Read php and mysql for beginners reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all php and mysql for beginners reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    Please note that this book is written assuming you know at least some html. If you were looking for a “for dummies” book, I cannot recommend this one, as you will need one for html as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    I have no problems with the order. It arrived in the condition that was described. I am happy with the order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    Useless. The links provided are outdated and the software they swear you can download for free doesn't exist unless you wish to buy it.

    0  


    Add your opinion on php and mysql for beginners or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    A amazing introduction to scripting languages for Web presentations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    Amazing read for beginners

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    I got this book to learn the basics of MySQL and obtain a background in PHP beyond what I happened to pick up on my own. This book is good, a small funny (as all For Dummies books should be), an simple read, and full of amazing information. It doesn't really go into much detail on what PHP can do except for in terms of MySQL. (I guess, obtain a book dedicated to just PHP if you wish to learn what the language can really do.)The largest issue I have with this book is the countless typos, particularly in the code (which is the worst put for typos). Beautiful disappointing for a 4th edition. For example, on the very latest page (438, the index), it lists, under 'Y', ysquli_num_fields($result) function, but it is actually "mysqli....." (with the m in front). It is sometimes inconsistant with variable functions (like $firstname versus $firstName) which can cause problems, it talks about the "xor" operator but refers to it once as "or" which causes confusion, most of the time the die() function is used, there is a zone before the parenthesis (which I haven't tested myself to see if that is ok, but I would think a function needs the parenthesis right after the word with no space). Some other things that annoy me are more annoying than they are serious, like inconsistant spacing in code, or I saw once where the '$' tag before an in-text variable name that wasn't formatted with the same font as the variable name itself. Also, the author's use of HTML doesn't really jive with me (some minor coding problems) but it's not a large deal either. Or, there are some locations where quote marks in code are bottom-quote-marks (looks like double-commas) instead of normal quote marks as they should look. These are mainly annoyances and not serious issues if you know to hold your eyes open.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    I bought this book while writing a web app. Although I had some previous experience, I didn't have much in PhP and the book did an perfect job of describing the basics. Similarly, with MySqL I had small experience and it really e book has you work through examples, and then has the programs written out later on so you can go look at what they did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    I'm about half method through the book and so far I have found the book very effective. It is filled with amazing examples of code. The book is well laid out and also spends plenty of time reviewing the basics before attempting to move on to more complicated program development. The user with some experience using statements in excel or other programs may search that a few sections of the book provide more detail than important but the book was developed for the beginner so that's okay. As the author states a primary knowledge of Html is assumed so if you have no Web Page scripting experience you should purchase a amazing Html/css book first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL For Dummies []  2020-12-19 21:34

    This book is an perfect guide for someone who already knows how to program and wants to learn PHP and MySQL. It describes a lot of of the callable functions available in the language, but it tells you to go to the PHO web website for a complete list of all the functions and features. The reason I bought a book is so that I can have the book begin in front of me and not have to jump back and forth to the web website to look items up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP Programming for Beginners: Programming Concepts. How to use PHP with MySQL and Oracle databases (MySqli, PDO) []  2020-7-14 19:31

    The book has some amazing lessons in it, but it was clearly not professionally edited. There are a lot of grammar and spelling mistakes... but not in the code! The code is clean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP Programming for Beginners: Programming Concepts. How to use PHP with MySQL and Oracle databases (MySqli, PDO) []  2020-7-14 19:31

    This book it is necessary to me, I need it to my job and other activity. God Bless you, thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP Programming for Beginners: Programming Concepts. How to use PHP with MySQL and Oracle databases (MySqli, PDO) []  2020-7-14 19:31

    Like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP Programming for Beginners: Programming Concepts. How to use PHP with MySQL and Oracle databases (MySqli, PDO) []  2020-7-14 19:31

