Read piano by the sea reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all piano by the sea reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    A definite winner. Interesting, eccentric characters with a rich backstory that I look forward to learning more as well as see how they develop. The murder had a plethora of possible suspects with a satisfying conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I am a huge fan of Kathleen Bridge’s Hamptons Home & Garden series, so I was very eager to read the first book in her fresh By the Sea Mystery series. Death by the Sea takes us to the beach community of Melbourne, Florida, and introduces Elizabeth ‘Liz’ Holt who has returned home after a decade in Fresh York that ended in a tabloid scandal. Kathleen Bridge continued with a delightful writing style engaging my interest by bringing to life the oceanfront community, hotel environment, and a plethora of entertaining characters, but the descriptions and introductions seem to be the main focus for an extended amount of time, more than I personally prefer in my cozy mysteries. Where’s the murder? Karma definitely had a few amazing targets to choose from, but you’ll need to wait patiently for the crime to occur. Ok, the synopsis on the book websites gives you a clue to the victim, but it takes awhile to manifest.I did really have fun the informative references to treasure hunting, chicory coffee, the area’s history, and 60s tv programs and commercials with which I grew up, and while waiting for the crime and the subsequent investigation to obtain going, Kathleen Bridge did make a rich set of characters and an engaging subplot dealing with Liz Holt’s scars, emotional and physical. The rich characters which contain her father, her quirky aunt, friends, BFFs, and a possible romantic interest provide a bit of humor…don't forget a very odd cat Venus and an obnoxious parrot Barnacle Bob. But despite waiting for the crime/investigation, I enjoyed this first book and am eager for the next book, A Killing by the Sea. The ongoing business, unique hotel events, Liz’s writing career, and a blooming romance are intriguing enough to create me a fan!It is always exciting to see a cozy with my two favorite words. No, not Murderous Fun, although that's always a amazing to see. No,…Recipes Included! It's even more exciting when the recipes aren't random, but create for a complete food or are actually connected to the theme or characters in the story. Kathleen Bridge has included four marvelous recipes excellent beginning to end. From Pops’ Deli-casies By the Sea we begin with Pops’ Kalamata Hummus, next have fun an entree of Baked Grouper Bites with Banana Salsa and a side of Coconut Rice, then have fun from Chef Pierre’s Kitchen his Coconut Lime Sugar Cookies. Yum!Disclosure: I received an ARC, but my insights and comments are voluntary and honest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I love cozy mysteries and was excited to see one set in my own backyard. But this one was a near snooze for me. The constant cheesy one liners about the 60's era TV shows that the main character's ex-actress aunt appeared in got to be a total bore after the ninth or tenth mention. And the aunt's "connection" to several celebrities and popular events created me wonder if this was the female ver of Forrest Gump. Not to mention that the "death by the sea" did not happen until nearly 100 pages into the story. But the clinker for me was that, since I do live in the zone of the setting, some of the author's descriptions of said zone are method off. I obtain trying to contain a small local flavor into the story but for goodness sakes, please create it actual local flavor. And I do realize that readers who are not familiar with the zone would not know the difference, but it created the story less enjoyable for me. I kept reading because I had for the book and didn't wish to waste my and I do admit that the story did obtain better after the murder took put but it just never really had me hooked.

