Read pocket guide to west africa reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all pocket guide to west africa reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    need pin to play rsweeps []  2020-5-22 6:38

    Lost my pin for RSweeps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Just returned from Ghana, Togo and Benin and while I think some of the and phone #'s are getting a bit outdated over all it was a amazing support and beautiful spot on. The accomodation and getting there and around information was really helpfull. Alot of usefull information. I would recomend the book!

    0  


    Add your opinion on pocket guide to west africa or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Very useful and informative!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Very useful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    I was disappointed Liberia wasnt included in this edition, I was unable to search that explained before I bought it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    I bought this book to begin mentally planning a future trip to West Africa (take a month, go wander around) and realizing that Lonely Planet's book was a few years old, I went with my backup, the Rough e book is beautiful comprehensive - the info seems up to date and there's enough tidbits to create me think that someone actually visited these locations and reported firsthand vs relied on anecdotal evidence. Mainly I was interested in Senegal, since I wish to go there for the infamous Paris-Dakar rally along with Cameroon.But after reading the other reviews, I was like "Oh yeah, where IS Liberia?" and went back to the book to search it not there. What's up with that, Rough Guide?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Admittedly, Lonely Planet's ver is a couple years old now, but this Rough Tutorial is SO much better in terms of what to expect, how to obtain around, cultural aspects, what to bring, and a general cohesive overview of the region, it's sort of ridiculous. Lonely Planet's book is essentially useless compared to this. We're moving to West Africa for an extended stay, and this book has been helpful, informative, and even an interesting read. I'm glad that I waited for and then purchased this fresh release rather than just sticking with the guidebooks I had.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    i was dissapointed with this tutorial book ... not so much because of the info it contained but because the maps were ilegible and therefor useless ...also because the info was not available easier by a detailed index ... i had to flic thru the pages to search the section i required so in my opinion poorly laid out ...it felt to me more like someones impression of the put rather than factual info which i would have prefered ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Kinda lame, they just completely left out Liberia!?Will report back after I have a possibility to use it in West Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West Africa (Rough Guides) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    I used this book while working for 4 months in West Africa. I tried to use it to travel around Ghana and found it beautiful much useless. Over half the book is cultural info and longwinded historical essays about the country. That's nice, but what I really wanted to know was how to obtain places, where to stay, is it safe, and how much does it cost. It's not good at listing public transportation. It will tell that there is a bus from Accra to Cape Coast but doesn't say where to obtain it, how much it costs, a time estimate, or even give the name of more than one bus company (and the one they listed is far from the best one in Ghana). The only thing it does semi-well is listing options for lodging and e tutorial also doesn't even cover Liberia or Ivory Coast. It's still better than Lonely Planet but that's only because Lonely Planet is so terrible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    Fun book to browse. Cannot go to Africa. But this book almost makes me think I have actually gone there. Recommend it to ArmChair Travelers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    Was hoping for a bit more off the beaten path. Does contain lots of reference sites. Amazing for a starting point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    I never realized prior to reading this book that South Africa had so much to travelers including being one of the best birding destinations of the world, eight UNESCO Globe Heritage Sites, numerous unusual adventure activities like kloofing, sandboarding, blokart sailing as well as the sight of shipwrecks, wineries, and elephant parks (of course!) To see a baobab tree up close, partake of a braii (outdoor bbq featuring traditional foods) and go on safari are now on my bucket list. Hints like the Planetarium at Cape City being every second Saturday of the month, explaining the differences in the train systems and authorizing your card in advance were most appreciated, but original images at the close were what really sold me. Very amazing book and glad I had the opportunity to give it a read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    Nice pocket tutorial about South Africa. No issue with delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    By nature I am not into traveling but this book makes me wish to go to Africa. The writing is clear and knowledgeable. I had no idea Africa has so much to offer. I could feel the joy of travel and her love for Africa. I also liked the attention to info she provides. Perfect writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    Full of amazing information...IF only I could afford the trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    Applause to the author for gathering the book's information. Although it seems to be a thorough compendium, I had hoped for a bit more juice in the content. Perhaps more private experiences or enthusiastic description would have created it more memorable. The images didn't meet my expectations. They were OK, but none held my attention for more than a millisecond. I feel the graphic presentation was weak, with what appeared to be clip art. More maps of the town highlights would have been welcome. Terrance should do more talking in the book developing a relationship with the tom line: it didn't create me wish to go to South Africa. This book, while practical, conveyed small of the feelings of travel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    Haven't read it yet, so can't really comment. But it was delivered (via my Kindle) fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:44