    Book simple to understand and it has a lot of useful code examples that you can use as it is for your own website.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    I have never taken any formal coding education, but I am a fast learner. This book was recommended to me by someone who has worked in PHP for over 20 years. The author of this book is well respected from the engineers I have discussed this with and his book shows why.- Although there are separate books for those who wish to go at a slower pace, this is excellent for fast learners or as a refresher to someone getting back into coding.- This book uses up to date technologies and explains the differences between old / fresh versions.- This was written in a method that explains ideas and subjects to someone who has no prior knowledge. The author can explain subjects with clarity and seems to understand ideas that can be more difficult to grasp.- Online content is very helpful, being able to download the examples in the books is extremely necessary and is something that should not be overlooked when deciding on a book.I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in PHP and MySQL it is very helpful and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    If you wish to learn how to develop dynamic web websites using PHP and MySQL (database) then this is an perfect first starter. I'm using my Java NetBeans IDE (integrated development environment) with PHP built in; however, you can use any editor and the author covers this well. The book, early on, will send you to the appendix where you'll learn how to install your web server, MySQL, Tomcat, and a mail server using XAMPP (I'd never heard of this before but it does install all). It also covers how to resolve problems such as having multiple 'running' copies of MySQL or code not running at all because the programmer put the code in the wrong zone to be read by the e book does have errors. Some of the errors (in code) were caught by the author and others and the errata sheet was updated. Some, however, have not. For example, the book shows a multiline comment as / some text /when in fact it should be /* and end with */. If you read his tips, you'll see the correct method (this is also how C++ does multiline commenting). In addition to downloading the errata sheet, you can download the code used in the book.While I haven't completed the book yet, what I have gone through is clear, concise and works. The hints are amazing ones (especially regarding commenting). I believe this to be a amazing book for beginners or anyone who wants to learn PHP and interface into the MySQL database. If you already have knowledge in other programming languages then you'll move along ck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    I purchased this book for my kindle at the beginning of my web dev journey. As a novice php/mysql programmer, I was overwelmed with the amount of topic matter in this book including the case study examples in the latest part of the book. Larry Ullman has to be my favorite author on the topic because of the method he structured this amazing book. His example websites which he walks you through will greatly benefit everyone who wants to become a web ter a year of reading rereading and studying and applying the code, i have mastered everything in this book and still use it as a reference now and then to look up mysql joins. I have developed my own ecommerce website with a CMS, raw ajax and that is very scalable all thanks to Larry. I also love his "effortless ecommerce" book but that is a topic for another review. Obtain this book people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Ullman has written a very clear, practical book on PHP and MySQL. What this book does is show a number of realistic issues web programmers have to deal with, and takes you through the different ways of handling them. I found that incredibly useful.I found the best method to engage with the material was to download and print the code, and then create notes on those printouts based on the explanations given in the main 's worth noting that reading this book alone is not enough. A keen learner should be willing to refer to the PHP manual (excellent resource), the MySQL manual (not so excellent) and stackoverflow (excellent) while reading through this book for extra insight and clarity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Pros+ a lot of material, organized well, explained well+ changed lines in code are highlighted+ code lines are numbered+ screenshots of results+ emphasis on security+ few errataCons- code downloaded from the book's www service could be renamed to add some description, so instead of "script_12_p" I'd rather see "script_12_p". This might not be a issue for someone going in order, but I wasn't, so I had to begin files by trial and error until I found what I was looking for.- Also, in the later chapters, the folders don't match the book. For example in the Kindle version, there's a listing for Script 10.3 edit_p, but in the files I downloaded, "script_10_p" is for p, which is not in the book. Looking further into it, the zip file phpvqs4_ doesn't match the book and may be for a previous edition. But it still helped a lot to look at that code in an editor.[EDIT : The code is not mismatched; I mistakenly downloaded the code from the author's other book on PHP, PHP for the Web: Visual QuickStart Tutorial (4th Edition). ]Other comments-I bought the Kindle edition, but I wouldn't use it on a Kindle because the screen is too small. Smartphone use was fine.-There's more subjects covered than I need right now, so it will be a amazing go-to book when I need more info.-I slogged through a lot of it non-linearly, and after a day, was writing scripts and getting results from a database. Even though the book had everything, I still had to do a lot of debugging (on my own php code, not the book's) and the book has a section on debugging; the downloaded code, mismatched as it is, was helpful in this regard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    First the good: This book is able to explain the key concepts in PHP and MySQL in a very simple, easy-to-understand manner. By following along with the example scripts, I imagine anyone could learn how to accomplish the most necessary tasks in building a decent backend for a website. I started the book with years of programming experience already in hand as well as some limited exposure to PHP and MySQL. In particular, I was looking for a book which would give me a more organized education on these two languages, especially relating to how the two work together in implementing a functional server-side system for dynamic web pages. It succeeded in this regard. Each chapter is organized so that you will have the requisite knowledge required to understand the proceeding chapters. Furthermore, the review pages at the end of each chapter are quite useful in determining whether the info has actually been learned and highlighting gaps in knowledge that need to be filled before moving the not-so-good: One gripe I had with the structure of the book was the redundant code interspersed among the explanatory text, although this is more of a private preference. Frames are placed separate from the main text with the actual script that the text is discussing; however, huge pieces of this code are also copied into the text surrounded by instructions for recreating the script. I found this to be tedious and distracting, considering that the exact same code is already shown in the adjacent frames. It can be especially frustrating when the identical boilerplate HTML DOCTYPE and meta tags are repeated over and over for each script. This seems to just be page-filling material, but it gets annoying after the first few times. Disregarding these two tags, I can at least see how some of the redundant code could be useful for complete beginners of web development, so I didn't take any stars off for it. That said, I don't think it would be wise to learn PHP and MySQL before learning enough HTML and CSS to not need the repetition, ditionally, I'm a bit wary of how late in the book security measures are discussed. These days, security is incredibly necessary when writing a www service backend, so I would have preferred if it was discussed in bits and pieces throughout the book and also explored in greater depth in a later chapter. At the very least, the sections with PHP code for handling HTML forms need to contain proper hero escaping of posted text, even if the reason behind it isn't explained in detail at the time. Unless someone only reads the first 12 chapters of the book before deciding to make a web server accessible from outside his or her LAN, this probably won't be much of a problem. Still, it's better to obtain beginners in the habit of using amazing security techniques from the start, rather than wait until ly, the bad: The fourth (and, as of this review, current) edition of this book was published in 2012. Since then, HTML5, PHP 7, and MySQL 5.7 have been released, making this edition fairly outdated. Concerning HTML5 in particular, several instances of example HTML code shown in the book have been rendered obsolete, and in a lot of cases are now considered poor practice. Ironically, the same boilerplate DOCTYPE and meta mark code that permeates book has either been simplified or completely thrown out of the HTML5 standard, perhaps explaining some of my frustration with it. I suspect another edition covering the newer versions is in the works, but then again, the author does write in the book that he "wouldn't be surprised if HTML5 is still not released by the time [he] starts the fifth edition of this book." In the meantime, I have to take off a star for the partially antiquated example ditionally, I have to take off another star for a potentially more limited problem. My printing of the book was missing approximately 50 pages from the end of Chapter 5 and the beginning of Chapter 6, which cover the Introduction to MySQL and Database Design. Instead, pages 151-198 have been replaced by a duplicate of pages 103-150. Again, the repetition in this book is killing me (joke). I have no idea how a lot of copies were printed with this error, but for beginners, the missing pages include some very necessary info on databases, MySQL data manipulation, and MySQL functions. At best, this error would require the reader to search this info elsewhere (or exchange/return the book); at worst, it demonstrates the not good quality control at Peachpit Press.Ultimately, I'd recommend this book, albeit to a little extent, for beginners of web development and programming in general. Although this book is far from perfect, it is one of the better available tutorials for those fresh to programming and backend development. For people like myself, who already have experience with programming, scripting, and/or web design, this book is better utilized as a supplement to other materials. All things considered, this book will provide a decent background into PHP and MySQL, but its use of outdated code, potential quality control issues, and lack of security measures in early chapters hinder its ability to serve as a singular, comprehensive source for getting started in dynamic www service design.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    I am an experience software development (Visual Basic, Visual Primary .Net) but never enter into the globe of web development. But since the early of this year, my working condition has forced me into the this world. I have a concept of programming, database, networking, graphic design but never experience with www service development. When I begin my fresh career, I have to responsible two web website which is running under PHP and MySQL. Based on the review of a lot of PHP book, I decide to choose this book. After spending three month and 7 days, I have completed this book and the below are the advantage and disadvantage for people who wish to learn PHP book to yze before decide to purchase this book:Advantage:- The chapter is well organize and the subject that you study is link from one chapter to another chapter with a proper step that you can walk through.- The author use a easy word to explain, simple to understand and provide you a hint for step by step from chapter to chapter. I feel that he know the feeling of person that do not know the topic and use a very amazing technique to explain. The author explain to you what is the subject mean, when, where and why to use the relevant subject in the true world. This is the most importance point for me to provide this book 4 stars.- The latest 3 chapters is the true globe example that cover all of theory that you learn through the book. You will use all of the knowledge that you learn so far from the book to build the true word project at the end of the book. Whether it is not detail but it could give me a amazing begin to do something fresh for you or give you another method to continue to strengthening your PHP skill in the future.Disadvantage:- Complicate appendix: The appendix is not contain in the book. You need to sign up and download the appendix to read. The appendix is very importance, because it will tutorial you through the process of installing and configuring the software of PHP and MySQL in order to create the example in your book is running. The author should contain this appendix as the first chapter of the book, mean that before the user begin to use PHP, they must have the correct installation and configuration of PHP and MySQL before continue to learn this programming language. This to ensure that everybody could be able to access to PHP and MySQL environment when that begin to learn this subject. The author fail this point, he just introduce to read appendix after I read chapter 1, it was lucky for me that I have read the appendix in advance, otherwise, I would read chapter 1 and jump to appendix and jump back to chapter and so forth...- Missing where to access MySQL command prompt: the appendix is very well explain of where to obtain the software, setup and configure PHP, MySQL, Apache web server. But one thing that created me obstacle during the time that I first begin to read this book as well this appendix is where to obtain access to MySQL command prompt. This point is missing from the page A8 of the appendix. The author tutorial you to manage MySQL user, setup the root password... but he didn't tell where to access to MySQL command prompt to do that. So how could the user continue to use this command prompt? The user assume to be the beginner level for PHP and MySQL. So the author should be carefully provide the proper step to tutorial the user from the beginning and ending this configuration appendix.- No CD: The book has no CD that include the source code and the software of PHP and MySQL. For a student who live in the remote zone and don't have access to internet, you won't be able to use this book while all important items is download from internet.- Two column format: This is the major point that I obtain back one begin from this book. I never read the book in two column format. Reading in two column format is really create your eyes tired while you need to read up and down two time per page. And this book is about programming, so the author should know that the subject is very difficult for the user to read. When the book apply two column format, some code was break down and it is really add more difficulty to read and understand the complex ly, I could summary that this book is written for the beginner level of PHP and MySQL. But it would be amazing if you have background of some programming language which you should know what is variable, constant, condition, loop...Thank again for the author Larry Ullman and want the author and user of this book always the best and success.Kanel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    This text includes overly detailed code examples (there's a lot of tedious HTML code that Ullman could have streamlined for clearer conceptual presentation), and is light on the theory. Furthermore, different "TIPS" are presented at the end of subsections--which include necessary information that deserves more prominence (i.e., should have been included in the text preceding code examples). This seems a bit slapdash, like, "Oh, I forgot to contain this info, allow me hurry and append it here because I don't have time to edit the main text." I would have preferred a more organized presentation of the same time, the code examples are well-annotated. Ullman explains what each line of HTML, PHP, or MYSQL is supposed to accomplish.Overall, I would only recommend this text for the annotations. This purchase requires a theory-focused companion. Maybe the The Definitive Tutorial series?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP: The Ultimate Step by Step guide for beginners on how to learn PHP and MYSQL programming in just 6 hours []  2019-12-24 19:46