    0  


    Add your opinion on piano by the sea or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Death by the Sea is the first book in Kathleen Bridge’s By the Sea Mystery series. The author provides attractive descriptions and lots of history about the family-run inn and the surrounding area. The characters are well developed. As is often real in the first book in a series, the mystery doesn’t begin until close to the middle of the book, but then the well-plotted mystery moved at a fast pace, with lots of twists and turns. I’m looking forward to reading the next installment in this z Holt, an award-winning author, returns to Melbourne Beach, Florida from Manhattan, where she’s lived for the past ten years, after being involved in a scandal with her writer boyfriend. She’s staying at her childhood home, an old style Florida hotel, Indialantic by the Sea Hotel, which is owned by her eighty-year-old paternal great-aunt, Amelia Eden Holt, a former tv hero actress. After her mother passed away when she was five years old, she moved there with her dad, Fenton, who is an attorney. Amelia has a foul mouthed but adorable thirty-year-old macaw named Barnacle Bob. Liz’s great-aunt and dad surprised her with the beach house so she would have a put to continue her writing, but she’s using her role helping at the Indialantic and being her dad’s assistant as an excuse not to write. A huge portion of the hotel is now home to a collection of quirky characters and their pets. Liz is organizing the First annual Indialantic Spring Fling by the Sea at the emporium they recently opened and dealing with Regina Harrington-Worth, their fresh celebrity guest, who is overbearing and making everyone miserable. Regina and her husband are staying in the Oceana Suite and when a robbery occurs, she’s strangled and her husband is stabbed. Fenton’s friend, Agent Charlotte Pearson, is in charge of the case, but Liz is determined to search out if it was a burglary gone wrong or an intentional act and Liz’s childhood friend, Kate Fields, and several residents obtain involved in finding out what happened so their lives can return to normal. Sparks fly between Liz and Ryan Stone, who’s taken a leave from the Fresh York Town Fire Department to support his grandfather, Pops, at the Deci-casies by the Sea while Pops’ fresh knee heals.I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Death by the Sea by Kathleen Bridge is the first book in the cozy A By the Sea Mystery series. The main hero Liz Holt has returned home to attractive Melbourne Beach, Florida and her family run Indialantic by the Sea z has been satisfied jumping back in at the hotel and helping her Aunt Amelia who was an actress at one point and still has her quirks. Liz even likes her aunt’s feisty parrot, Barnacle Bob. But as the hotel takes on a wealthy couple the wife does everything to try the nerves of Liz and her ever, as much as they debated on asking their guests to leave and take their demands with them they never wished to search the lady murdered. Now the list of suspects is growing by the min so Liz decides to do her own small bit of anyone that knows me knows I love a amazing small cozy mystery with their quirkiness and eccentric characters. Death by the Sea had the quirky edge that I have fun and even added in Barnacle Bob the parrot who was a laugh a min however when finished with this one I debated between a two and three star rating as unfortunately I didn’t fall in love with this opener in the series. After much debate I’m giving this one three stars and what saved it was the setting, Melbourne is somewhere I’ve vacationed quite a few times and enjoyed the virtual trip back there and then there was the few info here and there that I’m normally a fan.What stopped me loving this one was it was just so darn wordy throughout. There are dozens of characters involved and as each joins I felt like an information dump was going on. And then the mystery didn’t even obtain going until beautiful late in the book and by then I was getting more than impatient waiting. Even with the information dump feeling to a lot of things though there was a backstory with the main hero that kept being brought into the story that almost felt as if I had missed something somewhere like this was a spin off or continuation. I’m all for hero development and plenty of suspects but this one just seemed to go a small too far in some locations and not enough in others to where the story just dragged too much for me so I’m not sure I would continue onward in the series.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Any cozy mystery that references Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys, and also contains a treasure is a champion in my book - and Death by the Sea, Kathleen Bridge's debut entry in her fresh By the Sea Mystery series has them all! Bestselling author Liz Holt returns home to the Indialantic by the Sea hotel in attractive Melbourne Beach, Florida, looking for a change in lifestyle after scandal upset her life in Manhattan. She's reconnecting with family - her father Fenton, her amazing aunt Amelia (what a hoot - I would love to have her in my family!), her best mate Kate - and a host of other friends, when one of the guests at the Indialantic by the Sea is found murdered and robbed of her fabulous jewelry. Liz and her squad of Detectiveteers decide to investigate as any amazing sleuth would, and set about to explore the murderer (who surprised this reader!!!). A very nicely written cozy and the beginning of what promises to be a fun fresh series. A+ to Death by the Sea!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Death by the Sea by Kathleen Bridge is the first novel in A By the Sea Mystery series. Elizabeth “Liz” Holt has returned home to Melbourne Beach, Florida to The Indialantic by the Sea Hotel and Emporium which is owned by Amelia Eden Holt, her aunt. Aunt Amelia is an eccentric former actress who helped raise Liz along with Liz’s father, Fenton Holt. Liz is living in the beach house. She helps out in the hotel and is working on her next novel (well—she is supposed to be). Their recent guest is Regina Harrington-Worth and her husband David who will be staying with them while their historic home is being demolished and a modern monstrosity is built in its place. Regina considers The Indialantic beneath her, but it is the only hotel with a vacancy that will let pets. After a successful Spring Fling event, they explore that Regina was found dead in her suite, her husband was stabbed, and some very expensive jewels have gone missing. Liz immediately dives in to search who committed the dastardly deed. Who disliked Regina enough to slay her (that is one long suspect list)? Join Liz at The Indialantic as she examines the clues and questions the suspects to catch the ath by the Sea is a slow starter. The murder does not happen until the forty-four percent mark. The beginning of the book is an introduction to the Liz, the hotel, the employees, Liz’s family, the guests, and the and their owners. The author overwhelms readers with the amount of info she is dishing out. Kathleen Bridge is a wordy writer. It creates a rich environment, but it also makes a slow-moving story. I do like the attractive hotel and emporium that Ms. Bridge made in Death by the Sea. I did feel that the story jumps around making it disjointed. Liz has returned home after a disastrous relationship that ended in Liz being physically injured. Since Liz and her paramour are public figures, the whole debacle was fodder for the media. There are numerous quirky characters with the largest one being Aunt Amelia. A famous actress during the 1960s who has passed her love of 60s sitcoms and films along to Liz. The different shows and films from that time-period are mentioned throughout the book (Dark Shadows, Bewitched, I Dream of Jeannie, Gilligan’s Island for example). I enjoyed the comments regarding the famous teen girl mystery novels which included Nancy Drew, Connie Blair, and Dana Girls (which I collect). There was an abundance of repetition (it is a common malady in books that I have read recently) along with a cliché nasty detective. The pace picks up slightly in the second half of the book as the investigation gets under way. I think the author tried to place too much into one book. The hotel, the numerous quirky characters, the special shops, Liz’s nemesis, Liz and her issues, a love interest, Regina’s father and how he died, the treasure of the San Carlos, Spring Fling, Fenton Holt and his practice, the obnoxious bird with the foul mouth, the hairless cat, and Liz and her writing difficulties are just a few of the stuff in the book. The murder of Regina was not as complicated as it seemed, and it can be solved before the reveal. At the end of the book, readers are still left wondering how Liz was injured. We are told about her injuries, but not how they happened. There are also some contradictions (one example is the hotel is not doing well, but an employee has a huge suite and some people seem to live there for free). My rating for Death by the Sea is 3 out of 5 stars. I am hoping the author will scale back in A Killing by the Sea.*I voluntarily read an advanced copy of this book. The comment and opinions expressed are strictly my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Death By the Sea is a first in a fresh series by Kathleen Bridge.I'm fresh to this author, but I've found another mystery that I thoroughly z Holt has returned to Indialantic, back to her home and her family and z left Fresh York Town under a cloud of shame and humility, bearing the scars of a tragic breakup, both inside and z is powerful and determined to create a new begin and the cast of colourful characters that the author has made are just the thing to support Liz e book started out a bit slow, but about half method through, things picked up and I was soon drawn to the mystery and the story behind it.I really enjoyed Aunt Amelia, she is a kind hearted person who loves to take care of everyone. She is quite the pip and I had loads of fun laughing alone with her is fresh series will appeal to all cozy mystery fans so be sure to pre your copy now.I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I enjoyed the first book of this series. The main hero and supporting characters are great. Can't wait for the next one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death by the Sea (A By the Sea Mystery) [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    This is the first installment in the By the Sea Series set in the Indianatlantic Inn set on a barrier island off the coast of Melbourne, Florida. I really enjoyed Ghostal Living in the author's prior series and I was eager to test this one. I was also attracted to the cover, description and the attractive setting of Melbourne Beach/Sebastian Inlet, Florida. Liz Holt, a successful author in her own right, has quietly returned to live with her father and great-aunt Amelia and her squawky parrot, Barnacle Bob, after a traumatic break-up with a Pulitzer Prize winning author has left her with a scarred face. Liz is trying to write another book but continues to have flashbacks of the poor night. While trying to restore the Inn to its former grandeur, Aunt Amelia regales the reader with all of her history and knowledge of shows from the 1960's and 70's like Bewitched, Gilligan's Island, I Dream of Jeannie, to name a few. There are so a lot of more, which diverted from the mystery and just seemed like overkill. Wealthy socialite and guest Regina Harrington-Worth and her husband David are the only current guests. To the consternation of the historical society, she is trying to tear down a nearby landmark, Castlemara, which she inherited from her father, so she can develop the property for herself. She has managed to anger someone to the point of no return because she is found murdered in her suite and the find for her killer(s) begins.I really, really wanted to like this book more than I did. From the beginning, I was overwhelmed with the number of characters and potential suspects. The murder didn't happen until far too long and by that time, it was hard to stay interested in such a disjointed pace. I was very confused about the actual status of the Inn; at times, it appears that they are on a shoestring budget but then there is the Worth's luxurious suite and the fancy shops. The attempted romance between Liz and visiting Fresh York Town firefighter Ryan Stone seems too contrived. By the end of the book, which I did finish in about 5 or 6 settings, I honestly had no true interest in finding the killer. That being said, it is the beginning of the series, so I will give the next book a read and hope that the characters gel better for me this time.**Thanks to NetGalley and Kensington Books for a complimentary copy of this book. My review is voluntary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    I've purchased 4 copies of this Cd since 1998. I've lost the first 3 somehow. This is on my phone now and is what I sleep to at night. Cannon in D is my favorite classical song and mix anything with "synthesizer" and the sound of the ocean and I'm hooked. This is a mix of all three. Each song builds on the previous until the 7th when all comes together. Beautifully made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    amazing product considering the versus quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    Sweet Christmas romance in a amazing setting. Mother and son inherit a seaside cottage that needs some fixing up. Mother meets a charming guy in the home improvement shop who becomes more than a casual acquaintance. The only thing I did not like was a rather abrupt ending in the midst of a chaotic life situation. Thus the 4 star rating as it seemed just a bit of a contrived ending to a really sweet story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    I read Christmas by the Sea in a couple of hours and it was just what I required to obtain in the Christmas spirit! Music Carlson has delivered another holiday story that is a must-read. Wendy and her son Jackson are headed to Maine to the family cottage by the sea. Wendy needs to use the to cover medical bills and obtain back on her feet after her husband’s death. But Jackson has various plans. He sees Maine as a fresh beginning and, relying on his faith, he is determined to change his mother’s mind. You can never go wrong with a Music Carlson book and her Christmas [email protected]#$%! the mark. I gave A Christmas by the Sea four stars because of the abrupt ending. But the ending doesn’t take away from the holiday feel. Pure enjoyment!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    melody is very pleasing with sounds of the ocean waves. however there are a few locations in the recording, where it seems screaching seals or something kinda wakes you up just when in nice pleasing slumbers. the sounds of gulls are fine but the louder sounds should have not been recorded in the cd. sorry, it could have been a 5+.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    I have purchased a lot of meditation, relaxation, sleeping, etc. cds. This is one of my favorites, I use it often for going to sleep - seriously works better than a sleeping pill! If you are a person that loves Pachelbel, you will treasure this particular cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    A favorite of mine when stressed. Very soothing. Highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    I love reading Christmas books but this one was repetitive and unrealistic. There are just so a lot of times you can read the same things just worded differently. To place this book in a nutshell, SPOILERS: woman inherits a cottage by the sea and her quiet and sullen 12 year old son becomes the happiest boy around. She plans to renovate the cottage and it which she tells us on every other page but doesn't know how to tell her son. In two weeks they completely redo and repaint the cottage, create curtains, clean out storage rooms, while making hundreds of ornaments out of seashells and making other home decorations to sell. Meanwhile after only talking to a local woodworker a half dozen times, in the latest few pages he proposes. The end