    Gave me gr8 information for my forthcoming trip to South Africa....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-10 18:55

    I used this book to select a hotel in Lome, TOGO and was quite disappointed. I think the authors used outdated website visit information...in general the info is quite superficial

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Multi Country Guide) []  2020-4-17 18:49

    West Africa is one of the amazing emerging tourist destinations of the world. Amazing beaches, lively cities, dynamic culture, and still intact wildlife with improving accommodations, plus modest costs and amazing accessibility from Europe create this part of the globe an only lightly discovered gem. Then why this desultory and sketchy guidebook? When I first read Lonely Planet's 1993 West Africa guidebook I was amazed at the detail and insight. The fresh edition doesn't even provide info on visa regulations, and the visitor information is brief and limited. LP must be struggling with how to compete with TripAdvisor, etc. The respond is to provide more authorial insights and detail, not less. Bradt has grasped this with its a lot of detailed West Africa tutorials (though a lot of countries, notably Guinea, Guinea Bissau, and Benin are dated or absent). But Lonely Planet seems to have lost its edge. The fresh West Africa edition is not worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Multi Country Guide) []  2020-4-17 18:49

    I used this book to select a hotel in Lome, TOGO and was quite disappointed. I think the authors used outdated website visit information...in general the info is quite superficial

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Multi Country Guide) []  2020-4-17 18:49

    I have an older edition (2006) of this book, bought for a trip back then to Mali and Senegal. When I dusted it off to prepare for a January 2020 trip to Côte d'Ivoire I found 35 little print pages of useful information, particularly on cultural matters and history. Since the bitter civil battle was underway when the history section was written, I decided to look for an updated guidebook. The current ver of this Lonely Planet West Africa tutorial is a mere skeleton of the 2006 edition--at least with respect to Côte d'Ivoire, with only 13 pages. If I was going a year from now I would wait for the 2020 Bradt Tutorial on Côte d'Ivoire due out September 2020.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-10 18:55

    The product was in the quality advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-10 18:55

    West Africa is one of the amazing emerging tourist destinations of the world. Amazing beaches, lively cities, dynamic culture, and still intact wildlife with improving accommodations, plus modest costs and amazing accessibility from Europe create this part of the globe an only lightly discovered gem. Then why this desultory and sketchy guidebook? When I first read Lonely Planet's 1993 West Africa guidebook I was amazed at the detail and insight. The fresh edition doesn't even provide info on visa regulations, and the visitor information is brief and limited. LP must be struggling with how to compete with TripAdvisor, etc. The respond is to provide more authorial insights and detail, not less. Bradt has grasped this with its a lot of detailed West Africa tutorials (though a lot of countries, notably Guinea, Guinea Bissau, and Benin are dated or absent). But Lonely Planet seems to have lost its edge. The fresh West Africa edition is not worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-10 18:55

    I have an older edition (2006) of this book, bought for a trip back then to Mali and Senegal. When I dusted it off to prepare for a January 2020 trip to Côte d'Ivoire I found 35 little print pages of useful information, particularly on cultural matters and history. Since the bitter civil battle was underway when the history section was written, I decided to look for an updated guidebook. The current ver of this Lonely Planet West Africa tutorial is a mere skeleton of the 2006 edition--at least with respect to Côte d'Ivoire, with only 13 pages. If I was going a year from now I would wait for the 2020 Bradt Tutorial on Côte d'Ivoire due out September 2020.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet West Africa (Multi Country Guide) []  2020-4-17 18:49