    Another reviewer has pointed out that this book was automatically generated by stealing someone else's guide and then doing easy synonym replacement, which results in a ridiculous mess of not-quite-English. Makes me wonder where the positive reviews are coming from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP: The Ultimate Step by Step guide for beginners on how to learn PHP and MYSQL programming in just 6 hours []  2019-12-24 19:46

    This book is a scam. It was automatically generated from this tutorial: [...] by replacing some words, e.g.Original: "I use sublime text as my text editor."Book: "I utilize superb content as my word processor."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP: The Ultimate Step by Step guide for beginners on how to learn PHP and MYSQL programming in just 6 hours []  2019-12-24 19:46

    PHP is an essential knowledge for any programmer or if you are just curious about what it takes to build a is book does a amazing job at breaking down important skills and requirements for learning it. The instructions are detailed, there are pictures for more clear illustration of those instructions and it all works very well. I know a small bit of that stuff, but I am a relative beginner and I had no problem following e title of the book claims that you can learn everything in 6 hours – I'm not sure about that. Not because the book isn't good, but because it takes time to become sure of yourself and proficient in using the skills that you can learn here. But, for a starting point, this book has potential and it certainly has value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    I took over administration of a www service on short notice. There was small doentation and I was struggling to understand the previous admin's HTML, MySQL and PHP code. I would have never been able to come up to speed and create all the requested changes without this book. It was a lifesaver and is on the shelf above my monitor for fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-1-23 2:28

    This is a amazing resource for beginner and intermediate web developers interested in getting a solid keep on dynamic website design and server-side programming. It includes comprehensive examples linked well to the text, and helpful hints to clarify some unusual points in the PHP/SQL languages. Gary Ullman provides engaging writing that will maintain your interest in the text, preventing the typical head-jerk reactions one gets from more technical textbooks; that being said, he doesn't spare on the details, and contains everything you need to know to obtain started.I was, however, occasionally surprised by some unusual formatting within the book - I'm not certain as to whether this is typical of the Visual Quickstart publications, but some pages would be entirely blank, save for a single long photo in the lower margin. While it doesn't chop any material, it is intrusive and distracting. Additionally, Ullman makes a lot of references to his Appendix A, which info how to install the programs he works with and how to make usernames and passwords in databases. When an Appendix is used with this frequency, it would create sense for it to actually be included in the book, but instead the reader must make an acc on a similar website, go to an extras page and download a digital ver to be used on a computer. Frankly, it's a wholly unnecessary and irritating step that defeats the purpose of having this book as a reference - I'd prefer all the material I'm going to use in one place.Other than that though, a fine example of web reference for beginners and intermediates. I'll be keeping it on my shelf for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP: The Ultimate Step by Step guide for beginners on how to learn PHP and MYSQL programming in just 6 hours []  2019-12-24 19:46

    As a learner, I found this book exceptionally ingenious. I began learning PHP a couple of months back, I attempted this book and I am glad for my choice. The writer of this book is extremely gifted. This book is VERY per simple to read. Ideal for those (like me) who're starting to understand PHP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Development: Learn HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, MYSQL and WordPress for Beginners: Learn Basics of Web Development by Learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript, ... for Absolute Beginners (Release Book 1) []  2020-11-22 19:39

    Very poorly written. . . . Do not waste your time, too hard to follow and not informative. . . .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Development: Learn HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, MYSQL and WordPress for Beginners: Learn Basics of Web Development by Learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript, ... for Absolute Beginners (Release Book 1) []  2020-11-22 19:39

    There is a lot of information, but it is not an simple read (and not because of the technical topics). Reading this book is like listening to someone with a heavy, foreign accent. The author needs to hire a decent translator and editor. Also, the writer adds lots of links for readers to download sample code, but none of them work in the Kindle app. Finally, I didn’t investigate this author’s credentials before I purchased the book. Yet, he appears to have no background or education that makes him qualified to teach these technical topics in the first place. So, really, this book is useless. I guess Amazon doesn’t refund digital downloads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Development: Learn HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, MYSQL and WordPress for Beginners: Learn Basics of Web Development by Learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript, ... for Absolute Beginners (Release Book 1) []  2020-11-22 19:39