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    For those looking for a beautifully written, heartwarming, inspirational story of hope and trust, this is the excellent one for you. It takes put in a seaside city in Maine at Christmas time. The main character, Wendy, is a single Mom raising a young boy, who needs to a cottage she receives as an inheritance from her grandfather so she can create ends meet when what she really wants to do is move there to live. The story emphasizes the need for us to rely on God, to trust Him. I will be reading more by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    Fun, crafts, single parenthood, love between a boy & a found dog & of course Christmas romance all taking put in a small ocean side town. All the while, mom & son refurbishing a sweet inherited beachfront cottage...to or not to sell? Will all their hard work on the cottage now become their permanent home?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    I'm prejudice, I love the sea and Pachelbel so how could I possibly not have fun this? It is a clear, well recorded CD and the wave sounds aren't massive breakers, just peaceful waves. It is relaxing and amazing to go to sleep with. I have fun working on breathing exercises and meditation with it as well. It doesn't seem to break into my mind, it is just there being relaxing. I'd recommend it for relaxation and in an office environment I doubt it would place you to sleep or interfere with your concentration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    Love all classical melody !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    (There is no spoiler here!) I was on a Christmas trip and wanted a fast and fun book. This was excellent for that! I love the setting of a cottage on the ever, it didn't begin out slow with too much description. I kept thinking "Get on with the story!" Finally, the story started taking off and I enjoyed the ride!I did not like the ending. After pages and pages of story building to the "I wonder how it will end" moment, it was wrapped up in a page and a half - very unrealistic and fast solutions for all that was building! How disappointing! I almost threw it versus the wall!Because the author had such a amazing storyline, I will test one more of her books to see if it does the same thing. Once she gets going, the author keeps you with wondering what will happen next. Hopefully she won't wrap it up so neat and fast in the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    Love summer books about towns by the sea and love books about Christmas. This book has both-Christmas by the sea, a romantic story with very feel amazing plot. 😋 couldn’t ask for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    This has place our kid to sleep for two years now. We had the tape and always had to flip it when it ran out to hold our small one settled. Now we have the cd and it created life easier. Seems the excellent cd to relax your kid before a nap or night's sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    A cautionary tale of what happens when a codependent passive single mom desides to lie to her son because she thinks it's best for him. The ending is just plain silly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    We as parents always wish our kids satisfied & excited about life, even if things in life aren’t always hunky dory!The Mom in this book is no different. Wendy & Jackson’s story is touching & funny. i’ll read again & reccommend to others!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas by the Sea []  2020-1-3 22:32

    This was a nice little, feel good, holiday read. Wendy has inherited a cottage on the Maine coast from her grandfather and she decides to take a trip there with her 12 year old son, Jackson, to obtain the put fixed up to sell. She needs the to medical bills from when her late husband was ill. Her son wants to support fix the cottage up too, but for a completely various reason ... he wants to move in permanently with his mom. The story revolves around their fixing up the house, meeting fresh friends, and having faith that everything will work out. God does listen to prayers and life has a method of working out when you never give up faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    I love this CD !!!! What a attractive CD. Well if you love Canon D plus the ocean, what better combination could you have in a CD ?Very relaxing !!! I listen to this melody whenever I obtain in my vehicle and I feel I can with any stressful situation I encounter. It relaxes me so much !!! If I am stressed out I just listen to this music. The only thing I dislike is that I can not listen to this CD in my CD player/AM/FM/ Cassette player. But since this has nothing to do with the melody in itself I am giving it five stars. But it should specify in this item's description that this CD cannot be played in any CD player. I guess I will have to listen to it in my computer :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel: Forever By the Sea []  2020-2-2 20:15