    The product was in the quality advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    Antonson writes an perfect travel book. It is the story of his private journey to Timbuktu and he spares the reader neither criticism of the locations or difficulty inherent in the experience. He writes in a method that I felt I was riding along in his backpack — I could smell the heat, the garbage, the questionable food. I felt the sand in my mouth, my boots, and the fatigue of riding in a crowded 4x4. I also experienced his elation when he found the websites he went to see, especially the ancient manuscripts. I enjoyed Antonson's wry humour is is a delight to read because it is a "story" rather than a destination commended for those who appreciate exotic places, Africa, and extreme travel. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    Part history of West Africa, part travelogue, part cautionary tale, and all adventure, Rick Antonson's book, To Timbuktu for a Haircut makes for an interesting read, The name comes from the Berber word "tin" meaning a well and "Bouctou" meaning woman with a huge navel and stands for a safe water well owned by a woman with a huge navel. But the word "Timbuktu represents mystery and adventure. Antonson decides to go there when he has some time based on a comment his father created to him to go to Timbuktu for a haircut. Antonson gets there after a long trip by train, street and a river. Along the method he meets a dozens of people. The adventure continues when he is book is fun to read and especially useful for anyone contemplating a trip to some unusual place. Preparation is necessary but also being able to adapt to the unexpected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    The concept for this trip is brilliant...as have most journeys to Timbuktu throughout history as the author clues us all into. The only moot pint I really have with the book is it peaks method too early. Because his journey is much like climbing Mt. Everest in that reaching the summit is THE story and the descent, as thrilling and even risky as it may become, is just not as captivating. The author reaches Timbuktu 2/3 of the method through the does he hold the pace up? Trekking across the Dogon country is fine but it's more icing on the cake than the cake itself. Nothing one can really do about this as that's the journey he took but the story does lose some steam after leaving ven all that, this guy can flat out write and this is a truly impressive travel essay. I look forward to his next adventure and he makes me proud I hail from Lotusland, too, when we have talented creative people like this living here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    We all grew up thinking of Timbuktu as a magical far away put that somehow was necessary I history (and that was before "Where in the globe is Carmen SanDiego?"). The author is an experienced travel writer before he takes off on sort of a whim to visit this mythical city. He gives the impression that he has traveled in out of the method places, but in the first part of the book he spends a lot of pages griping about the inconvenience and unpredictability of transportation and lodging (or lack thereof) in getting to Timbuktu. His troubles are aided and abetted by his fixer, Mohammed. The book gets better after he leaves Timbuktu, with a new haircut, and heads out to hike in the rugged outback of Mali. There he bonds with his tutorial and his cook and their families and gets to see life as it really is, not as the imagined glories of Timbuktu. Timbuktu is a put of the imagination and a put that has been ravaged from its centuries earlier glory as a center of learning and repository of valuable manuscripts. Even before reading the book, I worried about the care of these valuable ancient pieces of learning. Now, with the invasion of fundamentalists who do not value learning, I worry more (the author was there after one takeover and before another). The book raises lots of issues. For me, the most necessary was the role of tourism and questioning what journey one is on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    Reading Rick Antonson's book on Mali took be back to 2006 and my fast trip through Mali. Having visited a lot of of the locations that Rick featured it was a amazing experience to witness someone who had been there before a travel book I believe it to be superb and a amazing method to feel Mali.And lo and behold he loved the same things about the locations - Mopti, Dogon, Timbuktu and Essakane - that I came to treasure. He writes very well, he experiences the true feel of the Niger River area, he captures you into his journey. And the two things that he loved most about Mali, that is Timbuktu and its manuscripts and Le Pays Dogon; his time in both areas will send me on a return trip to Mali to further experience that remarkable country. This book on Africa is as close to a true tutorial as anything written by Paul Theroux or investigated by Lonely Planet. I so enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    Mind- and life-changing - worth your time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    Even if you aren't really interested in Africa this is a amazing travel book on people, how they live, even "poor" they have hearts of gold. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and Antonson does a spectacular job telling the tale of his travels. If you are interested in Africa and its people this book is better than Dark Star Safari by istofer Ryan, Author of "Power Yoga For Prisoners and Others Desiring Change"Interview -

