOUGHT-PROVOKING STUDYCONTAINING BRAND NEW MATERIALAn appreciation by Phillip Taylor MBE and Elizabeth Taylor of Richmond Green ChambersThere are 14 titles in the much acclaimed `Routledge Philosophy Companions' series, and `The Routledge Companion to Philosophy Of Law' is the latest. Certainly this is the title that will confer maximum interest and benefit to students of law and for that matter, experienced practitioners as well.Under the able editorship of Professor Andrei Marmor of the University of Southern California, the book presents a compendium of leaned articles and essays by no less than 39 academics from a who's who of distinguished universities worldwide, from, for example, the University of California at Berkeley, to Oxford and e aim of the book is to provide, in our opinion, thoughtful, scholarly, precisely analytical, yet clearly expressed examinations of an amazingly wide range of jurisprudential problems which lie within the purview of `philosophy of law'. The publishers assure us that the content is entirely fresh and written specifically for newcomers to the field. For undergraduate and graduate students in law and/or similar fields, this book is a e essays are grouped logically under six categories which include: Theories about the Nature of Law... Legal Reasoning... Theories of Legal Areas... Law as a Coercive Order... Moral Obligations to Law... and Rights and Equality.Under the latter heading there is much thought provoking commentary on some very topical problems relating to freedom of speech, including equality, rights and privacy.`Is pornography speech?' is one of the questions asked, or is it an act? Part II on Legal Reasoning is also noteworthy, as is Part III --Theories of Legal Locations -- which contains articles on criminal law, contract, torts, property, family, evidence, international law and environmental Marmor points out in the Preface, the essays are introductory in nature and while they don't assume that the reader will have any prior knowledge of this field, they do `try to advance the ball.' `As readers will come to realize,' he continues, `philosophy of law is very close entangled with other philosophical areas, in particular, moral and political philosophy' and so forth.If you are a law student studying jurisprudence this book will both expand and clarify any number of problems for you while enhancing your understanding of the topic matter, which is often considered abstruse. Even for the non-philosophers among us, the book includes much meal for r your further enquiry and research, there are extensive bibliographical references and suggestions for further reading, as well as a detailed index at the back for ease of use. The publication date is 2012.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    The first half of this book, this author tries to use complex phrases to create very easy points. The second half is actually decent. I read this entire book for a class I had. It was quite the chore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings []  2020-8-17 20:9