    I love Pachelbel's melody but this CD left me unimpressed. It is not bad, but it does not stand out as one of the Pachelbel CDs I would carry around and listen over and over. It is bland and the melody does not do justice to the pieces. There is lack of balance between melody and the sounds of nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    unbelievable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    An old favorite by an old (now deceased) favorite author with an evocative title. Wouldn't I love a house by the sea?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    May Sarton was a superb writer, what a discovery, to search a fresh author, and such a prolific one. I look forward to reading more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    Wonderful, thoughtful memoir. I read it slowly to more fully absorb her experiences and observations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    One of our amazing unsung writers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    Amazing book. Arrived in amazing condition. Fast shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    I purchased this title because I had read two other May Sarton journals. At this point, she is by the sea in a huge rented house and her writings are catching on as the feminist movement sweeps America. As usual, her entries are dreamy and attractive but also candid and straightforward at other times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    As her life changes and age creeps in, the internal drive and communication with her garden, the sea and a dozens of mates and would-be mates fill the pages and kept me up too late into the night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The House by the Sea: A Journal [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    Delivered as promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Debbie Macomber’s newest book, Cottage by the Sea is a sweet romance. There is no other description that works better. She takes characters that have been thrown curves in life (Curves that would take most people down.) and allows them to search a home with hope. This skill is highlighted in her newest novel.Annie was enjoying life as a young person. She had a amazing career, mates and had a fun time. When she was asked to come home for Thanksgiving, she declined having created prior plans. It was that easy plan that changed Annie’s globe and now she needs to search a method to move on. It is hard to begin again, so she goes to her latest satisfied place, a little beachtown in the Pacific aton has always known what it is like to be an outsider. He was big, ungainly and didn’t speak. He knew he was unloved and unlovable. He has a few mates and a life in the seaside town, when he saw the woman who was the girl he fell for so a lot of years ago…Keaton and Annie have a possibility to change their hopes and expectations, but along the method they bring Mellie and Preston. The ability to move beyond the past and begin again. The story takes a lot of twists and turns and each step allows you to fall deeper and deeper in love with the characters and their is sweetness in a story is not my usual level of enjoyment. I like books that are a small edgier, but I will take a Debbie Macomber novel like this any day! It was a quick read, the characters, stories and issues to resolve. I was all in from the ank you NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book. A Cottage by the Sea by Debbie Macomber is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    If one has read any of the a lot of novels by best-selling writer Debbie Macomber one thing that one will come out of each one, somehow and somewhere they hit that spot in the heart. Such is the trait that “Cottage By the Sea” may leave with the reader. The story involves several main characters, Annie Marlow a physician’s assistant, painter Seth Keaton, Jr., Music “Mellie” Johnson, Abby Annie’s cousin, Britt McDuffee the high school teen that works at Bean There, and the their stories that take put in a quaint seaside cottage at e story begins with the opening scenes developing and immediately event before the eyes of Annie and Gabby as they switch on the news and a horrendous storm [email protected]#$%! the Pacific coast, especially Annie’s hometown where her parents and family reside in Seattle; in the end they will be among the hundreds that will be affected and succumb to the mudslide. With a blink of an eye, Annie and Gabby’s lives will change – Annie’s parents, sister-in-law, and baby niece. And what results in the coming days and months will be a time of grief and loss for Annie that prompts her to seek a put of calm and satisfied memories. She drives up to her family’s summer haven at Oceanside where week long summers were spent, but her excursion will not be a short-term stay but one where she does not turn back; Annie leaves Los Angeles and her job and establishes fresh ties in Oregon at a medical clinic and takes up a one-year lease of her family’s summer cottage. As the days pass she also gets to know the most special people in the community, first off her landlord Mellie and painter and renovator of her cottage Seth or simply referred to as Keaton, his father was Seth sr., and other acquaintances that eventually become her fresh family, Rebecca “Becca” who wants so much to have kids and Britt. Within the novel, relationships developed amongst this tight nit group and two that appear unpredictable between Annie and Keaton and other surprises by near end of the novel, Becca and Britt as well as other twists and turns that will raise eyebrows. And when the concluding chapters descend upon the reader, one will not have seen the unexpected arise between the the end of “Cottage By the Sea” parallels will no doubt emerge if one has not already realized reading a Debbie Macomber novel – very much parallel to a Nicholas Sparks story that does not follow within a straight line or completely satisfied ending, there are plenty of complexities to go around. The novel can be best described as a combination of memories lost and fresh memories gained. Annie may have lost much during the beginning of the novel by the latest page she begins a fresh path in her life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I always like to share Debbie Macomber’s novels with the women in my house to obtain a feminine perspective. ”Cottage By the Sea” is very inspirational. The main hero is a woman in her twenties named Annie. Annie loses her family to a devasting mud slide in Seattle. While she is grieving she realizes she needs to go someplace that will create her satisfied and secure. That put is a little city in Washington state where her family would vacation in the summer. Annie is able to obtain a job as a nurse practioner and she is able to rent the same cabin in which her family vacationed. She takes up gardening as did her mother . While she is helping the city people with their issues they reciprocate and support her with her loss. “Cottage By the Sea” draws the reader into thinking what to do if one lost her family. One could only hope to have Annie’s courage to hold going on. The novel is not totally sad. There are sections that are slightly humorous. “Cottage By the Sea “ is highly recommend..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    all though the book was not fresh and did include 2 pages that were partially colourful in BUT these two pages were pages that i would not have colourful anyway! so four this reason i will hold the book this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Debbie MacComber gives her readers well developed characters with realistic flaws & problems that engage our hearts & sympathies from the beginning. Keaton is considered an oddity because of his height, huge build & extreme shyness. He doesn't like being place on the spot & stumbles over his words if he is. Annie is a wonderfully energetic teenager when we first meet her, an annoyed young woman next & latest a depressed sad young woman fighting her method out of grief & trying to survive. These two are drawn to something in each other from the beginning. Annie also manages to bring secondary characters into her circle with their own flaws that she is able to support them with. I enjoyed going on Annie's journey back to life & happiness with her. Her hero managed to draw Keaton & Mellie out of their respective shells & support them. There were several times I struggled to war back tears, bite back laughter, & smile while reading. Ms. MacComber has managed to touch my heart with another terrific book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I knew of Debbie Macomber from watching some of her books being created into television films on The Hallmark Channel, but I believe that this is the first book of hers that I've read.I was looking for a book I could escape with. This book was excellent for that. The title A Cottage By The Sea drew me to this book, as that has been my dream for a lot of years, to have a small house near the water.I was halfway through this book before I realized it. I was able to read the entire book in one sitting. Debbie Macomber's writing style reminds me somewhat of Danielle Steel's writing style.I could relate to some of the people and their situations in A Cottage By The Sea, starting with Annie Marlow losing her entire family on Thanksgiving. I won't say how, but my mom passed away when I was 9 years old, also on Thanksgiving.I know about trying to search your satisfied put where you call home, not necessarily the put where you were born. Trying to search purpose and meaning in your life.I particularly liked the hero Keaton, despite not having a nurturing family turning out to be a kind, loving and caring person. Feeling like you don't fit in, feeling awkward, not wanting to be the center of attention. Not judging a book by its cover.I love how the main characters were there for each other, something you might tend to see in smaller towns these days, more than in larger stly this book is about healing, overcoming life's difficult challenges/circumstances, rising above it to come out on the other side to have a better life. Kind of like the triumph of the human spirit. Your stronger than you think you are.I know for myself that I learn more about myself, how powerful I really am when I am going through a very difficult time, trying experiences, something you don't see in yourself when things are going is book was just what I needed, a light read where I could just escape for several hours. I really enjoyed reading this book.I didn't see a lot of errors in this Advanced Uncorrected Proof, but I did message on a few pages some of the words were very faded, hard to read. I received the Novel, A Cottage By The Sea in Paperback.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Cottage by the Sea starts out thirteen years earlier. Keaton notices a attractive teenage girl, Annie, at the beach. He only got to say hi before she had to leave. She said she would be back next summer. Keaton waited each summer for her but she never returned. Now show time Annie parents, brother, sister-in-law, and niece die in a mud slid that plunged her parents home into the Pugent Sound. This makes Annie decide to move to Oceanside where she spent summers with her family. It helps her cope with her loss and remember the satisfied times she spent with her family there. This is were Annie and Keaton reconnect and their story begins.I found this to be a very enjoyable book. I love Debbie Macomber's books. This one does not disappoint. I didn't wish to place it down. Also besides Annie and Keaton story there are also some stories about other people in Oceanside. This is a feel amazing book that I really enjoyed. I would recommend it to all that love to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    I love coloring. As a senior who spends a fair amount of time alone coloring a nice time killer. But many-many of these adult books are TO INTRICATE!! So very-very-very hard to use!! Need a middle level! Adult but not so INTRICATE a small easier for older arthritic hands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    After tragedy strikes in Annie Marlow's life, she returns to her "happy place" in a little city called Oceanside to heal. She goes to her childhood vacation put in the Pacific Northwest seeking solace, but finds much e main characters Annie and Keaton, as well as the other two necessary characters, Mellie and Preston, are all damaged souls. All four have gone through their share of heartaches and with it in their own way. Each have a possibility at friendship and even romance if they can obtain over the past and being to honestly communicate with the ones they care about. Annie is the easiest to like and relate to of the four. We don't obtain to know very much about Preston, but Mellie is hard to like, especially at the beginning. Keaton is a amazing person, but very unique. Because of their past issues, Keaton and Mellie's method of communicating often comes across as ter all of the problems the characters are dealing with, the resolution at the end is a bit pat. However, the book is a fast summer read which would be amazing for the beach or pool. The book doesn't have the depth of some of Macomber's other books and isn't my favorite of her books. However, fans of the author, especially of her "Rose Harbor Inn" series should fine it to be a light, pleasant read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    Jen posting on Chris's acount:This and the Garden one were a bonus to me:I love the spiral bound, amazing since I'm a lefty and hate curling books or turning upside e paper is much smoother than printer paper or traditional coloring book paper found in stores.I love the easy but little detail art.I hope to see more, like one with In the Sky featuring birds or in the savannah/desert featuring African or desert critters (skunks and giraffes obtain much love from me)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    Great. Designs could have been more complex throughout. Samples shown not indicative of overall pages. Thicker paper. Spiral bound amazing for left handers. Bought all 3 series from same manufacturer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    Bought as a bonus and realized very quickly you cannot use gel pens with this book, it smudges true bad. Most of the pages are nice, only a few are tacky looking but you'll search that in every coloring book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classics By The Sea: Chopin, Bach, Debussy []  2020-2-1 23:28