    I could not create it past the first two pages of the first book. Ironic that the first chapter starts off with this nugget "So, if you know English then you can communicate with me in English Language and that is our Protocol to communicate." (verbatim)I am guessing that this was originally written in another language and then translated (badly) into ain, verbatim: "Two systems has to first agree on a common protocol. They should know what rules they are going to follow to communicate with each ere should be some kind of instructions that are predefined when followed a communication can be , before two computers decide to communicate they agree on a common protocol and based on that protocol definition they communicate with each ere are a lot of types of protocol available today using which two devices communicate with other."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    Pro - cover a lot of materialCon - subjects are explain vaguely with small e author test to cram in too a lot of topics, but he doesn't go into detail on any, so you left not understanding the material clearly and can't use the book as reference. The books talks about security, but the code are written unsecurely. I suggest reading though Larry doesn't cover as a lot of subjects as Luke, Larry does a better job at explaining the necessary concept with code example to support you understand the concept.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    This was my textbook for an online "Web Scripting with PHP" college credited class I took. The book is broken up into logical sections, starting with a easy practical application: someone wants you to build a web application for them. The chapters continue building the users knowledge of php by introducing them to primary concepts using the easy customer web app, building on what was done previously. The subjects are necessary and standard, (data types, variables, operators, loops, control structures, conditionals) and move into more advanced subjects (file IO, MySQL database development, authentication, OOP development). At this point the user can look back and say, "Now I know how to do some beautiful useful stuff". It doesn't stop there, however. The user is moved onto more advanced admin-like subjects (building a ping cart, php and mysql administration topics, PHP and AJAX, web application security, building a web forum, etc). By the time you go through this book, doing all of the projects, you can call yourself a php developer. What the book doesn't cover is any specific framework such as PEAR, or methodology such as AGILE or Design Patterns. I felt, However, that these omissions are a strength of the book rathar than a weakness since what it teaches is the core library, uses, and functionality of PHP/MySQL and didn't obtain side-tracked or distracted by anything else. I felt this was a amazing introduction (and well, WELL beyond) to PHP/MySQL web development and created learning this language very simple for me. The book is well laid out and follow a logical progression, the examples all work, the language is realistic, the projects are practical, and overall the book prepares the reader with the important knowledge to obtain hired and learn a specialization, use a design pattern, or work with a squad of developers on a amazing project. I still use the book in my projects and will continue to do so for years to come, I would imagine. BTW, I got an A in the class!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    The book is very amazing in the sense that it touches a lot of necessary subjects for creating true globe applications. Its goes in depth in most topics but:1. The book teaches SQL but goes very quick on the topic so do not use it as your main reference2. Some code has errors in it such as in page 276 where it shows you should pass an object reference in the way fetch_rows(); but you should not because it doesn't take an object, the procedural way does.3. It is not the most fun book to read and the wording could be better. Sometimes it explain in a long sentence what could be explained in four words and it gets very confusing at times.4. The book itself shows very amazing examples of applications that we all wish to program like forums and what not, after all what is the reason we learn a language if we have no use for it.If you are a complete beginner with no knowledge of how programming works and wish tot begin with this book, go elsewhere, asides from that this book is a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    A lot of the pages in the book (about halfway through) were printed upside down, and not even all the method on the page. I wouldn't've bothered writing a review if I could've returned it, but I waited too long, so now I'm just going to complain about the defective product in a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    This is a amazing book, with dozens of PHP information. The authors are amazing writers and definitely know PHP rather well. I started with zero PHP knowledge and after a few hundred pages, PHP seemed simple and natural to me. The book covers the basics of PHP as well as some of the advanced subjects (classes, interfaces, errors, exceptions, autoloaders, etc.). I didn't have any use for the database parts of the book (because that part is already taken care of for me). However, the PHP chapters were quite useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    Why so a lot of 1 star reviews?This book is great, doesn't keep your hands and moves at a fairly quick pace. In my view, this is not a beginners book but as long as you have a amazing working knowledge of primary web principles and programming fundamentals from any language this book has amazing value for anyone wanting to learn e MYSQL section is also very informative just not as in depth as the PHP section, however it does enough to obtain you going with working on the web. The MYSQL section does not dive into deep database design principles, however that is not the scope of this book. I'm glad it kept it easy as the main goals are to obtain an interactive www service up and running.I have thoroughly enjoyed the book and still am learning

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    The examples and the explanations are beautiful good. They are clear and understandable. The books takes you through html, php, sql, and takes you to php -> mysql as a sort of nice overview/refresher. It then goes onto advanced www service developement. I do recommend this book for fresh web developers as it goes over PDO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    I really like the simple-to-follow methods shown here. The table of contents is well written so you can pick a subject and jump right into exactly what you might need - a amazing reference book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    I must say i want i found this series months ago. I tried to learn programming previously using those huge 1,000-page technical books. All those books did was confuse is book explains in one page what the huge books do in 20 pages. The format of the book makes it simple to follow, using color-coded programming code. One page explains the concept and the next is a coding exercise. The code that the book asks you to type up is easy enough to present you what is going on. A screenshot of the effect is shown as well, at the bottom of the e book is light on programming jargon so the concept is easy enough for non-programmers to obtain it. Even if you don't obtain it, just re-read and glance at the code on the following page and it will be simple to pull the meaning out of the e book is rather little and light, which makes a amazing print book for a learner on-the-go. I believe it is around 192 pages long, inclusive of the index.I will be looking at more books in this series thanks to this e only I want this author did with the book was notate how to obtain set up with non-local web server, such as a paid monthly/annually web server. I adapted the book's code and got the MySQL to verify its version, based on the MySQL exercise in the beginning of the y people prefer XAMP for local web server for PHP, the book uses Abyss Web Server.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    This is a amazing book for is simple to readExplains very wellYou also will learn the basics of SQL, Forms, Validation, Primary hacking prevention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    It's a bit comical when I agree with the reviewers listed inside the cover of the book ... "I picked up this book 2 days ago and can't place it down" and "layout and flow is perfect," etc.I tried PHP for Dummies and I was too dumb. I tried Sam's, but he failed me this time. Finally, I found this book. I consumed this book as I do a lot of tech books first on kindle, using the text to speech way to listen to it. Then I purchased a hard copy so I could follow the code. In this case, the hard copy of the book also has a amazing CD-ROM that I was able to use to install Apache and MySQL on my computer. I've failed so far to obtain the PHP up and running, but I'm not sure it matters since I just place the code on my www service and it runs from there.I would recommend on future editions, the authors move up to the front a small teaser. It teaches how to use PHP to shuffle photos. Its a super easy set of code and it is currently located in a completely rational location, explaining how to reorder arrays. The only reason I would recommend a teaser upfront is that the reader, immediately upon opening the book could go to a www service and immediately post some PHP code on the web. In the instant globe of the 21st century, this little mod would sink the hook a small further on this gardless of minor adjustments to create the book more enticing, its the best I've seen yet. It's clear, linear and simple to follow. As the reviewers in the book state, it has a natural flow ... its intuitive. What more could one ask for in a tech text?Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    Amazing book so far. I have moderate skills in dev and this book is helping a lot. I recently accepted a job as a PHP e-commerce developer. I have moderate development skills and have had my hands in a lot of various solutions, mainly MS SQL products, but I feel confident this book will be a amazing asset after getting it and reading the first few chapters and looking over the rest. I did quite a bit of research and reading reviews before I decided on this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    This book provide clear instructions, very specific examples, and contain programs (at the end of some chapters) that incorporate most if not all of the examples in those chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    You will not keep the complete book with this purchase. Four chapters, two regarding setting up php email service, one for social media integration and authentication and one for building a ping cart are not in the book but are instead listed as being "web edition" and you must register your book to access the content online. Two of these stuff are listed on the back cover of the book as necessary subjects within so it is beautiful unacceptable they put content like that online instead of the book. It wouldn't be that huge of a deal except that I have followed the directions in the text, visited their www service and made an acc and registered my book. Upon attempting to access the web content for the four web edition chapters I do not obtain a link to click which gives me access to any content. I see that I have registered the product but I do not have access to any form of digital content. Attempts to contact the company have gone unanswered and I am very disappointed with this purchase as social media integration was one of the reasons I purchased the book. I will also add that I HATE web based content, I buy books because that is the method I wish to learn, i admit it is nice to have access to the code to copy and paste if I need to but I can't even access that if I wanted to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    I bought this for class, but it's really a amazing book for diving into PHP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    This book covers a lot of various scenarios and makes them very simple to understand. I also like that since I bought a digital ver of the book, I can just type in what I'm looking for and there's usually an example of exactly what I'm trying to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    I was not sure how amazing this book would be be after getting it it is super and for a amazing price too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    I got this book to obtain a fast intro to PHP. I'm glad to say that this book was very thorough and touched on a lot of topics from primary language data structures to more complex subjects such as file manipulation, email, and MySql database connectivity. This book is about 900 pages long and includes examples that illustrate the topics. It was excellent for me. I learn by seeing/doing and the CD-ROM the book comes with is loaded with the samples/examples that are in the book. So you can quickly copy/paste into your fresh project. I have over 15yrs of software development in different technologies and I found this very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    After searching for primary primers on PHP and MySQL, I settled on this book due to the a lot of positive reviews. I'm glad that I did, as I now have a primary understanding of how to use these two technologies to build a web ke no mistake, unless you have previous experience, this book is only a beginning. I can tell that it will take a lot of more hours of work before I am able to implement these concepts. However, I can now look at existing code and understand what it is doing "behind the scenes." I also feel confident that I could modify existing code to meet my needs.A few rst, you CAN download the CD content. Just go to [...], set up a free account, register your book, and download the cond, there are mistakes sprinkled throughout the text that have not been corrected in the errata. You will need to do some primary troubleshooting to obtain some of the scripts to work, but it's nothing ly, this book is written for PHP 5.2. If you have 5.3, there is one specific function the author uses that is deprecated. When you obtain to this section, it will be quite obvious, because you will obtain an error to that effect. It took an extra fifteen mins of research for me to search and implement the updated only complaint is that, after the "PHP Crash Course" at the beginning, there are fewer coding examples throughout the book. I would rather type up a lot of smaller scripts and try out each concept throughout the chapter rather than one or two longer scripts at the end.I'm only 2/3 of the method through the book, but I believe this was a worthwhile purchase, and I will definitely look for titles by this author again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    Most of the time, I run across PHP and other programming books that act as mere references, and give info that I can simply search on These websites and books alike simply give a block of code, then a easy example and e reason why this book is various - and why there are so a lot of pages - is because its actually a book! You have to READ all the words rather than just looking at examples. The content is so beautifully structured and explained so well that once through the book and you understand almost everything. I am only 3 chapters in but I can'[t wait to [email protected]#$%!.Bottom Line - For a cheap $30 price, you obtain $60 quality. This book gives true globe examples and explains it in detail. You don't have to know C, C+, or Java to understand it. All you really need to know is the primary knowledge of what programming is all about. This book does the rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    Yes, definitions are good, examples are good, applications at the end of chapters - a disaster. Code extremely dirty and hard to follow, MVC model a total cabbage, you could ask what language is using. And facilities provided by session variables not used but patched from another language. No logic schemes, no pseudocode which would support a lot understanding the applications, nothing. Just smashed to the wall applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    Truly a Beginner to Pro book. All the subjects I required to learn to obtain productive fast, and presented in a nice logical sequence. If you need a PHP learning and desk side reference, don't pass on this book. It is one of the better books Murach has in their inventory. Definitely an A+++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    I had no issues registering the Kindle version, downloading the additional chapters, downloading the source code, and accessing the web version. I just went to the site, signed in (I have used it before), entered the ISBN on the "Accessing the Free Web Edition" page that is just before section I. I had to respond one question from the content of the Kindle edition, and all the on-line content was available. I used a previous edition of this book several years ago to write a web-based database program. I am moving it to a server that uses PHP 7. I have already read some of this book and I search that it is exactly what I need to port my MySQL database to PHP 7.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    This is the book that created my web development dreams a reality. It's awesome how the authors ably captured the fundamentals of PHP in a book of this size. The web security section forced me to view web app security differently. The workings of PHP functions were elusive and mysterious until I read this book. PHP now does my bidding. It's hard for anyone to go through the entire book without being infected with sound coding habits that matter in production. 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    Exactly what I needed! For beginners like myself I search it does a amazing job breaking down and giving examples for using PHP and MySQL background is 13 years HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, 3 years with WordPress, 5 years with databases (Started with Access, then learned how to use PHPMyAdmin in my webhosts' CPanel to tweak some things with WordPress... that's when things started to click for me, in terms of how Databases and Www services work together). If you are trying to play "catch-up" check out HTML, CSS, and SQL classes on first.I've always wanted to create a form on my own - now I can, and more!I know I will continue to use this book as a reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    Not bad