    It is basically just one book talking about all those thinker's idea of the philosophy of law. Doesn't support with critical thinking at all. A horrible and boring book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    Did its job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    The publisher should be ashamed of this paperback version. For a $100 book, the binding cracks the first time you begin it to read, and the pages start to fall out. This is ridiculous! How much more would it have cost to use proper binding glue?If the book is needed for a class, I would suggest a hardcover version. If you have other options, look for a philosophy of law textbook ever, the reading material itself is beautiful comprehensive and well place together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    Satisfied with the condition of the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    Like. A small more beat up than the description, but it does the job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    Amazing book for the class. Easier to follow than other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Readings in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    It was an amazon product and in pristine shape. I still use it as a reference and would recommend it to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    Bernard Schaffer is a very interesting guy. His is an outstanding writer of both fiction & non. He is a police detective. He led another life as a kid actor which he tells in another essay, "BJ Schaffer is Dead" about serving his sentence as a kid star on TV. As I said: one interesting in this short essay, he tells of his journey to & some glimpses of, his life as a police officer. It is a amazing piece of writing & is both inspiring & honest. He tells it like it is. At least like it is for him. This is not a story of "action & adventure" (although it contains bits of both), but more just man telling about why & how he became a police officer and what it means to him. You feel it. At least I do, when I read it.I say, in the spirit of full disclosure, I have become of fan of Schaffer's fiction & felt I had to to read this. I was fortunate that it was when I got it in the Kindle Store. It is 99 cents right now. I had not yet read any of his other work yet when I got this. I say now that I have read this, and some of his other work, I would gladly a buck for this essay. More, for a collection of his essays, I would gladly $10 (and I really have fun reading well-written essays/articles. Especially those taken from the writer's life).It is a refreshing to read a writer who writes from his heart, while still maintaining his craft. I am sucker for amazing writing in almost any genre. Bernard J Schaffer is an perfect writer & storyteller, whether telling stories from his life or those he creates from whole cloth (or wherever he gets them from).Here is an excerpt from his essay "BJ Schaffer is Dead" that gives a amazing taste of the flavor of his writing, & is a nice segue to Method of the Fighter (it is from the latest paragraph of that essay, which you can search easily using any amazing find engine):"Me? I'm a guy who worked at a gas station to create ends meet while I went to the Police Academy. I scrubbed toilets, worked landscaping and mopped laboratories late at night. At 34 years old, I'm a police detective who makes his living putting poor people in dark places. I'm a father to two children, and I can tell you that their love and admiration means more than the vacant adulation of the masses on any level."Not only do I believe him, I feel I learn from him, both about writing & about life. That is valuable. Check out his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    I purchased this book to gain a better understanding of police. While no one source of information is the only valid source of info, this book provides valuable information and insight. You won't become a police expert in reading the book, but no single book will create you an expert. You will gain a larger view, see more of their street-smart globe and this has value. It is worth the buying and the time reading. Thanks Mr. Shaffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    The book started off great, but the author lost me, when he seemed to side with the poor guys, by excusing some of their behavior. I respect his opinion, but he is preaching to a 29 year, retired detective, who saw more, and was more successful than he was. I do not say that in a self agrandizing way, but a easy fact. I am not impresssed that he worked in a huge town department, nor do I keep that versus him. I have stayed very close to my department in retirement, not because it defines my life, but because these people are my other family and I love them as such. Seeing all of the nonsense, that is media / liberal driven, that these officers now face, I do consider them heroes, despite what the author may believe. What is needed now is nothing short of uncommon valor. Despite the authors success, I would never have a moments hesitation in debating rhese problems with him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    Bernard Schaffer is a very interesting guy. His is an outstanding writer of both fiction & non. He is a police detective. He led another life as a kid actor which he tells in another essay, "BJ Schaffer is Dead" about serving his sentence as a kid star on TV. As I said: one interesting in this short essay, he tells of his journey to & some glimpses of, his life as a police officer. It is a amazing piece of writing & is both inspiring & honest. He tells it like it is. At least like it is for him. This is not a story of "action & adventure" (although it contains bits of both), but more just man telling about why & how he became a police officer and what it means to him. You feel it. At least I do, when I read it.I say, in the spirit of full