    I bought this first in '93 and found I could loop all 3 discs enjoyably for up to 6 hours while I was busy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    This is not your traditional romance book. In fact I think it's a bit of a stretch to consider it "romantic" -- I'd call it more a biography of a group of individuals recovering from traumatic experiences rather than the usual light and fluffy romance. I had a bit of mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, it's very well written, the writing flows easily, and I read it in a single sitting without getting bored. On the other, the basic relationship in this book is between Annie and Keaton, and I didn't feel like I ever got to know Keaton very well. He's not a chatty guy, and his actions speak for his feelings rather than his words, but I found myself missing the dialogue that most of Macomber's books do so well. A secondary plot revolves around Mellie and Preston (I won't go into spoiler details), but there too I felt like I got to know the individuals rather than understand the relationship because there's hardly any dialogue directly between Mellie and Preston. By the end I felt like I'd followed a quite moving biography of Annie's recovery from losing her family and settling into Oceanside, but the romantic relationships felt underexplained. So if you're looking for a true romance, you'll probably feel like this is a 3 star book. But if you're interested in following several individuals and how they begin over and overcome adversity, you'll probably feel like this is a 4 to 5 star book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    Pics we're similar. Not eye t a very huge book. Maybe 50 pics to ould have been less expensive for what you get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    Pictures really look like they were drawn by a child. The title "by the sea" is misleading since the pictures are all arbitrary. The lines are not straight on the pictures...not sure what to say...very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    Amazing sized book, spiral-bound (huge plus!), with both a amazing dozens of pictures and amazing range of easy to complicated. Not my favorite, but very amazing nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I've been a longtime fan of Debbie Macomber and have read a lot of of her books. I've always been a fan of her stand alone novels, but not so much her series. I had taken a break from her books because the stories were starting to run together, becoming a bit repetitious and stale -- while the settings & characters would be different, the plot lines and journey always felt the same. Cottage by The Sea was a pleasant book to become reacquainted with this author because the story was new and fresh and although there were parts that had a similarity to Macomber's previous stories, it didn't feel recycled where the only differences were the story's setting and the characters' ere are two main characters, of the opposite (Annie and Keaton) and the story is told from both of their points of view. Of course, there's the dependable and reliable supporting players who befriend the main characters. In this case its Mellie and Preston, who's own stories unfold alongside Annie & Keaton. In addition, there's a cast of other characters and neighbors who contribute to & play necessary roles in the though the book seemed a small long and there was quite a bit of unnecessary filler, getting through it wasn't torturous and it moved along at a pleasant pace. While this kind of book is typically referred to as "required beach reading" for its sunny and cheery themes, the book does have its serious moments and the characters search themselves dealing with or inserted into the middle of situations most readers will identify with. One of the things that's always show in Debbie Macomber's books is the common theme of friendship and love during the course of heartbreak and healing. While the theme may be familiar, the story and characters are new making Cottage by the Sea a must read for fans of the author or anyone looking for a relaxing summer read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage by the Sea: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I believe this may be the best (imho) Debbie Macomber book I've ever read. It has an unusual couple: she's still nearly paralyzed by a not good tragedy in her life and he is very nearly an outcast due to his huge size and his home life. I kept thinking that she should start to obtain over it soon (and yes, I do know what it's like to lose several family members in a short time; I lost 3 in 28 hours in 1999) but that wouldn't have served the purpose of the book and people often do take things differently than usual. Because of my loss, I was interested in the plot quickly. I didn't like the drinking, but it was only a couple of times and no one drove drunk (which played a part in two of my three losses). I believe that in reality, Keaton might not have been able to move to Seattle and be perfectly happy, but, on the other hand, maybe with time and help... Anyway, I really enjoyed the book and I liked that there was a second couple involved, who also required help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classics By The Sea: Chopin, Bach, Debussy []  2020-2-1 23:28