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    Having a programming background and knowing a few languages already, I was interested in learning PHP in depth. That said, I wanted to pick up one book that will cover everything that I need to know about the language and based upon the available reviews, this was a clear choice. For multiple reasons, this book is a keeper and I indeed created a amazing choice for learning more about e book starts out by giving you the primary syntax and usage, then the functions, and it progresses to the more advanced topics. Each chapter in the book are short but concrete, and it just gives you enough coverage to really understand the underlying concept. For starters, the material flows nicely from chapter to chapter, which somehow eliminates the boring-ness that a lot of technical books possess. There's a few chapters towards the middle that can be considered somewhat dry but essential, and it's concerning security in web development.I've read dozens of technical books in the past and I would consider the writing style of this book to be top notch. I could only want that books of such degree carry the same explanation of concepts and value but this is somewhat rare nowadays. Overall, this book has everything that you'll need to build web applications in PHP and MySQL, and it even contains chapters of concepts relating to amazing web practices in general. From beginners to more advanced programmers, anyone can learn something fresh from this book. If you can only pick up one book in PHP, this would definitely be it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    This is a amazing book for learning PhP. I've already got their MySQL book, so that part of this book is a bit redundant for my purposes. I've been an IT developer for 25 years, and had resisted learning PhP until recently. The book could be a small clearer in letting you know that when using sessions, nothing is otherwise retained between between form displays. It took me a while to obtain over that hump.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    Perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    Improve PHP programming skills. replace book lost in Camp Fire

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    This is my second PHP book. The first one was about 500 pages and after reading it for a while, I was more confused than when I started. PHP & MySQL in Simple Steps is a condensed book on PHP that is very clear and accurate. It uses daily words and not so much of the confusing jargon you are used too. The chapters in this book are little so I have been taking them one by one and working the examples on my computer. I have learned more in reading and working half of the examples in this book than I ever have with any of the other PHP books and websites. Amazing job Mike McGrath! Love it! I'm gonna buy them all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    This is an perfect book. It is structured well as it goes from primary concepts and finally brings all the concepts together into a practical application. There are lots of useful hints in a lot of sidebar items.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    I haven't gotten through enough of the book yet to be able to comment on its handling of the topic matter, but so far it seems like it will be amazing in that regard. I wanted to address a few of the negative comments about the Kindle ver though. The formatting isn't very amazing as far as Kindle books on programming go, with some text running right into code snippets. Also, there's no electronic/hyperlinked Table of Contents, which makes it much more difficult to navigate through the book and really needs to be remedied in the next edition. Hopefully the release of the 5th Edition (which won't be released until this summer) will fix both of these problems in the Kindle version. As to other critiques about the source code being unavailable, that's just not true. Anyone who buys the Kindle ver (and this is likely real of the print ver as well) should flip to the front of the book and look for the "Reader Services" section located right before the Introduction. It comes shortly after the printed Table of Contents and Acknowledgements sections. That section includes all the info anyone should need on how to acquire the source code, which weighs in at around 725MB in size. Granted, this information is a small more difficult to search considering the substandard formatting and the fact that a newly-purchased book automatically opens to a point just past this blurb. Nevertheless, this isn't the only book to offer source code on a physical CD that (obviously) can't be included with an electronic copy of the book, so if you're interested in buying any Kindle books about coding, I'd recommend keeping a lookout for info like this near the front of these types of l-in-all, this looks to be a amazing book that just needs a small more attention on the electronic copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development (Developer's Library) []  2020-9-24 21:7

    this book is a amazing companion reference and for those who seriously who wants to learn PHP. some examples are simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    Stay away from this book if you are fresh to PHP. It's not written well at all. nothing is explained well and there are more errors in this book than there should be. If you are trying to grasp PHP and it's concepts this is not the book for you. If you already know the language you may search it useful. The book has been written for beginners and since it fails at its purpose I'm rating it a one star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murach's PHP and MySQL (3rd Edition) []  2020-7-6 19:53