disclosure, I have become of fan of Schaffer's fiction & felt I had to to read this. I was fortunate that it was when I got it in the Kindle Store. It is 99 cents right now. I had not yet read any of his other work yet when I got this. I say now that I have read this, and some of his other work, I would gladly a buck for this essay. More, for a collection of his essays, I would gladly $10 (and I really have fun reading well-written essays/articles. Especially those taken from the writer's life).It is a refreshing to read a writer who writes from his heart, while still maintaining his craft. I am sucker for amazing writing in almost any genre. Bernard J Schaffer is an perfect writer & storyteller, whether telling stories from his life or those he creates from whole cloth (or wherever he gets them from).Here is an excerpt from his essay "BJ Schaffer is Dead" that gives a amazing taste of the flavor of his writing, & is a nice segue to Method of the Fighter (it is from the latest paragraph of that essay, which you can search easily using any amazing find engine):"Me? I'm a guy who worked at a gas station to create ends meet while I went to the Police Academy. I scrubbed toilets, worked landscaping and mopped laboratories late at night. At 34 years old, I'm a police detective who makes his living putting poor people in dark places. I'm a father to two children, and I can tell you that their love and admiration means more than the vacant adulation of the masses on any level."Not only do I believe him, I feel I learn from him, both about writing & about life. That is valuable. Check out his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    I purchased this book to gain a better understanding of police. While no one source of information is the only valid source of info, this book provides valuable information and insight. You won't become a police expert in reading the book, but no single book will create you an expert. You will gain a larger view, see more of their street-smart globe and this has value. It is worth the buying and the time reading. Thanks Mr. Shaffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    There is value to be found in this book. A lot of amazing info and valuable stories that have proven to be beneficial to officers all across the nation, and I'm sure that a lot of more will continue to learn from this book on into the future. I like to take every possibility I can obtain to learn from a veteran LEO, and appreciate the experience they ever, this is not "the method of the warrior" or "the philosophy of law enforcement." Those are huge claims to be created and the claiming of those titles for this book should not have been done. This book is one man's journey; one man's philosophy on not only law enforcement, but religion, race, orientation and life as a whole.I came to learn more of the mind of those who have gone before, and I did learn a lot, but much of this book is unnecessary. Just as this author cares not for the worldviews of his fellow officers, I could not care less about his views on anything that isn't directly similar to law enforcement. The title is deceptive, at best. This book holds very small fighter philosophy, a lot of data on active shooters, which is very helpful, and quite a few interesting anecdotes from the author's past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    Kindle ver has some amazing and up to date information (21 July 2016). His perspective on the black lives matter movement really created me think hard on what it all truly means. I am not in law enforcement, though I am a senior in college pursuing Criminal Justice so this book is a amazing insight as to what I want. I am also a USAF veteran, and a lot of the things he points out about people and leadership are hurdles I saw while in the Air Force. This book is a amazing tool for anyone who wants an lesson about leadership vs. management.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    I stumbled on this book one late night working that long 12 hr shift. Not only did it capture my attention, but I also blew through it within 2 hrs. This short essay did wonders for me. It relit that fire inside me that was starting to flicker. If you don't know what I am referring to, that is because you haven't been on the job long enough to understand that statement. I was yearning for more when I read the latest page. The author answered the call and added a few fresh chapters with this fresh copy. B Schaffer has a fresh fan, who is also an avid reader along with over 10 years policing under my belt. I'm currently reading Superbia and that is one awesome work of art. Real Blue Line....that will stay with me forever. If you are looking for some direction or answers that just can not be answered, begin this book and read. Not once, but a few times. The answers you are looking for and our purpose is right in front of our eyes, thanks to B Schaffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    I stumbled on this book one late night working that long 12 hr shift. Not only did it capture my attention, but I also blew through it within 2 hrs. This short essay did wonders for me. It relit that fire inside me that was starting to flicker. If you don't know what I am referring to, that is because you haven't been on the job long enough to understand that statement. I was yearning for more when I read the latest page. The author answered the call and added a few fresh chapters with this fresh copy. B Schaffer has a fresh fan, who is also an avid reader along with over 10 years policing under my belt. I'm currently reading Superbia and that is one awesome work of art. Real Blue Line....that will stay with me forever. If you are looking for some direction or answers that just can not be answered, begin this book and read. Not once, but a few times. The answers you are looking for and our purpose is right in front of our eyes, thanks to B Schaffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    Love Bernards books. He makes them all interesting with facts from his his career as a detective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    There is value to be found in this book. A lot of amazing info and valuable stories that have proven to be beneficial to officers all across the nation, and I'm sure that a lot of more will continue to learn from this book on into the future. I like to take every possibility I can obtain to learn from a veteran LEO, and appreciate the experience they ever, this is not "the method of the warrior" or "the philosophy of law enforcement." Those are huge claims to be created and the claiming of those titles for this book should not have been done. This book is one man's journey; one man's philosophy on not only law enforcement, but religion, race, orientation and life as a whole.I came to learn more of the mind of those who have gone before, and I did learn a lot, but much of this book is unnecessary. Just as this author cares not for the worldviews of his fellow officers, I could not care less about his views on anything that isn't directly similar to law enforcement. The title is deceptive, at best. This book holds very small fighter philosophy, a lot of data on active shooters, which is very helpful, and quite a few interesting anecdotes from the author's past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    For the most part I did agree with the author on the points which he created in this book. There are a couple of things that I have a issue with. Number one is the chapter on "The Truth about # Black Lives Matter." If you are speaking about officers killing black individuals then you haven't looked at your statistics too well, as more cops each year slay white individuals than they slay black individuals. The other aspect is if we go by the slogan "Black Lives Matter," then where are these people when every day young black men and women are killing each other? So, do Black Lives Matter? No more or less than anyone else. My second issue is his views on religion and how he purports that we as officers should rely only on science. As a Viet Nam combat veteran and an officer that has been involved in a couple of shootings, I can attest that when the bullets were flying even those who did not believe in a higher being was praying. Besides even scientist can't agree on science. Just look at the "Global Warming" arguments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    Kindle ver has some amazing and up to date information (21 July 2016). His perspective on the black lives matter movement really created me think hard on what it all truly means. I am not in law enforcement, though I am a senior in college pursuing Criminal Justice so this book is a amazing insight as to what I want. I am also a USAF veteran, and a lot of the things he points out about people and leadership are hurdles I saw while in the Air Force. This book is a amazing tool for anyone who wants an lesson about leadership vs. management.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    Finished this book really fast! Loved it! The only reason I am giving it a 4 star review is because of the section "Red Pill" near the end of the book. Before this section he gives you a warning not to read it if you are in any position other than an investigator. It makes sense because he is mainly talking about the fact that being an investigator is all about finding facts and not having private beliefs because they can interfere with your job. This makes sense but he goes on a rant essentially about how the Christian belief is false. That's fine, it's his beliefs but I didn't search it important to "plug" his beliefs on religion in this book (He mentions in this section that he is an Atheist now) especially because he already mentioned how it was extremely unprofessional to use your religion on the job, i.e. praying with victims, passing out church service cards, etc., which I completely agree with him there. You're a professional and your job is to serve and protect. Otherwise this book is a must have regardless!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    I really liked the beginning. There are some locations that need to be reviewed, words are missing or out of place. Then the ending of the book was like a whole various person was writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    This is a super simple and fast read that I was needed to obtain for my Policing class. I'm not interested in becoming a police officer so I was dreading having to read the book. However, the author uses a lot of humor and statistical evidence to back up his claims which I enjoyed. He actually at one point says reading academic things makes him wish to hurl himself out a window so the writing style/language is much more laid back which makes it an simple read. Also, I live in PA and the author is a police officer in PA so that created the book automatically a small more interesting. As a side note, I loved the Red Pill chapter. Create sure to read it when you obtain the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    This is a super simple and fast read that I was needed to obtain for my Policing class. I'm not interested in becoming a police officer so I was dreading having to read the book. However, the author uses a lot of humor and statistical evidence to back up his claims which I enjoyed. He actually at one point says reading academic things makes him wish to hurl himself out a window so the writing style/language is much more laid back which makes it an simple read. Also, I live in PA and the author is a police officer in PA so that created the book automatically a small more interesting. As a side note, I loved the Red Pill chapter. Create sure to read it when you obtain the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior (The Philosophy of Law Enforcement) []  2020-1-1 18:19