    Exactly what I'd been searching for, since I first bought the cassettes in 1993. ?About 10 years ago I misplaced them, missed them so much, threw away my cassette player. A month ago I discovered where I'd "hidden" the cassettes, but now had no machine to play them on. Successfully found them as CD's via your site, and I'm enjoying them all over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    The drawings are less complicated than a lot of other adult coloring books. I do like them and gave this book to my granddaughter (age 7) because the more complex pages are too frustrating for her to complete. If you are looking for simple pages to color and small fine detail, this is a amazing small book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Color & Frame Coloring Book - By the Sea []  2020-1-16 22:21

    I was disappointed that there were not beach scenes and repetitive pictures of sea life on the same page. I accidently ordered two so I will have to search mates to bonus to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    It is exactly the coastal esthetic I love. If you like coastal colors (turquoise, green and lots of white) set in a casual comfy method you will appreciate this book as much as I did!I like to use these type of design books for inspiration and decorating ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    This is no doubt the most gorgeous book! The quality is superb! Seriously, this is one attractive book. I am a turquoise addict and love all the shades. I live where I see the brilliant turquoise sea and its intoxicating. So, this book is my favourite !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    I've bought a lot of books about beach house and coastal décor over the years, and this one is by far my favorite! Each page is inspirational with lots of ideas for adding the right touches to make a attractive seaside room! I loved the book so much, I ordered another for a mate who also likes coastal décor. She, too, is loving it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    This book is so lovely. Soft colors, simple living, lots of inspiration for sweet, beach-inspired decorating. Loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    This Is a very beautiful book, nice photography, but mostly aqua colours, and that created it rather boring. If Aqua is your favorite colour, you will love the book. Also, I went into their web-site for ordering something from the book, and their supply was a small, the item not there. Sorry, just don't think the book was worth the cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    I saw an advertisement for this book in two magazines that I bought and decided to it. It surpassed my expectations due to the attractive photographs and designing ideas. I don't live near the ocean, but close enough to love coastal decor and I love browsing through Coastal Living magazines and other seacoast publications. This book is so much better than a lot of of the other ones I have purchased. Well worth the money. I disagree with the person that gave it a one-star review. I found the text just as worthwhile as the images and agree with the other positive review that I will hold this on my coffee table and read it again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    Why do I have such high hopes for these books and then search myself disappointed. Same old, Same old and not very well done

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    This is by far the most awesome beach decorating book I have ever purchased. It is beautifully done and if I could rate it it would obtain a 10 plus. Thank you Tracey !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    This book is incredibly beautiful. Each page is prettier than the one before and will fill you with joy! Tracey Rapisardi’s design style is light and airy and very achievable. Even if you have no intentions of having a cottage by the sea this book will victory a put on your bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simply by the Sea: Designed Cottages, Homes and Bungalows by the Sea []  2020-1-31 7:36

    This is a amazing coastal book. The pictures are beautiful and the info is well done. I'm very glad I purchased it. Makes a amazing table book to display

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Pachelbel Canon by the Sea []  2020-1-11 20:16

    I have used Pachibel by the Sea for meditation for over 30 years. My copy, a tape, simply wore out. This is quite various from the copy I had, but just as effective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Pachelbel Canon by the Sea []  2020-1-11 20:16

    The Pachelbel Canon is a beautiful, gentle, piece of music. And I do like the sounds of sea-surf. Unfortunately, they do not combine to form a restful background on this CD. I was unhappy with the effect that I heard from this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    A number of sentences stop before completing a full thought and there are a number of incorrect characters sprinkled throughout the book that create the experience of reading the Kindle ver quite distracting. On top of that the book is cobbled together from interviews with survivors, newspaper articles, court testimony, etc., and lacks a continuous narrative. The story was made by cobbling together individual stories semi-chronologically, and the author fails to link them together very well. The huge quantity of Navy jargon the author uses created it difficult for me to understand a lot of of the roles played by different people highlighted in the book, but I'm not sure my ignorance was too detrimental to my level of understanding.Overall it's a roughly written, but informative, book that I had a hard time putting down at times. Once one gets past the a lot of typos and the lack of a cohesive story, it is a relatively enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    QUICK REVIEWA compact yet amazing acc of the sinking of a navy ship and the wonderful struggle for survival of the remaining crew, left floating in the Pacific ocean for days.FULL REVIEWThis is one of a lot of books written about the tragic sinking of the U.S.S. Indianapolis. It is a amazing version. It is well told and fairly well written. There are parts, however, where you feel the author could have told you more of the story, and other parts where he maybe should have said less. It flows well, though, and fully tells the story while also keeping the reader's attention. This ordeal gives us a amazing story set in WWII of what it's like to be on a ship that [email protected]#$%! by multiple torpedoes and then the struggle to obtain off before it goes down. It shows the a lot of facets of what men will experience and become if left simply floating out in the ocean without meal or water for an extended period of time. It is an awesome story that leaves the reader with a real sense of what these men went through, and is well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    I've read several books about the sinking of the U.S.S. Indianapolis, and I would rate Ordeal By Sea as only average. Mr. Helm does a amazing job of explaining the sinking itself, and the story of the survivors in the water is well-done, but some aspects are either complelely left out, or they are barely mentioned. These events, such as McVay's request and subsequent denial of a destroyer escort, failure to alert McVay about the latest sinking of an American destroyer along his proposed route, the ignoring by the navy of an intercepted notice from the I-58 stating that she had sunk an American battleship, and the large mess up regarding the departure and arrival of the Indianapolis are barely touched upon. Also, Mr. Helm devotes only a few pages of text to McVay's court martial procedure. While the book does a amazing job of telling about the sinking, abandoning, and struggle of the survivors, I was disappointed about the omission of the vital happenings leading up to the sinking. However, the author of the afterword, William J. Toti, does a amazing job of bringing the reader up to speed on the latest efforts by the survivors to obtain McVay's name cleared. I would recommend "In Harm's Way" by Doug Stanton over this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Pachelbel Canon by the Sea []  2020-1-11 20:16