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    This is one of the most awesome books I have ever read. Not only is it a vacation and travel story, it is a history book on the find for Timbuktu and also a lesson on what small it takes in material possessions to have a truly meaningful life. There is a seamless integration of Rick's private journey of discovery with the historic find for Timbuktu by different earlier explorers. Rick's vivid and penetrating description of the land and it's people locations the reader right into the journey with him.I highly recommend this book to all readers regardless of their own specific list of favorite writers. An awesome journey very much worth joining Rick as he explores a globe of intrigue, mystery, beauty and a method of life by people who create the most of their existence by focusing on what is truly necessary in one's journey through life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    This brought back memories of my own travels a lot of years ago to another part of the world. Author is a master of prose and the book includes a lot of interesting observations about Mali and its peoples. The addendum on their current tragedies was very moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Timbuktu for a Haircut: A Journey Through West Africa []  2020-1-23 0:36

    I can't say enough about this read. I absolutely fell in love with your writing and the descriptions you used about all of your traveling, including people with whom you met and dealt with, the scenery, the history from certain eras that assisted in describing why and how you took this particular trip. I look forward to reading more of your experiences. My favorite author is Paul Theroux -- I do believe you gave him a run for his in a lot of aspects of your travel writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Safari Box Set: Featuring TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to South Africa and TERRANCE TALKS TRAVEL: A Pocket Guide to African Safaris []  2020-1-29 4:39

    It was compact yet crammed with useful information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nigeria and West Africa []  2020-2-1 8:21

    I have a relative from this part of the world, so this audio presentation was of particular interest to me. I generally found it informative, though the presentation is perhaps not quite as systematic as it ideally could be. A further drawback is that, while a 2006 date is given, I believe this is a reissue of a 1992 production, so two necessary decades of history are missing.I won't attempt to summarize the presentation, but here are a few points which stood out for me:(1) Before Europeans arrived, Africans had established some fairly significant civilizations (not just villages and towns) which were essentially unknown to Europeans.(2) The British were pioneers in establishing the slave trade, and were also pioneers in eventually abolishing it. But with or without the slave trade, their economic interests were central in their involvements in this region and they often resorted to violence to maintain control.(3) Africans were complicit in the slave trade, often helping with kidnapping other Africans and other operations.(4) Though the presentation is ambiguous on this point, it seems that tribalism within Africa has (a) continued to prevent African social, political, and economic unity, (b) often resulted in horrific violence, (c) prevented establishment of stable government on any substantial scale, (d) prevented Africans from borrowing amazing ideas from other cultures around the world, and (e) facilitated European colonialism in Africa via a divide and defeat strategy.I fear that the prospects for Africa still aren't good, but hopefully the latest social uprisings in the Arab globe illustrate that one shouldn't give up commended for anyone with a powerful interest in this region but, again, hold in mind that this presentation is a bit dated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    I took this pocket tutorial with me for our trip to Tanzania. I also bought the Birds of East Africa tutorial but being that we were limited to 33 pounds due to bush plane restrictions, I was unable to package it as the book was very huge and heavy. That’s where the pocket tutorial came in handy. I place it in my day package and used it to identify almost all of the common birds. Luckily our first tutorial was bird knowledgeable so he could identify the less common birds. I wrote the names down and when we came home I marked the birds we saw in the huge book. Before we left Tanzania, I gave the pocket tutorial to our second tutorial who wasn’t quite as bird knowledgeable as our first one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    Lovely pictures, amazing information, and a nice size to use while travelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    This is perfect, just a laminated card which folds, no weight at all, and pictures huge and clear enough to use, little enough to keep a lot of pictures. I want I'd had it on previous trips to Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    I bought this to bring on safari in Botswana. It obviously doesn't have all the birds, but it does have quite a few. Everyone I was traveling with loved it, and kept borrowing it. It was a amazing reference tool, and was much easier to use than the several hundred page bird book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    Although very limited in the number and dozens of birds included, it nevertheless proved very useful on a latest safari in Botswana. I would recommend it, especially for those of us who are not naturally birders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    was extremely handy - all the people on the tour kept on asking to borrow it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    Excellent size for travelling and keeping in a backpack. Some of the animals are obvious - duh. But I search it helpful to tell all of the various antelope/deer/springbok ,etc species apart especially.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    This entire series is very well done, and this tutorial is no exception. I it in groups of 10-15 copies and provide one to every traveler that signs up for my group Africa safaris. We are very limited on packing weight due to the little planes we fly on, so even my field tutorials never create the cut. This tutorial covers the most common birds we are likely to see, the lamination makes it very durable to use in the rain or toss in a backpack. I always leave mine behind for the tutorial or Land Cruiser driver to give to a school. and despite the suggestion they do the same, my travelers always take it back home to use in identifying the birds in their photos. Its not meant to substitute for a full sized field guide, and it doesn't. But on a android game drive, you mostly wish to ID what you see, you can learn the life history later. Amazing bang for the buck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    what a amazing pocket guide! amazing color photos to support identify the birds in South Africa! fits into my camera bag with no weight to it! Glad i bought it and will vie on my next trip to Kruger National Park!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    Amazing simple viewing bird booklet