    Found this to be an insightful look at true police work and for most it gives the all necessary mental outlook required to survive the oppressive negativity faced by officers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    Finished this book really fast! Loved it! The only reason I am giving it a 4 star review is because of the section "Red Pill" near the end of the book. Before this section he gives you a warning not to read it if you are in any position other than an investigator. It makes sense because he is mainly talking about the fact that being an investigator is all about finding facts and not having private beliefs because they can interfere with your job. This makes sense but he goes on a rant essentially about how the Christian belief is false. That's fine, it's his beliefs but I didn't search it important to "plug" his beliefs on religion in this book (He mentions in this section that he is an Atheist now) especially because he already mentioned how it was extremely unprofessional to use your religion on the job, i.e. praying with victims, passing out church service cards, etc., which I completely agree with him there. You're a professional and your job is to serve and protect. Otherwise this book is a must have regardless!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Way of the Warrior: The Philosophy of Law Enforcement []  2020-6-21 19:4

    I really liked the beginning. There are some locations that need to be reviewed, words are missing or out of place. Then the ending of the book was like a whole various person was writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Met my expectations exactly. Easier read, you don't have to work hard to understand it. Wacks is a amazing writer, fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    This is a amazing primary primer of a complicated field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    This is an awesome book to have on hand. It is succinct in defining the various philosophical approaches to law, who is similar and influence what, etc. I am taking a Philosophy of Law and Morals class (Phil. Major). This book, about the size of your hand is strong in an informative way. Strongly recommend it for anyone and especially students. You won't be disappointed.I bought it used. It was in brand fresh condition apply described in the sellers info. Amazing and affordable with fast delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    works for class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    Amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    It reads like the Culture Battles from the 1990s. I would not recommend teaching from this textbook or taking a class where this textbook is the basic text. Simply Awful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    interesting book for law philosophers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    potable and handy. It is simple to comprehend and amazing for philosophy of jurisprudence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    This book was my first introduction to the "Very Short Introduction" series of inexpensive paperbacks published by Oxford University Press. The nice thing is that these books measure about 7 X 4.5 inches, so they create the excellent "plane" books, but yet are produced to the strict standards of OUP. I was just amazed at how much solid analysis is contained in the 107 pages of text in this volume, not to mention the "references" section, bibliography, and complete index. The author, who is emeritus at the University of Hong Kong, has essentially boiled down his comprehensive "Understanding Jurisprudence" volume (OUP, 2005, 350 pages) into this concise survey. There are also 15 illustrations and several boxed pages where a particular point is examined in a min e book is divided into 6 chapters. The subjects are Natural Law (Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, Finnis and Fuller); Legal Positivism (Hart, Bentham, Austin, Kelsen, Raz); Law as Interpretation (devoted to Dworkin); Rights and Justice (Hohfeld, Posner, Rawls); Law and Society (Durkheim, Weber, Marx, Habermas, Foucault); and Critical Legal Theory (CLS, Unger, Lacan, Derrida, feminist legal theory, critical race theory). This is a lot to cover in a full-sized volume, but amazingly there is much solid analysis and discussion built into this little paperback. It is the excellent device for those wanting to refresh their familiarity with the jurisprudential field; it also serves as an effective and skillfully-written introduction for those fresh to the topic. There are a lot of extra interesting titles in this Oxford series that I plan to explore--what a amazing idea!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    The Very Short Introduction... series has several advantages over other series that serve the same function of providing an introduction to a topic matter. The main advantage is physical size. Mr. Clark refers to it as the excellent "plane" book. That's true. But even better, it is a real pocket book. They fit easily into the back of one's jeans waiting for the odd moment to be pulled out and used. They can usually be easily read in a couple of hours.But that format has limitations. I search that the VSI volumes that are devoted to a single thinker are much more useful than the ones that cover a broad topic matter. (It inspires me to a poor pun. "A very short intro to a very huge subject" is almost Oxfordmoronic. O, never mind.)At best, when dealing with a topic matter as opposed to an individual thinker the VSIs are concise intros. But sometimes, as with the VSI to The Philosophy of Law the treatment seems shallow. Wacks is very amazing on some of his thinkers: Rawls, Dworkin, Hart, Weber, and Habermas are all fairly well done. Some of the others are not as well handled- I found his treatment of Locke, Marx, Foucault to be cursory at best. It felt like a survey of a take it for what it is. This volume is a very fast overview of a lot of thinkers (see Mr. Clark's review for a amazing listing). Some of these thinkers are necessary enough to deserve their own volume in the series (Locke, Marx, and Habermas). Others like Rawls and Dworkin deserve such treatment. Prof. Wacks has provided us with a fast and method to orient ourselves to future reading in this field. I just cannot support but feel that he could have done better. That if he had taken the time to flesh out his presentation for another fifty or so pages that it would have been a much more useful member of the VSI family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    The philosophy of law is one of the few fields of philosophy that have remained legitimate in the sense that practical questions and contemplations are not eschewed. Too often philosophical debate wanders into conceptual hallways that could best be described as mazes, but one cannot obtain to their centers even with keeping one hand on the wall. One gets forever lost in the entanglement of concepts, with nothing ever settled, and if an idea is deemed to be practical it follows that it must be uninteresting or illegitimate.But legal reasoning is a requirement for human well being, and then the question arises as to what system of concepts best encapsulates it. A lot of questions arise when contemplating proper philosophical frameworks for legal contemplation, and a lot of of these are answered in this book, written of course for those readers who need a fast introduction to the topic matter. No reader would expect an in-depth discussion of the philosophy of law from this book, but there is enough in it to enable readers to investigate specialized subjects of e author begins the book by stating that the philosophy of law is "rarely an abstract, impractical pursuit", and he explains the (weak) demarcation between "descriptive" and "normative" legal theory. Because of its put in history, the author discusses the doctrine of natural law first, and this discussion sheds considerable light on why a lot of modern conservatives are committed to this philosophy of law: it seems to create legitimate the social hierarchies that these conservatives insist we e doctrine of legal positivism is then discussed, and in this regard the most interesting (and disconcerting) discussion is the "pure theory of law" of Hans Kelsen. The Kelsen theory is interesting since legal norms in this conception are all relational: any one particular norm must be justified or authorized by another norm, giving in the end a huge hierarchy of norms with a "basic norm" sitting on top of the hierarchy and representing a completely formal or hypothetical construct. One should not view it as arbitrary though, since its selection is based on whether or not the legal is "effective". The author does not really elaborate on this notion, but the open-ended nature of his discussion motivates the reader to investigate this doctrine in more detail through outside reading.If read in the light of current controversies in the interpretation of legal statutes by the United States Supreme Court, probably the most interesting discussion in the book concerns the legal philosophy of Ronald Dworkin. Dworkin himself is very critical of latest decisions that have been created by the Supreme Court in the latest two years, but his criticisms in this regard are not brought out in this book. What is discussed is a conception of the law that seems "extralegal" in that it views legal contexts as being intertwined with moral and political ones. This makes legal reasoning more than just an app of rules, and forces the judge to consider the consequences that his edicts will have on the cause it is still in its infancy as a legal philosophy, considerations of jurisprudence brought about by discoveries in neuroscience are not discussed in this book. Called by some the "neuroscience of law" this branch of jurisprudence will probably not be taken seriously by the majority of legal philosophers for some time to come. This reviewer recommends the book by Brent Garland for those who wish to supplement the reading of this book by considering what is at the show time very exciting developments in both neuroscience and legal philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Readings and Cases in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-7-25 20:6