    The review by Norman Strojny makes a amazing point - the canon is attractive and the surf is relaxing yet the two together look better on paper than the end result. I rate the album higher, but I do remember my first listen several years ago and feeling a bit of disappointment that the blend wasn't seamless. It is still a pleasant disc but I suspect the weakness of the CD may be the volume mix: the canon intrudes on the surf. I would have taken the canon down a bit in the mix and brought the surf up. In other words, I like a small Pachelbel with my ocean and not vice versa. And so it functions more as a classical album rather than a nature recording. If it's a classical album, then the surf is just distracting - I'd rather play Brian Eno's Discreet Melody which plays with the tempo. I have played my nature recordings of surf (w/o music) more frequently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    I enjoyed this book, but I'd read a book called In Harm's Method that was much better. Ordeal by Sea didn't go into enough detail about their 4 day ordeal. It was a dry manuscript, never going into the private side of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    For history and naval enthusiasts, reading doesn't obtain much better than "Ordeal by Sea." The sinking of the USS Indianapolis was a tragic event, considering that the battle was practically days away from its termination. Thomas Helm's description of the ship, its final mins and the five-day ordeal that sailors endured after the sinking is hauntingly vivid. With the turn of each page, I found myself wanting to know more and more. Helm writes with a superior knowledge of the ship, having served on her before the war. He also provides a fascinating description of survivor accounts. That anyone could survive the sinking, five days under a scorching sun without meal and new water, and the numerous shark attacks is awesome enough. Helm brings all this up and close to the ough Helm spends much time describing the ship, its sinking and the story of survival and the rescue, he brushes over the investigation and the court martial of Captain McVay. This zone could have used more text. The foreword and afterword by Captain Toti place the book in a modern context by explaining what has become of survivors' efforts to clear McVay's name. All in all, "Ordeal by Sea" is a must read for those interested in history and naval matters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    Helm does a amazing job discribing the sinking of this massive cruiserand the five days the survivors spent in the water facing thehazards of sharks, sun, no meal or water, and the negative effects on the crew. With the fresh forward and summary by theskipper of the sub Indianapolis, their research and wording wasquick and to the point. The skipper of the cruiser may havewarranted a court martial, but was it fair--probably not. The court martial was more a bow to public pressure and focused on how the Navy was itself to blame for the sinking since no escortwas sent to protect the ship, and nobody noticed the ship missingat Leyte. Better to throw someone to the dogs, than allow the Navy assume blame for the 800 odd deaths at sea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Pachelbel Canon by the Sea []  2020-1-11 20:16

    THIS IS A GREAT CD. RELAXING WITH PACHELBEL CANON AND THE SOUNDS OF THE OCEAN. IT'S GREAT TO RELAX BY.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sound Of Pachelbel's Canon By The Sea []  2020-1-18 23:39

    I love Pachelbel's Canon and I also love the sound of the ocean so when I saw this unusual CD in a record shop I just had to it and I'm so glad I did because it is unbelievable and so peaceful and relaxing, it is also amazing to listen to when you are having problem getting to sleep as the sounds of soothing classical melody and the ocean helps to lull you to sleep!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Pachelbel Canon by the Sea []  2020-1-11 20:16

    Bonus for our 6 yr old granddaughter. She always listens to it to go to sleep at our house gave her one of her own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Pachelbel Canon by the Sea []  2020-1-11 20:16

    I was disappointed that the rendition was so short, clipped.even, and that it repeats itself again and again to fill in space. I didn't think the melody was very relaxing.. it has a mechanical sound affect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    I have family who lived, it should be needed reading in school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    I was fascinated and amazed by the story of the U.S.S. Indianapolis when I read Doug Stanton's recently released book on the topic, "In Harm's Way." If you've read Stanton's book, you will search that even though it covers the same subject as this one, the two books are not duplicative. There is small overlap in the survivors interviewed by Thomas Helm for "Ordeal by Sea" and those interviewed by Stanton. Consequently, reading both books gives you a more complete picture of this poignant historical tragedy. The story is an awesome one - 317 men surviving in the begin water for 4 days during the closing days of the battle in the pacific. It is a tale of unimaginable horrors and wonderful bravery. Helm's narrative can be rather choppy, but the dozens of first-hand accounts in the book are a valuable contribution to the historical record.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    The author, Thomas Helms "Ordeal by Sea" is an astonishing acc of the sinking of the massive cruiser, USS Indianapolis on 30 July 1945 with 1,196 men. A lot of considered this one happening as the most catastrophic disaster in naval history. A true life saga of the plight and suffering these men experienced while trying to survive in the watery wasteland. What makes this happening even more tragic was the fact that the mission the ship had just completed was panicle to the end of the Second Globe War, the delivery of the two atomic bombs to the island of Tinian. The same bombs that were dropped onto the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, e author meticulous describes what life was like living on a naval vessel in the Pacific Ocean. The sights, sounds and smells just prior to and immediately after he unexpected blow of opponent torpedoes striking her side. The fears and confusion expressed by the crewmembers that were lucky enough to survive the initial blast. Graphic info described the terror that engulfed all the sailors who successfully managed to escape the crippled ship. As the men faced the horrors of floating adrift in a vast ocean for nearly four days, the chance of rescue seemed to diminish as days passed. No one knew if or even when their fellow countryman would rescue them.Helm clearly lays out the timeline of Indianapolis's from the retrofitting she over went years earlier that created her top massive while sailing to her final few days, and the subsequent nightmare the survivors lived while floating adrift. He briefly describes a huge list of discrepancies committed by the navy as they unfolded to the eventual blame shifting court martial, which found the Commanding Officer of the USS Indianapolis, Captain Charles Butler McVay III e court martial proceedings of Captain McVay and the subsequent testimony provided by the commander of the Imperial Japanese submarine I-58, Commander Hashimoto described the actions of the two officers in min detail. Before Commander Hashimoto died in 2000, he wrote a letter to Senator John Warner that said he did not understand why Captain McVay was court martial. The Japanese Commander explained that he could have launched a successful torpedo attack on the Indianapolis if she was zigzagging or not. Two questions did manage to escape the captains' court martial; why was the USS Indianapolis ever reported as overdue for arrival to the port in Leyte Philippians and why the navy failed to conduct a timely find for the missing vessel. As luck would have it, the survivors were accident discovered when a passing seaplane just happened to explore the remaining survivors floating in the vast blue me of the three hundred and seventeen members that survived this horrific ordeal share their experiences while floating with the current. The author does not spare any details. Since the ship sank in less than 4 minutes, the majority of the men did not have the time to lower the lifeboats or dawn life vests. Through merciless shark attacks, dehydration and the scorching sun, he vividly depicts just a few of the nightmares these men suffered while they awaited rescue by naval wonders how such an embarrassing naval catastrophe can be silenced and covered up for so a lot of years. Each man must have lived an emotional hell. It is just astonishing how the navy tried to exonerate their own actions while placing all of the blame on the ship's captain. Though the captain of a ship maintains ultimate responsibility for her vessel, his actions can only as amazing as the info provided to him. The author did an outstanding job making the readers analyze the info and draw their own conclusions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Pachelbel Canon by the Sea []  2020-1-11 20:16

    This is a lot of Pachelbel's Canon in one put and that's what I wanted. I love this piece of melody but it's always too short. I always wish more and now I have it, all in one place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ordeal by Sea: The Tragedy of the U.S.S. Indianapolis []  2019-12-24 20:14