    Garbage book, absolute garbage. The method the book is set up is horrible, the chapter set up is one page you read the next page is a jumbled code example. The database you use is a stupid guitar database inspired by the author's guitar collection. You would be better off getting Larry Ullman's PHP books and use Murach's PHP and MySQL for toilet paper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    Love the method every two pages consist of a lesson and so, a list of some of my bug fixes:"Chapter 2: Describing dimensions"- Create sure you zone the brackets "[ ]" in the second foreach loop or the brackets will be interpreted literally as a part of the array not a separate value."Chapter 4: Validating for data"- For testing email I used "/^[_A-Za-z0-9-]+(\.[_A-Za-z0-9-]+)*@[A-Za-z0-9-]+(\.[A-Za-z0-9-]+)*(\.[A-Za-z]{2,})$/" for my pattern variable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL in easy steps []  2021-1-5 19:32

    Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    I bought this book while writing a web app. Although I had some previous experience, I didn't have much in PhP and the book did an perfect job of describing the basics. Similarly, with MySqL I had small experience and it really e book has you work through examples, and then has the programs written out later on so you can go look at what they did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    Amazing read for beginners

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    A amazing introduction to scripting languages for Web presentations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    Useless. The links provided are outdated and the software they swear you can download for free doesn't exist unless you wish to buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    This book is an perfect guide for someone who already knows how to program and wants to learn PHP and MySQL. It describes a lot of of the callable functions available in the language, but it tells you to go to the PHO web website for a complete list of all the functions and features. The reason I bought a book is so that I can have the book begin in front of me and not have to jump back and forth to the web website to look items up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    I'm about half method through the book and so far I have found the book very effective. It is filled with amazing examples of code. The book is well laid out and also spends plenty of time reviewing the basics before attempting to move on to more complicated program development. The user with some experience using statements in excel or other programs may search that a few sections of the book provide more detail than important but the book was developed for the beginner so that's okay. As the author states a primary knowledge of Html is assumed so if you have no Web Page scripting experience you should purchase a amazing Html/css book first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    Please note that this book is written assuming you know at least some html. If you were looking for a “for dummies” book, I cannot recommend this one, as you will need one for html as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    I have no problems with the order. It arrived in the condition that was described. I am happy with the order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    I got this book to learn the basics of MySQL and obtain a background in PHP beyond what I happened to pick up on my own. This book is good, a small funny (as all For Dummies books should be), an simple read, and full of amazing information. It doesn't really go into much detail on what PHP can do except for in terms of MySQL. (I guess, obtain a book dedicated to just PHP if you wish to learn what the language can really do.)The largest issue I have with this book is the countless typos, particularly in the code (which is the worst put for typos). Beautiful disappointing for a 4th edition. For example, on the very latest page (438, the index), it lists, under 'Y', ysquli_num_fields($result) function, but it is actually "mysqli....." (with the m in front). It is sometimes inconsistant with variable functions (like $firstname versus $firstName) which can cause problems, it talks about the "xor" operator but refers to it once as "or" which causes confusion, most of the time the die() function is used, there is a zone before the parenthesis (which I haven't tested myself to see if that is ok, but I would think a function needs the parenthesis right after the word with no space). Some other things that annoy me are more annoying than they are serious, like inconsistant spacing in code, or I saw once where the '$' tag before an in-text variable name that wasn't formatted with the same font as the variable name itself. Also, the author's use of HTML doesn't really jive with me (some minor coding problems) but it's not a large deal either. Or, there are some locations where quote marks in code are bottom-quote-marks (looks like double-commas) instead of normal quote marks as they should look. These are mainly annoyances and not serious issues if you know to hold your eyes open.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP & MySQL For Dummies, 4th Edition []  2020-11-20 19:50

    😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    This is a amazing book, with dozens of PHP information. The authors are amazing writers and definitely know PHP rather well. I started with zero PHP knowledge and after a few hundred pages, PHP seemed simple and natural to me. The book covers the basics of PHP as well as some of the advanced subjects (classes, interfaces, errors, exceptions, autoloaders, etc.). I didn't have any use for the database parts of the book (because that part is already taken care of for me). However, the PHP chapters were quite useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    unbelievable informative book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    I had no issues registering the Kindle version, downloading the additional chapters, downloading the source code, and accessing the web version. I just went to the site, signed in (I have used it before), entered the ISBN on the "Accessing the Free Web Edition" page that is just before section I. I had to respond one question from the content of the Kindle edition, and all the on-line content was available. I used a previous edition of this book several years ago to write a web-based database program. I am moving it to a server that uses PHP 7. I have already read some of this book and I search that it is exactly what I need to port my MySQL database to PHP 7.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    This is the book that created my web development dreams a reality. It's awesome how the authors ably captured the fundamentals of PHP in a book of this size. The web security section forced me to view web app security differently. The workings of PHP functions were elusive and mysterious until I read this book. PHP now does my bidding. It's hard for anyone to go through the entire book without being infected with sound coding habits that matter in production. 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    A lot of the pages in the book (about halfway through) were printed upside down, and not even all the method on the page. I wouldn't've bothered writing a review if I could've returned it, but I waited too long, so now I'm just going to complain about the defective product in a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    I bought this for class, but it's really a amazing book for diving into PHP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    Why so a lot of 1 star reviews?This book is great, doesn't keep your hands and moves at a fairly quick pace. In my view, this is not a beginners book but as long as you have a amazing working knowledge of primary web principles and programming fundamentals from any language this book has amazing value for anyone wanting to learn e MYSQL section is also very informative just not as in depth as the PHP section, however it does enough to obtain you going with working on the web. The MYSQL section does not dive into deep database design principles, however that is not the scope of this book. I'm glad it kept it easy as the main goals are to obtain an interactive www service up and running.I have thoroughly enjoyed the book and still am learning