    Too expensive to spend on a textbook. Amazing articles but if it was not needed reading for a class, I would not have spent this much on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    One of my favorite text books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    The book itself was as I expected, pages were in amazing shape. There was, however, someone's name scribbled in pen all over the sides of the book. Otherwise nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    A classical case of :"... it is all there in a nutshell". I do know a bit about law and ethics and I do not believe that a better primer has ever been written. Perfect choice for anyone with no time for the full 600 pages of John Rawls "Theory of Justice" or related textbooks but who never the less needs a top notch quality introduction to the subject

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    Jurisprudence, from the surface, is a tasteless subject. It distracts a lot of fold more than it attracts. However this little book softly lands you onto the subject. As you delve deeper, the topic becomes more and more interesting. Every serious student of jurisprudence will search this book greatly helpful to be initiated into the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    A concise jurisprudential introduction. Well worth a read for anyone fresh to the topic or studying jurisprudence in college. If it could have another title it would be Jurisprudence for dummies. For more in depth reading the main text by the same eminent writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Readings and Cases in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-7-25 20:6

    Book was in even better condition than I expected. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    Book is in poor condition. The spine is like falling apart

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Highly recommended! The only possible flaw are the few paragraphs of each chapter that is sort of hard to understand, but those don’t hurt, just skip them. Overall, it’s a unbelievable work of jurisprudence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    The text of the book can be shortened in to justify being called "a very short introduction :) The text is repetitions with some of the repeated paragraphs being almost identical. Apart from that the book presents a amazing summary of existing legal theories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    Based on unbelievable books like Jonathan Culler's "Very Short Introduction to Literary Theory," I had come to expect more from the series. This book is poorly written, full of muddy, half-developed thought, and even includes several e book is organized as a more or less chronological presentation of major schools of legal philosophy (from natural law and positivism through critical legal studies), with the major thinkers in each school usually receiving their own brief sections. Unfortunately, these sections tend to consist largely of scattershot presentations of different doctrines asserted by the thinker. Small attempt is created to string the doctrines together into developed thoughts, or to suggest what issue the thinker hoped to solve by setting forth his or her doctrines, much less to locate the doctrines in a larger intellectual history.I found that if I was already familiar with the thinker being discussed, the book's presentation often contained subtly misleading phrasing; and if I was not familiar with the thinker, I came away still unclear about why the thinker had bothered to assert the various, vague statements about the law that had been summarily presented. One premise of the Very Short Introduction books is that it's not impossible to say something worthwhile about the significance of a philosopher's contribution to legal theory in even a single paragraph. But doing so requires work. It requires synthesizing the philosopher's claims and locating them in some context, not just throwing out a few vaguely connected, undeveloped doctrines. Those interested in getting a first impression of the philosophy of law would be better off visiting the Wikipedia pages of a few legal philosophers than buying this me specifics:This is the kind of book that a passage like the following -- "Raz actually postulates a stronger ver of the 'social thesis' (the 'sources thesis') as the essence of legal positivism" -- and then fails to define the "sources thesis." The thesis is evidently necessary enough to be mentioned three times in two pages, but is never defined.If you're like me, and you like your theses to be stated, you might search this book frustrating.Another characteristically frustrating passage: "Since Kelsen argues that the effectiveness of the whole legal is a important condition of its validity of every norm within it,..." I can't even tell what went wrong in that sentence: is it a typo? Poor grammar? Unclear thought?(For more straightforward typos or grammar errors, see p. 37 ["by reference to three elements; efficacy, institutional character, and sources"], p. 55 ["Can I not have a duty without you (or anyone else) having a right that I should perform it."], etc.)The author also gratuitous, unsupported praise or scorn for different thinkers, such as the following throwaway remark about Critical Legal Studies: "Yet the possibilities of transforming the law seem frequently to be diluted by the destructive, even nihilistic, tendencies of some of the more dogmatic adherents of CLS." Really? Thanks for the tip! (No identification of these adherents is offered, nor any clarification of the sense in which they are "nihilistic," nor any clarification of how their nihilism might dilute the chance of transforming law.)Finally, the book includes a glaring omission that is apparently typical of philosophers of law who were trained in England. It makes no mention of the thought of (the German) Friedrich Carl von Savigny, and instead presents a lot of of Savigny's central ideas as though they were invented by (the English) John Austin, who in fact got the ideas directly from Savigny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    I used this book for my Philosophy of Law class. It’s a fine read. However, I bought it used not thinking much of it only to search that almost every page has been written on. The condition ruined it for me. Almost every page is like the one attached or worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    Not good textbook. Words covered were not in Wikipedia, and the only effect on Google was linked to said author. What is the point of learning words that have no app since no one else in the legal or philosophical globe uses them?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    I was surprised that the book was physically small. I know that it would be a short book but I assumed that the book size was that of the typical Oxford/Rutledge university publications. The print is a size or two smaller than usual (14 point) so it is somewhat physically difficult to read. The material is presented very well and covers a lot of locations of the philosophy of law. I would gladly $2-3 more if the book size were to be slightly larger so the font is a typical university printing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-22 1:52