    Ordeal by Sea does not feature amazing writing -- the hero portrayals are weak, the suspense is almost non-existent, the narrative rambles. What this book does have in its favor is that it was written twenty years after the sinking of the Indianapolis, while the happening was still relatively sharp in the public's mind, and in the survivors' minds as I've mentioned, the dramatic aspects of this book are weak. These guys were in the Pacific five days with sharks pulling them under the water, and Helms makes it seem almost like a swim meet. Helm was not a amazing writer, but he does tell this horrifying story reasonably well: the Indianapolis delivers materials for one of the bombs to fall on Japan in the summer of 1945, the ship is sunk by a rogue Japanese sub, the survivors float for five days in shark-infested waters, some injured in the sinking, their bones pushing through flesh, the unfair court-martialing of McVay, the ship's captain. This is one of the best stories of surviving the worst conditions out caveat: The publisher does not show this as a classic, as an older book brought out again. You search that out in the fresh introduction. I thought that this was a brand fresh book when I purchased it. That dings the book's uly a remarkable story, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sound Of Pachelbel's Canon By The Sea []  2020-1-18 23:39

    Years ago, I had Pachelbel By The Sea as a cassette tape. I loved it. Now, I have found the same attractive melody with the same background of ocean waves. Very relaxing. I know a few people didn't think this was worth the price, but I found it to be very stirring. It spoke to my soul. I am so glad I was able to search this CD on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Year by the Sea: Thoughts of an Unfinished Woman [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    This is the first Joan book that I read in her series (I recommend them all!!) that I frequently give as a gift. Each chapter gives news insights into reclaiming those parts of ourselves that may feel lost as we grow beyond our roles...this retelling of Joan’s courageous journey back to herself gives us hope - as well as a roadmap!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Year by the Sea: Thoughts of an Unfinished Woman [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    Perfect book! This book will be re-read. The hero gives you a map as to how she reclaimed herself after a lifetime of "performing" her duties as wife and mother. She shares insight without restricting the private journey of the reader. It was a gentle, honest, encouraging and extremely hopeful book. You don't have to be married with grown kids to see yourself on the pages. I am neither and feel it was providence that led me to this awesome book. Go for it - you won't be sorry!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Year by the Sea: Thoughts of an Unfinished Woman [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    In the first chapter she moves to Cape Cod and persuades a local fisherman to drop her off on an island filled with seals -- how could I NOT love this! It is a nicely written book about a woman who takes a year off from her marriage and moves into a beach house on Cape Cod. She was once a successful author of children's books but her collaborator has moved and she needs an income so takes a job in a fish shop and takes up clamming.I have to say I really identified with a lot of her thinking even though our lives are very different. But her feelings about independence, attachment to family and its obligations, conflicted feelings about sex, are all things I've been thinking a lot, too. Some of her ruminations got a tad tedious but it was simple enough to skim those. Overall a very thoughtful, lovely and rather unusual book about being a woman "of a certain age."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True to Me: A By the Sea Novel []  2020-1-25 10:0

    "True to Me” was written by Kay Bratt for you and me. What a fabulous book!!! I started it on a Thursday afternoon and two days later, I finished it. I know it’s a cliché, but I couldn’t place the book down. It was that e story is set in Hawaii. I wasn’t fond of Hawaii at all before I read the book. Through Kay Bratt’s knowledge of Hawaii, descriptions of the island, characters, and dialogue, I came to love Maui. The customs, the foods, the families, and the island itself all became alive with every word.But unfortunately, all amazing things must come to an end, and so must a book. “True to Me” is a masterful masterpiece. A contagious read. I highly recommend it for everyone. I can’t wait for the movie!!“True to Me” is another Kay Bratt spectacular ank you to NetGalley for my advanced review copy. All opinions and thoughts are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True to Me: A By the Sea Novel []  2020-1-25 10:0

    Real to Me (A By the Sea Novel) by Kay BrattJust finished this awesome book and I can honestly say it was amazing! I couldn’t place it down – in fact, I finished reading it in the middle of the night because I couldn’t stop reading!This is a heartwarming story of Quinn and how her life is turned upside down when her Mother passes away and reveals her Father is not her biological parent. That is all she says …You learn about acceptance, love, forgiveness, kindness and even some Hawaiian words!A amazing read from a amazing author – highly recommend!Thank you to NetGalley for my advanced review copy.#truetome #netgalley

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True to Me (A By the Sea Novel Book 1) []  2020-4-11 18:11

    "True to Me” was written by Kay Bratt for you and me. What a fabulous book!!! I started it on a Thursday afternoon and two days later, I finished it. I know it’s a cliché, but I couldn’t place the book down. It was that e story is set in Hawaii. I wasn’t fond of Hawaii at all before I read the book. Through Kay Bratt’s knowledge of Hawaii, descriptions of the island, characters, and dialogue, I came to love Maui. The customs, the foods, the families, and the island itself all became alive with every word.But unfortunately, all amazing things must come to an end, and so must a book. “True to Me” is a masterful masterpiece. A contagious read. I highly recommend it for everyone. I can’t wait for the movie!!“True to Me” is another Kay Bratt spectacular ank you to NetGalley for my advanced review copy. All opinions and thoughts are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True to Me (A By the Sea Novel) []  2020-1-20 18:52

    I think this has been my favorite book by Bratt so far, and that's no little feat (since I've loved them all!) Once I started reading, I absolutely could not place it down. An exquisite tale of family, friendship, and "pono," Real to Me left me with a deeper appreciation of myself and all those that I am connected to.I felt an immediate connection with Quinn, and am in awe of how Bratt carefully crafted such a relatable hero who was flawed and vulnerable, yet stronger than she gave herself for. From those I loved to hate (namely Ethan) to those I just outright adored (Liam and Auntie Wang), the entire cast was populated with authentic, well-rounded characters and I could have sworn I was on the beaches of Maui there with them. The conclusion was absolutely perfect, though I'm certainly not opposed to a follow-up tale to see where life takes Quinn next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True to Me (A By the Sea Novel) []  2020-1-20 18:52

    Real to Me (A By the Sea Novel) by Kay BrattJust finished this awesome book and I can honestly say it was amazing! I couldn’t place it down – in fact, I finished reading it in the middle of the night because I couldn’t stop reading!This is a heartwarming story of Quinn and how her life is turned upside down when her Mother passes away and reveals her Father is not her biological parent. That is all she says …You learn about acceptance, love, forgiveness, kindness and even some Hawaiian words!A amazing read from a amazing author – highly recommend!Thank you to NetGalley for my advanced review copy.#truetome #netgalley

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True to Me (A By the Sea Novel) []  2020-1-20 18:52

    A unbelievable and emotional story written by Kay Bratt is my Christmas show to myself!!Quinn, who promises her mother that she will go to Maui. She will start to explore a fresh family and perhaps, even a fresh her. She will learn about the meaning of forgiveness and also the meaning of e written descriptions of this attractive put makes me think that it doesn't need to be on my bucket list any longer, I feel like I have been there. Then again, it makes me feel like I wish to live there. The history, the people, the magic of Maui. I can honestly say that I am a small jealous of those who not only obtain to live there, but also obtain to visit (just joking, kind of).This was a quick read for me. Not only did Quinn have things to learn about her life, but it may have just taught me some things as well.Looking forward to reading so much more from Kay Bratt. You will not be disappointed.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386