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    The pictures are great! Better than drawings since they are the actual birds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    Excellent for travelling. Nice compact size and laminated for durability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    After seeing the larger animals in Africa, our attention change to all the attractive birds. This fast tutorial helped us search them and have fun their colorings. Indeispensable while on safari especially at home sorting our a lot of pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    Very helpful in identifying birds. Handy pocket tutorial for a safari!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    Best for the more common birds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    Absolutely essential for your safari!. We referred to it tons of times per day on our trip. Durable plastic covered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    I just ordered this in anticipation of a safari to Kenya and Tanzania in June. It is just what I wanted. I love how light and compact it is and how durable it is -- given that it is lamented. I also search it very informative. This is the excellent pocket tutorial for a trip to East Africa. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    Absolutely essential for your safari!. We referred to it tons of times per day on our trip. Durable plastic covered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    Excellent for traveling! Fits in a pocket or purse. Amazing images for identification.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    Just came back from 21 days on Safari in Kenya and Tanzania and used this every single day, along with East Africa Birds. There's a amazing story to tell, too, about the bonus this became (see below). It fit perfectly in my vest pocket and was an invaluable fast look-up tutorial on washboard streets and at quiet water-hole observatories alike. We saw everything there was to see in our neck of the woods, a lot of times over, and it didn't take long to memorize animals and ID them just from their profiles in the savannah, thanks to this guide. (The only suggestion I'd create to improve it is to add birds in flight -- the coloring is often spectacular and makes some birds easier to ID.) I used my more extensive tutorial in the evenings for the official addition, this helped with our amazingly well-informed and cheerful driver-guides and our trip tour guide, all of whom spoke English to some degree but in the heat of the drives could use some com support. They each had practically Masters degrees in ecosystems, culture, history, enviro science, and zoology, but being able to point to something WE thought we saw was useful -- and often created them laugh and tell us no, that's a water buffalo in the distance, not a rhino!I brought three with me (along with other books and items) to give away to schools and other community leaders, and to one of our guides. But the BEST outcome was when we visited the Hadzabe bush tribe outside NgoroNgoro crater/caldera. We weren't sure if we'd catch up with this nomadic tribe, but after two hours into the bush, we found their encampment and our click-tongue step-in tutorial introduced the nine of us to the assistant leader (a true position), named *ng*ng-o. I had taken the travel time to learn several phrases and, after introducing myself properly to *ng*ng-o, he grabbed my hand and I became his sidekick for the morning. We danced and sang and ate baboon and shot arrows and sat in a *ng*ng-boko (baobab).At one point he, along with their children and others, were demonstrating which arrows were used for which animals, when I pulled this tutorial out to test to follow along and create notes. The children swarmed me and were utterly fascinated by this small laminated visual! I asked our interpreter if it would be OK to it as a bonus before we left, since I didn't wish to intrude on any efforts the tribe or Tanzania were making to retain their culture, and he said, "Sure!" He admitted it may not latest long on their nomadic and very spare safaris (journeys), but they'd appreciate at the end of the visit, I offered this to *ng*ng-o, and he accepted with a large grin and twinkles in his eyes, and the children took it over immediately. When everyone else had gone to the two jeeps, and I lingered a bit to say goodbye, he gave me a bow and three arrows in return!! I was over the moon with grins over this cultural exchange. I also told him he'd create a amazing husband, having been the hunter of the baboon the night before, which they'd shared with us this morning (roasted, I might add). He laughed and gave me a huge hug -- and a big, full kiss. Two, in fact! :-) This weapon, whose arrows are created with guinea fowl feathers and are -- thus of course -- used to bring down birds, is now among my most precious ese were among the most genuinely cheerful and friendly peoples I have ever had the honor of spending time with (and I've traveled all over the world). I was so happy to be able to give them this tutorial as a token of my appreciation for their sharing their culture and hunting secrets with us. Will always be grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    Went to Kenya and Tanzania on safari recently. These tutorials were so much fun to use to support identify animals and birds. They were passed around the jeep the entire trip. Everyone loved them! The tutorials did a amazing job of identifying everything we saw but these pamphlets helped us hold up with everything and see some of the suttle differences between some of the animals. A trip of a lifetime!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    Very handy guide. Was very precious and practical item on our safari rides in Tanzania