    A really amazing book to introduce students to the fundamental problems of Phlisophy of Law.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Punishment and Responsibility: Essays in the Philosophy of Law []  2020-1-15 21:15

    exellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    Wacks' created no secret that this was a very short introduction. It was difficult reading because it was very pithy and thing was repeated twice or expanded upon. The author however, gives us an perfect list of texts for further e study of the academic and philosophical locations of law are generally overlooked in traditional law schools. This is the topic matter that is the intersection of law and e book accomplished its purpose. For that reason I rate it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction []  2020-7-13 20:4

    This book does small to improve the reputation of jurisprudence as boring and far removed from the practical concerns of lawyers (and even, at least in the US, from those of a lot of law professors). Certainly one can learn things from it, but it won't be a particularly pleasant e author (RW) mentions in his introduction that even "sensationalist criminal trials ... that have become regular tv fare encapsulate features of the law that characteristically agitate legal philosophers" (@xiii-xiv). He would have done better to have illustrated the problems that agitate legal philosophers with exactly such real-life cases -- for example by organizing the book according to those agitating issues. Instead, most of the book is organized according to a much more ivory-tower principle, namely a tour of schools of philosophy (natural law, positivism, Dworkin's thought, and then brisk catalogs of a dozens of sociological and "critical" approaches); even the one chapter ostensibly organized on the basis of problems ("Rights and Justice") amounts to the same sort of sequential shlep (utilitarianism, law & economics, Rawls) .Aside from the inclusion of a few photographs and two text boxes (illustrating consequentialism and the Coase theorem), small effort seems to have been created to create this book vivid or appealing to a general reader without a law education, notwithstanding that a few may have soldiered through it. The discussion is dry and humorless. The fact that it mentions a lot of authors isn't necessarily a virtue. The latest two chapters short, for the most part puzzling descriptions of different schools of thought (although RW does spend a small more effort critiquing the Marxist approach). The sections on Derrida, Foucault and Lacan are too compressed to have been useful, and could have been omitted or lumped together in exchange for more elaboration elsewhere. No attempt is created to provide a bigger picture at the conclusion of any chapter, nor is there even the briefest of conclusions for the book as a whole. The book peters out like a stream disappearing into sand: its latest words are a 1-sentence description of an "offshoot" of critical race theory. There are plenty of other books in the VSI series that are fatter than this one, so lack of zone doesn't seem like an adequate excuse for this lack of suspicion is that RW's having written a large textbook on the field may have constrained his imagination to produce sort of a mini- or outline version, instead of starting from an entirely different, more user-friendly conception (more selective, more "applied"). This book isn't up to the standards of the VSIs on, say, ethics, democracy, or ideology (just to cite examples from philosophy). I read the book as preparation for teaching upper-level undergraduates in law & politics next semester; despite the pertinence of the subject and the convenient length, the odds are very low I'll recommend it as a supplemental text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings with Commentary []  2020-8-21 19:57

    I bought this as a textbook, but could definetly read it as a book. It is a collection of various essays on the philosophy of law, and is well place together, and simple to obtain through. The material is tough, but if you are intersted in philosophy of law, you should obtain used to tough materials.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Postmodern Philosophy and Law []  2020-7-13 20:4