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    You will not keep the complete book with this purchase. Four chapters, two regarding setting up php email service, one for social media integration and authentication and one for building a ping cart are not in the book but are instead listed as being "web edition" and you must register your book to access the content online. Two of these stuff are listed on the back cover of the book as necessary subjects within so it is beautiful unacceptable they put content like that online instead of the book. It wouldn't be that huge of a deal except that I have followed the directions in the text, visited their www service and made an acc and registered my book. Upon attempting to access the web content for the four web edition chapters I do not obtain a link to click which gives me access to any content. I see that I have registered the product but I do not have access to any form of digital content. Attempts to contact the company have gone unanswered and I am very disappointed with this purchase as social media integration was one of the reasons I purchased the book. I will also add that I HATE web based content, I buy books because that is the method I wish to learn, i admit it is nice to have access to the code to copy and paste if I need to but I can't even access that if I wanted to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL Web Development: PHP MySQL Web Develo _5 (Developer's Library) []  2020-5-28 18:33

    Improve PHP programming skills. replace book lost in Camp Fire

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    Pros+ a lot of material, organized well, explained well+ changed lines in code are highlighted+ code lines are numbered+ screenshots of results+ emphasis on security+ few errataCons- code downloaded from the book's www service could be renamed to add some description, so instead of "script_12_p" I'd rather see "script_12_p". This might not be a issue for someone going in order, but I wasn't, so I had to begin files by trial and error until I found what I was looking for.- Also, in the later chapters, the folders don't match the book. For example in the Kindle version, there's a listing for Script 10.3 edit_p, but in the files I downloaded, "script_10_p" is for p, which is not in the book. Looking further into it, the zip file phpvqs4_ doesn't match the book and may be for a previous edition. But it still helped a lot to look at that code in an editor.[EDIT : The code is not mismatched; I mistakenly downloaded the code from the author's other book on PHP,  PHP for the Web: Visual QuickStart Tutorial (4th Edition) . ]Other comments-I bought the Kindle edition, but I wouldn't use it on a Kindle because the screen is too small. Smartphone use was fine.-There's more subjects covered than I need right now, so it will be a amazing go-to book when I need more info.-I slogged through a lot of it non-linearly, and after a day, was writing scripts and getting results from a database. Even though the book had everything, I still had to do a lot of debugging (on my own php code, not the book's) and the book has a section on debugging; the downloaded code, mismatched as it is, was helpful in this regard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    By far one of the best programming books I've read. The author is correct in that a lot of books run through the material in a dry way. They'll generally talk about a subject and then present a short example of how it works. The issue is that the examples are usually so short and to the point they teach us very small about how we might use them in the true world. More so, the examples usually don't encompass previous material that you've learned and thus your knowledge on the less latest topics begins to dwindle unless you consistently practice them on your rry Ullman has easily become my favorite author, an author that corrects all said mistakes of other books. His knowledge and expertise both in the topic matter and in his teaching abilities are phenomenal and unmatched.If you wish to learn PHP & MySQL in a quick and efficient method with small hand holding this is the book for you. If you wish to learn how to actually do useful things such as building a login system complete with cookies/sessions and using MySQL in the backend, creating a find page that creates multiple pages with find results (pagination), or even learning how to make a notice board this is definitely the book for you. You'll learn the material matter in depth and then practice those examples by building useful, real-world practical web pages. Not to mention, as you progress through the book you'll constantly be challenged to reuse code and topics that you learned in previous chapters, keeping your on sharp with your knowledge!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    First the good: This book is able to explain the key concepts in PHP and MySQL in a very simple, easy-to-understand manner. By following along with the example scripts, I imagine anyone could learn how to accomplish the most necessary tasks in building a decent backend for a website. I started the book with years of programming experience already in hand as well as some limited exposure to PHP and MySQL. In particular, I was looking for a book which would give me a more organized education on these two languages, especially relating to how the two work together in implementing a functional server-side system for dynamic web pages. It succeeded in this regard. Each chapter is organized so that you will have the requisite knowledge required to understand the proceeding chapters. Furthermore, the review pages at the end of each chapter are quite useful in determining whether the info has actually been learned and highlighting gaps in knowledge that need to be filled before moving the not-so-good: One gripe I had with the structure of the book was the redundant code interspersed among the explanatory text, although this is more of a private preference. Frames are placed separate from the main text with the actual script that the text is discussing; however, huge pieces of this code are also copied into the text surrounded by instructions for recreating the script. I found this to be tedious and distracting, considering that the exact same code is already shown in the adjacent frames. It can be especially frustrating when the identical boilerplate HTML DOCTYPE and meta tags are repeated over and over for each script. This seems to just be page-filling material, but it gets annoying after the first few times. Disregarding these two tags, I can at least see how some of the redundant code could be useful for complete beginners of web development, so I didn't take any stars off for it. That said, I don't think it would be wise to learn PHP and MySQL before learning enough HTML and CSS to not need the repetition, ditionally, I'm a bit wary of how late in the book security measures are discussed. These days, security is incredibly necessary when writing a www service backend, so I would have preferred if it was discussed in bits and pieces throughout the book and also explored in greater depth in a later chapter. At the very least, the sections with PHP code for handling HTML forms need to contain proper hero escaping of posted text, even if the reason behind it isn't explained in detail at the time. Unless someone only reads the first 12 chapters of the book before deciding to make a web server accessible from outside his or her LAN, this probably won't be much of a problem. Still, it's better to obtain beginners in the habit of using amazing security techniques from the start, rather than wait until ly, the bad: The fourth (and, as of this review, current) edition of this book was published in 2012. Since then, HTML5, PHP 7, and MySQL 5.7 have been released, making this edition fairly outdated. Concerning HTML5 in particular, several instances of example HTML code shown in the book have been rendered obsolete, and in a lot of cases are now considered poor practice. Ironically, the same boilerplate DOCTYPE and meta mark code that permeates book has either been simplified or completely thrown out of the HTML5 standard, perhaps explaining some of my frustration with it. I suspect another edition covering the newer versions is in the works, but then again, the author does write in the book that he "wouldn't be surprised if HTML5 is still not released by the time [he] starts the fifth edition of this book." In the meantime, I have to take off a star for the partially antiquated example ditionally, I have to take off another star for a potentially more limited problem. My printing of the book was missing approximately 50 pages from the end of Chapter 5 and the beginning of Chapter 6, which cover the Introduction to MySQL and Database Design. Instead, pages 151-198 have been replaced by a duplicate of pages 103-150. Again, the repetition in this book is killing me (joke). I have no idea how a lot of copies were printed with this error, but for beginners, the missing pages include some very necessary info on databases, MySQL data manipulation, and MySQL functions. At best, this error would require the reader to search this info elsewhere (or exchange/return the book); at worst, it demonstrates the not good quality control at Peachpit Press.Ultimately, I'd recommend this book, albeit to a little extent, for beginners of web development and programming in general. Although this book is far from perfect, it is one of the better available tutorials for those fresh to programming and backend development. For people like myself, who already have experience with programming, scripting, and/or web design, this book is better utilized as a supplement to other materials. All things considered, this book will provide a decent background into PHP and MySQL, but its use of outdated code, potential quality control issues, and lack of security measures in early chapters hinder its ability to serve as a singular, comprehensive source for getting started in dynamic www service design.