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    During our trip to the Serengeti, I circled every animal that we saw. It was very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    It's coated so it should withstand moisture. It's colorful. It shows a lot of birds. It will be handy to review at the end of a day of android game drives or observing, when you know what a bird looks like but might not remember the name. The pictures are OK. Not great, not awful, just OK. If you've seen an actual Egyptian Goose you can look at this picture and say: "Yes, I can see the similarity". But if you didn't already know what to look for or what to call it you might not create the match. Same for Hammerkop or Maribou Stork, etc. I'll take it along on our next trip to Africa because it is lightweight and so simple to carry, and because it shows so a lot of birds at the same time, grouped by the type of setting you're most likely to see them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in the South African Region (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:35

    excellent in that it covers all the main birds one sees on safari, and with minimal weight and bulk. But it is just the basics. Any serious birder will wish something far more comprehensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    I suppose if you knew nothing about birds of Africa and required a light pocket guide, this would serve you for the main birds - Saddle Billed Stork, Maribou Stork, flamingo, ostrich, Lilac Crested Roller. However, when it comes to the White Bellied Go Away Bird and the Supreme Starling - the drawings bear small resemblance to the true bird.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Birds: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-16 12:55

    I recently returned from my trip to Kenya and am so grateful I purchased this guide. I stayed in Amboseli and the South Rift and this tutorial was extremely helpful and lightweight for when we went on our hikes/sunrise excursions to ID some of the more common species. High recommend if you have limited space.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    I just got back from Africa and wished I had this folding pocket guide. One of the travelers had it and it was invaluable on naming the animals and birds we saw. As soon as i got back I knew I wanted it so I could use it when I was making my image book. It highlighted almost all of the familiar species we found in Kenya and Tanzania. The illustrations are colourful and and give some info about each one. I would highly recommend it for anyone that is going o East Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    I used this pocket tutorial while we were on safari with some mates in Kenya and it was very helpful. At one of our camps, the camp managers noticed it and thought they should obtain some to stock in their bonus as folks often ask them what they're seeing. I really liked that it's little and simple to carry while on safari and that it doesn't take up much room in our weight/size limited carry-on luggage on our domestic flights. It covered most of the non-bird wildlife we saw.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East Africa Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species in Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 0:17