    This is necessary social observation and commentary. Litowitz has done major research for this project, and it shows. The book is 230 pages, but only 177 of that is his discussion, the rest is in chapter notes and index, necessary if you're doing research for another book, as I am. Much of the change in our society over the past generation is because of the postmodern influence on the legal profession. It's the lawyers, courts, judges, and legislators who've changed the rules for everyone else. Whether it's medicine (my area), manufacturing, human relations, or little business, life is various because of Nietzsche, Marx, Lyotard, and member the film Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid? Butch (Paul Newman) and some other outlaw, who's about twice his size, are about to have a war to the death to decide who will lead the outlaw band. Butch says, "Let's obtain the rules straight," the other guy says, "No rules in a knife fight!" Butch kicks him in the balls. That's the postmodern influence on the legal profession, no rules.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Postmodern Philosophy and Law []  2020-7-13 20:4

    This is an extremely well written work. He makes a complicated topic intelligible. To do that the author needs to know his topic well. Joseph P Garske

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    The item was in amazing condition. Had no issues receiving it on time either. Overall amazing seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence Cases and Materials: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Law and Its Applications []  2020-1-27 0:41

    👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    Met my expectations!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    New 'Aquinis' is as poor as new 'Shapespear' and you all know that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    Dense read but the book was in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    I used this book in a law school class on Jurisprudence. The book is weak on Cicero and the Stoics, powerful on the 20th/c movements. Best of all, it introduced me to the work of John Finnis!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence Cases and Materials: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Law and Its Applications []  2020-1-27 0:41

    Amazing !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    It's almost like when you had to know latin in to read the bible, except it's the 21st century and we're still needed to read a law book that belongs in the early 20th century. It's too verbose and not very clear for most readers. When one is taking a lot of classes in college and time is not on your side, this book is a nightmare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    Surprisingly, the book was received in a timely manner. I was just a bit disappointed because of the huge puncture (from some instrument) that penetrated the front hard cover. I was grateful it did not go further into a lot of pages, but generally I was satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jurisprudence, Text and Readings on the Philosophy of Law (American Casebook Series) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    The seller sent it very quickly and the book was very well packaged. Aristotle would be proud. (He is a huge part of this book)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of Philosophy []  2019-12-20 18:33

    I've only reviewed the Table of Contents, browsed some random pages, and listened to the first chapters. Having just finished a Continuing Education course in "Ethics" (which was really "do nothing meta-ethics") I want I could obtain my $2K back and that a lot of mates of mine that a lot of copies. This focuses on understanding the history, and presenting the debate, which is both what the title suggests and what I was looking for ... so I agree with any review using the term "landmark".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wittgenstein's Conception of Philosophy []  2019-12-20 18:36

    I picked this up on a lark at a used bookstore when I was a philosophy undergrad at Berkeley. I picked it because it was the cheapest L.W. book on the rack (I think I $3 for it), and it literally changed the course of my studies.I was lucky to stumble on such a clear presentation of Wittgenstein out of sheer frugality. Having since read a lot of other expositions of the man and almost all of L.W.'s own work, I think this is the best introduction to Wittgenstein, especially early "tractarian" Wittgenstein. Amazing Primer. For those interested in his life and times, Ray Monk's "The Duty of Genius" is a amazing read, but as far as establishing familiarity with Wittgenstein's conceptual framework goes this is best android game in town.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Problems of Philosophy []  2019-12-23 19:42

    Seems systematic, needs a bit of focus to be understood even though its not so hard as a d tangential critique of other agmatic enough to chop corners and not be so concerned with the issue of fully defining every concept even if he definitions are decent enough.What im trying to say is amazing philosophical book without being so hermetical that can't be understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Education []  2020-1-8 19:46

    It's an interesting book. Bought it for a class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Philosophy of Education []  2020-1-8 19:46

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Philosophy of Composition []  2020-1-18 20:41

    I loved the method the author handled this. There are some wonderfully quotable sentences in here. Also, as the author was a contemporary of Poe's it was nice to obtain a private point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Philosophy of Science []  2020-1-23 19:8

    I had to obtain this book for a class. I gave it two stars rather than one because there were a handful of amazing sections, including those about Popper and Khuntz. However, some of the more conceptual sections (the issue of symmetry argument versus the covering law model) left me scratching my head. Ladyman seriously misses the tag on demonstrating the significance of most of the concepts in what feels like a scramble to cover a certain body of topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy [App]  2020-2-2 21:24

    Having commented on several likeable qualities of this app. I'd like to but the application won't process my purchase. Instead it keeps advertising with volume even when I'm in silent mode (with no permission to do so) and I cannot contact the developers. I'll give it a few more days but if this review is still here, I'll allow my rating for this (cr)app stand at the one star it has earned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy [App]  2020-2-2 21:24

    Amazing for middle level knowledge. Go to SEP for next level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy [App]  2020-2-2 21:24

    I just started using it

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386