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    This is a amazing resource for beginner and intermediate web developers interested in getting a solid keep on dynamic website design and server-side programming. It includes comprehensive examples linked well to the text, and helpful hints to clarify some unusual points in the PHP/SQL languages. Gary Ullman provides engaging writing that will maintain your interest in the text, preventing the typical head-jerk reactions one gets from more technical textbooks; that being said, he doesn't spare on the details, and contains everything you need to know to obtain started.I was, however, occasionally surprised by some unusual formatting within the book - I'm not certain as to whether this is typical of the Visual Quickstart publications, but some pages would be entirely blank, save for a single long photo in the lower margin. While it doesn't chop any material, it is intrusive and distracting. Additionally, Ullman makes a lot of references to his Appendix A, which info how to install the programs he works with and how to make usernames and passwords in databases. When an Appendix is used with this frequency, it would create sense for it to actually be included in the book, but instead the reader must make an acc on a similar website, go to an extras page and download a digital ver to be used on a computer. Frankly, it's a wholly unnecessary and irritating step that defeats the purpose of having this book as a reference - I'd prefer all the material I'm going to use in one place.Other than that though, a fine example of web reference for beginners and intermediates. I'll be keeping it on my shelf for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    Ullman has written a very clear, practical book on PHP and MySQL. What this book does is show a number of realistic issues web programmers have to deal with, and takes you through the different ways of handling them. I found that incredibly useful.I found the best method to engage with the material was to download and print the code, and then create notes on those printouts based on the explanations given in the main 's worth noting that reading this book alone is not enough. A keen learner should be willing to refer to the PHP manual (excellent resource), the MySQL manual (not so excellent) and stackoverflow (excellent) while reading through this book for extra insight and clarity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    I have never taken any formal coding education, but I am a fast learner. This book was recommended to me by someone who has worked in PHP for over 20 years. The author of this book is well respected from the engineers I have discussed this with and his book shows why.- Although there are separate books for those who wish to go at a slower pace, this is excellent for fast learners or as a refresher to someone getting back into coding.- This book uses up to date technologies and explains the differences between old / fresh versions.- This was written in a method that explains ideas and subjects to someone who has no prior knowledge. The author can explain subjects with clarity and seems to understand ideas that can be more difficult to grasp.- Online content is very helpful, being able to download the examples in the books is extremely necessary and is something that should not be overlooked when deciding on a book.I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in PHP and MySQL it is very helpful and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    I am an experience software development (Visual Basic, Visual Primary .Net) but never enter into the globe of web development. But since the early of this year, my working condition has forced me into the this world. I have a concept of programming, database, networking, graphic design but never experience with www service development. When I begin my fresh career, I have to responsible two web website which is running under PHP and MySQL. Based on the review of a lot of PHP book, I decide to choose this book. After spending three month and 7 days, I have completed this book and the below are the advantage and disadvantage for people who wish to learn PHP book to yze before decide to purchase this book:Advantage:- The chapter is well organize and the subject that you study is link from one chapter to another chapter with a proper step that you can walk through.- The author use a easy word to explain, simple to understand and provide you a hint for step by step from chapter to chapter. I feel that he know the feeling of person that do not know the topic and use a very amazing technique to explain. The author explain to you what is the subject mean, when, where and why to use the relevant subject in the true world. This is the most importance point for me to provide this book 4 stars.- The latest 3 chapters is the true globe example that cover all of theory that you learn through the book. You will use all of the knowledge that you learn so far from the book to build the true word project at the end of the book. Whether it is not detail but it could give me a amazing begin to do something fresh for you or give you another method to continue to strengthening your PHP skill in the future.Disadvantage:- Complicate appendix: The appendix is not contain in the book. You need to sign up and download the appendix to read. The appendix is very importance, because it will tutorial you through the process of installing and configuring the software of PHP and MySQL in order to create the example in your book is running. The author should contain this appendix as the first chapter of the book, mean that before the user begin to use PHP, they must have the correct installation and configuration of PHP and MySQL before continue to learn this programming language. This to ensure that everybody could be able to access to PHP and MySQL environment when that begin to learn this subject. The author fail this point, he just introduce to read appendix after I read chapter 1, it was lucky for me that I have read the appendix in advance, otherwise, I would read chapter 1 and jump to appendix and jump back to chapter and so forth...- Missing where to access MySQL command prompt: the appendix is very well explain of where to obtain the software, setup and configure PHP, MySQL, Apache web server. But one thing that created me obstacle during the time that I first begin to read this book as well this appendix is where to obtain access to MySQL command prompt. This point is missing from the page A8 of the appendix. The author tutorial you to manage MySQL user, setup the root password... but he didn't tell where to access to MySQL command prompt to do that. So how could the user continue to use this command prompt? The user assume to be the beginner level for PHP and MySQL. So the author should be carefully provide the proper step to tutorial the user from the beginning and ending this configuration appendix.- No CD: The book has no CD that include the source code and the software of PHP and MySQL. For a student who live in the remote zone and don't have access to internet, you won't be able to use this book while all important items is download from internet.- Two column format: This is the major point that I obtain back one begin from this book. I never read the book in two column format. Reading in two column format is really create your eyes tired while you need to read up and down two time per page. And this book is about programming, so the author should know that the subject is very difficult for the user to read. When the book apply two column format, some code was break down and it is really add more difficulty to read and understand the complex ly, I could summary that this book is written for the beginner level of PHP and MySQL. But it would be amazing if you have background of some programming language which you should know what is variable, constant, condition, loop...Thank again for the author Larry Ullman and want the author and user of this book always the best and success.Kanel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    This text includes overly detailed code examples (there's a lot of tedious HTML code that Ullman could have streamlined for clearer conceptual presentation), and is light on the theory. Furthermore, different "TIPS" are presented at the end of subsections--which include necessary information that deserves more prominence (i.e., should have been included in the text preceding code examples). This seems a bit slapdash, like, "Oh, I forgot to contain this info, allow me hurry and append it here because I don't have time to edit the main text." I would have preferred a more organized presentation of the same time, the code examples are well-annotated. Ullman explains what each line of HTML, PHP, or MYSQL is supposed to accomplish.Overall, I would only recommend this text for the annotations. This purchase requires a theory-focused companion. Maybe the The Definitive Tutorial series?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PHP and MySQL for Dynamic Web Sites, Fourth Edition: Visual QuickPro Guide []  2020-8-29 18:47

    If you wish to learn how to develop dynamic web websites using PHP and MySQL (database) then this is an perfect first starter. I'm using my Java NetBeans IDE (integrated development environment) with PHP built in; however, you can use any editor and the author covers this well. The book, early on, will send you to the appendix where you'll learn how to install your web server, MySQL, Tomcat, and a mail server using XAMPP (I'd never heard of this before but it does install all). It also covers how to resolve problems such as having multiple 'running' copies of MySQL or code not running at all because the programmer put the code in the wrong zone to be read by the e book does have errors. Some of the errors (in code) were caught by the author and others and the errata sheet was updated. Some, however, have not. For example, the book shows a multiline comment as / some text /when in fact it should be /* and end with */. If you read his tips, you'll see the correct method (this is also how C++ does multiline commenting). In addition to downloading the errata sheet, you can download the code used in the book.While I haven't completed the book yet, what I have gone through is clear, concise and works. The hints are amazing ones (especially regarding commenting). I believe this to be a amazing book for beginners or anyone who wants to learn PHP and interface into the MySQL database. If you already have knowledge in other programming languages then you'll move along ck.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386