    This is a small, concise tutorial that will be simple to use and carry in a package as we look for animals, birds and snakes with our tour group.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    Helpful, full of information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    Excellent tutorial to mammals in South Africa. Keeps you from thumbing through a book with hundreds of animals you'll never see to search the one you're after.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    Amazing! I’m in love with this field guide! Unbelievable pictures and information. At the back of the book, there are track and dung identification images that are super convenient. They give a size comparison of the animals to humans which I also really like. Very concise and the layout is great! This will be strapped to me my entire trip

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    this book is not only informative (with pictures of the animals) but little in size to package and then take on safari. I would recommend it for anyone traveling to South Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insight Guides Pocket South Africa (Travel Guide eBook) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    Amazing small preview for our trip to South Africa. Very informative on the culture of each area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    Amazing book. The children love identifying animals which is exactly what I wanted. It is clear, to the point and has amazing images for recognition. Excellent size too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    This book packs an impressive amount of info in a compact and light package. A typical visitor to the region should be able to identify most of what he sees with this book. Inter alia, each species acc has a nice size range map, a section on how to differentiate related species, one or two photos, diagrams showing tracks and the size of the animal compared to a human, habitat, behavior, food, detailed measurements, etc. There is also a useful collection of images to facilitate dung ere are a few drawbacks, however. Some of these are to be expected in any compact guide, though others could have been easily remedied:- Most species are represented with a single photograph, though in a few cases there are two photographs, usually when sexes differ, as in antelopes where females usually have no horns. A single photograph can only present one side of an animal and obviously can't present individual variation. In some cases the photographs do not present key features, e.g. photograph of a Dwarf Mongoose does not present its tail even though the text indicates differences in the tail are necessary to distinguishing it from Slender Mongoose.- Only two species can be viewed at once; so you have to flip between pages in a lot of cases to compare related species.- There's no method to assess the relative sizes of the animals from the images (though the diagrams at the bottom comparing size to a human do let you to infer the differences)- There is no list of species covered in the table of contents; so to search a particular species you either have to flip through the book or check the index.- There is no discussion of mammal taxonomy, nor an explanation of how the species are ordered in the book. They are simply lumped into different categories such as primates, zebras, rhinoceros, antelope, carnivores, etc.- The text is fairly dry- I've noted a few species that a visitor to South Africa might easily encounter that are not included in the guide. These contain Red Bush Squirrel, Humpback Whale, Slogget's Vlei (Ice) Rat, and Peters' Epauletted Fruit Bat. (The latest is actually mentioned several times in the discussion of Wahlberg's Epauletted Fruit Bat, but there is no discussion of how to distinguish the two, and Peters is not listed in the index even though it is referenced.)- Easiest method I've found to differentiate African Civet from the related looking Genets is that the former has a dark facial mask (like a No. Am. raccoon). But this is not mentioned in the text--it just says Genets are smaller with longer tail and shorter legs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insight Guides Pocket South Africa (Travel Guide eBook) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    Perfect concise tutorial to South Africa. The size allows it to easily fit into purse or back pack.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insight Guides Pocket South Africa (Travel Guide eBook) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    Yep, I used it and I LOVED South Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insight Guides Pocket South Africa (Travel Guide eBook) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    Item arrived really timely. Smaller than had been anticipated but looks like it has amazing information. Will place it to the the try later this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insight Guides Pocket South Africa (Travel Guide eBook) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    I found this tutorial to be quite helpful during our travels in Cape City and Johannesburg. The map was especially useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    Bought the ebook because the paper ver got lost in the mail and we had no time to wait for a e ebook is not what you may expect from an ebook. It's merely a digitized ver of the paper e list of animal names eg, has no hyperlinks. Not simple to jump through the book quickly in to check if you got the name of a spotted animal e dung identififaction and track comparison are very handy and one of the reasons i bought this book. Used it a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pocket Guide: Mammals of Southern Africa (Struik Nature) []  2020-2-1 5:27

    Amazing size for taking on plane prior to eat pictures color images and concise t perusing it several weeks before your trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    This is exactly the type of book I wanted! I saw a related book at Barnes and Nobles, but this one was cheaper. I plan to use it while I study abroad. It's in amazing shape and came super fast! Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    This book was a wonderful, informative travel companion. We just returned from a 3.5 week trip in South Africa, with a week in Cape City and the rest touring other little towns and cities in the south. We didn't have cell phones (just a GPS) and this book was reliable throughout. I used it almost every day because it was so helpful. The little maps of various towns and regions are indispensable (especially for getting around via rental car), and I carried it with me often just for those. The suggestions of activities, hikes, wineries, etc. helped narrow down from the a lot of a lot of choices of amazing things the country has to offer. We referred to the animal section throughout the trip as we safaried and enjoyed reading about the history of each down. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    Rough Tutorials are our favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    This is a really amazing tutorial book to this fascinating area. We will visit in Sept, 20145, and are eagerly anticipating a amazing trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    Handy for travel to South Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    always amazing to have a rough tutorial wherever you go :) I'm thankful that there was info regarding Lesotho as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    The issue with this tutorial is that the historic info is quite sparse and the suggestions are more geared towards a certain type of traveller. Will probably not go with the rough tutorial in the future for non-Western countries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date on the shop (10-2013). I just returned from a three week trip to Kenya and I found Rough Tutorial to be comprehensive and informative. Hotel and restaurant choices are right on. The most necessary problem for Kenya today is current information. Terrorism has struck and you need to know where it is safe and what to avoid. This text handles that. If you are going on a pack safari then you could skip this tutorial (get: 'The Complete African Safari Planner') but if you are going on your own and are looking for a travel tutorial to direct you, then by all means - obtain this guide. 4.5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    This is an perfect tutorial for the traveler looking for interesting experiences while keeping spending under control. We used this South Africa in November 2013 and found it comprehensive and simple to use. Our daughter was in South Africa July to November and was on a much more restricted college student budget and liked it even more than we did. Bravo Rough Guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to South Africa []  2020-1-23 0:35

    Went with my buddy and used this as a tutorial to obtain around. We're both men in our 30s looking for culture and adventure. It was quite helpful in all those ways. No complaints

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West African Music []  2020-1-18 23:8

    This CD was my first exposure to West African music. Surprise! They aren't limited to bongo drums and acapella chants! I've fallen in love with several of the songs on this CD, and so have my children. We are now tracking down and collecting the CD's of the artists we enjoyed most! Amazing variety.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insiders' Guide® to Florida Keys & Key West []  2020-2-1 7:28

    I love to travel books when planning trips! I was very picky about this one. After returning 2 others, I found this one. It has some pictures, but could use more. I love the colorful, glossy, excitement provoking travel books that also serve as a reminder and souvenir for my trips. I’m not sure I would say that this book is all of that, but it does contain information on all the keys, not just some, and was better than the others on the market. I’ve enjoyed the information so far, but would like more pictures. Overall I’m, satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rough Guide to West African Music []  2020-1-18 23:8

    This is the excellent introduction to West African music. Some of the songs are absolutely captivating (Oumou Sangare and Ali Farka Toure especially). Brilliantly sourced album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insiders' Guide® to Florida Keys & Key West []  2020-2-1 7:28

    Amazing book to have handy on your next Florida Keys adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insiders' Guide® to Florida Keys & Key West []  2020-2-1 7:28

    Amazing read, amazing info, wail organized

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386